About Tao Uptown

42 East 58th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Sunday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Wednesday: 5:00pm- 12:00am, Thursday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 1:00am

Cross Street:
Park & Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 888-2288

Website:
http://www.taorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Enjoy TAO classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premise catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 10 people, to an off-premise event for thousands. TAO signature dishes, including our famous Chilean Sea Bass, Kung Pao Chicken, Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon, Coconut Shrimp, and our wide selection of Sushi, will be delivered right to your door. Use us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, family gathering, or Super Bowl party. Always a Happy Ending!

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
John Villa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all parties of 15 or more please inquire with our banquet department at 212-399-3097.

Restaurant Photos

Giant Fortune Cookie with white and dark chocolate mousse  - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Hangar Steak With Miso And Asian-Spiced Fries - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Chocolate Zen Parfait - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Lychee Martini - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Soy Ginger Glazed Salmon - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Crispy Vegetable Rolls With Duck Mustard Sauce - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Satay Chicken with Peanut Sauce - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Lemongrass Creme Brulee - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Tao Shabu Shabu - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Squab Lettuce Wraps - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Steak - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Dessert - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Steamed Edamame Beans With Sea Salt - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Fried Brown Rice With Vegetables - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Kung Pao Chicken W/ Jasmine Rice - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Crispy Orange Chicken - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Vegetable Egg Rolls - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Fried Rice - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Springrolls - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Pork Dumplings - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
edamame - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Peking Duck - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Beef Carpaccio - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Vegtable Spring Rolls - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Duck - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Hanger Steak - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Dumplings - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Chicken satay - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Lettuce wraps - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
New Year's Eve Table - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Perrier-Jouët   - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Salmon With Soy Ginger Glaze And Udon - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Chicken Pad Thai - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Scallops With Red Curry - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Ho Fun Noodle Stuffed With Shrimp And Lobster - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Hot and Sour Soup - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Kung Pao Chicken - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Sushi - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass With Wok Vegetables - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
shrimp pad thai - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Thai Lettuce Wraps - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Kobe Beef Carpaccio - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Grilled Serloin With Thai Style Sauce - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Dim Sum - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Diver Scallops - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Eggplant Tempura, Garlic Green Bean Tempura, Avocado Tempura - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Grilled Red Snapper with Steamed Bok Choy and Ginger, Kaffir Lime Vinaigrette - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
TAO Filet Mignon Shabu Shabu, Ginger Scallion Broth with Wasabi Dipping Sauce - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Peking Duck Spring Rolls - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Salmon Tuna And Albacore Tataki - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Chef's Roll - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Crispy Soft Shell Crab and Shiso Roll with Yuzu Mayonnaise - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Crunchy Spicy Yellowtail Roll with Crushed Onion - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Dragon Tail Spare Ribs - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Peking Duck Spring Roll With Hoisin Sauce - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Jumbo Shrimp Tempura With Garlic Chili Sauce - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Peach Cosmopolitan, Stoli Peach, Pallini Peachello, Triple Sec, Cranberry and Fresh Lime - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Shabu Shabu In Action - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Lychee Martini, Belvedere, Triple Sec and Fresh Lychee Pureé - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
sushi plate - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Chicken Gyoza - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Roasted Thai Buddha Chicken  - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Pork Spring Rolls - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Lobster Spring Roll - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Sexy Lobster Sushi Roll - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Spicy Tuna Tartare On Crispy Rice - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Giant Fortune Cookie - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Omakase Sushi-Sashimi Plate - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Miso Chilean Sea Bass - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Spicy Eggplant - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Doughnuts - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
XO Shrimp With Spinach and Jasmine Rice - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Banana Pudding - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Sea Scallop - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Salmon Tuna Tataki - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Cappuccino - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Petit Gateau - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Donuts - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
American Kobe Beef - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Lobster Wontons with Shiitake Ginger Broth - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Shrimp tempura roll - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Sliced Yellowtail In Ponzu Sauce - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Fortune Cookie - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Moo Shu Pork - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Vegetable Lo Mein Salad - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Talheres - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Tempura, Sweet Onion Rings   Sweet Potato - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Pan Fried Chicken Gyoza with Napa Cabbage and Soy Dipping Sauce  - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
lobster kim chee fried rice and wasabi filet - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Duck Fried Rice - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Chinese Five Spice Braised Beef Short Rib - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Crispy Shrimp Appetizer Special - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Soft Shell Crab & Unagi Crispy Roll - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Lobster & Kimchi Fried Rice - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Satay Sushi - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Crispy Duck Breast (W/ A Dash Of Awesomesauce) - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Lemongrass Creme Brulee (w/ Macadamia  - Tao Uptown, New York, NY

