About Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse

167 W. San Fernando St
San Jose, CA 95113
View Larger Map

Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse is proud to share the traditions, culture and food of southern Brazil.
Rodizio is a popular Brazilian style barbecue, a continuous service of a wide variety of different cuts of beef, pork, lamb and chicken that is slowly cooked with special grills to preserve all their natural juices and flavors. You may enjoy as much as you like, all for one fixed price. Enjoy this gastronomical adventure called Rodizio along with the unique style and tradition of the Brazilian Gaucho.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm, Saturday-Sunday: 12:00pm-3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
South San Pedro St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 294-0110

Website:
http://taurinussteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking is available for our customers.

Private Party Contact:
Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse: 4082940110

Additional:
Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse, San Jose, CA
Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse, San Jose, CA

Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (14)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Fun (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Casual (3)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Romantic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall a subpar experience. From salad ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Overall a subpar experience. From salad bar to dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place to go if you are really hung ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great place to go if you are really hungry and NOT a vegetarian. Lots of different meats and the service was good given the crowd. A bit expensive unless you can eat a ton of food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding food quality, wines and serv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Outstanding food quality, wines and service. The meats were seasoned perfectly with great variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the meats, really this is just it ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Loved the meats, really this is just it it - a lot of totally awesome meats, from sirloin to chicken hearts.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Management were great but food was just ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Management were great but food was just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Roving waiters with 16 different cuts of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Roving waiters with 16 different cuts of meat makes for fun "extreme-Atkins" dinner. A little noisy but not overbearing; good service. Margaritas were nothing special, but chocolate lava cake was out of this world. Make sure you're VERY hungry when you go!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I had been to this restaurant a few time ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I had been to this restaurant a few time already, and i had been talking about it to my friends and how much better the meat was than fogo. Well I was right the meat is a lot better, but the amount of meat we received was very minimal. I remember going to fogo, as soon as you let them know you want more meat they were non stop, and at Taurinus we were constantly waiting and waiting. I felt disappointment, because i gave this place rave reviews but there was one point it felt like 20 mins went by we went without meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

For a Saturday evening it wasn't very bu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

For a Saturday evening it wasn't very busy. I made a reservation but for that day anyway it wasn't necessary. The service was excellent and attentive. The food is very good and there was plenty of it. It's a bit pricey but still a great place to have dinner with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Brought my family for a birthday dinner. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Brought my family for a birthday dinner. It exceeded our expectations. We left happy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Spicy, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went there on a rainy Sunday night. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We went there on a rainy Sunday night. It was not crowded and the noise level was not unpleasant. The array of food on the salad bar was more than adequate. I have been to a number of Brazilian style restaurants. The carved meats were good but not exceptional. The flavor of the carved lacked distinction. Service was more than adequate, friendly and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not enough servers. Only a few meats mad ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Not enough servers. Only a few meats made it to our table and had to ask for most. For what it costs, they give you tiny drinks (soda) from the bar and charge you for refills. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

I have been to quite a few Brazilian Ste ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I have been to quite a few Brazilian Steakhouses before and this particular location about 3 times. The first time here I had an amazing experience, the second time was good, the most recent was just okay. We had made a reservation for 8pm on a Saturday night for a birthday and we arrived early and still had to wait for a table to get set up, so we didn't get seated until almost 8:30pm. The meats came out really slow and they were all medium but was definitely rare just a bit seared on the outside. We had to ask them many times to cook our meats a bit longer, so we played the waiting game. The service was also slow for a Saturday night, our server checked in on us maybe once after we ordered our drinks. Definitely feel as if the quality and service has gone down. Not sure if I'd come back here.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Was a great time for me and my friends w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Was a great time for me and my friends who flew in for the football game. We went there to strap our feed bags on and were not disappointed. Food was great, and the staff was friendly. The reason for the downgraded scores were that the service why they were friendly it was very slow. It was very busy, there was that, but to constantly be waiting on the next steak in a Brazilian steak house is hard. It was also VERY loud in there. So do not be expecting some cozy place when everyone has to yell to be heard.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I'm spoiled - have been to the best. TH ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I'm spoiled - have been to the best. THought it was good - not amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very nice restaurant in a not so very ni ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very nice restaurant in a not so very nice neighborhood. Friendly and welcoming service. Would've enjoyed a few more meat options for lunch and we feel the price is a tad on the high side. Although we really enjoy the charcoal and subtle smoky flavor of the meats, we did find everything too salty.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and the meat is very tasty an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great food and the meat is very tasty and endless. Salads are very fresh too.

Service is great and the water and iced tea are always topped off quickly. Good for a fast lunch since there's no menu and you can walk in and grab a plate and eat immediately.

