About Tapas Restaurant

633 10th Street
Canmore, AB T1W 2A2
View Larger Map

"Tapas" Food for sharing …
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. Dishes are designed for two people to share, we suggest 2—3 dishes per person as a meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Open every day from 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 609-0583

Website:
http://www.tapascanmore.ca/

Catering:
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. We offer similar "Tapas" style menus for groups and all food is served family style. We can customize menus for groups based on our current menu on offer.

Executive Chef:
Rob Hughes

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s for Christmas, a birthday party, a shower or other special event, Tapas will work with you to design a "tapas" style sharing menu that suits your party and budget.

Our upstairs attic is available for private party bookings Sunday through Thursday and we can accommodate groups

Private Party Contact:
James Kendal: 8443280304

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Tapas Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Food
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Service
Calgary / Southern Alberta
13 More
Best Ambiance
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Value
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Fit for Foodies
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Romantic
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Banff / Canmore
Best Food
Banff / Canmore
Best Service
Banff / Canmore
Best Ambiance
Banff / Canmore
Best Value
Banff / Canmore
Fit for Foodies
Banff / Canmore
Romantic
Banff / Canmore
Special Occasion
Banff / Canmore
Most Booked
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Canmore ›

fit for foodies (110)
special occasion (103)
romantic (100)
See All
neighborhood gem (76)
good for groups (37)
notable wine list (30)
hot spot (25)
late-night find (23)
great for outdoor dining (21)
great for lunch (9)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
940 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent as always. Great evening on t ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent as always. Great evening on the patio, warn mountain breeze.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was our first time and have already ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time and have already told all our friends they must try Tapas. The experience was top notch from start to finish with best food ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As good or better than our last visit. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

As good or better than our last visit. Our go to place when in Canmore. Excellent service and wonderful tastes. Nice touchave by the owner Ron? to provide us withave a glass of dessert wine to finish the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have dined there severa ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I have dined there several times and I with my daughters. We have all enjoyed our food every time. This visit was with family from Ontario and they too enjoyed the dining experience. A comment made which I agreed with is maybe, a person should be asked if they want a couple of the plates served at the same time. This is when it is more a main dish i.e. meats etc. it would be nice to have the vegetable dish or salad along with it. We are used to this but our guests were not, they still enjoyed the experience tho'.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We were heading home from a few days in ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were heading home from a few days in Lake Louise and wanted a special last night dinner. This dining experience more than met our hopes. The staff is friendly and works as a team to provide service that fits well with the type of fare, where multiple small dishes are involved and the sequence matters. The food was excellent and the ambience appropriately dim for the romantic experience we were seeking. Both Canmore and Tapas are on our list should we head back in this direction in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I and another couple went to ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife and I and another couple went to Tapas and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! The food was delicious and always cooked perfectly, the service was excellent and the atmosphere was just right for a couples date. I would eat here once a week if I lived in Canmore! Brilliant! Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service fast and friendly.food was ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service fast and friendly.food was outstanding.would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! Mussels with blue ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was amazing! Mussels with blue cheese, Chili Gamba and Chorizo Meatballs were the favourites although everything else we had was delicious too. Our server was lovely and we enjoyed the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We drove from Kananaskis to Canmore to t ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We drove from Kananaskis to Canmore to this restaurant based on Tripadvisor reviews and it didn't dissapoint. Went in with our two kids ( 6 and 11 yrs old) for dinner. The service was great, the food very tasteful especially the mussels and black pepper gambas. Sangria was great too. Great little restaurant, we'll be back for sure!

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting family in Canmore and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were visiting family in Canmore and they suggested Tapas Restaurant ... it was absolutely fabulous! Everything we ordered was delicious! As a bonus, it was BYOB with no corkage fee! We will definitely dine at Tapas the next time we're in Canmore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing! Everything we orde ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was amazing! Everything we ordered was super delicious. The service was alright - maybe because it was very busy the night we went, our server did not interacted with us, just standard put down the food and leave. We had to flag her down for more drinks and water a few times.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Been at Tapas many many times. It never ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Been at Tapas many many times. It never fails to impress. Service impeccable. Food amazing. Keep up the good work!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous food, service and dr ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Absolutely fabulous food, service and drinks. Highly recommend great flavours and quality

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prices were on the high side, possibly r ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Prices were on the high side, possibly recommendation for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We will be back..loved the ambiance and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We will be back..loved the ambiance and wine will try different foods next time

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Chose this restaurant due to a high revi ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Chose this restaurant due to a high review rating. Well deserved. Food was delicious. Server was helpful with suggestions. The portobello mushroom was fantastic. We each wished we had our own.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was quite good and the ambiance ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was quite good and the ambiance was great. The live music really added to the ambiance. The issues we had were the cost and flow of food. Although the dishes were good, think they were overpriced for what you get. As well, part of the tapas experience, I think, is the flow dishes, as in they should come out fairly consistently. It took away from the experience when we had to wait 30 to 45 min between when 1 dish was ate and the next one came out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Tapas were setved very slowly and not in ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Tapas were setved very slowly and not in a understandable sequence. No one together amd I had all mine before the es for my gf came on the table. We had a long waiting time in between.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food, the mussels are to die for!! ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great food, the mussels are to die for!! The sangria goes well with a meal as well! This restaurant is must when in Canmore!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We so enjoy being here. Always consiste ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We so enjoy being here. Always consistent, food and service for some 7 years at least That is a great thing. Nobody loves McDonald's but you know what you're getting. Here we love it, and its so dependable!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 5th year wedding anniv ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We celebrated our 5th year wedding anniversary here tonight & the service was amazing...the food was even better! If you want delicious food and amazing ambience, this is the place to be in Canmore! Elisa the hostess is particularly wonderful. Thanks for a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tapas is one of our 'must go to' restaur ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Tapas is one of our 'must go to' restaurants when we are in Canmore! We love the changing menu, the unique options and the ability to share so many incredible dishes amongst friends is what brings us back every time. The service is always personable & friendly regardless of how busy the restaurant is.

