About Tapas Restaurant

633 10th Street
Canmore, AB T1W 2A2
View Larger Map

"Tapas" Food for sharing …
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. Dishes are designed for two people to share, we suggest 2—3 dishes per person as a meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Open every day from 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 609-0583

Website:
http://www.tapascanmore.ca/

Catering:
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. We offer similar "Tapas" style menus for groups and all food is served family style. We can customize menus for groups based on our current menu on offer.

Executive Chef:
Rob Hughes

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s for Christmas, a birthday party, a shower or other special event, Tapas will work with you to design a "tapas" style sharing menu that suits your party and budget.

Our upstairs attic is available for private party bookings Sunday through Thursday and we can accommodate groups

Private Party Contact:
James Kendal: 8443280304

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tapas Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Romantic
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Banff / Canmore
6 More
Best Food
Banff / Canmore
Best Service
Banff / Canmore
Best Ambiance
Banff / Canmore
Best Value
Banff / Canmore
Special Occasion
Banff / Canmore
Most Booked
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Canmore ›

Tapas (77)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Romantic (61)
See All
Special Occasion (60)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Good for a Date (54)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Worth the Drive (45)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Cozy (42)
Notable Wine List (29)
Authentic (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Tasting Menu (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Casual (15)
Fun (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Healthy (9)
Live Music (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Seasonal (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Spicy (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Business Meals (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fireplace (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1042 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service were both top notch. We ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service were both top notch. We will definitely be back again!

Tags: Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tapas does not disappoint! Great atmosph ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Tapas does not disappoint! Great atmosphere, make reservations early as the space is small but quaint. Quiet and easy to visit, there is live guitar music on Fridays but isn't so loud to make conversation difficult. The dishes are made for sharing, we picked 2 each and had lots of food. It was served in intervals giving us lots of time to enjoy each one for its unique flavor and presentation. The blue cheese/chili sauce mussels are a must have. Not a blue cheese taste at all and a "bucket" of bread for dipping in the sauce!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing as always, service and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was amazing as always, service and ambience were perfect. Flamenco guitar player made it even better. Incredibly romantic restaurant. Wine list is great and reasonably priced.

Would highly recommend this restaurant to anybody. An amazing experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

fun evening with friends enjoying a very ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

fun evening with friends enjoying a very social meal with excellent suggestions from our server

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Tapas restaurant is a family tradition e ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Tapas restaurant is a family tradition every time we are in Canmore. Food is excellent, drinks are great and the menu changes slightly based on the season. Great ambience too. Make a reservation, they get busy.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an outstanding dinner. Everything ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We had an outstanding dinner. Everything about it was wonderful. The service was excellent, and food was excellent. We will be back next time we are in Canmore!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my second time to Tapas. The sty ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is my second time to Tapas. The style of the food is indicative of the name. My fiancé and I had 5 dishes between the two of us. The highlight for me was the peppered shrimp. Wine and cocktail selection is abundant and the 4 dessert options all sounded delicious. I found the bacon and cream tostadas too rich for my tastes, but if that's the only issue you can come up with you know that the food was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The staff at Tapas was just the right am ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The staff at Tapas was just the right amount of knowledgeable and attentive without being pushy or intrusive. They know the menu inside out and my recommendations are really theirs. The vibe was great for a date or small party when you want to be able to hear each other talk. Everything when it came to food was exceptional and felt decadent without being overpriced. Would suggest the charcuterie platter, mussels (small plate for 2, large for 4) and the creme brûlée as the standout items. We got an excellent wine recommendation as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Second visit to Canmore and Tapas..one o ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Second visit to Canmore and Tapas..one of my faves!! Have not had bad meal there! Everything is great...will be back as it did not disappoint!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious dishes!

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Delicious dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

What a wonderful place to eat with frien ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2016

What a wonderful place to eat with friends. I loved the service and ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the charcuterie. Live m ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Really enjoyed the charcuterie. Live music was nice. Meal was well paced and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our 4th visit since June, so we ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was our 4th visit since June, so we obviously enjoy it. The service has been better, this time there were longer gaps between servings, however it was a very busy night. I would recommend this restaurant, glad that they are so busy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always love this restaurant! 0ur special ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always love this restaurant! 0ur special place to enjoy fabulous food, service and ambience.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner at Tapas. V ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Tapas. Very friendly service, nice pace of food preparation. Great tastes and lovely ambiance.

It was not a cheap dinner, but worth every $. We for sure will be back, reserving at table at the bar (high table).

Thank you Tapas!

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time at this restaurant and we wil ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First time at this restaurant and we will absolutely be back! The food was just AMAZING! Everything we had was great, good sized portions and overall just really enjoyed it! Strongly recommend,however make sure you make reservations.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and fantastic attentive ser ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing food and fantastic attentive service as always. Server really knew her menu and what to recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicous! Best patas brav ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was delicous! Best patas bravas! Loved the chocolate meringue pie. Will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tapas used to be a very authentic Portug ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Tapas used to be a very authentic Portuguese restaurant - regrettably no longer is the case. The menu has shrunk compared to 2 or 3 years ago and the selection of authentic tapas items has regressed considerably. Tapas used to feature authentic Iberian music and dance and guaranteed an entertaining and intimate evening. I would not recommend this restaurant to visitors - in view of the changes at Tapas and exciting new eateries in Canmore - and in Banff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Absolutely love coming here whenever I g ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Absolutely love coming here whenever I get the chance, a must try in the town of Canmore

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Tapas, great service and ambience. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great Tapas, great service and ambience. On Wednesdays they waive the corkage fee if you bring your own bottle :) :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Get the Papas Bravas. You will not be di ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Get the Papas Bravas. You will not be disappointed. Excellent restaurant! Whenever I'm in town this is the place I like to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great atmosphere, great serv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great service.

