About Terra Restaurant

1345 Railroad Ave
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

Terra Restaurant has been a leading restaurant in the Napa Valley since 1988. Set in a historic field stone building, Terra gives you the feeling of the Napa Valley, or some have said the French country side. We are proud to be part of such an important area not just for food but also for wine (Our family owns Quixote Winery). We are, Hiro and Lissa the chef/owners of Terra and love to work closely with the local growers for our vegetables and the farms that raise the meats we serve. Incredible dairies that make the cheese and the fishermen that bring in the catch we serve. The connection to the land and the people is why we love what we do. Terra serves a prix fix menu of 4, 5 or 6 courses. Terra has received a Michelin Star since the first award in 2007 and each year since then. Hiro Sone received the James Beard Award for Best Chef California in 2003 and Terra received James Beard Award for Outstanding Service-2008. The San Francisco Chronicle gave Terra & Bar Terra 3 1/2 stars.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Su-Mon, W-Th 6:00pm-8:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 6:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Adams and Hunt

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 963-8931

Website:
http://terrarestaurant.com/

Catering:
We enjoy bring Terra to your party for up to 150 people. While not always available with enough notice Hiro and Lissa can make your event very special. The menus we suggest are from the current menus we offer at the restaurant. Local farm grown vegetables, meats and fish. A true restaurant experience in your home.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of parking on the street and in the two lots north of our building. We are a small town and the businesses near us are happy to have our guests park in their lots after 6:00pm

Executive Chef:
Hiro Sone

Private Party Facilities:
Terra can be reserved for your private party. The room seats up to 40 people and is a gracious room for celebrating. Our menus are custom created for each party from our current menu so everything is very seasonal and local. Dietary requirements are seriously respected. Please see our website for photos of the room set up for a private party and a sample menu.

Private Party Contact:
Lissa Doumani: 7079638931

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Terra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Food
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Service
San Francisco Bay Area
7 More
Contemporary American
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
Wine Country
Best Food
Wine Country
Best Service
Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
Romantic
Wine Country
Contemporary American
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in St. Helena ›

Special Occasion (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Romantic (32)
See All
Notable Wine List (22)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Cozy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Authentic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terra has been owned and operated by the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Terra has been owned and operated by the same fabulous chef for 25 years or so. My wife and I first went to Terra on our honeymoon in 1995 and recently returned. It remains one of the finest places I have ever dined. Do yourself a favor, splurge a bit and take someone you love to Terra.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for our anniversary and it was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Went here for our anniversary and it was amazing. We were a little nervous since the menu had items we'd never had before, but this was the perfect way to try new delicacies. The service was fantastic, the atmosphere was quite and romantic and our meal was one we'll remember forever. Highly recommended

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was truly a restaurant worthy of th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was truly a restaurant worthy of the Michelin stars it has received since 2007. From the moment we sat down, the experience was one we will remember. The service was great as was the food. From the lobster tortellini to the Shoyu braised short beef ribs, everything was marvelous. The chocolate carmel tart, with espresso ice cream and sea salt was my favorite dessert, but we did not go wrong with anything we tasted. We were celebrating our 39th anniversary and Terra was a real find. The environment was tastefully and beautifully done. We were able to talk yet it was not eerily quiet. We would definitely go back there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spent a few days in the wine country ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We spent a few days in the wine country before my wife's upcoming lung cancer surgery to relax and have some romance. A special Sunday night dinner at Terra's was perfect. We had not been to back since the bar area was incorporated. We found the dining room to be quiet and comfortable. Our waitstaff were excellent; attentive and very knowledgable about the food served that night. I chose 4 savory courses while my wife chose 3 savory dishes and a dessert for us to share. We of course shared bites so it was truly an epicurean delight; sashimi, heirloom tomato salad, chanterelle mushroom risotto, lobster tortelloni, broiled black cod in shiso broth, grilled octopus, Ezo abalone/scallop, panacotta with raspberry and peach. Terra never disappoints us!

