About Tarpy's Roadhouse

2999 Salinas Hwy
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Relax in this 1917 Roadhouse and enjoy creative, Five Star American Country Cuisine. The wood-burning grill provides wonderful flavors for wild game, the freshest seafood and prime steaks. Set on five landscaped acres, the patios and extensive gardens provide a refreshing backdrop for hearty sandwiches, vegetarian entrees and tempting salads. This restaurant in Monterey has seven private and semi-private rooms available for banquets, meetings and celebrations. The full bar, award-winning wine list and knowledgeable professional service ensure a terrific dining experience. Reservations are recommended. Tarpy's also offers affordable full-service, off-site catering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH~ Daily from 11:30

DINNER~Daily from 4:00

SUNDAY BRUNCH~ 11:30-3:00

Cross Street:
Canyon Del Rey

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 647-1444

Website:
http://www.tarpys.com/

Catering:

As a Full Service Caterer we can handle the details of your event, including finding a location, contracting with florists, bakeries, photography & video experts, musicians and lodging. Think of us as your own personal concierge! We will help you create an event that will be remembered favorably and you will totally enjoy!

Parking Details:
Private parking lot is provided with plenty of off-street parking.

Public Transit:
Monterey Salinas Transit bus line stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef Todd

Private Party Facilities:
Tarpy’s Roadhouse offers a full-service banquet department. There are 3 private rooms as well as 3 semi-private rooms to choose from when planning your special event or function. Some rooms are subject to a room fee. We also have available the latest Multi-Media tools to add polish to your event. Email: alethea@tarpys.com

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Frasier: kelly@tarpys.com: 8316552999x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

White And Dark Chocolate Marscapone Cake With Fresh Strawberries
Vegan Stirfry
Assorted Appetizer Plate
Lamb Burger
Five-Spiced Ribs
Crab Cakes
Herb-Crusted Salmon
Mixed Dessert Platter
Mixed Baby Lettuces
Pecan Pie
Olallieberry Pie
Berry Sorbet
Warm Chocolate Brownie Banana Sundae with Vanilla Ice Cream
Grilled Sirloin
Ultimate Kobe Burger
Grilled Vegetables
Wood Grilled Top Sirloin
Sweet Tart Mixed Drink
Crispy Calamari with Thai Lime Sauce
Fresh Monterey Bay King Salmon on Asian Noodles topped with a mango sauce.
Cajun Spiced Prawns
Irie Zinfandel
Grilled Portabella over Polenta
Caesar Salad
Wood Fired Angus Sirloin Steak
Apple Pie
Grilled Chili Crusted Salmon
Shrimp & Crab Cake Benedict
Beef Brisket Sandwich
Oven Roasted Halibut With A Tomato Basil Relish, Saffron Risotto And Broiled Green Beans
1/2 Lb Burger
Chili Crusted Chicken
Gorgonzola Stuffed Filet Mignon

Tarpy's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
California Central Coast
Outdoor Dining
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (62)
Good for Groups (48)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Great for Lunch (41)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Romantic (25)
Great for Brunch (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Casual (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Scenic View (7)
Authentic (6)
Fun (6)
Cozy (5)
Private Room (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Business Meals (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Historic (3)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Waterfront (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
961 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've been to Tarpy's in the past. Alway ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

We've been to Tarpy's in the past. Always good. The other evening was GREAT ! Really memorable duck with cherry sauce and braised lamb shank. And over the top desserts. A birthday dinner.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience. Top notch from ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great dining experience. Top notch from start to finish! Fun vibrant atmosphere. Recommended to everyone.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tarpy's was a great spot for outdoor din ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Tarpy's was a great spot for outdoor dining and terrific happy hour drink and food selections. The hostess, Corbyjane, was very attentive, as was the waitstaff. I would absolutely recommend to anyone. It was also away from the tourist crowd in Monterey which was a plus for us.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice and out of the crowds. Beautif ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very nice and out of the crowds. Beautiful patio if you are inclined to eat outside. Brought our dog and he was treated to his own menu! I had the chefs special, a crested sea bass over risotto that was fabulous. Second trip here and both times I've been impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were seated in a room off the main re ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were seated in a room off the main restaurant for a birthday dinner/party of 10. The room was dark and off the beaten path. Our waiter rarely checked on us. No salt or pepper on table. Took awhile to clear plates. Really poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value4

We dined early afternoon for my sister-i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We dined early afternoon for my sister-in-laws 91st birthday. Very few people and very quite.

