Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Taylor's Kitchen

Taylor's Kitchen is a charming, neighborhood restaurant nestled in between Land Park and Curtis Park. Chef Richard Telford's weekly changing menu benefits from his relationship with local farmers and ranchers. One of Sacramento's "best kept culinary secrets", Taylor's is perennially on at or near the top of Zagat's list in food quality. The wine list is always changing features wines hand selected by Master Sommelier candidate, Keith Fergel, formerly of The San Francisco's Fifth Floor and Yountville's The French Laundry.

2924 Freeport Blvd
Sacramento, CA 95818
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: W-Sa 5:00pm-9:30pm
Brunch Sunday 9:00am-1:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 443-5154

Website:
http://www.taylorskitchen.com/

Catering:
Taylor's Kitchen can create a custom tailored catering experience for special events off all kinds. Taylor's is a full service, farm to fork caterer. We can host cocktail parties, buffets or full service dining. Please contact Keith Fergel, Restaurant and Catering Manager, for pricing and menu options.

Parking Details:
Taylor's Kitchen shares parking with Taylor's Market. Guests are welcome to park in front of the market or restaurant.

Public Transit:
Public transportation is very convenient, as Taylor's is located directly across Freeport Boulevard from the Fourth Avenue, Wayne Holtgren light rail station.

Executive Chef:
Justin Lower

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Taylor's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Open Kitchen (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Cozy (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Seasonal (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Healthy (5)
Organic (5)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fun (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent Easter Brunch! My family and I were very pleasantly surprised by the food offerings. Flavors and presentation were great. Wait staff was excellent and attentive to all of our needs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday fixed menu, served family style, delicious and filling, enjoyed a few more mimosas along the way...will return in the future to sample the dinner menu

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I like Taylor's. The food is first rate. Top quality ingredients. Very fair wine prices. Kind and caring service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our dining experience could not have been better! The food and the service were equally "top-shelf". We were dining early in the evening, so, we had the advantage of having the place to ourselves for the first 30-45 minutes of our time there.
The staff was friendly, prompt, attentive and well-informed.
The food was delicious, well-presented and served at exactly the right pace.
Our plans are to return regularly.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always very good. Love that it is in our neighborhood.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food good but small portions for money. Service sloooooow. Ribeye tender and tasty. Mushroom soup tooooo vinegary.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Have been here many times... Never disappoints... great neighborhood restaurant!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Lovely restaurant with good food and excellent service. The plates are creative, meaning they have several components and accompanying sauces. Perhaps a little to busy/ambitious. Good use of seasonal vegetables.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Always a nice dining experience. The service was excellent, the food was very good. We brought friends from San Francisco, and they truly enjoyed it. We live in the neighborhood, and it is great to have such a good restaurant so close to home.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Service was outstanding. Food lovely and wine a bit over priced. Will bring our wine next time and pay corkage

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had an outstanding meal. From the starters to the entrees, everything had layers of flavor and was cooked or prepared perfectly. Our waiter was great and made some great wine selections for us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent as always. They never dissapoint. Excellent staff

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food is always prepared well qnd the service is excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had not been to Taylor's for quite some time because, frankly, we were not all that impressed with the food on those previous occasions. Things have changed! The current chef is making quite a difference in the menu and the quality of the menu items has greatly improved. The restaurant still has a great neighborhood feel to it, but the food should attract diners from any neighborhood.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was beautifully prepared and delicious without exception. Cute restaurant but felt overly packed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Overall, a little crowded and noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful birthday dinner. Loved the menu and food was amazing!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My husband and I came for an early Valentine's Day celebration. It was a rainy evening and the restaurant was warm and inviting. The table we were given was too close to the bar and the bright lights from the kitchen, so next time I'll remember to request a table on the other side of the restaurant, which is lovely. Our server was very attentive and pleasant. My first course, a creamy mushroom soup, was outstanding. It had great flavor and was served very hot. My husband ordered gnocchi for his first course, and he was very happy with it. For the main course, I ordered a bison rib-eye special, and my husband ordered beef rib-eye. My bison had a terrific flavor and was cooked a perfect medium-rare. My husband's steak was also good, and prepared with a wonderful chimichurri sauce. We were too full for desert, but we each had an espresso to end our meal, and we were glad we did, because it was well-prepared with high-quality beans. We left very happy!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Lovely, as always. We are regulars, for good reason. The mushroom soup was absolutely amazing, as was the bison ribeye. The menu always changes just enough to keep it interesting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything is very well prepared with helpful service but it is overpriced, especially for a neighborhood restaurant, with some items over $30.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The specials and salads that night were exceptional. Always locally sourced and seasonal. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I took my husband for his birthday.. I requested a cozy table . We were seated in the middle of the floor right in the walkway. We were so cold from the door being opened, we asked to be moved. The server was kind and professional. We did have to ask twice for the glass of wine ordered. We had steak tar tare, probably the best I have ever had. I could have had that as my meal. We also had the foe gras, very tasty, Served with silver dollar pancakes. (Uneventful) the main course was scallops , husband said they were "just OK" I had a taste and thought they were a bit fishy. I ordered the rib-eye. The meat was seasoned a bit on the salty side, but still an excellent cut of meat. I was a bit disappointed in the temperature of the meat as I had ordered rare. Some places have difficulty preparing a true rare steak. I would say it was more medium rare. Dessert was also a bit of a disappointment. Husband selected 3 flavors of ice-milk and same flavor of cookie. It was served as a watermelon scoop with the same size cookie, the flavor was just a hint, nothing to right home about.. I would probably go back to sit at the bar and have the tar tare again, and a nice glass of wine.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We hadn't been to Taylor's Kitchen in a while and decided to have a quick early diner there. We were very glad we did. Red Oak lettuce salad was great. We also shared a wonderful scallops dish and their aged rib eye.... both were cooked perfectly. They had a good Sonoma Coast pinot on the menu that worked well with our dishes. The service was very good and we will come back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 26, 2017

