About Tavern

11648 San Vicente Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Tavern is the third restaurant from the chef and sommelier team of Suzanne Goin and Caroline Styne, who also own Lucques restaurant and AOC winebar. This is their West Los Angeles outpost, which serves as a local gathering spot for the Brentwood crowd. Chicly designed by Jeffrey Alan Marks, Tavern encompasses three separate, yet connected spaces: a glass roofed atrium dining room, a large blue walled bar and a café space called the Larder that features casual dining, bakery, retail and prepared foods to go. The restaurant serves Suzanne Goin’s signature California/Mediterranean cuisine with just a touch of a classic American influence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 5:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour Every day 3PM-7PM in the Blue Room.
Larder open everyday 8am - 8pm.

Cross Street:
Darlington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 806-6464

Website:
http://www.tavernla.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz and our very own Paella for $38! EVERY Wednesday of the month, from 6 - 9:30 pm throughout the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Daytime parking lots offer 90 minutes free with validation.
Evening valet available for $6 (on Darlington).

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Chocolate Cake
The Argentine
fish tacos
New Zealand Pink Snapper
Carrot Soup with coconut & cilantro pistou
The Angeleno Sandwich
Niman Ranch Beef W/ Fontina
Ricotta Pancake With Brown Buttrer Peach Compote
Frittata W/ Summer Squash, Cherry Tomatoes, Chevre & Basil
Bellini
Brisket Hash
Monkey Bread
Scarpetta Pinot Grigio
Cheeseburger
Pork Burger
Niman Ranch Burger
Pork Belly
Herb Ricotta Gnocchi
Eggs Benedict
Snickers
Chopped Vegetable Salad
Butter-Crumbed Eggs With Parmesan, Polenta And Arugula
Roasted Asparagus
Soft Shell Crab
Lucques Gimlet
Five Fingers cocktail
Devil's Chicken
Blackberry Ricotta Cheesecake
Cheesburger
Kumquatini
BBQ Pork Sliders and a Turkey Burger
chicken dinner
Market Fish
Sweet potato chips
Crispy Duck Confit
Turkey Burger
Assorted Cookies
Pancetta Seared Trout Black Cous Cous, Salsify & Goat Cheese Espuma, Spring Onion Vinaigrette
Butternut Squash Soup
Pumpkin Loaf With Brown Butter Frosting
the spaniard
Thunderer

Promotions

CELEBRATE 4TH OF JULY WITH THE LARDER TAKE-AWAY!

Monday Jul 4, 2016 from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

TAVERN HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR AND BLUE ROOM

Special valid Apr 22, 2016 - Aug 22, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

CELEBRATE 4TH OF JULY WITH THE LARDER TAKE-AWAY!

Monday Jul 4, 2016 from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Details
The Larder at Tavern and Burton Way July 4 menu - appetizers, platters, fried chicken, bbq-ready burgers w/ sauces, sides & desserts. Recommended wines also available. Breakfast & Brunch - Larder @Tavern from 8am-2pm, Tavern from 10am-2pm. Excludes Tax and Tip. Orders must be 48hrs in advance, completed by July 2 at 3pm. Delivery available. Special valid on Monday Jul 4, 2016 from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM.
TAVERN HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR AND BLUE ROOM

Special valid Apr 22, 2016 - Aug 22, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Join us everyday for Happy Hour! Specialty cocktails,beers and wines by the glass, Spanish fried chicken,lamb meatballs, tacos with duck confit or tempura fish,toasts w/ salmon, avocado & burrata, beef,pork or turkey burgers, cheese selection. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 22, 2016 - Aug 22, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Brentwood ›

fit for foodies (90)
great for lunch (82)
neighborhood gem (77)
See All
special occasion (73)
great for brunch (73)
good for groups (46)
hot spot (35)
vibrant bar scene (35)
romantic (29)
great for outdoor dining (15)
notable wine list (11)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The service was impeccable, and the food ...

