About Tarpy's Roadhouse

2999 Salinas Hwy
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Relax in this 1917 Roadhouse and enjoy creative, Five Star American Country Cuisine. The wood-burning grill provides wonderful flavors for wild game, the freshest seafood and prime steaks. Set on five landscaped acres, the patios and extensive gardens provide a refreshing backdrop for hearty sandwiches, vegetarian entrees and tempting salads. This restaurant in Monterey has seven private and semi-private rooms available for banquets, meetings and celebrations. The full bar, award-winning wine list and knowledgeable professional service ensure a terrific dining experience. Reservations are recommended. Tarpy's also offers affordable full-service, off-site catering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH~ Daily from 11:30

DINNER~Daily from 4:00

SUNDAY BRUNCH~ 11:30-3:00

Cross Street:
Canyon Del Rey

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 647-1444

Website:
http://www.tarpys.com/

Catering:

As a Full Service Caterer we can handle the details of your event, including finding a location, contracting with florists, bakeries, photography & video experts, musicians and lodging. Think of us as your own personal concierge! We will help you create an event that will be remembered favorably and you will totally enjoy!

Parking Details:
Private parking lot is provided with plenty of off-street parking.

Public Transit:
Monterey Salinas Transit bus line stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef Todd

Private Party Facilities:
Tarpy’s Roadhouse offers a full-service banquet department. There are 3 private rooms as well as 3 semi-private rooms to choose from when planning your special event or function. Some rooms are subject to a room fee. We also have available the latest Multi-Media tools to add polish to your event. Email: alethea@tarpys.com

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Frasier: kelly@tarpys.com: 8316552999x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Tarpy's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
California Central Coast
Great for Lunch
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

special occasion (86)
great for outdoor dining (68)
good for groups (64)
See All
fit for foodies (64)
great for lunch (49)
romantic (49)
notable wine list (40)
neighborhood gem (37)
great for brunch (21)
scenic view (20)
kid-friendly (20)
hot spot (19)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
897 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our go-to place for consistent g ...

Dined 7 days ago

This is our go-to place for consistent good food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there based on recommendation from ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Went there based on recommendation from friend while we were on vacation. Great looking patio (we ate inside due to weather), and food was fantastic. Kobe beef sandwich, seafood lunches, creative appetizers, etc. Very friendly staff and diverse menu. If you want cheap go for fast-food. This place had great ambiance, service, and food. Perfect on our West Coast vacation!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The waitress was very slow, inattentive ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The waitress was very slow, inattentive, and helped herself to the change before returning it to me. I had to track her down and ask for the change. She did not even ask if I wanted the change back. She does not belong working in a restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service, menu selection and quality of f ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Service, menu selection and quality of food was excellent.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A Monterey Favorite

Dined on May 15, 2016

We come to Tarpy's once year when we visit Monterey. It never fails to please! Tried the fried pickles for a joke - tasty. I had the Black Angus burger and it was wonderful. My husband enjoyed the Oso Bucco. See you next year.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a terrific dining experience and ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a terrific dining experience and our server, Nicholas, was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great family celebration

Dined on May 15, 2016

The entire family thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Tarpy's. Food was excellent as was the service. Our family of 3 generations from 5 yrs old to 80 was well taken care of. Expecially notable were the squid, the ribs and the raviolis. This was not our first time eating at Tarpy's and will definitely not be the last.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Hands down the worst dining experienc ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Hands down the worst dining experience ever. The list of missed opportunities is lengthy. There is no amount of service recovery that would ever draw me back to this establishment.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great venue

Dined on May 15, 2016

Celebrated a bachelorette dinner here and the service was great. Dinner itself was okay since 2 of our members didn't get their meal out at the same time as everyone else. Our waiter made up for it by giving us free dessert of our own choice. We rewarded him with a good tip for that. Overall food, service, and ambiance was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, great service, first timer, ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Nice place, great service, first timer, definitive coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We came to Tarpy's for a late lunch. It ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We came to Tarpy's for a late lunch. It was a bit noisy as we were seated in the bar and many post wedding guests had arrived. The food was great, service good as well. Great crab cakes.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Sweet servers and wonderful food

