Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

About Tarpy's Roadhouse

Relax in this 1917 Roadhouse and enjoy creative, Five Star American Country Cuisine. The wood-burning grill provides wonderful flavors for wild game, the freshest seafood and prime steaks. Set on five landscaped acres, the patios and extensive gardens provide a refreshing backdrop for hearty sandwiches, vegetarian entrees and tempting salads. This restaurant in Monterey has seven private and semi-private rooms available for banquets, meetings and celebrations. The full bar, award-winning wine list and knowledgeable professional service ensure a terrific dining experience. Reservations are recommended. Tarpy's also offers affordable full-service, off-site catering.

2999 Salinas Hwy
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH~ Daily from 11:30

DINNER~Daily from 4:00

SUNDAY BRUNCH~ 11:30-3:00

Cross Street:
Canyon Del Rey

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 647-1444

Website:
http://www.tarpys.com/

Catering:

As a Full Service Caterer we can handle the details of your event, including finding a location, contracting with florists, bakeries, photography & video experts, musicians and lodging. Think of us as your own personal concierge! We will help you create an event that will be remembered favorably and you will totally enjoy!

Parking Details:
Private parking lot is provided with plenty of off-street parking.

Public Transit:
Monterey Salinas Transit bus line stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef

Private Party Facilities:
Tarpy’s Roadhouse offers a full-service banquet department. There are 3 private rooms as well as 3 semi-private rooms to choose from when planning your special event or function. Some rooms are subject to a room fee. We also have available the latest Multi-Media tools to add polish to your event. Email: alethea@tarpys.com

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Team: (831) 655-2999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tarpy's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Great for Lunch (29)
Good for Groups (27)
See All
Casual (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Business Meals (20)
Cozy (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Romantic (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Authentic (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Fun (14)
Historic (13)
Fireplace (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Seasonal (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Private Room (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
People Watching (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Healthy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great Beer (5)
Family Style (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1070 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Great meal and good service. Our waitperson was very nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great ambience, service and food. We had salmon and the special - bass. Both excellent.
Our favorite restaurant in the area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Tarpy's is our go-to place for excellent lunches and special occasions. The staff is welcoming and knowledgeable, and the food never disappoints!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Brisket a little dry all else very good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Loved it. Unfortunately our steaks were a little over but still good. Kids food was great and the pasta was delicious. Will go back for sure.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

No FRICKLES. Very Dissapointed ("Happt Hour" only now). It was the highlight of our first visit!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Pork chop, grits, and slaw my wife had were terrific. My wagyu brisket had way too much BBQ sauce on it and the accompanying onions, potato salad, and cabbage were all subpar.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Love Tarpy's! Our waiter was great! The variety of meal and drink choices are extensive.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 27, 2017

My wife has always enjoyed Tarpys, now so does my girlfriend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went for dinner and again two days later for just drinks in the bar and really enjoyed both experiences. The food is ridiculously good. Dirty Duck Tots were a favorite among many dishes we tried, but all stood out. Drinks were excellent.

My only real "complaint" was the pace of the food was pretty quick. Dishes came very fast and entree landed before we finished apps. Not the worst deal as the food was so good, but it felt a little rushed. Still, I would HIGHLY recommend the place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We live in the area and decided to go back to Tarpy's to give it another try as the last time we were there the food was just average. Unfortunately it's very hard to even get a read on the food when you are doing nothing but trying to drown out the extremely loud environment. The noise level in the dining room we were in was so bad that my wife and I literally had trouble hearing each other even though we were seated directly across from each other at a 2 person setting.
I do have to admit the waiter noticed our aggravation to the noise level and asked if we wanted to try another section of the restaurant, but at that point in time we had enough and decided to leave. Look, I am not saying that you might not have a different experience than we did if you decide to dine here as I fully understand its not always perfect.. I sincerely hope your experience was better than ours if you decide to dine here. But all I can do is be honest about the actual dining experience at the time it took place. We didn't ask for a discount, didn't make a scene, just had our meals wrapped up, paid full price and left and will maybe give it another try later this year.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was a fun dinner for my daughter and I. Hard to choose what to order as there were many items on the menu enticing us. I had the shrimp and grits which were delicious. She had the portabella mushroom over grits with "steak sauce". She said she liked it, don't think she "loved it" tho. I had the corn cake and corn icecream for dessert - it was amazing!!! She had a chocolate/peanut butter dessert and loved it! Paper "tablecloth" and crayons kept us entertained as we waited for our food. Every room in the place was packed so it is a loud and lively place - which we didn't mind a bit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We love this neighborhood restaurant; relaxed atmosphere with excellent service and food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was really good... fries truly amazing/best part of meal. Strawberry lemonade wonderfully tart and both flavors stood out.Left overstuffed. A little noise but not jarring like Rio Grill. Kobe burger was HUGE... but bun made it TOO BIG/more bun than burger. Recommend putting it on butter/garlic grilled sour dough bread instead... would be a killer entree then!!!! Service as more than excellent! (not sure name... was Latino, might have been Jose but woman serving at next table jumped in too when we looked up to ask something and he was in kitchen... VERY pleased with service!) Bacon and maybe grilled mushrooms should be options on both burgers.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 21, 2017

When we arrived we were greeted warmly, taken right to our table. The wait staff was prompt and graciously responsive throughout our evening.
We enjoyed Todd's tater tots as an appetizer. Crunchy right from the pan, the dish was tasty but I have a few suggestions: Chorizo for the meat (provides smaller chunks), sharper cheese and perhaps an option of diced jalapeños?
My companion had the salmon and gave me a taste. Done perfectly: moist, rich flavor, not too much sauce as often happens.
I had the Kobe burger and enjoyed it. The fries are crisped nicely along side it.
All in all, we had an excellent experience. The menu is fun and creative, yet retains choices to satisfy standard comfort tastes.
Way to go Tarpy's staff, Rock on Todd!

