Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

Tavern at Bown Crossing

4.2
278 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Neighborhood Gem
The Tavern at Bown Crossing is a unique dining experience offering sushi, USDA prime grade steaks, daily seafood specials, burgers, sandwiches and salads. There is a full bar with an extensive wine list, great classic cocktails, sake and draught beers. Happy Hour is available Mon.-Sat. Brunch is served on Sundays from an ala carte menu from 9:30-3 p.m. Our tables range from higher tables in the bar area with a more energetic atmosphere, or booths or a quieter area with lower tables.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steak, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm. Sunday Brunch: 9:30am-3:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm. Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 3:00pm.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(208) 345-2277
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Cody Cornwall
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our private dining room is available for sit down dinners, business meetings, and family dinners. There is not a room fee if a minimum is spent in food and beverage. The room is located upstairs with upstairs access to a restroom. There is an elevator for handicap accessibility as well. There is a full bar, audio visual equipment, and microphones. Call to inquire about limited menus, minimums and policies.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Tavern can cater business events, receptions, private parties, birthdays,etc. Menus are customized for each event. Bar service available with an off-site permit.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Parkcenter Blvd.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is located along the streets and in the back lots of the marketplace.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music on the upstairs patio once a week during the summer, weather permitting.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 278 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

For my wife’s birthday. The total experience was very good. Our server was very nice but it was obvious that no one trained her how to serve wine. Fortunately we are not wine snobs and took matters into our own hands. We live nearby and want you to be successful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Sunday brunch... great selection and the food is great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

We went for my wife’s birthday. It was noisy, which we don’t mind except for the fact that they sat us at a pub table in the middle of the bar area, so that made it feel very chaotic. Drinks were great. The cheese plate was ok, the items on it didn’t seem to go together, it felt like something was missing. Dinner was very good, steak perfectly cooked and the the price point would be fine except that the atmosphere didn’t fit. I certainly wouldn’t expect to pay what I did for dinner at a sports bar, which is what it felt like when we were there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

One member of our group is a vegetarian, and didn’t realize the salad she ordered came with bacon bits.
Our server took it away and was back in a few minutes with a replacement, minus bacon bits. This was a going away lunch for a co worker; we were able to share and reminisce and become a little emotional :-( without feeling like we were on stage.
Great food, atmosphere and ambience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Holly was such an outstanding waitress and made our anniversary dinner wonderful!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The food was good. Noise level made it hard to hear. Wait staff was surly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

First time there. It is on the other side of town, but we wanted to try it out. It was a busy and rather noisy place, full of energy. Service was very good, helpful and polite. If I were rating the food on the basis of my wife’s salmon, I would have given it 5 stars. But I ordered the lamb, which was quite disappointing; slightly undercooked, and totally lacking flavor. (Note: I often order lamb when we dine out, since I [usually] love it and my wife does not). I would have rated the lamb maybe 2 stars on a good day. But overall, everything else was fine. I’d come back but order something different.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Great service and food. From sushi to bone in ribeye, it was all wonderful. Wine list was expansive

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 20, 2018

The food was decent, although a vegetarian friendly place it is not. The service was horrendous from start to finish. First, our server never told us about specials - we only overheard the table next to us receive the list after we ordered. Next, she brought out my kids' dinner before everyone else's without even asking - if she had, I would have said no. Our server disappeared for a good portion of the time, never even asking about the meal. We, against better judgement, ordered the berry cobbler for dessert. After waiting for close to 30 min, it didn't arrive. We had another server track down our server and asked that she cancel the dessert and bring the bill. She then told us that the desserts are made from scratch, so take time. We couldn't wait longer and asked again for the bill. She brought it and we provided a gift card and credit card for payment. She brought the bill back, but never took the gift card amount off. We sent it back for correction, never receiving an apology. The server brought back the correct receipt and insisted we take the cobbler to go. Upon opening it at home, we found it to be a box of Costco mixed berries with brown sugar on top - it wasn't even warm - that's what a from scratch, takes 30+ min to prepare dessert looks like here. We'll never go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Very slow to get seated and get our food. The French dip was a little sad - I wish I could attach the picture- all bread and not a lot of meat.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Had a good meal but we were seated in the bar which I did not expect since we had reservations. The bar seating was cramped and noisy not what I wanted or expected.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Usually the Tavern at Bown Crossing has fairly good food and great service. This particular evening the sushi was old, brown, and unappealing. The waiter was terrible - purposely terrible. He ignored us and when he did come over didn't even look at us.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We have been to the Tavern several times over the last 18 months since moving to Boise and have been less and less delighted each time. The service is ok. One of our steaks was undercooked and sending it back was a little clunky because the servers are just a little unsophisticated. The benches in both the bar and the front area are worn and quite uncomfortable. It is a shame because we love the location and want to want to dine here. It just isn’t great compared to all the other options in Boise.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We were told our table had been given to someone else when we arrived so we got sat in the bar area which was noisy. We could have waited 20-30 more minutes for a booth. The birthday girl is sensitive to noise, hence the reservation for a table on open table and not open seating in a bar area. I tried to make a reservation as to avoid bar seating but it didn't work out unfortunately. We had a great server in the bar and the food was excellent so overall it was decent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Always a great time at The Tavern

