About Taylor's Kitchen

2924 Freeport Blvd
Sacramento, CA 95818
View Larger Map

Taylor's Kitchen is a charming, neighborhood restaurant nestled in between Land Park and Curtis Park. Chef Richard Telford's weekly changing menu benefits from his relationship with local farmers and ranchers. One of Sacramento's "best kept culinary secrets", Taylor's is perennially on at or near the top of Zagat's list in food quality. The wine list is always changing features wines hand selected by Master Sommelier candidate, Keith Fergel, formerly of The San Francisco's Fifth Floor and Yountville's The French Laundry.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: W-Sa 5:00pm-9:30pm
Brunch Sunday 9:00am-1:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 443-5154

Website:
http://www.taylorskitchen.com/

Catering:
Taylor's Kitchen can create a custom tailored catering experience for special events off all kinds. Taylor's is a full service, farm to fork caterer. We can host cocktail parties, buffets or full service dining. Please contact Keith Fergel, Restaurant and Catering Manager, for pricing and menu options.

Parking Details:
Taylor's Kitchen shares parking with Taylor's Market. Guests are welcome to park in front of the market or restaurant.

Public Transit:
Public transportation is very convenient, as Taylor's is located directly across Freeport Boulevard from the Fourth Avenue, Wayne Holtgren light rail station.

Executive Chef:
Justin Lower

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Taylor's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
American
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento
American
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

fit for foodies (40)
neighborhood gem (38)
special occasion (30)
See All
romantic (18)
notable wine list (14)
great for brunch (9)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (2)
good for groups (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service2

We went for Father's Day Brunch. There w ...

Dined 6 days ago

We went for Father's Day Brunch. There was nothing noted that it was going to be a limited Pre Fixe menu on their website or on Open Table that I noted. The Pre Fixe menu was terrible, I could have made better food at home. For $29.00 you got a small basket of pastries, an egg strata, bacon and the worst sausage I have ever eaten. The worst brunch I have ever had. All four of us said we would never go back.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We received excellent service and the fo ...

Dined 6 days ago

We received excellent service and the food was fabulous!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were planning to go out for sushi for ...

Dined 6 days ago

We were planning to go out for sushi for father's day dinner but decided to try Taylor's Kitchen. So glad we did. Service and food were both top-notch and we all came away filled, satisfied and with at least one take-away meal of left overs.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as always

Dined on June 11, 2016

Taylors is always changing their menu just a bit, based upon what is in season. This visit we shared the squash soup which was excellent, with the little dab of bacon jam on top being out of this world. They were kind enough to split it into 2 bowls for us rather than just bringing two spoons. It was of course served with their to-die-for warm crusty bread. Afterward I had the bread salad, which had peaches, cucumbers, green beans, and incredible croutons- it was unique and fantastic. We both loved our entrees- big bone in steaks, perfectly done. The sides were amazing. The only disappointment was the shortcake part of the strawberry shortcake dessert- it had been made ahead and was still quite firm and cold, like it had just come from the freezer. The other parts of the dessert were great. We go to Taylors once or twice a month (even though we don't live in the neighborhood) just because it is so darn good, and this time was no exception.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Taylors continues to consistently provid ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Taylors continues to consistently provide exceptional quality food in a neighborhood location. Less than 10 minutes from midtown this overall quality of the food is worth the effort to get here p. We had the perfectly seared fois gras , kohlrabi gazpacho , and seared copper river salmon from Alaska..phenomenal meal that would be twice the price in SF or Seattle. Very good and varied wine list and reasonably priced. All in all a delightful culinary experience, very friendly and attentive service, and reasonably priced.

food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Pleasant Dinner

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

We eat at Taylor's Kitchen motivated by reviews in Open Table. We were not disappointed. Well the dinning experience would not be classified as "fine dining", the ambiance, staff and food were all very good. Taylor's Kitchen is a small, neighborhood restaurant offering a quiet and relaxed dining experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Celebrated our anniversary - sat at the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary - sat at the counter so we could watch the chefs. Food was very good - I love Pasta Dave's pasta, so Taylor's makes me happy. Of course, I ate all of my pasta so I didn't have room for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Mother's day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

My Mom seemed happy with what we got, though I hoped for something a little more impressive due to the restaurants reputation.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

mothers day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent Mother's day brunch with fresh fruit, fresh pastries, top quality bacon and sausage, well prepared potatoes. Unfortunately the quiche Lorraine was barely warm and had a congealed consistency, marring an otherwise great brunch.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was ready upon our arrival wi ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything was ready upon our arrival with a party of 6. Service was very casual, but very professional and personable. The food was outstanding. We had a wonderful brunch. Very fresh fruit and it was all ripe and ready to be eaten. Detail was given to the preparation of the food and not to be taken lightly. It was a great meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

