About Tarpy's Roadhouse

2999 Salinas Hwy
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Relax in this 1917 Roadhouse and enjoy creative, Five Star American Country Cuisine. The wood-burning grill provides wonderful flavors for wild game, the freshest seafood and prime steaks. Set on five landscaped acres, the patios and extensive gardens provide a refreshing backdrop for hearty sandwiches, vegetarian entrees and tempting salads. This restaurant in Monterey has seven private and semi-private rooms available for banquets, meetings and celebrations. The full bar, award-winning wine list and knowledgeable professional service ensure a terrific dining experience. Reservations are recommended. Tarpy's also offers affordable full-service, off-site catering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH~ Daily from 11:30

DINNER~Daily from 4:00

SUNDAY BRUNCH~ 11:30-3:00

Cross Street:
Canyon Del Rey

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 647-1444

Website:
http://www.tarpys.com/

Catering:

As a Full Service Caterer we can handle the details of your event, including finding a location, contracting with florists, bakeries, photography & video experts, musicians and lodging. Think of us as your own personal concierge! We will help you create an event that will be remembered favorably and you will totally enjoy!

Parking Details:
Private parking lot is provided with plenty of off-street parking.

Public Transit:
Monterey Salinas Transit bus line stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef Todd

Private Party Facilities:
Tarpy’s Roadhouse offers a full-service banquet department. There are 3 private rooms as well as 3 semi-private rooms to choose from when planning your special event or function. Some rooms are subject to a room fee. We also have available the latest Multi-Media tools to add polish to your event. Email: alethea@tarpys.com

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Frasier: kelly@tarpys.com: 8316552999x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

White And Dark Chocolate Marscapone Cake With Fresh Strawberries
Vegan Stirfry
Assorted Appetizer Plate
Lamb Burger
Five-Spiced Ribs
Crab Cakes
Herb-Crusted Salmon
Mixed Dessert Platter
Mixed Baby Lettuces
Pecan Pie
Olallieberry Pie
Berry Sorbet
Warm Chocolate Brownie Banana Sundae with Vanilla Ice Cream
Grilled Sirloin
Ultimate Kobe Burger
Grilled Vegetables
Wood Grilled Top Sirloin
Sweet Tart Mixed Drink
Crispy Calamari with Thai Lime Sauce
Fresh Monterey Bay King Salmon on Asian Noodles topped with a mango sauce.
Cajun Spiced Prawns
Irie Zinfandel
Grilled Portabella over Polenta
Caesar Salad
Wood Fired Angus Sirloin Steak
Apple Pie
Grilled Chili Crusted Salmon
Shrimp & Crab Cake Benedict
Beef Brisket Sandwich
Oven Roasted Halibut With A Tomato Basil Relish, Saffron Risotto And Broiled Green Beans
1/2 Lb Burger
Chili Crusted Chicken
Gorgonzola Stuffed Filet Mignon

Tarpy's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (64)
Special Occasion (61)
Good for Groups (57)
See All
Fit for Foodies (45)
Great for Lunch (45)
Romantic (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Great for Brunch (24)
Notable Wine List (17)
Kid-friendly (15)
Scenic View (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
948 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful lunch, great salad, superb ser ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful lunch, great salad, superb service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love this place. We go to Tarpy's eve ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We love this place. We go to Tarpy's every time we are in Monterey. Always good food and great friendly service.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 3rd time at Tarpy's - last t ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This was my 3rd time at Tarpy's - last time was in 2013 when we visited the area, and this was our first time back to the area since 2013-we took friends also visiting the area, and they loved it. Entrees are around $22-$35-presentation is unique and very nice. The service was good but not up to par for this restaurant. I would recommend Tarpy's.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My brothers and I, who came to Monterey ...

 
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My brothers and I, who came to Monterey for the Classic Car races, ate at Tarpy's three nights in a row. I made reservations on Open Table at least a month prior, knowing how insane Race Weekend can get. We each had three beautiful meals, shared with other siblings, of course. And there were many leftovers (previously cooked??) to leave with brother who lives in the area. It is now family tradition: When on the peninsula, eat at Tarpy's!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here each year after the Montere ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We come here each year after the Monterey Historics. Our group looks forward to eating here each year.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was terrible for the 2nd time in ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was terrible for the 2nd time in a row. I went here a few months ago on a quiet night and had terrible service and everything was slow. This past weekend, we had to ask 5 times for waters, no steak knives for the people with steaks until we finally had to track someone down, my steak was super rare, and just everything was amazingly slow. Same waiter, too. We sat in the front of the restaurant both times.

