About Tavern

11648 San Vicente Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Tavern is the third restaurant from the chef and sommelier team of Suzanne Goin and Caroline Styne, who also own Lucques restaurant and AOC winebar. This is their West Los Angeles outpost, which serves as a local gathering spot for the Brentwood crowd. Chicly designed by Jeffrey Alan Marks, Tavern encompasses three separate, yet connected spaces: a glass roofed atrium dining room, a large blue walled bar and a café space called the Larder that features casual dining, bakery, retail and prepared foods to go. The restaurant serves Suzanne Goin’s signature California/Mediterranean cuisine with just a touch of a classic American influence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 5:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour Every day 3PM-7PM in the Blue Room.
Larder open everyday 8am - 8pm.

Cross Street:
Darlington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 806-6464

Website:
http://www.tavernla.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz and our very own Paella for $38! EVERY Wednesday of the month, from 6 - 9:30 pm throughout the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Daytime parking lots offer 90 minutes free with validation.
Evening valet available for $6 (on Darlington).

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ring in the New Year Moroccan style with our 'Midnight in Marrakech' celebration! Menu highlights incld shared apps (such as harissa grilled tuna skewers & dried fava purée) moroccan salad, grilled bass & lamb tagine. 1st seating $95 pp 2nd seating $125 includes toast (both exclusive of tax & tip)

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
See All
Great for Lunch (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Romantic (16)
Business Meals (16)
Casual (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
People Watching (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Fun (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Authentic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Organic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Live Music (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1683 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cool greenhouse feel in Atrium, will go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Cool greenhouse feel in Atrium, will go back. Try the chicken in the pot and the bacon wrap dates

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The restaurant is beautiful and the food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant is beautiful and the food is excellent overall...But the food seems to have gotten heavier lately. Everything has about 1/4 cup too much butter or oil added to it. That was true for the Devil's Chicken, the Scallops and all of the vegetable side dishes. Even the desserts can be too heavy. The key lime pie dessert was really just a pile of what tasted like heavy cream flavored with key lime...and a dollop of raspberry sorbet. They need to lighten things up here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Amazing brunch and a beautiful setting. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing brunch and a beautiful setting. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Fun, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Tavern is way over-priced for what y ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Tavern is way over-priced for what you get. It was over $60 for 2 people and we each got an ice tea and a turkey burger. The salad on the side was bitter and the burger was so-so. Not worth it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Ingredients good and preparation good ex ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Ingredients good and preparation good except too much salt overpowering otherwise pleasant flavors. Prices about 1/3 higher than comparable restaurants: 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, and 2 glasses of wine $140 plus tax, tip, and health care surcharge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

It was a great restaurant. Good food and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was a great restaurant. Good food and great service

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband went for date night. We had a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband went for date night. We had a reservation and were seated on time. But once we sat down, no one came to our table for more than 15 minutes. I wish I was exaggerating. When my husband got up and told the manager, he came back and was very apologetic. He gave us a round of drinks and a cheese plate. He was very kind.

Our appetizers -- the octopus and the flatbread -- were very salty. Our main courses were also quite salty, but mine especially so. I ordered the hangar steak frites. The meat was nice, but the fries and the arugula with olive oil and lemon juice were way too salty. I made my husband try some and he was downing water for the rest of the evening.

Overall, a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Extremely expensive for the food quality ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Extremely expensive for the food quality - nothing was great. I am no professional chef, but my food is way better than the food we had here. Between 4 of us we had 2 steaks - so-so, quinoa roasted veggies- again average, salad was good, cheese plate was no biggie - 3 cheese wedges with nuts and raisins and bread, olive appetizers - tasted like I could have gotten them at Trader Joe's, and I think a chicken dish that was also ok. Drinks were good though - especially the bourbon cocktail.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

I dine at the Tavern simply for business ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I dine at the Tavern simply for business meetings. Not by choice. Service is slow. Servers have an attitude. Food is less than desirable. It happens to be convenient which is great for you !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value5

All was great

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

All was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate in the atrium, the more elegant a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We ate in the atrium, the more elegant and quiet room adjacent to the lively (and loud) bar scene. It happened to be LA Restaurant week so we each decided to try the different offerings which almost gave us a tasting menu! Little gem salad was delicious as were the entrees (including scallops, tender and flavorful short ribs and a hearty pasta dish). Desserts were decadent! Large portions - we just couldn't eat all our dessert. Cocktails were also very good, and the wine list was also varied with some interesting and high quality choices. Our server was very helpful and made us feel comfortable even though one of our group was delayed due to traffic. I would definitely return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went there on a rainy day, and sitting i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went there on a rainy day, and sitting in the atrium was perfect! Great ambiance and the food was DELICIOUS. Would definitely go back. Not sure the small cocktails were worth $15 though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had salmon, it was delicious. The amb ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had salmon, it was delicious. The ambiance is great, it is both cozy and elegant.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Like the restaurant and food and service ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Like the restaurant and food and service but the hostess was rude and abrupt.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food, great ambiance and terri ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Delicious food, great ambiance and terrific service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Tavern was wonderful for lunch, lots of ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Tavern was wonderful for lunch, lots of food options (even for the picky eater in our group) and everything was delicious! Also, the host was very kind to seat us in the beautiful Atrium despite the fact that it was almost 2:30pm, which is usually when they start setting up for dinner. It was really enjoyable and as always, has a wonderful ambiance!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

s usual, going as early as 6:30 meant qu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2017

s usual, going as early as 6:30 meant quiet along with imaginative food, excellent service.

