About Tao Uptown

42 East 58th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Sunday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Wednesday: 5:00pm- 12:00am, Thursday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 1:00am

Cross Street:
Park & Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 888-2288

Website:
http://www.taorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Enjoy TAO classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premise catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 10 people, to an off-premise event for thousands. TAO signature dishes, including our famous Chilean Sea Bass, Kung Pao Chicken, Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon, Coconut Shrimp, and our wide selection of Sushi, will be delivered right to your door. Use us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, family gathering, or Super Bowl party. Always a Happy Ending!

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
John Villa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all parties of 15 or more please inquire with our banquet department at 212-399-3097.

Restaurant Photos

Giant Fortune Cookie with white and dark chocolate mousse
Lychee Martini
Hangar Steak With Miso And Asian-Spiced Fries
Chocolate Zen Parfait
Soy Ginger Glazed Salmon
Crispy Vegetable Rolls With Duck Mustard Sauce
Satay Chicken with Peanut Sauce
Lemongrass Creme Brulee
Tao Shabu Shabu
Squab Lettuce Wraps
Steak
Dessert
Kung Pao Chicken
Steamed Edamame Beans With Sea Salt
Fried Brown Rice With Vegetables
Kung Pao Chicken W/ Jasmine Rice
Dragon Tail Spare Ribs
Peking Duck Spring Roll With Hoisin Sauce
Eggplant Tempura, Garlic Green Bean Tempura, Avocado Tempura
Grilled Red Snapper with Steamed Bok Choy and Ginger, Kaffir Lime Vinaigrette
TAO Filet Mignon Shabu Shabu, Ginger Scallion Broth with Wasabi Dipping Sauce
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass
Crispy Soft Shell Crab and Shiso Roll with Yuzu Mayonnaise
Crunchy Spicy Yellowtail Roll with Crushed Onion
Jumbo Shrimp Tempura With Garlic Chili Sauce
Peach Cosmopolitan, Stoli Peach, Pallini Peachello, Triple Sec, Cranberry and Fresh Lime
Shabu Shabu In Action
Lychee Martini, Belvedere, Triple Sec and Fresh Lychee Pureé
Spicy Eggplant
Wagyu Tartare Tempura
Peking Duck Spring Rolls with Hoisin Sauce
Crispy Orange Chicken
Vegetable Egg Rolls
Fried Rice
Springrolls
Pork Dumplings
edamame
Peking Duck
Beef Carpaccio
Vegtable Spring Rolls
Duck
Hanger Steak
Dumplings
Chicken satay
Lettuce wraps
New Year's Eve Table
Perrier-Jouët  
Salmon With Soy Ginger Glaze And Udon
Chicken Pad Thai
Scallops With Red Curry
Ho Fun Noodle Stuffed With Shrimp And Lobster
Hot and Sour Soup
Sushi
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass With Wok Vegetables
Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon
shrimp pad thai
Thai Lettuce Wraps
Kobe Beef Carpaccio
Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno
Grilled Serloin With Thai Style Sauce
Dim Sum
Diver Scallops
Peking Duck Spring Rolls
Salmon Tuna And Albacore Tataki
Chef's Roll
sushi plate
Chicken Gyoza
Roasted Thai Buddha Chicken
Pork Spring Rolls
Lobster Spring Roll
Sexy Lobster Sushi Roll
Spicy Tuna Tartare On Crispy Rice
Giant Fortune Cookie
Omakase Sushi-Sashimi Plate
Miso Chilean Sea Bass
Doughnuts
XO Shrimp With Spinach and Jasmine Rice
Banana Pudding
Sea Scallop
Salmon Tuna Tataki
Cappuccino
Petit Gateau
Donuts
American Kobe Beef
Lobster Wontons with Shiitake Ginger Broth
Shrimp tempura roll
Sliced Yellowtail In Ponzu Sauce
Fortune Cookie
Moo Shu Pork
Vegetable Lo Mein Salad
Talheres
Tempura, Sweet Onion Rings   Sweet Potato
Pan Fried Chicken Gyoza with Napa Cabbage and Soy Dipping Sauce
lobster kim chee fried rice and wasabi filet
Duck Fried Rice
Chinese Five Spice Braised Beef Short Rib
Crispy Shrimp Appetizer Special
Soft Shell Crab & Unagi Crispy Roll
Lobster & Kimchi Fried Rice
Satay Sushi

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

TAO NY has hosted all styles of private parties, including movie premieres, corporate affairs, holiday receptions, business meetings and social events. TAO has accommodations available for 16 to 1000 guests for everything from seated dinners to buffet receptions and cocktail parties.

