About Tarpy's Roadhouse

2999 Salinas Hwy
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Relax in this 1917 Roadhouse and enjoy creative, Five Star American Country Cuisine. The wood-burning grill provides wonderful flavors for wild game, the freshest seafood and prime steaks. Set on five landscaped acres, the patios and extensive gardens provide a refreshing backdrop for hearty sandwiches, vegetarian entrees and tempting salads. This restaurant in Monterey has seven private and semi-private rooms available for banquets, meetings and celebrations. The full bar, award-winning wine list and knowledgeable professional service ensure a terrific dining experience. Reservations are recommended. Tarpy's also offers affordable full-service, off-site catering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH~ Daily from 11:30

DINNER~Daily from 4:00

SUNDAY BRUNCH~ 11:30-3:00

Cross Street:
Canyon Del Rey

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 647-1444

Website:
http://www.tarpys.com/

Catering:

As a Full Service Caterer we can handle the details of your event, including finding a location, contracting with florists, bakeries, photography & video experts, musicians and lodging. Think of us as your own personal concierge! We will help you create an event that will be remembered favorably and you will totally enjoy!

Parking Details:
Private parking lot is provided with plenty of off-street parking.

Public Transit:
Monterey Salinas Transit bus line stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef

Private Party Facilities:
Tarpy’s Roadhouse offers a full-service banquet department. There are 3 private rooms as well as 3 semi-private rooms to choose from when planning your special event or function. Some rooms are subject to a room fee. We also have available the latest Multi-Media tools to add polish to your event. Email: alethea@tarpys.com

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Team: (831) 655-2999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tarpy's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Business Meals (24)
See All
Casual (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Romantic (17)
Cozy (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Fireplace (12)
Fun (11)
Authentic (11)
Historic (11)
Seasonal (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Private Room (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great Beer (6)
Family Style (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tapas (4)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1056 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

When we arrived we were greeted warmly, taken right to our table. The wait staff was prompt and graciously responsive throughout our evening.

We enjoyed Todd's tater tots as an appetizer. Crunchy right from the pan, the dish was tasty but I have a few suggestions: Chorizo for the meat (provides smaller chunks), sharper cheese and perhaps an option of diced jalapeños?

My companion had the salmon and gave me a taste. Done perfectly: moist, rich flavor, not too much sauce as often happens.

I had the Kobe burger and enjoyed it. The fries are crisped nicely along side it.

All in all, we had an excellent experience. The menu is fun and creative, yet retains choices to satisfy standard comfort tastes.

Way to go Tarpy's staff, Rock on Todd!

Tags: Business Meals, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great, very family friendly and in a nice, relaxed setting.

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Consistently delicious food and great atmosphere. I love the truffle grits and the 4-5 beer flight. If you have reservations give yourself time to park, it's a popular spot.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

Waiter great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Not the first time I've had awful service when treating a business friend to a lunch. HOW UPSETTING! I've come to Tarpy's for years but at this point I won't recommend it to a friend. So sad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We usually go to Tarpie's for company dinners upstairs always great. This time as well, the food was outstanding, I have many allergies and they catered to them all. I am very happy and will go back again and again. I had steak and garlic mashed potatoes, perfecto! The waiter was excellent even though it was Valentines Day and very busy.

Thanks for discount on the bubbly!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Another great evening at Tarpy's to celebrate Valentine's Day. Service was prompt and friendly.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great Beer, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good as usual, what more is there to say? We always enjoy Tarpy's

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Family Style, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always really enjoy the food, the service (by server Raymond) was excellent and we always eat outside on the breezeway and it's perfect! One of our favorite places for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had the best waitress-Valerie, she was so attentive and great personality! The steaks were just superb, we are still thinking about them, days later! We went there, for an early "Valentine's Day" treat, to ourselves.....it was well worth it!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have been coming to Tarpy's for more than 12 years. I know that there are always changes with restaurants as they continue to evolve, but I was especially disappointed in the ambiance (extremely loud for dinner hour) and poor service (my server was more interested in serving and conversing with the former employees sitting at the table next to mine to the exclusion of service to our table). Our dinner was to celebrate a special occasion and both my husband and I were disappointed especially since the "former" hallmark of coming to Tarpy's was fabulous service and great atmosphere. I can say on a positive note, that dinner was exquisite, exactly as we have come to expect from Tarpy's. However, given my experience with the other factors, I would prefer to go to another restaurant in the future despite the wonderful food.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

