About Taverna

1986 San Marco Boulevard
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Located in historic San Marco Square, Taverna specializes in handcrafted and Seasonal Italian cuisine. Chef Sam Efron's menus highlight classic Italian flavors while utilizing regional produce and meats, imported ingredients, and house-made pastas and mozzarella. At the bar, Taverna offers handcrafted classic cocktails, local microbrews, and a carefully curated selection of wines from Italy and beyond. Private dining, quick casual lunch service and business lunch deliveries are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday
11:00AM - 3:00PM Lunch
5:00PM - 10:00PM Dinner

Friday
11:00AM - 3:00PM Lunch
5:00PM - 11:00pm Dinner

Saturday
10:00AM - 3:00PM Brunch & Lunch
5:00PM - 11:00PM Dinner

Sunday
10:00AM - 3:00PM Brunch & Lunch
5:00PM - 10:00PM Dinner

Cross Street:
Atlantic Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 398-3005

Website:
http://taverna.restaurant/

Executive Chef:
Sam Efron

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Taverna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Value
Jacksonville
Neighborhood Gem
Jacksonville
1 More
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Authentic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Casual (12)
Business Meals (11)
People Watching (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Romantic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Fun (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Cozy (8)
Private Room (8)
Seasonal (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tapas (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
807 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great meal at Taverna. Great at ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Always a great meal at Taverna. Great attentive service, will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. We had a server ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was excellent. We had a server who took good care of us. Because we were celebrating, we had a number of gifts and it took a while to open, review and enjoy all. We weren't given the impression that we needed to rush out to give the restaurant another open table. Thank you Taverna for a lovely luncheon for our five ladies.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Experience was good, wish there was more ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Experience was good, wish there was more food options, a little bit pricey for a drink, and wish there was unlimited Mimosas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Good brunch and lunch menus. Does not ch ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Good brunch and lunch menus. Does not change much, with the exception of a few special, but it is consistently good. Prices are reasonable and a good value for the quality and size of portions.

Tags: Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Incredible meal with amazing service. Ca ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Incredible meal with amazing service. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there to celebrate a recent engagem ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Went there to celebrate a recent engagement. Took both my fiance and my parents out for a wonderful dinner, and to share that we will be spending having our wedding dinner here as well! Never have had a bad time here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Organic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious. Our waiter is the best ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Always delicious. Our waiter is the best! Great bar scene. We love it and we are never disappointed.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Lunch, Fun, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Private Room, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent meal! Great Atmosphere! Wait ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent meal! Great Atmosphere! Wait staff was attentive and efficient.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food and service was good but we ordered ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food and service was good but we ordered one drink each...and both were about half what you can expect from any other restaurant...paying full price for 'half drinks' is not a good way to start the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Great seasonal local menu. Excellent dr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great seasonal local menu. Excellent drinks. Attentive service. Always a good choice when friends in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

it is our restaurant during the Theatre ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

it is our restaurant during the Theatre Jacksonville season

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Taverna is one of my favorite restaurant ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Taverna is one of my favorite restaurants is Jax. It did not disappoint me this time. I had the special which was snapper with broccoli it was delicious. I will be back!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall excellent experience. The cheese ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Overall excellent experience. The cheese and meat appetizer was fantastic. Great service from Grant! The steak was delicious although had some gristle. The pumpkin creme brulee was a fantastic closer! I highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good as usual but took 15 minut ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was good as usual but took 15 minutes to get our drink ordered delivered and was after 9:15 on Nov 4th

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Perfect Sunday brunch spot. All of the w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Perfect Sunday brunch spot. All of the waitstaff was very attentive and the food and beverages were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Taverna was excellent, as usual. It's ve ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Taverna was excellent, as usual. It's vey reliable in terms of quality and service.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food and service excellent as always ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food and service excellent as always, best short rib around. Due to FL - GA weekend, it was noisier than normal.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome! Never disappointed. Always the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Awesome! Never disappointed. Always the go to place for our business meals.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time diners and we really enjoyed ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 25, 2016

