Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Taberna Tapas

Spanish Tapas, serving lunch & dinner.

325 West Main Street
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dinner only:
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 797-1457

Website:
http://www.tabernatapas.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Taberna Tapas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (43)
Good for a Date (26)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
See All
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Special Occasion (18)
Authentic (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Cozy (15)
Casual (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Romantic (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Fun (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Healthy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vegan (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort by
S
591 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Great dinner for 8 on short notice. Just what Tapas should be. Excellent food and great overall experience

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2018

The portions were ridiculously small and flavoring lackluster. Certainly not worth $100 for two people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on January 13, 2018

I had my birthday party at Taberna Tapas last Friday. In addition to the amazing food, they've expanded the space since I last was there which was a great investment on their part. It's a great place for business parties or any occasion that would involve a large group.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

8:15PM reservations on NYE: arrived at 8:15. Asked to sit at bar until table became ready. At 8:45, we were prepared to leave. Management asked us to be patient. One of the wait staff told us that we might as well be quiet and wait since it wasn't like we'd have anywhere else to go. Ready to leave, we were ushered to a table and felt pressured by multiple staff to stay. What a mistake.

As we were being seated, I remarked to the manager that I had previously dined at this restaurant and had great meals but felt that the staff was exceptionally rude on this night. His response was to ask us if we would feel better if he gave us drinks. I thought this was rhetorical, but he actually waited impatiently for an answer. We sat. He came back with glasses of prosecco.

Our waitress arrived and asked to take our orders. We were informed that the kitchen closes at 9:15. It was now 9:00. Honestly, why even give us a table at this point? She assumed that we'd be ready to order since we'd been waiting at the bar: we hadn't been given menus at the bar. The table next to us had a reservation for 8:45: we struck up conversation with them and they also thought it was dishonest to allow such late reservations in relation to the kitchen's closing time.

A pintxo came out first and was good. Our dessert came out next... The waitress was upset when we asked if it could be brought out later. 4 more savory dishes then came out, then same dessert was brought back. Food was decent. Dessert also came out before several savory dishes for table next to us. One of the patron's remarked that it would've been better to go to McDonald's for equitable value-to-quality. Another table was vocal in trying to get drinks delivered in timely fashion and finally gave up and had to wait for a good while before getting check and being able to blissfully leave.

One of my worst dining experiences in recent memory, having lived in Triangle for 10+ years and having dined at 100+ local restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2017

A nice atmosphere and nice service. The food was hit or miss, but the good dishes were very tasty. Skirt steak with chimichurri was delicious, the patatas bravas and croquetas de jamon were also great. Paella was good. Some tapas were under seasoned.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Excellent choices of both Tapas and Wine. The Gluten Free options are what brought us here, and they did not disappoint. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2017

While I love Tapas restaurants, Taberna left me disappointed... and my wallet quite a bit lighter.

Food:
While the food is good, the portions are very small even for Tapas standards and expensive to boot. The meatballs and croquettas were very good but the patatas bravas and gambas (which are my go-to dishes to judge a tapas joint by) were OK without much to differentiate by. A bit more spice in the former and a bit more quantity (only 4 shrimp?) in the latter would have been appreciated.

Service:
Conscientious staff. Very friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Cozy atmosphere and the short ribs and skirt steak with chimichurri sauce was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 14, 2017

Great variety in the menu items. Knowledgeable staff. Outstanding service. All our tapas items were delicious and we ordered 8 different items. A great evening.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2017

The service was slow to start, despite the fact they were practically empty, but once it got rolling it was very nice. The food was decent, but we were not terribly impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 5, 2017

First time there, food wasn’t done well, meatballs seemed frozen. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We arrived right when the restaurant opened and only had about an hour and 15 minutes to each before our show started at DPAC. The server was prompt and made sure we got all orders on time and gave good recommendations for our choice of dishes. We will return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Small but lively restaurant with energetic crowd and great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

We had dinner before a show at the DPAC, and the first thing our server did was check to see if that was the case, and she made sure we left on time for the show. Several people kept an eye on us to be sure we had all we needed, without being intrusive. The food was excellent, especially the paella. The tables are close together, very European, so not a place for a private conversation, but it added to the ambiance that we were so close to our neighbors. My only issue, and it was miner, was that I was sitting on a seam in the booth, due to the way the tables were arranged. They might want to shift the tables to avoid this. The atmosphere was very simple and minimalistic, which focused our attention on the food. We loved it and will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

Our group of 12 was seated immediately (had reservations) for lunch. My students were pleasantly surprised by the food. Everyone had a good meal while ‘stepping out of their comfort zone’ a little. My husband and I were pleased with our meals and the service. This is definitely worth a return visit.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

This is my go-to in durham for date night, friend night, new people in town, multiple dietary restrictions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Food was very good. Server had too many tables, so we had to flag her down several times to get drink refills and the next round of tapas ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Great service.Wonderful menu.
Tapas were outstanding.

