About Tao Uptown

42 East 58th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Sunday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Wednesday: 5:00pm- 12:00am, Thursday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 1:00am

Cross Street:
Park & Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 888-2288

Website:
http://www.taorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Enjoy TAO classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premise catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 10 people, to an off-premise event for thousands. TAO signature dishes, including our famous Chilean Sea Bass, Kung Pao Chicken, Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon, Coconut Shrimp, and our wide selection of Sushi, will be delivered right to your door. Use us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, family gathering, or Super Bowl party. Always a Happy Ending!

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
John Villa

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all parties of 15 or more please inquire with our banquet department at 212-399-3097.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

TAO NY has hosted all styles of private parties, including movie premieres, corporate affairs, holiday receptions, business meetings and social events. TAO has accommodations available for 16 to 1000 guests for everything from seated dinners to buffet receptions and cocktail parties.

Tao Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

hot spot (359)
good for groups (334)
special occasion (329)
See All
vibrant bar scene (266)
fit for foodies (266)
late-night find (173)
romantic (169)
great for lunch (103)
scenic view (79)
neighborhood gem (65)
great for brunch (33)
notable wine list (31)
kid-friendly (30)
great for outdoor dining (22)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
7818 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3

Food is on par with good Thai but price ...

Dined 8 hours ago

Food is on par with good Thai but price point is not.

food5
ambience4
service5

Pro: Great food. Great service. Con: ...

Dined 3 days ago

Pro: Great food. Great service. Con: The bathrooms are a hassle. They're down a flight of stairs and the attendant is ready to pump your soap and get a tip. Overall experience was an A.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch was awesome. I highly recommend th ...

Dined 4 days ago

Lunch was awesome. I highly recommend the chocolate souffle for dessert!!!

food4
ambience4
service5

Always a great lunch!

Dined 4 days ago

Always a great lunch!

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We arrived 5 minutes early as instructed ...

Dined 4 days ago

We arrived 5 minutes early as instructed and were seated a very dark alcove. Our server was extremely anxious to have us order, eat and leave quickly. She kept coming back to hurry us and collecting menus and empty dishes. All in all, our meal took about 35 minutes for five and we were all feeling like we weren't really wanted here. The food was ok but getting the bums rush was not fun. And yes we were dressed appropriately and had eaten at Tao before. Won't go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excelent food, beautiful place.

Dined 5 days ago

Excelent food, beautiful place.

food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Great food but too dark and noisy

Dined 5 days ago

We had a wait of over half an hour for our table, with no explanation or apology. The food was great but the restaurant was more like a club than somewhere to eat. We were not the only table using the flashlight on their phone in order to read the menu! The DJ and loud music meant that any form of conversation just wasn't possible.

food5
ambience3
service5
value2

I have eaten at Tao in Las Vegas. It wa ...

Dined 5 days ago

I have eaten at Tao in Las Vegas. It was on par with that experience. However the pricing was what you can expect for that level of food. There is no value or steal for the food, but it is definitely worth it if you can appreciate the food. One of the most interesting items to order is the Lychee Martini. They use Absolut Elyx. This is not the same as the regular junk Absolut vodka. It is a very high end, similar to the Stoli Elite. This is a very rare vodka so it is appreciated. I would say that the music was a tad bit lout so we could not hear each other talk very easily.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was AMAZING! One "negative" we ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was AMAZING! One "negative" we experienced that night, though was one of our items we ordered didn't come out with the other dishes. When we brought it to our waiter's attention, he immediately looked into it and let us know he did. It was still brought out quite a bit after that.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very Good Asian Food

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Quality Japanese and Chinese food. Attentive service. A bit too dark for my taste, especially the bar area. The music during dinner is a repetitive thumping beat. But the food made up for it. Not cheap.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

We got our table 35 minutes after the re ...

Dined 6 days ago

We got our table 35 minutes after the reservation, but food and service was very good

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

receive a bill without asking for it

Dined 6 days ago

I found very indelicate to receive the bill without asking for it. It seems they want us to leave as soon as possible to have a free table. The restaurant is good, beautiful, good food but should take care more about the clients and less about the number of tables served per night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place and good food. Service was g ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great place and good food. Service was good Price normal for New York

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Loved the atmosphere. Great hospitality

Dined on May 21, 2016

Loved the atmosphere. Great hospitality

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, service and ambiance. Make ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Amazing food, service and ambiance. Make sure you have a reservation to make your dining experience even better.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

I was disappointed with the service.

Dined on May 20, 2016

Despite a reservation I was made to wait for 45 mins. Our drinks, soup and main course were brought all together giving us the feeling that they wanted us to leave and also making it impossible for us to enjoy the food and drinks.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brilliant Restaurant!

