About Terra Restaurant

1345 Railroad Ave
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

Terra Restaurant has been a leading restaurant in the Napa Valley since 1988. Set in a historic field stone building, Terra gives you the feeling of the Napa Valley, or some have said the French country side. We are proud to be part of such an important area not just for food but also for wine (Our family owns Quixote Winery). We are, Hiro and Lissa the chef/owners of Terra and love to work closely with the local growers for our vegetables and the farms that raise the meats we serve. Incredible dairies that make the cheese and the fishermen that bring in the catch we serve. The connection to the land and the people is why we love what we do. Terra serves a prix fix menu of 4, 5 or 6 courses. Terra has received a Michelin Star since the first award in 2007 and each year since then. Hiro Sone received the James Beard Award for Best Chef California in 2003 and Terra received James Beard Award for Outstanding Service-2008. The San Francisco Chronicle gave Terra & Bar Terra 3 1/2 stars.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Su-Mon, W-Th 6:00pm-8:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 6:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Adams and Hunt

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 963-8931

Website:
http://terrarestaurant.com/

Catering:
We enjoy bring Terra to your party for up to 150 people. While not always available with enough notice Hiro and Lissa can make your event very special. The menus we suggest are from the current menus we offer at the restaurant. Local farm grown vegetables, meats and fish. A true restaurant experience in your home.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of parking on the street and in the two lots north of our building. We are a small town and the businesses near us are happy to have our guests park in their lots after 6:00pm

Executive Chef:
Hiro Sone

Private Party Facilities:
Terra can be reserved for your private party. The room seats up to 40 people and is a gracious room for celebrating. Our menus are custom created for each party from our current menu so everything is very seasonal and local. Dietary requirements are seriously respected. Please see our website for photos of the room set up for a private party and a sample menu.

Private Party Contact:
Lissa Doumani: 7079638931

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate New Years Eve with a beautiful menu and NY spirit. We are creating a 5 course tasting menu for $165.00 per person. We require a deposit of $100.00 per person refundable if canceled by December 26th. We can accommodate most dietary restriction please let us know in advance. Thank you

Terra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Food
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Service
San Francisco Bay Area
7 More
Contemporary American
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
Wine Country
Best Food
Wine Country
Best Service
Wine Country
Best Value
Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Wine Country
Contemporary American
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in St. Helena ›

Romantic (31)
Special Occasion (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Local Ingredients (11)
Cozy (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
306 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We think this is one of the best restaur ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We think this is one of the best restaurants in the Napa Valley, and a bargain considering what the other top restaurants charge.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only one word excellent, service, food, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Only one word excellent, service, food, ambiance everything!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Many Thanks to Hiro and Lissa for the co ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Many Thanks to Hiro and Lissa for the continued success of creating amazing dining experiences from educated and professional service to outstanding food. Gwen was wonderful and the menu preparations were spectacular!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Michelin one star experience but ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Amazing Michelin one star experience but deserves a two star. Every course was fantastic. And portions quite generous. Two and a half hours went by so easily. We dined at bouchon and auberge de solie during this trip and clearly a step above. We also dined at Campton Place (2 star) and probably equal to or slightly above CP.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was top notch as from the ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our experience was top notch as from the moment we arrived the staff treated us as royalty. At first the menu appeared daunting but the staff helped us with grace. Each course was just the right amount to enjoy but then immediately get excited about the subsequent course. Salmon, black cod, lobster, beet salad, deserts were all on point. My only regret is we didn't for go another night for continued discovery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasting menu was truly excellent and re ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Tasting menu was truly excellent and really was a good value considering the high quality of the food

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The overall experience was fantastic.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The overall experience was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was actually amazing. I reall ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This place was actually amazing. I really loved the service they provided. I had a reservation at 9pm, and google had said it closed at 9pm, so we called and they said that they were expecting us. It was great, very cozy little spot and the food was spot on. My boyfriend and I each had a 5 course tasting menu, so we were able to sample 10 dishes total. There were some highs (the steak with potato aligot, crudo, the abalone and scallops and the black cod were my favorite) and lows (grilled octopus could have been better the pasta with cavier was a little too light for my taste) throughout the course, but overall it was fantastic.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We lived in Europe for four year, so kno ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We lived in Europe for four year, so know the value of a Michelin star rating. Terra deserves their star. The tasting menu is beyond innovative, and each step is delicious. Plus the portions are large enough that you and your companion for the meal can trade plates back and forth, making a five tasting order into a ten tasting experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I celebrated her birthday wi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

