About Tableau

616 St Peter St
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the French Quarter, on the corner of Jackson Square, Tableau is Dickie Brennan's latest production and features lauded Louisiana Creole dishes prepared by talented chef, John Martin and his equally talented culinary team. Look for traditional Creole dishes with an updated approach. A star of the menu is the ten or more traditional French sauces made daily by the expert house saucier. Enjoy courtyard dining, as well as balcony dining with some of the best views in the Quarter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole, French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday
8:00AM - 'til
Saturday
11:30AM -11:00PM
Sunday
10:00AM -10:00PM

Tableau is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. Brunch is served on Sundays.

Cross Street:
Chartres

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 934-3463

Website:
http://www.tableaufrenchquarter.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Brunch on Sundays.

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located on picturesque Jackson Square, at the corner of St. Peter Street and Chartres Street. Please allow extra time for parking or traveling into the heart of the French Quarter.
Parking is available at several nearby parking garages including, Premium Parking at 616 Toulouse Street and 535 Chartres Street, Central Parking at 528 Chartres Street, or French Market Parking Lot- located along the River behind French Market retail shops on Decatur Street.

Executive Chef:
John Martin

Private Party Facilities:
Tableau features 5 private dining rooms, accommodating 15 to 60 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee Tilloy: 5045218310x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Happiest Happy Hour in the French Quarter!

Special valid Feb 5, 2016 - Jun 5, 2016 all week from 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Promotions

Happiest Happy Hour in the French Quarter!

Special valid Feb 5, 2016 - Jun 5, 2016 all week from 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
1/2 priced draft beer, wine on tap, select small plates, and select classic cocktails!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 5, 2016 - Jun 5, 2016 all week from 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tableau Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (99)
special occasion (94)
romantic (72)
See All
scenic view (70)
great for outdoor dining (69)
good for groups (65)
great for brunch (58)
neighborhood gem (55)
great for lunch (49)
notable wine list (27)
hot spot (27)
vibrant bar scene (16)
kid-friendly (16)
late-night find (12)
Sort By:
Newest
1069 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3

Very good food, but limited menu and dis ...

Dined 6 days ago

Very good food, but limited menu and disappointing wine list. Service was friendly, however, not terribly attentive. With all the choices in New Orleans, I wouldn't put this near the front of the list.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for my 50th birthday on a recomm ...

Dined 6 days ago

We came for my 50th birthday on a recommendation from a friend. We sat out on the balcony. It was wonderful. Highly recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Over all a good experience.

Dined 6 days ago

Over all a good experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a very great, fun experience. Yet ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

It was a very great, fun experience. Yet the special was stuff crab raviole, it was not raviole more like an empenada? They stated it was good, but not what they had expected. I would say you have to explain what the diah really is.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great location in the French quarter. Ba ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great location in the French quarter. Balcony table was great. Service was excellent. Special of the day was very tasty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great New Orleans dining experience!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our first time at Tableau--we'll definitely return and I'll recommend it to others!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a delicious dinner at Tableau on ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a delicious dinner at Tableau on a Saturday evening. We sat outside in the courtyard and because it was a nice night, it was lovely. However, it felt like the indoor staff were more formal and accommodating. The outdoor staff seemed a little bored and were dressed more casually, which wasn't an issue, but given the prices, every customer should be treated the same in regards to service. The food was well prepared, from appetizer through to dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were excellent. My grad ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Service and food were excellent. My graduation party of six were all very pleased. Originally we were seated next to the bar during happy hour (very noisy), but our request to be reseated in a quieter area was met at once. Will recommend. Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2

The food was excellent, service was terr ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was excellent, service was terribly slow. Didn't seem to be very many people at all in the restaurant, 6 people, Friday morning, 10am. The bartender was hardly to be seen, our drinks took 20 minutes to arrive. Although our waitress was very nice, still... slow service beats over kindness. I love all Brennan family restaurants so I don't like leaving bad reviews, so sorry.

food5
ambience5
service5

The asparagus seafood salad was a perfec ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The asparagus seafood salad was a perfect lunch option. Excellent!!

food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food and atmosphere!

