About Taverna

1986 San Marco Boulevard
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Located in historic San Marco Square, Taverna specializes in handcrafted and Seasonal Italian cuisine. Chef Sam Efron's menus highlight classic Italian flavors while utilizing regional produce and meats, imported ingredients, and house-made pastas and mozzarella. At the bar, Taverna offers handcrafted classic cocktails, local microbrews, and a carefully curated selection of wines from Italy and beyond. Private dining, quick casual lunch service and business lunch deliveries are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday
11:00AM - 3:00PM Lunch
5:00PM - 10:00PM Dinner

Friday
11:00AM - 3:00PM Lunch
5:00PM - 11:00pm Dinner

Saturday
10:00AM - 3:00PM Brunch & Lunch
5:00PM - 11:00PM Dinner

Sunday
10:00AM - 3:00PM Brunch & Lunch
5:00PM - 10:00PM Dinner

Cross Street:
Atlantic Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 398-3005

Website:
http://taverna.restaurant/

Executive Chef:
Sam Efron

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Taverna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville
Great for Lunch
Jacksonville
Neighborhood Gem
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Neighborhood Gem (56)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Great for Lunch (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Great for Brunch (27)
Romantic (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Authentic (7)
People Watching (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Scenic View (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Business Meals (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Casual (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
772 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Friendly service, wonderful food, great ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 2 days ago

Friendly service, wonderful food, great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

although promoted as italian restaurant ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

although promoted as italian restaurant it serves other great items. great kale salad with optional toppings

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Cozy, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Tapas, Happy Hour, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was so fantastic at Taverna! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was so fantastic at Taverna! Our server, Ashley, was absolutely wonderful, the modern décor was beautiful, the food was some of the best I have ever had, and the noise level wasn't too bad. The beer selection was very small, but the 3 locally brewed beers they had on the menu are all very good. The only other thing I can think to say is I received a call from the hostess around 5:20pm asking when myself and my party would be there, but our reservation wasn't until 6pm and they had it written down as 5pm. It luckily was a very simple fix for them and we had a great time when we got there.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Business Meals, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been at Taverna for dinner about ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had been at Taverna for dinner about one month ago and liked it. Last week, we took our friends there for lunch. Not disappointed, they also like it. The octapus appetizer was just out of ordinary - very tender and very tasty. Each entry was just the right size, good coloring, sea food was fresh and tasty. Definitely will come back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the evening. The staff seeme ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We enjoyed the evening. The staff seemed very stressed and overworked. The asparagus spears were too large in diameter and chewy. The dessert was awesome. We will be returning.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Third visit here. Again good service and ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Third visit here. Again good service and food. I had pasta with pork ragu-very good. Appetizer of herbed ricotta and peasant bread was great to share. Gelato was very good.

12 Italian wines by the glass. Don't expect a quiet space but we could easily hear each other. Worth a trip or two

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing food, service and ambiance! I'm ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Amazing food, service and ambiance! I'm gonna come back for sure!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A touch of Puglia Italy. Wine ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

A touch of Puglia Italy. Wine and food . Will return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and a pleasant ambiance! Reco ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great food and a pleasant ambiance! Recommended for a special occasion and/or romantic date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I found the food to be very bland & the ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I found the food to be very bland & the wine selection to be sub par. Descriptions of food & wine as bold, flavorful, jammy, etc, definitely did not correlate to my pasta dish. It was flavorless and the wine was not great, and for the prices, I expect to be wow'ed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

I went with my boyfriend to celebrate hi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I went with my boyfriend to celebrate his birthday. Tables for 2 are small and the place is a bit crowded but the experience was still good.

Our server was very attentive and was so nice by describing the plates and helping us choose a good wine pairing.

The food is so delicious. I loved the grilled baby octopus. For entrees we had the scallops and the salmon. Everything was exquisite, very well presented and with good combination of flavor a and ingredients.

We will definitely be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love the food and the service at Tave ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We love the food and the service at Taverna. Everything is done with thought and attentiveness, and the atmosphere just adds to the experience. Would recommend it for anything from casual dinner to special occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Food and Service !! The grilled s ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great Food and Service !! The grilled salmon was buttery and delicious and great salad and sandwich.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food well prepared Cheese and salami t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food well prepared Cheese and salami tray yummy though a bit sparse

Extremely loud and hard to here people at our table.

