Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.53mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi
  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.53mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.53mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi
  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.53mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi

About Terra Restaurant

Terra Restaurant - Fine Dining North of the Core- is located on Yonge Street at the 407.
'Terra is doing too many things too well to be ignored...the setting is glorious, the presentation dramatic, the menu luxurious, the wine list enormous and the service everything it should be..', Where to Eat in Canada.
Frommer's International Guide to Toronto stated 'Sleek and sophisticated, this restaurant feels as if it was air-lifted out of the downtown core...'

8199 Yonge Street
Thornhill, ON L3T 2C6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 6:00pm - 11:00pm;

Cross Street:
Hwy. 407 or Hwy. 7

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 731-6161

Website:
http://www.terrarestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
Terra Lounge late night features Live Jazz Fridays and Saturdays from 9:30pm

Catering:
Terra's spectacular catering division offers full service customized events, in your home, office or special venue (hors d'Oeuvres, buffet, formal sit down affairs)

Parking Details:
Parking surrounding the perimeter of the building

Public Transit:
Kirk Drive

Executive Chef:
Stephen Perrin

Private Party Facilities:
Terra has three private dining facilities capable of hosting up to 160 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michael De Tommaso: (905) 731-6161 ext. 5

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday'licious' at Terra
Each and every Sunday Terra's food, service and style are available at 'licious' prices. Basic menu includes a choice of four appetizers, main courses and desserts. There are of course more premium items available for a nominal supplemental fee and the full regular menu is also available.

Specials

Specials

Terra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

GoodForDates (21)
SpecialOccasions (18)
Anniversaries (13)
See All
Birthdays (11)
QuietConversation (9)
Foodies (9)
BusinessMeals (9)
CreativeCuisine (8)
NeighborhoodGem (8)
Romance (7)
NotableWineList (6)
Cozy (5)
WorthTheDrive (5)
LiveMusic (5)
TastingMenu (5)
Groups (4)
PrivateRoom (3)
PeopleWatching (2)
Healthy (2)
Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
BarSeating (2)
LocalIngredients (2)
Casual (1)
LateNightFind (1)
OutstandingValue (1)
Fun (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
ComfortFood (1)
PrePostTheatre (1)
PaleoFriendly (1)
Authentic (1)
SundayLunch (1)
Sort By:
S
832 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent evening celebrating our anniversary. Exceptional service and food selection. Waiters were very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine selections.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

True dining in Thornhill.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent, food, service and ambiance. would definitely go back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This was my 4th time in last 6 months , and the service was spotty, when it came to drinks, felt rushed, ordered salad and appetizer both came at same time

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Meal was super fresh and delicious. The wait staff were attentive and knowledgeable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is the place for a great evening, fantastic food and awesome wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Terra is listed as one of the few fine dining options on Opentable for Thornhill, so I was somewhat limited when looking for a decent place to dine in the north end of the city. We were sat at a table that should not have really been located where it was. It was too close to other diners, to the point where we felt they were almost dining at the table with us. Our bad however, we did not ask to be sat elsewhere. Ordered a glass of white wine and it was served only slightly chilled. Had to ask for a glass of ice so I could drop a few cubes in to cool it down.
Waiter didn't even offer to replace it or open another cold bottle. Food was just OK for the price point. I had the grouper and my dining companion had the trout. Fish lacked any sort of taste and seasoning. Best part of the meal was probably the beet and mushroom salad. Service was a little off and the restaurant couldn't seem to regulate the temperature very well. Towards the end of the meal, it was getting uncomfortably hot. To top it off, a young child had a complete meltdown in the restaurant about halfway through our dinner. Amazes me that people feel so entitled to bring their 4 year old children to a fine dining establishment on a Saturday night. Maybe Terra was good and one point, but not sure that is the case any more. Won't be returning.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great restaurant. Very pricey but food is good. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that when the bill came there was a 9 dollar charge for water. We were never told water would be extra and that was disappointing. Otherwise everything was good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We go to Terra fairly regularly and enjoy it. This visit in particular we had a new server and the service was poor. As in, it was ok, just not to the level expected for the price point.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Very Pricy for the value of the meal. bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very nice evening. Nino was excellent. We were there a little earlier in the evening so we missed the live music so plan for about 9 in the evening.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Terra's quality and service has slowly. Even declining over past 2 years. Today just disappointing and won't be returning.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We went there for dinner to celebrate my husband's birthday and we enjoyed it so much. The food was excellent and especially our waitress, Renee, was a very nice lady who gave us a very warm hospitality and this really made our dinner even better. I definitely will come again and already planned to have a dinner here for our family gathering from oversea.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This was a great place. I read the reviews before going and it definitely lived up to the good reviews. The food was good and the restaurant looks very impressive. Perfect for special occasions or a hot date night. Definitely worth your money!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was amazing, starting with drinks we had at the bar and was fantastic throughout the 3 hours we spent there having a wonderful dinner. Mike our waiter was really great and so attentive.
We loved out dinner at Terra.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were thrilled with the service and the food and what a special treat to have live music