Desserts are excellent too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So, I decided to take my Father here for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

So, I decided to take my Father here for his 81 B-day. Neither myself or my Father have ever had Brazilian food. We had the lunch buffet and weren't disappointed. The meat selection was excellent. The salad ball was an mixture of salads and fresh fruit. The waiting staff were exceptional. Definetly exceeded our expectations. First timers, but we will be back...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service! It's been ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food and great service! It's been the best Brazilian steak house I've been to.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was very good. The food was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The service was very good. The food was decent. The meats are properly cooked. Biggest, and probably the only, complaint is that the tastes are on the lighter side. Been to other Brazilian steakhouses and was expecting more flavors. The cooked surfaces are well seasoned but the interior meat was just too blend. Wish they had marinated or infused more seasoning into the meats. But overall it's not bad.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Really disappointing. Meat was poorly se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Really disappointing. Meat was poorly seasoned and all cuts tasted the same. Drinks were overpriced and the service was slow to non-existent. Enormous pricetag close to $200 for really low quality. Never returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Taurinus food was delicious. The ambienc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Taurinus food was delicious. The ambience was nice, quiet, low lighting. More of a fine dining atmosphere. Not a place I would come every week because it will set you back about $50 per person not including drinks but we will return on occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was amazing! The food was gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service was amazing! The food was great. They made my husbands birthday really special :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The staff was wonderful the food delicio ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The staff was wonderful the food delicious. 100times better than Fogo de chow!!!!

I love this place! Our goto place when we want to treat ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A lively atmosphere & great food. We lef ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 11, 2016

A lively atmosphere & great food. We left stuffed with delicious sides of salads, vegetables, traditional black bean stew, and the never ending servings of meat. It was lots of fun to try the different cuts of beef, chicken and pork. It was an experience we will always remember.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Having been to Fogo de Chao, I was curio ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Having been to Fogo de Chao, I was curious how this place would compare. I can now say it's better than Fogo. The meat was juicy and flavorful. The salad bar was fantastic. And I loved the chimichurri sauce. Great desserts too. Definitely a place to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a typical Brazilian churrascaria - ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

It's a typical Brazilian churrascaria - Brazilian BBQ. There's a big salad bar with hot side dishes (including yummy paella with actual seafood) that is meant to fill you up. Then they come around with endless meats - 14 different cuts of beef, chicken, lamb, and pork....and grilled pineapple. Maybe a bit generic, but the food tastes delicious. It is all you can eat, and it is expensive; so plan ahead.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The sirloin (picanha) was excellent! I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The sirloin (picanha) was excellent! I tried the chicken heart in the spirit of adventure but it's not really my kind of thing-- more like organ meat. Pork loin and red wine marinaded steak were a little tough. Delicious grilled asparagus at the salad bar. Dessert (Brazilian crepes with mango syrup on top) was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Equal or better than Fogo da Chao. I thi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Equal or better than Fogo da Chao. I think the salad bar was better than Fogo. I thought it really tasty and a very special place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My reservation is by2 pm and the restaur ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on July 13, 2016

My reservation is by2 pm and the restaurant close at 2 pm. Incongruent....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was just okay. Food was good - actual ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was just okay. Food was good - actually enjoyed the salad bar more than most of the cuts of meat. I kept asking for rare but was served more well done than not. The noise level was horrible - and it wasn't all that full or busy. No round tables - only long, so it was difficult to speak with our party at each end.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Food is ok, nothing to rave about. the p ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food is ok, nothing to rave about. the pork ribs were good and so was the sirloin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I brought my family and we had a very pl ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 25, 2016

I brought my family and we had a very pleasant experience. We received a very warm accommodation by the staff and restaurant owner who visited our table several times to ensure that we are enjoying our dining experience. I will certainly come back again for great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food, service. Everything was perfect. P ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Food, service. Everything was perfect. Pace yourselves, though, the green/red color wheels were especially helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Maybe because we were by the window, but ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Maybe because we were by the window, but they did not come around as much. The good was delicious though. Had to wait a while for filet mignon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Horrible. Can NOT be compared to Fogo, P ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Horrible. Can NOT be compared to Fogo, Pampus or even Espetus. Just not that level of quality in food or service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Loved it!! Took my hubby and dad here fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Loved it!! Took my hubby and dad here for Father's Day, and they also loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are a meat lover, you will love t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2016

If you are a meat lover, you will love this restaurant. We enjoyed trying the various meat options brought around by the servers. The sides and salad bar was excellent. Plenty of sides and salads to choose from. Will definitely visit again for the next special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There's not a lot of different selection ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

There's not a lot of different selections of meat during lunch. However, the desserts were V good. We had d Caramelized Pineapple & Tres Leche. V well done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Good servings, great food and fast servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Good servings, great food and fast service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything about our time at Taurinus wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything about our time at Taurinus was amazing. They seated us quickly, and showed us the ropes! The food is amazing, the grilled pineapple is to die for! We will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.