About TEN at the Eldridge

701 Massachusetts
The Eldridge Hotel
Lawrence, KS 66044
View Larger Map

TEN Restaurant & The Jayhawker Bar are located in the heart of beautiful downtown Lawrence, residing in the historic Eldridge Hotel, itself known for its superior service & decor. TEN features a spectacular awarding winning wine list & a contemporary American menu, featuring Kansas City hand cut steaks, daily fish specials & enticing pasta dishes. Let our remarkable service & exquisite menu provide you with a memorable dining experience. The full TEN menu can also be enjoyed in the Jayhawker Bar while taking in one of our featured martinis. We offer private dining rooms & banquet facilities for your next family or corporate event. Online reservations are valid in both the TEN Restaurant & The Jayhawker Bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
TEN Restaurant Hours
Sunday 7am- 2pm; 5pm- 9pm
Monday – Wednesday 7am- 2pm; 5pm- 10pm
Thursday – Saturday 7am- 2pm; 5pm- 11pm

Breakfast Hours:
Monday – Saturday 7am- 11pm
Sunday Breakfast 7am- 10:30am

Sunday Brunch 10:30am- 2pm

Lunch Hours:
Monday – Saturday 11am to 2pm

Dinner Hours:
Monday – Wednesday 5pm- 10pm
Thursday – Saturday 5pm- 11pm
Sunday 5pm- 9pm

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(785) 749-1005

Website:
http://www.eldridgehotel.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday Tastings: First Tuesday of every month.

Parking Details:
A public lot & metered street parking are available. Parking in Downtown Lawrence is free on Sundays and holidays. Valet parking is free for restaurant guests, with the exception of guests having events at the hotel. Then the valet fee is $5. (some exclusions apply)

Private Party Facilities:
TEN at the Edridge offers 4 private rooms: All American Room, Crystal Ballroom, Big 6 Room, Conference Room. We also have three private rooms at the Eldridge Extended.

Private Party Contact:
Kristy Lopez: 7857491005x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
TEN and the Jayhawker host special events such as monthly wine tastings, quarterly wine dinners, and holiday events, including legendary buffets. Please check our website at www.eldridgehotel.com for up coming events!

Restaurant Photos

  • TEN at the Eldridge
  • Omelet
  • Free State Copperhead Pale Ale
  • Mushroom Omelette
  • turkey club
  • Bloody Mary Martini
  • House Burger
  • tilapia po boy
TEN at the Eldridge
Omelet
Free State Copperhead Pale Ale
Mushroom Omelette
turkey club
Bloody Mary Martini
House Burger
tilapia po boy

TEN at the Eldridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lawrence
Best Restaurants in Lawrence ›

special occasion (13)
fit for foodies (10)
romantic (7)
See All
good for groups (7)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
notable wine list (2)
great for lunch (2)
hot spot (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great eats and options for vegetarians. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great eats and options for vegetarians. The portobello mushrooms were wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I was not pleased with the meal. It took ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I was not pleased with the meal. It took awhile to get our cocktails. I ordered tbe shrimp scampi and not only did it come out cold but my daughter said that the same dish at Olive Garden is better. That should sum it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Ten is a classic

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have had dinner at Ten before and were not as impressed. This time the menu was good, food excellent and service very responsive. We also love the bar and the wonderful vintage lobby outside the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the fish special which was Cod wi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had the fish special which was Cod with a Brussels sprouts sauce on it. Perhaps one of the finest meals we have ever had. I called ahead and someone was so kind to tell me what the special was that night. Just wish they had that meal more often. Specials are almost always excellent. Most of the regular menu items are great too. Would prefer more of a rotational menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mixed Review

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a mixed experience. We had the Sunday Brunch at the earliest posted time (10:30am). Clearly the food had been out quite a while before we arrived. My husband had a great experience with a hot and delicious custom-made omelet and pancakes. I went for the steam tables, and found most of the food to be good, but must comment on the breakfast potatoes which had been sitting so long in the steam table that they were dried-out, hard and barely edible, not to mention no longer hot. The fish was also under heated, but tender and still delicious. The pork was fantastic. But the biggest disappointment (besides the potatoes) was the fresh fruit plate. The pineapple was very unappetizing, having been cut with many bruises and over-ripe spots showing. I love pineapple but couldn't get myself to take any. There were only two strawberries left. The melon was fine, however. We like Ten, and the service was great, but this time the food was pretty spotty.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall, we enjoyed the meal. The food ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Overall, we enjoyed the meal. The food was well prepared (except for the rib eye which was ordered medium rare and was served very, very rare). The scallops

we done to perfection. Of the 5 people in attendance, 4 were very pleased with their meal. Service was attentive and not overbearing.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I have dined here regularly over the pas ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I have dined here regularly over the past few years but this was such a disappointment that this may have been my last time. Prices had just been increased - some astronomically - and the food was either mediocre or inedible. Unless they make some serious changes in the kitchen I won't be dining here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great atmosphere at historic hotel

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

We were in Lawrence visiting family and chose 10 at the Eldridge hotel for a Sunday dinner. The beer list and drinks were very good and the wine list was very extensive and not overpriced. The food was extremely good, fresh and lively. The waitstaff was extremely friendly and professional. Would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was prompt and friendly

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Service was prompt and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We always like the fish specials at Ten.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We had the California Halibut with Rice and tomato jam. It was excellent. We had crab cakes for an appetizer and Blueberry pie with ice cream for desert.

