Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

About Tarpy's Roadhouse

Relax in this 1917 Roadhouse and enjoy creative, Five Star American Country Cuisine. The wood-burning grill provides wonderful flavors for wild game, the freshest seafood and prime steaks. Set on five landscaped acres, the patios and extensive gardens provide a refreshing backdrop for hearty sandwiches, vegetarian entrees and tempting salads. This restaurant in Monterey has seven private and semi-private rooms available for banquets, meetings and celebrations. The full bar, award-winning wine list and knowledgeable professional service ensure a terrific dining experience. Reservations are recommended. Tarpy's also offers affordable full-service, off-site catering.

2999 Salinas Hwy
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH~ Daily from 11:30

DINNER~Daily from 4:00

SUNDAY BRUNCH~ 11:30-3:00

Cross Street:
Canyon Del Rey

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 647-1444

Website:
http://www.tarpys.com/

Catering:

As a Full Service Caterer we can handle the details of your event, including finding a location, contracting with florists, bakeries, photography & video experts, musicians and lodging. Think of us as your own personal concierge! We will help you create an event that will be remembered favorably and you will totally enjoy!

Parking Details:
Private parking lot is provided with plenty of off-street parking.

Public Transit:
Monterey Salinas Transit bus line stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef

Private Party Facilities:
Tarpy’s Roadhouse offers a full-service banquet department. There are 3 private rooms as well as 3 semi-private rooms to choose from when planning your special event or function. Some rooms are subject to a room fee. We also have available the latest Multi-Media tools to add polish to your event. Email: alethea@tarpys.com

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Team: (831) 655-2999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tarpy's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (39)
Great for Lunch (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Casual (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Comfort Food (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Cozy (23)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Fun (20)
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Business Meals (16)
Historic (15)
Great for Brunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Authentic (11)
Private Room (11)
Disabled Access (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Scenic View (7)
Healthy (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fireplace (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Family Style (6)
People Watching (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Seasonal (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tapas (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food, nice service and we did not lose our table due to traffic, we were late

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We love Tarpy's! Easy atmosphere- come dressed for a nice occasion or dressed down for a casual meal with friends. Super yummy food, lots of cocktail choices, and a meatloaf you would actually want to order at a restaurant. This time we went for a birthday, and a friend gave a us a coupon she had gotten from a local business good for one appetizer here. They gave us a choice of bruschetta or calamari- both are great!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great Beer, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Tarpy's is a great restaurant. Service is outstanding and the food delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I am not a stranger to the Tarpy's family of restaurants and enjoyed multiple positive experiences at both Montrio Bistro and Rio Grill in addition to a great experience at Tarpy's bar during happy hour. That being said, I booked this restaurant for a small dinner party celebration and I was thoroughly disappointed.

We had 10 people and they sat us in a private room next to the entrance. It felt as if we were dining in a fish bowl as incoming customers could see us quite clearly and a few thought our dining room was the entrance. Our waiter was very kind but was completely incapable of ensuring our food and drinks were delivered to the appropriate person. I ordered a drink, salad, main dish, dessert, and the restaurant delivered a complimentary dessert with a celebratory candle which were all sent to the wrong people. Although this happened to me with every item delivered from the kitchen it also happened to the remainder of my party but on a less frequent scale. Two people ordered the same drink and while one drink came out right away with the rest of the orders, the second drink came out at least 15 minutes later. For our party of 10 they initially brought us enough bread for a table of four. The door to the outside was repeatedly left open letting cold air in. We went for long periods of time without anyone checking on us to the point where we ran out of water which occurred only after I grabbed a pitcher left in the corner to refill everyone's glasses.

