About Symons Roadhouse

14555 Symons Valley Road NW
Calgary, AB T3R 1E7
View Larger Map

"Contemporary Comfort Food" Great Steaks, Smoking Southern BBQ, Classic Roadhouse Dishes, Family Fare & Outstanding Brunch. Great Events & Catering

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian, Steak, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Closed
Tuesday- BBQ Buffet only 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Wednesday- 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Thursday- 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday- 11:00am- 11:00pm
Saturday- 10:00am-11:00pm
Sunday- 10:00am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
144th AVE NW, Calgary Ab

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(587) 296-4986

Website:
http://www.symonsroadhouse.com/

Public Transit:
Disembark Transit Bus 425 on the corner of Symons Valley Road NW & 144 Ave NW (2 minute walk north to the restaurant)

Executive Chef:
Kevin Turner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
brad@symonsroadhouse.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Symons Roadhouse, Calgary, AB
  • Symons Roadhouse, Calgary, AB
Symons Roadhouse, Calgary, AB
Symons Roadhouse, Calgary, AB

Specials

Smoked Wing Wednesday $5 Beer and Wine

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Smoked Wing Wednesday $5 Beer and Wine

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Come enjoy our Memphis Rubbed and (In-House) Smoked Chicken Wings! 1/2 price Wings, $5 Beer, $5 Wine. All night. Excludes Tax and Tip. Please visit our Symons Roadhouse on Facebook for more details. Special valid Oct 7, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Symons Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
See All
Casual (9)
Historic (8)
Family Style (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Authentic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Cozy (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, amazing friendly staff and l ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, amazing friendly staff and large portions.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Fun, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Historic, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately our experience was not goo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Unfortunately our experience was not good. We had the steak sandwich and the meat was very tough and tasteless. My son had the burger and he said it was very good. The service was very good and the staff are friendly.

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The best brisket I've found in this city ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 7 days ago

The best brisket I've found in this city. The chef clearly takes pride in each plate served. Why spend an equal amount at an overpriced, underwhelming restaurant like earls or joeys for a "nice" night out, when symons valley road house exists. Try it out, and I promise you will not be disappointed. A true gem of the burbs. Must experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fabulous country favourite foods. Crispy ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fabulous country favourite foods. Crispy chicken, ribeye steak, jumbalia - and don't forget the poutine - are all amazing. Top the evening off with the sticky toffee pudding and everyone will be wowed! This is a casual, western atmosphere where family and friends can meet.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Kid-friendly, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Ate the Lobster Poutine; very tasty!

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Ate the Lobster Poutine; very tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Not up to their usual standard. Food was ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Not up to their usual standard. Food was slow arriving. Not enough wait staff. Corn fritters ( our appetizer) were over cooked and dried out. Our pre dinner cocktails took forever to arrive even thou it wasn't that busy. Also, they were over priced. My steak was cold-had it sent back to get it warmed up. Not up to the usual quality that we have experienced previously.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I had dined here in the past, and I good ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I had dined here in the past, and I good memories, so I did not hesitate recommending this restaurant for our Saturday Brunch. I am sorry to say, I was gravely disappointed and embarrassed that I chose this spot. The service was beyond poor, and the food was mediocre. I was also very surprised at the lack of other diners at lunch time. Due to the extremely poor service, I will not be going back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Great service, fun location and good atm ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great service, fun location and good atmosphere. The food is very good and we like the comfortable location the Roadhouse offers.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great Beer, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I used to like this restaurant and have ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I used to like this restaurant and have introduced family and friends to it. My experience the other night was horrific. The bar service was comical and the food was either overcooked or undercooked to the extent that it was barely edible. The restaurant was not busy; there were six customers. The excuse for the bar and kitchen shortcomings was that the staff were "in training". They appeared to be unsupervised and we, the victims of incompetence. The thermostat was also unsupervised and our party were forced to wear outer garments to retain body heat. There seemed to be a general disregard for the customer despite a valiant attempt by our server to salvage the experience. The event was off-putting to the extent that I will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Really enjoyed our meal, and the service ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Really enjoyed our meal, and the service was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good service manager was friendly. Price ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Good service manager was friendly. Prices were good

