About Tableau

616 St Peter St
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the French Quarter, on the corner of Jackson Square, Tableau is Dickie Brennan's latest production and features Louisiana Creole dishes prepared by talented chef, John Martin and his equally talented culinary team. Look for traditional Creole dishes with an updated approach. Enjoy courtyard dining, as well as balcony dining with some of the best views in the Quarter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole, French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday
11:30AM - 'til
Saturday - Sunday
10:00AM -10:00PM

Tableau is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. Brunch is served Saturday and Sunday.

Cross Street:
Chartres

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 934-3463

Website:
http://www.tableaufrenchquarter.com/

Entertainment:
Live Brass Band Brunch on Saturday and Sunday.

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located on picturesque Jackson Square, at the corner of St. Peter Street and Chartres Street. Please allow extra time for parking or traveling into the heart of the French Quarter.
Parking is available at several nearby parking garages including, Premium Parking at 616 Toulouse Street and 535 Chartres Street, Central Parking at 528 Chartres Street, or French Market Parking Lot- located along the River behind French Market retail shops on Decatur Street.

Executive Chef:
John Martin

Private Party Facilities:
Tableau features 5 private dining rooms, accommodating 15 to 60 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee Tilloy: 5045218310x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Tableau
Tableau
Tableau
Tableau
Crabmeat Ravigote Starter
Crabmeat Ravigote Action Shot
Appetizer
Burrata
Turtle Soup au Sherry
Bee's Knees Cocktail
Sazerac Cocktail
Fresh Creamery Butter
Gumbo
Duck Confit Hash
Redfish
Bee's Knees
French 75
Parish Canebreak Draft
Bluebird Grapefruit Juice
Seared Tuna Salad
Truffled Crab Fingers
Demi Royale
Duck Leg Confit And Seared Duck Breast With Blueberry Gastrique
Vegan Ratatouille
Crab And Asparagus Salad
Demi Eggs Benedict
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
seafood gumbo
Bacon Wrapped Shrimp
Pecan Praline Monkeybread Pudding
Parish Tod
Duck
Oysters Maison
steak tartare
Shrimp and Grits
Turtle Soup
French Onion Soup
Vanilla Bean Creme Brle
Creole French Onion Soup
Crepe du Jour
Stone Ground Grits
Creamed Spinach
Creole Seafood Courtbouillon
Chicken Tableau
Tarte a la Bouille with Cafe Brulot Creme
oysters en brochette
Drawing Room Players
Faienza Rosso
Monkey Bread
Oysters Rockefeller Po-boy
Bloody Mary
Creole O.J.
Complimentary Bread
Crab Fingers
Strawberry Shortcake Macaron

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tableau Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (84)
Fit for Foodies (72)
Romantic (62)
See All
Good for Groups (50)
Scenic View (45)
Great for Lunch (39)
Great for Brunch (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Notable Wine List (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Kid-friendly (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Late-night Find (7)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Cozy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A true dining experience makes Tableau o ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

