About Tapas 24 Montreal

420 Notre-Dame Ouest
Local 4
Montreal, QC H2Y 1V3
View Larger Map

From Barcelona to Montreal
Located in the heart of Old Montreal, this new international location of Tapas 24 is a tribute to Barcelona’s cuisine. Both classic and modern, the menu designed and executed by chef Carles Abellan will offer several tapas, homemade dishes and classics from the reputed Spanish restaurant. The space will be vibrant with high energy, celebrating both the modern tapas bar and the contemporary cities that are Montreal and Barcelona.



A wine list by François Chartier
The wine list will be created by Quebec’s world renowned François Chartier "Créateur d’harmonies", named Best Sommelier in the World (Grand Prix Sopexa 1994 Paris) and former consultant in recipe creation for chef Ferran Adrià of the legendary elBulli restaurant. For this varied and festive list that will offer a multitude of Catalan and Spanish wines at affordable prices, by the glass or bottle, Chartier was inspired by the Catalan cuisine of Carles Abellan and Tapas 24.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday from 11:30am - 11pm
Saturday from 5:00pm - 11pm
Sunday closed

Cross Street:
McGill

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 849-4424

Website:
http://www.tapas24.ca/

Parking Details:
Several parking spots are available on the street or on parking lots within proximity of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stops nearby and the nearest metro is Square Victoria on the orange line.

Executive Chef:
Carles Abellan

Private Party Facilities:
Tapas 24 can seat up to 100 guests for a meal or accommodate up to 150 guests for a cocktail.


For further information on holding your event at our establishment, please contact us at:


Telephone : 514-849-4424


E-mail: info@tapas24.ca

Private Party Contact:
Ann-Sophie Perigny Michel: 5148494424x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Tapas 24 Montreal Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (74)
good for groups (63)
special occasion (45)
See All
hot spot (43)
vibrant bar scene (28)
notable wine list (24)
late-night find (22)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for outdoor dining (14)
great for lunch (12)
romantic (12)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Went to Old Montreal looking for a new s ...

Dined 6 days ago

Went to Old Montreal looking for a new spot as a group of four, thought the small plates would allow us to try lots of things. The quality of the food is very good, the small plates are very very small. been to other tapas/small plate restaurants and they were notably larger. The waitress stressed how small the plates were and pushed us to simply double/triple the plates. Tapas 24 was moderately busy and there was a lot of staff working however getting service was challenging as well. Food tastes great but value is low IMO. Instead of remembering how good the food was, we remember we all left hungry and ended up having another meal elsewhere.

food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious and exciting discovery of amaz ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Delicious and exciting discovery of amazing, beautiful plates! Delightful experience!

food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Poor service Need to improve on time ser ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Poor service Need to improve on time service Critics on the net are in the same direction It took almost 15min to have a server that came to our table and say 'Hi'...

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot with a good vibe. We were on ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great spot with a good vibe. We were on a bachelor party with 11 guys and the server handled us like a real pro. Great food and cocktails all around. Definitely would go back, even under much tamer circumstances.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like usual, everything was delicious! D ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Like usual, everything was delicious! Definitely will go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Francis did an amazing job of taking car ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Francis did an amazing job of taking care of us. He suggested we just let him be in charge and great wine and food followed. All was beyond amazing in a very "swanky" vibe. Exceptional service and great food. Enjoy !

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A touch of Barcelona

Dined on June 5, 2016

Same food as Tapas 24 in Barcelona but in a much larger and noisier setting. We lose the intimate feel of the Barcelona restaurant. Difficult to carry a discussion. Will return for the food but will try the terrace next time.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit and we were no ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

This was our second visit and we were not disappointed. Our server knew the menu and the wine list and did not let us down.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tapas a l'aveugle

Dined on June 4, 2016

We ordered the degustation menu .it was a nice surprise, all the tapas were very good. It ranged from fish to pork and mushrooms. Everything was nicely presented and soo tasteful. We matched the tapas with beer from barcelona and the one from the el bulli chef was perfect. We had a table outside and enjoyed our evening. The liquid molecular olive was fun. The degustation menu is decided by the chef and each dish is a surprise. Our waiter asked first if we had any dislikes or allergies . Our server was attentive and she knew what she was talking about. NICE

