About Taberna Tapas

325 West Main Street
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Spanish Tapas, serving lunch & dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dinner only:
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 797-1457

Website:
http://www.tabernatapas.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Taberna Tapas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (53)
Good for a Date (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
See All
Fit for Foodies (30)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Cozy (19)
Special Occasion (15)
Fun (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Casual (13)
Authentic (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Romantic (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Healthy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (5)
People Watching (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Spicy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Family Style (4)
Vegan (3)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Taberna Tapas is one of our favorite res ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Taberna Tapas is one of our favorite restaurants. The service and quality are always reliable and enjoyable. We often take out of town guests there for a special dinner. On this last occasion, we brought my British cousin who is a vegetarian. There were plenty of options (including seafood tapas) and we enjoyed a leisurely dinner with excellent wine and cocktails. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Special Occasion, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite local restaurants. Or ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

One of my favorite local restaurants. Order at least 2 items per person, 3 if you're hungry. I've been here several times and have never been disappointed with anything I've ordered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place never disappoints and is an e ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This place never disappoints and is an easy walk to DPAC for the show. The wait staff always watches the time and makes sure we are not late.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been wanting to tr ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I have been wanting to try this place so we decided no better time than New Year's Eve! We shared 4 tapas, and a dessert along with a glass of wine and sherry. I was really impressed with the flavors!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As Usual, the service was excellent, th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As Usual, the service was excellent, the food and drink was awesome

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent and quite a varie ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was excellent and quite a variety. The muscles are outstanding! However, we had to make six wine selections before we found one in stock. What is the point of having a wine list when you don't have half of the wines listed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful food and fabulous service! Our ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful food and fabulous service! Our wait person was so much fun and very patient with us as we were a larger party! I wish we had thought to get her name:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my go-to place in Durham. Intere ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is my go-to place in Durham. Interesting food well prepared, unpretentious. Professional, friendly and knowledgeable service. Quiet enough to have conversation over a great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinner as always. We had a new ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Delicious dinner as always. We had a new server, who didn't realize that bread on the plate meant I (the person with celiac disease) couldn't eat the dish. No worries, they took it away and brought us a fresh dish.

Taverna is one of the few places I can dine without fear!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have been several times. Tapas tradition ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Have been several times. Tapas traditional with modern flavor. Wine is all excellent and affordable. Tuesday ½ off bottles. Service knowledgeable, fast and courteous ( although one recent server was a little overeager, which annoyed a little). Ambience is quiet, in contrast to most other Durham eateries. Good for conversation, including business and dates.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had an excellent lunch with great ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had an excellent lunch with great service. Everything we had was really delicious! It was not crowded at lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful assortment of tapas for sharin ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Wonderful assortment of tapas for sharing. Service was prompt, knowledgeable and friendly. Good wine pour! I especially enjoyed the Brussels sprouts, clam and chorizo, lamb sausage and kale salad. It is very nearby anothger (and more famous) tapas restuarant, and does not seem to do quite as brisk a business. But that makes for a quieter, more intimate setting. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

There were 4 of us and we tried about 7 ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

There were 4 of us and we tried about 7 or 8 dishes. All of them were good but we especially liked the bacon wrapped dates. The service was good and our waitress suggested a good ordering strategy to taste a variety of the dishes available at Taverna Tapas.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

First time diners here. We arrived a few ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

First time diners here. We arrived a few minutes late due to traffic, but still enjoyed wonderful food and service before an early show at DPAC. Our server recommended a wonderful wine with dinner. Food was excellent. Salmon and paella were outstanding. Cozy restaurant. Chose it over another tapas restaurant and we were very please. Absolutely will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Taberna Tapas was excellent! Amazing foo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Taberna Tapas was excellent! Amazing food, great wine, and good service. Shared the beet salad, portobello mushroom caps, a flatbread, crab cakes, and potato croquettes. We had a wonderful time and hope to come back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this place!! I absolutely, positive ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Love this place!! I absolutely, positively LOVE this place. Great food, staff, ambience, EVERYTHING!!

