About Tavern

11648 San Vicente Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Tavern is the third restaurant from the chef and sommelier team of Suzanne Goin and Caroline Styne, who also own Lucques restaurant and AOC winebar. This is their West Los Angeles outpost, which serves as a local gathering spot for the Brentwood crowd. Chicly designed by Jeffrey Alan Marks, Tavern encompasses three separate, yet connected spaces: a glass roofed atrium dining room, a large blue walled bar and a café space called the Larder that features casual dining, bakery, retail and prepared foods to go. The restaurant serves Suzanne Goin’s signature California/Mediterranean cuisine with just a touch of a classic American influence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 5:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour Every day 3PM-7PM in the Blue Room.
Larder open everyday 8am - 8pm.

Cross Street:
Darlington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 806-6464

Website:
http://www.tavernla.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz and our very own Paella for $38! EVERY Wednesday of the month, from 6 - 9:30 pm throughout the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Daytime parking lots offer 90 minutes free with validation.
Evening valet available for $6 (on Darlington).

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

TAVERN HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR AND BLUE ROOM

Special valid Apr 22, 2016 - Aug 22, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

TAVERN HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR AND BLUE ROOM

Special valid Apr 22, 2016 - Aug 22, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Join us everyday for Happy Hour! Specialty cocktails,beers and wines by the glass, Spanish fried chicken,lamb meatballs, tacos with duck confit or tempura fish,toasts w/ salmon, avocado & burrata, beef,pork or turkey burgers, cheese selection. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 22, 2016 - Aug 22, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Brentwood ›

fit for foodies (103)
great for lunch (92)
special occasion (82)
See All
great for brunch (79)
neighborhood gem (75)
good for groups (60)
vibrant bar scene (44)
hot spot (35)
romantic (34)
notable wine list (12)
great for outdoor dining (12)
kid-friendly (10)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Suzanne Earns Her Beard Award Every Day

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We were thrilled to learn that Tavern chef/owner Suzanne Goin won the James Bear Award for nation's best chef. The accolades are indeed deserved as she and her staff keep turning out some of the best food in town, not just at Tavern but at AOC and Lucques, as well. Amazing ricotta stuffed squash blossoms and light and refreshing simple salad followed by a unique presentation for roasted halibut on a bed of black rice napped with a slightly spicy, slightly sweet coconut milk broth. A Five star dinner from a five star chef, with great wines by the glass to match. Brava!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Space Counts

vip
Dined 4 days ago

When you are sitting in the main room at Tavern, you are in a world of light and height. The food is good. The desserts are worth the calories. The waitstaff is friendly. But the star here is the setting. If you like bars, this one is stunning and noisy. There is a small informal space near the charcuterie (great selection of cheeses, salads etc) that is just a pleasant space for a quick meal. But try the main room at least once.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lively and loud

Dined 6 days ago

Great good, lovely interiors, but a really loud bar area that permeates the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3

Beautiful environment. Very cozy seating ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Beautiful environment. Very cozy seating. We were there on Mother's Day. I guess it was busy. Our waitress was very nice , but I think she was a little overwhelmed. Overall we a very nice time & will definitely be back. I've been there before on quieter nights & it was great

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely Mother's Day Brunch here

Dined on May 8, 2016

My parents were in town for Mother's Day so I took them here for brunch. James, the General Manager, took great care of us when there was a little delay in getting a table in the Atrium. Such a memorable day for my mom!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect evening

Dined on May 8, 2016

The ambiance was beautiful, our server was friendly and efficient and the meal was one of the most delicious meals I've ever eaten. Although the dining area is spacious, we were able to comfortably hear one another. We had eight people in our party and everyone enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Saturday Brunch

Dined on May 7, 2016

Had a reservation - we were there on time (a few minutes early) waited to be seated in the worst table - right by the front door - in the bar - :( After the waiter took our order - he was not to be found - the hostess took care of us the rest of the day - including bringing to go boxes , taking our desert order and bringing our check. Sad to spend so much money for so little. Good food is just not enough

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice place, good food. The service was P ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Nice place, good food. The service was PERFECT!

