About Terra Restaurant

8199 Yonge Street
Thornhill, ON L3T 2C6
View Larger Map

Terra Restaurant - Fine Dining North of the Core- is located on Yonge Street at the 407.
'Terra is doing too many things too well to be ignored...the setting is glorious, the presentation dramatic, the menu luxurious, the wine list enormous and the service everything it should be..', Where to Eat in Canada.
Frommer's International Guide to Toronto stated 'Sleek and sophisticated, this restaurant feels as if it was air-lifted out of the downtown core...'

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 6:00pm - 11:00pm;

Cross Street:
Hwy. 407 or Hwy. 7

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 731-6161

Website:
http://www.terrarestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
Terra Lounge late night features Live Jazz Fridays and Saturdays from 9:30pm

Catering:
Terra's spectacular catering division offers full service customized events, in your home, office or special venue (hors d'Oeuvres, buffet, formal sit down affairs)

Parking Details:
Parking surrounding the perimeter of the building

Public Transit:
Kirk Drive

Executive Chef:
Stephen Perrin

Private Party Facilities:
Terra has three private dining facilities capable of hosting up to 160 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michael De Tommaso: (905) 731-6161 ext. 5

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday'licious' at Terra
Each and every Sunday Terra's food, service and style are available at 'licious' prices. Basic menu includes a choice of four appetizers, main courses and desserts. There are of course more premium items available for a nominal supplemental fee and the full regular menu is also available.

Specials

Specials

Terra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Business Meals (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Private Room (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Live Music (9)
Cozy (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Family Style (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
792 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was not very good. Food was OK but not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was great. The Bouilliabaise was saucy and not brothy as it should be. It was more like a marinara. Although, ingredients were plentiful. They should get rid of the individual coffee presses. No matter how many attempts, it results in a very weak cup of coffee.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very good service and excellent food. We had an excellent dinner. I would not hesitate to recommend Terra to my friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Wonderful food and service . Nice not to be cramped as well , big tables for two

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time visitor for a friends birthday. Our waitress was terrific, professional, considerate with great recommendations. Very impressive in every way. Dinners was delicious. Thanks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very fast service. Food was hot and fresh!! Very please!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was my 3rd time going to Terra and the food and service has always been amazing!! great place for a specific occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The miso paste on the tuna appetizer was so spicy it was inedible. Lobster was over cooked. Steak was just okay. The arugula salad was good and the Gnocchi was good. I've been going to Terra for over 20 years and the service and food are a far cry from what they used to be. Not sure I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Pleasant experience here.

Service was great for Valentine's Day, promptly seated as per our reservation and lovely presentation.

Appetizers came out on time but our mains took almost an hour to get to the table. We shrugged it off as the restaurant being super busy that night but it was annoying to see tables going through their appetizers and mains and onto dessert while we waited. At least our waters were promptly filled at all times haha.

Another issue came up where the pricing mismatched what was on the menu when the bill came up. That was resolved once mentioned so not a big deal.

As for the food. Delicious. Amazing. Spot on. Left us craving for more. Pricey but well worth a lovely date night.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Although the complete alacart meal was execelent, with perfect Valatine's Day variety, the highlight was the lamb. Firstly, the portion was significant and filling, the mash potatos and vegetables where perfectly cooked. However the lamb itself was of the highest quality, properly trim to provide just enough fat for flavor and texture. The medium rare preparation was also perfect and so was the light gravy.

This was a five star experience, I need to remember to return regularly to enjoy the food and above par service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for lunch, food was decent but service was /very/ poor at this price point... orders were brought to the wrong table, one table ordered desert and then they remembered that they forgot to bring their ice cream so they brought it five minutes later, waitress bumped into my wife while backing away from a table, no sorry or apology, just moved right along. Same waitress comes to our table and asks if we ordered the item as she was stopped for a quick chat along the way and forgot who it was for - those were her words not mine.

I feel bad for the dinner crowd on Valentines day as the place wasn't busy for lunch time and it was already misfiring on all aspects. I used to enjoy the restaurant but I doubt I will make it a priority to come back as at this price point I expect exceptional service... without the service aspect there is a plethora of options for food in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Whether for Sundaylicious or regular menu, the service as always was attentive, informative and friendly. The food is consistanly perfecly cooked to order be it fish, fowl or veal. All 4 of us had a thoroughly enjoyable dining experience and as always, walked away with smiles on our faces.

Tags: Late-night Find, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love this place. Really good way to enjoy a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

An incredible dining experience! We had the Valentine's Day Menu #2 option and were absolutely blown away! A must for those looking for good food and willing to pay.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We had to go there for a business meeting. They are open in the afternoon (except 3-5pm) so very flexible hours. Excellent food and service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fabulous all around!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent service and delicious food. A wonderful special occasion restaurant! It's nice to be able to experience fine dining north of the city!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent service from start to finsh. Food was beautifully displayed and perfectly cooked. A little expensive, but you get what you pay for I suppose!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Terra always meet expectations as a casual fine dining. All 6 different mains we had tonight were well prepared. My recommendation is the Sea Food Mix which uses tomato soup as the base. It excels all similar dishes with the way they cook. I would like to see more appetizers with lighter choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

too nosiy,steak not good,lobster tail too salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Appetizer was great, main dish - their daily special was not good

