About Taberna Tapas

325 West Main Street
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Spanish Tapas, serving lunch & dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dinner only:
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 797-1457

Website:
http://www.tabernatapas.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Taberna Tapas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

Tapas (42)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Creative Cuisine (26)
Special Occasion (22)
Cozy (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Romantic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Casual (12)
Authentic (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Fun (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Spicy (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
390 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food awesome. Atmosphere awesome. Waitre ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Food awesome. Atmosphere awesome. Waitress awesome. Wine awesome. Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and good service. Near Dpac. W ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food and good service. Near Dpac. We enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a fun night out with friends. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a fun night out with friends. The tapas were very good - not amazing. Our cocktails were ok. My wife and I both tried the bourbon and basil, which we had gotten before and loved. This time we weren't wowed by it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely one of my favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Absolutely one of my favorite restaurants in Durham. Never a disappointment. Great for dates, business dinners, or grabbing a drink with friends. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good fun, a lot of fun exploring the men ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Good fun, a lot of fun exploring the menu. Server was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really a great evening. The food was ou ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Really a great evening. The food was outstanding and the waitress was very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding, as was the amb ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was outstanding, as was the ambiance and service! Everyone in our party of six is looking forward to visiting again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Tapas, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I picked the noise level "Energetic" whi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I picked the noise level "Energetic" which seems to be your euphemism for loud. Loud is not desirable when you are eating. Taberna Tapas and many other loud eating places should address this.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

This was a perfect place for our family ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was a perfect place for our family to enjoy a meal while visiting Durham. The food, ambiance and service were excellent. We plan to return when we visit again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very wide range of selections, with lots ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Very wide range of selections, with lots of variety. If you like tapas, this is a great place. The chef is wonderful, and the staff knowledgeable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Read the reviews and was on alert for se ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Read the reviews and was on alert for service "Issues" pleased to say we had none. But it was a fairly quiet Sunday evening - about half - 3/4 of seats occupied. Host stand was prompt, waitress friendly & patient, answered questions, attentive to water, food from kitchen prompt, but not rushed. We took our two college aged "kids" and it was a great Tapas experience for them. Nice variety of food types, sizes. Tasty with a variety of flavors which stood out individually in most plates. Good vegetarian options - could be more (as always). Beet salad was a little plain. Chocolate Moose delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Poor service - food arrived too fast, al ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Poor service - food arrived too fast, all at once (4 plates of tapas), drinks not until we were nearly done. Wait staff seemed untrained and disorganized. Food was OK, but not terribly flavorful . Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Taberna never disappoints!! One of our ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Taberna never disappoints!! One of our favorite downtown Durham spots.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent wine selection and the food an ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Excellent wine selection and the food and ambiance were exceptional. Will definitely revisit this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good. It's the closest you can get if yo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Good. It's the closest you can get if you've tried real Spanish food. They should eliminate the pesto in ALL their dishes and try with olive oil and Jerez. The ambient is good and music is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

It was good. Not great. Food was underwh ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 19, 2016

It was good. Not great. Food was underwhelming for the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great dishes - everything we tried was d ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great dishes - everything we tried was delightful! And love the moscato they carry!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Tapas, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly not crowded prior to concer ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Surprisingly not crowded prior to concert at DPAC (although it was Sunday evening), so it was pretty quiet. Menu variety was very good. Waitress could have been a bit more attentive, but the bartender stepped up to the plate when we needed more drinks. Drinks were very good. Food was excellent. Very convenient to the DPAC. Definitely would go again.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

$12 for 5 bacon-wrapped, cheese-stuffed ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2016

