About Taylor's Kitchen

2924 Freeport Blvd
Sacramento, CA 95818
View Larger Map

Taylor's Kitchen is a charming, neighborhood restaurant nestled in between Land Park and Curtis Park. Chef Richard Telford's weekly changing menu benefits from his relationship with local farmers and ranchers. One of Sacramento's "best kept culinary secrets", Taylor's is perennially on at or near the top of Zagat's list in food quality. The wine list is always changing features wines hand selected by Master Sommelier candidate, Keith Fergel, formerly of The San Francisco's Fifth Floor and Yountville's The French Laundry.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: W-Sa 5:00pm-9:30pm
Brunch Sunday 9:00am-1:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 443-5154

Website:
http://www.taylorskitchen.com/

Catering:
Taylor's Kitchen can create a custom tailored catering experience for special events off all kinds. Taylor's is a full service, farm to fork caterer. We can host cocktail parties, buffets or full service dining. Please contact Keith Fergel, Restaurant and Catering Manager, for pricing and menu options.

Parking Details:
Taylor's Kitchen shares parking with Taylor's Market. Guests are welcome to park in front of the market or restaurant.

Public Transit:
Public transportation is very convenient, as Taylor's is located directly across Freeport Boulevard from the Fourth Avenue, Wayne Holtgren light rail station.

Executive Chef:
Justin Lower

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Taylor's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (20)
Special Occasion (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Cozy (10)
Romantic (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Casual (8)
Seasonal (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fun (5)
Organic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Authentic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
276 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food & service, as always. Cra ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food & service, as always. Crab cakes big enough to share or have as entree- really fresh & tasty! Had pork loin chop & goose- both delicious. Love this neighborhood gem!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time at Taylor's Kitchen and i ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our first time at Taylor's Kitchen and it was very impressive. The food was outstanding. We had the pork chop and the lamb which was that evening's special. Especially enjoyed the white bean soup. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

One of my favorite restaurants in all of ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 4, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in all of Sacramento. Cozy, creative dishes, quality local ingredients, great service, and consistently excellent food. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not just delicious food, but also a wond ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not just delicious food, but also a wonderful attention to detail, with subtle and unexpected flavor pairings which elevate the quality of the dining experience... a definite winner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The NYE menu was fabulous. The staff is ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The NYE menu was fabulous. The staff is consistently attentive and a joy. We had a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great way to end 2016 with a fabulous me ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great way to end 2016 with a fabulous meal. Last minute reservation - and turned out to be an incredible pre fixe meal to end the year. The chef has really come into her own- with an inventive absolutely delicious meal. 6 courses, perfectly orchestrated - pushing a little on the menu to make us try new things. Amuse of foie gras - melted in the mouth. Then a faro salad w/ broccolini and cauliflower - very tasty buffalo mozarella. cauliflower soup w/ Indian flair - could have slurped a gallon. So good. Duck cooked perfectly with a sweet / citrus flavor. oh my so good. This chef is talented - all the preparation ahead of time was so appreciated. And then there is Keith and super professional servers who are personable, bright in the room and take pride in what they do. Great meal.......thanks for a lovely and most unexpected New Years Eve

treat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My only reservation with our New Years ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My only reservation with our New Years Eve dinner was the temperature. Very very chilly! Other than that, our evening was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My husband and I had a meal at Taylor's ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I had a meal at Taylor's Kitchen which was perfunctory, at best. Our server (female) was polite and professional. However, she was a bit clipped and her demeanor, while professional, lacked sincerity. We dined on a cold night and the lack of a curtain at the front door (which was the kind of door one uses to enter an old style drug store, not something you would expect at an expensive restaurant). This meant that every time someone entered the restaurant, the diners throughout the restaurant received a cold blast of air--creating a less than inviting ambiance. Between the intermittent blasts of cold air and our server's professional but cold demeanor, I must write that we really didn't notice the food except that my husband found that the squab (one of the specials of that night) was under-cooked. We can't recommend Taylor's Kitchen even though we really did want to like it. Simply put, the experience isn't worth the price charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent Chef with creative menu

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent Chef with creative menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The salmon was fantastic and so was the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The salmon was fantastic and so was the herbed popover. My husband's entree wasn't quite right, but they took care of it on the bill, which was really very generous and we will be back and will recommend. Sometimes the dish you order or cook yourself doesn't come out the way you planned. It is rare that a restaurant takes care of you as Taylor's did. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu was fantastic...hard to choose, ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The menu was fantastic...hard to choose, but ordered the farro salad which was fantastic and then the salmon. Both were great. If you go and the red velvet crepes are on the menu, do yourself a solid and share them with someone. Just sweet enough and the chocolate drizzle and oranges added subtle flavors that blended well together.

