About Taberna Tapas

325 West Main Street
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Spanish Tapas, serving lunch & dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dinner only:
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 797-1457

Website:
http://www.tabernatapas.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Taberna Tapas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (52)
Good for a Date (31)
Creative Cuisine (29)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Cozy (20)
Fun (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Casual (14)
Authentic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Healthy (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Business Meals (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
People Watching (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Spicy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Vegan (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined 2 days ago

Such great food and friendly service! We look forward to coming back asap.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

We were there before a show at DEPAC. Great food had a problem getting drinks but we're comped for them, they were extremely busy due to show. Good great but allow extra time if attending performance

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first visit to Taberna Tapas. Of course we made reservations and based on the size of the seating, would suggest this every time you go. We had a great time. Although we had table reservations, bar seating was open and we sat there. Dan, the bartender, took VERY good care of us. He knew we were going to the DPAC later and Dan made sure we received our drinks/food in a timely manner. We had the Beet Salad, Tuna Tartar and Tomato/Artichoke Flat Bread and would order them again. We also had the Crab Cake but would NEVER order them again. When we go back to the DPAC, the Taberna Tapas will be on our list. However, we live in Raleigh and would not drive from Raleigh to Durham to eat there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good food, good selection of tapas. Clams+Chorizo was excellent, patatas bravas and arugula salad very good. The chocolate mousse was a great way to cap a very good meal

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Spicy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We went there to celebrate my son's birthday. The food was excellent. There were plenty of excellent choices for small plates. Two of us were vegetarian, and we found sufficient variety of small plates. The service was also very good. The bar had modest selection of drinks, but wine selection was quite good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good, safe tapas. Nothing very adventurous, but if you have a picky eater in your group, this will probably be a bonus. Some dishes are very overpriced ($11 for 8 asparagus spears with a dollop of sauce??), but otherwise reasonable. For 4 diners, three cocktails and one bottle of wine, total without tip was $180.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food is good, though a bit overpriced. When we arrived for an early seating we were the only people there, but they sat us at the least desirable table, in front of the kitchen door with my wife sitting on a crack in the bench. When we asked to be moved, even though every table was empty, they refused. Apparently the computer assignment leaves no room for human adjustment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My wife and I arrived one minute earlier than our reservation, but we were not seated for 22 minutes. I specifically wrote a note on my reservation that I was seeing a show and needed to leave by a certain time. Once I was seated the service was good. Unfortunately, I did not have enough time to order an entree, so we settled for several tapas. I rushed through my meal and left the restaurant approximately 40 minutes after I was seated. Luckily, I just made it to the show on time. They desperately need help and a little organization.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We are always very excited to dine in Durham. However, admittedly so we were pretty disappointed in Tabernas. We had a reservation for 6:15, and got right in. The seating is a little odd, the tables are small & squished together. One side of the table is a bench type seat, there is a chair on the other side. This is a tapas place but the portions are what I would consider abnormally small. In addition to tapas, they also offer paella. We had the seafood, which was overlooked. My husband ordered a 2nd glass of wine, which never came until he was signing the bill. We had tickets to a show and had to leave. Our server was very absent and had a challenging time keeping up it seemed when she did come around. I will say, perhaps it was a rough night for the server, the kitchen, etc. As we were leaving, a local couple came in & I to,d them I was very underwhelmed with how the meal had gone. She assured me something must have been going on, because Tabernas happens to be her favorite spot for tapas in Durham. Perhaps we will try again another time........but not without first trying the competitor.

Tags: Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Outstanding, outstanding, outstanding, outstanding and great!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Fantastic calamari and asparagus dish! Good wine and liquor selection too!

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Overall, a great restaurant. The tapas menu is extensive. We had 4 (wanted to try about 12), all were perfect.

Service was top notch and the wines were very good. We'll be back. We really want to try the Paella next time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had a wonderful meal with friends. Would recommend the food.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Another wonderful meal at Taberna Tapas!! Thanks for the consistency!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great place to spend time with friends. Highly recommend a visit. Service was very good. We tried lots of plates and enjoyed all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Taberna was a great spot to go before catching a show at DPAC. Though I would go back even if I weren't in Durham for a performance. The tapas were great, not as fussy and hipster as Mateo, but solid and a great value!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We had a wonderful time eating before a show at DPAC and our server Jackie was great! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Dan is always helpful as a bartender and server! Food is outstanding

