About Tarpy's Roadhouse

2999 Salinas Hwy
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Relax in this 1917 Roadhouse and enjoy creative, Five Star American Country Cuisine. The wood-burning grill provides wonderful flavors for wild game, the freshest seafood and prime steaks. Set on five landscaped acres, the patios and extensive gardens provide a refreshing backdrop for hearty sandwiches, vegetarian entrees and tempting salads. This restaurant in Monterey has seven private and semi-private rooms available for banquets, meetings and celebrations. The full bar, award-winning wine list and knowledgeable professional service ensure a terrific dining experience. Reservations are recommended. Tarpy's also offers affordable full-service, off-site catering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH~ Daily from 11:30

DINNER~Daily from 4:00

SUNDAY BRUNCH~ 11:30-3:00

Cross Street:
Canyon Del Rey

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 647-1444

Website:
http://www.tarpys.com/

Catering:

As a Full Service Caterer we can handle the details of your event, including finding a location, contracting with florists, bakeries, photography & video experts, musicians and lodging. Think of us as your own personal concierge! We will help you create an event that will be remembered favorably and you will totally enjoy!

Parking Details:
Private parking lot is provided with plenty of off-street parking.

Public Transit:
Monterey Salinas Transit bus line stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef Todd

Private Party Facilities:
Tarpy’s Roadhouse offers a full-service banquet department. There are 3 private rooms as well as 3 semi-private rooms to choose from when planning your special event or function. Some rooms are subject to a room fee. We also have available the latest Multi-Media tools to add polish to your event. Email: alethea@tarpys.com

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Frasier: kelly@tarpys.com: 8316552999x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

White And Dark Chocolate Marscapone Cake With Fresh Strawberries
Vegan Stirfry
Crab Cakes
Assorted Appetizer Plate
Five-Spiced Ribs
Lamb Burger
Herb-Crusted Salmon
Mixed Dessert Platter
Mixed Baby Lettuces
Berry Sorbet
Pecan Pie
Olallieberry Pie
Warm Chocolate Brownie Banana Sundae with Vanilla Ice Cream
Grilled Sirloin
Ultimate Kobe Burger
Grilled Vegetables
Wood Grilled Top Sirloin
Fresh Monterey Bay King Salmon on Asian Noodles topped with a mango sauce.
Sweet Tart Mixed Drink
Crispy Calamari with Thai Lime Sauce
Cajun Spiced Prawns
Caesar Salad
Grilled Chili Crusted Salmon
Wood Fired Angus Sirloin Steak
Grilled Portabella over Polenta
Irie Zinfandel
Apple Pie
Shrimp & Crab Cake Benedict
Beef Brisket Sandwich
Oven Roasted Halibut With A Tomato Basil Relish, Saffron Risotto And Broiled Green Beans
1/2 Lb Burger
Chili Crusted Chicken
Gorgonzola Stuffed Filet Mignon

Tarpy's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
California Central Coast
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

special occasion (68)
great for outdoor dining (64)
good for groups (60)
See All
fit for foodies (55)
great for lunch (42)
romantic (38)
neighborhood gem (36)
notable wine list (25)
great for brunch (19)
scenic view (14)
kid-friendly (13)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
924 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Brunch with friends is always fun here

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Brunch with friends is always fun here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We waited about 10 minutes at our table ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We waited about 10 minutes at our table before a waitress came to our table. I think we had our expectations of their food too high, because it was good, but just your typical, nothing special steak type food. My husband had the angus sirloin which he said was good. He said he should have gotten something different. No much flavor. I had the scallops which came with everything charred. Charred flavoring is good, but it's the only flavoring of all of the scallops and the veggies on the dish. I didn't finish it. One friend had the ribs which he thoroughly enjoyed and another friend got the salmon which she ate, but said the filet was very small. Overall, good quality food, but the price was marked up compared to the quality. I've had my fair share of steakhouses and seafood joints all over the country. The atmosphere was nice - the tables maybe a little too close to each other? - our waitress constantly was moving out of the way for other waiters since the distance between our tables was about only 1 person wide. I think the service may have been better if we had a different waitress. She was easily distracted and would have to repeat herself. If we return, it may just be for drinks.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We came here for our anniversary dinner ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We came here for our anniversary dinner and found a new favorite place. The food - amazing! We started with the crab cakes which were good but I don't think I'd order those again.