As usual, no problems with the food at all, it's beyond reproachable...the problem this time (hasn't been a problem in the past ) was the amount of time it took to be served our entree (one hour!)...this was for a 6:30 seating for 3, and the place was 2/3 empty when we placed our order...they were kind enough to comp soup, dessert, just felt the time waiting for the entree was excessive

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I have been going to Taylor's Kitchenn for years, but their chef has really kicked it up a notch. Food was outstanding!l

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food & service, as always. Crab cakes big enough to share or have as entree- really fresh & tasty! Had pork loin chop & goose- both delicious. Love this neighborhood gem!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our first time at Taylor's Kitchen and it was very impressive. The food was outstanding. We had the pork chop and the lamb which was that evening's special. Especially enjoyed the white bean soup. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 4, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in all of Sacramento. Cozy, creative dishes, quality local ingredients, great service, and consistently excellent food. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not just delicious food, but also a wonderful attention to detail, with subtle and unexpected flavor pairings which elevate the quality of the dining experience... a definite winner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The NYE menu was fabulous. The staff is consistently attentive and a joy. We had a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great way to end 2016 with a fabulous meal. Last minute reservation - and turned out to be an incredible pre fixe meal to end the year. The chef has really come into her own- with an inventive absolutely delicious meal. 6 courses, perfectly orchestrated - pushing a little on the menu to make us try new things. Amuse of foie gras - melted in the mouth. Then a faro salad w/ broccolini and cauliflower - very tasty buffalo mozarella. cauliflower soup w/ Indian flair - could have slurped a gallon. So good. Duck cooked perfectly with a sweet / citrus flavor. oh my so good. This chef is talented - all the preparation ahead of time was so appreciated. And then there is Keith and super professional servers who are personable, bright in the room and take pride in what they do. Great meal.......thanks for a lovely and most unexpected New Years Eve
treat.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My only reservation with our New Years Eve dinner was the temperature. Very very chilly! Other than that, our evening was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I had a meal at Taylor's Kitchen which was perfunctory, at best. Our server (female) was polite and professional. However, she was a bit clipped and her demeanor, while professional, lacked sincerity. We dined on a cold night and the lack of a curtain at the front door (which was the kind of door one uses to enter an old style drug store, not something you would expect at an expensive restaurant). This meant that every time someone entered the restaurant, the diners throughout the restaurant received a cold blast of air--creating a less than inviting ambiance. Between the intermittent blasts of cold air and our server's professional but cold demeanor, I must write that we really didn't notice the food except that my husband found that the squab (one of the specials of that night) was under-cooked. We can't recommend Taylor's Kitchen even though we really did want to like it. Simply put, the experience isn't worth the price charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent Chef with creative menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The salmon was fantastic and so was the herbed popover. My husband's entree wasn't quite right, but they took care of it on the bill, which was really very generous and we will be back and will recommend. Sometimes the dish you order or cook yourself doesn't come out the way you planned. It is rare that a restaurant takes care of you as Taylor's did. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The menu was fantastic...hard to choose, but ordered the farro salad which was fantastic and then the salmon. Both were great. If you go and the red velvet crepes are on the menu, do yourself a solid and share them with someone. Just sweet enough and the chocolate drizzle and oranges added subtle flavors that blended well together.

Make a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We celebrated a birthday at the restaurant. Great, attentive service. Very creative menu. Highly recommend for special occasion meal!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food here is outstanding. I was more than pleased. I definite recommend. The celery root soup was beautiful and tasty. The salads are fun and sooo good. The only problem was the temperature of the building was freezing cold. I luckily wore a jacket and was okay but still cold. Our server was very sweet and apologetic even tho it's out of her control. I can't wait until warmer weather and I will certainly go back and eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Overall, the dining experience was very good. The menu is quite creative - interesting dishes. For example, I had a vegetarian popover just because of the interesting ingredients such as a soft-boiled egg! I am not normally a vegetarian eater. Presentation is above average. Service is knowledgeable and friendly. Food might have been a little hotter on the temperature. We have eaten here several times before and will return again!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Have heard about Taylor's for a long time.
First time there.
We are foodies and consider ourselves to have a fairly good pallet. The beet salad was tasteless....Absolutely no flavor. However, the rib-eye steak was one of the better steaks we have had, but the sides were just ok. Bread was good.
Dessert-- the homemade ice cream was tasteless, as well....pumpkin and latte usually have a robust flavor.
Service was average.
Will not return.

Tags: Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.