About Taverna

1986 San Marco Boulevard
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Located in historic San Marco Square, Taverna specializes in handcrafted and Seasonal Italian cuisine. Chef Sam Efron's menus highlight classic Italian flavors while utilizing regional produce and meats, imported ingredients, and house-made pastas and mozzarella. At the bar, Taverna offers handcrafted classic cocktails, local microbrews, and a carefully curated selection of wines from Italy and beyond. Private dining, quick casual lunch service and business lunch deliveries are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday
11:00AM - 3:00PM Lunch
5:00PM - 10:00PM Dinner

Friday
11:00AM - 3:00PM Lunch
5:00PM - 11:00pm Dinner

Saturday
10:00AM - 3:00PM Brunch & Lunch
5:00PM - 11:00PM Dinner

Sunday
10:00AM - 3:00PM Brunch & Lunch
5:00PM - 10:00PM Dinner

Cross Street:
Atlantic Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 398-3005

Website:
http://taverna.restaurant/

Executive Chef:
Sam Efron

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Taverna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Neighborhood Gem (63)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Special Occasion (46)
See All
Great for Lunch (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Great for Brunch (29)
Romantic (27)
Good for Groups (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Scenic View (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
761 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I went with my boyfriend to celebrate hi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I went with my boyfriend to celebrate his birthday. Tables for 2 are small and the place is a bit crowded but the experience was still good.

Our server was very attentive and was so nice by describing the plates and helping us choose a good wine pairing.

The food is so delicious. I loved the grilled baby octopus. For entrees we had the scallops and the salmon. Everything was exquisite, very well presented and with good combination of flavor a and ingredients.

We will definitely be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love the food and the service at Tave ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We love the food and the service at Taverna. Everything is done with thought and attentiveness, and the atmosphere just adds to the experience. Would recommend it for anything from casual dinner to special occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Food and Service !! The grilled s ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great Food and Service !! The grilled salmon was buttery and delicious and great salad and sandwich.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food well prepared Cheese and salami t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food well prepared Cheese and salami tray yummy though a bit sparse

Extremely loud and hard to here people at our table.

Service is always attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good spot. One of my favorites in Jax, e ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Good spot. One of my favorites in Jax, especially as I am not from Jax. One thing the restaurant could use is a bit more humility. If the meal isn't quite right, as it wasn't for me, then the staff should do their best to make it right, or else at least comp the price. Neither was offered to me. The best restaurants always strive hard to make the best dishes, and solicit feedback in various ways. That all said, I'd certainly return to this place, as it's in my top 20 surely for Jax.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Booked thru open table and was on time f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Booked thru open table and was on time for our 6:30 reservations with a confirmation the day before but they said we were a "no show". Our particular seats were terrible in the back on the far right hand side at the back door against the window and the sun was terrible. It was blinding and not very flattering. I know it is hard to compete with the quality and quantity of all the good Italian restaurants in Houston but Italian food does not have to be that expensive. The food cost is very low. Wait til you see your bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Was very pleasantly surprised; this is a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Was very pleasantly surprised; this is a beautiful restaurant and the service was excellent, food very good. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Taverna was good food and good service! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Taverna was good food and good service! The homemade pasta was great. I'd recommend it to a friend for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We all loved our dinners, kicked off by ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We all loved our dinners, kicked off by a happy hour at the bar with Andrew mixing the best Manhattan! Every pasta dish I've tried at Taverna is amazing - so flavorful and creative, and beautifully presented. The scallops are reliably delicious every visit. The pizza is inventive with crispy crust and and gooey toppings. The wait staff is always friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the menu and specials. I love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my absolute favorite rest ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This is one of my absolute favorite restaurants in Jacksonville. The food is always exceptional. The drinks are awesome. Service is always a treat. They are fun and knowledgeable about the menu. Taverna has the best scallops in Jacksonville. I have been to many restaurants to try the scallops and nobody can beat Taverna. Great place to go for brunch or for a girls get together or just to get a scallops fix!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall very good but one of the dishes, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overall very good but one of the dishes, the orecchiette, previously a favorite of my wife was disappointing. Very little ragu on the pasta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first time at this restauran ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was my first time at this restaurant. Lovely atmosphere, can get a bit noisy. Waiter was attentive and manager came by twice to ask how we were doing and if everything was satisfactory. I had the tomato, feta and watermelon salad which was absolutely amazing. My guest had a steak that was a sizeable portion. She took part of it home. My ravioli with ratatouille was flavorful. But maybe a bit too much sauce for my liking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