COLD. The room we were in was very cold. The explanation from the waitperson was that they just opened and just turned on the heat. Two other tables that were seated in this room asked to be moved to a warmer room! We stuck it out hoping it would heat up. It did not. The food was good, the waitperson not very attentive. Bundle up if you plan on going when they first open.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time at Tarpy's. The service was good and we were seated right away for our reservation. There are several rooms in the restaurant with open breezeway windows into the other rooms. Our table was in a smaller, quieter room - which was a bit awkward because we felt we needed to have a whispered conversation. The food was definitely good, but not fabulous. Portions were plentiful. The ambiance was lively - a lot of people there after the AT&T, so it appears the restaurant is a local favorite. The outdoor patio, which was not open for dining, looked like it would be a nice place to dine during the warmer months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

come here often, love this place. we come here for family celebrations, this is our go to place. I will be back.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Family Style, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Historic, Business Meals, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Absolutely delicious as always! Any occasion lunch or dinner I recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I'd had several people suggest Tarpy's on my visit to Monterey. Glad I took them up on the suggestion. Simply the best meal in a very long time. The starters were pleasant, the wine list was substantial (as well as the whiskey list) but it was the seafood special of the night. A truly special halibut on a bed of grits topped with prawns. Beautiful and tasty. I'll be back next time hoping that it will be in the menu again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Three couples who are old friends and an out of town guest. With out trying, Tarpy's provided the best possible impression of the cuisine and service Monterey is known for. Just the best that it could have been.

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The meal was delicious but a little pricey. Lunch for three with two people sharing, no alcohol or desert, but coffees and iced tea and the bill was $70.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Exceeded expectations of a "roadhouse" menu. Very pleasant dining, creative menu, really good food. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 20, 2017

They should have checked open table reservation to see my allergies so maybe had some more options.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Alfredo was our server and was very very attentive. I wanted black ice tea and he brewed especially for me. He knew the menu backwards and forwards . I had the game sausage and was delighted as was my husband with his steak which was grilled to perfection. Portions were plentiful and nicely presented. We were never hurried and felt comfortable having a slow coffee and desert.

Tags: Disabled Access, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Tarpey's has been a long standing favorite. It's an absolute must when we visit Monterey/Carmel. The food is absolutely delicious. The choices are outstanding. The staff is great, very helpful and friendly. It is always hard to decide what to order. Favorites include the chili-crusted chicken, gruyere potatoes, and of course dessert. Enjoyed the apple crackle with salted caramel ice cream and the vanilla creme brulee is to die for. Excellent wine selection. 5 yums up for Tarpy's.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The waiter was attentive, informative and friendly. We enjoyed the menu variety.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere...was a business lunch ...elegant and casual! Awesome!

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Casual, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve Birthday celebration .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed dinner New Year's Eve! The surf and turf was delicious. Love the scalloped potatos! Would definitely recommend dining there! What a great way to welcome the New Year. Thank you to the wait staff who gave excellent service! Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We're from out of town but come to the area about four times a year and always make Tarpys a place to eat. I celebrated my 65th birthday there, had a private room and could not have been more pleased. Wonderful food, great service and staff and we will keep coming back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Private Room, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Tuna tacos are to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Tarpy's is very conveniently located near a crossroads and had plenty of parking for my guests. We were seated promptly and the excellent service began immediately. Drinks were great and the food was excellent. They had a reasonable corkage fee and my guests and I had a great evening there. Will definitely return!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was excellent and great ambiance. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Solid entree choices that left us with multiple choices. Service was good, waitstaff was engaging without being bothersome. Fairly decent knowledge of their wine list. Easy to work with on Open Table. When I left my leather jacket behind they contacted me so that I wouldn't have to figure out where in the heck I left it.

