About Taberna Tapas

325 West Main Street
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Spanish Tapas, serving lunch & dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dinner only:
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 797-1457

Website:
http://www.tabernatapas.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout

Taberna Tapas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Durham
Fit for Foodies
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

fit for foodies (84)
romantic (45)
special occasion (42)
See All
neighborhood gem (38)
hot spot (26)
notable wine list (18)
good for groups (17)
great for lunch (13)
late-night find (11)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

The skirt steak and the croquettas were ...

Dined 2 days ago

The skirt steak and the croquettas were especially good. The bacon wrapped dates also fabulous. We like Taberna more than its more celebrated neighboring Tapas place.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We usually dine at that "other" tapas pl ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

We usually dine at that "other" tapas place down the road, but couldn't get in at the last minute. We had heard great things about tabernas so we thought we would try. While their menu is not as extensive as many tapas restaurants we have been to, the food was very good. The meatballs in almond sauce were amazing. The chicken coquettes were delish. The sangria pitcher was enough for 2. Oh, Bacon wrapped dates. yum! The tables are close and the atmosphere reminded us of dining in Paris. We'll go back for sure!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Delicious, innovative tapas with a wait

Dined 4 days ago

I met friends at Taberna for a Friday night meal. Once we were seated the wait staff were pleasant, knowledgeable, and quick, especially for a busy night. The food was delicious - we all loved everything we tried. The pork shoulder and steak with chimichurri were particular standouts, as were the brussels sprouts. I would recommend this to other diners - but the space is small and tapas are not a fast meal, so either plan to wait, go at an off hour or make a reservation! I went with a reservation and did still have to wait approximately 30 minutes - it was a particularly busy night downtown, but beware if you are eating here with a tight timeline.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

We had a delightful meal. Our server, Da ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a delightful meal. Our server, Dan, was outstanding and helpful. I can recommend the clams & chorizo, the pintxo chorizo avocado, the pintxo with Serrano ham and goat cheese, the patatas bravas, the flan, and the chocolate mousse. All great! The atmosphere is a smallish linear room, but they plan to expand soon. We loved it, and there's no question we plan to go again. Highly recommended!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my first time eating here and I loved it! The food is really outstanding - don't miss the chorizo and avocado. We had a variety of dishes which of course is the benefit of tapas. Everything was fantastic, but unfortunately I can afford to come only for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Yum yum food

Dined on April 30, 2016

I love Spanish tapas, and usually a lot of places don't have good vegetarian options. Taberna tapas did and did they deliver! Excellent food. Loved the tortilla espanola and the other vegetarian tapas. The vegetarian flatbread was good but nothing special. Wines were fantastic. Dessert was really good, though wifey thought it was good, not great. It's a small place, and the tables are on top of each other. Service was knowledgeable, friendly, and timely. All in all, a great place to go before a DPAC show.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent Tapas For Special Night

Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent Tapas. Great place for a small to medium size special evening. Not good for large groups, limited seating

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Food and Service

Dined on April 16, 2016

It makes a restaurant dining experience quite enjoyable when the wait staff is friendly, attentive and helpful, and orders are prepared and served promptly and efficiently, and the food is visually appealing as well as tasty. So it was when we dined at Taberna Tapas.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service1

Food was amazing. Service was appallingl ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Food was amazing. Service was appallingly bad. I don't think we ever had a waiter we just has to grab people as they walked by to try to order.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Right Size

Dined on April 14, 2016

We loved the choice of tapas - just the right size for a group of seniors whose appetites aren't as large as when we were younger. The variety gave the four of us quite a number to choose from. My flan melted in my mouth as did my friend's chocolate cake. One of our group was a vegetarian and was happy to see several choices on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific food and service in a quiet setting.

Dined on April 14, 2016

The tapas were a great way to share food with friends and be able to explore many different flavors. We went early (6:00 on a Thursday) before a performance at DPAC, so the restaurant was quiet at that time. The staff was very mindful that we had a time constraint, and our food arrived quickly which allowed us to enjoy our meal without feeling rushed--plus, the food was terrific!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent light meal!

