Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 2.61mi
  3. Distance: 2.65mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 2.61mi
  3. Distance: 2.65mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 2.61mi
  3. Distance: 2.65mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 2.61mi
  3. Distance: 2.65mi
  4. Distance: 3.13mi

About Tadashi

Tadashi invites you to explore Japanese cuisine beyond sushi. Our specialty is Japanese-style seasonal plates, for sharing and pairing with wine or sake. Savor the dishes of Japan and enjoy the harmony of subtle & bold flavors.

12801 Hill Country Boulevard
Bee Cave, TX 78738
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 263-3200

Website:
http://tadashiaustin.com/

Catering:
Perfect plan for small parties or luncheons at meetings, conferences, seminars, all kinds of occasional events or even typical family events.Hot food is also available.
• Minimum order: TBD
• Fresh sushi, Pickled ginger, wasabi, Soy sauce, Napkins and Chopsticks
• Requires 3 days in advance

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking and street parking.

Executive Chef:
Sun

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tadashi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Special Occasion (4)
See All
Happy Hour (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Romantic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
88 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and excellent service as always. Our favorite restaurant in Bee Cave Texas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I was looking for a Japanese restaurant in the Austin area that would hit the spot. It didn't have to be the best Japanese food ever; it just had to be middle-of-the-road good to satisfy a craving here and there. I'm well aware of the limited Japanese food options in Austin (compared to big cities I've lived in on the West Coast and East Coast), so I didn't set my expectations too high. Despite that, I thought Tadashi was a huge flop. I went there for dinner on a weekend and have contemplated going back to try the happy hour, but I just don't think I want to waste my time or money.

The food was ridiculously flavorless and over-priced. The eel donburi was lackluster to put it kindly. The rice literally tasted like nothing despite the additions of shrimp bits, carrots, etc. The eel, the star of the dish, was barely grilled and I found myself wishing for more sauce...any sauce...to add some life to the eel. The tonkatsu bento box was small and poorly executed. The tonkatsu was cut very thinly and was more breading than meat. The vegetable tempura was greasy and heavy. The tempura sauce was way too sweet. The edamame dish had poor presentation and execution. It looked like someone dumped it on the plate very haphazardly and then tossed on a pinch of salt at the last minute. The salt covered only a quarter of the dish.

The service was okay, but there's room for improvement. Example: At the end of dinner, when we were almost done with our plates, the server apologetically brought out a much-needed spoon for the donburi.

The restaurant aesthetics and atmosphere are great. It was super easy to book a reservation. That's about all that's good about Tadashi.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was excellent with one exception, I love sushi and everything I have ever eaten at Tadashi, but the Volcano roll with mozzarella on top was not good, I ate 2 pieces and gave up. Other than that it was excellent!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Unfortunately the service was terrible . It's rarely outstanding , but we know it's difficult to find qualified wait staff in this area .
It took 45 mins before our food arrived and I had to ask several times for the appetizers (Edamame and Cucumber Salad w/ crab)
The quality of the food was good (as it normally is) but it took the manager getting involved to get our orders....the last item (sweet shrimp with fried heads) was so late arriving, that I was ready to cancel it , when it finally showed up.
NO concession of any sort offered my manager or anybody else.......disappointing overall experience to say the least

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We've been visiting Shawn's restaurants for years. Consistently high-quality food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentine's Day, I made a reservation for 7:15 but they were completely overbooked and we had to wait over 30 min for a table. When we finally got seated our drinks took way too long to arrive, I ordered a bento box and never got my soup. I asked for a crunchy cali roll in the bento box instead of the cali roll, and they brought me the bento box AND a crunchy roll and charged me for both. I was half finished with my food because at this point I was super hungry and my husband's food still had not arrived...which for a Valentine's date was pretty terrible. We didn't even eat together, he had to sit and watch me eat mine until his finally came out. He ordered oysters as an appetizer and they forgot those, so he reminded them and they didn't come out until his food did.....
There was a stack of oysters sitting on ice at the bar, there was no excuse for those not coming out first. Overall we were really disappointed, I wanted a romantic dinner with my husband after a super stressful few weeks and it was a let down. The food was really good though, just not a good experience overall.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I've been several times and the food and service have always been very good. They have a nice selection of food and drinks during happy hour (before 6pm). It's a great place to go before a movie!

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Reasonable pricing. Out of blue-fin tuna. Service was moderate. Overall my wife was very happy to go there for our valentines day celebration.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Perfect place to eat prior to a movie right next door. Service and food were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The sushi was very fresh, presently nicely. We will definitely go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Due to the very poor table service I would never recommend Tadashi to anyone. The water was so rude he literally dropped the bill on our table without saying a word nor looking at me or anyone else at our table. Besides being rude and discourteous he was also just a terrible server. I am never going back to this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 27, 2016

As always great service! The staff is always very friendly. Great sushi restaurant for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Service is 50/50- sometimes you have great service , other times the service is horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

They did it again
Very fresh sashimi
The soft shell crab is wonderful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wait staff was understaffed and had a hard time keeping up. Waited more than 20 minutes to have our order taken and our first dish was served last. Food was good but it's hard to overcome slow service. Wiater was cordial but expressed concern with lack of balance in seating of customers. Some waitstaff was under-utilized while our waiter was overbooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Sushi is fabulously fresh and delicious, but the service is frustratingly slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I love this place. Always fresh and great sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food always good, service this time was much improved

