About Tao Uptown

42 East 58th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Sunday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Wednesday: 5:00pm- 12:00am, Thursday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 1:00am

Cross Street:
Park & Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 888-2288

Website:
http://www.taorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Enjoy TAO classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premise catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 10 people, to an off-premise event for thousands. TAO signature dishes, including our famous Chilean Sea Bass, Kung Pao Chicken, Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon, Coconut Shrimp, and our wide selection of Sushi, will be delivered right to your door. Use us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, family gathering, or Super Bowl party. Always a Happy Ending!

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
John Villa

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all parties of 15 or more please inquire with our banquet department at 212-399-3097.

Restaurant Photos

Giant Fortune Cookie with white and dark chocolate mousse
Lychee Martini
Hangar Steak With Miso And Asian-Spiced Fries
Chocolate Zen Parfait
Soy Ginger Glazed Salmon
Satay Chicken with Peanut Sauce
Crispy Vegetable Rolls With Duck Mustard Sauce
Kung Pao Chicken
Lemongrass Creme Brulee
Squab Lettuce Wraps
Tao Shabu Shabu
Steak
Dessert
Steamed Edamame Beans With Sea Salt
Fried Brown Rice With Vegetables
Kung Pao Chicken W/ Jasmine Rice
Dragon Tail Spare Ribs
Peking Duck Spring Roll With Hoisin Sauce
TAO Filet Mignon Shabu Shabu, Ginger Scallion Broth with Wasabi Dipping Sauce
Eggplant Tempura, Garlic Green Bean Tempura, Avocado Tempura
Grilled Red Snapper with Steamed Bok Choy and Ginger, Kaffir Lime Vinaigrette
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass
Jumbo Shrimp Tempura With Garlic Chili Sauce
Lychee Martini, Belvedere, Triple Sec and Fresh Lychee Pureé
Crunchy Spicy Yellowtail Roll with Crushed Onion
Crispy Soft Shell Crab and Shiso Roll with Yuzu Mayonnaise
Shabu Shabu In Action
Peach Cosmopolitan, Stoli Peach, Pallini Peachello, Triple Sec, Cranberry and Fresh Lime
Spicy Eggplant
Wagyu Tartare Tempura
Peking Duck Spring Rolls with Hoisin Sauce
Banana Pudding
Hanger Steak
Chicken satay
Bbq Hanger Steak
Crispy Orange Chicken
Vegetable Egg Rolls
Fried Rice
Springrolls
Pork Dumplings
edamame
Peking Duck
Beef Carpaccio
Vegtable Spring Rolls
Duck
Dumplings
Lettuce wraps
New Year's Eve Table
Perrier-Jouët  
Salmon With Soy Ginger Glaze And Udon
Chicken Pad Thai
Scallops With Red Curry
Ho Fun Noodle Stuffed With Shrimp And Lobster
Hot and Sour Soup
Sushi
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass With Wok Vegetables
Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon
shrimp pad thai
Thai Lettuce Wraps
Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno
Kobe Beef Carpaccio
Grilled Serloin With Thai Style Sauce
Dim Sum
Diver Scallops
Peking Duck Spring Rolls
Salmon Tuna And Albacore Tataki
Chef's Roll
sushi plate
Chicken Gyoza
Roasted Thai Buddha Chicken
Pork Spring Rolls
Lobster Spring Roll
Sexy Lobster Sushi Roll
Spicy Tuna Tartare On Crispy Rice
Giant Fortune Cookie
Omakase Sushi-Sashimi Plate
Miso Chilean Sea Bass
Doughnuts
XO Shrimp With Spinach and Jasmine Rice
Sea Scallop
Salmon Tuna Tataki
Donuts
Petit Gateau
Cappuccino
American Kobe Beef
Lobster Wontons with Shiitake Ginger Broth
Shrimp tempura roll
Sliced Yellowtail In Ponzu Sauce
Fortune Cookie
Moo Shu Pork
Talheres
Vegetable Lo Mein Salad
Tempura, Sweet Onion Rings   Sweet Potato
Pan Fried Chicken Gyoza with Napa Cabbage and Soy Dipping Sauce
lobster kim chee fried rice and wasabi filet
Chinese Five Spice Braised Beef Short Rib
Duck Fried Rice
Crispy Shrimp Appetizer Special
Crispy Duck Breast (W/ A Dash Of Awesomesauce)
Satay Sushi

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

TAO NY has hosted all styles of private parties, including movie premieres, corporate affairs, holiday receptions, business meetings and social events. TAO has accommodations available for 16 to 1000 guests for everything from seated dinners to buffet receptions and cocktail parties.

