About Symons Roadhouse

14555 Symons Valley Road NW
Calgary, AB T3R 1E7
View Larger Map

"Contemporary Comfort Food" Great Steaks, Smoking Southern BBQ, Classic Roadhouse Dishes, Family Fare & Outstanding Brunch. Great Events & Catering

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian, Steak, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Closed
Tuesday- BBQ Buffet 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Wednesday- 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Thursday- 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday- 11:00am- 11:00pm
Saturday- 10:00am-11:00pm
Sunday- 10:00am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
144th AVE NW, Calgary Ab

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(587) 296-4986

Website:
http://www.symonsroadhouse.com/

Public Transit:
Disembark Transit Bus 425 on the corner of Symons Valley Road NW & 144 Ave NW (2 minute walk north to the restaurant)

Executive Chef:
Kevin Turner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
brad@symonsroadhouse.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Symons Roadhouse
  • Symons Roadhouse
Symons Roadhouse
Symons Roadhouse

Symons Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Kid-friendly (15)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Romantic (5)
Scenic View (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Buffet was basic, fewer options than exp ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Buffet was basic, fewer options than expected based on previously posted menus. Was a cold evening bringing a very light crowd. Hope for better experience next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Stopped at the roadhouse on the way to t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Stopped at the roadhouse on the way to the airport after a weekend with the family in Banff. Had the BBQ brisket and half a mac n cheese. Everything on the table was excellent. Gin cocktails too. Got a look at the smokehouse on the way out. What a unit.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The service and food was amazing. We wer ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The service and food was amazing. We were greeted with friendly staff. Arrived at 12:15pm expecting it to be busy but it wasn't at all. From beginning to end, everything was good. We didn't have to wait long for our food and refills on coffee. I would definitely come back to check out dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was just okay. We ordere ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This restaurant was just okay. We ordered the corn fritters, beef brisket and pork shoulder. The meat was cooked well but there was barely any sauce. For a BBQ joint, we thought this was odd. The sticky toffee pudding was excellent. After we finished dessert, we were still working on our cocktails (not good) and the waitress gave us a bill and a machine and stood over us to pay right away. We felt very rushed, like we were not supposed to be there. There are better BBQ places for a better price. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Wildly over priced for the building. It ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Wildly over priced for the building. It is basically a country pub which has the city grow around it; If I am going to drop $26 for a small steak it would not be in a bar. The salad was between 13 and 16 dollars and was quite small for the money, for $13 you get a wedge of iceberg lettuce with blue cheese dressing on it and a bit of onion and cilantro... maybe at the Salt Lick or Ruths Cris,

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

First of all , the staff was amazing . ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

First of all , the staff was amazing . Service was great. The drink I ordered Was very nice . The pasta on buffet night was way overcooked, too much butter and the taste matched the looks. The beans were delicious, good variety of meats , bbq sauce was good And so was their salad and potatoes.. Maybe another choice of salad and starch would be nice. Some more kid friendly dessert like ice cream, jello etc. The bread was very dry. Some coffee/tea at the buffet would be great . I live close to the restaurant and would love to try their regular menu . Supporting locals is Very important to me.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The time we booked was unavailable on Op ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The time we booked was unavailable on Open Table...were done early at our appointment and drove there arriving 45 minutes early...lots of seating available for the time we originally wanted...not certain if I would book through Open Table again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a miss understanding regarding th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a miss understanding regarding the tip this turned out to be our misunderstanding the manger Brad was quick to respond to our concern and sort things out we are very impressed with the manager and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointing. I didn't want beef so I c ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Disappointing. I didn't want beef so I chose the pasta. It was stodgy and my friend's jambalaya didn't look much better. Appetiser was good (mussels) and the wine choice was okay but the waitress knew nothing and just banged the bottle down in front of me rather than pour out a taster! That was quite funny but not appropriate considering the price level. Probably won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Simply awesome! Dark and stormy was made ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Simply awesome! Dark and stormy was made perfectly. Brisket was amazing and so was the Crispy Chicken (my favorite). I was a little surprised our Mac and Cheese was not macaroni but penne. Overall, this was an awesome experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

tuesday buffet is a must try. regular me ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

tuesday buffet is a must try.

