Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Taberna Tapas

Spanish Tapas, serving lunch & dinner.

325 West Main Street
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dinner only:
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 797-1457

Website:
http://www.tabernatapas.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Taberna Tapas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (50)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fun (19)
Cozy (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Authentic (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Special Occasion (12)
Casual (11)
Romantic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Healthy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
People Watching (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Business Meals (3)
Spicy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Good things can come in small packages. Just the right size for pre concert food and post concert drinks- quieter and more authentic than Mateo.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Tapas, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

While the food at Taberna was okay--the arugula salad nicely composed--it was insufficiently good to offset the effect of the slow service. I hate to pan an establishment where the servers seem to be working hard, but perhaps management needs to evaluate its staffing requirements? My party and I dined at Taberna on two occasions about six months apart. On the first occasion, we had a long wait before our drink orders were taken and another long wait before our drinks were served. Then, just as our drinks had finally arrived, the food arrived, giving us no time to enjoy drinks or order a second round. The wait person, while cordial, was covering too many tables; the person tending bar was also waiting tables and greeting customers. In all, the place was understaffed. We assumed our negative experience was anomalous, so we booked again when we were in the area. Same experience: overworked staff, slow service, lack of response to requests for bread etc.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Once again we were enjoyed our visit to Taberna and we will be back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Taberna always impresses. I brought a group of 10 and everyone loved it! We tried just about every small plate on the menu and a variety of drinks. Everything was great, including the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This place had delicious food and I thought the tapas were better than Mateo just down the street. Wonderful flavors. Great for a night on the town for my wife's birthday. The location is...intimate (read: tiny). Elbow to elbow and if not fully crowded, a bit hard to not hear other conversations. But delicious and plan to go again!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Taberna is the best tapas place in Durham! Extremely well priced and I especially love their paella. Definitely make a reservation because it's a small restaurant. Great for parties under 6 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great service and delicious food. We will go back for another Tonic Tuesday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Food was Tasty, authentic, and well presented. Service was good, beer and wine list reasonable.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Late-night Find, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent tapas, with authentic tasting Spanish dishes that were a delicious treat. Try to get the flan if they have any available when you're there!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Best Tapas place we tried so far. Do order the flank stakes and lamb chops. They were out of the world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was good, but service wasn't great. I think we just had bad luck that night though. I was a waitress for several years myself, so I try to be understanding. We got sat 20 minutes after our reservation, even though there were open tables. They finally sat us at one of the tables that sat open the whole time. We then had to wait a while for our waitress to even come over and get our order. I had wanted to order a second glass of wine, but by the time our waitress came over to check on us we had been finished with our food for a while, and I didn't want to wait a lot longer. Overall though, I think the food was good, and our waitress was probably just really busy and having an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great service and wonderful food. The staff were attentive to time constraints for theater. They were attentive but not hovering. The food was excellent.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

1st time our service has been this poor. There was shortage of staff in the kitchen because our waiter had to go get our dessert orders, the food came out at all different times, a long time to get drinks and they seemed short staffed.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was very Spanish authentic, great TAPAS.
Atmosphere was energetic, crowded, but very much what you expect in a taps bar.
We would definitely return again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We ordered 6 tapas for the 2 of us and all of them were very good. Service was also good. We were not attending a performance so we were not rushed. Hubby loved the cider and I enjoyed the red wine. I had a reservation so got right in with no waiting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

If you are looking for tapas, Taberna Tapas will not disappoint. I can't even begin to tell you how amazing the dishes are. The bacon wrapped dates were outstanding. We also tried the Brussels Sprouts, the Beet Salad, the Charcuterie, the Clams & Chorizo, Tortilla Espanola, and the Tres Mares paella. The paella wasn't great. It wasn't inedible, but it wasn't our favorite. But everything else was amazing. We had the flan for dessert, and while I'm not normally a flan fan, it was INCREDIBLE! I highly recommend everything (except the paella).

Our waitress, Stephanie, was also great. My boyfriend is gluten free and she had to send a few dishes back because they put the baguette on the plate instead of on a separate plate. I appreciate that she had our back, even before the dishes got to us (we were seated near the kitchen and saw her send back a few dishes, and then heard the chef tell the staff to remake the dish). She gave great recommendations and did not steer us wrong.

Also, the sangria on tap - TRY IT! They were out of red, but the white was AMAZING. I'm not normally a huge fan of white sangria, but this one was different from any I have had in the past. It was crisp and refreshing. It's the kind of drink you have 4 of and all of the sudden you can't walk...and you don't know why. It's dangerous, but in a good way.

We'll definitely be back - there's so much on the menu that we didn't get to try, and we want to try every dish!

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Taberna Tapas is a lively Spanish restaurant with extraordinary food. Every meal we tried was packed with flavor. The dishes were creative and attractive.

Our server was very helpful when choosing meals. She recommended a few cocktails as well that were excellent.

The only drawback is that the restaurant is very small, so prepare to get cozy with the other diners.