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was delicious, creative and beautifully plated. My only complaint is that we waited far too long for our food to arrive. The service staff were very professional while interacting - too bad the food took so long. I do realize it could have been an isolated incident and would definitely dine there again in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was very good and prices were moder ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was very good and prices were moderate. Service was outstanding as everyone pitched in to help if the regular servers for the table were tied up (even the manager delivered our orders so that they wouldn't get cold). Bring a sweater, however, as the air conditioning made it very chilly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great time @ Tableau

Dined on May 8, 2016

Beautiful location next to Jackson Square.... The restaurant is great looking and very comfortable inside. The service was good not great as I have come to expect from a Dickie Brennan property. The food was very tasty!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1

Our waiter basically ignored us the enti ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Our waiter basically ignored us the entire time we were at your restaurant. We had reservations for an early dinner so it was not yet crowded. Each night during our visit we had wonderful experiences at other restaurants in the city and we saved your restaurant for our last night. It was a complete letdown.

food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Service could improve

Dined on May 7, 2016

We ate at Tableau twice, once for lunch and once for the Sunday Brass Band Brunch. Food was wonderful at both meals. Sadly, service was very slow. At our first meal, our server was not very attentive. We asked for more coffee and about 20 minutes later, we had to ask again. We were not in a hurry, so we thought we would give Tableau a second chance because we enjoyed the food so much. Our waiter at the brunch was slow, brusque, and a little rude. A huge exception was a woman named Jewel. She was not our server, but kept coming by to check on us, and brought us drinks, waters, and desert. She was warm, gracious, friendly, and efficient. Jewel is a jewel. She has that certain je ne sais quoi that charms every one! I wish every server had her personality and efficiency.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Dinner in the quarter

Dined on May 6, 2016

Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, good food. Was a pleasant evening, so we decided to eat on the balcony.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food. Truffle crab claws, fri ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Incredible food. Truffle crab claws, fried oysters, redfish!!!! It was all incredible.

food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious and fresh ingredients for brun ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Delicious and fresh ingredients for brunch on an extremely rainy day. We enjoyed the food, friendly service and the music.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good Restaurant in Heart of the French Quarter

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

This is one of the Brennan family restaurants and the food is good but not exceptional. I t is located in an ideal spot for walking in the French Quarter, directly across the street from St. Louis Catheral and Jackson Square, 2 blocks from Bourbon Street. Pretty courtyard. Definitely worth a visit.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Sampler recommended was superb, included ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Sampler recommended was superb, included crab claws Fried oysters, fried green tomato, & a lovely jumbo shrimp creation. The recommended redfish topped with large lump crabmeat was delightful. The shared dessert of their signature Creme Brulee did not disappoint. One of my favorite places to bring out of towners. Wonderful all around!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

What an awesome experience. Great food, ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

What an awesome experience. Great food, great staff.

food5
ambience3
service3

Food was excellent- but wait staff was j ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was excellent- but wait staff was just ok. Restaurant noise was terrible- you could hardly hold a conversation. One waiter could not explain the menu items very well. Probably will not go back even though the food was very good.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a wonderful dinner at Tableau!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was great and so was the ambiance! We had to wait a little bit for our drinks to come out but other than that it was great. The fried oyster app and duck entrée were my favorites:)

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Nice but noisy

Dined on April 30, 2016

Tableau is convenient for theater goers who want good food and a nice ambiance. We were seated in a room with a somewhat loud party. Otherwise it was a pleasant enough experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Extremely poor service

Dined on April 29, 2016

The service was incredibly slow. The two waiters who were splitting the table service for us did not communicate to each other what they were doing. They were fairly rude and dismissed us, probably because of our younger age they assumed we wouldn't be much benefit to them. And they were correct in that we left a fair tip for the service we received meanwhile it would have been much greater if they gave us the attention that provided for all of their other four tables. While the food was good, it was only luke warm because we watched it sit on a tray for five minutes after it was brought out before the waiters went over to pick it up. Overall the experience was disappointing.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Best French Quarter courtyard dining

Dined on April 27, 2016

My husband and I sat on the balcony at sunset and took in all the charm of the French Quarter, including a serenade by a street performer! The steak was good and very reasonably priced! This restaurant is huge and has so much charm! Love the courtyard and all the dining rooms! A New Orleans gem!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Sat out on the balcony. Hi ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Great food! Sat out on the balcony. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Evening!

Dined on April 25, 2016

We had a late evening reservation but arrived 2 hours early due to a change of plans. Staff were very gracious and sat us at the corner table on the balcony, overlooking Jackson Square. The best seats in the house, in our opinion! There was no rush to hurry us out - we enjoyed our food, the service, the ambiance & the view so much that we stayed way past what would have been our original reservation timeline! We had drinks, dinner and dessert and wish we had had room for more. Cocktails were handcrafted. We had the Bee's Knees & the French 75. The shrimp and grits for dinner was our favorite of our whole vacation. We had the blueberry buckle for dessert and it was fabulous too! Everything was very fresh and with a beautiful presentation. We will definitely go back next time we are in NoLa. Thanks, Tableau, for a wonderful evening!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch spot

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Weather permitting, the second floor balcony is a wonderful place to eat. The brunch menu is delicious and the musicians are terrific.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved it!

