Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Tapas Restaurant

"Tapas" Food for sharing …
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. Dishes are designed for two people to share, we suggest 2—3 dishes per person as a meal.

633 10th Street
Canmore, AB T1W 2A2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Open every day from 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 609-0583

Website:
http://www.tapascanmore.ca/

Catering:
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. We offer similar "Tapas" style menus for groups and all food is served family style. We can customize menus for groups based on our current menu on offer.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Picek

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Tapas Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (54)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Special Occasion (38)
Romantic (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Cozy (33)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Worth the Drive (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Authentic (17)
Tasting Menu (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fun (11)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Live Music (8)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great Beer (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Seasonal (3)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
1292 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2018

Great food and service. Would come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Don’t hesitate this is a must when you are in Canmore

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Romantic, Live Music, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Tapas is the best restaurant in Canmore my wife and I love the creative dishes and sharing style of dining. The wine list isn't huge but the selections are excellent. This isn't for you it all you want is meat and potatoes or a steak

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 6, 2018

My wife and I went here on a post-Christmas date. We like tapas-style eating and found this gem by Google search. Don't let the vaguely unimaginative name fool you - this place is an absolutely amazing dining experience.

The service is perfect for the small, cozy ambiance of the room, and their knowledge of the menu is a pleasant surprise. My wife, who is a celiac, loves the clarity of the menu, with all of the GF items clearly marked.

And the food - WOW. We enjoyed 5 items (other than the olives that are a must-order anytime you have tapas); all of them were beautifully presented and prepared. The absolute star of dinner was the beet and apple salad with manchego cheese. Honestly - tuna was great, steak was very good, Caesar salad fresh and crisp - but the salad - that was something else - good enough that we had to order it twice!

Looking for a great place for a romantic dinner with a loved one, a special occasion or just a fantastic dinner. How good was it? We already booked our Valentines dinner there!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Tapas is an excellent restaurant. We spent two months in Spain last winter and on all counts, Tapas is as good or better than even the high end tapas restaurants that we enjoyed in Toledo, Seville, Javea and elsewhere. One of the real strengths of Tapas is that they do not try to copy the dishes one would enjoy in Spain, but to use the best quality ingredients, both local and imported, to prepare and present delicious food in the tapas style.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

Had a very nice time dinning here. The food was great and service was friendly. Thank you for a great night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 3, 2018

The food was good. Small portions though and very pricey. The service was disappointing. Not good service at all.
Wouldn't go there again for a supper maybe just an appitizer.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

My love for lamb led me in choosing this restaraunt for New Years weekend celebration with my partner. Upon ordering the lamb and a starter for myself and shared mussels and duck with my partner, we were told they no longer had either lamb or mussels. Rather than letting this spoil our special night, we stayed and ate other options. Overall, the service from the waitress was poor and in turn, created an unwelcoming atmosphere. The food was mediocre at best, prices were too high for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

We went for our anniversary based on the good reviews and it has a nice atmosphere but the food portions were quite small, expensive and just OK. If you go make sure you eat before hand or you’ll leave hungry unless you order at least 3 or 4 items per person at $20-$30 a piece. They sat us up on the second floor when it was -30degC outside and it was ridiculously cold. We had to keep our heavy winter coats on for the entire meal. Not a repeat.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

The food was great but nothing I couldn't prepare for a much better price at home. The service was great when they paying attention, very informative. We were sat by a window and told that it wouldn't be cold. It was freezing. It's great but I wouldn't go again because it was too pricy. The food should be orgasmic if its going to be at the price, not just really good.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Great food! We try to get away to Canmore each winter. This year my in-laws sent us with a gift certificate. The food was excellent, the service was friendly. The table behind us was obnoxious. Pricey, but a great option for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2017

I've been to Tapas Restaurant at least 10 times in the past 6 years. They change the menu on regular basis and I have to say this menu is average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Good variety of small plates. Well thought out menu

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Food, service and atmosphere were incredible. The whole experience was well worth the trip to Canmore. Thanks for an unforgettable 30th Birthday!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tapas, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 18, 2017

Food was tasty. Presentation outstanding. Fairly authentic (we spend a lot of time in Spain) and excellent value.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

Superb food & service. Lovely atmospheric restaurant

Tags: Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2017

Everything was delicious!! Tried 8 things, all of which were incredible. Do not go unless you have lots of time, you will be there for a while. If it is a cold night ask to sit away from the door.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 10, 2017

