Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Ten22

Eat, drink, and relax at Ten22. Enjoy the sophisticated casual style of our dining room or the spacious outdoor patio with fire pit. Great for dining for business or with friends and family. Ten22 has something for everyone. The menu features American favorites with a modern twist.

1022 Second Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday through Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner
Monday through Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Happy Hour
Monday through Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Monday through Sunday: 9:00pm - 11:00pm

Closed Holidays 2016
New Year's Day (Jan 1), Super Bowl (Feb 7), Staff Appreciation Party (Feb 8), Christmas Day (Dec 25)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 441-2211

Website:
http://www.ten22oldsac.com/

Entertainment:
Ten22 hosts FREE live music every Friday and Saturday from 7-10 pm. Check our website or join our newsletter for list of local area bands playing at Ten22.

Catering:
Call our Event Coordinator or Chef Jay to make arrangements for offsite catering.

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking are available. A City lot is located at Second and I Streets. A City parking garage is located one block over on Neasham and Front Streets.

Executive Chef:
Jay Veregge

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining room holds up to 55 guests. From March - October, outdoor patio space holds up to 100 seated guests. Great for dinner parties, galas, fundraisers, or any type of an event.

Private Dining

Eat, drink, and relax at Ten 22. Have your private event indoors or out on the patio, for company functions, receptions or just a special night with your family and friends. Ten22 has something for everyone. Executive Chef Jay Veregge and our exceptional staff will make your event a memorable one.

Ten22 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Good for Groups (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Casual (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Business Meals (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Romantic (11)
Healthy (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Great Beer (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Cozy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Organic (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Private Room (5)
Family Style (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Historic (4)
People Watching (3)
Fireplace (3)
Authentic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Waterfront (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

I had salmon and it was delicious! It was done the way I like it and was on top of a bed of green cilantro rice. We sat for a long time talking and didn't feel rushed. The waiter paid attention but was not pushy.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our server Gil was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is definitely a return visit for us, as we have always been happy with new choices and specials at Ten22. I love their specials each day, and half-price on wine Wednesdays!

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We booked the reservation through Open Table for convenience. When we arrived and were seated at the table, we were notified that there was a set menu due to being Mother's Day. Had we known this when making the reservation, we would have gone to a different restaurant. I see this as both an Open Table AND restaurant oversight. Not a great way to start the evening.

The service was the worst part of the whole experience. We had to ask multiple times to get things that were needed such as silverware and a couple extra napkins. The servers slung the food across the table as if we were eating at a Denny's and not a fine dining establishment rather than placing the food in front of each person. The food was decent and I honestly can not say anything bad about the food. Likewise, I can't say anything amazing about it either

Long story short, I've had better service and a better experience at lower quality restaurants. I was highly disappointed and surprised at how poor the quality of service was for what we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

From the food, to the service, everything was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food, good service. Valet parking seems convenient but Old Sac gets very busy on Sunday mornings and valet parking gets overloaded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent Mother's Day experience. Everything was great. And I really appreciate their kid friendly (and price friendly) children's menu. As I'm sure everyone has experienced, most restaurants stick it to you on pricing for kids on Mother's Day (often $22-$27), when all they want is a pancake. Not Ten22...they were more than fair...and the kids meal was delicious.
The food was great, ambiance excellent, and service wonderful. Highly recommended.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Atrocious service and inedible food. I'll never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to this restaurant for a small family outing (four people). The inside was clean and the environment was warm and welcoming. We were placed next to the kitchen bar and that was a little noisy and close to a lot of foot traffic. We asked to be moved and were given a table along the wall opposite the kitchen bar. This table (booth) was nice and roomy for four people. The menu was weak with few choices. For appetizers we had the fried calamari which was excellent. The main entrees included, pork belly dish, lamb, steak and salmon. The lamb and the pork were not very favorable, the salmon was the best dish and and all the portions were adequate. We would have like to have seen more variety to choose from the menu.

My wife had two cocktails (Gin and rosemary, and the apple) that were a flop. We would have been better ordering a simple wine or beer.

