Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Pizzaiolo PrimoPizzaiolo Primo
(567)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Booked 22 times today
Sienna On the SquareSienna On the Square
(1114)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Booked 18 times today
The Yard Market SquareThe Yard Market Square
(279)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Booked 15 times today
Social House 7Social House 7
(282)
$$$$
Japanese | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Booked 35 times today
PorosPoros
(541)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Booked 22 times today
The Capital Grille - PittsburghThe Capital Grille - Pittsburgh
(1699)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Booked 24 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - PittsburghRuth's Chris Steak House - Pittsburgh
(911)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Booked 16 times today
Vallozzi's PittsburghVallozzi's Pittsburgh
(1009)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Booked 12 times today
Eddie Merlot's - PittsburghEddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh
(1087)
$$$$
Steak | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Booked 23 times today
MorcillaMorcilla
(592)
$$$$
Spanish | Lawrenceville, Pittsburgh
Booked 21 times today
The CommonerThe Commoner
(659)
$$$$
American | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Booked 41 times today
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Pittsburgh DowntownMcCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Pittsburgh Downtown
(2281)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Booked 19 times today
Grand ConcourseGrand Concourse
(3809)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Booked 36 times today
Eddie V's - PittsburghEddie V's - Pittsburgh
(148)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Booked 30 times today
Nola on the SquareNola on the Square
(1665)
$$$$
Creole / Cajun / Southern | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Booked 18 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Permanently Closed - Tavern 245

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Tavern 245 is a lounge-style restaurant and bar that serves New American cuisine with some internationally-inspired dishes. The restaurant's modern interior features table seating, couches and chairs, large windows and a central full-service bar. There's also a rooftop deck where guests can be seated when the weather is nice. Tavern 245 is a great place to get together with friends or enjoy a casual date.

Start off with an appetizer like provolone sticks, feta truffle fries, Italian egg rolls or hummus with fresh pita bread. Large plates include options like blackened taco salad, salmon salad, the fried chicken sandwich and hearty burgers served with French fries. End the meal with a sweet dessert like the chocolate chip cookie ice cream sandwich. Tavern 245 also offers a wide variety of special house cocktails and margaritas.

245 Fourth Avenue
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm -10:00pm (Bar open until 2am)

Cross Street:
Wood St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-4345

Website:
http://www.tavern245.com/

Entertainment:
We have 8 big screen TV's and a roof top deck.

Catering:
We offer full catering to all of Downtown Pittsburgh.

Parking Details:
There is a public parking lot right across the street from Tavern 245. There is also street parking available.

Public Transit:
Tavern 245 is easily accessible with public transportation.

Private Party Facilities:
We can rent out any of our floors for you private event. We have a rooftop deck, a full dining room with full bar, as well as our first floor lounge. All of which can be rented for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Cristofaro: (412) 281-4345

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
80 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Was sad to see this place close, loved happy hour and the rooftop bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 28, 2016

I was hesitant to try this restaurant because of the reviews about poor service. We went here on a Thursday night around 7 PM and there was practically no one in the restaurant. I wasn't sure if that was going to be good or bad. However, our server was incredibly attentive. She refilled our drinks and water multiple times without our asking and checked in several times. We loved our sandwiches. I don't know about the service and crowd on other nights but everything worked out great for us .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The service was great, the bartender was amazing. Fresh island mojitos!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 31, 2016

Unfortunately we didn't have a great experience, probably due to the fact they only had 1 person working the bar and restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a group on 9 for a 5 PM reservation. We were seated right away. Food was ordinary. Service was uneven, although the waiter was new. Correct food not delivered. Plates cleared prior to folks finishing their food. Gratuity was included because of the size of the group. Waiter approached me to inquire if there was a problem with the service because he saw no additional gratuity added. I said that the gratuity had been included in the meal. Waiter was not aware. It was an awkward moment. Will not return because it was just ordinary.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2016

T-245 is a great hot spot on Friday - but it is our favorite place on a Wednesday or Thursday night for Girls Dinner!! We want to talk for hours, and the atmosphere is perfect during the week. Plus they offer the great happy hour starting at 4pm every night. Sandwiches and French fries are delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 30, 2016

