Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

About Tavern

Tavern is the third restaurant from the chef and sommelier team of Suzanne Goin and Caroline Styne, who also own Lucques restaurant and AOC winebar. This is their West Los Angeles outpost, which serves as a local gathering spot for the Brentwood crowd. Chicly designed by Jeffrey Alan Marks, Tavern encompasses three separate, yet connected spaces: a glass roofed atrium dining room, a large blue walled bar and a café space called the Larder that features casual dining, bakery, retail and prepared foods to go. The restaurant serves Suzanne Goin’s signature California/Mediterranean cuisine with just a touch of a classic American influence.

11648 San Vicente Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 5:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour Every day 3PM-7PM in the Blue Room.
Larder open everyday 8am - 8pm.

Cross Street:
Darlington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 806-6464

Website:
http://www.tavernla.com/

Parking Details:
Daytime parking lots offer 90 minutes free with validation.
Evening valet available for $6 (on Darlington).

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

TAVERN HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR AND BLUE ROOM

Special valid Mar 19, 2017 - Jul 19, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Take Away from The Larder for Memorial Day Weekend

Fridays - Mondays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Join Us for the Annual Low Country Boil

Sunday Jun 25, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

TAVERN HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR AND BLUE ROOM

Special valid Mar 19, 2017 - Jul 19, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Join us everyday for Happy Hour! Specialty cocktails,beers and wines by the glass, Tavern burgers, bacon-wrapped dates, spanish-fried chicken and tacos of curried cauliflower, duck confit, batter-fried fish, grilled shrimp and crispy ribeye. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 19, 2017 - Jul 19, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Take Away from The Larder for Memorial Day Weekend

Fridays - Mondays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

A full array of appetizers, platters, fried chicken, barbeque-ready burgers complete with toppings and extras – including sauces, sides and Larder Baking Company breads and rolls – are offered. Sweets are abundant and orders are ideal for outdoors. Excludes Tax and Tip. All orders for Memorial Day Weekend are required 48 hours in advance. Special valid May 26, 2017 - May 29, 2017 on Fridays - Mondays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Join Us for the Annual Low Country Boil

Sunday Jun 25, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us for our southern potluck board, radish and corn salads, the Carolina seafood boil and cornmeal cobbler! Featuring live music by Josh and Leslie Roberts. Make your reservations now -$65 per person. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Sunday Jun 25, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (41)
Good for a Date (40)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Creative Cuisine (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Great for Brunch (29)
Business Meals (26)
Bar Seating (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
People Watching (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Romantic (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Casual (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Cozy (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Fun (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Healthy (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Seasonal (8)
Live Music (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Authentic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1763 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 9 hours ago

Great ambience, unfortunately the menu is overpriced on everything and doesn't taste all that great for dinner. It's better for brunch.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Always good didn't disappointed fresh ingredients with a unique twist .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

I love this restaurant. Always great food, great ambience, wonderful service, and interesting patrons.

Always a sure thing

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

I've had brunch twice now at Tavern and it's been a great experience each time. Great service and their breakfast is amazing. The monkey bread was the only disappointment. Eggs Benedict and the shakshuka are both highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

You can count on Tavern for consistent service and great food.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Made a last minute resy and requested seating at Atrium but only bar was available. However, the bar had happy hour until 7 pm which was a plus. Took a while before server asked about drinks but all was good after our drink order.

Food and drinks were great! The music was a bit too loud in the bar for my taste. People watching was enjoyable too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very good food; good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The service was incredible bad, never go there again,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 11, 2017

An old standby, very comfortable, food always good, easy parking, lots of choices, good for nibbling on several things.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The fish entrees were so delicious. The veal chop was served too rare. We sent it back, waited over 15 minutes and got another too rare chop. Order the fish, it's great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

For such a beautiful restaurant, the quality of the food is TERRIBLE. I have given this restaurant a chance since it opened years ago, hoping that each time something on the menu would be better. Unfortunately the ambiance and the cocktails are the only amazing thing. The food is so greasy and tasteless. I ordered the vegetarian entree and side of cauliflower. The cauliflower was so covered in oil, any and all nutritional value had been fried away. The vegetable dish was giant, semi-cooked, carrots in their entirety floating in unseasoned quinoa. So disappointing. Thankfully they brought back the simple salad so I did not completely starve. My friend ordered the turkey burger which was made of all dark meet and very fatty. I root for Tavern because the wait staff is pleasant and the bar scene is lively. Sadly both my table and the table next to us paid our bills with full plates of food left behind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

for the first time, our hamburgers were awful. Not usually the case; but this time they were nothing like what I am used to expecting. Will try again