. We were introduced to the Chef and ha ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

. We were introduced to the Chef and had a good dinner. Food was worth the price and great ambiance....Excellent, we will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was our first visit, there was appare ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It was our first visit, there was apparently a new menu, but myself and my husband (who is a very simple eater) found everything we ordered to be delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we new that we were going to a newly ope ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

we new that we were going to a newly opened restaurant but were surprised about everything seems to falling in place. Food, wine list, and staff/ kitchen are working on their part.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was wonderful and the service i ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was wonderful and the service impeccable. Definitely a great place to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in Jackso ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Jacksonville. I had the salmon and my husband had steak. He thoroughly enjoyed his dish as did I. We would easily drive across town to dine at Taverna but fortunately for us, we can walk from our home! We are never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Jacksonville for a weekend to ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were in Jacksonville for a weekend to celebrate my birthday. We chose Taverna as a restaurant to dine in the day of the occasion. Google told us they serve European cuisine, which turned out to be true. However, it was not your original French or Italian place. The menu has a variety of dishes, which were mostly Mediterranean. The prices were slightly higher than desired for the food offered. But the portions were relatively big, so I guess their was a fair value for money. The service was average though: neither outstanding, nor poor. The

Overall, our experience was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Always good food, and great service! Lov ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always good food, and great service! Love their seasonal menu and very good wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was better than most at T ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The experience was better than most at Taverna. The food and service were great. At first we sat in the private dining room but the volume level of people talking was very loud for a date. We relocated to the upper level table area and it was better but still fairly loud. The chef made a special dish for my vegan and gluten free girlfriend and we appreciated the effort.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meals, everyone one enjoyed them. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great meals, everyone one enjoyed them. The Chef has a real talent for making very flavorful, super looking dishes. One of the best in Jacksonville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been to Taverna se ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband and I have been to Taverna several times and it never disappointed. The food had always been fresh and delicious. However, we were less than impressed on this last visit. It seems that management changed and the restaurant has suffered.

Taverna has a beautiful bar. So how is it they only has 2 beer selections? I ordered a mixed drink and it came in a juice-size glass that was filled with ice. For a restaurant known for it's bar, and for the price, this was disappointing.

The service was lackluster. No one came to check on us during dinner. My husband ordered the seafood stew and was pleased, although he said it was a bit salty. I ordered the beet salad. Having gotten it on prior occasions, I thought I knew what to expect. What I always enjoyed about this salad was the marcona almonds and fresh beets. Instead, I got canned beets and no almonds.

We ordered a side of broccolini that was so salty it was inedible. The manager came to our table to apologize for the salty broccolini....then charged us for them.

Taverna just fell off of our favorites list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved everything about this place! Such ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Loved everything about this place! Such a vast menu that it's hard to decide which to choose from. All quality ingredients and presentation. Fab service too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended...Great food, drinks, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Highly recommended...Great food, drinks, and atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have experienced Taverna many times fo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I have experienced Taverna many times for personal and business use. The venue presents itself very well for client engagement. I will continue to patronize on a regular basis.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a shared birthday an ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We were celebrating a shared birthday and enjoyed our time there immensely. Our waitress was engaging and very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My dinner was very good but my husband w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My dinner was very good but my husband was disappointed in his. The server did not tell him that they had run out of clams in the seafood stew and there was no crabmeat as described. The manager explained that there is just a little crab in the stew but it was not even noticeable. We think this is poor. The manager gave us a dessert to make up for it, but my husband would have rather had the dish as described. Also, our waitress was affected but did bring us what we asked for promptly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Sorry. I have been to Taverna twice now ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Sorry. I have been to Taverna twice now and I leave hungry. Small portions and top prices, on top of food with absolutely no salt, does not make my list of places to go for a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Great meal choices for vegetarians. Ser ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great meal choices for vegetarians. Server was great. Wonderful experience. Only complaint - air conditioning blows strongly on many places in the restaurant. Must bring a wrap and something to cover neck because get blown on. Know where to request table but still sometimes a problem. Would certainly go back soon and recommend to others.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Scallops were amazing! (As was the mosca ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Scallops were amazing! (As was the moscato 😍)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate at Taverna before attending a The ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We ate at Taverna before attending a Theater Jax play. We had wonderful Happy Hour wine and apps then ordered a delicious pasta meal. Service was first rate. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Must get the scallops next time

