Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Tallgrass Prairie Table

4.3
399 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Hot Spot

Similar Restaurants

About

Tallgrass Prairie Table is a locally focused farm to table restaurant. It is located in the historic Blue Dome District of Tulsa, Oklahoma. This restaurant is unique for many reasons, but the most obvious is that it is a woman owned and operated business that encourages diversity and inclusion in the community. Menus are available for holiday dining, catering and more.

Tallgrass Prairie Table has something for everyone when it comes to great food. You can enjoy comfort food like meatloaf, bone marrow and spicy fried chicken with delightful spices and herbs. Brunch is also served, with fare like house made doughnuts, breakfast tacos and fresh fruit salad. Tallgrass Prairie Table also serves drinks like mimosas and the sundown fundown.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Closed Tuesday - Friday lunch 11:00 pm - 4:00pm Tuesday - Friday Dinner 4:00 pm - 10:00pm Saturday Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(918) 933-4499
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michelle Donaldson
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have a private chef's tasting dining room that seats 14 in plush leather chairs at an oversized wooden farm table. Tallgrass can also accommodate large parties in our two dining rooms.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Full catering services provided.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Elgin
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is street parking and there are two pay lots, one directly to the east of Tallgrass and one south across the street.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Tallgrass features live music. Check our website for our music schedule.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 399 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on July 30, 2016

Tried this place for the first time, loved the urban chic atmosphere, service was great and not too intrusive, food served at just the right pace. Food was very good, menu was a bit limited but everything on the menu was what was fresh that day. We went at 8:00 pm on a Saturday night, I would suggest going a bit earlier because they were out of or down to one of some popular items. We'll definitely go back soon, fun vibrant area in the Blue Dome District.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 30, 2016

Unfortunately, the restaurant was out of several of their dishes, including all seafood dishes. And it was a Saturday night. The environment is great

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 29, 2016

We were seated after two very large groups so the kitchen was very slow but the food and service were perfect! I would definitely go again!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 26, 2016

lousy experience. Waiter had a cavalier attitude. he didn't bring our starter until the meal came. It was soggy pizza basically (supposed to be flatbread) Smoked half chicken was way over done and had a VERY weird texture. Risotto was like a bowl of mush.

Just another restaurant that does not seems to care about what they are putting out. This is how I feel, if you are going to own a restaurant that is mid to high end, you should be there on site to see what your chefs are doing. Most of the time a restaurant fails because the Chef is bad and doesn't care. the owner never knows!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2016

Wow. What a nice find in downtown Tulsa. I had the grilled meatloaf and it was really really good! I loved the variety on the menu. We went with a group of friends and everyone tried something different. Cool setting. Felt fresh and healthy and locally grown.
Would definitely recommend and would go again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 22, 2016

First time. Everything was very good. I will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was excellent! We did not receive a friendly greeting but were seated quickly and the accommodated our request to sit at a table at the back instead of at a table squeezed between two couples. We were a group of 4 ladies celebrating a Birthday. Our biggest issue was with our waitress who was very short with us and let us know "there will be an up charge for that" with each thing we requested. We had no issue with the up charge, it was the way in which we were told, over and over. She would also hurriedly refill drinks and not give us a chance to ask for anything nor ask us if anything was needed. We didn't need a conversationalist, but she was on the edge of rude making us feel she didn't have time for us, and that we weren't worthy to be there. Two of us had been there before and two had not - not a great impression for them.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant was gone downhill. Service was barely acceptable. Waitress was not very helpful; had to ask what the specials were. Expecting better service. We should have sent back the spicy fried chicken meal as the potatoes were not done and the chicken was barely done. Very disappointing dinner as we had been here before and the service and food then were top notch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 30, 2016

wonderful service, server was very knowledgeable and offered great suggestions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 24, 2016

Great experience! Will certainly go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 24, 2016

was able to reserve a table for three on line the day of.....the menu selections are locally obtained and creatively prepared and they tasted fabulous, looked beautiful, and were the perfectly sized portions......not to mention the public parking lot next to the restaurant in case you want to take in the entertainment that is all around there with in easy walking distance.....it seems to have it all....looking forward to going again soon.....!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 18, 2016

Farm to table restaurants are usually unique in their menu, sauces, and presentation and Tall Grass Prarie was no exception We had a special occasion dinner there and
thouroughly enjoyed the food , Blue Dome environment and the uniquely prepared menu items.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2016

If you like meat, this is the place. Locally sourced meat and veggies, prepared beautifully without disguising the taste. Service OK and attentive. Pace of dinner was pleasant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2016

Always fresh, imaginative food. Great service and unique atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 28, 2016