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Forgot to update my reservation from 4 to 5. It was no problem although we were a little squished -- tho the place was very busy. We split 2 apps, beat salad and caprese salad. Both excellent. Others enjoyed risotto, snapper, pasta with lamb ragu. Everybody cleaned their plates. Only so so dish was the apple dessert. The two guests who shared it were not impressed. A little pricey but great food and service. Will be back.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve dinner, so service was a little slow but expected. The servers were very polite & friendly. We had the chorizo and shrimp taco appetizers - the chorizo was excellent, the shrimp taco nothing special. For our mains we had the Irish salmon and the seafood spaghettini- both very good & plentiful. Overall it was a lovely dinner. My only complaint was that we had to purchase our water for the table - they did not offer tap - and the water was $10 a bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was not my first time with Terra. I remember the last time i visited, it was quieter. Service then was prompt but unobtrusive. This time, the ambiance wasnt the same, the tables seemed closer together so the noise level was higher. It felt cramped, food was still good nonetheless.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Phenomenal! Every single dish was flawless and every ingredient was handled with the best hands. Ordered the sashimi grade tuna, seafood spaghettini and a seared red snapper. Absolutely great place for a date or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This was my 3rd time here in about 3 years. Each time has been terrific. Food is wonderful - must have the gnocchi! at least as an appetizer to share. Rack of lamb was perfectly prepared, the cookie skillet dessert another must. The staff are all friendly yet professional, attentive but not overbearing. Looking forward to going back sooner than later. A gem in Thornhill.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The service was lovely

My salad was enjoyable

I ordered the branzino and it had no flavour at all. Even though I didn't get the sauces on it I usually don't when I go elsewhere either Really no taste

Should have had the salmon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food is tasty and original, but Pan Roasted Potato Gnocchi is so-so, too much potatoes for me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The Sundaylicious menu has good variety. The food is delicious from appetizer to dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We dined at Terra Restaurant last night and had the Holiday Sundaylicious. We could tell they put a lot of thoughts into the menu. For example, I ordered the mushrooms risotto and it wasn't just a plain mushrooms risotto. It also had smoked chicken. Plus the portions were big. Usually my husband complains that fine dining is a ripoff because the portions are really small and he would feel hungry afterwards. No such complaints this time. Anyway, we had a wonderful time and we would come back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I enjoy this restaurant and have been there many times, we had to book for 8:45 pm as all earlier times after 7 pm were taken I confirmed our chosen the morning of ... on arriving we were told we could not have our table and we would have to wait at the bar for another one ...we waited 20 minutes had a glass of wine as suggested by the host .....finally we did get a table ...it would have been a nice gesture to comp that glass of wine at the bar !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had a very memorable experience and definitely would go back again.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I always like going to Terra, and it always feels special. My favourite dish is the pan fried gnocchi, but I have never been disappointed with any choice.

This is a fine dining restaurant but it does have a casual feel.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Beautiful decor, great service, yummy food. Who could ask for more?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Very outdated , with the bad smell in the restroom , innoing music and very old lighting which going right in your eyes . Nice service and descent food can't compensate the rest .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Terra offers a tremendous prix fixe menu on Sunday called Sundaylicious. I made a reservation for 2 at 5:30 pm I wanted to treat a friend to a fun experience.

When we asked about the Sundaylicious menu the waiter informed us that it was unavailable tonight.

Extremely disappointed my instincts were to leave, but we made the best of it and soldiered on.

The menu has sensational offers but to order appetizers, mains, dessert and coffee would cost considerably more than the Sunday menu.

As we were leaving, I heard another table being introduced to the Sundaylicious menu.

Extremely disappointed and wanting to leave the premises ASAP, we were never given an explanation as to why we were not offered the menu.

The hostess and manager tried to quell my dissatisfaction with a complimentary cocktail and free dessert on a future visit. Ha, they should have offered two Sundaylicious dinners at a future date. Never ever will return and will never recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great local restaurant with really excellent food and very good service. A little expensive but really worth it. The steak was excellent as were the oysters.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I have been to Terra several times in the past and found the food excellent. On my last experience of found the salad to be excellent but the entrees were substandard, especially for the price. The salmon was bland and the veal was grizzly.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Had an excellent meal with very attentive service. Would recommend Terra's to anyone looking for a great experience,

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Terra is good eatery place.

The most important thing it's very consistent in quality of food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great cuisine. Ordered specials based on server's recommendations and everyone was very happy with them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Terra is an all time favorite spot but of late quality is hit and miss. Had revved up the dining experience to first time friends, was disappointed we did so. Table was not nice, isolated and empty room, service was very slow, food was tasteless and not well cooked. The kitchen ally was loud and thus distracting. Sad to write this review. When they are "on" you would be hard pressed to find better but this time was poor across the board and for the expense very disappointing.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Terra constantly delivers the best quality food and outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food and excellent service, but there are better restaurants out there that offer better value for the money spent. I find it overpriced for quite a few items on the menu.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing food and atmosphere. Wife and I came here for date night. We frequent a lot of restaurants just to explore our taste buds. Terra restaurant definately one of the best we've tried

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Authentic, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The experience was excellent as always.

The sevice was fantastic as well as the food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent food . However, service is not the level I would expect. More than once they interrupted the conversations I was having with my guests. For this category of restaurant and the money being spent, that is not acceptable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good food, great service! It's a bit pricey but the Sundaylicious menu is great value for money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This place is truly amazing. I'm going to try one of their food group restaurants just because Terra has given me a good impression about themselves (and itself is in the food group).

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very over priced. A steak with nothing is 45 and adding vegetables another 15-20. I miss Oakland Hall in Aurora.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.