About Tapas 24 Montreal

420 Notre-Dame Ouest
Local 4
Montreal, QC H2Y 1V3
View Larger Map

From Barcelona to Montreal
Located in the heart of Old Montreal, this new international location of Tapas 24 is a tribute to Barcelona’s cuisine. Both classic and modern, the menu designed and executed by chef Carles Abellan will offer several tapas, homemade dishes and classics from the reputed Spanish restaurant. The space will be vibrant with high energy, celebrating both the modern tapas bar and the contemporary cities that are Montreal and Barcelona.



A wine list by François Chartier
The wine list will be created by Quebec’s world renowned François Chartier "Créateur d’harmonies", named Best Sommelier in the World (Grand Prix Sopexa 1994 Paris) and former consultant in recipe creation for chef Ferran Adrià of the legendary elBulli restaurant. For this varied and festive list that will offer a multitude of Catalan and Spanish wines at affordable prices, by the glass or bottle, Chartier was inspired by the Catalan cuisine of Carles Abellan and Tapas 24.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday from 11:30am - 11pm
Saturday from 5:00pm - 11pm
Sunday closed

Cross Street:
McGill

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 849-4424

Website:
http://www.tapas24.ca/

Parking Details:
Several parking spots are available on the street or on parking lots within proximity of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stops nearby and the nearest metro is Square Victoria on the orange line.

Executive Chef:
Carles Abellan

Private Party Facilities:
Tapas 24 can seat up to 100 guests for a meal or accommodate up to 150 guests for a cocktail.


For further information on holding your event at our establishment, please contact us at:


Telephone : 514-849-4424


E-mail: info@tapas24.ca

Private Party Contact:
Ann-Sophie Perigny Michel: 5148494424x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Tapas 24 Montreal Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Old Montreal ›

fit for foodies (76)
good for groups (69)
hot spot (45)
See All
special occasion (42)
notable wine list (26)
vibrant bar scene (23)
late-night find (18)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for lunch (14)
romantic (13)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Food is way over priced for the amount y ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food is way over priced for the amount you get. I would never go back.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food, waiters try to push their sug ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Good food, waiters try to push their suggestions a lot. Tables WAY TO close for my taste ... Nice attempts to blend tapas with quebec products. Food temperature was not good but the main floor was full ( so that's the reason given)

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb and innovative tapas - the desert ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Superb and innovative tapas - the deserts outstanding and a surprise for a Tapas bar

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Just like Barcelona's.,, with a touch of ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Just like Barcelona's.,, with a touch of Quebec

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Nice terrace, great food.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Love the outdoor space and the vibrant colors. Food is very tasty and varied, if a little to salty. But you can say the same for most Spanish restaurants. For the price they charge the service could be a little more professional. Still one of my favorite spots for a late Friday lunch.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Trendy, snobbish greeting but great service/food

Dined on May 5, 2016

I find the ambiance to be a little snobbish - mostly due to the greeting/hostess. Our server was great and made things way better after that bitter start. The food was excellent. The bill added up to what I was expecting from a place like this. I would recommend and would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was good, service was terrible. No ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was good, service was terrible. No wines were available that we selected and were constantly being pushed to purchase expensive wine out of our budget.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant ! The real deal f ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Excellent restaurant ! The real deal for Spanish tapas - pick 4 to 6 for two people and be delighted. We sampled quite a few and did. It have one tapas that we did not like. Service is very good and friendly and the ambience is memorable - very nice place. They have 2 kinds of sangria - we ordered the white and it was very good. It is pricey by the glass ! Worth the visit if in Montreal!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere!

Dined on April 25, 2016

I booked this restaurant on behalf of a colleague, for a business dinner with clients. A good time was had by all - they enjoyed the food and the atmosphere, and all agreed that it was a good choice indeed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent and the atmospher ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was excellent and the atmosphere was fun. The noise level took away some of the enjoyment of the evening.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Transport yourself to Barcelona

Dined on April 15, 2016

Tapas 24 was a gem. We let our waiter choose our tasting menu, and the food did not disappoint. Highlights include a tray of wild mushrooms, perfectly sauteed shrimp, and a fois gras burger that positively melted in your mouth. Every dish we tried was beautifully presented and uniquely flavorful. What a great find. I would highly recommend, and will definitely be returning on my next trip to Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at Tapas24 after recommendati ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

First time at Tapas24 after recommendation from friends. Food, fantastic! Service, excellent! Ambience was really vibrant and a lot of fun! We loved it and would return! Just be sure to pick & choose your tapas and drinks carefully, as things can add up pretty quick. EVERYTHING on the menu is so tempting that you want to order it all!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on April 9, 2016

