Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Terra Restaurant

Terra Restaurant has been a leading restaurant in the Napa Valley since 1988. Set in a historic field stone building, Terra gives you the feeling of the Napa Valley, or some have said the French country side. We are proud to be part of such an important area not just for food but also for wine (Our family owns Quixote Winery). We are, Hiro and Lissa the chef/owners of Terra and love to work closely with the local growers for our vegetables and the farms that raise the meats we serve. Incredible dairies that make the cheese and the fishermen that bring in the catch we serve. The connection to the land and the people is why we love what we do. Terra serves a prix fix menu of 4, 5 or 6 courses. Terra has received a Michelin Star since the first award in 2007 and each year since then. Hiro Sone received the James Beard Award for Best Chef California in 2003 and Terra received James Beard Award for Outstanding Service-2008. The San Francisco Chronicle gave Terra & Bar Terra 3 1/2 stars.

1345 Railroad Ave
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Su-Mon, W-Th 6:00pm-8:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 6:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Adams and Hunt

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 963-8931

Website:
http://terrarestaurant.com/

Catering:
We enjoy bring Terra to your party for up to 150 people. While not always available with enough notice Hiro and Lissa can make your event very special. The menus we suggest are from the current menus we offer at the restaurant. Local farm grown vegetables, meats and fish. A true restaurant experience in your home.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of parking on the street and in the two lots north of our building. We are a small town and the businesses near us are happy to have our guests park in their lots after 6:00pm

Executive Chef:
Hiro Sone

Private Party Facilities:
Terra can be reserved for your private party. The room seats up to 40 people and is a gracious room for celebrating. Our menus are custom created for each party from our current menu so everything is very seasonal and local. Dietary requirements are seriously respected. Please see our website for photos of the room set up for a private party and a sample menu.

Private Party Contact:
Lissa Doumani: (707) 963-8931

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Terra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Romantic (17)
See All
Quiet Conversation (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Historic (3)
Organic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing service and amazing tasting options! Love that you can pick your own courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

Ate at the French Laundry the night before. This was comparable food at a more reasonable price. Would skip FL for this on my next Napa visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have been going to Terra for the last 5 years and their dishes are always consistent! Great, great food And very creative. This is our favorite place to dine in all of napa valley.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Lovely ambiance, wonderful service...but most of all the food is the best we have tasted on multiple trips to napa & sonoma

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent creative menu and personal service. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent tasting menu where you get to pick your own courses. Great food. Outstanding service. Lovely and cool historic space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a great experience dining at Terra.
Their menu had some touch of Japanese flair.
We wanted to try many items on their menu so we chose 6 meal course. The each dish was presented well and was delicious
They also had large selections of wine and sake!
We will go back and dine again when we visit Napa.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always consistently has high standards for menu and meal preparation. This is a restaurant that has an exquisitely well thought out perfectly executed dishes. The entire staff is very professional. We had a wonderful table and love celebrating special occasions. If we lived closer, we'd be there more often than just special occasions!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

So many choices and all delicious !! This is fancy Tapas taken to the "Uber Level" - we would all definitely go back again!! Just don't go if you are really tired - it's hard to stay awake and you will miss all the delicious food !!!!😁

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great food, great service, quiet place., overall fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Outstanding, the last time we dined at Terra was 20 years when we first visited Napa Valley. Terra is excellent offering a tasting menu with plenty of options, the wine list is excellent and offers the best value in the valley. Service was excellent our server Andrew was a true professional. Thank You Terra!

Matt Mars
Proprietor
Chez Francois Restaurant
Vermilion, Ohio

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a lovely meal and two dishes that rise to the top are the Crudo and the Japanese Savory Custard. These two dishes were our favorite! The selections are seasonal, so we had lots of mushroom selections including truffles if you are a lover of such. We did the four course which was more than enough food, portions are generous! Love the fact that you can choose from the entire tasting menu to suit your preferences.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Pick 4, 5, or 6 courses. If you want all of those to be savory, great! You want 1 salad and 3 desserts? No problem. This place has a pick and choose menu at a set price and every course is amazing. A mix between Italian and Japanese, the Japanese chef clearly knows control and quality, honestly one of the best restaurants (and values) in the entire valley.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fantastic Asian inspired, creative delicious. Fantastic service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My daughter and I celebrated Valentine's Day at Terra this past weekend. The evening was really special and I am sure she will remember our father-daughter evening for some time to come. Each course was superbly prepared and beautifully presented. I am looking forward to returning for more father-daughter evenings in the future.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

While not every dish we tried was perfectly executed, there were a few that really stood out: chawanmushi (look it up), lobster tortelloni, black cod, and pork guanciale with wild mushroom risotto. Service was very attentive and accommodating. I was particularly impressed with the wine offerings. Our party had four different wines, and all were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Terra serves extraordinary, interesting and well prepared food in a beautiful rock-walled dining room. The tasting menu lets each person build his or her own menu which is nice. The choice is hard to make. Every course we ordered was excellent. Most memorable was the Chawanmushi an amazing blend of miso and custard with pieces of lobster and shrimp. The cavatelli pasta with lamb ragu was amazing as was the crudo. There wasn't a course we didn't like. Service was professional and knowledgeable. This restaurant has been around for 28 for a reason ! We will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We've been coming to Terra for 15 years. Locals love Terra. The food is unparalleled, the wine is list impressive, in our humble opinion. Besides the incredibly knowledgeable and attentive owners, and warm professional servers, it is an environment where you can enjoy this excellent experience and actually HEAR your dinner companions. The dining room is classic, and cozy. The new bar will become a favorite of ours, as well. The bar menu looked wonderful! They never disappoint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Organic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was OK for me. Only 2 dishes (black cod & sashimi) stood out for the 8 courses that my husband and I tried. The preparation looks nice, but the taste is just OK.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everything about Terra was amazing. The tasting menu gives you the chance to try lots of the dishes and they were all wonderful. Can't wait for another trip to St. Helena so we can dine at Terra again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I have always wanted to try this place. In the past when I thought of it they would not have availability. So finally able to dine at Terra and it was wonderful in all aspects.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

