Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.27mi
  2. Distance: 2.87mi
  3. Distance: 2.89mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi
  1. Distance: 2.27mi
  2. Distance: 2.87mi
  3. Distance: 2.89mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.27mi
  2. Distance: 2.87mi
  3. Distance: 2.89mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi
  1. Distance: 2.27mi
  2. Distance: 2.87mi
  3. Distance: 2.89mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi

About Tavern at Bown Crossing

The Tavern at Bown Crossing is a unique dining experience offering sushi, USDA prime grade steaks, daily seafood specials, burgers, sandwiches and salads. There is a full bar with an extensive wine list, great classic cocktails, sake and draught beers. Happy Hour is available Mon.-Sat. Brunch is served on Sundays from an ala carte menu from 9:30-3 p.m. Our tables range from higher tables in the bar area with a more energetic atmosphere, or booths or a quieter area with lower tables.

3111 S. Bown Way
Boise, ID 83706
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm. Sunday Brunch: 9:30am-3:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm. Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Parkcenter Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 345-2277

Website:
http://www.tavernatbown.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on the upstairs patio once a week during the summer, weather permitting.

Catering:
The Tavern can cater business events, receptions, private parties, birthdays,etc. Menus are customized for each event. Bar service available with an off-site permit.

Parking Details:
Parking is located along the streets and in the back lots of the marketplace.

Executive Chef:
Cody Cornwall

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is available for sit down dinners, business meetings, and family dinners. There is not a room fee if a minimum is spent in food and beverage. The room is located upstairs with upstairs access to a restroom. There is an elevator for handicap accessibility as well. There is a full bar, audio visual equipment, and microphones. Call to inquire about limited menus, minimums and policies.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Tavern at Bown Crossing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (13)
Casual (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
See All
Bar Seating (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Happy Hour (7)
People Watching (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Romantic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Scenic View (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Cozy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Not impressed with the sushi at all. Took forever for us to get it and then the avocado in the rolls were hard rice was hard crab was rubby and dry. Waitress was so infriendly and not personable and never even smiled. You could tell she really hated her job! Won't come back and for sure won't refer it to anyone.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We just ate there on Thursday night around 8:00. The tables were dirty, even though they had just cleaned a spot outside for us. Condiments were caked with food. Food was okay but spends. We had never been in the neighborhood, we will another place because it is such a nice area. We read Yelp reviews for this restaurant, and I will not be trusting their recommends again.

We travel to Boise often trying out many different resturants, I would not eat here again and I would be worried about buying a steak here after eating the pork sandwich, the potato casserole side and the chicken salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had some sushi and Kung Pao calamari and a couple of cocktails. Ashlyn was our waitress and did a great job. The sushi was just ok but I am reminded that Boise isn't necessarily the best place for fresh seafood. We will try again though for sure and order other items.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

My waiter was exceptional! It was a bit noisy, as a band was playing outside. The tavern needs more room to accommodate all of the people wanting to get in there!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Very vibrant scene. Food was delicious. Lots of people watching going on. Looks like there might have been a street festival going on. Live music under a tent. Loved the pork chop and the AuGratin potatoes were amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Don't go unless you have plenty of time. We had an hour and a half and it took about 45 to 50 min to get our food. Because we were going to Shakespeare we had to get our bill at the same time we finally received our food. The waitress apologized several times saying they had a party upstairs. They did not have any straws for the drinks. Will try another restraint in Bowen Crossing for our theater dinner next month

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

I actually ate at the Tavern twice this week. The first time on the patio, sharing a burger and salad with a friend. Nothing exceptional but no complaints.

By coincidence we ended up there for a family dinner a few days later. This time I do have complaints. First, their AC was broken. On a NINETY+ degree day. I get that these things happen, but they handled it poorly. They had my information via the rez but no one alerted us ahead of time, nor did they mention it when we arrived, nor did the server address it until we asked. We had a baby and several elderly folks in our group and they were all particularly uncomfortable. There was no offer of a discount for the inconvenience either.