It's been a while since I've gone to a restaurant and been blown away. The food was truly excellent, and the service was great. Good ambiance and the resto is very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great find!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Great tapas restaurant we visited while in Montreal for the weekend. It's pretty trendy between the crowd and the music playing in the background. The food was good, not spectacular but solid tapas - drinks were good. I would come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Average night

Dined on April 3, 2016

If you are hoping for really good tapas or the feeling of Spain, you will be disappointed. If you want to be at a busy place, have some food and drink with friends, it's fine. Very casual, don't go for the food.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointing

Dined on March 31, 2016

2-3 of 6 tapas were interesting. The rest not particularly tasty or innovative.

food1
ambience2
service2

Very noisy, food lacked flavor and seaso ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Very noisy, food lacked flavor and seasoning. Really had high hopes and was disappointed. Tried 7 tapas and not one was a "wow" nor memorable. We will not be choosing to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!

Dined on March 19, 2016

I visited this restaurant in Barcelona and only recently found out they have a sister location in Montreal. Though they have their own ambiance and decor both restaurants were amazing. The food was outstanding and creative. I had the tasting menu and loved every dish. I highly recommend going to this restaurant for a fun night out with friends/family to enjoy great food, great wine and great company.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2

Was hoping for better but service was re ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Was hoping for better but service was really slow. Food was just ok.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing dinner at Tapas24

Dined on March 12, 2016

We went there as my friend recommended it and i was so happily surprised! The food is amazing and the staff is so friendly. Will definitely go back again and again even if their wine list is not the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for groups big and small

Dined on March 6, 2016

My first time at Tapas 24, I was part of a larger group - so sharing a bunch of tapas made sense (and the food was really amazing). I knew my wife would love it, but wasn't sure if a tapas style menu would work for two people. After our experience last weekend, I can assure you this is not a problem at all! The plates vary in size, but everything we ordered was delicious and well prepared (the Baccalau with maple syrup and lemon zest is a must-get) the staff was friendly, efficient and attentive, the decor is really cool and if you can snag a seat at the bar it's fun looking into the open kitchen . Whether you're a larger group or just out on a date, I highly recommend Tapas 24.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

good first experience

Dined on February 26, 2016

This was our first time in this restaurant. We had dinner before a concert and everything went well. It can be a challenge to order when you go there for the first time since tapas are so different than an ordinary dinner out. Our server was very helpful and after asking what we liked and did not like and if we had allergies composed a degustation menu for us which we appreciated very much. The mushroom tpas with milk and chestnut sauce was excellent and it will definitely be on our list next time we go there. Same for the chicken beignets and fish ceviche. The chocolate beignets are really very very special. We will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food- nice variety of tapas for a ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Great food- nice variety of tapas for a good price!

food5
ambience4
service4

My husband and I went for Valentine's Da ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I went for Valentine's Day. The food was excellent, very solid tapas offerings. We had the chorizo, Andalusian sausage, papas rellenas (they did not call it this name on the menu, but it was the potato ball stuffed with meat), and paella. We had the chocolate donuts for desert. The restaurant is bright and lively, great place for groups.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good ambiance, nice service food could be better

Dined on February 15, 2016

We were there on bitterly cold valentines sunday dinner. we were promptly seated and our waiter was good in explaining the dishes. it was good balanced menu, enough good choices for vegetarian and omnivore. We ordered quite a few things across the board, in general the food was good, but didn't have a wow factor. Maybe it was the cold outside damped my pallet or the cooks had an off day. Of all the tapas places i've been to so far i will rank Taps24 in the middle of the pack. Regardless it was okay enough to for us to give them another try during our next trip to Montreal.

food4
ambience3
service4

Visiting from nyc I had high expectation ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Visiting from nyc I had high expectations because I dines at tapas 24 in Barcelona and absolutely loved it. I made a reservation 2 weeks in advance for Valentine's weekend. We get there and the host seats up right next to the door and the black door curtain on a -20 degree night. I asked for another table and the host didn't seem like she wanted to try to move us, then we asked the server. They told of 30 to 60 mins, so we moved to the bar. Shortly after we see many 2 tops being seated. Needless to say this was really annoying. A shame because the food was good, not like in Barcelona but very good. Unfortunately I wouldn't go back because the whole way the situation was handled

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had the tasting menu for Valentine's Day... it was superb. The food was delicious, the plating was beautiful, the timing between courses was well planned, the cocktails were spot on. The staff could not be more attentive to us and we're never intrusive. I wil plan on dining there again next time I'm in Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious tapas

Dined on February 12, 2016

Creative, delicious tapas with a unique and artistic presentation. The beef tartare was excellent. Great wine list and good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive but great restaurant.

