About Tavern

11648 San Vicente Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Tavern is the third restaurant from the chef and sommelier team of Suzanne Goin and Caroline Styne, who also own Lucques restaurant and AOC winebar. This is their West Los Angeles outpost, which serves as a local gathering spot for the Brentwood crowd. Chicly designed by Jeffrey Alan Marks, Tavern encompasses three separate, yet connected spaces: a glass roofed atrium dining room, a large blue walled bar and a café space called the Larder that features casual dining, bakery, retail and prepared foods to go. The restaurant serves Suzanne Goin’s signature California/Mediterranean cuisine with just a touch of a classic American influence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 5:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour Every day 3PM-7PM in the Blue Room.
Larder open everyday 8am - 8pm.

Cross Street:
Darlington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 806-6464

Website:
http://www.tavernla.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz and our very own Paella for $38! EVERY Wednesday of the month, from 6 - 9:30 pm throughout the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Daytime parking lots offer 90 minutes free with validation.
Evening valet available for $6 (on Darlington).

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Chocolate Cake
The Argentine
fish tacos
New Zealand Pink Snapper
Carrot Soup with coconut & cilantro pistou
The Angeleno Sandwich
Niman Ranch Beef W/ Fontina
Ricotta Pancake With Brown Buttrer Peach Compote
Frittata W/ Summer Squash, Cherry Tomatoes, Chevre & Basil
Bellini
Brisket Hash
Monkey Bread
Scarpetta Pinot Grigio
Cheeseburger
Pork Burger
Niman Ranch Burger
Pork Belly
Herb Ricotta Gnocchi
Eggs Benedict
Snickers
Chopped Vegetable Salad
Butter-Crumbed Eggs With Parmesan, Polenta And Arugula
Roasted Asparagus
Soft Shell Crab
Lucques Gimlet
Five Fingers cocktail
Devil's Chicken
Blackberry Ricotta Cheesecake
Cheesburger
Kumquatini
BBQ Pork Sliders and a Turkey Burger
chicken dinner
Market Fish
Sweet potato chips
Crispy Duck Confit
Turkey Burger
Assorted Cookies
Pancetta Seared Trout Black Cous Cous, Salsify & Goat Cheese Espuma, Spring Onion Vinaigrette
Butternut Squash Soup
Pumpkin Loaf With Brown Butter Frosting
the spaniard
Thunderer

Promotions

TAVERN HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR AND BLUE ROOM

Special valid Apr 22, 2016 - Aug 22, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

TAVERN HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR AND BLUE ROOM

Special valid Apr 22, 2016 - Aug 22, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Brentwood ›

fit for foodies (83)
great for lunch (75)
neighborhood gem (69)
See All
great for brunch (68)
special occasion (62)
good for groups (42)
hot spot (28)
vibrant bar scene (27)
romantic (26)
great for outdoor dining (16)
notable wine list (11)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was great to return to "TAVERN". I u ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was great to return to "TAVERN". I used to have weekend breakfast there but due to some traveling I was unable to be there as often as I'

d like. The lunch was just fine with a very attentive staff aiming to please. The parking is also a plus. I am returning again tomorrow to test out some other dishes. The attractive ambiance makes dining a very pleasant experience.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had such a pleasant evening dining with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

Had such a pleasant evening dining with an old friend. Attentive service, comfy chairs and still thinking about the Curried Cauliflower! In the sunken dining area it feels like you are dining outdoors. Lovely atmosphere and delightful staff. Will definitely book again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome local lunch spot. Dining in the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Awesome local lunch spot. Dining in the Atrium under the tree was amazing on a warm day. Larger size lunch than the average place - and you need to share dessert.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I was extremely disappointed. The servic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I was extremely disappointed. The service was terrible in every way. Long delays. Appetizer brought to the table while I was in the restroom. Food quality was poor. All dishes over dr"essed, sauced etc.

We ordered drinks at the bar and I paid for them and we were ready to be seated. I asked of the three glasses of wine would be brought to our table or if we needed to carry them down the stairs into the dining room and across to our table. The bartender advised that "if I wanted to drink my wine..yes I would have to carry it".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We went to Tavern because I got an email ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We went to Tavern because I got an email saying they had paella Night but when we got there they said that was wrong and that they're changing their Wednesday night menu. We were discouraged because that is the only dish we like there now. The manager was nice about it but they couldn't do anything. We ended up going down the street to pizzicato and had a great meal.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Was excited to come to a JBF winners res ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Was excited to come to a JBF winners restaurant while on vacation. Restaurant was slow due to the holiday & service team might as well taken off. Just a below average experience all the way around. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