The service was good and the waiter was friendly enough, and we did not feel rushed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to celebrate a special anniversary. When we told our hostess she moved us to a booth. Food was very good including the desert. I recommend the Apple Ginger cocktail

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Everyone was friendly and attentive. Valet parking was quick. Meal was outstanding.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We enjoyed sitting in th cool breeze on the patio and watching the street life in Old Sacramento. The food was tasty and the servers were very pleasant.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 1, 2017

What a amazing experience I love this restaurant because it had very comforting food that was so divine I couldn't put it down finished everything on my plate when normally I don't finish anything my children were very happy and satisfied with their food and the service was excellent I will definitely be taking a trip to this restaurant again

Tags: Kid-friendly, Healthy, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Historic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great attentive service for a special birthday. The hostess and wait staff were very friendly and accommodating to our special requests. The food and drinks were great. We had a variety of cocktails, appetizers and entrees including the Brussels sprouts, calamari, lamb pasta, salmon, steak and the Tuscan stew, all of which just delicious. I highly recommend this fine restaurant in Old Sacramento.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Decent food, but service was very slow

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We were married at 1022 a year ago and came back to celebrate with friends. Bartenders, servers and hostess were all wonderful. Would recommend to friends and family and we will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Th service and the food was outstanding also a good value.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Love it so much , we stay at the restaurant from 7 until closing.
Food delicious, dessert and coffee perfect !
Server his awesome, love his recommendation on red wine and also with food.
Thank you so much

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

GREAT food, GREAT atmosphere, & GREAT service. Not from the Sacramento area and was very pleased that our group chose well!

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great place. Gotta love a place that has a single page for food menu but a four page wine and beer menu...cheers

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great food and service. We stayed for a while and they didn't seem to mind. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We visited ten22 for their Easter brunch. Maybe it was because we had a 3.15PM seating, but one of the entrees was already unavailable as was one of the dessert choices. The first course was "miscellaneous pastries and muffins and strawberries and cream". What was brought to our table was half a muffin and half a Danish as well as one bowl of strawberries and cream (for 2 people). The dessert was a small, cold, dry chocolate cake. Fortunately our kids got ice-cream and topped with some borrowed ice-cream, it wasn't too bad. Their service team was excellent and saved the evening from being a poor experience.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We arrived 10-minutes early for our Open Table reservations: 2-people for a booth at 1:00 PM Easter Sunday Brunch. The rude and inconsiderate "hostess" who had way too much attitude for a Non-Michelin Star restaurant said she didn't have any booths available. I stated clearly so there was no confusion, I had reservations for a booth and when we've placed reservations in the past with this restaurant or any other restaurant (especially through Open Table), that if the restaurant was not able to accommodate us they would call in advance... not notify us as we ask to be seated. And, no one called or messaged us from Ten22 or Open Table. I asked how long to wait for a booth she said smiling... 1.5 hours! That would be 2:30 PM for Easter Sunday Brunch, when we had reservations for 1:00 PM! As we were seated and dined, I made a point to check by looking and walking around the restaurant and there were 2-4 booths open in different areas of the restaurant (not at a specific "closed-off" area). And, as one was taken by diners being seated, another would open with diners leaving... however, there would be still 2-4 open booths between 1:00 PM and 2:00 PM. This is both ridiculous and unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I took two friends to Ten22 for Easter brunch. It was fabulous, so organized plus we got in earlier than our reservation time, which we appreciated very much. The menu was affordable with delicious food for everyone's individual taste. One friend, who only eats organic and is very selective about restaurants, kept thanking me for the healthy/tasty meal. The customer service was spot on -- Kudos to those who worked the holiday!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We heard great things about this restaurant but we were sorely disappointed. The food was marginal at best with appetizers being either bland or so over seasoned they were in-edible. The daily special entree was a horribly fatty rib eye that came with a biscuit covered in gravy. This would have been a bad voice at $8, let alone the $48 we were charged. We actually went there because we heard their lasagna was very good only to be told when we tried to order it that they weren't making it that night. I also felt their wine selection was poor compared to many other restaurants in town. The server Erin was the only bright spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We were a party of 5 and enjoyed the place. Nice food, great service!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The restaurant, wine selection and staff are great, however, the food was poor. Both my food and my boyfriend's food were cold, bland and disappointing. Improving the food would really make a difference in the overall experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

