About Tallgrass Prairie Table

313 East 2nd Street
Tulsa, OK 74120
View Larger Map

Tallgrass Prairie Table is a Farm to Table restaurant located in the heart of the historic Blue Dome entertainment district in downtown Tulsa. Serving Modern American cuisine that is both locally and globally inspired and locally sourced, Tallgrass partners with several local farms and ranches, most importantly Z7Bar Ranch in Pawhuska and the Living Kitchen Dairy and Farm in Depew, to bring Tulsans the freshest local ingredients possible. Executive Chef Michelle Donaldson is passionately committed to the slow food movement. Tallgrass features a small boutique Wine List, Craft Cocktails, Local Beers on Tap, and Live music.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Closed Tuesday - Friday lunch 11:00 pm - 4:00pm Tuesday - Friday Dinner 4:00 pm - 10:00pm Saturday Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Elgin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(918) 933-4499

Website:
http://www.tallgrasstable.com/

Entertainment:
Tallgrass features live music. Check our website for our music schedule.

Catering:
Full catering services provided.

Parking Details:
There is street parking and there are two pay lots, one directly to the east of Tallgrass and one south across the street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Donaldson

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private chef's tasting dining room that seats 14 in plush leather chairs at an oversized wooden farm table. Tallgrass can also accommodate large parties in our two dining rooms.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tallgrass Prairie Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Tulsa
Most Booked
Tulsa
Fit for Foodies
Tulsa
1 More
Most Booked
Tulsa
Best Restaurants in Tulsa ›

fit for foodies (42)
special occasion (37)
romantic (24)
See All
good for groups (21)
great for brunch (19)
neighborhood gem (17)
hot spot (17)
notable wine list (9)
great for lunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING

Dined 4 days ago

This was our first time to the restaurant. We had an OUTSTANDING dinner experience and our waitress was very attentive and you could tell she enjoyed what she does. The food was awesome and different and so tasty . We will for sure go back. 5 star rating and everyone was so nice.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tallgrass Prairie is a unique dining exp ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Tallgrass Prairie is a unique dining experience. Loved that all their food is local. Wonderful menu options. We had great service. Will go back again. (Portions good size- enough for 2).

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

a reluctant recommendation

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I clicked "yes" on the would you recommend this restaurant - but it is a reluctant yes. We went for brunch on mother's day, which is a bad time to go out to eat. But that being said, no one was happy and friendly when we entered - we were seated at a bad table-very small table for two with our shoulders directly against a brick wall. When we asked if there were another option, we were told absolutely not. Drinks were just ok - a little weak. Food was just ok too. I had some sort of a smothered biscuit that had meatloaf in it. wouldn't do that again. Husband had shrimp and grits that he wasn't too crazy about. I just don't think we would go again, but it was a busy place that probably has the potential for good food under other circumstances.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Evening Out

Dined on April 30, 2016

We have heard quite a bit about Tallgrass, but hadn't had a chance to visit until recently. It lived up to its reputation. Every single bite was sumptuous! Service was excellent - we are not alcohol drinkers and the waitress didn't mind one bit - she did not make us feel that we were lesser customers because our tab would be less. I ordered the grilled meatloaf that they are known for - and I savored every single bite because it was so tasty. The tomato jam really topped it off. My husband ordered the pork chop and broccolini. It was good, but he should have ordered something more adventurous. It would have so worth it! We went down the street for dessert, but I am sure it would have been amazing. Thank you for making our evening special! Oh - we did ask for one of the cinnamon rolls left over from brunch that we could see in the kitchen window. Our waitress was happy to box it up for us to go - and we enjoyed it the next morning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

The duck was overcooked

Dined on April 28, 2016

I've been wanting to try this place because it was new to us and seemed like a hip place to eat, different from our usual spots. I checked out the menu and was excited to see they served duck! I've been on a huge duck kick since I tried it a couple years ago. Anywhere I go that has duck I just have to try it! Well, I was not impressed with their version. I'm used to being asked if I like it cooked medium rare which is really the best way to have it. It came out so well done it tasted fishy, but not good fishy...and it was a little pricey too. I didn't like that it came in a bowl either, a little hard to eat. Really my bad impression of this place is that the duck wasn't good and it really disappointed me. Also, our friend had a ribeye but said it was not cut well, and it had more fat than he's used to. The staff was alright and the places had an impression of being nice and classy, since we made reservations and they didn't open until 5pm for dinner. But overall, I was not impressed and have no reason to come back.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Birthday

