About Tao Uptown

42 East 58th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Sunday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Wednesday: 5:00pm- 12:00am, Thursday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 1:00am

Cross Street:
Park & Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 888-2288

Website:
http://www.taorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Enjoy TAO classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premise catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 10 people, to an off-premise event for thousands. TAO signature dishes, including our famous Chilean Sea Bass, Kung Pao Chicken, Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon, Coconut Shrimp, and our wide selection of Sushi, will be delivered right to your door. Use us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, family gathering, or Super Bowl party. Always a Happy Ending!

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
John Villa

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all parties of 15 or more please inquire with our banquet department at 212-399-3097.

Restaurant Photos

Giant Fortune Cookie with white and dark chocolate mousse
Lychee Martini
Hangar Steak With Miso And Asian-Spiced Fries
Chocolate Zen Parfait
Soy Ginger Glazed Salmon
Satay Chicken with Peanut Sauce
Crispy Vegetable Rolls With Duck Mustard Sauce
Lemongrass Creme Brulee
Kung Pao Chicken
Steamed Edamame Beans With Sea Salt
Squab Lettuce Wraps
Tao Shabu Shabu
Fried Brown Rice With Vegetables
Kung Pao Chicken W/ Jasmine Rice
Steak
Dessert
Dragon Tail Spare Ribs
Peking Duck Spring Roll With Hoisin Sauce
TAO Filet Mignon Shabu Shabu, Ginger Scallion Broth with Wasabi Dipping Sauce
Eggplant Tempura, Garlic Green Bean Tempura, Avocado Tempura
Grilled Red Snapper with Steamed Bok Choy and Ginger, Kaffir Lime Vinaigrette
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass
Jumbo Shrimp Tempura With Garlic Chili Sauce
Lychee Martini, Belvedere, Triple Sec and Fresh Lychee Pureé
Crunchy Spicy Yellowtail Roll with Crushed Onion
Crispy Soft Shell Crab and Shiso Roll with Yuzu Mayonnaise
Shabu Shabu In Action
Peach Cosmopolitan, Stoli Peach, Pallini Peachello, Triple Sec, Cranberry and Fresh Lime
Spicy Eggplant
Wagyu Tartare Tempura
Peking Duck Spring Rolls with Hoisin Sauce
Hanger Steak
Chicken satay
Banana Pudding
Bbq Hanger Steak
Crispy Orange Chicken
Vegetable Egg Rolls
Fried Rice
Springrolls
Pork Dumplings
edamame
Peking Duck
Beef Carpaccio
Vegtable Spring Rolls
Duck
Dumplings
Lettuce wraps
New Year's Eve Table
Perrier-Jouët  
Salmon With Soy Ginger Glaze And Udon
Chicken Pad Thai
Scallops With Red Curry
Ho Fun Noodle Stuffed With Shrimp And Lobster
Hot and Sour Soup
Sushi
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass With Wok Vegetables
Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon
shrimp pad thai
Thai Lettuce Wraps
Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno
Kobe Beef Carpaccio
Grilled Serloin With Thai Style Sauce
Dim Sum
Diver Scallops
Peking Duck Spring Rolls
Salmon Tuna And Albacore Tataki
Chef's Roll
sushi plate
Chicken Gyoza
Roasted Thai Buddha Chicken
Pork Spring Rolls
Lobster Spring Roll
Sexy Lobster Sushi Roll
Spicy Tuna Tartare On Crispy Rice
Giant Fortune Cookie
Omakase Sushi-Sashimi Plate
Miso Chilean Sea Bass
Doughnuts
XO Shrimp With Spinach and Jasmine Rice
Sea Scallop
Salmon Tuna Tataki
Donuts
Petit Gateau
Cappuccino
American Kobe Beef
Lobster Wontons with Shiitake Ginger Broth
Shrimp tempura roll
Sliced Yellowtail In Ponzu Sauce
Fortune Cookie
Moo Shu Pork
Talheres
Vegetable Lo Mein Salad
Tempura, Sweet Onion Rings   Sweet Potato
Pan Fried Chicken Gyoza with Napa Cabbage and Soy Dipping Sauce
lobster kim chee fried rice and wasabi filet
Chinese Five Spice Braised Beef Short Rib
Duck Fried Rice
Crispy Shrimp Appetizer Special
Crispy Duck Breast (W/ A Dash Of Awesomesauce)
Satay Sushi

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

TAO NY has hosted all styles of private parties, including movie premieres, corporate affairs, holiday receptions, business meetings and social events. TAO has accommodations available for 16 to 1000 guests for everything from seated dinners to buffet receptions and cocktail parties.

