About Tavern at Bown Crossing

3111 S. Bown Way
Boise, ID 83706
View Larger Map

The Tavern at Bown Crossing is a unique dining experience offering sushi, USDA prime grade steaks, daily seafood specials, burgers, sandwiches and salads. There is a full bar with an extensive wine list, great classic cocktails, sake and draught beers. Happy Hour is available Mon.-Sat. Brunch is served on Sundays from an ala carte menu from 9:30-3 p.m. Our tables range from higher tables in the bar area with a more energetic atmosphere, or booths or a quieter area with lower tables.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm. Sunday Brunch: 9:30am-3:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm. Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Parkcenter Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 345-2277

Website:
http://www.tavernatbown.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on the upstairs patio once a week during the summer, weather permitting.

Catering:
The Tavern can cater business events, receptions, private parties, birthdays,etc. Menus are customized for each event. Bar service available with an off-site permit.

Parking Details:
Parking is located along the streets and in the back lots of the marketplace.

Executive Chef:
Cody Cornwall

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is available for sit down dinners, business meetings, and family dinners. There is not a room fee if a minimum is spent in food and beverage. The room is located upstairs with upstairs access to a restroom. There is an elevator for handicap accessibility as well. There is a full bar, audio visual equipment, and microphones. Call to inquire about limited menus, minimums and policies.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tavern at Bown Crossing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Idaho
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

neighborhood gem (24)
good for groups (13)
great for lunch (13)
See All
great for outdoor dining (12)
special occasion (11)
hot spot (11)
romantic (7)
great for brunch (7)
fit for foodies (4)
late-night find (4)
notable wine list (3)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Boise

Dined 6 days ago

You'll be hard pressed to find a better restaurant in Boise. From high quality sushi to ridiculously tasty steaks, burgers and salads, the Tavern has something for everybody. Don't forget to check out brunch, too.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good....

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was mostly great but I had ordered a small caesar and was presented with a large one. Waitress did not know how to "fix" this situation (i.e., charge us for the small one...) so it was a little weird.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fresh Halibut was great, drinks good. Se ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fresh Halibut was great, drinks good. Seemed a little pricey for the food. Great service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wine dinner at The Tavern

Dined on May 11, 2016

We (4 of my friends and I ) had a memorable experience at The Tavern recently. We brought out own wine and paired it with the great food including fresh oysters, calamari, halibut, lamb and steak. We shared three desserts. Our server was on top of all of it with the 5 bottles of wine and all of the requests.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Don't know why I come back

Dined on May 7, 2016

Mediocre food, overpriced, spotty service... Honestly, the only reason we go is proximity to home. Would not go out of my way to dine here.

food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall our dining experience was ok. The Prime Rib our guest of honor had was not memorable and his baked sweet potato was just a basic baked sweet potato. The Sushi two other members of our party had was very good and well priced. The halibut special was very good but the augratin potatoes were barely warm and the cheese was rubbery. The chicken dish ordered by our 5th member had great flavor, but also could have been hotter. The drinks and appetizers were very good and arrived promptly. The red wine served with dinner was flavorful, but a bit too warm even for a heavy red. The atmosphere was not spectacular - truly a tavern feel. I would go back, but not for a special occasion. Basic food. Maybe a better lunch than dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, food lacked flavor

Dined on March 27, 2016

We were very impressed with the ambience and service at the restaurant, but our food lacked any flavor. I had to add salt to my omelet three times, and I rarely add salt to any food. The temperature of the food and the portion size were good, but I won't return unless I can be reassured that the food is more flavorful.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Foodiegreen

Dined on March 27, 2016

We chose The Tavern for Easter Sunday thinking the food would be good and they have a great atmosphere. For this occasion the food (omelette)was tasty but Cold. We were seated upstairs in the overflow space which would have been ok but next to us were six loud and obnoxious 25+ year olds, who were enjoying mimosa's at the expense of everyone else. It will take me sometime before going back

food5
ambience5
service5

Bottomless mimosas!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Bottomless mimosas!

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great evening and great food. Our waiter ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great evening and great food. Our waiter was incredibly nice and kept up with us all night:) We did spend a lot but it was worth it. The only down fall was when we were watching the basketball game and the bartender turned the tv away from us, so that he personally could watch the game. LOL, oh well eventually our server turned it back for us and the food was great, as usual.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful Neighborhood Tavern

Dined on March 20, 2016

The Tavern at Bown Crossing is near our home, but we would still travel to eat and drink there. It's a wonderful restaurant with a great menu, and it also has a fun and lively bar. There is also a very nice patio area when the weather permits. You won't be disappointed if you try it. They also have sushi!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service3

Food was fair...not the best I have had ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Food was fair...not the best I have had there. We were seated at a table that was under a vent that blew cold air. I froze during dinner. Not very enjoyable.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great king crab legs

Dined on February 19, 2016

Great king crab legs

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Steak ever!

