About Taylor's Kitchen

2924 Freeport Blvd
Sacramento, CA 95818
View Larger Map

Taylor's Kitchen is a charming, neighborhood restaurant nestled in between Land Park and Curtis Park. Chef Richard Telford's weekly changing menu benefits from his relationship with local farmers and ranchers. One of Sacramento's "best kept culinary secrets", Taylor's is perennially on at or near the top of Zagat's list in food quality. The wine list is always changing features wines hand selected by Master Sommelier candidate, Keith Fergel, formerly of The San Francisco's Fifth Floor and Yountville's The French Laundry.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: W-Sa 5:00pm-9:30pm
Brunch Sunday 9:00am-1:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 443-5154

Website:
http://www.taylorskitchen.com/

Catering:
Taylor's Kitchen can create a custom tailored catering experience for special events off all kinds. Taylor's is a full service, farm to fork caterer. We can host cocktail parties, buffets or full service dining. Please contact Keith Fergel, Restaurant and Catering Manager, for pricing and menu options.

Parking Details:
Taylor's Kitchen shares parking with Taylor's Market. Guests are welcome to park in front of the market or restaurant.

Public Transit:
Public transportation is very convenient, as Taylor's is located directly across Freeport Boulevard from the Fourth Avenue, Wayne Holtgren light rail station.

Executive Chef:
Justin Lower

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Taylor's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
American
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Neighborhood Gem (23)
Special Occasion (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (9)
Seasonal (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Cozy (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Healthy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Business Meals (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had a delightful dinner at Taylor's Ki ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

I had a delightful dinner at Taylor's Kitchen - and my friend, who was there for the first time, really enjoyed it as well. I left wondering why I don't go more often - and I will. My friend and I were making spontaneous plans the other night and wanted interesting food in a setting that was quiet enough to allow for a really good, unimpeded conversation. We were particularly happy with Taylor's because of the cozy dining room and the fact that it was quiet without the sound being dull or flat. Just a nice, low buzz and real conversational ease, with no need to put energy into screening out noise.

The food was delicious - we shared an appetizer (crepes made with a beet reduction and filled with a lemony goat cheese preparation) and an exceptional "dry scallop" dish ("dry scallop" signifying, I think, that the chef really knows how to cook scallops so that the outside caramelizes and the scallops don't exude liquid in a way that makes searing impossible). The scallops were sweet, succulent, and perfectly prepared (lovely brown outside, cooked through but not a tad overcooked inside). I'm a very good home cook but have always struggled with scallops, so I particularly appreciate the skill that this entails. We feasted our eyes, not our bodies, on the exceptional dessert menu and found the coffee (which, at that time of day, we had to make decaf) to be excellent. Great, flavorful, crusty bread paired with high-quality butter on the table during our meal.

Service was attentive and expert. The server was knowledgeable about the menu, and careful to make sure she understood our preferences and requests. We felt comfortably lingering until our long conversation ended.

