About Taberna Tapas

325 West Main Street
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Spanish Tapas, serving lunch & dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dinner only:
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 797-1457

Website:
http://www.tabernatapas.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout

Taberna Tapas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Durham
Fit for Foodies
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

fit for foodies (71)
neighborhood gem (35)
special occasion (35)
See All
romantic (29)
hot spot (21)
notable wine list (21)
good for groups (19)
great for lunch (11)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and great service as usual. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and great service as usual. Restaurant is excellent for someone who needs to eat gluten free. There are many gluten free options and others can be modified to be gluten free. Staff are very knowledgeable about food allergies.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Like the atmosphere We told our waiter t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Like the atmosphere

We told our waiter that we were not in a hurry..well we got the food

quickly..we thought for the price for tapas was well paid for...

Wine was delicious,staff was nice still

Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

On my last visit to Durham, NC, I ate at ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

On my last visit to Durham, NC, I ate at Taberna three times in a 24-hour period. Need I say more?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The feel of a quaint little place with c ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The feel of a quaint little place with chandaliers right downtown with the tastes of a foodies' Spain. A real gem. Amazingly delicious tapas.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, safe for people with cel ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Wonderful food, safe for people with celiac disease, never disappoints. And the are *awesome* about getting you fed and on your way if you are seeing a show. Bonus? Easy walk to both the DPAC and the Carolina Theater!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress Dana ? was excellent! Atte ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our waitress Dana ? was excellent! Attentive, friendly, made great dish recommendations and wine pairings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Beautifully prepared and well-chosen tap ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Beautifully prepared and well-chosen tapas offering variety, excellent flavors and authenticity. Charcuterie!!! I would have appreciated a tapas sampler plate offering 3, 5 or more choices. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tapas is Spanish for "Small plates of ov ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Tapas is Spanish for "Small plates of overpriced but incredibly diverse bites of food". Know that going in (to any Tapas restaurant) and you'll be ok. We spent $100 on dinner for 2 including a carafe of Sangria which was $25. Disappointed that it had no fruit in the carafe, just one slice of orange in each glass. Really?! Tasted OK but nothing like I'm used to in Spain and mine at home is better. If you don't know the difference, you won't care about cheap red wine loaded with sugar.

Taberna is an average Tapas choice. Some items were fresh, some obviously reheated. Overall the food was good, not great. Service was the biggest disappointment. We were largely ignored while others were gloated over by other waiters. The hostess doubled to serve our table.

DON'T SIT AT THE FRONT: Bums saw us nicely dressed in the window and came in from the street asking for money. The hostess had to intervene twice during our dinner to shoo them away. For those prices I would expect the restaurant to solve the problem but the hostess was busy serving other tables (instead of ours) so we were easy to interrupt. Definitely lowered the quality of the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I wasextremely pleased withmy experience ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I wasextremely pleased withmy experience. The food for the most part was amazing. Unfortunately the braised short rib was flavorless.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything we ordered was absolutely del ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything we ordered was absolutely delicious. We will definitely go back to try more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food and service were wonderful. Onl ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food and service were wonderful. Only complaint is you need some bread or crackers to scoop the remaining sauce with!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This was a great find for dinner before ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This was a great find for dinner before a show at DPAC. I need gluten free options due to an alergy, and the menu is marked for this, a great plus in my book. This wasn't a watered down GF menu, there were some great options including the bacon wrapped dates. You have to give these a try. Everything was great including the paella that my daughter ordered, which we all ended up sharing. Definitely recommended and will likely return next time we are in Durham for a show.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food and service!!! Can't wait ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food and service!!! Can't wait to go back!!! Highly recommend trying the oxtail.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu selections are varied and wonderful

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Tapas are such a wonderful way to enjoy a variety of flavors and options. Seafood and vegetarian options are superb and so full of flavor and creative in presentation. Excellent Spanish wines, great atmosphere and top notch service with waiters who actually know about the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bring on the small plates

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Sharing is always fun. We just kept ordering items until we were full. The plates always go back clean. The service was fast and friendly. The flan was very good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Small Group, Small Plate Option

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The Small Plate Tapas selections are excellent, reasonably priced and quite enough for two if you order 3-4 options. The wine list per glass is much too pricey for a quick after work meetup dinner, so we opted for dessert and coffee instead. The chocolate mousse was divine! The tables are a little too close; I'm not into rubbing elbows with someone not seated at my table. However, having said that, I still will definitely go there again. Food and service are excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good not great

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Went with a friend for dinner before a show at DPAC. The food is consistently good here but my chimichurri steak was lukewarm at best when it was delivered and I had also ordered some brussel sprouts but they never came out. We shared the arugula salad and it was great! My friend had the flank steak and enjoyed it very much. I just had an off night but having been here before and enjoyed better quality food at that time, I feel good about recommending Taberna.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The skirt steak and the croquettas were ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The skirt steak and the croquettas were especially good. The bacon wrapped dates also fabulous. We like Taberna more than its more celebrated neighboring Tapas place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We usually dine at that "other" tapas pl ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We usually dine at that "other" tapas place down the road, but couldn't get in at the last minute. We had heard great things about tabernas so we thought we would try. While their menu is not as extensive as many tapas restaurants we have been to, the food was very good. The meatballs in almond sauce were amazing. The chicken coquettes were delish. The sangria pitcher was enough for 2. Oh, Bacon wrapped dates. yum! The tables are close and the atmosphere reminded us of dining in Paris. We'll go back for sure!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious, innovative tapas with a wait

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I met friends at Taberna for a Friday night meal. Once we were seated the wait staff were pleasant, knowledgeable, and quick, especially for a busy night. The food was delicious - we all loved everything we tried. The pork shoulder and steak with chimichurri were particular standouts, as were the brussels sprouts.