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

TAO NY has hosted all styles of private parties, including movie premieres, corporate affairs, holiday receptions, business meetings and social events. TAO has accommodations available for 16 to 1000 guests for everything from seated dinners to buffet receptions and cocktail parties.

Tao Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (157)
Hot Spot (145)
Good for Groups (117)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (104)
Good for a Date (99)
Fun (91)
Creative Cuisine (89)
Fit for Foodies (79)
Good for Birthdays (76)
Romantic (71)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Late-night Find (60)
Modern Decor (59)
People Watching (56)
Business Meals (43)
Great for Lunch (42)
Bar Seating (40)
Authentic (39)
Spicy (34)
Casual (32)
Scenic View (31)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Cozy (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Tasting Menu (25)
Comfort Food (23)
Family Style (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Happy Hour (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Healthy (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Tapas (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Private Room (6)
Historic (6)
Live Music (5)
Organic (5)
Vegan (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Fireplace (4)
Dancing (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
8328 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, should improve waiting t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 14 hours ago

Excellent food, should improve waiting time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing food, great service and fantasti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food, great service and fantastic cocktails. It is noisy though so if you don't like music as a background you probably won't enjoy it as it can be hard to have a conversation

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations month ago... confirmed ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Made reservations month ago... confirmed them that day.. they asked for a 15 min grace period... no problem...sat us down one hour and fifteen minutes after our reservation time...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great ambiance, delicious food, but had ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great ambiance, delicious food, but had to wait close to an hour after our reservation time... isn't that what reservations are for?? Other popular, busy restaurants in the city can accommodate - not sure what the problem was here. However, once we were seated, we had a wonderful experience- great service and great food :).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I really did not like that I made it in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I really did not like that I made it in time for my reservation but still had to wait close to 10 minutes until my table was ready. While waiting, we had to awkwardly stand by the door bc there were no seatings and kept getting pushed and shoved as others entered and exited. The hostess were not friendly at all!! They didn't even apologize for the wait nor did they tell us where to wait. When finally getting our table the person walking us to the table seemed totally uninterested. The food was very mediocre so it is over priced. Drinks were decent. The atmosphere however, is gorgeous. Beautiful decorations and ambiance. Like anything else in NYC, the place is congested. The tables were so close to eachother; don't even think about stretching or you'll hit the person behind you. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this particular location but the restuarant was not bad.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Amazing Atmosphere Very Good Food Good S ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing Atmosphere

Very Good Food

Good Service

A NYC Favorite

Would rate Tao downtown slightly higher

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

The building and space are beautiful. Ho ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The building and space are beautiful. However, the food is average-and that's being generous. We had sushi, egg roll, pot stickers for appetizers. As for entrees, we had the shrimp fried rice and the lobster kimchee fried rice. The server told me if I liked spicy, I'd love the lobster kimchee because it was very spicy. The wasabi on the sushi had more "spice".

It's expensive for what it is. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Too bad that we had to wait over an hour ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 4 days ago

Too bad that we had to wait over an hour eventhough we had a reservation , in a very noisy bar where you are forced to order very expensive drinks. Once you are in the dining room, the whole supper last 40 minutes.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had yet another great dinner at Tao!! ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We had yet another great dinner at Tao!! This time we took our children 10 & 8, early for dinner. Glad to see other families eating at this time. Our waiter was most accommodating to the children and addressed all their questions. Once again the food was outstanding, we went with the reommedations of our waiter, and he did not steer us wrong!! all were great!!

We look forward to returning next year!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was fabulous and service was as wel ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was fabulous and service was as well. Great part of our NY trip.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is consistently good and wait staff ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is consistently good and wait staff are always pleasant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing good food!!!! Worst service I ev ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing good food!!!!

