About Table 16

600 South Elm Street
Greensboro, NC 27406
View Larger Map

Table 16 Restaurant has a seasonal menu offering New World Cuisine, a style of food incorporating tremendously flavorful spices, chilies, grains & sustainable seafood. Table 16 is dedicated to sourcing & supporting NC’s vast pool of edible & delicious products, turning them into magic for the mouth & sustenance for the belly.

The restaurant is avant-garde & strives to keep the experience different for each visit while remaining accessible & affordable. Table 16 Restaurant produces daily a style of food & experience that cannot be found elsewhere in the Triad with weekly specials. Tuesdays-$35 prix fixe Garden Supper, Wednesday-$75 dinner for two/includes a bottle of wine & $35 four-course chef’s tastings on Thursdays. There are adult beverage features to complement each dinner special-from $8 top shelf martinis, $1 Craft Beer to No Corkage Fee on Thursday Nights.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch & Dinner: Tuesday -Saturday 11:30am - 9:30pm

Closed Sunday & Monday except during spring & fall furniture markets & Christmas & New's holiday weeks.

Also, open Mother's & Father's Days.

**Please note: We will be closed July 4th, Thanksgiving, Christmas Day & New Year's Day**

Cross Street:
Lewis Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 279-8525

Website:
http://www.table16restaurant.com/

Catering:
If it makes sense, I'll be happy to cater.

Parking Details:
Please note main entrance to restaurant is located on Lewis Street.

Customers welcome to park at Lotus Lounge & Lewis St. Antiques both located at the end of Lewis Street. Both parking areas are within 100 ft. the restaurant.

There is also a paid parking lot at the end of Lewis Street.

Executive Chef:
Graham Heaton

Private Party Facilities:
The Table 16 space and staff are available for any special event. Weddings, banquets, business meetings, luncheons, bridal showers, anniversaries and birthday parties can be reserved with due notice and on any day of the week. Projectors, screens and partitions can be rented. Menus can be catered to fit any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Graham Heaton: 3362798525x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The Table 16 space and staff are available for any special event.

Restaurant Photos

Pan Seared Rockfish
Sirloin And Grits With Marscapone Cheese
White Guava Sorbet
Cheesecake
Prime Rib
Grilled Quail Breast
Atlantic Halibut & Prosciutto
Clams With Fava Beans
Arugula Salad With Dried Figs
Cheese Plate
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
  Strip Steak & Black Trumpet Mushrooms
Arugula Salad With Clementine
Alma De Los Andres Chardonnay
Scallop With Hummus & Olives
Pecan Crusted Catfish Topped With Lobster Salsa Over Heirloom Grits & Sweet Corn.
Halibut With brussel sprouts And Buerre Blanc
Raspberry Mint Martini
Jerk Pork Loin And Tostones
Spicy Clams
Filet With Celery Root Mash
Chocolate Creme Brulee
White Chocolate Waffle With Banana Ice Cream
Blue Crab And Lobster Cake
Lemonfish & Red Ham Gravy, Lobster & Hominy
Local Rabbit & Kidney Beans, Quick Collards & Prosciutto
House Salad
Black Russian Cocktail
Chilean Seabass
Chef's Tasting Menu
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Pan Seared Sea Scallops, Young Carrots, Pearl Onion, Guava Butter
Filet, Whipped Sweet Potato, Red Curry
Bog Ole Prawn
Duck Breast With Kale In A Cranberry Saunce
Mountain Trout & Hummus W/Artichokes & Tomato Raita
Ahi Tuna & Parsnip, Cling Peaches & Mirin BBQ Sauce
Pecan Crusted Catfish Over Grits W/Caper Aioli
Angus Strip Steak & Japanese Coleslaw, Tempura Sweet Potato & Szechaun Bordelaise
Giant Prawn & Root Vegetable, Mango BBQ & Country Ham
Lobster Corndog & Pickled Egg, Corn Salad & Chinese Mustard
Pheasant & Yam Gnocchi, Brussel  Sprouts & Cranberry

