Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About TEN at the Eldridge

TEN Restaurant & The Jayhawker Bar are located in the heart of beautiful downtown Lawrence, residing in the historic Eldridge Hotel, itself known for its superior service & decor. TEN features a spectacular awarding winning wine list & a contemporary American menu, featuring Kansas City hand cut steaks, daily fish specials & enticing pasta dishes. Let our remarkable service & exquisite menu provide you with a memorable dining experience. The full TEN menu can also be enjoyed in the Jayhawker Bar while taking in one of our featured martinis. We offer private dining rooms & banquet facilities for your next family or corporate event. Online reservations are valid in both the TEN Restaurant & The Jayhawker Bar.

701 Massachusetts
The Eldridge Hotel
Lawrence, KS 66044
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
TEN Restaurant Hours
Sunday 7am- 2pm; 5pm- 9pm
Monday – Wednesday 7am- 2pm; 5pm- 10pm
Thursday – Saturday 7am- 2pm; 5pm- 11pm

Breakfast Hours:
Monday – Saturday 7am- 11pm
Sunday Breakfast 7am- 10:30am

Sunday Brunch 10:30am- 2pm

Lunch Hours:
Monday – Saturday 11am to 2pm

Dinner Hours:
Monday – Wednesday 5pm- 10pm
Thursday – Saturday 5pm- 11pm
Sunday 5pm- 9pm

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(785) 749-1005

Website:
http://www.eldridgehotel.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday Tastings: First Tuesday of every month.

Parking Details:
A public lot & metered street parking are available. Parking in Downtown Lawrence is free on Sundays and holidays. Valet parking is free for restaurant guests, with the exception of guests having events at the hotel. Then the valet fee is $5. (some exclusions apply)

Private Party Facilities:
TEN at the Edridge offers 4 private rooms: All American Room, Crystal Ballroom, Big 6 Room, Conference Room. We also have three private rooms at the Eldridge Extended.

Private Party Contact:
Kristy Lopez: (785) 749-1005

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
TEN and the Jayhawker host special events such as monthly wine tastings, quarterly wine dinners, and holiday events, including legendary buffets. Please check our website at www.eldridgehotel.com for up coming events!

TEN at the Eldridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for a Date (4)
See All
Special Occasion (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Historic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Business Meals (2)
Fun (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The bar is pretty good and if you plan to eat you should eat in the Bar. To be honest Ten just isn't that great of a restaurant. While the people / servers are nice I don't think running a restaurant is their expertise. I believe the same people run both the Eldridge and the Oread restaurants and they just don't seem to have the skill to have the restaurants fun on all cylinders.

Hopefully they figure it out someday.

Tags: Live Sports, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Anniversary dinner, great food at an expected price considering the exceptional meal and environment you are getting. Highly recommend Ten to those looking for a taste of Lawrence to share with a special someone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great fish specials! We always get the fish specials as it is usually the best meal on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Each person in our party of 4 had a great meal. Tenderloin cooked to perfection with a flavorful demi glace, Bronzino was moist and delicious, asparagus salads divine, hazelnut mushroom streudel was an unusual and flavorful appetizer. We had a great bottle of wine, a nice server, and a table by the window so we could enjoy the ambiance of Massachusetts street on a Saturday night.

Tags: Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great time, with great friends even though K U lost. Food was excellent and the wait staff was outstanding. Definitely come back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Upscale atmosphere did not correlate with the noise level from the adjacent wedding reception the thumping of the base was not conducive to a romantic meal service was slow on the table placements if you're not in a booth against the window he'll feel really awkward food was average Certainly not worth the price tag will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Service was terrible. Had been before without issue, but this was embarrassing for me to host clients here. Not planning on coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First, I'll start with the outstanding service. Our server was personable and knowledgable about the menu, the restaurant week specials, and about the area. He was also delightfully honest about not being a drinker but still being helpful when choosing a bottle of wine. He was able to converse on a variety of subjects, and maintained bright and engaged throughout the experience.

The food selections on the menu gave a good choice of dietary options, and portions were a good size. We shared an appetizer and dessert, while choosing our own main dishes. We were pleasantly satisfied without being hungry or overly stuffed from the meal.

Great wine selection even though the restaurant denoted pairing down their wine list.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Greasy pancakes, poor quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there for New Year's Eve dinner. The chef prepared a special menu that was scrumptious. Our server was really nice and took very good care of us --we had a quite enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very tasty food w great service and in a congenial atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great Sunday Brunch, excellent variety and preparation; friendly and prompt wait staff.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great meal and service. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Quiet but delicious brunch. Great view of Mass. Would be good for someone older - maybe not so for a brunch full of women on a bachelorette weekend. However, the food was delicious and the service was alright.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have had excellent past brunch experiences here; however this last Sunday was most disappointing. The food needed to be refreshed = so consequently there were several things that they were out of entirely. The chef never offered to make us a special omelet (was actually not even in the station when we went back) and there was no prime rib, and it was never refreshed. It was most disappointing, and we paid to sit next to the loudest patrons in the place. We are really going to have to think long and hard about going back. Was very disappointing, and no apology from the waiter, who was mostly absent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Sunday we went to brunch the restaurant was crowded as they lost a room to a wedding, thus it was probably noisier than usual. The food is very good, attractively served, but nothing outstanding. The chicken was tender, the roast beef tough, the fruit was fresh and flavorful., the roast broccoli done well but a little salty. There was a change in elevation between the dining and food serving rooms which our table was near. Several people tripped - I was waiting for someone to fall. Jackie was an excellent server, very alert to our needs.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and service. We were there for an early dinner so I'm not sure the servers were quite ready for us but once we got in the swing of things, everything was great! Everyone in our party enjoyed their meals. The starter salads were huge too!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great eats and options for vegetarians. The portobello mushrooms were wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2016

