Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Teatro Restaurant

Teatro, translated as ‘theatre’ in Italian, pays homage to our restaurant’s location in Calgary’s arts and theatre district. For over 20 years, Teatro has been serving contemporary Italian cuisine in a fine dining atmosphere housed in the historic Toronto Dominion Bank (est.1911). Our award winning wine cellar hosts over 13,500 bottles and features 1100 labels, with a focus on the fine wines of Italy and Bordeaux. Enjoy artisanal cocktails at our stylish bar, reserve a table for your next business meeting or indulge in a 7 course Chef's Tasting menu . We also offer both private and semi-private dining options for large groups.

Our 3 Course Express Lunch for $25 is an exceptional dining selection for busy downtown diners. Showcasing local and seasonal ingredients this feature menu changes weekly. Follow us @TeatroCalgary for details.

Business casual dress attire and reservations are recommended.

Olympic Plaza, 200 8th Ave SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday from 11:30am
Dinner:
Nightly from 5:00pm

Cross Street:
1st Street SE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 290-1012

Website:
http://www.teatro.ca/

Catering:
Working in conjunction with the function coordinator.

Parking Details:
Parking is available under the Calgary Performing Arts Centre, entrance on Macleod Trail just north of 9th Avenue. Parking is also available under the Telus Convention Centre (access via Macleod Trail South, just south of 7th Avenue SW). After 6pm, free street parking is available on Stephen Avenue Mall (8th Avenue SW).

Public Transit:
The C-train stations- Olympic Plaza and 1 st, are located on 7th Avenue and 1 Street SE, behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Batey

Private Party Facilities:
With several private and semi-private dining options available, Teatro has the flexibility and expertise to accommodate private parties of 2 to over 200. Perfect for business lunches, dinner meetings and presentations, receptions, weddings and anniversaries.

Private Party Contact:
Brittany Rondeau: (403) 290-1012

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Teatro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Notable Wine List (22)
Business Meals (22)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Cozy (6)
Historic (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Private Room (4)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Healthy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (0)
Sort By:
S
1364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a tight timeline and our server was great about keeping us on schedule. The food was delicious as always 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service and atmosphere - excellent choice of wines. All leading to 5 stars but the key course - the entree - a signature pasta dish was barely warm and dried out so must have been sat for some time on the pass also one shrimp one scallop and a case of find the lobster dropped it to three stars for food and value - we've been here a few times and sadly this time was a bit of a let down - normally I would have raised this at the time but didn't want to put a negative on date night.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic Evening - went with the tasting menu and wine pairing. Everything was phenomenal!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We have dined at many fine restaurants that we booked on Open Table. Unfortunately, this was NOT one of them. The interior of the restaurant was lovely. That's were the good part stopped. Our server was, at best, abrupt, and the food was less than mediocre, which was a very bad thing as the price we paid for our dinner was quite high. In our opinion, DO NOT waste your time or hard-earned money dining at Teatro Restaurant in Calgary.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent, as always!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We went for a special anniversary dinner and were treated like special guests! The cocktails were amazing, appetizers and dinner were amazing!! The wine chosen for us was perfect! Desert was amazing!! The service was amazing and we will definitely be back for the lunch and patio this summer! If you have guests from out of town this is the most beautiful restaurant in Calgary to take them to. Amazing x10

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This was our first visit to Teatro but definitely won't be our last. From the appetizers, entrees, and side dishes to the desserts, coffees and wine selections, everything we sampled was high quality and fairly priced. Our daughter said that the halibut special was the best piece of fish she has ever had! Our server was one of the best we have had in Calgary. All in all a delightful evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The service was amazing. Our waiter was very happy and charming and helpful when it came to questions about the menu. There was always extra staff around if we needed anything.
As for food, appetizers we amazing, calamari is for sure 100% recommended. As for our main dish it was incredibly over salted. Desert was amazing.
Overall I would very much recommend this restaurant to friends and family

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great quality Italian in a nice old converted bank setting. Service was fantastic with knowledgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 6, 2017

It was the end of a vacation for my husband and me. Great finale!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 3, 2017

we love Teatros - food is wonderful and the service is impeccable - my only comment is regarding the Caesar Salad which is excellent and beautifully presented but a lot to eat and a bit awkward to manage but otherwise the carpaccio was wonderful - creative and tasty

Thanks so much - we will certainly come again

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Went here for dessert to celebrate our anniversary. They presented it with a candle and "Happy Anniversary" white chocolate plaques. Service was excellent and the server recommended an aged Pedro Ximenez to go with my tiramisu and it turned out to be such a wonderful and unique choice. Ambience was excellent and we'd come here a lot more often if they had more vegetarian entree options.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very expensive in a city that now has a lot more choices for as good if ,not better food with the same cost or less. Amazing service but for the price it should be amazing. The food however has extremely small portions and neither of us that went were wowed.

