About Terra Restaurant

8199 Yonge Street
Thornhill, ON L3T 2C6
View Larger Map

Terra Restaurant - Fine Dining North of the Core- is located on Yonge Street at the 407.
'Terra is doing too many things too well to be ignored...the setting is glorious, the presentation dramatic, the menu luxurious, the wine list enormous and the service everything it should be..', Where to Eat in Canada.
Frommer's International Guide to Toronto stated 'Sleek and sophisticated, this restaurant feels as if it was air-lifted out of the downtown core...'

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 6:00pm - 11:00pm;

Cross Street:
Hwy. 407 or Hwy. 7

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 731-6161

Website:
http://www.terrarestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
Terra Lounge late night features Live Jazz Fridays and Saturdays from 9:30pm

Catering:
Terra's spectacular catering division offers full service customized events, in your home, office or special venue (hors d'Oeuvres, buffet, formal sit down affairs)

Parking Details:
Parking surrounding the perimeter of the building

Public Transit:
Kirk Drive

Executive Chef:
Stephen Perrin

Private Party Facilities:
Terra has three private dining facilities capable of hosting up to 160 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michael De Tommaso: 9057316161x5

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday'licious' at Terra
Each and every Sunday Terra's food, service and style are available at 'licious' prices. Basic menu includes a choice of four appetizers, main courses and desserts. There are of course more premium items available for a nominal supplemental fee and the full regular menu is also available.

Restaurant Photos

Chargrilled Calamari
Grilled Veal Chop
Tiramisu
Short Rib Pappardelle
Warm Flourless Chocolate Torte
Grilled Salmon
Seafood Spaghetti Aglio Olio
Creme Brulee
Organic Fresh Greens
Caribou & Raspberry Point Oysters
Ahi tuna
Lemon Sorbet & Mint
Miso-Maple Marinated Black Cod
Flash Grilled Atlantic Salmon Medallions
Assorted appetizer platter
Roasted Australian Rack Of Lamb With Honey-Mustard Pistachio Crust
Arugula Salad

Promotions

Promotions

Terra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Continental
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto / Ontario
Best Overall
York
4 More
Best Food
York
Best Service
York
Best Ambiance
York
Most Booked
York
Best Restaurants in Thornhill ›

Special Occasion (42)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Romantic (25)
See All
Notable Wine List (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
687 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bar none the best restaurant north of Bl ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined 3 days ago

Bar none the best restaurant north of Bloor. Try the Lamb or Seafood pasta. The Gnocchi is hands down the best item on the menu (order it as an app for the table)!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

For special occasions, there is no need ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

For special occasions, there is no need to go all the way downtown.

Terra offers impeccable service and outstanding food and an extensive wine list in a comfortable setting.

It can bit a bit expensive given some of the wine sections, but as an overall experience quite a notable experience for that special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I would not recommend unless you weren't ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I would not recommend unless you weren't paying. The steaks were awful. The Keg steaks are better !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Good service (although it was not too bu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good service (although it was not too busy), good food and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first experience at Terra a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was our first experience at Terra and it won't be our last. Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I've been wanting to go to Terra forever ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I've been wanting to go to Terra forever and finally made it there with a friend for lunch on August 1 Holiday Monday and it was everything I dreamed it to be and more. Our servers (couldn't count them all LOL) were SUPER FANTASTIC and made us feel like VIP and attended to our EVERY wish!! I had the Ceasar Salad (with a little twist) and the Seafood Spegettini (DID I SAY TO DIE FOR YUMMMMMMY and oh so plentiful!!) Also enjoyed a Mohito and it was the best I've ever had so I'll be dropping in from time to time to enjoy one at the bar! Thank you Terra for a wonderful dining experience and YOUR STAFF are WONDERFUL!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Whenever we have eaten at Terra Restaura ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Whenever we have eaten at Terra Restaurant we have never been disappointed. Amazing food, service and restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice restaurant with a quiet setting, ma ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Nice restaurant with a quiet setting, maybe our visit was on a weekday. Great food and service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good food and excellent service, bu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very good food and excellent service, but very expensive

