Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse

Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse is proud to share the traditions, culture and food of southern Brazil.
Rodizio is a popular Brazilian style barbecue, a continuous service of a wide variety of different cuts of beef, pork, lamb and chicken that is slowly cooked with special grills to preserve all their natural juices and flavors. You may enjoy as much as you like, all for one fixed price. Enjoy this gastronomical adventure called Rodizio along with the unique style and tradition of the Brazilian Gaucho.

167 W. San Fernando St
San Jose, CA 95113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm, Saturday-Sunday: 12:00pm-3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
South San Pedro St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 294-0110

Website:
http://www.taurinussteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking is available for our customers.

Private Party Contact:
Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse: (408) 294-0110

Additional:
Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access

Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (12)
See All
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Cozy (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Romantic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
266 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

$40 per person for a buffet only (no meat) is pretty steep.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was good, but not as good as last time. Some of the meats were dried out - the garlic steak and parmesan pork were very dry. Some of the meats also didn't have enough flavor such as the sausage. The sirloin was definitely the best of the meats as it was medium rare and seasoned right. The salad bar was excellent too, and so was the service. We enjoy going here occasionally, although it seems the price may have increased, so this will not be one of our regular places.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The food was outstanding and the service was above and beyond! I highly recommend this restaurant. We went there before a concert at SAP and it was very convenient to the venue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Come hungry! Love the ample salad and fruit bar, Brazilian beans and side dishes. Did not know it was an all you can eat restaurant but was pleasantly surprised . Servers are VERY attentive and the meat 🍖 skewers keep coming to your full...
Absolutely loved their dessert menu -- try some of the Brazilian specialties...
My only negative is I wish they had some potato side dishes to go with the meat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We came to celebrate my wife's birthday and they didn't disappoint. The food and service was excellent. It is just a little pricey but worth the money.
Thanks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We love rodizio and this is the best in the South Bay area.
It's local with well seasoned meats and great Caiprinhas and Sangria.
We're definitely making this our go-to rodizio restaurant South Bay/Peninsula.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great service. Really enjoyed the ambience and attentiveness of the staff. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Staff was very friendly and the service was great. We were not wanting for anything. The meat was delicious. Their assortment of salads and sides was delicious too! I will surely go back soon.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

As always, my family enjoys dining at Taurinus. Restaurant manager, Matt, makes us feel always welcomed and provides impeccable dining experience. Excellent sevice by Paula ALL THE TIME. And to the rest of the servers, thank you for always serving us the best meats available. The food flavor is tasteful and the salad bar offerings are delectable. Will be back in two weeks to celebrate my birthday!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Service was personal and attentive. Food was excellent. Somewhat expensive but definitely worth it. Great experience.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day dinner was awesome. The food was great, the service was spectacular and the price was spot on for this special occasion.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I really wanted to love this place, but they made it a little hard to. All the food tasted great, my problem was when they would bring the meat skewers to our table. In the beginning it was fine, they would bring all red meats. But as they kept coming by our table, all we were offered was red meat, especially the top sirloin. Where was the chicken?? It wasn't until a manager came to our table and asked if there was anything we needed. We requested chicken and a few other things. Well the other items slowly arrived, but it took a long time for the chicken to come over and by that time we're almost full from the items from the buffet.

Also the restaurant is a bit crowded for my liking, especially since you have to get up and pick up items from the buffet. We were seated right next to the hostess podium, so every time I made my way back to my table I had to squeeze past the waiters/waitresses/host/hostess. It was too tight of a squeeze while holding a large plate full of food to take another route.

I most likely won't go back because there is another brazillian steakhouse that my husband and I already love. I wanted to try a new place that was a little bit closer to home.

I did love that the staff was very attentive and they tried their best to make sure we had everything that we needed.

Great customer service, great tasting food, just a little disorganized when serving meats.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food. Excellent and attentive staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Courteous and attentive staff. Good variety of food for a reasonable price.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Food, service, drinks, and parking across the street made it a wonderful evening. Come hungry and leave content!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food served in a unique way. Service is top notch. Will definitely come back here any time we're in San Jose.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Held our sons graduation party here. Format worked great for hungry college students and waitstaff was very responsive. Glad we had window seating, as it was possible to talk (moderate noise level) and food and desserts were great. No complaints. Perfect for the occasion.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Delicious. Everything was amazing. Wonderful service. The Peanut Butter Thing...yep that's the nam for desert was off the hook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great restaurant. They have great service and fresh food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Buena variedad de cortes, muy buena atención, y un ambiente tranquilo... ideal para poder platicar con tu pareja o una cena de negocios...