I would recommend this to other diners - but the space is small and tapas are not a fast meal, so either plan to wait, go at an off hour or make a reservation! I went with a reservation and did still have to wait approximately 30 minutes - it was a particularly busy night downtown, but beware if you are eating here with a tight timeline.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a delightful meal. Our server, Da ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a delightful meal. Our server, Dan, was outstanding and helpful. I can recommend the clams & chorizo, the pintxo chorizo avocado, the pintxo with Serrano ham and goat cheese, the patatas bravas, the flan, and the chocolate mousse. All great! The atmosphere is a smallish linear room, but they plan to expand soon. We loved it, and there's no question we plan to go again. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my first time eating here and I loved it! The food is really outstanding - don't miss the chorizo and avocado. We had a variety of dishes which of course is the benefit of tapas. Everything was fantastic, but unfortunately I can afford to come only for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Yum yum food

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I love Spanish tapas, and usually a lot of places don't have good vegetarian options. Taberna tapas did and did they deliver! Excellent food. Loved the tortilla espanola and the other vegetarian tapas. The vegetarian flatbread was good but nothing special. Wines were fantastic. Dessert was really good, though wifey thought it was good, not great.

It's a small place, and the tables are on top of each other.

Service was knowledgeable, friendly, and timely. All in all, a great place to go before a DPAC show.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent Tapas For Special Night

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent Tapas. Great place for a small to medium size special evening. Not good for large groups, limited seating

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good Food and Service

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

It makes a restaurant dining experience quite enjoyable when the wait staff is friendly, attentive and helpful, and orders are prepared and served promptly and efficiently, and the food is visually appealing as well as tasty. So it was when we dined at Taberna Tapas.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing. Service was appallingl ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Food was amazing. Service was appallingly bad. I don't think we ever had a waiter we just has to grab people as they walked by to try to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

The Right Size

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

We loved the choice of tapas - just the right size for a group of seniors whose appetites aren't as large as when we were younger. The variety gave the four of us quite a number to choose from. My flan melted in my mouth as did my friend's chocolate cake. One of our group was a vegetarian and was happy to see several choices on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food and service in a quiet setting.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

The tapas were a great way to share food with friends and be able to explore many different flavors. We went early (6:00 on a Thursday) before a performance at DPAC, so the restaurant was quiet at that time. The staff was very mindful that we had a time constraint, and our food arrived quickly which allowed us to enjoy our meal without feeling rushed--plus, the food was terrific!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent light meal!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We were in the mood for a light meal to follow up on a heavy birthday brunch, and Taberna Tapas was perfect. The food was outstanding, and the wine we selected was excellent. The two of us shared three plates and each had two glasses of wine, and that was more than sufficient. The service was attentive and knowledgeable but not overbearing. If you are after excellent food and wine, Taberna Tapas would be a good bet. The ambience is not upscale, however. That didn't bother us but it might bother some people.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Four people shared ten small plates including two orders of the bacon wrapped dates. Everything was perfectly seasoned and tasty. My favorite restaurant in Durham.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very distracted Drinks ...

 
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Our server was very distracted Drinks empty... Noticed they turned people away that came in just before 10 pm too. If I was the owner I would not be happy. The place was still filled with people eating 😏

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Fave

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

We love Taberna Tapas. Try the salmon, the Brussels sprouts, really everything - and try a "mocktail"- delightfully tasty and refreshing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dan is the Man!

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We have dined at Taberna several times. Our experiences prior to this one have all been very good to outstanding. The food lived up to our past experiences, but the service this time bordered on disappointing. In our reservation request we asked for Dan to be our server. We arrived for our reservation earlier than expected, so we understood when Dan was not our waiter. For some reason, our waiter was the bartender. Even though the place was packed and the bar full, it started out okay, but then we went long periods without seeing him. One of the reasons we enjoy tapas is we can influence the pace, and we prefer a slower one, but the absence of our waiter was beginning to become aggravating. Dan being the top notch server that he is, came to our rescue. He took care of us for the rest of our meal with his usual excellence. Taberna remains one of our favorite places to dine. Thank you Dan.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great service, wonderful wait staff, gre ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Great service, wonderful wait staff, great music selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Pleased!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

We were visiting Durham for the Moody Blues concert and wanted somewhere different to eat that was close to our hotel and within walking distance of DPAC. I checked TripAdvisor and this popped up. The menu just sounded wonderful and they did not disappoint! We shared salmon, Brussels sprouts, sweet potato, portabella mushroom, oyster mushroom and kale. It was all excellent! I also tried Isistegi, a Spanish cider, which was also excellent! It's not sweet like the ones brewed in the US. Server was very helpful assisting with the right number of items so we didn't go hungry and didn't overeat. It was just right! I would go back again and would highly recommend it to anyone who isn't afraid of trying interesting food combinations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent every time

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

One of our favorite places for a relaxing dining experience.

Wonderful food, interesting wine list, and great service (especially if Dan is our server).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of our favorite places to ea ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to eat. Love the tapas experience, and we know the menu. The staff are friendly and attentive, and the food is creative and delicious. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. The servers are ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Great food and service. The servers are knowledgeable and very helpful in rounding out a great tapas dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service. Delicious food and wine. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Great service. Delicious food and wine. Loved the flan.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

These guys were great. We were going the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

These guys were great. We were going there on a Friday night with the Lion King and another live show nearby, so they were packed with pre-show diners. We were stuck in traffic for almost 40 minutes past our reservation time. They held a table for us the entire time!

The food was incredible. It was great to share without being too stuffed afterwards. Paella was really good.

Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.