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 13, 2017

We booked a table here prior to a show at DPAC. The space is small and they have attempted to cram as many people as possible at tiny tables lined up along the wall. We were seated promptly but no one came to take our order for well over 15 minutes, in fact we were contemplating leaving we had waited so long. We stayed, against our judgment, ordered food and drinks and we had consumed half of our food before we received our drinks. The tapas themselves were excellent tasting, but extremely overpriced for what we received. The plates would have been better priced at around $6 to$7 per plate, but were priced $10 to $16. Our bill was over $70 for 4 tapas, a cocktail and a beer. There are several amazing eateries around the area where our money would have been better spent and we will not be returning to Taberna Tapas in the future.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Excellent ambience, food and service. We particularly liked the group menu for 4-6 - highly recommend this on your first visit

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Taberna was great. The food was good, the service was good, the drinks were good. The space is small but comfortable and reasonably quiet. We were there on a Sunday night, were seated toward the back, and the place wasn't full, so maybe take the "quiet" part with a grain of salt. Try the bacon wrapped dates. I'm not a date fan, but we ended up having two orders of them anyway. Very good.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Made a reservation for 10 to celebrate a birthday. I confirmed the reservation for 10 that afternoon. When we arrived, there was only seating for 8. They acknowledged that the reservation was for 10 but they only had 8. The table we needed to get to 10 was given to a different couple as we arrived. We either had to wait for that couple to finish their meal or cram 10 people in a space that just barely fits. Instead of cramming in, 3 of our party decided to leave.
Love the food here and the waitstaff is always excellent but they really let us down this time. To add insult to injury that they still added a 20% tip to our bill. I will keep going back but never again will I schedule a group dinner here.

Tags: Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

The food was good, but not excellent. I loved the meatballs. Our waiter was great and I liked the mood. The restaurant feels like those in NYC in that it was a hallway turned into a restaurant. Prepare to be on top of one another. Overall, I would recommend going here, but be prepared to buy 3 tapas at 11 and up a piece to get full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Food was mostly good. One dish we ordered was Caldo Gallego, a soup from Galicia. My friend has traveled extensively in Galicia and said this soup was most definitely not Caldo Gallego. The portobello mushroom dish was too sour for my taste. Paella was very good, as was the tortilla Espanola and the flan for dessert.

Service was not so great. Food arrived before the wine, which really upset my husband. The waiter brought us glass water bottles with tap water, and his beard was so long that the bottles were resting on his beard. Who wants to drink water that has been tainted with his beard germs? They should make him cut it off. Same waiter brought our dessert to the next table instead of ours. I know because the customers were saying that they didn’t order it. So I had to yell out that it was my dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great food, great location near the Carolina Theater. Small place though and tables are tight.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner with a wide variety of dishes. Dinner was so good, we returned after the show for dessert!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Our dinner was wonderful - fresh, unique, and delicious. There were so many tapas and small plate choices that we had a hard time choosing what to order. This would be a perfect restaurant for a group of friends who would all order 2-3 plates each and everyone could taste. Choices are varied enough for all kinds of diet restrictions. We had an early pre-show reservation and were given plenty of time to enjoy our meal without rush. We enjoyed the smaller paella plates we ordered but there is a full paella that can be ordered for a group (or for two with take-home leftovers). It takes about 45 minutes to prepare and can be called in ahead. We will try that next time! Ambience is fun and lively and a little loud - it’s not the place to tell your dinner partner secrets. On a Saturday night, the restaurant was full by the time we left at 6:30 and still full after our show around 9:30. It is well worth making a reservation early!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2017

We ordered a total of 10 different tapas and all were very tasty and delicious. Good service and excellent wine. The only thing disappointing was that we had to pay for bread and it was skimpy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Taberna was the perfect place for a date night. It was a bit noisy inside, so we opted to sit outside and it was great. The food was great, but I️ can’t say enough about the service. We had interactions with at least 4 different members of the wait staff and they were all outstanding. They were friendly, helpful, and went out of their way to ensure we had a great experience. We will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2017

The food was good to very good, depending on the dish. Some of the dishes that were supposed to be served hot were luke warm at best. Twice the wrong order was served to our table and after letting the server know, several minutes later they moved the food to the table that had ordered that dish. I would have expected them to remake it, but that's just me. The noise level was very loud which wasn't so much a problem, but others should be aware that's the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Great bartender--for drinks, food suggestions and personality. Brussel sprouts were amazing--roasted to a caramelized crispness and not burned. Paella was Wonderfull--crispy rice on the bottom of the pan combined with 'al dente' throughout the rest of the dish. The shrimp was cooked just right. Chipotle honey wings were not too spicy. My 1st time there, but I will be back. I feel the price, food and service is better than other places nearby.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Excuisit as I remembered! Great wine list with reasonable prices. A fantastic Tapad menu which covers everything.
The Pallela was delicious. Spanish Quarter bottle of temperanillo was delightful . Recommend it to everyone with a wonderous pallet and love for food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Food and wine were great as usual. Service was unusually slow. Our server seemed overwhelmed so perhaps she was new. Several other servers and the hostess had to help her by bringing our food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Each dish was unique with Individual flavors that were phenomenal and very tasty. Large selection of real food and well worth the visit.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Very good food though pricey. Can get a little loud.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Very glad to have eaten here while traveling! Hope to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Everything was great. Seated at my reservation time. Drinks were strong but not too strong. Wine was great too. Food came out in a timely manner. Great great menu. Music was great. Waiters/waitresses were polite, prompt, and knowledgeable. 100% recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, People Watching, Vegan, Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Food was great. Service very poor. They left the dirty plates in front of us for a good 15 minutes. Then our server suddenly changed.
We ordered double espressos and their cups were clearly to small to hold them, therefore there was coffee spilled on all the plates. A little nasty.

Still highly recommended for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Loved the restaurant but finding it was a challenge- you have to park in the back and there was no sign showing which door was the entrance. But I would definitely go back since I now know the ropes.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.