About Teatro Restaurant

Teatro, translated as ‘theatre’ in Italian, pays homage to our restaurant’s location in Calgary’s arts and theatre district. For over 20 years, Teatro has been serving contemporary Mediterranean cuisine in a fine dining atmosphere housed in the historic Toronto Dominion Bank (est.1911). Our award winning wine cellar hosts over 13,500 bottles and features 1100 labels, with a focus on the fine wines of Italy and Bordeaux. A truly unique fine dining experience can be enjoyed with our eight course Chef’s Tasting Menu. We also offer both private and semi-private dining options for large groups.

Our 3 Course Express Lunch for $25 is an exceptional dining selection for busy downtown diners. Showcasing local and seasonal ingredients this feature menu changes weekly. Follow us @TeatroCalgary for details.

Business casual dress attire and reservations are recommended.

Olympic Plaza, 200 8th Ave SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday from 11:30am
Dinner:
Nightly from 5:00pm

Cross Street:
1st Street SE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 290-1012

Website:
http://www.teatro.ca/

Catering:
Working in conjunction with the function coordinator.

Parking Details:
Parking is available under the Calgary Performing Arts Centre, entrance on Macleod Trail just north of 9th Avenue. Parking is also available under the Telus Convention Centre (access via Macleod Trail South, just south of 7th Avenue SW). After 6pm, free street parking is available on Stephen Avenue Mall (8th Avenue SW).

Public Transit:
The C-train stations- Olympic Plaza and 1 st, are located on 7th Avenue and 1 Street SE, behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jason Barton-Browne

Private Party Facilities:
With several private and semi-private dining options available, Teatro has the flexibility and expertise to accommodate private parties of 2 to over 200. Perfect for business lunches, dinner meetings and presentations, receptions, weddings and anniversaries.

Private Party Contact:
Carla Cole: (403) 290-1012

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Teatro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Romantic (25)
Business Meals (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Open Kitchen (19)
Historic (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Authentic (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
People Watching (7)
Cozy (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food, cooked to perfection. We ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food, cooked to perfection. We enjoyed the lamb chops, calamari, risotto, eggplant parmigian, and brussel sprouts cooked with bacon. Everything was fresh and hot, seasoned perfectly. The ambiance is fantastic, with the white columns, and historic crown moulding, mixed with contemporary touches such as the centre light fixture.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great good just a bit pricey compared to ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Great good just a bit pricey compared to other similar restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just fantastic! We had the lunch 3 cou ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Just fantastic! We had the lunch 3 course meal - salad, salmon and mouse dessert - much larger meal than we would normally have at lunch but couldn't resist as people had told us how good it is. Was not disappointed and looked forward to each course. As is typical here, service is fantastic and just a great overall experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is always a favorite of ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant is always a favorite of mine for celebrating business successes. The location and exceptional quality of food and atmosphere is a great combination.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a wonderful, I would have loved t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a wonderful, I would have loved to try the Chef's tasting menu, I just didn't have enough time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice restaurant and close to concerts an ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Nice restaurant and close to concerts and theatre.

