Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

About Tarpy's Roadhouse

Relax in this 1917 Roadhouse and enjoy creative, Five Star American Country Cuisine. The wood-burning grill provides wonderful flavors for wild game, the freshest seafood and prime steaks. Set on five landscaped acres, the patios and extensive gardens provide a refreshing backdrop for hearty sandwiches, vegetarian entrees and tempting salads. This restaurant in Monterey has seven private and semi-private rooms available for banquets, meetings and celebrations. The full bar, award-winning wine list and knowledgeable professional service ensure a terrific dining experience. Reservations are recommended. Tarpy's also offers affordable full-service, off-site catering.

2999 Salinas Hwy
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH~ Daily from 11:30

DINNER~Daily from 4:00

SUNDAY BRUNCH~ 11:30-3:00

Cross Street:
Canyon Del Rey

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 647-1444

Website:
http://www.tarpys.com/

Catering:

As a Full Service Caterer we can handle the details of your event, including finding a location, contracting with florists, bakeries, photography & video experts, musicians and lodging. Think of us as your own personal concierge! We will help you create an event that will be remembered favorably and you will totally enjoy!

Parking Details:
Private parking lot is provided with plenty of off-street parking.

Public Transit:
Monterey Salinas Transit bus line stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef

Private Party Facilities:
Tarpy’s Roadhouse offers a full-service banquet department. There are 3 private rooms as well as 3 semi-private rooms to choose from when planning your special event or function. Some rooms are subject to a room fee. We also have available the latest Multi-Media tools to add polish to your event. Email: alethea@tarpys.com

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Team: (831) 655-2999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tarpy's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (35)
Special Occasion (33)
Great for Lunch (29)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Comfort Food (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Cozy (21)
Fun (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Business Meals (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Romantic (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Happy Hour (11)
Authentic (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Historic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Scenic View (5)
Family Style (4)
Great Beer (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 19 hours ago

Our server, Tani, was terrific-very helpful, professional and efficient. Wonderful experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Airport noice spoiled the ambiance, too noisy on the covered patio

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Sad, but really bad food.
My girlfriend and I were excited to try this place as we just bought a home in Monterey and this is the closest restaurant. We made a reservation at 8:00 for dinner. They greeted us and brought us to a very nice table. Server was very nice. We ordered a drink and started with an order of spicy ribs. Ribs meat was completely dried out and burnt. I love a little char, but this was almost inedible. We then shared a Caesar salad that was ok. Main course was their dinner special that night, a "New York Steak". Arrived as a big hunk of meat like a piece of thick Prime Rib. It was tough, with no flavor. We are not picky, and despite it's location, we will never go back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We started with the bruschetta, which was great. My husband had the ribs, which were a generous portion smoked to perfection. I had the shrimp and grits. They were alright, but I'd not order them again. The grits were too thick and missing flavor. The "yellow sauce" that came with them was odd. My brother had the brisket and his girlfriend had the pasta prawns and really enjoyed their dishes. The service was okay, but not great. We had to keep asking for refills on our drinks.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Our annual visit in conjunction with the Laguna Seca races was another winner.
All good except the upstairs dining room is loud.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

I have been traveling to Monterey every August for better than 20 years and always make a reservation at Tarpy's. The food is good, the atmosphere is friendly and the service is competent.

A favorite of mine is the Artichoke and was a bit disappointed to see the the recipe had changed. But, the change isn't bad (not as good as the old one) and the rest of the dinner (food, service and atmosphere) was really enjoyable. Another overall win!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

One of my favorite places to eat. Great food and excellent service.

