About Tavern at Bown Crossing

3111 S. Bown Way
Boise, ID 83706
View Larger Map

The Tavern at Bown Crossing is a unique dining experience offering sushi, USDA prime grade steaks, daily seafood specials, burgers, sandwiches and salads. There is a full bar with an extensive wine list, great classic cocktails, sake and draught beers. Happy Hour is available Mon.-Sat. Brunch is served on Sundays from an ala carte menu from 9:30-3 p.m. Our tables range from higher tables in the bar area with a more energetic atmosphere, or booths or a quieter area with lower tables.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm. Sunday Brunch: 9:30am-3:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm. Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Parkcenter Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 345-2277

Website:
http://www.tavernatbown.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on the upstairs patio once a week during the summer, weather permitting.

Catering:
The Tavern can cater business events, receptions, private parties, birthdays,etc. Menus are customized for each event. Bar service available with an off-site permit.

Parking Details:
Parking is located along the streets and in the back lots of the marketplace.

Executive Chef:
Cody Cornwall

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is available for sit down dinners, business meetings, and family dinners. There is not a room fee if a minimum is spent in food and beverage. The room is located upstairs with upstairs access to a restroom. There is an elevator for handicap accessibility as well. There is a full bar, audio visual equipment, and microphones. Call to inquire about limited menus, minimums and policies.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pot Roast Nachos - Tavern at Bown Crossing, Boise, ID
  • Hamachi Sashimi - Tavern at Bown Crossing, Boise, ID
  • Mac Daddy Roll - Tavern at Bown Crossing, Boise, ID
  • Rainbow Sushi Roll - Tavern at Bown Crossing, Boise, ID
  • Caterpillar And Mac Daddy Maki - Tavern at Bown Crossing, Boise, ID
Pot Roast Nachos - Tavern at Bown Crossing, Boise, ID
Hamachi Sashimi - Tavern at Bown Crossing, Boise, ID
Mac Daddy Roll - Tavern at Bown Crossing, Boise, ID
Rainbow Sushi Roll - Tavern at Bown Crossing, Boise, ID
Caterpillar And Mac Daddy Maki - Tavern at Bown Crossing, Boise, ID

Tavern at Bown Crossing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (8)
Special Occasion (6)
Bar Seating (6)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bruschetta was cold. Ordered 2. Complain ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Bruschetta was cold. Ordered 2. Complained to waitress. Waitress notified kitchen. We did not eat either of them, yet it was not comped on our final bill. POOR SERVICE! Pretty much entire experience was sub-par. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Cheese potatoes were great and swordfish ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Cheese potatoes were great and swordfish steak was very good. Our local favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always love the Tavern; it's like I've a ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Always love the Tavern; it's like I've annexed it to my home on some evenings. I get off work, and I want to go to a safe place for a great glass of wine and/or an ad hoc cocktail, some calamari, and just unwind before I get home. Sometimes, I don't go home; I call home and have everyone meet me at the Tavern.. I usually get stuck with the bill, but it's worth it. The kids love the sushi and nachos, and my friend and I love to split the special. On a few occasions, I've had one particular waitress tell me what she thinks I ought to try, and it's wonderful ALL THE TIME. She has really enlarged my horizons when it comes to cocktails. The sushi and sashimi is the best I've tried in Boise. Granted, I haven't been around much, but now I don't want to try anywhere else.....

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the Tavern to celebrate a birthd ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Went to the Tavern to celebrate a birthday. I got there early had a glass of wine in the bar. Our table was ready when my family arrived. Overall service was very good, food was very tasty, my vegetables were luke warm, and my steak was very tasty but not very hot. My family said there food was hot except the vegetables. Got cobbler to share for dessert and a decaf coffee. Coffee was not hot and not very good. Never offered a refill either.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was absolutely amazing! I was g ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing! I was given a free dessert for my birthday. My only complaint was the noise level.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a great experience and the wait staf ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Had a great experience and the wait staff was tremendous. Highly recommended!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fair, but not great. We went for Sunday ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Fair, but not great. We went for Sunday brunch. The stuffed French Toast was excellent. The Eggs Benedict was disappointing, with the Hollandaise sauce looking fine, but being devoid of flavor. Both the sauce and the dish itself were served at room temperature (unsure if this was intentional, but definitely off-putting). I ordered fresh squeezed orange juice, which tasted like it came from a can and had no pulp, no "tang," and no evidence that it was fresh squeezed. The "fruit" served on the side consisted of one strawberry and two tiny pieces of melon. The house potatoes served with each dish were dry (overcooked) and served in very small portions. The service was prompt but indifferent almost to the point of rudeness. We drove 45 minutes to try this restaurant and won't be back.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