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant is located in a typical G ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The restaurant is located in a typical GTA-style strip mall, which made us slightly suspicious as the restaurant advertises "fine dining". However, once we were inside, we forgot all about the exterior. The restaurant is tastefully decorated. The ahi tuna appetizer was delicious but the seaweed salad was store bought. I was very disappointed when I saw it. The dry-aged ribeye steak was juicy and tender. Not bad restaurant, but not great because I know better places for the same price. Once is enough for me.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent food, but still a bit pricey f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent food, but still a bit pricey for what it is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This restaurant has the history to be co ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This restaurant has the history to be considered a standard, exemplifying high end (but also high price) food and wine combined with pleasant ambiance and extremely professional service. I would unhesitatingly recommend it for special occasions or as a "regular" for those with deep pockets. I have never known the food to disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very good and so was the se ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was very good and so was the service. Our waiter was very attentive. It's more af a high end romantic/business groups type of restaurant. I would recommend and go back. Good wine selection, although they were out of my dessert wine. Worth the detour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

The servers were warm, friendly and know ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The servers were warm, friendly and knowledgeable. Great experience.

(Decor a little out dated)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I thought the service was very good and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I thought the service was very good and the restaurant was nice looking. I thought the food was very average at best and expensive for the taste. We had three different steaks for a party of four. Although they were tasty, they were very fatty and lost about 20% of the steak to fat. I had a tomato salad that was not very good. For this price (and less money) I'd rather go to the Octagon just three minutes away.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

I live in Edmonton and catch up with fri ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I live in Edmonton and catch up with friends while in the Toronto area. I have taken my friends to many restaurants and they all love your restaurant, as I do. Each visit has been a memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Terra several times and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We have been to Terra several times and have enjoyed their generous appetizers (the crispy prawn tacos are amazing), fresh fish, perfectly cooked steaks, unique elegant atmosphere and friendly staff. We have always been made to feel welcome and have enjoyed ourselves immensely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I absolutely loved this restaurant. The ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I absolutely loved this restaurant. The food was amazing and worth the money that was spent. The service was impeccable and they were on top of everything - not only was our waiter assisting us, but we had multiple wait staff attending to us the entire evening. The risotto of the day (butternut squash) was fabulous and so were the rest of the dishes we had - roasted chicken, pan seared gnocchi, seafood spaghettini and the pasta of the day. Everything had such amazing flavour and was extremely rich. It was my mother's birthday and they even brought out some delicious cookies on a plate that said "Happy Birthday" along with a candle. It was very sweet of them and was a great touch to the evening. We also loved how something small (a digestive) was brought out after each course. Well done and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went to Terra's to celebrate my gradua ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I went to Terra's to celebrate my graduation with my family and had an amazing experience. I ordered a glass of champagne, which was delicious. I ate the mozarella cheese and tomato appetizer. The cheese was great and the tomatoes were delicious, you could really tell the quality of the ingredients. I had steak frites for my main dish and it was the best steak I've ever eaten in my life. It was on $32 on the lunch menu, which I think is a great value. The french fries are served with aioli garlic and ketchup as well which was nice. The steak was topped with some peppers. For dessert I ate the creme brulee and I was not disappointed. It was glazed perfectly on top with the perfect consistency inside. It also came with some fresh berries, which was nice. Overall I'd definitely recommend going to Terra's, the food is fantastic. It is a bit pricey, which is why I'd probably reserve it for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food, amazing service and great ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Amazing food, amazing service and great win recommendations. Great for any occassion

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best way I can summarize my visit to ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The best way I can summarize my visit to Terra is that it impresses with its decor and service rather than its food. The food wasn't bad by any means but it wasn't worthy of the price. It might not be fair to compare Terra to restaurants in Toronto but I've had much nicer meals for (slightly) less money in Yorkville (e.g. Sassafraz) in the past.

