Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

About Tavern

Tavern is the third restaurant from the chef and sommelier team of Suzanne Goin and Caroline Styne, who also own Lucques restaurant and AOC winebar. This is their West Los Angeles outpost, which serves as a local gathering spot for the Brentwood crowd. Chicly designed by Jeffrey Alan Marks, Tavern encompasses three separate, yet connected spaces: a glass roofed atrium dining room, a large blue walled bar and a café space called the Larder that features casual dining, bakery, retail and prepared foods to go. The restaurant serves Suzanne Goin’s signature California/Mediterranean cuisine with just a touch of a classic American influence.

11648 San Vicente Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 8:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour Every day 3PM-7PM in the Blue Room.
Larder open everyday 8am - 8pm.

Cross Street:
Darlington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 806-6464

Website:
http://www.tavernla.com/

Parking Details:
Daytime parking lots offer 90 minutes free with validation.
Evening valet available for $6 (on Darlington).

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

TAVERN HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR AND BLUE ROOM

Special valid Sep 6, 2017 - Jan 6, 2018 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

TAVERN HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR AND BLUE ROOM

Special valid Sep 6, 2017 - Jan 6, 2018 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Join us everyday for Happy Hour! Specialty cocktails,beers and wines by the glass, Tavern burgers, bacon-wrapped dates, spanish-fried chicken and tacos of curried cauliflower, duck confit, batter-fried fish, grilled shrimp and crispy ribeye. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 6, 2017 - Jan 6, 2018 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (35)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Great for Lunch (34)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Special Occasion (26)
Great for Brunch (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Bar Seating (20)
People Watching (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Casual (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Fun (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Seasonal (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Organic (7)
Authentic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Cozy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1832 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

The ambiance is a ten. Food...the fried chicken and biscuits would have been much better if it hadn't come slathered in gravy to where the chicken was no longer crisp. Separate the ingredients so the gravy doesn't soak everything up and then you can enjoy the fried texture of the chicken. Also the biscuit...simplify to a more southern buttermilk biscuit with a comparable ratio to the chicken. It was so overly "bready". The bacon wrapped dates were excellent. The avocado toast would be better with a different bread than the one served as a table bread. Maybe a nice toast with toast marks. The bread was so soft and lacked any toastiness. The avocado was so thick on...consider a finer layer or thin slices spread throughout. Garnish with some light herb/spices and thin radish or picked garnish. The egg was very good. Overall a very lazy avo toast with thick soft bread, a mountain of avocado, and just an egg. The lemon ricotta pancakes lacked the lemon! Maybe some lemon zest or a lemon fruit compote. The dried fruit was no appealing with crunchy pistachio. The blueberry was not saucy. Overall a fail on the pancakes which could have otherwise been really really amazing. The fold of the ricotta was well done. Service and atmosphere was excellent. The refill of water was mediocre because we had to ask several times for water refills. The champagne with arugula is overdone. Should be refreshing...instead was so overly herbaceous and tastes like salad in champagne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely evening at Tavern with great service and our favorite dishes. One thing we can rely on in times when nothing seems secure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2017

I was very disappointed with our lunch at Tavern. The ambiance was lovely, but the food was mediocre and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Always spectacular food, service ambience!I do not think there is anything on the menu one would be disappointed with. My problem is always what to choose. It is all so wonderful!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Food was excellent . The rib eye was fantastic, highly recommend the chicken and the soft shell crab

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food is very overrated. They say they had a menu change and it was not for the good. The short rib was very fatty and tasteless and so was their signature Devils chicken

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great service in a pleasant atmosphere. We had a delicious assortment of appetizers , unfortunately the halibut and lamb skewers that followed were too spicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Service was awful. Not sure why. Our waitress was in another La la land. 2 stars because a different server came after our meal. He was good. Just a little late.
Portions were small for price and wild caught price but farm raised salmon. Had to sit in bar ( blue room) atrium was closed until 5 pm for dinner. Staff basically not so hospitable. Mostly just ok. Was looking forward to trying the place but most disappointing. I would recommend for happy hour.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 14, 2017

So happy the tavern is across the street from my house. Their fried chicken is one of my favorite dishes along with the bacon wrapped dates. I had the beignets for the first time and they were to die for!!!! My only complaints are the limited salad options and the cocktails aren't very good. They need to step up their cocktail game!

