About Tapas 24 Montreal

420 Notre-Dame Ouest
Local 4
Montreal, QC H2Y 1V3
View Larger Map

From Barcelona to Montreal
Located in the heart of Old Montreal, this new international location of Tapas 24 is a tribute to Barcelona’s cuisine. Both classic and modern, the menu designed and executed by chef Carles Abellan will offer several tapas, homemade dishes and classics from the reputed Spanish restaurant. The space will be vibrant with high energy, celebrating both the modern tapas bar and the contemporary cities that are Montreal and Barcelona.



A wine list by François Chartier
The wine list will be created by Quebec’s world renowned François Chartier "Créateur d’harmonies", named Best Sommelier in the World (Grand Prix Sopexa 1994 Paris) and former consultant in recipe creation for chef Ferran Adrià of the legendary elBulli restaurant. For this varied and festive list that will offer a multitude of Catalan and Spanish wines at affordable prices, by the glass or bottle, Chartier was inspired by the Catalan cuisine of Carles Abellan and Tapas 24.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday from 11:30am - 11pm
Saturday from 5:00pm - 11pm
Sunday closed

Cross Street:
McGill

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 849-4424

Website:
http://www.tapas24.ca/

Parking Details:
Several parking spots are available on the street or on parking lots within proximity of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stops nearby and the nearest metro is Square Victoria on the orange line.

Executive Chef:
Carles Abellan

Private Party Facilities:
Tapas 24 can seat up to 100 guests for a meal or accommodate up to 150 guests for a cocktail.


For further information on holding your event at our establishment, please contact us at:


Telephone : 514-849-4424


E-mail: info@tapas24.ca

Private Party Contact:
Ann-Sophie Perigny Michel: 5148494424x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Tapas 24 Montreal Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (37)
Special Occasion (35)
Good for Groups (35)
See All
Hot Spot (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Notable Wine List (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Romantic (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Tapas (8)
Good for a Date (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Cozy (1)
Family Style (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
229 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful ! We went with the chef choice ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Wonderful ! We went with the chef choice's and it was like a journey to Barcelona ... everything was simply presented but immensly tasty, flavorful ... We were 7 in our party and we all loved it !

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service was friendly but ver ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food, service was friendly but very inattentive. Took 20 minutes to get a refill of sangria, for example.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Expensive and the menu was not very clea ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Expensive and the menu was not very clear in my opinion.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Food was great however all of the tapas ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food was great however all of the tapas food (hot and cold) was brought out at the same time. When we complained the waiter told us this wouldn't have happened on a Saturday because the kitchen is usually more busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

The waiter was so bad, so snob and conde ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The waiter was so bad, so snob and condescendant, that we decided not to eat there. We left the restaurant after ordering a glass of wine. Even the Manager was not so understanding. I would not recommand to ever go to that restaurant. Even the first person who seved us water was as cold as ice. Not a tipycal Spanish tapas restaurant at all. I have been in Spain, and never got such a bad service. We then went to Accords, and it was excellent and the service was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Second time there. Ambiance and service ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Second time there. Ambiance and service is good but food was not good. Last time we went food was great maybe we were just unlucky. We were disappointed with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Terrible service and staff are rude and ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Terrible service and staff are rude and make you feel like your bothering them when asking questions about the plates ... but great food and ambiance

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Really good brunch, the restaurant was r ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Really good brunch, the restaurant was really quiet but, it was raining that day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The food was too salty and too expensive ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was too salty and too expensive for the food served. The music was too loud and the lighting was too dark. Not really worth to go.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Great food but slow service.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great food but slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Quite disappointing. Outdoor table was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Quite disappointing. Outdoor table was wobbly. Only had 2 beers on there menu and they were out of the $8 pint one; waitress said I needed to order the $21 750ml. (This was rectified by host or manager, not sure). Ordered paella to share with my wife. Paella should take at least 30 minutes to cook, ours was served in 15 minutes. Tasted okay but unsure how they cooked it so fast. Wouldn't recommend. There are better restaurants nearby or in Old Montreal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Damian and his team rock !

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Damian and his team rock !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to this restaurant twice in ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I have been to this restaurant twice in the last two months. Once for business and once for personal. Both times have been a great experience from the food and wine list to the ambiance and service. I have dined both inside and outside and will definitely be back. Absolutely recommend as a place to try in Montreal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant...the food is delic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent restaurant...the food is delicious, well prepared with appealing presentation. Love the ambience...our server, Francis, couldn't have been more helpful and delightful...he definitely contributed to our overall wonderful experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service extremely slow. Spoke in English ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Service extremely slow. Spoke in English, they answered in french. Young guy served the food from the kitchen very nice - but French (france). Described the order (how it was made, ingredients...) in french - my guest couldn't understand.

Ordered a sangria (pitcher) was awful (45$). Actually was the worst sangria we've ever had.

There for happy hour. Music was at a decibel more suited for 8-midnight.

