About Tapas Restaurant

633 10th Street
Canmore, AB T1W 2A2
View Larger Map

"Tapas" Food for sharing …
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. Dishes are designed for two people to share, we suggest 2—3 dishes per person as a meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Open every day from 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 609-0583

Website:
http://www.tapascanmore.ca/

Catering:
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. We offer similar "Tapas" style menus for groups and all food is served family style. We can customize menus for groups based on our current menu on offer.

Executive Chef:
Rob Hughes

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s for Christmas, a birthday party, a shower or other special event, Tapas will work with you to design a "tapas" style sharing menu that suits your party and budget.

Our upstairs attic is available for private party bookings Sunday through Thursday and we can accommodate groups

Private Party Contact:
James Kendal: 8443280304

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Tapas Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Food
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Service
Calgary / Southern Alberta
12 More
Best Value
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Fit for Foodies
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Romantic
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Banff / Canmore
Best Food
Banff / Canmore
Best Service
Banff / Canmore
Best Ambiance
Banff / Canmore
Best Value
Banff / Canmore
Fit for Foodies
Banff / Canmore
Romantic
Banff / Canmore
Special Occasion
Banff / Canmore
Most Booked
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Canmore ›

fit for foodies (120)
romantic (116)
special occasion (114)
See All
neighborhood gem (85)
good for groups (36)
notable wine list (33)
hot spot (29)
late-night find (26)
great for outdoor dining (13)
great for lunch (10)
scenic view (5)
vibrant bar scene (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
913 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was good but the portions were ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food was good but the portions were very small and the prices a bit steep for such tiny portions. Also, I resent Restaurants that charge $5.00 for bread. The evening was pleasant enough, but the service was adequate at best and the place a tad unjustifiably pretentious.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I were celebrating her birth ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating her birthday. We have enjoyed tapas in Spain and are familiar with the cuisine. We were expecting an evening experience, and that is what we got. This is not intended to be a fast meal; it is a time to enjoy 2 or more hours with your friends while you enjoy multiple small to mid-size portions served sequentially along with some good wine or beer. We really enjoyed the quality of food, the service and the whole experience, and we would recommend this restaurant to anyone else looking to experience a wonderful evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our 3rd visit to Tapa's and the ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to Tapa's and the food was outstanding once again. The service was also great and the overall experience once again was exactly what we had hoped for. Every menu item we have tried has been amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

All of the food is just wonderful! Staff ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

All of the food is just wonderful! Staff is friendly and helpful and atmosphere is great! No bad choices on the menu!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the Tapas style of eating dinner ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Enjoyed the Tapas style of eating dinner. Select several dishes and then share them, so everyone gets a taste. Intimate setting and reservations are a must. The food was outstanding with notable tastiness the Portobello Mushrooms and the Rockfish Ceviche. Wonderful place for an anniversary dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A superb find in Canmore. We chose Tapa ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

A superb find in Canmore. We chose Tapas because they had a great review in TripAdvisor, and we were not disappointed. Great little restaurant with a real nice selection of tapas. We really enjoyed the selection of both cold and hot tapas.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our second visit to Tapas and we ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This is our second visit to Tapas and were equally impressed both times. A unique dining experience with dishes designed to taste, sample, and share until you are full! Incredible menu, incredible tastes, there aren't enough good things I can say. My favourite place in all of Canmore and Banff!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and delicious food

Dined on June 11, 2016

My fiancé and I celebrated our engagement at Tapas. The food was delicious, the atmosphere was warm and romantic. I would highly recommend for couples or adult groups. Not suitable for kids.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lots of character and interesting offerings

Dined on June 11, 2016

Knowledgeable and friendly staff helped ensure our meal selections were just right

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Canmore

Dined on June 6, 2016

Our second time visiting this restaurant. Menu is always fresh, locally inspired, and rotating. Prices are a little steep, though reflect the quality and thoughtfulness of the food. We enjoyed the beef carpaccio, eggplant mousse, grilled zucchini with goat cheese, a plato mixto of cheese and other charcuterie, as well as creme brûlée alongside a peanut butter mousse for dessert. Make sure you reserve ahead of time - it's tough to land a table without one! OpenTable worked perfectly for that. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Delicious Food

Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was great, portions were perfect for the two of us. The only issue was the heat as it was an incredibly warm day.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food. Best drinks.

Dined on June 6, 2016

This place is amazing. Best food & drinks we've had in a very long time. Menu items taste amazing. Cocktail menu is inventive, fun and made with lots of love.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Food and service was spectacular. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous.

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was wonderful and the service was just excellent! We sat out on the patio and it was a perfect evening for it. When it got a little chilly, the heaters took the cool edge off. The shrimp and the mussels were our favorite items.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun, delicious, different!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great place to go for dinner in Canmore. Something a little different, food is off the hook, great drink menu, and the service was fantastic. Would return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food continues to amaze!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Tried new dishes this time and they were mouth watering - Just like the ones we tried last time!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good not great

Dined on June 2, 2016

The food was very good. It was a business dinner res at 5:30 by 7:00 we were told there was someone waiting for our table and they'd need us to be done in 15 min. We were having a business dinner so no cocktails first etc and we felt rushed out because of timing of a tapas meal and some visiting. Ordinarily when dining with friends we'd have cocktails, maybe dessert and at least coffee if not an after dinner drink. We were not informed ahead of time that they had hour and a half settings and I would not book at a restaurant knowing that.

