HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Tadashi

4.3
93 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

Tadashi invites you to explore Japanese cuisine beyond sushi. Our specialty is Japanese-style seasonal plates, for sharing and pairing with wine or sake. Savor the dishes of Japan and enjoy the harmony of subtle & bold flavors.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Asian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(512) 263-3200
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Sun
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Perfect plan for small parties or luncheons at meetings, conferences, seminars, all kinds of occasional events or even typical family events.Hot food is also available.
• Minimum order: TBD
• Fresh sushi, Pickled ginger, wasabi, Soy sauce, Napkins and Chopsticks
• Requires 3 days in advance
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer complimentary valet parking and street parking.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 93 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3  based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.0
service
4.1
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Austin)
5.0  Dined on May 13, 2017

Our go-to sushi spot! Delicious and fresh fish, creative dishes and fantastic variety!

Report
Helpful
vipValueGirl (Austin)
3.0  Dined on April 29, 2017

Good food if you enjoy spicy dishes and rolls as I do! However, my husband doesn't so all of the dishes ordered with the spicy sauce or toppings on the side were bland. Bottom line, to enjoy custom rolls and small plates, one needs to like spicy flavors.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Austin)
5.0  Dined on April 27, 2017

Amazing sushi and Japanese beer selection. Fish was very fresh.

Report
Helpful
Rxfarmer (Austin)
5.0  Dined on March 30, 2017

Great mid week experience!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Antonio)
3.0  Dined on March 29, 2017

This is normally our favorite restaurant. We visit a couple times a month. The last two times we have gone the service was terrible and it took forever to get our meal. I would seriously consider not going back but it's my daughter favorite place. Oh and this was for her birthday.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food and excellent service as always. Our favorite restaurant in Bee Cave Texas

Report
Helpful
vipSteph (Austin)
1.0  Dined on March 18, 2017

I was looking for a Japanese restaurant in the Austin area that would hit the spot. It didn't have to be the best Japanese food ever; it just had to be middle-of-the-road good to satisfy a craving here and there. I'm well aware of the limited Japanese food options in Austin (compared to big cities I've lived in on the West Coast and East Coast), so I didn't set my expectations too high. Despite that, I thought Tadashi was a huge flop. I went there for dinner on a weekend and have contemplated going back to try the happy hour, but I just don't think I want to waste my time or money.

The food was ridiculously flavorless and over-priced. The eel donburi was lackluster to put it kindly. The rice literally tasted like nothing despite the additions of shrimp bits, carrots, etc. The eel, the star of the dish, was barely grilled and I found myself wishing for more sauce...any sauce...to add some life to the eel. The tonkatsu bento box was small and poorly executed. The tonkatsu was cut very thinly and was more breading than meat. The vegetable tempura was greasy and heavy. The tempura sauce was way too sweet. The edamame dish had poor presentation and execution. It looked like someone dumped it on the plate very haphazardly and then tossed on a pinch of salt at the last minute. The salt covered only a quarter of the dish.

The service was okay, but there's room for improvement. Example: At the end of dinner, when we were almost done with our plates, the server apologetically brought out a much-needed spoon for the donburi.

The restaurant aesthetics and atmosphere are great. It was super easy to book a reservation. That's about all that's good about Tadashi.

Report
Helpful
Thanksgiving (Austin)
5.0  Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was excellent with one exception, I love sushi and everything I have ever eaten at Tadashi, but the Volcano roll with mozzarella on top was not good, I ate 2 pieces and gave up. Other than that it was excellent!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on March 10, 2017

Unfortunately the service was terrible . It's rarely outstanding , but we know it's difficult to find qualified wait staff in this area .
It took 45 mins before our food arrived and I had to ask several times for the appetizers (Edamame and Cucumber Salad w/ crab)
The quality of the food was good (as it normally is) but it took the manager getting involved to get our orders....the last item (sweet shrimp with fried heads) was so late arriving, that I was ready to cancel it , when it finally showed up.
NO concession of any sort offered my manager or anybody else.......disappointing overall experience to say the least

Report
Helpful
vipTomandDeb (Austin)
4.0  Dined on February 24, 2017

We've been visiting Shawn's restaurants for years. Consistently high-quality food.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10