Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 14 times today
Special offers available. See details

Terra Restaurant

4.7
948 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Continental
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Business Meals
  • Good for Anniversaries
Terra Restaurant - Fine Dining North of the Core- is located on Yonge Street at the 407.
'Terra is doing too many things too well to be ignored...the setting is glorious, the presentation dramatic, the menu luxurious, the wine list enormous and the service everything it should be..', Where to Eat in Canada.
Frommer's International Guide to Toronto stated 'Sleek and sophisticated, this restaurant feels as if it was air-lifted out of the downtown core...'
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Continental, Global, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 6:00pm - 11:00pm;
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(905) 731-6161
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Stephen Perrin
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Terra has three private dining facilities capable of hosting up to 160 guests.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Michael De Tommaso: (905) 731-6161 ext. 5
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Terra's spectacular catering division offers full service customized events, in your home, office or special venue (hors d'Oeuvres, buffet, formal sit down affairs)
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hwy. 407 or Hwy. 7
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking surrounding the perimeter of the building
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Kirk Drive
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Terra Lounge late night features Live Jazz Fridays and Saturdays from 9:30pm
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Sunday'licious' at Terra
Each and every Sunday Terra's food, service and style are available at 'licious' prices. Basic menu includes a choice of four appetizers, main courses and desserts. There are of course more premium items available for a nominal supplemental fee and the full regular menu is also available.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Specials

What 948 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

I would rank this restaurant 10 stars!
From the minute we arrived as a party of 6 last nite,
the staff were absolutely outstanding all evening. I have dined at many downtown restaurants but I can honestly say Terra gives Michelin service and food quality with very generous portions.
This restaurant is an absolute hidden gem and a role model
for the best dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Excellent as always!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We absolutely love Terra and look forward to many more occasions spent there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Intimate ambience with the space broken into separate dining areas. Live music permeates all the dining areas. Staff are warm and helpful. Manhattans were prepared quickly and mixed well. Seared foie gras was excellent and accompanied by a mini croissant that was a delightful surprising touch. The beef tenderloin was done perfectly to the requested med rare. Ordering two sides for one person's steak was overkill as the quantities are large here. If you order a steak, one side per person is already more than enough. The server was happy to let us taste test the two cab sav's sold by the glass as we like to do that before ordering a bottle. Neither were to our liking so we had to gamble on picking something unknown from the wine list, which is extensive. The server assisted by recommending a single bottle that was less than our budget. I appreciated that, as most often the assistance for wine selection offers up too many choices at more expensive price points. We shared the flourless chocolate cake and it was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Awesome. Best lobster tails and gnocchi ever had!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great service great ambiance

But meats when asked for medium came out rare
And reheating meat wasn't ideal

Great music
Great wine
A bit over priced

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Thumbs up to great personal attention.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

The food at Terra Preta is delicious. All three in our party enjoyed it. The varied menu has things you would not find at an ordinary chain restaurant. There are a number of vegetarian and vegan options. The dessert was a good sized portion, not tiny as in some places. The service is friendly and attentive. Before you go note that the restaurant has moved from its original location. This caused us some confusion, since we went back to where it used to be, and didn't know where to go, till someone directed us to the new location, just a couple of blocks away. We did find it to be cold in the restaurant. We told the waiter, and he turned off the overhead fan, but it was still chilly. It is rather expensive, but worth it for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Too many servers. Cleannup staff then serving staff then menu staff . And small space to come and go that it got a bit hectic and we had to move aside for staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Good service ,quality of food is very good . A little bit overpriced but in general good value for spent money

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Amazing food and service, would definitely recommend a visit here!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Always a favourite spot for us. Reliable for a great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

As always a great experience

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Me and my busband had chicken and were dick for 2 days

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Pretty Good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

It was a wonderful dinner. Delicious oysters, seafood pasta. Waitress was wonderful- just a great night out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

our meal was excellent- my son thought the lamb was the best ever, and my wife thoroughly enjoyed her gnocchi. Live music was an unexpected treat on a weeknight. Service was perfect- not rushed, professionally attentive.

