Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Tapas Restaurant

"Tapas" Food for sharing …
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. Dishes are designed for two people to share, we suggest 2—3 dishes per person as a meal.

633 10th Street
Canmore, AB T1W 2A2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Open every day from 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 609-0583

Website:
http://www.tapascanmore.ca/

Catering:
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. We offer similar "Tapas" style menus for groups and all food is served family style. We can customize menus for groups based on our current menu on offer.

Executive Chef:
Rob Hughes

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s for Christmas, a birthday party, a shower or other special event, Tapas will work with you to design a "tapas" style sharing menu that suits your party and budget.



Our upstairs attic is available for private party bookings Sunday through Thursday and we can accommodate groups

Private Party Contact:
James Kendal: (844) 328-0304

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tapas Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (58)
Tapas (56)
Romantic (45)
See All
Creative Cuisine (42)
Special Occasion (40)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Cozy (34)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Authentic (18)
Casual (11)
Fun (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Private Room (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Music (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fireplace (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Love the cozy atmosphere Tapas offers! Would recommend this restaurant for a quiet romantic evening or for a get together with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Tapas, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food. Prawns were very well cooked and plump. The portobello mushrooms were so tasty. The chrizo and figs ..can still taste them -overall an excellent tapas. Service was well timed and unintrusive but friendly. This was our first visit in a long time but will not be our last. Excellent value for money.
Mike and Caroline from Calgary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Good food and atmosphere. This was our second visit , the first we enjoyed the charcuterie, now that one of us does not eat meat that was not an option. I will admit the meat dishes were preferred over the non meat. Non the less the food was good and the athmosphere was as well.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 17, 2017

This was our second visit to Tapas. The first time we enjoyed it, but the second time was outstanding. Service fantastic and such a unique menu. You can't even tell from the menu description exactly what to expect - delightful, creative suprises. Loved it and will be back. Highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Definitely our number one choice when visiting Canmore. This restaurant never disappoints.
The service was excellent and our server suggested an excellent wine and some truly outstanding dishes. In particular, I would recommend the Cesar salad, beef carpaccio, portobello mushroom and crispy pork belly.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Tapas used to be one of my favourite restaurants. Since the menu change it has been disappointing. Still tasty but the creative selections are lacking compared to what they used to be. Food service is fast and timed perfectly for tapa appetizers, cuisine is tasty but pricey.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Family Style, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food is fine, as it should be for the high prices and very small portion sizes (spent over $100 for 2 people).

I suspect the positive reviews are in line with the new tapas concept in Canmore. If this were in Calgary, the reviews wouldn't be so complementary. It's new to Canmore, so they're benefiting from the hype.

Wine by the glass selection was mediocre (only 4 selections). Nothing special about the service, but make sure all the servers know you paid before leaving, in case one of them runs after you loudly accusing you of dining and dashing. Wish I could take back my tip.

Needless to say, I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Holy moly, if you are ever in Canmore, do yourself a favour and check this place out!! The ambiance and the service were all excellent. The food was outstanding! We ordered a number of dishes and I honestly could not pick a favourite. The restaurant is teeny tiny, you probably need a reservation most nights (although I think they have a patio outside for summer months?). I will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food, fun evening Awesome menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We have been to Tapas 5 times and have always had a great meal. One of the most interesting restaurant in Canmore!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Friendly service with amazing food.

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great restaurant for a quiet evening out. Also very attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Lovely warm atmosphere in the attic, fantastic food, friendly service. A wonderful evening with friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We've been to Tapas many times over the last few years and have loved it every time. They always have a few new items to try on the menu and we always have trouble deciding which dish was our favorite. They are all so delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Was nice, quiet, good service ...but nothing spectacular. Kinda pricey for the food, not sure if it's because of the location or ? But the husband and I spent almost $100 (not including food afterwards as hubby was still hungry). Perhaps my expectations were too high? (so many good reviews!) as it wasn't bad but just seemed lacking something...

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Fantastic place & phenomenal food. Perfect for a date night. Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Perfect as always. We have been here a number of times and ensure we go every time we are in Canmore.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever had. Great ambience and absolutely delicious and creative food. Terrific! The man at the front could use some lightening up though.

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Fun, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We could not have been happier with our recent meal at Tapas. Great food and attentive but not instrusive service - the small problem we had with a missing dish was handled quickly once brought to their attention.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I love this place! Perfect for a date night, but I also go with a friend or two when we want a nice evening out with some wine and delicious food. The Beef Carpaccio the old way is definitely my favourite!

