About Terrace Room at the Williamsburg Inn

136 E Francis St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

The Terrace Room at the Williamsburg Inn offers a more casual dining experience that features traditional American fare with a modern expression.

The Terrace Room invites diners to feast on an array of olives, ranging from brined to oil-cured, while enjoying cocktails and conversation. Afterward, place an order for a delicious entrée. Menu items include chef-favorite Wagyu beef burgers, a Virginia-inspired Cobb salad and the world famous Williamsburg Inn crab cakes, a time-tested recipe. Lighter fare, such as a Cobb and healthy Spa salads are also available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Fri: noon-11pm
Sat & Sun: noon-midnight

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(888) 965-7254

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/resort-restaurants/terrace-room/

Entertainment:
18th Century Roving Musicians

Parking Details:
Parking available at the Williamsburg Inn

Public Transit:
Colonial Williamsburg shuttle stop on Francis St

Executive Chef:
Florence Allen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Terrace Room at the Williamsburg Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Historic (4)
Romantic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Authentic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
People Watching (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
37 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere - good food - very enjo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great atmosphere - good food - very enjoyable and would definitely eat here again when we're in Williamsburg!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love the atmosphere of Williamsburg a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We love the atmosphere of Williamsburg and the Williamsburg Inn definitely exhibits that atmosphere. Service was outstanding and very professional and we felt very fortunate to be sitting there enjoying our dinner in such an historic area. We will definitely return upon our annual visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family loved the staff!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Our family loved the staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What a lovely evening with great ambianc ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 24, 2016

What a lovely evening with great ambiance and a delightful fall meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On a recent Saturday, I was with my husb ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

On a recent Saturday, I was with my husband and two other family members for a weekend at Colonial Williamsburg. I had planned ahead and got reservations for dinner at one of the colonial taverns but was hoping to do a quick bite at the Cheese Shop for lunch. The Cheese Shop was very crowded so we next tried to do a walk-in at Chownings. Over an hour wait we were told. So I looked on Open Table to see what was available close to us. The Inn had an open reservation and the menu looked good so we walked the quick 5 minute walk and were seated immediately. This was my first time at the Inn and it will not be my last. The food was good, the dinning room light and bright but the service was slower than we wanted. It took almost 30 minutes for our entrees to come out and we were not asked for a second round of drinks during the wait. But the chicken pot pie was yummy and exactly what I wanted for lunch. My husband tried the trio and we all agreed that he had made the best choice because of the variety. The baked mac and cheese was creamy and very satisfying.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We went here after going to all the tave ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We went here after going to all the taverns in the historic city and didn't feel that those places needed a second visit. We got there early (6:00) and for the first 15-20 minutes were the only people there. Interestingly, you can order from either the Terrace Room menu, which includes some entrees as well as lighter fare such as sandwiches or from the much more expensive Regency Room menu which is more of a "high end" experience - great if, like me, you won't get dressed up and wear a tie on vacation. I started with the caesar (way bigger than I bet you'll eat) and my wife had the chicken and dumplings to start. Both were very good - they do a caesar right with not too much dressing. I had steak and my wife had the Southern Sampler (venison chili, chicken pot pie, and baked macaroni and cheese each served in it's own little pot). For desert we had the donuts. Huge huge donut holes - 6 of them - covered in the sugar flavor of your choice (vanilla/regular powdered, chocolate, or cinnamon). Very good. The real star was the service though - very good service. Good enough service that we called over the manager and made sure he knew. Overall, it's not cheap - figure $50-$70 per person according to what menu you use - but it's very good, very nice, and a nice changeup from the typical CW taverns.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was just not very good. It's a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was just not very good. It's a great location and if they had a great chef it would be so much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Food and service was horrible given the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Food and service was horrible given the high prices. Stake was undercooked and full of grizzle. The server never explained the menu or told us about the specials. Once the food was served we never saw her again until we asked another server to find her to get our check. This was the worst dining experience I have ever had. Management said bad service was because the new server was not trained properly. That doesn't explain the fatty undercooked stake, which probably means the chief wasn't trained properly either. Management offered no compensation for the bad service. I would never eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I have been to the Inn in years past. I ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I have been to the Inn in years past. It is not as elegant as in the past but was quite enjoyable.

Our Waitperson, Linda, was exceptional and made the entire experience worth the time. She should be commended for her service and enthusiasm. Thank you Linda.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

This is a beautiful, historic property. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This is a beautiful, historic property. The service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

I have been going to the Williamsburg In ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I have been going to the Williamsburg Inn for 50 years (I started very young) for meals and afternoon tea. It is not what it once was, but its history and its place in my history allow for some leeway. I do not consider the offering a true afternoon tea. One glass of middling champagne, some bland soggy sandwiches, too-sweet scones, and passable sweets. For some unknown reason, they have done away with the tea pots on the table and one must now flag down a server to have them pour hot water. The room is such that cares and stress melt away quickly and that is the reason for a mostly favorable review.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

It is always a treat to have a delightfu ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2016

It is always a treat to have a delightful lunch at Terrace Room!

