Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.53mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi
  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.53mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.53mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi
  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.53mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi

About Terra Restaurant

Terra Restaurant - Fine Dining North of the Core- is located on Yonge Street at the 407.
'Terra is doing too many things too well to be ignored...the setting is glorious, the presentation dramatic, the menu luxurious, the wine list enormous and the service everything it should be..', Where to Eat in Canada.
Frommer's International Guide to Toronto stated 'Sleek and sophisticated, this restaurant feels as if it was air-lifted out of the downtown core...'

8199 Yonge Street
Thornhill, ON L3T 2C6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 6:00pm - 11:00pm;

Cross Street:
Hwy. 407 or Hwy. 7

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 731-6161

Website:
http://www.terrarestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
Terra Lounge late night features Live Jazz Fridays and Saturdays from 9:30pm

Catering:
Terra's spectacular catering division offers full service customized events, in your home, office or special venue (hors d'Oeuvres, buffet, formal sit down affairs)

Parking Details:
Parking surrounding the perimeter of the building

Public Transit:
Kirk Drive

Executive Chef:
Stephen Perrin

Private Party Facilities:
Terra has three private dining facilities capable of hosting up to 160 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michael De Tommaso: (905) 731-6161 ext. 5

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday'licious' at Terra
Each and every Sunday Terra's food, service and style are available at 'licious' prices. Basic menu includes a choice of four appetizers, main courses and desserts. There are of course more premium items available for a nominal supplemental fee and the full regular menu is also available.

Specials

Specials

Terra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Romantic (18)
Cozy (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Business Meals (14)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Casual (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Live Music (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
875 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The staff and service were outstanding. Michael and Cameron were very attentive, efficient and friendly.
A couple of items on the Menu were not available (and this was at 8:30 in the evening) which was disappointing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Get ready for some great food, superb Service, great variety of food choice and a dollop of regret in the morning looking st your credit card.
9/10 experience. 10/10 bankrupt

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Ambiance, service & food were all awesome! Made reservations online. Restaurant called to confirm as well as to acknowledge my note of birthday celebration! We had oysters, the assorted appetizer platter, gnocchi, risotto, assorted fish, cheesecake, cream brûlée & cookie. All met our expectations!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Everything is outstanding! Had a wonderful birthday experience with my friend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We were celebrating with friends my husband's birthday. The atmosphere is fantastic and we had a couple of food allergies that they were happy to accommodate for us.
The service was very attentive and the food was incredible!

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Always good service and good here. Staff is well trained and the sommelier is always in hand to chat.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Terra is one of the most beautiful dining restaurant in Toronto, but You need to expand the menu to have more choices.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Went with my parents and boyfriend to celebrate my 26th birthday. Ambiance and service was great.

Food was absolutely to die for though. For appetizers we got a dozen oysters which were tasty and fresh, and then the gnocchi. It was hands down the best gnocchi I've ever had. For mains we got the seafood pasta, elk, rack of lamb and branzino. All delicious!

Will keep returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 25, 2017

We were celebrating a friend's 50th birthday and booked a table on the patio for lunch. Patio was lovely, music was great, Michael is an excellent server who attended us perfectly and even solved the bee problem brought on by our cocktail selection. Everyone loved their food selections, gnocchi, seafood pasta and ahi tuna nicoise. I would definitely go again, and the patio is so lovely, not expected in a strip mall type setting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

I have heard so many great things about Terra. I had my husband's birthday coming up and thought it's time to try it. As soon as I walked in, it was perfect. The ambience is elegant and cozy at the same time. The service was exceptional ! You took a party of six and made us feel right at home. The food was on a whole other level. Exceptional!! You accommodated everyone's dietary needs. The wine choices are superb. I will be returning again and will recommend my friends. We have an apartment in Manhattan and your restaurant would be in the top 2 in my opinion. We have been to many in New York and this exceeds even a few of them there. Thank you Terra for making my first experience a lasting one. Excited to bring my family and friends to enjoy good food at its finest, good wine and above all else, your service to detail. Kudos to your staff who were kind and considerate and extremely polite. Thank you again and see you soon.
P.S. your jazz singer and accompaniest were amazing ! A beautiful,touch to a perfect restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food and people were excellent... not overly impressed with them end bill...

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great to have revisited the restaurant....service was impeccable!!!!!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Terra always has a wild game chef special, and last night it was kangaroo! I had never tried it before and I figured there was no place better for a first time. Not only was I pleasantly surprised, I will definitely have it again!!
Our service was excellent table side, although we were surprised by the somewhat disorganized bar when we were trying to get pre-dinner cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Always amazing... great food, great service. A+++++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Terra restaurant is our favourite place to go to for dinner. Main reason being that food is consistently good. Quality and flavors never disappointing. Service always great as well.
Happy to have such a great restaurant in our neighborhood.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Fabulous food. Service was impeccable! Would definitely return !

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Met friends for lunch. Enjoyable atmosphere. Not loud.
Food as good as it always is when we dine at Terra.

Tags: Spicy, Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The service was top notch and the food was excellent. Lot of great food options and a lovely wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Exceptional Taste with Lamb Chop.
Great Service. Pricy but possibly taste explains why it is expensive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Service was good; unfortunately, the meal wasn't up to Terra's usual. The seafood in the pasta was overcooked and somewhat unappetizing. Too bad. It was a birthday dinner.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere and ambiance! Waiter was wonderful. Meal was wonderful. Staff went all out to please us. Amazing!!!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Somewhat over priced . Great atmosphere and service but food not of expected standard for the money

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

My partner and I celebrated our 3rd anniversary here last weekend and we were so pleased with the food and ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Best place for oyster

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Everything was great-couldn't be better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Amazing as always! Attentive service, great food, thoughtful wine selection. Thank you, Terra! We will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food, great drinks, great music! The staff is very professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Everything was excellent, service and personnel were very good. Food took a little long to arrive hence the four star rating. It must also be noted that our party consisted of 9 individuals which could also have caused the relatively long wait. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I used to love this restaurant but was really disappointed by my experience this time. The food did not taste as good. When I asked for pepper, it never came. The portions felt smaller this time and there was something missing with the taste. I've had amazing experiences before so I couldn't understand what happened. For the price you're paying, you expect better. This was unanimous among my group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great food and awesome service. Special accommodations for a birthday dessert. On the expensive side, but perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The service was extremely lovely and relaxed. The wine was splendid. We sat outside on a lovely evening celebrating with friends and had a terrific evening. Wine was a little pricey but the food was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Always A+
Quality
Taste
Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Terra's is always a favourite go to and the staff and venue typically exceptional. Weekends provide better service and ambiance. Cocktails are awesome!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Romantic place for dating. Great food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excelent service, great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Average food vastly overpriced. Good service throughout dinner but had to wait a long time for the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Nice patio area where tables are not too close to others.
Not even aware that other patrons were there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very pleased with the ambience, service, hospitality, friendliness and food quality. Will definitely go back and will recommend to others. Great neighbourhood restaurant!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.