Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Tapas Restaurant

"Tapas" Food for sharing …
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. Dishes are designed for two people to share, we suggest 2—3 dishes per person as a meal.

633 10th Street
Canmore, AB T1W 2A2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Open every day from 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 609-0583

Website:
http://www.tapascanmore.ca/

Catering:
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. We offer similar "Tapas" style menus for groups and all food is served family style. We can customize menus for groups based on our current menu on offer.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Picek

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tapas Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (54)
Good for a Date (44)
Creative Cuisine (39)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Romantic (39)
Cozy (37)
Special Occasion (33)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Casual (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Fun (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Authentic (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Comfort Food (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Scenic View (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Never been to a tapas restaurant. They explained everything to us and gave some excellent recommendations.The restaurant is cozy warm and romantic. The plates were beautifully presented and tasted amazing. Our waiter knew the menu very well and was a pleasure to talk to. The crostatas were excellent, as was the stuffed mushrooms. Lamb shank was so tender!
We had the chocolate covered peanut butter mousse. Omg decadent! My first time here, I’d go back! Here’s a picture of the rainbow beets with manchego cheese.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Food was outstanding and the service was amazing. Will defenetly return to this restaurant when we visit Canmore again.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great atmosphere, people and food. I thought it took a little long to get main after ordered, but food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great Tapas!! It was our first time and everything tasted amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 14, 2017

This one of my absolute favorite restaurants in Canmore.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

It was a really great night. It's a very small place, with a very romantic feel. The food was very nice as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 11, 2017

This is our 5 th time at the Tapas , as we visit every time we are in Canmore. We must say this time the service wasn't Great. We were very dissapointed, as this is one of the reasons we continue to come back. We had to ask, and wait for water......the empty dishes were left for a while. No sure now if we would return...as in the past our favorite place to dine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This place is an awesome little restaurant that's like someone's home with a Bar in it! The food is incredibly good and unique. Service is impeccable and friendly. Make reservations for sure because seating is limited but definitely worth it! We've been there 3 times and want to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

All the employees ( esp our servers ) were extremely attentive and helpful...the portions for each dish were perfectly sized...only negative was seafood dish which was certainly not worth the cost...overall it was an excellent time

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great experience! Amazing dishes! The staff was very helpful in choosing dishes and we even got a dessert on the house for my sister's birthday :)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Food was not the Spanish flavours we are used to in Europe
Service was mediocre and unfriendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Good food. Great service. Worth every cents. (My friend and I wanted to try something new and this one was a hit!!!)

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Tapas, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Amazing food, beautiful setting and overall wonderful experience. Staff were extremely friendly and knowledge and catered to us. Manager/owner served us personally and was such a sweetheart and hilarious...plus made the best reccomendations on what to order. Whenever we go back to the west coast will defientely go again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Tapas is an all time favorite location to dine. The menu selection is fantastic and great for enabling conversation between orders. The beef tartar is one of my favorites as is the albacore tuna. Highly recommend this establishment for all occasions. Price is worth it and the drinks are mixed perfectly. Not only the most romantic restaurant in the Rockies but also perfect for connecting with your dinner-mates.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Tapas was recommended by a friend. My husband and I were able to dine on the deck even though it was a cool fall evening as the heaters kept it warm and cozy. Our server gave several excellent recommendations -- loved all of them! Our favourites were the chirozo and figs, the broccolini and the prawns. We will be recommending Tapas and will visit again when we are in Canmore. Excellent service! Excellent food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Amazing!!! Food was amazing and the service was excellent. Would definitely come to Canmore just for this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was fantastic. They seemed a little over busy, but they made it a good eating experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We were able to try so many different types of food and all were delicious! If peanut butter mousse is on the dessert menu, ORDER IT!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This is one of the best places I have been to in years. Excellent service and amazing food. Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a night out.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Interesting food items/menu. Food presentation excellent. Great service, friendly staff and nice atmosphere. Food a little pricey.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great date night spot! Delicious tapas and wine. A little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The food is really good ! A fanstastic little restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Had not been to Tapas in a while, my one significant food allergy makes dining out difficult but happily, there were several options for me in the brand new menu.choices. Normally I am restricted to a single option, at most two.