8 of us went for a quick lunch, with 2 small children. Service was very accommodating (kids' food came first).
We had a great time, would go again and have already recommended it. Nice proximity to train museum.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

On one meal Salmon was undercooked/raw in first delivery. When it was redone the basmati rice was hard, crunchy and dry to rubbery. Not to mention it came out disjointed from other meal so experience not great. No accommodations made on check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We visited the restaurant on a Thursday, our party was a 4 top. Very low key, and quiet. Good for conversation with your party. The service was prompt and very attentive.
We started out with their calamari:
fried calamari, roasted garlic, lemon aioli

Very nice offering of calamari. The batter used was light, crispy and flavorful. The squid was fresh and cooked perfectly.

Half of our party ordered their Thursdays special, "Three for Thursday", a three course prix fixe offering. This weeks special was ricotta stuffed ravioli with braised beef ragu. Overall, the dish was really.

I had the lamb dish: braised lamb, medjool dates, chorizo couscous, african peppers, honey-madras demi jus.

This dish was very well executed. The lamb was tender and flavorful. The couscous was delicious. I couldn't get enough of this dish.

For dessert, I had the fair trade chocolate layered cake. I am not typically a huge fan of chocolate, but this thing was impeccable. I was supposed to share some of it with my wife, but I ended up eating it all. Next time, I will consider ordering 2 of them.

Overall, this was a great outing. Thoroughly enjoyed by all.
We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The salmon was excellent. Unfortunately our server was very slow which seemed a bit odd because they had far more servers than customers at the time we were there (6PM on Thursday).

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We were a party of six that turned into seven. We ended up having dinner in the bar, two tables were placed together to accommodate us. The service staff was very nice and quick. Happy hour food was top notch and a great variety. Afterward, we stepped into their new cafe and got coffees to go. They make the best dirty chai ever! Spicy and not too sweet!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My son was in town. Great Friday night dinner. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We took my colleague there for her retirement lunch and had excellent food and service!

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was great! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We started with the Brussel sprouts which were very yummy -- and a very large portion. I debated between the salmon and the lamb, and the waiter said the lamb was the best -- he wasn't wrong. It was fabulous! The preparation was perfectly flavored and different from what I've had before. Unbelievably good. And the portion was huge. My friend did get the salmon and she really liked that too. The chocolate taboo dessert was great --very chocolaty without being too over the top. Being in Old Town is definitely a plus too. I live in the Bay Area, and was up for a concert at Golden 1 -- I would definitively go back to Ten22 and recommend it to my friends, with or without the concert! (The only negative was we had to ask a second time for my friend's half-caf coffee -- my decaf came right away -- and she asked for cream and sugar, which never arrived (it was odd they didn't bring it or at least ask if I wanted it, when they brought mine). But our waiter was super nice and otherwise all the staff was attentive and friendly, so I forgave them this.)

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Just the right attention to service - we were not in a rush and enjoyed a leisurely meal. We also appreciated the moderate corkage fee and excellent wine glasses! Thank you

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We attended for a double birthday celebration. A student of mine just turned 15, and my son turned 36! Our grandson was also with us. He is 16 months old and he had a blast with the kids serving of mac n cheese brought to our table. We ordered the fried asparagus appetizer. Nice touch. My daughter-in law just had mouth surgery and very much enjoyed the butternut squash soup. Our server anticipated our needs (my 4 cups of coffee) and brought two lovely slices of chocolate/beet cake for the birthday "kids".

Love the modern ambience of Ten22! The Old Sac area plays host to this very special restaurant, so, we consider that an extra.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Family Style, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Everyone was very welcoming and wished our daughter happy birthday from the hostess to our server and wait staff
Everyone made her feel special for the night

Thanks

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I took business colleagues and customers to dinner while we were in town for a convention. The food, service and atmosphere was all I could have hoped for. The bread pudding the best I've ever eaten!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Organic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.