Tags: Business Meals, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food was great, very family friendly and in a nice, relaxed setting.

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Consistently delicious food and great atmosphere. I love the truffle grits and the 4-5 beer flight. If you have reservations give yourself time to park, it's a popular spot.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Waiter great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Not the first time I've had awful service when treating a business friend to a lunch. HOW UPSETTING! I've come to Tarpy's for years but at this point I won't recommend it to a friend. So sad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We usually go to Tarpie's for company dinners upstairs always great. This time as well, the food was outstanding, I have many allergies and they catered to them all. I am very happy and will go back again and again. I had steak and garlic mashed potatoes, perfecto! The waiter was excellent even though it was Valentines Day and very busy.

Thanks for discount on the bubbly!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Another great evening at Tarpy's to celebrate Valentine's Day. Service was prompt and friendly.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great Beer, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good as usual, what more is there to say? We always enjoy Tarpy's

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Family Style, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always really enjoy the food, the service (by server Raymond) was excellent and we always eat outside on the breezeway and it's perfect! One of our favorite places for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had the best waitress-Valerie, she was so attentive and great personality! The steaks were just superb, we are still thinking about them, days later! We went there, for an early "Valentine's Day" treat, to ourselves.....it was well worth it!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have been coming to Tarpy's for more than 12 years. I know that there are always changes with restaurants as they continue to evolve, but I was especially disappointed in the ambiance (extremely loud for dinner hour) and poor service (my server was more interested in serving and conversing with the former employees sitting at the table next to mine to the exclusion of service to our table). Our dinner was to celebrate a special occasion and both my husband and I were disappointed especially since the "former" hallmark of coming to Tarpy's was fabulous service and great atmosphere. I can say on a positive note, that dinner was exquisite, exactly as we have come to expect from Tarpy's. However, given my experience with the other factors, I would prefer to go to another restaurant in the future despite the wonderful food.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

COLD. The room we were in was very cold. The explanation from the waitperson was that they just opened and just turned on the heat. Two other tables that were seated in this room asked to be moved to a warmer room! We stuck it out hoping it would heat up. It did not. The food was good, the waitperson not very attentive. Bundle up if you plan on going when they first open.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time at Tarpy's. The service was good and we were seated right away for our reservation. There are several rooms in the restaurant with open breezeway windows into the other rooms. Our table was in a smaller, quieter room - which was a bit awkward because we felt we needed to have a whispered conversation. The food was definitely good, but not fabulous. Portions were plentiful. The ambiance was lively - a lot of people there after the AT&T, so it appears the restaurant is a local favorite. The outdoor patio, which was not open for dining, looked like it would be a nice place to dine during the warmer months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

come here often, love this place. we come here for family celebrations, this is our go to place. I will be back.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Family Style, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Historic, Business Meals, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Absolutely delicious as always! Any occasion lunch or dinner I recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I'd had several people suggest Tarpy's on my visit to Monterey. Glad I took them up on the suggestion. Simply the best meal in a very long time. The starters were pleasant, the wine list was substantial (as well as the whiskey list) but it was the seafood special of the night. A truly special halibut on a bed of grits topped with prawns. Beautiful and tasty. I'll be back next time hoping that it will be in the menu again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Three couples who are old friends and an out of town guest. With out trying, Tarpy's provided the best possible impression of the cuisine and service Monterey is known for. Just the best that it could have been.

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The meal was delicious but a little pricey. Lunch for three with two people sharing, no alcohol or desert, but coffees and iced tea and the bill was $70.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Exceeded expectations of a "roadhouse" menu. Very pleasant dining, creative menu, really good food. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 20, 2017

They should have checked open table reservation to see my allergies so maybe had some more options.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Alfredo was our server and was very very attentive. I wanted black ice tea and he brewed especially for me. He knew the menu backwards and forwards . I had the game sausage and was delighted as was my husband with his steak which was grilled to perfection. Portions were plentiful and nicely presented. We were never hurried and felt comfortable having a slow coffee and desert.

Tags: Disabled Access, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Tarpey's has been a long standing favorite. It's an absolute must when we visit Monterey/Carmel. The food is absolutely delicious. The choices are outstanding. The staff is great, very helpful and friendly. It is always hard to decide what to order. Favorites include the chili-crusted chicken, gruyere potatoes, and of course dessert. Enjoyed the apple crackle with salted caramel ice cream and the vanilla creme brulee is to die for. Excellent wine selection. 5 yums up for Tarpy's.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The waiter was attentive, informative and friendly. We enjoyed the menu variety.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere...was a business lunch ...elegant and casual! Awesome!

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Casual, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve Birthday celebration .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed dinner New Year's Eve! The surf and turf was delicious. Love the scalloped potatos! Would definitely recommend dining there! What a great way to welcome the New Year. Thank you to the wait staff who gave excellent service! Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.