About Taverna

1986 San Marco Boulevard
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Located in historic San Marco Square, Taverna specializes in handcrafted and Seasonal Italian cuisine. Chef Sam Efron's menus highlight classic Italian flavors while utilizing regional produce and meats, imported ingredients, and house-made pastas and mozzarella. At the bar, Taverna offers handcrafted classic cocktails, local microbrews, and a carefully curated selection of wines from Italy and beyond. Private dining, quick casual lunch service and business lunch deliveries are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday
11:00AM - 3:00PM Lunch
5:00PM - 10:00PM Dinner

Friday
11:00AM - 3:00PM Lunch
5:00PM - 11:00pm Dinner

Saturday
10:00AM - 3:00PM Brunch & Lunch
5:00PM - 11:00PM Dinner

Sunday
10:00AM - 3:00PM Brunch & Lunch
5:00PM - 10:00PM Dinner

Cross Street:
Atlantic Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 398-3005

Website:
http://taverna.restaurant/

Executive Chef:
Sam Efron

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Taverna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville
Neighborhood Gem
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

neighborhood gem (88)
fit for foodies (82)
special occasion (64)
See All
great for outdoor dining (51)
great for lunch (47)
great for brunch (39)
romantic (36)
good for groups (35)
hot spot (33)
notable wine list (29)
vibrant bar scene (16)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (8)
kid-friendly (8)
Sort By:
Newest
739 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything about this place! Such ...

Dined 3 days ago

Loved everything about this place! Such a vast menu that it's hard to decide which to choose from. All quality ingredients and presentation. Fab service too

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended...Great food, drinks, ...

Dined 4 days ago

Highly recommended...Great food, drinks, and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have experienced Taverna many times fo ...

Dined 4 days ago

I have experienced Taverna many times for personal and business use. The venue presents itself very well for client engagement. I will continue to patronize on a regular basis.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating a shared birthday an ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We were celebrating a shared birthday and enjoyed our time there immensely. Our waitress was engaging and very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

My dinner was very good but my husband w ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My dinner was very good but my husband was disappointed in his. The server did not tell him that they had run out of clams in the seafood stew and there was no crabmeat as described. The manager explained that there is just a little crab in the stew but it was not even noticeable. We think this is poor. The manager gave us a dessert to make up for it, but my husband would have rather had the dish as described. Also, our waitress was affected but did bring us what we asked for promptly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Sorry. I have been to Taverna twice now ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Sorry. I have been to Taverna twice now and I leave hungry. Small portions and top prices, on top of food with absolutely no salt, does not make my list of places to go for a good time.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great meal choices for vegetarians. Ser ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great meal choices for vegetarians. Server was great. Wonderful experience. Only complaint - air conditioning blows strongly on many places in the restaurant. Must bring a wrap and something to cover neck because get blown on. Know where to request table but still sometimes a problem. Would certainly go back soon and recommend to others.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Scallops were amazing! (As was the mosca ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Scallops were amazing! (As was the moscato 😍)

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate at Taverna before attending a The ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We ate at Taverna before attending a Theater Jax play. We had wonderful Happy Hour wine and apps then ordered a delicious pasta meal. Service was first rate. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Must get the scallops next time

Dined on June 11, 2016

My date and I had a 9pm reservation on a Friday evening. We were seated immediately, but the restaurant seemed fairly quiet at that time anyway. We began our meal with the charcuterie board based on the waiter's recommendation. Depending on how many items you get, it can be fairly filling. We ended up doing 3 meats and 2 cheeses, and it was so good. Between the two of us we ate just about every morsel, but still had room for our entrees. It helped that we took our time and paced everything out. I ended up doing the ribeye special for that evening, and my date ordered the scallops and risotto. I am a big red meat fan, and my steak was prepared just as I had ordered. I thoroughly enjoyed meal, but I have to say that my date's scallops were out of this world. They had a beautiful golden sear on each side with the center being perfectly done and so tender. Unlike many scallops I've eaten, these scallops had no sign of the typical ocean grit that scallops tend to have. I was quite pleased when my date asked me to help her finish her scallops. And the risotto was tender and creamy and had great flavor. The risotto was a perfect complement to the scallops. This was my second time at Taverna and definitely will not be my last. I need to get an order of those scallops all for myself.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

enjoyed

Dined on June 5, 2016

my kind of food for lunch will try diner enjoyed my lunch

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3

One of our favorite places for brunch.

Dined on June 5, 2016

One of our favorite places for brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently delicious!

