About Tapas Restaurant

633 10th Street
Canmore, AB T1W 2A2
View Larger Map

"Tapas" Food for sharing …
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. Dishes are designed for two people to share, we suggest 2—3 dishes per person as a meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Open every day from 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 609-0583

Website:
http://www.tapascanmore.ca/

Catering:
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. We offer similar "Tapas" style menus for groups and all food is served family style. We can customize menus for groups based on our current menu on offer.

Executive Chef:
Rob Hughes

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s for Christmas, a birthday party, a shower or other special event, Tapas will work with you to design a "tapas" style sharing menu that suits your party and budget.



Our upstairs attic is available for private party bookings Sunday through Thursday and we can accommodate groups

Private Party Contact:
James Kendal: 8443280304

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tapas Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (81)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Good for a Date (55)
See All
Special Occasion (53)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Romantic (51)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Cozy (42)
Worth the Drive (39)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Authentic (27)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Tasting Menu (23)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Fun (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Casual (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Healthy (7)
Family Style (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Seasonal (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great Beer (4)
Private Room (4)
Spicy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Business Meals (3)
Live Music (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Historic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Wood Oven (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1082 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was fantastic! Try the mushroom! S ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was fantastic! Try the mushroom! Service was great too. Our server made sure we were looked after without interrupting us. Great date night meal and ambience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service and food both were outstandi ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The service and food both were outstanding. Quiet and lit for a romantic setting. I can't wait until I visit Canmore again because I'll certainly be going to Tapas again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were able to push our reservation lat ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were able to push our reservation later with a short phone call after running into car trouble on our way there. Staff seem to enjoy what they are doing and who they are working with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Really great restaurant for a date night ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Really great restaurant for a date night or small group. Good intimate atmosphere. Service was excellent, friendly and provided some great recommendations with the menu. The food was fantastic, probably the best genuine food I've had in the Canmore and Banff area. This is not your typical touristy restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and interesting meal with exce ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Excellent and interesting meal with excellent service. Closed a bit early on us was the only drawback, but with an earlier timing it is an exceptional little restaurant!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This has been our favorite restaurant fo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This has been our favorite restaurant for many years and continues to be! We always enjoy ordering the Caesar salad, patatas bravas and chily gambas, but also look forward to trying new dishes that are added periodically.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Totally amazing experience from start t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Totally amazing experience from start to finish!!! The food was amazing, the service was great.....

The best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there for Christmas Eve. I was our ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went there for Christmas Eve. I was our first time in a tapas restaurant but it certainly won't be our last! The ambiance and decor are very cozy. Staff attentive when needed but really allow you to enjoy the moment. Everything we tried was delicious but the stuffed portobello was my favourite! Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Tapas, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu consists of small plates to be ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The menu consists of small plates to be shared. As we were unfamiliar with the dishes we left the decision up to the staff. Everything was delicious and we stopped once we felt satisfied. This allowed us to eat at our own pace and not rush. I would describe this restaurant as fine dining even though Tapas. Recommended but not inexpensive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing as always, great job everyone at ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Amazing as always, great job everyone at Tapas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visiting and will come back. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

First time visiting and will come back. Enjoyed every dish and the nice mix of flavours in each. Service was very good--attentive but not intrusive and helpful with recommendations.

Nice soft music playing permitted good conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A complete must try adventure for someth ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 19, 2016

A complete must try adventure for something completely different from the normal dinning choices and well worth the drive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great experience. Had a love ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food. Great experience. Had a lovely date with my 12 year old daughter. they made her feel like a million dollars.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service with yummy food choices th ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great service with yummy food choices that suited both generations of diners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our night was great! Food was delicious, ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our night was great! Food was delicious, and our server Sara was terrific!! Next time we would ask to be away from the bar/kitchen door. It was very busy. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the best meal I have had in years at ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Had the best meal I have had in years at Tapas...soo much flavour packed into each dish.

If your in Canmore this is a must but make sure to make reservations and seating is limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were both top notch. We ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food and service were both top notch. We will definitely be back again!

Tags: Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing as always, service and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was amazing as always, service and ambience were perfect. Flamenco guitar player made it even better. Incredibly romantic restaurant. Wine list is great and reasonably priced.

