Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Terra Restaurant

Terra Restaurant has been a leading restaurant in Napa Valley since 1988. Set in a historic field stone building, Terra gives you the feeling of the Napa Valley, or some have said the French country side. We are proud to be part of such an important area not just for food but also for wine (Our family used to own Quixote Winery). We are, Hiro and Lissa the chef/owners of Terra and love to work closely with the local growers for our vegetables and the farms that raise the meats we serve. Incredible dairies that make the cheese and the fishermen that bring in the catch we serve. The connection to the land and the people is why we love what we do. Terra serves a prix fix menu of 4, 5 or 6 courses.
Terra has received a Michelin Star since the first award in 2007 and each year since then. Hiro Sone received the James Beard Award for Best Chef California in 2003 and Terra received James Beard Award for Outstanding Service-2008. The San Francisco Chronicle gave Terra & Bar Terra 3 1/2 stars.

1345 Railroad Ave
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Su-Mon, W-Th 6:00pm-8:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 6:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Adams and Hunt

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 963-8931

Website:
http://terrarestaurant.com/

Catering:
We enjoy bring Terra to your party for up to 150 people. While not always available with enough notice Hiro and Lissa can make your event very special. The menus we suggest are from the current menus we offer at the restaurant. Local farm grown vegetables, meats and fish. A true restaurant experience in your home.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of parking on the street and in the two lots north of our building. We are a small town and the businesses near us are happy to have our guests park in their lots after 6:00pm

Executive Chef:
Hiro Sone

Private Party Facilities:
Terra can be reserved for your private party. The room seats up to 40 people and is a gracious room for celebrating. Our menus are custom created for each party from our current menu so everything is very seasonal and local. Dietary requirements are seriously respected. Please see our website for photos of the room set up for a private party and a sample menu.

Private Party Contact:
Lissa Doumani: (707) 963-8931

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Terra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (25)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Romantic (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Seasonal (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Organic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

E xceptional, creative cuisine...hard to pick only four choices. Service was professional attentive and very helpful in describing nuances of each dish. We go every time we're in St Helena
Great Place!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Amazing service. Delicious food and very accommodating with the tasting menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was delicious and the waiter incredibly attentive and patient with our large group of 8. Restaurant also was quick to accommodate a reservation timing change when they realized they could!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The entire experience at Terra was fantastic. We arrived 20 min. early but were able to seat us anyway. The room only has about 10 tables and is quite charming. The service was pleasant and efficient. The food was absolutely delicious...Chose the four-course menu...had the lobster tagliatelle, octopus and duck. Yummy dessert...The sparkling wine was delicious. Truly a memorable experience. Highly recommend this splurge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Loved the idea that we could create our own menu. We went for four courses and made them all savoury as we're dessert lovers. The food is spectacular. This is a must do in the Napa Valley.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Still original and esquisite after 29 years. If you can get in, it a must do if you are a demanding restaurant patron.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 5, 2017

One of the best we have been to! This deserves a top ranking in Napa!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Beautiful meal. Lots of options to customize our own 4, 5, or 6 course dinner. Ample portions. 4 courses is plenty to satisfy most appetites! Our table tried to order mostly different items to try most of menu. Nice but not pretentious. Cozy, quiet, great service! Good value for special dinner

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

The best ever
Simply amazing food and service, only suggestion is to slow the courses down a bit when doing 6 courses

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We return to this restaurant to celebrate our wedding anniversary every year ! The quality of the food is over the top and every bite is exquisite. The tasting menu is generous and varied. The service is attentive but not invasive. We highly recommend this beautiful restaurant .

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Organic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Terra was everything we had hoped it would be. Beautiful old stone building...only a few tables so very cozy but not tight. Service was perfect. The lobster dumplings were my favorite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Delicious, surprising dishes, served in a stunning old-stone room by a fantastic group of food and wine professionals. This is off the charts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We were expecting almost michelin star quality of food since it has a michelin star (or had for many years). Most of the food was bland, the risotto looked like it had been sitting for a while. The octopus and scallop could have been cooked much better. For the amount of money spent I would have expected to really enjoy the food if not find it amazing. The service is outstanding, definitely top notch and the dining room is quaint and pretty. The food is not five star.