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Having dietary needs I looked menu online. It showed shrimp cocktail $17. When time to order they no longer have shrimp cocktail. No eggs after 11:00. I needed only protein. Only option was salmon $32.! When bill cam there was a charge $2.55 to pay for health insurance for their help😩 I asked to have charge removed. Will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The chicken on the cobb salad was completely raw. When we asked for a new salad, a new dish came with what looked like the same piece of chicken and it was STILL raw. Almost half of it - raw. It was shocking to say the very least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great for a lovely lunch .... Suzanne Goin does it again .... Not the fancy dinner spot, but a
beautiful, bright room full of skylights and windows .. for a nice lunch

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I will go back because I loved the setting & the food. The wait staff were all very nice but slower than molasses!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Always imaginative, beautifully prepared food. Excellent wine selection. Service impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Warm day and atrium was very hot. Otherwise great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We went for brunch, the food was delicious, the room (the atrium) is gorgeous, airy, muted colors, tons of light, and comfy sofas. There was a baby shower at a table right behind us, and the guest were hovering over our table, the hostess was very accommodating about moving us to another table. The service was very good, up to a point, and that point was as soon as the food was placed on the table, after that... nothing. We sat with empty plated in front of us for ten minutes, we finally flagged down a manager, and asked her to take them away, and for our check. An odd glitch in an otherwise delightful visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Lovely meal on short notice - they had a reservation and met all of our expectations. Delicious food and wine, with good service. Would definitely return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Delightful for lunch! Pork pork burger is yummy for carnivores. Chopped chicken salad was delish, as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

They got rid of the steak they used to have with frites and they don't serve their best dessert any more-the chocolate coupe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I've been to Tavern several times and it is always good. I actually like it better now than when they first opened. There was an "attitude " at first -- now everyone seems more laid back and accommodating. Good service, excellent muni for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This is a top drawer place for a drink or dining! Great for a business lunch too.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 13, 2017

ALWAYS GREAT SERVICE, QUALITY INGREDIENTS WELL PREPARED. THE SPACE HAS BEAUTIFUL DINING ROOM FLOOD WITH NATURAL LIGHT, PERFECT FOR WEEKEND BRUNCH, FOR A QUICK BITE THE LARDER OR THE BAR ARE GOOD OPTIONS. IT'S DEFITIVELY A BRENTWOOD GEM.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food, attentive and expert service, nice and welcoming environment. Tavern combines all that make dining out a pleasurable experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

A delicious gathering spot with a fantastic atrium!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2017

one of my fav spots on the westside-
pick from three rooms - causal coffee- bar and I love the atrium room -

best service

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food and service were great. I had indicated on my reservation that it was a birthday and there was no recognition from the server. Unfortunate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food has gone downhill and service is slow. Took ten minutes for a waiter to approach and get our drink orders . The orders came slowly. Just uneven.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Tavern has an exceptionally beautiful dining room. I wish the food was at least half as good. It isn't. Although the pastries are good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The lunch menu has improved with more choices, but the food was disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Suzanne Goin and Caroline Styne always do a great job at all of their restaurants! Even now at the Hollywood Bowl. It's all good except that I resent that they want to charge their customers and additional fee/tax for their employee's health care. It's just obnoxious. If you wish to offer any perks to your employees, just build it into the pricing structure and don't offend us with you politics. That said, we asked that the fee be removed from the bill and they immediately did so without a blink of an eye. Our service had been exceptional and we left a 20% gratuity.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Tavern is a lovely place in which to dine with friends. A varied and well-executed menu and a very comfortable space in which to spend time.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Vegan, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 1, 2017

A lovely restaurant with an atrium dining room that invites you to stay, enjoy a meal and linger in conversation. This was my first time here and it was for a breakfast business meeting. It was very difficult to choose one item from all the tasty offerings. I decided on the avocado toast and my guest chose the crumbed eggs on polenta. For me, the combinations of the layers of ingredients on the avocado toast satisfied all the taste buds and textures. Unlike most avocado toast where that is the star, in this version a perfectly split soft-boiled egg and folded sheets of proscutto give much more depth and substance to this dish.
I must return so I can try other other items that piqued my senses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Love the ambient and decor. Service was good but food a little bit overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Incredibly disappointing. Have always enjoyed Tavern in the past. This go around was flat out bad. Combine mediocre food with terrible service at a high price and you have our latest Tavern experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Always a great place to lunch! Fare is outstanding and the staff is the best in the business!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food is always wonderful, great environment, and top notch care and service. However, as a vegetarian I always have VERY limited choices. The trio is great but would be nice to have a non-salad main that is vegetarian and not cream, a pasta dish or otherwise. I would come more often!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Seasonal, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2017

The service was terrible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Fantastic place with delicious food and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 20, 2017

I've never had a bad experience or a bad meal at Tavern! One of my favorite Brentwood apots to treat employees to lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We've dined at the Tavern several times and always loved their food: last night it seemed like the chef had left and whoever was there just threw some things together...
My Arctic char was burnt, the stuff underneath it some unrecognizable greens and other in a mushy dressing. The others in our party similarly disappointed. Shameful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.