Tao Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown East ›

Special Occasion (237)
Hot Spot (187)
Good for Groups (184)
See All
Fit for Foodies (139)
Vibrant Bar Scene (120)
Romantic (114)
Late-night Find (76)
Great for Lunch (75)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Scenic View (39)
Good for a Date (39)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Modern Decor (30)
Fun (29)
Creative Cuisine (29)
People Watching (24)
Business Meals (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Kid-friendly (18)
Spicy (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Casual (12)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Healthy (4)
Family Style (4)
Fireplace (3)
Private Room (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Live Music (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Historic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
8121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic food and a great atmosphere, h ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic food and a great atmosphere, however, they did not honor our reservation and we waited over an hour.... it was already after 11pm when we were finally called, or we would've gone somewhere else. The one in Chelsea has the same great food, but without the wait.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

It started out in a bad way. Our Table w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

It started out in a bad way. Our Table was not ready and the welcome desk was not in control.

But when we got the table the magic began. The waitress was really good, the food was really good and the atmosphere was super. If they fix the first impression at the welcome desk I would go for the best rate!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful ambiance, amazing food, simply ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful ambiance, amazing food, simply fantastic!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

My wife had been here before, but it was ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 3 days ago

My wife had been here before, but it was my first time, so I didn't know what to expect. We went there as a couple for her birthday. I can say I was pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent and it has a great vibe. Be aware that it is not a quiet dinner place - it has loud music and club atmosphere. The service was excellent - from the pre-dinner bartenders to the waitress that served us. I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our reservation was for 7 and they sat u ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our reservation was for 7 and they sat us at 8:15 - not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Had reservation for 7:15pm and we had to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Had reservation for 7:15pm and we had to wait for a table for over 45 mins. Not good. Was not a good first impression for the other 3 ladies as I had been there before. For and service inside was very good Fter we got in.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Excellent place, great food and atmosphe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent place, great food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

this restaurant has a great ambiance and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

this restaurant has a great ambiance and good food and a vegas vibe

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We waited an hour to be sited! I think ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

We waited an hour to be sited!

I think that a restaurant that gives that kind of treatment to their customers it feels like looking

down on them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Great good, great ambiance, beautiful de ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great good, great ambiance, beautiful decor, fun experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The absolute best Asian Fusion I have ev ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

The absolute best Asian Fusion I have ever tasted. Our meal was prepared perfectly. A must when in Midtown Manhattan!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Hot Spot, People Watching, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance. Service was imp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and ambiance. Service was impeccable. A bit pricy and loud but great for groups.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We come to NYC every year! Tao is a must ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

We come to NYC every year! Tao is a must for us!

Can be noisy, still a great visit!!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The hostess sat us at table that was a c ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The hostess sat us at table that was a community table and said no one would be coming for awhile-there was a couple there in 2 mins. We told the manager-he was so rude, not accommodating and was just rude by repeating that people were always gong to sit there and that's the restaurant. We decided to eat at the bar where atleast the bartender made up for the rude manager and out to lunch hostess

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Amazing dinner! The best!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing dinner! The best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tao is a must go to ! Food is excellent

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Tao is a must go to ! Food is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you never have, you should. These thi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

If you never have, you should. These things are fun, and fun is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing... always loved it here. The foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Amazing... always loved it here. The food wass amazing and as expected so were the drinks. I would definitely recommend TAO to anyone

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Restaurant was excellent . The only majo ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Restaurant was excellent . The only major issue I have is that despite booking for a specific time we were made to wait for an excessive period of time before being offered a table . To be a truly customer oriented restaurant as much as the patron turn up on time the restaurant must respect the booked time. If there is a slight delay this would be acceptable providing that the staff keep you constantly informed as opposed to having to constantly check out the position for yourself.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The place was amazing I would defanately ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The place was amazing I would defanately go back and I'm planning to take my daughter

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good was awful . Service was bad . The s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good was awful . Service was bad . The staff are overconfident and there is no humility !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Tao remains one of the premiere restaura ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Tao remains one of the premiere restaurants in Manhattan. It's her favorite place, so it pretty much makes it mine too, but I'm not complaining. The food is great, the staff certainly goes out of their way to help out and the atmosphere is spot on. We had reservations for 9:30 PM. Due to the bomb explosion earlier that day the traffic in Manhattan was brutal. We arrived 45 minutes late but they still seated our party within the hour. It was nearly 2:30 am before we left the restaurant. I love the downtown location too. Tao is amazing and I have her permission to say so....