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I was really impressed with the service ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I was really impressed with the service and the atmosphere of the restaurant. The prices were excellent and I was impressed you could have a beer and a glass of wine all night for $5.00. It was a nice touch the manager came and talked to us too. I will surely recommend this restaurant to my friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service!We had the crispy chicken ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great service!We had the crispy chicken and Chocolate Pecan pie...very good!Will try the Lobster Poutine next time!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place to bring friends and family! ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great place to bring friends and family! Come here quite often.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buffet was basic, fewer options than exp ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Buffet was basic, fewer options than expected based on previously posted menus. Was a cold evening bringing a very light crowd. Hope for better experience next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Stopped at the roadhouse on the way to t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Stopped at the roadhouse on the way to the airport after a weekend with the family in Banff. Had the BBQ brisket and half a mac n cheese. Everything on the table was excellent. Gin cocktails too. Got a look at the smokehouse on the way out. What a unit.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The service and food was amazing. We wer ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The service and food was amazing. We were greeted with friendly staff. Arrived at 12:15pm expecting it to be busy but it wasn't at all. From beginning to end, everything was good. We didn't have to wait long for our food and refills on coffee. I would definitely come back to check out dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was just okay. We ordere ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 5, 2016

This restaurant was just okay. We ordered the corn fritters, beef brisket and pork shoulder. The meat was cooked well but there was barely any sauce. For a BBQ joint, we thought this was odd. The sticky toffee pudding was excellent. After we finished dessert, we were still working on our cocktails (not good) and the waitress gave us a bill and a machine and stood over us to pay right away. We felt very rushed, like we were not supposed to be there. There are better BBQ places for a better price. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Wildly over priced for the building. It ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Wildly over priced for the building. It is basically a country pub which has the city grow around it; If I am going to drop $26 for a small steak it would not be in a bar. The salad was between 13 and 16 dollars and was quite small for the money, for $13 you get a wedge of iceberg lettuce with blue cheese dressing on it and a bit of onion and cilantro... maybe at the Salt Lick or Ruths Cris,

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

First of all , the staff was amazing . ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 31, 2016

First of all , the staff was amazing . Service was great. The drink I ordered Was very nice . The pasta on buffet night was way overcooked, too much butter and the taste matched the looks. The beans were delicious, good variety of meats , bbq sauce was good And so was their salad and potatoes.. Maybe another choice of salad and starch would be nice. Some more kid friendly dessert like ice cream, jello etc. The bread was very dry. Some coffee/tea at the buffet would be great . I live close to the restaurant and would love to try their regular menu . Supporting locals is Very important to me.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The time we booked was unavailable on Op ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The time we booked was unavailable on Open Table...were done early at our appointment and drove there arriving 45 minutes early...lots of seating available for the time we originally wanted...not certain if I would book through Open Table again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a miss understanding regarding th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a miss understanding regarding the tip this turned out to be our misunderstanding the manger Brad was quick to respond to our concern and sort things out we are very impressed with the manager and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointing. I didn't want beef so I c ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Disappointing. I didn't want beef so I chose the pasta. It was stodgy and my friend's jambalaya didn't look much better. Appetiser was good (mussels) and the wine choice was okay but the waitress knew nothing and just banged the bottle down in front of me rather than pour out a taster! That was quite funny but not appropriate considering the price level. Probably won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Simply awesome! Dark and stormy was made ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Simply awesome! Dark and stormy was made perfectly. Brisket was amazing and so was the Crispy Chicken (my favorite). I was a little surprised our Mac and Cheese was not macaroni but penne. Overall, this was an awesome experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

tuesday buffet is a must try. regular me ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 19, 2016

tuesday buffet is a must try.

regular menu found the brisket dry. and jumbalaya overpowered with salty fish taste?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food , good service , have been b ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food , good service , have been before and always great meal. Great value

good job Kevin

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great atmosphere and friendly staff. It ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Its great to have something unique like this restaurant in the NW of Calgary.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. Loved the unique Roadhouse a ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great food. Loved the unique Roadhouse atmosphere. Excellent choice for family and friends anytime.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A good food and drink menu combined with ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 16, 2016