Tags: Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding. Very creative menu, with e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Outstanding. Very creative menu, with excellent choices. Food was superb. Staff very helpful. Everyone at our table of four very satisfied.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Highest quality cuisine. Unmatched dini ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Highest quality cuisine. Unmatched dining. Always top notch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From start to finish it was a delight. E ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

From start to finish it was a delight. Everything was delicious, the service was outstanding and the ambience amazing. A definite return to restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleased with our dining experience. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Very pleased with our dining experience. The service was perfection at its best. The option to experience 4 courses for each person allowed us to experience many different tastes. Expensive and worth every cent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was underwhelming compare ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The restaurant was underwhelming compared to other Michelin 1Star restaurants I've been to... a good restaurant but didn't seem to deserve a Michelin star. Vegetarian pasta was excellent, however. $85 for a four course veg dinner wasn't great value. My husband had meat options which were good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This just moved to the TOP of our list - ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This just moved to the TOP of our list - loved everything about this restaurant and we will definitely return. Each course was filled with delicate layers of flavor. We enjoyed the construct-your-own-experience approach. A don't-miss for food lovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Wonderful dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very pleasant surprise. Interesting a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

A very pleasant surprise. Interesting and delicious menu offering appetizer portions with the choice of 4, 5 or 6 selections with fixed prices. Japanese and French influence throughout the tastings. A very talented chef. Wait staff very cordial and helpful. We will return on our next Napa visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terra was an amazing experience! Highly ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Terra was an amazing experience! Highly recommend for foodies and unique occasions. Flavors were terrific... service was super ...experience was wonderful

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, Terra was fantastic! The foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

As always, Terra was fantastic! The food is innovative and the service is consistent. This is one of the valley's better restaurants and should be on your list when you visit the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Service was impecc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wonderful experience. Service was impeccable. Our party of 4 chose a wide variety of the dishes offered and there was not one that wasn't great- even the vegetarian in the group was pleased. We will definitely be returning to Terra when we come back to Napa. Our favorite restaurant of the trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to visit for a special occas ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great place to visit for a special occasion. Service excellent and venue very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We almost did not to go because it was a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We almost did not to go because it was a hot in Napa n did not want to drive up there. So glad we decided to go after all. Had a terrific time n the food was wonderful. It seemed expensive, but not when you factored into the quality ingredients. It was worth it. Outstanding n memorable dishes for me were the savory custard, pasta, n abalone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very pleasant evening. We were looked ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

A very pleasant evening. We were looked after well by our waiters. The food was interesting,

and nicely prepared.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was very knowledgable about t ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our server was very knowledgable about the menu & very attentive. The sommelier was also very knowledgable & offered great suggestions that went well with our entrees

The food was impeccable- I was particularly impressed with the culinary diversity & how wonderful every dish was

A lovely evening with great service & great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our 4th time visiting & not our last. C ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our 4th time visiting & not our last. Chef Hiro & Lissa are the perfect hosts with a superb staff both in the front & back. A great fusion of classic French & Japanese Cuisine. We were six on a Saturday, while most often we are just two & nothing was left out this time. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic dinner as usual. Our guests ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

A fantastic dinner as usual. Our guests from Victoria BC appreciated each dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have not lost a step in 30 years! ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

They have not lost a step in 30 years! They have even improved . $80 four course with great choices, presents a good value for t his level of cuisine. Wine list is ample with many

Great reasonable choices . Miso Cod - probably one of the first restaurants in the country to serve it; Still the standard bearer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a return visit to Terra. The re ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was a return visit to Terra. The restaurant did not disappoint; the food and service are outstanding. If you like new concepts in food and like lots of small plates, this is a dining experience you will not forget.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Terra fast became one of my favorite res ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Terra fast became one of my favorite restaurant; beside the fun, relaxed and professional services, foods are exceptional good.

Amber Jack Crudo with Tobiko and Soy/Yuzu vinaigrettes are refreshing and buttery. ( I could have 4 order of this and be satisfied).

Ezo Abalone and Scallop with a robust garlicky butter sauce was perfectly balanced and cooked.

Duck Breast was cooked perfectly medium rare with Corn and Charred Pardon Pepper.

I have to mentioned the attentive service from the staffs, we were there celebrated our daughter's birthday without mentioned this to the restaurant when we make the booking, somehow they overheard our toast and they bring out our desserts with Happy Birthday writing and a lighted candle, very lovely gesture, it ended our dinner experience in the high note.

Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful savory offerings portioned to ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful savory offerings portioned to enjoy. All were excellent.

Special cactus pear tequila sorbet and the buttermilk ice cream were exceptional!

