About Taylor's Kitchen

2924 Freeport Blvd
Sacramento, CA 95818
View Larger Map

Taylor's Kitchen is a charming, neighborhood restaurant nestled in between Land Park and Curtis Park. Chef Richard Telford's weekly changing menu benefits from his relationship with local farmers and ranchers. One of Sacramento's "best kept culinary secrets", Taylor's is perennially on at or near the top of Zagat's list in food quality. The wine list is always changing features wines hand selected by Master Sommelier candidate, Keith Fergel, formerly of The San Francisco's Fifth Floor and Yountville's The French Laundry.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: W-Sa 5:00pm-9:30pm
Brunch Sunday 9:00am-1:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 443-5154

Website:
http://www.taylorskitchen.com/

Catering:
Taylor's Kitchen can create a custom tailored catering experience for special events off all kinds. Taylor's is a full service, farm to fork caterer. We can host cocktail parties, buffets or full service dining. Please contact Keith Fergel, Restaurant and Catering Manager, for pricing and menu options.

Parking Details:
Taylor's Kitchen shares parking with Taylor's Market. Guests are welcome to park in front of the market or restaurant.

Public Transit:
Public transportation is very convenient, as Taylor's is located directly across Freeport Boulevard from the Fourth Avenue, Wayne Holtgren light rail station.

Executive Chef:
Justin Lower

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Taylor's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
7 More
American
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Overall
Sacramento
Best Food
Sacramento
Best Value
Sacramento
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento
American
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Fit for Foodies (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Romantic (6)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A unique place to share an evening with ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A unique place to share an evening with those special in your life. Very real.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasantly surprised by the updated menu ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by the updated menu and food quality. Would be nice to also see updated decor to go along with it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

I have taken different family members to ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I have taken different family members to Taylor's cafe during the last 5 years. This time was a 60ith birthday. Every one really likes it. Good service, good food and we can walk to it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

100 degree day and air conditioning was ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

100 degree day and air conditioning was not working so unpleasant right away. Food was served beautifully but was not particularly tasty. Dessert was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Taylor's was a very nice experience. The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Taylor's was a very nice experience. The service was excellent (quick and attentive) and the food was nicely presented and delicious. The blue cheese gnocchi stood out as particularly yummy. Salads (bean salad and beet salad) were fresh and creative. Salmon was fantastic. Dessert (berry crisp) was very nice. Tad on the expensive side but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great time. We both had the chicke ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Had a great time. We both had the chicken dinner and enjoyed every bite. She started with a fresh tomato salad and I had the sweetbreads. Both were wonderful. A lovely bottle of wine, very attentive service, happy date. All went well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Came here for our anniversary- highly re ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Came here for our anniversary- highly recommended! Food was fantastic and service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always the best place ever!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always the best place ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I think that the concept is good, but th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I think that the concept is good, but the execution was just ok. Had the lamb special and felt like the bean purée was overly spiced. The lamb itself needed to have a better sear with more of the fat cooked off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The bread and Pasta Dave appetizer were ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The bread and Pasta Dave appetizer were fantastic. The service was excellent. It was a bit warm in the dining room - a sign on the front door indicated that their A/C couldn't keep up with the Sacramento heat wave that week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was a wonderful experience. Both My ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was a wonderful experience. Both My husband & I enjoyed our meals. The service was awesome. Loved the rolls. My scallops were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a treat to eat here. Sommelier i ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always a treat to eat here. Sommelier incredibly knowledgeable and willing to suggest some good pairings. All staff attentive to detail. Love eating here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were outstanding. The s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. The staff work together to provide greater attention to diners. They made us feel important.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Please have Cristophe return as a guest ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Please have Cristophe return as a guest chef. His food was outstanding. We heat at Taylor's quite often and the food, service, etc. are always excellent. Cristophe's cooking was a rare treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had heard about this restaurant due it ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I had heard about this restaurant due its reputation for using organic ingredients for it's food and overall reputation. I liked that it was in Land Park and not in the typical downtown/midtown Sacramento food scene. My ribeye was so tender you really did not need a steak knife to cut it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu provided a wonderful assortment ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The menu provided a wonderful assortment of choices. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Our server was helpful and very attentive. We chose Taylor's Kitchen because we wanted to give our daughter a wonderful dinner for her birthday. Thank you to everyone responsible for a delightful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have dined at Taylor's ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I have dined at Taylor's Kitchen many times since it opened and it gets better and better - although we did not think that was possible! This last Saturday we sat at our favorite spot at the wine bar, next to the wall, and enjoyed the elements of a "tasting menu" that Steve, our waitperson/ bartender, put together for us. Totally delicious! We really enjoy the ambiance and the interaction between staff and diners - we notice that many of the staff has been with the restaurant for years, as have many of the diners.

Typically we will each have appetizers, a salad choice, an entree and finish with a dessert but the tasting option, done by splitting several of the appetizers and an entree, was perfect for us this last visit. It was very hard, though, to pass on those dessert offerings -.

We are very fortunate to have Taylor's Kitchen as a dining option. It is well worth the half hour drive in from Yolo County.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love. The food is always ex ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Love, love, love. The food is always exceptional as are the wines. We were hoping to have the chefs tasting menu but it wasn't available the night we came, however, when chef heard our request, we were told we could choose five and they would make us a tasting menu with parings. To order! Who does that?!