A good food and drink menu combined with poor execution. Friendly staff but the restaurant struggled to get drinks out in a reasonably short amount of time. We were asked for our dinner orders twice before we received our pre dinner cocktails. When the food came, one plate was hot while one was warm at best, indicating one dish was on the counter while the other one was being prepared. Overall, not a good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The only option was a buffet and it was ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 13, 2016

The only option was a buffet and it was cold. The last time we were there was a year and a half ago and we had a great experience. This instance fell far short of expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Great food. Great service. When they fi ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food. Great service. When they first opened they used to have a great wine list. Given the tough economic times they have scaled it down considerably. When my husband mentioned that it was the only thing he was disappointed in, they offered a corkage fee. What a fabulous way to please your customer!!

We will go back often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

GO .. if you've never been! This place i ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 26, 2016

GO .. if you've never been! This place is one of our favourite restaurants. We took friends and they loved it as much as we did. I decided to try something new - I love their ribeye but decided to try the bbq beef brisket and wasn't disappointed. My husband raved over the pork shoulder with perogies. One of our friends had the beef tenderloin which was cooked exactly as requested and that pleased her immensely. Our other friend had the steak sandwich which he thoroughly enjoyed. Always too full for dessert but well worth it if you can manage it. The staff is fantastic as well. I highly recommend this place!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have tried this restaurant a few time ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 24, 2016

We have tried this restaurant a few times now and it seems to always disappoint. The quality of the food doesn't justify the price point. Wouldn't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Father's Day Brunch was exceptional with ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day Brunch was exceptional with special senior rates offered. - Casual and western ambiance makes it relaxing and interesting. Service shows this restaurant really cares about your experience. So good to get out of the city with its parking issues. Lots of choice at the buffet. Will come back with friends for brunch or dinner for sure. Handy to visit the market after on the weekends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointment - I've been to this resta ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Disappointment - I've been to this restaurant previously and received excellent service and great food but this time around, our prime rib didn't have the bone in, was over-cooked and mussels were smaller than expected. We had wanted the lobster poutine but the restaurant ran out of lobster and was told that they were substituting the lobster with shrimp. When asked if we would be charged the same price for the value of lobster, the waitress was rude and unprofessional. Not sure if the waitress was having a bad day, but she never introduced herself to us (we don't know her name), after we asked her several times to refill our water, she came back with a jug and refused to top us off so we did it ourselves. She rarely smiled and when I presented her with my Opentable certificate, she almost made it seem like it was her who was paying for our meal. Definitely will not return unless the food and service improves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Our server was attentive and friendly an ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server was attentive and friendly and did a good job.

As it was a Saturday when we were there, the only option was brunch. Somewhat limited in that regard however the food was tasty and when we brought a slight problem forward, the server had the item removed from our bill. That was appreciated.

Will be a repeat customer.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Appetizers were excellent. Entrees dropp ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Appetizers were excellent. Entrees dropped the ball. Smoked brisket served in chunks and not thinly sliced. Lacked smoky flavour and seasoning. Same with pork shoulder. Sides were unremarkable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Went there for my birthday & really enjo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Went there for my birthday & really enjoyed it. The food was fantastic. They forgot one of our entree's but I did appreciate the fact the waitress admitted it & said the chef would have it out in 4 minutes - it was and was cooked perfectly . I still think we should of been offered a free desert but oh well it was still very good & we'll be going back for another try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Tuesday night buffet

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 1, 2016

Buffet selection was limited, only one dessert . We felt it was a bit costly for what was offered. Reduce the price to $20 from 26 and you will attract more customers. Service was excellent and food was tasty . A cool western vibe! Very unique!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Brunch at Symons Valley Roadhouse

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great spot to have brunch. Takes reservations. No wAiting in line. Food was fresh and delicious. Caesars were generously garnished and spicy. Eggs Benedict with salmon was cooked perfectly. Potatoes were addictive and we had to eat them all. Sat outside in the patio and enjoyed a lovely morning. Staff was gracious and efficient. Well worth a trip from the far south end of the city.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.