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Love the food and staff!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Jennifer was a wonderful server and gave great recommendations. We had a table of five and could easily hear one another even in the bustle of Saturday night. Food was fantastic with good portion size. Cost was a bit more but with reasonable portion sizes I would say it's worth it. Wine selection was goid, not mind blowing, and the cocktails were well made. 5 people with drinks and dessert ran $250 so averaging $50.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We've been to this restaurant numerous times in the past and it's always been good to very good. Our visit this past weekend was not so good. It was, admittedly, Restaurant Week yet that is no excuse for ultra-poor service. Our waitress was pleasant, however, she was spaced out, made numerous mistakes including billing, and appeared to be almost blotto. It was awkward at best and downright frustrating to the point of near anger. Food was good but not outstanding. And the prices have trended north significantly since our last visit (at least six to eight months ago). This place could be a gem but they need to focus on better service, tighten up their game with the food, and either offer more/better food for the price or lower their price for what they're currently delivering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The service last night was atypical of the service we normally enjoy at Tabernas. Hoping it was just the timing on an off-night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food was good and typical value for Tapas but the service was terrible. Be careful if you go planning to finish before a DPAC performance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Drinks were good, the food was tasty and lots of little plates means lots of sharing. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went here with a friend before going to see Sarah Silverman. I highly recommend Taberna Tapas. Food was delicious and service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Everything we had was excellent and the service was fast and friendly. We loved some dishes so much we ordered more and each one came out promptly and as good as the first go 'round. Drinks & wine selection also fantastic, each person in our group of 5 found just what he/she wanted. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Taberna Tapas is one of our favorite restaurants. The service and quality are always reliable and enjoyable. We often take out of town guests there for a special dinner. On this last occasion, we brought my British cousin who is a vegetarian. There were plenty of options (including seafood tapas) and we enjoyed a leisurely dinner with excellent wine and cocktails. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Special Occasion, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

One of my favorite local restaurants. Order at least 2 items per person, 3 if you're hungry. I've been here several times and have never been disappointed with anything I've ordered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This place never disappoints and is an easy walk to DPAC for the show. The wait staff always watches the time and makes sure we are not late.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I have been wanting to try this place so we decided no better time than New Year's Eve! We shared 4 tapas, and a dessert along with a glass of wine and sherry. I was really impressed with the flavors!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As Usual, the service was excellent, the food and drink was awesome

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was excellent and quite a variety. The muscles are outstanding! However, we had to make six wine selections before we found one in stock. What is the point of having a wine list when you don't have half of the wines listed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful food and fabulous service! Our wait person was so much fun and very patient with us as we were a larger party! I wish we had thought to get her name:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is my go-to place in Durham. Interesting food well prepared, unpretentious. Professional, friendly and knowledgeable service. Quiet enough to have conversation over a great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Delicious dinner as always. We had a new server, who didn't realize that bread on the plate meant I (the person with celiac disease) couldn't eat the dish. No worries, they took it away and brought us a fresh dish.

Taverna is one of the few places I can dine without fear!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Have been several times. Tapas traditional with modern flavor. Wine is all excellent and affordable. Tuesday ½ off bottles. Service knowledgeable, fast and courteous ( although one recent server was a little overeager, which annoyed a little). Ambience is quiet, in contrast to most other Durham eateries. Good for conversation, including business and dates.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had an excellent lunch with great service. Everything we had was really delicious! It was not crowded at lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Wonderful assortment of tapas for sharing. Service was prompt, knowledgeable and friendly. Good wine pour! I especially enjoyed the Brussels sprouts, clam and chorizo, lamb sausage and kale salad. It is very nearby anothger (and more famous) tapas restuarant, and does not seem to do quite as brisk a business. But that makes for a quieter, more intimate setting. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

There were 4 of us and we tried about 7 or 8 dishes. All of them were good but we especially liked the bacon wrapped dates. The service was good and our waitress suggested a good ordering strategy to taste a variety of the dishes available at Taverna Tapas.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

First time diners here. We arrived a few minutes late due to traffic, but still enjoyed wonderful food and service before an early show at DPAC. Our server recommended a wonderful wine with dinner. Food was excellent. Salmon and paella were outstanding. Cozy restaurant. Chose it over another tapas restaurant and we were very please. Absolutely will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Taberna Tapas was excellent! Amazing food, great wine, and good service. Shared the beet salad, portobello mushroom caps, a flatbread, crab cakes, and potato croquettes. We had a wonderful time and hope to come back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Love this place!! I absolutely, positively LOVE this place. Great food, staff, ambience, EVERYTHING!!

Tags: Fun, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal! Our party of 4 shared a total of 8 plates including dessert and felt that the bill was what we expected. The only dish that was underwhelming was the potato croquettes. The mussels were a standout along with the paella. My husband's favorite was the beef short ribs. Our server was attentive without being overbearing. The only bad part of the evening was that a large group of young couples came and were seated right next to us. They were so loud that we could not have a conversation across the table. The tables are very close! Before they arrived, the place was very quiet and cozy.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Taberna Tapas just gets better and better. Flammiquin was excellent. This is my favorite restaurant in Durham!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Really delicious food. Great staff and comfortable atmosphere. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Speedy service. Yummy and creative food. Great location.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Organic, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food was amazingly good but a bit pricey. Highly recommend the Flank steak, the Brussels sprouts and the bacon wrapped

Dates!!!

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food awesome. Atmosphere awesome. Waitress awesome. Wine awesome. Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Good food and good service. Near Dpac. We enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.