About Terra Restaurant

1345 Railroad Ave
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

Terra Restaurant has been a leading restaurant in the Napa Valley since 1988. Set in a historic field stone building, Terra gives you the feeling of the Napa Valley, or some have said the French country side. We are proud to be part of such an important area not just for food but also for wine (Our family owns Quixote Winery). We are, Hiro and Lissa the chef/owners of Terra and love to work closely with the local growers for our vegetables and the farms that raise the meats we serve. Incredible dairies that make the cheese and the fishermen that bring in the catch we serve. The connection to the land and the people is why we love what we do. Terra serves a prix fix menu of 4, 5 or 6 courses. Terra has received a Michelin Star since the first award in 2007 and each year since then. Hiro Sone received the James Beard Award for Best Chef California in 2003 and Terra received James Beard Award for Outstanding Service-2008. The San Francisco Chronicle gave Terra & Bar Terra 3 1/2 stars.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Su-Mon, W-Th 6:00pm-8:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 6:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Adams and Hunt

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 963-8931

Website:
http://terrarestaurant.com/

Catering:
We enjoy bring Terra to your party for up to 150 people. While not always available with enough notice Hiro and Lissa can make your event very special. The menus we suggest are from the current menus we offer at the restaurant. Local farm grown vegetables, meats and fish. A true restaurant experience in your home.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of parking on the street and in the two lots north of our building. We are a small town and the businesses near us are happy to have our guests park in their lots after 6:00pm

Executive Chef:
Hiro Sone

Private Party Facilities:
Terra can be reserved for your private party. The room seats up to 40 people and is a gracious room for celebrating. Our menus are custom created for each party from our current menu so everything is very seasonal and local. Dietary requirements are seriously respected. Please see our website for photos of the room set up for a private party and a sample menu.

Private Party Contact:
Lissa Doumani: 7079638931

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Terra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
Wine Country
Best Service
Wine Country
2 More
Best Value
Wine Country
Contemporary American
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in St. Helena ›

fit for foodies (47)
special occasion (44)
romantic (40)
See All
notable wine list (31)
neighborhood gem (13)
good for groups (6)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terra offers the best dining in all of ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Terra offers the best dining in all of California

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Possibly the best meal of my life...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

I can't say enough good things about Terra. How about this: GO THERE. From the hushed tones and beautiful setting to the customized service to the outrageously delicious and fresh food, this St. Helena dining room is an ideal inclusion in your Napa visit. Frankly - I would plan all other meals around dining at Terra. We had the four and five course meals, which included the freshest of ingredients and preparation. Since the menu changes constantly, I could go on about the baby peas and sprouts, or the morel risotto or the soft shell crab but - on your visit the offerings may be something completely different. The dining room is so beautiful - like a country house in France. Very comfortable, roomy chairs, PERFECT lighting (our selfies made us look young and beautiful) on both people and the food, air quality was clean and fresh, there was plenty of room between tables, abundance flowers on the center display and some of the music suited perfectly for a modern, romanticized evening. Even if you are not with your loved one, dining here shouldn't be missed. You will feel comfortable, welcomed, informed and fed well regardless of your dining partner. The service is, in my opinion, perfect. I loved the gentle attention to detail and especially - the timing of the courses. The service isn't fussy or stuffy - just perfect. I felt so well cared for.... ahhhh! Be sure to try one of Chef Hiro's alcohol concoctions - we had the Casino - Gin, Lemon, Luxor Maraschino and Bitters - shaken and served straight up - OH MY. So delicious - In fact, I think we had two each. Lovely. The wine list is exactly what you would expect in a fine Napa dining establishment - and the sommelier, Jonathon, was well informed and lead us to the right choice for our food selections and budget. I can't wait to go to Terra again - I'm still savoring the Black Cod, the Short Ribs and that so luscious Strawberry Shortcake - like none other I've had anywhere on this continent or others!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing dining experience. Great ambien ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Amazing dining experience. Great ambience and an outstanding service from Andrew. The 4 course meal was fantastic. Highlights to the black cod and the chocolate caramel tart. When in St. Helena, will certainly dine there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fabulous