Dined on May 20, 2016

This was my second visit to Tao Uptown, the first having been 10 years ago for my NYU graduation dinner. I was incredibly pleased that the experience at Tao Uptown was just as I remembered it! Starting with drinks in the lounge, before being seated, the vibrant atmosphere of the lounge was upbeat and incredibly fun and exciting. Perfect for setting the mood of the evening. I would love to come back JUST for drinks in the lounge! After being seated, the maître d' and waiters were all incredibly attentive, knowledgeable, and helpful. The wine list was amazing--although it would've been nice to have some options to purchase a glass of wine or even a carafe, as opposed to an entire bottle. Nevertheless, the wine we chose was delicious and went perfectly with our meals. Which leads me to the food--EXQUISITE. I could list every adjective possible to express how delectable our meals were. Perfect portion size, and incredibly delicious. As one that does not care for seafood, aside from sushi, I was even impressed with the scallops, coconut shrimp, and shrimp toast. My dish was the Kung Pao Chicken---hands down, the best Kung Pao dish I've had anywhere (and I'm a connoisseur of the dish). The size and texture of chicken morsels was perfect, the vegetables were superb, and the sauce was magnificent---pulling the dish together, like a bow to a brightly wrapped package. Tao Uptown is the place to be--perfect for special occasions, groups (large and small), or just a fun night out on the town! I look forward to dining with Tao again, and possibly even host an event in the future! Bravo!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious pan Asian good! Ama ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Absolutely delicious pan Asian good! Amazing drinks. Sushi is fresh and melts in your mouth.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good ambiance, but not so good service

Dined on May 18, 2016

We made a reservation four weeks in advance. It took them over an hour to sit us after the time of our reservation. We were celebrating a special occasion, so it was very frustrating to have to wait. The food was good. The restaurant was lively and the decor is very nice.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food

Dined on May 18, 2016

excellent food. Great for sharing and trying a little of everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went there for my wife's birthday. T ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We went there for my wife's birthday. The food was delicious, the service was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1

I had a reservation for 6:45 and we were ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

I had a reservation for 6:45 and we weren't seated until 7:30. The hostess was incredibly rude, the food was fine, not good or great and it was very loud. Also, it was extremely overpriced, I definitely don't plan to go back.

food4
ambience4
service2
value2

We loved the food but everything else wa ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We loved the food but everything else was left to be desired for...our reservation was 7:45 and we didn't get seated until 8:30. The restaurant didn't comp anything or acknowledge anything. I felt that's not how a very trendy expensive restaurant should behave. The waiter brought the bill without us asking, which I also felt was presumptuous and frankly rude, especially when there were many empty tables around us. Lastly the waiter circled the disclaimer of how gratituity was not included, etc. I think that was really cheesy on the restaurant's part - if the restaurant feels so entitled why not just add on tips automatically? After all it seems the level of services is no longer a determinant to tips anymore? I think the service is very disappointing and that's the management's failing.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Ambience and great food!

Dined on May 16, 2016

The staff at Tao is tremendous. Low lighting and high ceilings with brick walls. Its a fun place to take visitors because it is unique and never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a reservation and were seated imm ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We had a reservation and were seated immediately. Service was fast. Drinks were luscious and the food was incredible. We enjoyed it and will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent time and food highly recommend

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent time and food highly recommend

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was outstanding. Short ribs were be ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was outstanding. Short ribs were best ever. Simple dishes like Pad Thai were amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Tao before but I haven't ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I have been to Tao before but I haven't been here in years. Reservations definitely help with the wait time. It is pricey but well worth it as everything was delicious. The staff was all great and it's a beautiful restaurant. This location is smaller than the downtown so it's a more intimate experience. Great for a date night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE LOVE this place!!! Great music amaz ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

LOVE LOVE this place!!! Great music amazing drinks and the service is great!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Chilean sea bass was great but did not e ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Chilean sea bass was great but did not enjoy the salmon which was a bit fishy. I thought the noise level was a bit much with club music blaring in the background, therefore, I would not recommend this place if you're planning to have conversations.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was fantastic, ambiance was great, ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was fantastic, ambiance was great, but be patient, you typically wait event with a reservation.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Long waiting and no information even if ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Long waiting and no information even if you had booked a table, very noisy, very young people

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food but dont respect reservation time

Dined on May 14, 2016

They give you a 15 minutes grace after the time of your reservation, but when you arrive on time they make you wait for 1 hour...never seen that before! This is so much a lack if respect...and the music is too loud; you would expect it that loud when there is a dance flour, which is not the case...too bad because the food is really good!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! I went here last time t ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Love this place! I went here last time to celebrate my new job. I always enjoy the food and drinks. Hard to go wrong here I think.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to get a seat at the bar

Dined on May 12, 2016

Always try to get the back seats at the upstairs bar, great view of the restaurant, good service, great food, normally just have lots of appetizers

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

the hottest place in town for a diner... ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

the hottest place in town for a diner...................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Didn't feel like value for money

Dined on May 11, 2016

If it was priced one level down I might have felt differently, The vibe was nice, design is impressive, service was good - but we came there for the food, and well - it was just not good enough...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant we ate at in NYC (we als ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Best restaurant we ate at in NYC (we also went to Nobu) but Tao Uptown completely won in terms of food, menu choice, cocktails and ambience. We wish you had one in London! 😊

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tao not quite wow but dessert is kapow

Dined on May 11, 2016

Tao is high-end Asian cuisine, and offers top quality food and excellent ambience. The lunch special, consisting of appetizer, entrée and dessert, is not cheap, but a good value and makes sense for a business lunch. If you go this route, you will probably find it to be too much food. I had the vegetable spring roll appetizer, which was quite good. The kung pao chicken entrée was good quality, but too sweet and bready for my taste. Even though it was good quality, the preparation made it reminiscent of fast food Chinese. So, good, but not "wow." The dessert on the other hand (and I am not a big dessert person) was outstanding. Banana pudding with a perfect biscuit. Really special. The ambience at Tao is perfect and the service is excellent.-

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I go there whenever I visit NYC and the ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I go there whenever I visit NYC and they never disappoint. We had the prix-fix lunch which we enjoyed a lot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.