Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.27mi
  2. Distance: 2.87mi
  3. Distance: 2.89mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi
  1. Distance: 2.27mi
  2. Distance: 2.87mi
  3. Distance: 2.89mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.27mi
  2. Distance: 2.87mi
  3. Distance: 2.89mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi
  1. Distance: 2.27mi
  2. Distance: 2.87mi
  3. Distance: 2.89mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi

About Tavern at Bown Crossing

The Tavern at Bown Crossing is a unique dining experience offering sushi, USDA prime grade steaks, daily seafood specials, burgers, sandwiches and salads. There is a full bar with an extensive wine list, great classic cocktails, sake and draught beers. Happy Hour is available Mon.-Sat. Brunch is served on Sundays from an ala carte menu from 9:30-3 p.m. Our tables range from higher tables in the bar area with a more energetic atmosphere, or booths or a quieter area with lower tables.

3111 S. Bown Way
Boise, ID 83706
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm. Sunday Brunch: 9:30am-3:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm. Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Parkcenter Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 345-2277

Website:
http://www.tavernatbown.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on the upstairs patio once a week during the summer, weather permitting.

Catering:
The Tavern can cater business events, receptions, private parties, birthdays,etc. Menus are customized for each event. Bar service available with an off-site permit.

Parking Details:
Parking is located along the streets and in the back lots of the marketplace.

Executive Chef:
Cody Cornwall

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is available for sit down dinners, business meetings, and family dinners. There is not a room fee if a minimum is spent in food and beverage. The room is located upstairs with upstairs access to a restroom. There is an elevator for handicap accessibility as well. There is a full bar, audio visual equipment, and microphones. Call to inquire about limited menus, minimums and policies.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Tavern at Bown Crossing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Bar Seating (8)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Special Occasion (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Romantic (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Business Meals (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I have eaten at the Tavern at Bown Crossing probably a dozen times in the last few years and have always had great experiences there. We went past the Owyhee Tavern on our way to Bown Crossing simply because we wanted sushi as an appetizer and I do not think that they have it at Owyhee (also a great place!).

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We always enjoy the Tavern--great food and excellent service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great place. Outstanding service. Took good care of our group picture