I reviewed the menu ahead of time online and looked forward to this restaurant for a special night out with my husband and friends. We were shocked at the high prices vs the tiny portions! The food was delicious but not worth the price at all in our opinion. I would never go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 8, 2017

A true Gem. We love the quaint cozy feel of Tapas. Excellent food. The staff are terrific -> very friendly, attentive and helpful in assisting you in selecting your menu choices. We were in Canmore for two weeks and dined at Tapas three times. There are some great restaurants in Banff and Canmore but this is our favourite. We will be back in Canmore in spring and can't wait to return to Tapas. On Friday evenings they have a musician (Spanish Guitarist). Beautiful music. We highly recommend Tapas. It is pricey but absolutely worth it. Enjoy!

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Authentic, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 4, 2017

I have been to Tapas many times and continue to feel it is the best restaurant in Canmore. Whether an intimate dinner for two or a fun dinner with a group you won’t be disappointed. Fabulous food, amazing service, great wine list and an incredible atmosphere all blend to make it a memorable experience!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

A much awaited return to Tapas didn’t disappoint. Lovely attentive staff accented the great food and drinks. The plates are always delectable!

Tags: Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 2, 2017

We have been to Tapas before and had the most memorable and amazing experience. Unfortunately this time around was not as good. The atmosphere seemed different (brighter) the pricing on the menu seemed to have sky rocketed! While the food was good, it was not exceptional as it was on our last visit. We were looking forward to the sangria all week and it seemed as though the recipe had changed. As much as I wanted to give a glowing review, I think I would likely try somewhere else next time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Tapas resturant NEVER disappoints, great selection of Tapas food items, food is great, taste is consistent. Been going to Tapas for years for our anniversary. We always stay at the Paintbox Lodge and walk next door for dinner. Great place!! Real gem in the Rockies.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

At the risk of overladening a review with too many superlatives, the immediate sense of warmth and familiarity experienced walking in the door is wonderful. The staff are fabulously welcoming, brilliantly informed and passionately interested in what they are serving. There is tantalizing mix of Canadian and international products on offer which really make for an enjoyable,indulgent experience. In today’s world of mass market pleasing franchises it’s always nice to find a place that truly places quality, intimacy and simplicity as an apparent top 3 on its priority list. Will certainly be back. Full marks!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Always one of our favorites. The food, the ambiance, every staff member was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 21, 2017

Such a treat. We went for a birthday celebration and loved it! Couldn’t recommend enough

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Some great tapas. Great service. Perfect for group of girlfriends or men who are lighter eaters!! Our men would have been HUNGRY!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Great spot in Canmore nestled in the Rocky Mountains, Huge spritzer based menu great for sharing. Good wine list and tasty desserts.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Loved this place. Food and ambience was perfect. Restaurant accommodated us showing up early and were friendly. The pace is great for a leisurely date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Tapas, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Food was amazing. Definitely a new favourite. Went for a birthday dinner. The one thing I didn’t appreciate was as we were finishing our last mouthful of wine, the hostess came by and informed us that they needed the table. I had witnessed this happen to another diner about a half hour earlier who was also not impressed and let the hostess know quite loudly. Certainly left a poor impression after a stellar evening of great food, good wine and fabulous service. Maybe ask ahead of time when you’re seated what time they need the table to avoid this awkward situation.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Always a pleasurable and unique experience dining here. We always dine at Tapas when in Canmore.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Order less than you think. Very filling! Nice wines. Live music a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Always love the creativity of the chef in terms of presentation , and ingredients. Everything is delicious. Will definitely be back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Cozy, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Tapas was really good the food tasted great it was very cozy in the restaurant my wife and me will be returning

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Loved it!
The food was amazing and so was the wine. Very busy, but we had reservations and it was all good!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Amazing experience and beautiful live music on Friday nights. Our host Dale gave great recommendations and we enjoyed the experience and food, made for a perfect date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Always a pleasure to have an evening out at Tapas. The new menu is fantastic although sad to see the Patatas Diablo go. Oh well, not that this will stop us going there again, and again, and again...

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2017

A great place to dine with friends, solo, or with a loved one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

We had a delicious date night meal. There were many gluten free options and the optional BYOB with corkage was great too. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The food was outstanding! Would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 28, 2017

warm inviting decor with fabulous food and service. Live music what a lovely evening .

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.