About Table 16

600 South Elm Street
Greensboro, NC 27406
View Larger Map

For over ten years Table 16 Restaurant has had a seasonal menu offering New World Cuisine, a style of food incorporating tremendously flavorful spices, grains & sustainable seafood. Table 16 is dedicated to sourcing & supporting NC’s vast pool of edible & delicious products, turning them into magic for the mouth & sustenance for the belly.

The restaurant is avant-garde & strives to keep the experience different for each visit while remaining accessible & affordable. Table 16 Restaurant produces daily a style of food & experience that cannot be found elsewhere in the Triad with weekly specials. Let our chef create something special for you daily with our tasting menu that starts at $65 for a five course menu. Our mixologist guarantees a special creation cocktail just for you. Our wine selection is unmatched locally.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday -Saturday 11:30am - 9:30pm
No Lunch Saturdays
Late night service Fridays and Saturdays from 9:30 pm to 1 am.
(Limited Menu Late Night at bar with Vegetarian Options)

Closed Sunday except during spring & fall furniture markets & Christmas & New's holiday weeks.

Also, open Mother's & Father's Days.

**Please note: We will be closed July 4th, Thanksgiving, Christmas Day & New Year's Day**

Cross Street:
Lewis Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 279-8525

Website:
http://www.table16restaurant.com/

Catering:
If it makes sense, I'll be happy to cater.

Parking Details:
Please note main entrance to restaurant is located on Lewis Street.

Customers welcome to park at Lotus Lounge & Lewis St. Antiques both located at the end of Lewis Street. Both parking areas are within 100 ft. the restaurant.

There is also a paid parking lot at the end of Lewis Street.

Executive Chef:
Graham Heaton

Private Party Facilities:
The Table 16 space and staff are available for any special event. Weddings, banquets, business meetings, luncheons, bridal showers, anniversaries and birthday parties can be reserved with due notice and on any day of the week. Projectors, screens and partitions can be rented. Menus can be catered to fit any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Graham Heaton: (336) 279-8525

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Table 16 space and staff are available for any special event.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:30PM

Table 16 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.6

ambience

3.7

value

2.9

noise

Moderate

39% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Special Occasion (4)
See All
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Romantic (3)
Cozy (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
818 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They did not honor my reservation. I ca ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

They did not honor my reservation. I can't offer any other thoughts other than disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

If your an older couple this is the plac ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

If your an older couple this is the place for you. Anyone younger than 35 will be talked down to and treated as if you are a waste of time. Food was mediocre at best and very bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience, fi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience, first and foremost. My wife and I have two young kids and we do not get the chance to go out to many of the highly recommended restaurants in the Triad. Table 16 had been on our radar for a few years and my wife's birthday was the catalyst for finally getting us there. Keen on a unique night out, we chose their five-course chef's choice menu with three paired wines and just walked away thoroughly impressed. We also appreciated the quaint atmosphere that allowed us to enjoy a great conversation without a ton of background noise.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

In all respect, it was a busy Valentine' ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

In all respect, it was a busy Valentine's Day at 8:30 pm. They had served a large group before us and I think the staff was running hard to keep up, as well as the kitchen. Did not know it was a fixed menu . Dessert was the best, and the speciality drinks at the bar.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was awful. Waiter actually forgo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was awful. Waiter actually forgot about our table. Food was subpar. Did not think the food was worth near the price. Would not go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We made reservations a month ahead of ti ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We made reservations a month ahead of time and had to wait about 15 minutes for a table. We were not informed when we made the reservation or prior to arriving that the menu was limited on this night. We were not happy with the menu selections available and left prior to eating.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

My wife and I had Valentine's dinner sch ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I had Valentine's dinner scheduled for a 7 PM slot. When we arrived, there was a huge business meeting which had booked the entire restaurant and hadn't left in time to free up tables. After apologies, we were given a free drink and crowded in the bar area with the other 7:00 couples. That was a minor delay.

