About Taverna

1986 San Marco Boulevard
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Located in historic San Marco Square, Taverna specializes in handcrafted and Seasonal Italian cuisine. Chef Sam Efron's menus highlight classic Italian flavors while utilizing regional produce and meats, imported ingredients, and house-made pastas and mozzarella. At the bar, Taverna offers handcrafted classic cocktails, local microbrews, and a carefully curated selection of wines from Italy and beyond. Private dining, quick casual lunch service and business lunch deliveries are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday
11:00AM - 3:00PM Lunch
5:00PM - 10:00PM Dinner

Friday
11:00AM - 3:00PM Lunch
5:00PM - 11:00pm Dinner

Saturday
10:00AM - 3:00PM Brunch & Lunch
5:00PM - 11:00PM Dinner

Sunday
10:00AM - 3:00PM Brunch & Lunch
5:00PM - 10:00PM Dinner

Cross Street:
Atlantic Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 398-3005

Website:
http://taverna.restaurant/

Executive Chef:
Sam Efron

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Taverna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (38)
Good for a Date (32)
Creative Cuisine (25)
See All
Casual (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Authentic (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Cozy (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (12)
Romantic (12)
Healthy (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Wood Oven (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
People Watching (9)
Private Room (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Seasonal (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Great Beer (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
879 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a good time, excellent apetizer f ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a good time, excellent apetizer followed by pear salad and scallop entree. Time sensitive meal before concert, waiter aware and met our schedule. Very pleasant and will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Slow dinner. Took a long time

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Slow dinner. Took a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great apps!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great apps!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taverna doesn't disappoint! Food always ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Taverna doesn't disappoint! Food always great and healthy. It's a wonderful neighborhood restaurant with a nice outdoor dining area. Inside can be fairly loud but energetic.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was good , very nice ambianc ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The service was good , very nice ambiance, but unfortunately the food fell short. We ordered the day's special calzone sent it back for being cold. They made a new one which was then burnt to a crisp, inedible and the inside ingredients a fraction of the first one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

I know I can always find gluten free opt ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I know I can always find gluten free options at Taverna. This matters to me because I do not do well with wheat, rye, and barly. I often get the smoked chicken with root vegetables which is smoked earlier in the day. I love the fact that much creative effort goes into the soups, salads, and sides . The butternut squash soup and wedge salad are my favorites.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside by a heater and were quit ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We sat outside by a heater and were quite comfortable, even given the cooler weather. Ryan provided friendly service although there was an error with one of the wines that were brought to us early on. The food -- fish chowder, pear salad, and roasted carrot -- was delicious. On a less favorable note, the value of the $20 roasted carrot entree (which came with broccolini and quinoa) was poor. I loved the flavor but the quantity was more like a large side dish rather than an entree. It compared poorly to the vegetable plates at Seasons 52 and Royal Palm Wine and Tapas which are less expensive and offer more generous portions. But the overall experience was acceptable and we will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The hosts were friendly and our waiter w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The hosts were friendly and our waiter was very attentive. But the dinner did not start out well when, even with a reservation, we were initially shown to a table at the back on top of the noisy kitchen. Not acceptable. They eventually seated us up front near the entrance which was fine although I think most would not choose to sit there. Food was very good if pricey. Accommodated our requests and generally enjoyed our meal. Seems like a "regulars" kind of place, which probably accounts for the poor initial table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Charming, modern, excellent service, goo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Charming, modern, excellent service, good food. Definitely glad we found it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorites! Taverna never disa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

One of our favorites! Taverna never disappoints! My husband had the grouper special tonight and it was Aaaaaaamazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Three adults and a baby seated perfectly ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Three adults and a baby seated perfectly where we could observe but were out of the way. We each had a different craft cocktail, as well as glasses of wine with dinner. The cheese board is the best in town. We had homemade ravioli, special fish and scallops. They brought the baby's food first so we could relax and enjoy cocktails and cheese board. Service was excellent. We highly recommend Taverna.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a friend's bday and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's bday and the restaurant brought us over complimentary presecco which was so nice. The food is excellent it just took awhile to come out but worth the wait. Drinks are great but very rich! They make their own juices

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome! Took the kids for the first tim ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Awesome! Took the kids for the first time. Everyone loved it. Who knew they had a kids menu?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Drinks were slow to ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was excellent. Drinks were slow to come initially, but did get better through the service. Friendly staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Christmas Eve

