About Teatro Restaurant

Olympic Plaza, 200 8th Ave SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0K7
View Larger Map

Teatro, translated as ‘theatre’ in Italian, pays homage to our restaurant’s location in Calgary’s arts and theatre district. For over 20 years, Teatro has been serving contemporary Mediterranean cuisine in a fine dining atmosphere housed in the historic Toronto Dominion Bank (est.1911). Our award winning wine cellar hosts over 13,500 bottles and features 1100 labels, with a focus on the fine wines of Italy and Bordeaux. A truly unique fine dining experience can be enjoyed with our eight course Chef’s Tasting Menu. We also offer both private and semi-private dining options for large groups.

Our 3 Course Express Lunch for $25 is an exceptional dining selection for busy downtown diners. Showcasing local and seasonal ingredients this feature menu changes weekly. Follow us @TeatroCalgary for details.

Business casual dress attire and reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday from 11:30am
Dinner:
Nightly from 5:00pm

Cross Street:
1st Street SE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 290-1012

Website:
http://www.teatro.ca/

Catering:
Working in conjunction with the function coordinator.

Parking Details:
Parking is available under the Calgary Performing Arts Centre, entrance on Macleod Trail just north of 9th Avenue. Parking is also available under the Telus Convention Centre (access via Macleod Trail South, just south of 7th Avenue SW). After 6pm, free street parking is available on Stephen Avenue Mall (8th Avenue SW).

Public Transit:
The C-train stations- Olympic Plaza and 1 st, are located on 7th Avenue and 1 Street SE, behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jason Barton-Browne

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tuna With Sun Choke, Cabbage And Black Garlic Paste
Sous Vide Scallop Over Citrus Leeks And Caviar
Liquid Caprese With Mozzarella Foam, Balsamic Pearl And Consommé Of Tomatoes
Poached Pear And Sorbet
Duck With Parsnip, Kale And Chickpea Crisp
Brie Balls In Wafers With Grape Musk Emulsion And Mustard Seed
Chocolate Five Way
Foie Gras Torchon With Quince Jelly, Grape Musk, And Brioche
Risotto With Poultry Jus And Truffles
Duck Magret Tartare With Raspberry Spaghetti, Foccacia Lace And Garlic Aioli
Miso-Glazed Seabass
Housemade Pork Terrine On Crostini
Proscuitto Wrapped Passion Fruit Marshmallow
Salted Caramel Liquid Nitrogen Ice Cream
Sous Vide Venison With Grape Bacon Jus
Molecular Gastronomy Caprese Salad
Lamb Mezzaluna With Truffle, Parmesan And Fresh Peas
Beef Tenderloin Cut As Faux Cheek
Chevre Snowman With Pistashio Crumbles And Sage Powder
Cheese Course: Brie In Pine Honey
Frozen "Streambed" Of East Coast Oysters
Halibut Beurre Blanc
Ribeye Steak
Beef Carpacchio
Coconut Lime Semifreddo With Passion Fruit
Duck Breast With Truffle
Flight Of Quail With Root Vegetables And Celeriac Puree .
"Caprese" Confit Tomatoes, Basil Oil Pearls Of Liquid Cheese And Balsamic Pearls
Lamb Ravioli
Foie Crusted Tenderloin With Potato "Pear" And Deconstructed Wellington
Burnt Caramel Liquid Nitrogen Ice Cream And Eggplant Pie
Fois Gras Pumpkins With Dark Chocolate, Pomegranate, Grape And Orange On A Bed Of Graham Crumbs
Austin Power Pdychadelic Beet Salad With Citrus Dip
Pickled Beets Salad With Fairwinds Farm Goat Cheese And Yuzu Yogurt
Green Apple Consomme With Pork Belly, Roasted Butternut Squash, Red Pepper And Chives
Caesar Salad With Crispy Pancetta, Bacon And Parma With Anchovy Foam And Parmesan Crisp
Acorn Squash Tortellini With Sour Cream Foam
Cheese Course
Beef Tenderloin With Pomme Puree "Pear" And Carrots
Meringue Beets Stuffed With Candied Kale And Dusted With Dehydrated Horseradish "Dirt"
Oyster Accompaniments: Tabasco "Caviar" Pearls, Horseradish, Ponzu Foam And Pastilles Absinthe Sauce
Beef Carpacchio With Pickled Vegetables And Piped Egg
Fish "En Mylar" (Fish Chowder)
Squid Ink Tortellini
Beef Tartare With Jalapeno Pearls
"Leaves" Passion Fruit, Kimchi And Apple, Corn On The Cob
Scallop Carpaccio With Cucumber And Pickled Cantalope
Porcini Tortellini With Truffle Foam
Pickerel With Quinoa Crust And Rice Crisp
Cold Pea Velouté With Black Truffle Slice And Prosciutto - Crisped And Gelee
Beet Macaron Stuffed With Sautéed Kale
Scallop Carpaccio With Melon, Citrus Coconut Vinaigrette And Prosciutto
Wild Salmon Burger
Mushroom Risotto With Shaved Truffle
Austin Power Salad
Duck Breast
Crab Fritter With Garlic Aioli
Pickerel On Puffed Rice Crisp
Homemade Tortelini With Calamari And Saffron Foam
Roasted Vegetables
Cream Cheese With Coolie
Cauliflower Puree Soup With Shaved Foie Gras And Apple
Expresso
carpaccio
Rotisserie Chicken
mushroom risotto

