About Tavern

11648 San Vicente Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Tavern is the third restaurant from the chef and sommelier team of Suzanne Goin and Caroline Styne, who also own Lucques restaurant and AOC winebar. This is their West Los Angeles outpost, which serves as a local gathering spot for the Brentwood crowd. Chicly designed by Jeffrey Alan Marks, Tavern encompasses three separate, yet connected spaces: a glass roofed atrium dining room, a large blue walled bar and a café space called the Larder that features casual dining, bakery, retail and prepared foods to go. The restaurant serves Suzanne Goin’s signature California/Mediterranean cuisine with just a touch of a classic American influence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 5:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour Every day 3PM-7PM in the Blue Room.
Larder open everyday 8am - 8pm.

Cross Street:
Darlington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 806-6464

Website:
http://www.tavernla.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz and our very own Paella for $38! EVERY Wednesday of the month, from 6 - 9:30 pm throughout the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Daytime parking lots offer 90 minutes free with validation.
Evening valet available for $6 (on Darlington).

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Tavern
Chocolate Cake
The Argentine
fish tacos
New Zealand Pink Snapper
Carrot Soup with coconut & cilantro pistou
Ricotta Pancake With Brown Buttrer Peach Compote
Frittata W/ Summer Squash, Cherry Tomatoes, Chevre & Basil
Niman Ranch Beef W/ Fontina
The Angeleno Sandwich
Bellini
Brisket Hash
Monkey Bread
Scarpetta Pinot Grigio
Cheeseburger
Pork Burger
Niman Ranch Burger
Pork Belly
Herb Ricotta Gnocchi
Eggs Benedict
Snickers
Butter-Crumbed Eggs With Parmesan, Polenta And Arugula
Chopped Vegetable Salad
Roasted Asparagus
Soft Shell Crab
Lucques Gimlet
Five Fingers cocktail
Devil's Chicken
Blackberry Ricotta Cheesecake
Cheesburger
Kumquatini
BBQ Pork Sliders and a Turkey Burger
Market Fish
chicken dinner
Sweet potato chips
Crispy Duck Confit
Turkey Burger
Assorted Cookies
Pancetta Seared Trout Black Cous Cous, Salsify & Goat Cheese Espuma, Spring Onion Vinaigrette
Butternut Squash Soup
Pumpkin Loaf With Brown Butter Frosting
the spaniard
Thunderer

Specials

TAVERN HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR AND BLUE ROOM

Special valid Aug 6, 2016 - Dec 6, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Picnic Boxes from the Larder!

Special valid Aug 6, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 all week from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Try the Tavern Collins and Support LALAL!

Special valid Aug 6, 2016 - Dec 6, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

TAVERN HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR AND BLUE ROOM

Special valid Aug 6, 2016 - Dec 6, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Join us everyday for Happy Hour! Specialty cocktails,beers and wines by the glass, Spanish fried chicken,lamb meatballs, tacos with duck confit or tempura fish,toasts w/ salmon, avocado & burrata, beef,pork or turkey burgers, cheese selection. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 6, 2016 - Dec 6, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Picnic Boxes from the Larder!

Special valid Aug 6, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 all week from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Complete meals for on the go.Choose your box.The Burton Way,slow-roasted salmon;The All American,fried chicken;The Young Frenchman,ficelle sandwich;Cheese&Charcuterie for 2.Bites to go with and wine pairings,beers,juices and Hoxie wine spritzers. Excludes Tax and Tip. 24 hour advance notice and credit card required. Special valid Aug 6, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 all week from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Try the Tavern Collins and Support LALAL!