Our waiter Damian is superb as we have been served by him many times. My only suggestion is to offer more specials. The regular menu is boring compared to the specials. Post what's for dinner everyday and you'll get more business.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

disappointing

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The soup and caesar salad were served close to the same temperature. The salad looked and tasted as if made from a bagged caesar salad kit. Dinner rolls (which we had to request) were Sister Schubert's. Asparagus accompanying entrees was mushy. Waiter never refilled wine glasses. Waited a long time for entrees to be served. The creme brulee had the taste and consistency of instant pudding. We had to shout to hear each other. Despite the salmon having good flavor, a very disappointing birthday dinner. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great happy hour

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Fun place to go for happy hour with friends and coworkers. Good place to take out of town guests. Service was quick and professional. Really enjoyable time.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great addition to downtown Lawrence

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

I love this place. Great food, great service. At our most recent visit, one of the entrees we ordered got overdone, so the chef held it back, redid it, and gave it to us free, even though I said it was not necessary. The pig wings are different, and worth an order for the table.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines Day Menu

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The reservation was not needed which was perfectly fine. There was a Valentines Day only menu (I was semi disappointed). We ordered an appetizer that was not put in on the order. Then we proceeded to order crab legs & the king size prime rib. The crab legs were fine. The prime rib was ordered Rare to Medium Rare, it came out well done. It was very tough and "work" to eat. I expected the restaurant to be equivalent to the KC Metro Area, WRONG!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Excellent food, but service was just ok. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Excellent food, but service was just ok. Dessert was not offered; had to ask to see a dessert menu, which the waitress couldn't find. The cream cheese brownie with ice cream was fabulous, though!

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Little disappoint in the Valentine's Day ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Little disappoint in the Valentine's Day menu. Was really looking forward toe other the duck or the scallops and instead they had a limited Valentine's Day menu ( 2 days ahead of V-day)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Day

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Awesome experience the special menu items were superb.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Vibes

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Its dope. Good times and good vibes. Tremendously attentive, yet neither annoying and adequately polite is how I would describe the service. The dishes were eloquently presented and the taste of my Pasta a la Vodka was a truly amazing. Lets work together to put an end to President Obama's "War on Jobs" and elect a president that will stand up for America's blue-collar working class folk. Nonetheless, I recommend TEN at the Eldridge to anyone looking for a fine dining experience on Massachusetts Street. 5 Stars!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday lunch

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Took a friend for her birthday lunch and had a great time and a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

overall rating of fair based on service ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

overall rating of fair based on service an the lack of quality in the 5 differnt dishes we ordered. Space was cramped but to the credit of the receptionist I had 1 extra guest in my party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Jayhawker Bar great, Ten nice but mixed on food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Jayhawker Bar was great, good drink selection, very vibrant, food was good. We had dinner one night at the TEN restaurant. Ambiance was great, we had a booth looking outside which was great. Wine list was also very good. Our food experience was mixed, we had to send back one of the entrees and have it taken off our bill. I would be hard pressed to recommend for that reason.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

Wine and Dine in Lawrence

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Had a great time at the Ten in Lawrence as the wine was great and the steak and duck were cooked to perfection. Need a night out? This is the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upscale

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

This was a very nice and upscale restaurant right on the main strip in downtown Manhattan. This is primarily for a nice dinner out versus most of the lower scale restaurants on this main drag. We were pleasantly surprised by the 25% off on Wednesday for all wines.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great. Enjoyed it but it wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

The food was great. Enjoyed it but it was so loud when the dining room was full & busy. We didn't expect that. The waiter, however, was very accommodating and cordial-letting stay and chat all evening w/out interrupting us. We were the last to leave. Great place-we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice Evening

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

I made a reservation for two and requested a table by the windows so we could see the Christmas lights and the people walking by. I wasn't disappointed. Service Friday night was rather slow, but the food was fantastic. We had shrimp scampi and top sirloin...both were exceptional. We also had a shrimp appetizer that was fantastic. All-in-all a great place to eat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We had plenty of time to enjoy our meal ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

We had plenty of time to enjoy our meal before going to the KU game. Our window seat gave us a great view of Massachusetts Ave. The mushroom risotto was particularly good.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Thanksgiving dinner

