About Tavern at Bown Crossing

The Tavern at Bown Crossing is a unique dining experience offering sushi, USDA prime grade steaks, daily seafood specials, burgers, sandwiches and salads. There is a full bar with an extensive wine list, great classic cocktails, sake and draught beers. Happy Hour is available Mon.-Sat. Brunch is served on Sundays from an ala carte menu from 9:30-3 p.m. Our tables range from higher tables in the bar area with a more energetic atmosphere, or booths or a quieter area with lower tables.

3111 S. Bown Way
Boise, ID 83706
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm. Sunday Brunch: 9:30am-3:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm. Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Parkcenter Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 345-2277

Website:
http://www.tavernatbown.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on the upstairs patio once a week during the summer, weather permitting.

Catering:
The Tavern can cater business events, receptions, private parties, birthdays,etc. Menus are customized for each event. Bar service available with an off-site permit.

Parking Details:
Parking is located along the streets and in the back lots of the marketplace.

Executive Chef:
Cody Cornwall

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is available for sit down dinners, business meetings, and family dinners. There is not a room fee if a minimum is spent in food and beverage. The room is located upstairs with upstairs access to a restroom. There is an elevator for handicap accessibility as well. There is a full bar, audio visual equipment, and microphones. Call to inquire about limited menus, minimums and policies.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Tavern at Bown Crossing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Casual (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Romantic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Business Meals (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
People Watching (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and service were pretty good. Both of us had Steaks that had quite a bit of non edible fat but the flavor in everything was good over all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely evening. The food was delicious and the service was great. Didn't want for anything...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was great place overall! and the sushi was amazing!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We dined here with another couple on a Saturday night. To be fair, the waiter did let us know that they were shorthanded in the kitchen be fore we ordered. I had the Chilean sea bass special and I asked for double vegetables instead of a potato side. The fish was small and thin...not like the nice thick flakey piece I was expecting for the $38 price tag. There were no potatoes on my dish as I had requested but the portion if veggies was not doubled. The fish was overly salty. My husband ordered a New York steak but they brought him a ribeye and they still charged us for a New York. The waiter never did bring the ketchup my friend asked for so he ended up eating his burger dry. I had to ask the waiter twice for my sparkling water. This is the second time I have been bitterly disappointed at the Tavern and I am scratching them off my list now. For the prices they charge, they will REALLY need to step up their game to win me back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was nice. If we lived closer it wouldn't be bad, just not spectacular enough to drive over from Meridian just to have dinner. Nice place though and great service!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved this place will definitely be back! This was our second visit and I found it comfortable and suitable for many occasions. Thank you for the great food and great service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Came in for Sunday brunch to celebrate my grandmas 94th birthday with family from out of state. Due to her wheelchair we had to be seated in the Sushi area. Our waitress was less than enthusiastic and didn't seem to have any interest in getting to know her table. We had requested fruit bowl in place of potato and were told the meal comes with fruit. While this is true there was a tiny slice of hard honeydew and cantaloupe it hardly replaces the request for a fruit bowl replacement. The order of "stuffed" French Toast was a thin spot of cream cheese between two pieces of toast. It was supposed to have Oregon berries on top and again it did have them but I counted 4 blueberries and 3 other berries and little sauce.