Dined 4 days ago

The service was impeccable, and the food was great. However, the other patrons near us left things to be desired. I did not need to know about this woman's love life that she recalled to her mother for about 45 minutes. I had even told a waiter about the noise volume and still no help. That was not enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I came here for my birthday brunch and i ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I came here for my birthday brunch and it was phenomenal. This was honestly one of the best meals I've ever had. I highly recommend Tavern!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

service was not good - not sure if it wa ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

service was not good - not sure if it was just that day or what but it was frustrating

food5
ambience5
service5

Great space, great service, great food

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great space, great service, great food

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I had dinner with a very ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

My husband and I had dinner with a very old friend whom we haven't seen for several years (he lives across the US). My husband has a disease that necessitates that he observe a very strict diet, at least for a while. I called in advance and asked if they thought we could be accommodated, and they said definitely, that we should talk to the waiter when we sat down. We did, and he was enormously helpful, checking with the kitchen on everything my husband thought he might like to eat, to see what the ingredients would be and how they could modify the selections. We've had helpful wait staff in other restaurants, but he went further than we've ever had. As a consequence, my spouse was able to order something that he enjoyed and felt safe in eating. The menu is interesting, and the food well prepared and aesthetically appealing. We sat in the atrium, which is lovely, with lots of light and nowhere near the enormous noise level of the front of the restaurant. Unfortunately, though we live in the neighborhood, it's not really a "neighborhood gem," as it's quite pricey. I'm sure we'll come again, but probably not too often, only because of that.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Have been here at least 4 times before a ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Have been here at least 4 times before always loved. This time there were 4 of us and all of our food was mediocre. The desserts were better than starters and entrees. Not worth the money anymore. Not sure what is going on there.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant never disappoints. A wel ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. A well thought out menu, friendly service and a really great experience. Food options are excellent and ambitious without being pretentious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointed at the Tavern - love ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Never disappointed at the Tavern - love the food and the ambiance - we had great service and a fun brunch with friends - good times.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3

We had a very good meal at Tavern. The p ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a very good meal at Tavern. The place is remodeling, so we weren't sure when we arrived that it was still open. But the half that is still functioning was trendy and lively and VERY loud. It was Sunday brunch time and it was packed. Luckily we had a reservation. I had the squash blossoms with asparagus, prosciutto and creamy polenta. The squash blossoms were stuffed with ricotta, battered and fried. They were delicious. And unlike others I've had, had a fingerling zucchini attached. A nice touch. An unexpected treat was a drizzle of Meyer lemon hollandaise which added a tart umph. Very good indeed. Hubby's white anchovy toast was tasty. The anchovies were mild with a tart citrus salsa. The toast was a very odd texture, so tough he couldn't cut it with a knife or bite into it. Luckily he's not a big fan of bread. The portions were small --we both finished ours, which is unusual as we usually split an entree and have leftovers. Pricey too, in the &15-$20 range. The only Chardonnay by the glass on the extensive wine list was $16. . The service was spotty. We had at least three waiters and two bus boys working at cross-purposes and often hurrying past us as we tried to get more water or a roll to replace the inedible bread (we never got the roll.) The food was such good quality that we would go back if we are in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere!

Dined on June 10, 2016

We came here and sat in the atrium which has beautiful trees and a sun roof across the whole thing. It was very quiet and calm and our server was amazing! We got the peach bellinis and they were great as well.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant on Westside

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Always perfect - food, staff, location. Something for everyone on the menu. Always excellent. Staff superb. Love this place.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great idea

Dined on June 6, 2016

No matter what the occasion, a visit to the Tavern is always a good idea. The food never disappoints and the staff is always friendly. This is a great place to bring visitors from out of town and show them a little bit of California living.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

One of our favorite restaurants.

