Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Taylor's Kitchen

Taylor's Kitchen is a charming, neighborhood restaurant nestled in between Land Park and Curtis Park. Chef Richard Telford's weekly changing menu benefits from his relationship with local farmers and ranchers. One of Sacramento's "best kept culinary secrets", Taylor's is perennially on at or near the top of Zagat's list in food quality. The wine list is always changing features wines hand selected by Master Sommelier candidate, Keith Fergel, formerly of The San Francisco's Fifth Floor and Yountville's The French Laundry.

2924 Freeport Blvd
Sacramento, CA 95818
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: W-Sa 5:00pm-9:30pm
Brunch Sunday 9:00am-1:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 443-5154

Website:
http://www.taylorskitchen.com/

Catering:
Taylor's Kitchen can create a custom tailored catering experience for special events off all kinds. Taylor's is a full service, farm to fork caterer. We can host cocktail parties, buffets or full service dining. Please contact Keith Fergel, Restaurant and Catering Manager, for pricing and menu options.

Parking Details:
Taylor's Kitchen shares parking with Taylor's Market. Guests are welcome to park in front of the market or restaurant.

Public Transit:
Public transportation is very convenient, as Taylor's is located directly across Freeport Boulevard from the Fourth Avenue, Wayne Holtgren light rail station.

Executive Chef:
Justin Lower

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Taylor's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for a Date (25)
Local Ingredients (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (11)
Romantic (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Seasonal (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (6)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Organic (5)
Business Meals (4)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

I love the vibe of this restaurant -- vibrant but warm and cozy. The farm to fork menu was exquisite. Options ranged from scallops, to pork loin chop to roast chicken. Creative appetizers as well. Great sommelier. And the desserts were perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great restaurant. Always outstanding, seasonal, well prepared food in a friendly neighborhood atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 26, 2017

First time visiting and was based on reviews/rating in OpenTable. Food was great and ambiance was, too. Looking forward to going back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Friends from across the country
And from sacramento. We all thought it was one of The best restaurants that we had tried in the Sacramento area

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Fantastic farm to fork food and great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Dinner tonight was fabulous. I love a good burger, and the burger at Taylor's with their top quality beef and milk bun is stunning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 18, 2017

For a small neighborhood restaurant, the menu selections were outstanding. Taylor's Kitchen could easily fit into the downtown scene, but instead it is out on Freeport Blvd. The food creations were original and tasty. Overall, an excellent choice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Upscale restaurant, pricey. People were dressed casual, t-shirt, jeans, and shorts.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Neighborhood restaurant with locally sourced flavorful dishes. Extensive wine list. Plenty of gourmet entrees at moderate prices. I tried the beet salad which was wonderful, and splurged on the aged ribeye, yummy. My wife had the duck breast and loved it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Simply wonderful food and always new specials to be savored. The pork chop is out of this world and the burger and fries are terrific, (though a bun from Roma's bakery would be a welcome change from the current bun). Everyone at Taylor's is welcoming and highly professional. They could write the book on how to create an inviting ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

