About Tableau

616 St Peter St
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the French Quarter, on the corner of Jackson Square, Tableau is Dickie Brennan's latest production and features lauded Louisiana Creole dishes prepared by talented chef, John Martin and his equally talented culinary team. Look for traditional Creole dishes with an updated approach. A star of the menu is the ten or more traditional French sauces made daily by the expert house saucier. Enjoy courtyard dining, as well as balcony dining with some of the best views in the Quarter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole, French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday
8:00AM - 'til
Saturday - Sunday
10:00AM -10:00PM

Tableau is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. Brunch is served Saturday and Sunday.

Cross Street:
Chartres

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 934-3463

Website:
http://www.tableaufrenchquarter.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Brunch on Sundays.

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located on picturesque Jackson Square, at the corner of St. Peter Street and Chartres Street. Please allow extra time for parking or traveling into the heart of the French Quarter.
Parking is available at several nearby parking garages including, Premium Parking at 616 Toulouse Street and 535 Chartres Street, Central Parking at 528 Chartres Street, or French Market Parking Lot- located along the River behind French Market retail shops on Decatur Street.

Executive Chef:
John Martin

Private Party Facilities:
Tableau features 5 private dining rooms, accommodating 15 to 60 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee Tilloy: 5045218310x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Tableau
Tableau
Tableau
Tableau
Crabmeat Ravigote Starter
Crabmeat Ravigote Action Shot
Redfish
Appetizer
Burrata
Gumbo
Turtle Soup au Sherry
Bee's Knees Cocktail
Sazerac Cocktail
Fresh Creamery Butter
Seared Tuna Salad
Bee's Knees
French 75
Duck Confit Hash
Parish Canebreak Draft
Bluebird Grapefruit Juice
Truffled Crab Fingers
Demi Royale
Duck Leg Confit And Seared Duck Breast With Blueberry Gastrique
Vegan Ratatouille
Crab And Asparagus Salad
Demi Eggs Benedict
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
seafood gumbo
Bacon Wrapped Shrimp
Pecan Praline Monkeybread Pudding
Oysters Maison
Duck
Parish Tod
steak tartare
Shrimp and Grits
Turtle Soup
French Onion Soup
Vanilla Bean Creme Brle
Creole French Onion Soup
Crepe du Jour
Stone Ground Grits
Creamed Spinach
Creole Seafood Courtbouillon
Chicken Tableau
Tarte a la Bouille with Cafe Brulot Creme
oysters en brochette
Drawing Room Players
Faienza Rosso
Monkey Bread
Oysters Rockefeller Po-boy
Bloody Mary
Complimentary Bread
Creole O.J.
Crab Fingers
Strawberry Shortcake Macaron

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tableau Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (93)
fit for foodies (88)
good for groups (64)
See All
romantic (63)
great for outdoor dining (55)
scenic view (53)
neighborhood gem (51)
great for brunch (51)
great for lunch (39)
notable wine list (24)
hot spot (22)
kid-friendly (17)
vibrant bar scene (11)
late-night find (10)
Sort By:
Newest
1103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I have heard great things about this re ...

Dined 5 days ago

I have heard great things about this restaurant however the food was such a disappointment. Even the house Pinot noir was below average. There are so many other great places to eat in the French Quarter at this price.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

So disappointed. Was recommended by a fr ...

Dined 5 days ago

So disappointed. Was recommended by a friend but it was not at a good value. First we were seated right next to kitchen but we were moved. Then had a less than attentive server. The food at first was undercooked . They took it back and brought it without the garnish and completely overlooked it. So not what we were hoping for. Sorry

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Good food with ok service. Would recomme ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Good food with ok service. Would recommend other places before this one.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The entrees were amazingly delicious!!! ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

The entrees were amazingly delicious!!! We didn't have drinks, so I can't attest to that. The dessert was ok - not the best I've ever had. We had crab cakes for an appetizer and, though small, they were very good. Sitting on the balcony, overlooking Jackson Square, was absolutely great!! The service was good, but not perfect. We had multiple waiters come by and the whole thing was a little disjointed! This was fine dining and it was worth it - still a little hard to pay $80+ dollars for 2 people's entrees & a dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing and the creme brûlée was the bes ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Amazing and the creme brûlée was the best I've ever had!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our Father's Day brunch a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Really enjoyed our Father's Day brunch at Tableau. The food was delicious and innovative and the service was perfect. Will definitely go back in the fall and have dinner on the balcony.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor of the restaurant is very eleg ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The decor of the restaurant is very elegant. There are lots of diners of many ages and children as well. You can feel comfortable whether you are dressy or casual. The food is very good but also adventurous.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nicetovisiteveryonceinawhile welikeditb ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Nicetovisiteveryonceinawhile welikeditbetterwhentheyofferedjazzmusicians

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great fish and steak!