First time at Terra. Went with friend to celebrate birthday. The food was outstanding--an asian/western fusion. Very well-prepared, innovative, and beautifully presented. Very good value for money. We have gone to top-end restaurants all over the world and this is one of the best finds and for less money than most others. The space is quite small and the tables are therefore a bit cramped, but the noise level was lower than one would expect, at least while we were there. We also got a complimentary birthday dessert. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday celebration with another couple and had a wonderful time. The food was delicious and interesting. The service was spectacular, they were there when you needed them but not on top of you. The cocktails/ wine list is perfect. It was truly a beautiful evening and the dinning room is so charming, made me feel like I was somewhere else. Lovely evening

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Really interesting and delicious food. The service is wonderful and help make it a fun and interesting experience. Tried Chawanmushi for the first time, and it made my stomach very happy. Food is complex in flavors and composition without being too heavy.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 23, 2017

This restaurant is one of the finest in the country. The food and service were beyond compare. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Expensive but well worth the money spent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

At Terra, you get to pick your own tasting menu and how many courses. I perused the menu online in advance, but was delighted to find that because the chef had obtained some fresh Perigord black truffles there was an additional truffle menu.

The waiter was great at helping us pick a wine. I wanted some wine, but not very much because I was driving and the road conditions were challenging due to rain. The waiter recommended a pinot noir, but mentioned a mouvedre blend as an alternative. I decided to go with the recommended glass of pinot noir, but when the waiter offered a taste of the pinot, he also provided a taste of the mouvedre in case I wanted to change my wine. My husband liked the pinot so much that after his first glass of viognier, he got a glass of it.

The lobster tortellini is spectacular. The foie gras in polenta soup is unusual and excellent. The signature black cod in shiso broth was not a bit favorite of mine, because I don't like salty broth, but the cod itself was superb. The deserts are good. I had the goat cheese cake that was delicious and my husband had the very rich (and good) macademia nut tart.

The restaurant dining room was at a perfect temperature and very comfortable. We were next to the window and a stone wall, but it was not at all chilly. There are 9 tables around the perimeter of the room with a comfortable distance between them and a beautiful wine serving table in the middle of the room.

We left the restaurant very satisfied and pleasantly satiated. I had just the right amount of food and the timing was excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wonderful meal. We're going to return soon to try Bar Terra.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Can't speak to all of the various things one is asked about, above - no idea re: Happy Hour, or Brunch, or etc - but certainly we had a lovely, and very civilized, evening in this beautiful, quiet gem of a place; small and intimate, gorgeous and refined tasting menu; if it doesn't get five stars it's really because of a few quibbles (Cherry Cedar bitters too-too pronounced a flavor in the faux Manhattan; marshmallow/chocolate ice cream/quasi crackerjack dessert not successful; steak course in tasting menu pedestrian: steak oddly flavorless, albeit well cooked). But generally the food - especially the gorgeously prepared, satin-y fish courses (lobster custard, black cod, etc) - was marvelous, and there can be no quibbles whatsoever about the gracious and attentive staff or the incredibly pleasing, old-world ambience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Terra has proven to be the best dining experience I have had in years. Every dish was prepared to perfection (including lobster, duck, abalone, risotto, Crudo) and beautifully presented. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was the highlight of our trip. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Terra was a firm choice for an unusual food experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is an annual Christmas celebration but the first time we spent it at Tara and it was absolutely lovely and the food was wonderful the service was very attentive and the quiet allowed us all to talk without any problems. we had a wonderful time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Celebrating our 20th Anniversary, food was awesome and we were definately impressed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

An exceptional restaurant with a moderately priced wine list. 4, 5 or 6 course tasting only, but generous portions for a tasting style menu. Beautiful presentation, knowledgable staff. The best high end dining in Napa valley.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Overall, our experience was excellent. The food is mostly excellent, I loved all my dishes, but my husband has a few disappointments. Dessert menu didn't excite us. Our service was wonderful. For a restaurant that's been around so long it's impressive how consistent and relevant the food still is!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Terra is a wonderful restaurant that we have enjoyed for over 20 years. Each meal surprises and surpasses the one previous. HiroSohn is not only older and wiser, but he presents each delectable bite in a creative and artful way. His special custard that contains small chunks of Maine lobster is a special treat. We were so happy to share our meal with another couple and had a fabulous wine. The chef and wait staff are very attentive and professional.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I love the way their menu works. It gives you the ability, at the same price, to order more appetizers, mains or desserts as you wish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The two best dinners that I have had in the past year have been at Terra. The food is beyond excellent. The wine pairings with the truffle dinner were perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We think this is one of the best restaurants in the Napa Valley, and a bargain considering what the other top restaurants charge.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Only one word excellent, service, food, ambiance everything!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Many Thanks to Hiro and Lissa for the continued success of creating amazing dining experiences from educated and professional service to outstanding food. Gwen was wonderful and the menu preparations were spectacular!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.