This was my first visit to Tavern. We h ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This was my first visit to Tavern. We had Sunday brunch and I ordered an omelet. I didn't think it was great, but I will try the restaurant again for a different meal.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The sushi was terrible. It was dry, sta ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The sushi was terrible. It was dry, stale, falling apart. Maybe left from last week's unordered rolls?

Service was OK, but our waiter was slammed with too many other tables; disappeared for a while.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

A great place for patio dining when the ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 10, 2016

A great place for patio dining when the weather is as nice as it has been recently.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

It was good, I like this place. Menu al ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 8, 2016

It was good, I like this place. Menu allows lots of choices. Burgers very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

There were 4 guests at the Tavern for di ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2016

There were 4 guests at the Tavern for dinner. All thought the food was excellent and service even better. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

a last minute visit from family from out ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 28, 2016

a last minute visit from family from out of town, quiet enough to enjoy the company, food was great, server worked with request for a specific sushi, weren't rushed at all- closed down the restaurant

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoy the Tavern as a local place whe ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We enjoy the Tavern as a local place where we can get anything from a burger or entree salad, to fresh ahi seared just so, sushi, or a steak. The service is good, although sometimes you have to ask for things like bread or a second drink, and the prices reasonable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Healthy, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was attentive...the pot roas ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The service was attentive...the pot roast nachos tasted incredible...great experience.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pleasant staff are an asset to a fav ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The pleasant staff are an asset to a favorite dining spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I've been to The Tavern several times fo ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 12, 2016

I've been to The Tavern several times for dinner. It is a bit crowded but the food is good, nice menu selection. This last visit was average. Waitress was a bit sketchy, would fill water glasses for some and miss others. Nice menu selection and food is typically quite good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

the gal who checked us in was incredibly ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on August 5, 2016

the gal who checked us in was incredibly rude. The first thing she said was "do you think you will be done by 7:30 because we have another reservation". we had a reservation at 6, so it's not like we were walk ins. the waiter was awesome. I suggest you reassign the check in gal to dishwasher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Really disappointed with the service. He ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Really disappointed with the service. Heard great things about this place. Had a reservation for 6:45. Once seated we waited for 15 minutes and had to waive who we thought was our waitress once someone pointed her out just to get our drinks. at 7:10 still no drinks. Once we finally received the drinks she never came back to ask if we wanted any refill or if we were ready to order. She was running around handing out checks to other tables. We had to again flag someone down to at least them know we were ready to order. Our order finally taken at 7:30!! At 7:50 we are still waiting for food and still refills on our drinks or even stop by to say anything. She did tend to the table next to us however. RUDE!! We had to ask the hostess to find out where our food is. finally at 8pm we got our food and it was cold. She never apologized or attempted to make up for anything!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

My salad was not up to par, lettuce was ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 13, 2016

My salad was not up to par, lettuce was wilted and not what I would serve. Same story for the other diner who had a different salad. But my sister had the salmon burger and liked it. Dessert was awesome. Service was excellent. So why would they mess up on salads that cost $14?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My "girls" -- daughter and grand-daughte ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 30, 2016

My "girls" -- daughter and grand-daughters, LOVE to "hit the tavern" after work and have sushi/sashimi and/or one of the incredible specials and/or a burger. There is something special for each and every one of us, and love the wine list. Dessert is always fun to split.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the Tavern; been coming here with ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 25, 2016

I love the Tavern; been coming here with my daughters for a while now, and it's our go-to place; whether we want sushi or big pieces of wonderful beef. Always have the best wine and Conundrum by the glass. Could do more with the beer on tap, but I'm not really a beer drinker, so it's the wine that matters. The specials are always interesting. It reminds me of a pub I went to in Scotland a few times. It's a fun to start a conversation at the bar, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What can we say...the chef is creative. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2016

What can we say...the chef is creative. Fabulous sauces and dressings. Cooks fish very well. You don't go hungry when leaving. Service people are all friendly and seem happy working there.

