About Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen

1526 Walnut St.
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Tannin Wine Bar & Kitchen is your local, urban destination located in the Crossroads Art District, just 2 blocks away from the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Enjoy a glass of wine from the "well researched and extensive" wine list. We offer wines by the taste, glass or bottle to satisfy everyone’s palate.

Our cuisine features fresh, seasonal ingredients. The lunch and dinner menus include cheese plates, small bites and entrees. The kitchen is open until midnight Monday - Saturday.

Visit our website for information about upcoming events including happy hour specials and wine events.

We look forward to seeing you soon. Cheers!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 1:30am, Saturday: 4:00 pm - 1:30 am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
16th & Walnut

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 842-2660

Website:
http://www.tanninwinebar.com/

Catering:
Let us help plan your event in one of several areas of the restaurant perfect for entertaining guests. Whether planning a corporate event, holiday party, special occasion or anything in between, each event space is ideal for hosting sit down lunches and dinners, cocktail parties or wine tastings. We appreciate your consideration and look forward to providing an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Contact Barry Tunnell with additional questions and availability. barryt@tanninwinebar.com | 816.842.2660

Parking Details:
A designated parking area is located to the south of the restaurant with access from Walnut Street. Convenient street parking is located along Walnut Street, Main Street, 16th Street, and 17th Street.

Executive Chef:
Brian Aaron

Private Party Facilities:
Let us help plan your event in one of several areas of the restaurant perfect for entertaining guests. Whether planning a corporate event, holiday party, special occasion or anything in between, each area is ideal for hosting sit down lunches and dinners, cocktail parties or wine tastings.

Private Party Contact:
Marci Fritz: 8557526582

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tannin Wine Bar & Kitchen hosts monthly wine tastings and other special events throughout the year. View their website www.tanninwinebar.com for updates.

Interested in becoming a member of one of the 6 Tannin Wine Clubs? In addition to the wine locker, you receive one bottle of wine per month, free admission to monthly wine tastings and discounts when you dine at the restaurant. Email barryt@tanninwinebar.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Espresso Molten Chocolate Cake - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Braised Lamb Gnocchi - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Truffled Wild Mushroom Cream Soup - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
New York Sour - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Jumbo Lump Crab Dip - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Steamed Mussels - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Jude's Kansas City Rum Cake Bread Pudding - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Pan Roasted Foie Gras - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Crispy Slow Braised Pork Cheeks - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Sesame Seared Ahi Tuna  - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Spinach Salad - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Steamed P.E.I. Mussels - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Thai Chili Glazed Shrimp - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Kansas City Strip Steak - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Beef Carpaccio - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Mussels - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Pommes Frites - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Crispy Duck Confit - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Beet Salad - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Pita, Feta, And Olives - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Asparagus Salad - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Beef Ribeye Tartare - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Shrimp Risotto - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Cheese Plate: Honey Almond Chevre, Smoked Cheddar,  - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Yellowtail Crudo - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Foie Gras - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Wagyu Burger - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Short Rib and Goat Cheese Ravioli - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Tuna Tartare - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Wimbledon Shandy Cocktail - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Ahi Tuna Tartare - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Roasted Pepper And Charred Tomato Gazpacho - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Hamachi Crudo - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
House Smoked Rainbow Trout Salad - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Gazpacho - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Truffles Wild Mushroom Cream Soup - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Pita With Feta And Olives - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Pork Belly And Scallops - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Prawns Risotto - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Mussels With Fennel And White Wine - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Belfonte Cocktail - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Slow Braised Pork Belly And Grilled Scallops - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Crispy Confit Chicken Thigh - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Coffee Ale - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Wild Mushroom Soup - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Mushroom Soup with Truffle Oil - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna With Wasabi Mashed Potatoes And Tempura Asparagus - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Peanut Butter Cookie Stuffed With Fudge - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
bacon cheddar wagyu burger with a fried egg - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Heirloom Tomatoes Salad - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Cured Salmon - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Ahi Tuna Salad - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Crab Dip - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Shrimp Salad - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Housemade Fettucine - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Portobella Sandwich - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Peanut Butter Cookie With Fudge Filling - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cookie - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Artisan Cheese Plate - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Riesling - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Crab Cake Fritters - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Baileys And Coffee - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Peanut butter cookies - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Molten Chocolate Cake With Espresso Ice Cream - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Yellowtail Hamachi Crudo - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Soup Du Jour (Beef Consomme) - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Hungarian Goulash Soup - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Foie Gras With Diced Apple Honey Puree - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Steamed PEI Mussels - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Foie Gras With Grilled Egg Bread/ Local Peach Chutney/ Peach Brandy Carmel And Pea Shoots - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO
Hedges Red Mountain - Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen, Kansas City, MO

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (27)
Good for a Date (16)
Casual (13)
See All
Happy Hour (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Romantic (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Fun (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Business Meals (4)
Private Room (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Historic (4)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Healthy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Music (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
823 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great time. Service was amazing ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great time. Service was amazing and friendly food was great and great wine. Will defiantly good back.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great experience at Tannin. I hear ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Had a great experience at Tannin. I heard they had consulted with a top local chef to upgrade the menu. I really enjoyed my salmon entree and a great Argentinian Malbec. The service was great and I loved the atmosphere. Their wine list is quite extensive!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have the best server named Dan at Tan ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have the best server named Dan at Tannin that we always ask for. He makes us feel like royalty. Great suggestions on food & cocktails/wine. Our dinners usually last about 3 to 4 hours because we don't want to leave! Great Place!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Cozy, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was awesome and the food and win ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Service was awesome and the food and wine pairings we spectacular !