I will try again for a different meal without the wheelchair to see if it is a different atmosphere with better service and food presentation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good food and service. Love the salmon and potatoes au gratin. Wife's pork chop was the best ever. Nothing to improve on that!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Birthday lunch for a friend and wait staff helpful and patient with our table of 8.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I wish I had written down the name of the young lady who served us because she was spectacular. I asked a couple of questions about menu items that required a subjective response. She gave thought to my question, then answered specifically and explained WHY she felt that I might enjoy X more than Y. I really appreciated something other than "Oh, they are both good." Both of us wanted something sweet to concluded a most enjoyable and delicious meal but did not want anything too heavy. We asked if we could omit the chocolate brownie and instead have just the vanilla ice cream w/ either caramel or chocolate sauce. No problem, and no hesitation in responding that of course, we can do that.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We dined at Tavern at Brown Crossing first time January 14, 2017. We made a reservation a few weeks ahead for a birthday celebration. We arrived about 10-15 minutes early I believe. They claimed they did not have a table in the "bar" area (nicer and larger of the two areas) so we were seated in the "restaurant" at a very small, undesirable table by the door. It was very cold and drafty every time the door opened. We asked 3 times, with great insistence, to be moved to the other side of the restaurant, the bar. At about the time we were ready to get up and walk out, a table did open up and we were moved. The dining experience and food was mediocre but the waiter, Phil, was great. We might return there in the summer to sit on the patio and have burgers or appetizers but probably not again for an inside dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Third time we go...was OK (never a very good dining experience.. service was so so, very busy on Christmas ev., we need to asked for water, the waiter was not focusing on big table.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Our food was ok, not great. I had the lobster and angel hair dish. The lobster was cooked to perfection. The white sauce and angel hair were flavor less and had the texture that both had been overcooked. The tasteless cream sauce was disappointing because you can do anything with pasta. Instead it fell short and had no flavor, even a dash of salt would have helped. The portion of lobster to pasta was a ratio of 10:90. Way to much pasta for such a small amount of lobster.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We enjoyed the evening very much. Good food and service. We will be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent in every way, as always! The Filet is always wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Tavern at Bowen Crossing is a cozy dining experience that will make you feel right at home. The choices on the menu are varied and consist of delicious local ingredients prepared with care and beautifully presented. They have a great wine selection and the beer is ice cold. It appeared to me while I was dining that a lot of 'regulars' were enjoying each other's company as people filtered in and out to saddle up to the bar, obviously, this a neighborhood hangout. If you get an opportunity, give this fun place a try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Bruschetta was cold. Ordered 2. Complained to waitress. Waitress notified kitchen. We did not eat either of them, yet it was not comped on our final bill. POOR SERVICE! Pretty much entire experience was sub-par. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Cheese potatoes were great and swordfish steak was very good. Our local favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Always love the Tavern; it's like I've annexed it to my home on some evenings. I get off work, and I want to go to a safe place for a great glass of wine and/or an ad hoc cocktail, some calamari, and just unwind before I get home. Sometimes, I don't go home; I call home and have everyone meet me at the Tavern.. I usually get stuck with the bill, but it's worth it. The kids love the sushi and nachos, and my friend and I love to split the special. On a few occasions, I've had one particular waitress tell me what she thinks I ought to try, and it's wonderful ALL THE TIME. She has really enlarged my horizons when it comes to cocktails. The sushi and sashimi is the best I've tried in Boise. Granted, I haven't been around much, but now I don't want to try anywhere else.....

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Went to the Tavern to celebrate a birthday. I got there early had a glass of wine in the bar. Our table was ready when my family arrived. Overall service was very good, food was very tasty, my vegetables were luke warm, and my steak was very tasty but not very hot. My family said there food was hot except the vegetables. Got cobbler to share for dessert and a decaf coffee. Coffee was not hot and not very good. Never offered a refill either.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing! I was given a free dessert for my birthday. My only complaint was the noise level.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Had a great experience and the wait staff was tremendous. Highly recommended!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Fair, but not great. We went for Sunday brunch. The stuffed French Toast was excellent. The Eggs Benedict was disappointing, with the Hollandaise sauce looking fine, but being devoid of flavor. Both the sauce and the dish itself were served at room temperature (unsure if this was intentional, but definitely off-putting). I ordered fresh squeezed orange juice, which tasted like it came from a can and had no pulp, no "tang," and no evidence that it was fresh squeezed. The "fruit" served on the side consisted of one strawberry and two tiny pieces of melon. The house potatoes served with each dish were dry (overcooked) and served in very small portions. The service was prompt but indifferent almost to the point of rudeness. We drove 45 minutes to try this restaurant and won't be back.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This was my first visit to Tavern. We had Sunday brunch and I ordered an omelet. I didn't think it was great, but I will try the restaurant again for a different meal.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The sushi was terrible. It was dry, stale, falling apart. Maybe left from last week's unordered rolls?

Service was OK, but our waiter was slammed with too many other tables; disappeared for a while.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 10, 2016

A great place for patio dining when the weather is as nice as it has been recently.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 8, 2016

It was good, I like this place. Menu allows lots of choices. Burgers very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2016

There were 4 guests at the Tavern for dinner. All thought the food was excellent and service even better. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 28, 2016

a last minute visit from family from out of town, quiet enough to enjoy the company, food was great, server worked with request for a specific sushi, weren't rushed at all- closed down the restaurant

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We enjoy the Tavern as a local place where we can get anything from a burger or entree salad, to fresh ahi seared just so, sushi, or a steak. The service is good, although sometimes you have to ask for things like bread or a second drink, and the prices reasonable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Healthy, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The service was attentive...the pot roast nachos tasted incredible...great experience.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The pleasant staff are an asset to a favorite dining spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 12, 2016

