Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse

Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse is proud to share the traditions, culture and food of southern Brazil.
Rodizio is a popular Brazilian style barbecue, a continuous service of a wide variety of different cuts of beef, pork, lamb and chicken that is slowly cooked with special grills to preserve all their natural juices and flavors. You may enjoy as much as you like, all for one fixed price. Enjoy this gastronomical adventure called Rodizio along with the unique style and tradition of the Brazilian Gaucho.

167 W. San Fernando St
San Jose, CA 95113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm, Saturday-Sunday: 12:00pm-3:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
South San Pedro St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 294-0110

Website:
http://www.taurinussteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking is available for our customers.

Additional:
Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access

Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Business Meals (6)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Romantic (3)
Casual (2)
Cozy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
284 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

34th wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2017

We chose this Brazilian restaurant in downtown San Jose because of other rave reviews (comparing it with Fogo de Chao). The items for lunch were enough, but I don't know if it would be enough for dinner. Since we were there early for lunch, and probably the first to get the meats, we ended up getting the outer, saltier cuts. The meats that came around, especially the sirloin seemed tough for my taste. I really liked the spare ribs, which had a crusty coasting. I didn't choose the organ meat, but in hindsight, this would have been the place to try it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Our first time there...just visiting the city for the weekend. Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Some of the meats are a little bit too salty but other than that it is perfect for date nights or special occasions.
Cheese bread was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Pretty small meat selection and pretty average salad bar. Good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2017

I brought my wife and 3 year old daughter to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. The staff + the food made this experience memorable, we will definitely be back soon. The food was so delicious this was the first time we ate at a Brazilian steakhouse, we didn’t know what to expect. My suggestion, serve yourself small portions at the salad bar, Trust me you will be happy you did and save some room for the endless rounds of various meats. All the food served taste amazing, if we had to choose our favorites, we loved the flank steak, lamb, bacon wrapped chicken and bacon wrapped beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

The food was great and the service was outstanding. This restaurant is an ideal place for group dinners because the constant rotation of meats is an excellent way to stimulate conversations (i.e. compare tasting experiences). I highly recommend that you come with an appetite because the "all-you-can-eat" meat rotation is a little pricey. Overall, it's worth it for a first-time experience....Enjoy!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Excellent service, nice decor, and unlimited amounts of delicious beef. A fun place for the special occasion.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The meat, the sides, the service was all awesome. I've been to Espetus, Fogo de Chao, and Pampas and this place outranks them all. They bring out more meat more frequently. The sides are just as good, if not better. The size of the restaurant creates a nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent! Way better than Foga de Choa. If I spelled it right.
I tried the competition a couple of times and loved the concept but the food was lacking in flavor. I'm glad I didn't give up on Brazilian Style steakhouses .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food was not as good as the first time we went there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great selection of meats!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

This Brazilian steakhouse was great, meat was excellent as were the sides and salad bar. Only negative was the short wine list and expensive cocktails $12-15 for basic well drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My husband and I decided to try something different and I found this place. we decided to go here and the food was excellent and excellent customer service.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Overall food was amazing, but i felt like me and my gf were being forgotten by the servers with the meats, we literally only tried like 4 different types out of idk how many meats there were

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

THE BEST Churrascaria in Northern California.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

As far as Brazilian steakhouse experiences go, Taurinus is not the best but it is certainly not the worst. Side dishes are good and varied. Meat choices range form sirloin and filet mignon, to grilled chicken hearts (very tasty) or bacon-wrapped chicken.
The servers only carve out a couple of carpaccio-like thin slices of meat at every round. They also almost exclusively serve the outer overcooked part of otherwise quite noble pieces of beef, which is quite frustrating. This being said, the food tastes delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great food! Service was attentive, restaurant was busy but not noisy. Next time I'm in SanJo I'm going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