What a great find! Great menu, excellent service, good wine and beer list (if they don't have it, they'll go next door to their adjoining market to get it!). Three of us had the ribeye, done to each of our specs perfectly and one had the swordfish which she reported was 'out of this world good!'.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food was fantastic the wine list was nice I had a great time celebrating my wifes birthday. We will definatly be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Taylors sourcing, freshness, and preparation are simply better than its peers. Every item simply tasted better than Ive had almost anywhere else, and our server made excellent suggestions and clearly loves food and enjoys his work. Just go if you ve never been, thank me later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Went to Taylor's due to availability on Open Table. It was such a great discovery. Delicious meals had by all 4 of us. The tomato/mozzarella was a hit due to fresh mozz. Great options for all courses. For a vegetarian option the Johnny Cakes were delish with a little bit of heat in the sauce! Will go there again for sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Wonderful well prepared food with a great wine list and by the glass as well. Taylors consistently serves some the best food in town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was superb! My wife had the duck breast and I the scallops. Both dishes were cooked to perfection and wonderfully seasoned. The scallops melted in my mouth. The accompanying local vegetables were also perfectly cooked and seasoned. The service by our server, Mitch and the other staff members was just the right level of attentiveness. Dessert was a cornbread pudding and lime sherbet which was the perfect end to a memorable meal..We will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I made these reservations for our 39th Wedding anniversary. I think Taylors is a pretty neighborhood place, the service is friendly and the food is fresh. When we entered the restaurant the waiter directed us to sit at a badly situated table next to the entry door. I explained To him that it was our wedding anniversary and he gave us a better seat and a glass of complimentary bubbly. That was a great thing because we were going to walk out if they didn't do something. as it was, the bad table was still empty throughout the entire evening. Did they treat my reservation that way because of Open Table? I've been there many times and they have always been nice. Why would they do that to a costumer? Saving the best seats for better people then us? Also, My streak was difficult to cut, even with the special steak knife.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a very attentive waiter who made suggestions and gave details on preparation of dishes. Generous portions and great flavors. Weather was nice enough that large windows were opened which almost made us feel we were dining on a patio. I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Service was very good. Food was delicious. Especially loved the Strawberry & Herbed Goat Cheese and the Roasted Asparagus salads. So many delicious flavors can be tasted in these salads. Dry Aged Rib Eye steak was so tender and loaded with flavor. Didn't care for the red onion and proscuitto bread pudding that accompanied the steak.
The night I had dinner at the restaurant, the air conditioner was not working properly which made the dining experience somewhat uncomfortable. While the decor is charming and nice, it is a little too noisy for me.
I would definitely go back--especially for the scrumptious salads.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 23, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary. I arrived 30 min early and had flower that the staff arranged in a vase for ou table and the anniversary ring was give to our friend and head chef to put on a preordered dessert to be brought out at the end of the meal. My son was my wife's chauffeur, all the way down from Pollock Pines, to the restaurant! The staff was very accommodating and helpful and friendly! Chef Casey is top notch and very talanted with all that she does their! Highly recommend Taylors Kitchen . You will not be disappointed! Thank you Taylors Kitchen and chef Casey!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Organic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our dinners were well seasoned and beautifully presented. We were impressed with the quality of our dinners.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed a delightful Mother's Day brunch at Taylor's. Good food (especially the quiche!), friendly service. Taylor's is a GREAT neighborhood restaurant , one at which we usually enjoy dinner. The staff always treat us like long-lost friends, the ambiance is warm but not overstated, and the food is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food is always tastefully prepared. Fresh ingredients, attentive wait staff. Only drawback is that the place is small, so the tables are spaced close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food and exceptional service! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The first courses and salads are the real stars, but the entrees are outstanding as well. Excellent ingredients, interesting combinations,and mostly generous portions, The Farro salad with roasted vegetables was a flavor and texture bomb, and the beet salad, loaded with beets and other thinly sliced vegetables, a meal in itself. The beets were perfectly cooked. The lamb special had two serous loin chops and an array of seasonal vegetables.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Delicious steak tartare and foie gras. Arugula salad with strawberries and walnuts was plenty to share. Pop over was good, but almost too rich. Overall great experience for a simple birthday dinner for two.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We love Taylor's Kitchen for a guaranteed great meal when we are in the mood to eat well and pamper a bit. It is our neighborhood (Curtis Park/Land Park) good food spot. The music is always great and interesting because it is created by an expert. Taylor's Market next door has a great butcher shop so Taylor's Kitchen has the best cuts to serve. Wine is a specialty too.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent Easter Brunch! My family and I were very pleasantly surprised by the food offerings. Flavors and presentation were great. Wait staff was excellent and attentive to all of our needs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday fixed menu, served family style, delicious and filling, enjoyed a few more mimosas along the way...will return in the future to sample the dinner menu

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I like Taylor's. The food is first rate. Top quality ingredients. Very fair wine prices. Kind and caring service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our dining experience could not have been better! The food and the service were equally "top-shelf". We were dining early in the evening, so, we had the advantage of having the place to ourselves for the first 30-45 minutes of our time there.
The staff was friendly, prompt, attentive and well-informed.
The food was delicious, well-presented and served at exactly the right pace.
Our plans are to return regularly.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Always very good. Love that it is in our neighborhood.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food good but small portions for money. Service sloooooow. Ribeye tender and tasty. Mushroom soup tooooo vinegary.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Have been here many times... Never disappoints... great neighborhood restaurant!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Lovely restaurant with good food and excellent service. The plates are creative, meaning they have several components and accompanying sauces. Perhaps a little to busy/ambitious. Good use of seasonal vegetables.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Always a nice dining experience. The service was excellent, the food was very good. We brought friends from San Francisco, and they truly enjoyed it. We live in the neighborhood, and it is great to have such a good restaurant so close to home.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Service was outstanding. Food lovely and wine a bit over priced. Will bring our wine next time and pay corkage

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We had an outstanding meal. From the starters to the entrees, everything had layers of flavor and was cooked or prepared perfectly. Our waiter was great and made some great wine selections for us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent as always. They never dissapoint. Excellent staff

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.