Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Teatro Restaurant

Teatro, translated as ‘theatre’ in Italian, pays homage to our restaurant’s location in Calgary’s arts and theatre district. For over 20 years, Teatro has been serving contemporary Italian cuisine in a fine dining atmosphere housed in the historic Toronto Dominion Bank (est.1911). Our award winning wine cellar hosts over 13,500 bottles and features 1100 labels, with a focus on the fine wines of Italy and Bordeaux. Enjoy artisanal cocktails at our stylish bar, reserve a table for your next business meeting or indulge in a 7 course Chef's Tasting menu . We also offer both private and semi-private dining options for large groups.

Our 3 Course Express Lunch for $25 is an exceptional dining selection for busy downtown diners. Showcasing local and seasonal ingredients this feature menu changes weekly. Follow us @TeatroCalgary for details.

Business casual dress attire and reservations are recommended.

Olympic Plaza, 200 8th Ave SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday from 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner:
Nightly from 5:00pm

Cross Street:
1st Street SE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 290-1012

Website:
http://www.teatro.ca/

Catering:
Working in conjunction with the function coordinator.

Parking Details:
Parking is available under the Calgary Performing Arts Centre, entrance on Macleod Trail just north of 9th Avenue. Parking is also available under the Telus Convention Centre (access via Macleod Trail South, just south of 7th Avenue SW). After 6pm, free street parking is available on Stephen Avenue Mall (8th Avenue SW).

Public Transit:
The C-train stations- Olympic Plaza and 1 st, are located on 7th Avenue and 1 Street SE, behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Matthew Batey, Chef de Cuisine Dave Bohati

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Teatro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
See All
Notable Wine List (20)
Romantic (20)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Business Meals (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Authentic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
People Watching (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fun (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This was a return visit after many years so it as a nice surprise to see how its retained its elegance; the building itself, the renovations over the years and its classy ambiance. It was a quiet Sunday evening so no problems with noise and over busy-ness. The service was excellent and the food superb. One suggestion: one or two options for side dishes to accompany the main dish would be nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Wine list far too complicated with hundreds to choose from. Menu quite bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Teatro has been one of our favourite special occasion locations in Calgary. They did not let us down. This was my mother-in-law's birthday dinner. Our family was treated very well.

The server was the best. She had patience to help my father in-law, who is dealing with memory loss, to choose his dinner and drink. She ensured our 6 dinners were brought out in time so we could get to the theatre on time. She recommended a wine to match my dinner that was spot on.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent atmosphere, reasonable prices food. Well worth it

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Teatro is one of our favorites in Calgary. the food and service are always very good. Location is also great for the theatres.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 12, 2017

We did the chef's tasting with premium wine pairing with a few cocktails. My expectations weren't super high, but even if they were I think they would have been exceeded. Really fantastic experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Absolutely beautiful meal had with my girlfriends before our theater show. Great building. And the service we had was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was exquisite. The ambiance is lovely. The food took quite a while to be served and the service wasn’t quite what I would expect from a place like Teatro.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Amazing experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Brilliant creativity in food preparation + presentation.
Server distraction with large private group diminished the usual timely, professional table-side service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful, the service was excellent, the food was so so in taste & over priced, and there were little bugs on our table (maybe from the old wood?). I'd recommend it for casual drinks or a quick lunch. Patio looked beautiful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Hadn't been to Teatro for many years - went with friends for dinner before going to see a play next door. The food wasn't especially memorable (linguini with tomato sauce for me, seafood lasagna for my wife) - I recall food flavors and selection being better when we had gone before. Not disappointing to the point of not wanting to ever go back, but just below expectations. Service was reasonable, location is excellent if going to any of the theaters next door, and ambience is very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 28, 2017

I've had 2 excellent meals at Teatro and so I had put it on my list of reliably good places to eat. Last time it was very disappointing! I'm a calamari lover and theirs has always (2x) been great, but this time it was so salty it bordered on inedible--and I like salt.

The kale salad was also oddly salty. The seafood lasagna was okay, not a show stopper that you would expect from a restaurant with Teatro's reputation. So, sadly, Teatro is no longer on my "go to" list. For the $$ we spent I expect wow 😃, not wow 🙁 .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Our service was fantastic and the food was great as well. Out server was polite and friendly and knew how to read us. It took a little longer than we expected to talk with the wine steward before dinner, but it was quite busy and otherwise it was a great experience. I would be happy to return for another special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Great food and service as always. We needed it be wheelchair accessible and it was. Thank you.

