Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

About Tavern

Tavern is the third restaurant from the chef and sommelier team of Suzanne Goin and Caroline Styne, who also own Lucques restaurant and AOC winebar. This is their West Los Angeles outpost, which serves as a local gathering spot for the Brentwood crowd. Chicly designed by Jeffrey Alan Marks, Tavern encompasses three separate, yet connected spaces: a glass roofed atrium dining room, a large blue walled bar and a café space called the Larder that features casual dining, bakery, retail and prepared foods to go. The restaurant serves Suzanne Goin’s signature California/Mediterranean cuisine with just a touch of a classic American influence.

11648 San Vicente Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 8:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour Every day 3PM-7PM in the Blue Room.
Larder open everyday 8am - 8pm.

Cross Street:
Darlington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 806-6464

Website:
http://www.tavernla.com/

Parking Details:
Daytime parking lots offer 90 minutes free with validation.
Evening valet available for $6 (on Darlington).

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (46)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Business Meals (33)
See All
Special Occasion (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for a Date (28)
Great for Brunch (25)
People Watching (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Worth the Drive (16)
Romantic (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Fun (15)
Casual (14)
Healthy (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Afternoon Coffee (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Seasonal (9)
Organic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Live Music (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1796 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 13 hours ago

The service was terrible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic place with delicious food and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

I've never had a bad experience or a bad meal at Tavern! One of my favorite Brentwood apots to treat employees to lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We've dined at the Tavern several times and always loved their food: last night it seemed like the chef had left and whoever was there just threw some things together...
My Arctic char was burnt, the stuff underneath it some unrecognizable greens and other in a mushy dressing. The others in our party similarly disappointed. Shameful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

First visit to the Tavern. Lovely place, great ambiance. Thought the food was a bit pricey ......but it was all really delicious!!!! I will come back again!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Another wonderful meal at Tavern. Just seems to be getting better. Loved the new cocktail, the kumquatini! Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The service could have been better and the sound echo was horrible - sunlight came through but we moved. The bar area is way too noisy.

Although food is a solidly dependable, slow service. echo and light keep me away.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

perfect place for a business or girl friend's lunch.
short walking distance from my office.
Pleasant ambiance .
good quality of ingredients.
Friendly service .

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Having been to all of Suzanne Goin's restaurants multiple times, I definitely think Tavern is my favorite for business lunches. The main room has a very high glass ceiling with coverings for each table so it feels very airy and bright, perfect for a midday meal. The food is always flawlessly executed and this was no exception. Mixed olives and a grilled shrimp cocktail for appetizers. Two of my guests had the fish tacos, one had the carving board daily sandwich (which was brisket on sourdough baguette) and I had the Larder Cobb salad, which is a colorful bonanza of vegetables (sweet potato, beets, avocado, tomatoes, garbanzo beans) perfect for a summertime lunch. Portions are generous, flavors are focused and the overall experience is always worth the effort, which is why I keep coming back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Nice place for lunch. I would not want to stay longer than an hour because the tables are close together so noise level is fairly high and you can hear the conversations at the tables around you. The fish tacos were so hot. I wish I had a choice for a milder option. The servers were very attentive. Not sure I would be a repeat customer. Seems great for a young crowd but not for baby boomers!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Tavern is my go to neighborhood restaurant if I want a quality meal. It's also the place I take out of town guests and special friends when I want them to have an amazing food experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent food and setting. All in my group said the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