At about 715, the business meeting broke up and there was a mad scramble to reset the entire restaurant. We were given one of the first tables and had to navigate between staff carrying tables, silverware, etc. We were seated at a great corner table and our server came right over to take another drink order. Since this was Vday, there was a very limited menu. We elected to order a salad and an entree a la carte. The waiter had a hard time communicating with us the whole evening and one of our salads was incorrect. My wife had a grouper dish and I had lamb. Honestly, both were "OK" and not spectacular. The fish was slightly overcooked and was of good quality. The lamb had a nice sauce and roasted vegetables.

The waiter came by and asked if we were ready for our dessert, but we have been avoiding sweets. Instead, I ordered a coffee. After about 15 minutes, the waiter came by with the bill, and when I asked about the coffee, he got a little agitated about how poor their coffee service was. We watched a bit of excitement at the bar area and about 2 minutes later the coffee showed up. It was excellent.

That's the last we saw of our waiter. A manger came by about 10 minutes later and asked if we were waiting on anything. Ha. We told him the coffee needed to be added to our bill. He said forget that and took our payment. With 4 total glasses of their middle priced wine, two salads, two entrees and a comped coffee, the bill was $150.

We know it was a busy Valentine's Day and the staff seemed completely stressed by the earlier business meeting. But for those prices in our town, I would expect truly excellent food and crisp service. Disappointing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We have eaten there for years and it has ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have eaten there for years and it has been a go to restaurant for us. However , this evening Our server was horrible and really did not acknowledge us that evening. Our meal was outstanding as usual. My only comment on the food is that they did not have decaf coffee available after dinner. The poor quality service ruined what otherwise would have been a delightful anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Not aware of the pre-set four course San ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Not aware of the pre-set four course San Valentine's menú. The food was over priced and over rated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

This was a date for my us, sans kids. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was a date for my us, sans kids. What an inviting room and excellent service. The menu was a four course meal. We chose to add the paired wines. We enjoyed the food. A little disappointed that we were unable to have the frois gra. It would be good to know about the wines before they arrive. We swapped as the dry selections were not something I would drink. But the atmosphere was wonderful. The bar at the back looked so inviting. I would like to sit there next time.

Save this for a special occasion.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

2 of our group of 6 ordered the lamb and ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 28, 2017

2 of our group of 6 ordered the lamb and both said it was not flavorful.

The lettuce/beet salad was bland and there was just a bit of sauce on the steak tartar.

When it came time to order dessert you were out of crème brule.

On the positive side the grouper, oysters and clams were wonderful as was the butcher cut special.

For me and my wife, the value was not there for $160. This is our 4th or 5th time to Table 16 and the first we were disappointed.

The waiter was very attentive and helpful. No problems with people and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Food: was excited to get quality Hudson ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food: was excited to get quality Hudson Valley foie gras close to home but unfortunately "just ran out" so I wished they updated their online menu.

Tried the chef tasting. The first course was a bib salad with goat cheese, peppers, pumpkin seeds and vinaigrette. Not bad but forgettable. Second course was clams and couscous, so so. Third course was my favorite: duck breast cooked perfectly on duck ravioli (which had slightly undercooked dough) in a duck broth. Fourth course was a lamb, half cooked perfectly, half raw, with over-charred asparagus. Last course was a flourless chocolate cake, had better at some diners.

Service: server was friendly enough, but did not pay too much attention to detail. Did not change used silverware between courses. I had to ask for refills of coffee and water, I hate asking... There were only 3 tables. Was arguing loudly with kitchen staff in front of customers which was not very professional. But friendly guy.

Not sure if executive chef was in tonight, I assume yes for a Friday night. Did not make any effort to fix a dish my girlfriend did not like or eat much of. I had a piece of raw lamb and all they did was throw it back on a pan for a few seconds on each side and the middle was still raw. Slightly disappointed at attention to detail or professionalism for a "high-end" place.

Ambiance: very quiet. Only three tables, not good for a Friday night.

Value: would be ok value for a 5 course menu if everything was prepared perfectly. Maybe they had an off night? Duck was excellent.

Overall: 3/5. Maybe worth trying again, maybe not.