Dined on April 23, 2016

My sisters and I ate there on s Friday night overlooking Jackson square food was amazing. Made reservations for brunch on Sunday and loved it. Wished the Jazz bsnd had played in the courtyard where we were but everything else was excellent

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an AMAZING meal here last night. We ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Had an AMAZING meal here last night. We ran half an hour late (oops) and they were so kind and accommodating; they even honored out request to sit outside. Sara from Baton Rouge and Chris(?) from Virginia were fantastic. We didn't know that we were the last table in the place until we left and they did not try to rush us out in the least. Crawfish gratin was unbelievable and they're take on crime brûlée is stupid delicious (spread thin on a large plate and brûlée'd all over. Crunchy, sugary goodness). Great selection of wines by the glass. Will definitely be back for the extraordinary service and yummy food !

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Balcony

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

A table on the balcony overlooking Jackson Square is one of the best views of New Orleans I have found. The food is fantastic and the wine list has many very nice options under $75 per bottle.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food but otherwise not so much

Dined on April 20, 2016

My friend from the UK was turning a year older and since we were both at a cancer research conference in New Orleans, I invited her for a birthday dinner. I chose Tableau, based on the menu and ratings. We ordered a bottle of Bollinger champagne, which arrived at cellar temperature. In other words, too warm to drink. This after a 15 minute wait for it to come down from the third floor, where the cellar is located. Hmmm. The waitress didn't seem to understand what the problem was. Anyway, we changed to a Sancerre, which was properly chilled. Might want to work on this, Tableau. Food, by contrast, was delicious. Suggest the shrimp and grits. Bread pudding for dessert. The truffled crab claws were divine for appetizer. Overall, as in every NOLA restaurant I went to this past week, the service was mediocre.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Expected more

Dined on April 20, 2016

For New Orleans this was a bit a disappointment. Waiting time was long, the food came cool (cold pommes frites are just not so great!). It was good ingredients, but nothing inspiring. Portion size was fine.

food5
ambience4
service2

Went there for dinner with my coworkers. ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Went there for dinner with my coworkers. We were upstairs near the bar overlooking part of Jackson square. Good was a little slow coming out. The waitress seemed to have trouble keeping our orders straight and had to ask it a few times. Might have been a long day for her nevertheless she was friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent. I ordered the chicken and it was the perfect size, juicy and flavorful. The shrimp appetizer was quite tasty and played nicely. Overall we had a very good time and found during our stay in the city was even better than Brannan's not only in flavor, selection, ambiance but especially price! Would return to Tableau over there any day!

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Lots better options for great dining in N.O.

Dined on April 18, 2016

Seated upstairs outside balcony which was pleasant. Downside was the wait staff was missing in action for much of the evening. After asking for av"not at all sweet" Mojito I had to send it back because it was so sweet. The food was OK but not remarkable. Overall I would not recommend this place to someone who is in town for a couple of nights and wants to sample N.O. cuisine at its finest.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Why Tableau?

Dined on April 17, 2016

Tableau is a great place to drink and eat before or after performances at Le Petit! The service is swift and unobtrusive. Food always delicious, and they make a wonderful Mojito!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4

Food was not good from appetizer to main ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Food was not good from appetizer to main course but service was excellent and they did replace our meals.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Almost perfect

Dined on April 11, 2016

We have eaten several times and it has always been good to great. Leave time for a drink at the bar. Some of the best cocktails in town and in New Orleans that is saying something. Food was great except for one entre. When we asked to get it fixed properly, the waiter was fine. However it took way to long for the fix- dinner was about over- and the beef went from rare to very well done and almost inedible. We were all surprised and disappointed and thought there should have been an alogee at least for the waiting time, but none was forth coming. Very too bad.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Orleans best

Dined on April 10, 2016

Dickie Brennan's new restaurant facing Jackson Square is a real must-go when visiting New Orleans. The food is excellent, the ambiance New Orleans-elegant, and the view of St. Louis Cathedral and Jackson Square one of the best in the city. For a French Quarter treat, this is the place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.