About Taberna Tapas

325 West Main Street
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Spanish Tapas, serving lunch & dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dinner only:
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 797-1457

Website:
http://www.tabernatapas.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Taberna Tapas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Food
Durham
Best Service
Durham
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Durham
Neighborhood Gem
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

Fit for Foodies (57)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Romantic (25)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Good for a Date (14)
Tapas (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Lunch (8)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Casual (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Fun (5)
Authentic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
370 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is the very best restaurant in the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is the very best restaurant in the triangle. The food is excellent. The service is top notch. I come here every chance I get.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tapas were delicious and definitely ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The tapas were delicious and definitely reminded us of Spain. The charcuterie was a bit overpriced for such a small portion of jamón, but the cheeses were yummy! The wine selection was great. I know it's a smal place but the tables were so close together that it was hard to scoot through to sit down and get up. Overall it was delicious and the service was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good, but I expected the p ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food was very good, but I expected the paella to be better for a tapas restaurant. They did get us in and out quickly, knowing that we had a show to get to. Parking was terrible, but that would be the case for any downtown Durham restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Delicious as always! Wait staff are outs ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Delicious as always! Wait staff are outstanding (and give good advice), food is delicious, and ambiance is cozy and inviting. Great place for date night or a friend catch up, as you never feel like you're being rushed out the door.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have to confess we were a bit disappoint ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Have to confess we were a bit disappointed this visit. We arrived in what should have been plenty of time to make a DPAC show and let the staff know this was the case. Our food came very slowly and we ended up not getting one of the items we ordered because it was taking too long. It was pretty stressful to see folks that had come in after, finishing and paying for their food while we were still waiting and it set a poor tone for the meal. It was a rush to pay the bill. Management was very apologetic and we didn't pay for what we didn't receive and they comped one of the items. But we left hungry and not feeling very positive about the experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Our waitress was wonderful...attentive, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful...attentive, professional, and friendly. The food was very good....very small portions as tapas are.....we happened to get there for Wine Down Wednesday...half price bottle of wine...a nice surprise. Nice spot to go before a show at DPAC. Easy to park here and walk to DPAC. We highly recommend. Seating is tight but not a huge detriment.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Where to start... Well our waitress was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Where to start... Well our waitress was very nice. And that's about it. Hostess was not cool. We made reservations before a show, we showed up on time and stood there waiting to be acknowledged let alone looked at. After standing there for about 10 minutes we were finally seated. Seemed as though only two people working there in the place started filling up. To top it all off the food was horrible. We will never be going back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Great tapa! Service was lacking a bit... ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great tapa! Service was lacking a bit...but I think they were short handed that day. Things happen but with that said overall it was fantastic!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Great small plate and the atmosphere was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great small plate and the atmosphere was romantic.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I've had better tapas, but it was still ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I've had better tapas, but it was still pretty good. The variety was nice with lots of different choices. I really liked the location and it would be perfect for a date.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious food and cocktails, though, as ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Delicious food and cocktails, though, as it often is with tapas, we ended up paying a lot of money for what felt like not very much food. Come with a thick wallet.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food! Definitely a good place ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent food! Definitely a good place for enjoying a long meal (definitely not a place to go if you are in a hurry!). My wife was born in Spain and lived there for about 6 years, and she said the food here took her back to her childhood!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

It was Labor Day weekend and we were vis ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was Labor Day weekend and we were visiting our daughter who is in graduate school. It was the perfect option for 4 people with varied tastes because the small plates gave us lots of options. The desserts were especially yummy! I highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, People Watching, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We moved our son into his dorm at Duke t ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We moved our son into his dorm at Duke that day. It was a long stressful day, and we had made reservations for 9:30 pm. We did not leave Duke until after 9:30 pm. The restaurant staff was extremely kind to us and honored our reservation. We were the last customers there. Food was amazing! The server was very gracious and took great care of us. Some of the best tapas that we have ever had, and the wine was wonderful. The paella was awesome. We know flan, and their flan is among the best that we have ever had too! It turned out to be a memorable dinner in more ways than one. We will be back, we promise!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taberna never disappoints. The watermelo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Taberna never disappoints. The watermelon gazpacho was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit was exceptional - servic ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our first visit was exceptional - service, food and table neighbors. It was a home run. Tapas is a fun way to share dinner as you get to try so many different things. There isn't anything we wouldn't order again and yet...there is so much more to try. Our new favorite destination in downtown Durham.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent and authentic food. Lots of v ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent and authentic food. Lots of variety. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Attentive service. Bit ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food. Attentive service. Bit noisy, but overall a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We were excited to find Taberna Tapas cl ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were excited to find Taberna Tapas close to DAPAC so we could enjoy a nice dinner before Lyle Lovett. Overall, it was expensive for the value. portions were small and ~$12/small plate. There were some real nice ones, Chimichurri steak and portablella were outstanding. Disappointed in the wine. We had two bottles of $50/bottle Duero that should have been half the price. I love Spanish reds but this one was lackluster and not a good value at $50.