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Wonderful place with unique ingredients put together in interesting ways.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Terra is our favorite restaurant in wine country. The new tasting menu format is great for a couple wanting to try lots of different dishes. Service was excellent. Highly recommend for a higher-end dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Fantastic all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Exceptional fine dining without any pretention, though it's expensive it's definitely worth every penny.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

My wife and I have been privileged to dine at 3 star restaurants in many countries. Terra competes with the very best, and is, in my opinion, the finest restaurant in the Bay Area. Every dish is creative, beautifully presented, and utterly delicious. It's a 1 1/2 hour drive for us, but It would be worth the trip for the Chawanmushi alone--best version I have ever tasted.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Unique and Original. The entire staff were attentative and professionally casual. The cocktails were some of the finest I've had in a long time and the food was fresh and delicious. Zen-like ambience. We're from New York and we look forward returning to Terra... Kevin L.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

A wonderful meal, fine service, excellent wine list--and there is a more casual bar as well.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had in my life! Complex and interesting flavors!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We always enjoy dining here, because the food is consistent and so incredible! Hiro Sone pays attention to detail as he creates the most delicious delicacies. Lissa's desserts are to die for!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Dinner at Terra is an unique gastronomical event. The courses are all interesting and delicious. The service is expectable. Our waiter was a wealth of knowledge, more of a guide through tout our evening. We were throughout impressed and had a wonderful time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The waitress did a great job at explaining the menu, and had great suggestions! Great way to celebrate our 10 year anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Terra never disappointed; Start with the warm greetings, friendly and carefully description of the dishes to superb tasty food and beauiful presentation. Our wait staff was also very knowledgable about how the dishes was prepared and keeping us verywell informed.
Love this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Terra is a top 10 experience in my book. I have eaten all over the world, and this place is as good as it gets. The tasting menu is perfect, as the food options are perfect to share. It is gourmet and yet, accessible. We've eaten here twice - once on our honeymoon in 1995 and again this year for my 50th. It rivals any top food experience, anywhere. Please make sure you get to this iconic place if you come to Napa. It will be well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Absolutely sublime. Perfection in every aspect. Creative cuisine served in inviting environment. Terra is a diamond.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We will definitely dine here again. Beautiful setting, wonderful dining experience without being stuffy. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Wonderful dinner, excellent service. I recommend studying the menu in advance, as each dish is complex and worthy of preparation in order to appreciate each item. Lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Best meal we had in Napa. Service was astounding. Selection and food was definitely Michelin star worthy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Woderful. Foidvn service is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

An absolute jewel of a restaurant, I have dined a half dozen times over the last 12-14 years. The subtle of flavors, balance, and presentation reflect the chef's love of his craft and genius. The service is polished and comfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Amazing as always, our 10 years old son had his first 5 course meal there. 3 courses of rare wage beef on heated plates, the cheese course and strawberry sorbet. They readily accommodated him. The food was innnovatative and the service is always above and beyond.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Fun, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Terra is outstanding. The food preparation and presentation is beautiful. Every entree was meticulously prepared, a work of art and delicious. The menu consists of options for lighter fare which makes the tasting menu style of ordering excellent and not overwhelming. My husband and I prefer this restaurant to Meadowood and TFL from a food choice, preparation and value perspective. It is very small so reserve early or you are not going to get a table.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

very good--four course left us full but not overly stuffed--could sleep at nite. three of my selections were excellent with subtle flavors-but was disappointed in the duck. lobster tortolloni was excellent as well as the deserts!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Awesome dinner! Amazing service! My favorite dining experience in Saint Helena. Their Michelin star is well deserved!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Outstanding food, service and romantic atmosphere. Food preparation is excellent and service professional. Very good wine list. American with hint of Asian influence in many dishes. Tasting menu with multiple choices and flexible. Reservation essential. Nice bar for a before dinner cocktail and they also serve good food in the bar if you want a more casual dinner. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food, selection is unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Absolutely spot on. Food prepared with precision and flavours to die for.

Highly recommend this for a great evening out.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

This is still one of the finest dining experiences in the US. The menu is set up so one may really please him/herself. It is possible to organize a meal which builds gradually but excites one at every turn. Since we had a four course and a five course set of selections we ended up sharing nine courses. These were not tiny portions either (except for the duck.) The chawanmushi is a must every time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.