About Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen

1526 Walnut St.
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Tannin Wine Bar & Kitchen is your local, urban destination located in the Crossroads Art District, just 2 blocks away from the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Enjoy a glass of wine from the "well researched and extensive" wine list. We offer wines by the taste, glass or bottle to satisfy everyone’s palate.

Our cuisine features fresh, seasonal ingredients. The lunch and dinner menus include cheese plates, small bites and entrees. The kitchen is open until midnight Monday - Saturday.

Visit our website for information about upcoming events including happy hour specials and wine events.

We look forward to seeing you soon. Cheers!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 1:30am, Saturday: 4:00 pm - 1:30 am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
16th & Walnut

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 842-2660

Website:
http://www.tanninwinebar.com/

Catering:
Let us help plan your event in one of several areas of the restaurant perfect for entertaining guests. Whether planning a corporate event, holiday party, special occasion or anything in between, each event space is ideal for hosting sit down lunches and dinners, cocktail parties or wine tastings. We appreciate your consideration and look forward to providing an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Contact Barry Tunnell with additional questions and availability. barryt@tanninwinebar.com | 816.842.2660

Parking Details:
A designated parking area is located to the south of the restaurant with access from Walnut Street. Convenient street parking is located along Walnut Street, Main Street, 16th Street, and 17th Street.

Executive Chef:
Brian Aaron

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Tannin Wine Bar & Kitchen hosts monthly wine tastings and other special events throughout the year. View their website www.tanninwinebar.com for updates.

Interested in becoming a member of one of the 6 Tannin Wine Clubs? In addition to the wine locker, you receive one bottle of wine per month, free admission to monthly wine tastings and discounts when you dine at the restaurant. Email barryt@tanninwinebar.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen
Espresso Molten Chocolate Cake
Braised Lamb Gnocchi
Truffled Wild Mushroom Cream Soup
Jumbo Lump Crab Dip
New York Sour
Steamed Mussels
Jude's Kansas City Rum Cake Bread Pudding
Pan Roasted Foie Gras
Crispy Slow Braised Pork Cheeks
Foie Gras With Diced Apple Honey Puree
Heirloom Tomatoes Salad
Sesame Seared Ahi Tuna
Grilled Kansas City Strip Steak
Spinach Salad
Thai Chili Glazed Shrimp
Steamed P.E.I. Mussels
Mussels
Beef Carpaccio
Pommes Frites
Beet Salad
Crispy Duck Confit
Grilled Pita, Feta, And Olives
Grilled Shrimp Risotto
Grilled Asparagus Salad
Beef Ribeye Tartare
Cheese Plate: Honey Almond Chevre, Smoked Cheddar,
Grilled Foie Gras
Short Rib and Goat Cheese Ravioli
Wagyu Burger
Yellowtail Crudo
Tuna Tartare
Gazpacho
House Smoked Rainbow Trout Salad
Truffles Wild Mushroom Cream Soup
Hamachi Crudo
Wimbledon Shandy Cocktail
Roasted Pepper And Charred Tomato Gazpacho
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Pita With Feta And Olives
Pork Belly And Scallops
Grilled Prawns Risotto
Mussels With Fennel And White Wine
Slow Braised Pork Belly And Grilled Scallops
Coffee Ale
Crispy Confit Chicken Thigh
Belfonte Cocktail
Wild Mushroom Soup
Mushroom Soup with Truffle Oil
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna With Wasabi Mashed Potatoes And Tempura Asparagus
Peanut Butter Cookie Stuffed With Fudge
bacon cheddar wagyu burger with a fried egg
Cured Salmon
Ahi Tuna Salad
Crab Dip
Grilled Shrimp Salad
Housemade Fettucine
Grilled Portobella Sandwich
Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cookie
Crab Cake Fritters
Peanut Butter Cookie With Fudge Filling
Riesling
Peanut butter cookies
Baileys And Coffee
Artisan Cheese Plate
Molten Chocolate Cake With Espresso Ice Cream
Yellowtail Hamachi Crudo
Hungarian Goulash Soup
Steamed PEI Mussels
Soup Du Jour (Beef Consomme)
Hedges Red Mountain
Foie Gras With Grilled Egg Bread/ Local Peach Chutney/ Peach Brandy Carmel And Pea Shoots

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Let us help plan your event in one of several areas of the restaurant perfect for entertaining guests. Whether planning a corporate event, holiday party, special occasion or anything in between, each area is ideal for hosting sit down lunches and dinners, cocktail parties or wine tastings.

Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Kansas City
Contemporary American
Kansas City
Notable Wine List
Kansas City, MO
1 More
Contemporary American
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

notable wine list (69)
fit for foodies (52)
neighborhood gem (42)
See All
special occasion (40)
romantic (33)
great for outdoor dining (27)
good for groups (26)
late-night find (18)
vibrant bar scene (18)
hot spot (14)
great for lunch (11)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
768 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With all the great restaurants in K.C., ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

With all the great restaurants in K.C., Tannins is a favorite. We even joined the wine club. Great service, no rush. Dan is often our waiter and is fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've had dinner at Tannin several times ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I've had dinner at Tannin several times in the last 6 months. Consistently good food and service. My only concern is that the red wine is served too cold for my taste.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We went there on a Friday night and were ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

We went there on a Friday night and were immediately seated. The service was fast and the food was very good. Not a really scenic location but very close to where there is a lot going on. Concerts shows theatre, etc. A large and varied bar scene.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not quite awesome, but very good

Dined on June 8, 2016

We sat outside on a lovely evening, after taking the free new streetcar from Union Station. Great server. My husband had the tasting menu, with a beautiful trout. I had some small plates - beet salad, shrimp scampi, and lobster risotto (awesome). Several of the plates had quite a bit of salad on them, which was a bit overwhelming. The cinnamon bread pudding had pieces that were very tough, so unfortunately a no on that. But we want to go back and try more on the menu. The cheese flights look so interesting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Tannin is a great place to enjoy some wonderful wine and relax with some good food. I've been here twice - and both occasions were equally fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Daniel, our server, gave the best servic ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Daniel, our server, gave the best service I've had in YEARS. Just amazing. Always love coming here, but he made it 10x better.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good but disappointed

Dined on May 30, 2016

We have gone to Tannin to celebrate our anniversary six years in a row, always on Memorial Day. We loved the buy-one, get-one Monday special on wine bottles. We were disappointed to find out they no longer do the BOGO special (our fault for not calling ahead, but we figured it was a given after six years in a row). They also didn't have the Executive Burger, which was my absolute favorite entrée (and all around burger). I went with the salmon, which was fine, but nothing special. My husband had the pork chop, which was really good. All in all, it was a good dinner, but I doubt we will come back next year, since the wine and burger were what really drew us in to begin with.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding wine list; creative menu

Dined on May 29, 2016

An amazing wine list , especially by the bottle, with some unique offerings. By the glass also has a wide variety, although the pours could be a bit more generous. Creative chef using excellent ingredients for the relatively limited menu, but there should be something to suit most anyone's taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was fabulous! We sat on the patio and ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

It was fabulous! We sat on the patio and enjoyed fabulous food and wine!

food5
ambience5
service5

Tannin is one of our regular spots. I lo ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Tannin is one of our regular spots. I love that it can serve for a casual drink at the bar, a date night spot or dinner with a group of friends. The wine list and cocktails are great, the food is very good whether you're eating small plates or entrees and the service is always friendly.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food. Definitely for special occas ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food. Definitely for special occasion because of prices. We were outdoors on a perfect evening. Server was a bit nonchalant about a member of our party with a shellfish allergy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were headed to a play at the Kauffman ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We were headed to a play at the Kauffman Center that evening and being new to the area (moved here from LA) we thought we would give Tannin a try, We are glad we did. It was a very enjoyable experience. Wide variety of high end wines by the glass, Staff was very welcoming and friendly. Service was outstanding. We will go back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on May 15, 2016

First time at Tannin and it was outstanding! The cheese plate was unique with impeccable presentation. Dinner was phenomenal, fried quail, gouda mashed potatoes and grilled corn, all delicious. Will definitely add Tannin to my favorites list!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Should have been a better experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