Very disappointing as I grew up going here so i really want to like it, but it was embarrassing taking my friends here and having such a bad experience. Food was decent other than my steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

tremendous meal very crowded and a bit n ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

tremendous meal

very crowded and a bit noisy, but that was to be expected

it was the weekend of the Monterey Historics at Laguna Seca just down the road

the staff did a great job of service an overflow crowd

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Every year we go to Monterey for car wee ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Every year we go to Monterey for car week. We always eat at Tarpy at least twice while we are there. It is great food, great service (ask for Tommy), and a great place to be.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at Tarpys was just wonder ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our experience at Tarpys was just wonderful! We were seated in a carpeted room that really enhanced our dining experience. The service was professional and everything arrived at just perfect timing. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Nice location

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good food. Nice location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Without asking server brought us 2 refil ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Without asking server brought us 2 refills on our diet coke and charged us. My wife didn't even touch hers! Imagine our surprise when bill came for 12 dollars!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We always have Tarpys on our list when i ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We always have Tarpys on our list when in Monterey.good food,good service and they make you feel welcome .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our hostess and waiter were both very fr ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our hostess and waiter were both very friendly and attentive. We were seated for brunch in the large room with a window we could open which gave us a nice option for an inside/outside feel.

I ordered an Arnold Palmer because they had freshly made lemonade and Ice tea. My friend (who I hadn't seen in a few years) had a Mimosa. Both excellent. Both of our brunch items were very good. I had the spinach egg scramble. Robin had the chicken with pepper flakes which she said was succulent, cooked just right. Since I'd had the Baker's Bacon at Pebble Beach Food and Wine I thought I'd order a side of it. Turned out to be fairly inedible. I couldn't even chew parts of it. Had to ask for a sharper knife to saw through it and ended up leaving a piece on the plate. Maybe a bad batch? Overall the experience was great though and we'd go back again for sure.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Part of a local chain of successful rest ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Part of a local chain of successful restaurants in the Monterey area

Great staff, lively atmosphere, not subtle food but fun and filling

Fairly expensive but it is also great quality ingredients

California style food, decent beer and wine selections and fun specialty drinks

Nice outside areas if you wanted that option

Very nice to my folks who live in the area for many years now

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Had a nice meal with good quality food a ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Had a nice meal with good quality food and service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service; food decent. Would like ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great service; food decent. Would like to see more fresh fish options and fewer fried appys. A fun place still though.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We took our family from southern Cal the ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We took our family from southern Cal there for dinner. They own an Italian restaurant in Huntington Beach. They were very impressed with Tarpy's.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was tasty--not great--but a goo ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was tasty--not great--but a good value. The place was not busy yet service was very slow. Server did okay but was just not very evident during much of the meal. Brown paper on the tables is okay for a roadhouse, just don't expect elegance.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

the bison strip was fantastic and perfec ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

the bison strip was fantastic and perfectly cooked

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great ribs and burger

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great ribs and burger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Superb atmosphere, service and food. My ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Superb atmosphere, service and food. My out of town guest were very pleased with all.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a go-to restaurant for special o ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This is a go-to restaurant for special occasions when we are in the Monterey area. We really like the feel of this place. The food is always GOOD, and the service is always spot-on. The pace of service doesn't make you feel rushed. We reserved a table for 7:30, but did not get seated for about 10 minutes. That was not an issue for us, as we understand tables don't always turn over exactly when they are needed, but the hostess apologized sincerely and took drink orders. We received a thank you for our patience when the table was ready. Additionally, at the end of the meal the waiter told us the manager comped our dessert and thanked us for waiting to be seated. (We were celebrating an anniversary, and the table was set with balloons, a nice touch. I'm thinking the dessert was a nod to our anniversary, as well as the delay in seating. But seriously, the wait was not out of the ordinary.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is outstanding every time, best din ...

