Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Tapas Restaurant

"Tapas" Food for sharing …
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. Dishes are designed for two people to share, we suggest 2—3 dishes per person as a meal.

633 10th Street
Canmore, AB T1W 2A2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Open every day from 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 609-0583

Website:
http://www.tapascanmore.ca/

Catering:
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. We offer similar "Tapas" style menus for groups and all food is served family style. We can customize menus for groups based on our current menu on offer.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Picek

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s for Christmas, a birthday party, a shower or other special event, Tapas will work with you to design a "tapas" style sharing menu that suits your party and budget.



Our upstairs attic is available for private party bookings Sunday through Thursday and we can accommodate groups

Private Party Contact:
James Kendal: (844) 328-0304

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tapas Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (54)
Good for a Date (41)
Romantic (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Cozy (30)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Tasting Menu (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Authentic (15)
Casual (14)
Fun (11)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Scenic View (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (3)
Organic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Live Music (3)
Historic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1168 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Went with my husband for a nice dinner on our first arrival into canmore. We were greeted by two hostesses one clearly indicated it was going to be a very busy evening, though the entire restaurant was empty except one table out on the small patio. They gave us the choice to sit inside or outside but we would not be able to move later, if we wanted. We chose to sit inside as it was a cool evening. Then our server came very friendly who took our drink order. We anticipated she would be back to take our food order, but another server came telling us we had to order everything we wanted now and could not add later. Being a tapas style this seemed odd not knowing how big the portions were. We asked for some guidance and mentioned our restrictions on eating pork. What bothered us the most was that the food came out in timely, but we had a very unhelpful server who seems annoyed by us taking some time to compile our order and neglecting to tell us one app came out loaded with pork which wasn't clear on the menu. Additionally, there was way to much food which they recommended at least 5 dishes. Following their recommendation the last two dishes we could barely eat. There was duplication of potatoes being served with dishes that was not clear when we had ordered a potato dish. Overall we were not pleased considering it was an expensive bill, service was through 3 different people, the restaurant never filled up, and food was mediocre. Would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We were staying in Canmore for a few days and wanted to go somewhere a bit more special for my birthday, so we were excited to come across Tapas Restaurant. We showed up at around 7:30pm on a Sunday and although we didn't have a reservation, we weren't expecting the response we received from the server/host. As soon as we said we didn't have a reservation, she said they weren't seating anyone without a reservation. There was no offer to make a reservation on the spot or wait to see if any tables opened up, even though we saw several empty tables, which we found unusual. I pulled out my phone to make a reservation through OpenTable and there were available tables at 7:45, 8:00, 8:15, and 8:30pm. I also did not see a hard "reservations-only" policy on their website so the situation felt even more off-putting. We still decided to dine at Tapas and the food was good, particularly the stuffed mushrooms and steak special, and the outdoor space was nice. The service we received while dining was just okay and combined with incident in the beginning and realizing we were the last few guests to even come to the restaurant, it made for a puzzling and dampened dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

It's me and my wife's favourite restaurant ..... ever. Love every bite, like how you talk about the food as you eat. 10/10. From the patatoes gravas to the peanut butter dessert it's amaze balls.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Spicy, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a wine-poached pear that was so good I will be thinking about it for months to come. Friendly servers, excellent food, bustling-but-romantic ambiance, and at a price tag that is reasonable for tapas (which are typically pricey). Look forward to coming back the next time I'm near Canmore.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderfully relaxing ...Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Fantastic food, low key casual eating experience, a bit expensive but the food quality was worth it, attentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Excelente comida y servicio! Muy recomendable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was our first experience of spanish food and we all loved it. Sangria was my favourite drink here. Homely atmosphere and our servers's guidance was great.

Tags: Tapas, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great, interesting food choices you don't really see anywhere else, very friendly staff, cute little restaurant, great spot, good views, very romantic!

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Thank you, it was a lovely experience. Again, I ate toooo much!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 2, 2017

When visiting the mountains we always eat at Tapas
The hospitality is special, management and staff make you comfortable and provide that feeling that you are wanted as a customer
The menu is varied, explained really well and the food is exceptional

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The restaurant was full but it felt like we were the only people that our server had to deal with. She is blessed with a great personality. She had lots of suggestions and made us feel like we were very special, which we are. LOL The Tapas were great and came out nicely spaced so that we were able to have some great conversation with our friends, who we hadn't seen in 5 years, and enjoy each and every tapas. What a great evening!!!!