$40 per person for a buffet only (no meat) is pretty steep.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was good, but not as good as last time. Some of the meats were dried out - the garlic steak and parmesan pork were very dry. Some of the meats also didn't have enough flavor such as the sausage. The sirloin was definitely the best of the meats as it was medium rare and seasoned right. The salad bar was excellent too, and so was the service. We enjoy going here occasionally, although it seems the price may have increased, so this will not be one of our regular places.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The food was outstanding and the service was above and beyond! I highly recommend this restaurant. We went there before a concert at SAP and it was very convenient to the venue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Come hungry! Love the ample salad and fruit bar, Brazilian beans and side dishes. Did not know it was an all you can eat restaurant but was pleasantly surprised . Servers are VERY attentive and the meat 🍖 skewers keep coming to your full...
Absolutely loved their dessert menu -- try some of the Brazilian specialties...
My only negative is I wish they had some potato side dishes to go with the meat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We came to celebrate my wife's birthday and they didn't disappoint. The food and service was excellent. It is just a little pricey but worth the money.
Thanks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We love rodizio and this is the best in the South Bay area.
It's local with well seasoned meats and great Caiprinhas and Sangria.
We're definitely making this our go-to rodizio restaurant South Bay/Peninsula.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great service. Really enjoyed the ambience and attentiveness of the staff. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Staff was very friendly and the service was great. We were not wanting for anything. The meat was delicious. Their assortment of salads and sides was delicious too! I will surely go back soon.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

As always, my family enjoys dining at Taurinus. Restaurant manager, Matt, makes us feel always welcomed and provides impeccable dining experience. Excellent sevice by Paula ALL THE TIME. And to the rest of the servers, thank you for always serving us the best meats available. The food flavor is tasteful and the salad bar offerings are delectable. Will be back in two weeks to celebrate my birthday!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Service was personal and attentive. Food was excellent. Somewhat expensive but definitely worth it. Great experience.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day dinner was awesome. The food was great, the service was spectacular and the price was spot on for this special occasion.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I really wanted to love this place, but they made it a little hard to. All the food tasted great, my problem was when they would bring the meat skewers to our table. In the beginning it was fine, they would bring all red meats. But as they kept coming by our table, all we were offered was red meat, especially the top sirloin. Where was the chicken?? It wasn't until a manager came to our table and asked if there was anything we needed. We requested chicken and a few other things. Well the other items slowly arrived, but it took a long time for the chicken to come over and by that time we're almost full from the items from the buffet.

Also the restaurant is a bit crowded for my liking, especially since you have to get up and pick up items from the buffet. We were seated right next to the hostess podium, so every time I made my way back to my table I had to squeeze past the waiters/waitresses/host/hostess. It was too tight of a squeeze while holding a large plate full of food to take another route.

I most likely won't go back because there is another brazillian steakhouse that my husband and I already love. I wanted to try a new place that was a little bit closer to home.

I did love that the staff was very attentive and they tried their best to make sure we had everything that we needed.

Great customer service, great tasting food, just a little disorganized when serving meats.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food. Excellent and attentive staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Courteous and attentive staff. Good variety of food for a reasonable price.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Food, service, drinks, and parking across the street made it a wonderful evening. Come hungry and leave content!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food served in a unique way. Service is top notch. Will definitely come back here any time we're in San Jose.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Held our sons graduation party here. Format worked great for hungry college students and waitstaff was very responsive. Glad we had window seating, as it was possible to talk (moderate noise level) and food and desserts were great. No complaints. Perfect for the occasion.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Delicious. Everything was amazing. Wonderful service. The Peanut Butter Thing...yep that's the nam for desert was off the hook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great restaurant. They have great service and fresh food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Buena variedad de cortes, muy buena atención, y un ambiente tranquilo... ideal para poder platicar con tu pareja o una cena de negocios...

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The salad bar only lunch was about $20/person and the salad bar + meat lunch was about $25. This isn't an everyday lunch place, but somewhere you go for the occasional splurge or celebration. The salad bar was nicely presented and had a nice healthy variety. There were a few "hot" items such as rice, beans, chicken stroganoff, and beef crepes. The service was attentive and warm. My friends who had meat enjoyed the cuts they ate.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really enjoyed it. The salad bar was excellent. Our service was fair had to ask for and order desert three times. Requested coffee with cream got the coffee no cream, received milk after coffee was cold. It however, was still a great experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.