About Tao Uptown

42 East 58th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Sunday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Wednesday: 5:00pm- 12:00am, Thursday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 1:00am

Cross Street:
Park & Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 888-2288

Website:
http://www.taorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Enjoy TAO classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premise catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 10 people, to an off-premise event for thousands. TAO signature dishes, including our famous Chilean Sea Bass, Kung Pao Chicken, Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon, Coconut Shrimp, and our wide selection of Sushi, will be delivered right to your door. Use us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, family gathering, or Super Bowl party. Always a Happy Ending!

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
John Villa

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all parties of 15 or more please inquire with our banquet department at 212-399-3097.

Restaurant Photos

Giant Fortune Cookie with white and dark chocolate mousse
Lychee Martini
Hangar Steak With Miso And Asian-Spiced Fries
Chocolate Zen Parfait
Soy Ginger Glazed Salmon
Satay Chicken with Peanut Sauce
Crispy Vegetable Rolls With Duck Mustard Sauce
Lemongrass Creme Brulee
Kung Pao Chicken
Squab Lettuce Wraps
Tao Shabu Shabu
Steak
Dessert
Steamed Edamame Beans With Sea Salt
Fried Brown Rice With Vegetables
Kung Pao Chicken W/ Jasmine Rice
Dragon Tail Spare Ribs
Peking Duck Spring Roll With Hoisin Sauce
TAO Filet Mignon Shabu Shabu, Ginger Scallion Broth with Wasabi Dipping Sauce
Eggplant Tempura, Garlic Green Bean Tempura, Avocado Tempura
Grilled Red Snapper with Steamed Bok Choy and Ginger, Kaffir Lime Vinaigrette
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass
Jumbo Shrimp Tempura With Garlic Chili Sauce
Lychee Martini, Belvedere, Triple Sec and Fresh Lychee Pureé
Crunchy Spicy Yellowtail Roll with Crushed Onion
Crispy Soft Shell Crab and Shiso Roll with Yuzu Mayonnaise
Shabu Shabu In Action
Peach Cosmopolitan, Stoli Peach, Pallini Peachello, Triple Sec, Cranberry and Fresh Lime
Spicy Eggplant
Wagyu Tartare Tempura
Peking Duck Spring Rolls with Hoisin Sauce
Hanger Steak
Chicken satay
Banana Pudding
Bbq Hanger Steak
Crispy Orange Chicken
Vegetable Egg Rolls
Fried Rice
Springrolls
Pork Dumplings
edamame
Peking Duck
Beef Carpaccio
Vegtable Spring Rolls
Duck
Dumplings
Lettuce wraps
New Year's Eve Table
Perrier-Jouët  
Salmon With Soy Ginger Glaze And Udon
Chicken Pad Thai
Scallops With Red Curry
Ho Fun Noodle Stuffed With Shrimp And Lobster
Hot and Sour Soup
Sushi
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass With Wok Vegetables
Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon
shrimp pad thai
Thai Lettuce Wraps
Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno
Kobe Beef Carpaccio
Grilled Serloin With Thai Style Sauce
Dim Sum
Diver Scallops
Peking Duck Spring Rolls
Salmon Tuna And Albacore Tataki
Chef's Roll
sushi plate
Chicken Gyoza
Roasted Thai Buddha Chicken
Pork Spring Rolls
Lobster Spring Roll
Sexy Lobster Sushi Roll
Spicy Tuna Tartare On Crispy Rice
Giant Fortune Cookie
Omakase Sushi-Sashimi Plate
Miso Chilean Sea Bass
Doughnuts
XO Shrimp With Spinach and Jasmine Rice
Sea Scallop
Salmon Tuna Tataki
Donuts
Petit Gateau
Cappuccino
American Kobe Beef
Lobster Wontons with Shiitake Ginger Broth
Shrimp tempura roll
Sliced Yellowtail In Ponzu Sauce
Fortune Cookie
Moo Shu Pork
Talheres
Vegetable Lo Mein Salad
Tempura, Sweet Onion Rings   Sweet Potato
Pan Fried Chicken Gyoza with Napa Cabbage and Soy Dipping Sauce
lobster kim chee fried rice and wasabi filet
Chinese Five Spice Braised Beef Short Rib
Duck Fried Rice
Crispy Shrimp Appetizer Special
Crispy Duck Breast (W/ A Dash Of Awesomesauce)
Satay Sushi

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

TAO NY has hosted all styles of private parties, including movie premieres, corporate affairs, holiday receptions, business meetings and social events. TAO has accommodations available for 16 to 1000 guests for everything from seated dinners to buffet receptions and cocktail parties.

