Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Terra Restaurant

Terra Restaurant has been a leading restaurant in the Napa Valley since 1988. Set in a historic field stone building, Terra gives you the feeling of the Napa Valley, or some have said the French country side. We are proud to be part of such an important area not just for food but also for wine (Our family owns Quixote Winery). We are, Hiro and Lissa the chef/owners of Terra and love to work closely with the local growers for our vegetables and the farms that raise the meats we serve. Incredible dairies that make the cheese and the fishermen that bring in the catch we serve. The connection to the land and the people is why we love what we do. Terra serves a prix fix menu of 4, 5 or 6 courses. Terra has received a Michelin Star since the first award in 2007 and each year since then. Hiro Sone received the James Beard Award for Best Chef California in 2003 and Terra received James Beard Award for Outstanding Service-2008. The San Francisco Chronicle gave Terra & Bar Terra 3 1/2 stars.

1345 Railroad Ave
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Su-Mon, W-Th 6:00pm-8:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 6:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Adams and Hunt

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 963-8931

Website:
http://terrarestaurant.com/

Catering:
We enjoy bring Terra to your party for up to 150 people. While not always available with enough notice Hiro and Lissa can make your event very special. The menus we suggest are from the current menus we offer at the restaurant. Local farm grown vegetables, meats and fish. A true restaurant experience in your home.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of parking on the street and in the two lots north of our building. We are a small town and the businesses near us are happy to have our guests park in their lots after 6:00pm

Executive Chef:
Hiro Sone

Private Party Facilities:
Terra can be reserved for your private party. The room seats up to 40 people and is a gracious room for celebrating. Our menus are custom created for each party from our current menu so everything is very seasonal and local. Dietary requirements are seriously respected. Please see our website for photos of the room set up for a private party and a sample menu.

Private Party Contact:
Lissa Doumani: (707) 963-8931

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Terra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Tasting Menu (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Romantic (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Cozy (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Seasonal (9)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (5)
Historic (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Organic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a spectacular meal at Terra. I was here 5 or 6 years ago and wasn't overwhelmed so the prix fixe style seems to be working better. The fixed menu that really isn't--you get to choose either 4,5 or 6 items from a fairly long and diversified menu--is spectacular. The cod in a broth was Devine as was the the risotto. There are no false notes here and for Michelin starred restaurant its good value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

From the very beginning everything was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Healthy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

The best quality app

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The food and service are always superb. We went recently for our anniversary (also my birthday). We each got the 4-plate option. My favorites were the lobster tortellini and the steak. The goat cheese cake was also great, and they wrote "happy birthday and anniversary" in chocolate around the edge of the plate. We love the old stone walls in the interior of the small dining room. You must reserve far in advance. I tried to reserve a 7:30 table five weeks before our anniversary (which was a weeknight, by the way), and there were no 7:30 openings, so we had to take an 8:30 slot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Restaurante espectacular descubrimiento en St. Helen
Gourmet. menú de cuatro platos a selección del menú del día, cambia diario.
Hacer reservación previa.

Me encanto Recomendado!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Delicious food, lovely presentation, excellent service. Price is right.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A very elegant restaurant with a creative menu. Service is perfect and although not for one on a budget well worth the money. Good Wine list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Michelin star restaurant. I think it's a good value for the quality of food. Second time coming back. In general, I feel that the sea food oriented dishes outshine the red-meat dishes. Hope to be back and next time, if you have an average appetite, I think the four courses for women and five courses for men should suffice, with sharing desert as the guy's fifth course. The bisteeya for desert was great. Warm filo pastry desert that can be shared. Even better when paired with a desert wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Dinner at Terra was an exceptional experience. The menu options, each dish we chose, the superb wait staff were all spectacularly good. The flavors were complex and interesting and each dish was beautifully presented. The scallop dish was extraordinary, and the risotto was layered with the flavors of spring. This is definitely a special occasion restaurant but one we will look forward to visiting more often.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Historic, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The menu was incredible ! Ordered 8 different dishes & shared all...amazing! The goat cheese cake will live in my dreams!!! Perfection!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Awesome!! Great meal in Napa!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Interesting food. I ordered the 4 course and it's a bit much. Portions are generous and creative, some quite exceptional. Some of us went for the 6 course and that is too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our 2nd time there and each time was absolutely fantastic!! The food is so unique but has something on the menu for everyone. A very romantic setting. Some of the best service I have ever seen!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Terra is a fantastic restaurant. We had the best meal we've had in any restaurant in many, many moons. And we travel a lot, eat out a lot. This was just simply excellent. From the first course to the last, we had mostly "Oh, my goodness!" moments. The food and the presentation were amazing. The service was welcoming, exact, and yet unpretentious. The only downside...getting the bill is also an "OMG" moment. Is Terra expensive? Yes, and yes. Is it worth it? Yes, and yes!

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This place is incredible. One of Napa Valley best restaurants!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

