About Tadashi

12801 Hill Country Boulevard
Bee Cave, TX 78738
View Larger Map

Tadashi invites you to explore Japanese cuisine beyond sushi. Our specialty is Japanese-style seasonal plates, for sharing and pairing with wine or sake. Savor the dishes of Japan and enjoy the harmony of subtle & bold flavors.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 263-3200

Website:
http://tadashiaustin.com/

Catering:
Perfect plan for small parties or luncheons at meetings, conferences, seminars, all kinds of occasional events or even typical family events.Hot food is also available.
• Minimum order: TBD
• Fresh sushi, Pickled ginger, wasabi, Soy sauce, Napkins and Chopsticks
• Requires 3 days in advance

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking and street parking.

Executive Chef:
Sun

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tadashi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Austin
Best Overall
Austin
Best Restaurants in Bee Caves / Lakeway / Lake Travis ›

fit for foodies (9)
special occasion (7)
great for lunch (6)
See All
neighborhood gem (5)
romantic (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for brunch (4)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
notable wine list (1)
good for groups (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
67 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Tadashi has some pretty interesting thin ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Tadashi has some pretty interesting things on their app menu, but their sushi was meh. Artfully presented but a but pricey for run-of-the-mill sushi. But you're paying for location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Extensive menu. Can't wait to go back to ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Extensive menu. Can't wait to go back to try more!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food! Nice staff and quick service ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food! Nice staff and quick service, what more could you ask for......oh yeah, very reasonable price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sashimi & nigiri were fine but tell the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Sashimi & nigiri were fine but tell the customer you put wasabi on the rice. The rolls were a joke. Loosely wrap, falling apart, flavorless. The dumplings were flavorless. Read rave reviews and maybe we went on an off night, but won't be going back. Maybe send the chefs to Auchincloss or Uchiko for lessons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

I love this restaurant! It's delicious. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I love this restaurant! It's delicious. The bento box is a great deal!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I went here on a date for my birthday. The service was great and our server was very friendly. The sushi was great and perfect to share with others. I even got a special birthday dessert with a candle and "Happy Birthday" written in chocolate on the plate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Top notch! Their fish was fresh and the ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Top notch! Their fish was fresh and the preparation was spot on! I can't say enough about the service. I believe our waitress made it an amazing birthday for my daughter and her friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great sashimi

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Ordered five different fish sashimi style

The portions were generous, the presentation exciting and the freshness incredible

The soft shell crab tempura was excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding Service and Delicious Sushi

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner Sat. evening and as usual, the service and food were excellent. We love consistency in a restaurant which is very hard to find. Sean greeted us at the door and thanked us for coming when we left. Our server was charming and very helpful in assisting one of our group with selecting the right food for her. All in all, it was a great!

If anything could be done to deaden the noise, that would help. Holding a conversation was difficult without yelling. That's my only complaint. But, hey, it's a boisterous place!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a favorite!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Good, fresh Japanese food, well-prepared. Great menu selection. The only place I go for lunch when shopping at the Galleria!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a winner!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great service and terrific Sushi! I come here often and I love this place. The fish is always fresh and beautifully prepared. My kids love the Teriyaki Bento Boxes and the Negiri is top-notch. Since it's right next to the Cinemark, its a great place for a pre-movie meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seriously dissapointed

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

We were shockingly horrified with our experience here. Poor quality sushi, even the wasabi. Took 8 minutes to get the wasabi once our sushi was already at the table. The waitress was unsophisticated and useless as was the management.

Not sure why this restaurant has so many positive ratings unless Texans just have 0 class when it comes to Sushi.

I'm not one to usually give negative feedback and trust me I'm actually being as civil as I can here however I just had to.

Kind regards,

Brandy Rosenbeg

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

It wasn't good, but it wasn't bad

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

This was the second time we visited this restaurant. The first time we went it wasn't that good, so here it is almost two years later we thought we'd give it a try. Still not good. It wasn't horrible, but when you spend $200 on a date night dinner you want it to be good. I will say that the rice in the sushi was the worst part.

Our server was great. The ambience was better than the first time we went. Still not exactly the location I would take a date since it's in the middle of a mall and there's kids all over the place.