 
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food is outstanding every time, best dining experience on the Peninsula.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tarpy's has been around for quite a few ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Tarpy's has been around for quite a few years and managed to ride out a few difficult economic cycles. The menu has been refreshed throughout the years with updates to address changing palates (spicier food) while remaining true to its roots -- meat, meat and more meat. The wine list integrated local vineyards. Portions are large and plentiful; service friendly. We were not too hungry this visit and ordered the crab cakes from the appetizer menu along with a side of french fries and iceberg wedges. The crab cakes came with a corn salsa and avocado cream. Very good. It's very loud in the main dining area so if you have folks with hearing aids or sensitive ears, sit on the patio or in the bar area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brunch with friends is always fun here

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Brunch with friends is always fun here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We waited about 10 minutes at our table ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We waited about 10 minutes at our table before a waitress came to our table. I think we had our expectations of their food too high, because it was good, but just your typical, nothing special steak type food. My husband had the angus sirloin which he said was good. He said he should have gotten something different. No much flavor. I had the scallops which came with everything charred. Charred flavoring is good, but it's the only flavoring of all of the scallops and the veggies on the dish. I didn't finish it. One friend had the ribs which he thoroughly enjoyed and another friend got the salmon which she ate, but said the filet was very small. Overall, good quality food, but the price was marked up compared to the quality. I've had my fair share of steakhouses and seafood joints all over the country. The atmosphere was nice - the tables maybe a little too close to each other? - our waitress constantly was moving out of the way for other waiters since the distance between our tables was about only 1 person wide. I think the service may have been better if we had a different waitress. She was easily distracted and would have to repeat herself. If we return, it may just be for drinks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We came here for our anniversary dinner ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We came here for our anniversary dinner and found a new favorite place. The food - amazing! We started with the crab cakes which were good but I don't think I'd order those again.

We then split a salad of field greens, apples and pecans which was yummay! This is a large portion so you end up with two good size salads. The dressing was light and tasteful. For our main courses we had the chili rubbed chicken breasts and full rack of ribs. Both were excellent!! The ribs were among the best I've had and so meaty. Very generous portions and incredible flavor! We will be back - often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Ambiance, service, best outdoor dining a ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Ambiance, service, best outdoor dining and gruyere potatoes one of the best dishes I have ever had.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The only reason I rated the noise level ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The only reason I rated the noise level a 3 is the satellite music was distracting - especially for dining al fresco. The pleasant outdoor dining area did not need to have oldie but goodies music in the background. The volume level and the music genre was not conducive to the pleasant and relaxing ambience of the patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going for years, and we love ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We've been going for years, and we love it! Strangely, the service this time was actually a bit too fast, I didn't even know that was possible! The appetizer came out within a few minutes, and we barely made it through half of it before entrees arrived. I think our total time there was under 40 minutes...so it actually felt a bit rushed. There were very few tables seated when we got there, so maybe that threw the timing off. Food was all good though, the full rack of ribs was huge, and my swordfish special was a large portion as well. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I had our wedding and recept ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My wife and I had our wedding and reception at Tarpy's in 2010. We come here every year for an anniversary dinner and have NEVER had a bad meal or bad service. I can't think of anything negative about this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the place especially for lunch ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved the place especially for lunch on sunny day surrounded by beautiful outdoor sitting area, reminding of an old Italian house look. Food was delicious, large entree portion was big enough when split for two people.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in the Mo ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in the Monterey Bay area. Consistent great experience and I've been dining at Tarpy's for over ten years. Amazing food, good service, fun atmosphere and away from the typical tourist areas.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Somehow the kitchen sent one of our six ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Somehow the kitchen sent one of our six entrees to another table, which was unfortunate. Happily our server explained that that meal was "comped" in its entirety. This was not enough to fully remedy this awkward but understandable faux pax, but we all appreciated the appology and accommodation. Our meals were outstanding, though, and we will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Artichoke arrived cool and not cooked as ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Artichoke arrived cool and not cooked as advertised and was sent back for replacement.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Everyone's food was delicious. Service ...

 
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Everyone's food was delicious. Service was great. Planeswerenoisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the fried mushroom on polenta and ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Loved the fried mushroom on polenta and also stuffed mushroom + grilled cheese and salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time going there I re ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was my second time going there I really enjoy your food is simply delicious ... Both of my visits where for the same occasion anniversary 💗 me and my husband loved it. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since its' opening, Tarpy's was always o ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Since its' opening, Tarpy's was always our go to place for a nice meal and family celebrations. A couple of years ago after major changes to the menu and several instances of poor service and not so great food we stopped going. However, this year my 94 yr. old Mother-in-law wanted to go back there to celebrate her birthday. We are thrilled to report the food was excellent and the service impeccable. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I called on Friday to discuss our dinner ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I called on Friday to discuss our dinner as both my friend and I got sick that evening. I spoke with the hostess who was to supposed to pass along the message to a manager who would call me. I never heard from anyone. I dine at Tarpy's regularly and after this experience will not return. Terrible follow up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.