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Came there to try the steak and was not disappointed. Tried the filet and it was easily a 9/10. Also the au gratin potatoes are like nothing I've ever seen from another restaurant and taste divine. It's a little noisy but not too bad. Location is great and service was wonderful. Will definitely be coming back for more.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Not very impressive. Very loud environment near the bar. Food was fair, and prices relatively high.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service ruined what would otherwise have been a lovely time. The wait staff seems to care little about their customers...more concerned with themselves. Two employees argued at the wait station, an angry man was turned away, our waiter was not friendly, they switched waiters on us without even saying why, we felt like an inconvenience. Food was delicious but I will go somewhere I feel welcome.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have mixed feelings about our experience. We went for Mother's Day brunch. The restaurant was busy, as expected, but the service was very slow. It took more than 45 minutes to get our order, and it was cold when it reached our table. But I have to give the Tavern points for working hard to make things right. The manager cut our bill in half, and the kitchen redid our orders (instead of just microwaving the first order). The second time around, the food was very good, and in the end, that's what really counts. I've eaten here before and enjoyed it. I'd come back again, because the staff really made an extra effort to get it right.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Another poor experience here. Mother's Day breakfast - had reservations. Seated in timely manner. Waitress was polite and attentive. To cut to the chase, took forever to get simple breakfast items; omelette, Benedict, French toast. Excuse was that they "had a large party". I can virtually guarantee that 90+% of their patrons had reservations, so how does one "large party" disrupt timely service. As often happens when food is not on time, some dishes were served lukewarm. This place tries to present as fine dining, but they can't even get the basics of casual dining down. I've given The Tavern multiple chances to redeem itself and every time it fails miserably. I'm done with this place. Sadly, it sucks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Both our meals were served quite cold (Eggs Benedict) at a time when the restaurant was not busy. Coffee was hot but only average flavor.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Brought my parents here who were visiting from out of state & they loved it. Great food. Got the Thai Chicken Salad & the dressing was amazing.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We brought out of town guests to the Tavern, our favorite spot in SE Boise. It did not disappoint! Great service and nice variety of dishes to choose from. Our group choices ranged from rack of lamb to entree salad to sushi! Our friends loved it too!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent brunch and service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Tavern is always a great spot for dinner It's casual modern atmosphere offers a wide variety of menu options. Their evening specials are always prepared perfectly and the halibut was delicious! Portions are large and I recommend sharing especially if you enjoy an appetizer first. Staff are friendly and fun!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Phil always provides great service...prompt, professional, friendly!
The food is very good, I especially like the shrimp cocktail!
Great bar scene, energetic, yet you can have a business discussion at the same time.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Hadn't been to the Tavern at Bown Crossing before. My lovely wife and I were looking for a place to be away from the kids that had great atmosphere and good food. The appetizers and mixed drinks we shared were 5 star amazing. That's all we had time for and we loved it!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Best grilled salmon in town. Great friendly servers. Easy parking. One of our favorites!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food, Friendly service, and a great Bloody Mary.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We made a reservation for four people about 3-4 days before. Yet when we arrived, they told us they had to "juggle" some things around, since they were very busy and had some big parties coming in. We were asked to be sure and be out by 8:15. We thought this was very rude. There was a family of four seated just before us with no reservation, and they were seated in a booth (which we requested in our reservation). Instead we were taken to the other side and seated at a booth for 8-10 and had to yell in order to talk to one another. Just a bad experience overall. Our server was clearly trying to get rid of us early. She stood and waited for us to get all of our money our, etc. instead of walking away and coming back for the check. But not to worry - we were out of there with 25 minutes to spare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Sydney helped us four ladies and did a wonderful job. One of us is a celiac and one of us is gluten sensitive; Sydney was very familiar with our respective issues with gluten and was able to accommodate us. She was very efficient and friendly and gave us the time we wanted to have a leisurely lunch and a chance to visit. We all enjoyed our meal choices, ranging from soup to salad to sushi to hamburger.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I'm probably a bit biased because the Tavern at Bown is a short walk from home, but I love dining here. The staff is very friendly; Jason, a long time manager, often comes by our table and checks in. He saw me drinking Bourbon and insisted I try a sample of something I'd never had before. The food is very good, not quite Chandlers or Barbacoa, but delicious and priced more fairly.
