About Taberna

125 Lincoln Ave
Suite 117
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Taberna is a spanish-style tavern with a Basque influenced menu and Spanish wine list. Taberna is a gathering place for family and friends, a cozy bar & outdoor patio where you can enjoy pintxos, draft beer, wine, & sherry.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Basque, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Winter Hours:
Breakfast/Lunch: Available for private events, custom parties.
Please contact Brian 505-983-2425

Dinner: (Daily) - 5:00pm - Close
Happy Hour: (Daily) 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
In between Marcy St. + W. Palace Ave. on Lincoln Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 988-7102

Website:
http://www.labocasf.com/taberna-about.html

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment Weekly

Catering:
Taberna is available for Private Parties, Meetings, Custom Events. Please call 505-983-2425 or email Brian Fairchild at brianf.taberna@gmail.com

Executive Chef:
James Campbell Caruso

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Taberna is available for Private Parties, Meetings, Custom Events. Please call 505-983-2425 or email Brian Fairchild at brianf.taberna@gmail.com

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Taberna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Mexico
Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
Outdoor Dining
Santa Fe / Mountains
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

fit for foodies (38)
great for outdoor dining (22)
hot spot (18)
See All
notable wine list (16)
neighborhood gem (15)
special occasion (14)
romantic (11)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
good for groups (6)
great for lunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Small, but quaint. Live music and you c ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Small, but quaint. Live music and you can still communicate. Noise level moderate. Wine list is good and the food is great. Worth taking the time try. You won't be disappointed. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed Taberna--it was a quiet eveni ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We enjoyed Taberna--it was a quiet evening there as the music hadn't started til we were ready to go. We shared the excellent paella, spanish cheeseboard and the artichokes. Friends enjoyed wine and dessert. Pleasant dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining and fun to order numerous d ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great dining and fun to order numerous different plate to try and to share. Though sometimes, the sharing part is hard!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my second visit to Taberna, the ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This was my second visit to Taberna, the first being over a year ago. The tapas are excellent, although I seem to remember Taberna having a larger selection of tapas to choose from on my previous visit. The meatballs, ribs, artichokes and shrimp were excellent, and they have an extensive wine menu. The service was professional and welcoming, and the ambience of the restaurant is modern rustic, fitting well with the menu. I highly recommend this place for foodies, tapas lover like me, or novices--there is a lot to choose from the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Although I really wanted to like this pl ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Although I really wanted to like this place, because I love tapas and a chill atmosphere to enjoy good beer and wine, especially during the summer, I can't really recommend it, at least not based on my food experience. The good is that the patio is nice, and it's in an internal area, so there isn't traffic noise, and there's a decent amount of outdoor seats so that you can get a spot outside if you want one. Also, the service was impeccable: friendly without seeming forced or overly flattering, and very promt in clearing dishes, refilling water, etc. The bad? The food was underwhelming. I don't think that the price point is outrageous for the small plates, and the ingredients are high quality and individually delicious, but the flavors don't tie together like they should at a good restaurant, which Taberna tries to pass itself off as. I think that the main culprits are likely under-salting and lack of using adequate acidity (lime or vinegars would've helped), especially with bold Latin food that's for summer. Thought it wasn't nearly as noticeable to me, some textural contrast would've also helped, perhaps in the form of crisp jicama or crisper/thicker red cabbage slices. Something like thinly-sliced green mango would solve both the tart and crisp shortcomings. When eating the fish tacos and the fried avocado topped with salsa and quale egg, the food tasted the same when you ate the pieces separately as when you ate them together :/ The chicharrones were somehow simultaneously dry but not crunchy at all (though I still enjoyed them, because fatty pork is tasty, almost no matter what). At least in my opinion, this isn't how it should be, since, especially if I'm going out to eat, I want there to be synergy in the foods that's just delicious.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful as always

Dined on June 5, 2016

James Campbell, chef/owner, continues to deliver. The menu was sufficiently different from our visit two months ago to make the selection exciting. What impressed us most was the waiter who had served us two months ago and remembered what wine we had ordered and liked.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Great food. Horrible Service.

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

It was my husband and I's last night in Santa Fe. We made a dinner reservation at Taberna. The service was so bad we ordered two appetizers and went across the street to il Piatto for dinner. (Example: The couple seated next to us waited nearly half an hour for dessert. The waitress had forgotten about it.) If Taberna expects a couple to spend $100+ on dinner, they better up their game.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Tapas Succeed

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our first time to this relatively new tapas restaurant in Santa Fe. It was terrific. Every single dish was really, really good. It is a great place for a group that wants to spend time together and share food, literally. We will definitely go again and recommend this to others. The service was a little slow, but then we ordered in waves, and the place was fairly busy that night. Waiters and waitresses were all nice and helpful in getting us what we wanted quickly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Spanish guitar music. At least th ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Great Spanish guitar music. At least three wines we chose were sold out.

food5
ambience4
service4

Really good food.

