Tac Quick

4.6
27 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Thai
Top Tags:
  • Afternoon Tea
  • Happy Hour
  • Quick Bite
Thai authentic cuisine

From the Legend of "Banana Leaf" to the very well known and beloved of Chicagoan authentic Thai Cuisine "Tac Quick" , Itti the owner and the executive chef himself is ready to satisfy your eager for the love of Thai authentic dishes!

Chef's signature: Pla lad prik (Crispy Tilapia with sweet & sour sauce) Crispy on choi: (Tempura water cress with spicy chili paste salad)
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Thai
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday & Wednesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday & Wednesday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(773) 327-5253
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Itti, Amy, Domingo
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
CTA Sheridan Red Line & CTA bus 151
Additional
BYO Liquor, Corkage Fee, Outdoor dining

What Insiders Are Saying

The Infatuation
Rating coming soon

TAC Quick literally stands for Thailand’s Authentic Cuisine, so you should probably go for a casual meal of authentic Thai cuisine.

The Infatuation is an app and website which uses a small team of local editors who dine anonymously to rate and review restaurants. We are partnering with them to bring you their smart, helpful, trustworthy reviews of restaurants on OpenTable
What 27 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
4.7
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on August 27, 2017

Extensive menu with some unusual Thai choices. Fresh ingredients. Careful spicing. Food tasted great. Outdoor patio right on the street, essentially. INside tables are well spaced to allow conversation. Decor is funky enough to be fun. Service was friendly and attentive, not intrusive. A standout among lots of Thai places in Chicago. Street parking available as long as there's not a Cubs game.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 15, 2017

This place has really gone downhill. I hadn't been in a few years, and was so excited to take my boyfriend because I previously thought it was some of the best Thai food in the city. It used to be a quiet, no-frills BYOB spot with focus on huge portions of delicious food. Now, they've gotten sceney and not only have they started skimping on portions (I got pad see ew with chicken and asked for "extra broccoli" but when it came... I kid you not it was a plate of noodles with two pieces of broccoli and two small pieces of chicken... ) but the service was TERRIBLE. I get that they are busy on a Saturday night but my bf and I had each ordered a cocktail (now that they serve liquor) and his came out instantly while I waited a solid 15 minutes for mine. Then our entrees- mine came out in a reasonable amount of time (despite it lacking substance) and then we proceeded to wait almost HALF AN HOUR for his to come! I tried to wait but it was getting cold so I ate my whole meal and then sat and watched him eat. I'm very disappointed. This place used to be awesome and now it sucks. We won't be returning. I hope they get it together for their own sake. Clearly they're busy so maybe they just need time to adjust.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 18, 2017

Big menu with the "secret " menu having the more interesting and spicy items. Good salads and appetizers. I prefer the new location to the old one.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2017

Delicious food, prompt service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2017

We went to Tac Quick to celebrate my partner's birthday. Easy access from the Sheridan Red Line and multiple bus routes, service was fast and attentive, food is consistent and delicious. There are definitely more "authentic" Thai places in Chicago but this has options for those of us who love the heat, fishiness, and funk of authentic Thai while also being friendly for the more Americanized palate. Note the new location on the corner of Irving Park

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2017

great hole in the wall joint in uptown. I love tac quick. it doesnt get much better thai wise. the food is so good spicy. what a treat!
not byob any more though :(

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2017

Nice service but it only bears a vague resemblance to Thai food. †he Tod Mon was Little deep fried nuggets. They were not in amy way Thai. The larb was on a bed of fresh spinach. Again , not in any way Thai. It was bland as were all the dishes even though I asked for them to be cooked "Thai style." The veggies were fresh and the food was fine as long as you were not expecting it to be Thai. And by the way, Thai food does not require chopsticks.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2017

Food was tasty but I prefer my food at a hot temperature... this was marginal. Also, like to use chopsticks... none offered

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Very nice staff, good food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 30, 2016

Tac Quick had some excellent dishes that seemed more authentic than most fusion places, with lighter but tastier sauces. One dish which we ordered extra spicy had a really good kick. Only downside was BYOB wine had a free corkage fee while our $8 beer bomber (22oz) cost $10 to open!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2016

Great pad see ew and pad Thai. Excited to try their secret menu!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 26, 2016

We were excited to try this restaurant based on the reviews. Too bad we never had an opportunity to try the food. It took more than 15 minutes just to get water. Wait staff never approached to take orders. After 30 minutes of sitting there (and telling them we were ready to order) we walked out. The restaurant wasn't even that crowded, so either they were understaffed that day or they don't care about providing good service. In either case, no one even apologized for the lack of service. We were short on time and this put a bad taste in our mouth. Will not return and not recommending to others.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2016

Food is always outstanding. It's BYOB!

