Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

About Tavern

Tavern is the third restaurant from the chef and sommelier team of Suzanne Goin and Caroline Styne, who also own Lucques restaurant and AOC winebar. This is their West Los Angeles outpost, which serves as a local gathering spot for the Brentwood crowd. Chicly designed by Jeffrey Alan Marks, Tavern encompasses three separate, yet connected spaces: a glass roofed atrium dining room, a large blue walled bar and a café space called the Larder that features casual dining, bakery, retail and prepared foods to go. The restaurant serves Suzanne Goin’s signature California/Mediterranean cuisine with just a touch of a classic American influence.

11648 San Vicente Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 5:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour Every day 3PM-7PM in the Blue Room.
Larder open everyday 8am - 8pm.

Cross Street:
Darlington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 806-6464

Website:
http://www.tavernla.com/

Parking Details:
Daytime parking lots offer 90 minutes free with validation.
Evening valet available for $6 (on Darlington).

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ring in the New Year Moroccan style with our 'Midnight in Marrakech' celebration! Menu highlights incld shared apps (such as harissa grilled tuna skewers & dried fava purée) moroccan salad, grilled bass & lamb tagine. 1st seating $95 pp 2nd seating $125 includes toast (both exclusive of tax & tip)

Specials

EASTER TAKE-AWAY MENUS AT TWO LARDER LOCATIONS

Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Apr 13, 2017 all week from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

PASSOVER TAKE-AWAY NOW AVAILABLE AT THE LARDERS

Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Apr 18, 2017 all week from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

TAVERN HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR AND BLUE ROOM

Special valid Mar 19, 2017 - Jul 19, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

EASTER TAKE-AWAY MENUS AT TWO LARDER LOCATIONS

Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Apr 13, 2017 all week from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Details

The Larder at Tavern and Burton Way offer complete Easter brunch or dinner menus for 4, packaged for takeout. Brunch includes smoked fish, dinner includes Niman Ranch spiral cut ham. Or create your own with selections of a la carte offerings. Excludes Tax and Tip. Brunch $45/person,Dinner $55/person; serves 4.Place all orders by April 13. Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Apr 13, 2017 all week from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM.

PASSOVER TAKE-AWAY NOW AVAILABLE AT THE LARDERS

Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Apr 18, 2017 all week from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Details

Perfect for a home cooked dinner,something to bring to a seder or for your entire family meal. From starters to dessert with choices of roasted chicken, braised brisket or roasted salmon as a main course. Selections of sparkling wines also available. Excludes Tax and Tip. Orders must be placed 48 hours in advance. Delivery is available, fees apply. Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Apr 18, 2017 all week from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM.

TAVERN HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR AND BLUE ROOM

Special valid Mar 19, 2017 - Jul 19, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Join us everyday for Happy Hour! Specialty cocktails,beers and wines by the glass, Tavern burgers, bacon-wrapped dates, spanish-fried chicken and tacos of curried cauliflower, duck confit, batter-fried fish, grilled shrimp and crispy ribeye. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 19, 2017 - Jul 19, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for a Date (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Creative Cuisine (34)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Great for Brunch (29)
Great for Lunch (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Romantic (19)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Fun (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Casual (14)
Cozy (14)
People Watching (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Healthy (8)
Live Music (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Scenic View (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1718 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Such a gorgeous space but the food is underwhelming and over priced. I ordered the Manila clams with chorizo (32 dollars). It's a glorified appetizer and the highlight was the grilled bread. It's a great place if you're in need of a table for 8 on a Friday/Saturday at peak hour. That said, there is a reason you can always get a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

I love that they brought a birthday dessert based on my OpenTable reservation notes. I didn't request anything upon my arrival. Kudos to them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

For a Wednesday night @ 7:45 the place was packed. Our server was excellent but the support was lacking including having to wait almost too long for the excellent main diahes to arrive. Just as I was ready to ask what was wrong 3 dishes arrived. Two were reportedly great the third was barely warm when it should have been served hot to be top notch.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Started at the bar. Drinks were great. Bartenders very friendly. Dinner was amazing in the beautiful atrium. Flavorful food and dessert. Wait staff very attentive.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, People Watching, Live Music, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