I love tavern for the food, the ambiance ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I love tavern for the food, the ambiance, the friendly staff and the easy parking. The menu changes often to reflex the seasons and this is my favorite time of year. The soft shell crab is delicious and I am looking forward to the peach salad which I always love! AND don't forget the snickers bar dessert - not to be missed!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was impeccable, and the food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The service was impeccable, and the food was great. However, the other patrons near us left things to be desired. I did not need to know about this woman's love life that she recalled to her mother for about 45 minutes. I had even told a waiter about the noise volume and still no help. That was not enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I came here for my birthday brunch and i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I came here for my birthday brunch and it was phenomenal. This was honestly one of the best meals I've ever had. I highly recommend Tavern!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

service was not good - not sure if it wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

service was not good - not sure if it was just that day or what but it was frustrating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great space, great service, great food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great space, great service, great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had dinner with a very ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

My husband and I had dinner with a very old friend whom we haven't seen for several years (he lives across the US). My husband has a disease that necessitates that he observe a very strict diet, at least for a while. I called in advance and asked if they thought we could be accommodated, and they said definitely, that we should talk to the waiter when we sat down. We did, and he was enormously helpful, checking with the kitchen on everything my husband thought he might like to eat, to see what the ingredients would be and how they could modify the selections. We've had helpful wait staff in other restaurants, but he went further than we've ever had. As a consequence, my spouse was able to order something that he enjoyed and felt safe in eating. The menu is interesting, and the food well prepared and aesthetically appealing. We sat in the atrium, which is lovely, with lots of light and nowhere near the enormous noise level of the front of the restaurant. Unfortunately, though we live in the neighborhood, it's not really a "neighborhood gem," as it's quite pricey. I'm sure we'll come again, but probably not too often, only because of that.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Have been here at least 4 times before a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Have been here at least 4 times before always loved. This time there were 4 of us and all of our food was mediocre. The desserts were better than starters and entrees. Not worth the money anymore. Not sure what is going on there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

This restaurant never disappoints. A wel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. A well thought out menu, friendly service and a really great experience. Food options are excellent and ambitious without being pretentious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointed at the Tavern - love ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Never disappointed at the Tavern - love the food and the ambiance - we had great service and a fun brunch with friends - good times.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very good meal at Tavern. The p ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a very good meal at Tavern. The place is remodeling, so we weren't sure when we arrived that it was still open. But the half that is still functioning was trendy and lively and VERY loud. It was Sunday brunch time and it was packed. Luckily we had a reservation.

I had the squash blossoms with asparagus, prosciutto and creamy polenta. The squash blossoms were stuffed with ricotta, battered and fried. They were delicious. And unlike others I've had, had a fingerling zucchini attached. A nice touch. An unexpected treat was a drizzle of Meyer lemon hollandaise which added a tart umph. Very good indeed.

Hubby's white anchovy toast was tasty. The anchovies were mild with a tart citrus salsa. The toast was a very odd texture, so tough he couldn't cut it with a knife or bite into it. Luckily he's not a big fan of bread.

The portions were small --we both finished ours, which is unusual as we usually split an entree and have leftovers. Pricey too, in the &15-$20 range. The only Chardonnay by the glass on the extensive wine list was $16.

. The service was spotty. We had at least three waiters and two bus boys working at cross-purposes and often hurrying past us as we tried to get more water or a roll to replace the inedible bread (we never got the roll.)

The food was such good quality that we would go back if we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food and atmosphere!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We came here and sat in the atrium which has beautiful trees and a sun roof across the whole thing. It was very quiet and calm and our server was amazing! We got the peach bellinis and they were great as well.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant on Westside

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Always perfect - food, staff, location. Something for everyone on the menu. Always excellent. Staff superb. Love this place.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great idea

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

No matter what the occasion, a visit to the Tavern is always a good idea. The food never disappoints and the staff is always friendly. This is a great place to bring visitors from out of town and show them a little bit of California living.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food is top quality. Suzanne Goin and Caroline Styne, (they also own Lucques) do a stellar job. We usually come for lunch/brunch and order the lox/white fish plate--incredibly yummy. Others in our party ordered one of the salads and an egg dish that was served in a little pan. Everyone raved about the food. While the restaurant is great we also love to do damage in the larder. Breads and desserts there are to die for. Beware if you have a sweet tooth and/or love bread. You'll find the larder hard to resist and can spend nearly as much as you did for lunch at the larder before you leave!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Gorgeous

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Its a gorgeous restaurant with a very lively atmosphere. The coffee is great and food is really good too. I've been here a few times and always look forward to coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My friend and I went to dinner here while we were in town for a quick girls weekend. The food and service were above and beyond what I expected. Our server Pete and the manager took time to talk to us about local things to do and we really appreciated it. The fried chicken appetizer was amazing as was the wine selection. Can't wait to tell others to go there and I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Healthy Feeling Lunch Spot

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Tavern is a great, if not inexpensive, option for a pleasant business lunch. I prefer to sit in the naturally lit 'outside' area. The salad trio is always a good option and the salads and entrees are always solid, as you would expect from any place Suzanne Goin is involved with. They also serve a good cup of coffee, which is too rare these days...

