About Tao Uptown

42 East 58th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Sunday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Wednesday: 5:00pm- 12:00am, Thursday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 1:00am

Cross Street:
Park & Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 888-2288

Website:
http://www.taorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Enjoy TAO classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premise catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 10 people, to an off-premise event for thousands. TAO signature dishes, including our famous Chilean Sea Bass, Kung Pao Chicken, Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon, Coconut Shrimp, and our wide selection of Sushi, will be delivered right to your door. Use us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, family gathering, or Super Bowl party. Always a Happy Ending!

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
John Villa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all parties of 15 or more please inquire with our banquet department at 212-399-3097.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Giant Fortune Cookie with white and dark chocolate mousse  - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Hangar Steak With Miso And Asian-Spiced Fries - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Chocolate Zen Parfait - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Soy Ginger Glazed Salmon - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Crispy Vegetable Rolls With Duck Mustard Sauce - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Satay Chicken with Peanut Sauce - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Lychee Martini - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Lemongrass Creme Brulee - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Tao Shabu Shabu - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Squab Lettuce Wraps - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Crispy Orange Chicken - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Vegetable Egg Rolls - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Fried Rice - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Springrolls - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Pork Dumplings - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
edamame - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Peking Duck - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Beef Carpaccio - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Vegtable Spring Rolls - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Duck - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Hanger Steak - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Dumplings - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Chicken satay - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Lettuce wraps - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
New Year's Eve Table - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Perrier-Jouët   - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Salmon With Soy Ginger Glaze And Udon - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Chicken Pad Thai - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Scallops With Red Curry - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Ho Fun Noodle Stuffed With Shrimp And Lobster - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Hot and Sour Soup - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Steamed Edamame Beans With Sea Salt - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Kung Pao Chicken - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Sushi - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass With Wok Vegetables - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
shrimp pad thai - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Thai Lettuce Wraps - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Kobe Beef Carpaccio - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Grilled Serloin With Thai Style Sauce - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Dim Sum - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Diver Scallops - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Eggplant Tempura, Garlic Green Bean Tempura, Avocado Tempura - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Grilled Red Snapper with Steamed Bok Choy and Ginger, Kaffir Lime Vinaigrette - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
TAO Filet Mignon Shabu Shabu, Ginger Scallion Broth with Wasabi Dipping Sauce - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Fried Brown Rice With Vegetables - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Kung Pao Chicken W/ Jasmine Rice - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Peking Duck Spring Rolls - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Salmon Tuna And Albacore Tataki - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Chef's Roll - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Crispy Soft Shell Crab and Shiso Roll with Yuzu Mayonnaise - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Crunchy Spicy Yellowtail Roll with Crushed Onion - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Dragon Tail Spare Ribs - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Peking Duck Spring Roll With Hoisin Sauce - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Jumbo Shrimp Tempura With Garlic Chili Sauce - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Peach Cosmopolitan, Stoli Peach, Pallini Peachello, Triple Sec, Cranberry and Fresh Lime - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Shabu Shabu In Action - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Lychee Martini, Belvedere, Triple Sec and Fresh Lychee Pureé - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
sushi plate - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Chicken Gyoza - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Roasted Thai Buddha Chicken  - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Pork Spring Rolls - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Lobster Spring Roll - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Sexy Lobster Sushi Roll - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Spicy Tuna Tartare On Crispy Rice - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Giant Fortune Cookie - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Omakase Sushi-Sashimi Plate - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Miso Chilean Sea Bass - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Spicy Eggplant - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Doughnuts - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
XO Shrimp With Spinach and Jasmine Rice - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Banana Pudding - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Sea Scallop - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Salmon Tuna Tataki - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Cappuccino - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Petit Gateau - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Donuts - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
American Kobe Beef - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Lobster Wontons with Shiitake Ginger Broth - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Shrimp tempura roll - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Sliced Yellowtail In Ponzu Sauce - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Fortune Cookie - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Moo Shu Pork - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Vegetable Lo Mein Salad - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Talheres - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Tempura, Sweet Onion Rings   Sweet Potato - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Pan Fried Chicken Gyoza with Napa Cabbage and Soy Dipping Sauce  - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
lobster kim chee fried rice and wasabi filet - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Duck Fried Rice - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Chinese Five Spice Braised Beef Short Rib - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Crispy Shrimp Appetizer Special - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Soft Shell Crab & Unagi Crispy Roll - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Lobster & Kimchi Fried Rice - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Satay Sushi - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Crispy Duck Breast (W/ A Dash Of Awesomesauce) - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Lemongrass Creme Brulee (w/ Macadamia  - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Peking Duck Spring Rolls with Hoisin Sauce - Tao Uptown, New York, NY
Wagyu Tartare Tempura - Tao Uptown, New York, NY

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

TAO NY has hosted all styles of private parties, including movie premieres, corporate affairs, holiday receptions, business meetings and social events. TAO has accommodations available for 16 to 1000 guests for everything from seated dinners to buffet receptions and cocktail parties.

