About Tableau

616 St Peter St
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the French Quarter, on the corner of Jackson Square, Tableau is Dickie Brennan's latest production and features lauded Louisiana Creole dishes prepared by talented chef, John Martin and his equally talented culinary team. Look for traditional Creole dishes with an updated approach. A star of the menu is the ten or more traditional French sauces made daily by the expert house saucier. Enjoy courtyard dining, as well as balcony dining with some of the best views in the Quarter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole, French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday
11:30AM - 'til
Saturday - Sunday
10:00AM -10:00PM

Tableau is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. Brunch is served Saturday and Sunday.

Cross Street:
Chartres

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 934-3463

Website:
http://www.tableaufrenchquarter.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Brunch on Sundays.

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located on picturesque Jackson Square, at the corner of St. Peter Street and Chartres Street. Please allow extra time for parking or traveling into the heart of the French Quarter.
Parking is available at several nearby parking garages including, Premium Parking at 616 Toulouse Street and 535 Chartres Street, Central Parking at 528 Chartres Street, or French Market Parking Lot- located along the River behind French Market retail shops on Decatur Street.

Executive Chef:
John Martin

Private Party Facilities:
Tableau features 5 private dining rooms, accommodating 15 to 60 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee Tilloy: 5045218310x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Tableau
Tableau
Tableau
Tableau
Crabmeat Ravigote Starter
Crabmeat Ravigote Action Shot
Appetizer
Burrata
Gumbo
Turtle Soup au Sherry
Bee's Knees Cocktail
Sazerac Cocktail
Fresh Creamery Butter
Redfish
Duck Confit Hash
Seared Tuna Salad
Bee's Knees
French 75
Parish Canebreak Draft
Bluebird Grapefruit Juice
Truffled Crab Fingers
Demi Royale
Duck Leg Confit And Seared Duck Breast With Blueberry Gastrique
Vegan Ratatouille
Crab And Asparagus Salad
Demi Eggs Benedict
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
seafood gumbo
Bacon Wrapped Shrimp
Pecan Praline Monkeybread Pudding
Parish Tod
Oysters Maison
Duck
steak tartare
Shrimp and Grits
Turtle Soup
French Onion Soup
Vanilla Bean Creme Brle
Creole French Onion Soup
Crepe du Jour
Stone Ground Grits
Creamed Spinach
Creole Seafood Courtbouillon
Chicken Tableau
Tarte a la Bouille with Cafe Brulot Creme
oysters en brochette
Drawing Room Players
Faienza Rosso
Monkey Bread
Oysters Rockefeller Po-boy
Bloody Mary
Complimentary Bread
Creole O.J.
Crab Fingers
Strawberry Shortcake Macaron

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tableau Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (85)
fit for foodies (77)
romantic (56)
See All
good for groups (55)
scenic view (52)
great for outdoor dining (50)
great for brunch (42)
neighborhood gem (39)
great for lunch (36)
hot spot (23)
notable wine list (21)
kid-friendly (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1114 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful food, excellent service and ve ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food, excellent service and very nice ambience. We sat by the window and it was fun to watch people walk by. Great location in the French quarter.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first time dining in the re ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was our first time dining in the restaurant. We were attending a play. Our experience was excellent. Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entrance was great and nostalgic. Lo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The entrance was great and nostalgic. Love the architect reminding me of MB long ago and it's now 2nd to my number one Palace Cafe the wait staff was great. orders were correct and quick to serve timing was perfect. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing dinner out at Tableau. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had an amazing dinner out at Tableau. The entire team of service staff were friendly and enthusiastic, and most helpful in making choices off the menu. The food was amazing. The appetizer selections were wonderful - I would highly recommend the "Demi Royale" appetizer sampling to start. My husband said they were the best apps he's had in a very long time and I agree. We will sure to be back here our next trip to New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Great place ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great place for a relaxing meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything one expects of a Brennan's es ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Everything one expects of a Brennan's establishment. Don't look for innovative or imaginative, but the execution of both the shrimp appetizer and the filet a la Oscar was excellent. Service was also top quality: a more experienced wait person helped the eager but less experienced server, and the maitre d'e was not merely window dressing, but circulating regularly and overseeing everything. Very pleasant atmosphere. Reasonable prices for what one received.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I don't often make the trek to the Qtr a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I don't often make the trek to the Qtr any more, but when I do, it is something of a special occasion, even if it is only Saturday night dinner. The food at Tableau is well above average, and the service is generally very good, but my last visit was a huge disappointment (in regards to food and service) Steak and Frits had so much fat gristle that about 1/3 was inedible - and two of us had this meal. Our server was sadly lacking in many respects.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