We then split a salad of field greens, apples and pecans which was yummay! This is a large portion so you end up with two good size salads. The dressing was light and tasteful. For our main courses we had the chili rubbed chicken breasts and full rack of ribs. Both were excellent!! The ribs were among the best I've had and so meaty. Very generous portions and incredible flavor! We will be back - often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Ambiance, service, best outdoor dining a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Ambiance, service, best outdoor dining and gruyere potatoes one of the best dishes I have ever had.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The only reason I rated the noise level ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The only reason I rated the noise level a 3 is the satellite music was distracting - especially for dining al fresco. The pleasant outdoor dining area did not need to have oldie but goodies music in the background. The volume level and the music genre was not conducive to the pleasant and relaxing ambience of the patio.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going for years, and we love ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We've been going for years, and we love it! Strangely, the service this time was actually a bit too fast, I didn't even know that was possible! The appetizer came out within a few minutes, and we barely made it through half of it before entrees arrived. I think our total time there was under 40 minutes...so it actually felt a bit rushed. There were very few tables seated when we got there, so maybe that threw the timing off. Food was all good though, the full rack of ribs was huge, and my swordfish special was a large portion as well. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I had our wedding and recept ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My wife and I had our wedding and reception at Tarpy's in 2010. We come here every year for an anniversary dinner and have NEVER had a bad meal or bad service. I can't think of anything negative about this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the place especially for lunch ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved the place especially for lunch on sunny day surrounded by beautiful outdoor sitting area, reminding of an old Italian house look. Food was delicious, large entree portion was big enough when split for two people.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in the Mo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in the Monterey Bay area. Consistent great experience and I've been dining at Tarpy's for over ten years. Amazing food, good service, fun atmosphere and away from the typical tourist areas.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Somehow the kitchen sent one of our six ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Somehow the kitchen sent one of our six entrees to another table, which was unfortunate. Happily our server explained that that meal was "comped" in its entirety. This was not enough to fully remedy this awkward but understandable faux pax, but we all appreciated the appology and accommodation. Our meals were outstanding, though, and we will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Artichoke arrived cool and not cooked as ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Artichoke arrived cool and not cooked as advertised and was sent back for replacement.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Everyone's food was delicious. Service ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Everyone's food was delicious. Service was great. Planeswerenoisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the fried mushroom on polenta and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Loved the fried mushroom on polenta and also stuffed mushroom + grilled cheese and salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time going there I re ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was my second time going there I really enjoy your food is simply delicious ... Both of my visits where for the same occasion anniversary 💗 me and my husband loved it. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since its' opening, Tarpy's was always o ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Since its' opening, Tarpy's was always our go to place for a nice meal and family celebrations. A couple of years ago after major changes to the menu and several instances of poor service and not so great food we stopped going. However, this year my 94 yr. old Mother-in-law wanted to go back there to celebrate her birthday. We are thrilled to report the food was excellent and the service impeccable. We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I called on Friday to discuss our dinner ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I called on Friday to discuss our dinner as both my friend and I got sick that evening. I spoke with the hostess who was to supposed to pass along the message to a manager who would call me. I never heard from anyone. I dine at Tarpy's regularly and after this experience will not return. Terrible follow up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We chose tarpy's for a special lunch to ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We chose tarpy's for a special lunch to celebrate a graduation. Lunch was excellent and the staff was wonderful. Food is worth the price and the entire time was memorable. We always think of tarpy's for special occasions.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

TripAdvisor had over 500 reviews with a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

TripAdvisor had over 500 reviews with a rating of 4.5 stars. Not sure how that was the case! I loved the ambience of restaurant and patio. We had a party of 6 and sat on the patio. It was very pleasant. As for the food, very disappointing particularly for the price. I shared the Chili Chicken with my grandson. The chicken was over done and the green beans bland. Some of my companions had burgers. No complaints though they said they could've been more flavorful.

Sadly I am not likely to return or recommend Tarpy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Nice ambiance for private retirement party!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Our group really enjoyed the ambiance in a private room that felt intimate and conducive to good conversation and celebration. We all enjoyed our appetizers (polenta) and the halibut was delicious. The burgers were huge and tasty, too. Save room for desert...divine! We had the warm apple cobbler with ice cream, creme brulee, and a peanut butter chocolate moose.

The bread was served warm and the drinks were also satisfying. The service was friendly and very good ;) Would definitely recommend to friends! A little pricey, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great first-time visit for the wife!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was my wife's first time here, although I had been here years ago. The outside of the restaurant is pleasing, with the parking lot winding around it. It was once a house, so there are many rooms as well as an outdoor patio. We had an early reservation and were seated right away. Our friendly server, Matt, has been there many years and gave us some history about the place. We both ordered specials; I had the pasta dish and wifey had the filet and broiled shrimp which came with (she says) awesome scalloped potatoes. I didn't get a bite of those but the filet was perfect! Both dinners were wonderful! We had crème brulee for dessert and it was perfect! What a nice experience! We don't mind paying a bit more once in a while for an enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Skillful Wait Staff & Perfectly Prepared Meal

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The appetizers were tasty: fried pickles, bruschetta, and Speciality a Bavarian Bread Pretzel.

