About Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen

1526 Walnut St.
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Tannin Wine Bar & Kitchen is your local, urban destination located in the Crossroads Art District, just 2 blocks away from the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Enjoy a glass of wine from the "well researched and extensive" wine list. We offer wines by the taste, glass or bottle to satisfy everyone’s palate.

Our cuisine features fresh, seasonal ingredients. The lunch and dinner menus include cheese plates, small bites and entrees. The kitchen is open until midnight Monday - Saturday.

Visit our website for information about upcoming events including happy hour specials and wine events.

We look forward to seeing you soon. Cheers!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 1:30am, Saturday: 4:00 pm - 1:30 am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
16th & Walnut

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 842-2660

Website:
http://www.tanninwinebar.com/

Catering:
Let us help plan your event in one of several areas of the restaurant perfect for entertaining guests. Whether planning a corporate event, holiday party, special occasion or anything in between, each event space is ideal for hosting sit down lunches and dinners, cocktail parties or wine tastings. We appreciate your consideration and look forward to providing an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Contact Barry Tunnell with additional questions and availability. barryt@tanninwinebar.com | 816.842.2660

Parking Details:
A designated parking area is located to the south of the restaurant with access from Walnut Street. Convenient street parking is located along Walnut Street, Main Street, 16th Street, and 17th Street.

Executive Chef:
Brian Aaron

Private Party Facilities:
Let us help plan your event in one of several areas of the restaurant perfect for entertaining guests. Whether planning a corporate event, holiday party, special occasion or anything in between, each area is ideal for hosting sit down lunches and dinners, cocktail parties or wine tastings.

Private Party Contact:
Marci Fritz: 8557526582

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tannin Wine Bar & Kitchen hosts monthly wine tastings and other special events throughout the year. View their website www.tanninwinebar.com for updates.

Interested in becoming a member of one of the 6 Tannin Wine Clubs? In addition to the wine locker, you receive one bottle of wine per month, free admission to monthly wine tastings and discounts when you dine at the restaurant. Email barryt@tanninwinebar.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Espresso Molten Chocolate Cake - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Braised Lamb Gnocchi - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Truffled Wild Mushroom Cream Soup - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
New York Sour - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Jumbo Lump Crab Dip - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Steamed Mussels - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Jude's Kansas City Rum Cake Bread Pudding - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Pan Roasted Foie Gras - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Crispy Slow Braised Pork Cheeks - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Sesame Seared Ahi Tuna  - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Spinach Salad - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Steamed P.E.I. Mussels - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Thai Chili Glazed Shrimp - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Kansas City Strip Steak - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Beef Carpaccio - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Mussels - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Pommes Frites - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Crispy Duck Confit - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Beet Salad - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Pita, Feta, And Olives - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Asparagus Salad - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Beef Ribeye Tartare - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Shrimp Risotto - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Cheese Plate: Honey Almond Chevre, Smoked Cheddar,  - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Yellowtail Crudo - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Foie Gras - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Wagyu Burger - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Short Rib and Goat Cheese Ravioli - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Tuna Tartare - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Wimbledon Shandy Cocktail - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Ahi Tuna Tartare - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Roasted Pepper And Charred Tomato Gazpacho - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Hamachi Crudo - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
House Smoked Rainbow Trout Salad - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Gazpacho - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Truffles Wild Mushroom Cream Soup - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Pita With Feta And Olives - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Pork Belly And Scallops - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Prawns Risotto - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Mussels With Fennel And White Wine - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Belfonte Cocktail - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Slow Braised Pork Belly And Grilled Scallops - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Crispy Confit Chicken Thigh - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Coffee Ale - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Wild Mushroom Soup - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Mushroom Soup with Truffle Oil - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna With Wasabi Mashed Potatoes And Tempura Asparagus - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Peanut Butter Cookie Stuffed With Fudge - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
bacon cheddar wagyu burger with a fried egg - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Heirloom Tomatoes Salad - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Cured Salmon - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Ahi Tuna Salad - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Crab Dip - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Shrimp Salad - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Housemade Fettucine - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Portobella Sandwich - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Peanut Butter Cookie With Fudge Filling - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cookie - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Artisan Cheese Plate - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Riesling - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Crab Cake Fritters - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Baileys And Coffee - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Peanut butter cookies - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Molten Chocolate Cake With Espresso Ice Cream - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Yellowtail Hamachi Crudo - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Soup Du Jour (Beef Consomme) - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Hungarian Goulash Soup - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Foie Gras With Diced Apple Honey Puree - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Steamed PEI Mussels - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Foie Gras With Grilled Egg Bread/ Local Peach Chutney/ Peach Brandy Carmel And Pea Shoots - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Hedges Red Mountain - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (30)
Good for a Date (19)
Happy Hour (13)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Romantic (11)
Casual (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Cozy (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Private Room (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
859 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Brooke (bartender) was phenomenal! Good ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Brooke (bartender) was phenomenal! Good is exceptional! Our server (never shared her name) was awful. One of the worst ever. Spilling water, rude, short, impersonal and annoyed by having to serve customers. I will return because Jim and Brooke did a great job of being hospitable which overshadowed our servers bad attitude and lack of service skills.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