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We had dined here several years ago and immediately remembered the restaurant by name. I did not recall the price fixe meal, and while surprised of the cost, this was absolutely the most outstanding dining experience that we have ever had in our lives. We will have fond memories of our dinner experience at Terra. The main food items called Savories were unusual and different and do delicious. The dessert items were scrumptious. The service was impeccable. The wine list was extensive too. I enjoyed a Cabernet Sauvignon from Ladera that was one of the best I have ever tasted. Dining here is a splurge but worth every dollar. We can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Should be on your short list

Dined on May 7, 2016

If you haven't been, you must go! Food is amazing. We had a hard time deciding what to order since everything looked beyond great. 5 courses is a lot but we just had to go for it. Stunning, elegant but rustic atmosphere - perfectly designed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terra is awesome!

Dined on April 26, 2016

We heard about Terra before our trip to wine country. Our anticipation was well rewarded. Terra is small, cozy, romantic and classy. The service was ultra professional but also very warm, something very important to us as diners. No pretentiousness, though we wouldn't blame them for having some. We took on the prix fixe meal with 5 courses. The signature black cod was to die for, especially this amazing broth it rests in. Each portion tended to be larger than our expectations, so despite the relatively high cost, we felt it was met with great value. We brought in our own bottle of wine (for a small fee). If you want to have a truly special experience, we highly recommend you go to Terra!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terra is one of our favorites in California

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great food and great service. Excellent wine list,

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was amazing and the portions were much bigger than I expected. We each had the 5 course menu and were stuffed by the time dessert arrived.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Lovely, but you'll pay for it.

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

You'll choose a 4, 5 or 6 course meal from a list of unique chef creations. The food and service were great, but plan for a long dinner (ours was 3 hours) and a tall bill (ours was $850 for 4 people). Wonderful special occasion spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No complaints

Dined on April 11, 2016

Everything done exceptionally well. Food and service are impeccable. Great concept of choosing how many courses you want. Every dish was flawless. Go. Enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Ox Dinner at Terra

Dined on April 5, 2016

Guest chefs, Greg & Gabrielle Denton, put together a fabulous dinner hosted by Terra. Of special note was the clam chowder with bone marrow--incredible, an unexpected and delicious combination.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Truly special place!

Dined on April 3, 2016

We had one of our first dates here quite awhile ago, and they are still on top of their game. Quite an accomplishment in the competitive environment of Napa Valley. Hope to go back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Best of the Season

Dined on April 1, 2016

I planned a vacation in SF and Napa for 6 days. I schedule Atelier Creen, Auberge du Soleil, Bouchon and Terra for this season. It was a wonderful choice. But Terra was the one that a couple of friends and my wife and I preferred. The Menu the we choose the smallest menu, only of 4 dishes (it was a mistake), and all of them were amazing, we shared the dishes between the couples. We drank a Pinot Noir from Peay, Sonoma, it was difficult to say that it wasn't a Pinot from "Burgundy". It paired very well with all our dishes. The Risoto with Coconut Red Curry and Foie Gras Tortelloni were my preference.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still Outstanding and a Delight to Tastebuds

Dined on April 1, 2016

We are locals and have been eating here for over 20 years. It especially is our "go to" place for our anniversary too. From start to finish it was outstanding. Loved the black pepper panna cotta!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service with excellent food and wine

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Thank you for a great dining experience from the start to finish. The service was one the best I experienced, from the host and wait staff. Each course was paced very well and wine (and water) refill is the best I experienced. Never too frequent and never have to signal or ask. Menu has plenty of choices, amount is very generous and of course we enjoyed all four courses with no room for desert. Interesting wine list as it has some sake choices which I select over wines (in Napa Valley) and they were excellent. Will definitely visit again when in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I was expecting more

Dined on March 21, 2016

Like always when your expectations are high you may end up with a bit of disappointment. Here is our story. The restaurant is inside an historical building. The charm of the thick heavy stone wall however was partially diminish by the smell of the old mortar between the stones that the humidity of the rain was exacerbating. Not the best smell to enjoy a dinner. The food was very good although the octopus was too salty and my wife couldn't eat it. However we were not charged for it so it shouldn't count. the capellini however were outstanding, served at a perfect temperature for maximum enjoyment. Equally outstanding was the risotto. So I guess we are a bit to severe with our star reviews, however as mentioned at the beginning we were expecting perfection. We should go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

