Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 2.45mi
  2. Distance: 3.26mi
  3. Distance: 3.41mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

About Tarpy's Roadhouse

Relax in this 1917 Roadhouse and enjoy creative, Five Star American Country Cuisine. The wood-burning grill provides wonderful flavors for wild game, the freshest seafood and prime steaks. Set on five landscaped acres, the patios and extensive gardens provide a refreshing backdrop for hearty sandwiches, vegetarian entrees and tempting salads. This restaurant in Monterey has seven private and semi-private rooms available for banquets, meetings and celebrations. The full bar, award-winning wine list and knowledgeable professional service ensure a terrific dining experience. Reservations are recommended. Tarpy's also offers affordable full-service, off-site catering.

2999 Salinas Hwy
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH~ Daily from 11:30

DINNER~Daily from 4:00

SUNDAY BRUNCH~ 11:30-3:00

Cross Street:
Canyon Del Rey

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 647-1444

Website:
http://www.tarpys.com/

Catering:

As a Full Service Caterer we can handle the details of your event, including finding a location, contracting with florists, bakeries, photography & video experts, musicians and lodging. Think of us as your own personal concierge! We will help you create an event that will be remembered favorably and you will totally enjoy!

Parking Details:
Private parking lot is provided with plenty of off-street parking.

Public Transit:
Monterey Salinas Transit bus line stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef

Private Party Facilities:
Tarpy’s Roadhouse offers a full-service banquet department. There are 3 private rooms as well as 3 semi-private rooms to choose from when planning your special event or function. Some rooms are subject to a room fee. We also have available the latest Multi-Media tools to add polish to your event. Email: alethea@tarpys.com

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Team: (831) 655-2999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tarpy's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (36)
Great for Lunch (32)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Creative Cuisine (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Casual (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Comfort Food (22)
Business Meals (21)
Romantic (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Fun (18)
Cozy (17)
Historic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Authentic (15)
Private Room (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fireplace (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Seasonal (8)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Healthy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great Beer (5)
Family Style (5)
Scenic View (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1094 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

We always enjoy eating at this restaurant and usually bring out of town visitors. The food is consistent ly excellent and one gets good value for the price.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

First off let me preface this review by saying that I do understand it was a prime Friday night reso during Pebble Beach Food and Wine, however, the service really took away from an overall great experience. When we were first seated it took a while for our server to greet us, when she finally came to the table I made my drink order and placed an order for appetizers, she forgot my drink order as soon as I ordered the apps. We get our handcrafted cocktails which we're very well balanced and enjoyed by all. At this point our server tells us they have a sea bass special for $27, and a rack of lamb special for $39, no other information was given until I asked what the set for the sea bass was, and she had to pull out the notecard that had the information on it, so I passed. She tells us a she will give us a little more time with the menu. After waiting a while I notice she keeps skipping over our table to help others, and I begin to think she forgot our appetizer order. Mind you we ordered cocktails and apps up to this point and planned on salads, a couple bottles of wine, entrees and dessert. After staring down every server in the room, ours comes back to take our order and assures us the apps will be out shortly. She almost forgets to take our wine bottle order until I stop her. The apps arrive and they are wonderful, the food and drinks really made our time here. Shortly after we get our entrees and the sommelier does a great job at providing excellent wine service. The table however was not cleared of our app plates. We got our entrees and our old cocktail glasses were still on the table. Again, the food was excellent and everyone really enjoyed their entrees. From here on we had to make sure our own wine was filled, not the end of the world, but something that added to a poor service experience. We order dessert and another round of cocktails and finally the service seemed to pick up at the end of our meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Good lighting, tables well spaced to allow conversation, nice atmosphere and the food was great. The beet salad was huge and full of beets....quite different fro other restaurant where you have to search for a beet slice. We shared the 14 oz prime rib with extra vegetables and that was perfect. Even though a large party of 16 were seated next to us we still could hear one another and the serve continued to be attentive. A nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 20, 2017

In town for the Sea Otter Classic (bike show / race). This is a great place for dinner. Creative menu, great atmosphere and wonderful service. I had the pork chop and it was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We went to Tarpy's while on vacation in Pacific Grove. We were seated right away for our 6:30 reservation and had a roomy table for the 2 of us. Our server Alfredo was excellent. The dinner was well paced, enabling time for people-watching between courses. There is at least one private room for special events, there was a wine tasting available to all customers, and Tarpy's is good for celebrating milestones.
We will definitely return!