Tao Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Asian
Manhattan
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown East ›

hot spot (296)
special occasion (271)
good for groups (261)
See All
vibrant bar scene (215)
fit for foodies (211)
late-night find (136)
romantic (122)
great for lunch (86)
scenic view (63)
neighborhood gem (54)
great for outdoor dining (26)
notable wine list (24)
kid-friendly (23)
great for brunch (21)
business meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
7869 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and there was rea ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious and there was really good service. All dishes were served quickly and tasted amazing! Giant fortune cookie for dessert is the way to go!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

1) long wait for table even after reserv ...

Dined 4 days ago

1) long wait for table even after reservation 2) terrible table service 3) over priced food 4) food tasted normal .. Panda Express has the same taste as this place

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

$11 for over salted Edamame is too much. ...

Dined 4 days ago

$11 for over salted Edamame is too much. If a server introduces himself to you and you never see him again, that is not a great way to give service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tao never disappoints! I have been going ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Tao never disappoints! I have been going since it opened.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great tasting food and lively atmosphere ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great tasting food and lively atmosphere! Would definitely eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an incredible dinner at Tao like ...

Dined 5 days ago

Always an incredible dinner at Tao like always. Great food and great time.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Brilliant food, the wagyu tartar starter ...

Dined 6 days ago

Brilliant food, the wagyu tartar starter was out of this world. A bit noisy, but a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was good. Waiter was very good and ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Food was good. Waiter was very good and attentive. Hostess upon arrival was terrible with bad attitude and not a single ounce of common sense or customer service focus.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great staff and the food was great as we ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Great staff and the food was great as well A little too dark Could make more options on the menu

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice place and good food. Visit aga ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Very nice place and good food. Visit again when we return to New York

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4

Great place to take visitors as the ambi ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place to take visitors as the ambiance and music are great and it looks all very impressive. The food is not great at all...

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night. Love the building and atmos ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great night. Love the building and atmosphere. Tables for two a bit too close to each other upstairs. Other than that food and service was incredible. The physical space was spectacular.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The main disappointment was the waiter. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The main disappointment was the waiter. Attitude or lack of! Food was excellent though. Wish our server was a different one!

Tags: hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Waiters were cool venue was nice but foo ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Waiters were cool venue was nice but food was very salty

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4

Sea bass appetizer was excellent. The c ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Sea bass appetizer was excellent. The coconut shrimp (asked for sauce on the side) had nice flavor, but was over cooked. Lychee martini was decent, but not the best I've ever had. Kung Pao chicken was quite sweet and chicken was overcooked. Restaurant was so huge, in comparison to any restaurant in Manhattan, that It would be difficult to serve high quality food. This is a place that is great for large groups or special occasions, but not for gourmet or authentic asian.

food1
ambience4
service5
value1

We went to Tao for my daughter's 22nd bi ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We went to Tao for my daughter's 22nd birthday. We have been many times. I was unimpressed with the food this time.

food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent food as always. The spicy tun ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food as always. The spicy tuna on crispy rice appetizer never disappoints. Specialty rolls are fabulous. Great for people watching. Only downside is the noise. Very hard to have a conversation. Very very loud restaurant but that is part of the fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here for my birthday dinner and the ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Came here for my birthday dinner and the food was absolutely delicious! Definitely recommend this place for a special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Tao is a Great Place with gorgeous F ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The Tao is a Great Place with gorgeous Food! It was my Second Time and i Would recommend it to all People that want to eat in a Special Location in New York.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

great place for lunch. they have a grea ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

great place for lunch. they have a great prix fix lunch that I enjoy. I recommend this place for great food and a nice lunch spot

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We had to wait 1 hour although we had a ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We had to wait 1 hour although we had a reservation, just because they forgot us 2 times in the waiting list

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service4

Always pleasant but the Pad Thai was a b ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Always pleasant but the Pad Thai was a bit blah today. Too much and not special.