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The salad bar only lunch was about $20/person and the salad bar + meat lunch was about $25. This isn't an everyday lunch place, but somewhere you go for the occasional splurge or celebration. The salad bar was nicely presented and had a nice healthy variety. There were a few "hot" items such as rice, beans, chicken stroganoff, and beef crepes. The service was attentive and warm. My friends who had meat enjoyed the cuts they ate.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really enjoyed it. The salad bar was excellent. Our service was fair had to ask for and order desert three times. Requested coffee with cream got the coffee no cream, received milk after coffee was cold. It however, was still a great experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I was here for my husband's birthday at the end of December and took the ladies from the office for lunch (Admin day). Everyone loved it and I dared all to try the chicken hearts (they are amazing). I enjoy all the food but my favorites are the top sirloin and the chicken hearts. Beware of the pork if you are salt sensitive. They are tasty, but are pretty salty. Desserts are to die for - especially the crepe (don't recall the exact name) and chocolate mousse.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I had an amazing time at Taurinus for my partner's birthday on a Friday evening!
The best thing about Taurinus was definitely their quality of service for me.
They were extremely attentive, and I never felt intruded, and I never felt neglected, either. The workers here really seemed to go above and beyond in order to provide the fantastic service.
I had mentioned early on during the dinner that it was my partner's birthday, and they said they would be able to do something special. At the end, when I asked for the check, I never had to remind them about the birthday special as they ended up bringing out the lovely ice cream dessert and sang a brief happy birthday greeting in Portuguese.
As for the food, I thought it was great, as well. The only thing was that sometimes they would not quite give you the exact cut of meat you requested for as our medium rare requests sometimes fell under very rare or nearly well done. Besides that, the food was still amazing. My favorites were surprisingly the chicken hearts and the chicken wings.
Their salad bar is amazing and I loved that they had paella available as well. They did not skimp on the seafood amount in the paella, at all, which really impressed me. I have recommended this place to my friends and think that everyone should definitely try out this particular steakhouse for both the great food, and even greater service. Thank you for the beautiful experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food here is always reliable. And the services is great. Never did my water cup get empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Try a Brazillian steakhouse they said, you'll love it they said... We both found the food lacking in flavor or bland, granted we both brine/marinade, smoke/grill our own food on a regular basis. I guess the allure is that someone is bringing meat to your table and cutting you off a piece and.... that's it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

They are the best at Taurinus. They have great meat selection and they treat us like family. Like we are a part of the core. Always enjoy the dining experience. It's a hidden gem in downtown San Jose.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great place though pretty loud and hard to have a conversation with people across from your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

It was only ok and nothing spectacular about the whole dinning experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The restaurant decor is very plain. The food is in general very salty. Definitely not good for those managing hypertension. They offer a very broad selection of meats: chicken wings/leg, leg of lamb, filet mignon, sirloin steak, and so on. All meat is served on skewers at the table. Not much selection for side dishes -- for example, no potatoes -- just rice. Same for the salad bar which was pretty mundane. All in all the food was good but not great and the service was very good. Not great value when you consider the average per person cost (excluding alcoholic beverages) is over $50. Everyone in our party agreed that competing Brazilian Barbecue restaurants offer a much better dining experience for about the same price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great food and a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Not only is the food in the serve-yourself area very good, but the meats that are brought around are really good, too. I like that they bring around a real variety. My favorites were the lamb and the chicken, but the pork and different types of beef were also good. Paired with the potato salad and asparagus, it was a delicious meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I went here with friends - a night out without the kids. Both the service and food was great in a fund atmosphere. Would absolutely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great experience as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent service. Food pretty good, some of the salad selections were a little disappointing. The enchiladas were outstanding. Some of the beef items were a little tough. We went for lunch, so no lamb.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

If you have a big appetite, this is the place to go! You will definitely get your fill of food. I tell myself I'll just have the salads, etc., but no, I had to have all the different meats. If you get there early enough, you can get a seat without reservations, but any later, you'll need reservations. There is a parking garage conveniently across the street. I would absolutely recommend this this place.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Best Brazilian stake house in San Jose.! Better by far from the other one, in the most notable location.!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

For the price, I expected better service, better environment, and quality food. The service was slow. I had to ask for the good cut of meat to be brought around. I asked for a glass of ice and had to ask another employee after waiting over 15 min. The place smelled like sewage. It probably was the smell of raw meat. My wife barely ate because 95% of the meat that came around was raw.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our first experience at a Brazilian Grill. From the phenomenal service to the amazing food. We can't wait to come back. From the 3 of us in our group, simply wonderful from the moment we entered to the time we left.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Second time coming on a date with my boyfriend and the staff were all very kind and the food was just as delicious as the last time! The dessert we enjoyed were orange crepes with vanilla ice cream in a chocolate bowl.... one of the best desserts I've had! It exceeded my expectations and was a great ending to our meal! We always look forward to the chance to eat at Taurinus and tell our families and friends about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.