Overall for the price, there are other places you can go for a much better sushi experience that will make you happy you went there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Thoroughly Impressed!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

New fresh ideas, all original, and delicious! Top notch service, nice atmosphere - definitely a new favorite on my list. Up there with Uchi and Tomo, but completely doing their own thing. My highest recommendation. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not that great

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

We had heard the service was very poor at Tadashi. The service we received was very good. Our server was attentive without being invasive and was knowledgeable and very friendly. However the food was poor at best. The tuna tasted old as did the escolar. Unfortunately the great job by our server couldn't make up for the taste of the food falling short. We went on a Friday night and we went early. Maybe they get their fish very early in the week? The restaurant itself was very nice, well appointed and a nice quiet place for a date, anniversary, etc..but the food....not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Consistently good

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

My husband and I don't eat out regularly, but this has become one of our favorites. We tend to favor Japanese cuisine, and the offerings here are well above average. Service is excellent - I really get the sense all the staff care about seeing that the guests have a great experience. We have brought out-of-town guests here, and they all seem favorably impressed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Love it!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on October 27, 2015

Wish we live closer and I would go there as much as I can. We are foodie and love only good sushi. Their uni and all fish we ordered were very fresh, they had very good selection of fish. Sushi all were in nice presentation. Server was friendly and knowledgable of their menu and sake. Manager helped running food too, seemed like good teamwork in there. Love it!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Sushi

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

Tadashi has a great atmosphere and fabulous sushi; they also have some interesting appetizers. Fish is fresh and the wait staff is knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Gem of the Bee Cave

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

I would have given a 5 stars of the service was faster and the waiter was more attentive. I think we were just lack of luck to have a more prof waiter. Maybe you will have a better luck with this place as I did see another waiter was much more attentive to his customers. Food was delicious, 2 thumbs up. And if you make reservation, they make the table ready for you, you don't have top wait, so that is definitely a plus. Will go back next time we are next.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Best Meal I've Had in a Long Time

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

My second visit to Tadashi was even better than my first, and I honestly didn't think that was possible. Their sushi selection is vast, you have plenty of options to choose from. Practically everything on their menu looks amazing. The fatty salmon nigiri is phenomenal, I highly recommend it. Its a little pricey (2 people + plenty of food= $100), but well worth it. Service is quick and friendly, the ambiance is modern and upscale, the location in the Hill Country Galleria is lovely, simply everything about Tadashi is great. We left the meal full and raving about how amazing it was. I can honestly say Tadashi is one of the best restaurants not only in Bee Cave, but in Austin. And I can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Japanese food at Tadashi!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 19, 2015

This was our first visit to Tadashi, on the recommendation of several friends. We enjoyed our lunch very much, from a variety of sushi/sashimi and cooked choices. A nice change of pace from other restaurants in the Galleria.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great Food and Lots of It

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 21, 2015

I had the Bento Box. Everything in it was quality.

And it was so much food I couldn't finish it. That's unusual for me.

I'm definitely coming back.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not our best experience

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 26, 2015

My wife and I have dined here many times and had a great experience, this time around I cannot say that. We had a 7:00 PM reservation we arrived on time, a couple in front of us without a reservation was seated immediately and we were asked to wait for five minutes while the cleared a table. Based on what the dining room looked like, it appeared that they had seen an early rush as there were several empty tables to be cleared. The hostess sat us in the back of the restaurant where we sat without being greeted for 10 minutes, the hostess was preparing to sit another party next to us and I stopped her and informed her we had yet to be greeted. She was very sweet and stated that our server would be right over, a few moments later the hostess came back and offered to take our drink order, at this point we were about 20 minutes into our "dining" experience. Once our server finally came over she was very nice but did seem a bit harried. The food as usual was very good but the timing of service of the items we ordered was off compared to past visits. Also, different from past visits was, that I did not see a manager working the floor until we were about to leave where I noticied him out on the patio. Normally, I have seen that same gentleman touch each table as they were dining.

Upon leaving the hostess did apologize for our delay.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great food and service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 20, 2015

We love sushi and this was quite the find! They had unique variations on traditional rolls and nigiri. Except for the fact that it's right next to the movie theatre and not that romantic as a result, it was a great experience overall!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

june 2015

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2015

bento boxes were very good - overall quite pricey

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went to Tadashi for Mother's Day dinn ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

We went to Tadashi for Mother's Day dinner. Our server was courteous and gave us prompt service on such a busy night. I'm from Japan and was impressed by how food was prepared and presented. Will go back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Need to try at least once

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 16, 2015

The location of the restaurant in the Hill Country Galleria makes this a viewers delight if you are into people watching or interested in viewing the latest luxury car models drive by. We sat outside to accomplish both. Fortunately, the outside area is in the shade so getting overly heated is not an issue. We enjoyed a light breeze in our dining. I'm not a sushi person but my wife is and she raved about the eel she ordered as an appetizer. The Bento boxes were recommended by our server and they are a good choice. The food comes neatly separated into different sections and the serving sizes are decent. We ended up having to wrap up what we couldn't finish. The Japanese beers were surprisingly good and our server was able to link the names with the type of beer we were interested in. Overall, we really enjoyed our dining experience and will visit again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

great find

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 11, 2015

Perfect place for dinner after going to the theatre next door.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Americanized Japanese Food--Ask Before Ordering

