About Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse

167 W. San Fernando St
San Jose, CA 95113
View Larger Map

Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse is proud to share the traditions, culture and food of southern Brazil.
Rodizio is a popular Brazilian style barbecue, a continuous service of a wide variety of different cuts of beef, pork, lamb and chicken that is slowly cooked with special grills to preserve all their natural juices and flavors. You may enjoy as much as you like, all for one fixed price. Enjoy this gastronomical adventure called Rodizio along with the unique style and tradition of the Brazilian Gaucho.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm, Saturday-Sunday: 12:00pm-3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
South San Pedro St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 294-0110

Website:
http://taurinussteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking is available for our customers.

Private Party Contact:
Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse: 4082940110

Additional:
Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse
Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse

Taurinus Brazilian Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Food
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Service
San Jose / Silicon Valley
1 More
Best Value
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Restaurants in San Jose ›

Good for Groups (22)
Special Occasion (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Lunch (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Romantic (3)
Fun (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and the meat is very tasty an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and the meat is very tasty and endless. Salads are very fresh too.

Service is great and the water and iced tea are always topped off quickly. Good for a fast lunch since there's no menu and you can walk in and grab a plate and eat immediately.

Desserts are excellent too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So, I decided to take my Father here for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

So, I decided to take my Father here for his 81 B-day. Neither myself or my Father have ever had Brazilian food. We had the lunch buffet and weren't disappointed. The meat selection was excellent. The salad ball was an mixture of salads and fresh fruit. The waiting staff were exceptional. Definetly exceeded our expectations. First timers, but we will be back...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service! It's been ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food and great service! It's been the best Brazilian steak house I've been to.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was very good. The food was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The service was very good. The food was decent. The meats are properly cooked. Biggest, and probably the only, complaint is that the tastes are on the lighter side. Been to other Brazilian steakhouses and was expecting more flavors. The cooked surfaces are well seasoned but the interior meat was just too blend. Wish they had marinated or infused more seasoning into the meats. But overall it's not bad.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Really disappointing. Meat was poorly se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Really disappointing. Meat was poorly seasoned and all cuts tasted the same. Drinks were overpriced and the service was slow to non-existent. Enormous pricetag close to $200 for really low quality. Never returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Taurinus food was delicious. The ambienc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Taurinus food was delicious. The ambience was nice, quiet, low lighting. More of a fine dining atmosphere. Not a place I would come every week because it will set you back about $50 per person not including drinks but we will return on occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was amazing! The food was gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service was amazing! The food was great. They made my husbands birthday really special :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The staff was wonderful the food delicio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The staff was wonderful the food delicious. 100times better than Fogo de chow!!!!

I love this place! Our goto place when we want to treat ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A lively atmosphere & great food. We lef ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A lively atmosphere & great food. We left stuffed with delicious sides of salads, vegetables, traditional black bean stew, and the never ending servings of meat. It was lots of fun to try the different cuts of beef, chicken and pork. It was an experience we will always remember.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Having been to Fogo de Chao, I was curio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Having been to Fogo de Chao, I was curious how this place would compare. I can now say it's better than Fogo. The meat was juicy and flavorful. The salad bar was fantastic. And I loved the chimichurri sauce. Great desserts too. Definitely a place to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a typical Brazilian churrascaria - ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It's a typical Brazilian churrascaria - Brazilian BBQ. There's a big salad bar with hot side dishes (including yummy paella with actual seafood) that is meant to fill you up. Then they come around with endless meats - 14 different cuts of beef, chicken, lamb, and pork....and grilled pineapple. Maybe a bit generic, but the food tastes delicious. It is all you can eat, and it is expensive; so plan ahead.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The sirloin (picanha) was excellent! I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The sirloin (picanha) was excellent! I tried the chicken heart in the spirit of adventure but it's not really my kind of thing-- more like organ meat. Pork loin and red wine marinaded steak were a little tough. Delicious grilled asparagus at the salad bar. Dessert (Brazilian crepes with mango syrup on top) was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Equal or better than Fogo da Chao. I thi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Equal or better than Fogo da Chao. I think the salad bar was better than Fogo. I thought it really tasty and a very special place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My reservation is by2 pm and the restaur ...

vip
 (México)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My reservation is by2 pm and the restaurant close at 2 pm. Incongruent....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was just okay. Food was good - actual ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was just okay. Food was good - actually enjoyed the salad bar more than most of the cuts of meat. I kept asking for rare but was served more well done than not. The noise level was horrible - and it wasn't all that full or busy. No round tables - only long, so it was difficult to speak with our party at each end.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Food is ok, nothing to rave about. the p ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food is ok, nothing to rave about. the pork ribs were good and so was the sirloin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I brought my family and we had a very pl ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I brought my family and we had a very pleasant experience. We received a very warm accommodation by the staff and restaurant owner who visited our table several times to ensure that we are enjoying our dining experience. I will certainly come back again for great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food, service. Everything was perfect. P ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Food, service. Everything was perfect. Pace yourselves, though, the green/red color wheels were especially helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Horrible. Can NOT be compared to Fogo, P ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Horrible. Can NOT be compared to Fogo, Pampus or even Espetus. Just not that level of quality in food or service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Loved it!! Took my hubby and dad here fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Loved it!! Took my hubby and dad here for Father's Day, and they also loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are a meat lover, you will love t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