Make a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We celebrated a birthday at the restaura ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We celebrated a birthday at the restaurant. Great, attentive service. Very creative menu. Highly recommend for special occasion meal!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food here is outstanding. I was more ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food here is outstanding. I was more than pleased. I definite recommend. The celery root soup was beautiful and tasty. The salads are fun and sooo good. The only problem was the temperature of the building was freezing cold. I luckily wore a jacket and was okay but still cold. Our server was very sweet and apologetic even tho it's out of her control. I can't wait until warmer weather and I will certainly go back and eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Overall, the dining experience was very ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Overall, the dining experience was very good. The menu is quite creative - interesting dishes. For example, I had a vegetarian popover just because of the interesting ingredients such as a soft-boiled egg! I am not normally a vegetarian eater. Presentation is above average. Service is knowledgeable and friendly. Food might have been a little hotter on the temperature. We have eaten here several times before and will return again!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Have heard about Taylor's for a long tim ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Have heard about Taylor's for a long time.

First time there.

We are foodies and consider ourselves to have a fairly good pallet. The beet salad was tasteless....Absolutely no flavor. However, the rib-eye steak was one of the better steaks we have had, but the sides were just ok. Bread was good.

Dessert-- the homemade ice cream was tasteless, as well....pumpkin and latte usually have a robust flavor.

Service was average.

Will not return.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I had a delightful dinner at Taylor's Ki ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I had a delightful dinner at Taylor's Kitchen - and my friend, who was there for the first time, really enjoyed it as well. I left wondering why I don't go more often - and I will. My friend and I were making spontaneous plans the other night and wanted interesting food in a setting that was quiet enough to allow for a really good, unimpeded conversation. We were particularly happy with Taylor's because of the cozy dining room and the fact that it was quiet without the sound being dull or flat. Just a nice, low buzz and real conversational ease, with no need to put energy into screening out noise.

The food was delicious - we shared an appetizer (crepes made with a beet reduction and filled with a lemony goat cheese preparation) and an exceptional "dry scallop" dish ("dry scallop" signifying, I think, that the chef really knows how to cook scallops so that the outside caramelizes and the scallops don't exude liquid in a way that makes searing impossible). The scallops were sweet, succulent, and perfectly prepared (lovely brown outside, cooked through but not a tad overcooked inside). I'm a very good home cook but have always struggled with scallops, so I particularly appreciate the skill that this entails. We feasted our eyes, not our bodies, on the exceptional dessert menu and found the coffee (which, at that time of day, we had to make decaf) to be excellent. Great, flavorful, crusty bread paired with high-quality butter on the table during our meal.

Service was attentive and expert. The server was knowledgeable about the menu, and careful to make sure she understood our preferences and requests. We felt comfortably lingering until our long conversation ended.

