Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Teatro Restaurant

Teatro, translated as ‘theatre’ in Italian, pays homage to our restaurant’s location in Calgary’s arts and theatre district. For over 20 years, Teatro has been serving contemporary Italian cuisine in a fine dining atmosphere housed in the historic Toronto Dominion Bank (est.1911). Our award winning wine cellar hosts over 13,500 bottles and features 1100 labels, with a focus on the fine wines of Italy and Bordeaux. Enjoy artisanal cocktails at our stylish bar, reserve a table for your next business meeting or indulge in a 7 course Chef's Tasting menu . We also offer both private and semi-private dining options for large groups.

Our 3 Course Express Lunch for $25 is an exceptional dining selection for busy downtown diners. Showcasing local and seasonal ingredients this feature menu changes weekly. Follow us @TeatroCalgary for details.

Business casual dress attire and reservations are recommended.

Olympic Plaza, 200 8th Ave SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday from 11:30am
Dinner:
Nightly from 5:00pm

Cross Street:
1st Street SE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 290-1012

Website:
http://www.teatro.ca/

Catering:
Working in conjunction with the function coordinator.

Parking Details:
Parking is available under the Calgary Performing Arts Centre, entrance on Macleod Trail just north of 9th Avenue. Parking is also available under the Telus Convention Centre (access via Macleod Trail South, just south of 7th Avenue SW). After 6pm, free street parking is available on Stephen Avenue Mall (8th Avenue SW).

Public Transit:
The C-train stations- Olympic Plaza and 1 st, are located on 7th Avenue and 1 Street SE, behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jason Barton-Browne

Private Party Facilities:
With several private and semi-private dining options available, Teatro has the flexibility and expertise to accommodate private parties of 2 to over 200. Perfect for business lunches, dinner meetings and presentations, receptions, weddings and anniversaries.

Private Party Contact:
Carla Cole: (403) 290-1012

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:30AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Teatro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Romantic (29)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Notable Wine List (26)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Business Meals (18)
Open Kitchen (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Historic (10)
Cozy (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (5)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Family Style (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Private Room (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Wedding Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed the atmosphere.
Had the lobster lasagne. Too rich it was.
Could barely eat the full size meal and I can eat lots.
Would get the 22$ version next time. Wife had the salmon and loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great fixed price three course lunch for $25 - enjoyed a potato frittata and salad that was light but extremely tasty. The main course of trout and fingerling potatoes with greens was just the right size for lunch. The six small treats for dessert were rich and decadent. My only complaint was the price for water - $8.50 for a carafe of flat water seemed steep.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Our 3rd year in a row choosing Teatro for our Anniversary dinner, and once again, Teatro did not disappoint. Bisteca for me and the Feature Halibut for my wife. Our server, Nicole was fantastic, and her recommendations on wine were perfect. Thank you again for making our anniversary special.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very nice food. A little pricey but we had a unique seafood lasagna. Light and tasty.

The Kale salad was very nice too.

Unfortunately it was Mother's Day and it was busy and we had to sit close to the bar area. After our meal, 5 fellas were chatting. Just a little too close so it seemed a level too high in sound.

We lost our waiter who had to serve the Bar but the other waiters tried to cover and did an Okay job. Could have been a little better. Stuff happens.

We will go back on future visits but will reserve a better table, but we were happy to get a reservation on that day on only 4 hrs notice.

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We did the tasting menu. Always amazing! The wine pairing was hosted by Andrea and she was just amazing! We love teatros!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great food and environment as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We had a wonderful evening. Food and quality was awesome, service was great. We will certainly go back many times now that we have found another Calgary Treasure

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was our 12 year anniversary and this dinner was the finishing touch. First time here and we will be back. Mitch, thank you for making our night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I had the express lunch and loved it. The express lunch consists of 3 courses for $25. For the week we visited, express lunch was a tuna pate that I could eat every day it was sooo good. For main it was chicken supreme served with broccolini and polenta. The chicken was super tender and juicy and the sides were just as great. For dessert, it was a chocolate brownie with little meringue like puffs, housemade vanilla ice cream and a caramel drizzle...I can't say enough good things. Need to come back for the express lunch more often!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The food was excellent but I had to downgrade the quality because my wife and I found it too salty. We generally eat very little salt in our diet so chefs who are a little overzealous tend to overdo it for our palates. It's interesting that all tables have salt grinders on them so adding salt is an easy task but removing it is impossible.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Calamari was perfect - as usual! First time I tried the eggplant parmigiana and it was a bit over cooked on the top and cheese was hard to eat. Very big portion and it was delicious if only cooked better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great second bottle of wine. We couldn't drink the first bottle completely... too underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We came for dinner before a play across the street. We had some bubbles and some appies and ended up running out of time to eat dinner! We actually came back after the show for dinner and drinks. Service was great, the food was fantastic, as were the wine recommendations. Teatro never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Did a great chef's tasting menu. The duck was particularly delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Gave this Restaurant another chance as it used to be really good. Great location and beautiful decor...and that is all it is. Food quality and service are are poor to say the least compared to 10 years ago. Okay for a post theatre drink if you are desperate and don't mind price gouging. A real shame as this place used to be classy. We will Not be back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was nice staff was wonderful I really enjoyed michel Graves cooking