Tags: Fun, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, , Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our meal! Our party o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal! Our party of 4 shared a total of 8 plates including dessert and felt that the bill was what we expected. The only dish that was underwhelming was the potato croquettes. The mussels were a standout along with the paella. My husband's favorite was the beef short ribs. Our server was attentive without being overbearing. The only bad part of the evening was that a large group of young couples came and were seated right next to us. They were so loud that we could not have a conversation across the table. The tables are very close! Before they arrived, the place was very quiet and cozy.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Taberna Tapas just gets better and bette ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Taberna Tapas just gets better and better. Flammiquin was excellent. This is my favorite restaurant in Durham!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really delicious food. Great staff and c ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Really delicious food. Great staff and comfortable atmosphere. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Speedy service. Yummy and creative food. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Speedy service. Yummy and creative food. Great location.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Organic, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was amazingly good but a bit pricey ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food was amazingly good but a bit pricey. Highly recommend the Flank steak, the Brussels sprouts and the bacon wrapped

Dates!!!

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food awesome. Atmosphere awesome. Waitre ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food awesome. Atmosphere awesome. Waitress awesome. Wine awesome. Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and good service. Near Dpac. W ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Good food and good service. Near Dpac. We enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Taberna. I c ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This was my second visit to Taberna. I came back because the food is creative and very tasty. The fritters were a particular favorite. It is a dining experience, not to be rushed. The server was very friendly, knowledgeable, and made me feel comfortable. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a fun night out with friends. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a fun night out with friends. The tapas were very good - not amazing. Our cocktails were ok. My wife and I both tried the bourbon and basil, which we had gotten before and loved. This time we weren't wowed by it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely one of my favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Absolutely one of my favorite restaurants in Durham. Never a disappointment. Great for dates, business dinners, or grabbing a drink with friends. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good fun, a lot of fun exploring the men ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Good fun, a lot of fun exploring the menu. Server was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really a great evening. The food was ou ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Really a great evening. The food was outstanding and the waitress was very friendly and helpful.

Tags: , Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding, as was the amb ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was outstanding, as was the ambiance and service! Everyone in our party of six is looking forward to visiting again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, , Special Occasion, Tapas, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I picked the noise level "Energetic" whi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I picked the noise level "Energetic" which seems to be your euphemism for loud. Loud is not desirable when you are eating. Taberna Tapas and many other loud eating places should address this.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

This was a perfect place for our family ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was a perfect place for our family to enjoy a meal while visiting Durham. The food, ambiance and service were excellent. We plan to return when we visit again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I I love this place. The ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2016

My husband and I I love this place. The service I always great , the cocktails delicious and I haven't had one small plate that I didn't enjoy. Always fun to try something new on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very wide range of selections, with lots ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Very wide range of selections, with lots of variety. If you like tapas, this is a great place. The chef is wonderful, and the staff knowledgeable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Read the reviews and was on alert for se ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Read the reviews and was on alert for service "Issues" pleased to say we had none. But it was a fairly quiet Sunday evening - about half - 3/4 of seats occupied. Host stand was prompt, waitress friendly & patient, answered questions, attentive to water, food from kitchen prompt, but not rushed. We took our two college aged "kids" and it was a great Tapas experience for them. Nice variety of food types, sizes. Tasty with a variety of flavors which stood out individually in most plates. Good vegetarian options - could be more (as always). Beet salad was a little plain. Chocolate Moose delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Poor service - food arrived too fast, al ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Poor service - food arrived too fast, all at once (4 plates of tapas), drinks not until we were nearly done. Wait staff seemed untrained and disorganized. Food was OK, but not terribly flavorful . Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Taberna never disappoints!! One of our ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Taberna never disappoints!! One of our favorite downtown Durham spots.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent wine selection and the food an ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Excellent wine selection and the food and ambiance were exceptional. Will definitely revisit this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good. It's the closest you can get if yo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Good. It's the closest you can get if you've tried real Spanish food. They should eliminate the pesto in ALL their dishes and try with olive oil and Jerez. The ambient is good and music is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Have been a few times. Great food, good ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Have been a few times. Great food, good ambiance. Casual but cozy and fun. Good for pre-theater dinner. Good sangria.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was good. Not great. Food was underwh ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 19, 2016

It was good. Not great. Food was underwhelming for the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.