Not worth the price - so many better options in Mtl.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Walked down from our hotel in Place D'Ar ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Walked down from our hotel in Place D'Arms to this great tapas restaurant, since it was late and we wanted a light dinner. Did not disappoint us at all. We had a couple of drinks and ordered some tapas. Starts wit bunuelos de bacalao which is a typical dish from Barcelona, Spain, followed by flounder fish ceviche. Both outstanding. The special recommended by Carle the chef is named Bikini - a toasted sandwich, very small in size, with buffalo mozzarella and Spanish iberico ham. Very good. Still hungry we ordered a dish made with eggs and chorizo accompanied by french fries. Excellent dish to end the evening. If you are into this type of food, this restaurant has to be one of the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a delightful tapas restaurant w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was a delightful tapas restaurant with with a very good variety of small plates, beautifully prepared and presented. Great flavors and excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food , great service ... The chall ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food , great service ... The challenge they have is that, during the summer, they hire temps as servers and sometimes it doesn't work that well ... Just have patience, the food is worth the wait ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was very good, but we were there ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Service was very good, but we were there very early, so not much of a crowd. The Gambas Al Ajillo were some of the best shrimp we have had in years. The Cod Croqueta was good, but not outstanding. Overall, a very nice tapas restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place, we liked everything, the fo ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place, we liked everything, the food was incredible good, great music and quality of sound, never too loud, nice crowd and excellent service from our waitress.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food but the music was too hig ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food but the music was too high. Couldn't hear my friends talking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I couldn't have been more disappointed i ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I couldn't have been more disappointed in this restaurant. Starting with the Mojito that was almost all ice and soda with little, if any, rum, to the mail-it-in menu. We asked the waiters for advice and they recommended items that were so well worn the menu had ink marks beside them. Clearly they don't put much effort into their selections. Our main dish consisted of noodles that were burned to the pan to the point where we had to scrape them off. The mussels might have been steamed that day, but certainly not fresh for the dinner service. We sent that dish back and it was replaced almost immediately so they must have them stacked up in the kitchen. Tapas 24 is like a tourist trap resto where they know you're not coming back and don't care if you do. Avoid it at all costs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Tapas 24 offers genuine Spanish tapas at ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Tapas 24 offers genuine Spanish tapas at reasonable prices. We tried staples of Spanish/Catalan cuisine that we had enjoyed in Spain --croquetas, fiduea, polpo-- and found them of comparable quality. The menu is quite expansive. Prices are reasonable for the quality presented. This place is a hot spot in the heart of the downtown Montreal hotel district. Assume it will be noisy inside, even without a large party underway on the second floor. Outside dining is available in the summer when we visited.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been here 3 times now, and every ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I have been here 3 times now, and every time the food has been fresh and interesting. It is one of those places that you can keep going back to try all the items on the menu.

Definitely a must try restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been twice to this restaurant. Food ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I've been twice to this restaurant. Food is always as delicious!

However, our server could have been more friendly and respectful of our food choice. We didn't want to try the 50$ course per person to try 6 plates, we just wanted to taste our individual tapas.

Will still recommend the place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Excellent service but lunch for two with ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent service but lunch for two with one bottle of wine ( at $67) cost a total of $250.00 with tip.

The food is great but that is an outrageous amount to spend on food for a business lunch at a tapas restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

A group of 3 dined July 1, 2016 the food ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A group of 3 dined July 1, 2016 the food was average at best, most of the tapas dishes we ordered lacked taste. The cocktails we ordered arrived half way through the meal and we had to ask several times for the check at the end of the meal. I would definitely not recommend this restaurant as the cost of the meal no way reflected the value received or our enjoyment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

The ambiance, food and service were all ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The ambiance, food and service were all excellent We especially loved the liquid olive and the tomato tartare - outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was difficult to get waiter`s attention ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Was difficult to get waiter`s attention 2 times (but perhaps was due to blasting music from speakers)

Order delivered was the wrong one 2 times, 1 dish was saltier than the dish is typically supposed (paella). Avocado "salad" not very aptly named.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Went to Old Montreal looking for a new s ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Went to Old Montreal looking for a new spot as a group of four, thought the small plates would allow us to try lots of things. The quality of the food is very good, the small plates are very very small. been to other tapas/small plate restaurants and they were notably larger. The waitress stressed how small the plates were and pushed us to simply double/triple the plates. Tapas 24 was moderately busy and there was a lot of staff working however getting service was challenging as well. Food tastes great but value is low IMO. Instead of remembering how good the food was, we remember we all left hungry and ended up having another meal elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Delicious and exciting discovery of amaz ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Delicious and exciting discovery of amazing, beautiful plates! Delightful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Poor service Need to improve on time ser ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Poor service

Need to improve on time service

Critics on the net are in the same direction

It took almost 15min to have a server that came to our table and say 'Hi'...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Great spot with a good vibe. We were on ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great spot with a good vibe. We were on a bachelor party with 11 guys and the server handled us like a real pro. Great food and cocktails all around. Definitely would go back, even under much tamer circumstances.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Like usual, everything was delicious! D ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Like usual, everything was delicious! Definitely will go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Francis did an amazing job of taking car ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Francis did an amazing job of taking care of us. He suggested we just let him be in charge and great wine and food followed. All was beyond amazing in a very "swanky" vibe. Exceptional service and great food. Enjoy !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A touch of Barcelona

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Same food as Tapas 24 in Barcelona but in a much larger and noisier setting. We lose the intimate feel of the Barcelona restaurant. Difficult to carry a discussion.

Will return for the food but will try the terrace next time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This was our second visit and we were no ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was our second visit and we were not disappointed. Our server knew the menu and the wine list and did not let us down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tapas a l'aveugle

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We ordered the degustation menu .it was a nice surprise, all the tapas were very good. It ranged from fish to pork and mushrooms. Everything was nicely presented and soo tasteful. We matched the tapas with beer from barcelona and the one from the el bulli chef was perfect. We had a table outside and enjoyed our evening. The liquid molecular olive was fun. The degustation menu is decided by the chef and each dish is a surprise. Our waiter asked first if we had any dislikes or allergies . Our server was attentive and she knew what she was talking about. NICE

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Gotta gooo from Chuckeroo

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Went for early dinner with (adult) kids & granddaughter.

Say outside.

Delightful.

Waitress very helpful & patient helping us select dishes.

ALL selections were anywhere from great to outstanding.

Truly memorable.

All enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

love the place

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

awesome food to share, great design, a bit loud but fun place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.