Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Terra Restaurant

Terra Restaurant has been a leading restaurant in the Napa Valley since 1988. Set in a historic field stone building, Terra gives you the feeling of the Napa Valley, or some have said the French country side. We are proud to be part of such an important area not just for food but also for wine (Our family owns Quixote Winery). We are, Hiro and Lissa the chef/owners of Terra and love to work closely with the local growers for our vegetables and the farms that raise the meats we serve. Incredible dairies that make the cheese and the fishermen that bring in the catch we serve. The connection to the land and the people is why we love what we do. Terra serves a prix fix menu of 4, 5 or 6 courses. Terra has received a Michelin Star since the first award in 2007 and each year since then. Hiro Sone received the James Beard Award for Best Chef California in 2003 and Terra received James Beard Award for Outstanding Service-2008. The San Francisco Chronicle gave Terra & Bar Terra 3 1/2 stars.

1345 Railroad Ave
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Su-Mon, W-Th 6:00pm-8:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 6:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Adams and Hunt

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 963-8931

Website:
http://terrarestaurant.com/

Catering:
We enjoy bring Terra to your party for up to 150 people. While not always available with enough notice Hiro and Lissa can make your event very special. The menus we suggest are from the current menus we offer at the restaurant. Local farm grown vegetables, meats and fish. A true restaurant experience in your home.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of parking on the street and in the two lots north of our building. We are a small town and the businesses near us are happy to have our guests park in their lots after 6:00pm

Executive Chef:
Hiro Sone

Private Party Facilities:
Terra can be reserved for your private party. The room seats up to 40 people and is a gracious room for celebrating. Our menus are custom created for each party from our current menu so everything is very seasonal and local. Dietary requirements are seriously respected. Please see our website for photos of the room set up for a private party and a sample menu.

Private Party Contact:
Lissa Doumani: (707) 963-8931

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Terra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (31)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Tasting Menu (27)
Romantic (25)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Cozy (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Seasonal (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Healthy (5)
Organic (4)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Historic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Exceptional fine dining without any pretention, though it's expensive it's definitely worth every penny.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

My wife and I have been privileged to dine at 3 star restaurants in many countries. Terra competes with the very best, and is, in my opinion, the finest restaurant in the Bay Area. Every dish is creative, beautifully presented, and utterly delicious. It's a 1 1/2 hour drive for us, but It would be worth the trip for the Chawanmushi alone--best version I have ever tasted.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Unique and Original. The entire staff were attentative and professionally casual. The cocktails were some of the finest I've had in a long time and the food was fresh and delicious. Zen-like ambience. We're from New York and we look forward returning to Terra... Kevin L.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

A wonderful meal, fine service, excellent wine list--and there is a more casual bar as well.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had in my life! Complex and interesting flavors!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We always enjoy dining here, because the food is consistent and so incredible! Hiro Sone pays attention to detail as he creates the most delicious delicacies. Lissa's desserts are to die for!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Dinner at Terra is an unique gastronomical event. The courses are all interesting and delicious. The service is expectable. Our waiter was a wealth of knowledge, more of a guide through tout our evening. We were throughout impressed and had a wonderful time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The waitress did a great job at explaining the menu, and had great suggestions! Great way to celebrate our 10 year anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Terra never disappointed; Start with the warm greetings, friendly and carefully description of the dishes to superb tasty food and beauiful presentation. Our wait staff was also very knowledgable about how the dishes was prepared and keeping us verywell informed.
Love this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Terra is a top 10 experience in my book. I have eaten all over the world, and this place is as good as it gets. The tasting menu is perfect, as the food options are perfect to share. It is gourmet and yet, accessible. We've eaten here twice - once on our honeymoon in 1995 and again this year for my 50th. It rivals any top food experience, anywhere. Please make sure you get to this iconic place if you come to Napa. It will be well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Absolutely sublime. Perfection in every aspect. Creative cuisine served in inviting environment. Terra is a diamond.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We will definitely dine here again. Beautiful setting, wonderful dining experience without being stuffy. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Wonderful dinner, excellent service. I recommend studying the menu in advance, as each dish is complex and worthy of preparation in order to appreciate each item. Lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Best meal we had in Napa. Service was astounding. Selection and food was definitely Michelin star worthy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Woderful. Foidvn service is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