An excellent and interesting experience

Dined on March 21, 2016

The food, service, and ambience were all excellent. We especially appreciated the creativity and flexibility of the wine pairing, which was selected in accordance with the dishes we chose. Not only did they offer us the possibility of half-glasses with each course (which we gladly accepted), the wines were outstanding, unusual, and extremely reasonably priced. The food was all very good. My only slight reservations are that most dishes were over salted to my taste, and that there were not enough vegetables anywhere on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection from start to finish.

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

I can't believe that it has been so long since we have returned to this Napa Gem. The menu allows you to be creative to whatever your desires are. You can choose what you like on the menu and just pay by the course. I was told that someone came in and ordered 5 deserts. The only problem that occurred is that Everything was Wonderful making any choice difficult

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding evening of food, wine, and g ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Outstanding evening of food, wine, and great service! Thank you also for the fun vegan choices for a delicious tasting menu! Our server Karen was fun and helpful and our sommelier steered us in the right direction too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Hidden Gem In the Napa valley

Dined on March 5, 2016

This restaurant is nestled one block off Main Street in St Helena. It is in an ols stone building that has been lovingly restored. Service is great. Wine list is very good and reasonably priced. Believe it or not, the best dish on the menu (if you are lucky enough to be there on a day it is available), is the spaghetti seasoned with tripe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding outstanding outstanding. Eve ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Outstanding outstanding outstanding. Everyone should go to Terra. The food is great. The service is great. We'll be going to Terra every time we visit Napa or Sonoma.

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food served by friendly staff ...

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

Incredible food served by friendly staff....everything was flavorful and fresh. Very attentive to gluten free, with a separate adapted menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still one of the best places to visit F ...

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

Still one of the best places to visit Food is just excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was uneven

Dined on February 6, 2016

I had the six-course menu. The highlight was grilled octopus, which was delicious. The lobster risotto was excessively salty, the lobster bisque was bland, and the black cod was okay, but I didn't care for its marinade. I was generally pleased with the duck breast, and the gooseberry tart was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliably terrific.

Dined on January 31, 2016

We have been to Terra many times. It never disappoints. Everything about it is as good as it gets. One note to potential diners, though. The restaurant menu is a 4, 5, or 6 course experience that leans towards Japanese flavors. If you want to order individual items from a menu, reserve a spot at Bar Terra in the same building. The servings are generous, so use your judgement when ordering. The service is always fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at Terra

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

This was my first time dining at Terra. Overall it was great. A bit about entering the restaurant... As I entered the building, I had no idea where to go. You're immediately confronted with a stair case to another level and two doors; one on each side of the entrance. As I dithered about which direction to go, a hostess came out and greeted me from the right door, which is where "The Bar at Terra" is located. Tip for future diners, go to the bar (the right) first to see the hostess and she'll seat you in the dining room across the hall.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Going into the restaurant it's a bit odd... you check in on the right side (casual dining) and are guided to the left to be seated in the other dining room (a little more formal). Not a lot of tables but that was great for us...the service was perfect - 5 stars. The timing / pace of the meal was perfect, we never felt hurried / rushed with any of our courses. Our helper for the evening was wonderful! The food was amazing... everything you read from others is true! Must haves - Charamushi - it's like a warm hug! Cod - on their menu for 20+ years, the broth is so good I wanted to lick the bowl. Abalone and Scallop with Escargot butter - 'nuff said. Everything was perfectly cooked... the presentation was wonderful and the portions - this was not a tasting menu portion, this was close to a full restaurant entre portion. You can mix and match the dishes, my wife and I ordered 7 main courses and one desert - 4 a piece - which was a perfect amount of food. Notable wine list... runs from $40 bottles to $1,000 bottles... we found a great Benovia Pinot at a really reasonable price. HIGHLY recommend this to everyone! Best food and best foodie value in Napa Valley (and possibly the Bay Area). We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great tasting menu!