Have found Tapas to be consistently very good over the last few visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not great - Some food items very tasty, ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Not great - Some food items very tasty, others not edible.

Delicious:

Apple Butter & Red Pepper compote

Chili Gambas (prawns in chili cream sauce)

Horrible:

Potatoes Bravas : sofrito sauce loaded in liquid smoke, inedible (like eating burnt wood)

almejas al fino con jamón: again loaded in liquid smoke, inedible

Charcuterie was tasty but 3 slices of iberico belato cold cut was $28 (3 SLICES - $28!!!)

Won't return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great service and pretty good food. As ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great service and pretty good food. As a group of ladies we appreciated the tapas experience but we could also see many not appreciating the portion sizes and leaving a bit unsatisfied. If you are willing to spend the money to fill yourself up - the price per portion is high - then there are many delicious options. The restaurant has a great wine list and is cozy and comfortable. It also is not blaring music like a lot of places these days so you can actually converse with your table mates. Great choice for a night out in Canmore.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Exceptional experience! The food was ver ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Exceptional experience! The food was very well presented, authentic and flavourful and the wine list was outstanding for such a small,intimate restaurant.

The new menu items introduced on the evening we dined at the restaurant were particularly good and will no doubt prove to be very popular this winter.......the Braised Oxtail was my personal favorite!!

Highly recommended if you are looking for something a bit different for an intimate dining experience in the Rockies!!

Make sure to make a reservation.....online works very well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful evening celebrating our annive ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Wonderful evening celebrating our anniversary, great atmosphere and great staff too! Food was fabulous.... we ate too much! :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again it was exceptional. The food ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Once again it was exceptional. The food was fantastic. The service was outstanding. Absolutely one of my favorite places to have dinner and take in the atmosphere of this little gem..☆☆☆☆☆

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 10 year anniversary. We were ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

It was our 10 year anniversary. We were looking for the perfect restaurant.

      Starting off, the hostess was very friendly and greeted us and sat us very promptly.  Our server was excellent,  she knew the menu inside and out and gave us some great recommendations. She was probably one of most entertaining people we have been served by. 



  The food was exceptional. Ceviche was unreal, the chili prawns had a sauce so good, we practically licked the plate clean. We then dove into potatos brahvas accompanied by the ribeye that was melt in your mouth delicious. 

I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys great food at a great price with great service and atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great dining experience. Aweso ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Always a great dining experience. Awesome menu/food/wine and attentive staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding! Music was great and the foo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Outstanding! Music was great and the food was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bring back the raw beet ravioli - very s ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Bring back the raw beet ravioli - very sad it wasn't on the menu, my most favorite item!!

Tags: Tapas, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant. Ambience great - cosy an ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Very pleasant. Ambience great - cosy and small. Would make different food selections next time. Beef carpaccio was superb. Tostadas good. A really nice venue for a date. service very good, romantic atmosphere. Price not unreasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was cozy, intimate and comfortable. W ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It was cozy, intimate and comfortable. We felt like we were in Spain. Sangria was delicious. We ordered several plates to share, ate way too much. Everything was fresh tasting and presented beautifully. We will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience was amazing. We so enjoy ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our experience was amazing. We so enjoyed our dinner at Tapas.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience! This was such a f ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful Experience! This was such a fun and unique place to dine. An old house converted into a restaurant. Our table was upstairs in one of the "bedrooms," and because the house is fairly small, the tables are pretty close together and it's a bit challenging to get around. What a fun menu with opportunities to try smaller portions of many different dishes. We loved the variety and flavourful, high quality dishes! There are two tables I would not want to be seated at. The table for 6 at the front door is right in the entry-way where the door opens, and a table very close to the washrooms, where patrons would constantly be walking by to go to the loo. Otherwise, please try this restaurant, it's fabulous!! We can't wait to go back. :)

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Spicy, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was flavourful, unique and beau ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our food was flavourful, unique and beautifully presented. Our only concern was how long it took for our meal to come. We arrived first in our section, ordered, received our first dish promptly and then waited over 40 mins for our second dish to arrive. Each following dish had LONG wait times in between. The 3 tables around us were receiving dish after dish and finished long before us with same number of appetizers served. May have just been our bad luck that night as I've been before and service was fine. I would still highly recommend this restaurant for quality of food and ambiance.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great food, great staff, great atmospher ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food, great staff, great atmosphere. Would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Tapas, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, great food,great servi ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great atmosphere, great food,great service! It is a must visit in Canmore. Small creative portions keep you wanting for more. Adequate wine by the glass selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We took a quick two night trip to Canmor ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We took a quick two night trip to Canmore for the first time. Found this little gem on Open Table and what a treat! My husband said the mussels were simply amazing. Lovely little tapas. Good range of wine and wine prices. Very cozy décor. We will definitely be back next time we stay in Canmore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.