Our pork chops were tough and full of gristle. We probably will NOT come back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 26, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, but that is about it. The food is poor. It is like the they're trying to be clever with the menu, but the taste is painful. Perhaps there are some refined palates out there that would enjoy, but even if they did prefer the unusual fried chicken or lamb meatballs swimming in a muted sauce, the price would be hard to justify.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2016

This was our first time to the restaurant. We had an OUTSTANDING dinner experience and our waitress was very attentive and you could tell she enjoyed what she does. The food was awesome and different and so tasty . We will for sure go back. 5 star rating and everyone was so nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2016

Tallgrass Prairie is a unique dining experience. Loved that all their food is local. Wonderful menu options. We had great service. Will go back again. (Portions good size- enough for 2).

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 8, 2016

I clicked "yes" on the would you recommend this restaurant - but it is a reluctant yes. We went for brunch on mother's day, which is a bad time to go out to eat. But that being said, no one was happy and friendly when we entered - we were seated at a bad table-very small table for two with our shoulders directly against a brick wall. When we asked if there were another option, we were told absolutely not. Drinks were just ok - a little weak. Food was just ok too. I had some sort of a smothered biscuit that had meatloaf in it. wouldn't do that again. Husband had shrimp and grits that he wasn't too crazy about. I just don't think we would go again, but it was a busy place that probably has the potential for good food under other circumstances.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2016

We have heard quite a bit about Tallgrass, but hadn't had a chance to visit until recently. It lived up to its reputation. Every single bite was sumptuous! Service was excellent - we are not alcohol drinkers and the waitress didn't mind one bit - she did not make us feel that we were lesser customers because our tab would be less. I ordered the grilled meatloaf that they are known for - and I savored every single bite because it was so tasty. The tomato jam really topped it off. My husband ordered the pork chop and broccolini. It was good, but he should have ordered something more adventurous. It would have so worth it! We went down the street for dessert, but I am sure it would have been amazing. Thank you for making our evening special! Oh - we did ask for one of the cinnamon rolls left over from brunch that we could see in the kitchen window. Our waitress was happy to box it up for us to go - and we enjoyed it the next morning.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 27, 2016

I've been wanting to try this place because it was new to us and seemed like a hip place to eat, different from our usual spots. I checked out the menu and was excited to see they served duck! I've been on a huge duck kick since I tried it a couple years ago. Anywhere I go that has duck I just have to try it! Well, I was not impressed with their version. I'm used to being asked if I like it cooked medium rare which is really the best way to have it. It came out so well done it tasted fishy, but not good fishy...and it was a little pricey too. I didn't like that it came in a bowl either, a little hard to eat. Really my bad impression of this place is that the duck wasn't good and it really disappointed me. Also, our friend had a ribeye but said it was not cut well, and it had more fat than he's used to. The staff was alright and the places had an impression of being nice and classy, since we made reservations and they didn't open until 5pm for dinner. But overall, I was not impressed and have no reason to come back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 27, 2016

Received the gift certificate over a year ago decided to finally use it for niece birthday. Waitress was fabulous to us. at the end meal I handed them the gift certificate the manager came over and ask "What is this?" I responded with a gift certificate from my boss, she replied with "Who and how did I receive it" I mention my boss name and ask if there a problem she was rude and said they no longer accept those but she would just this one time, like I had several of them laying around. I steak was tough and the manager was rude. But we paid the balance and left 20% tip before the certificate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2016

Friends wanted to have Sunday brunch together, so I booked a table at Tallgrass. We were seated in the front corner by the entrance - great table with view of downtown, but quiet enough to chat. The menu offered something for everyone, and the homemade beignets were amazing. Wait staff was attentive, but also gave us space to catch up and enjoy our brunch without feeling rushed. Superb meal, and cozy atmosphere. Love the unique menu items. I look forward to returning another Sunday to order the entrees I missed out on this time!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 16, 2016

Food was cold. Service was awful. Bar was slow. Ice eaten here several tones and never had this experience. We were there over an hour waiting for our food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2016

Normally a nice place to eat but food came out cold not once but twice. Manager comped part of the meal but still very disappointing

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2016

The restaurant is beautifully set up, not too loud. Easy to have a conversation. Drinks were fantastic, food was good, but not exceptional. The service was amazing. I would definitely go back when in the area. Was the perfect start to our evening for a girls night out.