Dined on May 26, 2016

Really good food.

food3
ambience2
service2

We heard wonderful things about this pla ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

We heard wonderful things about this place. The food was mixed..some of it very good some of it just ok. The service was very very slow despite the fact it wasn't super busy on a Monday night. Something seemed to be off at both of the tables adjacent to us as well...one table commenting that their last course of tapas had been forgotten about. Another table waiting a long time for their check. Maybe it was an off night. We love the other tapas restaurant I believe run by same owner la boca. We will give this place another chance but it was our most mediocre restaurant of our trip.

food4
ambience3
service3

Taberna is always fun, with very tasty s ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Taberna is always fun, with very tasty small bites and an enjoyable wine list. This night there was flamenco music and a dancer, which added to the experience. Service was good and our server was knowledgeable about the food and wines.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Santa Fe

Dined on May 7, 2016

We loved this place. Everything we tasted was wonderful. Interesting favors, well presented and tasted as good as it looks. Wine list was excellent. Good choice of wine by the glass as well. Waiter was knowledgable and accommodated our request to split a larger dish. During our week in Santa Fe we ate at some highly ranked restaurants including the one on Csnyon road. Tabs era was better!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tapas done right

Dined on May 5, 2016

We have enjoyed La Boca in prior trips to Santa Fe, so we were very excited to try this new restaurant (for us) by the same owner/chef. It did not disappoint! We enjoyed a number of excellent Tapas treats and wonderful wine...and the dessert was superb...We will definitely recommend this spot to our friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Hoppin' place; ok food, wine; friendly service

Dined on May 1, 2016

Gotta say the fried avocado in the salad had a unique taste and texture; nice combination. And the shrimp had a good flavor but needed some bread to sop of the broth. The mushroom flat bread was unremarkable but the bbq ribs with kimchi were ample and had that tangy vinegar flavor. Big wine list; yes, a bit pricey. Enjoyed the music though it was pretty loud.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun Small Plates

Dined on April 30, 2016

I went with three friends and we had an excellent experience. The space is small and there was a performer so we did have some trouble talking, but we all three enjoyed each one of the six dishes we tried. None of us had tried chicarrones before and we were all very taken with Taberna's version. I also loved the artichoke hearts. The servers were friendly and knowledgeable. I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Taberna...small, interesting spot

Dined on April 24, 2016

The four members of our girls reunion went to Taberna after we were unable to get a reservation at our desired time at the adjacent (sister?) restaurant. It was a rather cold evening and the door was propped open. We were seated at a four-top just inside the door, and the hostess offered to close the door for our comfort (we were later asked if we'd mind if the door was opened because it became too hot inside the little restaurant). It is a small restaurant with crowded tables and chairs close together; people were lively (everyone talking loudly to be heard within their party) and not much room to move around. There was a duo singing and playing guitars on a small stage (where was the tip jar?); the music was good but added to the overall noise level. The wine list and food menu were rather limited, but there were also a few special items and many were quite interesting and appealing. My branzino Veracrunzana (a mild whitefish topped with tomatoes, capers, green olives and green peppers) was delicious and I highly recommend it! One member of our group specifically inquired about spiciness and was advised against several dishes that had a high "heat" level. However, the dish that was suggested, specifically described as without any hot chilis or spiciness proved to be so "hot" that our guest politely sent it back. Of the other dishes, the meals were tasty and satisfying. All in all it is a place I'd like to return to for another meal.

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Tabernacle is good but not as good as La Boca

Dined on April 18, 2016

Taberna is La Boca's second restaurant and it is located on the same block as La Boca. The food is mostly tapas and it is very good. Wine selection and service also are very good. However, the restaurant's ambiance leaves something to be desired. It looks like an old converted pizza place. It also lacks the energy and the more extensive menu that is seen at La Boca. So, although we had a good meal at Taberna, our next visit will be to La Boca.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great music good food

Dined on April 17, 2016

They had great Latin music in a fun atmosphere. Food was tapas. It was OK but doesn't match the quality of his other restaurant La Boca which is excellent.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Mild Appeal

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great live music. Very small restaurant with limited, crowded indoor seating options. Make a reservation if prefer table over bar. Food was relatively disappointing. Taste was unremarkable for all but one dish. Presentation of food good. Decent number of options. Overall I prefer progressive Latin in other cities and would have rathered another restaurants southwestern cuisine interpretation. Mostly sweeter wine options. I had sangria as well and was pleasantly surprised, I've definitely had worse and kind of expected it to be a disappointment as well at that point. Maitre D' was very kind and welcoming. Waiter seemed overwhelmed and sort of unfamiliar with restaurant items. Crowd seemed middle-aged. Worth a try but my personal opinion is, it's either hit or miss. The menu online is not always the most recent.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on April 16, 2016