Private Dining

With several private and semi-private dining options available, Teatro has the flexibility and expertise to accommodate private parties of 2 to over 200. Perfect for business lunches, dinner meetings and presentations, receptions, weddings and anniversaries.

Teatro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

special occasion (62)
romantic (52)
fit for foodies (48)
See All
notable wine list (45)
great for lunch (21)
good for groups (12)
neighborhood gem (11)
hot spot (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (4)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1125 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My son and I were in for dinner. We sa ...

Dined 7 days ago

My son and I were in for dinner. We sat at the bar briefly while waiting for our table. Upon being seated a little stool upon which to put my purse appeared. I love this elegant room. The tables are a good distance apart and the seashell booths sort of frame the room. Our service was impeccable and having ordered the tasting menu with pairings we enjoyed the company of the sommelier who was very knowledgable. Each course left us waiting eagerly for the next. The pace of the meal was just right. The wine list was amazing and went in price point from very affordable to very expensive. We are both left with memories of a fantastic dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

The food and service were great, but the ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The food and service were great, but the atmosphere is too boring. Restaurant needs a restoration to bring some life to the interior that matches the high quality of the food. I would come with friends for lunch, but not for a special celebration.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Express lunch is very impressive for thr ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Express lunch is very impressive for three courses at $25 and the ambiance is wonderful. Will come back to try dinner for special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Meal

Dined on June 11, 2016

We visited Teatro for a special birthday meal, and enjoyed it all. The calamari app was tender, with a light crisp batter. We both had the "new" small sized pastas, which were perfect since saving room for dessert. I had the lamb gnocchi, my SO, the Tagliatelle with lobster, and both were excellent. Rounded out with an fantastic bottle of Chianti. Espressos and crème brulee for dessert. Service was outstanding. Ever present, without being over bearing. Will not hesitate to return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderfully service food and table. This ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderfully service food and table. This is a very special restaurant. Refined without pretension.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Jack

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

We were first timers and were thrilled with the food and service. Best oyster shucking we have seen and we have seen a lot. A great evening. We'll be back when we return to Calgary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 21, 2016

We enjoyed this restaurant very much. It is in an old lovely bank building, very beautiful, great food and service. Highly recommended for a unique and high quality experience.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Hadn't been to Teatro in years and wonde ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Hadn't been to Teatro in years and wonder why I don't go more often. Lunch was enjoyable, the price reasonable and the food quality was high. The only negative was that the server wasn't that well informed on the wine menu; she just lacked a little bit of polish that one would expect of a restaurant of this high caliber. I would definitely return though.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was still good. Not the greatest. W ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was still good. Not the greatest. Waitress was not the best at this location.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favourite anniversary spot!

Dined on May 16, 2016

This is the second year in a row that we've chosen Teatro as our anniversary dinner spot. The staff at Teatro is extremely—and I mean EXTREMELY—attentive to all of the details. My wife has an allergy to red peppers, and our server went over the updated menu with us to make sure we steered clear of certain dishes, and verified with the kitchen to make sure we were good. Add to this level of detail their extensive knowledge of wine pairings and tremendous service, and we felt like we were the only ones in the restaurant, despite it being the traditional supper hour. We both had the beef tenderloin, with a mixed greens salad to share. Everything was presented beautifully, and the cannoli and sorbeti for dessert were flavourful. Everything was well-timed, and we didn't feel rushed to finish one dish before the next arrived. A tradition has started.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding....again. Food was delicious ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Outstanding....again. Food was delicious and our server (whom we have had before) was awesome. Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! What a fantastic experience. The ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Wow! What a fantastic experience. The waitress was very thoughtful (eg brought small table for my lady friend's purse didn't sit on the floor) and made great recommendations (eg the Tedeschi Amarone was a fantastic Italian red). The calamari was lightly breaded and cooked to perfection. My lady friend's ribeye was flavourful and perfectly medium rare. I can see why the lobster lasagna has been on the menu for over 2 decades as it was amazing. The only miss of the night was the bruschetta - the classical bruschetta was outstanding, the artichoke one was neither tasty or appealing looking, and the bean one looked like canned dog food and tasted mediocre.