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:30PM

Table 16 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Fit for Foodies
Greensboro
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Greensboro
Romantic
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

fit for foodies (29)
special occasion (26)
romantic (19)
See All
neighborhood gem (17)
notable wine list (11)
great for lunch (7)
good for groups (5)
great for brunch (5)
hot spot (4)
scenic view (3)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
741 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

nothing to review as the restaurant was ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

nothing to review as the restaurant was closed. Had reservations for our 38th wedding anniversary and was really looking forward a love evening. Very disappointed to arrive and find doors locked with a sign indicating restaurant was closed. Don't really remember the reason and don't really care. The restaurant should have blocked the dates. As it was we punted and went to LaRue. Highly recommend it. They are now closed until early August for a move.

food1
ambience1
service1

T16 PERMANENTLY CLOSED. Found out as I ...

vip
Dined on June 23, 2016

T16 PERMANENTLY CLOSED. Found out as I arrived with our customers for dinner last Thursday. Hope all is well with the staff as its odd for a restaurant not to inform you of a closure.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

When we arrived for our reservation on J ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

When we arrived for our reservation on June 22nd, the restaurant was dark and locked. No sign on the door, nothing. Very upsetting. On a positive note, we did go to B Christophers and had excellent service and a fabulous meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great and the service was e ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was great and the service was even better!

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This used to be our favorite date night ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

This used to be our favorite date night restaurant. Food was expensive and usually worth the price. My husband's mahi mahi and our scallop appetizer were amazing. My Chilean Sea Bass had a strange consistency and very funny after taste. The restaurant also had an unusual odor that night.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The first time I went to this restaurant ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The first time I went to this restaurant in 2011 for an engagement dinner, my wife and I were blown away by the mastery of every menu item, the incredible knowledge, professionalism, and friendliness of the staff. In the last 3 times we've had dinner here, it's just different. The menu is cheaper and with it the quality of the dining experience has suffered as well. The wait staff has been stiff and ordinary and the quality of the food while still quite good, is bland in comparison to our previous experiences here. It's unfortunate. Not sure if there has been a change in ownership or the kitchen staff, but for us there better restaurants available that measure up as well or better to what is being offered here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The Table 16 Tasting was an experience t ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The Table 16 Tasting was an experience to remember. My husband and I loved every minute of it. Five hand-crafted courses, each one more savory than the previous dish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night

Dined on May 19, 2016

Food outstanding. Thursday night is a great night for date night at Table 16. You can bring a bottle of your favorite wine with no corkage fee. Also table 16 is just pleasantly crowed that evening making the evening even more special. Will definitely be there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A pre graduation dinner with our daughte ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

A pre graduation dinner with our daughter. A lovely place with quiet background music. Soft conversations all around were not overwhelming nor distracting. Food and service were prompt/courteous/excellent! The staff were attentive and kind. We'll likely not be back soon as we live in TX. But would be a favorite otherwise. A MUST GO!

food4
ambience3
service5

A great experience with very good food. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

A great experience with very good food. I would recommend this restaurant for anyone. There were several positives. Our server was wonderful, she was a positive, humble person and took any and all comments in stride. She earned five stars. Most of the food was absolutely delight, but a particular shout out to their Pastry Chef. He/she made one of the best creme burlees I have ever tasted. The special dessert of the night, an Esspresso Toffee cake concoction was divine. I hope the Pastry Chef makes it again. There were really only two negatives. One was that there was a large corporate event being held. This raises the noise level and the staff was obviously stretched pretty thin. The second was that they changed their seafood supplier, and the scallops were chewy. These are pretty situational things so it shouldn't be a problem for others going to the resturant. Great place for an Anniversary!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing !

Dined on May 13, 2016

First time for us at Table 16 but certainly not the last! Thought we'd use our RSVP but decided to save it. So many amazing menu choices. My husband was happily surprised that there was a burger on the menu. He has been on a quest for the "best burger " and said he has finally found it after all these years The hangar steak I ordered was cooked to perfection! We both enjoyed a delicious fresh Arugula salad that actually came on two plates for us when we told our waiter we were sharing. Guy , our waiter did such an amazing job taking care of us. He could not have been more attentive. Service was impeccable ! Food ....fantastic! Now we just need to know how to get that romantic "table in the window" next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table 16 is the best restaurant in Greensboro.

