About Tapas Restaurant

633 10th Street
Canmore, AB T1W 2A2
View Larger Map

"Tapas" Food for sharing …
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. Dishes are designed for two people to share, we suggest 2—3 dishes per person as a meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Open every day from 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 609-0583

Website:
http://www.tapascanmore.ca/

Catering:
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. We offer similar "Tapas" style menus for groups and all food is served family style. We can customize menus for groups based on our current menu on offer.

Executive Chef:
Rob Hughes

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s for Christmas, a birthday party, a shower or other special event, Tapas will work with you to design a "tapas" style sharing menu that suits your party and budget.

Our upstairs attic is available for private party bookings Sunday through Thursday and we can accommodate groups

Private Party Contact:
James Kendal: 8443280304

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Tapas Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Food
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Service
Calgary / Southern Alberta
12 More
Best Ambiance
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Fit for Foodies
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Romantic
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Banff / Canmore
Best Food
Banff / Canmore
Best Service
Banff / Canmore
Best Ambiance
Banff / Canmore
Best Value
Banff / Canmore
Fit for Foodies
Banff / Canmore
Romantic
Banff / Canmore
Special Occasion
Banff / Canmore
Most Booked
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Canmore ›

romantic (116)
fit for foodies (109)
special occasion (100)
See All
neighborhood gem (74)
good for groups (35)
notable wine list (34)
hot spot (25)
late-night find (20)
great for outdoor dining (9)
great for lunch (7)
 (6)
 (5)
 (4)
scenic view (3)
 (2)
 (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
 (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
889 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, Great wine & Fantastic Service

Dined 3 days ago

2nd time here & will be back again. Wonderful atmosphere & outstanding food & wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tapas is Canmore's hidden gem. I thoroug ...

Dined 4 days ago

Tapas is Canmore's hidden gem. I thoroughly enjoyed the food, ambiance and service. I will definitely be returning in the near future, as it was truly a one-of-a-kind experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

All of the food was amazing! We particu ...

Dined 4 days ago

All of the food was amazing! We particularly loved the broccoli, the zucchini wrapped goat cheese and the chili gamberra!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a delight.

Dined 5 days ago

Love being able to taste and share many different menu items. Excellent service and delicious Sangria. Tapas is a restaurant on our "must" list whenever we are in Canmore.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Repeat visitors to Tapas, always love th ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Repeat visitors to Tapas, always love the food. The choices on the menu allowed us to cater to the tastes of our 5 person group, no one left hungry. Always look to try something different, the charcuterie choices were wonderful. Ability to pay corkage was appreciated, brought a few gems from the cellar for this occasion. Will come back again when we visit Canmore.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Very small dishes and very expensive we ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Very small dishes and very expensive we spent huge and left hungry. Not at all what Tapas is in Spain. Although the food did taste wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional dining

Dined on May 22, 2016

This is our 3rd time to Tapas Restaurant and we are never disappointed. The food is outstanding. Lots of choices of tapas-type entrees which in my mind is the best way to eat as you get to sample a lot of different dishes. The food is beautifully presented and the the flavours are amazing. The restaurant itself is not huge but very quaint and cozy. You will not be disappointed. It's very busy so make sure to make a reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious as usual!!! The service is spo ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Delicious as usual!!! The service is spot on! We love dining here when in Canmore. If you haven't tried Tapas, you should .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and fantastic menu

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a wonderful time in this restaurant - the waitstaff were friendly and attentive. Went for wife's birthday and it was a winner. Fantastic sangria and cocktail menu - and the mussels were amazing. Everything we tried was a hit. Would recommend 10/10

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we loved my birthday dinner!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Awesome place to experience something new and exciting!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and great service

Dined on May 8, 2016

I went to Tapas with a girlfriend on a Saturday night. It was a bit cramped, but it made for a fun atmosphere. The service was incredible and they were even friendly as we were the last ones out. The food selection was varied and there is something appearing for everyone. My favourites were the portobello mushroom, the broccoli, and the tostados. Overall, this was a great night out and I would go back any time I visit Canmore.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A quaint, romantic restaurant.

Dined on May 7, 2016

We have been going to Tapas regularly for the last three years. Great ambiance if your the romantic type and we've never been disappointed in the quality of food or service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food, wine & service were amazing! We wi ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Food, wine & service were amazing! We will definitely be back :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Must Experience!

Dined on May 2, 2016

We had the pleasure of dining at tapas restaurant just recently and it was a fantastic experience. My boyfriend is a chef in Manitoba and I had been to tapas once before so I wanted to bring him there. The service was outstanding and we particularly enjoyed the chorizo meatballs. Thank you for an amazing evening. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Tapas in town

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great atmosphere, friendly service , tasty food and excellent sangria. The only down side was that there was confusion with my reservation at Tapas with Open Table: after waiting at the bar to be seated, one gentlemen came and told me I had no reservation, so I could access to a table. We had to go back to the reception girl, explain, verify and then they found it back: a little misunderstanding !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Casey our server was unbelievable!! Grea ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Casey our server was unbelievable!! Great table side manner, very professional and engaging. Our favourite dishes were the Portobello Mushroom and Crab& Salmon Tostados.. Wish there were more geeky Sherries to try though :)

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great ambiance!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great food, great ambiance!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AWESOME

Dined on April 24, 2016

Soo good. Had a great night! Service was above and beyond, food was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an amazing experience. From the ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Always an amazing experience. From the melt in your mouth carpaccio to the rich and creamy based mussels this was a fantastic meal. Every visit is like the first! Also, want to give shout out to the musician. He was fab and in such a small space!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good tapas

