About Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse

167 W. San Fernando St
San Jose, CA 95113
View Larger Map

Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse is proud to share the traditions, culture and food of southern Brazil.
Rodizio is a popular Brazilian style barbecue, a continuous service of a wide variety of different cuts of beef, pork, lamb and chicken that is slowly cooked with special grills to preserve all their natural juices and flavors. You may enjoy as much as you like, all for one fixed price. Enjoy this gastronomical adventure called Rodizio along with the unique style and tradition of the Brazilian Gaucho.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm, Saturday-Sunday: 12:00pm-3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
South San Pedro St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 294-0110

Website:
http://taurinussteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking is available for our customers.

Private Party Contact:
Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse: 4082940110

Additional:
Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse
Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse

Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Restaurants in San Jose ›

good for groups (31)
special occasion (27)
fit for foodies (20)
See All
great for lunch (10)
neighborhood gem (10)
romantic (8)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (5)
notable wine list (5)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The sirloin (picanha) was excellent! I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The sirloin (picanha) was excellent! I tried the chicken heart in the spirit of adventure but it's not really my kind of thing-- more like organ meat. Pork loin and red wine marinaded steak were a little tough. Delicious grilled asparagus at the salad bar. Dessert (Brazilian crepes with mango syrup on top) was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Equal or better than Fogo da Chao. I thi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Equal or better than Fogo da Chao. I think the salad bar was better than Fogo. I thought it really tasty and a very special place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My reservation is by2 pm and the restaur ...

vip
 (México)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My reservation is by2 pm and the restaurant close at 2 pm. Incongruent....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was just okay. Food was good - actual ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was just okay. Food was good - actually enjoyed the salad bar more than most of the cuts of meat. I kept asking for rare but was served more well done than not. The noise level was horrible - and it wasn't all that full or busy. No round tables - only long, so it was difficult to speak with our party at each end.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Food is ok, nothing to rave about. the p ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food is ok, nothing to rave about. the pork ribs were good and so was the sirloin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I brought my family and we had a very pl ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I brought my family and we had a very pleasant experience. We received a very warm accommodation by the staff and restaurant owner who visited our table several times to ensure that we are enjoying our dining experience. I will certainly come back again for great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food, service. Everything was perfect. P ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Food, service. Everything was perfect. Pace yourselves, though, the green/red color wheels were especially helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Horrible. Can NOT be compared to Fogo, P ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Horrible. Can NOT be compared to Fogo, Pampus or even Espetus. Just not that level of quality in food or service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Loved it!! Took my hubby and dad here fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Loved it!! Took my hubby and dad here for Father's Day, and they also loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are a meat lover, you will love t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

If you are a meat lover, you will love this restaurant. We enjoyed trying the various meat options brought around by the servers. The sides and salad bar was excellent. Plenty of sides and salads to choose from. Will definitely visit again for the next special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There's not a lot of different selection ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

There's not a lot of different selections of meat during lunch. However, the desserts were V good. We had d Caramelized Pineapple & Tres Leche. V well done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Good servings, great food and fast servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Good servings, great food and fast service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything about our time at Taurinus wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything about our time at Taurinus was amazing. They seated us quickly, and showed us the ropes! The food is amazing, the grilled pineapple is to die for! We will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day brunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a very enjoyable lunch. In addition to the wine list and salad bar, the meat selection was quite satisfying. The breads were less so, but those were not a major consideration for us.

One really has to try all the meat offerings to get the full experience. We were surprised by what we found most satisfying. The chicken, sausage, and parmesan pork ended up being our favorites. Some of the beef was a bit too chewy, though tasty enough.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was so delicious and service ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Everything was so delicious and service was great!!! Eder took real good care of us! He recommended a really good drink to my boyfriend that he loved so much he got another. We mentioned we came down to celebrate our anniversary and we were given a complimentary dessert. He always made sure I had iced tea and checked to make sure we were okay. All cuts of meat were flavorful and juicy. My favorites were the pork and beef ribs, sirloin and leg of lamb. My boyfriend loved the filet mignon, filet mignon with wrapped bacon, leg of lamp, and top sirloin. All the sides we're delicious! The Brazilian stew was amazing, collard greens, and mango salad. I loved the fresh prosciutto, fried polenta and fried plantains!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Did not like the crowd Service was good ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Did not like the crowd

Service was good

Did not taste the red meat

Chicken hearts, desserts and salad bar at the fogo de chao level but not quite pampas

Maybe back for some desserts of which the peanut butter piece and chocolate mousse were our favorites

Shout out to bartender for making caipirinha dry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Excellent service! Food was good, but service was exceptional.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love it!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Service was great. Food is good. Will definitely come back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a quiet Sunday afternoon.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was actually much better than Fogo de Chao, however, it seems like the energy was pretty low as it was quiet in San Jose usually during weekends. The salad selection seems to be limiting compared to Fogo de Chao. I did like the grilled pineapples which Fogo de Chao did not offer and the meat selection was abundant. It was pricey and perhaps all in all the ambiance didn't make it for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Second time!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