The restaurant was very crowded, but was not overwhelming.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2016

Tall grass was amazing. My wife and I were looking for a special night out, and his nailed it. The food was creative, unique, and wonderful. When we're back in Tulsa, this will be hard to pass up

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2016

The food, decor, and ambiance were wonderful. Unfortunately, our server was not friendly or helpful. He acted as though we were bothering him when we asked for more water and did not seem interested in assisting us at all.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 3, 2016

Not happy with where we were seated especially considering fact that we had a reservation

We were seated in front facing kitchen

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2016

Great experience. From the time we walked to the time we walked out was amazing! Cocktails were perfect! The bone marrow was out of this world! Our server, Jackie, was top notch. Amazing atmosphere, super friendly staff from top to bottom. Would recommend to anybody, anytime. Cant wait to visit Tulsa again to return!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 30, 2016

This restaurant was highly rated on Yelp.
The good: food choices are healthy, risotto was excellent
The bad: pork chop was tough, the wine was overpriced and not good (it was a label touting its "up from the earth" healthy farming and processing. (That's all good, but while you do it, how about making it taste good).
Prices were higher than they should have been for what we got.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2016

Dependable place for sunday brunch with outstanding service and great food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 19, 2016

They were 'out' of almost everything we ordered. Food was good, but trying too hard.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 19, 2016

They ran out of the only two dishes my girlfriend thought looked good at 8pm onSaturday night. My meatloaf and the daughters meatballs were way over cooked. It's not easy to burn meatloaf. The staff is friendly but slow. With many other good choices just a block away I will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2016

Had dinner there with a chef from New York and a foodie from Chicago. We all left extremely satisfied. I used to live in Tulsa and I would eat here a lot if I were in town!!
So here are the highs:
Grilled Pork Belly- This was arguably the best thing we had put in our mouths in a long time. The balance of the citrus sausage and the delicious rich pork with the amazing carrot puree and tomato jam was perfection! If you are reading this for ordering tips, this is a must-have!
Smoked Tomato and Prawn Soup- Rich, balanced, delicious.
Hoot Owl Spareribs- Tender, fatty, cooked perfectly. Loved.
Mushroom Pappardelle- Umami, umami, umami! Wow! The mushrooms, the broth, the texture of the pasta- everything was perfect. Behind the pork belly, my favorite dish.


Here were the sort-of-lows:
Rabbit- This was the dish we were most anticipating. It had so much potential but the crust on the rabbit was almost completely made of salt. It was very intense. When we removed the crust it was much better. The rabbit was tender and the chickpea dumplings was excellent. The rabbit broth was flavorful, I could have had a bowl of that.
Bone Marrow was a high and a low- the marrow was delicious but the amount of additional flavors over-powered the marrow and took control of the dish.
Brown Butter Dessert- cake was mushy but the flavors were good.
Curry Squash Tamale & Duck Confit- I'm sure these dishes were fine but they paled in comparison to the other items so I don't remember much about them.

Other:
Service- was good overall but my "hot button" irritation is when someone brings food and leaves without making sure everyone has utensils. This happened several times during the meal. If you are going to take them, immediately replace them so this doesn't happen. Also, no one should drop off food and run without acknowledging the guests.
Craft cocktails- we had three delicious cocktails before we cracked the wine. They were all excellent.

In summation, GO!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2016

It was nice but not really special. I thought it was a bit pricey, $34 for an unremarkable salmon filet. A side of aspergas was additional. The wait staff was pleasant and attentive. The wine list is more than adequate. The ambience is relaxing and inviting. There is a nice bar. The locals seem to like this restaurant. We went there on my last 2 visits.
I enjoyed it and would recommend it but I would not tell a foodie that the cuisine was excellent.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 12, 2016

Honestly, I did like the restaurant, but the service was subpar. I had high expectations going in and felt a little shorted. My next visit to Tulsa would leave me dining elsewhere more than likely.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2016

I had read about this restaurant on Facebook so when a reservation came up, we jumped on it. It was great, our daughter enjoyed the rabbit, and our ribeye and Akaushi flank steaks were great as well. I think it was the first time we all ate everything we ordered instead of taking some home. We will definitely be dining here again, with pleasure.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2016

I completed one review but the system didn't cooperate, so, I'm not going to rehash everything.

Overall, the service was excellent, so were the salads.

The meatloaf was great, even though we were charged extra for green beans for no reason.

The chicken plate was tasty but served cold. The bone marrow was tiny, not much on it, and was also served cold.

I've never seen bone marrow served with dressing on it. That's what happens when cold dressing goes on hot fatty protein, it gets sticky and doesn't taste right. The dressing should be served on the side, or at least have an option.

$70 ticket average in Tulsa should get you decent food, especially when just one of us one glass of wine and no desert.

Again, the service was great, but the manager was not able to explain the bone marrow issue.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2016

One of the best tests restaurants in Oklahoma. Chef Michelle is amazing.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10