Worst service I ever had in NYC

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Still impressively packed on a Thursday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Still impressively packed on a Thursday night! After going to Tao in its prime many years ago I was in awe of how packed they were by 6pm on a Thursday ten years later. Ambiance was great. Service was a little rushed but no pressure. Food was very good (I liked it better than Nobu). Cocktails need work!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Everything was amazing ! Only compliant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was amazing ! Only compliant about the service was once we were seated we waited 15 minutes or so and eventually had to flag down a waiter to send us our waiter . Disappointing as it is such a nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great dining room

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great dining room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

A stressful experience and very unintere ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

A stressful experience and very uninterested staff. Three times they tried to take our plates even though we had not eaten. We were misunderstood when ordering and got only one main course to share. We received the bill twice without having asked for it. It felt like they wanted us to go as fast as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Tasty food with a fun atmosphere and goo ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Tasty food with a fun atmosphere and good music. Not cheap but a lovely night out. Staff were also friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tao is my daughter's favorite restaurant ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Tao is my daughter's favorite restaurant so we decided to celebrate her birthday there. The food and ambiance were great! Their wagyu beef was a hit! Their drinks, especially the lychitini, were all great! Everyone had a great time! And most importantly, my daughter looked happy. Will keep on going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent option to take a dinner. The f ...

 
 (México)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent option to take a dinner. The food it's great and the place it's excellent

Tags: Late-night Find, Seasonal, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was 10 of us we had an early reser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

There was 10 of us we had an early reservation so we were seated as soon as we arrived. Food was great although we would have preferred a family style menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came to Tao for my boyfriends birthda ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We came to Tao for my boyfriends birthday. Granted we were late for our reservation and I did get the time wrong (our reservation was for 7:45 but I thought it was 8) but when I called to say we were going to be a few minutes late, I got a ton of attitude from the hostesses. Admittedly, I got defensive, thinking I had made the reservation for the wrong day but then when I attempted to apologize for my attitude to the hostess once we'd arrived, they didn't even acknowledge me. The women who seated us ran off without me while I closed out our lounge tab leaving me a bit confused and wondering. Our waitress was great and so was the food. We had lobster wontons and rock shrimp apps, both delicious. The vegetable medley w noodles and orange chicken for entrees were great too. I have been a server and a hostess so I get that it can be frustrating and being late is super annoying but the way the entire hostess staff handled things was unsettling. To top it off, I got an email from OpenTable after dinner saying we no-showed our reservation. Uncool. Glad the food and server were so good or this would have been a rough experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our fourth visit to New York an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was our fourth visit to New York and we have always dinned at Tao, love the venue, atmosphere, always a real buzz. The food is delicious especially the coconut prawns! Now looking forward to next visit - unfortunately the U.K. does not have one, otherwise I would dine more often.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So I booked this restaurant for my doubl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

So I booked this restaurant for my double nickels birthday, asked for the table by the Buddha four times, on the phone, and in the reseravation. We had a horrible table, with very slow service. Could not even get to my seat after using the restroom. No comment that it was my birthday, mediocre service, bad table. Don't celebrate a signifiant birthday here! Or any event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was way way to fast

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service was way way to fast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

great food and drink, good vibe in the p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

great food and drink, good vibe in the place and only issue is the music is a bit loud. Also there were 6 of us in a booth and it was very cramped. Great food and great waiter from france cant remember his name.

Happy to come back again

Thanks

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

My boyfriend and I went here on recommen ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My boyfriend and I went here on recommendation from friends back in London.

The venue itself is beautiful.

The evening for us was spoiled by our waitress who from the moment we sat down was eager to rush us through the experience:

  1. While eating repeatedly coming up to the table and touching crockery/dishes while still eating (trying to clear the table)
  1. Topping up wine glasses after every sip (we had to ask her to stop as it was ridiculous - we calculated she topped up our glasses four times in five minutes), perhaps we weren't drinking quick enough
  1. Bought the bill out, mid-dessert!!!!!