We brought a friend who lived in Land Pa ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We brought a friend who lived in Land Park almost 20 years ago. She couldn't believe that a restaurant like Taylors Kitchen existed outside of San Francisco. The food was imaginative and delicious. We are so lucky to live walking distance from this wonderful place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

Dined on May 8, 2016

Taylor's Kitchen is new to us and now part of our fine dining rotation in Sacramento!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Pleasant Experience

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Taylor's Kitchen has been a well known local spot with consistent repeat business and loyal clientele for some time. There are reasons for this. The food continues to be executed exceptionally well and the dining experience is seamless given the detail oriented staff. This particular occasion was no different. Keith, the Manager is also the restaurant's Sommelier and was spot on with his recommendations given our menu choices. He was patient and did not hesitate to spend time with us, sharing his knowledge and suggestions. His passion for the restaurant and the wine program are evident. We decided to make it a true 4 course night and none of the dishes disappointed. The wine was of course fantastic. Its nice to see a restaurant with such a successful history continue to stick to its values while providing progressive options for its patrons that recognize changes in the way people think about food and fine dining. Well done.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best in Sacramento

Dined on April 30, 2016

This restaurant has consistently great food, great service and a great wine selection. Luckily for me, I live down the street from Taylor's Kitchen. Very imaginative dishes!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Portions are rather small but the ambian ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Portions are rather small but the ambiance is very lovely.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Very thoughtful and attentive crew. Excellent food and experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, relaxed atmosphere. Great ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food, relaxed atmosphere. Great price points on wine list.

food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite place in Land Park. The serv ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

My favorite place in Land Park. The service, food and ambience is excellent. I highly recommend Taylors.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Easy and great

Dined on April 15, 2016

Always have a great meal here. The help are always friendly and the menu has a great choice..not to mention the wine list.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great place!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Such a great place!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great first time.

Dined on April 8, 2016

I knew Taylors was here but hadn't enjoyed it before. Wow!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite in Sacramento

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

For a nice evening out we always pick Taylor's Kitchen. All starts with the friendly welcome by the Manager. The food is outstanding, nicely presented and the portions are just right. The service is great, it seems that all waitstaff have an eye on all tables, empty breadbaskets are filled immediately, wineglasses refilled. I had the pasta dish - with an unusual name - , the best pasta in a long long time. Better than in Italy.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good

Dined on April 2, 2016

We love Taylor's and go as often as we can. The menu is ever-changing but always good. Food is usually outstanding. On this occasion the food was excellent, though not outstanding. The lamb was perfect but the cod had a few bones. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Small menu Good food

Dined on March 19, 2016

Small menu Good food

food3
ambience5
service2
value1

An Interesting Experience

Dined on March 13, 2016

Let's start with the positive. Starters were absolutely awesome! The octopus is to die for. The gnocchi was the perfect tenderness. Cheese selection was superb. Great wine list. Yummy bread. My husband's entree, Veal T-Bone was killer. The restaurant is lovely and quiet. I had very high expectations for Taylors and, unfortunately, the restaurant missed the mark primarily due to our server. I felt like she didn't like us. That's fine, if that's how she feels, but a customer should never know. The server was friendly but in a passive aggressive way. It was a very strange experience. For a meal with a ticket of over $500, I feel that you should leave satisfied with the experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Intimate and Warm

Dined on March 6, 2016

Taylor's Kitchen is our favorite neighborhood restaurant, and perhaps favorite restaurant, period. The menu features seasonal favorites, with a farm-to-fork feel. Always high quality. We feel like we are treated as friends from the moment we walk in the door. While being seated, our servers ask if we want our "usual" starter, whether a glass of sparkling wine for my wife or a blood orange soda for my teenage sons. Starter plates are creative and delicious...especially the cheese plate (always creative and yummy). The fresh pasta, butcher-prepared meat cuts, fresh ground burger...all provide the foundation for a great meal. The ambiance is intimate but not stuffy, suitable for our family or just a nice romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food and service