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We both had turkey burgers which were ve ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We both had turkey burgers which were very good. Beyond that, there aren't that many items that appeal to me. The drinks were very $$ and small. Service was a bit lax and they were very busy. Prices high for burgers.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Had another outstanding dinner at the Ta ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Had another outstanding dinner at the Tavern! The atrium room is romantic and beautifully designed with leather banquettes. The food was superb! Crispy brussel sprouts and lamb meatballs with currants and pine nuts were delicious! Two in our party shared the whole branzino, which was excellent with an interesting vegetable side. I chose the devil's chicken, my favorite with potatoes, leeks, bread crumbs in a Dijon mustard sauce. It is a large portion! We were celebrating a bday so they complimentary brought us 2 desserts, a berry crumble and a chocolate divine slice with something indescribably crunchy and peanuts and ice cream. A table of 2 ladies across the room randomly sent us 3 glasses of champagne, which was so unexpected & sweet. We, also, had wonderful mixed drinks! Ms. Goin really gets it right from start to finish! We had excellent service and the manager checked on us, as well! Perfect evening in every regard!

food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Tavern Review

Dined on May 2, 2016

I booked a business dinner at Tavern last Sunday. My guest ordered the fried chicken appetizer and scallops. They were delicious. I ordered the green goddess salad and ricotta gnocchi. The salad was fine, but I was so incredibly disappointed with the gnocchi. It was over-peppered and they were like hard little rocks. Whenever I've ordered ricotta gnocchi, I've gotten light and fluffy puff balls of goodness. These were dense, hard rocks. VERY DISAPPOINTED and I won't be going back any time soon.

food2
ambience4
service3
value4

While I've enjoyed Tavern in the past, t ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

While I've enjoyed Tavern in the past, this experience was less than great. Even though we had made a reservation, we had to wait 20 minutes. They were very apologetic, however. The food was fair. Not all the entrees came out at once and some were lukewarm. Burned toast and they made some mistakes on the order. The servers were very obliging and tried hard. They seemed to be a bit stressed; maybe too many tables to handle. I've been to Tavern for brunch before and it was better, so I hope this was just an "off" day.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

beautiful environment.

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

I liked it very much. I eat out in Brentwood a lot and I think Tavern is one of the better restaurants there.Its very convenient ,the staff was professional. They have a great bar and a beautiful garden-like dining room. It has a casual elegance to it, which I prefer; not stuffy and not too casual. Food was very good, not unusual. I'll definitely be back

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall a great find and a lovely meal

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food could have been a little warmer when served. Service was very good - staff attentive

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

noisy

Dined on April 28, 2016

insanely noisy and impossible to converse without shouting

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing - got brunch - and lunch to go!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

I would highly recommend this place to anyone vying for the local experience in Brentwood. What a gem. Wish is was down the street from where we live. :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice spot in Brentwood

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

First time at Tavern- a happening spot with great ambience! We had a few appetizers, salads, inexpensive wine, and 1 entree and it was amazing how fast the bill went up. The salads were delicious though I can't say it was worth the $17. The appetizers were okay, though I would expect a restaurant to serve something besides just basic ketchup with their delicious fries and mediocre onion rings. I wouldn't mind giving this place another try but I'll have to be willing to pay a hefty price for not particularly fine dining food.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Glad to have gone...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Though my most recent meal was not the best I've had there, it was still a positive experience. While the food is not inspiring, it's sound and tasty. This time the service was not quite up to par, which means that we had to ask for more bread, more sparkling water, etc. In the past, our needs were anticipated. Even being seated took longer than usual since the hostess was nowhere to be found when I arrived. I won't, however, hesitate to go back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service4

Too expensive for what you receive.

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Too expensive for what you receive.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

LASandy

Dined on April 20, 2016

Great turkey burger. I have it all the time. I love the room and the service. They need NOT to charge $6 for a bottle of home made seltzer water. But otherwise, life is good sitting in natural light and eating good food.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most enjoyable lunch, Jeronimo fab waiter

Dined on April 20, 2016

Definitely sit outdoors, it is delightful! Food definitely has an experts touch. Unusual and beautiful presentations. Been there twice now and had excellent service, both times. Will take my family there next weekend for a special brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

enjoyable respite

Dined on April 18, 2016

patio ambience wonderful food and service excellent would recommend to all

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Not great

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

I ordered the Branzino for 2 only to get a piece of fish that was barely enough for one. Even the patrons at the table next to ours could not believe how small this portion was (for 2??) and still got charged $62.00. Totally unreasonable. Further, once I got my bill I noticed a 3% surtax called a "healthcare tax" so I asked our waiter what this was all about and apparently, the owner Suzanne Goin, a very successful chef business woman with 3 busy restaurants in LA can't afford to provide healthcare for her employees, really? and so she decided to charge her customers to finance her employee healthcare premiums..unheard of...So I had that removed from our tab and only to find out that our own waiter was actually paying for his own healthcare premiums without any help from his wealthy boss

food5
ambience5
service3
value2

a problem

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food is incredible, problematic service while the staff stands around and talks about the patrons - all accompanied by disruptive rap music