From the moment we were greeted until we departed after our leisurely meal, all four of us agreed it was the most enjoyable dining experience any of us have ever had. Our server explained the menu, including the classic dishes as well as the newer ones, and that there could be a pause in any one persons meal at any time depending on the savory or sweet. I ordered 3 savory, one sweet, one ordered 2 savories and 2 sweets, one ordered 4 savories and one ordered 4 savories and one sweet. We tried to order as many different options as possible so we could do our own full tasting. There was nothing any of us did not care for. We tried the crudo, capellini, chawanmushi, lobster tortelloni, abalone & scallop, strip steak, fried marinated quail, the grilled duck and artisan cheeses. For sweets we had the strawberry sundae, goat cheese cake, rhubarb & almond bisteeya and chocolate bourbon ice cream. Never did we feel rushed or like we were being upsold. My personal favorites were the cod and the quail. One of us ordered another cocktail and when he inquired as to whether he had asked for it or had forgotten to, the waiter immediately said he had indeed ordered it and since he hadn’t brought it yet it was “on him” so we were not charged. Very gracious of him. The dinner was almost a week ago and I’m still thinking about it. If I ever find myself back in Napa valley, or if I find out someone is going, I will recommend Terra over and over again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Outstanding in every way! Hats off to the chef, waitstaff and sommelier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great service and fantastic food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This fieldstone restaurant has it all: farm-to-table food; simple yet elegant room; and a chef-owner who knows how to present the most magnificent gourmet offerings. The service was sublime, with every attention to detail met. Four courses at minimum is a lot; yet we managed to consume all of the small plate courses and shared the culinary delights. I highly recommend Terra Restaurant, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This was an incredible dining experience that will not be forgotten. All of Chef Hiro Sone's dishes are very well thought out and extremely well executed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We left Terra to our last night hoping it would be the most special. On arrival we were underwhelmed at the feel of the restaurant, very plain. Wait staff was very cordial, but normal response to, "what do you recommend?", was " they are all his signature dishes". Began with the endive salad, pretty average; followed with the custard, also average. So it continued for next three courses, gnocchi, black cod and strip steak. The bill was $375 including tip. Compared to several dinners costing $180, it was not even close. Poor value and a little boring. I do not plan to repeat on our next trip to Napa. To be fair, my wife would give some better marks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Extraordinarily delicious food. Top 5 lifetime best restaurants. Reasonable price for this level food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Ridiculously good food and very nice staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My friend who frequents Napa says that this is one of his favorite restaurants and now it has also become one of my favorites as well!
I was stressed about not being able to get a reservation, as we were only in town Monday-Thursday and they are closed Tuesday-Wednesday, which is kind of odd, but apparently it works for them. Thank goodness we were lucky enough to score a reservation for 2@6:30 on Monday. There are two restaurants on either side of the building; bar terra is their more casual restaurant located on the right and Terra, located on the left is upscale.
We were promptly seated and after glancing around, it's very small, so if you want to dine here, I suggest you hit up OpenTable ASAP.
We were promptly greeted by Andrew who was just amazing throughout the entire evening. We started with drinks of the bloodhound and wow, they were some of the best cocktails I have ever had! So much so, that we had several.
If anyone tells you that Terra has the most reasonable tasting menu, they are not joking! We each ordered the 5 course meal and it was only $106 pp! Of course they started us with an incredible amuse bouche of some sort of chilled pea soup.
Then we selected 4 savory and 1 dessert each:
-Ahi tuna crudo-there were only 2 left when we ordered
-Sauteed foie gras
-Chawanmushi
-Risotto
-Sake marinated black cod
-Grilled hokkaido scallops
-Grilled liberty farm duck
-Gnocchi
-Strawberry sundae
-Goat cheese cake

I can not say enough about how delicious every single dish was! I was truly in heaven and while we were quite stuffed, we refused to let anything go to waste. The duck was perfect and the foie gras was just divine! I think the next time for a party of 2 females, the 4 course menu will suffice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food and service were both outstanding. The servings were large. The 4 serving meal is enough. So many unique options - consider sharing all plates.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Wonderful gem in St. Helena. I love that you can create your own personalized tasting menu. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

As excellent as always !
What a pleasure to dine there !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing service and amazing tasting options! Love that you can pick your own courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Ate at the French Laundry the night before. This was comparable food at a more reasonable price. Would skip FL for this on my next Napa visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have been going to Terra for the last 5 years and their dishes are always consistent! Great, great food And very creative. This is our favorite place to dine in all of napa valley.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Lovely ambiance, wonderful service...but most of all the food is the best we have tasted on multiple trips to napa & sonoma

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent creative menu and personal service. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent tasting menu where you get to pick your own courses. Great food. Outstanding service. Lovely and cool historic space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a great experience dining at Terra.
Their menu had some touch of Japanese flair.
We wanted to try many items on their menu so we chose 6 meal course. The each dish was presented well and was delicious
They also had large selections of wine and sake!
We will go back and dine again when we visit Napa.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always consistently has high standards for menu and meal preparation. This is a restaurant that has an exquisitely well thought out perfectly executed dishes. The entire staff is very professional. We had a wonderful table and love celebrating special occasions. If we lived closer, we'd be there more often than just special occasions!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

So many choices and all delicious !! This is fancy Tapas taken to the "Uber Level" - we would all definitely go back again!! Just don't go if you are really tired - it's hard to stay awake and you will miss all the delicious food !!!!😁

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great food, great service, quiet place., overall fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Outstanding, the last time we dined at Terra was 20 years when we first visited Napa Valley. Terra is excellent offering a tasting menu with plenty of options, the wine list is excellent and offers the best value in the valley. Service was excellent our server Andrew was a true professional. Thank You Terra!

Matt Mars
Proprietor
Chez Francois Restaurant
Vermilion, Ohio

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a lovely meal and two dishes that rise to the top are the Crudo and the Japanese Savory Custard. These two dishes were our favorite! The selections are seasonal, so we had lots of mushroom selections including truffles if you are a lover of such. We did the four course which was more than enough food, portions are generous! Love the fact that you can choose from the entire tasting menu to suit your preferences.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Pick 4, 5, or 6 courses. If you want all of those to be savory, great! You want 1 salad and 3 desserts? No problem. This place has a pick and choose menu at a set price and every course is amazing. A mix between Italian and Japanese, the Japanese chef clearly knows control and quality, honestly one of the best restaurants (and values) in the entire valley.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.