We went just so we could say we did and now that we have we will definitely choose elsewhere.

Nice wine though.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wedding Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Measured up to reputation. Teatro is a beautifully repurposed space (once a grandly designed bank), quite elegant and dramatic, with views of Calgary's downtown from its soaring windows. The menu is ample and well balanced; the fish dishes especially recommended, though all looked great. Service friendly and helpful. Excellent evening!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Very average

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Enjoyed the atmosphere.
Had the lobster lasagne. Too rich it was.
Could barely eat the full size meal and I can eat lots.
Would get the 22$ version next time. Wife had the salmon and loved it!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great fixed price three course lunch for $25 - enjoyed a potato frittata and salad that was light but extremely tasty. The main course of trout and fingerling potatoes with greens was just the right size for lunch. The six small treats for dessert were rich and decadent. My only complaint was the price for water - $8.50 for a carafe of flat water seemed steep.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Our 3rd year in a row choosing Teatro for our Anniversary dinner, and once again, Teatro did not disappoint. Bisteca for me and the Feature Halibut for my wife. Our server, Nicole was fantastic, and her recommendations on wine were perfect. Thank you again for making our anniversary special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very nice food. A little pricey but we had a unique seafood lasagna. Light and tasty.

The Kale salad was very nice too.

Unfortunately it was Mother's Day and it was busy and we had to sit close to the bar area. After our meal, 5 fellas were chatting. Just a little too close so it seemed a level too high in sound.

We lost our waiter who had to serve the Bar but the other waiters tried to cover and did an Okay job. Could have been a little better. Stuff happens.

We will go back on future visits but will reserve a better table, but we were happy to get a reservation on that day on only 4 hrs notice.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We did the tasting menu. Always amazing! The wine pairing was hosted by Andrea and she was just amazing! We love teatros!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great food and environment as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We had a wonderful evening. Food and quality was awesome, service was great. We will certainly go back many times now that we have found another Calgary Treasure

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was our 12 year anniversary and this dinner was the finishing touch. First time here and we will be back. Mitch, thank you for making our night.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I had the express lunch and loved it. The express lunch consists of 3 courses for $25. For the week we visited, express lunch was a tuna pate that I could eat every day it was sooo good. For main it was chicken supreme served with broccolini and polenta. The chicken was super tender and juicy and the sides were just as great. For dessert, it was a chocolate brownie with little meringue like puffs, housemade vanilla ice cream and a caramel drizzle...I can't say enough good things. Need to come back for the express lunch more often!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The food was excellent but I had to downgrade the quality because my wife and I found it too salty. We generally eat very little salt in our diet so chefs who are a little overzealous tend to overdo it for our palates. It's interesting that all tables have salt grinders on them so adding salt is an easy task but removing it is impossible.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Calamari was perfect - as usual! First time I tried the eggplant parmigiana and it was a bit over cooked on the top and cheese was hard to eat. Very big portion and it was delicious if only cooked better.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Sorry but the food was awful . Pasta was over cooked, salmon sent back three times. Won't be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great second bottle of wine. We couldn't drink the first bottle completely... too underwhelming.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We came for dinner before a play across the street. We had some bubbles and some appies and ended up running out of time to eat dinner! We actually came back after the show for dinner and drinks. Service was great, the food was fantastic, as were the wine recommendations. Teatro never disappoints.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Did a great chef's tasting menu. The duck was particularly delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Gave this Restaurant another chance as it used to be really good. Great location and beautiful decor...and that is all it is. Food quality and service are are poor to say the least compared to 10 years ago. Okay for a post theatre drink if you are desperate and don't mind price gouging. A real shame as this place used to be classy. We will Not be back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was nice staff was wonderful I really enjoyed michel Graves cooking

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The ambiance, food and service were superb. We have been going to Teatro since the night it opened in 1993. It has always been a pleasure on every level.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Amazing quality and service every time. Well done! Seems to be getting better over time, which is a rarity these days! We'll be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Loved the tiramisu. Very light and tasty. Our server Lindsay was also a joy, had a lot of personality and was overall a pleasant server. The menu was pretty much to be expected at a place like Teatro.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Outstanding service, attentive to details, excellent food and dining experience!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food tastes really good. It would be even better if the portions are bigger.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Loved the food. Their seafood special is very tasteful we will be visiting soon

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.