$12 for 5 bacon-wrapped, cheese-stuffed dates? I mean, they are delicious, but TWELVE DOLLARS? The prices are too rich for my blood.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tapas, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Very overpriced for a tapas restaurant. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Very overpriced for a tapas restaurant. Every tapas was the price of an entree.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is the very best restaurant in the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is the very best restaurant in the triangle. The food is excellent. The service is top notch. I come here every chance I get.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tapas were delicious and definitely ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The tapas were delicious and definitely reminded us of Spain. The charcuterie was a bit overpriced for such a small portion of jamón, but the cheeses were yummy! The wine selection was great. I know it's a smal place but the tables were so close together that it was hard to scoot through to sit down and get up. Overall it was delicious and the service was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good, but I expected the p ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food was very good, but I expected the paella to be better for a tapas restaurant. They did get us in and out quickly, knowing that we had a show to get to. Parking was terrible, but that would be the case for any downtown Durham restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Delicious as always! Wait staff are outs ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Delicious as always! Wait staff are outstanding (and give good advice), food is delicious, and ambiance is cozy and inviting. Great place for date night or a friend catch up, as you never feel like you're being rushed out the door.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have to confess we were a bit disappoint ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Have to confess we were a bit disappointed this visit. We arrived in what should have been plenty of time to make a DPAC show and let the staff know this was the case. Our food came very slowly and we ended up not getting one of the items we ordered because it was taking too long. It was pretty stressful to see folks that had come in after, finishing and paying for their food while we were still waiting and it set a poor tone for the meal. It was a rush to pay the bill. Management was very apologetic and we didn't pay for what we didn't receive and they comped one of the items. But we left hungry and not feeling very positive about the experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Our waitress was wonderful...attentive, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful...attentive, professional, and friendly. The food was very good....very small portions as tapas are.....we happened to get there for Wine Down Wednesday...half price bottle of wine...a nice surprise. Nice spot to go before a show at DPAC. Easy to park here and walk to DPAC. We highly recommend. Seating is tight but not a huge detriment.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Where to start... Well our waitress was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Where to start... Well our waitress was very nice. And that's about it. Hostess was not cool. We made reservations before a show, we showed up on time and stood there waiting to be acknowledged let alone looked at. After standing there for about 10 minutes we were finally seated. Seemed as though only two people working there in the place started filling up. To top it all off the food was horrible. We will never be going back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Great tapa! Service was lacking a bit... ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great tapa! Service was lacking a bit...but I think they were short handed that day. Things happen but with that said overall it was fantastic!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Great small plate and the atmosphere was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great small plate and the atmosphere was romantic.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I've had better tapas, but it was still ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 8, 2016

I've had better tapas, but it was still pretty good. The variety was nice with lots of different choices. I really liked the location and it would be perfect for a date.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious food and cocktails, though, as ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Delicious food and cocktails, though, as it often is with tapas, we ended up paying a lot of money for what felt like not very much food. Come with a thick wallet.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food! Definitely a good place ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent food! Definitely a good place for enjoying a long meal (definitely not a place to go if you are in a hurry!). My wife was born in Spain and lived there for about 6 years, and she said the food here took her back to her childhood!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

It was Labor Day weekend and we were vis ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was Labor Day weekend and we were visiting our daughter who is in graduate school. It was the perfect option for 4 people with varied tastes because the small plates gave us lots of options. The desserts were especially yummy! I highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, People Watching, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We moved our son into his dorm at Duke t ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2016

We moved our son into his dorm at Duke that day. It was a long stressful day, and we had made reservations for 9:30 pm. We did not leave Duke until after 9:30 pm. The restaurant staff was extremely kind to us and honored our reservation. We were the last customers there. Food was amazing! The server was very gracious and took great care of us. Some of the best tapas that we have ever had, and the wine was wonderful. The paella was awesome. We know flan, and their flan is among the best that we have ever had too! It turned out to be a memorable dinner in more ways than one. We will be back, we promise!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taberna never disappoints. The watermelo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Taberna never disappoints. The watermelon gazpacho was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit was exceptional - servic ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our first visit was exceptional - service, food and table neighbors. It was a home run. Tapas is a fun way to share dinner as you get to try so many different things. There isn't anything we wouldn't order again and yet...there is so much more to try. Our new favorite destination in downtown Durham.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent and authentic food. Lots of v ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent and authentic food. Lots of variety. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Attentive service. Bit ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food. Attentive service. Bit noisy, but overall a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We were excited to find Taberna Tapas cl ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were excited to find Taberna Tapas close to DAPAC so we could enjoy a nice dinner before Lyle Lovett. Overall, it was expensive for the value. portions were small and ~$12/small plate. There were some real nice ones, Chimichurri steak and portablella were outstanding. Disappointed in the wine. We had two bottles of $50/bottle Duero that should have been half the price. I love Spanish reds but this one was lackluster and not a good value at $50.

Service was excellent and kitchen was pretty fast. Not bad but again not a great value. I think the cheeseburgers at Tobacco Road would have been just as satisfying and half the cost or less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This was our first visit to a Tapas rest ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our first visit to a Tapas restaurant. We placed ourselves in the capable hands of the waitress. She suggested various plates and we were not disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.