A true dining experience makes Tableau one of the best restaurants in New Orleans. This visit we had the Coolinary special and it was fantastic. Full portions are served at a great price. Well worth the trip from anywhere.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tableau is the real deal. The food is gr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Tableau is the real deal. The food is great and the ambience spectacular. I love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is most notable for it's ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is most notable for it's building on one of the most scenic corners of the French Quarter, next to the Cabildo on historic Jackson Square. And the building has its own storied history as part of Le Petit Theater. The balcony and courtyard are amazing for several months of the year. The service was very attentive for our lunch date, and they took a lot of time to answer all our questions. The food was just great, and in a city full of amazing food, we didn't eat anything that will be overly memorable, but everything was very good, particularly the cocktails. They have bars upstairs and downstairs and a variety of rooms for parties. I love it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrible service and overcooked food. To ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Terrible service and overcooked food. Tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Very satisfying Coolinary meal! Great wi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very satisfying Coolinary meal! Great wine selection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Food was delicious - especially the crys ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food was delicious - especially the crystal shrimp. I really liked the selection and presentation of teas as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was well prepared-great to have ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was well prepared-great to have the choice of smaller portions! That suited as we had to have an early dinner. Lovely server-very attentive! I am a resident of NOLA and would recommend Le Tableau to visitors with no hesitation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just came from Tableau for a Sunday Brun ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Just came from Tableau for a Sunday Brunch with friends. EVERYONE had something different and EVERYONE totally enjoyed their meals. Personally I had the brunch special steak and eggs with grits and was one of the best meals I have had in a long time for a brunch. I think you can do no wrong here. As for SERVICE, my wife spotted one of the chefs delivering some sort of shrimp appetizer to a table and when she asked the chef what it was he went to the kitchen and brought out a sample of it for the four of us to try. My wife loved it so much she ordered one for herself. Great dining experience and a wonderful memory for us and our friends.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jewell is a great waitress , food and d ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Jewell is a great waitress , food and desserts were all excellent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent - service OK but ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was excellent - service OK but a little slow. We had a very enjoyable time. The restaurant is pretty loud so if you're going for a quiet romantic dinner on a weekend I would do something else. However, we were not disappointed at all with the cuisine - the selections were excellent and the food was well prepared. The location of the restaurant right on Jackson Square makes it difficult to require a dress code but it would be our hope in the future that the restaurant not allow shorts (especially jean shorts). It was hard for us to really enjoy a traditional New Orleans dining experience (even dressy casual) when there were people in there in shorts. That however is the restaurant's right. Again not a bad experience but in my opinion there are better options if you want some quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This was our second time to visit Tablea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was our second time to visit Tableau. Both visits were perfect. The service was spot on. Cocktails were the best we had during our visit to N.O. I had the oyster appetizer with bacon jam. Perfectly cooked with a lot of different flavors going on. Also had the crab meat/asparagus salad and it was the best dish of the weekend. My wife had the drum and it was delicious. She really wanted to return for our second night, but I instead made the bad call to try NOLA again. Never again. NOLA has declined considerably.

Tags: Outdoor Eating, Special Occasions, Lunch, Neighbourhood Gem, Romance, Scenic View, Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and service. The fish was fa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great meal and service. The fish was fantastic !!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fine, but the service was s ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food was fine, but the service was slow and they didn't refill our drinks even once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

The food was absolutely delicious and th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and the creme brûlée dessert was the best in the city.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our best experience at Tableau. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This was our best experience at Tableau. We loved being seated in the salon-cozier, better service, quieter and that made the food taste so delicious! We will request salon seating from now on!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Tableau. We ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This was our first visit to Tableau. We were seated upstairs, at an inside table, which we had requested. Not many people sitting inside, most were out on the balcony, so it was very quiet. Service was very good. Everyone was very attentive. The food was delicious. My husband had Turtle Soup and the Roasted Duck and for dessert the Café au Lait Pot de Crème. All were delicious! I had the Seafood Gumbo, Gulf Fish and for dessert the Tarte a la Bouillie. Again, all were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Second visit to Tableau and we were plea ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Second visit to Tableau and we were pleased once again. The Brennan family runs wonderful restaurants, and this is one of them. A beautiful, spotless dining room. Attentive and professional service. Delicious food, promptly served. Asparagus & crabmeat salad was perfect, the vinaigrette was outstanding. Hamburger was excellent: perfectly cooked and seasoned, very juicy. Outstanding jazz trio!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was impeccable and the food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service was impeccable and the food was scrumptious.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal and really good service ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Had a great meal and really good service. I had Coolinary and my husband had regular meal. Both delicious. We share...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We booked a table for 6 friends on the O ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We booked a table for 6 friends on the Open Table website for the $20 Coolinary lunch menu on a Saturday. When we arrived we were told that the lunch menu was unavailable and it was a $35 brunch instead. Unlike the other restaurants on the Coolinary website, it did not specify that the $20 menu was only available during the week and we had booked a Saturday lunch. I mentioned this but the restaurant was unwilling to offer a compromise despite saying that the same issue occurred for other guests. We were disappointed in management. We felt that our business was not appreciated. The food and waitress were fine but I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