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Wow, the service, which then makes it the experience, is HORRIBLE here. They could really use some pointers on how to treat people like they actually appreciate them coming into the restaurant. They act like it's a burden that we come dine there. Really, it's not that good for them to remotely act that way. From the rude and arrogant hostess to the lack of attention from the server, they act like this is some prime hot spot in LA that you can't get into. Bad experience, and certainly does not make me want to dine here again..which I would since the location and ambiance is nice. Hope management takes some note of this!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Dining room is a great, quiet spot for a breakfast meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We went for my parents anniversary and all the staff were so kind and congratulatory! It's as if they had a morning huddle and notified all staff of this special occasion as when we were walking out they all said congratulations. They even brought a cake and candle out. Great service, great food and lovely ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

when we came in on Saturday 6:30, this familiar place was almost quiet. over the next 2 hours
the noise became almost unbearable. They need to provide more sound absorption, like 70% of LA restaurants. Noise detracts mightily from the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A wonderful combination of an elegant room, delicious food and attentive service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always wonderful. I have been coming regularly since opening

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We all really enjoyed our get together/ informal baby shower at Tavern. The service and drinks were amazing. The happy hour tacos were hit or miss (my duck confit taco had a bone and gristle ick! But my crispy fish taco was great) and the $6 price tag was a bit steep for ONE taco, most happy hour menus are a bit more generous with the portion. But the blue room was a great venue and our server really made the experience lovely.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The food is excellent quality, but the value is uneven. The main course salads tend to be on the weak side, light on all the good stuff especially the protein. For the price, you should see a nice chunk of dead animal in the bowl.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Never disappoints. Good menu, great staff, very accommodating, good food. Pleasant ambiance.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Love Tavern, especially for lunches. The dining room is so pretty and filled with trees and natural light. Love their salads and fish tacos.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Gorgeous space. Pleasant service. Menu is interesting but not weird. Noise level not deafening. While it is a cavernous space the feel is cozy.
For a quick snack or lunch, eat near the charcuterie in the front.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The once beautiful sun drenched dining area looks worn and need of updating. The service was subpar...not thoughtful in any way. No gluten free options which seems lazy considering this is LA. Turkey burger was burned, my friends burger was too rare to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We had excellent food. Service was lacking as and nothing special was done for my wife's birthday after mentioning to the staff that it was her birthday. Overall great food but service was sub-par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food is creative and tasty. I always enjoy trying something new from the menu that is updated often.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Enjoyed Scrambled Eggs with Chorizo and Sofrito, Breakfast Potatoes and Toast. Very tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Love Suzanne Goin's food and everything she does - so fresh and healthy

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

From beginning to end, service to check, everything was perfect. Food, ambience, cozy privacy and music were all in great taste!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We came for the Easter brunch. Ambiance beautiful, food very good, except for the lemon ricotta pancakes which were exceptionally tasty. Would recommend to all my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter and I asked to sit in main dining room but they couldn't accommodate us with my small stroller/car seat... I did not want to sit in the bar on Easter so this was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great space. Enjoyed the Artic Char...new to the menu. Seldom find on the West Coast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The restaurant atmosphere is very pleasant. Even on a Tuesday at lunchtime, the patio dining area was nearly full. We were pleased to find that we could hear each other in conversation at a business lunch, and did not have to compete with noise from other diners, loud music, etc. The service was attentive, the food (two salads and a sandwich for the 3 of us) was plated very nicely and was fresh and delicious. I would recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The hostess seemed to be having a bad day. Seating with a snarl instead of a smile. Our waiter was fabulous...great wine/drink recommendations. The French fries were soggy. The onion rings were anemic looking. Not crisp. Wine was great; entrees were underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Super atmosphere bar and happy hour was fun. Dinner in the strum was beautiful. Service was outstanding and the food was fabulous! Was a birthday celebration - they recommended the snickers bar - was delicious. They took very good care of us. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The skylights in the main dining room make guests feel like they are dining outside, which provides the perfect "L.A" experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Todd was disappointing but service and wine was great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I was in hold >7 min to change my reservation time. Service was slow. Food was ok. Temperature under tent very warm. On the plus side, parking is convenient.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Entrees are very small, even by Westside trendy restaurant standards. E.g. The duck confit ($38) had one small duck leg. Most other restaurants would serve 2 legs or a duck breast and leg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.