Standard: Fig Tree, Charlotte NC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Quality of food was surprisingly poor. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Quality of food was surprisingly poor. Fish, lamb and beef were all over-cooked even though ordered medium-rare. "Cured egg" on top of fish reeks of dirty socks - who's idea was that? Restaurant did not have initial beer, white wine or red wine ordered. Had to substitute. Few other patrons present. I do not expect Table 16 to remain open long without substantial changes.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Had 2 pints at Gibbs Hundred, also recom ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Had 2 pints at Gibbs Hundred, also recommended, before walking to the corner. It was a slow night, which further encouraged us to do Chef's 5-course "feed me." Started with excellent oysters, raw but topped with pickled onions. Then seared tuna with bokchoy, followed by pheasant, followed by a very tender and unusual cut of steak. A chocolate creation came for dessert, but my vocabulary is limited to saying "cake," only much better. Wine pairings also stellar, a French sparkling followed by two complex reds. We've had small meals there b4, also where we split a salad, an entree and a side, so cheap eats available. Go for the food, stay for the atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great experience this evening! My ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Had a great experience this evening! My wife and I weren't going to let the snow storm ruin date night, and were excited to know Table 16 was still open and we could come in for our reservation! We did the chef's choice 5 course, and everything was AMAZING! The staff was great, and can't wait to come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have to report this experience was a dis ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have to report this experience was a disappointment. Perhaps it's "my bad" for giving this place a first try on New Years Eve but the special Menu looked promising and I'm always up for an adventure. First let's talk about what went well: I received a call earlier in the day to confirm the reservation and inquire about any dietary restrictions/allergies the chef should be prepared to address. Kudo's! We arrived on time for our reservation and a table was ready and our server was friendly. Now to some concerns: The entry into this establishment is confusing as it is on the side street and there are multiple doors. A little extra signage would go a long way to correct. I don't know if they always seat two high-tops in the bar area but it felt like an afterthought and a way to maximize the number of covers for the evening but not necessarily the guests experience. Our plan had been to enjoy the 6 course menu - however @ $110/per and sitting at a wobbly table, with essentially no back to the chair and the extra service traffic at the bar we opted for the 3 course @$60. Appetizers were spot-on with fresh oysters and a creamy pate. Main course was only so-so with a bone-in fish and mystery cut of beef (that our server described as "not tough". Dessert included a sliver of cheesecake which was nice enough and a cheese plate (provided with no indication of what cheeses were being served). I hope they can do better with a little more focus both in the service area (some grumpy servers which I should never be aware of, no matter where I'm seated) and in the kitchen. Perhaps we will try again not on a holiday but now you've got sooooooo much more to prove.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The waiter was great but the service was ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The waiter was great but the service was incredibly slow. One of the other waiters and a cook could be heard throughout the night yelling at each other

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent food. Terrible service. Serv ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food. Terrible service. Server seemed annoyed to be there and was in no hurry at all. Dropped a lot of money on New Years Eve only to be terribly disappointed in the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

1st time back since the changes. Excell ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

1st time back since the changes. Excellent food and service as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We ate there the day after Christmas, th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We ate there the day after Christmas, there was hardly anyone in the restaurant. It's a small place in downtown Greensboro with high end, exquisite food. The decor is lacking for the price point, but the experience made up for it. Our server was extremely friendly and made the experience more enjoyable. It's a good restaurant for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We have eaten at Table 16 several times ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We have eaten at Table 16 several times and always have had a good experience. However, this time the service was very good, but we were disappointed in our meals. The charcuterie platter was not anything special and the entrees were not much better. We will return in the future and hope that this experience was an aberration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, nice cute upscale restaurant ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food, nice cute upscale restaurant place.

Very nice wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very disappointed ...Owner/chef not ther ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very disappointed ...Owner/chef not there for chef tasting menu as in the past . Out of several premium bar items I.e. Crown and Bailys .

