About Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse

167 W. San Fernando St
San Jose, CA 95113
View Larger Map

Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse is proud to share the traditions, culture and food of southern Brazil.
Rodizio is a popular Brazilian style barbecue, a continuous service of a wide variety of different cuts of beef, pork, lamb and chicken that is slowly cooked with special grills to preserve all their natural juices and flavors. You may enjoy as much as you like, all for one fixed price. Enjoy this gastronomical adventure called Rodizio along with the unique style and tradition of the Brazilian Gaucho.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm, Saturday-Sunday: 12:00pm-3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
South San Pedro St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 294-0110

Website:
http://taurinussteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking is available for our customers.

Private Party Contact:
Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse: (408) 294-0110

Additional:
Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse, San Jose, CA

Report a photo problem

Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (15)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Fun (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Romantic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good service at a busy Brazilian Steakho ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good service at a busy Brazilian Steakhouse. Conveniently located in downtown San Jose, Taurinus provides a fun atmosphere to celebrate and enjoy a hearty meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

First time here, it was for a friend's b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

First time here, it was for a friend's birthday. Was not impress by the service or the food. Felt very rushed, the waiter kept wanting to clear our plates. Was not informed that we had to pay $20 for a cake fee until I got there and handed them the cake. I think the cake fee is ridiculous, you expect people to pay about $75 per person for the meal, a soda and tax and you still want to charge them a cake fee? The food was not all that great for me to return here again! Very disapointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

I was taken aback by the final bill actu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I was taken aback by the final bill actually, after eating and feeling like the selection of "served" meats (and a pineapple) was much more limited than I've experienced at other Brazilian steakhouses. The quality was ok, but not the best I've had, and the salad bar and hot dishes were also fine, but the overall theme of the food was "good, but nothing to write home about". The drinks were also just alright. But the space was so tight, the table we were sat at was much too small for 6 of us to be comfortable, and there was no intimacy to the dining at all. Conversation was hard because of noise level, particularly one part of the evening where there was 4 birthday 'celebrations' back to back.

Overall, while I didn't mind the food, everything felt just overpriced enough that I left feeling a bit turned off by the whole experience. And I'm not cheap. I don't mind paying a high bill when things are great. But I wouldn't have called much from this dinner great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Brazilian steakhouses are fun. This plac ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Brazilian steakhouses are fun. This place is a nice space. The staff was friendly enough except it took a very long time for the second round of flap steak.

The meats were very salty. I like soft bacon but this was extremely soft. The pork ribs were overdone. The sirloin was far too tough & rare. The best meats were the bacon-wrapped chicken breast pieces & the flap steak. I didn't taste the lamb, pineapple, beef ribs, chicken hearts, or whatever was coated w/ Parmesan cheese.

The salad/cold bar has many choices but none of them appealed to my simpleton taste. I assembled a salad but the Brazilian Vinaigrette was watery & bitter. There were two kinds of grilled veggies. One was eggplant. I tried the other but couldn't tell what it was & didn't ask.

The small bread plate was fried banana, fried cornbread, & cheese puffs -- not good especially at room temperature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The quality of the food was really not g ...

 
 (München)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The quality of the food was really not good and for that really too expensive. Can not recommend at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Exceptional service Amazing food