We however had a disastrous evening there when somehow, between the waiter and the kitchen, our order was lost. We waited 55 minutes for the entre which was sub-par (polo dry, vegetables over cooked and blackened) when it finally arrived. The Manager said all the right things and comp'ed the food plates. We have to think this was an anomaly as others seemed to be getting their food in a timely manner and we had been reasonably served on previous occasions. May try again sometime but will confirm ordering status with waiter and won't rely on hollow assurances that "I'm sure your meal will be right up".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Impressive older building and great serv ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Impressive older building and great service. We enjoyed sitting near the kitchen as it kept us warm and cozy on a cold night. The food was excellent, wine list extensive and the smaller portions were quite welcomed. We will definitely return again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was very good. The food was ver ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Service was very good. The food was very tasty, except portions were extremely small for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service, but we were seated next t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great service, but we were seated next to a large and loud party. Food was good, not as great as I had expected it to be for the cost.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Love the traditional building with moder ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love the traditional building with modern elements. Very extensive wine list. We all enjoyed our food. The presentation and flavours were outstanding. Have not been there in many years but would not hesitate to go back soon!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had an amazing experience at Teatro. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had an amazing experience at Teatro. The service was phenomenal and the food was simply delicious and flavourful.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite reserving very early (several da ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Despite reserving very early (several days before the evening) we were seated in the back near the kitchen. The table beside the bustling service area was so close to strong kitchen smells we were coughing from the frying fumes. I came home smelling of the ling cod fish special and had to shower immediately. Clothes went to dry cleaner. My fresh blowout was all for nothing... Otherwise good food and great service. Be sure to ask for a table in the front of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Went to teatro for birthday dinner with ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went to teatro for birthday dinner with couple of friends. The restaurant is gorgeous with open kitchen. Lighting is just right. Service was excellent. Food was okay, but the tiramisu was one of the best I've ever had. I have already recommended to my friends and will return again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, food worthy of a any ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent service, food worthy of a any high end restaurant, ambience perfect for a special occasion. Overall, could not have asked for a better way to spend an anniversary. Will be back many times

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delightful evening enjoying th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a delightful evening enjoying the chef's menu with wine pairings, absolutely outstanding, a gem of a place with exquisite dinning.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disaster.was supposed to be a special oc ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Disaster.was supposed to be a special occasion. Waiter very slow and full of himself, and could not even find our coats. Food - borring menu, dry chicken, boring appetizer meats board. The whole experience felt like takeout from Safeway. Good reputation, but bad experience. Not coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

Must be the best restaurant in Calgary. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Must be the best restaurant in Calgary. Food was excellent as was the service and value for money. A super experience, well done to all!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food and environment. Server could ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 20, 2016

good food and environment. Server could be more attentive such as not serving cool coffee etc.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great location and good food, but very n ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great location and good food, but very noisy and the service was poor. Staff were slow in bringing the basics such as bread and water. I did not appreciate the aggressive upselling of the coffee at the end (the server actually ignored my request for a regular coffee and brought something more expensive). Small point, but leaves a bad impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We enjoyed the $25 lunch special and it ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We enjoyed the $25 lunch special and it was special - personable server, excellent bruschetta, perfectly portioned main and delicious dessert. The restaurant was busy and noisy, energetic, made it difficult to hear table mates.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Right off walking street! Interesting bu ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Right off walking street! Interesting building (old bank-no safe lol)

Seafood was great, wine list extensive so look for some good finds among the pricy elites! We had the Rioja Gran Reserve which was excellent!

The seafood lasagna was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went for a Christmas get together din ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We went for a Christmas get together dinner with friends knowing that the service and food has always been impeccable. The appetizers were fantastic, especially the seasonal squash soup and calamari. Dinner received some mixed reviews because on 4 of the seven dinners that were ordered the sides did not quite meet previous standards. The risotto was either under cooked or under seasoned. The dessert was the seasonal chocolate cake with mousse and it was absolutely fantastic! Overall it was a great meal, but we just wish everything was consistent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Did the chef tasting menu, every dish i ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Did the chef tasting menu, every dish is awesome. I specially liked the risotto, i never liked risotto all my life and this one is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service are great! We w ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The food and the service are great! We will definitely recommend this place to our friends and family.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in Calgary for business meal, ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Best place in Calgary for business meal, ambience and wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is a guaranteed excellent exp ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This place is a guaranteed excellent experience. Always great !