Service and ambience were perfect; everyone was knowledgable, passionate about the place and cuisine who worked in sync as a cohesive team. Enjoyed their attentiveness and discretion on special occasion. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner and service.Portions we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent dinner and service.Portions were small but very tastefully presented...and very tasty!Staff was very attentive and accommodated an early arrival for our reservation.Great wine list either by the bottle or the glass.Fusion of Japanese and western cuisine was great.My second time back...will plan on it each time I visit Napa

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal is a sit down 4, 5, or 6 course ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The meal is a sit down 4, 5, or 6 course fixed price. Plenty of selection among the courses and everything was fantastic. Plan to spend the appropriate time to have a 5 course meal and you'll love it. Quiet and romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terra was a delight! Everything - the fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Terra was a delight! Everything - the food, wine, ambience, service - was wonderful! If you have an opportunity to visit this special place - do!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fantastic food and great service! ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always fantastic food and great service! Excellent wine list and cocktails too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT!!!!! One of the best meals we have ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

GREAT!!!!! One of the best meals we have ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great gluten free options. The risotto w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great gluten free options. The risotto was so good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing restaurant. One of the best in s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Amazing restaurant. One of the best in st. Helena! Everything we ordered was phenomenal and so nicely presented. Must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great tasting concept. You get to pick ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great tasting concept. You get to pick any number of combinations to create your own "tasting menu".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing Dinner and atmosphere

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Was not expecting to have such an exceptional foodie dinner! You would not know it by bar area since small seating dining is actually next door. The dinning area is very cozy and special but the dinner so different and great. Lots of small plates to try for every palate. Really enjoyed our meals and will be back! Great Auction Week !!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terra offers the best dining in all of ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Terra offers the best dining in all of California

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Possibly the best meal of my life...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

I can't say enough good things about Terra. How about this: GO THERE.

From the hushed tones and beautiful setting to the customized service to the outrageously delicious and fresh food, this St. Helena dining room is an ideal inclusion in your Napa visit. Frankly - I would plan all other meals around dining at Terra. We had the four and five course meals, which included the freshest of ingredients and preparation. Since the menu changes constantly, I could go on about the baby peas and sprouts, or the morel risotto or the soft shell crab but - on your visit the offerings may be something completely different.

The dining room is so beautiful - like a country house in France. Very comfortable, roomy chairs, PERFECT lighting (our selfies made us look young and beautiful) on both people and the food, air quality was clean and fresh, there was plenty of room between tables, abundance flowers on the center display and some of the music suited perfectly for a modern, romanticized evening.

Even if you are not with your loved one, dining here shouldn't be missed. You will feel comfortable, welcomed, informed and fed well regardless of your dining partner. The service is, in my opinion, perfect. I loved the gentle attention to detail and especially - the timing of the courses. The service isn't fussy or stuffy - just perfect. I felt so well cared for.... ahhhh!

Be sure to try one of Chef Hiro's alcohol concoctions - we had the Casino - Gin, Lemon, Luxor Maraschino and Bitters - shaken and served straight up - OH MY. So delicious - In fact, I think we had two each. Lovely.

The wine list is exactly what you would expect in a fine Napa dining establishment - and the sommelier, Jonathon, was well informed and lead us to the right choice for our food selections and budget.

I can't wait to go to Terra again - I'm still savoring the Black Cod, the Short Ribs and that so luscious Strawberry Shortcake - like none other I've had anywhere on this continent or others!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dining experience. Great ambien ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Amazing dining experience.

Great ambience and an outstanding service from Andrew.

The 4 course meal was fantastic. Highlights to the black cod and the chocolate caramel tart.

When in St. Helena, will certainly dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Terra is on my favorite list of restaura ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Terra is on my favorite list of restaurants to go to especially for those special occasions. Great service, warm ambiance and outstanding dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fabulous

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had dined here several years ago and immediately remembered the restaurant by name. I did not recall the price fixe meal, and while surprised of the cost, this was absolutely the most outstanding dining experience that we have ever had in our lives. We will have fond memories of our dinner experience at Terra. The main food items called Savories were unusual and different and do delicious. The dessert items were scrumptious. The service was impeccable. The wine list was extensive too. I enjoyed a Cabernet Sauvignon from Ladera that was one of the best I have ever tasted. Dining here is a splurge but worth every dollar. We can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Should be on your short list

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

If you haven't been, you must go! Food is amazing. We had a hard time deciding what to order since everything looked beyond great. 5 courses is a lot but we just had to go for it. Stunning, elegant but rustic atmosphere - perfectly designed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.