About Tao Uptown

42 East 58th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Sunday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Wednesday: 5:00pm- 12:00am, Thursday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 1:00am

Cross Street:
Park & Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 888-2288

Website:
http://www.taorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Enjoy TAO classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premise catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 10 people, to an off-premise event for thousands. TAO signature dishes, including our famous Chilean Sea Bass, Kung Pao Chicken, Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon, Coconut Shrimp, and our wide selection of Sushi, will be delivered right to your door. Use us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, family gathering, or Super Bowl party. Always a Happy Ending!

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
John Villa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all parties of 15 or more please inquire with our banquet department at 212-399-3097.

Restaurant Photos

Giant Fortune Cookie with white and dark chocolate mousse
Lychee Martini
Hangar Steak With Miso And Asian-Spiced Fries
Chocolate Zen Parfait
Soy Ginger Glazed Salmon
Crispy Vegetable Rolls With Duck Mustard Sauce
Satay Chicken with Peanut Sauce
Lemongrass Creme Brulee
Tao Shabu Shabu
Squab Lettuce Wraps
Steamed Edamame Beans With Sea Salt
Fried Brown Rice With Vegetables
Kung Pao Chicken W/ Jasmine Rice
Steak
Dessert
Kung Pao Chicken
Dragon Tail Spare Ribs
Peking Duck Spring Roll With Hoisin Sauce
Eggplant Tempura, Garlic Green Bean Tempura, Avocado Tempura
Grilled Red Snapper with Steamed Bok Choy and Ginger, Kaffir Lime Vinaigrette
TAO Filet Mignon Shabu Shabu, Ginger Scallion Broth with Wasabi Dipping Sauce
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass
Crispy Soft Shell Crab and Shiso Roll with Yuzu Mayonnaise
Crunchy Spicy Yellowtail Roll with Crushed Onion
Jumbo Shrimp Tempura With Garlic Chili Sauce
Peach Cosmopolitan, Stoli Peach, Pallini Peachello, Triple Sec, Cranberry and Fresh Lime
Shabu Shabu In Action
Lychee Martini, Belvedere, Triple Sec and Fresh Lychee Pureé
Spicy Eggplant
Wagyu Tartare Tempura
Peking Duck Spring Rolls with Hoisin Sauce
Crispy Orange Chicken
Vegetable Egg Rolls
Fried Rice
Springrolls
Pork Dumplings
edamame
Peking Duck
Beef Carpaccio
Vegtable Spring Rolls
Duck
Hanger Steak
Dumplings
Chicken satay
Lettuce wraps
New Year's Eve Table
Perrier-Jouët  
Salmon With Soy Ginger Glaze And Udon
Chicken Pad Thai
Scallops With Red Curry
Ho Fun Noodle Stuffed With Shrimp And Lobster
Hot and Sour Soup
Sushi
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass With Wok Vegetables
Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon
shrimp pad thai
Thai Lettuce Wraps
Kobe Beef Carpaccio
Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno
Grilled Serloin With Thai Style Sauce
Dim Sum
Diver Scallops
Peking Duck Spring Rolls
Salmon Tuna And Albacore Tataki
Chef's Roll
sushi plate
Chicken Gyoza
Roasted Thai Buddha Chicken
Pork Spring Rolls
Lobster Spring Roll
Sexy Lobster Sushi Roll
Spicy Tuna Tartare On Crispy Rice
Giant Fortune Cookie
Omakase Sushi-Sashimi Plate
Miso Chilean Sea Bass
Doughnuts
XO Shrimp With Spinach and Jasmine Rice
Banana Pudding
Sea Scallop
Salmon Tuna Tataki
Cappuccino
Petit Gateau
Donuts
American Kobe Beef
Lobster Wontons with Shiitake Ginger Broth
Shrimp tempura roll
Sliced Yellowtail In Ponzu Sauce
Fortune Cookie
Moo Shu Pork
Vegetable Lo Mein Salad
Talheres
Tempura, Sweet Onion Rings   Sweet Potato
Pan Fried Chicken Gyoza with Napa Cabbage and Soy Dipping Sauce
lobster kim chee fried rice and wasabi filet
Duck Fried Rice
Chinese Five Spice Braised Beef Short Rib
Crispy Shrimp Appetizer Special
Soft Shell Crab & Unagi Crispy Roll
Lobster & Kimchi Fried Rice
Satay Sushi

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

TAO NY has hosted all styles of private parties, including movie premieres, corporate affairs, holiday receptions, business meetings and social events. TAO has accommodations available for 16 to 1000 guests for everything from seated dinners to buffet receptions and cocktail parties.

