Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Taberna Tapas

Spanish Tapas, serving lunch & dinner.

325 West Main Street
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dinner only:
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 797-1457

Website:
http://www.tabernatapas.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Taberna Tapas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (47)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Authentic (24)
Cozy (17)
Tasting Menu (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Romantic (16)
Casual (12)
Fun (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Quick Bite (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (7)
People Watching (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Healthy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Vegan (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

A good atmosphere for a date night. Food was excellent, and drinks were tasty. Wine glasses could be a little bigger, though.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was very good. Table was a little small for all the plates and glasses. Great service, went early so place wasn't crowded yet.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

This is my favorite restaurant in Durham, NC. Delicious food and cosy atmosphere right on Main Street.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I like to sit at a restaurant bar when I dine solo. Taberna had a nice bar for dining and I found no limit to conversation around me. I would definitely return to try additional items I pondered on the menu. The tuna tartare was light and delicious, my arugula was fresh and flavorful, and I saved room for the dark chocolate mousse! What a good meal!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Absolutely my favorite restaurant in Downtown Durham. Something for everyone, but classy and unique too. The service is absolutely amazing, with great recommendations from the staff every time. You definitely want to make reservations.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Romantic, People Watching, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I took my dad and the family out to dine here for Father's day, the service was great. Our server was very nice, professional and attentive. We ordered a Medium Paella for the family and a few tapas, everything was delicious! The tapas were serve super quickly and it was really nice from our serve to let us know the Paella would take about 45 minutes, love the honesty. This meant the Paella was freshly made, which we all loved! It tasted so good and we finishes it all! We all wished it had more shrimp, as for the price, it could have a few more, but other than that, super good! Would totally recommend it for a fancy dinner night!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Had a great date here so I was excited to bring my girlfriends back for a girls' night. Made a reservation for 5:30 on a Friday night thinking we would have plenty of time to relax, order carafes of sangria and eat. We were really enjoying ourselves when our waitress informed us that we needed to wrap it up because our table was reserved for 7 pm--about an hour after we first got our drinks and settled in. We were still ordering dinner.
Suddenly our relaxed evening became rushed and stressful as we tried to finish dinner while the waitstaff glared at us. Each of my girlfriends commented that they felt stressed. We did our job and made a reservation... a reservation shouldn't really infringe on a party that is in the middle of dining. We were paying customers, just like everyone else. In my opinion, they should have seated us or the 7 pm party at a different table. It ended our evening abruptly and left a bad taste in everyone's mouth. We won't be going back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

As a loyal Mateo dinner going here was a tough decision but I'm sure glad I did. Great food and drink and awesome service. For me this place is on par with Mateo but not nearly as hard to get a reservation for.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 12, 2017

skirt steak with chimichurri sauce was very good as were the fried calamari and paella. The croquettes were very bland and the paella could have been spiced up a bit as well but there was a nice crust on the rice where it touched the pan.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great place!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great menu, nice portions, very tasty. Service a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (County Durham)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Trying out many different stops during restaurant week, well it was worth it. I had the Crab cakes which I always try at 1st time stops, if on the menu. We also tried the restaurant week menu, all good choices. Did not enjoy the drink (Fredrick Martini) just was not right.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Food was pretty good, but not really the kind of tapas I like. Our waiter was good but overworked as the restaurant was seriously understaffed. For a tapas restaurant, you need lots of wait staff "touches" and fast kitchen service, neither of which happened.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I was so happy to find a place in durham serving paella. Our table got the big pan for 6 and it was delicious. All the other tapas were so good as well. Wine selection was amazing, and our server was knowledgeable and helped select the right one for me. Want to go back very soon.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Tapas, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We enjoyed selecting a number of tapas to share. The tapas were authentic and excellent quality and tasty. Service was excellent and the busy kitchen very responsive

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Spicy, Good for Groups, Fun, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The menu was interesting, including the drinks. The food was delicious, especially the grilled shrimp on flatbread. The wine we had was very tasty. We were able to relax and enjoy our celebration dinner, order more tapas, have a real night out. I wouldn't take anyone who's hard of hearing, because the noise level is on the high side.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

