About Terra Restaurant

Terra Restaurant - Fine Dining North of the Core- is located on Yonge Street at the 407.
'Terra is doing too many things too well to be ignored...the setting is glorious, the presentation dramatic, the menu luxurious, the wine list enormous and the service everything it should be..', Where to Eat in Canada.
Frommer's International Guide to Toronto stated 'Sleek and sophisticated, this restaurant feels as if it was air-lifted out of the downtown core...'

8199 Yonge Street
Thornhill, ON L3T 2C6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 6:00pm - 11:00pm;

Cross Street:
Hwy. 407 or Hwy. 7

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 731-6161

Website:
http://www.terrarestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
Terra Lounge late night features Live Jazz Fridays and Saturdays from 9:30pm

Catering:
Terra's spectacular catering division offers full service customized events, in your home, office or special venue (hors d'Oeuvres, buffet, formal sit down affairs)

Parking Details:
Parking surrounding the perimeter of the building

Public Transit:
Kirk Drive

Executive Chef:
Stephen Perrin

Private Party Facilities:
Terra has three private dining facilities capable of hosting up to 160 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michael De Tommaso: (905) 731-6161 ext. 5

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday'licious' at Terra
Each and every Sunday Terra's food, service and style are available at 'licious' prices. Basic menu includes a choice of four appetizers, main courses and desserts. There are of course more premium items available for a nominal supplemental fee and the full regular menu is also available.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chargrilled Calamari - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Grilled Veal Chop - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Tiramisu - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Short Rib Pappardelle - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Warm Flourless Chocolate Torte - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Grilled Salmon - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Seafood Spaghetti Aglio Olio  - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Creme Brulee - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Organic Fresh Greens - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Caribou & Raspberry Point Oysters - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Ahi tuna - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Lemon Sorbet & Mint - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Miso-Maple Marinated Black Cod - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Flash Grilled Atlantic Salmon Medallions - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Assorted appetizer platter - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Roasted Australian Rack Of Lamb With Honey-Mustard Pistachio Crust - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Arugula Salad - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON

Specials

Specials

Terra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (21)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Business Meals (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Live Music (8)
Private Room (8)
Cozy (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Fun (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terra always meet expectations as a casu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 13 hours ago

Terra always meet expectations as a casual fine dining. All 6 different mains we had tonight were well prepared. My recommendation is the Sea Food Mix which uses tomato soup as the base. It excels all similar dishes with the way they cook. I would like to see more appetizers with lighter choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

too nosiy,steak not good,lobster tail t ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined a day ago

too nosiy,steak not good,lobster tail too salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Forgot to update my reservation from 4 t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Forgot to update my reservation from 4 to 5. It was no problem although we were a little squished -- tho the place was very busy. We split 2 apps, beat salad and caprese salad. Both excellent. Others enjoyed risotto, snapper, pasta with lamb ragu. Everybody cleaned their plates. Only so so dish was the apple dessert. The two guests who shared it were not impressed. A little pricey but great food and service. Will be back.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

New Year's Eve dinner, so service was a ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve dinner, so service was a little slow but expected. The servers were very polite & friendly. We had the chorizo and shrimp taco appetizers - the chorizo was excellent, the shrimp taco nothing special. For our mains we had the Irish salmon and the seafood spaghettini- both very good & plentiful. Overall it was a lovely dinner. My only complaint was that we had to purchase our water for the table - they did not offer tap - and the water was $10 a bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was not my first time with Terra. I ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was not my first time with Terra. I remember the last time i visited, it was quieter. Service then was prompt but unobtrusive. This time, the ambiance wasnt the same, the tables seemed closer together so the noise level was higher. It felt cramped, food was still good nonetheless.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Phenomenal! Every single dish was flawle ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Phenomenal! Every single dish was flawless and every ingredient was handled with the best hands. Ordered the sashimi grade tuna, seafood spaghettini and a seared red snapper. Absolutely great place for a date or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 3rd time here in about 3 yea ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This was my 3rd time here in about 3 years. Each time has been terrific. Food is wonderful - must have the gnocchi! at least as an appetizer to share. Rack of lamb was perfectly prepared, the cookie skillet dessert another must. The staff are all friendly yet professional, attentive but not overbearing. Looking forward to going back sooner than later. A gem in Thornhill.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was lovely My salad was enjo ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The service was lovely

My salad was enjoyable

I ordered the branzino and it had no flavour at all. Even though I didn't get the sauces on it I usually don't when I go elsewhere either Really no taste

Should have had the salmon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Food is tasty and original, but Pan Roas ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food is tasty and original, but Pan Roasted Potato Gnocchi is so-so, too much potatoes for me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The Sundaylicious menu has good variety. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The Sundaylicious menu has good variety. The food is delicious from appetizer to dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We dined at Terra Restaurant last night ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We dined at Terra Restaurant last night and had the Holiday Sundaylicious. We could tell they put a lot of thoughts into the menu. For example, I ordered the mushrooms risotto and it wasn't just a plain mushrooms risotto. It also had smoked chicken. Plus the portions were big. Usually my husband complains that fine dining is a ripoff because the portions are really small and he would feel hungry afterwards. No such complaints this time. Anyway, we had a wonderful time and we would come back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoy this restaurant and have been th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I enjoy this restaurant and have been there many times, we had to book for 8:45 pm as all earlier times after 7 pm were taken I confirmed our chosen the morning of ... on arriving we were told we could not have our table and we would have to wait at the bar for another one ...we waited 20 minutes had a glass of wine as suggested by the host .....finally we did get a table ...it would have been a nice gesture to comp that glass of wine at the bar !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a very memorable experience and defi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had a very memorable experience and definitely would go back again.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always like going to Terra, and it alw ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I always like going to Terra, and it always feels special. My favourite dish is the pan fried gnocchi, but I have never been disappointed with any choice.

