Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse

Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse is proud to share the traditions, culture and food of southern Brazil.
Rodizio is a popular Brazilian style barbecue, a continuous service of a wide variety of different cuts of beef, pork, lamb and chicken that is slowly cooked with special grills to preserve all their natural juices and flavors. You may enjoy as much as you like, all for one fixed price. Enjoy this gastronomical adventure called Rodizio along with the unique style and tradition of the Brazilian Gaucho.

167 W. San Fernando St
San Jose, CA 95113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm, Saturday-Sunday: 12:00pm-3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
South San Pedro St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 294-0110

Website:
http://www.taurinussteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking is available for our customers.

Private Party Contact:
Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse: (408) 294-0110

Additional:
Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access

Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
See All
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fun (9)
Casual (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Romantic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
255 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Father's Day dinner was awesome. The food was great, the service was spectacular and the price was spot on for this special occasion.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

I really wanted to love this place, but they made it a little hard to. All the food tasted great, my problem was when they would bring the meat skewers to our table. In the beginning it was fine, they would bring all red meats. But as they kept coming by our table, all we were offered was red meat, especially the top sirloin. Where was the chicken?? It wasn't until a manager came to our table and asked if there was anything we needed. We requested chicken and a few other things. Well the other items slowly arrived, but it took a long time for the chicken to come over and by that time we're almost full from the items from the buffet.

Also the restaurant is a bit crowded for my liking, especially since you have to get up and pick up items from the buffet. We were seated right next to the hostess podium, so every time I made my way back to my table I had to squeeze past the waiters/waitresses/host/hostess. It was too tight of a squeeze while holding a large plate full of food to take another route.

I most likely won't go back because there is another brazillian steakhouse that my husband and I already love. I wanted to try a new place that was a little bit closer to home.

I did love that the staff was very attentive and they tried their best to make sure we had everything that we needed.

Great customer service, great tasting food, just a little disorganized when serving meats.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Excellent and attentive staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Courteous and attentive staff. Good variety of food for a reasonable price.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food served in a unique way. Service is top notch. Will definitely come back here any time we're in San Jose.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Held our sons graduation party here. Format worked great for hungry college students and waitstaff was very responsive. Glad we had window seating, as it was possible to talk (moderate noise level) and food and desserts were great. No complaints. Perfect for the occasion.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Delicious. Everything was amazing. Wonderful service. The Peanut Butter Thing...yep that's the nam for desert was off the hook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great restaurant. They have great service and fresh food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Buena variedad de cortes, muy buena atención, y un ambiente tranquilo... ideal para poder platicar con tu pareja o una cena de negocios...

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The salad bar only lunch was about $20/person and the salad bar + meat lunch was about $25. This isn't an everyday lunch place, but somewhere you go for the occasional splurge or celebration. The salad bar was nicely presented and had a nice healthy variety. There were a few "hot" items such as rice, beans, chicken stroganoff, and beef crepes. The service was attentive and warm. My friends who had meat enjoyed the cuts they ate.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really enjoyed it. The salad bar was excellent. Our service was fair had to ask for and order desert three times. Requested coffee with cream got the coffee no cream, received milk after coffee was cold. It however, was still a great experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I was here for my husband's birthday at the end of December and took the ladies from the office for lunch (Admin day). Everyone loved it and I dared all to try the chicken hearts (they are amazing). I enjoy all the food but my favorites are the top sirloin and the chicken hearts. Beware of the pork if you are salt sensitive. They are tasty, but are pretty salty. Desserts are to die for - especially the crepe (don't recall the exact name) and chocolate mousse.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I had an amazing time at Taurinus for my partner's birthday on a Friday evening!
The best thing about Taurinus was definitely their quality of service for me.
They were extremely attentive, and I never felt intruded, and I never felt neglected, either. The workers here really seemed to go above and beyond in order to provide the fantastic service.
I had mentioned early on during the dinner that it was my partner's birthday, and they said they would be able to do something special. At the end, when I asked for the check, I never had to remind them about the birthday special as they ended up bringing out the lovely ice cream dessert and sang a brief happy birthday greeting in Portuguese.
As for the food, I thought it was great, as well. The only thing was that sometimes they would not quite give you the exact cut of meat you requested for as our medium rare requests sometimes fell under very rare or nearly well done. Besides that, the food was still amazing. My favorites were surprisingly the chicken hearts and the chicken wings.
Their salad bar is amazing and I loved that they had paella available as well. They did not skimp on the seafood amount in the paella, at all, which really impressed me. I have recommended this place to my friends and think that everyone should definitely try out this particular steakhouse for both the great food, and even greater service. Thank you for the beautiful experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food here is always reliable. And the services is great. Never did my water cup get empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Try a Brazillian steakhouse they said, you'll love it they said... We both found the food lacking in flavor or bland, granted we both brine/marinade, smoke/grill our own food on a regular basis. I guess the allure is that someone is bringing meat to your table and cutting you off a piece and.... that's it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