I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Such great food and friendly service! We look forward to coming back asap.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were there before a show at DEPAC. Great food had a problem getting drinks but we're comped for them, they were extremely busy due to show. Good great but allow extra time if attending performance

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was our first visit to Taberna Tapas. Of course we made reservations and based on the size of the seating, would suggest this every time you go. We had a great time. Although we had table reservations, bar seating was open and we sat there. Dan, the bartender, took VERY good care of us. He knew we were going to the DPAC later and Dan made sure we received our drinks/food in a timely manner. We had the Beet Salad, Tuna Tartar and Tomato/Artichoke Flat Bread and would order them again. We also had the Crab Cake but would NEVER order them again. When we go back to the DPAC, the Taberna Tapas will be on our list. However, we live in Raleigh and would not drive from Raleigh to Durham to eat there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very good food, good selection of tapas. Clams+Chorizo was excellent, patatas bravas and arugula salad very good. The chocolate mousse was a great way to cap a very good meal

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Spicy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We went there to celebrate my son's birthday. The food was excellent. There were plenty of excellent choices for small plates. Two of us were vegetarian, and we found sufficient variety of small plates. The service was also very good. The bar had modest selection of drinks, but wine selection was quite good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good, safe tapas. Nothing very adventurous, but if you have a picky eater in your group, this will probably be a bonus. Some dishes are very overpriced ($11 for 8 asparagus spears with a dollop of sauce??), but otherwise reasonable. For 4 diners, three cocktails and one bottle of wine, total without tip was $180.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food is good, though a bit overpriced. When we arrived for an early seating we were the only people there, but they sat us at the least desirable table, in front of the kitchen door with my wife sitting on a crack in the bench. When we asked to be moved, even though every table was empty, they refused. Apparently the computer assignment leaves no room for human adjustment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My wife and I arrived one minute earlier than our reservation, but we were not seated for 22 minutes. I specifically wrote a note on my reservation that I was seeing a show and needed to leave by a certain time. Once I was seated the service was good. Unfortunately, I did not have enough time to order an entree, so we settled for several tapas. I rushed through my meal and left the restaurant approximately 40 minutes after I was seated. Luckily, I just made it to the show on time. They desperately need help and a little organization.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We are always very excited to dine in Durham. However, admittedly so we were pretty disappointed in Tabernas. We had a reservation for 6:15, and got right in. The seating is a little odd, the tables are small & squished together. One side of the table is a bench type seat, there is a chair on the other side. This is a tapas place but the portions are what I would consider abnormally small. In addition to tapas, they also offer paella. We had the seafood, which was overlooked. My husband ordered a 2nd glass of wine, which never came until he was signing the bill. We had tickets to a show and had to leave. Our server was very absent and had a challenging time keeping up it seemed when she did come around. I will say, perhaps it was a rough night for the server, the kitchen, etc. As we were leaving, a local couple came in & I to,d them I was very underwhelmed with how the meal had gone. She assured me something must have been going on, because Tabernas happens to be her favorite spot for tapas in Durham. Perhaps we will try again another time........but not without first trying the competitor.

Tags: Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Outstanding, outstanding, outstanding, outstanding and great!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Fantastic calamari and asparagus dish! Good wine and liquor selection too!

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Overall, a great restaurant. The tapas menu is extensive. We had 4 (wanted to try about 12), all were perfect.

Service was top notch and the wines were very good. We'll be back. We really want to try the Paella next time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had a wonderful meal with friends. Would recommend the food.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Another wonderful meal at Taberna Tapas!! Thanks for the consistency!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great place to spend time with friends. Highly recommend a visit. Service was very good. We tried lots of plates and enjoyed all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Taberna was a great spot to go before catching a show at DPAC. Though I would go back even if I weren't in Durham for a performance. The tapas were great, not as fussy and hipster as Mateo, but solid and a great value!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We had a wonderful time eating before a show at DPAC and our server Jackie was great! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Dan is always helpful as a bartender and server! Food is outstanding

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Love the food and staff!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Jennifer was a wonderful server and gave great recommendations. We had a table of five and could easily hear one another even in the bustle of Saturday night. Food was fantastic with good portion size. Cost was a bit more but with reasonable portion sizes I would say it's worth it. Wine selection was goid, not mind blowing, and the cocktails were well made. 5 people with drinks and dessert ran $250 so averaging $50.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We've been to this restaurant numerous times in the past and it's always been good to very good. Our visit this past weekend was not so good. It was, admittedly, Restaurant Week yet that is no excuse for ultra-poor service. Our waitress was pleasant, however, she was spaced out, made numerous mistakes including billing, and appeared to be almost blotto. It was awkward at best and downright frustrating to the point of near anger. Food was good but not outstanding. And the prices have trended north significantly since our last visit (at least six to eight months ago). This place could be a gem but they need to focus on better service, tighten up their game with the food, and either offer more/better food for the price or lower their price for what they're currently delivering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.