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gotta gooo from Chuckeroo

Dined on June 4, 2016

Went for early dinner with (adult) kids & granddaughter. Say outside. Delightful. Waitress very helpful & patient helping us select dishes. ALL selections were anywhere from great to outstanding. Truly memorable. All enjoyed it very much.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

love the place

Dined on May 31, 2016

awesome food to share, great design, a bit loud but fun place

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Overpriced and Underseasoned

Dined on May 27, 2016

The title sums it up. The quality-price ratio is dissappointing. Dishes are not cheap, but the problem is that they are not very good (they are ok); thus not worth it. If one is looking to reexperience the flavours of Barcelona, as we were, they will be very dissapointed. It is very difficult to imagine that the menu was conceived by one of the top Catalan chefs.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was excellent: the food, the ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Everything was excellent: the food, the service, the place was great; except for the lack of air: it was a warm night and we sweltered in the heat. It's important for the staff to be aware of these things and make adjustments.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Exceptional environment in the old montr ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Exceptional environment in the old montreal, great food that brings you to Barcelona in an instant. Delicate attention, great staff well trained with a customized and personalized approach. A bit pricey but it is worthwhile

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Food is way over priced for the amount y ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food is way over priced for the amount you get. I would never go back.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food, waiters try to push their sug ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Good food, waiters try to push their suggestions a lot. Tables WAY TO close for my taste ... Nice attempts to blend tapas with quebec products. Food temperature was not good but the main floor was full ( so that's the reason given)

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb and innovative tapas - the desert ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Superb and innovative tapas - the deserts outstanding and a surprise for a Tapas bar

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Just like Barcelona's.,, with a touch of ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Just like Barcelona's.,, with a touch of Quebec

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Nice terrace, great food.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Love the outdoor space and the vibrant colors. Food is very tasty and varied, if a little to salty. But you can say the same for most Spanish restaurants. For the price they charge the service could be a little more professional. Still one of my favorite spots for a late Friday lunch.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Trendy, snobbish greeting but great service/food

Dined on May 5, 2016

I find the ambiance to be a little snobbish - mostly due to the greeting/hostess. Our server was great and made things way better after that bitter start. The food was excellent. The bill added up to what I was expecting from a place like this. I would recommend and would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was good, service was terrible. No ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was good, service was terrible. No wines were available that we selected and were constantly being pushed to purchase expensive wine out of our budget.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant ! The real deal f ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Excellent restaurant ! The real deal for Spanish tapas - pick 4 to 6 for two people and be delighted. We sampled quite a few and did. It have one tapas that we did not like. Service is very good and friendly and the ambience is memorable - very nice place. They have 2 kinds of sangria - we ordered the white and it was very good. It is pricey by the glass ! Worth the visit if in Montreal!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere!

Dined on April 25, 2016

I booked this restaurant on behalf of a colleague, for a business dinner with clients. A good time was had by all - they enjoyed the food and the atmosphere, and all agreed that it was a good choice indeed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent and the atmospher ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was excellent and the atmosphere was fun. The noise level took away some of the enjoyment of the evening.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Transport yourself to Barcelona

Dined on April 15, 2016

Tapas 24 was a gem. We let our waiter choose our tasting menu, and the food did not disappoint. Highlights include a tray of wild mushrooms, perfectly sauteed shrimp, and a fois gras burger that positively melted in your mouth. Every dish we tried was beautifully presented and uniquely flavorful. What a great find. I would highly recommend, and will definitely be returning on my next trip to Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at Tapas24 after recommendati ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

First time at Tapas24 after recommendation from friends. Food, fantastic! Service, excellent! Ambience was really vibrant and a lot of fun! We loved it and would return! Just be sure to pick & choose your tapas and drinks carefully, as things can add up pretty quick. EVERYTHING on the menu is so tempting that you want to order it all!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on April 9, 2016

