Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.53mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi
  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.53mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.53mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi
  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.53mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi

About Terra Restaurant

Terra Restaurant - Fine Dining North of the Core- is located on Yonge Street at the 407.
'Terra is doing too many things too well to be ignored...the setting is glorious, the presentation dramatic, the menu luxurious, the wine list enormous and the service everything it should be..', Where to Eat in Canada.
Frommer's International Guide to Toronto stated 'Sleek and sophisticated, this restaurant feels as if it was air-lifted out of the downtown core...'

8199 Yonge Street
Thornhill, ON L3T 2C6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 6:00pm - 11:00pm;

Cross Street:
Hwy. 407 or Hwy. 7

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 731-6161

Website:
http://www.terrarestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
Terra Lounge late night features Live Jazz Fridays and Saturdays from 9:30pm

Catering:
Terra's spectacular catering division offers full service customized events, in your home, office or special venue (hors d'Oeuvres, buffet, formal sit down affairs)

Parking Details:
Parking surrounding the perimeter of the building

Public Transit:
Kirk Drive

Executive Chef:
Stephen Perrin

Private Party Facilities:
Terra has three private dining facilities capable of hosting up to 160 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michael De Tommaso: (905) 731-6161 ext. 5

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday'licious' at Terra
Each and every Sunday Terra's food, service and style are available at 'licious' prices. Basic menu includes a choice of four appetizers, main courses and desserts. There are of course more premium items available for a nominal supplemental fee and the full regular menu is also available.

Specials

Specials

Terra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Good for Birthdays (15)
Business Meals (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (6)
Private Room (6)
Live Music (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Very good place!!! Jazz on the weekend..awesome. Service very high level!!Good time,

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food as always. However every single time I order a steak and side of veggies, the veggies are cold at the bottom. I even tell the waited to tell the chef that I know this happens and they still come out coldish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

It had a great ambiance, and atmosphere.
The service was outstanding!
I didn't like my steak too much. But it wasn't terrible. Just found the steak pricy, that didn't have much flavour.
My salad and dessert was amazing. My husband had the seafood pasta which was amazing.
Overall, I would go back to this restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 7, 2017

loved it ! best date experience ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was excellent as was the service. Nice separation of rooms so even tho it was full you never felt crowded. Expensive but worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food is amazing as always. The service is impeccable and staff are friendly and professional. It's a dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We have been here many times and never have had a bad meal or experience. This is a great place for a special occasion or not. Waiters are always pleasant and usually have a great sense of humour . Doubt we will ever have to report a complaint.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We have wanted to dine at Terra for quiet some time now and are glad we did. Service was excellent and food was delicious. The rack of lamb was very tasty and the venison rack was perfectly done. We also had the assorted appetizer platter and it was great.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great, personal service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

One of our best meals.

Daughter had Buffalo and Venison.

Wife and I had fish.

Good wine selection with wife's favorite Merlot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

As always doesn't disappoint. Excellent Rissoto. Good wine.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I really enjoyed the food. The salad was delicious and the main was great. I didn't the chocolate cake though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

always exceptional! we considered Terra as our first choice

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great food and service ... as usual
Perfect for business lunch and dinner with clients and/or family.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Terra has been consistently good for decades. Great menu that is properly executed in the kitchen and served by top notch wait staff. It is my 'go to' spot in the north end of the GTA.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was not very good. Food was OK but not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was great. The Bouilliabaise was saucy and not brothy as it should be. It was more like a marinara. Although, ingredients were plentiful. They should get rid of the individual coffee presses. No matter how many attempts, it results in a very weak cup of coffee.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very good service and excellent food. We had an excellent dinner. I would not hesitate to recommend Terra to my friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Wonderful food and service . Nice not to be cramped as well , big tables for two