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Food is top quality. Suzanne Goin and Caroline Styne, (they also own Lucques) do a stellar job. We usually come for lunch/brunch and order the lox/white fish plate--incredibly yummy. Others in our party ordered one of the salads and an egg dish that was served in a little pan. Everyone raved about the food. While the restaurant is great we also love to do damage in the larder. Breads and desserts there are to die for. Beware if you have a sweet tooth and/or love bread. You'll find the larder hard to resist and can spend nearly as much as you did for lunch at the larder before you leave!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous

Dined on June 4, 2016

Its a gorgeous restaurant with a very lively atmosphere. The coffee is great and food is really good too. I've been here a few times and always look forward to coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

Dined on June 4, 2016

My friend and I went to dinner here while we were in town for a quick girls weekend. The food and service were above and beyond what I expected. Our server Pete and the manager took time to talk to us about local things to do and we really appreciated it. The fried chicken appetizer was amazing as was the wine selection. Can't wait to tell others to go there and I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Healthy Feeling Lunch Spot

Dined on May 31, 2016

Tavern is a great, if not inexpensive, option for a pleasant business lunch. I prefer to sit in the naturally lit 'outside' area. The salad trio is always a good option and the salads and entrees are always solid, as you would expect from any place Suzanne Goin is involved with. They also serve a good cup of coffee, which is too rare these days...

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the ambience of the patio area. Se ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Loved the ambience of the patio area. Service was great. Yummy appetizers (we got the brussels sprouts and bacon-wrapped figs) but we weren't blown away by the entrees we ordered. I would definitely come back.

food3
ambience5
service4
value1

The food is good at Tavern, it's just no ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

The food is good at Tavern, it's just not that good. Nothing special, and nothing to rave about to other diners. It seems that even for breakfast/brunch everything is overpriced. $18 for pancakes, even at a high end restaurant is just excessive. And I've had better pancakes at mid level restaurants. The setting is beautiful, and it's Brentwood, so they get away with the prices. I just wish they would make their food more memorable. Service is always good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

amazing food and ambiance!!

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

amazing food and ambiance!!

food3
ambience4
service2

Service terrible! Bus boys more helpful ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Service terrible! Bus boys more helpful than waiter! $95 steak for 2 ordered med. rare was cooked inconsistently. We couldn't find waiter to send it back so we ate it. Appetizer salads for $17.00. Really? No. Tasted good but not worth price. We all felt food was just ok. Beautiful setting doesn't make up for it! Won't go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

An amazing meal always - a quick snack t ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

An amazing meal always - a quick snack to an elegant celebration. Brunch was perfect - great waitstaff - always there when you need something but never in the way. Beautifully prepared food with flavors bursting in your mouth. Will return every chance I get. Casual elegance and a perfect "TEN"!

food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Love this place but service was off...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We always love going to Tavern and even though the food was excellent for our recent dinner the service was terrible. Our waiter never once came to our table without us calling him over and when he did come to the table, he was very unfriendly. We even had to chase him down to pay the bill. Hopefully it was just an off night.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Fair Warning

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent Food. Wonderful decor. Spoiled by horrible service. This sentiment is echoed all over yelp.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Suzanne Earns Her Beard Award Every Day

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We were thrilled to learn that Tavern chef/owner Suzanne Goin won the James Bear Award for nation's best chef. The accolades are indeed deserved as she and her staff keep turning out some of the best food in town, not just at Tavern but at AOC and Lucques, as well. Amazing ricotta stuffed squash blossoms and light and refreshing simple salad followed by a unique presentation for roasted halibut on a bed of black rice napped with a slightly spicy, slightly sweet coconut milk broth. A Five star dinner from a five star chef, with great wines by the glass to match. Brava!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Space Counts

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

When you are sitting in the main room at Tavern, you are in a world of light and height. The food is good. The desserts are worth the calories. The waitstaff is friendly. But the star here is the setting. If you like bars, this one is stunning and noisy. There is a small informal space near the charcuterie (great selection of cheeses, salads etc) that is just a pleasant space for a quick meal. But try the main room at least once.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lively and loud

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great good, lovely interiors, but a really loud bar area that permeates the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3

Beautiful environment. Very cozy seating ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Beautiful environment. Very cozy seating. We were there on Mother's Day. I guess it was busy. Our waitress was very nice , but I think she was a little overwhelmed. Overall we a very nice time & will definitely be back. I've been there before on quieter nights & it was great

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely Mother's Day Brunch here