I woke up this morning thinking of how f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I woke up this morning thinking of how fabulous the Redfish Bienville and the Chocolate Almond Brownie Sunday were last night. So good...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were offered lunch from their coolina ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were offered lunch from their coolinary menu. Either appetizer and entree or entree and dessert for $20 each. We asked if there was any other option and the server said no. When we went to use the rest room after the meal one of us saw a $14 lunch menu with appetizer and entree. This was never offered to us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was amazing. Best French Onion ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was amazing. Best French Onion Soup I have ever had, the Shrimp and Grit were excellent. The waitstaff was not very attentive and we had asked for bread before our meal and it never came, we ended up asking when our meal came out. Staff was not overly friendly, they were nice, just seemed burned out.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We brought my parents there to see the p ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We brought my parents there to see the place as we are having our wedding there. This was our first time eating there as well and it was nothing short of amazing!! Our servers, Carl and Mya, were absolutely fabulous! I can't recommend Tableau enough!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service experience however I di ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Terrible service experience however I dine here often and this is not typical. Normally the food, service, and value are exceptional.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Wonderful food, excellent service and ve ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Wonderful food, excellent service and very nice ambience. We sat by the window and it was fun to watch people walk by. Great location in the French quarter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first time dining in the re ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was our first time dining in the restaurant. We were attending a play. Our experience was excellent. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entrance was great and nostalgic. Lo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The entrance was great and nostalgic. Love the architect reminding me of MB long ago and it's now 2nd to my number one Palace Cafe the wait staff was great. orders were correct and quick to serve timing was perfect. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing dinner out at Tableau. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had an amazing dinner out at Tableau. The entire team of service staff were friendly and enthusiastic, and most helpful in making choices off the menu. The food was amazing. The appetizer selections were wonderful - I would highly recommend the "Demi Royale" appetizer sampling to start. My husband said they were the best apps he's had in a very long time and I agree. We will sure to be back here our next trip to New Orleans.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Great place ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great place for a relaxing meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything one expects of a Brennan's es ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Everything one expects of a Brennan's establishment. Don't look for innovative or imaginative, but the execution of both the shrimp appetizer and the filet a la Oscar was excellent. Service was also top quality: a more experienced wait person helped the eager but less experienced server, and the maitre d'e was not merely window dressing, but circulating regularly and overseeing everything. Very pleasant atmosphere. Reasonable prices for what one received.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I don't often make the trek to the Qtr a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I don't often make the trek to the Qtr any more, but when I do, it is something of a special occasion, even if it is only Saturday night dinner. The food at Tableau is well above average, and the service is generally very good, but my last visit was a huge disappointment (in regards to food and service) Steak and Frits had so much fat gristle that about 1/3 was inedible - and two of us had this meal. Our server was sadly lacking in many respects.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

My date and I were seated on the balcony ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My date and I were seated on the balcony with a beautiful view of Jackson Square and the Cabildo. We were greeted by some of the nicest staff I've ever dined with and the food was pretty amazing as well! It's a great way to start a special night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining, with the ambiance and ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent dining, with the ambiance and service you would expect from a Brennan's restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great birthday dinner celebration ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Had a great birthday dinner celebration at Tableau! The food is truly scrumptious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have heard great things about this re ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I have heard great things about this restaurant however the food was such a disappointment. Even the house Pinot noir was below average. There are so many other great places to eat in the French Quarter at this price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

So disappointed. Was recommended by a fr ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

So disappointed. Was recommended by a friend but it was not at a good value. First we were seated right next to kitchen but we were moved. Then had a less than attentive server. The food at first was undercooked . They took it back and brought it without the garnish and completely overlooked it. So not what we were hoping for. Sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Good food with ok service. Would recomme ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Good food with ok service. Would recommend other places before this one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The entrees were amazingly delicious!!! ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The entrees were amazingly delicious!!! We didn't have drinks, so I can't attest to that. The dessert was ok - not the best I've ever had. We had crab cakes for an appetizer and, though small, they were very good. Sitting on the balcony, overlooking Jackson Square, was absolutely great!! The service was good, but not perfect. We had multiple waiters come by and the whole thing was a little disjointed! This was fine dining and it was worth it - still a little hard to pay $80+ dollars for 2 people's entrees & a dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing and the creme brûlée was the bes ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Amazing and the creme brûlée was the best I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.