About Terra Restaurant

1345 Railroad Ave
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

Terra Restaurant has been a leading restaurant in the Napa Valley since 1988. Set in a historic field stone building, Terra gives you the feeling of the Napa Valley, or some have said the French country side. We are proud to be part of such an important area not just for food but also for wine (Our family owns Quixote Winery). We are, Hiro and Lissa the chef/owners of Terra and love to work closely with the local growers for our vegetables and the farms that raise the meats we serve. Incredible dairies that make the cheese and the fishermen that bring in the catch we serve. The connection to the land and the people is why we love what we do. Terra serves a prix fix menu of 4, 5 or 6 courses. Terra has received a Michelin Star since the first award in 2007 and each year since then. Hiro Sone received the James Beard Award for Best Chef California in 2003 and Terra received James Beard Award for Outstanding Service-2008. The San Francisco Chronicle gave Terra & Bar Terra 3 1/2 stars.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Su-Mon, W-Th 6:00pm-8:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 6:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Adams and Hunt

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 963-8931

Website:
http://terrarestaurant.com/

Catering:
We enjoy bring Terra to your party for up to 150 people. While not always available with enough notice Hiro and Lissa can make your event very special. The menus we suggest are from the current menus we offer at the restaurant. Local farm grown vegetables, meats and fish. A true restaurant experience in your home.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of parking on the street and in the two lots north of our building. We are a small town and the businesses near us are happy to have our guests park in their lots after 6:00pm

Executive Chef:
Hiro Sone

Private Party Facilities:
Terra can be reserved for your private party. The room seats up to 40 people and is a gracious room for celebrating. Our menus are custom created for each party from our current menu so everything is very seasonal and local. Dietary requirements are seriously respected. Please see our website for photos of the room set up for a private party and a sample menu.

Private Party Contact:
Lissa Doumani: (707) 963-8931

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Terra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (20)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Cozy (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Seasonal (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Organic (3)
Healthy (3)
Historic (3)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (0)
Sort By:
S
338 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, great service, quiet place., overall fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding, the last time we dined at Terra was 20 years when we first visited Napa Valley. Terra is excellent offering a tasting menu with plenty of options, the wine list is excellent and offers the best value in the valley. Service was excellent our server Andrew was a true professional. Thank You Terra!

Matt Mars

Proprietor

Chez Francois Restaurant

Vermilion, Ohio

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a lovely meal and two dishes that rise to the top are the Crudo and the Japanese Savory Custard. These two dishes were our favorite! The selections are seasonal, so we had lots of mushroom selections including truffles if you are a lover of such. We did the four course which was more than enough food, portions are generous! Love the fact that you can choose from the entire tasting menu to suit your preferences.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Pick 4, 5, or 6 courses. If you want all of those to be savory, great! You want 1 salad and 3 desserts? No problem. This place has a pick and choose menu at a set price and every course is amazing. A mix between Italian and Japanese, the Japanese chef clearly knows control and quality, honestly one of the best restaurants (and values) in the entire valley.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic Asian inspired, creative delicious. Fantastic service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My daughter and I celebrated Valentine's Day at Terra this past weekend. The evening was really special and I am sure she will remember our father-daughter evening for some time to come. Each course was superbly prepared and beautifully presented. I am looking forward to returning for more father-daughter evenings in the future.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

While not every dish we tried was perfectly executed, there were a few that really stood out: chawanmushi (look it up), lobster tortelloni, black cod, and pork guanciale with wild mushroom risotto. Service was very attentive and accommodating. I was particularly impressed with the wine offerings. Our party had four different wines, and all were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Terra serves extraordinary, interesting and well prepared food in a beautiful rock-walled dining room. The tasting menu lets each person build his or her own menu which is nice. The choice is hard to make. Every course we ordered was excellent. Most memorable was the Chawanmushi an amazing blend of miso and custard with pieces of lobster and shrimp. The cavatelli pasta with lamb ragu was amazing as was the crudo. There wasn't a course we didn't like. Service was professional and knowledgeable. This restaurant has been around for 28 for a reason ! We will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We've been coming to Terra for 15 years. Locals love Terra. The food is unparalleled, the wine is list impressive, in our humble opinion. Besides the incredibly knowledgeable and attentive owners, and warm professional servers, it is an environment where you can enjoy this excellent experience and actually HEAR your dinner companions. The dining room is classic, and cozy. The new bar will become a favorite of ours, as well. The bar menu looked wonderful! They never disappoint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Organic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was OK for me. Only 2 dishes (black cod & sashimi) stood out for the 8 courses that my husband and I tried. The preparation looks nice, but the taste is just OK.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everything about Terra was amazing. The tasting menu gives you the chance to try lots of the dishes and they were all wonderful. Can't wait for another trip to St. Helena so we can dine at Terra again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I have always wanted to try this place. In the past when I thought of it they would not have availability. So finally able to dine at Terra and it was wonderful in all aspects.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