I was not pleased with the meal. It took awhile to get our cocktails. I ordered tbe shrimp scampi and not only did it come out cold but my daughter said that the same dish at Olive Garden is better. That should sum it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have had dinner at Ten before and were not as impressed. This time the menu was good, food excellent and service very responsive. We also love the bar and the wonderful vintage lobby outside the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had the fish special which was Cod with a Brussels sprouts sauce on it. Perhaps one of the finest meals we have ever had. I called ahead and someone was so kind to tell me what the special was that night. Just wish they had that meal more often. Specials are almost always excellent. Most of the regular menu items are great too. Would prefer more of a rotational menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a mixed experience. We had the Sunday Brunch at the earliest posted time (10:30am). Clearly the food had been out quite a while before we arrived. My husband had a great experience with a hot and delicious custom-made omelet and pancakes. I went for the steam tables, and found most of the food to be good, but must comment on the breakfast potatoes which had been sitting so long in the steam table that they were dried-out, hard and barely edible, not to mention no longer hot. The fish was also under heated, but tender and still delicious. The pork was fantastic. But the biggest disappointment (besides the potatoes) was the fresh fruit plate. The pineapple was very unappetizing, having been cut with many bruises and over-ripe spots showing. I love pineapple but couldn't get myself to take any. There were only two strawberries left. The melon was fine, however. We like Ten, and the service was great, but this time the food was pretty spotty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Overall, we enjoyed the meal. The food was well prepared (except for the rib eye which was ordered medium rare and was served very, very rare). The scallops
we done to perfection. Of the 5 people in attendance, 4 were very pleased with their meal. Service was attentive and not overbearing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2016

I have dined here regularly over the past few years but this was such a disappointment that this may have been my last time. Prices had just been increased - some astronomically - and the food was either mediocre or inedible. Unless they make some serious changes in the kitchen I won't be dining here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 2, 2016

We were in Lawrence visiting family and chose 10 at the Eldridge hotel for a Sunday dinner. The beer list and drinks were very good and the wine list was very extensive and not overpriced. The food was extremely good, fresh and lively. The waitstaff was extremely friendly and professional. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2016

Service was prompt and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 26, 2016

We had the California Halibut with Rice and tomato jam. It was excellent. We had crab cakes for an appetizer and Blueberry pie with ice cream for desert.
Our waiter Damian is superb as we have been served by him many times. My only suggestion is to offer more specials. The regular menu is boring compared to the specials. Post what's for dinner everyday and you'll get more business.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2016

The soup and caesar salad were served close to the same temperature. The salad looked and tasted as if made from a bagged caesar salad kit. Dinner rolls (which we had to request) were Sister Schubert's. Asparagus accompanying entrees was mushy. Waiter never refilled wine glasses. Waited a long time for entrees to be served. The creme brulee had the taste and consistency of instant pudding. We had to shout to hear each other. Despite the salmon having good flavor, a very disappointing birthday dinner. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Fun place to go for happy hour with friends and coworkers. Good place to take out of town guests. Service was quick and professional. Really enjoyable time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 27, 2016

I love this place. Great food, great service. At our most recent visit, one of the entrees we ordered got overdone, so the chef held it back, redid it, and gave it to us free, even though I said it was not necessary. The pig wings are different, and worth an order for the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The reservation was not needed which was perfectly fine. There was a Valentines Day only menu (I was semi disappointed). We ordered an appetizer that was not put in on the order. Then we proceeded to order crab legs & the king size prime rib. The crab legs were fine. The prime rib was ordered Rare to Medium Rare, it came out well done. It was very tough and "work" to eat. I expected the restaurant to be equivalent to the KC Metro Area, WRONG!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Excellent food, but service was just ok. Dessert was not offered; had to ask to see a dessert menu, which the waitress couldn't find. The cream cheese brownie with ice cream was fabulous, though!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Little disappoint in the Valentine's Day menu. Was really looking forward toe other the duck or the scallops and instead they had a limited Valentine's Day menu ( 2 days ahead of V-day)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Awesome experience the special menu items were superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Its dope. Good times and good vibes. Tremendously attentive, yet neither annoying and adequately polite is how I would describe the service. The dishes were eloquently presented and the taste of my Pasta a la Vodka was a truly amazing. Lets work together to put an end to President Obama's "War on Jobs" and elect a president that will stand up for America's blue-collar working class folk. Nonetheless, I recommend TEN at the Eldridge to anyone looking for a fine dining experience on Massachusetts Street. 5 Stars!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2016

Took a friend for her birthday lunch and had a great time and a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 30, 2016

overall rating of fair based on service an the lack of quality in the 5 differnt dishes we ordered. Space was cramped but to the credit of the receptionist I had 1 extra guest in my party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Jayhawker Bar was great, good drink selection, very vibrant, food was good. We had dinner one night at the TEN restaurant. Ambiance was great, we had a booth looking outside which was great. Wine list was also very good. Our food experience was mixed, we had to send back one of the entrees and have it taken off our bill. I would be hard pressed to recommend for that reason.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Had a great time at the Ten in Lawrence as the wine was great and the steak and duck were cooked to perfection. Need a night out? This is the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2015

This was a very nice and upscale restaurant right on the main strip in downtown Manhattan. This is primarily for a nice dinner out versus most of the lower scale restaurants on this main drag. We were pleasantly surprised by the 25% off on Wednesday for all wines.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.