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Fun space. Average food. Overpriced for ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Fun space. Average food. Overpriced for what it is. That said, the room was great. The service was a touch distant.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Service was slow, but we were a party of ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Service was slow, but we were a party of 12. We had our favorite table - right in front of the big guy himself, so that was fun! Out of town guests and first timers loved the roses and the fish ... Actually, even we seasoned Tao-goers loved the roses and the fish... But most especially, Buddha! 😊

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service2

Food was good. Overpriced for Asian fusi ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Food was good. Overpriced for Asian fusion. Bartender had no personality, not real friendly. Waiter was ok, when he came by... Tables around us waited too long for service too. If I am paying what we paid, I expect top notch service with a smile.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderfully done meal. Ate sushi and lot ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Wonderfully done meal. Ate sushi and lots of small plates. Mushroom side was excellent along with the short ribs.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Was my families first trip to NYC and my ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Was my families first trip to NYC and my daughters wanted to go to a club environment and experience the city that never sleeps. We had reservations for midnight and they thoroughly enjoyed everything it was on the Snapchat stories for the week.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and great food.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great atmosphere and great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have eaten at Tao Uptown several times, ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Have eaten at Tao Uptown several times, and have never been disappointed. Atmosphere, food, and service is terrific! I would highly recommend this restaurant when in NYC.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Went on a Friday night for my birthday d ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Went on a Friday night for my birthday dinner. Great atmosphere & music. Had a nice lounge feel with amazing grubs. Drinks even had a sexy feel. My guests & myself all ordered seafood dishes & they were excellent. Highly recommend Tao especially if you're celebrating a special event.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was very attentive and pleasa ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Our server was very attentive and pleasant. Food was delish.

food4
ambience4
service5

Staff was AWESOME. Adjusted our table to ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Staff was AWESOME. Adjusted our table to suit our party make up. Dealt with kids without any issues. Food amazing , as always.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I have not been to TAO for years and I w ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

I have not been to TAO for years and I was looking forward to the Sea Bass. The Sea Bass was excellent but with drinks and an appetizer it was $180 for one (1) person, me! A little expensive for an everyday spot for dinner

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great!

Dined on June 9, 2016

This restaurant is always on our list of "must dos" whenever we visit NYC. Very loud club like atmosphere but the food and service is excellent. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Don't go here for a romantic dinner for 2

Dined on June 8, 2016

I booked a table at Tao after seeing it was a popular restaurant that the celebs like to visit in NYC. We had a table booked for 7.30 and arrived on time but were advised there wasn't a table ready and were given a pager and see to the bar to wait. The bar was full but we did manage to get a seat. It was very dark and noisy. The bar tender could not hear our order and we weren't able to see the writing on the menu. After 15 mins we were shown to a table. It was very cramped and the waitress had to pull the table out so that i could get around it. There was probably 8 inches between tables so we could hear everything the people next to is were saying and vice versa. This was also not helped by the fact that the DJ had the music turned up loud so everyone was shouting. Our waitress was great and explained all the choices and specials and portion sizes. We ordered 3 sharing plates to start which included the peppers, the sea bass (divine) and chicken satay. They were good sharing sizes. The main then came out. I had ordered the Red Chilli Chicken that was on special and my partner the Kung Po Chicken. The portions were massive There must have been 3 chicken breasts in each bowl. It was really good food though but really didn't need to be so much of it. We couldn't manage dessert and the bill which included 5 drinks came to $190 which included the tip so not a cheap meal. We would maybe try the Tao downtown if we visited again.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Always delicious .. Orange chicken and ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Always delicious .. Orange chicken and coconut shrimp... Great... Ruby red dragons are the best

food5
ambience5
service4

5 stars for the food, portion size good ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

5 stars for the food, portion size good - plenty and very tasty, especially the pad thai. Service was a bit snooty, got seated 30 mins after reservation time and waiter helpful but only when asked - maybe because we were British! Overall enjoyed the experience and would recommend. Bear in mind quite pricey if drinking cocktails etc.

food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Tao

Dined on June 4, 2016

Had gorgeous food in Tao made even more special by our lovely waitress can't remeber her name but she was amazing !! Only downfall was a pair of very pretentious teenagers sat next to us talking about how they get everything because everyone knows who they are!! Other than tht it was lovely

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I'm a regular

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food is always 100!!! It's worth the money!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1

The server rushed us through the entire ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

The server rushed us through the entire meal, and Mail course was mediocre.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.