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

We went to Taverna for brunch on Saturday (party of 14) and dinner on Monday (party of 6). I had only been to Taverna for brunch a few times before. This time was excellent. It's hard to please 14 people with their individual requests and have the food come out at the same time still hot but they did it. I don't know why we don't go more often. We will now. Dinner was also excellent. It was Memorial Day and the place was hopping. Everyone truly enjoyed their meals and again, they catered to our individual requests. Taverna is our go to restaurant when we want to have a very good meal. They are very consistent. The wait staff is very attentive. We love it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Restaurant was very noisy but then it wa ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Restaurant was very noisy but then it was a Saturday evening--just not the place for a nice quiet dinner which we would have preferred. Sicilian seafood stew was delicious. Service appeared a little slow.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our second visit to Taverna and our server Andrew made it an exceptional evening. From our choice of wine to the selection of our main meal the evening was spectacular. Kudos to Andrew and the staff at Taverna.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Brunch was awesome!! Do think pizza dou ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Brunch was awesome!! Do think pizza dough could be par poked first it was a little soggy. :(

food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Not worth the money

Dined on May 21, 2016

First of all - way overpriced for what it offers. The food was alright, really nothing special. Drinks were not amazing. We asked if the bartender could make a specific drink, were told yes, but got something completely different. It seems like this place pretends to be a higher level of restaurant than it really is. The impression I got from the crowd - "I don't really know what high quality food/drinks/service is, but if it's expensive it must be good so I will go there and pretend like it's a great place." Last note about the service - bad. Our waitress acted strange, didn't know which plates go where, would pick stuff off the table then return and put it back, and she was gone for really long periods of time while the restaurant was pretty much empty. Disappointed with absolutely everything and will not be returning.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Taverna is one of my favorite places to ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Taverna is one of my favorite places to enjoy a meal with my people. The staff is very professional. They have the "customer is always right" attitude which every restaurant should maintain. The manager, Liam, is so welcoming and makes sure to stop by every table and ask how the mea was. If a diner happy, he makes sure to make it right. I can honestly say never had a bad experience at Taverna.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second trip as a date nite. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This was our second trip as a date nite. The service is amazing. The staff is always attentive and accommodating! The food was fantastic! We had the roasted chicken and the hanger steak after the appetizer of manchego cheese! All was cooked to perfection! We will absolutely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fresh and Inventive Menu

Dined on May 13, 2016

I have been to Taverna mainly for dinner or brunch , and they never disappoint. However I recently was there for lunch and I have to say they once again shone. Their beet salad with goat cheese was delicious and with the addition of some chicken breast made a very tasty and filling meal. Their menu offers many choices for those looking for something different but predictably palate pleasing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Go to in San Marco

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Taverna is consistently goid in all aspects. Interesting menu and wine list.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a wonderful lunch at the Taverna. ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

I had a wonderful lunch at the Taverna. The bar is modern and has a everything in perfect place. It has an elegant atmosphere. The Grilled salmon was perfect along with orzo and cucumber. All ingredients are so fresh. Nice presentation.

food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Saturday dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had an early dinner reservation prior to a concert. I ordered the charcuterie, 5 for $20. A recommendation might be -- and I realize this is an individual taste-based decision -- to provide bread slices that are soft enough to allow for easier spreading of either the cheeses purchased or the other delectables provided on the board (mustard, etc.). The taste was fine, but it was easy for both of us to feel somewhat inept in putting things together. My date and I kept things low-key on the entree front. She ordered the tomato bisque, which to both her and my taste was quite bland compared to others we've had locally in the same price-point range. However, the ravioli I ordered was quite good and the scallops were delicious. I ordered the lunch portion and wished I had ordered the full size even if I planned not to eat it all at dinner. I changed up and ordered a French chardonnay rather than going for my more-usual pinot grigio option, and the wine was just OK. The experience was hit and miss -- as a casual place, if you're ordering from a conventional menu, it seems to me the ambiance (massive TV screens a la sports-bar venues), food and noise levels would be a more natural fit, but the price points would need adjusting in that event. If the experience is designed to go for finer dining, which is what I would hope for with the amount I spent, then there may be better options. Don't get me wrong...Taverna is great if the weather allows for one to eat outside and you can people-watch and nosh on some foods with a fun cocktail, but for a date-night experience, depending on what you want from that experience, it could use a more defined sense of mission.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is always delicious and th ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

The food here is always delicious and the service was perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fun and tasty lunch

Dined on April 27, 2016

Reserved table to take my friend to lunch for her birthday and was lovely. Waitress Jessica was excellent, happy and able. Hostess offered cookie plate when I mentioned birthday which was also appreciated. I have been there twice lately and enjoyed the soup/salad combo both times. Will probably order it the next time too,

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The wine was to cold. Not cellar temp.

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

I have been collecting for 30+ years and have my own wine cave. The wine selection was very good. And the service and food were great. The wine was to fir red wine cold. There is a difference in cellar temp for red and white wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Can hardly wait to go back!