This was our second time eating here. We initially came here 6 months ago and picked this place over another Brazilian steakhouse in the area based on the reviews. And this place doesn't disappoint! We always leave full and the staff is very attentive and kind. They made sure to check in with us frequently and were very sincere when asking if there was anything additional they could do for us. Many different choices of meat, pineapple and a salad bar. I loved their spinach strawberry salad! There also is white rice, black beans, salmon and gluten free options.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the restaurant is close to home parking ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

the restaurant is close to home parking is no problem restaurant is very clean the staff was very friendly and kind the wait was minimal seating was great the salad bar was fresh and flavorful and needless to say the meat was outstandingly superb would highly recommend if you like good food you will not leave hungery and if you do you did something wrong.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but slow down

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The service was coming so fast that we were eating even before the wine was served. They rush you thru the meal by a never ending series of servers. You need to slow them down. The tables are very cramped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Service was very good. Food was pretty g ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Service was very good. Food was pretty good. Meats were on the saltier side and not as flavorful as Fogo de Chao.

Good spot that's close to the convention center and walking distance to most major hotels in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Great food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quite Lovely

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Decided to dine here for a belated birthday date night dinner with my spouse. We had a great time! Food was delicious. Wine selection is Vass and excellent. Service was exceptional! We will definitely come back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food; after you finally get seated

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We made reservations on Valentine's Day and, it seems, so did everyone else in Silicon Valley. The restaurant was obviously overbooked as we waited 45 minutes past our reservation time to get seated. Management of the waiting parties was poor, nor was there adequate room for people to wait. Once we got seated, service was just ok. We had to wave down the waiter for drink refills and helped the table next to us get the meat servers to come by their table. Overall, food was good, wine list was excellent, but I would not be likely to come back because of the overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Very good selection of meats. A busy ni ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Very good selection of meats. A busy night for valentines day, didn't get to try everything, but of the 5 I did try, they were excellent. Cold salad bar was fresh and everything tasted great. Dessert was a large serving, hard to finish, was so full. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. So many choices.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was great. So many choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not so good

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Dinner was okay, meat too salty, ambiance was terrible booked to the hilt and beyond capacity...could be because it was Valentine's Day. Waited 1/2 hour though had reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Pretty good churrasco at downtown San Jo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Pretty good churrasco at downtown San Jose. The place is pretty tight to maneuver around for both customers and the servers. The service was a bit off when we were there but it was a busy Saturday night as many people were celebrating early Valentine's Day. Make sure that you leave some space in your stomach for desserts. Pudim and Cream de Papaya were pretty good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Valentine's Day date, amazing!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was great, food was impeccable, presence was amazing!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

We booked Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse with another couple before attending Wizard of Oz at the Center for the Performing Arts . (Only two blocks away)

We went early so we would not be rushed for dinner. The waiter explained everything to us before we started with the salad bar, so we were not left guessing as to how to proceed. After we had our salads and sides and were seated back at our table the chicken , lamb, beef and pork were served very rapidly. We had a little sign on our table that we could turn to stop and start the delivery so we could eat at our own pace. The food was delicious but we were disappointed that the night we were there the chicken livers were not served. We had read great reviews about them so were curious as to how they were different fron regular chicken livers. All the skewers were superb and we quickly found our favorites. The staff was attentive and friendly! It is a little pricey ($49 a person) but for a special occasion well worth the price.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

not up to par...compared to other Brazilian steak

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Not up to par. They barely came around with the meats. When they did they were fatty cuts of meat and flavor was not good. definitely not worth 50.00 per plate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Meat Lovers Dream

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

If you enjoy grilled meat, this is the place. Didn't have a bad bite of any of the meats. All cooked perfectly and lots of selections. Salad bar options were fresh and plentiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Brazilian at its best

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Great service and food options. Cuts of meat were excellent. Options at the salad bar were plenty. Left there very satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

We had lunch for three and everything we ate was delicious. This was our first time at a Brazillian steak house and it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just an okay place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

This brazilian steak house was not as great as Espetius or Fogo de Chao. Their selections were much smaller and minimal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Worth it, but not the best around

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

It was a Friday night and the place was packed. Despite this, the servers were attentive and quick. Special treat that they have chicken hearts. The Top sirloin was good, the pork ribs were really good and the bacon wrapped filet mignon was meh. The salad bar leaves you wanting.

All-in-all it was an enjoyable evening, and most of the food was worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

boyfriend's surprised birthday dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Food was great, we tried different Brazilian steakhouses but this is one of the best in the bay area. My boyfriend is picky about food, but he liked this place a lot. Afterall, it was a plus :D

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easy in and out

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Since it's buffet style, there's no ordering except for drinks and dessert. You can walk in and start eating immediately!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.