Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Teatro Restaurant

Teatro, translated as ‘theatre’ in Italian, pays homage to our restaurant’s location in Calgary’s arts and theatre district. For over 20 years, Teatro has been serving contemporary Italian cuisine in a fine dining atmosphere housed in the historic Toronto Dominion Bank (est.1911). Our award winning wine cellar hosts over 13,500 bottles and features 1100 labels, with a focus on the fine wines of Italy and Bordeaux. Enjoy artisanal cocktails at our stylish bar, reserve a table for your next business meeting or indulge in a 7 course Chef's Tasting menu . We also offer both private and semi-private dining options for large groups.

Our 3 Course Express Lunch for $25 is an exceptional dining selection for busy downtown diners. Showcasing local and seasonal ingredients this feature menu changes weekly. Follow us @TeatroCalgary for details.

Business casual dress attire and reservations are recommended.

Olympic Plaza, 200 8th Ave SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday from 11:30am
Dinner:
Nightly from 5:00pm

Cross Street:
1st Street SE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 290-1012

Website:
http://www.teatro.ca/

Catering:
Working in conjunction with the function coordinator.

Parking Details:
Parking is available under the Calgary Performing Arts Centre, entrance on Macleod Trail just north of 9th Avenue. Parking is also available under the Telus Convention Centre (access via Macleod Trail South, just south of 7th Avenue SW). After 6pm, free street parking is available on Stephen Avenue Mall (8th Avenue SW).

Public Transit:
The C-train stations- Olympic Plaza and 1 st, are located on 7th Avenue and 1 Street SE, behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jason Barton-Browne

Private Party Facilities:
With several private and semi-private dining options available, Teatro has the flexibility and expertise to accommodate private parties of 2 to over 200. Perfect for business lunches, dinner meetings and presentations, receptions, weddings and anniversaries.

Private Party Contact:
Carla Cole: (403) 290-1012

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Teatro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (50)
Good for a Date (43)
Romantic (36)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Notable Wine List (29)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Open Kitchen (24)
Historic (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Business Meals (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Great for Lunch (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Authentic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
People Watching (6)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I always enjoy going to this restaurant. It's historical , part of the fine dining that is downtown downtown. I think they forgot our order , but they made it up to us with free calamari. I always take care of their patrons. I would always recommend tiatros.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Having been in Calgary for a few years, I've been told Teatro is a staple and is a must-go. Really happy I did because everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our food was amazing and the service was good until he realized we had gift certificates and then completely changed. I never did get my refill of coffee and we just left. We did leave a very nice tip anyway just to show we weren't "cheap" but it left a bad taste in my mouth.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always enjoy the food at Teatro. Food quality is always exceptional with fresh ingredients.
The noise level is low and the ambience is very nice. We love coming, especially for the convenience of a pre-theatre meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Teatro met most of the expectations of fine dining. Incredible service, nice ambience, fancy interior design. However, it is most definitely lacking in the quality and taste of the food. I first tried it serveral years ago, can't quite recall my experience from that time. Thought I would give it a second go during the 2017 big taste week. We ordered the gourmet menu. The food was either too bland or too salty/sweet. Definitely over-priced. Would not recommend it to anybody for any occasion. You can probably find better tasting food for a cheaper price somewhere else in Calgary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We visited for Big Taste and all ordered from the special menu. We started with a carrot insalata which was absolutely delicious while also being healthy. The second course was a seared salmon with kale and a lentil (chickpea maybe?) ragu. This dish was pretty good but I thought a sauce would have jazzed up the fish a bit as it was a little plain. Dessert was to die for, it was a mascarpone mousse with sorbet and a crispy almond granola garnish. The dish was heavy yet somehow tasted light and the sorbet accented perfectly. The almond garnish left our table wishing for more. Dessert was my favourite part but it definitely wasn't healthy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 6, 2017

First time at Teatro. Everything was perfect with my 3 course meal. The wine pairings complimented each plate. 3 hours went by in the blink of an eye. I imagine it wouldn't normally take so long but I had the best of company too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food does not compete with newer and more innovative restaurants. Everything seemed very bland or over salted. Other than the duck pasta.
Quite disappointed.
Service is always great, but I'm attending a fine dinning restaurant specifically to enjoy the luxurious food not just the ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Everything was great, although our waiter was a bit slow getting a bill. We would definitely come back to Teatro.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Josie was an excellent server and was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu selections. Lasagna with lobster, scallops and shrimps was exceptional. Prices on the high side but we will return.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We had a amazing experience at Teatro! Being in an old Toronto Dominion bank, the venue, decor and ambiance are awesome. The service was perfect and the food was delicious. We ordered the Salmone, Ricotta Gnocchi, Pollo, Papardelle, and also had 2 desserts. I definitely would recommend this place for a special occasion or if you are looking to really impress someone :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I made reservations for two to celebrate an anniversary and it was the perfect choice. The section we were seated in was secluded and allowed me and my girlfriend to talk to each other without having to raise our voices. I'm not sure if Teatro had previously planned to have us seated there as I had stated it was for our first anniversary but it definitely enhanced our dining experience.

Soon after we were seated, we were promptly greeted by our server, Nicole, and had our drink orders taken almost instantly. The cocktails that we had ordered were chosen perfectly by Nicole and had a good balance of flavours and wasn't overpowered by alcohol.

We started off our meal with their calamari, which had been cooked perfectly and tasted great, however, the sauce was much too rich for our liking. For our main course I had the lamb chops and she had the bison. The lamb chops were cooked a perfect medium rare and was gently seasoned to allow the lamb to be the star of the dish (As it should be). The risotto that came with the lamb, although, a smidgen undercooked, was rich and flavourful. The bison, was also great, however, we both agreed that the lamb was the better choice.