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The ambiance, food and service were superb. We have been going to Teatro since the night it opened in 1993. It has always been a pleasure on every level.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Amazing quality and service every time. Well done! Seems to be getting better over time, which is a rarity these days! We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Loved the tiramisu. Very light and tasty. Our server Lindsay was also a joy, had a lot of personality and was overall a pleasant server. The menu was pretty much to be expected at a place like Teatro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Outstanding service, attentive to details, excellent food and dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food tastes really good. It would be even better if the portions are bigger.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Loved the food. Their seafood special is very tasteful we will be visiting soon

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My wife and I always enjoy going to this restaurant. It's historical , part of the fine dining that is downtown downtown. I think they forgot our order , but they made it up to us with free calamari. I always take care of their patrons. I would always recommend tiatros.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Having been in Calgary for a few years, I've been told Teatro is a staple and is a must-go. Really happy I did because everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our food was amazing and the service was good until he realized we had gift certificates and then completely changed. I never did get my refill of coffee and we just left. We did leave a very nice tip anyway just to show we weren't "cheap" but it left a bad taste in my mouth.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always enjoy the food at Teatro. Food quality is always exceptional with fresh ingredients.
The noise level is low and the ambience is very nice. We love coming, especially for the convenience of a pre-theatre meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Teatro met most of the expectations of fine dining. Incredible service, nice ambience, fancy interior design. However, it is most definitely lacking in the quality and taste of the food. I first tried it serveral years ago, can't quite recall my experience from that time. Thought I would give it a second go during the 2017 big taste week. We ordered the gourmet menu. The food was either too bland or too salty/sweet. Definitely over-priced. Would not recommend it to anybody for any occasion. You can probably find better tasting food for a cheaper price somewhere else in Calgary.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We visited for Big Taste and all ordered from the special menu. We started with a carrot insalata which was absolutely delicious while also being healthy. The second course was a seared salmon with kale and a lentil (chickpea maybe?) ragu. This dish was pretty good but I thought a sauce would have jazzed up the fish a bit as it was a little plain. Dessert was to die for, it was a mascarpone mousse with sorbet and a crispy almond granola garnish. The dish was heavy yet somehow tasted light and the sorbet accented perfectly. The almond garnish left our table wishing for more. Dessert was my favourite part but it definitely wasn't healthy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 6, 2017

First time at Teatro. Everything was perfect with my 3 course meal. The wine pairings complimented each plate. 3 hours went by in the blink of an eye. I imagine it wouldn't normally take so long but I had the best of company too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food does not compete with newer and more innovative restaurants. Everything seemed very bland or over salted. Other than the duck pasta.
Quite disappointed.
Service is always great, but I'm attending a fine dinning restaurant specifically to enjoy the luxurious food not just the ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Everything was great, although our waiter was a bit slow getting a bill. We would definitely come back to Teatro.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Josie was an excellent server and was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu selections. Lasagna with lobster, scallops and shrimps was exceptional. Prices on the high side but we will return.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We had a amazing experience at Teatro! Being in an old Toronto Dominion bank, the venue, decor and ambiance are awesome. The service was perfect and the food was delicious. We ordered the Salmone, Ricotta Gnocchi, Pollo, Papardelle, and also had 2 desserts. I definitely would recommend this place for a special occasion or if you are looking to really impress someone :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I made reservations for two to celebrate an anniversary and it was the perfect choice. The section we were seated in was secluded and allowed me and my girlfriend to talk to each other without having to raise our voices. I'm not sure if Teatro had previously planned to have us seated there as I had stated it was for our first anniversary but it definitely enhanced our dining experience.

Soon after we were seated, we were promptly greeted by our server, Nicole, and had our drink orders taken almost instantly. The cocktails that we had ordered were chosen perfectly by Nicole and had a good balance of flavours and wasn't overpowered by alcohol.

We started off our meal with their calamari, which had been cooked perfectly and tasted great, however, the sauce was much too rich for our liking. For our main course I had the lamb chops and she had the bison. The lamb chops were cooked a perfect medium rare and was gently seasoned to allow the lamb to be the star of the dish (As it should be). The risotto that came with the lamb, although, a smidgen undercooked, was rich and flavourful. The bison, was also great, however, we both agreed that the lamb was the better choice.

Overall, the atmosphere, service, and food was spectacular. I would definitely come back again on another special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food, great service. An excellent experience overall

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had heard rave reviews in recent years and finally had the opportunity to go. The decor, atmosphere and service were fantastic. Appetizers however the mains were a bit disappointing when it came down to value and portion sizes ($40 for a modest slice of the infamous lasagna was disappointing).

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great birthday dinner.
They're customer service was top notch. Felt very elegant, and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Close to the theatre so very convenient but not enough to make it a sole destination dining experience. Too many other above average spots in YYC.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great tasting food. Portions were right for me, however some may find too little. There was no bread served before the meal. Excellent wine!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.