Tags: Organic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Thought that Tarpy's was known for mostly nice/fine dining.... food was nice but the customer base was at best Cracker Barrel level... ball caps, tee shirts, flip fops, shorts, ect... noise level was bar scene though out the restaurant... wine selection was top notch but mostly Corona being served...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Server was very friendly and accommodating. It was my husband's birthday-so a very fun occasion and the free dessert and the Olalaiberry pie --outstanding!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Great. Great. Great Great Great
GGreat. Great. Great Great Great Great. Great. Great Great Great
Great. Great. Great Great GreatGreat. Great. Great Great Great
Great. Great. Great Great Great
Great. Great. Great Great GreatGreat. Great. Great Great Great
Great. Great. Great Great Great
Great. Great. Great Great Great

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The food and service here is wonderful but the noise level in the bar was annoying. Not their fault. There are other good places to sit in the restaurant so I should have known better when I met my guest and he was already seated. Also, the waitress left us alone for too long. She checked on us shortly after we received our meals but then left us for more than 30 minutes and I needed the check.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The shrimp and grits (tastes better than it sounds) was incredible!! ...a true tastebuds delight!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Hands down the best lunch, if you don't mind the planes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Service was very poor!! Let menus but did not come back to get good for over 40 minutes!!!!! Not acceptable. Will not come back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 6, 2017

On our vacation we ate dinner at Tarpys. I had my daughters and grandsons with me and they all found food they enjoyed. My grandson had the ribs on the kids menu and ate them all. I had the prawns and pasta and it was delicious. I would also recommend the grilled artichoke.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I made a reservation thinking I would be seated in a nice area, reservations you'd think are special reasons, we were sat in the very front of restaurant in back of hostess podium & close to bar. Our waiter seemed kind but rarely checked on us, he was running in and out of restaurant to patio area tending to those guests. The steak I ordered seemed like a piece of charcoal on my plate, I ordered medium well. I had ordered a drink which waiter never brought out after 20 minutes, then finally we were able to ask the guy who I think was also a host. He took my order brought a drink out 5 minutes that was 1/2 way presentable, it wasn't prepared like the first drink I had ordered and was also warm. About ten minutes after that, the bartender brought out the drink that should have been brought out originally. I don't remember Tarpys being like this 15 years ago but service and food has gone downhill. I would never waste $165 on horrible service and food like theirs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Always dine at Tarpy's when visiting Monterey. Excellent food, good for vegetarians, and attentive, efficient service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Hamburger and fries delicious. Staff very friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Props to the hostess. She was basically by herself on a busy Saturday night. She got us in on time which is expected when you make a reservation. Unfortunately she had to leave her station numerous times to check on table turns and status of set tables. She was the field general as it should be. In my experience, the manager on duty should be there to help her.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Service was very good. The Portobello Sandwich was delicious -- even better than the last time I was at Tarpy's. My two friends also loved their lunches - Cobb Salad and Salmon Salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We had one of the best waitresses ever tonight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our server, Jim E. was the best! However, the wait time was a bit too long as the servers were overloaded. And we never got our bread. Overall, very good food and the atmosphere was lovely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 17, 2017

We used trip advisor for this restaurant. We were touring California, I mistook the location, it is a drive away from central Monterey, my mistake though. Overall I was a little disappointed to be honest. It was very expensive. Our party was 2 adults, 2 older children. We fancied a special meal and enjoy our food. There was one vegetarian and a coeliac. The menu had one vegetarian option a very rich portobello mushroom. The g/fr options were good but the menu states clearly it is not a g/free kitchen. The food was ok but not high enough quality for the price over $150 for four main courses and drinks. The wine and soft drinks were good. Deborah the server was really pleasant and the staff at reception were lovely. I would not go again because the food to us was average for the price, nothing memorable about the meal other than the overpriced food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Always receive great service and delicious meals at Tarpys; the outdoor covered area was perfect for our meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Beautiful spot and really good food. Nice variety on menu and the waitstaff took good care of us. We ate outdoors on the patio as we had our Golden Retriever with us and they welcomed him with a nice cool dish of water. We enjoyed our lunch here and will for sure stop in next time we're in Monterey.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Business Meals, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Getting the reservation was easy- the old stone building is amazingly beautiful but the restaurant has a very high noise level. We didn't take the first table offered for that reason. Wait staff were very nice but the runners seemed confused on table locations. They brought us the salad for the table next to us so we didn't take the one we ordered. The salad was quite good though!Said they would take it off the bill but didn't-
They also brought us the wrong entree which again belonged to another table.
My husband was pleased with his salmon entree . I ordered the brisket which I wouldn't recommend. Had the taste of reheated meat and very fatty!
Maybe I just ordered the wrong thing.
I would be willing to try again just maybe not on a busy Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Tarpys is our go to business lunch restaurant. The food is always great and we love the menu and staff. Very friendly, delicious, fresh and fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