I went there Saturday night and everythi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I went there Saturday night and everything was EXCELLENT. The food, wine and service were top-notch! I highly recommend.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very marginal at best consideri ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Food was very marginal at best considering the price. I will never eat there again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

My favorite place to sit and enjoy wine. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My favorite place to sit and enjoy wine. Always knowledgeable staff and wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The duck confit was sensational.

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The duck confit was sensational.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The whole evening was wonderful. Everyth ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The whole evening was wonderful. Everything was great. Service prompt and timely. All the food excellent. The wine pairings matched the food very well. Everyone was happy. It a fabulous New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at the restaurant was fan ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our experience at the restaurant was fantastic, unfortunately, I got food poisoning from something I ate. Hence, I probably won't be returning and have a hard time recommending. Also, was a bit stunned to see that the 4 course tasting menu was nearly double the price on NYE. Would have been nice to know that in advance.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful place; expensive wine by the g ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Beautiful place; expensive wine by the glass but great selection; out of eight, only half of us liked the food and one person in our party received the wrong entree; I called ahead to make sure the regular menu was available, I was told yes, then we arrived to a limited menu. The special, limited menu for New Year's Eve said "Daily Happy Hour from 4-6" and they would not honor the happy hour pricing when we asked. Won't be going back.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The food was good - fresh ingredients an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was good - fresh ingredients and healthy options. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the wine. If you are looking a a nice place to go for a special occasion this is a great option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The wine list is impressive and the appe ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The wine list is impressive and the appetizers are delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We were visiting on Christmas Eve so did ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were visiting on Christmas Eve so did not know the area well and went on the recommendation of a friend. We got the burger and some appetizers that were great. Sat at the bar and everyone who waited on us was wonderful. Gave great suggestions both about what to order and things to do around town. Would totally go back and recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, waiter picked up on f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent service, waiter picked up on fact we had a show to go to because we were dining early. Waiter recommended a nice burgundybwine which wasn't too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tannin's is like Cheers except there is ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Tannin's is like Cheers except there is No Norm. Barry Tunnell does a fantastic job of researching wines and always having great wines at a great price.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, , Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was sweet and attentive. It w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The server was sweet and attentive. It was our 15th anniversary and they provided an extra special touch to the end of our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I love Tannin, and go there frequently, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I love Tannin, and go there frequently, as I work for the Symphony. I recently had an exceptional dinner experience there (December 16). The octopus was fantastic. I was also given a bit of my dinner companion's burger - perfectly medium rare and delicious.

Because of that delicious burger, I immediately scheduled a business lunch on December 20. My four associates and I all ordered the burger, as I told them it was the best in town. When the burgers came out, only one of us had a tomato on our burger. Mine was well-done, when I had ordered medium rare. The nature of the meeting did not lend itself to sending food back or complaining at the time; however, it was very disappointing, and surprising (given all my other Tannin experiences).

A couple colleagues of mine went to Tannin today for lunch and had a similarly negative experience. I wonder: Is there a new cook being trained during weekday lunches? Or, is there simply a different cook that works the lunch shift.

As I said, I love Tannin. I hope to have many great experiences there in the future. I hope that this review spurs some positive adjustments.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Nice place for a quiet dinner after atte ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Nice place for a quiet dinner after attending a performance at Kauffman.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a fabulous waiter!! Our meals wer ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a fabulous waiter!! Our meals were slow in coming and our waiter poured us extra wine and comped our dessert. Great service and customer care! Can't wait to return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was probably the best meal I've eve ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This was probably the best meal I've ever had. Wonderful experience from start to finish.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive and limited menu. Waited for s ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Expensive and limited menu. Waited for server too long to take our order.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a great time. Service was amazing ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We had a great time. Service was amazing and friendly food was great and great wine. Will defiantly good back.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great experience at Tannin. I hear ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Had a great experience at Tannin. I heard they had consulted with a top local chef to upgrade the menu. I really enjoyed my salmon entree and a great Argentinian Malbec. The service was great and I loved the atmosphere. Their wine list is quite extensive!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have the best server named Dan at Tan ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have the best server named Dan at Tannin that we always ask for. He makes us feel like royalty. Great suggestions on food & cocktails/wine. Our dinners usually last about 3 to 4 hours because we don't want to leave! Great Place!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Cozy, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was awesome and the food and win ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Service was awesome and the food and wine pairings we spectacular !