It was great!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Had the meatballs and brussel sprouts. Both delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great find! What a pleasant surprise!! We had great tapas, pan seared salmon, patatas bravas, and roasted brussel sprouts and liked all of them. Then we had vegetarian paella and paella with chicken, shrimp and chorizo. Both dishes were outstanding. Then dessert which consisted of molten chocolate cake and churros. Will go back when we return to Durham.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The restaurant is small, which is not the fault of anyone, but the table we sat at abutted customers sitting at the bar. My side view was literally eye-level with a customers butt. I slightly turned my chair towards the window which provided a better overall view, however
de-aligned my gaze to my wife. We came at a very busy time, with a large party expected.
Our waitress did an admirable job with the tight squeeze between chairs and the ad hoc
nature of dishes coming out. She was very prompt with us. The food was okay with prices
a wee bit high based on tapas portion sizes. The one dish that was delicious were the ribs;
they were tender, juicy and very flavorful. The crab cakes were hard and possibly slightly
overdone, and the bottom of the flat bread definitely overdone, hard and over crunchy
even though the toppings were passable. My overall visit was just okay and the food
not living up to your reputation. I love food, and I am not a hater. I would not be
mean on purpose, but the experience was average considering the cost per item.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful food, ambiance and service

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food with excellent service and a decent wine list. One person in our party has dietary restrictions and our server was most helpful in steering us away from those items she couldn't have. We ordered an assortment of Tapas for the table. Some of our favorites were the Bistec a la Plancha, the Mussels in Garlic Sofrito and the Roasted NC Brussels Sprouts. Unfortunately, we didn't even get around to trying the salads, pinxtos, paellas or flat breads. I would definitely recommend coming here with a group so you can sample a variety. It's a bit pricey, so not necessarily for everyday dining, but a great place for a celebration!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tapas, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Incredible food and solid wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Second visit to Tapas. Great service, good food and made it to the theater on time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great pre-theatre spot to eat. Tasty food but not heavy rendering you too uncomfortable to sit in your DPAC seat. Jennifer was an outstanding server - friendly and knowledgeable, attentive, informative but not hovering. Thanks for a very pleasant experience - we'll be back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We picked this for a mother daughter dinner before the theater. We ordered a pitcher of Sangria which was delicious and fruity We ordered the pork belly and tuna tartare to open. The pork was slow cooked in spices and deep fried right before serving. It was mouth watering. The tuna was perfectly diced on an avocado terrine with shaved cucumbers. It had a sauce also. The flavor was perfect and very light. Next was beef short ribs. Not served on the bone but almost shaved. Very tender. We also ordered potato croquettes stuffed with goat cheese. This was a perfect accompaniment for the beef.
We couldn't resist ordering the shrimp and it didn't disappoint. It's so tender with a garlicky butter on perfectly toasted squares of white bread. We finished our meal with chocolate mousse and coffee. The mousse is more of a ganache and very dense and every mouthful is heaven. Even the coffee had a great flavor!!!
Our female waiter was attentive and informative and fun in all equal proportions. This is my new favorite spot. I can't wait to taste the entire menu and will gladly drive from Cary.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tapas, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Girls evening out for a friends birthday. We noted the birthday and our DPAC show when making the reservation. They provided tremendous service and got us out in plenty of time for our show. Will absolutely be coming back!!!
Great late evening bar ambiance as well!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I really enjoy the quality of the food at Taberna and the wait staff s very helpful. In general, I like tapas because you order, eat, order, eat. In other words there is no pressure to make r order at one time. The ambiance is European, but they are expanding so we will see.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Taberna Tapas is a wonderful location for small plate meals or just for drinks. The staff is very attentive and accommodating. Special Thanks to Dan for always making out experience there Awesome!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Late-night Find, Authentic, Tapas, Fun, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

A nice date spot, great ambience. Easy to hold conversation.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Even for a small plates restaurant, portions were quite small. But everything was cooked perfectly and tasted great (I especially recommend the bacon-wrapped dates). And the service was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

we love this restaurant. Good food and service!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Vegan, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great tapas, the wine list was good and the recommendation by the server was spot on. Server was very helpful and knowledgeable and joined in our banter. Overall a really positive experience, I would definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Delicious food, lots of variety, some very interesting dishes. I liked the small plates for sharing...more tasting, less filling portions. I would have liked a little more elbow room. The tables are squeezed too close together so not a place to go if you want to have a private conversation. But very attentive wait staff. And did I mention the food was delicious?

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My husband and I have been there twice before a performance at DPAC. We love the food, wines and ambiance!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Romantic, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We're never disappointed when dining here. And our server Jen was phenomenal.
Party of four, we all picked a couple of tapas each and shared family style. Perfect and fun.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The food was amazing. There wasn't anything that we didn't devour! Loved the ambiance.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vegan, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Taberna is fabulous! This was our second visit. Just as good as the first time. Only wish it was larger. Excellent. Highly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Delicious as always! The food is amazing, and they never rush you. Great ambiance, fun place for date night or catching up with old friends. Highly recommend the sangria, steak with chimichurri, and traditional paella (they have several kinds, try them all!)

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food wasn't all that tasty and too expensive for the size of the dishes.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.