Dined on April 27, 2016

Received the gift certificate over a year ago decided to finally use it for niece birthday. Waitress was fabulous to us. at the end meal I handed them the gift certificate the manager came over and ask "What is this?" I responded with a gift certificate from my boss, she replied with "Who and how did I receive it" I mention my boss name and ask if there a problem she was rude and said they no longer accept those but she would just this one time, like I had several of them laying around. I steak was tough and the manager was rude. But we paid the balance and left 20% tip before the certificate.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable Sunday brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

Friends wanted to have Sunday brunch together, so I booked a table at Tallgrass. We were seated in the front corner by the entrance - great table with view of downtown, but quiet enough to chat. The menu offered something for everyone, and the homemade beignets were amazing. Wait staff was attentive, but also gave us space to catch up and enjoy our brunch without feeling rushed. Superb meal, and cozy atmosphere. Love the unique menu items. I look forward to returning another Sunday to order the entrees I missed out on this time!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1

Food was cold. Service was awful. Bar wa ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Food was cold. Service was awful. Bar was slow. Ice eaten here several tones and never had this experience. We were there over an hour waiting for our food.

food2
ambience3
service3

Normally a nice place to eat but food ca ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Normally a nice place to eat but food came out cold not once but twice. Manager comped part of the meal but still very disappointing

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent location, great service, good food.

Dined on April 16, 2016

The restaurant is beautifully set up, not too loud. Easy to have a conversation. Drinks were fantastic, food was good, but not exceptional. The service was amazing. I would definitely go back when in the area. Was the perfect start to our evening for a girls night out. The restaurant was very crowded, but was not overwhelming.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Tall grass was amazing. My wife and I we ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Tall grass was amazing. My wife and I were looking for a special night out, and his nailed it. The food was creative, unique, and wonderful. When we're back in Tulsa, this will be hard to pass up

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great food, poor service

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food, decor, and ambiance were wonderful. Unfortunately, our server was not friendly or helpful. He acted as though we were bothering him when we asked for more water and did not seem interested in assisting us at all.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Not happy with where we were seated espe ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Not happy with where we were seated especially considering fact that we had a reservation We were seated in front facing kitchen

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great experience. From the time we walked to the time we walked out was amazing! Cocktails were perfect! The bone marrow was out of this world! Our server, Jackie, was top notch. Amazing atmosphere, super friendly staff from top to bottom. Would recommend to anybody, anytime. Cant wait to visit Tulsa again to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Visitor

Dined on March 30, 2016

This restaurant was highly rated on Yelp. The good: food choices are healthy, risotto was excellent The bad: pork chop was tough, the wine was overpriced and not good (it was a label touting its "up from the earth" healthy farming and processing. (That's all good, but while you do it, how about making it taste good). Prices were higher than they should have been for what we got.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dependable place for sunday brunch with ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Dependable place for sunday brunch with outstanding service and great food.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4

They were 'out' of almost everything we ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

They were 'out' of almost everything we ordered. Food was good, but trying too hard.

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Not a great place

Dined on March 20, 2016

They ran out of the only two dishes my girlfriend thought looked good at 8pm onSaturday night. My meatloaf and the daughters meatballs were way over cooked. It's not easy to burn meatloaf. The staff is friendly but slow. With many other good choices just a block away I will not be returning.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GO THERE!!!

Dined on March 15, 2016

Had dinner there with a chef from New York and a foodie from Chicago. We all left extremely satisfied. I used to live in Tulsa and I would eat here a lot if I were in town!! So here are the highs: Grilled Pork Belly- This was arguably the best thing we had put in our mouths in a long time. The balance of the citrus sausage and the delicious rich pork with the amazing carrot puree and tomato jam was perfection! If you are reading this for ordering tips, this is a must-have! Smoked Tomato and Prawn Soup- Rich, balanced, delicious. Hoot Owl Spareribs- Tender, fatty, cooked perfectly. Loved. Mushroom Pappardelle- Umami, umami, umami! Wow! The mushrooms, the broth, the texture of the pasta- everything was perfect. Behind the pork belly, my favorite dish. Here were the sort-of-lows: Rabbit- This was the dish we were most anticipating. It had so much potential but the crust on the rabbit was almost completely made of salt. It was very intense. When we removed the crust it was much better. The rabbit was tender and the chickpea dumplings was excellent. The rabbit broth was flavorful, I could have had a bowl of that. Bone Marrow was a high and a low- the marrow was delicious but the amount of additional flavors over-powered the marrow and took control of the dish. Brown Butter Dessert- cake was mushy but the flavors were good. Curry Squash Tamale & Duck Confit- I'm sure these dishes were fine but they paled in comparison to the other items so I don't remember much about them. Other: Service- was good overall but my "hot button" irritation is when someone brings food and leaves without making sure everyone has utensils. This happened several times during the meal. If you are going to take them, immediately replace them so this doesn't happen. Also, no one should drop off food and run without acknowledging the guests. Craft cocktails- we had three delicious cocktails before we cracked the wine. They were all excellent. In summation, GO!!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Above Average