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

This restaurant serves Americanized Japanese food, but it is beautifully done. Just be sure you understand what you are getting. We will try this restaurant again, as it does have possibilities--hence my four stars--but our first time out was troublesome. This is what I ordered: Uramaki: Egyptian--soft shell crab, avocado, masago, topped with shredded crab, wasabi cream. NO WHERE ON THE MENU DID IT SAY this roll had SPUNGE-LIKE BREADING on the outside. I expected a rice outer layer with shredded crab on it. However, this outer layer tasted like FRIED BREADING or a spongey version of a SOY WRAPPER that I cannot stand. I gave the Egyptian roll to my husband. He liked it, but he will eat anything. I also had the shrimp tempura, EXCELLENT, except the dipping sauce was too bland. Because I had a fit about the Egyptian roll, the manager was very helpful and ordered up a some sort of uramaki with crab meat, shrimp, veggies ... done much better, except for a MAYO/SOY sauce--at least on the side, thankfully, and not smeared on the top. (ONLY IN AMERICA would anybody smear MAYO on Japanese-style food. But then, you won't even find Uramaki in Japan.) Next time, I'm simply ordering real sushi. I'm a purist. My husband had a Salmon Bento box and loved that, although, as I've said, he will eat anything. The service was outstanding. Still, I think the menu ought to describe the dishes better. The menu only said, "topped with shredded crab." Sorry, but a spungey wrapper is absolutely horrid, even if it is mixed with ground crab before being baked or fried or whatever they did to it to make it taste like some sort of puffy BREAD. Shudder.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Vanentine's Day Dinner

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Tadashi is always great. The food was wonderful as was the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Serviceable Sushi

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Overall our experience at Tadashi was good, the rest of my review is basically minor annoyances.

1. Service: We made a reservation for 6:30pm, upon arriving at 6:25pm we were told we would have to wait for just a moment. Shortly after us, another party of 2 arrived without a reservation. They were told that there would be a 35 minute wait for a table. We were finally seated around 7:00pm, coincidentally the same 35 minutes. If I take the time to make a reservation, I expect to be seated within a few minutes of my reserved time. I find it unprofessional to take reservations and then make your customers wait just as long as if they had walked in without one. Other than this, Tadashi's service was good.

2. Food: While our sushi was passable, it was not quite good enough for the price. Quantity was not an issue. I suppose this is what one should expect when dining in an area such as the hill country galleria.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I like it better at lunch

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 18, 2015

A busy Saturday night. Fish smell upon entry into restaurant, not certain whether it was from cooked fish or the raw fish in the restaurant. However, sashimi was fresh and fine. Sea bass entree was cut thin and overcooked. Hamachi sashimi was overpowered by the fresh jalapenos and hot sauce served on top of each slice, a strange pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Delish

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

The food and service were outstanding. The food comes out fast so get ready to chow down. I didn't like that I ordered halibut and they brought me flounder and did not explain that to us. We had a great experience and we'll be back again for sure!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice choice for a celebration

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 9, 2014

Friendly and knowledgeable wait person. Crazy fresh food! Portions not very large, especially the appetizer. Dessert was different, but delightful! And I liked the brussel sprouts! Want to try it at lunch for a less expensive way to try other entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tadaaa! Tadashi!!!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 9, 2014

We've always had a great experience at Tadashi and Friday night, we had another! The staff is incredible and our waitress, Chin Chin, was amazing impressive! She suggested the Hot Springs sushi roll and it's now our new favorite. Everything was perfectly wonderful! You have to visit Tadashi!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great happy hour menu

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 25, 2014

Pricey after happy hour. Friendly staff with great suggestions. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Disappointed

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 18, 2014

This was our second time, the first time was it's soft opening. During the soft opening the service was pretty bad, we waited forever for our food. The quality was good. However, this time the quality seems a little off. As before we waited 30 mins for our food even though it was not busy at all. The waiter and the manager just dropped the food off and didn't say anything and left. No one came back to ask how was everything. The fish had some discoloration, did not seem fresh at all. The volcano roll was the worst comparing with other restaurants. It was stuck together like a pizza by the melted cheese. Once you are able to break a piece off, it falls apart. Don't think we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Excellent Sushi

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 22, 2014

I have been pleased with both of my visits. The sashimi was fresh and presented beautifully. My friends ordered the "Hot Angel" and after a taste of it I can't wait to order it again. The habanero masago was very cool!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely evening

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 21, 2014

We were seated as soon as we arrived and received attentive service from Karinda. She was knowledgeable about all the items on the menu and was able to suggest some very good appetizers as well as entrees. Two of us tried the Bento Boxes which we enjoyed and were surprised how much food we received. All of the food was good including the Scallops Teriyaki, Shrimp Tempura, Sweet Potato Fries, Miso Soup, Cod Entrée, Sushi and Tataki Escolar. We look forward to a return to try the lunch menu and to take advantage of their 3-6pm Happy Hour.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Just outside cinemark

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 20, 2014

Great location if you are going to or coming from the movies. Awesome food and service. Good people watching. Great happy hour prices.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.