It's been a while since I've gone to a restaurant and been blown away. The food was truly excellent, and the service was great. Good ambiance and the resto is very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great find!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Great tapas restaurant we visited while in Montreal for the weekend. It's pretty trendy between the crowd and the music playing in the background. The food was good, not spectacular but solid tapas - drinks were good. I would come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Average night

Dined on April 3, 2016

If you are hoping for really good tapas or the feeling of Spain, you will be disappointed. If you want to be at a busy place, have some food and drink with friends, it's fine. Very casual, don't go for the food.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointing

Dined on March 31, 2016

2-3 of 6 tapas were interesting. The rest not particularly tasty or innovative.

food1
ambience2
service2

Very noisy, food lacked flavor and seaso ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Very noisy, food lacked flavor and seasoning. Really had high hopes and was disappointed. Tried 7 tapas and not one was a "wow" nor memorable. We will not be choosing to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!

Dined on March 19, 2016

I visited this restaurant in Barcelona and only recently found out they have a sister location in Montreal. Though they have their own ambiance and decor both restaurants were amazing. The food was outstanding and creative. I had the tasting menu and loved every dish. I highly recommend going to this restaurant for a fun night out with friends/family to enjoy great food, great wine and great company.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2

Was hoping for better but service was re ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Was hoping for better but service was really slow. Food was just ok.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing dinner at Tapas24

Dined on March 12, 2016

We went there as my friend recommended it and i was so happily surprised! The food is amazing and the staff is so friendly. Will definitely go back again and again even if their wine list is not the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for groups big and small

Dined on March 6, 2016

My first time at Tapas 24, I was part of a larger group - so sharing a bunch of tapas made sense (and the food was really amazing). I knew my wife would love it, but wasn't sure if a tapas style menu would work for two people. After our experience last weekend, I can assure you this is not a problem at all! The plates vary in size, but everything we ordered was delicious and well prepared (the Baccalau with maple syrup and lemon zest is a must-get) the staff was friendly, efficient and attentive, the decor is really cool and if you can snag a seat at the bar it's fun looking into the open kitchen . Whether you're a larger group or just out on a date, I highly recommend Tapas 24.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

good first experience

Dined on February 26, 2016

This was our first time in this restaurant. We had dinner before a concert and everything went well. It can be a challenge to order when you go there for the first time since tapas are so different than an ordinary dinner out. Our server was very helpful and after asking what we liked and did not like and if we had allergies composed a degustation menu for us which we appreciated very much. The mushroom tpas with milk and chestnut sauce was excellent and it will definitely be on our list next time we go there. Same for the chicken beignets and fish ceviche. The chocolate beignets are really very very special. We will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food- nice variety of tapas for a ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Great food- nice variety of tapas for a good price!

food5
ambience4
service4

My husband and I went for Valentine's Da ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I went for Valentine's Day. The food was excellent, very solid tapas offerings. We had the chorizo, Andalusian sausage, papas rellenas (they did not call it this name on the menu, but it was the potato ball stuffed with meat), and paella. We had the chocolate donuts for desert. The restaurant is bright and lively, great place for groups.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good ambiance, nice service food could be better

Dined on February 15, 2016

We were there on bitterly cold valentines sunday dinner. we were promptly seated and our waiter was good in explaining the dishes. it was good balanced menu, enough good choices for vegetarian and omnivore. We ordered quite a few things across the board, in general the food was good, but didn't have a wow factor. Maybe it was the cold outside damped my pallet or the cooks had an off day. Of all the tapas places i've been to so far i will rank Taps24 in the middle of the pack. Regardless it was okay enough to for us to give them another try during our next trip to Montreal.

food4
ambience3
service4

Visiting from nyc I had high expectation ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Visiting from nyc I had high expectations because I dines at tapas 24 in Barcelona and absolutely loved it. I made a reservation 2 weeks in advance for Valentine's weekend. We get there and the host seats up right next to the door and the black door curtain on a -20 degree night. I asked for another table and the host didn't seem like she wanted to try to move us, then we asked the server. They told of 30 to 60 mins, so we moved to the bar. Shortly after we see many 2 tops being seated. Needless to say this was really annoying. A shame because the food was good, not like in Barcelona but very good. Unfortunately I wouldn't go back because the whole way the situation was handled

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.