Tao Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (262)
hot spot (257)
good for groups (236)
See All
fit for foodies (192)
vibrant bar scene (174)
romantic (119)
late-night find (116)
great for lunch (75)
scenic view (52)
neighborhood gem (42)
great for outdoor dining (27)
notable wine list (22)
kid-friendly (19)
great for brunch (18)
business meals (1)
Sunday lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
7934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went there with our daughter (11 year ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 21 hours ago

We went there with our daughter (11 years old) during the restaurant week. Food was ok. A little too spicy for being an Asian restaurant. The waiter on the other hand was the worst waiter we have ever had. It was only 4 days into the restaurant week, but he looked very annoyed by the restaurant week clouds. He was down right rude to us that it totally ruined our experience. We will never go there again. We thought about complaining to the manager but we thought it wasn't even worth our energy to complain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

The ambiance at Tao is always good, but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined a day ago

The ambiance at Tao is always good, but my food today was less than delicious and the service was not what I am used to when I visit Tao.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

Great restaurant! Good atmosphere, brill ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great restaurant! Good atmosphere, brilliant service and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lousy service - got seated 25 mins past ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Lousy service - got seated 25 mins past the reservation time. Waitress didn't show for 10 mins. Then messed up the order -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Everything was fantastic. Very good valu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was fantastic. Very good value for money, fantastic ambiance and vibrating energy! Very good food.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing , I have been here many ti ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Disappointing , I have been here many times. This was the worst.. Service was professional the food was nothing special.

I had s gift card from open table that was not honored (by mistake)

I will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Server did a terrible job. She was snob ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

Server did a terrible job. She was snobbish and did not seem to understand how the evening menu worked. Courses brought too quickly. Our water glasses where never once refilled. Such a disappointing experience for our party!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

What a fun, unique ambiance with great m ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

What a fun, unique ambiance with great music that wasn't too overwhelming. Food was delicious and hot with great variety! It's on my to-do list next time I'm in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

If you have any food allergies ask first ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

If you have any food allergies ask first. What I ordered had mushrooms which is not a normal ingredient. It wasn't in the description. My allergy is mild but if it wasn't it could have need bad. Service was rather bad. I wasn't sure who the waiter was. Getting water refilled was flagging down the first person you saw. On the plus side they were all friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

I used to love tao uptown but the one in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I used to love tao uptown but the one in downtown so much better. Would not go back here.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

What a WONDERFUL, first experience! Fr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

What a WONDERFUL, first experience! From the décor, location, the waitress and the food, it was a wonderful experience. The TAO was recommended by my co-worker and I am very pleased it was. My husband, son and I were there to celebrate my birthday...great time had by all! Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good atmosphere and revised Asian food.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Good atmosphere and revised Asian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

It was a pleasant dining experience in s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

It was a pleasant dining experience in such an amazing setting. The food was good, but not quite to the standard of some of its competitors.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Loved the waiter, although he doesn't s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Loved the waiter, although he doesn't share his name with us. He gave us all the time we needed, and patiently described and explained a few of the platters we asked about. And because of that, we were able to make excellent selections, and had a wonderful experience. We both will be back, for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had small plates for lunch as we plan ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had small plates for lunch as we planned on having a big dinner later. Our waiter, Joe,

took good care of us and was pleasant and informative about the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed with my experience at ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I was disappointed with my experience at this location because it was poor all around. A complete cluster for an occassion that was supposed to be my anniversery.

very surprising because so many folks recommended the place to me for its ambiance and food. I had also eaten at their sister location and absolutly loved it.

my complaints:

1) waitress inattentive

2) took over 30m to get drinks after sitting down. Took a while to even order drinks.

3)appetizer was wrong 2x.

4)waitress forgot to place order for part of main course. 1 roll arrived instead of 2.

5)i never got dessert i ordered.