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine pour was a little slim. Menu choic ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Wine pour was a little slim. Menu choices were ok, but not extensive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Reservations honored immediately and gra ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Reservations honored immediately and graciously (even though we were quite early).

Our server was outstanding!!! Knew the menu inside and out. Knew wine choices (lots of them available at Tannins) as well. The menu has been improved in wonderful ways including three flights of CHEESE! American, Spanish, French cheeses. The root vegetables on whipped Feta Cheese was an outstanding start to the meal. By the way, my cocktail was created perfectly!

Our mains (KC Strip) were cooked perfectly and the flavor was among the best steak flavor I have ever had. We had the peanut butter cookie (warmed) but without the icecream/bacon on top. Still a great desert unique to the restaurant. We have gone to Tannins for some years now and while it has always been worth going back to they have really stepped up their game.

The chef has some great ideas. The wine offerings are probably the best in KC area matched only by the knowledge and accessibility of their Sommelier. The staff knows wine very well too.

We will be back soon!! Highly recommend Tannins.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Casual, Fireplace, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good location for a pre-theater drink an ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Good location for a pre-theater drink and meal. There was a nice wine selection by the glass. We both tried pinot noir which was the feature that night. Salmon was good, as was cookies for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Charming and delightful dining experienc ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Charming and delightful dining experience. Wonderful wait-staff. They were attentive and informative.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Historic, Healthy, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My visit was very enjoyable in every way ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My visit was very enjoyable in every way. The service was stellar. The food was spectacular. I loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all three had the 4 course prix fixe ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We all three had the 4 course prix fixe menu and it was delicious. Our waiter was fantastic even when I asked to do a beer pairing instead of a wine pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Right sized delicious portions with wine ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Right sized delicious portions with wine pairings! I chose the 4-course dinner, which offered many good choices from the menu, each of which was sized perfectly. I felt full but not stuffed and like I got my money's worth so to speak. I also chose the half-glass pairings. The sommelier was very nice and made some very interesting selections, including a wine from Lebanon. He made sure my preferences etc. before offering his recommendation for each course. I really enjoyed this opportunity to sample various wines and to pair them with my food choices. All the food was delicious - roasted vegetables, steak, the stew, flourless chocolate torte! We had a mix up starting out with my husband's order. They brought the wrong appetizer, but it ended up OK. The tables are very close together, so the server stands between them you feel a bit crowded, but this also leads to a more intimate feeling. We were fine with it, but I don't know that I would consider this the right place for a more private dinner.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food is wonderful, my wife and I lov ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food is wonderful, my wife and I love this place. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Organic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food and great wine. We had the ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Terrific food and great wine. We had the for course tasting menu with the wine pairings and the sommelier came out to let us try each wine. Each wine was interesting and so well matched to the food. I am visiting from Chicago and I only wish they would move up there. The service was perfect as well. Thanks for a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great neighborhood spot, right off the s ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great neighborhood spot, right off the streetcar line. They have one of the best cheeseburgers in town, along with a lot of other good menu items. Loved the pulled pork taco appetizer, small but rich and filling.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a late Open Table reservation and i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Made a late Open Table reservation and it morphed from two to six diners. Tannin did not blink an eye and seated us very comfortably. Our waiter, Jim, was charming, funny and attentive without being overbearing. Ask for him when you go and you'll enjoy. Food and wine all good: pulled pork tacos, chicken roulade and eggplant parmigiana all were hits with crowd. Roasted beet and kale salads also popular. Wine choices plentiful and reasonably priced. Three had the flourless chocolate cake and cleaned their plates; three shared the signature peanut butter chocolate cookie. Very rich and flavorful. A good time was had by all; a great find just south of the KC Power and Light District.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent wine selection; great atmosphe ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent wine selection; great atmosphere; very knowledgeable staff --- highly recommend!

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was bland and undistinguished. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food was bland and undistinguished. We've been to Tannin several times over the past few years and have previously been impressed by it's distinctive menu offerings. This was not the case this last time. As mentioned the food was bland, however, service was above average, drinks were above average. It was a bit too noisy due to a raucous six-top nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Great service, so attentive

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great service, so attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time at this place and it didn't ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Second time at this place and it didn't disappoint. Opted for the 4 course w/ wine pairing and it was amazing how they truly did pair up the meals with the wine offered. Portions were not huge, but definitely filling and worth the money.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, delicious and fun. We have m ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

As always, delicious and fun. We have made this a regular part of attending events at Kauffman Center. A little noisy (but so were we!), but incredibly knowledgeable and very friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great ambiance!

