Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Terrace Room at the Williamsburg Inn

The Terrace Room at the Williamsburg Inn offers a more casual dining experience that features traditional American fare with a modern expression.

The Terrace Room invites diners to feast on an array of olives, ranging from brined to oil-cured, while enjoying cocktails and conversation. Afterward, place an order for a delicious entrée. Menu items include chef-favorite Wagyu beef burgers, a Virginia-inspired Cobb salad and the world famous Williamsburg Inn crab cakes, a time-tested recipe. Lighter fare, such as a Cobb and healthy Spa salads are also available.

136 E Francis St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Fri: noon-11pm
Sat & Sun: noon-midnight

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(888) 965-7254

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/resort-restaurants/terrace-room/

Entertainment:
18th Century Roving Musicians

Parking Details:
Parking available at the Williamsburg Inn

Public Transit:
Colonial Williamsburg shuttle stop on Francis St

Executive Chef:
Florence Allen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Terrace Room at the Williamsburg Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

64% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (9)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
See All
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Authentic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Casual (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Cozy (1)
People Watching (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
51 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was excellent, the wait staff was exceptionally attentive and the quiet room made for a cozy dining experience

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We ate several lunches and a dinner here while staying at the Williamsburg Inn. The menu is limited, but tasty. The service is professional and friendly; the drink selection admirable. We had an unfortunate experiencing getting dinner reservations. We called the Colonial Williamsburg call center, which told us there was only one table available at 8:30pm, which was late, but we took it. When we arrived the hostess and server told us there had been tables available all evening - we should have called the restaurant directly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent chicken pot pie. Elegant service. Yummy dinner rolls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Love the food! Daily soups are fantastic! Pretzel rolls best ever!! Hostess fun and accomodating! We enjoy dining here each year when we visit at Christmas time!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Cozy, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Casual, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I was quite disappointed in the whole experience. We were seated well after our reservation with no apology or explanation. Our waiter lacked any personality or thoughtfulness. I don't know if he was new or not, but he was inattentive to our needs and rather slow to respond to requests. I was expecting much more atmosphere in this restaurant given that the Inn is so famous and historic

Tags: Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The holiday spirit is manifest, but the service was slow because for some reason this five star Inn was short staffed! The food was not remarkable, and again, for a very well-respected hotel and restaurant, the menu was bland and the portions controlled. I do not think that there should be a reduction in staff during the most profitable week of the year! The dining options were limited. If one room was serving, the others were not, leaving guests only one choice. We have been staying in CW for 50 years, and will,of course, return, but we will want assurances that a high-end hotel would offer better fare and service. I do not know about the restoration taverns were staffed, but I suspect that the reduction of service folks in the Inn had something to do with staffing more profitable dining rooms in the restored area--King's Arms, for example--at $71.00 per person!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Historic, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was good however service was very slow. Wait staff was slow had to request refills for water. I had fish and chips the chips were cold but the fish was hit and tasty.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My wife and I recently spent a weekend in Colonial Williamsburg. We decided to have dinner on a Saturday night in the Terrace Room and made reservations for 8:30 pm via Open Table. We got to the restaurant around 8:25pm. When we got there, we gave the hostess our last name and reservation time. She referred us to another hostess, who asked us our last name. We gave the last name and told her we had 8:30 reservations. She then asked us "What time is it now?" We said "around 8:27"...she told us that our table would be ready around 8:35 or 8:40. Before we could sit down to wait in an outer entry, she returned and said our table was ready, asking us again for our last name. We again gave it. She showed us to our table and before we were allowed to sit, she AGAIN asked us for our last name. She seemed to have a bit of an attitude and we felt it was very unprofessional, especially for such a high-brow restaurant.

Our waiter was personable and friendly, however, the food was very disappointing. We ordered the fried oysters to share for our appetizer. These were honestly the worst fried oysters we've ever had (and we are well acquainted with good oysters). They were very small, had no flavor, were limp and a bit fishy. They were accompanied by two sauces...when I asked the waiter what they were, he said he didn't know and would have to go ask. Really? I referred back to the menu instead of having to wait for him to return with an answer.