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My date and I had a 9pm reservation on a Friday evening. We were seated immediately, but the restaurant seemed fairly quiet at that time anyway.

We began our meal with the charcuterie board based on the waiter's recommendation. Depending on how many items you get, it can be fairly filling. We ended up doing 3 meats and 2 cheeses, and it was so good. Between the two of us we ate just about every morsel, but still had room for our entrees. It helped that we took our time and paced everything out.

I ended up doing the ribeye special for that evening, and my date ordered the scallops and risotto. I am a big red meat fan, and my steak was prepared just as I had ordered. I thoroughly enjoyed meal, but I have to say that my date's scallops were out of this world. They had a beautiful golden sear on each side with the center being perfectly done and so tender. Unlike many scallops I've eaten, these scallops had no sign of the typical ocean grit that scallops tend to have. I was quite pleased when my date asked me to help her finish her scallops. And the risotto was tender and creamy and had great flavor. The risotto was a perfect complement to the scallops.

This was my second time at Taverna and definitely will not be my last. I need to get an order of those scallops all for myself.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

enjoyed

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

my kind of food for lunch will try diner enjoyed my lunch

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

One of our favorite places for brunch.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

One of our favorite places for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Consistently delicious!

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We went to Taverna for brunch on Saturday (party of 14) and dinner on Monday (party of 6). I had only been to Taverna for brunch a few times before. This time was excellent. It's hard to please 14 people with their individual requests and have the food come out at the same time still hot but they did it. I don't know why we don't go more often. We will now. Dinner was also excellent. It was Memorial Day and the place was hopping. Everyone truly enjoyed their meals and again, they catered to our individual requests. Taverna is our go to restaurant when we want to have a very good meal. They are very consistent. The wait staff is very attentive. We love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was very noisy but then it wa ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Restaurant was very noisy but then it was a Saturday evening--just not the place for a nice quiet dinner which we would have preferred. Sicilian seafood stew was delicious. Service appeared a little slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Awesome

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our second visit to Taverna and our server Andrew made it an exceptional evening. From our choice of wine to the selection of our main meal the evening was spectacular. Kudos to Andrew and the staff at Taverna.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was awesome!! Do think pizza dou ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Brunch was awesome!! Do think pizza dough could be par poked first it was a little soggy. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not worth the money

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

First of all - way overpriced for what it offers. The food was alright, really nothing special. Drinks were not amazing. We asked if the bartender could make a specific drink, were told yes, but got something completely different. It seems like this place pretends to be a higher level of restaurant than it really is. The impression I got from the crowd - "I don't really know what high quality food/drinks/service is, but if it's expensive it must be good so I will go there and pretend like it's a great place." Last note about the service - bad. Our waitress acted strange, didn't know which plates go where, would pick stuff off the table then return and put it back, and she was gone for really long periods of time while the restaurant was pretty much empty. Disappointed with absolutely everything and will not be returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Taverna is one of my favorite places to ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Taverna is one of my favorite places to enjoy a meal with my people. The staff is very professional. They have the "customer is always right" attitude which every restaurant should maintain. The manager, Liam, is so welcoming and makes sure to stop by every table and ask how the mea was. If a diner happy, he makes sure to make it right. I can honestly say never had a bad experience at Taverna.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.