I generally enjoyed Tavern (my birthday dinner), and the service was terrific. My octopus appetizer was outstanding - as good as any that I have had anywhere - but the lamb entree was a bit disappointing, primarily because the actual serving of lamb was fairly small to begin with, but more so because the bone and enormous amount of fat (easily 50% of the serving, minus the bone) left me with a meager amount of meat. It was good, but I would never order it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We go there every Sunday great food great service

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Awesome food and place ! I recommend it for sure !

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 20, 2017

I have been wanting to go back to the Tavern for the last 8 months. Last time I was there I had one of the best Caesar salads & a great turkey burger. Last night I went back with my family.
The grilled octopus and the fried chicken apps were good but small portions at a very high price. They no longer serve a Caesar salad. While my wife had a steak & my son & daughter had the short ribs they all said was very good. The turkey burger was tasteless the fries which were touted as being some of the best in LA were reheated stuck together. My other son had the beef burger and was satisfied. We had to wait between courses a very long time. Which was weird because the restaurant was half empty. Pay attention to the 3 $$$.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I was very embarrassed to have brought my best friend to your restaurant for lunch on her birthday . We were sat in VERY STAINED chairs! I have been to your restaurant numerous times and was appalled at the disgusting chairs! At least you should put clean cushions over the stains to hide the filth! You are a well known establishment and can well afford to keep up with clean chairs. It will be a long time coming that I will return to your restaurant!

Rozie Levitt
3238571355

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent jazz trio playing from 6:30 to 9:30 pm. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The Tavern is a beautiful restaurant. The main dining area is very lovely with high glass ceilings. The food is very good. Well portioned and inventive. Service is impeccable with a knowledgeable wine steward. Wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent overall experience. Great room. Food / service lined up with prices. Nice staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I was in town visiting my USC student and we had an amazing dinner at Tavern. So truly delicious! Loved the atmosphere and the great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

They seated us in the bar with 2 kids. They should have seated us in the main dining room which was empty and we had reservations. Food was great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Was recommended to us by a friend who lives in Brentwood. Loved the atmosphere and the food was delicious. Waiter made excellent recommendations.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Tried ordering a bunch of small plates with great success! Had bacon wrapped dates, lamb meatballs, mushroom flatbread, Brussels sprouts and a few other items that I'm forgetting. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food was delicious and the ambience was perfect. Our waiter was excellent!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Pork chop was fatty; wine disappointing. Restaurant overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Service was non existent, food was fair. Only thing good was the assistant manager Kevin. Without Kevin, we would have had to find our own table, place our order and cook our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Service was poor due to short staffing. So disappointing!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very poor service. We're not their typical guest (uber wealthy seniors).

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food and ambiance were excellent (everyone enjoyed their meal), but service was spotty. Our impression is that there were not enough servers on hand given the level of activity in the restaurant. While the service issues weren't catastrophic and our server was extremely nice, there were enough mishaps to make it annoying. Examples were that simple drink orders, i.e., diet vs. regular coke, hot tea, lemon wedges, were delayed or mishandled and it took several requests to get hot tea. Food for another table was brought to our table. Five menus were given to our party of six without explanation. A dirty water glass that was brought to the attention of the wait staff when we sat down was finally replaced toward the end of the meal. Our only other complaint was that the regular Bloody Mary (that two of us ordered) ranked as one of the worst either of us had ever had - watery and completely tasteless. For $15, they need to do a much better job.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food was excellent, especially the octopus apoetizer and crispy Brussels sprouts. Our waiter, however, was brusque and not at all helpful at any point. We were charged twice for the wine bottle and when I pointed it out he said "oh sure" and walked away. When he returned with the corrected bill he just handed it to me and walked off. Pathetic. His attitude really put a damper on what was otherwise a fine meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Decent food and value. Not busy but still ssar us too close to other parties. Hard ho have conversations.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Loved the food , healthy well prepared and delicious. Great service. Well done. Please keep the same quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Fabulous restaurant--Food/Atmosphere/Service...A+
I will certainly return on my next visit to LA...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I had a problem with first waiter , but another waiter and the manager came over to apologize and made us feel wonderful with very special treatment.
The food was yummie and the presentation was excellent.
We are looking forward to our next visit and will ask for "Adam" if he's available.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I love Tavern. Sadly, dinner this past Tuesday was marred by poor service. The waiter, who I had several times before, is by his very nature not a welcoming server (as distinguished from the others who are uniformly great). This time, to the extent that he came around - which was not often - he was downright surly and dismissive. Worse than in the past. My party and I had to wave our hands to get his or the bus boy's attention, to the point that we are got pretty upset. If we ever return, and if he is ever assigned to us, we will politely request another server or another table. It is a shame that a waiter like that is permitted to undermine an otherwise excellent restaurant which has a reputation for taking pride in what it servers and how it serves.