They are the best at Taurinus. They have great meat selection and they treat us like family. Like we are a part of the core. Always enjoy the dining experience. It's a hidden gem in downtown San Jose.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great place though pretty loud and hard to have a conversation with people across from your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

It was only ok and nothing spectacular about the whole dinning experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The restaurant decor is very plain. The food is in general very salty. Definitely not good for those managing hypertension. They offer a very broad selection of meats: chicken wings/leg, leg of lamb, filet mignon, sirloin steak, and so on. All meat is served on skewers at the table. Not much selection for side dishes -- for example, no potatoes -- just rice. Same for the salad bar which was pretty mundane. All in all the food was good but not great and the service was very good. Not great value when you consider the average per person cost (excluding alcoholic beverages) is over $50. Everyone in our party agreed that competing Brazilian Barbecue restaurants offer a much better dining experience for about the same price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great food and a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Not only is the food in the serve-yourself area very good, but the meats that are brought around are really good, too. I like that they bring around a real variety. My favorites were the lamb and the chicken, but the pork and different types of beef were also good. Paired with the potato salad and asparagus, it was a delicious meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I went here with friends - a night out without the kids. Both the service and food was great in a fund atmosphere. Would absolutely go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great experience as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent service. Food pretty good, some of the salad selections were a little disappointing. The enchiladas were outstanding. Some of the beef items were a little tough. We went for lunch, so no lamb.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

If you have a big appetite, this is the place to go! You will definitely get your fill of food. I tell myself I'll just have the salads, etc., but no, I had to have all the different meats. If you get there early enough, you can get a seat without reservations, but any later, you'll need reservations. There is a parking garage conveniently across the street. I would absolutely recommend this this place.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Best Brazilian stake house in San Jose.! Better by far from the other one, in the most notable location.!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

For the price, I expected better service, better environment, and quality food. The service was slow. I had to ask for the good cut of meat to be brought around. I asked for a glass of ice and had to ask another employee after waiting over 15 min. The place smelled like sewage. It probably was the smell of raw meat. My wife barely ate because 95% of the meat that came around was raw.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was our first experience at a Brazilian Grill. From the phenomenal service to the amazing food. We can't wait to come back. From the 3 of us in our group, simply wonderful from the moment we entered to the time we left.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Second time coming on a date with my boyfriend and the staff were all very kind and the food was just as delicious as the last time! The dessert we enjoyed were orange crepes with vanilla ice cream in a chocolate bowl.... one of the best desserts I've had! It exceeded my expectations and was a great ending to our meal! We always look forward to the chance to eat at Taurinus and tell our families and friends about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place was great. The ambiance was awesome and the food was great. The service was great and the manager even thanked us before we left for coming to his establishment. Next time we will go for dinner since lunch has less selections as far as the meat goes. This was perfect for our pre-Valentines Day. Only drawback is the parking.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a great dinner here with my wife and another couple. Given it was the Saturday before Valentines Day, we expected it to be busy. We were disappointed that the tables were crammed so closely together. There was literally about 1-2 feet between each table - just barely enough space for the servers to squeeze between tables.

