Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 11 times today

Taureau

4.7
489 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Fondue
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
It's a place we're dubbing a Certified First Date Safe ZoneTM. And it's open now...

Introducing Taureau, a fondue spot in SOHO helmed by a charismatic Frenchie, awaiting your next first date.

Opened by a seasoned fondue pro (Didier, who perfected his trade at his own Parisian fondue spot for 13 years), the small, space is decked in white and red, spotted with two-person tables and set up for serving one food and one food only: bubbling cauldrons of cheese, oil and chocolate.

This is pretty much all you need to know. Start with cheese, move to meat, finish with chocolate.

And don't worry about the stove-like contraption built into the surface of your table: it's designed to heat up the cauldron of fondue, but remain completely cold to the touch.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Fondue, French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday thru Thursday: 5pm to 11:30pm (kitchen closes at 10:30pm)
Friday, Saturday and Holidays from 5pm to 12:30am (kitchen closes at 11:30pm)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 228-2222
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Didier Pawlicki
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Varick St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Easy parking evening time and no traffic (after Avenue of America) :)
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Canal 1 Subway 2 blocks South
Spring Street E and C 2 blocks North
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 489 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

I hadn’t had fondue in years and was traveling for business when my colleague and I discovered this quirky restaurant. All 3 fondues on the Prix Fixe menu were excellent. We started with the perigord cheese one and ordered an extra side of veggies. The maitre brought us extra bread as well. Delicious, rich and stayed properly gooey until the last bite. The meat fondue, for which we chose the canola oil, with pork loin and filet, was also very good and the portion was also appropriately sized following the very rich cheese. Finally, the dark chocolate was a delicious finish, with fresh, well chosen fruit and some tiny cake slices. We left feeling we’d had a lovely rich meal but not overstuffed because the portion sizes were perfect. And, of course, there is the entertainment value of a bubbling pot on the table. Built in burners on the tabletops keeps everything at the right temperature (and avoids the smell that sometimes occurs with open flame from solid fuel on the table). Charming. Would do it again...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Good fondue. Ugly place

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food was delicious! However the service was not that great! The host sat us but never came back to check in on us but she did check in on the other tables. It is not a kid-friendly place because when one of the children was just looking at the candle holder he was swiftly approached by person who works there to remind him that the item he was holding was made out of glass. Then when the waiter was taking our order he quickly jumped to assume and conclude that we were going to share the prix fixe options. The waiter by the end did turn it around and provided us with many extra bread and he was friendly! It has us thinking if the treatment was based on how we were dressed! I am not sure if I would go back or recommend it to others!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

AMAZING. The $52 Prix Fixes was worth every penny. Would also recommend the Savoie Blanc if you want to get a wine :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Small place, a little tricky to find. Went for my birthday with my boyfriend. The waiter guessed it was my birthday and put a candle on a dessert. Very cute place. Would go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Very good food; hospitable service; funky/charming ambiance; good value. We discovered this place on our last trip to nyc in September and the latest in April reinforced the good memories. The restaurant is two restaurants, really: a rustic French one with a separate name through which you are escorted to the Fondue room/restaurant. The French side looked good, too, and we will try that next time in town— if we can turn our backs on that wonderful fondue.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Had a great time. Quiet, cozy spot. Beautiful atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Service was great. Friendly staff and very attentive. Both food and drink were excellent. Pricing was just right. It felt romantic and cozy. My only complaint is that the seating is a bit tight. Other than that, 5 stars. Will definitely be visiting again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

I had no idea NYC had a fondue restaurant until I found this one! It is definitely worth it for the price ($52 pp). You get unlimited croutons/salad and dessert plate until you finish your fondue. It was very filling and it was a great experience. Would I come back again? Possibly but not for awhile. It was fun and great date idea that lasts a solid 2 hours. It would be nice if they accepted other major credit cards though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Amazing food, great service, beautiful date idea!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Excellent food and a fun experience. There was no wait for our reservation and we were not rushed at all. The waiter was so helpful with our choices. Each dish was very good and filling.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We went here for a belated Valentine’s Day dinner and we are so happy that we did! The food was all delicious. We got the prix fixe menu and ordered the Perigord cheese, we added four extra sides, got the hanger steak and filet mignon with red wine broth, and got milk chocolate for dessert.

The cheese was out of this world amazing and we got the potatoes, broccoli, pears, and chorizo as extras to the croutons and salad, and it was beyond perfect. We enjoyed every bit. The meat was good, but of course, could not compare to the cheese and chocolate. The chocolate was also awesome, and came with a variety of dippers. The banana bread was my favorite.

