About Teatro Restaurant

Olympic Plaza, 200 8th Ave SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0K7
View Larger Map

Teatro, translated as ‘theatre’ in Italian, pays homage to our restaurant’s location in Calgary’s arts and theatre district. For over 20 years, Teatro has been serving contemporary Italian cuisine in a fine dining atmosphere housed in the historic Toronto Dominion Bank (est.1911). Our award winning wine cellar hosts over 13,500 bottles and features 1100 labels, with a focus on the fine wines of Italy and Bordeaux. Enjoy artisanal cocktails at our stylish bar, reserve a table for your next business meeting or indulge in a 7 course Chef's Tasting menu . We also offer both private and semi-private dining options for large groups.

Our 3 Course Express Lunch for $25 is an exceptional dining selection for busy downtown diners. Showcasing local and seasonal ingredients this feature menu changes weekly. Follow us @TeatroCalgary for details.

Business casual dress attire and reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday from 11:30am
Dinner:
Nightly from 5:00pm

Cross Street:
1st Street SE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 290-1012

Website:
http://www.teatro.ca/

Catering:
Working in conjunction with the function coordinator.

Parking Details:
Parking is available under the Calgary Performing Arts Centre, entrance on Macleod Trail just north of 9th Avenue. Parking is also available under the Telus Convention Centre (access via Macleod Trail South, just south of 7th Avenue SW). After 6pm, free street parking is available on Stephen Avenue Mall (8th Avenue SW).

Public Transit:
The C-train stations- Olympic Plaza and 1 st, are located on 7th Avenue and 1 Street SE, behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jason Barton-Browne

Private Party Facilities:
With several private and semi-private dining options available, Teatro has the flexibility and expertise to accommodate private parties of 2 to over 200. Perfect for business lunches, dinner meetings and presentations, receptions, weddings and anniversaries.

Private Party Contact:
Carla Cole: (403) 290-1012

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Teatro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for a Date (47)
Romantic (37)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Open Kitchen (23)
Business Meals (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Historic (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Great for Lunch (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Fun (7)
People Watching (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Private Room (2)
Casual (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a amazing experience at Teatro! ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a amazing experience at Teatro! Being in an old Toronto Dominion bank, the venue, decor and ambiance are awesome. The service was perfect and the food was delicious. We ordered the Salmone, Ricotta Gnocchi, Pollo, Papardelle, and also had 2 desserts. I definitely would recommend this place for a special occasion or if you are looking to really impress someone :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I made reservations for two to celebrate ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

I made reservations for two to celebrate an anniversary and it was the perfect choice. The section we were seated in was secluded and allowed me and my girlfriend to talk to each other without having to raise our voices. I'm not sure if Teatro had previously planned to have us seated there as I had stated it was for our first anniversary but it definitely enhanced our dining experience.

Soon after we were seated, we were promptly greeted by our server, Nicole, and had our drink orders taken almost instantly. The cocktails that we had ordered were chosen perfectly by Nicole and had a good balance of flavours and wasn't overpowered by alcohol.

We started off our meal with their calamari, which had been cooked perfectly and tasted great, however, the sauce was much too rich for our liking. For our main course I had the lamb chops and she had the bison. The lamb chops were cooked a perfect medium rare and was gently seasoned to allow the lamb to be the star of the dish (As it should be). The risotto that came with the lamb, although, a smidgen undercooked, was rich and flavourful. The bison, was also great, however, we both agreed that the lamb was the better choice.

Overall, the atmosphere, service, and food was spectacular. I would definitely come back again on another special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had heard rave reviews in recent years a ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Had heard rave reviews in recent years and finally had the opportunity to go. The decor, atmosphere and service were fantastic. Appetizers however the mains were a bit disappointing when it came down to value and portion sizes ($40 for a modest slice of the infamous lasagna was disappointing).

