About Terra Restaurant

8199 Yonge Street
Thornhill, ON L3T 2C6
View Larger Map

Terra Restaurant - Fine Dining North of the Core- is located on Yonge Street at the 407.
'Terra is doing too many things too well to be ignored...the setting is glorious, the presentation dramatic, the menu luxurious, the wine list enormous and the service everything it should be..', Where to Eat in Canada.
Frommer's International Guide to Toronto stated 'Sleek and sophisticated, this restaurant feels as if it was air-lifted out of the downtown core...'

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 6:00pm - 11:00pm;

Cross Street:
Hwy. 407 or Hwy. 7

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 731-6161

Website:
http://www.terrarestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
Terra Lounge late night features Live Jazz Fridays and Saturdays from 9:30pm

Catering:
Terra's spectacular catering division offers full service customized events, in your home, office or special venue (hors d'Oeuvres, buffet, formal sit down affairs)

Parking Details:
Parking surrounding the perimeter of the building

Public Transit:
Kirk Drive

Executive Chef:
Stephen Perrin

Private Party Facilities:
Terra has three private dining facilities capable of hosting up to 160 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michael De Tommaso: 9057316161x5

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday'licious' at Terra
Each and every Sunday Terra's food, service and style are available at 'licious' prices. Basic menu includes a choice of four appetizers, main courses and desserts. There are of course more premium items available for a nominal supplemental fee and the full regular menu is also available.

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Veal Chop
Chargrilled Calamari
Tiramisu
Short Rib Pappardelle
Grilled Salmon
Seafood Spaghetti Aglio Olio
Warm Flourless Chocolate Torte
Creme Brulee
Organic Fresh Greens
Caribou & Raspberry Point Oysters
Ahi tuna
Assorted appetizer platter
Flash Grilled Atlantic Salmon Medallions
Lemon Sorbet & Mint
Roasted Australian Rack Of Lamb With Honey-Mustard Pistachio Crust
Miso-Maple Marinated Black Cod
Arugula Salad

Promotions

Promotions

Terra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
York
Best Food
York
Best Service
York
3 More
Best Ambiance
York
Special Occasion
York
Most Booked
York
Best Restaurants in Thornhill ›

special occasion (45)
romantic (29)
fit for foodies (25)
See All
notable wine list (19)
neighborhood gem (15)
good for groups (15)
great for lunch (8)
hot spot (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
666 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, amazing service and great ...

Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food, amazing service and great win recommendations. Great for any occassion

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very impressed with everything at ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I was very impressed with everything at this restaurant. The food was outstanding (lunch). The service was impeccable. The decor was upscale. And... the wines by the glass were worthy. I would definitely return to this restaurant, business or pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Unfortunately we didn't get served, so i ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Unfortunately we didn't get served, so it's hard to write an accurate review. We were seated right away and given water and bread, which was great, but then after that no one came back. After about 30 minutes we gave up and left. The hostess was very kind as we were leaving and offered to get us a new server and do something for the tablee, but it was getting late by that point so we didn't stay. My husband emailed the restaurant, but we haven't heard back yet.

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

We had had such a positive experience at ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We had had such a positive experience at Terra years ago that we wanted to celebrate a special birthday there. This time, while the renovated decor was lovely, the music choices were completely out of step as was the rest of the experience. Service was lacklustre and inattentive to the point of needing to ask for bread, oil and balsamic, which finally arrived with the meal. Mennonite chicken and lobster risotto were enjoyable but pretentiously priced. (Someone needs to rewrite the unappetizing menu which reads more like a biology test.) Disappointing overall.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

5 star food, 5 star service, ample parki ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

5 star food, 5 star service, ample parking, VERY clean everywhere, great selection of food options and knowledgeable waiters. Huge and delicious martinis (the way that they should be). Innovative food all served at the proper temperature.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Slow and slower

Dined on May 14, 2016

If you aren't in a hurry or if you would wait 30 minutes before your drinks come to your table this is the spot for you! Okay, I'll give them a break. It was a Saturday night 6:45pm and I think they don't have enough staff. Also I think some need a lot more training before starting on the floor. The kid who served my coffee from a French Press pumped it a few times and so you know, coffee grounds in the cup! Really??? It is a French Press not a French Pump. I didn't have the time and also could be bothered because of our guests. We had waited so long for our salads, we almost forgot we had placed our order. I'm sorry for this review, it could have just been a bad night???? I don't think so, I felt the people that are going there, don't seem to be concerned. What a shame, was I only nice place in the area for fine dinning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a long-time fan of Terra, I have yet ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