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time visitor for a friends birthday. Our waitress was terrific, professional, considerate with great recommendations. Very impressive in every way. Dinners was delicious. Thanks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very fast service. Food was hot and fresh!! Very please!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Real bad not worth the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was my 3rd time going to Terra and the food and service has always been amazing!! great place for a specific occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The miso paste on the tuna appetizer was so spicy it was inedible. Lobster was over cooked. Steak was just okay. The arugula salad was good and the Gnocchi was good. I've been going to Terra for over 20 years and the service and food are a far cry from what they used to be. Not sure I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Pleasant experience here.
Service was great for Valentine's Day, promptly seated as per our reservation and lovely presentation.
Appetizers came out on time but our mains took almost an hour to get to the table. We shrugged it off as the restaurant being super busy that night but it was annoying to see tables going through their appetizers and mains and onto dessert while we waited. At least our waters were promptly filled at all times haha.
Another issue came up where the pricing mismatched what was on the menu when the bill came up. That was resolved once mentioned so not a big deal.
As for the food. Delicious. Amazing. Spot on. Left us craving for more. Pricey but well worth a lovely date night.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Although the complete alacart meal was execelent, with perfect Valatine's Day variety, the highlight was the lamb. Firstly, the portion was significant and filling, the mash potatos and vegetables where perfectly cooked. However the lamb itself was of the highest quality, properly trim to provide just enough fat for flavor and texture. The medium rare preparation was also perfect and so was the light gravy.
This was a five star experience, I need to remember to return regularly to enjoy the food and above par service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for lunch, food was decent but service was /very/ poor at this price point... orders were brought to the wrong table, one table ordered desert and then they remembered that they forgot to bring their ice cream so they brought it five minutes later, waitress bumped into my wife while backing away from a table, no sorry or apology, just moved right along. Same waitress comes to our table and asks if we ordered the item as she was stopped for a quick chat along the way and forgot who it was for - those were her words not mine.

I feel bad for the dinner crowd on Valentines day as the place wasn't busy for lunch time and it was already misfiring on all aspects. I used to enjoy the restaurant but I doubt I will make it a priority to come back as at this price point I expect exceptional service... without the service aspect there is a plethora of options for food in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Whether for Sundaylicious or regular menu, the service as always was attentive, informative and friendly. The food is consistanly perfecly cooked to order be it fish, fowl or veal. All 4 of us had a thoroughly enjoyable dining experience and as always, walked away with smiles on our faces.

Tags: Late-night Find, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love this place. Really good way to enjoy a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

An incredible dining experience! We had the Valentine's Day Menu #2 option and were absolutely blown away! A must for those looking for good food and willing to pay.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We had to go there for a business meeting. They are open in the afternoon (except 3-5pm) so very flexible hours. Excellent food and service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fabulous all around!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent service and delicious food. A wonderful special occasion restaurant! It's nice to be able to experience fine dining north of the city!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent service from start to finsh. Food was beautifully displayed and perfectly cooked. A little expensive, but you get what you pay for I suppose!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Terra always meet expectations as a casual fine dining. All 6 different mains we had tonight were well prepared. My recommendation is the Sea Food Mix which uses tomato soup as the base. It excels all similar dishes with the way they cook. I would like to see more appetizers with lighter choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

too nosiy,steak not good,lobster tail too salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Appetizer was great, main dish - their daily special was not good

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Forgot to update my reservation from 4 to 5. It was no problem although we were a little squished -- tho the place was very busy. We split 2 apps, beat salad and caprese salad. Both excellent. Others enjoyed risotto, snapper, pasta with lamb ragu. Everybody cleaned their plates. Only so so dish was the apple dessert. The two guests who shared it were not impressed. A little pricey but great food and service. Will be back.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve dinner, so service was a little slow but expected. The servers were very polite & friendly. We had the chorizo and shrimp taco appetizers - the chorizo was excellent, the shrimp taco nothing special. For our mains we had the Irish salmon and the seafood spaghettini- both very good & plentiful. Overall it was a lovely dinner. My only complaint was that we had to purchase our water for the table - they did not offer tap - and the water was $10 a bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was not my first time with Terra. I remember the last time i visited, it was quieter. Service then was prompt but unobtrusive. This time, the ambiance wasnt the same, the tables seemed closer together so the noise level was higher. It felt cramped, food was still good nonetheless.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.