Dined on May 13, 2016

Chef Graham Heaton is an outstanding world-class chef who has mastered sauces.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very enjoyable with family. Have two deaf sons and one of waiters knows sign language and came and talked with them. As always, food outstanding and service very good.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy coming to Table16 - never d ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Always enjoy coming to Table16 - never disappointed

food1
ambience4
service1
value1

A Short Evening

Dined on April 30, 2016

We have wanted to try Table 16 since we moved here two years ago. We thought it would be perfect for our anniversary dinner. It was a short evening. We made reservations for 7:30. After we were ushered to our table, and the restaurant was not full, it was 10 minutes before we were approached and offered water. Not that big a deal, but then we were informed they were out of Snapper, Mahi and Shrimp at 7:45 on a Saturday. That made all the options we were interested in a moot point. The table next to us was served a shrimp dish with too few shrimp and were offered a free dessert. How can a supposedly top restaurant run out of key proteins. We left after 30 frustrating minutes. Come on! For the prices you charge (including $2 for extra bread and a $4 sharing charge) you need to do much better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat

Dined on April 27, 2016

Table 16 is a local staple and consistently delivers a great experience, one of Greensboro's top restaurants. The menu is excellent, the preparation and presentation always top notch, and the service is delivered by professional, experienced servers.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

3rd Time Not A Charm

Dined on April 19, 2016

This was my 3rd return visit. Past experiences were spot on. I've always gotten the tasting menu and it's always been a great experience. This time it was very disappointing. The food lacked depth and flavor. The combinations were odd and the flow from course to course lacked rhythm. Hope next visit is better.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Continues to offer the most creative m ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Continues to offer the most creative menu in Greensboro

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Graham Heaton is an outstanding "world class

Dined on April 9, 2016

Chef Heaton can compete among worldwide chefs seeking Michelin stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wondered why we hadn't been back sooner....

Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband and I celebrated my husband's birthday last Saturday and were very pleased with our experience. The food, drinks and ambiance were wonderful. My husband enjoyed the beer selection. We have not been in sometime and wondered why. Will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fresh, hot, and wonderful! ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

The food was fresh, hot, and wonderful! We had spare ribs for an appetizer. I had the baby greens with feta cheese salad and the hanger steak with crab dumplings. My husband had the ham sandwich with pork rice. It was all really delicious. The wait staff was excellent and attentive. The owner was very nice and welcoming! We love this restaurant and will return next month for the new menu!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wednesday date night!

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

We love the four course meal " special" (with a bottle of wine included) on Wednesday nights!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Finally...sat at Table 16!

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

The food and service were wonderful, as usual. And, since we had to dine early before a play, the restaurant had only a few patrons. So, we were seated at Table 16 in the window. What a treat!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely Hidden Gem

Dined on February 27, 2016

We went for an early dinner for our anniversary. The specialty drinks were delicious and the server was able to make some good recommendations. It was a lovely place the food was well portioned and very tasty. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in Greensboro

Dined on February 25, 2016

This was our second visit in less than a month. We came first with friends from out of town. They were impressed, as were we. This time, it was just the two of us. Food was wonderful both times. Service was knowledgeable, prompt and pleasant. Not rushed to dine. Parking can be a bit of a problem, but be prepared to walk a block or so. We will come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Saturday night

Dined on February 21, 2016

Small selection of great food items in fish and turf. Large selection of sandwiches a bit unusual for higher end cuisine dinners. Drinks pricey. Service outstanding!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

What great atmosphere! Quiet, old south ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

What great atmosphere! Quiet, old southern style feel with a great menu!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice, romantic meal

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a nice meal the night before Valentine's Day. The restaurant was fairly busy, so the noise level wasn't as quiet as would have been ideal, but given the V-Day crowd, it was acceptable. Service was good and we weren't rushed at all. Our server did take a couple of passes before he remembered to bring a chiller for our bottle of wine. And he never did bring bread before the meal, even though he said he would be bringing it out. But the food was delicious: wife had rack of lamb, and I had the filet mignon. Cooked perfectly and very tasty. I didn't realize initially that salads were not included with the entree, and I'm surprised that our server never asked if we wanted salads. I chalk some of these minor grievances to the busy night. We would definitely consider this restaurant for another romantic evening in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Delusions of grandeur?

