About Taberna Tapas

325 West Main Street
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Spanish Tapas, serving lunch & dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dinner only:
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 797-1457

Website:
http://www.tabernatapas.com/

Additional:
Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Taberna Tapas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Durham
Best Food
Durham
Fit for Foodies
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

Fit for Foodies (69)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Romantic (24)
Good for Groups (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Great for Lunch (11)
Late-night Find (7)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We moved our son into his dorm at Duke t ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 3 days ago

We moved our son into his dorm at Duke that day. It was a long stressful day, and we had made reservations for 9:30 pm. We did not leave Duke until after 9:30 pm. The restaurant staff was extremely kind to us and honored our reservation. We were the last customers there. Food was amazing! The server was very gracious and took great care of us. Some of the best tapas that we have ever had, and the wine was wonderful. The paella was awesome. We know flan, and their flan is among the best that we have ever had too! It turned out to be a memorable dinner in more ways than one. We will be back, we promise!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taberna never disappoints. The watermelo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Taberna never disappoints. The watermelon gazpacho was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit was exceptional - servic ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our first visit was exceptional - service, food and table neighbors. It was a home run. Tapas is a fun way to share dinner as you get to try so many different things. There isn't anything we wouldn't order again and yet...there is so much more to try. Our new favorite destination in downtown Durham.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent and authentic food. Lots of v ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent and authentic food. Lots of variety. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Attentive service. Bit ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food. Attentive service. Bit noisy, but overall a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We were excited to find Taberna Tapas cl ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were excited to find Taberna Tapas close to DAPAC so we could enjoy a nice dinner before Lyle Lovett. Overall, it was expensive for the value. portions were small and ~$12/small plate. There were some real nice ones, Chimichurri steak and portablella were outstanding. Disappointed in the wine. We had two bottles of $50/bottle Duero that should have been half the price. I love Spanish reds but this one was lackluster and not a good value at $50.

Service was excellent and kitchen was pretty fast. Not bad but again not a great value. I think the cheeseburgers at Tobacco Road would have been just as satisfying and half the cost or less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This was our first visit to a Tapas rest ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our first visit to a Tapas restaurant. We placed ourselves in the capable hands of the waitress. She suggested various plates and we were not disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Loved Taberna Tapas!! Will definitely go ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Loved Taberna Tapas!! Will definitely go again. only the host seating us was a little snippy!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food all around! The tres mares p ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food all around!

The tres mares paella is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been here several times. Food is always ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Been here several times. Food is always very good, with a lot of variety.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was garbage. We ordered drinks a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Service was garbage. We ordered drinks and then didn't see our server again for a half an hour, so we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food was amazing, as always. The men ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food was amazing, as always. The menu is thoughtful and the presentation is elegant. Small space but it's a nice, cosy atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We were seated at a table by the kitchen ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were seated at a table by the kitchen. The thermostat was right there so we could see that it was 83 degrees! Too hot to truly enjoy our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

One of our favorite casual eateries. Gre ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

One of our favorite casual eateries. Great staff. Fun and different foods. We love "small plate" dining!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We tried two tapas, the bacon wrapped da ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We tried two tapas, the bacon wrapped dates and the jamon croquettas. Both were excellent. We each had paella for the main entrée which was also very good. We shared a caramel flan for desert. This was one of the best flans I have had as the texture was smooth and firm, not watery at all. The atmosphere was vibrant and resembled tapa bars in Spain. The service was friendly and accommodating. All in all a very enjoyable visit. We hope to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and great service as usual. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food and great service as usual. Restaurant is excellent for someone who needs to eat gluten free. There are many gluten free options and others can be modified to be gluten free. Staff are very knowledgeable about food allergies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Like the atmosphere We told our waiter t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Like the atmosphere

We told our waiter that we were not in a hurry..well we got the food

quickly..we thought for the price for tapas was well paid for...

Wine was delicious,staff was nice still

Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

On my last visit to Durham, NC, I ate at ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

On my last visit to Durham, NC, I ate at Taberna three times in a 24-hour period. Need I say more?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The feel of a quaint little place with c ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The feel of a quaint little place with chandaliers right downtown with the tastes of a foodies' Spain. A real gem. Amazingly delicious tapas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, safe for people with cel ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Wonderful food, safe for people with celiac disease, never disappoints. And the are *awesome* about getting you fed and on your way if you are seeing a show. Bonus? Easy walk to both the DPAC and the Carolina Theater!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress Dana ? was excellent! Atte ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our waitress Dana ? was excellent! Attentive, friendly, made great dish recommendations and wine pairings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Beautifully prepared and well-chosen tap ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Beautifully prepared and well-chosen tapas offering variety, excellent flavors and authenticity. Charcuterie!!! I would have appreciated a tapas sampler plate offering 3, 5 or more choices. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tapas is Spanish for "Small plates of ov ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Tapas is Spanish for "Small plates of overpriced but incredibly diverse bites of food". Know that going in (to any Tapas restaurant) and you'll be ok. We spent $100 on dinner for 2 including a carafe of Sangria which was $25. Disappointed that it had no fruit in the carafe, just one slice of orange in each glass. Really?! Tasted OK but nothing like I'm used to in Spain and mine at home is better. If you don't know the difference, you won't care about cheap red wine loaded with sugar.