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Lysa took very good care of us. All of her recommendations were out standing. We have dined out at quite a few restaurants in Canmore, we have now found our favorite place to dine. Each dish was full of flavors and just couldn't get enough of each one.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 21, 2017

One of our most favourite restaurants. Quality food and service.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Good service and food experience as well as ratio price/value for a change on taste.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our kids gave us a gift certificate and we couldn't be more pleased. Amazing experience and can't wait to return for another relaxing evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This place is worth the visit and will be a future go-to when in Canmore. Located in what looks like an early 1900's fixer upper, the spaces are broken up into small areas, which does wonders for cutting down the noise levels. It has a quaint, comfortable atmosphere and the staff are attentive but not intrusive. Our server, LISA, was awesome, providing the right amount of attention, good insight into the menu items and wine selection.
The food: Everything was done to perfection. I'm not a huge carpaccio fan, but was converted due to the perfect blend of manchego and garlic. The meatballs were good, interesting blend of meats. The portobello mushroom, my favourite and a good substitute for a steak. The only dish not fully inspiring was the avocado; it tasted like avocado, which I love but the deep fried coating didn't really add to the overall flavour of the dish.
I thought the prices were a little high but the flavours make it worth it. We ended up full with only a few dishes so it was still within our budget. The wine prices were about normal.
Overall, go here when you have the chance!
Mike

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

*Welcoming, friendly and attentive service
*Food was very good
*Upstairs room was chilly - table by attic door needs to be insulated as there was a cold draft
*Tables upstairs are too close together or felt that way because of the low ceiling
*Stairs could be carpeted to muffle the sound of people going up and down
*James was excellent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food and service were both great. We enjoyed a number of the creative tapas. Didn't care so much for the root vegetables with cheese.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I went for Valentine's Day on our vacation and we loved it! The space and ambiance is small and intimate. They suggest for a party of two 4-6 tapas as they are small and sharable. Everything was so good! We ordered the smoked bacon and artichoke tostadas ( both equally delicious) avocado fries, Patatas bravas,and our favorites of the night, the croquetas and chorizo meatballs. If we lived in town, we would be going here all the time!

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, Excellent service. Tapas were wonderful. I will definitely go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fabulous as in past visits, some new menu options, great additions! Still our favourite for a relaxing night out. Mussels still the best, avacado fries a great addition, smoked bacon tostadas amazing, need to return to try the dessert options!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Tapas, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband and I chose Tapas to have an early Valentines dinner with our toddler as well. No children's menu but still very accommodating (had high chairs and willing to modify dishes for him). Great selection on menu; creative, fun and delicious! Portions were smaller than we thought and pricey, so best for a special occasion. Service was outstanding! Very cozy and romantic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Was a great evening out with my boyfriend. The service was quite good and the food was extremely tasty. Would have stayed all night but wanted to try other places in Canmore as well. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I have been to Tapas a couple of times and the Chef puts great detail into the food, which is always elegant to look at and a treat to eat. The service is always impeccable. The only thing I would change is how small the place is. Noise travels which dampens the romance of the place. I have also had the unfortunate experience of getting a table by the door in -20 weather which is makes for a chilly date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I go to Tapas every time I visit Canmore, and it never disappoints. The food is amazing, and Tapas has become one of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was amazing and nicely paced coming out of the kitchen. Our server was helpful with recommendations and all the serving staff was polite and friendly.
We picked a Friday night because we wanted to enjoy the live music. Although we could hear him from our table upstairs, and he was very good, it would have been a bit nicer to be able to watch him as well, but not a big deal.
We ordered about 5 different dishes and 2 desserts between the two us, and although the potions aren't large, the food is so rich and flavourful we were quite full by the end of our meals. A bit on the pricey side, but we felt it was good value for the quality of the food and the experience. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Tapas, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This was our first visit to Tapas, even though we are part-timers in Canmore. Having been to Barcelona in 2016, my expectations for tapas are quite high, and this meal met, and in some cases exceeded, my expectations. The service was timely with just the right level of attentiveness, the pace of delivery of our various dishes was perfect, and the wine list had lots of great options. We will definitely be back, and will recommend this spot to our friends & family!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Fabulous dining experience from the tentative staff and the cozy atmosphere to the delicious cuisine.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Loved our evening at Tapas. The food was terrific -- we loved the figs & chorizo sausage dish. Wow. The desserts were amazing. Our server was helpful and friendly. All good! We will go again. And we will tell our friends!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Short and sweet " Amazing" Foooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood...................................................................................................................................

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I LOVE Tapas. This is my favourite restaurant in town. The first bite is always an explosion of flavours making my taste buds dance with joy. They have the best fish tacos and their tostados are delectible. A MUST when in Canmore. Love, love love!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.