First time at Terra. Went with friend to celebrate birthday. The food was outstanding--an asian/western fusion. Very well-prepared, innovative, and beautifully presented. Very good value for money. We have gone to top-end restaurants all over the world and this is one of the best finds and for less money than most others. The space is quite small and the tables are therefore a bit cramped, but the noise level was lower than one would expect, at least while we were there. We also got a complimentary birthday dessert. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday celebration with another couple and had a wonderful time. The food was delicious and interesting. The service was spectacular, they were there when you needed them but not on top of you. The cocktails/ wine list is perfect. It was truly a beautiful evening and the dinning room is so charming, made me feel like I was somewhere else. Lovely evening

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Really interesting and delicious food. The service is wonderful and help make it a fun and interesting experience. Tried Chawanmushi for the first time, and it made my stomach very happy. Food is complex in flavors and composition without being too heavy.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 23, 2017

This restaurant is one of the finest in the country. The food and service were beyond compare. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Expensive but well worth the money spent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

At Terra, you get to pick your own tasting menu and how many courses. I perused the menu online in advance, but was delighted to find that because the chef had obtained some fresh Perigord black truffles there was an additional truffle menu.

The waiter was great at helping us pick a wine. I wanted some wine, but not very much because I was driving and the road conditions were challenging due to rain. The waiter recommended a pinot noir, but mentioned a mouvedre blend as an alternative. I decided to go with the recommended glass of pinot noir, but when the waiter offered a taste of the pinot, he also provided a taste of the mouvedre in case I wanted to change my wine. My husband liked the pinot so much that after his first glass of viognier, he got a glass of it.

The lobster tortellini is spectacular. The foie gras in polenta soup is unusual and excellent. The signature black cod in shiso broth was not a bit favorite of mine, because I don't like salty broth, but the cod itself was superb. The deserts are good. I had the goat cheese cake that was delicious and my husband had the very rich (and good) macademia nut tart.

The restaurant dining room was at a perfect temperature and very comfortable. We were next to the window and a stone wall, but it was not at all chilly. There are 9 tables around the perimeter of the room with a comfortable distance between them and a beautiful wine serving table in the middle of the room.

We left the restaurant very satisfied and pleasantly satiated. I had just the right amount of food and the timing was excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wonderful meal. We're going to return soon to try Bar Terra.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Can't speak to all of the various things one is asked about, above - no idea re: Happy Hour, or Brunch, or etc - but certainly we had a lovely, and very civilized, evening in this beautiful, quiet gem of a place; small and intimate, gorgeous and refined tasting menu; if it doesn't get five stars it's really because of a few quibbles (Cherry Cedar bitters too-too pronounced a flavor in the faux Manhattan; marshmallow/chocolate ice cream/quasi crackerjack dessert not successful; steak course in tasting menu pedestrian: steak oddly flavorless, albeit well cooked). But generally the food - especially the gorgeously prepared, satin-y fish courses (lobster custard, black cod, etc) - was marvelous, and there can be no quibbles whatsoever about the gracious and attentive staff or the incredibly pleasing, old-world ambience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Terra has proven to be the best dining experience I have had in years. Every dish was prepared to perfection (including lobster, duck, abalone, risotto, Crudo) and beautifully presented. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was the highlight of our trip. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Terra was a firm choice for an unusual food experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is an annual Christmas celebration but the first time we spent it at Tara and it was absolutely lovely and the food was wonderful the service was very attentive and the quiet allowed us all to talk without any problems. we had a wonderful time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Celebrating our 20th Anniversary, food was awesome and we were definately impressed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

An exceptional restaurant with a moderately priced wine list. 4, 5 or 6 course tasting only, but generous portions for a tasting style menu. Beautiful presentation, knowledgable staff. The best high end dining in Napa valley.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Overall, our experience was excellent. The food is mostly excellent, I loved all my dishes, but my husband has a few disappointments. Dessert menu didn't excite us. Our service was wonderful. For a restaurant that's been around so long it's impressive how consistent and relevant the food still is!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Terra is a wonderful restaurant that we have enjoyed for over 20 years. Each meal surprises and surpasses the one previous. HiroSohn is not only older and wiser, but he presents each delectable bite in a creative and artful way. His special custard that contains small chunks of Maine lobster is a special treat. We were so happy to share our meal with another couple and had a fabulous wine. The chef and wait staff are very attentive and professional.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I love the way their menu works. It gives you the ability, at the same price, to order more appetizers, mains or desserts as you wish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The two best dinners that I have had in the past year have been at Terra. The food is beyond excellent. The wine pairings with the truffle dinner were perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We think this is one of the best restaurants in the Napa Valley, and a bargain considering what the other top restaurants charge.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Only one word excellent, service, food, ambiance everything!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Many Thanks to Hiro and Lissa for the continued success of creating amazing dining experiences from educated and professional service to outstanding food. Gwen was wonderful and the menu preparations were spectacular!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Amazing Michelin one star experience but deserves a two star. Every course was fantastic. And portions quite generous. Two and a half hours went by so easily. We dined at bouchon and auberge de solie during this trip and clearly a step above. We also dined at Campton Place (2 star) and probably equal to or slightly above CP.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