Great local spot for SE residents.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I had heard how good the pot roast nachos were, they were good but had very little best on them. Other than that great service and atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and service were pretty good. Both of us had Steaks that had quite a bit of non edible fat but the flavor in everything was good over all.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely evening. The food was delicious and the service was great. Didn't want for anything...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was great place overall! and the sushi was amazing!!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We dined here with another couple on a Saturday night. To be fair, the waiter did let us know that they were shorthanded in the kitchen be fore we ordered. I had the Chilean sea bass special and I asked for double vegetables instead of a potato side. The fish was small and thin...not like the nice thick flakey piece I was expecting for the $38 price tag. There were no potatoes on my dish as I had requested but the portion if veggies was not doubled. The fish was overly salty. My husband ordered a New York steak but they brought him a ribeye and they still charged us for a New York. The waiter never did bring the ketchup my friend asked for so he ended up eating his burger dry. I had to ask the waiter twice for my sparkling water. This is the second time I have been bitterly disappointed at the Tavern and I am scratching them off my list now. For the prices they charge, they will REALLY need to step up their game to win me back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was nice. If we lived closer it wouldn't be bad, just not spectacular enough to drive over from Meridian just to have dinner. Nice place though and great service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved this place will definitely be back! This was our second visit and I found it comfortable and suitable for many occasions. Thank you for the great food and great service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Came in for Sunday brunch to celebrate my grandmas 94th birthday with family from out of state. Due to her wheelchair we had to be seated in the Sushi area. Our waitress was less than enthusiastic and didn't seem to have any interest in getting to know her table. We had requested fruit bowl in place of potato and were told the meal comes with fruit. While this is true there was a tiny slice of hard honeydew and cantaloupe it hardly replaces the request for a fruit bowl replacement. The order of "stuffed" French Toast was a thin spot of cream cheese between two pieces of toast. It was supposed to have Oregon berries on top and again it did have them but I counted 4 blueberries and 3 other berries and little sauce.
I will try again for a different meal without the wheelchair to see if it is a different atmosphere with better service and food presentation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good food and service. Love the salmon and potatoes au gratin. Wife's pork chop was the best ever. Nothing to improve on that!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Birthday lunch for a friend and wait staff helpful and patient with our table of 8.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I wish I had written down the name of the young lady who served us because she was spectacular. I asked a couple of questions about menu items that required a subjective response. She gave thought to my question, then answered specifically and explained WHY she felt that I might enjoy X more than Y. I really appreciated something other than "Oh, they are both good." Both of us wanted something sweet to conclude a most enjoyable and delicious meal but did not want anything too heavy. We asked if we could omit the chocolate brownie and instead have just the vanilla ice cream w/ either caramel or chocolate sauce. No problem, and no hesitation in responding that of course, we can do that.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We dined at Tavern at Brown Crossing first time January 14, 2017. We made a reservation a few weeks ahead for a birthday celebration. We arrived about 10-15 minutes early I believe. They claimed they did not have a table in the "bar" area (nicer and larger of the two areas) so we were seated in the "restaurant" at a very small, undesirable table by the door. It was very cold and drafty every time the door opened. We asked 3 times, with great insistence, to be moved to the other side of the restaurant, the bar. At about the time we were ready to get up and walk out, a table did open up and we were moved. The dining experience and food was mediocre but the waiter, Phil, was great. We might return there in the summer to sit on the patio and have burgers or appetizers but probably not again for an inside dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Third time we go...was OK (never a very good dining experience.. service was so so, very busy on Christmas ev., we need to asked for water, the waiter was not focusing on big table.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Our food was ok, not great. I had the lobster and angel hair dish. The lobster was cooked to perfection. The white sauce and angel hair were flavor less and had the texture that both had been overcooked. The tasteless cream sauce was disappointing because you can do anything with pasta. Instead it fell short and had no flavor, even a dash of salt would have helped. The portion of lobster to pasta was a ratio of 10:90. Way to much pasta for such a small amount of lobster.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We enjoyed the evening very much. Good food and service. We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent in every way, as always! The Filet is always wonderful!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Tavern at Bowen Crossing is a cozy dining experience that will make you feel right at home. The choices on the menu are varied and consist of delicious local ingredients prepared with care and beautifully presented. They have a great wine selection and the beer is ice cold. It appeared to me while I was dining that a lot of 'regulars' were enjoying each other's company as people filtered in and out to saddle up to the bar, obviously, this a neighborhood hangout. If you get an opportunity, give this fun place a try.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Bruschetta was cold. Ordered 2. Complained to waitress. Waitress notified kitchen. We did not eat either of them, yet it was not comped on our final bill. POOR SERVICE! Pretty much entire experience was sub-par. We will not be returning.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Cheese potatoes were great and swordfish steak was very good. Our local favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Always love the Tavern; it's like I've annexed it to my home on some evenings. I get off work, and I want to go to a safe place for a great glass of wine and/or an ad hoc cocktail, some calamari, and just unwind before I get home. Sometimes, I don't go home; I call home and have everyone meet me at the Tavern.. I usually get stuck with the bill, but it's worth it. The kids love the sushi and nachos, and my friend and I love to split the special. On a few occasions, I've had one particular waitress tell me what she thinks I ought to try, and it's wonderful ALL THE TIME. She has really enlarged my horizons when it comes to cocktails. The sushi and sashimi is the best I've tried in Boise. Granted, I haven't been around much, but now I don't want to try anywhere else.....

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.