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was amazing! They make their own pasta. As far as I know, they're the only ones in JAX that do. Delicious! Had the shrimp as a starter and it was perfect! The sauce was so good, they brought us bread so we wouldn't waste a drop. I had the scallops while my daughter had the ravioli. The specials for the day were also tempting. Would have liked to try them all. The service was perfect as the wait staff was friendly and efficient. Oh! The dessert! Panna Cotta! Oh, my gosh! Flavors that explode in the mouth while the texture is creamy and smooth. Even the coffee was excellent. Will most definitely go back as we both want to try more of their dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Lunch with family too noisey

Dined on April 21, 2016

While I love Taverna for its design and food, the noise level acoustically is absolutely horrible. Especially along the bar side of the space where the booths are and the little area near the entrance. I have sat all over that space over the years and every time I leave there thinking I missed half the conversation due to the lack of acoustics!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Taverna never disappoints. Great food, g ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Taverna never disappoints. Great food, great drinks, great atmosphere. It's our favorite restaurant in Jacksonville!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 14, 2016

All I wrote in the reservation was that it was my girlfriend's birthday and the staff at Taverna was awesome! Amazing service helped make a birthday dinner into a really special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Reunion to Remember

Dined on April 11, 2016

Taverna was the perfect spot for old friends to get together. The food was great, as always. Our booth was quiet so we could hear each other. The service, from Brian, was outstanding. Taverna helped make our reunion memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

First time

Dined on April 6, 2016

This was our first time dinning here. we were seated right away. Service was great. We were celebrating my son's birthday. They gave each of us a glass of champagne for a toast. The food was good and the bill reasonable. Not for a picky eater. I would go again and take friends.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Noisy crowd

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food and service at Taverna was impeccable as usual. We went with out of town friends. They were both thrilled with their apps and entrees. Unfortunately, there was a large group of women celebrating a birthday. They were so loud at points - almost screaming - that is was difficult to carry on a conversation within our group. Last week, there was also a large group for pre-prom dinner. They were quiet and well-mannered. Monday was just a bad night for atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was excellent!

Dined on April 2, 2016

I recommend the charcuterie, it's off menu but delicious meats and cheeses. The ribeye, when available, was also amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. From the service t ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Everything was great. From the service to the food, it was all very pleasant and delicious. I need to come here more often.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Friday night meal

Dined on April 1, 2016

We had good pasta and salad with grilled seafood or chicken. Very fresh, tasty ingredients. We sat outside on the small patio overlooking the San Marco town green with live music and a little Friday night activity. It was a delightful warm, breezy April evening in Jacksonville. The food was very tasty. We were there with out of town family and it was the perfect evening to have them see why we moved here. They had seen all the strip malls with fast food restaurants and after this meal were assured that we had access to great food here in Jax!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I had dinner at Taverna o ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

My husband and I had dinner at Taverna on the way to the symphony. We enjoyed the shrimp appetizer, white bean soup, caprese salad and salmon tartar (one of the evening's specials). Happy hour wines at $5 are a good value while the food selections are a bit pricey for the portion size; but this is justified by the quality and flair of the offerings. We splurged for dessert -- gelato, sorbet and apple crisp. Food and service were outstanding as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Weighing the Good & Bad

Dined on April 1, 2016

We came a few mins late of the reservation but obviously we were accommodated because there wasn't anyone available. We sat down and ordered drinks which were excellent. The server was great as well we ordered something off the lunch menu and when it came out it looked great come to cut into the steak it had been burnt like so much on the side you could literally taste the burnt meat. My friend loved the salad she had but it came with a random piece of Sardine looking fish, we both didn't know if this was customary in a Caesar salad. But that completely freaked her out a bit. After a while we were done with the food but the server was nowhere to be found, after waiting a while we walked up to the bar to try to pay but the bartender wasn't there as well. Finally, I flag down our server and he comes and gets us the tab and paid it. I gave the lad a great tip even though he had abandoned his service station but I don't know if I would come back especially since I had specified that this was my first time being at their restaurant to the manager. One thing I loved about the restaurant during the day was the openness and the rustic feel inside and the window views which were absolutely stellar.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Noisy and cold inside

Dined on March 30, 2016

This is a San Marco institution, first as Café Carmon and now as Taverna. The air conditioning system is very energetic and drafty, so bring a jacket or a sweater. It's all hard surfaces inside, so the noise level when it's full is ear-splitting - the waitress had to shout to tell us about the specials. Forget about much dinner conversation. The food is good, but it's rather pricey for what you get and the menu is limited.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Eater Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by our first visit to Taverna for Easter brunch. Overall we experienced excellent food, service and ambiance. Even the seats of the booths were very comfortable, not easy to come by. We will definitely visit again, in fact plan to lunch there this week for my birthday!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.