Hope to come back for other special occasions!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Wonderful food! I went with my sister and cousin and we all had a great time. This is the perfect setting for a date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The food was amazing!! Well worthy the price!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Food was delicious but we had a reservation for 7:30 that they pushed back to 8 and then pushed again to 8:30. We got there at 8:30 and then still had to wait 20 minutes. They were very nice and apologetic and said they comp us something, which they did, but only after I reminded them. The food was really delicious, but eating a huge, heavy fondue dinner after 9 pm wasn’t ideal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Amazing food and atmosphere. Lovely waitress. Be prepared to be there for at least 2-3 hours. It is a long meal with long breaks in between courses, but you need the breaks because it is heavy. I recommend the truffle flavored one for the cheese course and the filet mignon with red wine broth for the second course.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

I've had the fondue experience before, but this was the best yet. The food was surprisingly good and fresh. Wait staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The whole experience gets an A+ from me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

We really had a great time. Love the simplicity of the menu, makes ordering a breeze. Enough variety to keep you coming back to try different cheeses. Food was delicious and the whole experience was chill. A very nice restaurant yet no frills. Just a really comforting low key vibe and perfect date night spot. Loved it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

We spent a really nice evening.
The setup was perfect!
And the perigord cheese fondu is amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 13, 2018

AJ was a great server, very informative and friendly on top of being attentive. We got a bottle of wine which made the meal about $200 after tip which is a bit pricey but worth it. Had a great time

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 12, 2018

It was wonderful overall! I haven’t had fondue in years and this experience has made me appreciate it evermore. Great and very courteous service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2018

Went with 2 friends and we had a great experience. We ordered 2 2-course prix fixe dinners which included a first course of cheese fondue, bread and salad, and second course of choice of meat, which you cook at the table in pots of hot oil or red wine broth, and one 3-course prix fixe which also included chocolate fondue for dessert! Since we got 3 dinners, we were able to choose 2 cheeses and 3 meats. We got the hangar steak, filet mignon and pork tenderloin. The steaks were the best! But everything was delicious and we left stuffed to the gills! Our server was super friendly and helpful.
I would highly recommend, especially on a chilly winter's night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 1, 2018

Food is so delicious and fun. Staff is friend but very few (2) servers for the whole place. Be prepared to spend 2 hours here - which is long but allows you to eat more and waste less of the dipping sauces.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 1, 2018

Outstanding dinner! Most fondue restaurants I’ve been to deliver on the cheese and chocolate courses but fail on the main course. Taureau delivers top quality food satisfaction across the board. Get the slab bacon topping with the cheese...

Went for my daughter’s 12th birthday, and her sister wants to come back in the Spring for her’s.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We love Fondue and did the 3 dinner option. It was excellent. The service was very good and the ambiance is great. We chose it for an early New Year's Eve dinner and was perfect. Have already recommended it and will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Went to have fondue and the food's great and authentic

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

We love Taureau. We’ve been there way too many times but won’t stop going.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Really enjoyed our 3-course dinner at Taureau. The traditional fondue was especially good. Service was excellent. A great venue for meeting old friends.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 23, 2017

We were limited to choosing from two set menus. We were not allowed to share the meat fondu with our children otherwise we would be charged double. Expensive, average meal with no ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Great place, i enjoyed food and music. Staff was very hopeful regarding the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2017

Excellent service. The food is amazing. Perfect for dates and quiet conversation!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Oh baby was this place a tasty treat!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 6, 2017

Very nice little fondue restaurant. Food was well prepared and the service was great. Wine list was nice, since it had inexpensive and expensive wines available. Note that the only credit card they take is American Express.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 3, 2017

Bad service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 2, 2017

There were some rowdy children there, but the staff handled them as best they could. They managed to still make our night feel special with skipping 8 year olds making them hold their breath. A little disappointed that fruits that I did not like couldn't be substituted for the ones I did.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2017

There are not a lot of fondue options in New York City. This place is hidden behind an adorable French restaurant so it feels like you are in the know to be able to find it. It’s very small and intimate. And you are sharing food so also romantic. The cheese options were amazing. The service was great. There are good options for vegetarians (vegans need not bother). We had a lovely romantic birthday dinner before heading to City Winery (2 blocks away) for a show. We were so full we could not even finish the cheese or chocolate. They are generous with both as well as the things to dip in. It’s price fix only. No Visa or MC but they called me ahead of time to let me know that.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Aniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 12, 2017

Delicious fondue with a great selection of different cheeses. The restaurant has a great ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2017

Lovely little restaurant and the fondue was delicious! Our waiter was great and provided suggestions to help us choose the best fondue. We enjoyed ourselves a lot!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Pot of cheese was huge, main course not so much. It was good, but overpriced in my opinion. And feels more like a factory than a fun, unique dining experience.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13