About Terra Restaurant

8199 Yonge Street
Thornhill, ON L3T 2C6
View Larger Map

Terra Restaurant - Fine Dining North of the Core- is located on Yonge Street at the 407.
'Terra is doing too many things too well to be ignored...the setting is glorious, the presentation dramatic, the menu luxurious, the wine list enormous and the service everything it should be..', Where to Eat in Canada.
Frommer's International Guide to Toronto stated 'Sleek and sophisticated, this restaurant feels as if it was air-lifted out of the downtown core...'

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 6:00pm - 11:00pm;

Cross Street:
Hwy. 407 or Hwy. 7

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 731-6161

Website:
http://www.terrarestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
Terra Lounge late night features Live Jazz Fridays and Saturdays from 9:30pm

Catering:
Terra's spectacular catering division offers full service customized events, in your home, office or special venue (hors d'Oeuvres, buffet, formal sit down affairs)

Parking Details:
Parking surrounding the perimeter of the building

Public Transit:
Kirk Drive

Executive Chef:
Stephen Perrin

Private Party Facilities:
Terra has three private dining facilities capable of hosting up to 160 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michael De Tommaso: 9057316161x5

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday'licious' at Terra
Each and every Sunday Terra's food, service and style are available at 'licious' prices. Basic menu includes a choice of four appetizers, main courses and desserts. There are of course more premium items available for a nominal supplemental fee and the full regular menu is also available.

Restaurant Photos

Chargrilled Calamari - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Grilled Veal Chop - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Tiramisu - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Short Rib Pappardelle - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Warm Flourless Chocolate Torte - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Grilled Salmon - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Seafood Spaghetti Aglio Olio  - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Creme Brulee - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Organic Fresh Greens - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Caribou & Raspberry Point Oysters - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Ahi tuna - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Lemon Sorbet & Mint - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Miso-Maple Marinated Black Cod - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Flash Grilled Atlantic Salmon Medallions - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Assorted appetizer platter - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Roasted Australian Rack Of Lamb With Honey-Mustard Pistachio Crust - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON
Arugula Salad - Terra Restaurant, Thornhill, ON

Specials

Specials

Terra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
York
Best Food
York
Best Service
York
3 More
Best Ambiance
York
Special Occasion
York
Most Booked
York
Best Restaurants in Thornhill ›

Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (24)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Business Meals (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Cozy (9)
Private Room (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Live Music (7)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fireplace (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fun (3)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had an excellent meal with very attentiv ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Had an excellent meal with very attentive service. Would recommend Terra's to anyone looking for a great experience,

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terra is good eatery place. The most imp ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Terra is good eatery place.

The most important thing it's very consistent in quality of food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great cuisine. Ordered specials based o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great cuisine. Ordered specials based on server's recommendations and everyone was very happy with them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terra is an all time favorite spot but o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Terra is an all time favorite spot but of late quality is hit and miss. Had revved up the dining experience to first time friends, was disappointed we did so. Table was not nice, isolated and empty room, service was very slow, food was tasteless and not well cooked. The kitchen ally was loud and thus distracting. Sad to write this review. When they are "on" you would be hard pressed to find better but this time was poor across the board and for the expense very disappointing.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Terra constantly delivers the best quali ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Terra constantly delivers the best quality food and outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and excellent service, but th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food and excellent service, but there are better restaurants out there that offer better value for the money spent. I find it overpriced for quite a few items on the menu.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Amazing food and atmosphere. Wife and I ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing food and atmosphere. Wife and I came here for date night. We frequent a lot of restaurants just to explore our taste buds. Terra restaurant definately one of the best we've tried

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Authentic, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was excellent as always. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The experience was excellent as always.

The sevice was fantastic as well as the food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent food . However, service is no ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent food . However, service is not the level I would expect. More than once they interrupted the conversations I was having with my guests. For this category of restaurant and the money being spent, that is not acceptable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Good food, great service! It's a bit pr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good food, great service! It's a bit pricey but the Sundaylicious menu is great value for money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This place is truly amazing. I'm going t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This place is truly amazing. I'm going to try one of their food group restaurants just because Terra has given me a good impression about themselves (and itself is in the food group).

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very over priced. A steak with nothing i ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very over priced. A steak with nothing is 45 and adding vegetables another 15-20. I miss Oakland Hall in Aurora.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Have been going for many years and have ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Have been going for many years and have held some family functions there. Michael and his staff go above and beyond! Thank you for always making it a special evening!

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have never been disappointed at Terra. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Have never been disappointed at Terra.