It's been awhile since we've been here however it's still outstanding. We had a wonderful price fix menu with four courses. Presentation was exquisite. We' ll be back again and won't wait so long.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our experience was top notch as from the moment we arrived the staff treated us as royalty. At first the menu appeared daunting but the staff helped us with grace. Each course was just the right amount to enjoy but then immediately get excited about the subsequent course. Salmon, black cod, lobster, beet salad, deserts were all on point. My only regret is we didn't for go another night for continued discovery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Tasting menu was truly excellent and really was a good value considering the high quality of the food

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The overall experience was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This place was actually amazing. I really loved the service they provided. I had a reservation at 9pm, and google had said it closed at 9pm, so we called and they said that they were expecting us. It was great, very cozy little spot and the food was spot on. My boyfriend and I each had a 5 course tasting menu, so we were able to sample 10 dishes total. There were some highs (the steak with potato aligot, crudo, the abalone and scallops and the black cod were my favorite) and lows (grilled octopus could have been better the pasta with cavier was a little too light for my taste) throughout the course, but overall it was fantastic.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Spectacular -- deserves another star. We arrived on a rainy October night and immediately felt welcomed, warm, dry and cozy. The lighting is subdued, setting romantic and quiet, very few tables per room, with the antique brick walls and rows of wine bottles flickering in candle light. Service is superb but homey, a rare combination at this level of gastronomy. In general, that's the feel we got: cutting edge cuisine in a folksy, romantic atmosphere. The meal was as good as any we've had, challenging and creative without being overly edgy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We lived in Europe for four year, so know the value of a Michelin star rating. Terra deserves their star. The tasting menu is beyond innovative, and each step is delicious. Plus the portions are large enough that you and your companion for the meal can trade plates back and forth, making a five tasting order into a ten tasting experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

My wife and I celebrated her birthday with a spectacular dinner at Terra. Every course was exquisite, combining first-class ingredients with creative preparation and flawless presentation. The tasting menu format is flexible and allows guests to custom design their meal. The wine list is thoughtful and well balanced. And, the service was gracious. We will be back again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

It was such a beautiful night to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and the food was scrumptious! Thank you for the experience

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Amazing! Great food and great staff very fine dinning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our first time to Terra, and let me be one to say that it undoubtedly is not the last. I was pleasantly surprised by how casual the ambiance was at this Michelin star restaurant, and of course, the food was nothing less of exceptional. We had the four course menu priced at $89.00 per person, and when we realized that the portion sizes were not like that of your typical experience, we were glad that we stuck with the smaller menu option as each dish was very rich. We started off with the sautéed foie gras with polenta soup and foraged mushrooms (my heavens) to which was superb and easily the largest portion of duck I've ever received, followed by a more protein filled dish of the grilled five dot ranch flat iron steak with potato “aligot” (highly recommend - medium rare is the best way to go) and their deserts are simply to die. We were lucky enough to have a very spunky and lively waitress, making for a very memorable experience. Thank you for hosting us at your beautiful property and we hope to return very soon x

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Amazing restaurant featuring 4 or 5 or 6 course tasting menus with unique preparations and locally sourced food. My favorite: creamy polenta soup with seared foie gras and trumpet mushrooms. Beware - the courses are larger than the usual tasting menu so I would recommend four courses! Beautiful presentation, excellent service and a cozy stylish place to enjoy a memorable dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Lovely dinner celebrating my husband's birthday with our teenagers! Amazing food, wonderful service. A memorable dining experience... All courses were delicious and the quiet atmosphere allowed us to have nice conversation!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great advice from the sommelier. The sake marinaded black cod was amazing - no wonder it's so popular they can't take it off the menu

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Honest and delicious food. Portions are large, which you don't expect for a restaurant of this caliber. Chef was very nice and omitted an ingredient we did not like. The waitstaff is diverse and completely unpretentious. They do a great job making you feel welcomed. We loved this place and would go back again.

The only thing I would suggest is better signage. It's not clear where the entrance is, and going at night, all you see is what looks like a business directory, but still no direction where to go.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our fourth time at Terra and it did not disappoint. Loved everything about our meal and the service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Terra always has wonderful food and service. Gwen is an excellent and gracious wait person.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2016

非常に高い評価だと聞いて伺いましたが、内容は残念でした。

特に皆が注文するという茶碗蒸しは、お出汁の旨味が感じられずただしょっぱく中身も小さな鶏肉と上に海老が乗っているだけで日本で美味しい茶碗蒸しを食べている身としては、この味付けが西洋人向けであるとしてもトータル1人$200以上のコストを考えると残念でした。ワインやサービス、雰囲気は素晴らしいです。

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.