About Tao Uptown

42 East 58th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Sunday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Wednesday: 5:00pm- 12:00am, Thursday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 1:00am

Cross Street:
Park & Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 888-2288

Website:
http://www.taorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Enjoy TAO classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premise catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 10 people, to an off-premise event for thousands. TAO signature dishes, including our famous Chilean Sea Bass, Kung Pao Chicken, Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon, Coconut Shrimp, and our wide selection of Sushi, will be delivered right to your door. Use us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, family gathering, or Super Bowl party. Always a Happy Ending!

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
John Villa

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all parties of 15 or more please inquire with our banquet department at 212-399-3097.

Restaurant Photos

Giant Fortune Cookie with white and dark chocolate mousse
Lychee Martini
Hangar Steak With Miso And Asian-Spiced Fries
Chocolate Zen Parfait
Soy Ginger Glazed Salmon
Crispy Vegetable Rolls With Duck Mustard Sauce
Satay Chicken with Peanut Sauce
Lemongrass Creme Brulee
Tao Shabu Shabu
Squab Lettuce Wraps
Steamed Edamame Beans With Sea Salt
Kung Pao Chicken
Fried Brown Rice With Vegetables
Kung Pao Chicken W/ Jasmine Rice
Steak
Dessert
Dragon Tail Spare Ribs
Peking Duck Spring Roll With Hoisin Sauce
Eggplant Tempura, Garlic Green Bean Tempura, Avocado Tempura
Grilled Red Snapper with Steamed Bok Choy and Ginger, Kaffir Lime Vinaigrette
TAO Filet Mignon Shabu Shabu, Ginger Scallion Broth with Wasabi Dipping Sauce
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass
Crispy Soft Shell Crab and Shiso Roll with Yuzu Mayonnaise
Crunchy Spicy Yellowtail Roll with Crushed Onion
Jumbo Shrimp Tempura With Garlic Chili Sauce
Peach Cosmopolitan, Stoli Peach, Pallini Peachello, Triple Sec, Cranberry and Fresh Lime
Shabu Shabu In Action
Lychee Martini, Belvedere, Triple Sec and Fresh Lychee Pureé
Spicy Eggplant
Wagyu Tartare Tempura
Peking Duck Spring Rolls with Hoisin Sauce
Hanger Steak
Chicken satay
Crispy Orange Chicken
Vegetable Egg Rolls
Fried Rice
Springrolls
Pork Dumplings
edamame
Peking Duck
Beef Carpaccio
Vegtable Spring Rolls
Duck
Dumplings
Lettuce wraps
New Year's Eve Table
Perrier-Jouët  
Salmon With Soy Ginger Glaze And Udon
Chicken Pad Thai
Scallops With Red Curry
Ho Fun Noodle Stuffed With Shrimp And Lobster
Hot and Sour Soup
Sushi
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass With Wok Vegetables
Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon
shrimp pad thai
Thai Lettuce Wraps
Kobe Beef Carpaccio
Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno
Grilled Serloin With Thai Style Sauce
Dim Sum
Diver Scallops
Peking Duck Spring Rolls
Salmon Tuna And Albacore Tataki
Chef's Roll
sushi plate
Chicken Gyoza
Roasted Thai Buddha Chicken
Pork Spring Rolls
Lobster Spring Roll
Sexy Lobster Sushi Roll
Spicy Tuna Tartare On Crispy Rice
Giant Fortune Cookie
Omakase Sushi-Sashimi Plate
Miso Chilean Sea Bass
Doughnuts
XO Shrimp With Spinach and Jasmine Rice
Banana Pudding
Sea Scallop
Salmon Tuna Tataki
Cappuccino
Petit Gateau
Donuts
American Kobe Beef
Lobster Wontons with Shiitake Ginger Broth
Shrimp tempura roll
Sliced Yellowtail In Ponzu Sauce
Fortune Cookie
Moo Shu Pork
Vegetable Lo Mein Salad
Talheres
Tempura, Sweet Onion Rings   Sweet Potato
Pan Fried Chicken Gyoza with Napa Cabbage and Soy Dipping Sauce
lobster kim chee fried rice and wasabi filet
Duck Fried Rice
Chinese Five Spice Braised Beef Short Rib
Crispy Shrimp Appetizer Special
Soft Shell Crab & Unagi Crispy Roll
Lobster & Kimchi Fried Rice
Satay Sushi

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

TAO NY has hosted all styles of private parties, including movie premieres, corporate affairs, holiday receptions, business meetings and social events. TAO has accommodations available for 16 to 1000 guests for everything from seated dinners to buffet receptions and cocktail parties.

