Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Taberna Tapas

Spanish Tapas, serving lunch & dinner.

325 West Main Street
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dinner only:
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 797-1457

Website:
http://www.tabernatapas.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Taberna Tapas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (49)
Good for a Date (35)
Fit for Foodies (30)
See All
Casual (27)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Authentic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Cozy (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Fun (17)
Romantic (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
People Watching (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Business Meals (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Vegan (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Excuisit as I remembered! Great wine list with reasonable prices. A fantastic Tapad menu which covers everything.
The Pallela was delicious. Spanish Quarter bottle of temperanillo was delightful . Recommend it to everyone with a wonderous pallet and love for food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Food and wine were great as usual. Service was unusually slow. Our server seemed overwhelmed so perhaps she was new. Several other servers and the hostess had to help her by bringing our food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Each dish was unique with Individual flavors that were phenomenal and very tasty. Large selection of real food and well worth the visit.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Very good food though pricey. Can get a little loud.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Very glad to have eaten here while traveling! Hope to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Everything was great. Seated at my reservation time. Drinks were strong but not too strong. Wine was great too. Food came out in a timely manner. Great great menu. Music was great. Waiters/waitresses were polite, prompt, and knowledgeable. 100% recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, People Watching, Vegan, Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Food was great. Service very poor. They left the dirty plates in front of us for a good 15 minutes. Then our server suddenly changed.
We ordered double espressos and their cups were clearly to small to hold them, therefore there was coffee spilled on all the plates. A little nasty.

Still highly recommended for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Loved the restaurant but finding it was a challenge- you have to park in the back and there was no sign showing which door was the entrance. But I would definitely go back since I now know the ropes.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 6, 2017

2nd time here and the food and service were great!

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 2, 2017

As always, I enjoyed my night at Taberna. The staff is friendly and the food delicious. I am always happy to find an occasion to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We always look forward to going to Taberna as part of our theater evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We came from out of town for a Flamenco concert at Duke so this was perfect for immersing ourselves in an evening of Spanish culture beginning with food. Our time was a little tight since they open at 5 and concert was at 7 but with tapas, good service and being just 10 minutes from Page auditorium we figured it would work, and it did quite well. The hostess was very friendly and accommodating, as was our server. The one thing about our server I was a little taken aback by was the length of his beard, I had never seen a waiter with facial hair down to his chest so I stayed vigilant for hair in my food, but there was none. The food was delicious, the gambas salteado and they were delectable, I also got a serving of bistec la plancha and it was also very good. Presentation was good was well. I sampled my wife's "crab cakes" and while they were good, they are not cakes, they are crab balls, smaller than a golf ball, I know it's tapas but come on! My mom got a paella and it was very good. So overall I am very pleased with the experience as a whole. I live an hour and a half away and with out a doubt would make the drive back just to eat there again even if we weren't going to another concert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, People Watching, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food is amazing. I love the creativity from the cheif's dishes. I will definitely be coming back in the near future.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2017

What a hidden gem! Taberna is our new favorite tapas restaurant and go-to in downtown Durham. It's great for a date night or gathering of friends. Cozy, not too loud. The service was excellent & the tapas were authentic & delicious. We especially like the Lamb Chops w Creamed Turnip, Salmon, and bisteca dishes. Leave room for the churro or chocolate mousse desserts too. We can't wait to return soon!

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Taberna continues to be one of our favorite places to dine. Even though they were particularly busy on our latest visit, our experience was not impacted. The food was as good as ever, and the service at the level we have come to expect. Looking forward to the next opportunity to go back!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Food and service are always outstanding, and the place has a wonderful vibe. It's one of my favorite restaurants in the Triangle.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 20, 2017

I’ve been there many times but this time I made the mistake of not requesting my fav server Jen. I indicated on the reservation that is was my partner’s birthday which the host did acknowledge but the server never did. Also we were seated at a fairly noisy table by the kitchen, which was ok at first but then a couple with a yelling child was seated right next to us. I mentioned it to the server who said he wld handle it but never did. Also waited abt 20 min for drinks to start. Food was great as usual but def didn’t feel like he cared much abt us or the occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

wonderful meal, and very tolerant of a couple of kids at our table too. Really good food, good service, decent prices - enjoyed it!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always enjoy Taberna Tapas! It is a great evening out with friends - great food, great wine, service and excited to see seating capacity is expanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The service is terrible for a high-priced restaurant. The food is sub-par as well. I don't see any reason for anyone to pay this much for unauthentic Spanish tapas. Would not recommend for dates or large groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We had a great time....service was perfect and we were dining after 9:00.

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

This restaurant was delicious with a wonderful warm ambiance. There is a patio but I didn't see it while we were there. The service was excellent and our server made great recommendations. The place is pretty small so it can be a little loud but it wasn't intrusive at all.

