Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

About Tarpy's Roadhouse

Relax in this 1917 Roadhouse and enjoy creative, Five Star American Country Cuisine. The wood-burning grill provides wonderful flavors for wild game, the freshest seafood and prime steaks. Set on five landscaped acres, the patios and extensive gardens provide a refreshing backdrop for hearty sandwiches, vegetarian entrees and tempting salads. This restaurant in Monterey has seven private and semi-private rooms available for banquets, meetings and celebrations. The full bar, award-winning wine list and knowledgeable professional service ensure a terrific dining experience. Reservations are recommended. Tarpy's also offers affordable full-service, off-site catering.

2999 Salinas Hwy
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH~ Daily from 11:30

DINNER~Daily from 4:00

SUNDAY BRUNCH~ 11:30-3:00

Cross Street:
Canyon Del Rey

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 647-1444

Website:
http://www.tarpys.com/

Catering:

As a Full Service Caterer we can handle the details of your event, including finding a location, contracting with florists, bakeries, photography & video experts, musicians and lodging. Think of us as your own personal concierge! We will help you create an event that will be remembered favorably and you will totally enjoy!

Parking Details:
Private parking lot is provided with plenty of off-street parking.

Public Transit:
Monterey Salinas Transit bus line stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef

Private Party Facilities:
Tarpy’s Roadhouse offers a full-service banquet department. There are 3 private rooms as well as 3 semi-private rooms to choose from when planning your special event or function. Some rooms are subject to a room fee. We also have available the latest Multi-Media tools to add polish to your event. Email: alethea@tarpys.com

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Team: (831) 655-2999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tarpy's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Creative Cuisine (27)
See All
Comfort Food (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Business Meals (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Fun (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Romantic (16)
Authentic (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Great for Brunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Cozy (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Healthy (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Organic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Scenic View (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1219 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 13 hours ago

So good! One of our favorite places in Monterey. Order the prime steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was excellent. Best if all was our server, Alfredo, who was friendly, informative and fun. Would definitely recommend Tarpy’s and look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Once again, we had another great meal at Tarpy’s. We loved our waiter, Nick S. He has to be the friendliest waiter we’ve ever had. He is great with recommendations and is also very efficient and professional. He makes our dining experience even better. The food as usual was wonderful. We tried the pretzel appetizer for the first time and really enjoyed it. We couldn’t resist ordering the deviled eggs again, having enjoyed them so much on a previous visit. The short ribs and sirloin entrees were great as usual. We did order dessert this time and thoroughly enjoyed the chocolate cake. We’ll be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This turned out to be the perfect place for our business dinner. Wonderful atmosphere, terrific food and wine, and great service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

We had such a delightful lunch out on Tarpy's cool outside stone patio with teak tables; the oldies music was a nice touch. The food was delicious; great calamari appetizer (spicier than most) and the adult grilled cheese sandwich was something I'll have again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2017

We have been to Tarpeys probably 20 times and the first 19 were all excellent. This time was not so good. Hope it is an aberration. Service was attentive for 3/4's of the meal then it seems our server forgot us and it took FOREVER to get the bill when we were done. We think this had to do with what looked like each server handling random tables, rather than only one section of the restaurant. We had a few flys buzzing around our table and landing on food the first half of the meal- then they disappeared. Open doors and windows because it was warm? We had the dirty tots for appetizer - which seemed like a good idea - tater tots with duck confit - but it just wasn't what we thought it would be. My wifes' prawn pasta was excellent and tasty with great tasting prawns - almost like lobster. My half rack of ribs - smoked- were underdone and it was hard to get the meat off and hard to get the ribs separated. I should have said something but I didn't. They were also very very rare- but that's typical of smoked ribs. The Peanut Butter mousse cake for dessert was excellent- highly recommend that. Whisky sour was good and a good price. Excellent wine selection - I had the Big Ranch 32 cabernet - never heard of it - but very good. We'll go again soon and hope we get a better experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Tremendous server who was friendly, well aquatinted with the menu, and most attentive through the meal

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We absolutely loved this place. The atmosphere was cozy even though the venue is huge and the food was AMAZING!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Tarpy's for our girls night out. Our server was excellent! Three of us had the steak special and they loved every bite. I had the Prawns and Grits, which I found a little bland and my friend had the prawn pasta which was very filling and rich. We enjoyed the recommended drinks and appetizers. I go to Tarpy's frequently for lunch and I sometimes forget how fun it is for dinner. We'll definitely remember to go back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had a small birthday celebration and the service was fabulous. They put balloons on our table. It was quiet and intimate. The good was delicious! We will be back again soon!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Tarpy’s was a really great experience. Staff was super friendly, smiling and welcoming. Our server was in a great mood and ensured had a great time.