Tao Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (126)
Hot Spot (121)
Special Occasion (119)
See All
Creative Cuisine (117)
Fun (108)
Good for Groups (100)
Vibrant Bar Scene (88)
Good for Birthdays (82)
Modern Decor (74)
Romantic (63)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Good for Anniversaries (61)
People Watching (57)
Late-night Find (51)
Authentic (51)
Business Meals (47)
Bar Seating (45)
Spicy (37)
Casual (36)
Tasting Menu (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Cozy (30)
Great for Lunch (29)
Good Vegetarian Options (29)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Family Style (26)
Scenic View (25)
Happy Hour (24)
Comfort Food (21)
Tapas (16)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Healthy (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Historic (9)
Seasonal (9)
Live Music (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Vegan (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Private Room (5)
Dancing (5)
Organic (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Waterfront (2)
Live Sports (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
9081 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. Loud but great music! Dumpli ...

 
 (London)·Dined 15 hours ago

Great food. Loud but great music! Dumplings are yummy!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good, but nothing outstandi ...

 
 (London)·Dined 15 hours ago

The food was good, but nothing outstanding. The noise of this place make it more of a nightclub than a restaurant. What's really a pity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Our first time and we loved it! Food and ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Our first time and we loved it! Food and ambience was wonderful!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Loud, food was mediocre - sort of fake A ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Loud, food was mediocre - sort of fake Asian melange of stuff twisted to suit the average conventioneers palate in Las Vegas and sent to New York.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The best I ever had! Outstanding servic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The best I ever had!

Outstanding service

Great food

Beautiful place

Absolute world class!

I can really recommend this place. My girlfriend and I was in New York for the first time, and this was definitely one of the best experiences. Wauw :)

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic, Historic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was flavorful and complex. Alth ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was flavorful and complex. Although I ordered a staple Pad Tai it was the best Pad Tai I have ever had. The sushi we shared was also delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a good place for a high end busin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a good place for a high end business lunch. Food was good, staff attentive, just very very expensive

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Chilean sea bass, droooool! The ribs are ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Chilean sea bass, droooool! The ribs are killer, as is the sushi! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Tapas, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was terrible. Took away from spe ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was terrible. Took away from special dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was medicore at best. Steak served ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was medicore at best. Steak served cold. Restaurant looks old and run down. Completely overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

great service and the food was really go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

great service and the food was really good. overall I will visit it again

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food wonderful service and gre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Delicious food wonderful service and great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'll be baaaaak!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We'll be baaaaak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a great experience at Tao! The s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had a great experience at Tao! The service was great and the food was delicious! We were there for a special occasion and they seated us upstairs with a great view of the entire restaurant. We would definitely want to go back.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious as always! Server w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Absolutely delicious as always! Server was fantastic, did not feel rushed & food was perfectly timed. Remains a favorite!

Tags: Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Tao with its cool vibe and oversiz ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Loved Tao with its cool vibe and oversized Buddha. We started with the Lotus Blossom cocktail and the Tiger Lily- both were hand crafted and delicious. The pork potstickers were elevated by the sesame glaze sauce. We shared the Shrimp Tempura rolls with a tangy curry sauce and the Crispy Spicy Tuna rolls -both rocked.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tao is one of our favorite NYC restauran ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Tao is one of our favorite NYC restaurants! Every visit we make to NYC, includes dinner at Tao! I love their sushi, cocktails are always fabulous and basically anything you order will not disappoint! Be sure to go early and have a drink in the bar area, great atmosphere and the servers are great! We also love going with a group because it is such a fun restaurant-good music, food and attentive service so basically one my favorite restaurants in a city with many to choose from. Be sure to make your reservation and we prefer sitting upstairs-enjoy looking out over the crowd. Will be back next month, can't wait! Would be awesome if they would open a Tao Restaurant in Atlanta...hint, hint!

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was decent; solid but not exception ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food was decent; solid but not exceptional, and definitely underwhelming considering the cost.

Portion size was good, however.

Service was mixed - our own server was slow to appear and fast to disappear; but another server was always close and helped us though it wasn't her table. Wish we could leave her personally the tip.

Ambiance was not bad but music was too loud and music choice was awful (especially for an Asian Fusion place).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

What a wonderful meal again. I keep retu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

What a wonderful meal again. I keep returning to Tao to impress my guests in town, service is fantastic and good consistently delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to TAO for lunch and enjoyed i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I've been to TAO for lunch and enjoyed it. However, dinner was an entirely different experience. I found the food to be extremely overpriced for what it was. The atmosphere was noisy and the tables too close together. Service was fair, a bit slow in my opinion. The food was good but not fantastic. I would not return for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

It wasnt any special or creative Food AT ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

