About Table 28 - Little Rock

1501 Merrill Dr
Little Rock, AR 72211
View Larger Map

The Burgundy Hotel introduces Table 28, serving Modern American Cuisine featuring Executive Chef Scott Rains.

Chef Rains is proud to source locally-grown organic produce from Arkansas farmers in his bold menu that showcases his brilliance in working with Southern flair to create a revolutionary take on Modern American Cuisine. Table 28 offers local charm and an approachable elegance that is second to none. Be sure to join us for our Happy Hour Monday-Friday from 4p.m. to 7p.m.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Monday - Thursday: 4:00 p.m - 9:00 p.m

Friday & Saturday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 p.m

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(501) 224-2828

Website:
http://www.table28lr.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Rains

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Table 28 - Little Rock
  • Table 28 - Little Rock
  • Table 28 - Little Rock
Table 28 - Little Rock
Table 28 - Little Rock
Table 28 - Little Rock

Table 28 - Little Rock Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Little Rock
Best Food
Little Rock
Best Service
Little Rock
9 More
Best Value
Little Rock
Romantic
Little Rock
Special Occasion
Little Rock
Best Overall
Little Rock / Central Arkansas
Best Food
Little Rock / Central Arkansas
Best Service
Little Rock / Central Arkansas
Best Value
Little Rock / Central Arkansas
Romantic
Little Rock / Central Arkansas
Special Occasion
Little Rock / Central Arkansas
Best Restaurants in Little Rock ›

special occasion (21)
fit for foodies (19)
romantic (15)
See All
neighborhood gem (11)
notable wine list (5)
good for groups (4)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our steaks were outstanding, prepared ex ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our steaks were outstanding, prepared exactly as we specified (medium rare). The house cabernet was a good selection, such that I asked what it was so that I could look for it in my wine store. The service was prompt and friendly. The noise level was not optimal, but perhaps that the consequence of a full Saturday night crowd.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Scott is the most innovative and imagina ...

vip
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Scott is the most innovative and imaginative chef in Arkansas. His dishes are unique and delicious. I have never been disappointed at Table 28.

Tonight I had the Rocky Mountain oysters. They were crunchy on the outside and very tender on the inside. The Waygu sirloin was tender and flavorful.

I highly recommend Table 28.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly bartender. Excellent sea bass.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Friendly bartender. Excellent sea bass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our recent dinner here was nothing short ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our recent dinner here was nothing short of wonderful. Service could not have been better. Terrell was very knowledgeable about the food and the beverages, and he ensured that our dinner was paced perfectly. The décor and ambiance are great. For starters, the companion and I shared the butter lettuce wedge salad. It was a little different than the typical wedge salad, but it was good. The companion ordered the rib eye "fire roasted", and I ordered the sea bass "blackened". Both entrees were great - nicely seasoned and filling. They have a nice wine list. Everything was nicely paced. They set the bar high for the rest of our stay in Little Rock!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very good quality food from a superb men ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

very good quality food from a superb menu selection. The restaurant has sophistication without being overly pretentious. Service was very good. would definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meal and good place to go for ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent meal and good place to go for a special event. Food was very good and a good value.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The Prix Fixe menu for $35pp is just per ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The Prix Fixe menu for $35pp is just perfect! More food than you need, with a sweet ending. Highly recommend the Sweet Tea brined Fried Chicken with mashed potatoes and a corn "gravy".

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was original, inspiring and int ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The menu was original, inspiring and intriguing. The local farm to table commitment was evident. The execution was on target with the dishes we ordered. The Stickey Toffee Pudding was the highlight of our meal. Our waiter was informative and entertaining. He was clearly a fan of the chef and was able to describe the food and educate us on the sourcing and cooking techniques. The overall experience rivaled any we have had even in NYC. We highly recommend this restaurant for anyone who wants high quality food prepared in exciting and pleasing ways.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Way to noisy , burger was dry and overco ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Way to noisy , burger was dry and overcooked, I like a juicy burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Evening dining

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent meal in a wonderful low key great atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Find in Little Rock

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We dined here for my step-mother's birthday. I was from out of town, and wanted a nice food-driven experience to celebrate. After a few false starts regarding the proper wine bottle, our service was very good and the food delicious. Will definitely try again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

That was the best meal I've had in a lon ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

That was the best meal I've had in a long time! The drinks were great and the food was beautiful as well as delicious! The restaurant atmosphere was very nice and calming! Terrell was our waiter and he was excellent! I've already recommended Table 28 to many of my friends, young and old! Keep up the good work, we'll defiantly be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

occasioin was wife's birthday

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

She had a difficult time with your menu as did others we noticed. Our waiter was not much help although another waiter at a different table was. My food was very good but her steak although good was over priced when compared with Longhorn Steakhouse. the cheese cake was mostly crust and little filling

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Table 28 & Ambiance

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

The duck breast and bacon-wrapped quail were outstanding, as was the noise level! I will gladly recommend Table 28 for the quality of the food and wine, however, it comes with a caveat: don't expect quiet, romantic dining.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Lovely dinner

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food and service were great. The Bibb lettuce wedge is wonderful! My husband had the sliced duck breast and declared it delicious as was my filet.