Tao Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

hot spot (256)
special occasion (252)
good for groups (233)
See All
fit for foodies (187)
vibrant bar scene (182)
late-night find (118)
romantic (114)
great for lunch (74)
scenic view (53)
neighborhood gem (47)
great for outdoor dining (24)
notable wine list (22)
kid-friendly (19)
great for brunch (17)
business meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
7918 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved the waiter, although he doesn't s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Loved the waiter, although he doesn't share his name with us. He gave us all the time we needed, and patiently described and explained a few of the platters we asked about. And because of that, we were able to make excellent selections, and had a wonderful experience. We both will be back, for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was disappointed with my experience at ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

I was disappointed with my experience at this location because it was poor all around. A complete cluster for an occassion that was supposed to be my anniversery.

very surprising because so many folks recommended the place to me for its ambiance and food. I had also eaten at their sister location and absolutly loved it.

my complaints:

1) waitress inattentive

2) took over 30m to get drinks after sitting down. Took a while to even order drinks.

3)appetizer was wrong 2x.

4)waitress forgot to place order for part of main course. 1 roll arrived instead of 2.

5)i never got dessert i ordered.

Food was tasty when it arrived mind you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Tao uptown consistently delivers - alway ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Tao uptown consistently delivers - always great service, food, and ambience. The vibe and interiors are very suitable for business or leisure.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always satisfied with the food and servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always satisfied with the food and service everytime I come to this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great except my wife got a lobs ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was great except my wife got a lobster dish and it was very difficult to crack the shells. Very messy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I found the service rushed....and the sa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I found the service rushed....and the sauces are extremely salty. This is my 4th time to this restaurant and it's always very salty, especially the fried rice and sea bass skewers

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great restaurant, great food! Quite noi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great restaurant, great food! Quite noisy, but we expected that as we have been to the one in Las Vegas. Desserts were to die for!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was disappointing how the waiters wer ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It was disappointing how the waiters were rushing my table to make our orders and pay the bill due to a buyout which was only 2h later...

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

LOVED THIS PLACE. The food was so amazin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

LOVED THIS PLACE. The food was so amazing and so worth the price, the service was great as well. It is the perfect restaurant is you want good ambiance, great food and a wonderful view.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good! Just not as good as tao d ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was good! Just not as good as tao downtown!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Took my 17 year old nephew there...he lo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Took my 17 year old nephew there...he loved it. The only think I thought could be better was the check in process, the staff could have been slightly nicer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

peking duck pancakes were crispy not sof ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

peking duck pancakes were crispy not soft. Wrong. Fried vegetable rice was soggy and tasteless. Quality of the rest of the food was ok to good. For the prices charged not a place to recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Service was great and food was delicious ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service was great and food was delicious. Recommend the fortune cookie for dessert.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is always great. Expensive of cour ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food is always great. Expensive of course, but that is New York City.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food , with the perfect ambiance ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Amazing food , with the perfect ambiance . This is a fantastic place to visit while dinning in NY!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious. The attention ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Everything was delicious. The attention to detail was appreciated. I had the Branzino with charred green beans as my entree. The skin was crispy and the meat was seasoned well and lush. The service was also above expectations. Will definitely dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely one of my favorites

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Definitely one of my favorites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The sushi was very spicy

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The sushi was very spicy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The table service and a quality of food ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The table service and a quality of food was rather average. We were waiting for some water more than 20 minutes, we had to ask for it twice. Nothing came as fast as the invoice at the end. The spicy tuna roll is not something to remember. However the hostess service was attentive and the ambiance is great for a night out with friends - if don't have your expectations high on the food and you do not mind being obviously surrounded by tourists.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was good but I had a martini an ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was good but I had a martini and it was expensive and watered down. I sent it back but got the same watered down, expensive drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Turned table 45 degrees so I could sit n ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Turned table 45 degrees so I could sit next to my girlfriend. Manager didn't like it moved us to another area. We left. Should have known it was gonna be a bad experience when I saw Buddha crying at the front door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Everything was great, the tables are clo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Everything was great, the tables are close together and you can hear the other peoples conversation so if this is not a good place if that openness