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Food is good service needs to improve a lot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Love this place! So happy to have in Bee Caves. Excellent sushi and good food up and down the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Extensive menu. Can't wait to go back to try more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Tadashi has some pretty interesting things on their app menu, but their sushi was meh. Artfully presented but a but pricey for run-of-the-mill sushi. But you're paying for location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food! Nice staff and quick service, what more could you ask for......oh yeah, very reasonable price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Sashimi & nigiri were fine but tell the customer you put wasabi on the rice. The rolls were a joke. Loosely wrap, falling apart, flavorless. The dumplings were flavorless. Read rave reviews and maybe we went on an off night, but won't be going back. Maybe send the chefs to Auchincloss or Uchiko for lessons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 15, 2016

I love this restaurant! It's delicious. The bento box is a great deal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 11, 2016

I went here on a date for my birthday. The service was great and our server was very friendly. The sushi was great and perfect to share with others. I even got a special birthday dessert with a candle and "Happy Birthday" written in chocolate on the plate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Top notch! Their fish was fresh and the preparation was spot on! I can't say enough about the service. I believe our waitress made it an amazing birthday for my daughter and her friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Ordered five different fish sashimi style
The portions were generous, the presentation exciting and the freshness incredible
The soft shell crab tempura was excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner Sat. evening and as usual, the service and food were excellent. We love consistency in a restaurant which is very hard to find. Sean greeted us at the door and thanked us for coming when we left. Our server was charming and very helpful in assisting one of our group with selecting the right food for her. All in all, it was a great!

If anything could be done to deaden the noise, that would help. Holding a conversation was difficult without yelling. That's my only complaint. But, hey, it's a boisterous place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Good, fresh Japanese food, well-prepared. Great menu selection. The only place I go for lunch when shopping at the Galleria!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great service and terrific Sushi! I come here often and I love this place. The fish is always fresh and beautifully prepared. My kids love the Teriyaki Bento Boxes and the Negiri is top-notch. Since it's right next to the Cinemark, its a great place for a pre-movie meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 30, 2015

We were shockingly horrified with our experience here. Poor quality sushi, even the wasabi. Took 8 minutes to get the wasabi once our sushi was already at the table. The waitress was unsophisticated and useless as was the management.

Not sure why this restaurant has so many positive ratings unless Texans just have 0 class when it comes to Sushi.

I'm not one to usually give negative feedback and trust me I'm actually being as civil as I can here however I just had to.

Kind regards,

Brandy Rosenbeg

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 13, 2015

This was the second time we visited this restaurant. The first time we went it wasn't that good, so here it is almost two years later we thought we'd give it a try. Still not good. It wasn't horrible, but when you spend $200 on a date night dinner you want it to be good. I will say that the rice in the sushi was the worst part.

Our server was great. The ambience was better than the first time we went. Still not exactly the location I would take a date since it's in the middle of a mall and there's kids all over the place.

Overall for the price, there are other places you can go for a much better sushi experience that will make you happy you went there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 13, 2015

New fresh ideas, all original, and delicious! Top notch service, nice atmosphere - definitely a new favorite on my list. Up there with Uchi and Tomo, but completely doing their own thing. My highest recommendation. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 13, 2015

We had heard the service was very poor at Tadashi. The service we received was very good. Our server was attentive without being invasive and was knowledgeable and very friendly. However the food was poor at best. The tuna tasted old as did the escolar. Unfortunately the great job by our server couldn't make up for the taste of the food falling short. We went on a Friday night and we went early. Maybe they get their fish very early in the week? The restaurant itself was very nice, well appointed and a nice quiet place for a date, anniversary, etc..but the food....not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 7, 2015

My husband and I don't eat out regularly, but this has become one of our favorites. We tend to favor Japanese cuisine, and the offerings here are well above average. Service is excellent - I really get the sense all the staff care about seeing that the guests have a great experience. We have brought out-of-town guests here, and they all seem favorably impressed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 27, 2015

Wish we live closer and I would go there as much as I can. We are foodie and love only good sushi. Their uni and all fish we ordered were very fresh, they had very good selection of fish. Sushi all were in nice presentation. Server was friendly and knowledgable of their menu and sake. Manager helped running food too, seemed like good teamwork in there. Love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 19, 2015

Tadashi has a great atmosphere and fabulous sushi; they also have some interesting appetizers. Fish is fresh and the wait staff is knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2015

I would have given a 5 stars of the service was faster and the waiter was more attentive. I think we were just lack of luck to have a more prof waiter. Maybe you will have a better luck with this place as I did see another waiter was much more attentive to his customers. Food was delicious, 2 thumbs up. And if you make reservation, they make the table ready for you, you don't have top wait, so that is definitely a plus. Will go back next time we are next.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 29, 2015

My second visit to Tadashi was even better than my first, and I honestly didn't think that was possible. Their sushi selection is vast, you have plenty of options to choose from. Practically everything on their menu looks amazing. The fatty salmon nigiri is phenomenal, I highly recommend it. Its a little pricey (2 people + plenty of food= $100), but well worth it. Service is quick and friendly, the ambiance is modern and upscale, the location in the Hill Country Galleria is lovely, simply everything about Tadashi is great. We left the meal full and raving about how amazing it was. I can honestly say Tadashi is one of the best restaurants not only in Bee Cave, but in Austin. And I can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.