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Close to the theatre so very convenient ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Close to the theatre so very convenient but not enough to make it a sole destination dining experience. Too many other above average spots in YYC.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great tasting food. Portions were right ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Great tasting food. Portions were right for me, however some may find too little. There was no bread served before the meal. Excellent wine!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We recently had a lunch with work collea ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

We recently had a lunch with work colleagues at Teatro. Unfortunately, the service was very slow. It took 20 minutes for our first conversation with the wait staff (to order a drink) and our lunch was over an hour and half after that to arrive. The restaurant was busy, but not full. The room itself is wonderful, and I'd had an evening meal once before at the restaurant that was fabulous.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

It's expensive, but half portions help. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

It's expensive, but half portions help. The service was attentive but certainly not obnoxious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

What a great place, I came here for Vale ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

What a great place, I came here for Valentine's day and it was definitely more than I expected, the food was amazing, the service was outstanding. I just had a great time overall. Thank you!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, , Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered Calamari as shared appetizer ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We ordered Calamari as shared appetizer and Lamb Risotto for entree. Calamari was ok although the size of the calamaris would probably be the cheapest otherwise no complaints for taste. Risotto was anything but, the Arborio was undercooked ( how do I know ? If the rice grain stick to your teeth the rice is undercooked, besides I have tried Risotto in few different places in City and Vancouver ) Being a foodie by nature this undercooked Arborio left a bad taste on the overall texture of the Risotto

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Truly excellent lunch. Thoughtful servi ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Truly excellent lunch. Thoughtful service. Food is top notch. Tremendous wine program & brilliant sommelier.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food portion was way too small for t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food portion was way too small for the price. Service was slow.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Food service was horribly slow, it was a ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food service was horribly slow, it was a 2 hour lunch service for 2 people... Food was good as always but not sure why the food took so long. I had the express lunch so one would expect if the term express was on the menu the food would come out fairly fast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Beautiful decor, great wine list. Servi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Beautiful decor, great wine list.

Service was very poor, the delivery of single pieces of bread only after being requested was unbecoming of an Italian restaurant. Food was overpriced for portion sizes, salty and came to table room temperature.

Overall a disappointing dining experience, will not return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

Enjoyed our evening at Teatro. Our serve ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Enjoyed our evening at Teatro. Our server Toni was excellent and made the evening that much better. We would definitely return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The location is great, amazing older bui ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The location is great, amazing older building and a good vibe inside. Service great.

Unfortunately the food, as far as Italian goes, was very average. You can get way better Italian in Calgary and at lower prices. My seafood linguine was a) extremely oversalted - even considering there were capers and squid ink, and b) the seafood had gone MIA - tiny pieces of anchovy were the only really noticeable things in there. If they're trying to be 'subtle' with the seafood they're overdoing it. I've had many seafood pastas and this one was way below standard.

My partner's mushroom tagliatelle also missed the mark, it was very bland in flavour.

Maybe grab a drink there or a coffee before the theatre, but give the food a miss.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We had 3 separate servers which made the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had 3 separate servers which made the service a bit slow and confusing for them. But the food was good and it's a beautiful restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Pricey but good overall. My duck was exc ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Pricey but good overall. My duck was excellent but my wife's risotto accompaniment was sub par. Wine list was expensive/pretentious - did not have my first choice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a lovely evening, delicious food, ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We had a lovely evening, delicious food, and an intimate ambiance for talk. Our server was helpful, with respectful service, both allowing for private conversation and and expedience of service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Close to the theater, and of course they ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Close to the theater, and of course they are very aware of the theater start time, so service is geared to get you out on time. Food is good. Hope you like small servings. Somewhat pricey.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This place always impresses me. Italian ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This place always impresses me. Italian food isn't my comfort food; however, no doubt this is one of the best restaurants in Calgary. There have been only two restaurants which have amazed me since I moved here from Vancouver, and Teatro is one of them.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So fantastic! It was just amazing all a ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 5, 2017

So fantastic! It was just amazing all around! Loved it.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WoW! This place is a hidden gem in Calg ...

 
 (London)·Dined on February 3, 2017

WoW! This place is a hidden gem in Calgary.