Service was sub par And sometimes server was not available when needed for a drink refills etc. Dining atmosphere just OK but nothing special . I was expecting a "dining experience "with a wonderful staff but was very disappointed. Might as well have had dinner at the Olive Garden... about the same atmosphere . But at least olive garden would've had crown and Bailys. Will not return .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value5

Eclectic menu, great food. Nice choice ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Eclectic menu, great food. Nice choice for a romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we arrived there were only 2 other ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 7, 2016

When we arrived there were only 2 other couples seated and a large group at the bar. We only saw one waiter working and service was extreemly slow to say the least. I ordered the gumbo appetizer only to be told they didn't make it. They substituted a balsamic beef soup that was not that exciting. My girlfriend ordered the filet only to have the waiter return and tell us they would have to substitute a flank steak for the filet because they were out. I had the short ribs, they were dry. Overall not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was uneven,and overpriced.The w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food was uneven,and overpriced.The wait staff was very attentive and helpful. This was our first visit,there doesn't need to be another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

I always have a great experience here an ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I always have a great experience here and I have learned to trust the staff about the wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly, attentive service; appealing d ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Friendly, attentive service; appealing daily specials complement the somewhat limited menu options. Good wine list with interesting by-the-glass options; ambitious craft cocktail suggestions were unexpected and very creative.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

What happened?

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 5, 2016

What happened?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding food and excellent service.

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Outstanding food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food we ended up with was delicious! ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food we ended up with was delicious!!! But.. 4 of the menu items were not available due to the seafood delivery not happening. I get it, it happens but we were not told until we tried to order. The server lacked tremendously here- it took forever to place our order. We order a cheese plate and no interaction or excitement to even describe what cheeses we had for the evening, nothing, nada... the food came out and you would have thought he was off to the races - he was no where to be found.

Hats off the the chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

I have been a fan of this restaurant for ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I have been a fan of this restaurant for several years, but it closed for a little while, and has now re-opened under new management and with a new chef. My latest visit was the first back after the re-opening and it was fantastic. The space has a low-key feel to it with the bar set off away from the dining room as before. The food was as good as ever (this is my favorite restaurant in Greensboro) which is what I wondered about the most for my first time back. I highly recommend trying the chef's tasting menu and wine pairings to get a good sense of what the new chef is all about. I was impressed and will be back. I'm glad to see Table 16 open again.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter wasn't very good. He said th ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our waiter wasn't very good. He said that they had something but they didn't . Also, the menu online was different than the menu we were given in the restaurant. The waiter said that anything could change at any minute; they were always "in flux." Finally, we asked for no bacon on our salads and we were given the salads with bacon.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

I was a huge fan of table 16 with chef g ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 15, 2016

I was a huge fan of table 16 with chef graham. The menu was detailed, described well by fresh local items. I recently went in to the restaurant for a business dinner. I have never been more disappointed. I couldn't find one thing on the menu I wanted to eat. I was embarrassed to take clients. The menu was not detailed . Example: pork chop. That's all it said. For the cost of dinner, It was astronomical. I felt guilty paying the price for food that I could have gotten at a local diner. The new owner was very kind, but annoying. Wanted us to know he was the new guy. The waiter was awful, he rolled his eye 3-5 at my questions on the menu due to a food allergy. I loved table 16, now I won't even think of going back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Loved getting the special table by the w ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Loved getting the special table by the window!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

under new management, food good, service ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

under new management, food good, service very poor and unprofessional. When asked about the changes the server explained that the the former chef had left, and his sous chef had taken over but that he was not there (Saturday night) and that his sous chef was cooking. TMI

When someone ordered Steak Frites, it was explained that the meat was very tough but tasted good. Again TMI

Should have know when a 7:30 Saturday evening reservation was not an issue, when normally it would have been a challenge. Disappointed as this was a favorite go to restaurant but will probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We went with the tasting menu, Extremely ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We went with the tasting menu, Extremely disappointing. Mediocre food, mediocre service with a finer dining price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Booked our

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Booked our

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Our reservation was for 6:30 PM on a Sat ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our reservation was for 6:30 PM on a Saturday night and the restaurant was closed when we arrived. We were having dinner with friends and we had to scramble to find another restaurant that would seat us. Table 16 should have called us beforehand to warn us that they would be closed. Very unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

nothing to review as the restaurant was ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 24, 2016

nothing to review as the restaurant was closed. Had reservations for our 38th wedding anniversary and was really looking forward a love evening. Very disappointed to arrive and find doors locked with a sign indicating restaurant was closed. Don't really remember the reason and don't really care. The restaurant should have blocked the dates. As it was we punted and went to LaRue. Highly recommend it. They are now closed until early August for a move.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.