Only hesitation is the noise. The hostess said it does get noisy on Friday night. Restaurant is very good so we will go back on a week night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Sometimes you want a little quiet to enj ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Sometimes you want a little quiet to enjoy you meal and your friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A quiet gem in Little Rock

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Chef is one of the best in the sate. Service is knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and attentive. Most importantly, the food is awesome and the portions are on the larger side, great for men who like to eat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great mothers birthday dinner

vip
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

We were celebrating my mother and my mother-in-laws birthday. The food and service were outstanding, even remembering to bring out a dessert for them to celebrate the evening. Some of the favorites were the quail lollipops, the mushrooms, eggplant and beef dishes. Wonderful night and will definitely return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food. Kitchen and service were ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Wonderful food. Kitchen and service were a little slow. Renovations are nice but left us sitting way too close to a couple next to us. Also apparently having issues swing reservations from Open Table so we almost did not get a table. Also very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Very Impressed

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

I came to Little Rock for business with colleagues and was in town just one night. I had looked online for restaurants close to our hotel and decided to book a table at Table 28. The menu was eclectic and had something for everyone - the vegetarians and meat eaters, and the foodies and the less adventurous eaters alike.

The service was excellent. The waiter was able to answer any questions we had about the menu and made recommendations based on our preferences.

The food was phenomenal! I had farro risotto that was hearty and creamy...utterly delicious. My meat eating colleagues also enjoyed their meals as well as desert. Though we didn't have cocktails (only wine), there were some one the list that looked good. They had an interesting selection of bourbons as well, which we did partake in after dinner.

If you're in Little Rock and staying west of downtown I would highly recommend dinner at Table 28.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

will try again

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

First time to dine here. The food was of a caliber that i will give Table 28 another chance. the seating was a bit awkward. the couple next to use was wedged into a small corner and we were right on top of them. Very noisy as well and the entrees took too long to come out. Long enough that my wife declined dessert (first time in our 23 years of marriage). But the food was excellent and that is what we came for.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Chef Rains is the most innovative chef i ...

vip
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Chef Rains is the most innovative chef in Little Rock. The food is always perfectly cooked and delicious . Service is outstanding . I highly recommend Table 28.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Best in Little Rock!

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Table 28 is by far our favorite restaurant in Little Rock. We have been dining there since it opened a few years ago, and it is just as fabulous as our first visit. Chef Scott Rains is on top of his game from starters to entrees, and he is the best pastry chef in town, too. We take our family, our friends, and go on romantic dates there. They recently renovated the dining/bar area and it looks awesome. I recently had a pork shank which I am still dreaming about, and do not get me started about the mac and cheese with crispy chicken skin, the mushrooms with red wine and mozzarella, and the quail lollipops. The spinach salad with sweet breads is a rich treat. The kale caesar is also tasty. My absolute favorite dish is their brussel sprouts flash fried and served with bacon, which would make even the pickiest diner go back for seconds. Other faves include the cauliflower with manchego cheese, the beef carpaccio, and the mushroom farrow risotto. The service is always top notch. This is a local business that really strives to keep their customers happy, and we love the personal care. DO NOT pass up the pumpkin sticky toffee pudding. Lovely wines and cocktails, too. This place has it all!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bone marrow escargot appetizer was g ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

The bone marrow escargot appetizer was great. I had the wedge salad and cioppino. Both were excellent. Service was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Table 28 always rises to the occasion

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Table 28 is hidden inside the Burgundy hotel in the Market Street area of Little Rock. With a creative menu and a well-developed wine list, it is a must for foodies. Try the calamari appetizer (or the artichoke dip or the quail lollipops) and the cioppino entree. Nothing on the menu will let you down.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food, seats a bit close.