Don't know what to get? Let me help you.

1 - Thai Basil Chicken Thai Style. Hands down the best in the city or best that I've had thus far and I've been a lot of places.

2 - Nom Tok - this is a grilled beef salad with a spicy lime sauce. The fresh mint, red onions, and spinach go so well my mouth is watering as I type this.

3 - Thai Beef Jerkey - Beef and so good. This is not like American Hard Dry Beef Jerkey. This is on the Thai secret menu.

Trust me, all of these are great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 21, 2016

This place is SO good! The food is always delicious and well prepared. They have a great selection of menu items and everything always delights everyone who goes. As someone who is unable to eat cilantro, going out for Thai can be a bit of a challenge. But not at Tac Quick - they are always able to adjust and not add any cilantro and there's never been an instance where they say they will and they don't. With their expanded hours to open 7 days, it's a great option in the neighborhood or easy to get to from anywhere as it's steps away from the Sheridan Red Line stop. On top of all that, this is one of the more reasonably priced restaurants in the city so whether you're on a tight budget or not, go here - you won't be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2016

Loved the food and the service was wonderful! We can't wait eat there again!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 11, 2016

The food is mediocre, portions are small, the restaurant itself is freezing cold (old heater, according to the waitress). It may offer "reasonable prices" but even what is charged is not worth it. Have tried many different Thai restaurants (here, in NY, Philadelphia). This was among the worst.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Great food very reasonable prices. BYOB ! Good
For large or small groups. The the fried chicken appetizer! And the pork skewers !

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 29, 2016

Most of the dishes that we ordered was too salty. The only good dish was the crab rang goon and larb kai. The rice dish, curry, etc. were all too salty. Definitely not authentic Thai food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 11, 2015

Amazing food! The regular menu and the secret menu are outstanding. But the service needs some work. The waitress did not come by often and did not listen when we said our reservation was on open table or we wanted the check. So that said, the service needs work but the food was great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 28, 2015

Fairly simple dining room and service, but extensive Thai food menu beyond the curries, pad see ew and pad thais of the world. Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2015

Really one of the best Thai places in the city. Very authentic and diverse menu. Not just your standard Pad Thai, etc entrees...they even have a "secret menu". It's BYOBand is fun for groups. Very cost effective- definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2015

Tac Quick is always solid. The service is average but the food makes up food it. Byob is certainly a huge plus for this place! I highly recommend the spicy basil rolls and peanut curry. Tac Quick also sports some of the best crab rangoon in the city.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 25, 2014

The food is authentic, and maybe the best Thai Food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 14, 2014

TAC serves solid Thai food, with pleasant, speedy service. I love BYOB spots, although it appeared everyone there brought either a sparkler or white wine - it would be nice to have even cheap buckets with ice available ... I would be happy to pay a nominal $5 for its use. They have a regular menu, with plenty of options, plus a "secret" menu, with additional options. I don't really understand the point, since the 2nd menu is anything but - I found that weird. Overall, it's a clean and pleasant, albeit sparse space, and the food is tasty, so if you're in the area, it's worth a visit.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 22, 2014

Overall, the experience was good. We were in a hurry to make our reservation that night and did not notice that it was a BYOB. It was late, so we really did not want to shop for wine or beer. We also were very hungry. Our food was good and very filling. We hope to return on a night when we can take more time to enjoy our dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2014

Their food is delicious but the service is relaxed, which is fine if you're not pressed for time. I will definitely be going back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 9, 2013

Good, inexpensive, extensive Thai menu. We're vegetarians and had lots of choice.

Report
Helpful