Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Taureau

It's a place we're dubbing a Certified First Date Safe ZoneTM. And it's open now...

Introducing Taureau, a fondue spot in SOHO helmed by a charismatic Frenchie, awaiting your next first date.

Opened by a seasoned fondue pro (Didier, who perfected his trade at his own Parisian fondue spot for 13 years), the small, space is decked in white and red, spotted with two-person tables and set up for serving one food and one food only: bubbling cauldrons of cheese, oil and chocolate.

This is pretty much all you need to know. Start with cheese, move to meat, finish with chocolate.

And don't worry about the stove-like contraption built into the surface of your table: it's designed to heat up the cauldron of fondue, but remain completely cold to the touch.

558 Broome St
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue, French

Hours of Operation:
Sunday thru Thursday 5pm to 11:30pm Kitchen closes at 10:30pm
Friday, Saturday and Holidays from 5pm to 12:30am. Kitchen closes at 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Varick St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX

Phone Number:
(212) 228-2222

Website:
http://www.taureaunyc.com/

Parking Details:
Easy parking evening time and no traffic (after Avenue of America) :)

Public Transit:
Canal 1-9 Subway 2 blocks South
Spring Street E and C 2 blocks North

Executive Chef:
Didier Pawlicki

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Taureau Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (7)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We were extremely late for our reservation and kept calling to keep the restaurant informed. They were very understanding and allowed us to move our reservation to a later time. The only thing that surprised us is that they only take cash, Amex, personal cheque or BIT COINS!?!? Wth? That seems a little sketchy to me. And they don't even mention this on their website. We only found out because we called to say we're going to be late which then made us even later because we had to find an ATM. Regardless, the cheese fondue is to die for. Worth checking out but make sure you have plenty of cash!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Brought my wife for our 11th wedding anniversary. She loves fondue and our meal was delicious. Portions were just about right, and price was reasonable (considering it’s a Manhattan eatery). Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

My daughter was determined to do fondue on this last trip to NYC. I got the reservation from OT on a day when we were going to an Improv show. We showed up early for dinner, and they seated us. (it was a Sunday so we opened the place at 5pm). the dinner is based around the fondue, and it is prix fixe. there are choices for the cheese for the apps- i got the Perigord with truffle oil (delicious) and my daughter got the swiss cheese (basic but good). entree i got the chicken breast and my kids got the filet. there is a choice of using oil or broth to cook the meat, we got one of each and they were both good. Dessert was the best: dark chocolate and milk chocolate with fruit and cut up pound cake to dip. yummy.
there is a more limited edition where you can get just the app and dessert.
personally i thought this was fun, but it's a novelty thing for me. if you want to try fondue Taureau is good, though pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The service was a bit slow in ordering the food & drinks however once my order was placed the waitor did a good job of timing the three courses which was great.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was copious (oh my god, so much cheese fondue) and utterly delicious -- we were thoroughly satisfied!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I've been here before, on a Sunday perhaps and service was great. This time it was noisy and very busy. I'd still go again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Simply amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I really liked this restaurant. All three of the courses we had were excellent (cheese, meat, dessert). Just make sure that you cook your meat long enough because their 15 second suggestion seemed too short. Also, it was a nice restaurant but it needs to upgrade to a bigger space.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful experience! We had the fondu, which was a gourmet experience that I had not expected. The service was wonderful, the food was off the charts, and the house red was delicious. A great restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We love this place in general. My wife gets the Fondu and I order from the regular restaurant menu -- which is fantastic. Authentic and savory French food. This time, however, two of the entrees did not come out until 2 people had finished their entrees. I had to get the waiter to ask him about it because he never came to see how we were doing. What upset me the most was that he did not seem very apologetic or concerned. The manager did give us a discount on the next meal so we felt a little better. I just hope the service returns to its usual form.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Nice dinner, fondue was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Amazing fondue. My daughter and I shared the fondue with black truffles. We ended the meal with chocolate fondue. Small restaurant great environment. I felt like I was in France.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2014

If you are in the mood for fondue this is the place to go. Everything was wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed it. Great fondue and really good, attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2014

I used to love this place, but have not been back in a few years. Unfortunately, it has gone downhill. Price is high for what you get. Very little meat per serving. Seating is much more uncomfortable than I remember. It was hot. While they got our order correct, they messed up the orders on either side of us, which caused such a disruption that we could never find a server for water or anything. This is the first negative review I have ever written on open table, as usually my experience is rather positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2014

Great place to eat for special occasions, very romantic, more suited for couples, small tables, don't recommend for groups bigger than 4, wonderful service, cheese fondue is to die for

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2014

Nice new concept- 3 course fondue. one of the servers with short hair was so sweet- gave us great service. The other asian girl was just okay. Tghe marinated meats were nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2014

The location was a little off the main street but not inconvenient at all. The service was great, servers- friendly, and although it was a voucher they were very accommodating for vegetarians. Nice variety of choices for fondue including the fruits, vegetables, cheeses, and dark or milk chocolate! Overall, lovely experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2014

The unlimited menu offers a variety of dipping items. I especially enjoyed the Perigord cheese, and the milk chocolate. The banana and chocolate combination seemed a bit heavy. The restaurant is cozy and romantic, but the mood was spoiled when we noticed a roach crawling on the wall beside us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2014

This was my first fondue experience, and it was incredible! I was here to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday and the eating experience puts a fun spin on eating. Be warned: you should come hungry, because everything is delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2014

The food was good but disapointing compared to what you expect watching the website. The quality is so so. But still it was good. Nice waitress that was in charge of Taureau & La Sirene at the same time. And sharing the food is always a noce experience to me. The beverage list is really overpriced though.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2014