Tags: Private Room, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Service was outstanding but the entrées were just ok! We went for Brunch on Easter! The Ribeye was very bland and tasted under aged! The temp was wrong too. I ordered it MR and it was more on the MW side!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was great...ambiance wonderful...food was okay...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My son and I enjoyed a delicious Easter brunch at Tarpy's! We loved the unique menu, and chose an appetizer of duck confit topped tater tots with jalapeño cheese (we had it on the side). Then chicken and waffle for the big guy and a kobe beef burger topped with lobster and arugula. Our waiter was helpful with suggestions and provided great service.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a reservation and was seated immediately upon our arrival. Waitress was attentive and knowledgeable regarding drinks and menu specials.
Food was good though I ordered chicken and waffles off the brunch menu and I had pictured pieces of fried chicken with some waffles as opposed to a piece of fried chicken on a waffle. It was tasty nonetheless.
Overall a pleasant Easter Brunch for the wife and I.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Tarpy's never fails to be a great experience. Food is outstanding, ambiance is lovely, and the price is fair for the quality. While it can be noisy at times, last Friday at 8:00 the noise level was comfortable. Our waiter was Nick who has worked their for 17 years. Best waiter we have had anywhere in a really long time. Ask for him!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We loved our dining experience. We expected more of a neighborhood burger joint, but we were pleasantly surprised. The food and ambiance are upscale. Our waiter, Nick S., made our night. He gave us wonderful recommendations, was friendly, attentive and quite professional. We enjoyed the steak and eggs (deviled eggs with rare steak on top) and the spicy tuna tacos (chock full of ahi tuna) for appetizers. We split the paella (special that evening) and the smoked baby back ribs for our entrees. Both were delicious. We look forward to returning here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great food and and amazing service! We came here during spring break. Many other places couldn't handle so many people so poor service! Tarpys didn't disappoint! Loved all of our food choices!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Tarpy's Roadhouse never disappoints! We had a very romantic dinner with great wine, a delicious seasonal salad, followed by the swordfish entrée (a special that evening). Our waitperson was attentive and gave us excellent service. We had a table for two in the "shell fireplace room" for some quite conversation and intimate dining!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Private Room, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was really good. My only complaint is with service and design. First they sat us in a corner.. A cramped weird corner. If I had to use the restroom? That would have been an issue. Our server was kind and all, but pretty much nonexistent nor was he informative. The sound of people talking was so loud it sounded as if people were yelling to talk. I wouldn't choose this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was our third time visiting Tarpy's Roadhouse, and each time was special: great food and wonderful atmosphere. We have dined outside on the patio on two occasions, when we brought our little dog (the server was very kind and brought her water and explained the pet menu). Inside is cozy and rustic. The gardens are delightful, with turtles in the pond and most recently, a mother duck with ten sweet little ducklings. Even the drive through the countryside to the restaurant is pleasant. We will return many times more, and recommend Tarpy's as a delightful, unique find.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Tarpy's menu ranges from innovative to comfort food. The wide selection is sure to fit the mood of any set of diners.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Even though they are missing a head chef, the food is still high quality and overall an excellent experience. I will definitely return soon. Ambiance is magnificent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Food was excellent, tuna tacos and portobello mushroom were fantastic

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I hadn't been to Tarpy's in almost 20 years. I had only eaten outside before. Inside was extremely loud! We asked to be moved after we were taken to our seats in a back room where 3 large parties and MANY young children were seated. It was loud and luckily we got to move because that room noise was unbearable! The food was tasty, but overpriced. Paying $25 for a pork chop, I expected a thick huge cut of meat. It was a small pork chop served with pureed turnips and some red cabbage with rhubarb. Tasty, but NOT worth $25! They served pie from Gzdich ranch, another disappointment. Tasted old. Crust not flaky. Pricy night of $150 for a meal for 3.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The service was excellent. Our waiter was delightful. First time dining there definitely going back