regular menu found the brisket dry. and jumbalaya overpowered with salty fish taste?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food , good service , have been b ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food , good service , have been before and always great meal. Great value

good job Kevin

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great atmosphere and friendly staff. It ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Its great to have something unique like this restaurant in the NW of Calgary.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. Loved the unique Roadhouse a ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great food. Loved the unique Roadhouse atmosphere. Excellent choice for family and friends anytime.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A good food and drink menu combined with ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A good food and drink menu combined with poor execution. Friendly staff but the restaurant struggled to get drinks out in a reasonably short amount of time. We were asked for our dinner orders twice before we received our pre dinner cocktails. When the food came, one plate was hot while one was warm at best, indicating one dish was on the counter while the other one was being prepared. Overall, not a good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The only option was a buffet and it was ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The only option was a buffet and it was cold. The last time we were there was a year and a half ago and we had a great experience. This instance fell far short of expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Great food. Great service. When they fi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food. Great service. When they first opened they used to have a great wine list. Given the tough economic times they have scaled it down considerably. When my husband mentioned that it was the only thing he was disappointed in, they offered a corkage fee. What a fabulous way to please your customer!!

We will go back often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

GO .. if you've never been! This place i ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

GO .. if you've never been! This place is one of our favourite restaurants. We took friends and they loved it as much as we did. I decided to try something new - I love their ribeye but decided to try the bbq beef brisket and wasn't disappointed. My husband raved over the pork shoulder with perogies. One of our friends had the beef tenderloin which was cooked exactly as requested and that pleased her immensely. Our other friend had the steak sandwich which he thoroughly enjoyed. Always too full for dessert but well worth it if you can manage it. The staff is fantastic as well. I highly recommend this place!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have tried this restaurant a few time ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We have tried this restaurant a few times now and it seems to always disappoint. The quality of the food doesn't justify the price point. Wouldn't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Father's Day Brunch was exceptional with ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day Brunch was exceptional with special senior rates offered. - Casual and western ambiance makes it relaxing and interesting. Service shows this restaurant really cares about your experience. So good to get out of the city with its parking issues. Lots of choice at the buffet. Will come back with friends for brunch or dinner for sure. Handy to visit the market after on the weekends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointment - I've been to this resta ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Disappointment - I've been to this restaurant previously and received excellent service and great food but this time around, our prime rib didn't have the bone in, was over-cooked and mussels were smaller than expected. We had wanted the lobster poutine but the restaurant ran out of lobster and was told that they were substituting the lobster with shrimp. When asked if we would be charged the same price for the value of lobster, the waitress was rude and unprofessional. Not sure if the waitress was having a bad day, but she never introduced herself to us (we don't know her name), after we asked her several times to refill our water, she came back with a jug and refused to top us off so we did it ourselves. She rarely smiled and when I presented her with my Opentable certificate, she almost made it seem like it was her who was paying for our meal. Definitely will not return unless the food and service improves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Our server was attentive and friendly an ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server was attentive and friendly and did a good job.

As it was a Saturday when we were there, the only option was brunch. Somewhat limited in that regard however the food was tasty and when we brought a slight problem forward, the server had the item removed from our bill. That was appreciated.