But even on a Tuesday, the noise got wilder and wilder! The best is to go @ 5:30!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bad slow service. This is the second v ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Bad slow service. This is the second visit with ad service. I won't come again. You have lost me as a customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Another of Susanne Goin's restaurants wi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Another of Susanne Goin's restaurants with her usual stylish, delicious food. The dining room is beautiful and the bar can be packed, noisy and frenetic. The service is attentive and good. As always, this is a reliable, comfortable and popular alternative to the sea of Brentwood Italian trattorias.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I only go for the hamburger and sit in t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I only go for the hamburger and sit in the bar area. Less noise and somewhat better service. Best burger in town.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The atrium is one of the nicest rooms to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The atrium is one of the nicest rooms to eat in all of Southern California. Food and service is excellent. Very comfortable dining

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Set menu for New Years. Regularly eat he ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Set menu for New Years. Regularly eat here on weekends. Food was delicious as usual BUT overall experience did not justify the very high price for the special menu.

*Pretty disappointed in what I got for the price I paid. I have had better times at Tavern on a weeknight paying a fraction of the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was freezing, they kept saying it wou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was freezing, they kept saying it would warm up, never did. Didn't really like the limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The Atrium is beautiful. Great atmospher ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The Atrium is beautiful. Great atmosphere. Food was healthy and very good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Waitress totally messed up our order. Sh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Waitress totally messed up our order. She deducted the one Neal, but it was unfortunate that one person was served so much later because the waitress thought she wanted no meal. Everyone els at the table understood perfectly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

One of the best classy lunch spots in LA ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

One of the best classy lunch spots in LA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was rude and lacked basic c ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our waitress was rude and lacked basic customer service. It was our family holiday dinner, your employee soured it. Not acceptable and I would not ever recommend going back. Terrible, just terrible. Brentwood deserves better.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Lovely spot for a family gathering or ro ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Lovely spot for a family gathering or romantic meal. Nice and quiet corner table, great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Kid-friendly, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always consistently good. A very comfort ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always consistently good. A very comfortable restaurant when you just want good food in a relaxed environment. The bar is casual and the main dining room is a bit more formal but both have the same menu. Try it, you'll like it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

tavern never disappoints. beautiful sett ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

tavern never disappoints. beautiful setting, terrific food always attentive

service. we've been many times and will continue to go back

Especially like brunch or lunch because the light in the atrium is gogeous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant where you can actua ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Beautiful restaurant where you can actually hear and carry on a conversation. Menu is limited and pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for brunch on Sunday with a rese ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We went for brunch on Sunday with a reservation for a larger party: everything was handled professionally and graciously. We seated on time, had personal and efficient service and could talk to each other effortless without raising our voices. Perfect experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always great!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food took over an hour and got the wrong ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food took over an hour and got the wrong entree but was grateful that one of the kitchen staff send us some cheese to tide us over and my meal was still very good. Didn't get a ton of attention from the server till things took forever then he was fairly attentive. They did take my entree off the bill which I appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was good service was horrible the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food was good service was horrible the server just came to the table to take the order and drop the check never came to check on us even when he had to tables next to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

When you think of Tavern, you imagine it ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 15, 2016

When you think of Tavern, you imagine its inviting dining room with a towering three in the center and skylight over it. It's a great place to sit and sample their outstanding food and wine list. We loved everything we ordered, from burgers to scallops to hangar steak and chicken—even the Brussels sprouts were great.

Unfortunately, that isn't the whole story. If you don't make a reservation far in advance and request the Dining Room, they will probably seat you in the bar (Blue Room). That can be okay, but it's usually it's so crowded that the insane levels of noise will drown out any and all conversation. And some nights they have live music in the same room, so for its ambiance, it's no place to have dinner. You may also be seated in the bakery area in front, which has all the charm of dining in a Yum-Yum Donuts.

Go for the fun bar scene and people watching. Go for the wonderful food and wine. But if you're not in the dining room, maybe go across the street.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Happy Holidays at The Tavern This was t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Happy Holidays at The Tavern

This was the second time we've held our small company staff holiday lunch at The Tavern, and we will definitely book again in the future. The atrium room is a great place to sit, as you get the natural light of the day without it being too hot (like a greenhouse).

We had a late lunch reservation so most people were wrapping up their lunches when we arrived. This led to a bit of a rocky start to our experience in that our server didn't get to us right away, but she was very apologetic and more than made up for it with excellent, attentive service from that point forward. She was actually quite good... pleasant, friendly and professional. Great recovery!

The food is always great at The Tavern; our staff loves it here. Wonderful appetizers (especially those bacon wrapped dates--YUM!), terrific array of main course selections (fish and steak to die for as well as killer burgers and abundant salads) and oh-so-fabulous desserts! Not a clunk in the bunch!

Thanks, Tavern! See you next year... and for many Happy Hours to come!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place. Geronimo the waiter is my d ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great place. Geronimo the waiter is my draw. I'd keep coming back to have his attention and professionalism.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hangar steak was the Best thing I've eve ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Hangar steak was the Best thing I've ever had there. They need to add 1-2 pasta options tho. Besides the hangar steak, there was nothing else on the menu that even looked good. Chix & waffles terrible, over cooked & very small portion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Tough to find a reason to recommend this ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Tough to find a reason to recommend this restaurant. We didn't have a single memorable dish and the prices were overinflated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.