About Tapas Restaurant

633 10th Street
Canmore, AB T1W 2A2
View Larger Map

"Tapas" Food for sharing …
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. Dishes are designed for two people to share, we suggest 2—3 dishes per person as a meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Open every day from 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 609-0583

Website:
http://www.tapascanmore.ca/

Catering:
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. We offer similar "Tapas" style menus for groups and all food is served family style. We can customize menus for groups based on our current menu on offer.

Executive Chef:
Rob Hughes

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s for Christmas, a birthday party, a shower or other special event, Tapas will work with you to design a "tapas" style sharing menu that suits your party and budget.

Our upstairs attic is available for private party bookings Sunday through Thursday and we can accommodate groups

Private Party Contact:
James Kendal: 8443280304

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tapas Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Food
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Fit for Foodies
Calgary / Southern Alberta
10 More
Romantic
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Banff / Canmore
Best Food
Banff / Canmore
Best Service
Banff / Canmore
Best Ambiance
Banff / Canmore
Best Value
Banff / Canmore
Fit for Foodies
Banff / Canmore
Romantic
Banff / Canmore
Special Occasion
Banff / Canmore
Most Booked
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Canmore ›

Fit for Foodies (97)
Special Occasion (84)
Romantic (84)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (70)
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Notable Wine List (33)
Good for Groups (31)
Tapas (31)
Hot Spot (25)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for a Date (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Late-night Find (18)
Cozy (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Authentic (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Fun (8)
Casual (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Live Music (6)
Scenic View (6)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
989 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food as always. A favourite to ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food as always. A favourite to visit when in Canmore.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love going to Tapas. Any time we are ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 4 days ago

We love going to Tapas. Any time we are in Canmore it is on the menu. It's not cheap but is well worth it. Don't over do it... 4-6 choices for 2 is plenty. The only complaint is that I had no room for dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food. Beautiful presentation a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food. Beautiful presentation and great service. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tapas never disappoints. As a local, th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 5 days ago

Tapas never disappoints. As a local, this is our "go to" for a dinner out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful restaurant who takes care to p ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful restaurant who takes care to prepare meals with exquisite, interesting flavours, paired with wonderful wines, and amazing, knowledgeable staff. We will be going back next time we are in Canmore!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Our party loved the experien ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food! Our party loved the experience of eating small tapas dishes over the course of the evening. We were slightly disappointed by the service as we rarely saw our server. We also had our server walk away half way through paying our bill and had to have an additional server complete the task... not a great way to end the night after such an outstanding meal.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We absolutely loved our meal here. it mi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

We absolutely loved our meal here. it might be the closest thing to my perfect restaurant that I've ever experienced. Incredible food, wonderful environment and lovely, friendly service. Will go back every chance I get!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place and good friendly staff. Jus ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great place and good friendly staff. Just thought expensive for what you got. Food was very taste just over priced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Not very good i'm afraid, they served wa ...

 
 (Manchester)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Not very good i'm afraid, they served warm olives which was a first for me, we sent the straight back. The scallops were over cooked and beans just ok with a bit of chlorine taste, the staff however were fantastic, not to our taste, there are better in Canmore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Had a great dinner with the family. Food ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Had a great dinner with the family. Food and service was great. Nice live guitarist, great atmosphere. Will definitely go again when visiting Canmore.

Tags: Tapas, Family Style, Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very happy to hear that Tapas wa ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We were very happy to hear that Tapas was still open since we hadn't been to Canmore in 9 years. The food is excellent and imanigative. Three of us had a great evening.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wasn't too thrilled about sitting by t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

I wasn't too thrilled about sitting by the front door and hearing 'have a reservation? No? Sorry we are very popular, bye!' Over and over again... while the cold breeze was coming by. You do need a reservation, maybe request the main room as its getting colder out. Food is slightly overpriced, but was good, I just can't say that anything in particular was exceptional. Mussels were overdone and chewy, chorizo meatballs were cold, the rest I hate to say was un-memorable. Besides the lack of music, I heard the whole business story of this old Hungarian couple and his agent next to me that owns a resort in Canmore... how well its booked, breaking even financially etc. That was interesting. I think Tapas can do better! All the tools are there to be great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Selection of tapas was exceptional. Staf ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Selection of tapas was exceptional. Staff was incredibly knowledgeable, and professionally upbeat. Service was top dollar. Unbeatable variety of flavors. Very creative. Most delightful evening.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Experience was great! Food was unreal, ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Experience was great! Food was unreal, great service! They didn't have the dish I wanted to order so I was a little disappointed in that but overall great place! Would go back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I liked this restaurant and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

My wife and I liked this restaurant and the ambiance. The food was quite good and well-prepared. It was surprising to find a tapas restaurant in a small town in Alberta. Service was a bit pretentious. They began by explaining to diners what tapas are. Prices were fairly high but not unexpected for the location. Charging for bread rankled us, given the prices for small plate servings to begin with. Jeez..couldn't you at least throw in a slice of bread? Overall, good experience and beautifully presented dishes.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing restaurant with great food... An ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Amazing restaurant with great food... And mmmmmm dessert it was njammiieee.