Dined on April 10, 2016

We were in the mood for a light meal to follow up on a heavy birthday brunch, and Taberna Tapas was perfect. The food was outstanding, and the wine we selected was excellent. The two of us shared three plates and each had two glasses of wine, and that was more than sufficient. The service was attentive and knowledgeable but not overbearing. If you are after excellent food and wine, Taberna Tapas would be a good bet. The ambience is not upscale, however. That didn't bother us but it might bother some people.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on April 8, 2016

Four people shared ten small plates including two orders of the bacon wrapped dates. Everything was perfectly seasoned and tasty. My favorite restaurant in Durham.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2

Our server was very distracted Drinks ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Our server was very distracted Drinks empty... Noticed they turned people away that came in just before 10 pm too. If I was the owner I would not be happy. The place was still filled with people eating 😏

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fave

Dined on April 6, 2016

We love Taberna Tapas. Try the salmon, the Brussels sprouts, really everything - and try a "mocktail"- delightfully tasty and refreshing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Dan is the Man!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We have dined at Taberna several times. Our experiences prior to this one have all been very good to outstanding. The food lived up to our past experiences, but the service this time bordered on disappointing. In our reservation request we asked for Dan to be our server. We arrived for our reservation earlier than expected, so we understood when Dan was not our waiter. For some reason, our waiter was the bartender. Even though the place was packed and the bar full, it started out okay, but then we went long periods without seeing him. One of the reasons we enjoy tapas is we can influence the pace, and we prefer a slower one, but the absence of our waiter was beginning to become aggravating. Dan being the top notch server that he is, came to our rescue. He took care of us for the rest of our meal with his usual excellence. Taberna remains one of our favorite places to dine. Thank you Dan.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, wonderful wait staff, gre ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great service, wonderful wait staff, great music selection!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very Pleased!

Dined on March 24, 2016

We were visiting Durham for the Moody Blues concert and wanted somewhere different to eat that was close to our hotel and within walking distance of DPAC. I checked TripAdvisor and this popped up. The menu just sounded wonderful and they did not disappoint! We shared salmon, Brussels sprouts, sweet potato, portabella mushroom, oyster mushroom and kale. It was all excellent! I also tried Isistegi, a Spanish cider, which was also excellent! It's not sweet like the ones brewed in the US. Server was very helpful assisting with the right number of items so we didn't go hungry and didn't overeat. It was just right! I would go back again and would highly recommend it to anyone who isn't afraid of trying interesting food combinations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent every time

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

One of our favorite places for a relaxing dining experience. Wonderful food, interesting wine list, and great service (especially if Dan is our server).

food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite places to ea ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to eat. Love the tapas experience, and we know the menu. The staff are friendly and attentive, and the food is creative and delicious. Highly recommended.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and service. The servers are ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Great food and service. The servers are knowledgeable and very helpful in rounding out a great tapas dining experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Delicious food and wine. ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Great service. Delicious food and wine. Loved the flan.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

These guys were great. We were going the ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

These guys were great. We were going there on a Friday night with the Lion King and another live show nearby, so they were packed with pre-show diners. We were stuck in traffic for almost 40 minutes past our reservation time. They held a table for us the entire time! The food was incredible. It was great to share without being too stuffed afterwards. Paella was really good. Can't wait to return.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Taberna Tapas is Tops

Dined on February 22, 2016

I love Taberna Tapas. It's my favorite tapas place in Durham. Super yummy, wide variety of vegetarian and meat choices, large enough plates to share, not too loud, and cozy. 4 of us had dinner there. There were things we were all excited to try and though we picked different plates, everyone thought they were all tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A Great Find in Durham

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Taberna tapas was a find this past weekend following a gallery reception. Very cozy (although restaurant is expanding soon), great service by wait staff. Sangria was delicious. We tried two tapas dishes (lamb with pureed turnip, meatballs with almond sauce), both wonderful, then the Valencia paella which was incredibly good. Good value for the money and just a fun, delicious evening exploring a cuisine that was new to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Beet salad and Caldo Gallego were a deli ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Beet salad and Caldo Gallego were a delightful combination for lunch. While I always enjoy the tapas, I choose something different on this chilly day. Knowledgeable and friendly staff are always available but never intrusive. Highly recommended for lunch or dinner!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great evening

