Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About TEN at the Eldridge

TEN Restaurant & The Jayhawker Bar are located in the heart of beautiful downtown Lawrence, residing in the historic Eldridge Hotel, itself known for its superior service & decor. TEN features a spectacular awarding-winning wine list & a contemporary American menu, featuring Kansas City hand cut steaks, seafood specials & enticing pasta dishes. Let our remarkable service & exquisite menu provide you with a memorable dining experience. The full TEN menu can also be enjoyed in the Jayhawker Bar. The Jayhawker bar was voted first place in the Best Place To Get a Cocktail or Mixed Drink category in the Best of Lawrence contest. The Eldridge offers private dining rooms & banquet facilities for your next family or corporate event. Online reservations are valid in both the TEN Restaurant & The Jayhawker Bar.

701 Massachusetts
The Eldridge Hotel
Lawrence, KS 66044
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
TEN Restaurant Hours
Sunday 7am- 2pm; 5pm- 9pm
Monday – Wednesday 7am- 2pm; 5pm- 10pm
Thursday – Saturday 7am- 2pm; 5pm- 11pm

Breakfast Hours:
Monday – Saturday 7am- 11pm
Sunday Breakfast 7am- 10:30am

Sunday Brunch 10:30am- 2pm

Lunch Hours:
Monday – Saturday 11am to 2pm

Dinner Hours:
Monday – Wednesday 5pm- 10pm
Thursday – Saturday 5pm- 11pm
Sunday 5pm- 9pm

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(785) 749-1005

Website:
http://www.eldridgehotel.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday Tastings: First Tuesday of every month
Occasional live music

Parking Details:
A public lot & metered street parking are available. Parking in Downtown Lawrence is free on Sundays and holidays. Valet parking is free for restaurant guests, with the exception of guests having events at the hotel. Then the valet fee is $5. (some exclusions apply)

Executive Chef:
Eric Fullem

Private Party Facilities:
TEN at the Edridge offers 4 private rooms: All American Room, Crystal Ballroom, Big 6 Room, Conference Room. We also have three private rooms at the Eldridge Extended located one block from the main hotel building.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Chaney: (785) 749-1005

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
TEN and the Jayhawker host special events such as monthly wine tastings, wine and whiskey dinners, and holiday events, including legendary holiday buffets. Please check our website at www.eldridgehotel.com for up coming events!

TEN at the Eldridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.3

ambience

3.5

value

3.3

Noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Special Occasion (5)
See All
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Romantic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort by
S
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2017

We ate an early dinner at Ten prior to attending an OSHER Adult Ed class at KU. The food was excellent although we ate very early (5pm) because of the class. The only downside was that a loud party in the bar was very audible in the dining room.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 10, 2017

We've eaten in the bar at Ten several times with great service and excellent food. This trip was horrendous. The service was poor, the orders were incorrect and we had to fetch our own silverware, water and cocktails. Hoping it was just a bad night for them but not sure we'll rush back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 26, 2017

I always bring visiting business guests to the Eldridge for meals because we can talk there. The booths are great. Not the most exciting menu or venue, but great for serious conversations where you want to really lean into what the other person is saying.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Food was excellent, service was on time and timely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had a late seating and our order got messed up. The waitress was very rude about it! I'm guessing she wanted to go home. They shouldn't have a 9 pm seating if they don't want to serve you.
Later another male server came and boxed up our food and was much nicer. Hostess also nice. Just had unhappy waitress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We did not have a great experience. We waited a long time for a server to take our order. My husband got the Osso Bucco and it was cold, as were the mashed potatoes that accompanied it. My daughter got the filet medium, and it was rare, and served with cold mashed potatoes. We had to ask twice for bread, and water glasses were empty for much of the meal. To be fair, I ordered the Kansan salad and the penne with vodka sauce and both were very delicious, though the penne was just above room temperature. All in all, I can't recommend it and we won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Good: the corner booth and the quiet room were a nice setting for a reunion of five friends and family. Pasta and onion soup were good.
Not good: High prices, inept forgetful service, and tepid, dry Osso Buco made with gigantic whole pork shanks that seemed at least a foot long. Would have sent it back but it had killed my appetite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 21, 2017

we were there on a
Sunday nite @ 8 only three tables so very quiet ---- everything was very good especially the food. Do not know how busy it is other nights

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Disappointed. Waitress poor- didn't come back once our first round of drinks served to ask if second drink or wine wanted, no refill of water until after bill paid, just went absent on us. Table of 6 with two orders of mussels and so way too much for 1 person. The mussels were tough and tasteless. The toast served with this was cut too thick and it was stale. Two orders of the pasta and chicken was bland. 1 order crab cakes were large and poorly seasoned. A large part of the plate was an arugula salad and the person eating it said it tasted like grass. One order of scallops and only three small scallops on this large plate. I will not return to this restaurant and would not recommend to anyone. There are too many great restaurants in Lawrence and it's just not worth it at this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The staff was friendly and prompt with service. The food was great. Location was convenient.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 2, 2017