Service was good and waiter and other staff were friendly. Food was good with ample servings.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We went there for a special Birthday wi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We went there for a special Birthday with friends. We LOVED the balloons for our friend, and the great service. PLUS a Birthday dessert.!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited Tarpy's for my birthday with ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We visited Tarpy's for my birthday with our two kids, 1 & 5. The kids were entertained with the fact they could color on the Kraft paper table topper. Food was excellent, speed of food delivery was excellent, our server would

go MIA for long stretches of time but there were others that we were able to ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Very mediocre. Nothing memorable except ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Very mediocre. Nothing memorable except the service which was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

One of my regular places to go for lunch ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

One of my regular places to go for lunch and dinner. Food is always delicious, service is great. Love the outside seating in good weather. Love the historical home that is now the main restaurant. Check out the shell fireplace in the front smaller dining room!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, People Watching, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's always great. Lovely patio. No bett ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

It's always great. Lovely patio. No better place to eat on a sunny day. They staff to accommodate their guests and that's becoming a rarity these days. Food is just delicious. I cook. I'm a foodie. When a simple hamburger comes out perfectly cooked it's a sign they know what they're doing. I said medium rare. It was medium rare. Not medium or rare. Medium rare as ordered. l Have to appreciate that. The Tollner group of restaurants, Tarpeys, Rio Grill, and Montrio do a fabulous job. Never been disappointed. I don't work there. Just a satisfied customer review. They support a lot of local causes which is great. I gladly patronise these restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Historic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The warm Napa cabbage salad was cold and ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The warm Napa cabbage salad was cold and used green cabbage instead of red cabbage. The other meals at our table were good as advertised.

Tags: Bar Seating, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Tarpy's is our go to for special occasio ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Tarpy's is our go to for special occasions. We have always enjoyed it and loved the food. There was something slightly off this time around (8/27/16) though. I was not wow'd by the food like I normally am and it was very salty. To the point where I woke up in the middle of the night parched :( and my husband had the same issue... The green beans were not even cooked I don't think. I understand al dente but this was raw. And my daughter had a cookie with her sorbet and it was so hard and stale, it was inedible. Just little things to where you wouldn't think after spending $200.00 on a dinner you would come across. Not sure when we will be back...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful lunch, great salad, superb ser ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wonderful lunch, great salad, superb service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love this place. We go to Tarpy's eve ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We love this place. We go to Tarpy's every time we are in Monterey. Always good food and great friendly service.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 3rd time at Tarpy's - last t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This was my 3rd time at Tarpy's - last time was in 2013 when we visited the area, and this was our first time back to the area since 2013-we took friends also visiting the area, and they loved it. Entrees are around $22-$35-presentation is unique and very nice. The service was good but not up to par for this restaurant. I would recommend Tarpy's.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My brothers and I, who came to Monterey ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My brothers and I, who came to Monterey for the Classic Car races, ate at Tarpy's three nights in a row. I made reservations on Open Table at least a month prior, knowing how insane Race Weekend can get. We each had three beautiful meals, shared with other siblings, of course. And there were many leftovers (previously cooked??) to leave with brother who lives in the area. It is now family tradition: When on the peninsula, eat at Tarpy's!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here each year after the Montere ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We come here each year after the Monterey Historics. Our group looks forward to eating here each year.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was terrible for the 2nd time in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was terrible for the 2nd time in a row. I went here a few months ago on a quiet night and had terrible service and everything was slow. This past weekend, we had to ask 5 times for waters, no steak knives for the people with steaks until we finally had to track someone down, my steak was super rare, and just everything was amazingly slow. Same waiter, too. We sat in the front of the restaurant both times.

Very disappointing as I grew up going here so i really want to like it, but it was embarrassing taking my friends here and having such a bad experience. Food was decent other than my steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

tremendous meal very crowded and a bit n ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

tremendous meal

very crowded and a bit noisy, but that was to be expected

it was the weekend of the Monterey Historics at Laguna Seca just down the road

the staff did a great job of service an overflow crowd

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Every year we go to Monterey for car wee ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Every year we go to Monterey for car week. We always eat at Tarpy at least twice while we are there. It is great food, great service (ask for Tommy), and a great place to be.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at Tarpys was just wonder ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our experience at Tarpys was just wonderful! We were seated in a carpeted room that really enhanced our dining experience. The service was professional and everything arrived at just perfect timing. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Nice location

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good food. Nice location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Without asking server brought us 2 refil ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Without asking server brought us 2 refills on our diet coke and charged us. My wife didn't even touch hers! Imagine our surprise when bill came for 12 dollars!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We always have Tarpys on our list when i ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We always have Tarpys on our list when in Monterey.good food,good service and they make you feel welcome .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our hostess and waiter were both very fr ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our hostess and waiter were both very friendly and attentive. We were seated for brunch in the large room with a window we could open which gave us a nice option for an inside/outside feel.