Good going, folks, I'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is delicious, inventive, and lo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is delicious, inventive, and locally-sourced. The staff is friendly, welcoming, and knowledgable. When out-of-town friends visit, we always take them to Taylor's Kitchen. Often, they go next door to Taylor's Market afterwards to buy a bottle of the excellent wine they had at dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for business meeting. Wonder ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place for business meeting. Wonderful service and food.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wanted to try but live out of tow ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always wanted to try but live out of town. Happy to have finally had an opportunity to dine here! Foie Gras, Pork chop, and Rib-eye steak were delicious and we shared the apple cake and buttermilk ice cream. Service was delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and a inventive menu.. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful service and a inventive menu.. We are never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made our reservations for an after-th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We made our reservations for an after-theatre dinner. The play ended earlier than expected, but the restaurant was able to accommodate us early with no fuss. Our salads and entrees were excellent, and the service, as usual, impeccable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food and great service. Staff is al ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good food and great service. Staff is always helpful and attentive. Keith, the manager, knows the customers and their interests in food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place. Amazing appetizers, wife ha ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Nice place. Amazing appetizers, wife had Shaft's Blue Cheese Gnocchi, I had Pasta Dave's Cavatelli, both very tasty, good presentation. Main courses, while tasty, were not really satisfactory, both my wife's (Pork Loin Chop) and mine (Dry Aged Ribeye) were not close to hot, like they'd been sitting a while, and her Pork was overly salty. Aside from the temperature I enjoyed my Ribeye, and we liked the atmosphere. We used to live in Land Park and would probably go back and give it another shot if we were still here, but we're out in Carmichael now so probably won't make the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Always a great meal and an interesting n ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always a great meal and an interesting new menu. Very accommodating to each diner's preferences and a great wine list too. One of our favorite neighborhood spots for a nice relaxing meal where you can talk (hear) and enjoy good food with good friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff went out of their way to find me a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Staff went out of their way to find me a lint roller because white napkin + black pants = disaster. Thank you!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited this place as it was featured ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We visited this place as it was featured in the new book Inside Sacramento: The Most Interesting Places in America's Farm-to-Fork Capital. It was our first time and it was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casey, the new chef has been a wonderful ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Casey, the new chef has been a wonderful addition. Fabulous things are coming out of her kitchen .

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fun, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Subtle and just right amount t of attent ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Subtle and just right amount t of attentive service and delicious suggestions. We are through the appetizer menu and felt everything was just what it needed to be, simple and refined.

If it's still in season when you visit, don't miss the chief pear soup, beluga lentils and some of the best foie gras I've had in ages.

My friend and I had a truly special night just by virtue of the whole experience around our meal and the wine. It'll be our go-to reunion spot.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Organic, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always exceptional and to ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The service is always exceptional and tonight was no different. Steve, Fernando, Erica and Ally never disappoint and they were all attentive and informative without being intrusive. We love sitting at the bar!! The food was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic. Cute small local ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The food was fantastic. Cute small local eatery with very personable service. Specials change often. Rib Eye was exceptional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took friends from out of town to dinner ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Took friends from out of town to dinner at Taylors. They had a great Farm to Fork week menu that was very tasty and reasonably priced. Everyone really enjoyed their meals. We really like this neighborhood restaurant!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food is of the caliber of fine dinin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food is of the caliber of fine dining in San Francisco.I would recommend highly.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Food was superb with complex flavors. Th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was superb with complex flavors. The staff was organized, personable and genuinely attentive - especially when a medical emergency occurred with another patron. Everyone acted professionally (and yes - there was a Doctor in the house!) and it resolved nicely. I did not expect to enjoy an excellent Cappuccino just the way I like it - smooth. We drove in from Winters and it was very much worth the drive. We're definitely going back. -mw

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'd moved away from Sacramento and had ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We'd moved away from Sacramento and had not eaten at Taylor's Kitchen in four years. The food was always good, but after our recent dining experience, we felt Taylor's has "taken it up a notch." We shared a delicious foie gras starter, which the Som suggested we pair with a sweet riesling--a super tasty salty/sweet combination. Then we split an excellent beet salad. For our entrees we ordered Dry Scallops which came with a creamed cauliflower curry sauce, and a pork chop with a red onion soubise (sauce). Attentive service. Big thumbs up for Taylor's Kitchen. Thanks for a great date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Service excellent.. Food was pretty good ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service excellent.. Food was pretty good, as well. It was a Busy Friday evening so it was full and noisy if your looking for a romantic evening try them during the week might be less busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I count myself lucky to live near Taylor ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 2, 2016

I count myself lucky to live near Taylor's....delicious inventive food using the freshest ingredients. I look forward to coming back very soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Taylor's has been one of our favorite lo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Taylor's has been one of our favorite local places to eat. Usually the service is excellent. I am said to report that this time, however, the server was not very attentive to our table. I think he usually runs the bar. Also, the food took a very long time to be prepared. The servings were small, except for the burger (which is fantastic and a bargain).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