Service is always attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good spot. One of my favorites in Jax, e ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Good spot. One of my favorites in Jax, especially as I am not from Jax. One thing the restaurant could use is a bit more humility. If the meal isn't quite right, as it wasn't for me, then the staff should do their best to make it right, or else at least comp the price. Neither was offered to me. The best restaurants always strive hard to make the best dishes, and solicit feedback in various ways. That all said, I'd certainly return to this place, as it's in my top 20 surely for Jax.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Booked thru open table and was on time f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Booked thru open table and was on time for our 6:30 reservations with a confirmation the day before but they said we were a "no show". Our particular seats were terrible in the back on the far right hand side at the back door against the window and the sun was terrible. It was blinding and not very flattering. I know it is hard to compete with the quality and quantity of all the good Italian restaurants in Houston but Italian food does not have to be that expensive. The food cost is very low. Wait til you see your bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Was very pleasantly surprised; this is a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Was very pleasantly surprised; this is a beautiful restaurant and the service was excellent, food very good. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Taverna was good food and good service! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Taverna was good food and good service! The homemade pasta was great. I'd recommend it to a friend for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We all loved our dinners, kicked off by ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We all loved our dinners, kicked off by a happy hour at the bar with Andrew mixing the best Manhattan! Every pasta dish I've tried at Taverna is amazing - so flavorful and creative, and beautifully presented. The scallops are reliably delicious every visit. The pizza is inventive with crispy crust and and gooey toppings. The wait staff is always friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the menu and specials. I love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my absolute favorite rest ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This is one of my absolute favorite restaurants in Jacksonville. The food is always exceptional. The drinks are awesome. Service is always a treat. They are fun and knowledgeable about the menu. Taverna has the best scallops in Jacksonville. I have been to many restaurants to try the scallops and nobody can beat Taverna. Great place to go for brunch or for a girls get together or just to get a scallops fix!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall very good but one of the dishes, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overall very good but one of the dishes, the orecchiette, previously a favorite of my wife was disappointing. Very little ragu on the pasta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first time at this restauran ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was my first time at this restaurant. Lovely atmosphere, can get a bit noisy. Waiter was attentive and manager came by twice to ask how we were doing and if everything was satisfactory. I had the tomato, feta and watermelon salad which was absolutely amazing. My guest had a steak that was a sizeable portion. She took part of it home. My ravioli with ratatouille was flavorful. But maybe a bit too much sauce for my liking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

. We were introduced to the Chef and ha ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

. We were introduced to the Chef and had a good dinner. Food was worth the price and great ambiance....Excellent, we will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was our first visit, there was appare ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It was our first visit, there was apparently a new menu, but myself and my husband (who is a very simple eater) found everything we ordered to be delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we new that we were going to a newly ope ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

we new that we were going to a newly opened restaurant but were surprised about everything seems to falling in place. Food, wine list, and staff/ kitchen are working on their part.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was wonderful and the service i ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was wonderful and the service impeccable. Definitely a great place to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in Jackso ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Jacksonville. I had the salmon and my husband had steak. He thoroughly enjoyed his dish as did I. We would easily drive across town to dine at Taverna but fortunately for us, we can walk from our home! We are never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Jacksonville for a weekend to ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were in Jacksonville for a weekend to celebrate my birthday. We chose Taverna as a restaurant to dine in the day of the occasion. Google told us they serve European cuisine, which turned out to be true. However, it was not your original French or Italian place. The menu has a variety of dishes, which were mostly Mediterranean. The prices were slightly higher than desired for the food offered. But the portions were relatively big, so I guess their was a fair value for money. The service was average though: neither outstanding, nor poor. The

Overall, our experience was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Always good food, and great service! Lov ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always good food, and great service! Love their seasonal menu and very good wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was better than most at T ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The experience was better than most at Taverna. The food and service were great. At first we sat in the private dining room but the volume level of people talking was very loud for a date. We relocated to the upper level table area and it was better but still fairly loud. The chef made a special dish for my vegan and gluten free girlfriend and we appreciated the effort.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meals, everyone one enjoyed them. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great meals, everyone one enjoyed them. The Chef has a real talent for making very flavorful, super looking dishes. One of the best in Jacksonville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been to Taverna se ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband and I have been to Taverna several times and it never disappointed. The food had always been fresh and delicious. However, we were less than impressed on this last visit. It seems that management changed and the restaurant has suffered.

Taverna has a beautiful bar. So how is it they only has 2 beer selections? I ordered a mixed drink and it came in a juice-size glass that was filled with ice. For a restaurant known for it's bar, and for the price, this was disappointing.

The service was lackluster. No one came to check on us during dinner. My husband ordered the seafood stew and was pleased, although he said it was a bit salty. I ordered the beet salad. Having gotten it on prior occasions, I thought I knew what to expect. What I always enjoyed about this salad was the marcona almonds and fresh beets. Instead, I got canned beets and no almonds.

We ordered a side of broccolini that was so salty it was inedible. The manager came to our table to apologize for the salty broccolini....then charged us for them.

Taverna just fell off of our favorites list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved everything about this place! Such ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Loved everything about this place! Such a vast menu that it's hard to decide which to choose from. All quality ingredients and presentation. Fab service too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended...Great food, drinks, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Highly recommended...Great food, drinks, and atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have experienced Taverna many times fo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I have experienced Taverna many times for personal and business use. The venue presents itself very well for client engagement. I will continue to patronize on a regular basis.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a shared birthday an ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We were celebrating a shared birthday and enjoyed our time there immensely. Our waitress was engaging and very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My dinner was very good but my husband w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My dinner was very good but my husband was disappointed in his. The server did not tell him that they had run out of clams in the seafood stew and there was no crabmeat as described. The manager explained that there is just a little crab in the stew but it was not even noticeable. We think this is poor. The manager gave us a dessert to make up for it, but my husband would have rather had the dish as described. Also, our waitress was affected but did bring us what we asked for promptly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Sorry. I have been to Taverna twice now ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Sorry. I have been to Taverna twice now and I leave hungry. Small portions and top prices, on top of food with absolutely no salt, does not make my list of places to go for a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Great meal choices for vegetarians. Ser ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great meal choices for vegetarians. Server was great. Wonderful experience. Only complaint - air conditioning blows strongly on many places in the restaurant. Must bring a wrap and something to cover neck because get blown on. Know where to request table but still sometimes a problem. Would certainly go back soon and recommend to others.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.