It wasnt any special or creative Food AT ALL. Went there 9th of jan 2017 with my family hoping it would be a new experiance of asian food but we could just as well have gone to a foodtruck on the street and prob get better food. Dont go here, its a big disapontment.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The overall deco and "feel" is fabulous. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The overall deco and "feel" is fabulous. Service was fantastic and the food was phenomenal, and we have high standards as we lived in Asia... very nice place, very well located.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choice for Sunday brunch. Althoug ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great choice for Sunday brunch. Although we did not get the prix fixe menu this time, it is a great value that makes Tao a good choice for dining with school age kids if you are looking to have a civilized meal in this neighborhood without spending a fortune. The service was friendly and prompt. We ordered very basic items on this visit (sashimi, udon and edamame) all of which were well-executed and well-presented. I was impressed with the quality of the vegetables, particularly the mushrooms, that accompanied the udon.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very eclectic place - loud music in bar ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very eclectic place - loud music in bar area, less so in immense dining room dominated by 40+ foot tall Buddha statue. Side booths less noisy so if you want to have a conversation without yelling to be heard, sit there.

Food was quite good - shrimp tempura had very large shrimp, not too much batter. Tuna tartare mild flavor. Stir fried beef sirloin was excellent, cooked exactly medium rare. Coconut shrimp very tasty, lots of coconut flavor.

Service was very good. Price + value of food

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We dined here for our anniversary and we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We dined here for our anniversary and we absolutely enjoyed everything. You MUST try the molten chocolate cake for dessert! One of the best I have had. Everything about this place was amazing. We went around 5:00pm, and loved the fact it wasn't crowded. After dinner we sat at the bar for few drinks and the bartender Anthony was just a sweetheart!

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great experience.. the service was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had a great experience.. the service was good even on a snow day. Since we arrived earlier we got seated before our reservation time.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

went for afternoon pre fix. the menu was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

went for afternoon pre fix. the menu was very good. the food was excellant. it was so much food we thought this could be dinner. service with a smile . will be going back with family. atmosphere becoming

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, staff and decor in this restau ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food, staff and decor in this restaurant is phenomenal. You will not be disappointed, in fact, you are sure to be overly impressed with the entire experience. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Scenic View, Business Meals, Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was good. The food was ok! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The ambiance was good. The food was ok! If you have an peanut allergy or don't like them. Make sure you mention to waiter!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Celebrated my Birthday there with 7 peop ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Celebrated my Birthday there with 7 people total. Overall it was an amazing experience. Everyone loved the food. The ambiance is lively and energetic with good music and cocktails. Our waitress was really great! But the supporting staff was a little careless. Utensils were dropped on the table when cleaning our plates and water bottles were almost knocked over.

Other than that no complaints! One of the hottest places in NYC - although TAO downtown is slightly better I think.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Food...Orange Chicken is a must!! ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great Food...Orange Chicken is a must!! Tender Bar and Great for a Drink before! A New York Must!!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very bad and very expensive. in New York ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

very bad and very expensive. in New York expecting something different and not a bad simulated of Buda bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Its truly a wonderful place. I've loved ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Its truly a wonderful place. I've loved going here over the years. It's a beautiful restaurant with amazing service and atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was enjoyable other then serv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Everything was enjoyable other then service - not sure our server ever even asked us if we wanted cocktails and she didn't suggestively sell or recommend anything. She also lacked in personality and politeness. Bussers were great.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

We had a reservation at 8:30pm for 2 on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We had a reservation at 8:30pm for 2 on Monday January 2, 2017. We were seated upstairs. The second our waitress approached us, we knew we would not have an enjoyable night--although we were both extremely friendly as we are also in the food/customer service industry. She was extremely rude and never smiled. She made us feel like a nuisance and was rushing us to order. She was also extremely grumpy talking to our neighbour tables. The food also took forever to come to our table and there was no sincere apology. When my friend got her pad Thai, it was not the way she ordered and the waitress appeared annoyed that she got it wrong--but SAID IT WAS MY FRIENDS FAULT!! Also, when we asked her if it turned into a night club at night (we're from out of the country and not familiar with Tao) she responded with "uh no? It's Monday..". The only time she was friendly was when she handed us the bill (excited she was done with our table but hoping for a generous tip?)

I WILL NOT be returning to Tao, and will not be recommending this Location to anybody.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Nice ambiance with special and testy foo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Nice ambiance with special and testy food. It was my first time in Tao. I have appreciated the decoration, the ambiance, the service and the quality of food. Happy to have discovered a such restaurant during my stay in NY.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In from out of town from Toronto Canada ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 3, 2017

In from out of town from Toronto Canada and had a wonderful time. Food was great. Service was amazing. Atmosphere was amazing. Will be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tanto el servicio como la comida fue gen ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Tanto el servicio como la comida fue genial.

Recomiendo el lugar ya que consiguen que todo resulte especial.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing atmosphere and the food was wond ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Amazing atmosphere and the food was wonderful - the only issue we had was the background music - classic pop rock did not suit the place. We were also located directly below the speaker so there was no avoiding it. Otherwise a great experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous ambience server was fabulous an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Fabulous ambience server was fabulous and extremely helpful. Food was fabulous...definitely a must visit when in town....a little pricy but fab

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.