The food was so good. Huge portions of high quality and well prepared food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

We went there for my wife's birthday. It was a beautiful sunny day. The restaurant setting whether inside or out was very nice and pleasing. My wife ordered the sirloin and she was very happy with that. I'm a burger fanatic. The burger I ordered was good but I expected a tastier burger from their restaurant. Since I've not tried many of their foods I leave it to that. We're still happy about our trip there. Hope you enjoy it too.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Absolutely a spectacular place. Wish we could take it with us to our home town. Will return for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Nice spot. Went for dinner but looked like patio was nice. Might try for lunch.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2017

We had a delicious meal at Tarpy's. The salads were fresh and flavorful. Three of us had the petrale sole special which was fabulous. One of us had the shrimp and grits that was wonderful. We all left feeling that our meal was delicious. And our server was great! I can't wait to return!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Have known about Tarpys for years, and never dined there. We've always opted for an ocean view. Well, not anymore. Tarpys offers outstanding dining in a unique setting. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Great service, friendly staff, and friendly guests. We had enjoyable visits with two tables adjacent to us. A very nice, memorable evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Food was excellent, service was very slow! Everyone enjoyed their meal! Just wish the service had been more prompt.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Our friends had never heard of Tarpy's, so this was a first for them. This is a great spot for couples to get together. Good food, great service, interesting menu items. Loved up to our description to our foodie friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Wonderful location/building. Amazing waiter Nick (?) from Nepal. Perfect place for a special occasion. Food good but a bit pricey.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Always good food at Tarpy's. Never had a bad meal here. Menu is full of old favorites but there's always nightly specials to entice. Not as fancy as some of the Carmel establishments, but by far my favorite restaurant in the Monterey area. You will not be disappointed with Tarpy's.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Tapas, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We had lunch outside and determined that something must be done about the bees. They were very distracting and bothersome. There were bee 'catchers' hanging nearby but they did not do the job.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Always love Tarpy's - this time, service was a tad slow given the restraint was not overly busy - and there were a lot of nats!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 19, 2017

eat here whenever i go to the Central Coast...meals, service ambience are all exceptional...i never hear Tarpy's mentioned with the better places...but it deserves to be in the conversation...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had a brunch gathering of friends from across the country during the Monterey Jazz Festival and everyone was more than delighted with our meals. We all shared the cedar plank squash and calamari to start. Exceptional flavor and crispy calamari. Our entrees ranged from Chicken and waffles to crab cake eggs Benedict to braised brisket hash and salmon salad. Each was done to perfection. Thank you Tarpys for a memorable meal. We'll be back! Oh yes, and the music sound track of Motown sounds was the best!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was a beautiful meeting place for our family dinner last Saturday night while attending the Monterey Jazz Festival. We were greeted with a warm smiling faces by the hostesses and sat immediately had a very comfortable table for the four of us. Our waiter who had been there 16 years was outstanding with telling us about the specials answering all questions on the menu and bringing us our cocktails promptly. All of our dinners work to stream Lee delicious and cooked perfectly I can't wait to come back to Tarpys and I will definitely share it with my friends and family!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Wonderful food, always, at Tarpy's. Excellent service, ambiance and lovely decor makes Tarpy's so comforting.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

God ambiance, excellent service, vers good kitchen , legt With a good feeling.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Just Plain Excellent Service, Excellent Drinks, Excellent Food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The best! Love the surloin steak. Our favorite. Wonderful service, fabulous ambiance. They have really tasty appetizers, artichoke and calamari are d-lisious!!!! Five stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Tarpy's is consistently a great restaurant. Good food, very friendly service and a good value.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Extraordinary on all levels from creative/delicious food to exceptional service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent! We'll be back again! Great specials that evening,

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Tarpy's is consistently excellent in every way. We often go there directly from MRY and we always take visiting friends there. Food is terrific and staff is too.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Live Sports, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fun atmosphere with a very nice menu. Excellent service. A bit noisy with planes flying on approach to airport but that was also part of the fun. Recommended!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Very warm evening so sitting outside was delightful - although they are in the flight path for the Monterey Airport - only one plane while we were there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Had the bison. Delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Service was superior, food delicious just wished the tables weren't so close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 24, 2017

As always, excellent food, service and ambiance. My husband cannot stop extolling the Angus burger - and especially the french fries - and I had a wonderful beet and rhubarb salad with chicken, something I'll try to make at home. My only complaint is that we only get to the Monterey Peninsula once or twice a year, or Tarpy's would see more of us. Our Bichon, Bentlee, gives it 4 paws, his highest rating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

as usual, the staff is friendly and responsive, the food is quite good and nice variety, and the drinks and wine are a nice selection.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Once again, Tarpy's didn't disappoint us. The service was efficient, friendly and professional. The food was top notch. We loved the beet salad and wedge salad, and we loved the pork chop and sirloin steak. Our only complaint was that our entrees came out while we were still eating our salads. I expected better timing from this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.