I made reservations for 6:15pm for a party of 5 to share a pre-celebratory dinner before going to an 8:30 pm high school graduation right down the street at the Municipal Auditorium. We sat for over 45 minutes before receiving our appetizers (which were all delicious). At 7:45pm when we asked our waiter when our dinner would be served because we had to be somewhere at 8:30, we were told he would check and see. The manager came to our table a few minutes later and informed us that they would not have our dinner prepared in time. The stated that they wish they had known ahead of time. I told them that I felt a reservation at 6:15 would have given me more than enough time (2 hours) to get a meal to my table for 5 guest. The only thing I received was a verbal apology. They did not offer any compensation at all to entice me to come back and did not even offer to remove any portion of the bill from my tab. I was deeply disappointed as well as embarrassed at not being able to feed my out of town guests. Not seeing myself return to this venue again in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly wonderful food and Barry's wine pa ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Truly wonderful food and Barry's wine pairings are inspired. He knows so much about the vineyards, making the experience that much more meaningful. Tannin is a KC treasure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was innovative and delicious. Wine list was extensive, and our waiter helped us make an excellent choice. Would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic find

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We were visiting from San Francisco and stumbled across Tannin--so glad we did! Tasting menu with wine pairing was superb. Friendly service and extremely knowledgable manager/sommelier who clearly cares about wine and making sure customers end up with something that really works with their food as well as their individual palates and preferences, all in a very comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. We came back the next night after dinner just to have some more wine and talk to the staff. A++

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect Place to Dine before Sprint Center Event

Dined on April 29, 2016

This was a great place to enjoy a quick bite before a concert at the Sprint Center. Convenient parking next to the building combined with fast friendly service allowed us to squeeze in a light dinner before attending an event. We enjoyed a small plate, lobster risotto, a cheese flight and a couple of glasses of wine. The atmosphere was vibrant without being too loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner with friends

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Saturday visit enjoyed many bottles of wine, our server was very knowledgeable with the wine list and was always there to make suggestions. We were very well taken care of. Recommend the mussels and lobster risotto!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for Birthday! Forth Wines & Tannin!!

Dined on April 21, 2016

I don't know if I can say enough positive things about the experience that we had at this wine dinner at Tannin. My wife, my daughter, her husband and I had already set up a birthday reservation for this Thursday evening. When the email came through about the wine dinner, we jumped to the chance. Barry got us on the list for the wine dinner. When we arrived , we joined the group at the reception and found ourselves a seat. We were incredibly lucky because Jann Forth, the vintner, sat with us during our dinner. The courses were paired with the excellent Forth wines. We loved the wines and wine pairings. The food was excellent. And sharing our time with Jann and our stories was incredible. We will connect with Jann and become part of her wine family. And we will continue to plan our special events for Tannin. Barry was great to us. Again, I cannot say enough about how great this was.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Spot

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Tannin is always a treat. Whether stopping in for a quick bite or making a date of it, I'm always pleased. Service is appropriately attentive and each server I've had has been incredibly kind and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Wagyu Burger was phenomenal, as was ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

The Wagyu Burger was phenomenal, as was the service!!! M. Orien and Jim make you feel like family....impeccable service!!!

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Really good-ish

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

First time diner. It was packed. Not sure how wait staff kept up. Had bacon tacos (it was Happy Hour). One was pure fat (gag) the other was good. The French Fries were the bottom of the sack--all in pieces. We were there 15-20 before end of Happy Hour and didn't get Happy Hour prices. Had to ask. They accommodated nicely. (I tipped well). I'll try it another time--maybe lunch.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!

Dined on April 6, 2016

Probably my third visit to Tannin. Incredible wine list and great service. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and great food.