The Food was incredible. They served many of the meats that you would expect at a Brazilian Churrasco style steakhouse. The salad bar was solid, offering quite a few veggie and some meat options.

For being such a busy night , the service was up to par. There were a few time where we had to wait to get some of the meats we liked, but it was a good break between slamming down our food. Great time, Really good food. It was really loud, but to be expected on a "Holiday weekend". Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The choice of meats was fantastic, allows you to try new things in smaller portions with little waste. Flavor of the meat was delicious. I'd like to see a fruit salad without raw onion for next time! Enjoyed the experience very much!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

it was delicious. we really only had the meats we didnt have any of the hot items in the back. We did have to ask for the more expensive cuts. but they definitely rotated the selections.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Full house on a Saturday night. Most staff were nice, but our waiter could be better. It's all you can eat meat so after our waiter brought our drinks (not really provided any recommendation or pairing of wine), she wasn't to be seen and we had to flag her down for more bread and mustard. $50 per head is steep (only $5 less than Fogo de Chao) yet the salad buffet was very disappointing (same as Fogo de Chao) and they didn't even have prime rib. I only eat a few slices of fresh mozzarella. If you really like meat and can eat a lot more than us, this may be your place. In short at $50 per person, service and food could be better; although, the staff and floor manager were all nice; except the two hostesses could use a smile on their face-their job is to greet not scaring customers.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good service at a busy Brazilian Steakhouse. Conveniently located in downtown San Jose, Taurinus provides a fun atmosphere to celebrate and enjoy a hearty meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

First time here, it was for a friend's birthday. Was not impress by the service or the food. Felt very rushed, the waiter kept wanting to clear our plates. Was not informed that we had to pay $20 for a cake fee until I got there and handed them the cake. I think the cake fee is ridiculous, you expect people to pay about $75 per person for the meal, a soda and tax and you still want to charge them a cake fee? The food was not all that great for me to return here again! Very disapointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I was taken aback by the final bill actually, after eating and feeling like the selection of "served" meats (and a pineapple) was much more limited than I've experienced at other Brazilian steakhouses. The quality was ok, but not the best I've had, and the salad bar and hot dishes were also fine, but the overall theme of the food was "good, but nothing to write home about". The drinks were also just alright. But the space was so tight, the table we were sat at was much too small for 6 of us to be comfortable, and there was no intimacy to the dining at all. Conversation was hard because of noise level, particularly one part of the evening where there was 4 birthday 'celebrations' back to back.
Overall, while I didn't mind the food, everything felt just overpriced enough that I left feeling a bit turned off by the whole experience. And I'm not cheap. I don't mind paying a high bill when things are great. But I wouldn't have called much from this dinner great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Brazilian steakhouses are fun. This place is a nice space. The staff was friendly enough except it took a very long time for the second round of flap steak.

The meats were very salty. I like soft bacon but this was extremely soft. The pork ribs were overdone. The sirloin was far too tough & rare. The best meats were the bacon-wrapped chicken breast pieces & the flap steak. I didn't taste the lamb, pineapple, beef ribs, chicken hearts, or whatever was coated w/ Parmesan cheese.

The salad/cold bar has many choices but none of them appealed to my simpleton taste. I assembled a salad but the Brazilian Vinaigrette was watery & bitter. There were two kinds of grilled veggies. One was eggplant. I tried the other but couldn't tell what it was & didn't ask.

The small bread plate was fried banana, fried cornbread, & cheese puffs -- not good especially at room temperature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (München)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The quality of the food was really not good and for that really too expensive. Can not recommend at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Exceptional service
Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.