food4
ambience5
service5

Very fancy. Excellent carpaccio and the ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Very fancy. Excellent carpaccio and the best risotto I've ever had. Wine list could be better even though it was extremely extensive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great food, service and location. Whether a business meeting, friends getting together or a date night out Teatro is great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyable Evening

Dined on May 3, 2016

Food quality was good and fresh; wine choices are amongst the best in Calgary.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Teatro is one of my favorite Italian res ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Teatro is one of my favorite Italian restaurants. Never disappointed. A little on the expensive side but worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

What food goes with fish!

Dined on May 1, 2016

My girlfriend and I went to Teatro for dinner before attending a play at Theatre Calgary across the street. We ordered the special for the evening - fish. The plate came with a piece of fish, which tasted great, but the vegetables were all cut up, I believe it had lima beans, egg plant too in a tomato base. It looked like a spoonful of mush, very unappetizing, was not tasty at all and certainly not what I expected from Teatro. It looked unappetizing and my friend didn't even touch hers and I tasted a few bites but left the rest. So my friend and I paid $36 each for one piece of fish. We're season ticket holders and previously have looked forward to dinner before the show at Teatro but after the last experience with the food, we won't be going back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Arctic Char Lunch

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Very well prepared and presented. Wine list a bit pricey but wine quality very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pre-concert Dinner

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

It had been a few years since we last dined there. Still a very nice restaurant with good service and food, although on the pricey side. Was not very busy on a Sunday evening, so reasonably quiet. We shared a Caesar salad and the seafood lasagna - both of which were split in the kitchen, Great presentation and very tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good quality food and wine

Dined on April 23, 2016

Good menu selections for all courses. The foie gras was superb. The wine menu has many gems for a reasonable price as well as very high end options. I found the sommelier very knowledgeable and helpful. Service was efficient and courteous. All of us enjoyed the meal and the experience. It was my second visit and I look forward to another.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

My teenage daughters and I took my husband out for his Birthday dinner and we blown away by everything at Teatro. The waiter was super fun and very helpful with menu selections. All of our meals were spectacular. With each course I asked our waiter to bring me a glass of wine that would match and he nailed it every time. The food was amazing but our waiter made everything better and more fun I think. The four of us had a lot of fun and some great laughs...which can be hard to do when the kids become teens!! Great job Teatro...can't wait to go back for a romantic dinner with my man.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A server with skill and initiative...refreshing!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Our server delivered within our tight timeline. She showed initiative, engagement and good humour. A combination seldom found in a city where the waiting staff so often sports an attitude of doing their patrons a favour. The oysters were excellent although the shucking was uneven. The tartare not quite as 'relevé' as we prefer but nonetheless a good quantity and nice presentation. The red wine, again as typical of Calgary restaurants, was served too warm. Room temperature was never meant to mean temperature of a room filled with lights and people...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Its so nice to be treated so well.

Dined on April 12, 2016

Its so nice to be treated so well.

food5
ambience5
service5

Teatro is the perfect location for a qui ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Teatro is the perfect location for a quiet, yet, exclusive dining experience. While the service is of the highest quality, it still has this casual ambiance which makes you comfortable as soon as you walk in.

food5
ambience5
service5

We were in for my birthday dinner, had t ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

We were in for my birthday dinner, had the chefs menu with pairing and it was amazing! Service was well paced, food was fabulous and the overall experience was incredible.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very Good Food but overall value?

Dined on April 8, 2016

There is no doubt the food is very good, but for the price I would expect exceptional. I had the lobster risotto and the lobster was exceptional, having been poached in butter. The risotto was cooked to perfection, but the dish sat in a broth that was too salty. My wife had boar pasta I believe and she really liked it. I had a taste and it was definitely very good. The beet salad was tasty and presentation was top notch, but I think my homemade beet and goat cheese salad tastes better. Top it off with 2 glasses of wine and the bill came to $130. Service was excellent as is décor. The restaurant has a lot going for it so I wouldn't discourage going, but when I drop over $100 for dinner my expectations ramp up. Maybe I just had one bad dish, I have had excellent food here in the past.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great idea to supply small stoo ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

It was a great idea to supply small stools for our purses! We loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Getting overpriced!