This visit we brought family who had just arrived in Canada for the first time from Ireland. They were as impressed by the food as we hoped they'd be. Thank you to all the staff at tapas for another memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant! My wife and I stum ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Fantastic restaurant! My wife and I stumbled on to it on Thursday evening and mid-dinner made reservations for the following evening. We brought some friends the second time and over the 2 evenings ended up trying half of the plates on offer and none of them disappointed. The blue cheese sauce with the mussels was truly amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

we booked on line and visited this resta ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

we booked on line and visited this restaurant mid week. It is a small place with tables close together. One table is right in front of a curtain to the washrooms not sure why there is a table there .The menu was very interesting and we tried several dishes. The wine selection was very good . many of the plates were $14 but for 3 adults you would likely need 9 different items and this adds up If you have never tried this type of dining before it is worth a try

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This was my first visit to Tapas. It wil ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This was my first visit to Tapas. It will not be my last! Dinner with an old friend included 6 different tapas (they recommend 2-3 per person). They included plato mix, tomato and grilled salmon tostadas, rockfish ceviche, sweet and salty duck drumsticks, and chorizo and figs. The last one, while very tasty, was not a big success. Nonetheless, every bite was exquisite. The service was friendly and excellent.

I cannot recommend Tapas highly enough! Go!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The new menu is delicious and beautifull ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The new menu is delicious and beautifully presented. We really loved the new ceviche dish. The service as always was excellent. I cant wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good but the portions were ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was good but the portions were very small and the prices a bit steep for such tiny portions. Also, I resent Restaurants that charge $5.00 for bread. The evening was pleasant enough, but the service was adequate at best and the place a tad unjustifiably pretentious.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife and I were celebrating her birth ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating her birthday. We have enjoyed tapas in Spain and are familiar with the cuisine. We were expecting an evening experience, and that is what we got. This is not intended to be a fast meal; it is a time to enjoy 2 or more hours with your friends while you enjoy multiple small to mid-size portions served sequentially along with some good wine or beer. We really enjoyed the quality of food, the service and the whole experience, and we would recommend this restaurant to anyone else looking to experience a wonderful evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our 3rd visit to Tapa's and the ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to Tapa's and the food was outstanding once again. The service was also great and the overall experience once again was exactly what we had hoped for.

Every menu item we have tried has been amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding food; fast and friendly serv ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Outstanding food; fast and friendly service; great ambiance. One of my favourite restaurants anywhere!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All of the food is just wonderful! Staff ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

All of the food is just wonderful! Staff is friendly and helpful and atmosphere is great! No bad choices on the menu!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed the Tapas style of eating dinner ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Enjoyed the Tapas style of eating dinner. Select several dishes and then share them, so everyone gets a taste. Intimate setting and reservations are a must. The food was outstanding with notable tastiness the Portobello Mushrooms and the Rockfish Ceviche. Wonderful place for an anniversary dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A superb find in Canmore. We chose Tapa ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

A superb find in Canmore. We chose Tapas because they had a great review in TripAdvisor, and we were not disappointed. Great little restaurant with a real nice selection of tapas. We really enjoyed the selection of both cold and hot tapas.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second visit to Tapas and we ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is our second visit to Tapas and were equally impressed both times. A unique dining experience with dishes designed to taste, sample, and share until you are full! Incredible menu, incredible tastes, there aren't enough good things I can say. My favourite place in all of Canmore and Banff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and delicious food

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My fiancé and I celebrated our engagement at Tapas. The food was delicious, the atmosphere was warm and romantic. I would highly recommend for couples or adult groups. Not suitable for kids.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lots of character and interesting offerings

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Knowledgeable and friendly staff helped ensure our meal selections were just right

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best in Canmore

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Our second time visiting this restaurant. Menu is always fresh, locally inspired, and rotating. Prices are a little steep, though reflect the quality and thoughtfulness of the food.

We enjoyed the beef carpaccio, eggplant mousse, grilled zucchini with goat cheese, a plato mixto of cheese and other charcuterie, as well as creme brûlée alongside a peanut butter mousse for dessert.

Make sure you reserve ahead of time - it's tough to land a table without one! OpenTable worked perfectly for that.

We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Food

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was great, portions were perfect for the two of us. The only issue was the heat as it was an incredibly warm day.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Best food. Best drinks.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

This place is amazing. Best food & drinks we've had in a very long time. Menu items taste amazing. Cocktail menu is inventive, fun and made with lots of love.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food and service was spectacular. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.