Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About Taj Mahal

The Taj mahal restaurant is one of the longest serving eateries in Birmingham city centre. Established in 1962, this family run business has been providing residents and visitors with the finest Indian cuisine for over 50 years.
To us, food is synonymous with freshness and quality. We We stay away from assembly-line work and prepare our dishes fresh upon ordering and entirely from scratch. The quality of the food and service we provide are of the upmost important to the restaurant. The quality of the food and service we provide are of the upmost important to the restaurant. 

1 Norfolk House
Hinckley Street
Birmingham, West Midlands B5 4LJ
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:

Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 2:00am
Thursday: 5:30pm - 2:30am
Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm - 4am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
£25 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
0121 643 3695

Website:
http://www.tajmahalb5.co.uk/

Public Transit:
Rail Station: Birmingham New Street

Taj Mahal Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

3.8

value

4.2

90% would recommend it to a friend

Spicy (6)
Special Occasion (4)
Late-night Find (4)
See All
Casual (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fun (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort by
S
44 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The food was a little pricey but was tasty, quite a small restaurant and it did feel a bit cramped when we first arrived. Service was good and waiters were friendly enough

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

A really good Birmingham currey house. Good service and discovered a new type of currey which was very delicious. Certainly one we will return too

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I felt the they too much food colouring for harray Mirch lamb dish

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Best curry and service we have found in sometime, this will now be our new favourite Indian restaraunt .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Spicy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 4, 2017

What a great find. This is a great Indian restaurant: good honest food. What's not to like?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Cornwall)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Good value for money. Thoroughly enjoyable food. Good friendly service. Staff were helpful. I'd happily go back again. Perfect location for our group too. The bogs were a bit "yucky" though. That would be my only gripe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Its been here for years and I've been dining here irregularly for years too! Its a great place; very clean and tidy with polite and prompt service. Open late too so ideal for after a show at the Alex or Electric Cinema. The food is very tasty and the meat is succulent and very tender.
I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone for a great curry. However, it can occasionally get quite busy even though its off the beaten track.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We were excited to try a Birmingham curry during our visit to the city. The curry was fine, but quite ordinary. Service is was very good however

Tags: Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The restaurant had no knowledge of my booking through Open Table for 12 so was a bit frustrating as I had colleagues travelling from all over the Midlands for this meal.

Fortunately the restaurant were very accommodating and set us up a table and served us as they were still reasonably quiet having just opened.

Would not book with opentable again based on this experience and would always phone the restaurant and confirm my booking if I do regardless of the emails received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Took 30 mins to be seated despite booking. Gave the table poppadoms but no cutlery or plates!?

Only cleared table between courses when asked.

Ordered different curries (standard and chef specials), all looked similar....alarmingly red!

Don't bother if you fancy even an average curry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on June 10, 2017

V busy on Saturday night but v friendly and lovely food, recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Yorkshire)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Booked a table of 6 - lively place, good range of the standard Indian dishes, all food was very good, wine was good value and there seemed to be a very busy takeaway trade going on too. Well worth a visit if in the city centre - only comment wold be location which is down a dimly lit side street just next to New Street Station.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were visiting the restaurant for a pre theatre meal and arrived slightly early to find they were not open but on arriving a few minutes later the staff were kind enough to open early welcomed us in. The food was excellent having elected the Nepalese Dhansak on recommendation and the overall meal was very well priced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was good, there weren't many people in there as it was Sunday night. Service was friendly but not overly warm. I would go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

After a bit of a fuss finding the place on Google map we arrived to a friendly welcome and were seated immediately. The place was packed and the atmosphere was great. Service time was good in the circumstances and the food was excellent. Highly recommended

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great service and lovely food.
The best King Prawn Bhuna I have ever had!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 15, 2016

This was third time visited the restaurant as a party of 12. As before service was really good and food delicious and great value. It all made for a great night out. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I have put the Five Stars on the ones I can but only due to the Ladies Bathroom which my female companions rated very poor it would have been a Five all over. Food, Service, and Ambience were perfect. One other mark down though is the price was slightly high for a Standard Curry.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Booked for a pre show meal, food was great and very reasonably priced. Staff were welcoming and attentive. Chosen for proximity to theatres and O2 academy, will definitely be returning, great place!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was nice enough but not outstanding. The place is clean and tidy. service was slow considering there was only 8 people eating.
Staff were sloppy and uninterested

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 18, 2016

What sets this Curry-house aside from the rest isn't the fact that it's in a back street, that makes you wonder why it's listed on Toptable on the approach, or the slightly-too-loud Indian lounge music: it's the quality of the food. I agree with the review a few back - best curry I've ever had (and I've had quite a few!). The Cobra's half tidy as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The service was quick and friendly, the food was quite exceptional and the price was outstanding I would visit again and will be advising friends/family to visit also