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine pour was a little slim. Menu choic ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Wine pour was a little slim. Menu choices were ok, but not extensive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Reservations honored immediately and gra ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Reservations honored immediately and graciously (even though we were quite early).

Our server was outstanding!!! Knew the menu inside and out. Knew wine choices (lots of them available at Tannins) as well. The menu has been improved in wonderful ways including three flights of CHEESE! American, Spanish, French cheeses. The root vegetables on whipped Feta Cheese was an outstanding start to the meal. By the way, my cocktail was created perfectly!

Our mains (KC Strip) were cooked perfectly and the flavor was among the best steak flavor I have ever had. We had the peanut butter cookie (warmed) but without the icecream/bacon on top. Still a great desert unique to the restaurant. We have gone to Tannins for some years now and while it has always been worth going back to they have really stepped up their game.

The chef has some great ideas. The wine offerings are probably the best in KC area matched only by the knowledge and accessibility of their Sommelier. The staff knows wine very well too.

We will be back soon!! Highly recommend Tannins.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Casual, Fireplace, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good location for a pre-theater drink an ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Good location for a pre-theater drink and meal. There was a nice wine selection by the glass. We both tried pinot noir which was the feature that night. Salmon was good, as was cookies for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Charming and delightful dining experienc ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Charming and delightful dining experience. Wonderful wait-staff. They were attentive and informative.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Historic, Healthy, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My visit was very enjoyable in every way ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My visit was very enjoyable in every way. The service was stellar. The food was spectacular. I loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all three had the 4 course prix fixe ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We all three had the 4 course prix fixe menu and it was delicious. Our waiter was fantastic even when I asked to do a beer pairing instead of a wine pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Right sized delicious portions with wine ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Right sized delicious portions with wine pairings! I chose the 4-course dinner, which offered many good choices from the menu, each of which was sized perfectly. I felt full but not stuffed and like I got my money's worth so to speak. I also chose the half-glass pairings. The sommelier was very nice and made some very interesting selections, including a wine from Lebanon. He made sure my preferences etc. before offering his recommendation for each course. I really enjoyed this opportunity to sample various wines and to pair them with my food choices. All the food was delicious - roasted vegetables, steak, the stew, flourless chocolate torte! We had a mix up starting out with my husband's order. They brought the wrong appetizer, but it ended up OK. The tables are very close together, so the server stands between them you feel a bit crowded, but this also leads to a more intimate feeling. We were fine with it, but I don't know that I would consider this the right place for a more private dinner.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food is wonderful, my wife and I lov ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food is wonderful, my wife and I love this place. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Organic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food and great wine. We had the ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Terrific food and great wine. We had the for course tasting menu with the wine pairings and the sommelier came out to let us try each wine. Each wine was interesting and so well matched to the food. I am visiting from Chicago and I only wish they would move up there. The service was perfect as well. Thanks for a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great neighborhood spot, right off the s ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great neighborhood spot, right off the streetcar line. They have one of the best cheeseburgers in town, along with a lot of other good menu items. Loved the pulled pork taco appetizer, small but rich and filling.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a late Open Table reservation and i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Made a late Open Table reservation and it morphed from two to six diners. Tannin did not blink an eye and seated us very comfortably. Our waiter, Jim, was charming, funny and attentive without being overbearing. Ask for him when you go and you'll enjoy. Food and wine all good: pulled pork tacos, chicken roulade and eggplant parmigiana all were hits with crowd. Roasted beet and kale salads also popular. Wine choices plentiful and reasonably priced. Three had the flourless chocolate cake and cleaned their plates; three shared the signature peanut butter chocolate cookie. Very rich and flavorful. A good time was had by all; a great find just south of the KC Power and Light District.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent wine selection; great atmosphe ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent wine selection; great atmosphere; very knowledgeable staff --- highly recommend!

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was bland and undistinguished. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food was bland and undistinguished. We've been to Tannin several times over the past few years and have previously been impressed by it's distinctive menu offerings. This was not the case this last time. As mentioned the food was bland, however, service was above average, drinks were above average. It was a bit too noisy due to a raucous six-top nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Great service, so attentive

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great service, so attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time at this place and it didn't ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Second time at this place and it didn't disappoint. Opted for the 4 course w/ wine pairing and it was amazing how they truly did pair up the meals with the wine offered. Portions were not huge, but definitely filling and worth the money.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, delicious and fun. We have m ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

As always, delicious and fun. We have made this a regular part of attending events at Kauffman Center. A little noisy (but so were we!), but incredibly knowledgeable and very friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great ambiance!

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.