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

TEN did a fine job on the annual Thanksgiving buffet - a challenging task. There were 4 choices of meat - top round sliced, ham, turkey & trout. The potatoes with garlic and the stuffing were very good, too. The food was plentiful, at the correct temperature, and promptly restocked as quantity dwindled. Also on the menu - breads, salads, shrimp and ample desserts. Buffets for signature events are tough for restaurants to execute well. TEN did it. I look forward to returning to try their regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Anniversary celebration

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on November 3, 2015

We happened to mention in our reservation that we were celebrating our 41st anniversary. The staff at the Eldridge could not have done more to have made it a more memorable evening. The food was delicious. We were not at all rushed. They even decorated our dessert plates to celebrate the evening. Very thoughtful!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Buffet vs. menu

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

We went there for lunch after church and wished to order off the menu instead of the buffet. Since we had to wait until 2 p.m. before we could order, we elected to dine elsewhere. We've been here numerous times for the buffet and it has always been good. My food rating is based on past history. Our waitress was very accommodating to us in explaining the buffet/menu policy.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great surprise

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

We were in town for business and found this gem. Great place. We were pleasantly surprised. I would recommend highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very noisy!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Even on the quiet side, not Jayhawkers Lounge, it was almost impossible to converse. Food was good, not great, service, average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Loved the atmosphere for our Sunday brun ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Loved the atmosphere for our Sunday brunch. We'll be back for sure. The only negative note I could mention was about the roast they served after they ran out of the 1st one-it was WAY too rare-barely looked cooked. Everything else was tasty and mimosas were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Disappointing

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

We met friends for dinner and had ok service but so-so food. I sent my steak back as it was over cooked. Manager came out and apologized . Second attempt was not much better. Tough cut of meat and still disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Outstanding food in historic atmosphere.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

Always a great meal with something for everyone. The Sirloin Oscar with asparagus was perfect. The charm of the historic hotel only makes the taste of your menu selection more enjoyable. Great wine selections and a full bar. We have been here many times and keep coming back. A true local treasure in a city full of fast food and cookie cutter dinning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice venue

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

There for Saturday breakfast. Restaurant was beautiful and service was excellent. However, the breakfast fare was a little mundane...nothing creative. Wish we would have waited for Sunday brunch. That being said, our food was tasty and well presented, our waitress was very attentive and the restaurant was bright and inviting.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing place

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

Best place to go out for a special occasion. Food is just amazing and wait staff is attentive without being intrusive. The setting is nice and intimate. It can just get slightly noisey if you go on martini night, but nothing crazy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVELY BRUNCH

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

We enjoyed the Sunday Brunch at the Eldridge Hotel on our visit to Lawrence. The Brunch had a nice variety of items and the food was good quality. We especially enjoyed the fresh fruit and the "true" breakfast items such as the omelette and the bacon.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

My wife and I celebrated our 30th annive ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

My wife and I celebrated our 30th anniversary at TEN. The evening was most enjoyable. The biggest complaint I would have is that I would have liked the Chardonnay to be a bit more chilled, but everything else was great (I generally don't give 5s in reviews). The Caesar salad was tasty including fresh anchovies (the dressing tasted as though it was homemade. I forgot to ask). My wife had the Portobello "Oscar" and thought it was one of the better meals she has had since moving back to Kansas over a year ago. I had the Wahoo fish special and it was very good. Our children had dessert ordered for us, which was a cheesecake browning with ice cream and a big piece of cashew brittle. Delicious. Devon (sp?) was our server and he was very attentive and engaging.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good choice for Sunday Brunch

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

The beautiful lobby is a fun place to gather. We like to take out-of-town guests to the Sunday brunch as it provides a wide range of choices for varied groups. The buffet food is served in steamer trays or on platters and it is almost always good. While some things run "low, the staff works hard to keep pace with demand. My only critiques are that I often wish there were more fresh fruit selections, and a few more low-carb diet friendly choices (and must note that in the past, the price included a mimosa or bloody Mary but now those are extra - as are most drinks).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Perhaps only this time

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

I have eaten at TEN many times but this last trip was very disappointing. We arrived a little early for our reservation and was told that the table that was set aside for us was not quite ready. Fine, not a problem, but a then two other people came in, without a reservation and seated immediately. The person who had been at the table that they seemed to have set aside quickly finished up his meal and left.

When we were seated I said to the hostess that we would have taken the open table instead of having to wait for the man to get done.

She said that the table had been set aside for us and they could not just change seating when it might effect other servers.

We sat down, started eating. Things were fine until our server came up and gave us our ticket after we had been there for thirty minutes telling us that there was another reservation in 15 mins and while he was not telling us to hurry but he wanted us to know.

This is an upscale restaurant which people go to enjoy a quiet meal, not go to be rushed and hurried to finish to make room for another group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.