Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Tapas Restaurant

"Tapas" Food for sharing …
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. Dishes are designed for two people to share, we suggest 2—3 dishes per person as a meal.

633 10th Street
Canmore, AB T1W 2A2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Open every day from 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 609-0583

Website:
http://www.tapascanmore.ca/

Catering:
In Spain & Portugal Tapas are considered a culture. Shared amongst friends in a relaxed and unhurried environment, to be combined with wine, lively conversation, tall tales and spirits!
Our Tapas Menu offers "Small Dishes" reflecting the modern fusion flavours of Portugal & Spain. We offer similar "Tapas" style menus for groups and all food is served family style. We can customize menus for groups based on our current menu on offer.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Picek

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s for Christmas, a birthday party, a shower or other special event, Tapas will work with you to design a "tapas" style sharing menu that suits your party and budget.



Our upstairs attic is available for private party bookings Sunday through Thursday and we can accommodate groups

Private Party Contact:
James Kendal: (844) 328-0304

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tapas Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (201)
Good for a Date (162)
Romantic (136)
See All
Creative Cuisine (135)
Fit for Foodies (131)
Special Occasion (129)
Cozy (110)
Good for Anniversaries (105)
Worth the Drive (93)
Neighborhood Gem (80)
Tasting Menu (64)
Quiet Conversation (63)
Authentic (63)
Notable Wine List (48)
Casual (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Local Ingredients (38)
Fun (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Hot Spot (28)
Gluten Free Options (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Good Vegetarian Options (26)
Comfort Food (22)
Healthy (20)
Late-night Find (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Live Music (13)
Seasonal (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Family Style (9)
Great Beer (9)
Spicy (8)
Historic (7)
Scenic View (7)
Private Room (7)
Business Meals (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Organic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Vegan (5)
Fireplace (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic food and amazing service! Our favourite restaurant in Canmore. You must try!!

Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tapas, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We have enjoyed Tapas for the last 14 years. We frequent every 3-4 months, May 2017 was our last visit enjoying an awesome menu with many favorite Tapas.

Tapas menu changed summer and winter making choices interesting and enjoyable. Recently most of the menu was changed. Staff explained there was a new Chef and his menu.

We enjoyed the meatballs but thought our other choices were bland. $9 for bread to dip in saucy dishes, gnocchi good but not much flavor, halibut @$28 was good but not that great!

5 dishes + bread + $49 (wine) = $ 154.
Before tax and gratuity. We won't be in a hurry to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We had wonderful food, loved the pacing of how the food came out. We always had food on the table, but never too much at a time. Service was excellent. It is quiet,small, intimate and tastefully decorated. We had a great evening with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Very friendly staff. We ordered olives, chorizo and figs in cider (yum), bread salad (good but maybe a little heavy on the goat cheese), gnocchi (good, nice touch with the crispy jamon on top), prawns (my daughter loved them) and mussels (really good and nice touch to give us extra bread for the delicious broth). Pricier than other places in Canmore but totally recommended nonetheless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Hot food wasn't hot . Server was a bit aloof . Our special occasion noted on reservation was lack lustre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our first trip to this spot - outstanding. We were on the patio - it started to rain but was perfect because we were sheltered. Very nice as they turned on the patio heaters and it was very good ambiance. Started out with a Chacuterie board. We do not eat pork so they allowed us to taste the elk salame and it was delish so we went for it. So yummy. Potatas Bravas always good - then the halibut. All went very well with an awesome bottle of red that was reasonably priced. We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We went to Tapas for our First Wedding Anniversary. I had requested a table more tucked out of the way, but considering this is a small restaurant it could have been tough. They had us out a table tucked away on the patio with blankets prepared incase the evening chill set in. They congratulated us right away. I had arranged to have flowers delivered to be waiting for my wife and they were more than happy to handle having them on the table. I gave them a heads up that we would be bringing champagne and as soon as we sat down they brought the ice bucket over for the bottle.

It was a great experience and a delicious meal.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

yearly get together with long time friends for the Canmore folk festival. going on 6 years now

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This was my first time back at Tapas under the new ownership with their new chef. I've loved Tapas and raved about it for years after many amazing evenings. Sadly I have to say I'm disappointed that the menu has gone 'Calgary' with high prices, much smaller portions and a pared back menu. Maybe it was just too amazing before but I'm sad to say Tapas is no longer getting rave accolades from me. The Staff attention is still excellent but that isn't enough to get me back soon.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The servants were very rude and all the time in rush (they were walking away while you were still talking to them and not patient to give you more information about the food) . The food wasn't extraordinary, very normal quality and pricy. Overall I won't go there anymore and won't recommend it to anyone, there are many more good options in Canmore that worth your time and money with a way better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