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I thought the food was fair. We ordered the Durham oyster mushrooms and kale saute and the sundried tomatoes were very tough, like they needed to be soaked in boiling water for a while. Also, it would have been easier to share if the kale wasn't left in such large pieces . The calamari was okay, the breading was very dark and it seemed well done. We had a few other plates and they were okay. I also thought the portions were somewhat small for the current prices. The wine was the best part of the meal, as was the service, as they accommodated our need for a highchair. I think that with some additional attention to detail in their kitchen when it comes to prepping the food, Tabernas has the potential to be a tasty dining establishment.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fun small plates and their paella was quite good. Would recommend a reservation.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My husband is not a fan of tapas, but even he had to admit the food was good at Taberna. I liked that dishes were brought out as they finished cooking. We were able to enjoy a dish before another came out. The food was delicious and we enjoyed each of the dishes we picked to share. I think it is too pricy for every day, but I did enjoy it for our special occasion. I would recommend it to others.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food and handcrafted cocktail menus looked amazing, but what we ordered was definitely not worth the price. The cocktails (rye Manhattan and bourbon basil) were underwhelming, something I would expect at Applebee's or TGI Friday. I switched to wine, and the Tempranillo I ordered was on point. The beet salad and croquettes were DELICIOUS, but the chimmichurri skirt steak's plating was amateur and the crab "cakes" were definitely balls that were the size of small truffles.

Dan was our server and he was struggling to run his section, which I think had everything to do with a large party sitting next to us. So our service was slower than it should've been, but as a former server I'm willing to cut him some slack.

It was so loud, I had a hard time hearing and had to shout to be heard. Once the party next to us started eating, however, the noise level dropped considerably.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our first visit to Taberna about a month and a half ago was so wonderful. We went on a weekday night, early evening, when it was slower, and the food was divine as was the Sangria. The service was on point.

Unfortunately, we visited last weekend and the place was slammed and the wait staff were noticeably overwhelmed. Our waiter was super kind, but he had forgotten that he had already taken our order. Someone else dropped a glass and it shattered everywhere. Accidents happen, but it was less of the calm, wonderful dining experience we had had before. We felt more on edge. We waited a long time to receive any drinks or food. One of our dishes was completely cold.

For the price we paid, and trust me, we saved up for this meal, we were pretty disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The meal was excellent. This restaurant had been recommended by friends and I will go back again. It made for a memorable birthday celebration.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Fantastic food and great customer service. Our waiter was very attentive to my mother garlic allergy! Everything had garlic but they made it work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Food and service was great. Third outing and there is always consistency in the service and food.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent meal. Servers very helpful with suggestions. Outstanding octopus, salmon, paella and veggie dishes. Too full to sample desserts this time. Definitely worth dining here. I generally don't like the tapas style of serving but everything clicked here and we had a very enjoyable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our evening at Tabernas was great. We had a party of 11 women all with different meal and alcohol orders that would have confused the best serving staff, but Jennifer handled it all with aplomb! The food was great. We did have a tapas expert in our party who took care of most of the ordering, but Jennifer also gave super recommendations. She did such a good job handling all of our differing orders when it came to alcohol and desserts and with a group of 11 women all over 50 that is saying something. I was stressed out about that part of the evening before we even got there, but Jennifer made it all go so smoothly! I highly recommend Tabernas. Delicious food and great service!

Tags: Tapas, Late-night Find, Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Tabera offers a wide variety of small dishes and flatbreads suitable for sharing. Most come with between 3-5 pieces (eg: sauted shrimp comes with 4 shrimp, or 5 bacon wrapped dates) which are easily split. There are a variety of vegetarian and seafood options as well as meats. My one complaint (and pet peeve) is there is a limited and relatively expensive wine list. I understand there is a significant markup over retail at a restaurant (often 3 times the retail price) but the restaurant is not paying retail and there is no reason they cannot offer a wine list that has more $30-$40 options.
The service and atmosphere at Taberna is excellent and we will certainly consider returning on our return to Durham.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 20, 2017

First time here and we loved it. Service was excellent and we will be back. Lamb sausage and dates wrapped in bacon were really good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Fabulous: both service and food, truly excellent! Our waiter went out of his way to ensure that we left satisfied!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Amazing tapas at a ridiculously affordable price! Definitely get the brussel sprouts they stole the show!

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We eat here about once a month. It is an excellent place to get Tapas

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great place for a date! The food is wonderful and fresh with many options to choose from. The only complaint I have is it gets pretty noisy when they are really busy. But, the service and food outweigh that. :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This visit was disappointing. The service was wonderful, but the food was uninspiring. Or at least uneven. The beet salad was very good, as was the sangria. But the main dish--a seafood paella--was not. It was dry and overcooked, some of the rice sticking to the plate on which it was served. It was pretty tasteless. I tried bites of three of my friends' tapas, only one of which was good, the others also overcooked. I give them points for excellent service; the server was attentive and thoughtful without being hovering. But I'm not sure I'll go there again, too many great restaurants in Durham.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.