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great lunch spot

Dined on April 14, 2016

The food at Tavern is very consistent and imaginative. The service is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Obamacare tax

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Excellent food, service. But too pay additional tax for employees medical which should be part of overall pricing, is plain thuggery. Grow up. With your prices, you can afford to give benefits to team. What if every business did this? Gas? Cleaners? Highly offensive. Spread the word to boycott this place.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everyone loves Susan G

Dined on April 10, 2016

This is another wonderful creation of Suzanne Goin, who in my humble opinion, is the best restauranteur in Los Angeles. The food is always first rate, the ambience always pleasing and the service always courteous and efficient.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You can count on this one

Dined on April 8, 2016

Tavern never disappoints. The room is beautiful, the service warm and professional and the food, out of this world. I was there first thing in the morning for breakfast this time. Thank you to the nice waiter who suggested a side of fresh berries to go with my oatmeal, and they were perfect, but don't underestimate the warm fruit compote that already comes with. Delicious! I've had more complicated meals here and it's always excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Consistent Favorite

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Tavern never disappoints. Great food, service, and ambience. Have always loved the atrium in early evening. As light changes the room just gets more beautiful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch

Dined on April 4, 2016

Very good for a business lunch. Little gem salad with shrimp is excellent as well as the salmon entree. Sandwiches are also tasty

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Though the ambiance and service was love ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Though the ambiance and service was lovely as usual, the food was not up to par. Both our usual orders and the special prix fix items for Easter were not very tasty. Maybe the usual chef was off for the Easter holiday?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not Surprised

Dined on March 28, 2016

Having been to Lucques 25+ times, we had every expectation that Tavern would be good, but it exceeded our expectations. The appetizers were imaginative and great, the brussels sprouts appetizer being special, and the entres were quite good, with the Devils Chicken and Salmon drawing raves. The snickers desert was killer. The service quite attentive and not cloying. The room was less noisy than expected and beautiful. On a Sunday night, the entire experience caused nascent Westsiders to think that schlepping to Lucques is going to happen less frequently.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4

This is the first time we have been disa ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

This is the first time we have been disappointed in both food and service. Had the chorizo stuffed squid and gnocchi with seafood Guests enjoyed the short ribs and corn beef soup. But ours was blah.

food4
ambience3
service2

With no one in the restaurant, the hoste ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

With no one in the restaurant, the hostess seated the 2 tables right next to us for no apparent reason. Then was incredibly flippant when I requested a different table to have a small amount of privacy. Not going back, even though the food was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great lunch

Dined on March 18, 2016

Tavern does it right - great food; great service; wonderful ambience; great pricing

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3

The split pea soup was insane!!!

Dined on March 17, 2016

The split pea soup was insane!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot for brunch with friends!

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

This could not have been a better spot. Met long time friends for a delicious brunch seated in a beautiful room. The service was terrific and they let us take our time throughout the meal. Thumbs up - super happy!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner delicious in every way. Service v ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Dinner delicious in every way. Service very nice Love dining here always, never disappointed!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was lovely - and I would high ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Everything was lovely - and I would highly recommend it to anyone who asks me!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great Brunch, Dinner was so, so.

Dined on March 6, 2016

I was actually at Tavern twice in 3 days. Once for Sunday Brunch and once for dinner a few days later. Brunch was great. The drinks, the food, all very good. The pancakes, the benedict, all was amazing and perfect. eggs benedict are so hard to do well since the hollandaise sauce and poached egg needs to be PERFECT. Dinner was ok. Entrees were slightly expensive. some of the comfort food like onion rings and burgers were made to look fancy, but missed the mark a bit. The buns were really disappointing on the burgers, especially since they are known for their breads. The bun seemed to have a stale, store-bought consistency. The dinner bread was MUCH BETTER than the burger bun.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.