Second trip to Calgary, you feel right away some nice city in Europe, the decor is fantastic, the service is impeccable, the food is OUTSTANDING and the open-kitchen is a bonus. I wish I came before and hope to go back soon.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent thanks for the service I real ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent thanks for the service

I really enjoy the food and the restaurant

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fun, Family Style, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, People Watching, Live Sports, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Came here for dinner before a Calgary Ph ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Came here for dinner before a Calgary Philharmonic show. Fantastic food, fantastic ambiance and great service. Right in front of the Jack Singer Concert Hall too, so it's a perfect place to go to for a meal before or after a show.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was great as usual. I was a lit ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was great as usual. I was a little disappointed that service was a little slow. We saw many tables come and go and we were still waiting on our desert. We weren't in a rush, but the lunch took us 2 hours which is a little ridiculous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I celebrated our 20th weddin ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary there on Tuesday evening. The staff acknowledged our special day immediately and were attentive to us all evening. The food was great as usual across the board.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience. Ricotta gnoch ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was a great experience. Ricotta gnochhi, and lobster lasagna was delicious. Creme Brulee was amazing, and Opera Torte was good. It is very expensive but you can get half portions for some main courses, which works out well and is filling along with an appetizer and dessert. The ambience and service was great, definitely very posh, and would recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Delicious food, cooked to perfection. We ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Delicious food, cooked to perfection. We enjoyed the lamb chops, calamari, risotto, eggplant parmigian, and brussel sprouts cooked with bacon. Everything was fresh and hot, seasoned perfectly. The ambiance is fantastic, with the white columns, and historic crown moulding, mixed with contemporary touches such as the centre light fixture.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great good just a bit pricey compared to ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great good just a bit pricey compared to other similar restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, , Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just fantastic! We had the lunch 3 cou ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Just fantastic! We had the lunch 3 course meal - salad, salmon and mouse dessert - much larger meal than we would normally have at lunch but couldn't resist as people had told us how good it is. Was not disappointed and looked forward to each course. As is typical here, service is fantastic and just a great overall experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is always a favorite of ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 18, 2017

This restaurant is always a favorite of mine for celebrating business successes. The location and exceptional quality of food and atmosphere is a great combination.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a wonderful, I would have loved t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 18, 2017

It was a wonderful, I would have loved to try the Chef's tasting menu, I just didn't have enough time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice restaurant and close to concerts an ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Nice restaurant and close to concerts and theatre.

We however had a disastrous evening there when somehow, between the waiter and the kitchen, our order was lost. We waited 55 minutes for the entre which was sub-par (polo dry, vegetables over cooked and blackened) when it finally arrived. The Manager said all the right things and comp'ed the food plates. We have to think this was an anomaly as others seemed to be getting their food in a timely manner and we had been reasonably served on previous occasions. May try again sometime but will confirm ordering status with waiter and won't rely on hollow assurances that "I'm sure your meal will be right up".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Impressive older building and great serv ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Impressive older building and great service. We enjoyed sitting near the kitchen as it kept us warm and cozy on a cold night. The food was excellent, wine list extensive and the smaller portions were quite welcomed. We will definitely return again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, , Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was very good. The food was ver ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Service was very good. The food was very tasty, except portions were extremely small for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service, but we were seated next t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great service, but we were seated next to a large and loud party. Food was good, not as great as I had expected it to be for the cost.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Love the traditional building with moder ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love the traditional building with modern elements. Very extensive wine list. We all enjoyed our food. The presentation and flavours were outstanding. Have not been there in many years but would not hesitate to go back soon!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had an amazing experience at Teatro. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had an amazing experience at Teatro. The service was phenomenal and the food was simply delicious and flavourful.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite reserving very early (several da ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Despite reserving very early (several days before the evening) we were seated in the back near the kitchen. The table beside the bustling service area was so close to strong kitchen smells we were coughing from the frying fumes. I came home smelling of the ling cod fish special and had to shower immediately. Clothes went to dry cleaner. My fresh blowout was all for nothing... Otherwise good food and great service. Be sure to ask for a table in the front of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Went to teatro for birthday dinner with ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went to teatro for birthday dinner with couple of friends. The restaurant is gorgeous with open kitchen. Lighting is just right. Service was excellent. Food was okay, but the tiramisu was one of the best I've ever had. I have already recommended to my friends and will return again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.