If you're looking to have a really nice meal I'd recommend driving to Toronto. If you want to have a special occasion in the area and appearance is more important than the food then check out Terra.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I was very impressed with everything at ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I was very impressed with everything at this restaurant. The food was outstanding (lunch). The service was impeccable. The decor was upscale. And... the wines by the glass were worthy. I would definitely return to this restaurant, business or pleasure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately we didn't get served, so i ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Unfortunately we didn't get served, so it's hard to write an accurate review. We were seated right away and given water and bread, which was great, but then after that no one came back. After about 30 minutes we gave up and left. The hostess was very kind as we were leaving and offered to get us a new server and do something for the tablee, but it was getting late by that point so we didn't stay. My husband emailed the restaurant, but we haven't heard back yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We had had such a positive experience at ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We had had such a positive experience at Terra years ago that we wanted to celebrate a special birthday there. This time, while the renovated decor was lovely, the music choices were completely out of step as was the rest of the experience. Service was lacklustre and inattentive to the point of needing to ask for bread, oil and balsamic, which finally arrived with the meal. Mennonite chicken and lobster risotto were enjoyable but pretentiously priced. (Someone needs to rewrite the unappetizing menu which reads more like a biology test.) Disappointing overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

5 star food, 5 star service, ample parki ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

5 star food, 5 star service, ample parking, VERY clean everywhere, great selection of food options and knowledgeable waiters.

Huge and delicious martinis (the way that they should be).

Innovative food all served at the proper temperature.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Slow and slower

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

If you aren't in a hurry or if you would wait 30 minutes before your drinks come to your table this is the spot for you! Okay, I'll give them a break. It was a Saturday night 6:45pm and I think they don't have enough staff. Also I think some need a lot more training before starting on the floor. The kid who served my coffee from a French Press pumped it a few times and so you know, coffee grounds in the cup! Really??? It is a French Press not a French Pump. I didn't have the time and also could be bothered because of our guests.

We had waited so long for our salads, we almost forgot we had placed our order.

I'm sorry for this review, it could have just been a bad night???? I don't think so, I felt the people that are going there, don't seem to be concerned. What a shame, was I only nice place in the area for fine dinning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

As a long-time fan of Terra, I have yet ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

As a long-time fan of Terra, I have yet to be disappointed with the experience there. They are a job well-done...or medium rare in my case.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrity Alert

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Enjoyed dinner my wife. Then Jay Manuel showed up to dine. I am assuming the white Merc AMG parked in front was his.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Delicious and q beautiful evening

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Delicious and q beautiful evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always great food, service and overal ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

As always great food, service and overall experience. Definitely best restaurant in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AAA Atmosphere Ambiance Awesomeness

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Costly but overall great ambiance, good music in the background after 9pm, limited food selection on the menu, this is our 5th time in this location, not disappointed, great for romantic dinner for you and your loved one, great wine selection.

Wish they had more gluten free selection though and food for vegetarians !

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Notch As Always

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Terra continues to be a top spot. Was a special occasion for me and my girlfriend. Brought out parents for the first time, Terra was perfect. Only thing was Sunday-licious menu had more ++ items on it than in the past. Great service, great wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding, as always!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Great food, great service, great wine, great time....what more could one ask for?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

As good as ever

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

I've been visiting Terra since it opened and I'd say this meal was one of the best I've had there. The ribye steak was excellent and everyone really enjoyed their food as well

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service. Free valet. Great foo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Excellent service. Free valet. Great food. Everything is just great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Finally an legit Italian restaurant that ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Finally an legit Italian restaurant that can serve proper food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

On every level Terra is one of the best restaurants in the Toronto area. High quality ingredients perfectly prepared. Exceptional service, great decor, sophisticated ambience. The oysters were super fresh and delicious, as was all the seafood. Steaks were perfectly cooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A night at Terra

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We had a great evening. The staff, food and live entertainment was wonderful. We will gladly revisit Terra and would recommend it to our friends. The portions and quality of the meals - excellent - everything we ordered was tasty and visually appealing. Terra, we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a delicious experience

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

We enjoy Terra with our family for birthdays anniversarys and special dinners but we also like going there, just the two of us, during the week, when cooking at home seems like a bad idea. This visit, my husband enjoyed the Caesar salad, and the rack of lamb and I loved the arugula and pear salad and the branzino. It was a delicious meal, definitely a treat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.