Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Taylor's Kitchen

Taylor's Kitchen is a charming, neighborhood restaurant nestled in between Land Park and Curtis Park. Chef Richard Telford's weekly changing menu benefits from his relationship with local farmers and ranchers. One of Sacramento's "best kept culinary secrets", Taylor's is perennially on at or near the top of Zagat's list in food quality. The wine list is always changing features wines hand selected by Master Sommelier candidate, Keith Fergel, formerly of The San Francisco's Fifth Floor and Yountville's The French Laundry.

2924 Freeport Blvd
Sacramento, CA 95818
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: W-Sa 5:00pm-9:30pm
Brunch Sunday 9:00am-1:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 443-5154

Website:
http://www.taylorskitchen.com/

Catering:
Taylor's Kitchen can create a custom tailored catering experience for special events off all kinds. Taylor's is a full service, farm to fork caterer. We can host cocktail parties, buffets or full service dining. Please contact Keith Fergel, Restaurant and Catering Manager, for pricing and menu options.

Parking Details:
Taylor's Kitchen shares parking with Taylor's Market. Guests are welcome to park in front of the market or restaurant.

Public Transit:
Public transportation is very convenient, as Taylor's is located directly across Freeport Boulevard from the Fourth Avenue, Wayne Holtgren light rail station.

Executive Chef:
Justin Lower

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Taylor's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (23)
Local Ingredients (20)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Cozy (13)
Seasonal (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Romantic (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Casual (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Organic (4)
Authentic (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Taylors sourcing, freshness, and preparation are simply better than its peers. Every item simply tasted better than Ive had almost anywhere else, and our server made excellent suggestions and clearly loves food and enjoys his work. Just go if you ve never been, thank me later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Went to Taylor's due to availability on Open Table. It was such a great discovery. Delicious meals had by all 4 of us. The tomato/mozzarella was a hit due to fresh mozz. Great options for all courses. For a vegetarian option the Johnny Cakes were delish with a little bit of heat in the sauce! Will go there again for sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Wonderful well prepared food with a great wine list and by the glass as well. Taylors consistently serves some the best food in town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was superb! My wife had the duck breast and I the scallops. Both dishes were cooked to perfection and wonderfully seasoned. The scallops melted in my mouth. The accompanying local vegetables were also perfectly cooked and seasoned. The service by our server, Mitch and the other staff members was just the right level of attentiveness. Dessert was a cornbread pudding and lime sherbet which was the perfect end to a memorable meal..We will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I made these reservations for our 39th Wedding anniversary. I think Taylors is a pretty neighborhood place, the service is friendly and the food is fresh. When we entered the restaurant the waiter directed us to sit at a badly situated table next to the entry door. I explained To him that it was our wedding anniversary and he gave us a better seat and a glass of complimentary bubbly. That was a great thing because we were going to walk out if they didn't do something. as it was, the bad table was still empty throughout the entire evening. Did they treat my reservation that way because of Open Table? I've been there many times and they have always been nice. Why would they do that to a costumer? Saving the best seats for better people then us? Also, My streak was difficult to cut, even with the special steak knife.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a very attentive waiter who made suggestions and gave details on preparation of dishes. Generous portions and great flavors. Weather was nice enough that large windows were opened which almost made us feel we were dining on a patio. I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Service was very good. Food was delicious. Especially loved the Strawberry & Herbed Goat Cheese and the Roasted Asparagus salads. So many delicious flavors can be tasted in these salads. Dry Aged Rib Eye steak was so tender and loaded with flavor. Didn't care for the red onion and proscuitto bread pudding that accompanied the steak.
The night I had dinner at the restaurant, the air conditioner was not working properly which made the dining experience somewhat uncomfortable. While the decor is charming and nice, it is a little too noisy for me.
I would definitely go back--especially for the scrumptious salads.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 23, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary. I arrived 30 min early and had flower that the staff arranged in a vase for ou table and the anniversary ring was give to our friend and head chef to put on a preordered dessert to be brought out at the end of the meal. My son was my wife's chauffeur, all the way down from Pollock Pines, to the restaurant! The staff was very accommodating and helpful and friendly! Chef Casey is top notch and very talanted with all that she does their! Highly recommend Taylors Kitchen . You will not be disappointed! Thank you Taylors Kitchen and chef Casey!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Organic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our dinners were well seasoned and beautifully presented. We were impressed with the quality of our dinners.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed a delightful Mother's Day brunch at Taylor's. Good food (especially the quiche!), friendly service. Taylor's is a GREAT neighborhood restaurant , one at which we usually enjoy dinner. The staff always treat us like long-lost friends, the ambiance is warm but not overstated, and the food is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food is always tastefully prepared. Fresh ingredients, attentive wait staff. Only drawback is that the place is small, so the tables are spaced close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food and exceptional service! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The first courses and salads are the real stars, but the entrees are outstanding as well. Excellent ingredients, interesting combinations,and mostly generous portions, The Farro salad with roasted vegetables was a flavor and texture bomb, and the beet salad, loaded with beets and other thinly sliced vegetables, a meal in itself. The beets were perfectly cooked. The lamb special had two serous loin chops and an array of seasonal vegetables.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Delicious steak tartare and foie gras. Arugula salad with strawberries and walnuts was plenty to share. Pop over was good, but almost too rich. Overall great experience for a simple birthday dinner for two.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We love Taylor's Kitchen for a guaranteed great meal when we are in the mood to eat well and pamper a bit. It is our neighborhood (Curtis Park/Land Park) good food spot. The music is always great and interesting because it is created by an expert. Taylor's Market next door has a great butcher shop so Taylor's Kitchen has the best cuts to serve. Wine is a specialty too.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent Easter Brunch! My family and I were very pleasantly surprised by the food offerings. Flavors and presentation were great. Wait staff was excellent and attentive to all of our needs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday fixed menu, served family style, delicious and filling, enjoyed a few more mimosas along the way...will return in the future to sample the dinner menu