Special valid Aug 6, 2016 - Dec 6, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Christiaan Röllich's new Tavern Collins with orange infused rutte vodka with raspberries, lemon and fennel $1 per cocktail sold benefits L.A. Loves Alex’s Lemonade. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 6, 2016 - Dec 6, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Brentwood ›

Neighborhood Gem (63)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Great for Lunch (55)
See All
Special Occasion (47)
Great for Brunch (45)
Romantic (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Hot Spot (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Notable Wine List (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fun (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (4)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Cozy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1524 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Even though I was at a special restauran ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Even though I was at a special restaurant whose chef/owners are very famous, deservedly so, I ordered my favorite lunch, grilled cheese sandwich. It was fabulous. My friend had the gem salad and loved it. I've been there numerous times and was never disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to the tavern numerous times o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Have been to the tavern numerous times over the years. It's a lovely setting and we have always had very attentive service and very good food. This past visit was on a Sunday evening. The restaurant was only 1/3 full. Our waiter had all the tables it seemed with runners to help deliver the meals. Our evening was spent trying to wave down the waiter to order everything. We would have ordered a bottle of wine but the waiter did not come over to us during our 1st course or until after our main course was served and we asked the runner to fetch our waiter. We ended with just a glass instead of the bottle. The food was good, not anything special. It was a very disappointing visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The take out section of the restaurant i ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

The take out section of the restaurant is closed for renovation currently. We had a late-ish lunch reservation and were seated in the bar area which is noisier than the dining room. None of that detracts from the food, which is always imaginative and savory.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a good time - great menu - good s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always a good time - great menu - good service is a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Tavern many times. this l ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have been to Tavern many times. this last time it was underwhelming. The food was ordinary.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great small plates .. Loved the flatbrea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great small plates .. Loved the flatbread with arugula fig and goat cheese. Also the Spanish chicken small plate dish was yummy. Our table was Very disappointed with the expensive main 39$ prawn dish and also the main dish short ribs. A lot of other "not that tasty filler" and not much fish /meat. I would come again for the small plates tho !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was not prepared well. The shri ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was not prepared well. The shrimp were not cooked properly and had a spongy taste. The chicken - a specialty was not fully cooked. The service was non-attentive and seemingly indifferent. the server appeared bored. I have eaten at Tavern several times and this was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The staff was really great in accommodat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The staff was really great in accommodating a romantic birthday dinner for two. They placed us in the back of the Atrium at a quiet corner table. The starter salads we ordered were unusual and interesting on the menu. The arugula ceasar was tasty if you like heavy anchovie flavor since it was built into the salad. The peach/cheese/watercress salad suffered from bland peaches and muted cheese trying hard to mesh but not quite getting there. The Branzino for two was superb! The accompanying spinich risotto was an almost, missing enough spice/flavor to elevate above bland. The coffee coupe was great, especially with the added chocolate we requested. The champagne by the glass started at $15 and scaled rather quickly to $30...with 3 roses limiting the choice and price points. $17 glass of chardonnay was passable. Overall, we had a lovely social experience and found the food adventurous but uneven. Surely that's easily addressed in the kitchen.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service, good food, original. Expe ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great service, good food, original.

Expensive and not so diversified wine list (heavy concentration on Californian wines, not a single Oregon Pinot)

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved the food, the room, the service. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Loved the food, the room, the service. We will return as soon as possible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, Great waiter, Great drink sel ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Good food, Great waiter, Great drink selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Tavern is always a perfect place to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The Tavern is always a perfect place to dine - for a casual dinner with friends, or a special occasion. Consistently outstanding food, terrific service and a lovely dining room. The staff always welcomes you warmly and the menu is a constant combination of favorites and new items. Simply the best restaurant on the Westside.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service - Haven't been ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food, great service - Haven't been here before but will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got the chix and biscuits on the Sat bru ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Got the chix and biscuits on the Sat brunch menu. Waiter said all white meat (since I asked), but got it and half of it was dark meat, ick! Plus very small portion of chix on the plate. Gravy didn't have much taste, would not order that again. Wish Tavern would have their "regular" menu on the wknds....they have a great lunch and dinner menu wkdays, and should offer that on wknds, in addition to their brunch menu. One of the most lovely dining rooms in all of LA, for day dining.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Casual, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

