About Tavern

11648 San Vicente Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Tavern is the third restaurant from the chef and sommelier team of Suzanne Goin and Caroline Styne, who also own Lucques restaurant and AOC winebar. This is their West Los Angeles outpost, which serves as a local gathering spot for the Brentwood crowd. Chicly designed by Jeffrey Alan Marks, Tavern encompasses three separate, yet connected spaces: a glass roofed atrium dining room, a large blue walled bar and a café space called the Larder that features casual dining, bakery, retail and prepared foods to go. The restaurant serves Suzanne Goin’s signature California/Mediterranean cuisine with just a touch of a classic American influence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 5:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour Every day 3PM-7PM in the Blue Room.
Larder open everyday 8am - 8pm.

Cross Street:
Darlington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 806-6464

Website:
http://www.tavernla.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz and our very own Paella for $38! EVERY Wednesday of the month, from 6 - 9:30 pm throughout the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Daytime parking lots offer 90 minutes free with validation.
Evening valet available for $6 (on Darlington).

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Chocolate Cake - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
The Argentine - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
fish tacos - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
New Zealand Pink Snapper - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Carrot Soup with coconut & cilantro pistou - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Ricotta Pancake With Brown Buttrer Peach Compote - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Frittata W/ Summer Squash, Cherry Tomatoes, Chevre & Basil - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Niman Ranch Beef W/ Fontina - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
The Angeleno Sandwich - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Bellini - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Brisket Hash - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Monkey Bread - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Scarpetta Pinot Grigio - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Cheeseburger - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Pork Burger - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Niman Ranch Burger - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Pork Belly - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Herb Ricotta Gnocchi - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Eggs Benedict - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Snickers - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Butter-Crumbed Eggs With Parmesan, Polenta And Arugula - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Chopped Vegetable Salad - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Roasted Asparagus - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Soft Shell Crab - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Lucques Gimlet - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Five Fingers cocktail - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Devil's Chicken - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Blackberry Ricotta Cheesecake - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Cheesburger - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Kumquatini - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
BBQ Pork Sliders and a Turkey Burger - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Market Fish - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
chicken dinner - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Sweet potato chips - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Crispy Duck Confit - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Turkey Burger - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Assorted Cookies - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Pancetta Seared Trout Black Cous Cous, Salsify & Goat Cheese Espuma, Spring Onion Vinaigrette  - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Butternut Squash Soup - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Pumpkin Loaf With Brown Butter Frosting - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
the spaniard - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA
Thunderer - Tavern, Los Angeles, CA

Specials

TAVERN HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR AND BLUE ROOM

Special valid Aug 6, 2016 - Dec 6, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Try the Tavern Collins and Support LALAL!

Special valid Aug 6, 2016 - Dec 6, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

TAVERN HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR AND BLUE ROOM

Special valid Aug 6, 2016 - Dec 6, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Join us everyday for Happy Hour! Specialty cocktails,beers and wines by the glass, Spanish fried chicken,lamb meatballs, tacos with duck confit or tempura fish,toasts w/ salmon, avocado & burrata, beef,pork or turkey burgers, cheese selection. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 6, 2016 - Dec 6, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Try the Tavern Collins and Support LALAL!

Special valid Aug 6, 2016 - Dec 6, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Christiaan Röllich's new Tavern Collins with orange infused rutte vodka with raspberries, lemon and fennel $1 per cocktail sold benefits L.A. Loves Alex’s Lemonade. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 6, 2016 - Dec 6, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Brentwood ›

Great for Lunch (35)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Business Meals (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Romantic (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
People Watching (12)
Casual (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Healthy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (4)
Organic (4)
Family Style (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Live Sports (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hangar steak was the Best thing I've eve ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined 2 days ago

Hangar steak was the Best thing I've ever had there. They need to add 1-2 pasta options tho. Besides the hangar steak, there was nothing else on the menu that even looked good. Chix & waffles terrible, over cooked & very small portion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Always positive ... glitches amicably fi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Always positive ... glitches amicably fixed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

They skimp on lettuce in a $19 cob salad ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

They skimp on lettuce in a $19 cob salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drinks are delicious. A little ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food and drinks are delicious. A little overpriced. However the ambience is nice. I had a good time overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I live nearby so we tried ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My husband and I live nearby so we tried the Tavern. Cool interior and active bar scene. Food is very good but pricey. Excellent service. I would recommend sitting in the bar area if you are a party of two. In the dining room, they squeeze two people between other small parties---very uncomfortable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We normally love Tavern and have eaten t ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We normally love Tavern and have eaten there many times, but Thanksgiving dinner was awful and ridiculously expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The food is always consistently good. Th ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food is always consistently good. The rhythm and tempo of the restaurant is always upbeat. We especially appreciate the friendly and professional service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were at the restaurant for the the Sp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We were at the restaurant for the the Special Thanksgiving meal. Food was great and there was lots of it. Met interesting people and the server was as good as it gets

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent dining experience!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ours was a multi-generation holiday dinn ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Ours was a multi-generation holiday dinner. Restaurant was helpful in accommodating our needs (stroller, etc), and the meal plan worked for all of us. Waiters, servers, busing staff were very helpful, and it was a hectic day for all of them. We've been to Tavern before, and always enjoy the food & atmosphere there.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We were heading back to Northern Califor ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were heading back to Northern California on Thanksgiving Day but wanted to have a nice lunch before hitting the road. Tavern was the right choice for us--delicious Thanksgiving food with excellent service. We were seated in The Larder (the bakery in Tavern) which is bright and relaxed; it suited us before our long drive. I'm very picky about proper service and this restaurant was spot-on: attentive and unpretentious. It was a bit pricey but since we weren't having our usual big Thanksgiving dinner, this made up for it. I don't know what Tavern/The Larder is like on a regular day but judging from this special menu, I'm guessing it's fairly good. Two thumbs up!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was very unimpressed with my burger. A ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I was very unimpressed with my burger. Any fine dining establishment that decides to put a burger on their menus better live up to it. There are other options near by for better quality food. Even the side of veggies lacked flavor. However it is a cute place and do have a decent Happy Hour at it's upscale.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Definitely book the "Atrium" during the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Definitely book the "Atrium" during the day and the bar at night