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Fun, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Thank you to Tao for making my twin daug ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Thank you to Tao for making my twin daughter's 16th birthday special. Our server Jasmine was awesome and had great recommendations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We were definitely spoiled by getting a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were definitely spoiled by getting a table on the upper balcony that overlooked everything. The giant Buddha and patrons are great to just watch for a while.

Many of the appetizers / entrees seemed overpriced (this coming from a Chinatown dive-joint-connoisseur) but there were definitely enough options to keep most folks within a budget.

Would definitely go back knowing the price range and ambiance!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Don't take first date there, she'll stil ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Don't take first date there, she'll still pick someone else

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance and energy always feels gre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The ambiance and energy always feels great once youre past the resevations entrance and into the bar/lounge area. The DJ is an excellent touch as it's never too loud or playing depressive music. The food is amazing. It's the reason Tao is a favorite restaurant of mine. However, the hostess and reservations folks can be a bit edgy and short on patience. It's noticeable and slightly understood considering how busy it can be, but just a reminder that it's always a pleasure to interact with courtesy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Despite our booking and the fact that we ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Despite our booking and the fact that we were on time, we had to wait more than 30mins. The bar was crowded, no room at the bar, the service was more than average. No apologies or extra for the delay. The food was good, especially the south East Asian dishes. Cocktails and desserts are amazing. That's a shame they don't respect their clients

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Loud and noisy - its a scene if that's y ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Loud and noisy - its a scene if that's your thing. Table was not ready - not withstanding the reservation. And we waited 30 mins. I think this is common practice. It was very loud and very cold - air-conditioning was blowing right on us and it sure felt icy. Even though the food was yummy I struggled to hear our friends - defeats the purpose of dining with friend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

First time ever I would not recommend a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

First time ever I would not recommend a restaurant where I value the food at 5 stars. The noise was one reason but it felt like they tried to serve as many people as possible (only 10 cm between tables) in as short possible time. Great restaurant, great food but bad experience

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We took my daughter here for her 13th bi ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We took my daughter here for her 13th birthday. We ordered the edamame, satay chicken skewers and lettuce wraps for appetizers. Very good except the chicken skewers are quantity of 3 and hard to share on the skewers, but the peanut sauce with them was delicious. The lettuce wraps were perfect and a great thing to order for sharing. We had the crispy orange chicken, spicy lobster roll and coconut shrimp. All was very good except for the coconut shrimp. It says with peanut sauce, it's actually served over a cold salad with a side of sauce. I was not a fan of the cold salad underneath the hot shrimp. They did an exceptional job delivering the birthday desserts, the giant fortune cookie, icecream and molten chocolate cake. All very good.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food the waiter suggested was not ta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food the waiter suggested was not tasty at all unfortunately... the appitizers were perfect. Next time I will return to the other location downtown where they had a reddnapper that came fried and was delish!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Amazing service, best waitress i have ev ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Amazing service, best waitress i have ever had in Tao

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great experience at Tao for my roo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Had a great experience at Tao for my roommate's 25th birthday dinner! Great specialty cocktails, all of the food was delicious (especially the pork potstickers with sea same chili sauce and the Kung pao chicken)! Our server was also great- attentive and very personable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a bad choice for us since we were Me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Was a bad choice for us since we were

Meeting someone we wanted to be able to talk to during the meal and it was impossible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

A fun place to visit. Good food and fabu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

A fun place to visit. Good food and fabulous cocktails. Creative interior. Would recomend the place.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, People Watching, Modern Decor, Fun, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Creative menu, taste was nothing special ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Creative menu, taste was nothing special and frankly not worth the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was amazing... We Got the lunch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food was amazing... We Got the lunch deal, with 3 courses... Great value for money...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! The food and service w ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great experience! The food and service was amazing !

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot, sexy, exotic atmosphere, qui ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great spot, sexy, exotic atmosphere, quick efficient and very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were acting like total tourists and o ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We were acting like total tourists and only explored noodle dishes but they were amazing! Our server Vanessa was above and beyond wonderful and we were treated like royalty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.