Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Taberna Tapas

Spanish Tapas, serving lunch & dinner.

325 West Main Street
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dinner only:
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 797-1457

Website:
http://www.tabernatapas.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Taberna Tapas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (54)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Creative Cuisine (33)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Authentic (22)
Casual (22)
Cozy (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Romantic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Special Occasion (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
People Watching (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vegan (3)
Spicy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our first visit to Taberna about a month and a half ago was so wonderful. We went on a weekday night, early evening, when it was slower, and the food was divine as was the Sangria. The service was on point.

Unfortunately, we visited last weekend and the place was slammed and the wait staff were noticeably overwhelmed. Our waiter was super kind, but he had forgotten that he had already taken our order. Someone else dropped a glass and it shattered everywhere. Accidents happen, but it was less of the calm, wonderful dining experience we had had before. We felt more on edge. We waited a long time to receive any drinks or food. One of our dishes was completely cold.

For the price we paid, and trust me, we saved up for this meal, we were pretty disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The meal was excellent. This restaurant had been recommended by friends and I will go back again. It made for a memorable birthday celebration.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Fantastic food and great customer service. Our waiter was very attentive to my mother garlic allergy! Everything had garlic but they made it work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Food and service was great. Third outing and there is always consistency in the service and food.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent meal. Servers very helpful with suggestions. Outstanding octopus, salmon, paella and veggie dishes. Too full to sample desserts this time. Definitely worth dining here. I generally don't like the tapas style of serving but everything clicked here and we had a very enjoyable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our evening at Tabernas was great. We had a party of 11 women all with different meal and alcohol orders that would have confused the best serving staff, but Jennifer handled it all with aplomb! The food was great. We did have a tapas expert in our party who took care of most of the ordering, but Jennifer also gave super recommendations. She did such a good job handling all of our differing orders when it came to alcohol and desserts and with a group of 11 women all over 50 that is saying something. I was stressed out about that part of the evening before we even got there, but Jennifer made it all go so smoothly! I highly recommend Tabernas. Delicious food and great service!

Tags: Tapas, Late-night Find, Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Tabera offers a wide variety of small dishes and flatbreads suitable for sharing. Most come with between 3-5 pieces (eg: sauted shrimp comes with 4 shrimp, or 5 bacon wrapped dates) which are easily split. There are a variety of vegetarian and seafood options as well as meats. My one complaint (and pet peeve) is there is a limited and relatively expensive wine list. I understand there is a significant markup over retail at a restaurant (often 3 times the retail price) but the restaurant is not paying retail and there is no reason they cannot offer a wine list that has more $30-$40 options.
The service and atmosphere at Taberna is excellent and we will certainly consider returning on our return to Durham.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 20, 2017

First time here and we loved it. Service was excellent and we will be back. Lamb sausage and dates wrapped in bacon were really good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Fabulous: both service and food, truly excellent! Our waiter went out of his way to ensure that we left satisfied!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Amazing tapas at a ridiculously affordable price! Definitely get the brussel sprouts they stole the show!

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We eat here about once a month. It is an excellent place to get Tapas

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great place for a date! The food is wonderful and fresh with many options to choose from. The only complaint I have is it gets pretty noisy when they are really busy. But, the service and food outweigh that. :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This visit was disappointing. The service was wonderful, but the food was uninspiring. Or at least uneven. The beet salad was very good, as was the sangria. But the main dish--a seafood paella--was not. It was dry and overcooked, some of the rice sticking to the plate on which it was served. It was pretty tasteless. I tried bites of three of my friends' tapas, only one of which was good, the others also overcooked. I give them points for excellent service; the server was attentive and thoughtful without being hovering. But I'm not sure I'll go there again, too many great restaurants in Durham.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had a party of 12 for my birthday. The food was great the service was great drinks were great. The server split our checks with no problem and everyone had a good experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Fantastic meal, close to public parking. Heard from some reviewers that the service was slow but experienced quite the opposite. We ordered about 9 tapas total and every one was exceptional. I hope to get back again and try the rest of the menu. They're renovating half of the restaurant but we were still able to get a same day reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Good Flavors a taste of spain in the Triangle area. Lite bites that were fresh and
full of flavor.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

awesome food, great service, but quite noisy, and the seating is quite cramped meaning you have to be fairly loud to have a conversation. But the food and service were incredible.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Food was delicious (really enjoyed the oxtail) and the drink specials were pretty solid. However, service was sloooooow. We ordered drinks and didn't receive them until after we had finished our first Tapas! They also ran out of the liquor required for the special of the night...