Dined on March 12, 2016

It was nice but not really special. I thought it was a bit pricey, $34 for an unremarkable salmon filet. A side of aspergas was additional. The wait staff was pleasant and attentive. The wine list is more than adequate. The ambience is relaxing and inviting. There is a nice bar. The locals seem to like this restaurant. We went there on my last 2 visits. I enjoyed it and would recommend it but I would not tell a foodie that the cuisine was excellent.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food, mediocre service

Dined on March 12, 2016

Honestly, I did like the restaurant, but the service was subpar. I had high expectations going in and felt a little shorted. My next visit to Tulsa would leave me dining elsewhere more than likely.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Find

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

I had read about this restaurant on Facebook so when a reservation came up, we jumped on it. It was great, our daughter enjoyed the rabbit, and our ribeye and Akaushi flank steaks were great as well. I think it was the first time we all ate everything we ordered instead of taking some home. We will definitely be dining here again, with pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Sub par

Dined on March 5, 2016

I completed one review but the system didn't cooperate, so, I'm not going to rehash everything. Overall, the service was excellent, so were the salads. The meatloaf was great, even though we were charged extra for green beans for no reason. The chicken plate was tasty but served cold. The bone marrow was tiny, not much on it, and was also served cold. I've never seen bone marrow served with dressing on it. That's what happens when cold dressing goes on hot fatty protein, it gets sticky and doesn't taste right. The dressing should be served on the side, or at least have an option. $70 ticket average in Tulsa should get you decent food, especially when just one of us one glass of wine and no desert. Again, the service was great, but the manager was not able to explain the bone marrow issue.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best tests restaurants in Okl ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

One of the best tests restaurants in Oklahoma. Chef Michelle is amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very impressed

Dined on March 4, 2016

The appetizers especially were very impressive, but lots of great foodie options, big layered flavors and interesting ideas. The main course selection wasn't quite as original, but the items we had were executed very very well. We'll be back to try more things!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Good food and nice atmostphere

Dined on February 18, 2016

Tried the stake here which was decent but not good stakehouse quality. We found the appetizers to be excellent especially the ribs. The bar cocktails were excellent as well. Service was decent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Went for Valentine's Day. This was my fi ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Went for Valentine's Day. This was my first time in and I hadn't heard anything + or - about the place so I didn't know what to expect. The food itself was awesome and I didn't have any complaints minus the Luke-warm temperature of the soup. My biggest complaint though is that the staff seemed to be pretty pretentious through our interactions. Maybe it was a bad day, maybe it's the kind of staff they hire. But I've been to much nicer restaurants with much kinder staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of tulsa's best

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

This restaurant is one of the top restaurants in Tulsa, with a varied menu that shifts with the seasons. Much of its fare is locally sourced. Innovative but with attention to tradition, Tallgrass Prairie has been, for me, a consistently rewarding dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MUST try!

Dined on February 11, 2016

Great place for foodies that want a twist on everyday foods. The salads are also fresh and tasty. I went for lunch on my birthday and can't wait to get back with the hubby for a nice dinner. Creative alcoholic drink menu as well!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointing

Dined on February 7, 2016

We were visiting Tulsa from out-of-state and locals recommended the Tall Grass Prairie. The restaurant definitely has character and the service was good. The menu and our entree selections were very disappointing and overpriced. The ribs had crusty sauce that you could barely cut through with a steak knife and the spicy hot fried chicken was neither tender or spicy and the sauce was overwhelming. I will say the brisket sandwich appeared to be very popular, but we weren't looking for the BBQ joint.

food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Great service, just ok food

Dined on February 7, 2016

My wife and I went for my birthday dinner. The drinks and wine were great! Our service was amazing! Neither one of us were too impressed with our meals though. While they weren't bad, they were not that great either. We started with the bone marrow appetizer. Get that! It was something totally different and totally awesome! My wife had a filet with mashed potatoes and gravy, and green beans. She did not like that there was gravy on her steak. I raise cattle and we eat literal farm to table steaks on a regular basis and we both feel like it is a cardinal sin to put anything on a fresh and what was otherwise amazing steak like that, but maybe that is just us. I had the wood grilled duck breast with cauliflower and greens in a barbecue sauce. The duck breast was great but the greens and cauliflower had entirely too much sauce for me and it didn't help that I wasn't that fond of the sauce in the first place, it was too tart for my taste. Overall I'm glad we tried it and I'm sure we will give it another shot again eventually.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Expected better