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful and the staff Amazing

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food was wonderful and the staff Amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is probably the most stunning resta ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This is probably the most stunning restaurant in Calgary. Very central and convenient for business meetings or Arts Commons and Olympic Plaza. We had a wonderful booth where we could talk, and the service was prompt and discreet. I went for the three-course business lunch for $25. It started with devilled eggs, a traditional meal, but well done. My colleague had shrimp and prawn salad due to allergies, specially made for her. I had a delicious lamb ragu on rigatoni, and a festive orange pudding. All in all, a great meal, and felt very pampered.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I took my friend's daughter there for he ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I took my friend's daughter there for her 16th bday, I did notify ahead of time that this was a bday and that one diner was gluten free. When we got there the table for us had been given away which was not really a big deal because the restaurant was empty but the other table was a better spot. I was informed that the market fish and chicken was out which were apparently my gf options. I did not worry about it though because I was taking the bday gal out and this was her pick and she was excited about her options. The waitress told me I could do the ceasar salad and add shrimp/scallops to it and was that ok. I said sounds good and it was the only option being presented anyway lol. Then she came back because the dressing was not gf so said she could give me salad greens with a vinaigrette. I said well if that's all I have let's do it. I also ordered the olives for the table as an appy in case the salad was not enough food. She asked if she should bring them out first and I said yes please. So the olives came out with the food lol. The salad was pretty tasty really and good portion of added shrimp and scallops. Her seafood lasagna looked great and she said it was delish. I ordered her the tiramisu for dessert and it came out with the happy bday chocolate (nice presentation) and she loved it. They brought me a spice cake on the house which was really sweet but I cannot eat it, it isn't gf. So all in all I would not recommend this restaurant for the price and limited options. Great location too but there are so many options for great restaurants with many options and better service. Maybe a business lunch would be good if you do not have a gf diner because they are kind of behind the times here with not being able to accommodate. Q Haute and Ox and Angela have some of the best bread in the city and is gf, try there if you have a gf diner. You will never be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great service. Great food. Great ambianc ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great service. Great food. Great ambiance. Over many years Teatro has been a go-to destination for special occassions, family events, and pre-theatre. I love how the the restaurant has been integrated so beautifully into an exquisite historical building.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I recently enjoyed another m ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I recently enjoyed another memorable chefs tasting with premium wine parings last weekend. Their somm is very knowledgeable and again selected a very well paired lineup to go with the chefs inspirations. This place doesn't disappoint. Everyone should treat themselves once in a while to the tasting with premium parings and remember what we all work so hard day to day for!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding! We had an amazing meal with ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Outstanding! We had an amazing meal with fabulous service. Beautiful restaurant with a noteable wine list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, attentive service. This ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent food, attentive service. This is a great place to go for low-key, quiet meals with a few people when you want really good food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have not been to teatro for quite some ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have not been to teatro for quite some time. There are so many great places in Calgary now. We eat out often and I was excited to go back to teatro as it has been a staple of the Calgary foodie scene for almost 3 decades.

Firstly, the food was marvellous! In this regard we were not disappointed at all. Our server however was well below what we believe a night at teatro is worth. She seemed rushed, disengaged and flat.

The support staff was impeccable as well, wine service was spot.

Would I go back, of course but not right away. There are so many wonderful options in Calgary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

We had the tasting menu and it was fanta ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had the tasting menu and it was fantastic, service was incredible I highly recommend dining here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous as always...I just keep on retu ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fabulous as always...I just keep on returning for the mushroom risotto and have been happily making way through the menu. We had special dietary requests and a diner who had to leave early...everything was dealt with graciously. Another lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It has been 6 years since I last ate at ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It has been 6 years since I last ate at Teatro; it was like meeting up with an old friend. Menu remains excellent and innovative. The seafood lasagne was superb. We will be back and not wait another 6 years.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely restaurant and good value for the ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Lovely restaurant and good value for the $25 express lunch they offer. I haven't dined here other than the lunch as it is exceptional value. Great attentive service and gorgeous decor.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband had the pork chop which he sa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

My husband had the pork chop which he said was good but nothing exceptional. I ordered the duck breast (I adore Magret de Canard which is so wonderful in the Dordogne) but I did not think the presentation was attractive or appealing as it was 3 big chunks on the plate. The jus de pomegranate was almost nonexistent so did not add anything to the rather tasteless duck breast. It was a disappointment.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quick Bite
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding restaurant. Everything was ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Outstanding restaurant. Everything was exceptionally good. Would definitely go there again.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.