About Tao Uptown

42 East 58th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Sunday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Wednesday: 5:00pm- 12:00am, Thursday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 1:00am

Cross Street:
Park & Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 888-2288

Website:
http://www.taorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Enjoy TAO classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premise catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 10 people, to an off-premise event for thousands. TAO signature dishes, including our famous Chilean Sea Bass, Kung Pao Chicken, Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon, Coconut Shrimp, and our wide selection of Sushi, will be delivered right to your door. Use us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, family gathering, or Super Bowl party. Always a Happy Ending!

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
John Villa

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all parties of 15 or more please inquire with our banquet department at 212-399-3097.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

TAO NY has hosted all styles of private parties, including movie premieres, corporate affairs, holiday receptions, business meetings and social events. TAO has accommodations available for 16 to 1000 guests for everything from seated dinners to buffet receptions and cocktail parties.

Tao Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

hot spot (362)
good for groups (342)
special occasion (338)
See All
fit for foodies (272)
vibrant bar scene (269)
late-night find (178)
romantic (175)
great for lunch (112)
scenic view (83)
neighborhood gem (70)
notable wine list (32)
great for brunch (32)
kid-friendly (30)
great for outdoor dining (23)
Sort By:
Newest
7807 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch was awesome. I highly recommend th ...

Dined 5 hours ago

Lunch was awesome. I highly recommend the chocolate souffle for dessert!!!

food4
ambience4
service5

Always a great lunch!

Dined 6 hours ago

Always a great lunch!

food4
ambience4
service4

We got our table 35 minutes after the re ...

Dined 3 days ago

We got our table 35 minutes after the reservation, but food and service was very good

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place and good food. Service was g ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great place and good food. Service was good Price normal for New York

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Loved the atmosphere. Great hospitality

Dined 5 days ago

Loved the atmosphere. Great hospitality

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, service and ambiance. Make ...

Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food, service and ambiance. Make sure you have a reservation to make your dining experience even better.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brilliant Restaurant!

Dined 6 days ago

This was my second visit to Tao Uptown, the first having been 10 years ago for my NYU graduation dinner. I was incredibly pleased that the experience at Tao Uptown was just as I remembered it! Starting with drinks in the lounge, before being seated, the vibrant atmosphere of the lounge was upbeat and incredibly fun and exciting. Perfect for setting the mood of the evening. I would love to come back JUST for drinks in the lounge! After being seated, the maître d' and waiters were all incredibly attentive, knowledgeable, and helpful. The wine list was amazing--although it would've been nice to have some options to purchase a glass of wine or even a carafe, as opposed to an entire bottle. Nevertheless, the wine we chose was delicious and went perfectly with our meals. Which leads me to the food--EXQUISITE. I could list every adjective possible to express how delectable our meals were. Perfect portion size, and incredibly delicious. As one that does not care for seafood, aside from sushi, I was even impressed with the scallops, coconut shrimp, and shrimp toast. My dish was the Kung Pao Chicken---hands down, the best Kung Pao dish I've had anywhere (and I'm a connoisseur of the dish). The size and texture of chicken morsels was perfect, the vegetables were superb, and the sauce was magnificent---pulling the dish together, like a bow to a brightly wrapped package. Tao Uptown is the place to be--perfect for special occasions, groups (large and small), or just a fun night out on the town! I look forward to dining with Tao again, and possibly even host an event in the future! Bravo!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious pan Asian good! Ama ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely delicious pan Asian good! Amazing drinks. Sushi is fresh and melts in your mouth.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good ambiance, but not so good service

Dined 7 days ago

We made a reservation four weeks in advance. It took them over an hour to sit us after the time of our reservation. We were celebrating a special occasion, so it was very frustrating to have to wait. The food was good. The restaurant was lively and the decor is very nice.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food

Dined 7 days ago

excellent food. Great for sharing and trying a little of everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1

I had a reservation for 6:45 and we were ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

I had a reservation for 6:45 and we weren't seated until 7:30. The hostess was incredibly rude, the food was fine, not good or great and it was very loud. Also, it was extremely overpriced, I definitely don't plan to go back.

food4
ambience4
service2
value2

We loved the food but everything else wa ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We loved the food but everything else was left to be desired for...our reservation was 7:45 and we didn't get seated until 8:30. The restaurant didn't comp anything or acknowledge anything. I felt that's not how a very trendy expensive restaurant should behave. The waiter brought the bill without us asking, which I also felt was presumptuous and frankly rude, especially when there were many empty tables around us. Lastly the waiter circled the disclaimer of how gratituity was not included, etc. I think that was really cheesy on the restaurant's part - if the restaurant feels so entitled why not just add on tips automatically? After all it seems the level of services is no longer a determinant to tips anymore? I think the service is very disappointing and that's the management's failing.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Ambience and great food!