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited the Tannin Wine bar with a large ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Visited the Tannin Wine bar with a large group travelling for work and we found it outstanding. The service was great given that we had a lot of people and added to our list. John the GM responded to my inquiry before visiting and hooked us up when we had more people show up in the private back room. They have great food and I am sure wine. They have Gluten Free options and are a full service bar not just wine only. Our group had beer, mules and wine. Overall it was a great dining experience, highly recommend and will visit again when in KC. The Memphis Group.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurants with small and big ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent restaurants with small and big pours of great wines!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

We were there in time for happy hour and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We were there in time for happy hour and enjoyed some crab cakes and hummus. We split the burger and fries. I'm not sure how they cook their fries, but they're so good. The wine selection and the service was excellent. We'll definitely be coming back. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jims personal attention to detail made t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Jims personal attention to detail made the night extra special

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time dining out on the pa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a great time dining out on the patio. Food was excellent. We ordered the crab cakes, scotch egg, burger, and the flourless chocolate cake.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love going to Tannin the wait staff i ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We love going to Tannin the wait staff is. always friendly and helpful. They make great wine selections. The food always delicious. Give them arty you won't go wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is not as good as previously experi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food is not as good as previously experienced at your restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Squash soup was too sweet, Scallop cevic ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Squash soup was too sweet, Scallop ceviche was rather blah, and alas the eggplant

parmesan was bitter. The eggplant probably was not salted and drained prior to

cooking.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We really enjoy going to Tannin. The fo ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We really enjoy going to Tannin. The food is always great and hot. The portions are large and frequently we are able to take lunch home. Wine selections are always really good. Se if you can get Jim to help. You won't be disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed excellent service and the sma ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We enjoyed excellent service and the small plates were outstanding.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second visit to Tannin. Firs ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was my second visit to Tannin. First, we had to wait a whole 60 seconds for our table, and it was because they were trying to balance the table they had just moved on the sidewalk seating to make sure our wine glasses didn't tip over. I totally appreciated this! We had fantastic service and the waiter was great. He helped us pick a reasonably priced wine with some generic yet specific requests, and matched our cheese plate to the wine choice. It was a busy First Friday night, but we were lucky to grab a table outside and it was fabulous! Can't wait to go back again (the first visit was just a nice!)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had made a few requests before I arriv ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I had made a few requests before I arrived. They were all fulfilled. We had an amazing view by the window. The wine list is second to none. The small plates section had many tasty creations on it. My Girlfriend told me that this was the best date that she had ever been on! WOW! We are definitely coming back and I suggest that everyone try this place out.

Tags: Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Scenic View, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved eating al fresco. The storefron ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We loved eating al fresco. The storefront is small and unpretentious. The service was superb, something I always value when dining out. The wine choice was extensive. One could order a four course meal, a one course meal, or many small items from their appetizer and small plate menu. Something for everyone!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were there apparently at a bad time. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were there apparently at a bad time. 330 PM for a late lunch prior to attending the Tedx talks.

Tuna Sandwich was bad....like ground tuna on bread. Cheeses were good but 12$ for a cubic inch seemed high. The beets were like hard cheese. The ribs were good. The service excellent.

We will try it again at a different time of day...but....!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Very disappointed in the lunch. Jeremy ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very disappointed in the lunch. Jeremy really didn’t each much of his lunch.

I have had lunch there before with clients and it was really good. but not this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

A last minnute reservation....on a Satur ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 7, 2016

A last minnute reservation....on a Saturday night at our favorite restaurant ...A wonderful surprise! Great food and service..on a beautiful evening with a cool breeze. Ate outside....and enjoyed every minute; as always. The best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Knowledgeable servers on both the wine a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Knowledgeable servers on both the wine and the cheese!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Tannin is always been good. with the ne ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Tannin is always been good. with the new reorg, they have not missed a beat. Very good menu, service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tannin was wonderful when Brian was the ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Tannin was wonderful when Brian was the Chef - food beautiful and always an excellent preparation. The "service staff" - always excellent and personable - including today. //

This new chef just doesn't have it... wouldn't recommend Tannin's today to a "foodie" - food taste, presentation, portion, and pleasure - a "C" on a good day... Price to quality much too high - ~~!! This is my third time to eat here with new Chef and it has been disappointing each time.

Also, horribly HOT!

Wine list prices - EXCESSIVE!!

My perspective - People who love good and beautifully presented food, nice atmosphere, and fair pricing will begin to move away unless the situation improves. Before this Chef, Tannin's was always a "go to" place. I just took them off of that list!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.