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very enjoyable early Christmas Eve din ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A very enjoyable early Christmas Eve dinner. Pleasant and quiet.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were a party of 5, celebrating our ol ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were a party of 5, celebrating our older daughter's engagement, which had occurred less than an hour before our reservation when her boyfriend surprised her by flying into town to propose to her two days before Xmas. I had visited the restaurant several days beforehand and briefed the staff on the situation. While the food and service were very good, there was no acknowledgement of the special occasion, or an offer of complementary dessert for the couple, a toast, etc. This we found disappointing, and put a damper on our celebration, especially after spending over $250 on dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Went in for a Birthday celebration ha I ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went in for a Birthday celebration ha I got been to Taverna manus times before was disappointed in this occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was amazing. Each dish was per ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was amazing. Each dish was perfectly prepared and the flavors were outstanding. The quality, taste and presentation were spot on. Perfect pork ragu. Duck breast prepared perfectly. Scallops and risotto creamy and rich. For desert we had the chocolate pudding with cookies. OMG; the pudding was amazing. I don't think they called it pudding, but after you eat this amazing and comforting dessert you will be transported to your childhood if your mother ever made home made chocolate pudding or chocolate cream pie.

The bartender made a perfect martini for me. Others ordered a Manhattan and said it too was perfect. Ordered the house cabernet and it was very nice.

The service, however, was not the star at Taverna. Our server was well informed on the food but the actual service was just OK. Very little follow up and we had to signal him that we would like to order another round of wine. Friendly but just not very attentive. Hard to tell if it was due to our location which was in the black room or if he just had too many tables for a Friday night. While the service was not at the same level as the food, this would not keep me from returning to Taverna because the food is just outstanding. Like many restaurants, the service we received may have just been a dip in their performance as its clear they have standards and you can see that in the food and the beautiful space.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Good variety of excellent food. Friendl ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Good variety of excellent food. Friendly and helpful, yet not hovering wait staff. Wait staff could answer all the questions about food preparations and opportunities for variations from the menu. Although the restaurant was full, it was quiet and our business conversation took place without distraction or undue interruption. Excellent choice, I have never been disappointed, not for lunch with the ladies, business conversations, dinner before theatre and dinner as an evening's entertainment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Year after year, Taverna is a stellar ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Year after year, Taverna is a stellar performer

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Taverna is a great local place with a go ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Taverna is a great local place with a good, solid menu and nice drinks selection. The service is always wonderful and we have found them to be accommodating for large gatherings as well as dinner for two. Our only complaint is that it is very loud at times, but this is not enough to keep us away!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love it every time!

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Love it every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was great. My girlfriend is imp ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The menu was great. My girlfriend is impossible to serve as she gluten free and vegan, yet the waiter did a great job of putting something together that she liked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The white bean escarole soup and half Gr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The white bean escarole soup and half Greek salad was perfect size for a lunch meal and truly delicious. It was a cool day and the soup just hit the spot. Service by Merrill was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just wonderful as always! The food was e ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Just wonderful as always! The food was exceptional and innovative, the service was spot on, cocktails were perfect. Our servers suggestions served us well. We will be back for more!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taverna continues to meet and exceed our ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Taverna continues to meet and exceed our expectations every time we go!

I had the butternut squash soup and truffle fries for dinner...why not??? They were both amazing!

The service was, as always, perfect.

Thank you!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We (4 of us) like to critic the restaura ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We (4 of us) like to critic the restaurants we visit. On a scale from 1-10, there were three 10's and one 9.5. That about says it all.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Loved it!

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Amazing! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wine we great. Food even better. Fish St ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Wine we great. Food even better. Fish Stew is to die for!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had the smoked chicken and fish stew. ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had the smoked chicken and fish stew....both were fab. Our first time there, but worth the drive and we will go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great meal at Taverna. Great at ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always a great meal at Taverna. Great attentive service, will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. We had a server ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food was excellent. We had a server who took good care of us. Because we were celebrating, we had a number of gifts and it took a while to open, review and enjoy all. We weren't given the impression that we needed to rush out to give the restaurant another open table. Thank you Taverna for a lovely luncheon for our five ladies.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Experience was good, wish there was more ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Experience was good, wish there was more food options, a little bit pricey for a drink, and wish there was unlimited Mimosas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Good brunch and lunch menus. Does not ch ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Good brunch and lunch menus. Does not change much, with the exception of a few special, but it is consistently good. Prices are reasonable and a good value for the quality and size of portions.

Tags: Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Incredible meal with amazing service. Ca ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Incredible meal with amazing service. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there to celebrate a recent engagem ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Went there to celebrate a recent engagement. Took both my fiance and my parents out for a wonderful dinner, and to share that we will be spending having our wedding dinner here as well! Never have had a bad time here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Organic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious. Our waiter is the best ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Always delicious. Our waiter is the best! Great bar scene. We love it and we are never disappointed.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Lunch, Fun, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Private Room, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my first visit, and I will be b ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

This was my first visit, and I will be back. The food was great! I can't wait to try their brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.