Eveything lived up to my expectations, all the fondues were great and the service was really good. BYOB is no longer a possibility so spare your time and money buying a bottle elsewhere. I would certainly go again.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2014

We were VERY happy with our experience at Taureau restaurant. It was the best dining experience we had in the city. It was romantic, the lighting is great and the food was awesome. We have already recommended it to friends who live in the area.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2014

We will be back here. Servers get lost sometimes but they are very nice. The place is small and you will hear the conversation of the people next to you. Outside a couple places I've been in Europe this is the best fondue I've had. Can't wait to go back and try all the other fondue creations.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2014

We order just Cheese fondue for both the one with truffle was amazing and the traditional one with nutmeg is very good. And for being the only fondue restaurant in Manhattan we are lucky to have such a good place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2014

Very good cheese selections, plenty of food well presented, attentive, friendly, helpful service. If you enjoy fondue, this is a good find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2014

Had a wonderful dinner here with outstanding service - the owner was particularly present and thoughtful and attentive to everyone in this and his adjoining restaurant La Sirene. The wine was excellent (yes it's not BYOB but I've paid more for bottles that were worth less!) and the fondue was terrific. I also especially enjoyed the sides of thick bacon and chorizo. Dessert, well that was the best. Give me a pot of quality dark chocolate like they have here and I'll dip anything I can find in it to eat! Great experience despite a small space, it's decorated well and people clearly come and have a great time. Quite a nice night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2014

Enjoyed the decor and the music!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2014

Excellent little fondue place. Had a party of 4 for a birthday. Had a room to ourselves and a wonderful night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2014

The ambiance and the decor of Taureau Fondues
Make it an exceptional place, the quality of the
Food and the variety of the cheeses really take it
To a greater level. The sliced filet mignon
Melts in your mouth. I wish they also had
Raquelette.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2014

Incredibly mediocre cheese fondue. Given all the good reviews, I was shocked. I tried both their original and the spicy one recommended by our waiter. I don't know what they put in front of us, but it was not fondue textured. After struggling with it and almost pouring my wine in, a waiter noticed and told us that sometimes they just need a little bit more wine. Which is basically code for we didn't make this properly the first time. Tasted fine i guess- nothing to write home about. The spicy one was neither spicy nor tasty, so I don't really have much else to say there.

Having SO many cheese fondue options on the list is usually a red flag, but I thought I'd give it a go. You are better off at Artisanal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2014

We had a craving for fondue and wanted a place with a relaxed atmosphere. Taureau was a warm and welcoming environment from the moment we walked in. There are two rooms - one smaller than the other. The first room feels very intimate but a little cramped; the second room is a bit larger but doesn't lose the sense of intimacy.the decor is all dark wood and burgundy banquettes. It feels like you're in old world Europe. We had the three course "Full Village Prix Fixe" (the meat course) and ending with a yummy dessert fondue. Definitely recommend coming here if you're craving a unique, bona fide fondue experience! We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2014

If you're looking for fondue, consider Taureau in SOHO. I personally enjoyed it OK, but I'm not sure I'm a fondue fan. We went for the $50 per person option because the meat choices were better. That meant that the total bill quickly added up to well over $100 with wine and just one or two extra items to dip. We were well taken care of and if I was going to do fondue again, I'd go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2014

The food was okay. The place itself has 3 very small rooms that really should seat 15-20 people comfortably. There were 30 people seated in our room. The rooms are beautiful with a rustic flare. The fondue was great but not a large variety of meat choices. Over priced for the quantity and quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2014

Went with 4 friends on a Friday night. Service was good and our server explained everything we needed to know. Portion sizes were sufficient, maybe because we were all women. At the end, we were rushed out as they needed the table. We left a very generous tip but didn't like our exit out. Place is very tight. No breathing room. Restroom is extremely small. I found it to have too many tables for such a small place. Otherwise, we quite enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2014

We treated ourselves to a night of fondue. The restaurant has 3 different priced menus, which all include 3 courses of fondue—cheese, meat and chocolate. We chose the $50 pp option which included more choices of cheese and meat. The service was prompt and attentive, although 2 of the 3 courses were not as we ordered. That didn't damper the experience and i would still recommend the

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2014

Went here on V-Day with the GF. Cheese, Meat, and Chocolate fondue's were all amazing ... not cheap but amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 12, 2014

It was about 8 months since I had last been to the restaurant and so much had changed...and not for the better. It was switched from BYOB to having a minuscule, expensive wine list filled with bad choices. There were only 2 reds that you could get by the glass, so you must commit to a full bottle (which the waitress couldn't tell us much about). Most disappointing was that you now were forced to have the prix fix 3 course meal. WAY too much food. Additionally, if you don't want the desert or you don't want the meat option there are no choices. It use to be such a great place to grab a fondue and bring your own bottle of wine for a somewhat inexpensive, delicious meal. Now its an overpriced, poorly served food fest. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2014

we had a great time here. the fondue was more "interesting" than expected, the steak was very good quality. a fun change of pace. would def recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I went here on Saturday night and we had a great time. We did the $50 prixe fix meal and we ordered the truffle oil cheese for the 1st course, filet mignon for the second, and regular milk chocolate for dessert. The fondue pot never got too hot and the food tasted great. For me, it was the perfect amount of food WITH the dessert but my boyfriend said it wasn't enough meat for him to be full. Perhaps this restaurant is more fit for women and Europeans because the portions are appropriately sized, rather than the size of a typical American dinner plate. Overall very delicious and fun dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.