My bride ordered the pork loin and it was overcooked and dry. I ordered the ossobuco and it was exquisite and plenty for both of us. Service was great. We rarely have a bad experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We had good and attentive service, and my guests liked their drinks and the food, and we were able to linger over conversation for an hour or more.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have enjoyed the Sunday brunch at the Ten several times in the past when visiting my daughter at KU. I thought it would be nice to have brunch there following Graduation this past Sunday. I was mistaken. The Ten clearly went for the money grab by moving the buffet into the lobby of the hotel so they could pack in more people. We were seated in the bar area which is great if you are just having drinks but not the place for brunch. There were insufficient staff on hand so there were numerous items on the buffet that were not timely replenished and many of the hot items were cold. In addition, several key items were missing from the brunch including the omelette station. To add insult to injury, they did not include coffee and an orange juice or mimosa as they normally do with the price of the brunch which is $29 per person. In short, a very disappointing meal on a very special occasion. Shame on you Ten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal here and the history is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My wife and I dined at The Ten for our one year anniversary. They brought us complimentary champagne (my wife is pregnant but a very nice gesture). Our server was very friendly and prompt. We had the restaurant manager come by to say congratulations. Our appetizer (bacon wrapped shrimp) arrived quickly and was excellent. We both had filets that were cooked correctly to order although they were brought out on the wrong plates (no big deal). All in all it was a very positive experience and we would absolutely recommend The Ten to anyone looking for a special occasion dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful lunch with dear friends. Not rushed. Delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was very good and the wait staff very friendly and accommodating. The bar area was very loud, but that can be expected. I thought that the food was overpriced. There was only one side with the entree and no bread or any other side with the meal. For the price, I would have expected more.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter brunch there. The food was good as was the ambience. Perhaps the desserts could be improved. Brunch at the Eldridge is a favorite tradition of ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service was terrible and the food was mediocre for the price. Love this restaurant for brunch, but won't be back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The bar is pretty good and if you plan to eat you should eat in the Bar. To be honest Ten just isn't that great of a restaurant. While the people / servers are nice I don't think running a restaurant is their expertise. I believe the same people run both the Eldridge and the Oread restaurants and they just don't seem to have the skill to have the restaurants fun on all cylinders.

Hopefully they figure it out someday.

Tags: Live Sports, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Anniversary dinner, great food at an expected price considering the exceptional meal and environment you are getting. Highly recommend Ten to those looking for a taste of Lawrence to share with a special someone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great fish specials! We always get the fish specials as it is usually the best meal on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Each person in our party of 4 had a great meal. Tenderloin cooked to perfection with a flavorful demi glace, Bronzino was moist and delicious, asparagus salads divine, hazelnut mushroom streudel was an unusual and flavorful appetizer. We had a great bottle of wine, a nice server, and a table by the window so we could enjoy the ambiance of Massachusetts street on a Saturday night.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great time, with great friends even though K U lost. Food was excellent and the wait staff was outstanding. Definitely come back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Upscale atmosphere did not correlate with the noise level from the adjacent wedding reception the thumping of the base was not conducive to a romantic meal service was slow on the table placements if you're not in a booth against the window he'll feel really awkward food was average Certainly not worth the price tag will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Service was terrible. Had been before without issue, but this was embarrassing for me to host clients here. Not planning on coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

First, I'll start with the outstanding service. Our server was personable and knowledgable about the menu, the restaurant week specials, and about the area. He was also delightfully honest about not being a drinker but still being helpful when choosing a bottle of wine. He was able to converse on a variety of subjects, and maintained bright and engaged throughout the experience.

The food selections on the menu gave a good choice of dietary options, and portions were a good size. We shared an appetizer and dessert, while choosing our own main dishes. We were pleasantly satisfied without being hungry or overly stuffed from the meal.

Great wine selection even though the restaurant denoted pairing down their wine list.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Greasy pancakes, poor quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were there for New Year's Eve dinner. The chef prepared a special menu that was scrumptious. Our server was really nice and took very good care of us --we had a quite enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very tasty food w great service and in a congenial atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great Sunday Brunch, excellent variety and preparation; friendly and prompt wait staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great meal and service. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Quiet but delicious brunch. Great view of Mass. Would be good for someone older - maybe not so for a brunch full of women on a bachelorette weekend. However, the food was delicious and the service was alright.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have had excellent past brunch experiences here; however this last Sunday was most disappointing. The food needed to be refreshed = so consequently there were several things that they were out of entirely. The chef never offered to make us a special omelet (was actually not even in the station when we went back) and there was no prime rib, and it was never refreshed. It was most disappointing, and we paid to sit next to the loudest patrons in the place. We are really going to have to think long and hard about going back. Was very disappointing, and no apology from the waiter, who was mostly absent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Sunday we went to brunch the restaurant was crowded as they lost a room to a wedding, thus it was probably noisier than usual. The food is very good, attractively served, but nothing outstanding. The chicken was tender, the roast beef tough, the fruit was fresh and flavorful., the roast broccoli done well but a little salty. There was a change in elevation between the dining and food serving rooms which our table was near. Several people tripped - I was waiting for someone to fall. Jackie was an excellent server, very alert to our needs.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and service. We were there for an early dinner so I'm not sure the servers were quite ready for us but once we got in the swing of things, everything was great! Everyone in our party enjoyed their meals. The starter salads were huge too!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great eats and options for vegetarians. The portobello mushrooms were wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2016

I was not pleased with the meal. It took awhile to get our cocktails. I ordered tbe shrimp scampi and not only did it come out cold but my daughter said that the same dish at Olive Garden is better. That should sum it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2016

We have had dinner at Ten before and were not as impressed. This time the menu was good, food excellent and service very responsive. We also love the bar and the wonderful vintage lobby outside the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had the fish special which was Cod with a Brussels sprouts sauce on it. Perhaps one of the finest meals we have ever had. I called ahead and someone was so kind to tell me what the special was that night. Just wish they had that meal more often. Specials are almost always excellent. Most of the regular menu items are great too. Would prefer more of a rotational menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.