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a fabulous Valentines weekend dinner at Taverna Tapas. Our server was very helpful, suggesting several dishes, as well as helping us choose an awesome wine pairing. I highly suggest visiting, and letting your server select a few dishes for you. Will definitely go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good. Didn't have a bad dish. Will ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Very good. Didn't have a bad dish. Will go back. Was nice to be able to talk without screaming at each other as with most places in Raleigh Durham. I thought some things we over priced. Would have liked a smaller portioned Brussel sprout dish so it wasn't $12 because only 2 of us ate those and it was huge. Was not overly impressed with the desert. The wine was good!!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely Downtown Gem

Dined on February 12, 2016

I have passed Taberna Tapas many times and always wanted to try it. I was not disappointed. The Frederick Margarita was awesome and all of the food my friends and I tried was delicious! We will definitely be back to try more items on the menu

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyable Evening

Dined on February 10, 2016

We had a really enjoyable time at Taberna Tapas with our granddaughter, a student at Duke. The food is outstanding and every dish we ordered was full of flavor. We always like to try at least one of the nightly specials as well as several of the small plates on the regular menu. The mussels are divine!! This is a favorite whenever we are in Durham!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Delicious but pricey

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

The food is authentic and very tasty, but the value is pretty low and the service is slow. Four of us shared 6 small plates and each had 2 beers and we spent over $200! We were still hungry when we left so had vendor food at the show :( Love to go out for great food and don't mind spending a lot, but for what they offer we probably won't be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fri night - 11 people

Dined on February 5, 2016

7 women with 4 girls in town for a Feis went at 6:00 on a Friday night. We had reservations and were seated immediately. Our server was absolutely wonderful! He joked with the girls, kept everyone's glasses filled, patiently explained all answers about food/wine/drink choices and had excellent advice on dishes, especially for the girls. The food was delicious - everyone enjoyed everything they ordered. We shared in groups of 2 and 3, everyone was full and happy. There were people waiting when we left, and although we noticed them on our own, and wrapped up our dinner, never did we feel rushed. I will definitely visit here again when I'm next in Durham!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ate here for lunch on my birthday. We ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

I ate here for lunch on my birthday. We tried two varieties of the albondigas (both were fantastic) and the lamb sausage was great (and spicy!) I've also eaten here before a show at DPAC and it was busy! Definitely a different vibe during the day. One of my favorites here in Durham.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My favorite tapas place in Durham!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Taberna is one of my favorite places in Durham to eat, and everyone I've taken here loves it! The service is always fantastic, whether you're there to sit and share a bottle of wine or order half the menu for a tapas feast. My favorites are the croquetas and the albondigas, but the surprise favorite of the table were the Brussels sprouts! If tapas aren't your thing go for the paella - it comes piping hot and super flavorful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Too expensive

Dined on January 30, 2016

I don't see any reason to pay 12 dollars and more for a couple ounces of beef or other meat, just because it is called Tapas! A small meal for two can end up costing over $60 quickly. In spite of a reservation we were given the worst table in the place, at the back next to the kitchen door. The lighting made it almost impossible to read the horribly overpriced menu. What is wrong with people, that they put up with this kind of treatment?

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Tapas and a Real Gem in the Triangle Area

Dined on January 30, 2016

Consistently delicious, interesting Spanish Tapas that represents authentic Spanish cuisine. All fresh ingredients, amazing paella, delicious seafood, amazing flank steak, and surprisingly amazing brussel sprouts! I have been to Taberna Tapas about 5-6 times and it is my favorite restaurant in the area. Fantastic Service too! The quaint atmosphere adds to the charm of the restaurant. I highly recommend Taberna Tapas!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic and fun meal

Dined on January 29, 2016

Great service, exceptional food delivered with a timing that enhanced the experience. Could easily imagine this as a fun date-night destination or, as we did, a perfect place for colleagues to go and enjoy shop-talk over a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food outstanding.

Dined on January 26, 2016

Food outstanding.

food5
ambience4
service4

1st time experience. Excellent tapas. R ...

Dined on January 20, 2016

1st time experience. Excellent tapas. Reasonably priced. Nice variety of options

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

God food and drink! Fun Night out!

Dined on January 17, 2016

This was my first visit to Taberna. The food was great, and the small plates weren't too small so 2 or 3 could be shared easily by two people. The food was great by the way and they have a great wine list. The cocktails were good as well. Can get a little loud in there so at times it was hard for our server to hear us and vice versa, but other than that a great place for dinner and drinks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.