Baby Back ribs cooked slow & falling off the bone, and lamb shank tender and tasty. Our patio dining made for a perfect ambiance and meal with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While dinning on your side patio, I was ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

While dinning on your side patio, I was very impressed with the ambiance of this setting. I am a regular patron of your restaurant, and love both of your patios, as well as your lovely inside rooms. This visit, the food was fabulous, as was your luscious sport tea. Looking forward to another visit sometime soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

As good as it always has been.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The flavors of our h'ordeuvres and main meals were outstanding. The service was just fine. The ambiance was very much above average. I wish I could go there every week!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was average but not worth the c ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was average but not worth the cost. The tables were adjacent to the bar and as a result it was loud and difficult to communicate. The wait staff seemed confused as to who was going to be our waiter. After the third person it was decided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great like always

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great food great service, our favorite Monterey restaurant. See you next trip.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place for special occasions. The c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great place for special occasions. The coordinator there was on top of everything and very detailed. The food was great (just a tad salty) for the pricing.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our go-to place for consistent g ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

This is our go-to place for consistent good food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there based on recommendation from ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Went there based on recommendation from friend while we were on vacation. Great looking patio (we ate inside due to weather), and food was fantastic. Kobe beef sandwich, seafood lunches, creative appetizers, etc. Very friendly staff and diverse menu. If you want cheap go for fast-food. This place had great ambiance, service, and food. Perfect on our West Coast vacation!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress was very slow, inattentive ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The waitress was very slow, inattentive, and helped herself to the change before returning it to me. I had to track her down and ask for the change. She did not even ask if I wanted the change back. She does not belong working in a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Service, menu selection and quality of f ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Service, menu selection and quality of food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Monterey Favorite

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We come to Tarpy's once year when we visit Monterey. It never fails to please! Tried the fried pickles for a joke - tasty. I had the Black Angus burger and it was wonderful. My husband enjoyed the Oso Bucco. See you next year.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a terrific dining experience and ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a terrific dining experience and our server, Nicholas, was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great family celebration

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The entire family thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Tarpy's. Food was excellent as was the service. Our family of 3 generations from 5 yrs old to 80 was well taken care of.

Expecially notable were the squid, the ribs and the raviolis. This was not our first time eating at Tarpy's and will definitely not be the last.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down the worst dining experienc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Hands down the worst dining experience ever. The list of missed opportunities is lengthy. There is no amount of service recovery that would ever draw me back to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great venue

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Celebrated a bachelorette dinner here and the service was great. Dinner itself was okay since 2 of our members didn't get their meal out at the same time as everyone else. Our waiter made up for it by giving us free dessert of our own choice. We rewarded him with a good tip for that. Overall food, service, and ambiance was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place, great service, first timer, ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Nice place, great service, first timer, definitive coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Tarpy's for a late lunch. It ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We came to Tarpy's for a late lunch. It was a bit noisy as we were seated in the bar and many post wedding guests had arrived. The food was great, service good as well. Great crab cakes.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Sweet servers and wonderful food

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Alfredo was our server and he was wonderful! He was courteous and made an effort to interact with our youngest, 9 years old. He went out of his way to include her in conversations and not many places do that. He made suggestions and came around to check on us at regular intervals. All the food tasted wonderful though I found the "rack of lamb" was a smaller portion than I expected for $42 dollars per person. Appetizers and dessert is killer! One of my favorite spots for desserts!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Not Bad not Great

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Nothing special being it was mothers Day.

My wife had the French toast she said it was good, I tasted it and it had a lot of cinnamon , if you like that, she did.

I had the Eggs Benedict, the online menu said Lobster eggs Benedict but when we got there it was crab eggs benedict on the actual menu and no chunks of crab like there was with the Lobster version before. at the bottom was just a piece of regular white toast no muffin or anything special. We were seated at a small table next to the entrance very busy there and the waiter asked if everything was good as he would come by on his way doing something else not observant to weather we had food in our mouths., but it was convenient for him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Just Another Great Tarpy's Dinner

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had dinner at Tarpy's for my birthday and we had a great time as usual. We started at the Roadhouse Wine Bar next door for wine tasting. After some great Pinot, we bought a bottle of Pessagno Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir - Tarpy's offered free corkage for wine from the Wine Bar. Great Deal! Rita had the baby back ribs and I had the lamb chops. Both were done perfectly. The accompanying vegetables were excellent. We will return in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.