Service was excellent and kitchen was pretty fast. Not bad but again not a great value. I think the cheeseburgers at Tobacco Road would have been just as satisfying and half the cost or less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This was our first visit to a Tapas rest ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our first visit to a Tapas restaurant. We placed ourselves in the capable hands of the waitress. She suggested various plates and we were not disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Loved Taberna Tapas!! Will definitely go ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Loved Taberna Tapas!! Will definitely go again. only the host seating us was a little snippy!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food all around! The tres mares p ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food all around!

The tres mares paella is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been here several times. Food is always ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Been here several times. Food is always very good, with a lot of variety.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was garbage. We ordered drinks a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Service was garbage. We ordered drinks and then didn't see our server again for a half an hour, so we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food was amazing, as always. The men ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food was amazing, as always. The menu is thoughtful and the presentation is elegant. Small space but it's a nice, cosy atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We were seated at a table by the kitchen ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were seated at a table by the kitchen. The thermostat was right there so we could see that it was 83 degrees! Too hot to truly enjoy our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

One of our favorite casual eateries. Gre ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

One of our favorite casual eateries. Great staff. Fun and different foods. We love "small plate" dining!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We tried two tapas, the bacon wrapped da ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We tried two tapas, the bacon wrapped dates and the jamon croquettas. Both were excellent. We each had paella for the main entrée which was also very good. We shared a caramel flan for desert. This was one of the best flans I have had as the texture was smooth and firm, not watery at all. The atmosphere was vibrant and resembled tapa bars in Spain. The service was friendly and accommodating. All in all a very enjoyable visit. We hope to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and great service as usual. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food and great service as usual. Restaurant is excellent for someone who needs to eat gluten free. There are many gluten free options and others can be modified to be gluten free. Staff are very knowledgeable about food allergies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Like the atmosphere We told our waiter t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Like the atmosphere

We told our waiter that we were not in a hurry..well we got the food

quickly..we thought for the price for tapas was well paid for...

Wine was delicious,staff was nice still

Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

On my last visit to Durham, NC, I ate at ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

On my last visit to Durham, NC, I ate at Taberna three times in a 24-hour period. Need I say more?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The feel of a quaint little place with c ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The feel of a quaint little place with chandaliers right downtown with the tastes of a foodies' Spain. A real gem. Amazingly delicious tapas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, safe for people with cel ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Wonderful food, safe for people with celiac disease, never disappoints. And the are *awesome* about getting you fed and on your way if you are seeing a show. Bonus? Easy walk to both the DPAC and the Carolina Theater!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress Dana ? was excellent! Atte ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our waitress Dana ? was excellent! Attentive, friendly, made great dish recommendations and wine pairings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Beautifully prepared and well-chosen tap ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Beautifully prepared and well-chosen tapas offering variety, excellent flavors and authenticity. Charcuterie!!! I would have appreciated a tapas sampler plate offering 3, 5 or more choices. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tapas is Spanish for "Small plates of ov ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Tapas is Spanish for "Small plates of overpriced but incredibly diverse bites of food". Know that going in (to any Tapas restaurant) and you'll be ok. We spent $100 on dinner for 2 including a carafe of Sangria which was $25. Disappointed that it had no fruit in the carafe, just one slice of orange in each glass. Really?! Tasted OK but nothing like I'm used to in Spain and mine at home is better. If you don't know the difference, you won't care about cheap red wine loaded with sugar.

Taberna is an average Tapas choice. Some items were fresh, some obviously reheated. Overall the food was good, not great. Service was the biggest disappointment. We were largely ignored while others were gloated over by other waiters. The hostess doubled to serve our table.

DON'T SIT AT THE FRONT: Bums saw us nicely dressed in the window and came in from the street asking for money. The hostess had to intervene twice during our dinner to shoo them away. For those prices I would expect the restaurant to solve the problem but the hostess was busy serving other tables (instead of ours) so we were easy to interrupt. Definitely lowered the quality of the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I wasextremely pleased withmy experience ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I wasextremely pleased withmy experience. The food for the most part was amazing. Unfortunately the braised short rib was flavorless.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything we ordered was absolutely del ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything we ordered was absolutely delicious. We will definitely go back to try more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food and service were wonderful. Onl ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food and service were wonderful. Only complaint is you need some bread or crackers to scoop the remaining sauce with!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This was a great find for dinner before ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This was a great find for dinner before a show at DPAC. I need gluten free options due to an alergy, and the menu is marked for this, a great plus in my book. This wasn't a watered down GF menu, there were some great options including the bacon wrapped dates. You have to give these a try. Everything was great including the paella that my daughter ordered, which we all ended up sharing. Definitely recommended and will likely return next time we are in Durham for a show.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.