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I really enjoy the food here. Though not as great as the other Spanish Tapas restaurant (around the corner from Taberna Tapas) it is an excellent choice. Two negative comments: The supposed great mojito, was watery and not good at all. The red Sangria was very nice, however. The ham croquettas were not hot enough, they were cool in the middle.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Enjoyable experience. Service was slow, most dishes were delicious.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

My husband and I are foodies, we were visiting the area. We tried the other tapas place in town as well. The tapas here are better crafted and the portions are good for the price charged. You will enjoy your meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 28, 2017

An explosion of surprising and complimentary tastes. Low key but special. Delicious food, sangria and professional friendly staff

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Service was slow. Food was very good. They weren't very busy so I was surprised at the lack of attention. We would have stayed for another drink but our server took forever to acknowledge our glasses were empty. We finally just got the check and went to the Counting House Bar across the street for another drink. I go to Taberna often and it's usually better.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This is our favorite tapas restaurant. The wait staff is personable and friendly. They now even remember our favorite table. In addition, a great restaurant if you love Spanish wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

A good atmosphere for a date night. Food was excellent, and drinks were tasty. Wine glasses could be a little bigger, though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was very good. Table was a little small for all the plates and glasses. Great service, went early so place wasn't crowded yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Durham, NC. Delicious food and cosy atmosphere right on Main Street.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I like to sit at a restaurant bar when I dine solo. Taberna had a nice bar for dining and I found no limit to conversation around me. I would definitely return to try additional items I pondered on the menu. The tuna tartare was light and delicious, my arugula was fresh and flavorful, and I saved room for the dark chocolate mousse! What a good meal!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Absolutely my favorite restaurant in Downtown Durham. Something for everyone, but classy and unique too. The service is absolutely amazing, with great recommendations from the staff every time. You definitely want to make reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Romantic, People Watching, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I took my dad and the family out to dine here for Father's day, the service was great. Our server was very nice, professional and attentive. We ordered a Medium Paella for the family and a few tapas, everything was delicious! The tapas were serve super quickly and it was really nice from our serve to let us know the Paella would take about 45 minutes, love the honesty. This meant the Paella was freshly made, which we all loved! It tasted so good and we finishes it all! We all wished it had more shrimp, as for the price, it could have a few more, but other than that, super good! Would totally recommend it for a fancy dinner night!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Taberna is a much friendlier option than Mateo down the street. Good food, can be crowded but staffers always do their best to provide the best service. Decent prices for tapas. Good place for friends/dates/wine. Cozy, warm atmosphere with a nice big window for people watching.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Had a great date here so I was excited to bring my girlfriends back for a girls' night. Made a reservation for 5:30 on a Friday night thinking we would have plenty of time to relax, order carafes of sangria and eat. We were really enjoying ourselves when our waitress informed us that we needed to wrap it up because our table was reserved for 7 pm--about an hour after we first got our drinks and settled in. We were still ordering dinner.
Suddenly our relaxed evening became rushed and stressful as we tried to finish dinner while the waitstaff glared at us. Each of my girlfriends commented that they felt stressed. We did our job and made a reservation... a reservation shouldn't really infringe on a party that is in the middle of dining. We were paying customers, just like everyone else. In my opinion, they should have seated us or the 7 pm party at a different table. It ended our evening abruptly and left a bad taste in everyone's mouth. We won't be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

As a loyal Mateo dinner going here was a tough decision but I'm sure glad I did. Great food and drink and awesome service. For me this place is on par with Mateo but not nearly as hard to get a reservation for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 12, 2017

skirt steak with chimichurri sauce was very good as were the fried calamari and paella. The croquettes were very bland and the paella could have been spiced up a bit as well but there was a nice crust on the rice where it touched the pan.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great menu, nice portions, very tasty. Service a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (County Durham)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Trying out many different stops during restaurant week, well it was worth it. I had the Crab cakes which I always try at 1st time stops, if on the menu. We also tried the restaurant week menu, all good choices. Did not enjoy the drink (Fredrick Martini) just was not right.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Food was pretty good, but not really the kind of tapas I like. Our waiter was good but overworked as the restaurant was seriously understaffed. For a tapas restaurant, you need lots of wait staff "touches" and fast kitchen service, neither of which happened.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I was so happy to find a place in durham serving paella. Our table got the big pan for 6 and it was delicious. All the other tapas were so good as well. Wine selection was amazing, and our server was knowledgeable and helped select the right one for me. Want to go back very soon.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Tapas, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.