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Great fish and steak!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about Tableau was wonderful. ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Everything about Tableau was wonderful. The food, ambiance, service. This was our first trip to New Orleans and we wanted a romantic evening to celebrate our anniversary - a place where the noise level was low and Tableau was perfect! I love Chartreuse, so The Last Word was amazing. My husband enjoyed his Just As Well (bourbon and rosemary ) "just as well." I had a sip and deemed it my second favorite cocktail.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Keith was an incredibly attentive waiter ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Keith was an incredibly attentive waiter and went out of his way to create the ultimate dining experience. My daughter ordered a steak and it was not prepared to her specifications and he immediately noticed and had a new one brought out very quickly. He gave us fantastic advice on selections and even gave us recommendations for other Brennan restaurants when we are in town next and suggested a dine around. My daughter is interested in opening a restaurant one day so it was very meaningful. Jewel was another exceptional addition to the evening with her professionalism and personal smile and eye contact every time she came to the table. We loved hearing about her childhood and exposures to wine. She then brought the history of the restaurant to life even recounting some of the friendly "ghosts" in the building. The new manager Jeff was kind enough to show us the rest of the restaurant, the parlor, potentially "haunted" wine room, and other dining areas. All in all, the food, service, and ambience was exceptional. A must in New Orleans!

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome staff and cocktail choices

Dined on June 15, 2016

Awesome staff and cocktail choices

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time to Tableau. I was looking for ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

First time to Tableau. I was looking for a place that was a little more quiet and had an interesting and creative menu. I was very pleased with my meal and that they made accommodations for gluten free. One comment though, I asked for the dressing on the side for my starter salad and it came dressed as well as a very large sauce boat filled with dressing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Resturant is very elegant. The wine ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The Resturant is very elegant. The wine selection was extensive. There was great food choices. The Turtle soup was better then I remembered.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great NOLA seafood and awesome deserts i ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great NOLA seafood and awesome deserts in the French Quarter

food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent food and service, thank ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Always excellent food and service, thank you. We will be back our next time in town.

food5
ambience5
service4

As always Tableau did not disappoint! F ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

As always Tableau did not disappoint! Food was great. Service was slightly slow but they had just opened for lunch. Looked like service was moving better after they had been open a little. I have always enjoyed anything ordered there!

food1
ambience2
service1
value1

expected more .......

Dined on June 4, 2016

We were a party of 4 with a 6 pm reservation. Waiter and his team was completely confused the whole evening, not sure what was brought out and what wasn't. Had to ask us what we had gotten and what we were waiting on. We ordered from the pre-theater menu to make it easy. After receiving our drinks - it took a long while for food order to be placed. One person got the salad, which was brought immediately, and it sat there for 15 minutes before one other appetizer - gumbo - was delivered -- still had to wait for the 2 shrimp appetizers, only after reminding waiter we didn't receive our appetizers . We were told the manager wants the salad brought out right away, but all appetizers should be brought out at same time. And, the Entrees were not brought out at same time. Food was mediocre for a Brennan's restaurant. Will not go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food. Filet and Pomme Frites wa ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Awesome food. Filet and Pomme Frites was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening out with fantastic ser ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Wonderful evening out with fantastic service! Food was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch before a show!

Dined on May 29, 2016

How much simpler could it be? Dine at Tableau, then walk 30 steps to enjoy a Le Petit production! It's a one-stop outing experience. Covered parking is conveniently close, and after the show, you can enjoy a nightcap or finish off the evening with dessert. The staff is professional but light hearted and happy to serve. There is no pressure to turn a table, so you can take your time enjoying special house drinks, fabulous appetizers, and exquisite entrees. If you have to fight the crowds to get into the quarter, this is a great destination to soak up the ambiance and activity of Jackson Square and all the lovely shops near the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Okay food, terrible service

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

We made an early dinner reservation (5:30) and even though there were at least twenty empty tables when we arrived, the hostess made us stand and wait for 5-10 minutes while she figured out where to seat us. We ordered a drink and a main course each, and it took us over an hour to get our meal. Finally, at 7:15, we had to aggressively flag down our server to ask for our check. The food was pretty good. The service was inexcusably poor.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Good but not great