Will be a repeat customer.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Appetizers were excellent. Entrees dropp ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Appetizers were excellent. Entrees dropped the ball. Smoked brisket served in chunks and not thinly sliced. Lacked smoky flavour and seasoning. Same with pork shoulder. Sides were unremarkable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Went there for my birthday & really enjo ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Went there for my birthday & really enjoyed it. The food was fantastic. They forgot one of our entree's but I did appreciate the fact the waitress admitted it & said the chef would have it out in 4 minutes - it was and was cooked perfectly . I still think we should of been offered a free desert but oh well it was still very good & we'll be going back for another try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Tuesday night buffet

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Buffet selection was limited, only one dessert . We felt it was a bit costly for what was offered. Reduce the price to $20 from 26 and you will attract more customers. Service was excellent and food was tasty . A cool western vibe! Very unique!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Brunch at Symons Valley Roadhouse

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great spot to have brunch. Takes reservations. No wAiting in line. Food was fresh and delicious. Caesars were generously garnished and spicy. Eggs Benedict with salmon was cooked perfectly. Potatoes were addictive and we had to eat them all. Sat outside in the patio and enjoyed a lovely morning. Staff was gracious and efficient. Well worth a trip from the far south end of the city.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant continues to be our fami ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This restaurant continues to be our family's favourite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The special pork burger was phenomenal

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The special pork burger was phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Lunch last week. Food was awesome ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great Lunch last week. Food was awesome, service great, rustic decour and ranch atmosphere is unique. We'll be back for dinner and drinks with friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, food was amazing, and service ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

As always, food was amazing, and service very good. They go out of their way to make sure you have a memorable dining experience. Loved the BBQ chicken pizza -- 1/2 price wings - delicious and finally enjoyed a caesar salad made to perfection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Gem of a restaraunt.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Food is fantastic, as is the service and atmosphere. My sons favourite place to go for dinner and dessert with a more mature atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there for Mothers Day Brunch. It ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there for Mothers Day Brunch. It was really well done. From the moment we walked in the door until the moment we left the service was incredible, food and drinks were great. Symons Roadhouse never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Over rated

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch was very disappointing, food selection was poor and it took so long for it to come out. Mothers Day Brunch was a fail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We went there for their Mothers Day Buff ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went there for their Mothers Day Buffet.

Very poor selection of food, the food that they did have out was cold (due to one stereo burner for every two trays)

Service was fair to poor. We were very disappointed.

We won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Amazing Service! Great Atmosphere!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was wonderful! Brunch menu was a tiny bit limited, but the food was delicious! The atmosphere is adorable: fun, cozy but open, perfect for the weekend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wing Night

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We met a group of friends for drinks on wing night and while we waited for them to join us, we ordered a BBQ chicken flat bread pizza. It was very tasty. The wings are smoked so not what you would get at a bar for wing night but they were good. (Our group was a little disappointed that you couldn't get any dipping sauces besides the dill sauce that is served with it). We felt the food was a little costly for the amount served but will just try something different the next time. Our waiter was very entertaining and very accommodating to our group. We are looking forward to trying the BBQ Buffet night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Experience at Symons Roadhouse

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was quite good however the service was extremely slow. Felt they forgot about us for not only appetizers but also main course. We wanted to have dessert but after slow service we skipped dessert because we couldn't stand waiting for it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Excellent Food and Atmosphere

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I've been to the Symons Valley Roadhouse a few times now and every time it has been great and exceeded my expectations. The staff is very friendly, attentive and funny. The food has been amazing every time for everyone I've dined with there. The ribeye is the best I've ever had and that's saying something. I can't recommend it highly enough. The atmosphere is also great. From the lighting to the tables and the antiques, it is very unique and has a great ranch/homey feel to it. The tables appear to be all antique and well loved (but in good shape) in their previous life and they are all different shape, sizes and styles. It sounds like it would clash, but works very well. All I can say is if you haven't been to this gem of a restaurant you need too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday night out

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We were eight friends eating at the roadhouse. The table was not ready although a reservation was made. No steelhead trout available, cider to drink and their last pound of muscles which was ordered but waitress dropped then.

All food was great that was order, received and eaten.

Service was a little slow and the manager took the price of the appies off the bill at the end of the night and apologized which was a nice gesture.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

My husband and I love coming here! The f ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I love coming here! The food is delicious and the service is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.