Dined on March 3, 2016

Fernando was our waited and he was very good--attentive but not overly so. The food was very good. My friend had the pork, which I tasted and will order a whole for myself next time. It was the best--flavorful and moist--pork chop I have ever had. I order the trout, which was also prepared very well. Excellent meal and experience. I will be back--for a pork chop!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great service at Taylor's...the farro salad was fantastic! Our server and the manager were very attentive. Nice ambiance...great neighborhood spot...looking forward to walking over in the summer.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought my partner here for Valentine's ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Brought my partner here for Valentine's Day. Was absolutely BLOWN AWAY by the excellent food and the superior service. The ricotta gnocchi was to die for. The beet salad was very tasty. Both of our entrees - Scallops and Filet - were cooked perfectly. Dessert (almond cake and red velvet cheesecake) was phenomenal. Above all, the service was second-to-none. Our server did an excellent job of being attentive, but also not TOO attentive. She filled our glasses promptly when they were running low, was very courteous, and had an excellent table-side manner. We will be returning here very, very soon.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Needed More Oysters

Dined on February 15, 2016

We booked this restaurant through Open Table for a combination Valentine's Day/Birthday special dinner. The manager kindly called us a week before the date to inform us that the menu was Prix Fixe for the Valentine's Dinner and was going to be $75 per diner. This was to include three courses: appetizer (to share), entree, and dessert. I asked what the choices might be and he gave me the menu choices over the phone. They all sounded delicious, and we agreed to accept the arrangement. The manager did mention oysters as one of the appetizers, so we were looking forward to that as my husband loves oysters and it was his birthday. When we arrived a little early, there was no problem seating us and we ordered a drink apiece to start. We were given the menu, and we made our selections. The appetizer was served and we looked on in much disappointment. There were only four oysters! And this was an appetizer to share. This wouldn't even be a serving for one - if we were ordering off a regular menu. It didn't ruin the evening, but it put a bit of a damper on it. The filet steaks were small, but excellent; extremely tender and tasty. The desserts were perfect. Taken altogether, however, we did not think the menu measured up to the $75 cost. We travel a lot and enjoy fine dining wherever we are, so it's not a matter of not wanting to spend our money. We just didn't think this particular meal was worth it. We do look forward to eating again some time at Taylor's Kitchen, but not when the menu is fixed price.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Taylor's Kitchen

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

First visit and it was awesome! Food was delicious, service was top notch. The atmosphere is very cozy and comfortable, get lighting. Cant wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

This restaurant had great food, and we were lucky to get a great server. I thought the place would be a bit more dressy, but overall it was good. I thought the cost was a bit steep, but for a special occasion it was worth a try.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Romantic date night

Dined on February 7, 2016

I took my husband here for his birthday. Neither of us had ever been in the past and we live only 5 minutes away. The menu selection was great, however, it wasn't a lot of food. It's more about the flavors and ambiance here. Personally, I would go to Press Bistro, The Porch etc next time, but definitely worth a try!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great and very generous pate plate follo ...

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

Great and very generous pate plate followed by veal osso bucco and expertly roasted chicken. The best service in Sacramento!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb

Dined on January 24, 2016

Wonderful first time experience. Fantastic atmosphere, food and wine. Only negative was we did not like sitting in middle of restaurant and would have liked our steaks to come out a little hotter. Other than that we will definitely return. Superb service. Steak was also superb along with the cheese platter. Ice cream desert was ok.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Welcoming staff and terrific food

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

Just the kind of place you want to share with folks from other areas of Sacramento - high quality, great tasting meals, friendly and super professional staff, and a wine list with a wide variety of wines and prices. One of the best in Sacramento - Northern California even! A great salmon cooked perfectly and short ribs that are absolutely savory. Feel like we are in a bistro on a side street in France or Spain. A rare treat in Sacramento.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

My girlfriend and I are regulars at Taylor's Kitchen. Recently, we noticed the food quality had dropped. I asked a server and learned the original chef left and a new chef was hired. We had the fix menu on New Years Eve. All of the courses were disappointing. I really hope changes are made soon.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great pre-Christmas dinner. Staff were a ...

Dined on December 24, 2015

Great pre-Christmas dinner. Staff were attentive, service was great. Prime rib special was perfectly cooked, and the beet salad was very flavorful. Great evening.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best fine dining experiences ...

vip
Dined on December 20, 2015

One of the best fine dining experiences I've ever had. Everything was outstanding, and the service was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

perfect evening w friends enjoying lovely dinner

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

Absolutely wonderful food. Attentive but not interfering wait staff. Nice wine, but this evening a bit too pricey (our fault we didn't pay closer attention). The most accommodating and personal restaurant in Sacramento. Miss the "old chefs" but just because of personal attention in the past-- obviously, these folks are very talented as well. Our "go-to" place. If you don't see an opentable reservation available when you want to go...by all means call them.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.