If you are a meat lover, you will love this restaurant. We enjoyed trying the various meat options brought around by the servers. The sides and salad bar was excellent. Plenty of sides and salads to choose from. Will definitely visit again for the next special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There's not a lot of different selection ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

There's not a lot of different selections of meat during lunch. However, the desserts were V good. We had d Caramelized Pineapple & Tres Leche. V well done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Good servings, great food and fast servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Good servings, great food and fast service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything about our time at Taurinus wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything about our time at Taurinus was amazing. They seated us quickly, and showed us the ropes! The food is amazing, the grilled pineapple is to die for! We will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day brunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a very enjoyable lunch. In addition to the wine list and salad bar, the meat selection was quite satisfying. The breads were less so, but those were not a major consideration for us.

One really has to try all the meat offerings to get the full experience. We were surprised by what we found most satisfying. The chicken, sausage, and parmesan pork ended up being our favorites. Some of the beef was a bit too chewy, though tasty enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was so delicious and service ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Everything was so delicious and service was great!!! Eder took real good care of us! He recommended a really good drink to my boyfriend that he loved so much he got another. We mentioned we came down to celebrate our anniversary and we were given a complimentary dessert. He always made sure I had iced tea and checked to make sure we were okay. All cuts of meat were flavorful and juicy. My favorites were the pork and beef ribs, sirloin and leg of lamb. My boyfriend loved the filet mignon, filet mignon with wrapped bacon, leg of lamp, and top sirloin. All the sides we're delicious! The Brazilian stew was amazing, collard greens, and mango salad. I loved the fresh prosciutto, fried polenta and fried plantains!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Did not like the crowd Service was good ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Did not like the crowd

Service was good

Did not taste the red meat

Chicken hearts, desserts and salad bar at the fogo de chao level but not quite pampas

Maybe back for some desserts of which the peanut butter piece and chocolate mousse were our favorites

Shout out to bartender for making caipirinha dry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Excellent service! Food was good, but service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love it!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Service was great. Food is good. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a quiet Sunday afternoon.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was actually much better than Fogo de Chao, however, it seems like the energy was pretty low as it was quiet in San Jose usually during weekends. The salad selection seems to be limiting compared to Fogo de Chao. I did like the grilled pineapples which Fogo de Chao did not offer and the meat selection was abundant. It was pricey and perhaps all in all the ambiance didn't make it for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Second time!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

This was our second time eating here. We initially came here 6 months ago and picked this place over another Brazilian steakhouse in the area based on the reviews. And this place doesn't disappoint! We always leave full and the staff is very attentive and kind. They made sure to check in with us frequently and were very sincere when asking if there was anything additional they could do for us. Many different choices of meat, pineapple and a salad bar. I loved their spinach strawberry salad! There also is white rice, black beans, salmon and gluten free options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the restaurant is close to home parking ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

the restaurant is close to home parking is no problem restaurant is very clean the staff was very friendly and kind the wait was minimal seating was great the salad bar was fresh and flavorful and needless to say the meat was outstandingly superb would highly recommend if you like good food you will not leave hungery and if you do you did something wrong.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but slow down

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The service was coming so fast that we were eating even before the wine was served. They rush you thru the meal by a never ending series of servers. You need to slow them down. The tables are very cramped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Service was very good. Food was pretty g ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Service was very good. Food was pretty good. Meats were on the saltier side and not as flavorful as Fogo de Chao.

Good spot that's close to the convention center and walking distance to most major hotels in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Great food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a bad Brazilian Steakhouse, but it d ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Not a bad Brazilian Steakhouse, but it did not get me excited either. Price/Value is not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Quite Lovely

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Decided to dine here for a belated birthday date night dinner with my spouse. We had a great time! Food was delicious. Wine selection is Vass and excellent. Service was exceptional! We will definitely come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food; after you finally get seated

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We made reservations on Valentine's Day and, it seems, so did everyone else in Silicon Valley. The restaurant was obviously overbooked as we waited 45 minutes past our reservation time to get seated. Management of the waiting parties was poor, nor was there adequate room for people to wait. Once we got seated, service was just ok. We had to wave down the waiter for drink refills and helped the table next to us get the meat servers to come by their table. Overall, food was good, wine list was excellent, but I would not be likely to come back because of the overall experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Very good selection of meats. A busy ni ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Very good selection of meats. A busy night for valentines day, didn't get to try everything, but of the 5 I did try, they were excellent. Cold salad bar was fresh and everything tasted great. Dessert was a large serving, hard to finish, was so full. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. So many choices.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was great. So many choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.