About Tapas Restaurant

633 10th Street
Canmore, AB T1W 2A2
View Larger Map

"Tapas" Food for sharing …
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. Dishes are designed for two people to share, we suggest 2—3 dishes per person as a meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Open every day from 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 609-0583

Website:
http://www.tapascanmore.ca/

Catering:
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. We offer similar "Tapas" style menus for groups and all food is served family style. We can customize menus for groups based on our current menu on offer.

Executive Chef:
Rob Hughes

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s for Christmas, a birthday party, a shower or other special event, Tapas will work with you to design a "tapas" style sharing menu that suits your party and budget.

Our upstairs attic is available for private party bookings Sunday through Thursday and we can accommodate groups

Private Party Contact:
James Kendal: 8443280304

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tapas Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Food
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Fit for Foodies
Calgary / Southern Alberta
10 More
Romantic
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Banff / Canmore
Best Food
Banff / Canmore
Best Service
Banff / Canmore
Best Ambiance
Banff / Canmore
Best Value
Banff / Canmore
Fit for Foodies
Banff / Canmore
Romantic
Banff / Canmore
Special Occasion
Banff / Canmore
Most Booked
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Canmore ›

Fit for Foodies (100)
Special Occasion (92)
Romantic (90)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (71)
Good for Groups (39)
Notable Wine List (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Hot Spot (21)
Late-night Find (21)
Great for Lunch (8)
Scenic View (7)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
962 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely fantastic! Service was top no ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely fantastic! Service was top notch, venue was nice and cozy, and most of all, the food was great! The Diablo potatoes are not to be underestimated... They were fantastic!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was absolutely the best food we have ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was absolutely the best food we have ever had!!!!! We loved it and the servers!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you very much for the excellent se ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

Thank you very much for the excellent service at the moment of arrival, but you should not look at us as "come on, time to leave" at the moment of paying and leaving. This is not polite.

The gests are important.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We were in Canmore celebrating our 40th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were in Canmore celebrating our 40th anniversary and enjoyed a wonderful dinner and a great bottle of wine at Tapas. The service was friendly and warm and we appreciated the menu suggestions. Nice cozy romantic atmosphere made the evening special. My wife forgot her purse under the table and we were quickly contacted, very much appreciated. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every dish delicious, very nice ambiance ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Every dish delicious, very nice ambiance and sangria was wonderful. Indoor or outdoor dining and great for a special occasion or a comfortable meal. Very attentive service. Will definitely go back. Highlights: portabello mushroom, prawns and chocolate peanut butter dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant. My husb ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant. My husband and I make trips to Canmore specifically to eat at Tapas!!! Best sangria ever!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not only is the food to die for, the sta ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Not only is the food to die for, the staff are incredibly friendly and efficient! Loved our experience and can't wait to come back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to share plates with friends ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great place to share plates with friends. service is very attentive. Food is great. Can get a but noisy when it fills. A must to try.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We went here on a whim off of the review ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We went here on a whim off of the reviews we saw on Yelp. The food was delicious- the mussels were great! Service was good too, highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The Tapas restaurant was a real gem in C ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The Tapas restaurant was a real gem in Canmore. It has both indoor and outdoor seating, and is reasonably upscale but certainly not pretentious. Service was friendly and basically impeccable, and we were waited on the by the manager who is almost always everywhere making sure things go right. The food was a highly varied assortment of plates from lamb meatballs to chili prawns to beet salad and so forth. This is a great choice for a good meal and a nice break from the ordinary.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service. Very interesting food. T ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great service. Very interesting food. Tasty and unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This place was amazing. Staff was frien ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This place was amazing. Staff was friendly and professional and the food was so delicious. I would definitely come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food but somewhat overpriced. Som ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food but somewhat overpriced. Some staff poor at rapport with clients.

Tags: Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Although TAPAS remains a great place to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Although TAPAS remains a great place to eat, we noticed that over the years, the dishes have become a bit less refined. A once impossible-to-beat beef carpaccio now comes with pico de gallo which overrules everything; somehow the beef also did not seem to have aged enough. The caesar (in TAPAS layout) was nice but had a lot of dressing. I could go on further, but TAPAS would benefit from refining the tastes again, and not hitting the taste buds with overly spiced ingredients. It may sound all very critical, I just would love them to remain one of the best!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The service and food were outstanding. I ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service and food were outstanding. I would highly recommend Tapas.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a treat!! We were celebrating our 2 ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

What a treat!! We were celebrating our 2nd anniversary and were given some bubbly to begin the celebration! The food, service and ambience were perfect! Salmon and beef appies were delish! Duck legs were juicy and tender and very tasty. Mussels were rich and creamy in an awesome sauce. I couldn't stop dipping!! A definite place to visit and return!!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food. Great presentation and kno ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Awesome food. Great presentation and knowledgeable staff. Visited on vacation and wish it was closer to home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food. Portions on the small side.Be ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Good food. Portions on the small side.Beware of 6 shrimp for 17.00.