Dined on May 28, 2016

Wife and I have dined at many NOLA eateries. Tableau was just slightly better than middle of the road. We started with appeitsers, the salad was ok and the seafood gumbo was average and only warm, not hot. My wife had the oriental snapper and I had the redfish Bienville. Both were good but did not wow us. Again the dishes did not arrive hot, seemed like they sat for a little while and had cooled some. We shared the Creme Brulee and that was outstanding. It was served in a shallow saucer with a nice sugar crust on top and decorated with powered sugar designs. I settled for a rose port because they were out of the 20 year old tawny (disappointing). The servers were very friendly but not overly attentive. We had to ask for water and for the daily specials.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Service was off

Dined on May 28, 2016

Had dinner there with my husband before a show at Le Petit. We had a reservation yet still had to wait although there were many empty tables. It seemed like there were some staffing issues and even though we had a waitress with an assistant it seemed like the service was not in sync ,it looked like tables seated after us received their food before us and I had to ask for bread and butter. We've eaten there before and totally enjoyed it. As I said it seemed like they were having staffing problems and we even overheard someone (the manager maybe?) ask one of the three young ladies at the reservation desk to call someone but that persons phone went directly to voicemail. I'd give them another shot because the food really is delicious and hopefully it was an off night.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Dinner in the French Quarter

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and service were outstanding!! Our servers Keith and Miss Julia were informative, attentive (but not too much), and added to the enjoyment of the evening. The gumbo was the best that we had had in the French Quarter, and the Shrimp & Grits was amazing. The pace was relaxing. Miss Julia and Keith made sure we were done in time to go to the Petit Theater performance after dinner which is conveniently in the same building with a connecting door.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Rather pricy but worth it; great service ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Rather pricy but worth it; great service and exquisite ambiance; food is also spectacular!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Owner visited our table several time to ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Owner visited our table several time to check on service; food was wonderful; GO; you won't regret it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant was chosen for its proximity ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Restaurant was chosen for its proximity to La Petit Theatre. Ambience with pictures from past shows was very pleasing and interesting. Food was very good and the bar served up delicious cocktails. Service was great so all in all it was a slam duck lovely evening..... dinner and a show .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3

Service was slow, especially compared to ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Service was slow, especially compared to other local restaurants which shined with attentive wait staff (Cochon for example)

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on May 24, 2016

It was our anniversary, they made everything very special. Seated us early and gave us a extra special dessert for our occasion

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Very good food, but limited menu and dis ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Very good food, but limited menu and disappointing wine list. Service was friendly, however, not terribly attentive. With all the choices in New Orleans, I wouldn't put this near the front of the list.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for my 50th birthday on a recomm ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We came for my 50th birthday on a recommendation from a friend. We sat out on the balcony. It was wonderful. Highly recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Over all a good experience.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Over all a good experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a very great, fun experience. Yet ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

It was a very great, fun experience. Yet the special was stuff crab raviole, it was not raviole more like an empenada? They stated it was good, but not what they had expected. I would say you have to explain what the diah really is.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great location in the French quarter. Ba ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great location in the French quarter. Balcony table was great. Service was excellent. Special of the day was very tasty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great New Orleans dining experience!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our first time at Tableau--we'll definitely return and I'll recommend it to others!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a delicious dinner at Tableau on ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a delicious dinner at Tableau on a Saturday evening. We sat outside in the courtyard and because it was a nice night, it was lovely. However, it felt like the indoor staff were more formal and accommodating. The outdoor staff seemed a little bored and were dressed more casually, which wasn't an issue, but given the prices, every customer should be treated the same in regards to service. The food was well prepared, from appetizer through to dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were excellent. My grad ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Service and food were excellent. My graduation party of six were all very pleased. Originally we were seated next to the bar during happy hour (very noisy), but our request to be reseated in a quieter area was met at once. Will recommend. Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

What a treat this was. The experience sc ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

What a treat this was. The experience screams New Orleans and the food was some of the best I've had.

food5
ambience4
service2

The food was excellent, service was terr ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was excellent, service was terribly slow. Didn't seem to be very many people at all in the restaurant, 6 people, Friday morning, 10am. The bartender was hardly to be seen, our drinks took 20 minutes to arrive. Although our waitress was very nice, still... slow service beats over kindness. I love all Brennan family restaurants so I don't like leaving bad reviews, so sorry.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.