Very very minor issue- the parking attendant stood inside the door when we drove up and did not come out for a while. Never moved more than a foot from the front door. Nice fellow, but not trained. Hard to get tips when you don't approach the car.

All in all another great meal at Terra.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Best 905 resto there is

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Went there for my mother’s 70 th Birthday!Amazing service,ambiance!!!Spectacular!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Enjoyed my dinner, so did my guests. I took my guest there last month for the first time, and because we enjoyed it so much, I came back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Lovely...elegant, wonderful service, superb food and the best night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Great experience, and truly a fine dining restaurant. Wait staff was amazing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Great food, great service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 18, 2018

After being greeted and given our menus, we waited about 20 minutes with the menus closed until we managed to flag a waiter to tell them we were ready to order. There were I believe 2 tables in use, so the place wasn’t busy... The staff was just standing around talking with one another, oblivious to our table.

Once we got the attention and placed the orders, the appetizers and oysters were really great, but the main courses were both very subpar especially given the high price point.

We won’t be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Love Terra. Always a great experience. Service and food quality both exemplary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

It was wonderful except we waited for one hour between our appetizer and our entree. I literally think they forgot about us. Anyway the food there is absolutely incredible!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Outstanding customer service. Gorgeous decor. Delicious food. The chef made a special vegan dish for me.
Perfect evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

For sure, this place provides above average fine dinning experience.
Service is simple but high quality. Staffs are smart and polite, always serve with a nice smile. i felt very comfortable at this environment.
However, foods weren't bad. Just lag of some sort of surprise or magic. With there are so many new choices in the city, i can't say the food doesn't taste good, but a little boring and too standard.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Excellent friendly service. Busy as was Valentines Day so noisy but first rate meal and terrific wine list.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

It wasn't my first time in Terra, but it was a couple of years since I dined here last.

The service was as excellent as previous times, however, the food was very mediocre this time.

The lobster tail was not warm & juicy and seemed like it was prepared prior to ordering. The tenderloin only looked like a piece of tenderloin but tasted like flank steak.

Wasn't very pleased with quality of the Brunello either.

We didn't want to flavour our evening with sharing this with our server.

Nonetheless, we have had excellent previous experiences with Terra and we know that they can undoubtedly impress the customers.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The place was chaos from the start. Although the reservation was for 5:30, it was as though we had arrived late and we were being punished by being placed in such cramped quarters that dining was uncomfortable.

Noise levels were so high my date had to shout to be heard. I ordered flowers from Bloomex - big mistake. It was a referral from Terra Restaurant so I didn’t expect such poor service. Flowers arrived in an orange plastic bag an hour late without any greenery for presentation.

By this point we figured everything was ok until the waiter knocked our wine bottle over and it dropped to the floor, spilling most of the contents. They replaced the half-bottle with another at mo charge but the damage was done.

When they brought the food, we were once again disappointed to see shriveled vegetables and the tiniest lobster tail I have ever seen. Dried out and tasteless. For the price of the surf and turf, I was shocked.

By the time we left, the place was so crowded and noisy, it was a relief to leave. Needless to say, we are never, ever returning. My tip reflected my displeasure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Excellent, as always. I can't say enough about this place. From the service to the food, I would strongly recommend you go!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

One of our favourites!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Celebrated a birthday here on a Saturday night. Valet parking available. Coat check offered upon arrival. Food was very good but on the pricey side which was ok because we expected it. I had the lamb chops ($59) and they were amazing. Also had a side of the gnocchi based on positive reviews. Oh. My. Gosh. It was amazing. Best dish of the night. We brought a bottle champagne to which a $39 corkage fee applies which I thought was excessive. Service was good. Our glasses were constantly being refilled. Overall we had a great meal and really enjoyed everything. I’ll be back but only for a special occasion based on price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

The food is always great! The service is great and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2018

Terra is my go to for any special occasion date! Perfection all the way.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Everything was good. The service was good but they need to be more attentive.
I just feel it's over priced. I had been in similar restaurants before and they were not expensive like that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 22, 2018

Excellent business lunch. My client was very impressed. Quality of food & level of service was impeccable. Would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Always a great experience

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 7, 2018

We enjoyed our dinner very much especially the rib eye. Service was great and we'll definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
24