What an amazing place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiance and I made reservations to cel ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My fiance and I made reservations to celebrate our engagement at Taylor's Kitchen. We live in Land Park but hadn't ever been to Taylor's and thought, what better time to try it! The food was absolutely amazing! I'm a vegetarian and they were able to make many of the dishes on the menu vegetarian and still make them delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We went for Father's Day Brunch. There w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day Brunch. There was nothing noted that it was going to be a limited Pre Fixe menu on their website or on Open Table that I noted. The Pre Fixe menu was terrible, I could have made better food at home. For $29.00 you got a small basket of pastries, an egg strata, bacon and the worst sausage I have ever eaten. The worst brunch I have ever had. All four of us said we would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

We received excellent service and the fo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We received excellent service and the food was fabulous!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were planning to go out for sushi for ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were planning to go out for sushi for father's day dinner but decided to try Taylor's Kitchen. So glad we did. Service and food were both top-notch and we all came away filled, satisfied and with at least one take-away meal of left overs.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great as always

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Taylors is always changing their menu just a bit, based upon what is in season. This visit we shared the squash soup which was excellent, with the little dab of bacon jam on top being out of this world. They were kind enough to split it into 2 bowls for us rather than just bringing two spoons. It was of course served with their to-die-for warm crusty bread. Afterward I had the bread salad, which had peaches, cucumbers, green beans, and incredible croutons- it was unique and fantastic. We both loved our entrees- big bone in steaks, perfectly done. The sides were amazing. The only disappointment was the shortcake part of the strawberry shortcake dessert- it had been made ahead and was still quite firm and cold, like it had just come from the freezer. The other parts of the dessert were great. We go to Taylors once or twice a month (even though we don't live in the neighborhood) just because it is so darn good, and this time was no exception.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Taylors continues to consistently provid ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Taylors continues to consistently provide exceptional quality food in a neighborhood location. Less than 10 minutes from midtown this overall quality of the food is worth the effort to get here p. We had the perfectly seared fois gras , kohlrabi gazpacho , and seared copper river salmon from Alaska..phenomenal meal that would be twice the price in SF or Seattle. Very good and varied wine list and reasonably priced. All in all a delightful culinary experience, very friendly and attentive service, and reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pleasant Dinner

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We eat at Taylor's Kitchen motivated by reviews in Open Table. We were not disappointed. Well the dinning experience would not be classified as "fine dining", the ambiance, staff and food were all very good. Taylor's Kitchen is a small, neighborhood restaurant offering a quiet and relaxed dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Celebrated our anniversary - sat at the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary - sat at the counter so we could watch the chefs. Food was very good - I love Pasta Dave's pasta, so Taylor's makes me happy. Of course, I ate all of my pasta so I didn't have room for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Mother's day brunch

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My Mom seemed happy with what we got, though I hoped for something a little more impressive due to the restaurants reputation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

mothers day brunch

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent Mother's day brunch with fresh fruit, fresh pastries, top quality bacon and sausage, well prepared potatoes. Unfortunately the quiche Lorraine was barely warm and had a congealed consistency, marring an otherwise great brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was ready upon our arrival wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything was ready upon our arrival with a party of 6. Service was very casual, but very professional and personable. The food was outstanding. We had a wonderful brunch. Very fresh fruit and it was all ripe and ready to be eaten. Detail was given to the preparation of the food and not to be taken lightly. It was a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We brought a friend who lived in Land Pa ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We brought a friend who lived in Land Park almost 20 years ago. She couldn't believe that a restaurant like Taylors Kitchen existed outside of San Francisco. The food was imaginative and delicious. We are so lucky to live walking distance from this wonderful place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfection

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Taylor's Kitchen is new to us and now part of our fine dining rotation in Sacramento!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Pleasant Experience

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Taylor's Kitchen has been a well known local spot with consistent repeat business and loyal clientele for some time. There are reasons for this. The food continues to be executed exceptionally well and the dining experience is seamless given the detail oriented staff. This particular occasion was no different. Keith, the Manager is also the restaurant's Sommelier and was spot on with his recommendations given our menu choices. He was patient and did not hesitate to spend time with us, sharing his knowledge and suggestions. His passion for the restaurant and the wine program are evident. We decided to make it a true 4 course night and none of the dishes disappointed. The wine was of course fantastic. Its nice to see a restaurant with such a successful history continue to stick to its values while providing progressive options for its patrons that recognize changes in the way people think about food and fine dining. Well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best in Sacramento

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

This restaurant has consistently great food, great service and a great wine selection. Luckily for me, I live down the street from Taylor's Kitchen. Very imaginative dishes!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions are rather small but the ambian ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Portions are rather small but the ambiance is very lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday celebration

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Very thoughtful and attentive crew. Excellent food and experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, relaxed atmosphere. Great ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food, relaxed atmosphere. Great price points on wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite place in Land Park. The serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

My favorite place in Land Park. The service, food and ambience is excellent. I highly recommend Taylors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Easy and great

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Always have a great meal here. The help are always friendly and the menu has a great choice..not to mention the wine list.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Such a great place!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Such a great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great first time.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I knew Taylors was here but hadn't enjoyed it before. Wow!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.