I'd go back for certain.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Every time we come to Monterey, we eat at Tarpy's. Great food, great service, great ambience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My family was visiting from out-of-town, so we went here for a post-Christmas dinner. There were 11 of us, which included 5 kids (aged 2-8). They put us in a private room which worked out great, as we didn't feel like we were bothering the other guests when the kids were a little loud! I was worried at first about not being able to flag down a waiter if we needed something, but we definitely didn't feel ignored, and our server visited us with enough frequency. The food was delicious -- a bit on the pricy side, but reasonable for the quality of food. My husband had the brisket, which was the most tender brisket I've ever tasted. Rest of us had pasta dishes which were all great! The kids' meals were great quality -- substantial, yummy, and came with dessert (which they loved).

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was very good. Noise was a. bit loud service was excellent. Over all I would go back but it would not be my first choice in the Monterey Carmel area a good second choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Quite table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Consitently great food. Big flavors. Diverse menu, always good. We have been coming here for years with family, friends and business associates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 16, 2016

One of our favorites. If you like comfort food with fine dining quality, this is the place to go.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Casual, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We have been going to Tarpy's for over 20 years. We have had Mother's Day, renewed our wedding vows, held many Birthdays and other events. It is one of the finest restaurants you can visit. It is a great restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The food was just ok. The ribs was a bit on the dry side and the wagyu roast is quite over done. Not a fan of beets coleslaw either. Place has potential but needs to improve the menu and cooking

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We eat at Tarpys a lot. The chef (Todd Fisher) has made a great improvement in the menu and food quality since he came to Tarpy's.

However, the past 2 times we have eaten there were very mediocre. I ordered meat loaf the last time we ate there which was 2 nights ago. The meatloaf was dry and the salad (Caesar) was tasteless. The food server brought our main meals before we finished our salads and our table was packed with plates. We felt hurried and did not find the evening to be pleasurable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This place has a long history and a lot of character. Our first meal here. Large drink menu. Food was above average in price, but it was well prepared and worth the price. Very good service.

Tags: Seasonal, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent all around. My wife and I really enjoyed our meal and the surroundings. Staff was friendly and the food was excellent. We opted for four appetizers and desert instead of full meals and we were not disappointed! You should not miss this... it's a treat you deserve!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The grouper special was excellent but the ribs were disappointing. They were plated before the fish and came out Luke warm. It took unusually long to get our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We had a wonderful staff celebration of multiple work anniversaries. They were very helpful with separating the food and alcohol tabs. The servers were very friendly. We lucked out with a 1/2 price wine special that night. It was very relaxed and we never felt rushed to move on

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The tuna taco appetizers are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Charming remodeled old stone house. Lovely decks and terrace for outdoors dining. Food was surprisingly good and fresh for a place this large (several small and large dining rooms). Great for holiday spirit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

We have eaten at Tarpy's on multiple occasions and this was another outstanding experience.

The food was great and the service was outstanding. The quarters are kinda close in the dining area, but worth the slight inconvenience.

RB

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Had not been to this restaurant for quite a few years. Menu was interesting and food was overall good. Noisy at first due to a family with toddlers in our room. Service was good, but could have been a bit more attentive. We would go back again.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The deviled eggs were awesome, the Chili Crusted Chicken breasts were very good, and the meatloaf with mushroom gravy was delicious. Loved the beans, and everything EXCEPT the garlic mashed potatoes. They were not very good, and had a funny aftertaste. The ginger iced tea was a favorite, but THE BEST dish was the Pecan Pumpkin pie for dessert. Worth the extra calories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The menu used to be more traditional (i.e. American roadhouse), but you can still find an old favorite like meatloaf or a ribeye steak, and their desserts are delicious...especially those that aren't salted. Wine is overpriced here, as it is in so many restaurants today, but mixed drinks are competitive, generous and tasty. A less eclectic beer list would be nice. Noise is an irritant, as the building acoustics turn any group's conversation into a shouting match.

Tags: Business Meals, Spicy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.