Tao Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown East ›

Special Occasion (234)
Hot Spot (181)
Good for Groups (180)
See All
Fit for Foodies (137)
Vibrant Bar Scene (116)
Romantic (113)
Great for Lunch (76)
Late-night Find (73)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Scenic View (40)
Good for a Date (35)
Modern Decor (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Fun (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
People Watching (19)
Kid-friendly (18)
Business Meals (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Spicy (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Casual (9)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Family Style (4)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fireplace (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Private Room (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
Newest
8107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The hostess sat us at table that was a c ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

The hostess sat us at table that was a community table and said no one would be coming for awhile-there was a couple there in 2 mins. We told the manager-he was so rude, not accommodating and was just rude by repeating that people were always gong to sit there and that's the restaurant. We decided to eat at the bar where atleast the bartender made up for the rude manager and out to lunch hostess

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Amazing dinner! The best!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing dinner! The best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tao is a must go to ! Food is excellent

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Tao is a must go to ! Food is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you never have, you should. These thi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

If you never have, you should. These things are fun, and fun is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing... always loved it here. The foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing... always loved it here. The food wass amazing and as expected so were the drinks. I would definitely recommend TAO to anyone

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The place was amazing I would defanately ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The place was amazing I would defanately go back and I'm planning to take my daughter

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good was awful . Service was bad . The s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good was awful . Service was bad . The staff are overconfident and there is no humility !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Tao remains one of the premiere restaura ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

Tao remains one of the premiere restaurants in Manhattan. It's her favorite place, so it pretty much makes it mine too, but I'm not complaining. The food is great, the staff certainly goes out of their way to help out and the atmosphere is spot on. We had reservations for 9:30 PM. Due to the bomb explosion earlier that day the traffic in Manhattan was brutal. We arrived 45 minutes late but they still seated our party within the hour. It was nearly 2:30 am before we left the restaurant. I love the downtown location too. Tao is amazing and I have her permission to say so....

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Fun, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Thank you to Tao for making my twin daug ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Thank you to Tao for making my twin daughter's 16th birthday special. Our server Jasmine was awesome and had great recommendations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We were definitely spoiled by getting a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were definitely spoiled by getting a table on the upper balcony that overlooked everything. The giant Buddha and patrons are great to just watch for a while.

Many of the appetizers / entrees seemed overpriced (this coming from a Chinatown dive-joint-connoisseur) but there were definitely enough options to keep most folks within a budget.

Would definitely go back knowing the price range and ambiance!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Don't take first date there, she'll stil ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Don't take first date there, she'll still pick someone else

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance and energy always feels gre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The ambiance and energy always feels great once youre past the resevations entrance and into the bar/lounge area. The DJ is an excellent touch as it's never too loud or playing depressive music. The food is amazing. It's the reason Tao is a favorite restaurant of mine. However, the hostess and reservations folks can be a bit edgy and short on patience. It's noticeable and slightly understood considering how busy it can be, but just a reminder that it's always a pleasure to interact with courtesy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Despite our booking and the fact that we ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Despite our booking and the fact that we were on time, we had to wait more than 30mins. The bar was crowded, no room at the bar, the service was more than average. No apologies or extra for the delay. The food was good, especially the south East Asian dishes. Cocktails and desserts are amazing. That's a shame they don't respect their clients

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Loud and noisy - its a scene if that's y ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Loud and noisy - its a scene if that's your thing. Table was not ready - not withstanding the reservation. And we waited 30 mins. I think this is common practice. It was very loud and very cold - air-conditioning was blowing right on us and it sure felt icy. Even though the food was yummy I struggled to hear our friends - defeats the purpose of dining with friend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

First time ever I would not recommend a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

First time ever I would not recommend a restaurant where I value the food at 5 stars. The noise was one reason but it felt like they tried to serve as many people as possible (only 10 cm between tables) in as short possible time. Great restaurant, great food but bad experience

