Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Teatro Restaurant

Teatro, translated as ‘theatre’ in Italian, pays homage to our restaurant’s location in Calgary’s arts and theatre district. For over 20 years, Teatro has been serving contemporary Italian cuisine in a fine dining atmosphere housed in the historic Toronto Dominion Bank (est.1911). Our award winning wine cellar hosts over 13,500 bottles and features 1100 labels, with a focus on the fine wines of Italy and Bordeaux. Enjoy artisanal cocktails at our stylish bar, reserve a table for your next business meeting or indulge in a 7 course Chef's Tasting menu . We also offer both private and semi-private dining options for large groups.

Our 3 Course Express Lunch for $25 is an exceptional dining selection for busy downtown diners. Showcasing local and seasonal ingredients this feature menu changes weekly. Follow us @TeatroCalgary for details.

Business casual dress attire and reservations are recommended.

Olympic Plaza, 200 8th Ave SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday from 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner:
Nightly from 5:00pm

Cross Street:
1st Street SE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 290-1012

Website:
http://www.teatro.ca/

Catering:
Working in conjunction with the function coordinator.

Parking Details:
Parking is available under the Calgary Performing Arts Centre, entrance on Macleod Trail just north of 9th Avenue. Parking is also available under the Telus Convention Centre (access via Macleod Trail South, just south of 7th Avenue SW). After 6pm, free street parking is available on Stephen Avenue Mall (8th Avenue SW).

Public Transit:
The C-train stations- Olympic Plaza and 1 st, are located on 7th Avenue and 1 Street SE, behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Batey

Private Party Facilities:
With several private and semi-private dining options available, Teatro has the flexibility and expertise to accommodate private parties of 2 to over 200. Perfect for business lunches, dinner meetings and presentations, receptions, weddings and anniversaries.

Private Party Contact:
Brittany Rondeau: (403) 290-1012

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Teatro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (104)
Good for a Date (90)
Romantic (73)
See All
Notable Wine List (65)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Business Meals (56)
Pre/post Theatre (56)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Open Kitchen (42)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Historic (31)
Great for Lunch (26)
Tasting Menu (25)
Cozy (22)
Local Ingredients (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Authentic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Modern Decor (14)
People Watching (14)
Fun (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Seasonal (9)
Private Room (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Healthy (6)
Scenic View (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Organic (4)
Casual (4)
Family Style (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We went at 6:30 on a Sunday and and ordered almost immediately. Our dinner was served at 8:45. My husband said his was ice cold and had probably been left on the counter for the 2 hours Their excuse was they were serving a wedding in the back but did not give us warning just made excuses They offered to comp dessert but we did not want any. We wanted to get out of there. They could have comped some wine or a percent today the bill but did nothing. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Impeccable service, delicious food! This is a go to place for quieter business lunches. The service is always perfect and was again this week. The food is delicious, the only complaint I would have is it is a bit rich for lunch. For example, their rotisserie chicken (one of their specials) came with gnocchi and lots of it, but no veggies. It was though delicious but both of us are less than half. Highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always a great experience. The Seafood lasagna was the best I have ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great place to go. One of the best places in Calgary to have a superb meal and relaxing dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Four of us asked for a Chef's Surprise and were absolutely delighted. He managed to work around some food sensitivities without issue. The kitchen staff knocked it out of the park and Mitch our waiter was fantastic, digging up a great value white Bordeaux from the cellar that was not even on their listing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Good downtown spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Service was FANTASTIC. Absolutely outstanding service.
But......The food was bland & boring. Very disappointed! Was looking forward to an incredible meal not bland Italian. They need a menu overhaul. Otherwise beautiful space & top notch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

One of the best meals I have had dining out in Calgary. Staff is very friendly and atmosphere was very accepting. The food was very well prepared and presented. Would recommend it to anyone, it is worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Best restaurant in Calgary IMO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Nice location, good service and food,open kitchen keeps you entertained.

ambiance is nice; but didn't feel was dining in an heritage building (inside it looked like an standard high end restarant only)
menu is pricey but good.

good place for special occasions.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very nice restaurant with a high end menu. I'm determined to go back someday to try their chef's menu and wine tasting, despite it being one of the pricier menu items. Definitely a "special occasion" kind of place if you have a medium or low budget. I didn't use the restroom but my companions thought it wasn't as lovely as the rest of the room. Very nicely decorated; loved how we could see the chefs cooking!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Lovely ristorante......terrific service........all in all, a fine dining evening..........best evening dining in Calgary..........agnotti were superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Had the tasting menu, amazing food just a bit pricey but I guess that comes with the quality

