About Tac Quick

3930 N. Sheridan Road
Chicago, IL 60613
View Larger Map

Thai authentic cuisine From the Legend of "Banana Leaf" to the very well known and beloved of Chicagoan authentic Thai Cuisine "Tac Quick" , Itti the owner and the executive chef himself is ready to satisfy your eager for the love of Thai authentic dishes! Chef's signature: Pla lad prik (Crispy Tilapia with sweet & sour sauce) Crispy on choi: (Tempura water cress with spicy chili paste salad)

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday & Wednesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday & Wednesday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 327-5253

Website:
http://www.tacquick.net/

Public Transit:
CTA Sheridan Red Line & CTA bus 151

Executive Chef:
Itti, Amy, Domingo

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Tac Quick Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
15 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is always outstanding. It's BYOB! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food is always outstanding. It's BYOB!

Don't know what to get? Let me help you.

1 - Thai Basil Chicken Thai Style. Hands down the best in the city or best that I've had thus far and I've been a lot of places.

2 - Nom Tok - this is a grilled beef salad with a spicy lime sauce. The fresh mint, red onions, and spinach go so well my mouth is watering as I type this.

3 - Thai Beef Jerkey - Beef and so good. This is not like American Hard Dry Beef Jerkey. This is on the Thai secret menu.

Trust me, all of these are great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is SO good! The food is alwa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This place is SO good! The food is always delicious and well prepared. They have a great selection of menu items and everything always delights everyone who goes. As someone who is unable to eat cilantro, going out for Thai can be a bit of a challenge. But not at Tac Quick - they are always able to adjust and not add any cilantro and there's never been an instance where they say they will and they don't. With their expanded hours to open 7 days, it's a great option in the neighborhood or easy to get to from anywhere as it's steps away from the Sheridan Red Line stop. On top of all that, this is one of the more reasonably priced restaurants in the city so whether you're on a tight budget or not, go here - you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Wonderful experience and great food!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Loved the food and the service was wonderful! We can't wait eat there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't waste your money here

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The food is mediocre, portions are small, the restaurant itself is freezing cold (old heater, according to the waitress). It may offer "reasonable prices" but even what is charged is not worth it. Have tried many different Thai restaurants (here, in NY, Philadelphia). This was among the worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Great food very reasonable prices. BYOB ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Great food very reasonable prices. BYOB ! Good

For large or small groups. The the fried chicken appetizer! And the pork skewers !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was too salty

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Most of the dishes that we ordered was too salty. The only good dish was the crab rang goon and larb kai. The rice dish, curry, etc. were all too salty. Definitely not authentic Thai food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Amazing food! The regular menu and the s ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

Amazing food! The regular menu and the secret menu are outstanding. But the service needs some work. The waitress did not come by often and did not listen when we said our reservation was on open table or we wanted the check. So that said, the service needs work but the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Fairly simple dining room and service, b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

Fairly simple dining room and service, but extensive Thai food menu beyond the curries, pad see ew and pad thais of the world. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Thai food!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 29, 2015

Really one of the best Thai places in the city. Very authentic and diverse menu. Not just your standard Pad Thai, etc entrees...they even have a "secret menu". It's BYOBand is fun for groups. Very cost effective- definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

solid Thai

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Tac Quick is always solid. The service is average but the food makes up food it. Byob is certainly a huge plus for this place! I highly recommend the spicy basil rolls and peanut curry. Tac Quick also sports some of the best crab rangoon in the city.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2014

The food is authentic, and maybe the best Thai Food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Quick is right

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2014

TAC serves solid Thai food, with pleasant, speedy service. I love BYOB spots, although it appeared everyone there brought either a sparkler or white wine - it would be nice to have even cheap buckets with ice available ... I would be happy to pay a nominal $5 for its use. They have a regular menu, with plenty of options, plus a "secret" menu, with additional options. I don't really understand the point, since the 2nd menu is anything but - I found that weird. Overall, it's a clean and pleasant, albeit sparse space, and the food is tasty, so if you're in the area, it's worth a visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Good food, no alcohol

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2014

Overall, the experience was good. We were in a hurry to make our reservation that night and did not notice that it was a BYOB. It was late, so we really did not want to shop for wine or beer. We also were very hungry. Our food was good and very filling. We hope to return on a night when we can take more time to enjoy our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Yummy, if you're not in a rush!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 10, 2014

Their food is delicious but the service is relaxed, which is fine if you're not pressed for time. I will definitely be going back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

I'd go back!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 10, 2013

Good, inexpensive, extensive Thai menu. We're vegetarians and had lots of choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.