What a local treasure. The food was excellent and the service was first class.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Tarpys road house restaurant has been consistantly good over the 20 years we have dined there. the parking is the only downside

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We always come here when we are visiting the area, and we've never been disappointed. Great wines, great food, easy drive over from Laguna Seca. We will be back!

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Five family members convened at Tarpy's from two recommendations and we understood why we'd been sent there! Charming atmosphere - great wine cellar selections and both food and service were wonderful! Somewhat surprising to see the bottom of an airplane as it swooped in over the parking lot on approach to Monterey - but all was forgotten inside. It's not in Cannery Row - but it IS worth the very short drive for great food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 3, 2017

Keep coming back here, the food is amazing. We had ribs, salmon and the popcorn prawns appetizer. We love the Sport Tea.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Our server was absolutely fantastic. She is very knowledgeable and accommodating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Family was visiting from out of town so we went to Tarpy's for Sunday Brunch. The food was outstanding. Our server, Rachel, took excellent care of us without being intrusive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We'd been wanting to try Tarpy's for a long time. A bit disappointed, food was average, and the service too. It just didn't live up to the hype.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Good food, nice service and we did not lose our table due to traffic, we were late

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We love Tarpy's! Easy atmosphere- come dressed for a nice occasion or dressed down for a casual meal with friends. Super yummy food, lots of cocktail choices, and a meatloaf you would actually want to order at a restaurant. This time we went for a birthday, and a friend gave a us a coupon she had gotten from a local business good for one appetizer here. They gave us a choice of bruschetta or calamari- both are great!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great Beer, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Tarpy's is a great restaurant. Service is outstanding and the food delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I am not a stranger to the Tarpy's family of restaurants and enjoyed multiple positive experiences at both Montrio Bistro and Rio Grill in addition to a great experience at Tarpy's bar during happy hour. That being said, I booked this restaurant for a small dinner party celebration and I was thoroughly disappointed.

We had 10 people and they sat us in a private room next to the entrance. It felt as if we were dining in a fish bowl as incoming customers could see us quite clearly and a few thought our dining room was the entrance. Our waiter was very kind but was completely incapable of ensuring our food and drinks were delivered to the appropriate person. I ordered a drink, salad, main dish, dessert, and the restaurant delivered a complimentary dessert with a celebratory candle which were all sent to the wrong people. Although this happened to me with every item delivered from the kitchen it also happened to the remainder of my party but on a less frequent scale. Two people ordered the same drink and while one drink came out right away with the rest of the orders, the second drink came out at least 15 minutes later. For our party of 10 they initially brought us enough bread for a table of four. The door to the outside was repeatedly left open letting cold air in. We went for long periods of time without anyone checking on us to the point where we ran out of water which occurred only after I grabbed a pitcher left in the corner to refill everyone's glasses.

Long story short: the food was good, the waiter was nice but new, the attention from the staff and ambiance left a lot to be desired. I would never recommend this place to a party larger than four. Go to Montrio Bistro or Rio Grill instead.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The restaurant was particularly busy. We were seated next to a large and very loud party. Our table of three had to shout at each other and still sometimes could not be heard over the laughter. It really was a tough evening. Service was great food was good. It was just an unfortunate seating.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.