Dined on February 12, 2016

Everyone is very attentive, smiling and efficient. The food is great. "Somelier" can help you to choose a good wine. i like the atmosphere, it reminds me of my trip to in Barcelona. Always a pleasure to go there.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

overpriced

Dined on February 7, 2016

The food was very tasty but definitely overpriced. The service was OK- the waitors were very nice but it took about 20 minutes after we sat down just to get a glass of water and longer to give in our order. Probably wouldn't go back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tapas24 Was a Hit with Us

Dined on February 6, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Tapas24. The service was very efficient, friendly and helpful. The food and vino provided good value and wonderful tastes on a winter's eve. The tasting menu made it all the easier for us, as we had limited knowledge of Spanish cuisine.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food very good and raisonable price, dri ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

Food very good and raisonable price, drink a bit expensive.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and atmosphere but service can improve

Dined on January 31, 2016

We were a group of four girls from across Canada. We love exploring new restaurants and would definitely consider ourselves foodies. The restaurant had a great vibe and the noise level was reasonable for us to maintain a conversation. The food overall was outstanding which we all enjoyed for the most part. Two of the girls did the menu tasting option which the chef chose the dishes to be brought out. If you want value, I would definitely recommend this option as it was $45-60 depending on what was brought out. Only downside to this was the last dish (fries with some sort of topping) brought out was underwhelming compared to the second to last dish (wonderfully prepared meat dish with liquid mashed potatoes). For myself, I didn't get as many dishes as the menu tasting but the bill was about the same. The food was good overall - personally wasn't a fan of the eggplant (too sweet). The server knew I was vegetarian but failed to warn me that I ordered a dish with sausage (butifarra). Partially my fault for misreading and not being more diligent. After taking a bite and informing the server - no alternative was provided nor apology. In fact when I asked where to find she pointed to the section where the butifarra was listed. When I pointed out it wasn't vegetarian she said - oh right, except that one. Service overall was delivered but nothing that made you feel like the service was attentive or personalized. All other allergies from the group were accommodated for. Just that mishap was disappointing from an otherwise great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Felt like Barcelona

Dined on January 31, 2016

Date night at Tapas 24 was amazing! We decided to take the tasting menu at $50 per person and had the chef bring us 6 plates. We also had the waitress help us with a red wine choice. The tapas were amazing!! Our favourite was the cod croquettes served with maple syrup, so delicious that we ordered a second plate. Service was great, ambiance nice. Overall, a great dining experience at Tapas 24.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The guacamole was great!

Dined on January 31, 2016

We asked for a table away from traffic, and were seated upstairs, which was quieter than downstairs. We were along the railing so got a birdseye view of the goings on below us. Upstairs filled up as the evening progressed. We had one server which then changed to someone else. Not sure if that is normal or not. But she was lovely. The sommelier came right over to answer some wine questions. The food was very good, but I was hoping for a bit more originality, a la Tapeo.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible. Get the chefs sampler if you ...

Dined on January 28, 2016

Incredible. Get the chefs sampler if you are very hungry. Great food, ambience, service and value.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great fun. Great Food.

Dined on January 23, 2016

We got the chef's tasting menu. It was like being seduced through our tastebuds. So much fun. Delightful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, wonderful service

Dined on January 19, 2016

We stopped in for dinner on our first night visiting Montreal. Myself and two friends, and from the moment we sat down our experience was great. The food menu was unique and diverse; being a Tapas restaurant we all ordered a few different things to share, and everything was delicious - including a spicy steak tartare that was possibly the best I've ever had. The wine list was well laid out also - we bought one bottle, then our server recommended another bottle, and her suggestion was on point. Overall the food, wine, service and feel of the restaurant was welcoming, cool and professional, and this is a place I would certainly visit again when I return to Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food/Service. Very Loud

Dined on January 17, 2016

We had a great time at Tapas. Choose the chef's choice tasting menu and get the wide variety of delicious and robust options. The menu is overwhelming, so asking the chef to surprise is a great way to explore. Service was excellent with fluid transition to english explanations when requested. Sous Vide beef cheeks were amazing, as was the foie gras emulsion. It was difficult for our party to hear each other, so it was not a great place to have a conversation, but the energy was high so we rolled with it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food in general, but some dishes ar ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Good food in general, but some dishes are on the salty side. Service was actually pretty good considering what has been mentioned in previous posts. It's not a bad place to try.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.