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Overall we were very pleased we sat away from the bar so we could visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

I ordered a Pork Chop and a Moscow Mule. The food and drinks along with the service was excellent and the view from the side of the restaurant that I sat on was great. The meal ended up being pretty pricey, but I would go back again just not too often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Excellent as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Sooooooo amazing! My choice if we are ever eating out!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 23, 2018

Enjoyed a great dinner and excellent service staff. New server in training and she did a great job! Also, handled a couple special requests for our dinners with no difficulties. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Our server was terrible. So we had to request another.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 5, 2018

The Tavern at Bown is a neighborhood favorite. The wait staff is friendly and the food is great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 5, 2018

The food was not great. My meal was ok, but a few meals were badly seasoned. Just some odd flavors. Service was kinda slow. Overall good vibe. Out of 5 people in our party only 2 were satisfied with their whole meal and one pushed their plate aside. Compared to other steakhouses in the area, prices were ok, but would have rather spent the money to have a perfect birthday celebration. Just overall disappointing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 5, 2018

This was our third visit to the Tavern. Each time it has been packed with people and we received top notch service and quality food. The sushi was some of the best I have ever had. Very impressed with this place and would highly recommend it. Nice variety of food options. From reasonable burgers to high end steaks and seafood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Excellent food! They give you decent portion sizes & a good variety of prices.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Don't eat here. As soon as we were seated the hostess asked when we thought we would be done since they had another reservation. My crab was disgusting, freezer burned and rubbery. I opted not to have another dish. They charged me for the full plate. Manager said the waitress claimed I at it all and he said it was Open Tables fault for their over booking problem. Take my advice and go somewhere else.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 28, 2017

We were there for three hours. It took a significant amount of time to get drinks, to have our server come back for an appetizer order, for our food order, and ultimately to obtain our check. We weren’t in a hurry but never dreamt we’d be there that long.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Tavern at Bown Crossing is a steak and sushi place, our go-to for business or special occasions. It’s a little pricey for everyday dining. For example, sushi for two with a couple glasses of wine each is around $100. Food is good. Reservations accepted. Nice rooftop dining with scenic view in summer only.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Great local and welcoming feel!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2017

We enjoyed your restaurant very much, the food was delicious and the service was excellent; we will all be returning.
thank you

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 29, 2017

Service truly out did the food meat was tough and far from hot, cheese tray is very over priced,
Au gratin potatoes not very good seemed to me they came out of a Food Service of America pre package container. I sure have had better meals.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 19, 2017

Have celebrated two family occasions here when I come to Boise from New York. Every bit as delicuIous as the best of restaurants in the Big Apple! Although the lamb chops were a bit skimpy for my man-size son-in-law. Friendly service and amazing drink prices!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 16, 2017

As expected

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 3, 2017

Seated near entry, after asking for a warm spot,every time the door opened we froze. Good food, fair service,sever seemed rushed. Cost was high for the food and cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2017

It might seem strange to have a sushi menu and a steakhouse menu on the same menu, but it works.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 30, 2017

A wide variety of good food choices, from salads, burgers, pasta and sushi to steak. Truly, something great for everyone.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 23, 2017

I love the atmosphere and the food is excellent, usually.

I have an allergy to shrimp and stated this in my on line reservation . I reminded the waitress about the allergy and when I order the salmon corn chowder asked if it was shell fish base.. .she said no.. I took a bite and she raced back to tell me it was. YIKES !!... Coffee took care of it... but someone who is much more allergic than I am would have been in bad shape. My suggestions is double and triple check if you have a food allergy, Otherwise beautiful place and lovely food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 11, 2017

Always a great choice for our group for lunch. Wait staff was attentive, but did not intrude.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 9, 2017

Delicious meal. I had the pork chop, husband had a filet, and friend had the halibut special...all wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 1, 2017

Very nice service with great food and ambiance!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7