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food and service. Awesome setting. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food and service. Awesome setting. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sadly, this once great restaurant eatery ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Sadly, this once great restaurant eatery is not even a shadow of itself. The menu was created by someone who works at cliche creations or they simply have run out of ideas. The most Asian thing was orange chicken. And the food we ordered from the limited selection (tuna tartare and coconut shrimp) literally had freezer burn taste. The other distressing thing is that clientele was loud, obnoxious, vulgar. The table two away from us had to be reseated after 19 F bombs were dropped by the couple in between. It was something like Road Warrior meets Sat Night Fever. This was one of my absolute must visits and now is an absolute avoid. PS service was fantastic. Go figure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

I've eaten at the NYC and Las Vegas Tao ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I've eaten at the NYC and Las Vegas Tao a number of times. While my family loves the ambiance and in the past the food has been delicious fortunately on this visit it was just okay. Maybe since I was not enjoying a business meal we opted for the more affordable entree options but everyone felt the food was better in prior visits.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

I'm so glad I pick this place to have my ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I'm so glad I pick this place to have my birthday dinner. It was so much fun. Our waiter was so funny and helpful. He gave us "training wheels for our chop sticks" lol lol the food was soooo good. I had the smokey salmon sushi it was amazing best I had. A bit pricey but great drinks and food, worth he money. I would recommend this place. TAO keep this up you'll have a customer for a long time. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about TAO Uptown was amazing. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everything about TAO Uptown was amazing. It was perfect for our date and our waiter was amazing. The decor is beautiful, the DJ was great, the food was awesome and the dessert and wine were fantastic too. I already have recommended it to a bunch of friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice spot but not very kid friendly...wh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Nice spot but not very kid friendly...when they say my 12 and 8 year old at the reception desk they immediately changed my location to the first table next to the kitchen and they rushed through our dinner to get us out there as quick as possible.

Server was trying to be friendly but I think the host/manager had other plans for us

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The Mandarin Sizzled Fried Rice was grea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Mandarin Sizzled Fried Rice was great and worth a visit all by itself and the Spicy Tuna Tartare on Crispy Rice was quite good. Another dish, while tasty, was over-sauced. Service was a bit lax and inattentive (after waiting quite a while I asked a busboy to ask our waiter for the check). The room itself is big and fun albeit a bit loud for my taste - it would be a great space for a party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Cool vibe. Great food. Good service. W ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Cool vibe. Great food. Good service. We've been before and it did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Salmon was amazing! Fun atmosphere, grea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Salmon was amazing! Fun atmosphere, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good resturants but somehow they forgot ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Good resturants but somehow they forgot that it was a birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our char crusted filet was so charred th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our char crusted filet was so charred that it had a burnt taste. I wasn't able to find the server to tell him until we had finished everything else. The server did not ask us how the food was. When I asked him if the filet was prime he didn't seam to know what that meant so I said could you check and he said "I should know I have been here 13 years".

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Had the best waiter, who was very helpfu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Had the best waiter, who was very helpful with our order. Love to have help finding a good composed menu! Very tasty food - we loved it:-)

Maybe a bit noisy, not easy to have a good conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ordered the signature Chilean Sea Bass. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Ordered the signature Chilean Sea Bass. Took a couple of bites, smelled strong smell of ammonia. The fish was bad. Management couldn't care less. DON'T GO HERE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I've been to tao uptown many times. This ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I've been to tao uptown many times. This is the first time I've had such a poor service experience. We were a group of 4 and ordered an appetizer that came out with 3. The waiter never mentioned that there was only 3. When we flagged him down to say that he should have told us and then we wouldn't have ordered it, we asked if another could be brought out. He gave us a blank stare and said that wasn't possible. Then when he came back to take our entre order, only seconds after we got the appetizers, we said we wanted to take dinner slow and not be rushed. Our reservation was at 7:30 and somehow we didn't eat until 9pm! Our waiter had the worst judgement of reading people and this was one of the first times I felt like I didn't matter and he didn't care. Probably the last time I'll ever go.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

It was great.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Since it's opening, we have been to Tao ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Since it's opening, we have been to Tao on many occasions . The food is always consistent. Love the rock shrimp lettuce cups and the peking duck spring roll. The wasabi crusted filet mignon is my favorite. The decor however is another story. We sat in the booth on the first floor. The material on the seats are so worn that the form is exposed on all the edges. The paint on the columns are worn and chipped making it feel like you are in a rundown diner. Although our server was very good, the bus person needs to be trained to pickup the used utensils and not put them back on the table. Hopefully, management will pay attention to the deteriorating decor and make the necessary renovations.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Very good food. Best Kung Pao Chicken.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very good food. Best Kung Pao Chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, great atmosphere, smooth m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Amazing food, great atmosphere, smooth music. Great for special occasions as it's definitely pricey.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.