Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Taj of India - Crystal City

4.4
25 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Indian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Great for Lunch

Similar Restaurants

About

Taj of India offers a calm and casual atmosphere that is good for dining with friends, family members and even with co-workers.

Its creative menu features a wide variety of great food always made from the best quality ingredients. Here you can enjoy mouthwatering food items served by our professional and friendly staffs. Our main objective is to ensure that your dining experience becomes a pleasant one.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Indian, Global, International, Vegetarian / Vegan
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday: 11:30am – 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am – 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(703) 920-1100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
S Eads St
Additional
Takeout
What 25 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.1
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 24, 2016

Some of the best Indian food I have ever had! The staff is friendly and I've never experienced a mistake on my order. This is a go-to for restaurant for us. They have food I crave...food that I'm looking forward to every time we make plans to go. If you like Indian food, I can't recommend Taj of India enough!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was first class. Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2016

We were nine educators looking for something different that had a variety. We ordered loads of food which came out hot and timely. The service was very attentive and courteous. They didn't overlook a single detail even with a big party. I recommend this restaurant highly.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 2, 2016

A surreal experience, where the servers did not know that they needed to put plates on the table and argued that we should eat appetizers on the small side plate and the large dinner plates were for dinner.

Servers were unable to place dishes on the table, and asked to move half-full dishes out to make space.

No one except one server spoke English with any degree of proficiency.

This must be what the Twilight Zone looks like in Bangladesh.

Any other Indian restaurant in DC is better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2016

Taj of India is wonderful and Rumi, the maitre d', is beyond amazing. So kind and helpful.
Made a quiet birthday lunch very special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2015

Delicious vegetable viryani

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 4, 2015

Good food in a little retaurant. Competes well with the surrounding restaurants. Little too much sugar in the curry for my liking but overall very good. Basic dining experience with simple tables and layout.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 4, 2015

I love a good Indian! They're harder to find here than I'm used to in the UK... So pleased that this one is near my work. The buffet was good - a bit tame on the spiciness front. But flavoursome and good variety. Thumbs up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 25, 2015

The mango lassi started the dinner at an all time high and the thali continued to soar.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 1, 2015

Went for lunch. Food was ok--but I've never had Saag Paneer that was served in a cream sauce (it looked and tasted more like creamed spinach than what is normally thought of as Indian spinach preparation). Other diners seemed happier with their meals--maybe I made a bad selection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 22, 2015

Came back to dine twice while I was in the area for a work conference. Great lunch buffet: spinach and lentils, several Chicken options, hot out of the oven Naan, and a delicious rice pudding for dessert. Comfortable seating along the wall, attentive servers. I will be back when I travel back into the area. Thank you for a memorable meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 12, 2015

The service was very good and the staff went out of their way to make a group of newbies to Indian cuisine feel comfortable and have an excellent dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 19, 2015

A great well kept secret. First time to celebrate a friend's birthday and the food was great. The service was attentive and wonderful personalities. I will definitely come again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2015

We went here with my husband's former boss and his wife. We got there around 7pm and ended up closing the place down. The staff was attentive and had great advice about the menu based on what we said we liked. Everything we ordered was fantastic! If you like Indian food as much as I do, then this is the place to go. It's a little more upscale, it has a clean feeling, and a quiet, well-lit atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2015

This little neighborhood gem has some of the best Indian food around. Flavors and spices blended perfectly together. Nothing fancy...just excellent food. Staff was attentive and very friendly. Would absolutely recommend for lunch or a nice quiet dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2015

While some reviews complain about pricing, our party of three found pricing commensurate with quality. Our meal was excellent and the portion sizes were generous. We especially liked the chicken Tikka masala and the veggie sampler platter. Everything was cooked to perfection with succulent chicken and beef; all dishes were well spiced (for American palates) and flavorful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I went here for the first time last week. We ordered an old favorite, Chicken Tikka Masala, and something we had never had before - Chicken Birhyani. Both were really delicious. Wait stuff was polite, but a little slow once we had our food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 22, 2014

Have been craving Indian food for several months as a paucity of decent Indian restaurants in my locale renders the choice moot. Food was 6/11 while service was attentive without being intrusive. Felt prices were relatively high as my bill (solo diner) exceeded $50 with tip. Ordered the vegetable pakoras and Butter Chicken with garlic naan and two Taj Mahals. My favorite Indian beer, Flying Horse was not available. Also, I think pappads with a small chutney and relish selection should be a complementary accompaniment to one's meal in any Indian establishment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 12, 2014

Service was friendly and attentive. The food was delicious in ample proportions for sharing family style or individually. Convenient location close to the hotels make this a great spot for travelers within easy walking distance who want a delicious bite of Indian food while on the road.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 19, 2014

On our last night in the DC area we stayed near the airport. We found this little Gem - Taj of India. And all our family can say is amazing food! Everything we had was OUTSTANDING! This was by far our best dinner in the DC area (and we ate out every night). We started with the Taj Grilled Meat Appetizer. For diner my husband had Lamb Roganjosh, I had Lamb Pasanda, our 11 year old daughter had the Lamb Korma and our 9 year old son had the Shrimp Dopazza along with the Garlic Naan and Cheese Naan. It was Delicious and there was none left. My husband and I's favorite was the Lamb Pasanda. Our meal took some time to cook and come out, but other then that we would suggest Taj and wish there was one near our home!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 16, 2014

Nothing to write home about but nothing derogatory either. You can have a tasty meal here without a reservation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2014

Chose the restaurant due to location and cuisine for a visiting guest...we were so pleased that we did! The food was really very good, I had the Lamb Korma and it was excellent and everyone else really raved about their selections as well. Service was a little bumpy at the start with an untrained server, but the server we had most of the time was charming and very funny. Small dining room, nice decor, quiet at this time - early Saturday evening - would recommend this restaurant to Indian cuisine lovers.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2014

Best korma I've ever had. Also enjoyed the chicken biryani and the aloo gobo.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2014

The atmosphere is very nice, The wait staff was attentive though the actual waiter that took our order seemed to have a little trouble understanding us so I am thinking maybe his English skills weren't very strong. We ordered two different kinds of bread and one was forgotten when dinner was served. The staff acted quickly to bring out the other bread but it took several minutes because I think things are made to order. It was delicious once it arrived at the table though! I would give this placed a second chance because overall, I enjoyed it very much.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2014

The new Taj of India was a pleasant surprise. The dishes we tried were well prepared and very tasty. The chutneys and pickled mango were fresh and homemade-tasting. Service was attentive and quick despite the holiday.

Report
Helpful