My wife and I celebrated her birthday with a spectacular dinner at Terra. Every course was exquisite, combining first-class ingredients with creative preparation and flawless presentation. The tasting menu format is flexible and allows guests to custom design their meal. The wine list is thoughtful and well balanced. And, the service was gracious. We will be back again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was such a beautiful night to celebra ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

It was such a beautiful night to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and the food was scrumptious! Thank you for the experience

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Great food and great staff ver ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Amazing! Great food and great staff very fine dinning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to Terra, and le ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our first time to Terra, and let me be one to say that it undoubtedly is not the last. I was pleasantly surprised by how casual the ambiance was at this Michelin star restaurant, and of course, the food was nothing less of exceptional. We had the four course menu priced at $89.00 per person, and when we realized that the portion sizes were not like that of your typical experience, we were glad that we stuck with the smaller menu option as each dish was very rich. We started off with the sautéed foie gras with polenta soup and foraged mushrooms (my heavens) to which was superb and easily the largest portion of duck I've ever received, followed by a more protein filled dish of the grilled five dot ranch flat iron steak with potato “aligot” (highly recommend - medium rare is the best way to go) and their deserts are simply to die. We were lucky enough to have a very spunky and lively waitress, making for a very memorable experience. Thank you for hosting us at your beautiful property and we hope to return very soon x

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant featuring 4 or 5 or 6 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Amazing restaurant featuring 4 or 5 or 6 course tasting menus with unique preparations and locally sourced food. My favorite: creamy polenta soup with seared foie gras and trumpet mushrooms. Beware - the courses are larger than the usual tasting menu so I would recommend four courses! Beautiful presentation, excellent service and a cozy stylish place to enjoy a memorable dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dinner celebrating my husband's b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Lovely dinner celebrating my husband's birthday with our teenagers! Amazing food, wonderful service. A memorable dining experience... All courses were delicious and the quiet atmosphere allowed us to have nice conversation!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great advice from the sommelier. The sak ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great advice from the sommelier. The sake marinaded black cod was amazing - no wonder it's so popular they can't take it off the menu

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Honest and delicious food. Portions are ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Honest and delicious food. Portions are large, which you don't expect for a restaurant of this caliber. Chef was very nice and omitted an ingredient we did not like. The waitstaff is diverse and completely unpretentious. They do a great job making you feel welcomed. We loved this place and would go back again.

The only thing I would suggest is better signage. It's not clear where the entrance is, and going at night, all you see is what looks like a business directory, but still no direction where to go.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our fourth time at Terra and it did not ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our fourth time at Terra and it did not disappoint. Loved everything about our meal and the service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terra always has wonderful food and serv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Terra always has wonderful food and service. Gwen is an excellent and gracious wait person.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

非常に高い評価だと聞いて伺いましたが、内容は残念でした。 特に皆が注文するという ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2016

非常に高い評価だと聞いて伺いましたが、内容は残念でした。

特に皆が注文するという茶碗蒸しは、お出汁の旨味が感じられずただしょっぱく中身も小さな鶏肉と上に海老が乗っているだけで日本で美味しい茶碗蒸しを食べている身としては、この味付けが西洋人向けであるとしてもトータル1人$200以上のコストを考えると残念でした。ワインやサービス、雰囲気は素晴らしいです。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Everything about Terra was exceptional. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Everything about Terra was exceptional. We had the 4course Tasting Menu.Paired with wines recommended by our server. A truly wonderful evening