The tables are so close to each other th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The tables are so close to each other that you can't even concentrate on your conversations- you will feel like you are eating dinner with the tables next to you. Which is unpleasant if you are looking to celebrate a special occasion with your significant other. Service wasn't pleasant either. Didn't find value for the price other than the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Albeit a bit overpriced, the food and se ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Albeit a bit overpriced, the food and service are outstanding and while the decor is a bit spare for my taste, very comfortable. The big negative is their wine list. It is an amazing list but nothing worth drinking by the bottle under $125, which, if money is no object, isn't crazy, but to have a reasonable and affordable bottle of wine with a meal is much too expensive as a base price. They would do well to add a few quality mid-priced bottled to each category.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was great but would have wished ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was great but would have wished they would have come by more to fill water and coffee

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We ordered a lot of food, most of which ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We ordered a lot of food, most of which was very good. I did not enjoy my Black Cod - fish was dry and the sauce on the vegetables seemed to overpower the dish and throw everything off.. Our server was skilled but was unusually loud and overly familiar. The busser's (female) skills need polishing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent place to celebrate a girlfrien ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent place to celebrate a girlfriend's birthday. Service is impeccable, the setting is lovely, there is something delicious on the menu for everyone, and there is a parking lot and validation. Love you his restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During happy hour they would not serve t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

During happy hour they would not serve the same wine by the glass in the atrium, we had to pay $17 a glass while a few feet away the same wine was $7 per glass. I was raised in Brentwood and I miss Hamburger Hamlet. I won't be back, another disappointing experience at the Tavern.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

There was no hostess up front to greet u ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

There was no hostess up front to greet us, resulting in us standing around for 10 minutes with no acknowledgement of our presence. When someone finally showed up, there was no apology or warm greeting. After we were seated, it took another 10-15 minutes for our waiter to come by. If it were busy in the restaurant, I would understand, but it was a slow afternoon and definitely not busy. Even the dishware came out cracked (the ceramic creamer had a huge crack and was leaking...). Strange vibe.. I love Suzanne Goins' other restaurants like Lucques and AOC and was expecting much more from Tavern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Another amazing experience!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Another amazing experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting space in Brentwood with a ba ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Interesting space in Brentwood with a bar area as large as their dining hall tells you where their focus is. Our party enjoyed their black cod which was served with amazing selection of finely roasted vegetables. The prawns dish was just okay, with not a lot of flavor. Service was spotty and it took a long time to get our cocktails and place our order. While the backup staff was on top of it, the wait staff seemed overwhelmed and out of their league.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

An excellent lunch, all the way around. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

An excellent lunch, all the way around.

Thoroughly enjoyable!

Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have gone to Tavern many, many times ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We have gone to Tavern many, many times over the years it's been open. We have seen a steady decline in everything. Especially the service. Absolutely inattentive. This is an expensive restaurant. It should have service at the highest level. The servers act if they are doing you a favor by taking your order. Again, we have eaten at the restaurant numerous times, often as a couple and many times with large groups as it is in our neighborhood. After this, we will likely not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

our salad was underdressed. asked for mo ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

our salad was underdressed. asked for more dressing.

the TRIO lunch plate , claimed to be dressed in exotic spices. nothing like as described on menu.

pedestrian.

my dinner there was underwhelming. my guests were did not seem to enjoy the meal.

I will not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We had a fantastic time here! Our server ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a fantastic time here! Our server was excellent, the food was delicious... great place for brunch! We'll be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointed, great ambience, so so ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very disappointed, great ambience, so so food and service, expensive for what you get.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

I've been here several times and each ti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I've been here several times and each time I swear that I will never go back. It was my friend's special birthday and she wanted to go here so I agreed, hoping that this time it would not disappoint. We live close by and it is a lovely room so I really wanted to enjoy this experience. It has never hit the mark. First of all, I made a reservation ahead and when I arrived was taken to a small table right near the entrance to the room....definitely not one of the coveted spots. When I asked about the corner tables which were vacant I was told that they were 'reserved' even though there was no sign on either of the two corner tables. (Obviously being held for more important customers!) I was offered a table in the back sandwiched between 'ladies who lunch' and it was a better choice. The waiter was friendly enough but absent through much of the lunch. Our appetizer never arrived and I had to inquire about it three times before we got it, which was almost at the end of the meal. The food is good, but nothing really special. People go here to see and be seen. As the restaurant cleared out, the waiters must have all taken their lunch break at the same time. For about 10 minutes there was virtually no wait staff whatsoever on the floor with at least 20 tables occupied. For a restaurant of this stature, that's really terrible management. Tavern L.A. I'm done! There are so many other good places around why go here to be treated so poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

