Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse

Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse is proud to share the traditions, culture and food of southern Brazil.
Rodizio is a popular Brazilian style barbecue, a continuous service of a wide variety of different cuts of beef, pork, lamb and chicken that is slowly cooked with special grills to preserve all their natural juices and flavors. You may enjoy as much as you like, all for one fixed price. Enjoy this gastronomical adventure called Rodizio along with the unique style and tradition of the Brazilian Gaucho.

167 W. San Fernando St
San Jose, CA 95113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm, Saturday-Sunday: 12:00pm-3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
South San Pedro St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 294-0110

Website:
http://www.taurinusbraziliansteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking is available for our customers.

Private Party Contact:
Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse: (408) 294-0110

Additional:
Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access

Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (18)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fun (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Casual (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Romantic (3)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food here is always reliable. And the services is great. Never did my water cup get empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Try a Brazillian steakhouse they said, you'll love it they said... We both found the food lacking in flavor or bland, granted we both brine/marinade, smoke/grill our own food on a regular basis. I guess the allure is that someone is bringing meat to your table and cutting you off a piece and.... that's it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

They are the best at Taurinus. They have great meat selection and they treat us like family. Like we are a part of the core. Always enjoy the dining experience. It's a hidden gem in downtown San Jose.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great place though pretty loud and hard to have a conversation with people across from your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

It was only ok and nothing spectacular about the whole dinning experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The restaurant decor is very plain. The food is in general very salty. Definitely not good for those managing hypertension. They offer a very broad selection of meats: chicken wings/leg, leg of lamb, filet mignon, sirloin steak, and so on. All meat is served on skewers at the table. Not much selection for side dishes -- for example, no potatoes -- just rice. Same for the salad bar which was pretty mundane. All in all the food was good but not great and the service was very good. Not great value when you consider the average per person cost (excluding alcoholic beverages) is over $50. Everyone in our party agreed that competing Brazilian Barbecue restaurants offer a much better dining experience for about the same price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great food and a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Not only is the food in the serve-yourself area very good, but the meats that are brought around are really good, too. I like that they bring around a real variety. My favorites were the lamb and the chicken, but the pork and different types of beef were also good. Paired with the potato salad and asparagus, it was a delicious meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I went here with friends - a night out without the kids. Both the service and food was great in a fund atmosphere. Would absolutely go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great experience as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent service. Food pretty good, some of the salad selections were a little disappointing. The enchiladas were outstanding. Some of the beef items were a little tough. We went for lunch, so no lamb.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Best Brazilian stake house in San Jose.! Better by far from the other one, in the most notable location.!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

For the price, I expected better service, better environment, and quality food. The service was slow. I had to ask for the good cut of meat to be brought around. I asked for a glass of ice and had to ask another employee after waiting over 15 min. The place smelled like sewage. It probably was the smell of raw meat. My wife barely ate because 95% of the meat that came around was raw.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was our first experience at a Brazilian Grill. From the phenomenal service to the amazing food. We can't wait to come back. From the 3 of us in our group, simply wonderful from the moment we entered to the time we left.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Second time coming on a date with my boyfriend and the staff were all very kind and the food was just as delicious as the last time! The dessert we enjoyed were orange crepes with vanilla ice cream in a chocolate bowl.... one of the best desserts I've had! It exceeded my expectations and was a great ending to our meal! We always look forward to the chance to eat at Taurinus and tell our families and friends about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place was great. The ambiance was awesome and the food was great. The service was great and the manager even thanked us before we left for coming to his establishment. Next time we will go for dinner since lunch has less selections as far as the meat goes. This was perfect for our pre-Valentines Day. Only drawback is the parking.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a great dinner here with my wife and another couple. Given it was the Saturday before Valentines Day, we expected it to be busy. We were disappointed that the tables were crammed so closely together. There was literally about 1-2 feet between each table - just barely enough space for the servers to squeeze between tables.

The Food was incredible. They served many of the meats that you would expect at a Brazilian Churrasco style steakhouse. The salad bar was solid, offering quite a few veggie and some meat options.

For being such a busy night , the service was up to par. There were a few time where we had to wait to get some of the meats we liked, but it was a good break between slamming down our food. Great time, Really good food. It was really loud, but to be expected on a "Holiday weekend". Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The choice of meats was fantastic, allows you to try new things in smaller portions with little waste. Flavor of the meat was delicious. I'd like to see a fruit salad without raw onion for next time! Enjoyed the experience very much!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

it was delicious. we really only had the meats we didnt have any of the hot items in the back. We did have to ask for the more expensive cuts. but they definitely rotated the selections.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Full house on a Saturday night. Most staff were nice, but our waiter could be better. It's all you can eat meat so after our waiter brought our drinks (not really provided any recommendation or pairing of wine), she wasn't to be seen and we had to flag her down for more bread and mustard. $50 per head is steep (only $5 less than Fogo de Chao) yet the salad buffet was very disappointing (same as Fogo de Chao) and they didn't even have prime rib. I only eat a few slices of fresh mozzarella. If you really like meat and can eat a lot more than us, this may be your place. In short at $50 per person, service and food could be better; although, the staff and floor manager were all nice; except the two hostesses could use a smile on their face-their job is to greet not scaring customers.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good service at a busy Brazilian Steakhouse. Conveniently located in downtown San Jose, Taurinus provides a fun atmosphere to celebrate and enjoy a hearty meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