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food selection here is only exceeded ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The food selection here is only exceeded by the food taste! what choices and everything we had was really really good. Where else can you get Octopus, Abalone, Black Cod, Calamari, and still not be 1/2 way thru the fish appetizers? And they were all outstanding. The wines by the glass were perfect for the menu items. If you are ever in the NAPA area, anywhere in the area, Try Terra, you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terra has been owned and operated by the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Terra has been owned and operated by the same fabulous chef for 25 years or so. My wife and I first went to Terra on our honeymoon in 1995 and recently returned. It remains one of the finest places I have ever dined. Do yourself a favor, splurge a bit and take someone you love to Terra.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for our anniversary and it was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Went here for our anniversary and it was amazing. We were a little nervous since the menu had items we'd never had before, but this was the perfect way to try new delicacies. The service was fantastic, the atmosphere was quite and romantic and our meal was one we'll remember forever. Highly recommended

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was truly a restaurant worthy of th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was truly a restaurant worthy of the Michelin stars it has received since 2007. From the moment we sat down, the experience was one we will remember. The service was great as was the food. From the lobster tortellini to the Shoyu braised short beef ribs, everything was marvelous. The chocolate carmel tart, with espresso ice cream and sea salt was my favorite dessert, but we did not go wrong with anything we tasted. We were celebrating our 39th anniversary and Terra was a real find. The environment was tastefully and beautifully done. We were able to talk yet it was not eerily quiet. We would definitely go back there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spent a few days in the wine country ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We spent a few days in the wine country before my wife's upcoming lung cancer surgery to relax and have some romance. A special Sunday night dinner at Terra's was perfect. We had not been to back since the bar area was incorporated. We found the dining room to be quiet and comfortable. Our waitstaff were excellent; attentive and very knowledgable about the food served that night. I chose 4 savory courses while my wife chose 3 savory dishes and a dessert for us to share. We of course shared bites so it was truly an epicurean delight; sashimi, heirloom tomato salad, chanterelle mushroom risotto, lobster tortelloni, broiled black cod in shiso broth, grilled octopus, Ezo abalone/scallop, panacotta with raspberry and peach. Terra never disappoints us!

Tags: Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding. Very creative menu, with e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Outstanding. Very creative menu, with excellent choices. Food was superb. Staff very helpful. Everyone at our table of four very satisfied.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Highest quality cuisine. Unmatched dini ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Highest quality cuisine. Unmatched dining. Always top notch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From start to finish it was a delight. E ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2016

From start to finish it was a delight. Everything was delicious, the service was outstanding and the ambience amazing. A definite return to restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleased with our dining experience. ...

vip
 (Tucson)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Very pleased with our dining experience. The service was perfection at its best. The option to experience 4 courses for each person allowed us to experience many different tastes. Expensive and worth every cent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was underwhelming compare ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The restaurant was underwhelming compared to other Michelin 1Star restaurants I've been to... a good restaurant but didn't seem to deserve a Michelin star. Vegetarian pasta was excellent, however. $85 for a four course veg dinner wasn't great value. My husband had meat options which were good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This just moved to the TOP of our list - ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2016

This just moved to the TOP of our list - loved everything about this restaurant and we will definitely return. Each course was filled with delicate layers of flavor. We enjoyed the construct-your-own-experience approach. A don't-miss for food lovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Wonderful dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, excellent service, quiet ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, quiet place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A very pleasant surprise. Interesting a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

A very pleasant surprise. Interesting and delicious menu offering appetizer portions with the choice of 4, 5 or 6 selections with fixed prices. Japanese and French influence throughout the tastings. A very talented chef. Wait staff very cordial and helpful. We will return on our next Napa visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best food we've had in years. Perfectly ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Best food we've had in years. Perfectly seasoned. Very creative.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terra was an amazing experience! Highly ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Terra was an amazing experience! Highly recommend for foodies and unique occasions. Flavors were terrific... service was super ...experience was wonderful

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, Terra was fantastic! The foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

As always, Terra was fantastic! The food is innovative and the service is consistent. This is one of the valley's better restaurants and should be on your list when you visit the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Service was impecc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wonderful experience. Service was impeccable. Our party of 4 chose a wide variety of the dishes offered and there was not one that wasn't great- even the vegetarian in the group was pleased. We will definitely be returning to Terra when we come back to Napa. Our favorite restaurant of the trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to visit for a special occas ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great place to visit for a special occasion. Service excellent and venue very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.