Dined on May 11, 2016

Alfredo was our server and he was wonderful! He was courteous and made an effort to interact with our youngest, 9 years old. He went out of his way to include her in conversations and not many places do that. He made suggestions and came around to check on us at regular intervals. All the food tasted wonderful though I found the "rack of lamb" was a smaller portion than I expected for $42 dollars per person. Appetizers and dessert is killer! One of my favorite spots for desserts!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not Bad not Great

Dined on May 8, 2016

Nothing special being it was mothers Day. My wife had the French toast she said it was good, I tasted it and it had a lot of cinnamon , if you like that, she did. I had the Eggs Benedict, the online menu said Lobster eggs Benedict but when we got there it was crab eggs benedict on the actual menu and no chunks of crab like there was with the Lobster version before. at the bottom was just a piece of regular white toast no muffin or anything special. We were seated at a small table next to the entrance very busy there and the waiter asked if everything was good as he would come by on his way doing something else not observant to weather we had food in our mouths., but it was convenient for him.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just Another Great Tarpy's Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had dinner at Tarpy's for my birthday and we had a great time as usual. We started at the Roadhouse Wine Bar next door for wine tasting. After some great Pinot, we bought a bottle of Pessagno Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir - Tarpy's offered free corkage for wine from the Wine Bar. Great Deal! Rita had the baby back ribs and I had the lamb chops. Both were done perfectly. The accompanying vegetables were excellent. We will return in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Awesome all around

Dined on May 7, 2016

Very good foodservice! Will definitely be going back!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good dining experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food and service was great. Prices were reasonable. If I have a complaint it's that it was very busy and loud for the type of meal we had. We were seated next to the bar area and it was difficult to have a conversation without feeling like we had to talk very loud ourselves

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently VERY Good

Dined on April 29, 2016

There are not many restaurants that one can say are consistently good. In all the years I've eaten here, only once did I not like my meal. They refused to charge me for it. I eat lunch here at least once a month. For a woman who doesn't enjoy eating out, that's a lot.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was awesome!

Dined on April 29, 2016

First time here. My husband got the Kobe burger-- amazing! I got the pork chop-- amazing! My daughter got the grits and shrimp-- amazing! The staff is so on top of it and the food came out really fast!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

disappointing this time

Dined on April 25, 2016

Usuallay fabulous, the ribs were dry and tough and the burger was cooked to beyond well-done, when medium was requested. The server seemed inexperienced and did not ask us how anything was during the meal. This is usually my go-to place and i was disappointed :(

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant!

Dined on April 24, 2016

I have been coming to Tarpy's for a few years now and it just keeps getting better! The food is outstanding and the service is excellent. They are happy to make substitutions to fit your specific taste and so far, every recommendation from the servers has been perfect. I highly recommend Tarpy's!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

We have made dinner at Tarpy's a traditi ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We have made dinner at Tarpy's a tradition every year in April during an event we attend in Monterey. As a group of 8, we were very disappointed in the changes in the menu and the food we ordered. The bartender was rude and most of our drinks were not prepared correctly (i.e. Cadillac Marguerites) or our requested brands (Kettle One). Also, we made our reservation several days ahead and were not seated for over an hour because our table was "not available." Finally, a couple of tables next to the cash register were rearranged for us. Sadly, we will not be making a reservation there in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tarpy's, A Household Name

Dined on April 20, 2016

When we travel to beautiful Monterey, California we always try to have dinner at least once at Tarpy's Roadhouse. The food is 5 star, the service is remarkable and it has great ambiance. The prices are reasonable making your dining experience a memorable one. The proportions are more than adequate and no one leaves hungry. The wine list is up there with the best and they offer suggestions as to which wines go well with which foods. We love Tarpy's Roadhouse and the great people that work there. Did I mention that the service is great?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tarpy's is always a delightful place.

Dined on April 19, 2016

Tarpy's is known as a great place for a great meal. The service was extraordinary as was the menu; everything we ordered (I had the meat loaf) was delicious. This was another good time at Tarpy's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good!