We ordered 5 dishes. Cesear salad- shrimp- meatballs-potatoes-Potablella mushroom (best dish).

This feed 2 adults and two 16 year old girls. Overall a good experiences. We were on vacation and this was rated#1 on trip advisor .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great suggestions from the staff on how ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

great suggestions from the staff on how to approach tapas dining, added a few dishes during the meal and they came out fast, very casual and relaxing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I simply cannot fault Tapas, the menu wa ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I simply cannot fault Tapas, the menu was suitable for all - every plate we ordered was better than the last, will be back shortly. Best restaurant in Canmore, hands down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very tasty food, well presented. Sophist ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Very tasty food, well presented. Sophisticated just like we like. Excellent and warm service. Fun way to eat, with many plates to share and to try. Strongly recommanded

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent as always. Great evening on t ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent as always. Great evening on the patio, warn mountain breeze.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was our first time and have already ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This was our first time and have already told all our friends they must try Tapas. The experience was top notch from start to finish with best food ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I always love the food here. I dined wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I always love the food here. I dined with a foodie friend from Paris and even he thought the food was good. I love the peanut butter desert. Delicious :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As good or better than our last visit. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

As good or better than our last visit. Our go to place when in Canmore. Excellent service and wonderful tastes. Nice touchave by the owner Ron? to provide us withave a glass of dessert wine to finish the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have dined there severa ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My husband and I have dined there several times and I with my daughters. We have all enjoyed our food every time. This visit was with family from Ontario and they too enjoyed the dining experience. A comment made which I agreed with is maybe, a person should be asked if they want a couple of the plates served at the same time. This is when it is more a main dish i.e. meats etc. it would be nice to have the vegetable dish or salad along with it. We are used to this but our guests were not, they still enjoyed the experience tho'.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We were heading home from a few days in ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were heading home from a few days in Lake Louise and wanted a special last night dinner. This dining experience more than met our hopes. The staff is friendly and works as a team to provide service that fits well with the type of fare, where multiple small dishes are involved and the sequence matters. The food was excellent and the ambience appropriately dim for the romantic experience we were seeking. Both Canmore and Tapas are on our list should we head back in this direction in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I and another couple went to ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife and I and another couple went to Tapas and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! The food was delicious and always cooked perfectly, the service was excellent and the atmosphere was just right for a couples date. I would eat here once a week if I lived in Canmore! Brilliant! Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service fast and friendly.food was ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service fast and friendly.food was outstanding.would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! Mussels with blue ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was amazing! Mussels with blue cheese, Chili Gamba and Chorizo Meatballs were the favourites although everything else we had was delicious too. Our server was lovely and we enjoyed the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We drove from Kananaskis to Canmore to t ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We drove from Kananaskis to Canmore to this restaurant based on Tripadvisor reviews and it didn't dissapoint. Went in with our two kids ( 6 and 11 yrs old) for dinner. The service was great, the food very tasteful especially the mussels and black pepper gambas. Sangria was great too. Great little restaurant, we'll be back for sure!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting family in Canmore and ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were visiting family in Canmore and they suggested Tapas Restaurant ... it was absolutely fabulous! Everything we ordered was delicious! As a bonus, it was BYOB with no corkage fee! We will definitely dine at Tapas the next time we're in Canmore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing! Everything we orde ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was amazing! Everything we ordered was super delicious. The service was alright - maybe because it was very busy the night we went, our server did not interacted with us, just standard put down the food and leave. We had to flag her down for more drinks and water a few times.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Been at Tapas many many times. It never ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Been at Tapas many many times. It never fails to impress. Service impeccable. Food amazing. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous food, service and dr ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Absolutely fabulous food, service and drinks. Highly recommend great flavours and quality

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prices were on the high side, possibly r ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Prices were on the high side, possibly recommendation for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We will be back..loved the ambiance and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We will be back..loved the ambiance and wine will try different foods next time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Chose this restaurant due to a high revi ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Chose this restaurant due to a high review rating. Well deserved. Food was delicious. Server was helpful with suggestions. The portobello mushroom was fantastic. We each wished we had our own.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was quite good and the ambiance ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was quite good and the ambiance was great. The live music really added to the ambiance. The issues we had were the cost and flow of food. Although the dishes were good, think they were overpriced for what you get. As well, part of the tapas experience, I think, is the flow dishes, as in they should come out fairly consistently. It took away from the experience when we had to wait 30 to 45 min between when 1 dish was ate and the next one came out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Tapas were setved very slowly and not in ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Tapas were setved very slowly and not in a understandable sequence. No one together amd I had all mine before the es for my gf came on the table. We had a long waiting time in between.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.