First time diners and we really enjoyed it. Good service and really great dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant !! Our entrees, po ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Excellent restaurant !! Our entrees, pork ragu and butternut squash ravioli, were delicious. We also had a Spanish soup and marinated olives that were excellent. The gracious service was neither rushed nor slow - just perfect. The noise level was just right with only a murmur of conversations in the background. We definitely plan to go back and will be recommending Taverna to friends and family.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed Taverna. The food was ve ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Really enjoyed Taverna. The food was very good. They had a good house old fashioned. The butternut ravioli are a bit misnamed, they are cheese ravioli prepared with some butternut squash around them, nice preparation though. My party enjoyed the salmon entre, and the shellfish pasta. Service was quite good after a little order confusion, that was efficiently and accurately rectified. I particularly liked the flexibility to order most dishes in 2 sizes....that alone is worth coming back for. A very good experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

the food never disappoints. the lemon ri ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

the food never disappoints. the lemon ricotta pancakes were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Taverna is our favorite restaurant in Ja ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Taverna is our favorite restaurant in Jacksonville. We live on Amelia Island, so it is a little bit of a drive for us. However, whenever we are close, we make sure that we go there. Their meat and cheese board is the BEST. Also, we love their "gambas al ajillo" appetizer, along with their homemade fettuccini with scallops. The handcrafted cocktails are great, the gelato is delicious, and our service is always wonderful, too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed ourselves and will definitely ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We enjoyed ourselves and will definitely be back. The food was great and our party of nine were able to talk and catch up on our lives.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. We visited on ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great food. Great service. We visited on a birthday and will visit again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I absolutely love the new vegetarian bra ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I absolutely love the new vegetarian braised Carrot! thank you for adding vegetarian options !

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoy going to Taverna for these reaso ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I enjoy going to Taverna for these reasons: I know there will be options both of us will enjoy; I know there will be gluten free options for me. I cannot eat gluten, it concerns my health; I am aware that the dishes are homemade something I appreciate; The service is attentive and a little informal which I appreciate; the wines are good and the vibe is pretty cool too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Service was somewhat slo ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent food. Service was somewhat slow, but acceptable. The biggest problem was the noise level. It was perhaps the loudest restaurant my wife and I had ever been in.

Tags: Wood Oven, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Service was outstanding! We were seated ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Service was outstanding! We were seated promptly and approached by waitstaff almost immediately. Wine list was good. Truffle fries very good and so was the beet salad. Husband had scallops and he enjoyed them. I ordered the margarita pizza and it was not that good. The center of the pizza was soggy. It had good flavor but I do not enjoy half my topping sliding off each slice as I picked it up. It didn't ruin our evening but was a disappointment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service and very good food made br ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great service and very good food made brunch a great time for all. Highly recommend trying!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the Hanger steak and wedge salad. Be ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Had the Hanger steak and wedge salad. Better than any steakhouse in town. Highly recommend this restaurant. Service was very attentive for a busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was fantastic and so was the food ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Server was fantastic and so was the food. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly service, wonderful food, great ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Friendly service, wonderful food, great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service, very good food but high no ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Good service, very good food but high noise level....for conversation, try the back room.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

although promoted as italian restaurant ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 21, 2016

although promoted as italian restaurant it serves other great items. great kale salad with optional toppings

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Cozy, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Tapas, Happy Hour, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was so fantastic at Taverna! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Everything was so fantastic at Taverna! Our server, Ashley, was absolutely wonderful, the modern décor was beautiful, the food was some of the best I have ever had, and the noise level wasn't too bad. The beer selection was very small, but the 3 locally brewed beers they had on the menu are all very good. The only other thing I can think to say is I received a call from the hostess around 5:20pm asking when myself and my party would be there, but our reservation wasn't until 6pm and they had it written down as 5pm. It luckily was a very simple fix for them and we had a great time when we got there.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Business Meals, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been at Taverna for dinner about ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 19, 2016

We had been at Taverna for dinner about one month ago and liked it. Last week, we took our friends there for lunch. Not disappointed, they also like it. The octapus appetizer was just out of ordinary - very tender and very tasty. Each entry was just the right size, good coloring, sea food was fresh and tasty. Definitely will come back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the evening. The staff seeme ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We enjoyed the evening. The staff seemed very stressed and overworked. The asparagus spears were too large in diameter and chewy. The dessert was awesome. We will be returning.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food!

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Third visit here. Again good service and ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Third visit here. Again good service and food. I had pasta with pork ragu-very good. Appetizer of herbed ricotta and peasant bread was great to share. Gelato was very good.

12 Italian wines by the glass. Don't expect a quiet space but we could easily hear each other. Worth a trip or two

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.