Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Taylor's Kitchen

Taylor's Kitchen is a charming, neighborhood restaurant nestled in between Land Park and Curtis Park. Chef Richard Telford's weekly changing menu benefits from his relationship with local farmers and ranchers. One of Sacramento's "best kept culinary secrets", Taylor's is perennially on at or near the top of Zagat's list in food quality. The wine list is always changing features wines hand selected by Master Sommelier candidate, Keith Fergel, formerly of The San Francisco's Fifth Floor and Yountville's The French Laundry.

2924 Freeport Blvd
Sacramento, CA 95818
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: W-Sa 5:00pm-9:30pm
Brunch Sunday 9:00am-1:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 443-5154

Website:
http://www.taylorskitchen.com/

Catering:
Taylor's Kitchen can create a custom tailored catering experience for special events off all kinds. Taylor's is a full service, farm to fork caterer. We can host cocktail parties, buffets or full service dining. Please contact Keith Fergel, Restaurant and Catering Manager, for pricing and menu options.

Parking Details:
Taylor's Kitchen shares parking with Taylor's Market. Guests are welcome to park in front of the market or restaurant.

Public Transit:
Public transportation is very convenient, as Taylor's is located directly across Freeport Boulevard from the Fourth Avenue, Wayne Holtgren light rail station.

Executive Chef:
Justin Lower

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Taylor's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (29)
Local Ingredients (21)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Creative Cuisine (20)
Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Cozy (12)
Romantic (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Authentic (5)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Organic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Ambience is cozy, and the chef endlessly creative without forcing it. Staff is friendly and efficient.

Tags: Organic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Disappointed. This was the third time we came here for dinner. The previous two visits were very good. We thought this was going to be our go to restaurant when we are in town for dinner. However, this time, it was different. My wife had the special, which was quail. The quail was cooked right and tasted very good. But, the cornbread was charred, like charcoal, on the bottom. I had lasagna with braised veal. When the waiter served it he cautioned me about the hot iron skillet. I cut into the lasagna, did not see any steam. The first bite, it was lukewarm. I thought maybe I just happen to get a unevenly cooked section. So I took another section, the same. I touched the skillet, it was just warm. I touched the center of lasagna, lukewarm. I told the waiter that the dish is lukewarm. He took it back to the kitchen to reheat it. Few minutes later, the same lasagna that was lukewarm before came back. It is warm this time, but just warm. Part of the Brussels sprouts garnish were burnt black. Seems to me the chef stuck the dish back into the oven and broiled it. I touched the skillet, it was just warm. If there was any cheese in this dish, I did not see any cheese strings. I took couple of bites, I was hungry, but can’t finish this lukewarm food. When the waitress came to take the plate away, we pointed out about the burnt Brussels sprouts and that it was still not hot, her reaction was equivalent to I did not cook the food, don’t blame me attitude. The charge was taken off the bill. But, I would have preferred a hot meal. Is reheating a dish that was not cooked properly the first time a proper thing to do? Who was doing the quality check that day? Well, we are going to look for a different restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Award celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was good with the exception of my son's veal was very salty

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Food was good but outrageously expensive. NEVER order the "special" without asking how much it costs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

I enjoy going to Taylor's Restaurant but this time I was very unhappy with my meal. I ordered a pork chop but it was very tough. I don't think I have ever had a pork chop as chewy as this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Always great. Knowledgeable and nice. Very comfortable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Epic burger! Perfection on a bun...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Taylor's continues to be a wonderful spot for dinner. The service was exceptional, the food excellent, and the ambience quiet and warm. Great experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Every dish was unique and delicious. Our server was gracious, authentic, and knowledgeable. Proud and lucky to have such a gem of a restaurant in our neighborhood!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Casual elegance in the hood, with wonderful food & service. Very enjoyable place to have a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

We love Taylor's Market and have now introduced our friends(who are foodies and Ellas's and the Kitchen fans) to it .....and they liked it
very much.....it was her B day and we were treated with kindness and grace... Thank
you, we will all return soon.....Thank you....Lynne

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The sommelier suggested an incredible Italian Barolo that complimented my duck breast as well as my husband's ribeye. Both dishes were outstanding. We also shared a kale salad and a cheese platter. Everything was on point. Ambiance was romantic and cozy. Service was excellent. We will absolutely return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 13, 2017

It doesn’t look like much from the outside but as soon as we walked in we knew we were in a special place. Then dinner was served and it got even better. A fabulous experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Taylor’s Kitchen never fails to deliver amazing meals. Favorite restaurant in Sacramento!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food and wine and staff ALWAYS make for a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

This was our first visit and we loved it. We were on our way to the movies so we were short on time. The restaurant was so lovely we almost decided to stay and enjoy it and skip the movie. The service was excellent and they got us out in perfect time without feeling rushed. A few of us just had a salad and a starter and they were satiated. The salads were generous and full of fresh seasonal ingredients. I had the scallops, which were perfect, and included mushrooms, carrots, and quinoa. My husband had the ribeye which was flavorful but a bit fatty, as it often is. Others had the burger and loved it. The chefs use loads of interesting mushrooms, fresh herbs, and seasonal vegetables to accompany the entrees. The wine list was varied, extensive and had a good price range. You can go there and eat great food for a modest price (salad and burger) or go all out with three courses plus dessert. We didn't have time for dessert this time but we will definitely go back and spend more time. The best part: it's quiet enough that you can actually enjoy a conversation! The ambiance was rustic and charming.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Romantic, Healthy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 21, 2017