Dined on February 5, 2016

I like the whole farm to table movement and have been to some wonderful places in the New York area. Several friends raved about Tallgrass so we were really looking forward to it. The coffee rubbed spare ribs were really good, but that was about it. It seems like they specialize in mixing together too many different flavors that are meant to surprise and amaze you, but all they do is create an overwhelming blend that obliterates the flavor of what was ordered. I was looking forward to the marrow, which is a delicacy not offered in many places. Marrow is rich, oily, mildly nutty and has a very unique, delicate flavor. It was imperceptible beneath the zingy lime and over-herbed toppings that completely masked the whole point of ordering such a dish. Wisely, I had suspected that would also be the case if I had ordered the sea bass which was offered beneath a chaotic mass of flavors, so I didn't bother, as nothing annoys me more than messing up perfectly good, fresh seafood with flavors that defeat it. The waitress may have had a personality, but that also was masked, and the open space felt quite cold since it was practically empty at the time we were there. Maybe this place would be fun in a large group with lots of drinks first. I like to try new places and new things, so I'm glad we went, but we won't be back.

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Very disappointing

Dined on February 4, 2016

We have dined at Tall Grass several times and it has usually been good...a few less than perfect meals but overall good. We like the atmosphere. This is why we booked it for a colleague's retirement dinner last Wednesday. My husband and I were pretty embarrassed. We ordered a charcuterie starter which arrived with NO MEAT, only cheese and pickled cantaloupe (which is delicious) but no meat in sight. I questioned the waitress and she looked confused and did not offer to fix it. We weren't going to make a fuss at a special occasion, but this was seriously bad. I ordered the spicy fried chicken (which I have had before). It had been fried at way too high a temp because the coating was hard as a rock and the chicken was quite underdone. The spices were just in a blob of sauce under the chicken...not cooked in as they have been before. Husband's pork chop was also mediocre. "Hand pie" dessert was also inedible. How often do people leave dessert uneaten?? It was a doughy blob (not baked enough??) with apple butter stuff inside coated in sugar...blech! Server was pretty bad. In addition to problem described above, she was having trouble managing even drink orders. I'm not sure if I will give Tall Grass another try. It will be a while for sure!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great, the service even bet ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

The food was great, the service even better. Great atmosphere. The only problem we had was that everything we wanted from the menu was sold out. And it wasn't too late either, our reservation was at 8:30PM. Also, it took 45 minutes between the time we ordered and the time we got our food. That's long for a restaurant at this price level.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Brunch - coming back for dinner soon

Dined on January 24, 2016

We stopped in for the first time for Sunday brunch. The food was great, the interior is really nice and what one might expect for a farm to table place. The pastry "basket" was great and we all liked the potatoes. We will be back for a dinner meal some time soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!! The staff were able to accommodate me!

Dined on January 24, 2016

They were able to get the back room reserved for my birthday party and we were very impressed with the food! This is by far one of the best restaurants in Tulsa!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall our experience was excellent. S ...

Dined on January 15, 2016

Overall our experience was excellent. Server was prompt and attentive. Food was good. It took a little long (30-35 min) to actually get our food after ordering. That's not too bad, only a little long when having to get back to work.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Poor experience.

Dined on January 10, 2016

We went to Tallgrass for the first and now only time on Saturday the 9th for dinner with another couple. Our food was poor at best; my wife ordered the duck which was cold when she received it and very tough even to cut. I had the meatloaf which tasted okay, but it was lukewarm. The dessert was cold, and we think it came out of the freezer. The staff was in a hurry to close and was pushing us out the door. Overall it was a huge disappointment, and we will not return to Tallgrass.

food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Disappointed

Dined on January 10, 2016

Sometimes you want so badly to have a good experience, you over look small things. Our cocktails were a good start to the evening and the atmosphere was terrific. The entres were well presented, but it stops there. Service was only ok. The actual meal, forgettable. The cost of the meal was not equal to the actual meal and experience. Disappointed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Not your mommas meatloaf

Dined on January 10, 2016

Great atmosphere and an air of class about the place without being stuffy. Polite and courteous wait staff. Fast bar service for the drinks even tho my 10 dollar drink was the size of a double shot (booo). I ordered the meatloaf (yes meatloaf) and my date ordered the duck. The meatloaf was life changing...I don't know how else to describe it. When your waiter says "that's my favorite" you can usually write that off to salesmanship or lip service. NOT IN THIS CASE...I believe him! Overall this place is worth it. I'Il be back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.