As a long-time fan of Terra, I have yet to be disappointed with the experience there. They are a job well-done...or medium rare in my case.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Celebrity Alert

Dined on May 13, 2016

Enjoyed dinner my wife. Then Jay Manuel showed up to dine. I am assuming the white Merc AMG parked in front was his.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and q beautiful evening

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Delicious and q beautiful evening

food5
ambience5
service5

As always great food, service and overal ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

As always great food, service and overall experience. Definitely best restaurant in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AAA Atmosphere Ambiance Awesomeness

Dined on April 16, 2016

Costly but overall great ambiance, good music in the background after 9pm, limited food selection on the menu, this is our 5th time in this location, not disappointed, great for romantic dinner for you and your loved one, great wine selection. Wish they had more gluten free selection though and food for vegetarians !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top Notch As Always

Dined on April 10, 2016

Terra continues to be a top spot. Was a special occasion for me and my girlfriend. Brought out parents for the first time, Terra was perfect. Only thing was Sunday-licious menu had more ++ items on it than in the past. Great service, great wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Outstanding, as always!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Great food, great service, great wine, great time....what more could one ask for?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As good as ever

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

I've been visiting Terra since it opened and I'd say this meal was one of the best I've had there. The ribye steak was excellent and everyone really enjoyed their food as well

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Free valet. Great foo ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Excellent service. Free valet. Great food. Everything is just great.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great food and service

food5
ambience5
service5

Finally an legit Italian restaurant that ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Finally an legit Italian restaurant that can serve proper food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best

Dined on April 2, 2016

On every level Terra is one of the best restaurants in the Toronto area. High quality ingredients perfectly prepared. Exceptional service, great decor, sophisticated ambience. The oysters were super fresh and delicious, as was all the seafood. Steaks were perfectly cooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A night at Terra

Dined on April 1, 2016

We had a great evening. The staff, food and live entertainment was wonderful. We will gladly revisit Terra and would recommend it to our friends. The portions and quality of the meals - excellent - everything we ordered was tasty and visually appealing. Terra, we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a delicious experience

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

We enjoy Terra with our family for birthdays anniversarys and special dinners but we also like going there, just the two of us, during the week, when cooking at home seems like a bad idea. This visit, my husband enjoyed the Caesar salad, and the rack of lamb and I loved the arugula and pear salad and the branzino. It was a delicious meal, definitely a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent service. Chef very accommodati ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Excellent service. Chef very accommodating to alter a dish to your taste.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening

Dined on March 22, 2016

Classy restaurant with excellent servers. Food was great as well. A little pricey, but worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great spot for special occasion. Very a ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Great spot for special occasion. Very accommodating with menu. Thank Michael for giving us our regular table.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great night with family. Food was amazin ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Great night with family. Food was amazing. Special thanks to Michael for helping my husband with his special request pasta. Great service!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, excellent service and tasty menu

Dined on March 6, 2016

Service was impeccable and wait staff were very attentive. Got a romantic cozy booth table for a party of 5. I ordered the Caesar salad and it is, by far, the BEST Caesar salad I ever had. Perfect restaurant if you are looking for high quality food with high quality service and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

great experience and really like the foo ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

great experience and really like the food. I will definitely go back:)

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, attentive but not intrusive s ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent, attentive but not intrusive service. Food was very good. Fantastic band on a Saturday night.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentines Day Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

I usually don't eat out often, and especially not at fine dining, but it was a special occasion. I arrived about 15 minutes before my reservation, but was seated immediately, in a quiet corner. There was a candle and rose petals at the center of the table. Our server was excellent - he was friendly, energetic and responsive. My date didn't like her drink, so he offered to get her something different. The food was good, but not the best I've ever had. We enjoyed the appetizer platter, and our mains (surf & turf/lamb) were very good. Dessert was very mediocre. Overall, the environment and service were the two things that stood out for me at Terra. It was a little pricey for what you got, but for a special occasion, it is well worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good restaurant but high price