This is a fine dining restaurant but it does have a casual feel.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful decor, great service, yummy fo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Beautiful decor, great service, yummy food. Who could ask for more?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very outdated , with the bad smell in th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Very outdated , with the bad smell in the restroom , innoing music and very old lighting which going right in your eyes . Nice service and descent food can't compensate the rest .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Terra offers a tremendous prix fixe menu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Terra offers a tremendous prix fixe menu on Sunday called Sundaylicious. I made a reservation for 2 at 5:30 pm I wanted to treat a friend to a fun experience.

When we asked about the Sundaylicious menu the waiter informed us that it was unavailable tonight.

Extremely disappointed my instincts were to leave, but we made the best of it and soldiered on.

The menu has sensational offers but to order appetizers, mains, dessert and coffee would cost considerably more than the Sunday menu.

As we were leaving, I heard another table being introduced to the Sundaylicious menu.

Extremely disappointed and wanting to leave the premises ASAP, we were never given an explanation as to why we were not offered the menu.

The hostess and manager tried to quell my dissatisfaction with a complimentary cocktail and free dessert on a future visit. Ha, they should have offered two Sundaylicious dinners at a future date. Never ever will return and will never recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

Great local restaurant with really excel ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great local restaurant with really excellent food and very good service. A little expensive but really worth it. The steak was excellent as were the oysters.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Terra several times in th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I have been to Terra several times in the past and found the food excellent. On my last experience of found the salad to be excellent but the entrees were substandard, especially for the price. The salmon was bland and the veal was grizzly.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Had an excellent meal with very attentiv ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Had an excellent meal with very attentive service. Would recommend Terra's to anyone looking for a great experience,

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terra is good eatery place. The most imp ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Terra is good eatery place.

The most important thing it's very consistent in quality of food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great cuisine. Ordered specials based o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great cuisine. Ordered specials based on server's recommendations and everyone was very happy with them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terra is an all time favorite spot but o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Terra is an all time favorite spot but of late quality is hit and miss. Had revved up the dining experience to first time friends, was disappointed we did so. Table was not nice, isolated and empty room, service was very slow, food was tasteless and not well cooked. The kitchen ally was loud and thus distracting. Sad to write this review. When they are "on" you would be hard pressed to find better but this time was poor across the board and for the expense very disappointing.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Terra constantly delivers the best quali ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Terra constantly delivers the best quality food and outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and excellent service, but th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food and excellent service, but there are better restaurants out there that offer better value for the money spent. I find it overpriced for quite a few items on the menu.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Amazing food and atmosphere. Wife and I ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing food and atmosphere. Wife and I came here for date night. We frequent a lot of restaurants just to explore our taste buds. Terra restaurant definately one of the best we've tried

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Authentic, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was excellent as always. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The experience was excellent as always.

The sevice was fantastic as well as the food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent food . However, service is no ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent food . However, service is not the level I would expect. More than once they interrupted the conversations I was having with my guests. For this category of restaurant and the money being spent, that is not acceptable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Good food, great service! It's a bit pr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good food, great service! It's a bit pricey but the Sundaylicious menu is great value for money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This place is truly amazing. I'm going t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This place is truly amazing. I'm going to try one of their food group restaurants just because Terra has given me a good impression about themselves (and itself is in the food group).

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very over priced. A steak with nothing i ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very over priced. A steak with nothing is 45 and adding vegetables another 15-20. I miss Oakland Hall in Aurora.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Have been going for many years and have ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Have been going for many years and have held some family functions there. Michael and his staff go above and beyond! Thank you for always making it a special evening!

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have never been disappointed at Terra. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Have never been disappointed at Terra.

Very much enjoyed the Saturday night duo!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. We had the veal chop, h ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent food. We had the veal chop, halibut and seafood pasta. All dishes were of excellent quality. Fresh oysters. Appreciated the wine recommendations. An overall excellent celebratory meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I don't like being clipped when I dine! ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I don't like being clipped when I dine! Still water at $9.50 a bottle and a replacement wine when the one the I wanted wasn't available offered at $20. over the price of the one ordered. When an establishment is charging $15. and up for appetizers and $40. and up for mains they don't need to abuse the customers by overcharging for everything or do they? Kind of spoils the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Terra's is my favourite restaurant. The ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Terra's is my favourite restaurant. The food and service are consistently exceptional. I have yet to have an issue with an order. The taste and presentation of every dish I have tried has been fantastic. I love the ambiance. This is the place to go for an enjoyable and memorable meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location, great decor, really over ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great location, great decor, really overpriced for the quality of food served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food !

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We dined outside, the ambiance was great ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We dined outside, the ambiance was great and the staff are very well educated regarding their wine list.

The appetizer platter we ordered was disappointing for both of us, but the prosecco and wine were fabulous!

I have had dinner here many times and have never been disappointed by the food until last week.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The Service and food at Terra was excell ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The Service and food at Terra was excellent, and I would high recommend this restaurant.

I can't wait to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.