I love Taberna. The ambience is upbeat often with live music. The tapas are delicious. Happy hour from 5-6 is a great deal. Excellent choices of wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Birthday

Dined on April 10, 2016

Always great food full of flavors. went there with my wife for her birthday and enjoyed the meal, wine and dessert. Still one of my favorite spot in Santa Fe. the Taberna Salad with fried avocado, grilled artichokes, roasted tomato is definitively one to share.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Had a lovely lunch which was overall pre ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Had a lovely lunch which was overall prepared well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

One of my favorite places in all of Santa Fe with small number of tables allows to kitchen to focus on careful preparation. Try to go there when they have the monthly Flamenco Show.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The salads and other dishes are very cre ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The salads and other dishes are very creative and delicious. The ambiance would be better without the music, which was not on par with the very good cuisine.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing small plate dining

Dined on March 16, 2016

Each of our courses was a delight. I highly recommend the Peruvian Noodle Soup -- the spicy noodles we a wonderful contrast to the shrimp. The artichokes we very tasty. We finished with the warm Walnut cake -- every dish that we tried was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious Food with stunning singer Jesus Bas

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

My sweetheart and I ordered a few dishes with a bottle of red wine from Spain and really loved both. Moreover, the guitarist singer Jesus Bas put tears in my eyes with his angel voice and perfect guitar playing: we lived the mariachi movie lived and highly recommend both. Bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

food can be great or very bad.

Dined on February 15, 2016

I am a local. Lately, I have been disappointed with some of the small plates. A few are great but many are not. The service is good as is the wine and ambience. I will return for the few plates I enjoy.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding! Always a fav of ours, but ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Outstanding! Always a fav of ours, but even better with some new & different menu items. The shrimp with jicama/ green apple slaw was to die for! Wonderful blending of spicy & cooling flavors! If you haven't tried Taberna - - - don't ! (We want to still be able to get in 😉!!)

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Old favorite

Dined on February 14, 2016

We have been going to Taberna for years now. There is one particular waiter who we seem to get often that does an outstanding job. The food is always good and the atmosphere is delightful! It is one of our comfort spots in town. We will surely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First class in every way

Dined on February 13, 2016

We are regulars for James Campbell Caruso's amazing Tapa offerings and Jesus Bas guitar and singing. The staff is fast, amazing friendly and willing to stop and talk food and wine anytime. The best evening every time we go.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I have eaten at Taberna many times befor ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

I have eaten at Taberna many times before. While the food was good as always. We were really quite rushed by the waiter. I couldn't figure out why as it was a Thursday night and there were others in the restaurant. It was really sad to have this experience at one of our favorite restaura nts and will make me think twice about going next time. Took the wind out of our Taberna sails.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Used to love it

Dined on January 3, 2016

We used to love this restaurant. We would go about once a month. We went for my birthday on Ssturday evening, and not only had the prices been raised again, but we recieved horrible service. The server was friendly enough. It is just that it took 20 minutes to even get a beverage and the restaurant was not that full. We don't mind paying for a great experience, but this place is no longer worth the cost.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Taberna

Dined on January 2, 2016

The food and service was great. The place is very small and so seating is tight. Don't sit in the airway path from the door during winter because it's cold. Fortunately, there was no live music when I was there because it would get very loud. They play a lot of spanish guitar but still, the place is so small, it would be loud. I would go there for the food, not the scene/music because the food is great and I don't care about the scene. The fundito is really unusual, the ribs were great, and the artichokes are really good. The drink menu is excellent and can run expensive, but even the cheaper items are well thought out and pair nicely with the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. Good energy. Good entertainme ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Good food. Good energy. Good entertainment.

food4
ambience4
service5

Could be San Francisco, London, Florence or....

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

Pumped up crowd, music, great small bites, unusual wines

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

La Cumbre Dinner

Dined on December 11, 2015

I thought the Chef did a marvelous job. It was a delightful dinner with excellent beer pairings. Our waitperson was wonderful and added to the total experience. Excellent and inventive food, excellent and attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great find

Dined on December 4, 2015

First time to this restaurant, was a great experience. The staff was friendly and helpful. The wine was delicious. But nothing compaired to the food, which was outstanding. It was easy to find and comfortable inside. I will definately be heading back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1

Insulting staff. Terrible experience. Wo ...

Dined on November 22, 2015

Insulting staff. Terrible experience. Would not recommend.

food4
ambience3
service4

Delicious Tapas

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

We really enjoyed the food here, and perhaps especially liked the blood orange sangria. Yum!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.