Very much enjoyed the Saturday night duo!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. We had the veal chop, h ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent food. We had the veal chop, halibut and seafood pasta. All dishes were of excellent quality. Fresh oysters. Appreciated the wine recommendations. An overall excellent celebratory meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I don't like being clipped when I dine! ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I don't like being clipped when I dine! Still water at $9.50 a bottle and a replacement wine when the one the I wanted wasn't available offered at $20. over the price of the one ordered. When an establishment is charging $15. and up for appetizers and $40. and up for mains they don't need to abuse the customers by overcharging for everything or do they? Kind of spoils the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Terra's is my favourite restaurant. The ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Terra's is my favourite restaurant. The food and service are consistently exceptional. I have yet to have an issue with an order. The taste and presentation of every dish I have tried has been fantastic. I love the ambiance. This is the place to go for an enjoyable and memorable meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location, great decor, really over ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great location, great decor, really overpriced for the quality of food served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food !

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We dined outside, the ambiance was great ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We dined outside, the ambiance was great and the staff are very well educated regarding their wine list.

The appetizer platter we ordered was disappointing for both of us, but the prosecco and wine were fabulous!

I have had dinner here many times and have never been disappointed by the food until last week.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The Service and food at Terra was excell ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The Service and food at Terra was excellent, and I would high recommend this restaurant.

I can't wait to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Tidy, seasonal menu, beautifully prepare ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Tidy, seasonal menu, beautifully prepared and presented. Polished, attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was not my first visit to Terra. I' ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 13, 2016

This was not my first visit to Terra. I've been coming here since it opened. The food has remained consistently top notch. Tonight was no exception.

My friend and I each ordered the beef tenderloin which was outstanding.

I ordered the oysters as an appetizer. I am glad that Terra continues to offer a variety of oysters from the East and West coast.

The ambiance at Terra has always been great.

Had an excellent dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant..food is exceptional an ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great restaurant..food is exceptional and so is the service. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best martini's ever, highest quality and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Best martini's ever, highest quality and amazing food, perfect service to feel pampered

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is a 5 Stars Restaurant in Thornhill. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 5, 2016

It is a 5 Stars Restaurant in Thornhill. The Sundaylicious menu has an excellent value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Make mistake & don't pay attention to th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Make mistake & don't pay attention to the table booking, i.e. # of people. Change policy without notice, didn't offer full Sundaylicious menu, very disappointed. Pasta was not cooked well. Coffee was tasteless.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

I have been eating at Terra for over 15 ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 31, 2016

I have been eating at Terra for over 15 years. It wasn't very good the last few years but it was surprisingly very very good this time. The special - duck chop was very very good and my Risotto with quail was excellent (one of the best risotto I had for years).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

In general, Tara's cuisine has deteriora ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 26, 2016

In general, Tara's cuisine has deteriorated. Food Ingredient quality is not what it used to be. I normally would enjoy my dining experience at Tara but not this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Bar none the best restaurant north of Bl ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Bar none the best restaurant north of Bloor. Try the Lamb or Seafood pasta. The Gnocchi is hands down the best item on the menu (order it as an app for the table)!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

For special occasions, there is no need ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 18, 2016

For special occasions, there is no need to go all the way downtown.

Terra offers impeccable service and outstanding food and an extensive wine list in a comfortable setting.

It can bit a bit expensive given some of the wine sections, but as an overall experience quite a notable experience for that special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I would not recommend unless you weren't ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 11, 2016

I would not recommend unless you weren't paying. The steaks were awful. The Keg steaks are better !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Good service (although it was not too bu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good service (although it was not too busy), good food and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first experience at Terra a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was our first experience at Terra and it won't be our last. Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I've been wanting to go to Terra forever ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 1, 2016

I've been wanting to go to Terra forever and finally made it there with a friend for lunch on August 1 Holiday Monday and it was everything I dreamed it to be and more. Our servers (couldn't count them all LOL) were SUPER FANTASTIC and made us feel like VIP and attended to our EVERY wish!! I had the Ceasar Salad (with a little twist) and the Seafood Spegettini (DID I SAY TO DIE FOR YUMMMMMMY and oh so plentiful!!) Also enjoyed a Mohito and it was the best I've ever had so I'll be dropping in from time to time to enjoy one at the bar! Thank you Terra for a wonderful dining experience and YOUR STAFF are WONDERFUL!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Whenever we have eaten at Terra Restaura ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Whenever we have eaten at Terra Restaurant we have never been disappointed. Amazing food, service and restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice restaurant with a quiet setting, ma ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Nice restaurant with a quiet setting, maybe our visit was on a weekday. Great food and service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good food and excellent service, bu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very good food and excellent service, but very expensive

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant is located in a typical G ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The restaurant is located in a typical GTA-style strip mall, which made us slightly suspicious as the restaurant advertises "fine dining". However, once we were inside, we forgot all about the exterior. The restaurant is tastefully decorated. The ahi tuna appetizer was delicious but the seaweed salad was store bought. I was very disappointed when I saw it. The dry-aged ribeye steak was juicy and tender. Not bad restaurant, but not great because I know better places for the same price. Once is enough for me.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent food, but still a bit pricey f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent food, but still a bit pricey for what it is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.