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent as always. My favourite Calgary restaurant. Service is impeccable and the food is always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The best 3 course lunch in the city. It was so delicious today. Started with a green bean and fennel salad, Arctic char and risotto, and ending with a fresh lime cheesecake. The patio is also so pretty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 9, 2017

had dinner before was a better experience Was my birthday this time and was not mentioned but Teatro knew

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Must try the Tiramisu...that is all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Went for our 10 year anniversary. We were very pleased with the service and food. Would definitely recommend

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We chose Teatro for a celebratory dinner (our anniversary). It did not disappoint. Service was attentive and helpful, not intrusive. Our appetizers were great --notably my delicious lobster lasagna. Our entrees were splendid . . my wife had the halibut special (fish of the day); I had the rotisserie special lamb --succulent! We topped off the meal with desserts and coffee, all excellent.
We especially appreciated the serving sizes --just right for our appetites and enjoying multiple courses.
For a top-notch restaurant experience you can expect top-notch prices (fortunately we'd previously received a Teatro gift card).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The setting was lovely, the company was great, and the food delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We had a tight timeline and our server was great about keeping us on schedule. The food was delicious as always 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great service and atmosphere - excellent choice of wines. All leading to 5 stars but the key course - the entree - a signature pasta dish was barely warm and dried out so must have been sat for some time on the pass also one shrimp one scallop and a case of find the lobster dropped it to three stars for food and value - we've been here a few times and sadly this time was a bit of a let down - normally I would have raised this at the time but didn't want to put a negative on date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Fantastic Evening - went with the tasting menu and wine pairing. Everything was phenomenal!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We have dined at many fine restaurants that we booked on Open Table. Unfortunately, this was NOT one of them. The interior of the restaurant was lovely. That's were the good part stopped. Our server was, at best, abrupt, and the food was less than mediocre, which was a very bad thing as the price we paid for our dinner was quite high. In our opinion, DO NOT waste your time or hard-earned money dining at Teatro Restaurant in Calgary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We went for a special anniversary dinner and were treated like special guests! The cocktails were amazing, appetizers and dinner were amazing!! The wine chosen for us was perfect! Desert was amazing!! The service was amazing and we will definitely be back for the lunch and patio this summer! If you have guests from out of town this is the most beautiful restaurant in Calgary to take them to. Amazing x10

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was our first visit to Teatro but definitely won't be our last. From the appetizers, entrees, and side dishes to the desserts, coffees and wine selections, everything we sampled was high quality and fairly priced. Our daughter said that the halibut special was the best piece of fish she has ever had! Our server was one of the best we have had in Calgary. All in all a delightful evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The service was amazing. Our waiter was very happy and charming and helpful when it came to questions about the menu. There was always extra staff around if we needed anything.
As for food, appetizers we amazing, calamari is for sure 100% recommended. As for our main dish it was incredibly over salted. Desert was amazing.
Overall I would very much recommend this restaurant to friends and family

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great quality Italian in a nice old converted bank setting. Service was fantastic with knowledgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 5, 2017

It was the end of a vacation for my husband and me. Great finale!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 2, 2017

we love Teatros - food is wonderful and the service is impeccable - my only comment is regarding the Caesar Salad which is excellent and beautifully presented but a lot to eat and a bit awkward to manage but otherwise the carpaccio was wonderful - creative and tasty

Thanks so much - we will certainly come again

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Went here for dessert to celebrate our anniversary. They presented it with a candle and "Happy Anniversary" white chocolate plaques. Service was excellent and the server recommended an aged Pedro Ximenez to go with my tiramisu and it turned out to be such a wonderful and unique choice. Ambience was excellent and we'd come here a lot more often if they had more vegetarian entree options.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Very expensive in a city that now has a lot more choices for as good if ,not better food with the same cost or less. Amazing service but for the price it should be amazing. The food however has extremely small portions and neither of us that went were wowed.

We went just so we could say we did and now that we have we will definitely choose elsewhere.

Nice wine though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Measured up to reputation. Teatro is a beautifully repurposed space (once a grandly designed bank), quite elegant and dramatic, with views of Calgary's downtown from its soaring windows. The menu is ample and well balanced; the fish dishes especially recommended, though all looked great. Service friendly and helpful. Excellent evening!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Wedding Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Very average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was awesome and the service was great, we will definently be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic, Organic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Enjoyed the atmosphere.
Had the lobster lasagne. Too rich it was.
Could barely eat the full size meal and I can eat lots.
Would get the 22$ version next time. Wife had the salmon and loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Beautiful venue. Food was good. But shockingly the serve was nothing to brag about. Our server was uninterested I would rate the service he provided about a 4/10 . They gave our meal to the wrong table so we waited extra long for our meals (it wasn't busy). And there were no apologies for the mixup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.