I've been to The Tavern several times for dinner. It is a bit crowded but the food is good, nice menu selection. This last visit was average. Waitress was a bit sketchy, would fill water glasses for some and miss others. Nice menu selection and food is typically quite good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on August 5, 2016

the gal who checked us in was incredibly rude. The first thing she said was "do you think you will be done by 7:30 because we have another reservation". we had a reservation at 6, so it's not like we were walk ins. the waiter was awesome. I suggest you reassign the check in gal to dishwasher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Really disappointed with the service. Heard great things about this place. Had a reservation for 6:45. Once seated we waited for 15 minutes and had to waive who we thought was our waitress once someone pointed her out just to get our drinks. at 7:10 still no drinks. Once we finally received the drinks she never came back to ask if we wanted any refill or if we were ready to order. She was running around handing out checks to other tables. We had to again flag someone down to at least them know we were ready to order. Our order finally taken at 7:30!! At 7:50 we are still waiting for food and still refills on our drinks or even stop by to say anything. She did tend to the table next to us however. RUDE!! We had to ask the hostess to find out where our food is. finally at 8pm we got our food and it was cold. She never apologized or attempted to make up for anything!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 13, 2016

My salad was not up to par, lettuce was wilted and not what I would serve. Same story for the other diner who had a different salad. But my sister had the salmon burger and liked it. Dessert was awesome. Service was excellent. So why would they mess up on salads that cost $14?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 30, 2016

My "girls" -- daughter and grand-daughters, LOVE to "hit the tavern" after work and have sushi/sashimi and/or one of the incredible specials and/or a burger. There is something special for each and every one of us, and love the wine list. Dessert is always fun to split.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 25, 2016

I love the Tavern; been coming here with my daughters for a while now, and it's our go-to place; whether we want sushi or big pieces of wonderful beef. Always have the best wine and Conundrum by the glass. Could do more with the beer on tap, but I'm not really a beer drinker, so it's the wine that matters. The specials are always interesting. It reminds me of a pub I went to in Scotland a few times. It's a fun to start a conversation at the bar, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2016

What can we say...the chef is creative. Fabulous sauces and dressings. Cooks fish very well. You don't go hungry when leaving. Service people are all friendly and seem happy working there.

Extremely enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Dining at the Tavern is always a pleasure. The friendly staff and the high quality food and the ambiance all combine to make a memorable experience for the people dining in this restaurant. If you want seafood or sushi, the Tavern has it covered not to mention their steaks, chops and sides. It is one of my go to places in Boise. I like to entertain staff and clients there too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Parking is horrible. It would keep me from visiting the restuarant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Once a favorite, now the service was poor and food was cold.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 22, 2016

You'll be hard pressed to find a better restaurant in Boise. From high quality sushi to ridiculously tasty steaks, burgers and salads, the Tavern has something for everybody. Don't forget to check out brunch, too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We LOVE our neighborhood! What great service, food and atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was mostly great but I had ordered a small caesar and was presented with a large one. Waitress did not know how to "fix" this situation (i.e., charge us for the small one...) so it was a little weird.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fresh Halibut was great, drinks good. Seemed a little pricey for the food. Great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2016

We (4 of my friends and I ) had a memorable experience at The Tavern recently. We brought out own wine and paired it with the great food including fresh oysters, calamari, halibut, lamb and steak. We shared three desserts. Our server was on top of all of it with the 5 bottles of wine and all of the requests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Mediocre food, overpriced, spotty service... Honestly, the only reason we go is proximity to home. Would not go out of my way to dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall our dining experience was ok. The Prime Rib our guest of honor had was not memorable and his baked sweet potato was just a basic baked sweet potato. The Sushi two other members of our party had was very good and well priced. The halibut special was very good but the augratin potatoes were barely warm and the cheese was rubbery. The chicken dish ordered by our 5th member had great flavor, but also could have been hotter. The drinks and appetizers were very good and arrived promptly. The red wine served with dinner was flavorful, but a bit too warm even for a heavy red. The atmosphere was not spectacular - truly a tavern feel. I would go back, but not for a special occasion. Basic food. Maybe a better lunch than dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We were very impressed with the ambience and service at the restaurant, but our food lacked any flavor. I had to add salt to my omelet three times, and I rarely add salt to any food. The temperature of the food and the portion size were good, but I won't return unless I can be reassured that the food is more flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.