Top!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant is memorable for great f ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This restaurant is memorable for great food, great service and wonderful ambience. We started with 2 different Tostados; avocado and goat feta. Both had many depths of flavor... delicious! The beef carpaccio was outstanding. The chili gambas was perfectly cooked shrimp with a sauce worthy of plate licking! The vieras con pure de guisante was a gorgeous presentation, and again perfectly cooked scallops...the flavor divine! AND then there was dessert....peanut butter mousse! If you can imagine the best peanut butter cup you have ever tasted. A thick, almost hard chocolate ganache on top of a delectable peanut butter mousse...this was bar none the best dessert I have ever tasted in my 53 years of life!

The staff are awesome! Our waitress Deborah was outstanding and James was always on hand to suggest the finest cocktails!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food; every dish was a perfect ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food; every dish was a perfect combination of flavours. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vegetarian dishes were better than the m ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Vegetarian dishes were better than the meat tapas but the chaucterie was superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hands down, Tapas is the BEST restaurant ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Hands down, Tapas is the BEST restaurant in Canmore. Perfect place to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary, especially on Wine-down Wednesdays - such a treat to bring in our own special occasion wine and to enjoy it with some incredibly delicious meals (Tostadas were heavenly). Ambience was lovely, especially with live guitarist, Andrew Ibanez. Staff and service was impeccable - professional, yet down-to-earth. Highly recommended for an overall wonderful night out. This was our second visit and we're already looking forward to the next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great but the portions are a li ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was great but the portions are a little smaller than what they should be, considering what you're paying for it. I would like to see more wines by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Quite good food and great service. A goo ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Quite good food and great service. A good option when looking for a more sophisticated meal in Canmore.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is my favourite restaurant in town. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

This is my favourite restaurant in town. Unfortunately we haven't had the opportunity to eat there in a while, but it was great to get back and enjoy our old favourites along with some newer items too.

My only constructive comment is to please add the chocolate pot with rosemary caramel back to the dessert menu as it is amazing. However, the chocolate truffles were excellent too!

Thanks for another memorable evening

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place. The food was original ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Loved this place. The food was original and delicious, very creative cuisine. Service was nice but not rushed, delicious dinner. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! Best we've had in a long t ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Amazing food! Best we've had in a long time. Portobello mushroom and lemon cheese cake were our favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd visit of our vacation to Tapas and j ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

2nd visit of our vacation to Tapas and just as good as ever demonstrating the consistently high standard of both food and service.

Booked for the Wed night this time as I saw they had live music from a local Spanish guitarist Andrew Ibanez who was excellent and really added to the atmosphere. The volume was just right to enjoy whilst not encroaching on conversation. My 10yr old loved both the food (as always) and the music.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely fantastic! Service was top no ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Absolutely fantastic! Service was top notch, venue was nice and cozy, and most of all, the food was great! The Diablo potatoes are not to be underestimated... They were fantastic!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was absolutely the best food we have ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

It was absolutely the best food we have ever had!!!!! We loved it and the servers!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you very much for the excellent se ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Thank you very much for the excellent service at the moment of arrival, but you should not look at us as "come on, time to leave" at the moment of paying and leaving. This is not polite.

The gests are important.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We were in Canmore celebrating our 40th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were in Canmore celebrating our 40th anniversary and enjoyed a wonderful dinner and a great bottle of wine at Tapas. The service was friendly and warm and we appreciated the menu suggestions. Nice cozy romantic atmosphere made the evening special. My wife forgot her purse under the table and we were quickly contacted, very much appreciated. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every dish delicious, very nice ambiance ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Every dish delicious, very nice ambiance and sangria was wonderful. Indoor or outdoor dining and great for a special occasion or a comfortable meal. Very attentive service. Will definitely go back. Highlights: portabello mushroom, prawns and chocolate peanut butter dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant. My husb ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant. My husband and I make trips to Canmore specifically to eat at Tapas!!! Best sangria ever!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tapas is one of the best restaurants in ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Tapas is one of the best restaurants in Canmore and has proved its consistency as this was our first visit on vacation for 12 months and the food /service was still as good as ever.

Great food with the mixed platter of cheese and meats to start being one of my particular favorites.

Highly recommend for a visit.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not only is the food to die for, the sta ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Not only is the food to die for, the staff are incredibly friendly and efficient! Loved our experience and can't wait to come back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to share plates with friends ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great place to share plates with friends. service is very attentive. Food is great. Can get a but noisy when it fills. A must to try.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We went here on a whim off of the review ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We went here on a whim off of the reviews we saw on Yelp. The food was delicious- the mussels were great! Service was good too, highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The Tapas restaurant was a real gem in C ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The Tapas restaurant was a real gem in Canmore. It has both indoor and outdoor seating, and is reasonably upscale but certainly not pretentious. Service was friendly and basically impeccable, and we were waited on the by the manager who is almost always everywhere making sure things go right. The food was a highly varied assortment of plates from lamb meatballs to chili prawns to beet salad and so forth. This is a great choice for a good meal and a nice break from the ordinary.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service. Very interesting food. T ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great service. Very interesting food. Tasty and unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This place was amazing. Staff was frien ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This place was amazing. Staff was friendly and professional and the food was so delicious. I would definitely come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food but somewhat overpriced. Som ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food but somewhat overpriced. Some staff poor at rapport with clients.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.