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great place. Well executed. Food truly yummy. Everyone had a lovely time. Not inexpensive but worth it. Big room is super nice.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Service was really bad. Food is good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Service in main dining room was a little weak this visit. Entrees were good, not sensational. (lamb in particular). But the flatbread with mushrooms and lardons was fabulous. Ambience is always first class. Prefer the bar though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Tavern never disappoints. It is busy and bustling for good reason. The menu has something for everyone and is strong across the board. Great for a group of people or a night of fun. Wonderful staff that is eager to please. I'll be back!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was the third time we decided to give Tavern a try, even though we didn't love it the other two times. Why, might you ask, did we go a third time if the other two were not that great? Good question. Because someone else made the reservation, and we decided to give it one more chance. We were going to a play in Westwood, so we got there extra early. We do eat out several times a week around town.

We do love the overall ambiance of Tavern. It is beautiful inside. Also, the service was quick when we stated we had a play to get to.

This time, the description of a side dish of beans was not accurate. When the dish arrived, there was a different kind of bean in the dish, but the dish was mainly greens with a strange-tasting bitter sauce. My husband will eat anything, and he could not stomach the flavor in the dish, which did not match the description at all. Heck, for a $17 side dish, it better be what it claims to be. When we told our waitress that we couldn't eat it, she somewhat agreed with us regarding the description (good her her!) and said she would take it back, but did have a bit of an attitude. She seem frazzled.

The price points on some of the items is not inline with other restaurants who offer the same items, but even tastier, around town. I had the salmon, it was $37, but not in line with other $37 or even lower-priced salmon dishes in other high-end restaurants. Plus, it was not cooked the way I had asked, which would have been the server's responsibility to have double-checked that each item is cooked correctly. I didn't have time to send it back, so ate around the edges and took the rest home.

Overall, it's such a beautiful atmosphere, but they need to have better-trained staff and price points that are in line with their dishes, as well as better descriptions of each item.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Cool greenhouse feel in Atrium, will go back. Try the chicken in the pot and the bacon wrap dates

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

There wasn't any focus or care by management to deliver good service. You could tell they were spending the majority of time talking amongst themselves out in the open and speeding through the entire dinner. Awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful and the food is excellent overall...But the food seems to have gotten heavier lately. Everything has about 1/4 cup too much butter or oil added to it. That was true for the Devil's Chicken, the Scallops and all of the vegetable side dishes. Even the desserts can be too heavy. The key lime pie dessert was really just a pile of what tasted like heavy cream flavored with key lime...and a dollop of raspberry sorbet. They need to lighten things up here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing brunch and a beautiful setting. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Fun, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Tavern is way over-priced for what you get. It was over $60 for 2 people and we each got an ice tea and a turkey burger. The salad on the side was bitter and the burger was so-so. Not worth it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Ingredients good and preparation good except too much salt overpowering otherwise pleasant flavors. Prices about 1/3 higher than comparable restaurants: 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, and 2 glasses of wine $140 plus tax, tip, and health care surcharge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was a great restaurant. Good food and great service

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.