Dined on November 24, 2015

Great food at Terra. The menu is set up with a long list of small plates. Each person can order their own selection of small plates. When we went, four courses cost $85. Five courses cost $104. Six courses cost $121. The food was very good - interesting selections and well paired with individual glasses of wine. Fantastic service. Would highly recommend - especially loved that different members of the table could order a different selection of small plates. Great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Worth a visit

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

This is one of those restaurants everyone should try once. An evening well worth the experience, setting and great food - a bit overpriced though.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dining experience in the valley.

Dined on November 16, 2015

I've been coming here for 20 years and Terra never fails to impress! Truly one of the most remarkable dining experiences in the Napa Valley. The cuisine is off the charts, the wine list superb and the staff is the best in the business.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful menu

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

I had been here in the past and choices were not to my taste since I'm not crazy about weird combinations and innovative cuisine, but this time the choices were spectacular. It was hard to decide what to have because they all sounded so good. What I chose was delicious and plentiful ( almost too much). I chose 4 courses, 5 would have been way too much for me. Wonderful gem in our neighborhood

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best in Napa Valley

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

My husband and I had one of the most enjoyable meals we've ever had at any restaurant, even internationally. The waiter was so knowledgeable and we appreciated his suggestions for the tasting menu. Excellent, excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best place in our trip at napa

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

Best place in our trip at napa

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Menu with Wonderful Food

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

Six of us dined here last Saturday and had terrific meals. I like the prix fixe menu with 4, 5 or 6 choices. We all took 4 and had fabulous meals. In particular the sweetbreads are some of the best I have had. We brought a nice bottle of wine with us and purchased another so they waived any corkage. Service was wonderful and we would not hesitate to return to this restaurant. I only wish I lived closer.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience. Celebrated 19th ...

Dined on October 20, 2015

Great dining experience. Celebrated 19th wedding Anniversary in Napa Valley and Tra Vigne was the perfect restaurant to start the trip. Food was great, mozzarella Al minuto is a must try app along with the heirloom tomatoes!! Also liked that they were able to split the pasta dishes so that you could taste multiple dishes. Service was outstanding and the ambiance was excellent! We sat outside in the courtyard area. Very comfortable with outdoor heaters.

food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome eclectic menu that puts you in c ...

Dined on October 16, 2015

Awesome eclectic menu that puts you in charge

food5
ambience5
service5

One of our all-time best meals

vip
Dined on October 13, 2015

We enjoyed our dining experience at Terra. The variety of menu selections (all small portions, which enhanced the experience of a diversity of tastes) was outstanding, as was the preparation of individual dishes. The wine selections were reasonably priced for the quality, and the service was flawless. It is not in our neighborhood, but would be worth a journey.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

it was a very good location and service ...

Dined on October 12, 2015

it was a very good location and service small dish but very high price

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing meal, superb service and a real, ...

vip
Dined on October 9, 2015

Amazing meal, superb service and a real, real treat. This place deserves more stars from the tire company. Really an excellent dinner from start to finish, and we really spent 10 days in both SF and wine country hitting all the top places. This meal was our favorite of them all. I really love the concept of 4, 5 or 6 courses, in any order. Have all desserts! Have all meats! Whatever you wish! Actually we had 4 courses in a fairly routine order, going from light to heavy, then husband had dessert (which I tasted) making his a 5 course meal. For me the highlights were the torchon of fois gras and the duck breast. For husband the black cod was favorite as well as the crudo. BTW, also a true BARGAIN compared to some of the other places we ate during that trip. Very well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing tasting menu experience !

vip
Dined on October 9, 2015

I always looking for great tasting menus and this is one of the best I've ever been to because you have so many options you can do 4,5,6 courses and you can do either all savory and leave out dessert or you can do two desert courses if you want. Food was 10 out of 10 every dish was creative but simple fresh ingredients. Service was a 10 and the dining room is very private warm and inviting. Everything I had was perfect and will return for dinner anytime in in Napa!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.