Dined on May 16, 2016

The staff at Tao is tremendous. Low lighting and high ceilings with brick walls. Its a fun place to take visitors because it is unique and never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a reservation and were seated imm ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We had a reservation and were seated immediately. Service was fast. Drinks were luscious and the food was incredible. We enjoyed it and will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent time and food highly recommend

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent time and food highly recommend

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was outstanding. Short ribs were be ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was outstanding. Short ribs were best ever. Simple dishes like Pad Thai were amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Tao before but I haven't ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I have been to Tao before but I haven't been here in years. Reservations definitely help with the wait time. It is pricey but well worth it as everything was delicious. The staff was all great and it's a beautiful restaurant. This location is smaller than the downtown so it's a more intimate experience. Great for a date night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE LOVE this place!!! Great music amaz ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

LOVE LOVE this place!!! Great music amazing drinks and the service is great!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Chilean sea bass was great but did not e ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Chilean sea bass was great but did not enjoy the salmon which was a bit fishy. I thought the noise level was a bit much with club music blaring in the background, therefore, I would not recommend this place if you're planning to have conversations.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was fantastic, ambiance was great, ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was fantastic, ambiance was great, but be patient, you typically wait event with a reservation.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Long waiting and no information even if ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Long waiting and no information even if you had booked a table, very noisy, very young people

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food but dont respect reservation time

Dined on May 14, 2016

They give you a 15 minutes grace after the time of your reservation, but when you arrive on time they make you wait for 1 hour...never seen that before! This is so much a lack if respect...and the music is too loud; you would expect it that loud when there is a dance flour, which is not the case...too bad because the food is really good!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! I went here last time t ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Love this place! I went here last time to celebrate my new job. I always enjoy the food and drinks. Hard to go wrong here I think.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to get a seat at the bar

Dined on May 12, 2016

Always try to get the back seats at the upstairs bar, great view of the restaurant, good service, great food, normally just have lots of appetizers

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

the hottest place in town for a diner... ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

the hottest place in town for a diner...................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Didn't feel like value for money

Dined on May 11, 2016

If it was priced one level down I might have felt differently, The vibe was nice, design is impressive, service was good - but we came there for the food, and well - it was just not good enough...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant we ate at in NYC (we als ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Best restaurant we ate at in NYC (we also went to Nobu) but Tao Uptown completely won in terms of food, menu choice, cocktails and ambience. We wish you had one in London! 😊

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tao not quite wow but dessert is kapow

Dined on May 11, 2016

Tao is high-end Asian cuisine, and offers top quality food and excellent ambience. The lunch special, consisting of appetizer, entrée and dessert, is not cheap, but a good value and makes sense for a business lunch. If you go this route, you will probably find it to be too much food. I had the vegetable spring roll appetizer, which was quite good. The kung pao chicken entrée was good quality, but too sweet and bready for my taste. Even though it was good quality, the preparation made it reminiscent of fast food Chinese. So, good, but not "wow." The dessert on the other hand (and I am not a big dessert person) was outstanding. Banana pudding with a perfect biscuit. Really special. The ambience at Tao is perfect and the service is excellent.-

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I go there whenever I visit NYC and the ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I go there whenever I visit NYC and they never disappoint. We had the prix-fix lunch which we enjoyed a lot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was ok, description of food misleading.

Dined on May 8, 2016

If you make a booking and ring and say you are going to be 15 min late, your table should not be given to someone who walks in off the street. We had to wait another 1/2 hour to be seated. Our waiter was outstanding and was the best thing about this restaurant. Food labelling needs work. We eat out in all various styles of Asian cuisine and get excited about 'fusion' but the description of food di not match what came out. Food portions were also small. Given the atmosphere and calibre of wait staff, Tao could do better-work on your food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This made my day a great day!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great ambiance, vibrant and energetic with fantastic food and service!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lived up to the hype!

Dined on May 7, 2016

I had heard a lot of good things about Tao, and now I know why. I was very pleased with the experience there. The food is on the expensive side, but for the quality you get and the portion it isn't as bad as the price may lead you to believe. The drinks are a bit pricy, including beer, but if you aren't big drinkers and have one each you won't break the bank. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Asian cuisine

Dined on May 7, 2016

There is traditional and non traditional items on the menu and everything is amazing. Two of our meals included the crispy coconut shrimp and orange glazed chicken, both were the best we have ever had. Plates are big enough to share. Great atmosphere and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Great time, as always

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great time, as always

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very good quality / price relationship

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was really good and price very reasonable. Scene is pretty nice too. Music a bit loud but it's a late-night restaurant/bar so you should expect that :-)

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner with friends

Dined on May 6, 2016

We first arrived 5 minutes before our reservation, and had to wait for our friend to arrive before seated. Fair enough. Yes was there 10 min later - and after that we waited 1 hour to be seated! How Can this be? The hostress was very rude. One of them ignored me in order to talk personal to her friend. Not a good first impression. When finally seated it was very cold, we told The waiter and he changed it right away, really good service and The waiter checked on us all The time - food was okay,maybe a little pricey but whatever.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Sushi was outstanding!

Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I heard about this place while we were eating out at a different Resturant the night before. This was our first time in New York so we thought we would try it out. We had no expectations but were blown away when we walked in. The decor was amazing. It reminded us of being at Disney because of all the details in the decorating. It's a place where you want to take some pictures. We had sushi for our appetizer and it was outstanding! The meals were very good as well but I personally enjoyed the sushi. I would recommend this place and will certainly return if we ever head back to New York. Thank you for a great experience!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic
food2
ambience1
service1

I was celebrating a friend's birthday an ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

I was celebrating a friend's birthday and had to wait over an hour after my reservation to be seated. Our waitress let us know this happens often. The music was so loud, we could barely hear ourselves talking. The food wasn't worth the wait. Definitely won't be back!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic decor and good food.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Was there with my wife and daughter. Definitely one of uptowns hot spots. Fantastic scenery and decor with the huge statue in the back of the room. Very good service and food. There is not much light in the room and it can be pretty noisy depending where you get seated.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food. Expensive. Loud.

Dined on May 5, 2016

I like to hear what all the people around the table say. That was not possible. I sat at a table with five persons, and we could not have a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.