Long story short: the food was good, the waiter was nice but new, the attention from the staff and ambiance left a lot to be desired. I would never recommend this place to a party larger than four. Go to Montrio Bistro or Rio Grill instead.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The restaurant was particularly busy. We were seated next to a large and very loud party. Our table of three had to shout at each other and still sometimes could not be heard over the laughter. It really was a tough evening. Service was great food was good. It was just an unfortunate seating.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Always a safe bet, large portions and homemade comfort food

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was stellar, Megan was attentive to our every need. We will definitely return. My only wish is that regular iced tea be added to the menu, the iced tea is called sport tea which has a distinct flavor that I guess you either like it or you don't.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Amazing Truffle grilled sandwich. Loved the Sport Tea. Delicious ribs. Excellent selection of food on the menu, something for everyone

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We went there for a Saturday night dinner. We arrived and the restaurant was just finishing up from a wedding, which kind of had the staff in disarray. Our waitress, for example, didn't even find us sitting on the patio for a while after we arrived. We ordered cocktails and apps and both arrived on time and in good order. The main course, for both of us, ended up overcooked. Mine was chicken and it was dry as a bone. Hers was Maple brine pork chop, which we took the time to explain to the waitress we wanted less than medium. When it showed up, it was medium well-no pink in the center at all. We pointed out the issue to the waitress and she apologized, but had neither checked before delivering the meal, nor asked us quickly after we got it, how it was. They ended up comping an app, but the meal was kind of a disappointment, given the high quality of the reviews on Yelp.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was very good. Service was exceptionally slow though. We came st 8, restaurant was not busy, but took almost 2 hours to get through dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This is our go to place for a great lunch. It is a 5 star place. Dependable service, great menu, wine list! But when I book using Open Table, this restaurant chronically denies my reservation. Luckily, we are usually early and haven't had a problem getting a table, but head's up if you are using OPEN TABLE, they will deny that reservation and supply you with a table anyway. Beet salad with shrimp is wonderful!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The food is very good you can depend on it every time. The service can be slow when it gets busy.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food was great - as always. The noise level, however, AWFUL. Our table of 7 was literally shouting at one another to have a conversation. Talking to anyone other than the person next to you was not possible. Super bummer. I love the food but the noise level makes eating there a challenge.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Son's graduation

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Longstanding favorite. Always good

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I had been to Tarpy's Roadhouse once a long time ago and had a great time! I wanted to go again because of that memory.

We made reservations for 5:15 and were seated in a small room (6 tables) with 3 other parties - not what I would consider comfortable. The noise from the bar was quite loud as well. The wait-person was nice but failed to bring the offered warm bread in a timely fashion. He was very good about sharing the night's specials with us.

The white wine we ordered arrived about 10 degrees too cold. I could not even hold the glass in my hands to warm it up until several minutes after it was poured.

My husband chose the sea bass and enjoyed it. I ordered the smoked chicken pappardelle and all I could taste was smoke. Even the sun dried tomatoes were overpowered by the intense smoke that was added to sauce. The only way I could tell there was both squash and zucchini in the dish was by the different textures.

The disappointing evening was capped when they did not have any milk alternatives (not even soy milk) for an after dinner latte.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We have been eating at Tarpy's for years and can always expect the best food and service. We have never been disappointed and I recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were a large group with a toddler which is challenging in itself. From the minute we walked in the door everything was done to accommodate us. Stephanie was our server and she was warm, helpful , and attentive especially considering how busy she/ the restaurant was. Everyone was happy with their meal including the toddlers.
Cheers! We'll be back soon!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on May 27, 2017

A friend was recently promoted to Lt. Colonel in the Marine Corps, which called for a celebration. However, his promotion meant that he and his lovely family would be transferred to the east coast, so that called for a "farewell" party. Tarpys gave us a perfectly sized private room for our dinner party, and our waiter Nick made the entire evening very special. I highly recommend Tarpys for their good food and excellent service! Thanks again Nick, you are always such a pleasure to see!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