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Wonderful food. I'm still dreaming about it. My only complaint is that our table was literally 12 inches from the next couple's tables on both sides. It was a bit close for a romantic dinner, but the atmosphere was romantic and felt special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food and Unique Options

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

I arrived on time was seated promptly. A little tight for dining and as a single gdiner for the night I did not feel private but on display. Nicely decorated seating area for the majority but could be broken into nooks somehow. Not too big for sure and quiet in the unique hotel Burgandy. The waiter was friendly and was well versed in what was on the menu and the substitutes for the night for seafood not flown in. The menu had many options and unique flavors with a few for the less adventurous. The prices were average to high for gourmet size meals. I really enjoyed the unique appetizer of beef tongue prepared like corned beef with fried chicken skin and sauce. The 3 large maine seared scallops with tiny brussel sprouts, over beef cheek and hmmm I forgot risotto or creamed potatoes with horseradish?! It all was excellent and I loved the experience. I hope to return and did enjoy it all. Three scallops seem high for the price. I do see the personal attention and little customer volume so I do understand how you may need to recoup the expenses though. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just okay

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

I had read several reviews about this restaurant and was really looking forward to trying some unique cuisine. I ordered the bone marrow, which was amazing, the spinach salad with sweetbreads, which was just okay. And for main course I ordered the squid ink pasta with bass and a spicy red sauce. This is where my dining experience went bad. This dish was practically swimming in olive oil. There was so much oil in this dish it was literally floating all over the bowl. I tried to stir it, push it aside, and even eat around it. It was quite simply just a bad dish. I am not saying that I would never eat there again, but I certainly would never recommend this dish or ever order anything with pasta from here again in fear of having the same experience.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

A great choice!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

Excellent menu selection, and great foods! Superior service. This place is a keeper!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Solid dining experience

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on November 5, 2015

Our table of 4 ordered 4 different menu items and we liked all of them plus the salad before dinner was wonderful. Our only drawback was we thought it was a little overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The entire group of 6 thoroughly enjoyed ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 22, 2014

The entire group of 6 thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience. We all tried various tastings and dinners, and were really pleased with the ingenious combinations and food preparation. What a great dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to celebrate two birthdays.

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on November 13, 2014

We went to celebrate my husband's and a friend's mutual birthday. The other couple had never been there. After dinner the first time couple was thinking about others that would really enjoy TABLE 28. They are planning to bring a foodie business associate for an evening at the chef's table.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

good menu

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on November 9, 2014

Waiter very enthusiastic about the nemu and food; was way above average for a Best Western in Little Rock, AR.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

First time at Table 28-food was excellen ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on October 10, 2014

First time at Table 28-food was excellent. My steak loving husband thought the steak was the best he'd ever had-it was the ribeye for 2.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Small plates are delicious!

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on October 9, 2014

Three of us dined at Table 28 this week, and our experience was fantastic. Our server was exceptionally knowledgeable about the menu. We ordered some of his suggestions (butter lettuce wedge salads, small plates -- shrimp and grits; quail lollipops) and were very pleased with the serving sizes and the delicious food. I enthusiastically recommend Table 28.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent evening

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on September 22, 2014

Our dinner was outstanding. My duck was great. My children loved their toffee dessert. My favorite are the grits. I do wish they would come up with a better chocolate dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing food & service

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on September 21, 2014

We were excited to try Table 28. Other than 2 appetizers and a free dessert for the birthday of one in our group, we agreed the $65 per person (incl. tip, with 1 bottle of wine and no additional desserts) was a waste of money! We dine out regularly, and although cordial, our waiter, Jim, was among the worst we've had. Several requests had to be repeated and twice-one of us sat waiting for a requested or ordered item while the rest were eating. It was not a busy night and the waiter was minimally apologetic, then continuing poor service. The skate fish was so salty-even salt lovers disliked it. The entrees were unremarkable, particularly for an upper end restaurant. If we ever return, it will be for appetizers and dessert. What a shame!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

The best food in Little Rock! The most ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on August 29, 2014

The best food in Little Rock! The most unique combinations are sure to win even the biggest skeptics over. Awesome bar too! Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable birthday

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on August 24, 2014

My boyfriend requested Table 28 for his Birthday, and being as we had not visited before we were pleasantly pleased with the snug coziness of the restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was very delicious and well presented. I am glad to find this small gem of a place in Arkansas and it is really a shame that Little Rock and surrounding area's do not provide more dining experiences similar to Table 28. We will visit again if only to hold up the bar and sample some of their lovely appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

A Gem in Little Rock

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2014

It is sort of unusual to find high-quality, gourmet type food in Little Rock. While there are definitely good restaurants, they tend to be somewhat predictable in serving good, but traditional food.

Table28 is more like San Francisco or New York City, with a southern accent.

For example, the Shrimp with Cheese Grits and Bacon is unusual, delicious, and addictive!

Ditto for the Lobster Mac n Cheese... just great.

The steak was quite good, and for dessert, the S'more is fantastic.

Our evening, a week day, was fairly quiet in terms of noise; conversation was possible, which is a plus in a trendy place.

The service was extremely prompt and courteous.

We loved our dinner! Creative, tasty, very satisfying!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.