was quite disappointed in the salad sele ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

was quite disappointed in the salad selection and the portion I received for my salad considering the cost. i had not been to the restaurant in years...due to the same memory but a friend suggested it for another friends birthday, so I thought I would give it a 2nd chance. I selected a sandwich that could also be a salad (with arrugula) and not only was there barely any arrugula and I said something to my waiter and he agreed, so he made a big deal of saying he would see about not charging me for that addition (2-3 bucks) and made a big deal of saying that the manager said it was okay. my salad should have been much fuller. I hate it when restaurants skimp on items that are not costly (like lettuce/arrugula, etc). not even the tuna or other ingredients were substantial. and we had to request refills on our iced beverages. a quality restaurant should take care of that before we have to flag someone down.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Excellent dinner! The food was exception ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent dinner! The food was exceptionally good, inventive and the ingredients particularly fresh.

I had the Pork Cheeks served with a succulent assortment of cornmeal crumbs, vegetables and a particularly delightful creme fraiche.

Our server although friendly and attentive was appropriately and formal and never interrupted a conversation. I could see he waited patiently.

I also went to Lucques recently which was just as good. I highly recommend Suzanne Goin's restaurants. I should be going to AOC soon I hope.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our waitress. Very knowle ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Really enjoyed our waitress. Very knowledgeable about menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great spot for sending work group for di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great spot for sending work group for dinner. My guests were very pleased. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very limited breakfast menu and they wer ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Very limited breakfast menu and they were out of many baked goods. Out, at 8:45am?? I ordered two poached eggs and they brought me runny scrambled eggs and seemed surprised when I refused to eat them Trying to get coffee refills was difficult. Don't eat at Tavern at breakfast time, try Fromin's Deli in Santa Monica, much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Beautiful restaurant with terrific food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with terrific food and good service. Definitely worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was under the impression that it was o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I was under the impression that it was or could be more like a Brunch with combined breakfast items and some lunch items.

For us it would have been preferable. Think someone should consider it.

My colleague and I have very different hours and I wanted breakfast and she wanted lunch. Unfortunately, she had to have breakfast. There was no room for anything else.

In the future, if the situation is similar, will go someplace else.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very popular Brentwood eatery. Very noi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very popular Brentwood eatery. Very noisy in the bar due to 20something happy hour patrons. The restaurant itself was very noisy as well due to the acoustics! The food was fine. Nothing memorable and for the prices it should have been. The drinks were pricey ($16) and on the weak side. We had Branzinno ($70 for 2) tasty but tiny share portion. Also had the salmon $32 and nothing special. .The service was attentive. All in all it was a very expensive but average night. I wouldn't go out of my way to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

This is one of those restaurants that wi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is one of those restaurants that will make anyone happy. Beautiful room. Casual, eat, lovely service. The food is always consistent and well prepared. A classic in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've known Suzanne and Carolyn for a lon ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I've known Suzanne and Carolyn for a long time. They are two of the smartest, friendliest, and talented people in the restaurant space. At any of their locations, you always find warmth, innovation, and wonderful food. I love the Steak Frites, Cobb Salad add Salmon, and her Turkey Burger! At Tavern specifically, you're dealing with the Westside of LA and all that goes with it. I'm generalizing, however, customers seem to want safe and guaranteed. They've done a wonderful balancing act of providing that and continuing to experiment. Suzanne is an amazing chef. No question about it. If I had one suggestion, it would be to figure out a way to create a somewhat loosened up vibe. Easy to say, hard to do. Lastly, I love The Larder. It feels like Mom and Pop. I'll always dine at any/all of their places. Feels like family!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice service, excellent food, especially ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Nice service, excellent food, especially enjoyed the peach/arugula/prosciutto/cheese salad and lamb meatballs. Wine list could use some more affordable bottles. Gardenlike setting is very pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.