Tao Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Asian
Manhattan
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown East ›

Special Occasion (275)
Good for Groups (225)
Hot Spot (225)
See All
Fit for Foodies (184)
Vibrant Bar Scene (148)
Romantic (129)
Late-night Find (101)
Great for Lunch (86)
Scenic View (50)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Kid-friendly (22)
Great for Brunch (19)
Notable Wine List (16)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
8022 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excelent service!!👍👍👍

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excelent service!!👍👍👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

drinks are great but too expensive but I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

drinks are great but too expensive but I still keep going back

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Overpriced, mediocre food, and robotic s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Overpriced, mediocre food, and robotic service that felt like turnover in a factory

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Loved it! Amazing decor. Great atmospher ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Loved it! Amazing decor. Great atmosphere and delicious food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Private Room, Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great spot would definitely make this a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

great spot would definitely make this a permanent date spot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was so good. Music was good- staff ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was so good. Music was good- staff was friendly

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went on Saturday night ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I went on Saturday night and liked it so much. We are visiting from Australia .

The following night we went again with some friends from Washington. We all loved it

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

too salty!too salty!too salty!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 4 days ago

too salty!too salty!too salty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Tao is always our treat when we visit NY ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Tao is always our treat when we visit NYC. Short ribs were amazing. Lobster stuffed dumplings with mushrooms were excellent. I'd also recommend Tuna tataki sashimi. Menu changes but the Chilean Seabass is a staple and worth trying. Molten chocolate cake was decadent and beautiful with little chocolate box. We love this place, including decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fantastic, organized service. Friendly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic, organized service. Friendly and informative waitstaff. The pan fried dumplings were cooked perfect with great flavor. The pepper steak and sweet and sour chicken were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate at Tao during restaurant week, so ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

We ate at Tao during restaurant week, so we had a sampling of a few different dishes. Each dish was outstanding... I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and drinks! Nice place for an ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and drinks! Nice place for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful night. Great service !! Would ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful night. Great service !! Would go back again

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was fabulous! It was a great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was fabulous! It was a great experience since it's my first time. The only complaint I have is that the food was too salty but otherwise everything was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fabulous. Waiter was terrific ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was fabulous. Waiter was terrific in explaining dishes but the busboy tried to remove my plate while I had a fork in my hand...and then came back another couple of times while we we still eating. ...oddly trained.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome. Service great. Good time

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Awesome. Service great. Good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved Tao Downtown so much we visited ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We loved Tao Downtown so much we visited Tao Uptown. We had an equally great time. We love Tao so much we're going back again this week. Our waiter was nice enough to mention they have a lunch special all the time, not just for restaurant week. Tao restaurants are fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Specials - lobster gazpacho appetizer an ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Specials - lobster gazpacho appetizer and spiced roasted duck were excellent - but 'regular' menu choices of tuna, orange chicken and kung pao chicken were just so-so - mostly the protein was overlooked. Apps (duck lettuce wraps, potstickers and tempura avocado) and dessert (doughnuts) were great. Server very friendly, attentive and competent and ambience cool as always but food sub-par this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Most overated restaurant in nyc. I don't ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Most overated restaurant in nyc. I don't really understand how it sells out every night. The food was on part with McDonald's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

service was poor, waitress hardly recogn ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

service was poor, waitress hardly recognized us, put the menu down without any explanation, did not point out the restaurant week menu hidden on the table