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We took my daughter here for her 13th bi ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We took my daughter here for her 13th birthday. We ordered the edamame, satay chicken skewers and lettuce wraps for appetizers. Very good except the chicken skewers are quantity of 3 and hard to share on the skewers, but the peanut sauce with them was delicious. The lettuce wraps were perfect and a great thing to order for sharing. We had the crispy orange chicken, spicy lobster roll and coconut shrimp. All was very good except for the coconut shrimp. It says with peanut sauce, it's actually served over a cold salad with a side of sauce. I was not a fan of the cold salad underneath the hot shrimp. They did an exceptional job delivering the birthday desserts, the giant fortune cookie, icecream and molten chocolate cake. All very good.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food the waiter suggested was not ta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food the waiter suggested was not tasty at all unfortunately... the appitizers were perfect. Next time I will return to the other location downtown where they had a reddnapper that came fried and was delish!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Amazing service, best waitress i have ev ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Amazing service, best waitress i have ever had in Tao

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great experience at Tao for my roo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Had a great experience at Tao for my roommate's 25th birthday dinner! Great specialty cocktails, all of the food was delicious (especially the pork potstickers with sea same chili sauce and the Kung pao chicken)! Our server was also great- attentive and very personable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a bad choice for us since we were Me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Was a bad choice for us since we were

Meeting someone we wanted to be able to talk to during the meal and it was impossible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

A fun place to visit. Good food and fabu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

A fun place to visit. Good food and fabulous cocktails. Creative interior. Would recomend the place.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, People Watching, Modern Decor, Fun, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Creative menu, taste was nothing special ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Creative menu, taste was nothing special and frankly not worth the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was amazing... We Got the lunch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food was amazing... We Got the lunch deal, with 3 courses... Great value for money...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! The food and service w ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great experience! The food and service was amazing !

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot, sexy, exotic atmosphere, qui ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great spot, sexy, exotic atmosphere, quick efficient and very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were acting like total tourists and o ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We were acting like total tourists and only explored noodle dishes but they were amazing! Our server Vanessa was above and beyond wonderful and we were treated like royalty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! We all took our server's su ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great food! We all took our server's suggestions. Orange chicken and pepper steak. So good!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fabulous as always and Mary ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was fabulous as always and Mary our waitress was awesome, friendly and on point!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation for 1015 and we wer ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a reservation for 1015 and we weren't sat until 1130. It wouldn't have been so bad if we had somewhere to wait but the bar was completely packed with nowhere to sit. I was shocked at how many people waiting also had reservations. There is no point in making any Resos if your wait time is longer than a wait time of someone who didn't make one. The food is always excellent but if we knew how long it would have taken to be sat we would have avoided coming and went to nobu or buddakan because atleast the service there matches the incredible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Almost an hour waiting time although we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Almost an hour waiting time although we have booked a table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

food was great, so was the atmosphere. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

food was great, so was the atmosphere.

needed improvement: although we had a reservation we waited more than half an hour for the table- no apologies at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Disappointed their menu does not have so ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Disappointed their menu does not have some of the great items available at other TAO locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Has turned into a 12 year old and older, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Has turned into a 12 year old and older, birthday party spot. Noise level was excessive. Room was over crowded. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Awesome food. Great server. Very accomm ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Awesome food. Great server. Very accommodating , we were originally scheduled for 7:00 but the US Open was running late and after calling to see if we could reschedule, we were told to just come in and they'd seat us as soon as they were able. When we arrived, we were seated immediately. Would recommend this restaurant. Have been to the location in Las Vegas so was hoping the experience here would be the same and it was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was hands down the absolute best su ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was hands down the absolute best sushi I have ever had in my life. Everything was fresh and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an 8:30pm reservation and had to wai ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had an 8:30pm reservation and had to wait until 9:35pm to be seated. Service was horrible!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Love the food. Love the decor. Excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Love the food. Love the decor. Excellent service. Celebrated a birthday there. Had a fabulous time! Will definitely go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant, overpriced. Food is go ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Nice restaurant, overpriced.

Food is good, but not amazing.

Expensive.

Great ambiance.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Overall a great dining experience in an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Overall a great dining experience in an energetic environment; great food & drinks and a very special atmosphere.

The one thing that curtailed the experience was the constant feeling of being pressured through dinner to make the space available for the next guest. We've done a lot of dining out in NYC - this felt too much.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was decent overall, but not good en ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was decent overall, but not good enough to come back for. Our server was great, but food took forever to arrive. Cool looking restaurant with a good vibe though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.