Would highly recommend this restaurant to anybody. An amazing experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tapas does not disappoint! Great atmosph ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Tapas does not disappoint! Great atmosphere, make reservations early as the space is small but quaint. Quiet and easy to visit, there is live guitar music on Fridays but isn't so loud to make conversation difficult. The dishes are made for sharing, we picked 2 each and had lots of food. It was served in intervals giving us lots of time to enjoy each one for its unique flavor and presentation. The blue cheese/chili sauce mussels are a must have. Not a blue cheese taste at all and a "bucket" of bread for dipping in the sauce!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

fun evening with friends enjoying a very ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

fun evening with friends enjoying a very social meal with excellent suggestions from our server

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Tapas restaurant is a family tradition e ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Tapas restaurant is a family tradition every time we are in Canmore. Food is excellent, drinks are great and the menu changes slightly based on the season. Great ambience too. Make a reservation, they get busy.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an outstanding dinner. Everything ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We had an outstanding dinner. Everything about it was wonderful. The service was excellent, and food was excellent. We will be back next time we are in Canmore!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my second time to Tapas. The sty ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is my second time to Tapas. The style of the food is indicative of the name. My fiancé and I had 5 dishes between the two of us. The highlight for me was the peppered shrimp. Wine and cocktail selection is abundant and the 4 dessert options all sounded delicious. I found the bacon and cream tostadas too rich for my tastes, but if that's the only issue you can come up with you know that the food was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The staff at Tapas was just the right am ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The staff at Tapas was just the right amount of knowledgeable and attentive without being pushy or intrusive. They know the menu inside out and my recommendations are really theirs. The vibe was great for a date or small party when you want to be able to hear each other talk. Everything when it came to food was exceptional and felt decadent without being overpriced. Would suggest the charcuterie platter, mussels (small plate for 2, large for 4) and the creme brûlée as the standout items. We got an excellent wine recommendation as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Second visit to Canmore and Tapas..one o ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Second visit to Canmore and Tapas..one of my faves!! Have not had bad meal there! Everything is great...will be back as it did not disappoint!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious dishes!

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Delicious dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

What a wonderful place to eat with frien ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2016

What a wonderful place to eat with friends. I loved the service and ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the charcuterie. Live m ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Really enjoyed the charcuterie. Live music was nice. Meal was well paced and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our 4th visit since June, so we ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was our 4th visit since June, so we obviously enjoy it. The service has been better, this time there were longer gaps between servings, however it was a very busy night. I would recommend this restaurant, glad that they are so busy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always love this restaurant! 0ur special ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always love this restaurant! 0ur special place to enjoy fabulous food, service and ambience.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner at Tapas. V ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Tapas. Very friendly service, nice pace of food preparation. Great tastes and lovely ambiance.

It was not a cheap dinner, but worth every $. We for sure will be back, reserving at table at the bar (high table).

Thank you Tapas!

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, , Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time at this restaurant and we wil ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First time at this restaurant and we will absolutely be back! The food was just AMAZING! Everything we had was great, good sized portions and overall just really enjoyed it! Strongly recommend,however make sure you make reservations.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and fantastic attentive ser ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing food and fantastic attentive service as always. Server really knew her menu and what to recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicous! Best patas brav ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was delicous! Best patas bravas! Loved the chocolate meringue pie. Will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tapas used to be a very authentic Portug ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Tapas used to be a very authentic Portuguese restaurant - regrettably no longer is the case. The menu has shrunk compared to 2 or 3 years ago and the selection of authentic tapas items has regressed considerably. Tapas used to feature authentic Iberian music and dance and guaranteed an entertaining and intimate evening. I would not recommend this restaurant to visitors - in view of the changes at Tapas and exciting new eateries in Canmore - and in Banff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Absolutely love coming here whenever I g ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Absolutely love coming here whenever I get the chance, a must try in the town of Canmore

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Tapas, great service and ambience. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great Tapas, great service and ambience. On Wednesdays they waive the corkage fee if you bring your own bottle :) :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Get the Papas Bravas. You will not be di ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Get the Papas Bravas. You will not be disappointed. Excellent restaurant! Whenever I'm in town this is the place I like to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great atmosphere, great serv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great service.

Have found Tapas to be consistently very good over the last few visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not great - Some food items very tasty, ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Not great - Some food items very tasty, others not edible.

Delicious:

Apple Butter & Red Pepper compote

Chili Gambas (prawns in chili cream sauce)

Horrible:

Potatoes Bravas : sofrito sauce loaded in liquid smoke, inedible (like eating burnt wood)

almejas al fino con jamón: again loaded in liquid smoke, inedible

Charcuterie was tasty but 3 slices of iberico belato cold cut was $28 (3 SLICES - $28!!!)

Won't return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.