Good going, folks, I'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is delicious, inventive, and lo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food is delicious, inventive, and locally-sourced. The staff is friendly, welcoming, and knowledgable. When out-of-town friends visit, we always take them to Taylor's Kitchen. Often, they go next door to Taylor's Market afterwards to buy a bottle of the excellent wine they had at dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for business meeting. Wonder ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Great place for business meeting. Wonderful service and food.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wanted to try but live out of tow ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always wanted to try but live out of town. Happy to have finally had an opportunity to dine here! Foie Gras, Pork chop, and Rib-eye steak were delicious and we shared the apple cake and buttermilk ice cream. Service was delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and a inventive menu.. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful service and a inventive menu.. We are never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made our reservations for an after-th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We made our reservations for an after-theatre dinner. The play ended earlier than expected, but the restaurant was able to accommodate us early with no fuss. Our salads and entrees were excellent, and the service, as usual, impeccable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food and great service. Staff is al ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good food and great service. Staff is always helpful and attentive. Keith, the manager, knows the customers and their interests in food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place. Amazing appetizers, wife ha ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Nice place. Amazing appetizers, wife had Shaft's Blue Cheese Gnocchi, I had Pasta Dave's Cavatelli, both very tasty, good presentation. Main courses, while tasty, were not really satisfactory, both my wife's (Pork Loin Chop) and mine (Dry Aged Ribeye) were not close to hot, like they'd been sitting a while, and her Pork was overly salty. Aside from the temperature I enjoyed my Ribeye, and we liked the atmosphere. We used to live in Land Park and would probably go back and give it another shot if we were still here, but we're out in Carmichael now so probably won't make the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Always a great meal and an interesting n ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always a great meal and an interesting new menu. Very accommodating to each diner's preferences and a great wine list too. One of our favorite neighborhood spots for a nice relaxing meal where you can talk (hear) and enjoy good food with good friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff went out of their way to find me a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Staff went out of their way to find me a lint roller because white napkin + black pants = disaster. Thank you!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited this place as it was featured ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We visited this place as it was featured in the new book Inside Sacramento: The Most Interesting Places in America's Farm-to-Fork Capital. It was our first time and it was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casey, the new chef has been a wonderful ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Casey, the new chef has been a wonderful addition. Fabulous things are coming out of her kitchen .

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fun, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Subtle and just right amount t of attent ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Subtle and just right amount t of attentive service and delicious suggestions. We are through the appetizer menu and felt everything was just what it needed to be, simple and refined.

If it's still in season when you visit, don't miss the chief pear soup, beluga lentils and some of the best foie gras I've had in ages.

My friend and I had a truly special night just by virtue of the whole experience around our meal and the wine. It'll be our go-to reunion spot.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Organic, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always exceptional and to ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The service is always exceptional and tonight was no different. Steve, Fernando, Erica and Ally never disappoint and they were all attentive and informative without being intrusive. We love sitting at the bar!! The food was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic. Cute small local ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The food was fantastic. Cute small local eatery with very personable service. Specials change often. Rib Eye was exceptional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took friends from out of town to dinner ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Took friends from out of town to dinner at Taylors. They had a great Farm to Fork week menu that was very tasty and reasonably priced. Everyone really enjoyed their meals. We really like this neighborhood restaurant!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food is of the caliber of fine dinin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food is of the caliber of fine dining in San Francisco.I would recommend highly.

Tags: , Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Food was superb with complex flavors. Th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was superb with complex flavors. The staff was organized, personable and genuinely attentive - especially when a medical emergency occurred with another patron. Everyone acted professionally (and yes - there was a Doctor in the house!) and it resolved nicely. I did not expect to enjoy an excellent Cappuccino just the way I like it - smooth. We drove in from Winters and it was very much worth the drive. We're definitely going back. -mw

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'd moved away from Sacramento and had ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We'd moved away from Sacramento and had not eaten at Taylor's Kitchen in four years. The food was always good, but after our recent dining experience, we felt Taylor's has "taken it up a notch." We shared a delicious foie gras starter, which the Som suggested we pair with a sweet riesling--a super tasty salty/sweet combination. Then we split an excellent beet salad. For our entrees we ordered Dry Scallops which came with a creamed cauliflower curry sauce, and a pork chop with a red onion soubise (sauce). Attentive service. Big thumbs up for Taylor's Kitchen. Thanks for a great date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Service excellent.. Food was pretty good ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service excellent.. Food was pretty good, as well. It was a Busy Friday evening so it was full and noisy if your looking for a romantic evening try them during the week might be less busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I count myself lucky to live near Taylor ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 2, 2016

I count myself lucky to live near Taylor's....delicious inventive food using the freshest ingredients. I look forward to coming back very soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Taylor's has been one of our favorite lo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Taylor's has been one of our favorite local places to eat. Usually the service is excellent. I am said to report that this time, however, the server was not very attentive to our table. I think he usually runs the bar. Also, the food took a very long time to be prepared. The servings were small, except for the burger (which is fantastic and a bargain).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

A unique place to share an evening with ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 21, 2016

A unique place to share an evening with those special in your life. Very real.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasantly surprised by the updated menu ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by the updated menu and food quality. Would be nice to also see updated decor to go along with it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

I have taken different family members to ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 18, 2016

I have taken different family members to Taylor's cafe during the last 5 years. This time was a 60ith birthday. Every one really likes it. Good service, good food and we can walk to it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.