Extremely enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining at the Tavern is always a pleasur ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Dining at the Tavern is always a pleasure. The friendly staff and the high quality food and the ambiance all combine to make a memorable experience for the people dining in this restaurant. If you want seafood or sushi, the Tavern has it covered not to mention their steaks, chops and sides. It is one of my go to places in Boise. I like to entertain staff and clients there too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Parking is horrible. It would keep me f ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Parking is horrible. It would keep me from visiting the restuarant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Used to be better

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Once a favorite, now the service was poor and food was cold.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Best in Boise

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 22, 2016

You'll be hard pressed to find a better restaurant in Boise. From high quality sushi to ridiculously tasty steaks, burgers and salads, the Tavern has something for everybody. Don't forget to check out brunch, too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good....

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was mostly great but I had ordered a small caesar and was presented with a large one. Waitress did not know how to "fix" this situation (i.e., charge us for the small one...) so it was a little weird.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fresh Halibut was great, drinks good. Se ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fresh Halibut was great, drinks good. Seemed a little pricey for the food. Great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wine dinner at The Tavern

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2016

We (4 of my friends and I ) had a memorable experience at The Tavern recently. We brought out own wine and paired it with the great food including fresh oysters, calamari, halibut, lamb and steak. We shared three desserts. Our server was on top of all of it with the 5 bottles of wine and all of the requests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Don't know why I come back

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Mediocre food, overpriced, spotty service... Honestly, the only reason we go is proximity to home. Would not go out of my way to dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall our dining experience was ok. The Prime Rib our guest of honor had was not memorable and his baked sweet potato was just a basic baked sweet potato. The Sushi two other members of our party had was very good and well priced. The halibut special was very good but the augratin potatoes were barely warm and the cheese was rubbery. The chicken dish ordered by our 5th member had great flavor, but also could have been hotter. The drinks and appetizers were very good and arrived promptly. The red wine served with dinner was flavorful, but a bit too warm even for a heavy red. The atmosphere was not spectacular - truly a tavern feel. I would go back, but not for a special occasion. Basic food. Maybe a better lunch than dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great service, food lacked flavor

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We were very impressed with the ambience and service at the restaurant, but our food lacked any flavor. I had to add salt to my omelet three times, and I rarely add salt to any food. The temperature of the food and the portion size were good, but I won't return unless I can be reassured that the food is more flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Foodiegreen

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We chose The Tavern for Easter Sunday thinking the food would be good and they have a great atmosphere. For this occasion the food (omelette)was tasty but Cold. We were seated upstairs in the overflow space which would have been ok but next to us were six loud and obnoxious 25+ year olds, who were enjoying mimosa's at the expense of everyone else. It will take me sometime before going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Bottomless mimosas!

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Bottomless mimosas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening and great food. Our waiter ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great evening and great food. Our waiter was incredibly nice and kept up with us all night:) We did spend a lot but it was worth it. The only down fall was when we were watching the basketball game and the bartender turned the tv away from us, so that he personally could watch the game. LOL, oh well eventually our server turned it back for us and the food was great, as usual.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful Neighborhood Tavern

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 20, 2016

The Tavern at Bown Crossing is near our home, but we would still travel to eat and drink there. It's a wonderful restaurant with a great menu, and it also has a fun and lively bar. There is also a very nice patio area when the weather permits. You won't be disappointed if you try it. They also have sushi!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was fair...not the best I have had ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Food was fair...not the best I have had there.

We were seated at a table that was under a vent that blew cold air. I froze during dinner. Not very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

Great king crab legs

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Great king crab legs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Steak ever!

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I have ate here several times, over the past few years, and enjoy coming to this establishment on special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.