Dined on February 13, 2016

This is Greensboro, NC, people, not New York City. Three scallops for $30.00 is not a good value if Daniel Boulud isn't searing them himself. The "pickled brussels sprouts" turned out to be a very meagre sprinkling of raw brussels sprouts leaves on top of the fish. The carrots and butternut squash had no salt, the grits were too salty. Someone needs to taste in the kitchen before plates go out. The chevre cheesecake was delicious, despite its being misspelled on the menu. Service was good, although our server didn't come back with an answer when she said she'd mention the brussels sprouts to the chef. This restaurant would be a great "small plates" restaurant if they'd half the price of the entrees (or double the size of the entrees and charge the same price!)

food3
ambience4
service4

We had a reservation, but were seated in ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a reservation, but were seated in the bar area. We heard them say they had a cancelation, so we asked if we could take that down in the dining area. They let us, as long as we were out by 7. When our foods came my husband's was very cold, and they forgot the side. Sent it back to reheat. Meanwhile the side came out, stone cold. Asked if it was supposed to be cold (seriously), no. So it went back too. Eventually everything came back out. And it was very good. But geez, it was valentines day and we were splurging on a good, expensive meal. It wasn't what we were hoping for.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant Dining Experience

Dined on February 12, 2016

We went for an early Valentine's Day dinner with friends. None of us had been to Table 16 before, although we had read about it. Very pleasant experience, from welcoming at the door, to greeting at the table, to polite and informed server, and, of course, wonderful food. Parking was a bit of an issue, so allow time to find a spot and get to reservation on time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My birthday dinner at Table16

Dined on February 7, 2016

The experience was awesome! I love this restaurant, and I always look for opportunities to bring friends. All of my guests were first-timers. Most ordered off the menu, I got the chef's tasting, and one guest wanted to try the tasting as well (I have no dietary restrictions; she is Vegan). Everyone loved the food and my Vegan friend was extremely impressed! We might have another regular on our hands! As always, Table 16 exceeded my expectations. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

So far the best restaurant in Greensboro ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

So far the best restaurant in Greensboro in 1 year of living here.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a night out with friends

Dined on February 5, 2016

We selected this restaurant from Yelp. We had a reunion of sorts with people I worked with 30+ years ago and who have (finally) moved to NC. We're from the Asheville area ourselves and compare this to the finest we have back home. Very nice ambiance, lighting, location. We thoroughly enjoyed the mussels, oysters, soup, wine and beer list - basically everything we tried was delicious.... Will stop back next time in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Table 16 underperformed for fine dining

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

My husband and I dined on a Saturday evening. When we asked for a wine recommendation on two bottles we had selected the waiter informed us he had only been working there for one week. Then a more knowledgeable waiter told us they did not have the bottle that was our first choice. The second choice was good but was sold to us at $73 when I discovered it at $19 in a store later this week. My rack of lamb at just over $40 served on a popover was a confused dish in that there was no consistency or medley of flavors. My husband ordered the burger medium with high hopes, but was served the most well done, dry burger ever served. The atmosphere had promise and I desperately want fine dining in Greensboro, but this missed the mark.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic birthday dinner

Dined on January 26, 2016

"I love the relaxed feel of this restaurant. I definitely would return again. The filet was delicious but I would have preferred it to be cooked medium to medium rare not rare. The fish was good. I loved the spaghetti squash but the greens beans were too spicy to eat. Service was well-timed and friendly. They were very accommodating for gluten free and dairy free options."

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

TABLE 16 KEEPS ME COMING BACK

Dined on January 6, 2016

VISITED T16 FOR THE 3RD TIME LAST WEEK. COCKTAILS ARE ALWAYS GOOD. FOOD JUST ENOUGH BUT NOT TOO MUCH AND MADE WITH QUALITY INGREDIENTS. WAIT STAFF IS FRIENDLY AND ATTENTIVE.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bill B. - Burlington, NC

Dined on December 30, 2015

An Excellent and Intimate restaurant with Great food and a nice Ambiance for a couples dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Don't go

Dined on December 30, 2015

Disappointing, expensive and a decor in major need of renovation

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Christmas Eve Dinner

Dined on December 25, 2015

Our experience was wonderful, we had 4 at our table. Two tried the sampling menu, two of us ordered off the menu. The sampling menu diners LOVED their dinner, finished everything because it was so delicious! The two ordering off the menu also loved our choices. Very, very good. The staff was attentive, knowledgeable and had a good sense of humor. We had a relaxing delicious dinner and we're able to finish with plenty of time for the late Christmas Eve service. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.