Additionally, two in our group had the carne asada salad and they were both pretty awful. They came on a bed of iceberg lettuce (aside from a wedge, iceberg simply has no business in a salad), the meat was super dry and maybe worst of all- it was a highly unnatural neon pink/orange color. Two of us had the Thai chicken salad, also on iceberg.

The service wasn't terrible but could have been better. Overall it was not a great dining experience. At their prices and location they need to do better.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This is a place that I really want to like because of the location and the outdoor area. However, the food was horribly disappointing and the service was lackluster. Two people at my table ordered steak and they were very overcooked. The chicken and shrimp scampi was flavorless and the shrimp were overcooked and rubbery. The mashed potatoes were so-so. The food seems very over-priced for the quality. The service was okay but the server seemed busy and didn't have much personality. If I went here again, it would be for drinks and an appetizer, not for the over-priced entrees food. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I have eaten at the Tavern at Bown Crossing probably a dozen times in the last few years and have always had great experiences there. We went past the Owyhee Tavern on our way to Bown Crossing simply because we wanted sushi as an appetizer and I do not think that they have it at Owyhee (also a great place!).

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We always enjoy the Tavern--great food and excellent service!

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great place. Outstanding service. Took good care of our group picture

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Came there to try the steak and was not disappointed. Tried the filet and it was easily a 9/10. Also the au gratin potatoes are like nothing I've ever seen from another restaurant and taste divine. It's a little noisy but not too bad. Location is great and service was wonderful. Will definitely be coming back for more.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Not very impressive. Very loud environment near the bar. Food was fair, and prices relatively high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service ruined what would otherwise have been a lovely time. The wait staff seems to care little about their customers...more concerned with themselves. Two employees argued at the wait station, an angry man was turned away, our waiter was not friendly, they switched waiters on us without even saying why, we felt like an inconvenience. Food was delicious but I will go somewhere I feel welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have mixed feelings about our experience. We went for Mother's Day brunch. The restaurant was busy, as expected, but the service was very slow. It took more than 45 minutes to get our order, and it was cold when it reached our table. But I have to give the Tavern points for working hard to make things right. The manager cut our bill in half, and the kitchen redid our orders (instead of just microwaving the first order). The second time around, the food was very good, and in the end, that's what really counts. I've eaten here before and enjoyed it. I'd come back again, because the staff really made an extra effort to get it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Another poor experience here. Mother's Day breakfast - had reservations. Seated in timely manner. Waitress was polite and attentive. To cut to the chase, took forever to get simple breakfast items; omelette, Benedict, French toast. Excuse was that they "had a large party". I can virtually guarantee that 90+% of their patrons had reservations, so how does one "large party" disrupt timely service. As often happens when food is not on time, some dishes were served lukewarm. This place tries to present as fine dining, but they can't even get the basics of casual dining down. I've given The Tavern multiple chances to redeem itself and every time it fails miserably. I'm done with this place. Sadly, it sucks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Both our meals were served quite cold (Eggs Benedict) at a time when the restaurant was not busy. Coffee was hot but only average flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was good. This restaurant is always too cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Brought my parents here who were visiting from out of state & they loved it. Great food. Got the Thai Chicken Salad & the dressing was amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We brought out of town guests to the Tavern, our favorite spot in SE Boise. It did not disappoint! Great service and nice variety of dishes to choose from. Our group choices ranged from rack of lamb to entree salad to sushi! Our friends loved it too!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent brunch and service.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Tavern is always a great spot for dinner It's casual modern atmosphere offers a wide variety of menu options. Their evening specials are always prepared perfectly and the halibut was delicious! Portions are large and I recommend sharing especially if you enjoy an appetizer first. Staff are friendly and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Phil always provides great service...prompt, professional, friendly!
The food is very good, I especially like the shrimp cocktail!
Great bar scene, energetic, yet you can have a business discussion at the same time.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Hadn't been to the Tavern at Bown Crossing before. My lovely wife and I were looking for a place to be away from the kids that had great atmosphere and good food. The appetizers and mixed drinks we shared were 5 star amazing. That's all we had time for and we loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Best grilled salmon in town. Great friendly servers. Easy parking. One of our favorites!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food, Friendly service, and a great Bloody Mary.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We made a reservation for four people about 3-4 days before. Yet when we arrived, they told us they had to "juggle" some things around, since they were very busy and had some big parties coming in. We were asked to be sure and be out by 8:15. We thought this was very rude. There was a family of four seated just before us with no reservation, and they were seated in a booth (which we requested in our reservation). Instead we were taken to the other side and seated at a booth for 8-10 and had to yell in order to talk to one another. Just a bad experience overall. Our server was clearly trying to get rid of us early. She stood and waited for us to get all of our money our, etc. instead of walking away and coming back for the check. But not to worry - we were out of there with 25 minutes to spare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Sydney helped us four ladies and did a wonderful job. One of us is a celiac and one of us is gluten sensitive; Sydney was very familiar with our respective issues with gluten and was able to accommodate us. She was very efficient and friendly and gave us the time we wanted to have a leisurely lunch and a chance to visit. We all enjoyed our meal choices, ranging from soup to salad to sushi to hamburger.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I'm probably a bit biased because the Tavern at Bown is a short walk from home, but I love dining here. The staff is very friendly; Jason, a long time manager, often comes by our table and checks in. He saw me drinking Bourbon and insisted I try a sample of something I'd never had before. The food is very good, not quite Chandlers or Barbacoa, but delicious and priced more fairly.
Great local spot for SE residents.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I had heard how good the pot roast nachos were, they were good but had very little best on them. Other than that great service and atmosphere.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food and service were pretty good. Both of us had Steaks that had quite a bit of non edible fat but the flavor in everything was good over all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely evening. The food was delicious and the service was great. Didn't want for anything...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