Dined on February 14, 2016

I liked Terra on Valentine's. The food is in the upper echelon of restaurants in the area. The service is great, from the free valet parking on a cold night to the free coat check to our waiter. I just felt like, in the end, it was a bit pricey. For two people it was $230, and neither meal had steak (which is usually the most expensive meal on a menu) and one diner drank water, not wine. I would go back to sample other entrees and appetizers, but I'd be very cautious about the prices and pick carefully.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Surprising find north of 401

Dined on February 14, 2016

Driving from the Beach to forage for food is not uncommon however to drive north of the 401 means that you had to have heard good things. Terra is worth the drive. My husband and I went for dinner in celebration of Valentines Day and thought it would be refreshing for a 905 experience and a little adventure well outside our normal downtown, midtown, Queen East corridor. Well surprise, surprise. Offering a fantastically (is that a word?) well priced V-day menu option we opted to go this route. It offered us the opportunity to try a lovely selection of appetizers that gave better exposure to the kitchen's capabilities. We were not disappointed. The branzino as a main was a hit for my husband. The surf and turf was a miss for me. The steak lacked flavour and it had not been for the outstanding appetizer platter it would have resulted in a different review or none at all. Dessert was good-ish but the pastry chef did not wow! Dessert is the ! at the end of the meal and it is pitiful how few can really do it well. The presentation was meh despite what we both thought were appropriate portions. Don't get me wrong - good but not wow. Service was friendly, engaging, warm but not intrusive. Our server was busy but still remained courteous , attentive etc. We will be back. They offer a nice little jazz scene on Fridays and Saturdays that will definitely get us back up there again (likely with a DD). Nicely done and worth the drive. Note RIDICULOUSLY COLD bathrooms. Like RIDICULOUS.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Definitely going back for the crackling ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Definitely going back for the crackling chicken. Douglas our server was great. A nice experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Bread should be warm. App not great but ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Bread should be warm. App not great but good. My main excellent my husbands was good not great. Dessert excellent. Service very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and ambiance.

Dined on February 13, 2016

My Husband and I celebrated Valentine's Eve at Terra. The weather was extremely cold that night and we almost stayed at the hotel....however, we soldiered on and were very glad that we did! We were pleasantly surprised at the door by two gentlemen who hung up our coats....then we were escorted to our table where the culinary adventure began. We choose a Valentines Menu that had three courses and subsequently took 3 hours to enjoy every bite. The restaurant was busy, but we were made to feel like we were the most important people in the room. The food was amazing...enough said!! We enjoyed a wonderful evening and we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for Dinners

Dined on February 13, 2016

Very good service and the food is always outstanding. Steak is mouthwatering and the seafood pasta is always very satisfying. Salad very fresh and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Not really a top steakhouse

Dined on February 13, 2016

Not really a top steakhouse

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great all around

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great food, terrific service. Definitely on the high end side, but worth the money if you enjoy 5 star dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Romantic atmosphere but disappointed on service

Dined on February 11, 2016

It is a quite a high end restaurant and I expected very good service and food. Overall, the appetizers were very good but the tenderloin steak I had was much below my expectation and charged $55. It was not overcooked but the quality of steak was bad. Service was so so. The waiter had never refilled water and we waited too long for ordering our meals, even it was not a very busy night. With this price, I felt it was not worth.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Going to Terra was a pleasant surprise. ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

Going to Terra was a pleasant surprise. I wasn't familiar with the area but had been recommended through friends of friend. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. I wouldn't hesitate to go again and to recommend to friends.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dining North Of The Core

Dined on February 11, 2016

The service here was great. They had valet parking and people opened the door for you upon entry. Very nice touch. The waiters were all very attentive and friendly. We tried the oysters and they were quite good. They have their own tobasco vodka sauce that was quite nice! I would say this is a good place for a special occasion or a date. The ambience was nice and relaxing and not too noisy so if you're on a date you don't have to scream over the table like some of the other restaurants which have music blaring and people talking. They had quite an extensive wine list which is nice to see. Overall I enjoyed my meal and the ambience of the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

perfect for special occasions

Dined on February 8, 2016

Excellent service! Very friendly staff. Food was delicious and served with minimal wait time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.