Overall, the atmosphere, service, and food was spectacular. I would definitely come back again on another special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food, great service. An excellent experience overall

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had heard rave reviews in recent years and finally had the opportunity to go. The decor, atmosphere and service were fantastic. Appetizers however the mains were a bit disappointing when it came down to value and portion sizes ($40 for a modest slice of the infamous lasagna was disappointing).

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great birthday dinner.
They're customer service was top notch. Felt very elegant, and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Close to the theatre so very convenient but not enough to make it a sole destination dining experience. Too many other above average spots in YYC.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great tasting food. Portions were right for me, however some may find too little. There was no bread served before the meal. Excellent wine!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We recently had a lunch with work colleagues at Teatro. Unfortunately, the service was very slow. It took 20 minutes for our first conversation with the wait staff (to order a drink) and our lunch was over an hour and half after that to arrive. The restaurant was busy, but not full. The room itself is wonderful, and I'd had an evening meal once before at the restaurant that was fabulous.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It's expensive, but half portions help. The service was attentive but certainly not obnoxious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

What a great place, I came here for Valentine's day and it was definitely more than I expected, the food was amazing, the service was outstanding. I just had a great time overall. Thank you!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We ordered Calamari as shared appetizer and Lamb Risotto for entree. Calamari was ok although the size of the calamaris would probably be the cheapest otherwise no complaints for taste. Risotto was anything but, the Arborio was undercooked ( how do I know ? If the rice grain stick to your teeth the rice is undercooked, besides I have tried Risotto in few different places in City and Vancouver ) Being a foodie by nature this undercooked Arborio left a bad taste on the overall texture of the Risotto

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Truly excellent lunch. Thoughtful service. Food is top notch. Tremendous wine program & brilliant sommelier.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food portion was way too small for the price. Service was slow.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food service was horribly slow, it was a 2 hour lunch service for 2 people... Food was good as always but not sure why the food took so long. I had the express lunch so one would expect if the term express was on the menu the food would come out fairly fast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Beautiful decor, great wine list.
Service was very poor, the delivery of single pieces of bread only after being requested was unbecoming of an Italian restaurant. Food was overpriced for portion sizes, salty and came to table room temperature.
Overall a disappointing dining experience, will not return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Enjoyed our evening at Teatro. Our server Toni was excellent and made the evening that much better. We would definitely return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The location is great, amazing older building and a good vibe inside. Service great.

Unfortunately the food, as far as Italian goes, was very average. You can get way better Italian in Calgary and at lower prices. My seafood linguine was a) extremely oversalted - even considering there were capers and squid ink, and b) the seafood had gone MIA - tiny pieces of anchovy were the only really noticeable things in there. If they're trying to be 'subtle' with the seafood they're overdoing it. I've had many seafood pastas and this one was way below standard.
My partner's mushroom tagliatelle also missed the mark, it was very bland in flavour.
Maybe grab a drink there or a coffee before the theatre, but give the food a miss.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had 3 separate servers which made the service a bit slow and confusing for them. But the food was good and it's a beautiful restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Pricey but good overall. My duck was excellent but my wife's risotto accompaniment was sub par. Wine list was expensive/pretentious - did not have my first choice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We had a lovely evening, delicious food, and an intimate ambiance for talk. Our server was helpful, with respectful service, both allowing for private conversation and and expedience of service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Close to the theater, and of course they are very aware of the theater start time, so service is geared to get you out on time. Food is good. Hope you like small servings. Somewhat pricey.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This place always impresses me. Italian food isn't my comfort food; however, no doubt this is one of the best restaurants in Calgary. There have been only two restaurants which have amazed me since I moved here from Vancouver, and Teatro is one of them.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent quality and services. we had dinner and lunch. Express lunch menu in the outdoor patio is very nice. However, the service is a bit slow. We got there by 11:45 and didn't finish till 1:30. We were waiting for the server to take order and the food came out very slow. Although it is fixed menu, it is slow. The food experience is fantastic especially the desert which is always so good and look so beautiful. Cooking is an art in this restaurant. Call on Monday to find out weekly lunch menu before you go.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 5, 2017

So fantastic! It was just amazing all around! Loved it.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 3, 2017

WoW! This place is a hidden gem in Calgary.
Second trip to Calgary, you feel right away some nice city in Europe, the decor is fantastic, the service is impeccable, the food is OUTSTANDING and the open-kitchen is a bonus. I wish I came before and hope to go back soon.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent thanks for the service
I really enjoy the food and the restaurant

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fun, Family Style, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, People Watching, Live Sports, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Came here for dinner before a Calgary Philharmonic show. Fantastic food, fantastic ambiance and great service. Right in front of the Jack Singer Concert Hall too, so it's a perfect place to go to for a meal before or after a show.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was great as usual. I was a little disappointed that service was a little slow. We saw many tables come and go and we were still waiting on our desert. We weren't in a rush, but the lunch took us 2 hours which is a little ridiculous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary there on Tuesday evening. The staff acknowledged our special day immediately and were attentive to us all evening. The food was great as usual across the board.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was a great experience. Ricotta gnochhi, and lobster lasagna was delicious. Creme Brulee was amazing, and Opera Torte was good. It is very expensive but you can get half portions for some main courses, which works out well and is filling along with an appetizer and dessert. The ambience and service was great, definitely very posh, and would recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.