It's hard to find a quiet place downtown to have a quiet, romantic lunch date. I think we have found our new go to place! The food was delicious, the staff was attentive and courteous and we were able to talk and actually hear each other! Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Burger was very good. Good prices and decent happy hr. Nothing notable tho.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 23, 2016

I often meet others here for a quick lunch meeting. Speedy service, good food and convenient location for most people working downtown.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2016

The Gobbler sandwich is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 16, 2016

Couldn't have found a better venue before Springsteen concert! Bruce music streaming, majority of guests doing same thing. Food is fun, rich, fatty and good. Drinks were great as was service. Food kept us satisfied well into the night. Great time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 16, 2016

Burger and sandwich joint, great beer selection, fantastic service (shout out to John, a fellow Dead Head!) and the host kept up when he wasn't seating guests-tidying tables and offering water. Menu is interesting, had a bacon egg veggie burger and the garlic fries. Spouse went with the Reuben sandwich. Both were delicious, will definitely go again. Only downside for us was that it is off the beaten path.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2016

We had a great time at Tavern 245. Everyone loved their food and the portions were very plentiful. We had a large group and they easily accommodated us. I would recommend the steak sandwich...excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 16, 2016

We went to Tavern 245 before a concert, the atmosphere was an upbeat eclectic bar setting with a "fun" service style. The menu was limited, but had some unique dishes. It's a great place to go for a quick simple, but unique meal. The wait staff does need a little encouragement at time to attend to the of the customers (we flagged our waiter over 3 times, and other tables had to do the same).

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 20, 2015

Food was great but the service was awful. We booked a large party (6 ppl). Forgot to bring correct drinks multiple times! No one ever came over to check on us- I had to waive someone down for every thing! There was a food runner that did an excellent job, but over all I felt ignored because the couldn't handle a full house.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 19, 2015

Great food for a reasonable price. All the selections I've had from the menu have been perfect. The Italian egg rolls were the greatest appetizer I think I've ever ordered. This place is great for lunch since its so close to PPG. Also great for dinner and a few drinks without breaking the bank.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 16, 2015

A group of eight met for happy hour and trivia, had a great time. Food is good, drinks are priced nicely, and trivia night on Wednesdays is fun!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 12, 2015

On a weekend in December, my wife and I and another couple went out downtown for some dinner. After striking out at a few places around market square, we used OpenTable and found that this restaurant had an opening 30 mins from current time. We booked immediately because no other place was even close to that time frame.

The place was only moderately crowded for a Friday night, but there were two wait staff working along side the bartender. When first seated, the waitress immediately came over (a plus) and asked if we wanted drinks, to which we asked for a cocktail menu. We didn't see the waitress again for about 15 mins. No water. No drinks. Finally she reappeared and asked what we wanted for drinks, which we put in the drink order, but before we had a chance to order, she immediately shot off. About 30 minutes later (well after we had finished our first drinks), a separate waiter came over and asked if we were okay. It caught us off guard because we thought we were finally ordering food 40 minutes in, but alas, nope. We asked for our waitress and he summoned her after another 10 minute wait. We put in our food order and another drink order with our waitress. We got the food before we got the drinks after about 20 minutes. The food was GREAT. One of the best sandwiches I have had downtown period. The garlic fries were also delicious. We got our second round of drinks finally about half way through the meal. Then after we were done eating, it was about another 20 minutes before we could flag down a wait staff for the check, which we got without it even asking if it should be split, with items not even matched to their seat numbers correctly.

To sum it up: Great food, awful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 9, 2015

Week nights after work, Tavern 245 is a great place to meet with friends for drinks at Happy Hour Prices and a great burger or grilled chicken sandwich. It is quiet Monday-Thursday so easy to talk and catch up on news. Friday nights are fun - but much more of a bar crowd. It is a year round favorite for my group because we can enjoy rooftop dining in the summer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 8, 2015

I had a great lunch with both of adult children who work downtown. We all really enjoyed our meals. The service was great. The food was delicious. THis just might become our regular meeting spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 5, 2015

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 5, 2015

Our party tried 5 different sandwiches - all amazing. The pretzel buns and garlic fries are superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 13, 2015