This used to be our favourite restaurant but the service wasn't as good and the food menu has changed and the portions have also gone a lot smaller, saying that the food was still pretty good but we preferred the old menu and service.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Beautiful evening on the patio with my husband. Excellent food and wine. Our favourite date night in Canmore!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Simply delicious! It's like you're in Spain! Great food, lovely atmosphere. Must go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Delicious food and great service. Reasonably priced for the quality of the food.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We sincerely appreciated the extremely warm service and food was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We came out for date night Saturday. The place is quaint and the weather was nice so we dined outside on their patio. The service was excellent but the food was average. It was a bit pricey for the quality of food. It was a nice first experience but nothing that would bring me back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Tapas was vert accommodating to us changing our reservations. The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. I would recommend sitting out on the patio if possible especially in the summer. They also allow you to bring your own wine which was great. There is a corking fee but on certain days it can be waived. Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 17, 2017

A great place to try excellent food in a relaxed atmosphere....Good wine also...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner... our server Nicole was great, she answered all of our questions, treated us very well and the experience was exactly what we remember from Spain... drank a Rioja reserve, ate amazing tapas, and enjoyed some lovely company... highly recommended... I have been a server/ supervisor for many years so I consider myself a pretty harsh judge of service and food but this place killed it !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We stayed in Canmore a full week and tried a different restaurant every night. Tapas was about average, though I can understand why some have complained about their pricing structure. The service was good and the food was interesting if not spectacular.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The service was terrific. They were very accommodating and friendly. The food selection was really good too. A nice outdoor dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Highly recommend. Top quality management and staff!! Great recommendations Mushrooms! yea! And a top shelf Negroni recommended and prepared by JK! Thanks to all. Diana and I had a great time

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 14, 2017

So good! If you are looking for the best tapas in Alberta, this is the place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The service and staff were very helpful and friendly, the food was okay, however a lot of repeat flavours, everything seemed to have a citrus flavour. A little bit more variety of flavouring would be our only downside. ambience was excellent. Sangria very tasty. I think pricing is a little steep for the overall quality of cuisine.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had heard great things about Tapas and I am sure at the time those reviews were correct. We sat outside and there really isn't a view but it was still nice to dine on the patio. They were very attentive and tried there best to help us with the menu. The service was excellent and the restaurant in general is quaint. There were 4 of us and as it was a a tapas restaurant we tried 5 items on the menu. The best was probably the tuna and the rest at least to us was just average. According to some there is a new chef there and a new menu. I would still recommend going but it may be some time before the new menu and chef smooth things out.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Some of the prices were hefty for the portion size and quality / grade of food used.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Excellent service and great food! Great choices for everyone!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We had a family and friends group of 6 for dinner on the patio. Very fun menu and we had 2 servers who helped us select from the tapas menu - we enjoyed everything! The service was exceptional. We had about 12 small plates - especially enjoyed the prawns and charcuterie and cheese platter. Wine list and recommendations were also fine. We would highly recommend this restaurant for a small group so you can try many different small plates. Totally exceptional in all ways!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Fantastic first experience! So awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Wonderful tapas with flavourful offering. Comfortable patio seating. Attentive service. Excellent value.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with excellent cuisine, customer service and atmosphere!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Always one of our favourites. It is unique both in cuisine and ambiance. The service is fantastic and we will certainly be back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on July 5, 2017

A real gem in Canmore. Very knowledgeable staff, nice by-the-glass wine list, at food. The choices and portions were just right to my liking. Next time I visit the area I will dine at Tapas.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Second time to Tapas. Food was great . Service was good. Only problem it it was a very hot day and no
Air conditioning inside . Found it too hot and uncomfortable . We would have stayed and drank more wine and had desert but couldn't take the heat any longer.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We enjoyed eating on the patio, and appreciated our knowledgeable server, who was well acquainted with the wines and the food. We were disappointed that they were out of a couple of locally-sourced menu items, but that was understandable at the end f a busy long weekend. What we did have was very good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The food was very authentic. We came for the Jamon croquettas which tasted really good though we are used to a finer bread crumb so it all melts in your mouth. The chorizo dishes, cheeses, etc were good. Sangria was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 2, 2017

First time at Tapas and the experience was amazing. I'm a vegetarian and my husband is a chef. We loved everything we ordered. The portions were great size for sharing. The staff was attentive and had lots of knowledge about the food and drink menu. Can't wait to be back.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We celebrated our 10th Wedding Anniversary and it was a great night. The food was wonderful, great service and delicious wine.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was amazing, great to share. Small servings - so don't expect to leave stuffed. Atmosphere was great outside, aswell as service. Price was a little high for quantity, but to be expected for the #1 rating. Based off the "type" (sharing plates) I would recommend for intimate groups / coupes. Not kids based of menu selection.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Everything was great - great vegetarian options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.