My three friends and I had a fun lunch at Tavern on Friday! I ordered the 3 for $14 salad (my choices were chicken salad, udon, and broccoli), which was fabulous--very fresh, creative, and beautifully presented. Two friends raved about their fish tacos, and the third one enjoyed her pastrami sandwich. We shared a carrot cake--a huge piece that was very moist and delicious. Our waitress was top notch--very friendly, efficient, and professional. I was surprised how noisy it was as usually it's quiet enough for us to carry on a conversation without having to shout. Not so this time! All in all, our lunch was outstanding though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Tavern has become my go to for meetings.
Great atmosphere, Great food!!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Fabulous food, including wide variety from burgers to vegan! Quite the hot spot in brentwood, but patrons varied from family with little kids, to group of 10 business associates, to elderly couple, to group of 20something friends.....and all seemed to enjoy. Valet was great too.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Tavern is always good. I love the garden room. Service is great, food is alwys good too. Its one of my "go to" restaurants.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We celebrated our daughter's college graduation from UCLA there and found it to be the perfect setting for a special evening for our family. It was elegant but not stuffy, cool but not too casual. The gorgeous atmosphere and outstanding food allowed us to have the magical evening we were hoping for.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Casual, Seasonal, Vegan, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Lovely as usual. The food is great, the service was fine, a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fun, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance - fabulous bread and the "Devil's Chicken" amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Nice ambiance; attentive service and very accommodating with special menu requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Tavern has some wonderful dishes and the atmosphere is sophisticated, and yet relaxing and beautiful. The restaurant sits in an atrium filled with trees and umbrellas, so you feel like you are sitting outside without all of the actual weather elements affecting you. The chicken w. breadcrumbs is a dish Ive had at least 10 times, never once disappointed. The salads are all fresh and delicious. The smoked fish platter is wonderfully light and fulfilling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Expensive but creative food. But too crowded and loud, which makes it difficult to really enjoy. Great space, great location.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Hadn't been to Tavern since the first months of its opening and glad to return. Much improved. Service by Nicola was perfect. Attentive, personable and timely. The other service was not great as another tables food was brought to our table and then taken and still given to the other table. Not a good practice. Our group had the artic char, osso buco and Hanger Steak. All we're good but we're hoping for the signature short ribs but they weren't on the menu. When I come back I'm going for the burgers - they looked terrific. Menu was a bit limited and some had a difficult time finding something they wanted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Had not been there for a while and went late on a Saturday night. The seating is comfortable and well placed. We were pretty much the last people in the restaurant and it is a wonderful place when everyone clears out and things are quiet. The staff was very knowledgeable and accommodating. Very good wine by the glass selection. A nice selection of cheese, and we had a vegetable dish and a chicken dish. Both were very good, although not outstanding. However, there were several other things on the menu that we would try the next time. It was a bit on the pricey side, but not overly so, especially considering the rents on San Vicente. Will definitely not wait as long before returning again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Beautiful atrium dining room and cozy bar area. Unfortunately the food and service did not match the ambiance. Would return for drinks & apps but wouldn't recommend for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I go there a lot & love The Ambiance. It was our friends Birthday & we really enjoyed it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Nasty female bartender but everyone else was terrific. The food was amazing as always. Thank you!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Not much alcohol in drink
Hard to find something interesting on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Greatly Disappointed

Going to Goin on the west side, sounded great. Oy!

I was celebrating a joint belated birthday with a friend. We shared a shrimp ceviche appetizer...way too vinegary for my palate and the shrimp were both too shrimpy and too scarce. Still, I would have rated the appetizer as "fair" rather than poor. My friend had hangar steak. She liked it, I tasted it (reason for that to follow) and I found it too sweet (though very tender and properly cooked). I ordered the "signature" dish, devil's chicken. Words almost fail me in describing how dreadful it was. I tend to be sensitive to salt, so I give restaurants a pass if I find something a bit salty. This dish was so over salted that I thought of suggesting that it be put out in the woods as a salt lick for deer. Instead, I merely sent it back. (It was overcooked as well). I decided on just a bowl of soup so as to keep pace with my friend who had the steak. Luckily, I love black pepper; the soup have no discernible flavor other than that. I cannot imagine what any person not enamored of pepper would have done. Two such missteps on the same night is not acceptable.

On a "beware" note, the corkage is $25. The restaurant uses excellent glasses and decants the wine (but I had to ask--I shouldn't have had to). Not a complaint, just an FYI note.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I love Tavern, but this time I called ahead as we were celebrating a birthday and I also have a waitress that I requested to be seated in her section. They didn't do the birthday cake I had to go ask someone, and we weren't seated in the right section. Bummed about this visit only for that...otherwise great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great ambience, unfortunately the menu is overpriced on everything and doesn't taste all that great for dinner. It's better for brunch.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This restaurant could be fantastic. I had the Tavern Trio salad and it was just a little too predictable "farm to table." I am going to give it a second chance. The one fantastic item was the cookie plate which was so delicious and beautifully presented.

The reason I might not ever do a business lunch again was the service. The waiter absolutely disappeared and it became a succession of chase-down's which became a distraction and embarrassing.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always good didn't disappointed fresh ingredients with a unique twist .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I love this restaurant. Always great food, great ambience, wonderful service, and interesting patrons.

Always a sure thing

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I've had brunch twice now at Tavern and it's been a great experience each time. Great service and their breakfast is amazing. The monkey bread was the only disappointment. Eggs Benedict and the shakshuka are both highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 18, 2017

You can count on Tavern for consistent service and great food.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Made a last minute resy and requested seating at Atrium but only bar was available. However, the bar had happy hour until 7 pm which was a plus. Took a while before server asked about drinks but all was good after our drink order.

Food and drinks were great! The music was a bit too loud in the bar for my taste. People watching was enjoyable too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very good food; good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The service was incredible bad, never go there again,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

An old standby, very comfortable, food always good, easy parking, lots of choices, good for nibbling on several things.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.