Taberna is an average Tapas choice. Some items were fresh, some obviously reheated. Overall the food was good, not great. Service was the biggest disappointment. We were largely ignored while others were gloated over by other waiters. The hostess doubled to serve our table.

DON'T SIT AT THE FRONT: Bums saw us nicely dressed in the window and came in from the street asking for money. The hostess had to intervene twice during our dinner to shoo them away. For those prices I would expect the restaurant to solve the problem but the hostess was busy serving other tables (instead of ours) so we were easy to interrupt. Definitely lowered the quality of the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I wasextremely pleased withmy experience ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I wasextremely pleased withmy experience. The food for the most part was amazing. Unfortunately the braised short rib was flavorless.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything we ordered was absolutely del ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything we ordered was absolutely delicious. We will definitely go back to try more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food and service were wonderful. Onl ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food and service were wonderful. Only complaint is you need some bread or crackers to scoop the remaining sauce with!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This was a great find for dinner before ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This was a great find for dinner before a show at DPAC. I need gluten free options due to an alergy, and the menu is marked for this, a great plus in my book. This wasn't a watered down GF menu, there were some great options including the bacon wrapped dates. You have to give these a try. Everything was great including the paella that my daughter ordered, which we all ended up sharing. Definitely recommended and will likely return next time we are in Durham for a show.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food and service!!! Can't wait ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food and service!!! Can't wait to go back!!! Highly recommend trying the oxtail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu selections are varied and wonderful

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Tapas are such a wonderful way to enjoy a variety of flavors and options. Seafood and vegetarian options are superb and so full of flavor and creative in presentation. Excellent Spanish wines, great atmosphere and top notch service with waiters who actually know about the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bring on the small plates

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Sharing is always fun. We just kept ordering items until we were full. The plates always go back clean. The service was fast and friendly. The flan was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Small Group, Small Plate Option

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The Small Plate Tapas selections are excellent, reasonably priced and quite enough for two if you order 3-4 options. The wine list per glass is much too pricey for a quick after work meetup dinner, so we opted for dessert and coffee instead. The chocolate mousse was divine! The tables are a little too close; I'm not into rubbing elbows with someone not seated at my table. However, having said that, I still will definitely go there again. Food and service are excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good not great

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Went with a friend for dinner before a show at DPAC. The food is consistently good here but my chimichurri steak was lukewarm at best when it was delivered and I had also ordered some brussel sprouts but they never came out. We shared the arugula salad and it was great! My friend had the flank steak and enjoyed it very much. I just had an off night but having been here before and enjoyed better quality food at that time, I feel good about recommending Taberna.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The skirt steak and the croquettas were ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The skirt steak and the croquettas were especially good. The bacon wrapped dates also fabulous. We like Taberna more than its more celebrated neighboring Tapas place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We usually dine at that "other" tapas pl ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We usually dine at that "other" tapas place down the road, but couldn't get in at the last minute. We had heard great things about tabernas so we thought we would try. While their menu is not as extensive as many tapas restaurants we have been to, the food was very good. The meatballs in almond sauce were amazing. The chicken coquettes were delish. The sangria pitcher was enough for 2. Oh, Bacon wrapped dates. yum! The tables are close and the atmosphere reminded us of dining in Paris. We'll go back for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious, innovative tapas with a wait

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I met friends at Taberna for a Friday night meal. Once we were seated the wait staff were pleasant, knowledgeable, and quick, especially for a busy night. The food was delicious - we all loved everything we tried. The pork shoulder and steak with chimichurri were particular standouts, as were the brussels sprouts.

I would recommend this to other diners - but the space is small and tapas are not a fast meal, so either plan to wait, go at an off hour or make a reservation! I went with a reservation and did still have to wait approximately 30 minutes - it was a particularly busy night downtown, but beware if you are eating here with a tight timeline.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a delightful meal. Our server, Da ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a delightful meal. Our server, Dan, was outstanding and helpful. I can recommend the clams & chorizo, the pintxo chorizo avocado, the pintxo with Serrano ham and goat cheese, the patatas bravas, the flan, and the chocolate mousse. All great! The atmosphere is a smallish linear room, but they plan to expand soon. We loved it, and there's no question we plan to go again. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my first time eating here and I loved it! The food is really outstanding - don't miss the chorizo and avocado. We had a variety of dishes which of course is the benefit of tapas. Everything was fantastic, but unfortunately I can afford to come only for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Yum yum food

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I love Spanish tapas, and usually a lot of places don't have good vegetarian options. Taberna tapas did and did they deliver! Excellent food. Loved the tortilla espanola and the other vegetarian tapas. The vegetarian flatbread was good but nothing special. Wines were fantastic. Dessert was really good, though wifey thought it was good, not great.

It's a small place, and the tables are on top of each other.

Service was knowledgeable, friendly, and timely. All in all, a great place to go before a DPAC show.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent Tapas For Special Night

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent Tapas. Great place for a small to medium size special evening. Not good for large groups, limited seating

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good Food and Service

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

It makes a restaurant dining experience quite enjoyable when the wait staff is friendly, attentive and helpful, and orders are prepared and served promptly and efficiently, and the food is visually appealing as well as tasty. So it was when we dined at Taberna Tapas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.