A bit meat centric...needs more vegetarian options. There was only one. A little pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I love the vibe of this restaurant -- vibrant but warm and cozy. The farm to fork menu was exquisite. Options ranged from scallops, to pork loin chop to roast chicken. Creative appetizers as well. Great sommelier. And the desserts were perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great restaurant. Always outstanding, seasonal, well prepared food in a friendly neighborhood atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 26, 2017

First time visiting and was based on reviews/rating in OpenTable. Food was great and ambiance was, too. Looking forward to going back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Friends from across the country
And from sacramento. We all thought it was one of The best restaurants that we had tried in the Sacramento area

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Fantastic farm to fork food and great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Dinner tonight was fabulous. I love a good burger, and the burger at Taylor's with their top quality beef and milk bun is stunning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 18, 2017

For a small neighborhood restaurant, the menu selections were outstanding. Taylor's Kitchen could easily fit into the downtown scene, but instead it is out on Freeport Blvd. The food creations were original and tasty. Overall, an excellent choice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Upscale restaurant, pricey. People were dressed casual, t-shirt, jeans, and shorts.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Neighborhood restaurant with locally sourced flavorful dishes. Extensive wine list. Plenty of gourmet entrees at moderate prices. I tried the beet salad which was wonderful, and splurged on the aged ribeye, yummy. My wife had the duck breast and loved it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Simply wonderful food and always new specials to be savored. The pork chop is out of this world and the burger and fries are terrific, (though a bun from Roma's bakery would be a welcome change from the current bun). Everyone at Taylor's is welcoming and highly professional. They could write the book on how to create an inviting ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

What a great find! Great menu, excellent service, good wine and beer list (if they don't have it, they'll go next door to their adjoining market to get it!). Three of us had the ribeye, done to each of our specs perfectly and one had the swordfish which she reported was 'out of this world good!'.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food was fantastic the wine list was nice I had a great time celebrating my wifes birthday. We will definatly be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Taylors sourcing, freshness, and preparation are simply better than its peers. Every item simply tasted better than Ive had almost anywhere else, and our server made excellent suggestions and clearly loves food and enjoys his work. Just go if you ve never been, thank me later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Went to Taylor's due to availability on Open Table. It was such a great discovery. Delicious meals had by all 4 of us. The tomato/mozzarella was a hit due to fresh mozz. Great options for all courses. For a vegetarian option the Johnny Cakes were delish with a little bit of heat in the sauce! Will go there again for sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Wonderful well prepared food with a great wine list and by the glass as well. Taylors consistently serves some the best food in town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was superb! My wife had the duck breast and I the scallops. Both dishes were cooked to perfection and wonderfully seasoned. The scallops melted in my mouth. The accompanying local vegetables were also perfectly cooked and seasoned. The service by our server, Mitch and the other staff members was just the right level of attentiveness. Dessert was a cornbread pudding and lime sherbet which was the perfect end to a memorable meal..We will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I made these reservations for our 39th Wedding anniversary. I think Taylors is a pretty neighborhood place, the service is friendly and the food is fresh. When we entered the restaurant the waiter directed us to sit at a badly situated table next to the entry door. I explained To him that it was our wedding anniversary and he gave us a better seat and a glass of complimentary bubbly. That was a great thing because we were going to walk out if they didn't do something. as it was, the bad table was still empty throughout the entire evening. Did they treat my reservation that way because of Open Table? I've been there many times and they have always been nice. Why would they do that to a costumer? Saving the best seats for better people then us? Also, My streak was difficult to cut, even with the special steak knife.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a very attentive waiter who made suggestions and gave details on preparation of dishes. Generous portions and great flavors. Weather was nice enough that large windows were opened which almost made us feel we were dining on a patio. I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Service was very good. Food was delicious. Especially loved the Strawberry & Herbed Goat Cheese and the Roasted Asparagus salads. So many delicious flavors can be tasted in these salads. Dry Aged Rib Eye steak was so tender and loaded with flavor. Didn't care for the red onion and proscuitto bread pudding that accompanied the steak.
The night I had dinner at the restaurant, the air conditioner was not working properly which made the dining experience somewhat uncomfortable. While the decor is charming and nice, it is a little too noisy for me.
I would definitely go back--especially for the scrumptious salads.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 23, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary. I arrived 30 min early and had flower that the staff arranged in a vase for ou table and the anniversary ring was give to our friend and head chef to put on a preordered dessert to be brought out at the end of the meal. My son was my wife's chauffeur, all the way down from Pollock Pines, to the restaurant! The staff was very accommodating and helpful and friendly! Chef Casey is top notch and very talanted with all that she does their! Highly recommend Taylors Kitchen . You will not be disappointed! Thank you Taylors Kitchen and chef Casey!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Organic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our dinners were well seasoned and beautifully presented. We were impressed with the quality of our dinners.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.