Interestingly though we felt it was such a shame as the food was amazing, and venue incredible with song after song of good music... we just felt ridiculously rushed - not something you should feel when you're going "all out" and spending $250 dollars on a meal for two.

Had the bill been left open, we would have sat at the bar and enjoyed the ambience for a good few more hours, however sadly weren't wanting to spend more money after the experience.

Appreciate it's a busy restaurant and we go to very busy restaurants in London all the time, but never made to feel so rushed and repeatedly coming up to clear plates, repeatedly top up/rush wine at a pace so fast is unenjoyable (and I love a drink!!!!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

Great food, great ambiance and service. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food, great ambiance and service. Will be back!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Music was too loud and rice along with n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Music was too loud and rice along with noodle dishes were over priced considering portion size and quality.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fun, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

First time here for lunch. As for dinne ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

First time here for lunch. As for dinner, the space is full and vibrant, but the service remains wonderful. Hard to choose what to eat when you like everything!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great meal and friendly staff.

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always a great meal and friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always come here whenever I am in New ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I always come here whenever I am in New York. This time around I brought family and friends for the first time and they loved it. Great food, spot on service and cool ambiance. A must if you are in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There were 3 people in our party. Ambien ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 23, 2016

There were 3 people in our party. Ambience and atmosphere were amazing! Started off great, our waiter told us about the hot items on the menu and was very friendly. Our appetizers were delicious, but It went south from there. Our waiter never noticed we were out of water and tea. We also asked for bottled flat water and were sold a bottle of tapwater for $8.50! Finally when our food came out I had to flag someone down to ask for refills. When our food arrived mine was hot the other two meals were cold. Our waiter never checked on us again until our meal was almost over. I was anxiously waiting to order dessert but it was just taking so long to be attended to, that I simply asked for the check so we could leave. Great restaurant however I think management should make sure that there wait staff is very attentive to tables and this just could've been one waiter and not an indication of the entire wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Had lunch with my girlfriends and the fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Had lunch with my girlfriends and the food was great. Service was excellent , can't wait to go back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was super salty. There were lum ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food was super salty. There were lumps of starch in the hot and spicy soup which was just unacceptable for a restaurant that charges more than double what you would pay at other more decent Chinese/Szechuan joints. Ripoff and sorely disappointed. Saving grace was the service. Lunch experience was slightly better. Not going back. Try harder for the prices you're charging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

I would go back for the bar and the atmo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I would go back for the bar and the atmosphere, but the food wasn't so good that I would ever go back to eat again. I've had better Asian fare for MUCH cheaper. My boyfriend and I got the peking duck for two, which comes with what are essentially very dry tortillas (they call them pancakes). We ordered sake mushrooms and rice on the side. With a $20 off OpenTable gift card, we still ended up paying $180 for what I would describe as an okay dinner. Definitely not worth $180. The atmosphere of the restaurant is fantastic. High ceilings, a 20-foot Buddha statue, koi fish, etc. but you can get the atmosphere without dining. I was planning to order the $20 Five Spice Short Ribs, but the waiter informed me that was more of a small appetizer portion. This is more of a special occasion place, so plan on splurging!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Good ambiance but it started to look a b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Good ambiance but it started to look a bit dated already. Places definitely needs a face lift. It has been many years since they've opened.

Service took a long time to bring us drinks after we placed an order but that's not the end of the world.

Good food - great beef carpaccio. Skip the duck appetizer, it's not worth it.

Karo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Well past its prime. Increasingly poor f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Well past its prime. Increasingly poor food at extremely high prices. Entrees around $40 and generally small and tasteless. Filled with tourists who don't know any better. Save your money and dine elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Hostess' have zero personality, however ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Hostess' have zero personality, however the server rescued the evening

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I go every year for our anni ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My wife and I go every year for our anniversary. We have ordered the Wasabi Crusted Filet every year for past 6 years! The sushi is incredible and we love every bit of the experience at Tao.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Spicy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were at Tao on a fryday night. The pl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We were at Tao on a fryday night. The place was extremely nosy, we were push to eat very fast. Food was OK , no more than that. The waitresses were 'tacky sexy' dressed. Decor is dusty and faded. Definitely never go back to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.