My date and I were seated on the balcony ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My date and I were seated on the balcony with a beautiful view of Jackson Square and the Cabildo. We were greeted by some of the nicest staff I've ever dined with and the food was pretty amazing as well! It's a great way to start a special night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining, with the ambiance and ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent dining, with the ambiance and service you would expect from a Brennan's restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great birthday dinner celebration ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Had a great birthday dinner celebration at Tableau! The food is truly scrumptious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have heard great things about this re ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I have heard great things about this restaurant however the food was such a disappointment. Even the house Pinot noir was below average. There are so many other great places to eat in the French Quarter at this price.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

So disappointed. Was recommended by a fr ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

So disappointed. Was recommended by a friend but it was not at a good value. First we were seated right next to kitchen but we were moved. Then had a less than attentive server. The food at first was undercooked . They took it back and brought it without the garnish and completely overlooked it. So not what we were hoping for. Sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Good food with ok service. Would recomme ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Good food with ok service. Would recommend other places before this one.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The entrees were amazingly delicious!!! ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The entrees were amazingly delicious!!! We didn't have drinks, so I can't attest to that. The dessert was ok - not the best I've ever had. We had crab cakes for an appetizer and, though small, they were very good. Sitting on the balcony, overlooking Jackson Square, was absolutely great!! The service was good, but not perfect. We had multiple waiters come by and the whole thing was a little disjointed! This was fine dining and it was worth it - still a little hard to pay $80+ dollars for 2 people's entrees & a dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing and the creme brûlée was the bes ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Amazing and the creme brûlée was the best I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed our Father's Day brunch a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Really enjoyed our Father's Day brunch at Tableau. The food was delicious and innovative and the service was perfect. Will definitely go back in the fall and have dinner on the balcony.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor of the restaurant is very eleg ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The decor of the restaurant is very elegant. There are lots of diners of many ages and children as well. You can feel comfortable whether you are dressy or casual. The food is very good but also adventurous.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nicetovisiteveryonceinawhile welikeditb ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Nicetovisiteveryonceinawhile welikeditbetterwhentheyofferedjazzmusicians

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great fish and steak!

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great fish and steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about Tableau was wonderful. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Everything about Tableau was wonderful. The food, ambiance, service. This was our first trip to New Orleans and we wanted a romantic evening to celebrate our anniversary - a place where the noise level was low and Tableau was perfect! I love Chartreuse, so The Last Word was amazing. My husband enjoyed his Just As Well (bourbon and rosemary ) "just as well." I had a sip and deemed it my second favorite cocktail.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keith was an incredibly attentive waiter ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Keith was an incredibly attentive waiter and went out of his way to create the ultimate dining experience. My daughter ordered a steak and it was not prepared to her specifications and he immediately noticed and had a new one brought out very quickly. He gave us fantastic advice on selections and even gave us recommendations for other Brennan restaurants when we are in town next and suggested a dine around. My daughter is interested in opening a restaurant one day so it was very meaningful. Jewel was another exceptional addition to the evening with her professionalism and personal smile and eye contact every time she came to the table. We loved hearing about her childhood and exposures to wine. She then brought the history of the restaurant to life even recounting some of the friendly "ghosts" in the building. The new manager Jeff was kind enough to show us the rest of the restaurant, the parlor, potentially "haunted" wine room, and other dining areas. All in all, the food, service, and ambience was exceptional. A must in New Orleans!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome staff and cocktail choices

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Awesome staff and cocktail choices

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time to Tableau. I was looking for ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

First time to Tableau. I was looking for a place that was a little more quiet and had an interesting and creative menu. I was very pleased with my meal and that they made accommodations for gluten free. One comment though, I asked for the dressing on the side for my starter salad and it came dressed as well as a very large sauce boat filled with dressing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Resturant is very elegant. The wine ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The Resturant is very elegant. The wine selection was extensive. There was great food choices. The Turtle soup was better then I remembered.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great NOLA seafood and awesome deserts i ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great NOLA seafood and awesome deserts in the French Quarter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent food and service, thank ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always excellent food and service, thank you. We will be back our next time in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always Tableau did not disappoint! F ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

As always Tableau did not disappoint! Food was great. Service was slightly slow but they had just opened for lunch. Looked like service was moving better after they had been open a little. I have always enjoyed anything ordered there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

expected more .......