The staff was superb, the food was impressively splendid to the eyes as well as to the taste buds. This time, the piece de resistance was their Croissant Bread Pudding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff were very pleasant and the foo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 21, 2016

The staff were very pleasant and the food presentation was as nice. Enjoyed our visit and hope to return again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff at the Inn bar and dining area ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The staff at the Inn bar and dining area are fantastic. The crab cakes were very good and the chocolate soufflé was absolutely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant was very crowded and unde ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2016

The restaurant was very crowded and understaffed. Service was extremely slow. Of the 4 of us, only two were at all pleased with the meal. Two were unhappy.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Beautiful evening at the Terrace Room. S ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Beautiful evening at the Terrace Room. Service and food were terrific. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Place was empty (our reservation at 8) a ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Place was empty (our reservation at 8) and it took almost 20 minutes after reservation to get sat while manager/hostess barked at the servers about getting the tables set for the following morning - this seemed to be the priority (not taking care of customers already there)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

It is always so nice to be at the Willia ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 15, 2016

It is always so nice to be at the Williamsburg Inn.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is so good we ate dinner ther ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 16, 2016

This place is so good we ate dinner there twice in our four night stay. Colorado venison chili is my favorite. Salads are super fresh. Menu is varied enough so you can eat here lunch or dinner ( menu is the same). Service is outstanding and very friendly. If weather permits you can dine outside on the terrace.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I enjoyed our waitress (s ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 25, 2016

My family and I enjoyed our waitress (sorry, no name given). She suggested hidden gems in the menu, happy to assist other servers and was so personal yet professional in her work. The other wait staff was just as friendly to us. It was a nice treat to dine here. Btw, the Food selection was very tasty and ambiance gracious to diners. A nice treat for our family. Don't forget to smell the lovely flower arrangements. Heavenly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Upscale, historic location with views

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2016

If you like historic places go here. The restaurant is located in the rear of the Williamsburg Inn in historic, colonial Williamsburg. It's not cheap but you get great service, great food and a lovely atmosphere. Not for everyone but if you want class, this is it. They offer valet parking but you can park in the lots available at no charge. Dress appropriately.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Average

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2016

The dinner at the Terrace Room was the only part of our stay at a the Inn that was not a perfect 10. The food was average: our friends ordered Chicken Pot Pie and found it very dry. I ordered a salad which was a few bites at best, and had what seemed to be crushed or old cherry tomatoes. My friend had the same experience with his salad, and we both had to pick the tomatoes out and leave them on the plate. The service was slow: although there were few diners, the meal took 2 hours. The one highlight was a really talented guitarist who played many of our classical favorites. There are so many other excellent dining opportunities in Williamsburg that I would not spend another evening at the Terrace Room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The Terrace Room is elegant, the service ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2016

The Terrace Room is elegant, the service spot on and the food fabulous. What a special treat in Williamsburg. We took friends ther as a thank you and will return again often. A hidden gem in the Burg.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At the last minute we decided to give th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2016

At the last minute we decided to give this a try and it was the perfect way to end our last night in Williamsburg. The view was beautiful and the service was outstanding. Nicholas, our server, was friendly, knowledgable and one of the kindest people we have ever met. The menu selection was perfect for our family and everyone had exactly what they were in the mood for. Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Perfect dinner, just perfect.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2016

Perfect dinner, just perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, very good!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 20, 2016

This calm outstanding place to eat never fails to satisfy. A casual, but elegant spot with outstanding menu selections and very very good cocktails and wine list. Highly recommended

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrace Room food a miss

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2016

I had high expectations but the food misses the mark again and again. Lovely venue and bar, perfect for cocktails and meet-ups. But the food just isn't worth it. 4 diners and each disappointed. Luke warm and under-cooked veggies in pot pie, ceasar salad looked like chopped salad with tiny store-bought-like croutons. Mac and cheese dry and tasteless. Service was attentive and aimed to please but food needs major tweaking.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

A pleasant surprise!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2015

A pleasant surprise! The Colonial Williamsburg website describes the Terrace Room at the Inn as a more casual dining experience. We found it to be a lovely, quiet venue with delicious food and pleasant and attentive servers. First class all around and a wonderful experience! Do try the chicken pot pie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely lunch

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2015

We ended up at the Inn when the more casual places were booked. It was a great experience. While not super kid-friendly, there was a child menu which made it more affordable. The dining room was very formal which made us leery about bringing a toddler but staff was great and attentive and the food was delicious.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 13, 2015

Good food and good service. Good value for the money.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fantastic food, atmosphere, and service

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 12, 2015

The service was impeccable right from the start. The bread server brought us our choice of sourdough or pretzel roll and was charming from the moment we saw him. We had an excellent wine service along with the best oysters rockafeller I've ever had. The entrees were perfectly cooked.

The atmosphere was wonderful and romantic and made for a great date night for my wife and I. The regency style was classic and beautiful. Overall a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrace Room at Inn

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2015

The service was slow and the food not up to the value for the money. for a place like the Williamsburg Inn, the décor left a bit to be desired. For an evening dinner, it would have been nice to have tablecloths on the table.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great Food; Very Slow Service

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2015

Would try it again with a different waitress. Very slow, mildly friendly and inattentive. Never refilled water. seemed perturbed that we didn't want to order a full bottle of wine. Food delivery took FOREVER. Three hours for 2 courses? Absurd.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Exceptional experience

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2015

A beautiful room, impeccable service, and a great selection of food and drink items all conspire to make a visit to the Terrace Room a special treat. The ambiance is that of an elegant club - one that feels far apart from the usual tourist eating spots in Williamsburg. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2015

Terrific meal in a hotel setting with notable beverage options. Outside dining also available with great views of the golf course

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Not worth the Price

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2015

Your paying to eat in an old building with this one. Food was sub-par especially for the price. Service was poor, and very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Commitment to service

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2015

High level of service based on our requests. Provided a nice lunch and lots of time for talking (which what we wanted). The wait staff picked up on non-verbal cues and their timing was perfect. Food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.