Me and my girls went for a girls happy hour. Although we were asked to move after being seated so they could seat a large group, we still had a wonderful time. The Chicken skins and Buffalo Chicken dip is perfect happy hr fare and the long island ice teas! MORE PLEASE!! The nice owner even comped us on the food since they had to move us. We will be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Great food selection - all tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 4, 2015

Tavern 245 is a great lunch spot. The food is really good and the service is always friendly and fast. I think of Tavern 245 quickly when I am considering a place to meet someone for lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 3, 2015

Nice little lunch spot. Small craft beer selection for a drink after work. They have a rooftop for when the weather is nice, but I haven't tried myself.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 29, 2015

Great salad options. Not everybody in Pittsburgh eats large delicious sandwiches with French fries. Greatly appreciate the different greens with multiple proteins to pick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 24, 2015

The tavern 245 margarita needs some work. And the food wasn't as hot as it should have been with us being the only table there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 15, 2015

Our waitress was so friendly and attentive. She made our experience a good one. The food was very good as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 12, 2015

Great food, great price, wonderful service! Been here a few times and it never disappoints! Keep up the great work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2015

Had an enjoyable business lunch with 7 people on the rooftop. Beautiful afternoon, superfast service, great food. We will be going back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 22, 2015

I was so pleasantly surprised with the great outside deck and yummy salads! I'll definitely be back and brining others with me. Looking forward to trying out a happy hour on the deck.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 29, 2015

The food was pretty good but when the bill came we were a bit surprised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 28, 2015

I've been here for lunch multiple times and have always had great experiences. We had dinner here with a friends and thought the roof would be great for a casual evening meal close to our offices. As usual, the food was incredible (although my pretzel bun burger didn't actually come on a pretzel bun? But I had food all over my face because they were so juicy and amazing).

The service was very disappointing. There were only like four tables of people on the roof, so it should have been manageable. Apparently not. There were three different servers/bartenders, all sort of attending to us and not communicating with each other so it was confusing, inefficient and just frustrating. And they made us give our credit cards before the meal? And good luck getting a happy hour menu, because they only have one for the whole restaurant. Naturally our checks were messed up, also. The service didn't ruin the meal, but it reflects poorly on the restaurant. Maybe it's just the roof? Probably why a beautiful downtown rooftop bar was completely dead at 6pm on a Thursday.

I'm sure I'll go back, but probably only for lunch or a late night roof cocktail. Also, the rooftop chairs are super uncomfortable - especially if you're in a dress.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 28, 2015

Our server was good -- but we had an issue with our bill and pricing. The Manager, Mike did not seem interested or care to make sure that we were happy . More importantly, he did not seem to care at all if we returned. We have eaten there many times even though it is a bit pricey for lunch. Will definitely not be returning to this restaurant due to poor customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 5, 2015

Reserved for an office Cinco de Mayo Happy Hour -- Tavern 245 has a pretty good roof top deck and it is close to the office (so I thought it sounded like a home run). Noted that we had a preference of windows or roof top (weather dependent) but when we got there, they never opened the roof top (fear of weather) -- and the bartender said they sent most folks home (allow they had reservations for 10, 15, & 7 in the main dining floor).

Drinks were good -- nice beer selection -- appetizers were ok but it would have been nice to know that the roof top was closed on an absolutely beautiful day ...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on April 25, 2015

The food here was excellent, unfortunately the service leaves something to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 17, 2015

I only rated the service 4 stars because they were short a bartender and it was Friday Night and the place was packed. But they worked their butts off to serve. I go here often and love the food, atmosphere and people. Go, have fun and enjoy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 15, 2015

Had a reservation for 3 people at 6pm on a Wednesday. Thought it might be busy because of the after-work crowd. However, we were the ONLY party in the dining room. No one at the bar either. I think there may have been people in the rooftop bar, but I didn't go up there. I was disappointed in our table location. We were seated directly next to the drink station and kitchen doors. The swinging doors and the loud conversation in the kitchen was annoying.

My friend ordered a burger without bacon and they brought it with bacon. They fixed the issue quickly. Other than that, the food was okay. Nothing to write home about or hurry back for. A little bit pricey for what you get.

The atmosphere is nice and I bet the rooftop is cool. Give it a try. I probably will try again myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 14, 2015

Food was excellent - we were ready to go back the next day (although we did not).

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.