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved the ambience of the patio area. Se ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Loved the ambience of the patio area. Service was great. Yummy appetizers (we got the brussels sprouts and bacon-wrapped figs) but we weren't blown away by the entrees we ordered. I would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is good at Tavern, it's just no ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food is good at Tavern, it's just not that good. Nothing special, and nothing to rave about to other diners. It seems that even for breakfast/brunch everything is overpriced. $18 for pancakes, even at a high end restaurant is just excessive. And I've had better pancakes at mid level restaurants. The setting is beautiful, and it's Brentwood, so they get away with the prices. I just wish they would make their food more memorable. Service is always good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

amazing food and ambiance!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

amazing food and ambiance!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service terrible! Bus boys more helpful ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Service terrible! Bus boys more helpful than waiter! $95 steak for 2 ordered med. rare was cooked inconsistently. We couldn't find waiter to send it back so we ate it. Appetizer salads for $17.00. Really? No. Tasted good but not worth price. We all felt food was just ok. Beautiful setting doesn't make up for it! Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

An amazing meal always - a quick snack t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

An amazing meal always - a quick snack to an elegant celebration. Brunch was perfect - great waitstaff - always there when you need something but never in the way. Beautifully prepared food with flavors bursting in your mouth. Will return every chance I get. Casual elegance and a perfect "TEN"!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place but service was off...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We always love going to Tavern and even though the food was excellent for our recent dinner the service was terrible. Our waiter never once came to our table without us calling him over and when he did come to the table, he was very unfriendly. We even had to chase him down to pay the bill. Hopefully it was just an off night.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Fair Warning

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent Food. Wonderful decor. Spoiled by horrible service. This sentiment is echoed all over yelp.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Suzanne Earns Her Beard Award Every Day

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were thrilled to learn that Tavern chef/owner Suzanne Goin won the James Bear Award for nation's best chef. The accolades are indeed deserved as she and her staff keep turning out some of the best food in town, not just at Tavern but at AOC and Lucques, as well. Amazing ricotta stuffed squash blossoms and light and refreshing simple salad followed by a unique presentation for roasted halibut on a bed of black rice napped with a slightly spicy, slightly sweet coconut milk broth. A Five star dinner from a five star chef, with great wines by the glass to match. Brava!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Space Counts

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

When you are sitting in the main room at Tavern, you are in a world of light and height. The food is good. The desserts are worth the calories. The waitstaff is friendly. But the star here is the setting. If you like bars, this one is stunning and noisy. There is a small informal space near the charcuterie (great selection of cheeses, salads etc) that is just a pleasant space for a quick meal. But try the main room at least once.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lively and loud

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great good, lovely interiors, but a really loud bar area that permeates the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful environment. Very cozy seating ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Beautiful environment. Very cozy seating. We were there on Mother's Day. I guess it was busy. Our waitress was very nice , but I think she was a little overwhelmed. Overall we a very nice time & will definitely be back. I've been there before on quieter nights & it was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Had a lovely Mother's Day Brunch here

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My parents were in town for Mother's Day so I took them here for brunch. James, the General Manager, took great care of us when there was a little delay in getting a table in the Atrium. Such a memorable day for my mom!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect evening

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The ambiance was beautiful, our server was friendly and efficient and the meal was one of the most delicious meals I've ever eaten. Although the dining area is spacious, we were able to comfortably hear one another. We had eight people in our party and everyone enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday Brunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Had a reservation - we were there on time (a few minutes early) waited to be seated in the worst table - right by the front door - in the bar - :(

After the waiter took our order - he was not to be found - the hostess took care of us the rest of the day - including bringing to go boxes , taking our desert order and bringing our check.

Sad to spend so much money for so little. Good food is just not enough

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Nice place, good food. The service was P ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Nice place, good food. The service was PERFECT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We both had turkey burgers which were ve ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We both had turkey burgers which were very good. Beyond that, there aren't that many

items that appeal to me. The drinks were very $$ and small. Service was a bit lax and they

were very busy. Prices high for burgers.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Had another outstanding dinner at the Ta ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Had another outstanding dinner at the Tavern! The atrium room is romantic and beautifully designed with leather banquettes. The food was superb! Crispy brussel sprouts and lamb meatballs with currants and pine nuts were delicious! Two in our party shared the whole branzino, which was excellent with an interesting vegetable side. I chose the devil's chicken, my favorite with potatoes, leeks, bread crumbs in a Dijon mustard sauce. It is a large portion! We were celebrating a bday so they complimentary brought us 2 desserts, a berry crumble and a chocolate divine slice with something indescribably crunchy and peanuts and ice cream. A table of 2 ladies across the room randomly sent us 3 glasses of champagne, which was so unexpected & sweet. We, also, had wonderful mixed drinks! Ms. Goin really gets it right from start to finish! We had excellent service and the manager checked on us, as well! Perfect evening in every regard!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.