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Went to celebrate a friend's birthday an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Went to celebrate a friend's birthday and take advantage of Restaurant Week lunch deal. Excellent food, service and ambiance. Probably the most diverse menu I've seen for restaurant week, lots of good choices, no up charges, generous portions. I noted that it was my friend's birthday and they probably didn't know who was the birthday girl, and I use that term losely, so they brought both of our desserts with candles and chocolate happy birthday messages. So sweet and really special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took a family member out for a birthday ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Took a family member out for a birthday lunch at Tao Uptown. We arrived a little earlier than our reservation - however, we were seated right away. Out waiter was very attentive - and knowledgeable about the menu selections and wine list. I would like to get back to Tao for dinner in the near future.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed a delicious lunch during NYC res ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious lunch during NYC restaurant week. Server answered questions we had re: menu, and made suggestions. All 3 courses were delicious: veggie spring rolls, (3 of them, had to share w/ hubby), sashimi chirashi bowl, (had to get a doggy bag for my uneaten veggie rolls) & my favorite dessert of the trip: banana pudding. Very original dessert & so tasty! Hubby had short rib appetizer, kung pao chicken, (again, doggy bag needed), and chocolate parfait. Will definitely return & recommend Tao to friends who visit NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tao is always the best - whether it is a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Tao is always the best - whether it is afternoon or evening! We had the special lunch menu. Great selections and portions! I had the branzini and it was great! My husband had the sushi selection and it also is always a favorite of ours! The appetizers were plentiful and the desserts were wonderful! There is always something for everyone on the menu! Highly recommended! Make sure to request that you have a table that faces the Buddha!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is my second time at Tao, we absolu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is my second time at Tao, we absolutely love this restaurant everything from food selection to the wine list. The ambiance is amazing! Love the lounge experience while waiting for our table. One thing I noticed this time was that they let strollers in the restaurant, not sure if it's a kid friendly place due to the high volume of music but I guess some parents don't mind. Anyways, our table was ready on time, our waitress was on top of everything, the music was very nice. Definitely will be coming back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved TAO just hated the food i choosed. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved TAO just hated the food i choosed. Had 2 bites and threww the rest away. Pad Thai noodles is definitely not for me. The duck was amazing and so was the sushi.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was great but the hostess at the re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was great but the hostess at the reception was so rude.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

What a great spot!! Absolutely loved it ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

What a great spot!! Absolutely loved it and looking forward to coming back. Would highly recommend to others! :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pad Thai is not very good, but every ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The pad Thai is not very good, but everything else was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The food was delicious and the decor ver ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was delicious and the decor very unique. Would recommend and return

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious food and drinks in a buzzy, vi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Delicious food and drinks in a buzzy, vibey scene makes Tao fun with a group. For 2 it's a bit noisy and cavernous, but the food is great. I actually prefer Tao downtown, but not sure why. They are very similar.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a pleasure to visit Tao ! But not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always a pleasure to visit Tao !

But nothing like your restaurant in Vegas !😈

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great food - my don rated the tuna rolls ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food - my don rated the tuna rolls as the best he had ever had!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Group Bookings, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

The Shrimp Were Amazing and The Fresh Fr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The Shrimp Were Amazing and The Fresh Fruit With Sorbet Were Great. Fast Service and Atmosphere, Staff Was Very Attentive And Friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Great atmosphere!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food! Great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food Out of beverages- no capuchin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food

Out of beverages- no capuchino no Chai tea?

Food a little salty- usually great

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food. The leeche martini was perfe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food. The leeche martini was perfect. Not too noisey to handle a normal conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant is very well designed wi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This restaurant is very well designed with a beautiful bar area. However the food was disappointing and the waiter gave us incorrect information about several of the dishes. We found the prices to be high for average tasting Asian food. We would not go back as there are many other places in New York City with better food. If you are looking more for an in spot this might be a good choice.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

such a great experience! we had a gift c ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

such a great experience! we had a gift certificate to tao downtown (through open table) and one of your employees was able to change it and email it to my phone for Tao uptown. we were surprised it was quite crowded for lunch but we were greeted and seated promptly. our server, Joe l, was beyond incredible! so friendly and smiley and on point with everything. super kind to my kids and just all around amazing! food was beyond expectations-but truly the fact that the server was so incredible was what made the excellent meal beyond...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant! The design and ambianc ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great restaurant! The design and ambiance of the restaurant were incredible and really impressed me. There was so much to see, especially the huge Buddha in the back of the restaurant. The food was excellent. I would recommend getting tempura, a california roll and either the mandarin sorbet or the chocolate cake. This is a family friendly restaurant and a great place to bring friends or to hang out late at night. Excellent overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.