HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 5 times today

Taj Mahal

4.0
50 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Indian
Top Tags:
  • Spicy (7)
  • Pre/post Theatre (3)
  • Casual (3)
The Taj mahal restaurant is one of the longest serving eateries in Birmingham city centre. Established in 1962, this family run business has been providing residents and visitors with the finest Indian cuisine for over 50 years.
To us, food is synonymous with freshness and quality. We We stay away from assembly-line work and prepare our dishes fresh upon ordering and entirely from scratch. The quality of the food and service we provide are of the upmost important to the restaurant. The quality of the food and service we provide are of the upmost important to the restaurant. 
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Indian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 2:00am
Thursday: 5:30pm - 2:30am
Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm - 4am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
0121 643 3695
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Rail Station: Birmingham New Street
What 50 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0  based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.2
service
3.7
ambience
4.0
value
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
WilliamC (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

had very good meal before seeing ballet at hyprodome

Report
Helpful
SFoodie86 (Birmingham)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Food was very good. Staff were friendly. Hidden away off the main road but nice little spot and wasnt too busy.

Report
Helpful
CarolB (London)
5.0  Dined on February 12, 2018

A great first visit to Taj Mahal we were meeting with friends we met on a recent trip to India
Busy although eating early the food was delicious and we were asked at what pace we wanted courses to come out Very friendly happy staff look forward to going again

Report
Helpful
GeoffH (Birmingham)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Good food and efficient and friendly service. Very handy as an after theatre restaurant.

Report
Helpful
Topher (Essex)
4.0  Dined on January 2, 2018

Place was a bit quiet and atmosphere a bit muted, this didn't bother me as dining alone midweek. However the food was delicious and would happily go back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
3.0  Dined on December 18, 2017

Went before the theatre and were the only customers in there. Food was average and quite bland. Even though it was empty we felt very rushed, our starters arrived before we had finished out poppadoms..

Report
Helpful
Cakey (Las Vegas)
4.0  Dined on November 4, 2017

The food was a little pricey but was tasty, quite a small restaurant and it did feel a bit cramped when we first arrived. Service was good and waiters were friendly enough

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on October 7, 2017

A really good Birmingham currey house. Good service and discovered a new type of currey which was very delicious. Certainly one we will return too

Report
Helpful
Amarjit (Birmingham)
3.0  Dined on September 17, 2017

I felt the they too much food colouring for harray Mirch lamb dish

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on September 9, 2017

Best curry and service we have found in sometime, this will now be our new favourite Indian restaraunt .

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (London)
4.0  Dined on September 4, 2017

What a great find. This is a great Indian restaurant: good honest food. What's not to like?

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cornwall)
4.0  Dined on August 19, 2017

Good value for money. Thoroughly enjoyable food. Good friendly service. Staff were helpful. I'd happily go back again. Perfect location for our group too. The bogs were a bit "yucky" though. That would be my only gripe.

Report
Helpful
NigelHuggins (London)
4.0  Dined on August 12, 2017

Its been here for years and I've been dining here irregularly for years too! Its a great place; very clean and tidy with polite and prompt service. Open late too so ideal for after a show at the Alex or Electric Cinema. The food is very tasty and the meat is succulent and very tender.
I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone for a great curry. However, it can occasionally get quite busy even though its off the beaten track.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
4.0  Dined on August 2, 2017

We were excited to try a Birmingham curry during our visit to the city. The curry was fine, but quite ordinary. Service is was very good however

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
4.0  Dined on July 28, 2017

The restaurant had no knowledge of my booking through Open Table for 12 so was a bit frustrating as I had colleagues travelling from all over the Midlands for this meal.

Fortunately the restaurant were very accommodating and set us up a table and served us as they were still reasonably quiet having just opened.

Would not book with opentable again based on this experience and would always phone the restaurant and confirm my booking if I do regardless of the emails received.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4