I ordered an Arnold Palmer because they had freshly made lemonade and Ice tea. My friend (who I hadn't seen in a few years) had a Mimosa. Both excellent. Both of our brunch items were very good. I had the spinach egg scramble. Robin had the chicken with pepper flakes which she said was succulent, cooked just right. Since I'd had the Baker's Bacon at Pebble Beach Food and Wine I thought I'd order a side of it. Turned out to be fairly inedible. I couldn't even chew parts of it. Had to ask for a sharper knife to saw through it and ended up leaving a piece on the plate. Maybe a bad batch? Overall the experience was great though and we'd go back again for sure.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Part of a local chain of successful rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Part of a local chain of successful restaurants in the Monterey area

Great staff, lively atmosphere, not subtle food but fun and filling

Fairly expensive but it is also great quality ingredients

California style food, decent beer and wine selections and fun specialty drinks

Nice outside areas if you wanted that option

Very nice to my folks who live in the area for many years now

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Had a nice meal with good quality food a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Had a nice meal with good quality food and service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service; food decent. Would like ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great service; food decent. Would like to see more fresh fish options and fewer fried appys. A fun place still though.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We took our family from southern Cal the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We took our family from southern Cal there for dinner. They own an Italian restaurant in Huntington Beach. They were very impressed with Tarpy's.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was tasty--not great--but a goo ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was tasty--not great--but a good value. The place was not busy yet service was very slow. Server did okay but was just not very evident during much of the meal. Brown paper on the tables is okay for a roadhouse, just don't expect elegance.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

the bison strip was fantastic and perfec ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

the bison strip was fantastic and perfectly cooked

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great ribs and burger

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great ribs and burger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Superb atmosphere, service and food. My ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Superb atmosphere, service and food. My out of town guest were very pleased with all.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a go-to restaurant for special o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This is a go-to restaurant for special occasions when we are in the Monterey area. We really like the feel of this place. The food is always GOOD, and the service is always spot-on. The pace of service doesn't make you feel rushed. We reserved a table for 7:30, but did not get seated for about 10 minutes. That was not an issue for us, as we understand tables don't always turn over exactly when they are needed, but the hostess apologized sincerely and took drink orders. We received a thank you for our patience when the table was ready. Additionally, at the end of the meal the waiter told us the manager comped our dessert and thanked us for waiting to be seated. (We were celebrating an anniversary, and the table was set with balloons, a nice touch. I'm thinking the dessert was a nod to our anniversary, as well as the delay in seating. But seriously, the wait was not out of the ordinary.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is outstanding every time, best din ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food is outstanding every time, best dining experience on the Peninsula.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tarpy's has been around for quite a few ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Tarpy's has been around for quite a few years and managed to ride out a few difficult economic cycles. The menu has been refreshed throughout the years with updates to address changing palates (spicier food) while remaining true to its roots -- meat, meat and more meat. The wine list integrated local vineyards. Portions are large and plentiful; service friendly. We were not too hungry this visit and ordered the crab cakes from the appetizer menu along with a side of french fries and iceberg wedges. The crab cakes came with a corn salsa and avocado cream. Very good. It's very loud in the main dining area so if you have folks with hearing aids or sensitive ears, sit on the patio or in the bar area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brunch with friends is always fun here

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Brunch with friends is always fun here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We waited about 10 minutes at our table ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We waited about 10 minutes at our table before a waitress came to our table. I think we had our expectations of their food too high, because it was good, but just your typical, nothing special steak type food. My husband had the angus sirloin which he said was good. He said he should have gotten something different. No much flavor. I had the scallops which came with everything charred. Charred flavoring is good, but it's the only flavoring of all of the scallops and the veggies on the dish. I didn't finish it. One friend had the ribs which he thoroughly enjoyed and another friend got the salmon which she ate, but said the filet was very small. Overall, good quality food, but the price was marked up compared to the quality. I've had my fair share of steakhouses and seafood joints all over the country. The atmosphere was nice - the tables maybe a little too close to each other? - our waitress constantly was moving out of the way for other waiters since the distance between our tables was about only 1 person wide. I think the service may have been better if we had a different waitress. She was easily distracted and would have to repeat herself. If we return, it may just be for drinks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We came here for our anniversary dinner ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We came here for our anniversary dinner and found a new favorite place. The food - amazing! We started with the crab cakes which were good but I don't think I'd order those again.

We then split a salad of field greens, apples and pecans which was yummay! This is a large portion so you end up with two good size salads. The dressing was light and tasteful. For our main courses we had the chili rubbed chicken breasts and full rack of ribs. Both were excellent!! The ribs were among the best I've had and so meaty. Very generous portions and incredible flavor! We will be back - often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.