First time here, it was for a friend's birthday. Was not impress by the service or the food. Felt very rushed, the waiter kept wanting to clear our plates. Was not informed that we had to pay $20 for a cake fee until I got there and handed them the cake. I think the cake fee is ridiculous, you expect people to pay about $75 per person for the meal, a soda and tax and you still want to charge them a cake fee? The food was not all that great for me to return here again! Very disapointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I was taken aback by the final bill actually, after eating and feeling like the selection of "served" meats (and a pineapple) was much more limited than I've experienced at other Brazilian steakhouses. The quality was ok, but not the best I've had, and the salad bar and hot dishes were also fine, but the overall theme of the food was "good, but nothing to write home about". The drinks were also just alright. But the space was so tight, the table we were sat at was much too small for 6 of us to be comfortable, and there was no intimacy to the dining at all. Conversation was hard because of noise level, particularly one part of the evening where there was 4 birthday 'celebrations' back to back.
Overall, while I didn't mind the food, everything felt just overpriced enough that I left feeling a bit turned off by the whole experience. And I'm not cheap. I don't mind paying a high bill when things are great. But I wouldn't have called much from this dinner great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Brazilian steakhouses are fun. This place is a nice space. The staff was friendly enough except it took a very long time for the second round of flap steak.

The meats were very salty. I like soft bacon but this was extremely soft. The pork ribs were overdone. The sirloin was far too tough & rare. The best meats were the bacon-wrapped chicken breast pieces & the flap steak. I didn't taste the lamb, pineapple, beef ribs, chicken hearts, or whatever was coated w/ Parmesan cheese.

The salad/cold bar has many choices but none of them appealed to my simpleton taste. I assembled a salad but the Brazilian Vinaigrette was watery & bitter. There were two kinds of grilled veggies. One was eggplant. I tried the other but couldn't tell what it was & didn't ask.

The small bread plate was fried banana, fried cornbread, & cheese puffs -- not good especially at room temperature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (München)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The quality of the food was really not good and for that really too expensive. Can not recommend at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Exceptional service
Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Service and the variety of food was GREAT! The meats were coated in salt, so much so that if you had an outside piece, it crunched when you bit into it from the salt. Tables were very close together. Overall good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Kids loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I've been here about 5 times now. I must say that the food has consistently been good. I had 1 bad experience in service when the restaurant was crowded, which I hope they have improved upon. I was basically sitting at the end of their meat rotation and would just get the worst parts of the meat and had to wait for a new batch. My last visit was on Friday and it was fabulous. The buffet was good and so the food. All the meat is of high quality and is seasoned well. Other Brazilian restaurants make the mistake of overly seasoning the meat. This place does not make that place. Way better than Fogo De Chao in Santana Row in all ways. I will be back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We love love dining here! They never fail to make arrangements for us even if we reserve last minute on big holidays such as NYE or Valentine's Day. We always choose to Taurinus for our Brazilian desires!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was delicious. The staff was very friendly and attentive. They have a great variety of meats and sides to choose from.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was my 4th time at the restaurant. Past three times were pleasant but this time was the opposite. It was crowded, as expected during the holidays. The service and food were major disappointments. Our servers were unattentive and walked right by us when we tried to flag them down. A few times I called out that I wanted to try to selection they had and they kept walking. The hostess had mentioned there were 14 different meats available but honestly, we saw at most 6. Most of the meats were undercooked and overly salty. My wife was really disappointed when the chicken hearts, her favorite, were borderline raw. My brother and another friend were also very upset at the lack of attention from the servers and management. They had to ask 5 different servers and waited over 35 minutes for chicken wings. We were not the only table to have a talk with the manager, 2 other tables did too. Sad to say that this will probably be the last time we are going here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The variety of meat was astounding. You must try the chicken hearts, they had a wonderful flavor. I also highly recommend the grilled Pineapple-simply AMAZING! And I don't like cooked pineapple. This is carnivore heaven. Not worth the cost if you are vegetarian though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

my gf and I were glad that we tried it. We also
experienced the one at SR, but Tairinius experience
is like family, and not like a commercial one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our first time there. There were five of us, two actually from Brazil. The food was quite good, however the Brazilians, while they loved the meat, were not at all thrilled by the Brazilian staples at the buffet. For a Brazilian steakhouse the meat service, while quite pleasant, was also quite slow. I think this was due to the meat coming out of the kitchen slow, we could see the servers queued up waiting, and it was very crowded. This was causing the kitchen to send out the meat quite rare, I believe. This was ok for me, but one of our group could not eat that rare, so we kept asking for more well done. After several tries, the manager finally has some sliced and grilled, I have to say it was the best of the day! It was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The service was impeccable! I don't mind driving far for this place! I'll be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Servers came around quite often and were very engaging. Depending on where you sit, the meats may be slim picking by the time it reaches your table. However, they were accommodating when requesting certain meats.

Restroom is single use and needs an upgrade with a queue line of patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Taurinos offers an authentic Brazilian experience. From the amazing cuts of meat, to the delicious cheese bread (pão de queijo) along with the caipirinha, this is the full experience. To top it all up, the staff is extremely nice and courteous, making you feel right at home.
I have eaten at this restaurant multiple times now, different days of the week, different times, and the experience is consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We like to try interesting restaurants for special occasions. Taurinus offered something my son had never had, sowe took him for his birthday. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.