For an entree, my wife chose the chicken pot pie. The "filling" of the pie was very skimpy and instead of having a rich, creamy sauce, had very little sauce to it...mostly consisting of a little chicken with some vegetables. More disappointing was the crust, which was just a slab of puff pastry that had been placed askew atop. I had the "southern sampler" which was mediocre.

We were disappointed with the very unprofessional hostessing as well as the VERY disappointing quality and quantity of the food. We absolutely will not return.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food, but slow service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Sadly, my party of 4 did not have a good experience. We've been going to the Inn for christmas lunch for the past 15 years, taking advantage of the affordable lunch buffet. That buffet is now gone. The Regency dining room was closed for lunch so we ate in the bar area. We had one drink (wine), a sandwich, and dessert and with tip our totals were $60. This is a lot to pay for lunch! Although the room was not crowded, our service lagged. We waited about 15 minutes for our desserts and there was only one other dining table being served.
We shall go somewhere else next year and start a new tradition.

Tags: Historic
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I had crab cake with beef...crab cake awesome, beef too salty
Planning on coming back in spring, so looking forward to being back again

Tags: Late-night Find, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was expensive and ordinary. The Terrace Room might be a good place for a business meeting but not much if you want a filling meal at a decent price.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Cozy historical dining atmosphere. Food ok. Was quiet. Loved the furniture. The service good and friendly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great atmosphere - good food - very enjoyable and would definitely eat here again when we're in Williamsburg!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We love the atmosphere of Williamsburg and the Williamsburg Inn definitely exhibits that atmosphere. Service was outstanding and very professional and we felt very fortunate to be sitting there enjoying our dinner in such an historic area. We will definitely return upon our annual visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Our family loved the staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 24, 2016

What a lovely evening with great ambiance and a delightful fall meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

On a recent Saturday, I was with my husband and two other family members for a weekend at Colonial Williamsburg. I had planned ahead and got reservations for dinner at one of the colonial taverns but was hoping to do a quick bite at the Cheese Shop for lunch. The Cheese Shop was very crowded so we next tried to do a walk-in at Chownings. Over an hour wait we were told. So I looked on Open Table to see what was available close to us. The Inn had an open reservation and the menu looked good so we walked the quick 5 minute walk and were seated immediately. This was my first time at the Inn and it will not be my last. The food was good, the dinning room light and bright but the service was slower than we wanted. It took almost 30 minutes for our entrees to come out and we were not asked for a second round of drinks during the wait. But the chicken pot pie was yummy and exactly what I wanted for lunch. My husband tried the trio and we all agreed that he had made the best choice because of the variety. The baked mac and cheese was creamy and very satisfying.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We went here after going to all the taverns in the historic city and didn't feel that those places needed a second visit. We got there early (6:00) and for the first 15-20 minutes were the only people there. Interestingly, you can order from either the Terrace Room menu, which includes some entrees as well as lighter fare such as sandwiches or from the much more expensive Regency Room menu which is more of a "high end" experience - great if, like me, you won't get dressed up and wear a tie on vacation. I started with the caesar (way bigger than I bet you'll eat) and my wife had the chicken and dumplings to start. Both were very good - they do a caesar right with not too much dressing. I had steak and my wife had the Southern Sampler (venison chili, chicken pot pie, and baked macaroni and cheese each served in it's own little pot). For desert we had the donuts. Huge huge donut holes - 6 of them - covered in the sugar flavor of your choice (vanilla/regular powdered, chocolate, or cinnamon). Very good. The real star was the service though - very good service. Good enough service that we called over the manager and made sure he knew. Overall, it's not cheap - figure $50-$70 per person according to what menu you use - but it's very good, very nice, and a nice changeup from the typical CW taverns.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was just not very good. It's a great location and if they had a great chef it would be so much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Food and service was horrible given the high prices. Stake was undercooked and full of grizzle. The server never explained the menu or told us about the specials. Once the food was served we never saw her again until we asked another server to find her to get our check. This was the worst dining experience I have ever had. Management said bad service was because the new server was not trained properly. That doesn't explain the fatty undercooked stake, which probably means the chief wasn't trained properly either. Management offered no compensation for the bad service. I would never eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I have been to the Inn in years past. It is not as elegant as in the past but was quite enjoyable.
Our Waitperson, Linda, was exceptional and made the entire experience worth the time. She should be commended for her service and enthusiasm. Thank you Linda.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This is a beautiful, historic property. The service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I have been going to the Williamsburg Inn for 50 years (I started very young) for meals and afternoon tea. It is not what it once was, but its history and its place in my history allow for some leeway. I do not consider the offering a true afternoon tea. One glass of middling champagne, some bland soggy sandwiches, too-sweet scones, and passable sweets. For some unknown reason, they have done away with the tea pots on the table and one must now flag down a server to have them pour hot water. The room is such that cares and stress melt away quickly and that is the reason for a mostly favorable review.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2016