Tags: Tapas, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Food and service was good...don't order the lobster

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Amazing food! So much to choose from. A little bit pricey for the portion size and ingredients. Great location and super cute and cozy setting.

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great food - nice sharing menu with a wonderful selection on Canadian Wines! Service was exceptional. Pefect gem in the heart of Canmore.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Every moment of our experience at this restaurant was exceptional. This would be a major find in any large city but amazing to find it in a small community like Canmore. Everything and everyone was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We hit up this place every time we are in town. Amazing food! Never disappoints.

Tags: Live Music, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Another excellent meal at Tapas. I eat here every time I'm in town.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Casual, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Staff was amazing, food was some of the finest I have ever been blessed to eat!
After a day of hiking with my girlfriend, this was an amazing way to end our trip in Canmore

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Tried Tapas for the first time this weekend with a group of friends and we all loved it. Great for sharing as everything comes out as small plates. The Chili Gambas (prawns in cream sauce) are to die for and the desserts are absolutely amazing! The bartender made me a special cocktail and they brought us a round of dessert wine on the house. Great evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wonderful food, wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Loved the chorizo + fig!! Delish. The charcuterie was super yummy with lots of variety and you've gotta try the white sangria :)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Had to wait over 20 minutes before we were given menus and asked what we wanted to drink. But once we did the food was great. Expense considering how little you get of each

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always an amazing experience. The beef carpaccio, meatballs, mussles, and lamb shoulder are in our top favourites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Everything about this place is amazing. Wish we had one in Edmonton. I's cozy & friendly with mouth watering, well plated dishes and staff who are knowledgeable and go above and beyond a great restaurant experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 10, 2017

So epic. Honestly one of the best places I've dined at in Canmore. Just go. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Top shelf service. Very tasty menu. Staff was very charismatic and accommodating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 9, 2017

As always, fantastic food.
Clean with character atmosphere, great jazz music.
Our lady was quick and knowledgeable!!
Free parking in the heart of Canmore.
Food and atmosphere brings us back!!!
We will be back!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Absolutely fabulous food! We were in Canmore for the Canmore Uncorked Food and Wine Festival. We dIned Saturday night, 2 of us had the Uncorked special dinner menu. The other two shared selected tapas offering. Everyone was thoroughly satisfied with their meal. The only thing unfortunate is that they are not open for lunches, 5-10 p.m. only.
We recommend to anyone looking for a tapas experience. The BEST we have had.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We think the server may have been having a bad day. A smile goes a long way.
While prepping for our visit to Canmore, I thoroughly investigated and explored our options for dinner. I made a reservation and shared the Uncorked menu with my friends prior to our trip. Two of us were very satisfied and full when we left Tapas , the other two were still hungry. Please note that we truly enjoyed the food and presentation but we could have been educated by our server that we maybe should have ordered more food.

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food is great, their Sangria is amazing! Quaint old house.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent knowledgeable and friendly service. Interesting tapas, portabello mushroom is a winner. Good beer list, limited wines by the glass. Can be hot and airless upstairs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I had heard great things about this place but was disappointed with the ordinary food and high prices - one or the other I can cope with, but both is a shame. We ordered a variety of dishes and drinks but all were uninspiring and bland. The prices are way too high considering the quality, and high considering Tapas is authentically small dishes for good value. So much room for improvement - cannot fault the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Excellent Service and delicious food for sharing and trying new things.
Always our favorite for a date Night or with friends from out of town.
We are never disappointed.
All time favorite is the Mussels.....every time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My husband and I as well as another couple came in for dinner on Saturday night and had such an amazing time. The service and food were both top notch. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Love the cozy atmosphere Tapas offers! Would recommend this restaurant for a quiet romantic evening or for a get together with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Tapas, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food. Prawns were very well cooked and plump. The portobello mushrooms were so tasty. The chrizo and figs ..can still taste them -overall an excellent tapas. Service was well timed and unintrusive but friendly. This was our first visit in a long time but will not be our last. Excellent value for money.
Mike and Caroline from Calgary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Good food and atmosphere. This was our second visit , the first we enjoyed the charcuterie, now that one of us does not eat meat that was not an option. I will admit the meat dishes were preferred over the non meat. Non the less the food was good and the athmosphere was as well.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 17, 2017

This was our second visit to Tapas. The first time we enjoyed it, but the second time was outstanding. Service fantastic and such a unique menu. You can't even tell from the menu description exactly what to expect - delightful, creative suprises. Loved it and will be back. Highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Hands down the BEST restaurant in Canmore! If you are looking for spectacular food, this is the place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.