The Curious Eggplant mousse' with a shaved slim beet garnish was unique and excellent. Even if you don't care for the intense flavor of eggplant, give this a try. Favorite dish of my choice was the bread salad. The goat cheese dressing almost a gastrique, bold. If replicated at home I would add a bit of romaine.
Desserts are no afterthought at Tapas. The Peanut Butter meringue is incredible. Light almost, but wickedly rich. With our excellent wine choice rather than Sangria- which I prefer at lunch, we departed Tapas with a completely enjoyable evening out.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great service from all the staff we encountered. The food was amazing, particularly the pork belly, skin like toffee! Tapas is great, you feel like like you've tried 100 things but aren't so stuffed you can't move. Great Manhattan and bartender accommodated my extra vermouth request perfectly.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Meat an Cheese plate and the muscles were terrific

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Had an awesome evening
Ceasar Salad
Cheese mahon Tasty
Mussels They were really good a little on the salty side but still great
Great Patio with a little Lemoncello to finish things off

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was amazing, every plate we had were exceptionnal. Would definitely recommand!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

As usual, well worth the visit. Very informative and personable server. Will be back very shortly.
Had just been to Spain and tapas did not compare!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Amazing food & service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Enjoyed a late night dinner, food and service were great and so was the company.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 1, 2017

the service and the food were both excellent. and of course the ambiance was perfect

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We waited 10 minutes to be greeted by our server after being sat by the hostess. She apologized and told us they we're short staffed. She was lovely and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the red sangria, a good bottle of wine, and the food especially the beef tartar tostados, the ahi tuna on cold salted potatoes, and the chorizo meatballs. Found the prices of he dishes to be a bit too pricey. Will likely go back maybe not soon but someday!

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Absolutely loved the service. They took great care of us on my birthday.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Thanks to Tapas for a great night! Of the 8 of us 6 were new to the idea of Tapas and loved it. Recommend the gnocchi and shrimp. Perfect patio weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fantastic food and amazing service! Our favourite restaurant in Canmore. You must try!!

Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tapas, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We have enjoyed Tapas for the last 14 years. We frequent every 3-4 months, May 2017 was our last visit enjoying an awesome menu with many favorite Tapas.

Tapas menu changed summer and winter making choices interesting and enjoyable. Recently most of the menu was changed. Staff explained there was a new Chef and his menu.

We enjoyed the meatballs but thought our other choices were bland. $9 for bread to dip in saucy dishes, gnocchi good but not much flavor, halibut @$28 was good but not that great!

5 dishes + bread + $49 (wine) = $ 154.
Before tax and gratuity. We won't be in a hurry to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We had wonderful food, loved the pacing of how the food came out. We always had food on the table, but never too much at a time. Service was excellent. It is quiet,small, intimate and tastefully decorated. We had a great evening with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Very friendly staff. We ordered olives, chorizo and figs in cider (yum), bread salad (good but maybe a little heavy on the goat cheese), gnocchi (good, nice touch with the crispy jamon on top), prawns (my daughter loved them) and mussels (really good and nice touch to give us extra bread for the delicious broth). Pricier than other places in Canmore but totally recommended nonetheless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Hot food wasn't hot . Server was a bit aloof . Our special occasion noted on reservation was lack lustre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our first trip to this spot - outstanding. We were on the patio - it started to rain but was perfect because we were sheltered. Very nice as they turned on the patio heaters and it was very good ambiance. Started out with a Chacuterie board. We do not eat pork so they allowed us to taste the elk salame and it was delish so we went for it. So yummy. Potatas Bravas always good - then the halibut. All went very well with an awesome bottle of red that was reasonably priced. We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.