It is always a treat to have a delightful lunch at Terrace Room!
The staff was superb, the food was impressively splendid to the eyes as well as to the taste buds. This time, the piece de resistance was their Croissant Bread Pudding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 21, 2016

The staff were very pleasant and the food presentation was as nice. Enjoyed our visit and hope to return again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The staff at the Inn bar and dining area are fantastic. The crab cakes were very good and the chocolate soufflé was absolutely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2016

The restaurant was very crowded and understaffed. Service was extremely slow. Of the 4 of us, only two were at all pleased with the meal. Two were unhappy.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Beautiful evening at the Terrace Room. Service and food were terrific. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Place was empty (our reservation at 8) and it took almost 20 minutes after reservation to get sat while manager/hostess barked at the servers about getting the tables set for the following morning - this seemed to be the priority (not taking care of customers already there)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 15, 2016

It is always so nice to be at the Williamsburg Inn.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 16, 2016

This place is so good we ate dinner there twice in our four night stay. Colorado venison chili is my favorite. Salads are super fresh. Menu is varied enough so you can eat here lunch or dinner ( menu is the same). Service is outstanding and very friendly. If weather permits you can dine outside on the terrace.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 25, 2016

My family and I enjoyed our waitress (sorry, no name given). She suggested hidden gems in the menu, happy to assist other servers and was so personal yet professional in her work. The other wait staff was just as friendly to us. It was a nice treat to dine here. Btw, the Food selection was very tasty and ambiance gracious to diners. A nice treat for our family. Don't forget to smell the lovely flower arrangements. Heavenly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2016

If you like historic places go here. The restaurant is located in the rear of the Williamsburg Inn in historic, colonial Williamsburg. It's not cheap but you get great service, great food and a lovely atmosphere. Not for everyone but if you want class, this is it. They offer valet parking but you can park in the lots available at no charge. Dress appropriately.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2016

The dinner at the Terrace Room was the only part of our stay at a the Inn that was not a perfect 10. The food was average: our friends ordered Chicken Pot Pie and found it very dry. I ordered a salad which was a few bites at best, and had what seemed to be crushed or old cherry tomatoes. My friend had the same experience with his salad, and we both had to pick the tomatoes out and leave them on the plate. The service was slow: although there were few diners, the meal took 2 hours. The one highlight was a really talented guitarist who played many of our classical favorites. There are so many other excellent dining opportunities in Williamsburg that I would not spend another evening at the Terrace Room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2016

The Terrace Room is elegant, the service spot on and the food fabulous. What a special treat in Williamsburg. We took friends ther as a thank you and will return again often. A hidden gem in the Burg.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2016

At the last minute we decided to give this a try and it was the perfect way to end our last night in Williamsburg. The view was beautiful and the service was outstanding. Nicholas, our server, was friendly, knowledgable and one of the kindest people we have ever met. The menu selection was perfect for our family and everyone had exactly what they were in the mood for. Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2016

Perfect dinner, just perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 20, 2016

This calm outstanding place to eat never fails to satisfy. A casual, but elegant spot with outstanding menu selections and very very good cocktails and wine list. Highly recommended

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2016

I had high expectations but the food misses the mark again and again. Lovely venue and bar, perfect for cocktails and meet-ups. But the food just isn't worth it. 4 diners and each disappointed. Luke warm and under-cooked veggies in pot pie, ceasar salad looked like chopped salad with tiny store-bought-like croutons. Mac and cheese dry and tasteless. Service was attentive and aimed to please but food needs major tweaking.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.