Dined on April 5, 2016

Great service and great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining fun

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our server, Jennett, was fabulous. The "guy in the Carolina blue beret" decanted our wine as soon as we arrived which was very thoughtful. We ordered the salmon and the burger-both were delicious. We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Amazing food, would go again

Dined on April 2, 2016

Lobster risotto, need I say more? They had a great wine list and the ambience was perfect for people watching and enjoying quality time with my boyfriend. We both got salads then shared the lobster risotto and pork chop. I NEVER ever order pork chops at restaurants but tonight it sounded good. It was moist, tender, and delicious! Would order again. The food is a little pricey, but worth it for a special occasion. Our tab was right around $100 and we got the food above plus a decent bottle of wine. Service was just a little slow, but once we ordered food came out quickly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful evening

Dined on April 2, 2016

We enjoyed our experience at Tannin immensely. We're looking forward to returning soon and often!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly and attentive

Dined on April 1, 2016

Our server offered great discriptions of cheeseplates. Helped us make a great choice. Waters were refreshed often. Timing between appetizer and meal was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4

Wine list was superb by the glass and Ji ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Wine list was superb by the glass and Jim my waiter was excellent! A neighborhood gem!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of KC's best

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Tannin's is a must. Amazing food, amazing wine list, and a great atmosphere. I have been here on a couple occasions and have always left beyond satisfied. I recently took my girlfriend, who was visiting from out of town, to dinner here and she said it was hands down one of her favorite places ever.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wino Heaven

Dined on March 25, 2016

Our server, Alex, was great. Very enthusiastic and good sense of humor. Helped us decide on a wine since the wine list is MUCH longer than the food menu. We did the four courses which were well timed and we were never waiting. We didn't feel rushed after we had finished eating. Overall, it was a great experience and we will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Small things could make it better

Dined on March 24, 2016

Note: We are harsh critics who don't easily give five star ratings unless the food is very tasty, a good value, and a good experience. For the meal I'm reviewing, we had two appetizers (lump crab dip and crispy pork cheeks), split the 8 oz bacon cheeseburger, and had 3 glasses of wine. Our evening cost right at $100 with tip, which we felt was a little pricy considering we only got one (and the least expensive) entree. The presentation of all of the food was good, and the lump crab dip was nice with the grilled bread. The pork cheeks were very tender, and when you could get a bite with the kimchi, polenta, and pork, it was quite tasty, but there wasn't enough kimchi on the plate to do this for all the pork. While the pork was very tender - perfectly cooked, it was not flavorful by itself. The burger was very good, as were the fries, and half was a perfect portion to finish off a light meal, but it was still a $15 burger, and on par with many $10-12 burgers I've eaten. Wine was good, but we felt the pours were light for $13/glass, contributing to our lower value and overall rating. The place is classy, and service was very professional and in proper doses for us to have a good conversation.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoy it every time I go

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Enjoy it every time I go

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food, service, ambiance

Dined on March 22, 2016

The menu selection wasn't large but varied. Each of the four of us ordered something different and all were very pleased. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and attentive without being interruptive (business lunch). The atmosphere was very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous Wine Bar!

Dined on March 18, 2016

We had an amazing experience. The food, wine and service was wonderful. We were visiting Kansas City and wanted a fun, romantic yet relaxed atmosphere. The wine list is very impressive, the happy hour specials were great and we had a very knowledge and fun server. We can't wait to go back next time we are in the city!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Service

Dined on March 12, 2016

Went before the opera for cocktails and afterward for dessert. Our waiter, Dan, was knowledgeable and personable. Terrific experience, every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never a disappointment

Dined on March 10, 2016

Tannin Wine Bar is always great. Wonderful and flavorful food and always great service. Certainly not your typical bar food; always fantastic. If I'm going to the Sprint Center, I'm going to start at Tannin.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service as usual, and spectacular ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Great service as usual, and spectacular food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Nice

Dined on March 6, 2016

Had wine, cheese and dessert, waitress was very knowledgeable. We celebrated our 12 yr anniversary. The place was energetic but yet in a quiet way, it has a very sophisticated bar atmosphere. We sat at a rounded off table with dim lighting and some candles, it was a very romantic setting. Unfortunately we had dinner plans elsewhere so we were not able to review dinner but they kindly put Happy Anniversary on our dessert plate. Great place to go!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.