Dined on May 8, 2016

My parents were in town for Mother's Day so I took them here for brunch. James, the General Manager, took great care of us when there was a little delay in getting a table in the Atrium. Such a memorable day for my mom!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect evening

Dined on May 8, 2016

The ambiance was beautiful, our server was friendly and efficient and the meal was one of the most delicious meals I've ever eaten. Although the dining area is spacious, we were able to comfortably hear one another. We had eight people in our party and everyone enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Saturday Brunch

Dined on May 7, 2016

Had a reservation - we were there on time (a few minutes early) waited to be seated in the worst table - right by the front door - in the bar - :( After the waiter took our order - he was not to be found - the hostess took care of us the rest of the day - including bringing to go boxes , taking our desert order and bringing our check. Sad to spend so much money for so little. Good food is just not enough

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice place, good food. The service was P ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Nice place, good food. The service was PERFECT!

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We both had turkey burgers which were ve ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We both had turkey burgers which were very good. Beyond that, there aren't that many items that appeal to me. The drinks were very $$ and small. Service was a bit lax and they were very busy. Prices high for burgers.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Had another outstanding dinner at the Ta ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Had another outstanding dinner at the Tavern! The atrium room is romantic and beautifully designed with leather banquettes. The food was superb! Crispy brussel sprouts and lamb meatballs with currants and pine nuts were delicious! Two in our party shared the whole branzino, which was excellent with an interesting vegetable side. I chose the devil's chicken, my favorite with potatoes, leeks, bread crumbs in a Dijon mustard sauce. It is a large portion! We were celebrating a bday so they complimentary brought us 2 desserts, a berry crumble and a chocolate divine slice with something indescribably crunchy and peanuts and ice cream. A table of 2 ladies across the room randomly sent us 3 glasses of champagne, which was so unexpected & sweet. We, also, had wonderful mixed drinks! Ms. Goin really gets it right from start to finish! We had excellent service and the manager checked on us, as well! Perfect evening in every regard!

food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Tavern Review

Dined on May 2, 2016

I booked a business dinner at Tavern last Sunday. My guest ordered the fried chicken appetizer and scallops. They were delicious. I ordered the green goddess salad and ricotta gnocchi. The salad was fine, but I was so incredibly disappointed with the gnocchi. It was over-peppered and they were like hard little rocks. Whenever I've ordered ricotta gnocchi, I've gotten light and fluffy puff balls of goodness. These were dense, hard rocks. VERY DISAPPOINTED and I won't be going back any time soon.

food2
ambience4
service3
value4

While I've enjoyed Tavern in the past, t ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

While I've enjoyed Tavern in the past, this experience was less than great. Even though we had made a reservation, we had to wait 20 minutes. They were very apologetic, however. The food was fair. Not all the entrees came out at once and some were lukewarm. Burned toast and they made some mistakes on the order. The servers were very obliging and tried hard. They seemed to be a bit stressed; maybe too many tables to handle. I've been to Tavern for brunch before and it was better, so I hope this was just an "off" day.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

beautiful environment.

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

I liked it very much. I eat out in Brentwood a lot and I think Tavern is one of the better restaurants there.Its very convenient ,the staff was professional. They have a great bar and a beautiful garden-like dining room. It has a casual elegance to it, which I prefer; not stuffy and not too casual. Food was very good, not unusual. I'll definitely be back

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall a great find and a lovely meal

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food could have been a little warmer when served. Service was very good - staff attentive

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

noisy

Dined on April 28, 2016

insanely noisy and impossible to converse without shouting

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing - got brunch - and lunch to go!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

I would highly recommend this place to anyone vying for the local experience in Brentwood. What a gem. Wish is was down the street from where we live. :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice spot in Brentwood

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

First time at Tavern- a happening spot with great ambience! We had a few appetizers, salads, inexpensive wine, and 1 entree and it was amazing how fast the bill went up. The salads were delicious though I can't say it was worth the $17. The appetizers were okay, though I would expect a restaurant to serve something besides just basic ketchup with their delicious fries and mediocre onion rings. I wouldn't mind giving this place another try but I'll have to be willing to pay a hefty price for not particularly fine dining food.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.