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have ate here several times, over the past few years, and enjoy coming to this establishment on special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Tavern - we really really like you - but ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Tavern - we really really like you - but can you please start featuring another fish entree? The salmon with mango salsa is getting old and you don't serve it right (hot) to begin with. I love your steaks - but you need a fish entree variety!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Bowns Tavern - Evening Before Valentines Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had chicken dish. Food was overpriced for how it tasted. Sauce was boring. Selections were limited. Never again around Valentines Day!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always A Good Choice for Dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

Whether it's a birthday, anniversary, or just a romantic night out for the two of us, Tavern has always had us covered. They have a great menu and they know how to prepare it just right. We like our steaks medium-rare; at other places we have to order it rare if we want it medium-rare. At Tavern, it comes to us the way we order it, with no "fudge factor" built in. Their steaks practically melt in your mouth, and they are seasoned to perfection. The sides are scrumptious as well, and the desserts are to die for. We'll go there again and again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Pretty average place for Idaho

Dined on February 12, 2016

The attentive and friendly waiter was the best feature of the Tavern. Food was edible, but unimaginative and very bland. I had the salmon with a tasteless mango salsa, and a plain salad of 2 or 3 ingredients. My husband had chicken, served with a very bland sauce. There are good sized portions, and the food looks good, but the chef should really work on additional ingredients and seasonings to make the food interesting to eat.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Meet with Friends for end of week celebration

Dined on January 30, 2016

The Tavern is a nice neighborhood place to meet up with couple friends on Friday night to celebrate the end of the week. Great round the corner place to eat great food and to listen to friends' stories of their work week.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always reliable and good food and service

Dined on January 14, 2016

The Tavern is always good with reliable service and great food. Martinis and cocktails are always well prepared just like the steaks and sushi.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

My Dining experiance 12/23/2015

Dined on December 24, 2015

Commented in this section and then saw where I could comment to the management. Since I had not at the time I feel I should address management now.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent

Dined on November 14, 2015

We went for the first time to the place. I t was very crowded and take a some time to be served, but overall the food was great, very good ambiance. Waiter seems to be a bit overloaded wish he would have been more friendly.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

The Tavern is one of my favorite places ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

The Tavern is one of my favorite places in the treasure valley. It's always been a safe and dependable choice for the last 6 years. The menus features all your classic favorites like steaks, seafood, hamburgers, and a great sushi lineup. The atmosphere is great for a date. Very low lighting and fairly quiet atmosphere. I took my wife's parents to dinner here to ask their permission to marry their daughter. I also took my wife here for dinner right before I proposed to her. It may not be on the fancy-level of say Barbacoa right up the road, but for the price, the food, and the atmosphere you get, it really can't be beat. Unless you're an uptight nitwit that isn't happy about anything life, which in that case I don't know how to help you.

food4
ambience4
service5

Flagship of Bown Crossing

Dined on November 4, 2015

We always enjoy coming here. Their food is reliably good, and we have our favorite things to get. Specials are interesting, if pricey, but there are reasonably-priced things that make good meals, as well. The service is usually excellent, with good communication from servers.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was very well prepared although ...

Dined on October 18, 2015

The food was very well prepared although a couple of the entries were priced proportionally higher than others. Cassidy provided outstanding service.

food2
ambience4
service2

3 strikes and out

Dined on September 29, 2015

I have had lunch and two dinners at the Tavern at Bown Crossing. Each time the service was marginal and the food was mediocre. Loved the setting, but the overall experience was "barely fair."

food4
ambience5
service5

We go to Bown often...really like the wh ...

Dined on September 18, 2015

We go to Bown often...really like the whole scene. I have dietary issues, and they always work to accommodate me.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Extremely loud

Dined on September 11, 2015

It was extremely loud inside, I couldn't hear my wife talk and we asked to be moved outside. It was more the acoustics of the restaurant then just people talking. You almost need some sound absorbents. Other than that the food was fantastic, and the service was stellar! We will be back! It just wasn't quite what we had expected for our anniversary with the noise level.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience2
service4

NSG

Dined on August 14, 2015

The Tavern was touted by friends. The ambiance was average, the food was so-so and the service was good. Too far to travel for mediocrity.

food5
ambience5
service4

We tried the Wagon Wheel sushi roll. Ama ...

Dined on July 26, 2015

We tried the Wagon Wheel sushi roll. Amazing!!! Most restaurants have some version of artichoke dip but this was truly a step above in flavor. My hubby had his old standby bacon cheeseburger but said this was one of the best. My friend and I each tried different salads and were impressed by both. Our last dish was the coconut prawns. Very good! All the food exceeded our expectations in flavor and presentation. Our drinks were also yummy and well made!

food4
ambience4
service4

Yum yum yum!

Dined on July 22, 2015

A great place to get an upscale feel without the upscale prices. The food was delicious and the service was excellent! The patio was a beautiful dining area.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite restaurant in Boise! ...

vip
Dined on July 15, 2015

This is my favorite restaurant in Boise! It has killer sushi and an excellent bar. My favorite thing to order is the coconut shrimp or the salmon burger! Eat here and you won't be disappointed!

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the historic and look of the place

Dined on July 11, 2015

Dinner was delicious, the decor was beautiful, liked the locatioin

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

Dined on June 28, 2015

Decided to take a chance on a new restaurant and was pleasantly surprised. We had a table of 6 and everyone enjoyed their food. The sushi was fresh. I recommend the lobster pasta too.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

OMG!

Dined on May 25, 2015

The top sirloin steak literally melted in my mouth! Best piece of meat I've had yet in #Boise,ID

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service- best fish in Boise!

Dined on May 23, 2015

Great service- best fish in Boise!

food3
ambience3
service2

Adequate choice in an area without many

vip
Dined on May 16, 2015

Adequate choice in an area without many. The main thing is the service is what I might call "leisurely."

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience! Quick service a ...

Dined on May 9, 2015

Great dining experience! Quick service and great food.

food5
ambience4
service5

Lunch for 6 was lovely. Great corner bo ...

Dined on March 12, 2015

Lunch for 6 was lovely. Great corner booth for the group, prompt drink service, and attentive waiter who either retreated or appeared at just the right times. Food was reliably good . A birthday lunch at the Tavern is always a treat!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food!

Dined on March 7, 2015

Food was amazing! The chef at the Tavern has it going on, the food was incredible, great service and we were seated right on time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.