All the servers were lovely. We went back twice!! The bartender had us sample the finest Rye Whiskey that paired perfectly with the artichokes, prawns and ribs. The "frickles" were an unexpected surprise!! We sat outdoors our first visit and at the bar on our second. Both just perfect experiences!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We enjoyed knowledgeable and friendly staff, sweet outdoor ambiance and a delicious sampling of appetizers. Laurie was a lovely waitress and the bartender educated us through a rye tasting. We look forward to our next visit.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 25, 2017

It was a busy night and the kitchen was slow. The noise level was excessive. At times my wife and I could hardly talk it was so loud. Our waiter was very friendly and the food was good. We have enjoyed Tarpy's for many years but the noise level has always been a negative.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Amazing food and service in a beautiful historic building with a variety of seating options. Never fails to impress!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Very good food and cocktails. Vegetarian options limited.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Lunch - brace yourself for the 3 planes that will land overhead. After this, you can immerse yourself in this Monterey County staple. Great meal everytime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Picked my wife up at the Monterey airport, and Tarpy's is the ideal dining spot. Creative menu, excellent service, and ambience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great Place! Took mom out! Loved the steaks. Servers are so nice and food is SO GOOD!!!
Local food and local wines.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellence in dining, Food, service and wines! It's quickly becoming or go to spot!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I wasn't impressed at all. Food was ok, nothing special..

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and service. Very creative but homey good. Reservations recommended. They had our table waiting. We have been here several times. Worth the drive if you are away. Very nice waitress and the table help is good. Oh, great home made warm bread

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Historic, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Both of my companions thanked me for a beautiful evening. Birthday celebration and a Mother's day combined into one and a first visit for my friends. They both enjoyed the food and the ambiance. Blowing out a birthday candle was also a treat. Thank you for being so hospitable and informal . And congratulations on the100th anniversary.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We love this place. It is quaint and charming, a one-of-a-kind dining experience in an historical roadhouse. I ordered salmon and my wife ordered chili-crusted chicken--both cooked to perfection. We enjoyed a side of rhubarb and cabbage which was a real treat for us. Passionfruit Rita was tasty, too. Our server was attentive and pleasant. Thank you, Tarpy's.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Enjoyed our quiet table for business dinner. Great service & excellent food.
Ribeye steak and butterscotch cheesecake were superb!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We selected this restaurant due to the Open Table ratings. Fabulous Brunch experience! A restaurant full of character beginning with beautiful grounds, sunny patio dining and a nicely decorated interior of an old stone building. Great character with a wonderful ambiance, great food, and friendly attentive servers. We had the wagyu brisket hash & egg and the farm fresh egg scramble with spinach, tomatoes, asparagus, bell peppers & feta. Fresh ingredients, fabulous and delicious! Loved the experience!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We're generally fans, but this wasn't our best visit. A large, noisy party next to us; a so-so Cobb salad (dry breast meat) with a high price, relative to other, much better offerings we've had elsewhere. We've had too many good meals there not to return, but this wasn't a hit.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was very tasty waiter was knowledgeable and polite . Nice and relaxing , interesting building rock with vines and flowers on the outside interior decor was also unusual

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Barb and I both enjoyed our meals; her salmon was superb and my chili-crusted chicken was just the right amount of spice, and the beet salad delightfully set the stage. Tani provided fine service and we got to say hello to Nick, who has taken excellent care of us in the past. It was apparent that the tables around us were enjoying their evenings equally well.

Thanks, Tarpy's, for a fine evening out.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Menu has changed a lot. We miss the kale/Brussel sprout chips and the scallops/bacon meal. We both ordered shrimp and grits and had to return twice. First time was because the grits and sauce came cold and the 2nd time they gave us fresh plates with new grits and sauce, but transferred the shrimp from the first plate, which would have been ok, but they then reversed the plates and gave my partially eaten shrimp to my friend. It grossed us out, so we asked for completely new plates.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Burger with lobster. Nuff said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Best Bruschetta ever!!!! The combination of goat cheese, carmelized onions and cherry tomatoes that were "blistered" was outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.