Dined on April 1, 2016

This last lunch at Teatro is likely my last. The menu is stale and the prices just keep going higher. Many other places with as good or better food and better value at lunch time. Vintage Chop House comes to mind.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

I had great expectations on the restaurant and the cocktail was great, the lobster rissotto was fantastic, seafood lasagna the atmosphere, the service all were all outstanding. I would creatinly recommend this restaurant to other people and I have. The place is great and the presentations of the dishes were excellent. The wine list was fantastic

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service , Good food, small portions

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Outstanding service , Good food, outstanding wine list including good Canadian selections. Servicing sizes verymuchon the small size. We shared an olive oil cake for dessert and the serving size was miniscule, for 12 dollars? Evan a fan felt ripped off. No dessert next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

I found the food and atmosphere very nic ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

I found the food and atmosphere very nice. The waiter was good. Unfortunately the value was horrible. I paid $48 dollars for beef tenderloin and got a piece about half the size of my palm. Minimal associated vegetables as well. I left the restaurant hungry and immediately bought a snack from a corner store. I don't mind paying for a good meal but at least expect to have a meal, not a snack

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hidden Gem

Dined on March 23, 2016

It was my first time at Teatro, When I arrived, my guest had already been seated, so joined him, shorty after was greeted by our server with a fantastic smile. There was a very nice wine list, although being a business meeting we did not partake. The pre dinner bread was fantastic, loads of flavour, once we ordered the food came in a timely mater, the server was more then happy to accommodate us with an extra stool for our briefcases and my lap-top. The meal was fantastic, my guest had the Salmon sandwich and I had a pasta dish that exploded with flavour. We finished with coffee and where left alone to attend to the business we had met about, the restaurant was quiet enough, yet loud enough to allow for conversation that was confidential in matter. Overall a great experience.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Teatros on a Tuesday

Dined on March 23, 2016

inner was very good, but also very expensive...The tenderloin was excellent, the prime rib was average. Appetizers were great and ambiance excellent. Service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Teatro Disappoints

Dined on March 19, 2016

A recent Friday evening took us to Teatro on 8th Avenue - Lovely ambiance as soon as you walk through the door, but our dining experience was less than stellar. The Lobster Bisque was lacking in flavor and salt. The Wild Boar Cappelletti was cold and the boar was dry. Overall pretty disappointing and certainly not good value.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fancy feast in the middle of the day!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Excellent meal... Definitely an afternoon food baby!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING

Dined on March 15, 2016

Myself and my wife went here on a Monday night to celebrate or one year wedding anniversary. I called the restaurant and ask them for help picking a nice bottle of champagne. I was told that had a pink champagne and it was a sexy little number. The had the champagne and fresh chocolate dipped strawberries at the table when we arrived. The service was tip top and all the food we had was great. What an amazing evening. Thank you to all the staff

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Teatro's is a favourite!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Each time we have gone to Teatro's we've enjoyed everything! We watched vegetables being arranged meticulously on the plates with tweezers. It not only looks fabulous, but tastes as good as it looks or even better. (A big vase was brought for the girls to put their purses in before the dining experience started!) Thanks very much for a most enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great atmosphere at start, rushed at the end...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Atmosphere was great at the beginning of our visit to Teatro but it took a turn towards the end of our meal. We had an 8:30 reso on a Saturday (so not too late) and by the time we made it to our final course the staff was abruptly cleaning tables, changing linens and quite obviously doing their closing duties. At first I thought we were maybe the last table and needed to pick up the pace, but we weren't (there were at least 2 other tables still eating)!. I felt like I had to quickly finish up my final drink and get out. Not what I would have expected based on the fantastic start to our evening. As for food - we did the Big Taste gourmet meal with pairings. Wine was fantastic, half the courses were great, and the other half were okay (not sure I would have been thrilled had I paid full price for a couple of the courses).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious & Upscale

Dined on March 13, 2016

Went to try the food for the Big Taste. Gourmet menu was very delicious! An amazing 5 course meal was served. Didn't have a chance to try the actual menu food but the meal was really filling. Perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

Dined on March 12, 2016

We enjoyed an excellent dinner at Teatro during Taste of Calgary. We were given excellent service and the each course was delicious. We will go back to celebrate our anniversary in April.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.