An absolute jewel of a restaurant, I have dined a half dozen times over the last 12-14 years. The subtle of flavors, balance, and presentation reflect the chef's love of his craft and genius. The service is polished and comfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Amazing as always, our 10 years old son had his first 5 course meal there. 3 courses of rare wage beef on heated plates, the cheese course and strawberry sorbet. They readily accommodated him. The food was innnovatative and the service is always above and beyond.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Fun, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Terra is outstanding. The food preparation and presentation is beautiful. Every entree was meticulously prepared, a work of art and delicious. The menu consists of options for lighter fare which makes the tasting menu style of ordering excellent and not overwhelming. My husband and I prefer this restaurant to Meadowood and TFL from a food choice, preparation and value perspective. It is very small so reserve early or you are not going to get a table.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

very good--four course left us full but not overly stuffed--could sleep at nite. three of my selections were excellent with subtle flavors-but was disappointed in the duck. lobster tortolloni was excellent as well as the deserts!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Awesome dinner! Amazing service! My favorite dining experience in Saint Helena. Their Michelin star is well deserved!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Outstanding food, service and romantic atmosphere. Food preparation is excellent and service professional. Very good wine list. American with hint of Asian influence in many dishes. Tasting menu with multiple choices and flexible. Reservation essential. Nice bar for a before dinner cocktail and they also serve good food in the bar if you want a more casual dinner. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food, selection is unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Absolutely spot on. Food prepared with precision and flavours to die for.

Highly recommend this for a great evening out.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

This is still one of the finest dining experiences in the US. The menu is set up so one may really please him/herself. It is possible to organize a meal which builds gradually but excites one at every turn. Since we had a four course and a five course set of selections we ended up sharing nine courses. These were not tiny portions either (except for the duck.) The chawanmushi is a must every time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great as always
Wait staff has been there for years and we are always happy to see the familiar faces each visit to Napa…
Knowledgeable and courteous staff and delectable food

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Obviously incredible. The price is a little steep but for what you're getting it's worth ever ramen meal you'll have to compensate.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had a spectacular meal at Terra. I was here 5 or 6 years ago and wasn't overwhelmed so the prix fixe style seems to be working better. The fixed menu that really isn't--you get to choose either 4,5 or 6 items from a fairly long and diversified menu--is spectacular. The cod in a broth was Devine as was the the risotto. There are no false notes here and for Michelin starred restaurant its good value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

From the very beginning everything was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Healthy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The best quality app

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The food and service are always superb. We went recently for our anniversary (also my birthday). We each got the 4-plate option. My favorites were the lobster tortellini and the steak. The goat cheese cake was also great, and they wrote "happy birthday and anniversary" in chocolate around the edge of the plate. We love the old stone walls in the interior of the small dining room. You must reserve far in advance. I tried to reserve a 7:30 table five weeks before our anniversary (which was a weeknight, by the way), and there were no 7:30 openings, so we had to take an 8:30 slot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Restaurante espectacular descubrimiento en St. Helen
Gourmet. menú de cuatro platos a selección del menú del día, cambia diario.
Hacer reservación previa.

Me encanto Recomendado!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious food, lovely presentation, excellent service. Price is right.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A very elegant restaurant with a creative menu. Service is perfect and although not for one on a budget well worth the money. Good Wine list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great Michelin star restaurant. I think it's a good value for the quality of food. Second time coming back. In general, I feel that the sea food oriented dishes outshine the red-meat dishes. Hope to be back and next time, if you have an average appetite, I think the four courses for women and five courses for men should suffice, with sharing desert as the guy's fifth course. The bisteeya for desert was great. Warm filo pastry desert that can be shared. Even better when paired with a desert wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Dinner at Terra was an exceptional experience. The menu options, each dish we chose, the superb wait staff were all spectacularly good. The flavors were complex and interesting and each dish was beautifully presented. The scallop dish was extraordinary, and the risotto was layered with the flavors of spring. This is definitely a special occasion restaurant but one we will look forward to visiting more often.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The menu was incredible ! Ordered 8 different dishes & shared all...amazing! The goat cheese cake will live in my dreams!!! Perfection!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Awesome!! Great meal in Napa!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Interesting food. I ordered the 4 course and it's a bit much. Portions are generous and creative, some quite exceptional. Some of us went for the 6 course and that is too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Our 2nd time there and each time was absolutely fantastic!! The food is so unique but has something on the menu for everyone. A very romantic setting. Some of the best service I have ever seen!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.