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Exceptional service

Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and the variety of food was GREA ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Service and the variety of food was GREAT! The meats were coated in salt, so much so that if you had an outside piece, it crunched when you bit into it from the salt. Tables were very close together. Overall good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I've been here about 5 times now. I must ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I've been here about 5 times now. I must say that the food has consistently been good. I had 1 bad experience in service when the restaurant was crowded, which I hope they have improved upon. I was basically sitting at the end of their meat rotation and would just get the worst parts of the meat and had to wait for a new batch. My last visit was on Friday and it was fabulous. The buffet was good and so the food. All the meat is of high quality and is seasoned well. Other Brazilian restaurants make the mistake of overly seasoning the meat. This place does not make that place. Way better than Fogo De Chao in Santana Row in all ways. I will be back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love love dining here! They never fa ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We love love dining here! They never fail to make arrangements for us even if we reserve last minute on big holidays such as NYE or Valentine's Day. We always choose to Taurinus for our Brazilian desires!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious. The staff was ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was delicious. The staff was very friendly and attentive. They have a great variety of meats and sides to choose from.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 4th time at the restaurant. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was my 4th time at the restaurant. Past three times were pleasant but this time was the opposite. It was crowded, as expected during the holidays. The service and food were major disappointments. Our servers were unattentive and walked right by us when we tried to flag them down. A few times I called out that I wanted to try to selection they had and they kept walking. The hostess had mentioned there were 14 different meats available but honestly, we saw at most 6. Most of the meats were undercooked and overly salty. My wife was really disappointed when the chicken hearts, her favorite, were borderline raw. My brother and another friend were also very upset at the lack of attention from the servers and management. They had to ask 5 different servers and waited over 35 minutes for chicken wings. We were not the only table to have a talk with the manager, 2 other tables did too. Sad to say that this will probably be the last time we are going here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

The variety of meat was astounding. You ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The variety of meat was astounding. You must try the chicken hearts, they had a wonderful flavor. I also highly recommend the grilled Pineapple-simply AMAZING! And I don't like cooked pineapple. This is carnivore heaven. Not worth the cost if you are vegetarian though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

my gf and I were glad that we tried it. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

my gf and I were glad that we tried it. We also

experienced the one at SR, but Tairinius experience

is like family, and not like a commercial one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Christmas dinner

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first time there. There were five o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our first time there. There were five of us, two actually from Brazil. The food was quite good, however the Brazilians, while they loved the meat, were not at all thrilled by the Brazilian staples at the buffet. For a Brazilian steakhouse the meat service, while quite pleasant, was also quite slow. I think this was due to the meat coming out of the kitchen slow, we could see the servers queued up waiting, and it was very crowded. This was causing the kitchen to send out the meat quite rare, I believe. This was ok for me, but one of our group could not eat that rare, so we kept asking for more well done. After several tries, the manager finally has some sliced and grilled, I have to say it was the best of the day! It was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The service was impeccable! I don't mind ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The service was impeccable! I don't mind driving far for this place! I'll be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Happy Hour, , Family Style, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servers came around quite often and were ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Servers came around quite often and were very engaging. Depending on where you sit, the meats may be slim picking by the time it reaches your table. However, they were accommodating when requesting certain meats.

Restroom is single use and needs an upgrade with a queue line of patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Taurinos offers an authentic Brazilian e ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Taurinos offers an authentic Brazilian experience. From the amazing cuts of meat, to the delicious cheese bread (pão de queijo) along with the caipirinha, this is the full experience. To top it all up, the staff is extremely nice and courteous, making you feel right at home.

I have eaten at this restaurant multiple times now, different days of the week, different times, and the experience is consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We like to try interesting restaurants f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We like to try interesting restaurants for special occasions. Taurinus offered something my son had never had, sowe took him for his birthday. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall a subpar experience. From salad ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Overall a subpar experience. From salad bar to dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place to go if you are really hung ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great place to go if you are really hungry and NOT a vegetarian. Lots of different meats and the service was good given the crowd. A bit expensive unless you can eat a ton of food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding food quality, wines and serv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Outstanding food quality, wines and service. The meats were seasoned perfectly with great variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the meats, really this is just it ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Loved the meats, really this is just it it - a lot of totally awesome meats, from sirloin to chicken hearts.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Management were great but food was just ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Management were great but food was just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Roving waiters with 16 different cuts of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Roving waiters with 16 different cuts of meat makes for fun "extreme-Atkins" dinner. A little noisy but not overbearing; good service. Margaritas were nothing special, but chocolate lava cake was out of this world. Make sure you're VERY hungry when you go!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I had been to this restaurant a few time ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I had been to this restaurant a few time already, and i had been talking about it to my friends and how much better the meat was than fogo. Well I was right the meat is a lot better, but the amount of meat we received was very minimal. I remember going to fogo, as soon as you let them know you want more meat they were non stop, and at Taurinus we were constantly waiting and waiting. I felt disappointment, because i gave this place rave reviews but there was one point it felt like 20 mins went by we went without meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