It was great place overall! and the sushi was amazing!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We dined here with another couple on a Saturday night. To be fair, the waiter did let us know that they were shorthanded in the kitchen be fore we ordered. I had the Chilean sea bass special and I asked for double vegetables instead of a potato side. The fish was small and thin...not like the nice thick flakey piece I was expecting for the $38 price tag. There were no potatoes on my dish as I had requested but the portion if veggies was not doubled. The fish was overly salty. My husband ordered a New York steak but they brought him a ribeye and they still charged us for a New York. The waiter never did bring the ketchup my friend asked for so he ended up eating his burger dry. I had to ask the waiter twice for my sparkling water. This is the second time I have been bitterly disappointed at the Tavern and I am scratching them off my list now. For the prices they charge, they will REALLY need to step up their game to win me back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was nice. If we lived closer it wouldn't be bad, just not spectacular enough to drive over from Meridian just to have dinner. Nice place though and great service!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Loved this place will definitely be back! This was our second visit and I found it comfortable and suitable for many occasions. Thank you for the great food and great service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Came in for Sunday brunch to celebrate my grandmas 94th birthday with family from out of state. Due to her wheelchair we had to be seated in the Sushi area. Our waitress was less than enthusiastic and didn't seem to have any interest in getting to know her table. We had requested fruit bowl in place of potato and were told the meal comes with fruit. While this is true there was a tiny slice of hard honeydew and cantaloupe it hardly replaces the request for a fruit bowl replacement. The order of "stuffed" French Toast was a thin spot of cream cheese between two pieces of toast. It was supposed to have Oregon berries on top and again it did have them but I counted 4 blueberries and 3 other berries and little sauce.
I will try again for a different meal without the wheelchair to see if it is a different atmosphere with better service and food presentation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Good food and service. Love the salmon and potatoes au gratin. Wife's pork chop was the best ever. Nothing to improve on that!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Birthday lunch for a friend and wait staff helpful and patient with our table of 8.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I wish I had written down the name of the young lady who served us because she was spectacular. I asked a couple of questions about menu items that required a subjective response. She gave thought to my question, then answered specifically and explained WHY she felt that I might enjoy X more than Y. I really appreciated something other than "Oh, they are both good." Both of us wanted something sweet to conclude a most enjoyable and delicious meal but did not want anything too heavy. We asked if we could omit the chocolate brownie and instead have just the vanilla ice cream w/ either caramel or chocolate sauce. No problem, and no hesitation in responding that of course, we can do that.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.