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The service was friendly and impeccable for fine dining. I have loved the atmosphere here for many years--the high ceilings give a privacy to conversations, and keep the noise level down. The presentation of the food is interesting and dramatic. Sadly, it doesn't taste good. Not sure why. A slightly burnt under-taste, flavours that just don't work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

service seemed slow at first, but when we said we needed to be out for the theatre, things really moved along. Coatcheck very efficient.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Used to be one of my fav restaurants but this experience was disappointing. Had to wait 30 min for our reserved table, they were out of the entree we wanted, they didn't have the bottle of wine we wanted and we had to ask for everything service wise. Spoke to the manager half way thru about terrible service and after that they improved and comped us a bunch of stuff but the experience was already ruined.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Fantastic! Tasting menu was beautiful and delicious

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The two of us had a birthday celebration dinner at Teatro's on Thursday, September 14th. We both had Caprese salads .... very tasty and enjoyable. Our two entree choices were Halibut, one of the dinner specials, and Lobster Lasagne. Both were excellent choices.... the large Halibut portion was delicious, perfectly cooked and the Lobster Lasagne (with scallops & prawns on top) was super delicious! We shared a dark chocolate torte for dessert which was excellent.
Table service started extremely slow as we waited a long time to order drinks and then a similar time to receive our cocktails. After this very slow start, our service/server got much better!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Best meal I have had in a long time.
It was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Came here for my dad's 65th birthday. It was amazing. The service was so good and they even surprised us with an extra course in our supper a treat from the chef. Couldn't ask for a better place to celebrate something!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very good restaurant. The service was very good and the sommelier was a great help with no wine snobbery.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

A bit disappointing. Didn't have the wine we wanted and didn't make any suggestions, not very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 2, 2017

An utterly wonderful way to mark the end of summer with my family. We brought along our two teenage boys, who may talk about the desserts for the rest of their lives. I particularly thought the service was amazing - efficient, professional, excellent. A beautiful night, and our youngest already wants us to make it tradition at the end of every summer. Also worth noting: we have a kid with a severe peanut allergy, and the staff worked around it without making him feel like a leper. Much appreciated.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Teatro's once again was up to the task and did not disappoint. The food was terrific the service is very good and the ambiance was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent food and service. Creative dishes with supremely fresh ingredients.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Amazing experience. Lindsey and Brian our servers were so good! Super attentive without being obtrusive. The food was eye opening and very creative (gazpacho literally blew my mind! Must try). Overall I would highly recommend this place. Bring your wallet though, because it is pricey.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Some of the best Italian food I have ever eaten!! A must when traveling to Calgary.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

I made the reservation for our 9th anniversary and things were going well until there were bees climbing up our legs and the window next to us. I asked if we could move and the server said if there is an issue we can move you. Well? We weren't moved and then I found fruit flies in the oil for bread and there was a fruit fly in my wine. I asked for a replacement glass the waiter left and came back and said the manager already gave out too much red wine. Seriously? How is that my problem? So he sifted the insect and gave me back my wine. I wanted to walk out right there. The food was ok but I've had better. I had the duck and it was really really tough to cut through. Maybe it was undercooked or the knives just aren't the right kind for game meat. For the price it really wasn't that good. On top of everything the meal was late and the server apologized. At the end of the meal my partner wanted dessert and we ordered some but we waited for over 15 min before I just called the server over to bring the bill and cancel the dessert. Overall it wasn't a good experience and I don't think I'll be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Thought little overpriced and food was just little above average

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

The service wasn't incredible. There was many different people delivering, ordering, and asking questions and it was very confusing. the portion was TINY and the waitress only visited our table about once every 30 minutes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Always good food and service. Nice ambiance and great to watch the plating. Would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 24, 2017

As always.... great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Overall, the restaurant was nice. Im not sure if the A/C was broken, but the temperature was very hot. It was uncomfortable enough for us to not stay for coffee and desserts. Food was excellent though. Service was excellent as well.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We have been to Teatro several times and we had some out of town guests that we wanted to treat. The food is good but the wait time between courses were really slow. Three out of five of us ordered the express lunch, we left there after 1.5 hrs!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Came here for dinner after afternoon showing of Phantom Of The Opera.

Food, drinks, and especially the service (Kyle) were fantastic from start to finish. Couldn't have asked for a better venue to celebrate our anniversary.

Looking forward to going back and trying the lasagna and some more cocktails.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

We went at 6:30 on a Sunday and and ordered almost immediately. Our dinner was served at 8:45. My husband said his was ice cold and had probably been left on the counter for the 2 hours Their excuse was they were serving a wedding in the back but did not give us warning just made excuses They offered to comp dessert but we did not want any. We wanted to get out of there. They could have comped some wine or a percent today the bill but did nothing. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Impeccable service, delicious food! This is a go to place for quieter business lunches. The service is always perfect and was again this week. The food is delicious, the only complaint I would have is it is a bit rich for lunch. For example, their rotisserie chicken (one of their specials) came with gnocchi and lots of it, but no veggies. It was though delicious but both of us are less than half. Highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always a great experience. The Seafood lasagna was the best I have ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.