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were a party of 4 with a 6 pm reservation. Waiter and his team was completely confused the whole evening, not sure what was brought out and what wasn't. Had to ask us what we had gotten and what we were waiting on. We ordered from the pre-theater menu to make it easy. After receiving our drinks - it took a long while for food order to be placed. One person got the salad, which was brought immediately, and it sat there for 15 minutes before one other appetizer - gumbo - was delivered -- still had to wait for the 2 shrimp appetizers, only after reminding waiter we didn't receive our appetizers . We were told the manager wants the salad brought out right away, but all appetizers should be brought out at same time. And, the Entrees were not brought out at same time. Food was mediocre for a Brennan's restaurant. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Awesome food. Filet and Pomme Frites wa ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Awesome food. Filet and Pomme Frites was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening out with fantastic ser ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Wonderful evening out with fantastic service! Food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch before a show!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

How much simpler could it be? Dine at Tableau, then walk 30 steps to enjoy a Le Petit production! It's a one-stop outing experience. Covered parking is conveniently close, and after the show, you can enjoy a nightcap or finish off the evening with dessert. The staff is professional but light hearted and happy to serve. There is no pressure to turn a table, so you can take your time enjoying special house drinks, fabulous appetizers, and exquisite entrees.

If you have to fight the crowds to get into the quarter, this is a great destination to soak up the ambiance and activity of Jackson Square and all the lovely shops near the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Okay food, terrible service

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We made an early dinner reservation (5:30) and even though there were at least twenty empty tables when we arrived, the hostess made us stand and wait for 5-10 minutes while she figured out where to seat us. We ordered a drink and a main course each, and it took us over an hour to get our meal. Finally, at 7:15, we had to aggressively flag down our server to ask for our check. The food was pretty good. The service was inexcusably poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Good but not great

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Wife and I have dined at many NOLA eateries. Tableau was just slightly better than middle of the road. We started with appeitsers, the salad was ok and the seafood gumbo was average and only warm, not hot. My wife had the oriental snapper and I had the redfish Bienville. Both were good but did not wow us. Again the dishes did not arrive hot, seemed like they sat for a little while and had cooled some. We shared the Creme Brulee and that was outstanding. It was served in a shallow saucer with a nice sugar crust on top and decorated with powered sugar designs. I settled for a rose port because they were out of the 20 year old tawny (disappointing). The servers were very friendly but not overly attentive. We had to ask for water and for the daily specials.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was off

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Had dinner there with my husband before a show at Le Petit. We had a reservation yet still had to wait although there were many empty tables. It seemed like there were some staffing issues and even though we had a waitress with an assistant it seemed like the service was not in sync ,it looked like tables seated after us received their food before us and I had to ask for bread and butter. We've eaten there before and totally enjoyed it. As I said it seemed like they were having staffing problems and we even overheard someone (the manager maybe?) ask one of the three young ladies at the reservation desk to call someone but that persons phone went directly to voicemail. I'd give them another shot because the food really is delicious and hopefully it was an off night.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Awesome Dinner in the French Quarter

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and service were outstanding!! Our servers Keith and Miss Julia were informative, attentive (but not too much), and added to the enjoyment of the evening. The gumbo was the best that we had had in the French Quarter, and the Shrimp & Grits was amazing. The pace was relaxing. Miss Julia and Keith made sure we were done in time to go to the Petit Theater performance after dinner which is conveniently in the same building with a connecting door.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rather pricy but worth it; great service ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Rather pricy but worth it; great service and exquisite ambiance; food is also spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Owner visited our table several time to ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Owner visited our table several time to check on service; food was wonderful; GO; you won't regret it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant was chosen for its proximity ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Restaurant was chosen for its proximity to La Petit Theatre. Ambience with pictures from past shows was very pleasing and interesting. Food was very good and the bar served up delicious cocktails. Service was great so all in all it was a slam duck lovely evening..... dinner and a show .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was slow, especially compared to ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Service was slow, especially compared to other local restaurants which shined with attentive wait staff (Cochon for example)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Wonderful

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

It was our anniversary, they made everything very special. Seated us early and gave us a extra special dessert for our occasion

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.