food5
ambience4
service4

Fantastic place to go for a romantic non ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Fantastic place to go for a romantic non rushed dining experience, the many dishes we ordered came out just at the right pace witch allowed us to enjoy our conversation and tasty sangria.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Fantastic food, service could have been better

Dined on May 29, 2016

This was my second trip to Tapas, and just like last time the food was absolutely fantastic. Brought some friends from Wales and they too loved it. However the service from our last trip was in stark contrast. Our first time at Tapas the server was fantastic as well, and helped us as we had never been to a Tapas before. This second trip, our server was less than helpful, and seemed very arrogant. While the service was less than enjoyable, I would still recommend Tapas. The food is fantastic and I'm going to still recommend even with the 1 bad instance of service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, Great wine & Fantastic Service

Dined on May 29, 2016

2nd time here & will be back again. Wonderful atmosphere & outstanding food & wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Returned a second time

Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and myself eat out a fair bit in our travels. We ate at Tapa's last time we were in Canmore and on this trip back to Alberta we brought my parents out for their birthdays.Staff was great ... Knowledgable / enjoyable .... Food was on point .... Tapa's delivered .... Highly recommended ..., just a great way to dine

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tapas is Canmore's hidden gem. I thoroug ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Tapas is Canmore's hidden gem. I thoroughly enjoyed the food, ambiance and service. I will definitely be returning in the near future, as it was truly a one-of-a-kind experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

All of the food was amazing! We particu ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

All of the food was amazing! We particularly loved the broccoli, the zucchini wrapped goat cheese and the chili gamberra!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was absolutely awesome, helped ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Waitress was absolutely awesome, helped us find great vegetarian options.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a delight.

Dined on May 27, 2016

Love being able to taste and share many different menu items. Excellent service and delicious Sangria. Tapas is a restaurant on our "must" list whenever we are in Canmore.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Repeat visitors to Tapas, always love th ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Repeat visitors to Tapas, always love the food. The choices on the menu allowed us to cater to the tastes of our 5 person group, no one left hungry. Always look to try something different, the charcuterie choices were wonderful. Ability to pay corkage was appreciated, brought a few gems from the cellar for this occasion. Will come back again when we visit Canmore.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fun dining experience

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a really fun time here where I managed to propose to my GF. The restaurant made a real fuss of us adding to the whole experience and making it very memorable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Very small dishes and very expensive we ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Very small dishes and very expensive we spent huge and left hungry. Not at all what Tapas is in Spain. Although the food did taste wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional dining

Dined on May 22, 2016

This is our 3rd time to Tapas Restaurant and we are never disappointed. The food is outstanding. Lots of choices of tapas-type entrees which in my mind is the best way to eat as you get to sample a lot of different dishes. The food is beautifully presented and the the flavours are amazing. The restaurant itself is not huge but very quaint and cozy. You will not be disappointed. It's very busy so make sure to make a reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious as usual!!! The service is spo ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Delicious as usual!!! The service is spot on! We love dining here when in Canmore. If you haven't tried Tapas, you should .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our favourite restaurant in Canm ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This is our favourite restaurant in Canmore, and although we live in Calgary, we often visit a few times a year. We always make a point to have dinner here, as the food and service are both outstanding. We have tried a variety of menu items and have never been disappointed. It is a very small and intimate atmosphere, and therefore can be a bit noisy at times. It is also very popular and often difficult to make a last minute reservation, so plan in advance. We highly recommend Tapas to people who appreciate excellent food, and people who go out of their way to provide a memorable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and fantastic menu

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a wonderful time in this restaurant - the waitstaff were friendly and attentive. Went for wife's birthday and it was a winner. Fantastic sangria and cocktail menu - and the mussels were amazing. Everything we tried was a hit. Would recommend 10/10

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we loved my birthday dinner!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Awesome place to experience something new and exciting!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and great service

Dined on May 8, 2016

I went to Tapas with a girlfriend on a Saturday night. It was a bit cramped, but it made for a fun atmosphere. The service was incredible and they were even friendly as we were the last ones out. The food selection was varied and there is something appearing for everyone. My favourites were the portobello mushroom, the broccoli, and the tostados. Overall, this was a great night out and I would go back any time I visit Canmore.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A quaint, romantic restaurant.

Dined on May 7, 2016

We have been going to Tapas regularly for the last three years. Great ambiance if your the romantic type and we've never been disappointed in the quality of food or service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food, wine & service were amazing! We wi ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Food, wine & service were amazing! We will definitely be back :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Must Experience!

Dined on May 2, 2016

We had the pleasure of dining at tapas restaurant just recently and it was a fantastic experience. My boyfriend is a chef in Manitoba and I had been to tapas once before so I wanted to bring him there. The service was outstanding and we particularly enjoyed the chorizo meatballs. Thank you for an amazing evening. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Tapas in town

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great atmosphere, friendly service , tasty food and excellent sangria. The only down side was that there was confusion with my reservation at Tapas with Open Table: after waiting at the bar to be seated, one gentlemen came and told me I had no reservation, so I could access to a table. We had to go back to the reception girl, explain, verify and then they found it back: a little misunderstanding !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Casey our server was unbelievable!! Grea ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Casey our server was unbelievable!! Great table side manner, very professional and engaging. Our favourite dishes were the Portobello Mushroom and Crab& Salmon Tostados.. Wish there were more geeky Sherries to try though :)

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great ambiance!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great food, great ambiance!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.