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Branzino was very good but the green ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The Branzino was very good but the green, onion, spinach mixture served with it was odd. Would be better with just some traditional tzatziki sauce. Wine list was OK with just some very expensive knowns and few moderately priced knowns.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was VERY flavorful - amazing ta ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was VERY flavorful - amazing taste but on the rich side. Remember not to eat too much, or you could be in some serious food coma.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

My chopped chicken with Apple bacon sala ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My chopped chicken with Apple bacon salad was delicious. Perfect lunch location; especially the valet parking;

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Loved the atrium dining experience. ... ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Loved the atrium dining experience. .....Nick made a difference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been going there often since they ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I have been going there often since they have opened my experience past 6 months has been very bad service has been very poor food quality not like before they make a lot of mistakes on your food order service is slow

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The girl greeting us needs to go. No nee ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The girl greeting us needs to go. No need to start the experience with a sour attitude

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Great service. Food was delicious. Beaut ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great service. Food was delicious. Beautiful setting and ambience.

Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service has always been top notch here. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Service has always been top notch here. Menu always seems a bit light but I've never been disappointed. Pan seared salmon was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for brunch and it was divine. They ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Went for brunch and it was divine. They know what they're doing and every item was relish. The place is a little stuffy but we were up for upscale experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service for a busy Saturday evening was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service for a busy Saturday evening was very good . The dinner menu is somewhat limited and over priced but what we ordered was very good. Where we were seated in the "Garden Room"

the sound level wasn't too high and we could carry on a good conversation.

All in all a delightful evening!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The waiter was very unprofessional. Serv ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The waiter was very unprofessional. Served warm white wine and then protested that it was chilled when it was room temp. Also served a large amount in one glass and then a little bit in others.

Served our branzino very poorly. Spilled some on the dish on table when serving it and id not serve the side vegitables.

This kind of service is most unprofessional for a restaurant of Tavern's caliber. I think Suzanne Goin would be horrified.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Casual but elegant - very refined and sp ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Casual but elegant - very refined and special decor. Food delicious - served especially nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A bit loud for a meeting when we arrived ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

A bit loud for a meeting when we arrived at 12:30 but eased up as the time passed. Great salads and good proportioned drinks.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My favorite place to have a luncheon mee ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

My favorite place to have a luncheon meeting despite the volume of chatter....the room is so light and cheerful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

After giving a bridal shower the day bef ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

After giving a bridal shower the day before we wanted to get together with the out of town people. They loved it. All good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for a birthday dinner. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We came here for a birthday dinner. The service is outstanding and the ambiance is fabulous, glitzy, glamorous, and glowing. The food is pricey for what you get, most entrees start to get into the $40 range and the starters are $15-$23. That's expensive! Corkage is $25, which I thought was a bit high as well. So we'll keep this for very special occasions, better value to come for lunch.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

The selection of signature drinks were c ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The selection of signature drinks were clean, simple and uncomplicated expressions of the contemporary appreciation of fresh, natural flavors infused with classic spirits. The beer choices are well curated and representative of an aficionado's palate. The list of wines provides both depth and breadth, without being overwhelming. It also reflects the tendency of the establishments clientele towards sophistication within the realm of wine.

The appetizers are spins on classic delicious flavors. Offerings are well-paired, accentuate the quality of the ingredients which becomes clearly evident with the touch of a restrained preparation.

The entree offerings reflect the executive chef's respect for high quality ingredients, accompanied by concern for providing the best vehicles to compliment and share the carefully selected flavors.

Very well-prepared, well worth the slightly higher than average average ask of a run-of-the-mill restaurant with a similar menu.

In a brief summation: Excellent interpretations of classic American choices with their own creative accents.

The thoughtful preparations and quality of ingredients are well worthy of Tavern's reputation of New American classics in a chic and upper-scale restaurant. The graduated progressions of cafe, bar, and dining room each carry their own ambiance, that are well matched to the fare and occasion of the meal.

A thorough enjoyment and neighborhood gem, that would not disappoint as a destination to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Our service was very slow - we waited ov ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our service was very slow - we waited over an hour between ordering and getting our food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

too crowded, poor service, wrong orders ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 20, 2016

too crowded, poor service, wrong orders were delivered however the food was good!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Tavern never disappoints. The food is fi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Tavern never disappoints.

The food is first class and the service is friendly and professional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great. However the Host was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Service was great. However the Host was a bit inflexible about letting us use an extra chair to hold purses and bags. Wasn't quite sure why as half of tables were empty.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food, a bit pricy, but very go ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Delicious food, a bit pricy, but very good service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

open table said I had to choose between ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

open table said I had to choose between 6:45 and 7:45, I couldn't get a 7:30 reservation.

But, when I called, they said it was no problem. When I got there there were plenty of tables empty at 7:30.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent spot whether impressing client ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Excellent spot whether impressing clients, special lunch with colleagues or fun night with friends.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Always good, always easy. Perfect place ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Always good, always easy. Perfect place to go for casual or upscale. Just right as a local good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lunch is always a good option here. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Lunch is always a good option here. The food is delicious and the service is also goo.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.