HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 85 times today

Tavern

4.6
1919 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch (28)
  • Neighborhood Gem (25)
  • Good for Birthdays (24)
Tavern is the third restaurant from the chef and sommelier team of Suzanne Goin and Caroline Styne, who also own Lucques restaurant and AOC winebar. This is their West Los Angeles outpost, which serves as a local gathering spot for the Brentwood crowd. Chicly designed by Jeffrey Alan Marks, Tavern encompasses three separate, yet connected spaces: a glass roofed atrium dining room, a large blue walled bar and a café space called the Larder that features casual dining, bakery, retail and prepared foods to go. The restaurant serves Suzanne Goin’s signature California/Mediterranean cuisine with just a touch of a classic American influence.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, French, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 8:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour Every day 3PM-7PM in the Blue Room.
Larder open everyday 8am - 8pm.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(310) 806-6464
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Suzanne Goin
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Darlington
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Daytime parking lots offer 90 minutes free with validation.
Evening valet available for $6 (on Darlington).
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 1919 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6  based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.6
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined 3 days ago

It was good went to meet some family and we had a great time service was great food was great

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined 5 days ago

The service is never that good for what you’re paying for

Report
Helpful
chadbonanno 
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely one of the BEST meals I have had in a long time. 4th time at Tavern, I had the Hmager Steak- AMAZING! My girlfriend has the Shortrib- LOTS of flavors and simply delicious ! Snickers bar A MUST AS ALWAYS. Tavern is one of my favorites here in LA and ALWAYS consistent !

Report
Helpful
LoveCB (Dallas)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

Food was delicious. Great light room with high ceilings.

Report
Helpful
vipPatMargulies (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

The Tavern is a favorite place of ours ... very upscale surroundings and delicious food. The servers and staff are excellent and nice too!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

A little noisy and crowded upon arrival at 1:30 pm, However, it cleared out shortly after that and was very pleasant. Excellent service.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Always very good food, always very good service. Great place.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
3.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Waitress was moody and seemed to
Go missing a lot.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Sat in the beautiful atrium. Great service and delicious breakfast. Quiet and not crowded during the week for breakfast. Would go back.

Report
Helpful
Brad (Calgary)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

While the food was great, the restaurant (and therefore OpenTable) neglected to inform us of the prix-fixe menu. This was surprising and unfortunate, since my girlfriend has dietary restrictions which couldn't be accompanied on that menu. As usual, the food was great and the service was very good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
2.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

Terrible, greasy chicken. Good service. Great ambiance.

Report
Helpful
vipChristopB (Los Angeles)
3.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

Food is beautifully prepared and presented. The breakfast/brunch items were excellent but I had an entree salad and it was the size of a diner side salad. I went home after and ate. The server was consistently unavailable and the restaurant was a bit too loud. I have had wonderful dinners there so I will give it another try to see if this was just an off day. I would still recommend the restaurant but I have some serious reservations.

Report
Helpful
vipLove2Dine (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Unfortunately, our servers are not attentive and you may have to track them down for assistance/service.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Wait staff is always professional and attentive. Lanai Room in back is always comfortable and inviting.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Great food!

Report
Helpful
vipPSandLAguys (Los Angeles)
2.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

The new menu has interesting items but the preparation is not up to the level of the previous menu. Fall vegetables were woody, tough, and inedible. Salmon was a piece of fish on a sea of salad greens. $32 was the price for a small bowl of pasta. Prices have gone up but the culinary aspect has gone in reverse somewhat. Not what we expected after years of going here. Once a favorite, unfortunately we probably will not return.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
2.0  Dined on February 8, 2018

Well designed space but we were all underwhelmed by the food. Service was good. Parking is a disaster, but that's Brentwood in general.

Report
Helpful
vipmarkdmarc (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

Hadn't been to the Tavern in quite some time. We were happy to be back! Food was really delicious...the room is beautiful....service was great. It's not an inexpensive meal, though....Everything was very good but we did find the evening quite expensive.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on February 4, 2018

I have been disappointed in the service so many times at the Tavern. One has to ask for everything..butter, ketchup, salt...more coffee. Really frustrating when you are in conversation.

Report
Helpful
vipJuniper (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on February 4, 2018

We met with new friends and were able to have good conversations as we enjoyed the delicious brunch. We all really enjoyed the dishes we ordered and refills of coffee, tea etc. were very prompt.
Our young waitress was very obliging and always available for requests. This all made for a delightful outing. We enjoyed the range of ages from young, well behaved children to senior citizens with most of the diners in-between.
We always enjoy going to "Tavern" and the available parking facility is a real plus !

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
96