Food was tasty when it arrived mind you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Night was ruined by terrible service. Co ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Night was ruined by terrible service. Completely screwed up our order and several dishes were delayed. I can live with a server making a mistake but then don't lie about it....."oh your dish is coming out right now" when it is just obvious that it isn't. I've been here before and the service has been ok and the food is always great, so I'm going to put this down to just a bad server. But when you add in the high price tag, I do not think I will be giving them another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Tao uptown consistently delivers - alway ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Tao uptown consistently delivers - always great service, food, and ambience. The vibe and interiors are very suitable for business or leisure.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always satisfied with the food and servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always satisfied with the food and service everytime I come to this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great except my wife got a lobs ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was great except my wife got a lobster dish and it was very difficult to crack the shells. Very messy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I found the service rushed....and the sa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I found the service rushed....and the sauces are extremely salty. This is my 4th time to this restaurant and it's always very salty, especially the fried rice and sea bass skewers

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great restaurant, great food! Quite noi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great restaurant, great food! Quite noisy, but we expected that as we have been to the one in Las Vegas. Desserts were to die for!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was disappointing how the waiters wer ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It was disappointing how the waiters were rushing my table to make our orders and pay the bill due to a buyout which was only 2h later...

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

LOVED THIS PLACE. The food was so amazin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

LOVED THIS PLACE. The food was so amazing and so worth the price, the service was great as well. It is the perfect restaurant is you want good ambiance, great food and a wonderful view.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good! Just not as good as tao d ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was good! Just not as good as tao downtown!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Took my 17 year old nephew there...he lo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Took my 17 year old nephew there...he loved it. The only think I thought could be better was the check in process, the staff could have been slightly nicer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

peking duck pancakes were crispy not sof ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

peking duck pancakes were crispy not soft. Wrong. Fried vegetable rice was soggy and tasteless. Quality of the rest of the food was ok to good. For the prices charged not a place to recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Service was great and food was delicious ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service was great and food was delicious. Recommend the fortune cookie for dessert.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is always great. Expensive of cour ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food is always great. Expensive of course, but that is New York City.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food , with the perfect ambiance ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Amazing food , with the perfect ambiance . This is a fantastic place to visit while dinning in NY!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious. The attention ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Everything was delicious. The attention to detail was appreciated. I had the Branzino with charred green beans as my entree. The skin was crispy and the meat was seasoned well and lush. The service was also above expectations. Will definitely dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely one of my favorites

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Definitely one of my favorites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The sushi was very spicy

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The sushi was very spicy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The table service and a quality of food ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The table service and a quality of food was rather average. We were waiting for some water more than 20 minutes, we had to ask for it twice. Nothing came as fast as the invoice at the end. The spicy tuna roll is not something to remember. However the hostess service was attentive and the ambiance is great for a night out with friends - if don't have your expectations high on the food and you do not mind being obviously surrounded by tourists.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was good but I had a martini an ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was good but I had a martini and it was expensive and watered down. I sent it back but got the same watered down, expensive drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Turned table 45 degrees so I could sit n ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Turned table 45 degrees so I could sit next to my girlfriend. Manager didn't like it moved us to another area. We left. Should have known it was gonna be a bad experience when I saw Buddha crying at the front door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Everything was great, the tables are clo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Everything was great, the tables are close together and you can hear the other peoples conversation so if this is not a good place if that openness

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food and service. Awesome setting. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food and service. Awesome setting. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sadly, this once great restaurant eatery ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Sadly, this once great restaurant eatery is not even a shadow of itself. The menu was created by someone who works at cliche creations or they simply have run out of ideas. The most Asian thing was orange chicken. And the food we ordered from the limited selection (tuna tartare and coconut shrimp) literally had freezer burn taste. The other distressing thing is that clientele was loud, obnoxious, vulgar. The table two away from us had to be reseated after 19 F bombs were dropped by the couple in between. It was something like Road Warrior meets Sat Night Fever. This was one of my absolute must visits and now is an absolute avoid. PS service was fantastic. Go figure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

I've eaten at the NYC and Las Vegas Tao ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I've eaten at the NYC and Las Vegas Tao a number of times. While my family loves the ambiance and in the past the food has been delicious fortunately on this visit it was just okay. Maybe since I was not enjoying a business meal we opted for the more affordable entree options but everyone felt the food was better in prior visits.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.