A unique place to share an evening with ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 21, 2016

A unique place to share an evening with those special in your life. Very real.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasantly surprised by the updated menu ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by the updated menu and food quality. Would be nice to also see updated decor to go along with it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

I have taken different family members to ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 18, 2016

I have taken different family members to Taylor's cafe during the last 5 years. This time was a 60ith birthday. Every one really likes it. Good service, good food and we can walk to it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

100 degree day and air conditioning was ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 18, 2016

100 degree day and air conditioning was not working so unpleasant right away. Food was served beautifully but was not particularly tasty. Dessert was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Taylor's was a very nice experience. The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Taylor's was a very nice experience. The service was excellent (quick and attentive) and the food was nicely presented and delicious. The blue cheese gnocchi stood out as particularly yummy. Salads (bean salad and beet salad) were fresh and creative. Salmon was fantastic. Dessert (berry crisp) was very nice. Tad on the expensive side but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great time. We both had the chicke ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Had a great time. We both had the chicken dinner and enjoyed every bite. She started with a fresh tomato salad and I had the sweetbreads. Both were wonderful. A lovely bottle of wine, very attentive service, happy date. All went well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Came here for our anniversary- highly re ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Came here for our anniversary- highly recommended! Food was fantastic and service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always the best place ever!

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always the best place ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I think that the concept is good, but th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I think that the concept is good, but the execution was just ok. Had the lamb special and felt like the bean purée was overly spiced. The lamb itself needed to have a better sear with more of the fat cooked off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The bread and Pasta Dave appetizer were ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The bread and Pasta Dave appetizer were fantastic. The service was excellent. It was a bit warm in the dining room - a sign on the front door indicated that their A/C couldn't keep up with the Sacramento heat wave that week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was a wonderful experience. Both My ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was a wonderful experience. Both My husband & I enjoyed our meals. The service was awesome. Loved the rolls. My scallops were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a treat to eat here. Sommelier i ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always a treat to eat here. Sommelier incredibly knowledgeable and willing to suggest some good pairings. All staff attentive to detail. Love eating here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were outstanding. The s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. The staff work together to provide greater attention to diners. They made us feel important.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Please have Cristophe return as a guest ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Please have Cristophe return as a guest chef. His food was outstanding. We heat at Taylor's quite often and the food, service, etc. are always excellent. Cristophe's cooking was a rare treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had heard about this restaurant due it ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 14, 2016

I had heard about this restaurant due its reputation for using organic ingredients for it's food and overall reputation. I liked that it was in Land Park and not in the typical downtown/midtown Sacramento food scene. My ribeye was so tender you really did not need a steak knife to cut it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu provided a wonderful assortment ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The menu provided a wonderful assortment of choices. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Our server was helpful and very attentive. We chose Taylor's Kitchen because we wanted to give our daughter a wonderful dinner for her birthday. Thank you to everyone responsible for a delightful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have dined at Taylor's ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I have dined at Taylor's Kitchen many times since it opened and it gets better and better - although we did not think that was possible! This last Saturday we sat at our favorite spot at the wine bar, next to the wall, and enjoyed the elements of a "tasting menu" that Steve, our waitperson/ bartender, put together for us. Totally delicious! We really enjoy the ambiance and the interaction between staff and diners - we notice that many of the staff has been with the restaurant for years, as have many of the diners.

Typically we will each have appetizers, a salad choice, an entree and finish with a dessert but the tasting option, done by splitting several of the appetizers and an entree, was perfect for us this last visit. It was very hard, though, to pass on those dessert offerings -.

We are very fortunate to have Taylor's Kitchen as a dining option. It is well worth the half hour drive in from Yolo County.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love. The food is always ex ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Love, love, love. The food is always exceptional as are the wines. We were hoping to have the chefs tasting menu but it wasn't available the night we came, however, when chef heard our request, we were told we could choose five and they would make us a tasting menu with parings. To order! Who does that?!

What an amazing place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.