For a Saturday evening it wasn't very bu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

For a Saturday evening it wasn't very busy. I made a reservation but for that day anyway it wasn't necessary. The service was excellent and attentive. The food is very good and there was plenty of it. It's a bit pricey but still a great place to have dinner with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Brought my family for a birthday dinner. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Brought my family for a birthday dinner. It exceeded our expectations. We left happy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Spicy, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went there on a rainy Sunday night. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We went there on a rainy Sunday night. It was not crowded and the noise level was not unpleasant. The array of food on the salad bar was more than adequate. I have been to a number of Brazilian style restaurants. The carved meats were good but not exceptional. The flavor of the carved lacked distinction. Service was more than adequate, friendly and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not enough servers. Only a few meats mad ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Not enough servers. Only a few meats made it to our table and had to ask for most. For what it costs, they give you tiny drinks (soda) from the bar and charge you for refills. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

I have been to quite a few Brazilian Ste ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I have been to quite a few Brazilian Steakhouses before and this particular location about 3 times. The first time here I had an amazing experience, the second time was good, the most recent was just okay. We had made a reservation for 8pm on a Saturday night for a birthday and we arrived early and still had to wait for a table to get set up, so we didn't get seated until almost 8:30pm. The meats came out really slow and they were all medium but was definitely rare just a bit seared on the outside. We had to ask them many times to cook our meats a bit longer, so we played the waiting game. The service was also slow for a Saturday night, our server checked in on us maybe once after we ordered our drinks. Definitely feel as if the quality and service has gone down. Not sure if I'd come back here.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Was a great time for me and my friends w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Was a great time for me and my friends who flew in for the football game. We went there to strap our feed bags on and were not disappointed. Food was great, and the staff was friendly. The reason for the downgraded scores were that the service why they were friendly it was very slow. It was very busy, there was that, but to constantly be waiting on the next steak in a Brazilian steak house is hard. It was also VERY loud in there. So do not be expecting some cozy place when everyone has to yell to be heard.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Best Brazilian steakhouse in Silicon Val ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Best Brazilian steakhouse in Silicon Valley!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm spoiled - have been to the best. TH ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I'm spoiled - have been to the best. THought it was good - not amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very nice restaurant in a not so very ni ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very nice restaurant in a not so very nice neighborhood. Friendly and welcoming service. Would've enjoyed a few more meat options for lunch and we feel the price is a tad on the high side. Although we really enjoy the charcoal and subtle smoky flavor of the meats, we did find everything too salty.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and the meat is very tasty an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great food and the meat is very tasty and endless. Salads are very fresh too.

Service is great and the water and iced tea are always topped off quickly. Good for a fast lunch since there's no menu and you can walk in and grab a plate and eat immediately.

Desserts are excellent too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So, I decided to take my Father here for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

So, I decided to take my Father here for his 81 B-day. Neither myself or my Father have ever had Brazilian food. We had the lunch buffet and weren't disappointed. The meat selection was excellent. The salad ball was an mixture of salads and fresh fruit. The waiting staff were exceptional. Definetly exceeded our expectations. First timers, but we will be back...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service! It's been ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food and great service! It's been the best Brazilian steak house I've been to.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really disappointing. Meat was poorly se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Really disappointing. Meat was poorly seasoned and all cuts tasted the same. Drinks were overpriced and the service was slow to non-existent. Enormous pricetag close to $200 for really low quality. Never returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The service was very good. The food was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The service was very good. The food was decent. The meats are properly cooked. Biggest, and probably the only, complaint is that the tastes are on the lighter side. Been to other Brazilian steakhouses and was expecting more flavors. The cooked surfaces are well seasoned but the interior meat was just too blend. Wish they had marinated or infused more seasoning into the meats. But overall it's not bad.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.