Dined on April 18, 2016

One of the best things about Tarpys is it's hours. Open daily, and serves a full menu daily, not bar food during off hours. So you can drop in for a late lunch @ 2 or 3; or early dinner. Service is excellent and food is consistent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Not outstanding

Dined on April 12, 2016

Had dinner on a quiet weekday. FlatIron steak was tough with okay flavor. Special pasta dish was unappealing and lacked focus. Good salad and wine though. Will go somewhere else next time. I have previously enjoyed better meals at Tarpys, especially with some of their fish specials.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seasons 52

Dined on April 11, 2016

This was my first visit to Seasons 52. I found it to be well staffed & the food outstanding. The wait staff was exceptional. The ambiance was vibrant enough but still quiet enough to have a reasonable conversation. I would highly recommend Seasons 52.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Monterey Baseball Road Trip

Dined on March 26, 2016

We were in town for a short vacation and stopped by for our 2nd trip to Tarpey's as the first dining experience was awesome! Nick the waiter our fist time was an amazing waiter & person. Took great care of us. We had a different server this time but not in the least disappointed as she took great care of us as well. All of the food we had in our party of 7 was fantastic! It is not the cheapest place in town however it is WELL worth every penny!! We frequently travel from south Florida to Monterey and Tarpey's will now be a regular stop every time we come to Monterey! Take your friends & loved ones and enjoy an amazing dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent after a day at the wineries

Dined on March 26, 2016

An amazing dining experience. From the crab cakes to the ribs everything was delicious!!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch visit to Tarpy's

Dined on March 25, 2016

We went during our lunch hour. The food was great and the service was prompt and professional. The bill came promptly as we finished so we were able to get back to work in plenty of time. Great job to Tarpy's!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with our pup

Dined on March 24, 2016

We had our puppy with us for lunch. I was so happy to learn they allowed dogs. Our waitress was amazing! She brought water out in a cute dog bowl for our pup, and she was so attentive to us. The food was amazing, and the patio was peaceful on such a beautiful day. It was such a pleasant lunch. Thank you for an overall great experience!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great find

Dined on March 24, 2016

Great find, great food. Will definitely go back! A little noisy but a lot of fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good ol' steak house!!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Tarpy's is one of those places the locals go to. Crowd is eclectic , servers quick and elegantly courteous. Unfortunately I took the last reservation and the place was already closing, making us feel a little rushed. Portions are plentiful ( A LOT OF FOOD!) and uniquely presented. Only blemish was that the perfectly cooked porkchop was tragically underseasoned....our server was so busy, possibly on closing duties, by the time I got the salt I was almost done. So, it's totally worth the drive, just go early and HUNGRY!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous service

Dined on March 17, 2016

We were able to seat in our favorite waiter's section. It was a busy night, the food and service was superb. The specials were delicious and Nick gave his top-notch attention. Thanks for a lovely evening

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening.

Dined on March 11, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was wonderful. All in all a perfect evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

My ONLY complaint was that our food came ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

My ONLY complaint was that our food came out too fast. Might sound weird, but it was waaaay too fast. It's a gorgeous restaurant with so much art and history. It's a fine dining experience and one wants to savor it a bit. We ordered and our entrees came before either of us finished our bread slice! Otherwise, love this place. Love the ambiance. Love the art work. Love the history. Love the food.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Comfortable dining experience

Dined on March 7, 2016

Very nice venue with cozy rooms and comfortable ambiance. The chili chicken was really delicious. Pleasant, efficient waitress too, who was knowledgeable abut the wines.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I had my rehearsal dinner at Tarpy's ove ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

I had my rehearsal dinner at Tarpy's over 20 years ago, so it is nostalgic place for me to return. I was disappointed on my last visit with the food. I had the sea bass special. My piece of fish was very small and was not one whole piece. It was a little charred as well. My colleague ordered duck and he was also not very satisfied. He thought his Faro & brussel sprout side dish was great. The crab cake appetizer was very good and very fresh.

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved the venue but the food was generic at best.

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Loved the venue but the food was generic at best. Fair service and ambiance but food is important also. Steak had no flavor and was laid over what was supposed to be crispy potatoes. Not crispy after steak laid on them. The pasta dish that are table ordered was not great, the prawns were chewy and sauce was questionable.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Another reliable lunch.

Dined on February 26, 2016

Another reliable lunch.

food4
ambience5
service5

courtney waa

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

courtney waa

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.