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Always good idea for dinner
Perfect service
Taste food
Fresh oysters
Nino and Dimitrius are The Best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service was amazing and we enjoyed our server. I ordered the grouper special and it was ok. My husband really enjoyed his lamb chops.

The restaurant is quiet which is so nice as so few restaurants are.

However, the washroom had a terrible raw sewage smell. To the point of disgusting. I spoke to the manager who said it was rain back up. My husband said the men's was fine so I'm not t sure if it really was the rain. I didn't want to go back a second time but it was too long of a time until we would be home. I breathed through layers of tissue. Which didn't really help.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and good service as always however not impressed with the half hour wait after our reservation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Everything was wonderful at Terra. The service was fantastic, food was delicious!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I was a little disappointed that they were still setting up tables at 5:50pm when my dinner reservation was for 5:45pm. We had to sit at the bar until 6:15pm until they had the tables set up. Also, for such an expensive restaurant, I was surprised that they have not fixed their sign outside (it's ripped). The food was delicious but I felt our server could have been a little more personable (like ask if we were celebrating a special occasion - which we were! our 10th anniversary). At other high end places if they found out it was a special occasion they'd bring you a nice little free dessert or something but even after telling our server that it was our anniversary, he just brought out the dessert we ordered and wrote "Happy Anniversary". I still like the restaurant because of the food but I just didn't get that "Special" feeling that I normally get at high end restaurants which is disappointing because for 2 people our bill came to $310 (when tip was added).

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 27, 2017

What a disappointment
Looking forward to a return to Terra for a business lunch. My guest chose the sea bass. There was just one piece, it was left over from the previous night. My meat was fine, his fish seemed good.
Three hours latter he called to say he had been violently ill.
I immediately called the restaurant and they said they would make it "right". Weeks latter nobody has called or sent compensation

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very good place!!! Jazz on the weekend..awesome. Service very high level!!Good time,

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amazing food as always. However every single time I order a steak and side of veggies, the veggies are cold at the bottom. I even tell the waited to tell the chef that I know this happens and they still come out coldish

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It had a great ambiance, and atmosphere.
The service was outstanding!
I didn't like my steak too much. But it wasn't terrible. Just found the steak pricy, that didn't have much flavour.
My salad and dessert was amazing. My husband had the seafood pasta which was amazing.
Overall, I would go back to this restaurant for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 7, 2017

loved it ! best date experience ever.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was excellent as was the service. Nice separation of rooms so even tho it was full you never felt crowded. Expensive but worth it!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food is amazing as always. The service is impeccable and staff are friendly and professional. It's a dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We have been here many times and never have had a bad meal or experience. This is a great place for a special occasion or not. Waiters are always pleasant and usually have a great sense of humour . Doubt we will ever have to report a complaint.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We have wanted to dine at Terra for quiet some time now and are glad we did. Service was excellent and food was delicious. The rack of lamb was very tasty and the venison rack was perfectly done. We also had the assorted appetizer platter and it was great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great, personal service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

One of our best meals.

Daughter had Buffalo and Venison.

Wife and I had fish.

Good wine selection with wife's favorite Merlot.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

As always doesn't disappoint. Excellent Rissoto. Good wine.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I really enjoyed the food. The salad was delicious and the main was great. I didn't the chocolate cake though.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

always exceptional! we considered Terra as our first choice

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great food and service ... as usual
Perfect for business lunch and dinner with clients and/or family.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Terra has been consistently good for decades. Great menu that is properly executed in the kitchen and served by top notch wait staff. It is my 'go to' spot in the north end of the GTA.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was not very good. Food was OK but not worth the price.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was great. The Bouilliabaise was saucy and not brothy as it should be. It was more like a marinara. Although, ingredients were plentiful. They should get rid of the individual coffee presses. No matter how many attempts, it results in a very weak cup of coffee.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very good service and excellent food. We had an excellent dinner. I would not hesitate to recommend Terra to my friends.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.