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I like Taylor's. The food is first rate. Top quality ingredients. Very fair wine prices. Kind and caring service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our dining experience could not have been better! The food and the service were equally "top-shelf". We were dining early in the evening, so, we had the advantage of having the place to ourselves for the first 30-45 minutes of our time there.
The staff was friendly, prompt, attentive and well-informed.
The food was delicious, well-presented and served at exactly the right pace.
Our plans are to return regularly.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Always very good. Love that it is in our neighborhood.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food good but small portions for money. Service sloooooow. Ribeye tender and tasty. Mushroom soup tooooo vinegary.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Have been here many times... Never disappoints... great neighborhood restaurant!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Lovely restaurant with good food and excellent service. The plates are creative, meaning they have several components and accompanying sauces. Perhaps a little to busy/ambitious. Good use of seasonal vegetables.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Always a nice dining experience. The service was excellent, the food was very good. We brought friends from San Francisco, and they truly enjoyed it. We live in the neighborhood, and it is great to have such a good restaurant so close to home.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Service was outstanding. Food lovely and wine a bit over priced. Will bring our wine next time and pay corkage

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We had an outstanding meal. From the starters to the entrees, everything had layers of flavor and was cooked or prepared perfectly. Our waiter was great and made some great wine selections for us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent as always. They never dissapoint. Excellent staff

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food is always prepared well qnd the service is excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We had not been to Taylor's for quite some time because, frankly, we were not all that impressed with the food on those previous occasions. Things have changed! The current chef is making quite a difference in the menu and the quality of the menu items has greatly improved. The restaurant still has a great neighborhood feel to it, but the food should attract diners from any neighborhood.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was beautifully prepared and delicious without exception. Cute restaurant but felt overly packed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Overall, a little crowded and noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful birthday dinner. Loved the menu and food was amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My husband and I came for an early Valentine's Day celebration. It was a rainy evening and the restaurant was warm and inviting. The table we were given was too close to the bar and the bright lights from the kitchen, so next time I'll remember to request a table on the other side of the restaurant, which is lovely. Our server was very attentive and pleasant. My first course, a creamy mushroom soup, was outstanding. It had great flavor and was served very hot. My husband ordered gnocchi for his first course, and he was very happy with it. For the main course, I ordered a bison rib-eye special, and my husband ordered beef rib-eye. My bison had a terrific flavor and was cooked a perfect medium-rare. My husband's steak was also good, and prepared with a wonderful chimichurri sauce. We were too full for desert, but we each had an espresso to end our meal, and we were glad we did, because it was well-prepared with high-quality beans. We left very happy!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Lovely, as always. We are regulars, for good reason. The mushroom soup was absolutely amazing, as was the bison ribeye. The menu always changes just enough to keep it interesting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Everything is very well prepared with helpful service but it is overpriced, especially for a neighborhood restaurant, with some items over $30.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The specials and salads that night were exceptional. Always locally sourced and seasonal. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I took my husband for his birthday.. I requested a cozy table . We were seated in the middle of the floor right in the walkway. We were so cold from the door being opened, we asked to be moved. The server was kind and professional. We did have to ask twice for the glass of wine ordered. We had steak tar tare, probably the best I have ever had. I could have had that as my meal. We also had the foe gras, very tasty, Served with silver dollar pancakes. (Uneventful) the main course was scallops , husband said they were "just OK" I had a taste and thought they were a bit fishy. I ordered the rib-eye. The meat was seasoned a bit on the salty side, but still an excellent cut of meat. I was a bit disappointed in the temperature of the meat as I had ordered rare. Some places have difficulty preparing a true rare steak. I would say it was more medium rare. Dessert was also a bit of a disappointment. Husband selected 3 flavors of ice-milk and same flavor of cookie. It was served as a watermelon scoop with the same size cookie, the flavor was just a hint, nothing to right home about.. I would probably go back to sit at the bar and have the tar tare again, and a nice glass of wine.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We hadn't been to Taylor's Kitchen in a while and decided to have a quick early diner there. We were very glad we did. Red Oak lettuce salad was great. We also shared a wonderful scallops dish and their aged rib eye.... both were cooked perfectly. They had a good Sonoma Coast pinot on the menu that worked well with our dishes. The service was very good and we will come back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 25, 2017

As usual, no problems with the food at all, it's beyond reproachable...the problem this time (hasn't been a problem in the past ) was the amount of time it took to be served our entree (one hour!)...this was for a 6:30 seating for 3, and the place was 2/3 empty when we placed our order...they were kind enough to comp soup, dessert, just felt the time waiting for the entree was excessive

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I have been going to Taylor's Kitchenn for years, but their chef has really kicked it up a notch. Food was outstanding!l

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.