Dined on April 20, 2016

Innovative twists to classic tapas. The blue cheese mussels were a highlight of the meal

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place....when in Canmore alway ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Wonderful place....when in Canmore always make a point of going. Yum!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was amazing! Friendly staff and a great atmosphere! One of my favorite places.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Weekend Getaway

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food, the service and the ambiance was all great. The guitarist was the icing on the cake. Definitely will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed the Canmore Uncork ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the Canmore Uncorked menu. Included the Tapas winter salad, beef carpaccio, chorizo meatballs, pistachio crusted cod. Everything was impeccably prepared and presented. The accompanying sangria was delicious, as were the desserts (lemon cheesecake and passion fruit creme brûlée). Service was prompt, attentive, and cheerful. Tapas is a cozy spot with so many tasty items. Well done! We will be back and tell all our friends. We are looking forward to the new summer menu, great patio and live music nights (thanks Andrew Ibanez). General Manager, James Kendal runs a fine restaurant! Kudos! Great date night restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Artistic palate pleasers

Dined on April 13, 2016

I brought a very discerning client here who is a true gourmet, and she could not have been more pleased. The main courses are served tapas style as well---a pleasant surprise. Fantastic flavours and textures artfully presented and accompanied by the best sangria we'd ever tasted, not sweet. Although we are in the "reading glasses" age category, we did not find the restaurant too dimly lit at all, per other reviews. Will definitely make the drive out to Canmore to visit Tapas again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A favourite!

Dined on April 13, 2016

We visit canmore several times a year and this is a place we love. Inventive cooking in a friendly atmosphere. A gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden gem

Dined on April 11, 2016

Our favourite tapas restaurant. The chef combines wonderful flavors and the presentation is flawless.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and delicious food in ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Excellent service and delicious food in a quiet atmosphere.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great find!

Dined on April 9, 2016

This place got great reviews which is why we tried it out. It did not disappoint. Found it pretty noisy, but it was a Friday night and the tables are pretty close together (pretty small place).

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food, very fresh.

Dined on April 8, 2016

Mussel, pistachio crusted cod, black pepper gambas, were all very nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit and for sure it won't be ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

Our first visit and for sure it won't be our last. Each plate was unique and delicious. The truffle and salt dessert was a perfect end to a perfect meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great tapas in Canmore

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Tapas is a quaint tapas bar in downtown Canmore. Tapa dishes are interesting, always hot and tasty. Always busy so make sure to make reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was absolutely fantastic! ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

The restaurant was absolutely fantastic! The food and service were amazing! It was very cozy and romantic... We would go back in a heartbeat.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Again amazing food! Will look forward to next time

Dined on March 29, 2016

Reception was incredible. Told them it was our anniversary. Instantly a complimentary gift of two glasses of Champaign. Extensive wine list. And absolutely amazing food. Menu changes are often to keep the dining experience fresh and new. Last time the bacon wrapped Caesar salad blew us away. This time Mussles in a spicy rich cream sauce. And if you think there were only a few mussels, more like 40 or more... Desert.... Some whipped mixed penutbutter tasting amazing dish that won me over and I hate, HATE, PENUTBUTTER... BUT IT WAS AMAZING... It was also served with a wowing cappuccino icecream... Our server Deb was challenged by us, to bring us whatever she wanted and what was the best! We loved her and will ask for her again... She was so busy and helpful with all her tables. Hats off to her, as well as the manager for the night who is only there part time for now as he has moved onward to a new life choice of becoming an EMT. He was a great manager and we will miss him so! We will be back and bringing friends from Australia. Thanks Tapas.... Keep it up!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

First time experiencing a Spanish menu

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our servers were frequently at our table making sure we had everything we needed as they knew it was a new food experience for us. They were good at explaining the dishes & making recommendations!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Nice quaint restaurant

Dined on March 27, 2016

Nice variance in menu items, attentive service. The hot items should have been brought out at the same time, curiously, they came separately. A fine romantic spot.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is truly a treat. It is one o ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

This place is truly a treat. It is one of the best places I have dined at. Every time I go back home I want to stop in and visit. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere is amazing. There was a live musician that could be heard throughout the restaurant. My fiancé had neve been to this place and was blown away by the food and the quaint spot they sat us at. This must be on your list of places to dine

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent.

Dined on March 24, 2016

Absolutely love this place. There's a reason it's ranked #1 in Canmore. Highly recommend. We had an array of different dishes and enjoyed them all to the point where we picked the plates clean. Price was surprisingly low considering we all had a couple of drinks with dinner. Very impressed. Will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Annual visit

Dined on March 24, 2016

Forgotten just how good this restaurant is as we only visit Canmore once a year.A definite must on the "eat out" list.Food is excellent,not tiny portions,service friendly but professional. Excellent wine selections and a great place to pop into for a glass of wine at the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hidden treasure

Dined on March 22, 2016

Although a bit difficult to find and parking is not plentiful, it is certainly worth persevering to find this delightful place. The service is attentive but not intrusive. The food pacing from the kitchen was spot on and the wine list quite extensive. After being greeted warmly at the door, you are given the explanation that this is a true tapas restaurant, with wait staff suggesting 2-3 plates per person. The concept is to share the food and the portions reflect this. This is a great way to experience several different dishes. We opted for a litre of sangria and weren't disappointed. Our water glasses never got below 1/2 empty. Highly enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.