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Does what it says on the tin. Good food. Atmosphere ok but some diners just too loud.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Came to Birmingham central first time with some friends for the midlands whisky festival.
As tradition we always go for an Indian meal afterwards, the food and service was great and the waiting staff friendly and helpful.
One of the best Indian restaurants I've been to, wish we had the same calibre of Indian cuisine over here in Lincoln. Very good.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Gloucestershire)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fabulous place, food was great, service was great. Loved it

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Good food. Pity that the restaurant had no record of the booking through Opentable

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2016

we went in for a stag do. Booked for a table of 12, everyone ate well, no complaints about the food, the service was efficient and the price was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 22, 2016

Awful food. The worst Indian I had in my life. Biryani was taste less. And the butter chicken was sweet and fruity!
Raitha was so sour and watery!

They were going to charge us 4+£ for coffee that we didn't have. We noticed the additional charge in the bill so they took it away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 28, 2015

Booked this restaurant a month in advance as a party of us were meeting up for drinks and a meal in Birmingham. I booked it so far ahead because some of the party were coming a long way and we wanted a city centre location.
When we arrived at 7.30 it was clear the restaurant was full and our party of 6 could not be seated.
When I asked about my booking they gave me some waffle that they had stopped taking 7.30 bookings through this web site. When I asked if he had put the block on a month ago he looked sheepish and had no answer. Definitely telling a lie. Probably had given the table away thinking we weren't turning up.
Said if we got a drink he would call/text us in 20 minutes when there was a table. We left and went to the Big Wok Chinese which does a great meal.
Got a text off the Taj Mahal 2 hours later saying they had a table.
I didn't respond as my belly was full of lovely Chinese food.
Avoid this place. They can't organise the drink in the brewery

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on November 13, 2015

Excellent food, excellent service and a great finish to the day.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Had a wonderful evening with my husband, staff was friendly... I had chicken madras that was very hot but the taste was beautiful...

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 1, 2015

Average at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on August 29, 2015

The food was so under-seasoned, it was almost tasteless. The starters were particularly bland, pakoras resembled chicken nuggets. The restaurant itself is comfortable, they just need to put some flavour in the food. As visitors to Birmingham for the weekend we wanted to sample the home of Balti. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 29, 2015

Booked online at very short notice on a Saturday evening (730) after reading a favourable review on Tripadvisor.

Got there dead on 8 , table was open, staff were lively and attentive, but not pushy. Ordered drinks and starters, both arrived within 10 minutes, were well cooked and very tasty indeed.

Ordered our main courses, and the host advised that there was a house special very similar to what we were ordering, and would we like to try it. I am so glad we did, it was fantastic. We had the Nepalese Dansak, which was both sweet and slightly hot , and a couple of Naan breads . I got nowhere near the desserts, nor did my dining partner, as we were stuffed by this point.

I had budgeted about £50 for the meal, but the actual cost was significantly less. Really Really impressed by them , will definetely be back on my next visit to the city.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 1, 2015

good food, value for money, good service shame about the air conditioning.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 16, 2015

We arrived 20 minutes early, but it wasn't a problem as we were seated straight away. The restaurant was busy, but the service was still very good. Everybody enjoyed their food, and I would most definitely return. Overall, the restaurant was great value for money!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 7, 2015

A busy, central restaurant a stone's throw from New Street station and the Bullring.

The food is the let down here especially the curries and naans. Very little chicken in the curries, one tasted powdery the other was a very peculiar flavour indeed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 21, 2015

I Had been told about this restaurant before but never got around to going. What a pitty I didn, t go before. The service was ourstanding and passed almost un noticed, timing of the courses, was so acurate it was like having you food served by your own staff. Then the food was hot a little spicer than expected, but I enjoyed every mouthfull. The only disapointment was that I could not eat it all.

we will be going bak again very soon and I for one will not be snacking beforehand.

my tip book first as it can fill up verry quickly.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 21, 2015

My wife and I had a great meal at the Taj Mahal on Saturday night. Food and service was excellent, and good value for money.
It was our first visit and we chose based on the food reviews on OpenTable. On our last visit to Birmingham we ate at a more glitzy Indian restaurant, and although we enjoyed the experience the food was half as good and the bill twice as big. We wouldn't go to that one again but would definitely go here in future.
Dishes worth mentioning were the shrimp pancake starter, and the Chicken Tikka garlic chilli main course. Also enjoyed an excellent bottle of Cote du Rhone.
Don't be put off by the slightly back street feel as you approach the restaurant, the food more than makes up for it.

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2015

I booked here for a valentines meal with my boyfriend after watching a show at the old rep theatre. Food was delicious and it wasn't too expensive considering it's in the town centre. Couldn't fault the service. I'll go back if I'm in birmingham again for the night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.