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I had lunch with an associate to discuss business issues. She enjoyed her lunch; I was not too happy with mine. I had the beet salad. The dressing had too much vinegar and the beets were over cooked. I have eaten at Tarpy's often and have always been happy with the service and food. This time disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great meal and good service. Our waitperson was very nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great ambience, service and food. We had salmon and the special - bass. Both excellent.
Our favorite restaurant in the area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Tarpy's is our go-to place for excellent lunches and special occasions. The staff is welcoming and knowledgeable, and the food never disappoints!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Brisket a little dry all else very good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Loved it. Unfortunately our steaks were a little over but still good. Kids food was great and the pasta was delicious. Will go back for sure.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

No FRICKLES. Very Dissapointed ("Happt Hour" only now). It was the highlight of our first visit!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Pork chop, grits, and slaw my wife had were terrific. My wagyu brisket had way too much BBQ sauce on it and the accompanying onions, potato salad, and cabbage were all subpar.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Love Tarpy's! Our waiter was great! The variety of meal and drink choices are extensive.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 27, 2017

My wife has always enjoyed Tarpys, now so does my girlfriend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went for dinner and again two days later for just drinks in the bar and really enjoyed both experiences. The food is ridiculously good. Dirty Duck Tots were a favorite among many dishes we tried, but all stood out. Drinks were excellent.

My only real "complaint" was the pace of the food was pretty quick. Dishes came very fast and entree landed before we finished apps. Not the worst deal as the food was so good, but it felt a little rushed. Still, I would HIGHLY recommend the place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We live in the area and decided to go back to Tarpy's to give it another try as the last time we were there the food was just average. Unfortunately it's very hard to even get a read on the food when you are doing nothing but trying to drown out the extremely loud environment. The noise level in the dining room we were in was so bad that my wife and I literally had trouble hearing each other even though we were seated directly across from each other at a 2 person setting.
I do have to admit the waiter noticed our aggravation to the noise level and asked if we wanted to try another section of the restaurant, but at that point in time we had enough and decided to leave. Look, I am not saying that you might not have a different experience than we did if you decide to dine here as I fully understand its not always perfect.. I sincerely hope your experience was better than ours if you decide to dine here. But all I can do is be honest about the actual dining experience at the time it took place. We didn't ask for a discount, didn't make a scene, just had our meals wrapped up, paid full price and left and will maybe give it another try later this year.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was a fun dinner for my daughter and I. Hard to choose what to order as there were many items on the menu enticing us. I had the shrimp and grits which were delicious. She had the portabella mushroom over grits with "steak sauce". She said she liked it, don't think she "loved it" tho. I had the corn cake and corn icecream for dessert - it was amazing!!! She had a chocolate/peanut butter dessert and loved it! Paper "tablecloth" and crayons kept us entertained as we waited for our food. Every room in the place was packed so it is a loud and lively place - which we didn't mind a bit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We love this neighborhood restaurant; relaxed atmosphere with excellent service and food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was really good... fries truly amazing/best part of meal. Strawberry lemonade wonderfully tart and both flavors stood out.Left overstuffed. A little noise but not jarring like Rio Grill. Kobe burger was HUGE... but bun made it TOO BIG/more bun than burger. Recommend putting it on butter/garlic grilled sour dough bread instead... would be a killer entree then!!!! Service as more than excellent! (not sure name... was Latino, might have been Jose but woman serving at next table jumped in too when we looked up to ask something and he was in kitchen... VERY pleased with service!) Bacon and maybe grilled mushrooms should be options on both burgers.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 21, 2017

When we arrived we were greeted warmly, taken right to our table. The wait staff was prompt and graciously responsive throughout our evening.
We enjoyed Todd's tater tots as an appetizer. Crunchy right from the pan, the dish was tasty but I have a few suggestions: Chorizo for the meat (provides smaller chunks), sharper cheese and perhaps an option of diced jalapeños?
My companion had the salmon and gave me a taste. Done perfectly: moist, rich flavor, not too much sauce as often happens.
I had the Kobe burger and enjoyed it. The fries are crisped nicely along side it.
All in all, we had an excellent experience. The menu is fun and creative, yet retains choices to satisfy standard comfort tastes.
Way to go Tarpy's staff, Rock on Todd!

Tags: Business Meals, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food was great, very family friendly and in a nice, relaxed setting.

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Consistently delicious food and great atmosphere. I love the truffle grits and the 4-5 beer flight. If you have reservations give yourself time to park, it's a popular spot.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.