About Symons Roadhouse

14555 Symons Valley Road NW
Calgary, AB T3R 1E7
View Larger Map

"Contemporary Comfort Food" Great Steaks, Smoking Southern BBQ, Classic Roadhouse Dishes, Family Fare & Outstanding Brunch. Great Events & Catering

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Contemporary Canadian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Closed
Tuesday- Southern BBQ Buffet only 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Wednesday- 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Thursday- 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday- 11:00am- 11:00pm
Saturday- 10:00am-11:00pm
Sunday- 10:00am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
144th AVE NW, Calgary Ab

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(587) 296-4986

Website:
http://www.symonsroadhouse.com/

Public Transit:
Disembark Transit Bus 425 on the corner of Symons Valley Road NW & 144 Ave NW (2 minute walk north to the restaurant)

Executive Chef:
Kevin Turner

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
brad@symonsroadhouse.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Symons Roadhouse
  • Symons Roadhouse
Symons Roadhouse
Symons Roadhouse

Symons Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (35)
good for groups (32)
fit for foodies (23)
See All
kid-friendly (22)
special occasion (20)
great for brunch (15)
great for outdoor dining (14)
great for lunch (9)
scenic view (6)
romantic (4)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
276 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A good food and drink menu combined with ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A good food and drink menu combined with poor execution. Friendly staff but the restaurant struggled to get drinks out in a reasonably short amount of time. We were asked for our dinner orders twice before we received our pre dinner cocktails. When the food came, one plate was hot while one was warm at best, indicating one dish was on the counter while the other one was being prepared. Overall, not a good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The only option was a buffet and it was ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The only option was a buffet and it was cold. The last time we were there was a year and a half ago and we had a great experience. This instance fell far short of expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Great food. Great service. When they fi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food. Great service. When they first opened they used to have a great wine list. Given the tough economic times they have scaled it down considerably. When my husband mentioned that it was the only thing he was disappointed in, they offered a corkage fee. What a fabulous way to please your customer!!

We will go back often.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

GO .. if you've never been! This place i ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

GO .. if you've never been! This place is one of our favourite restaurants. We took friends and they loved it as much as we did. I decided to try something new - I love their ribeye but decided to try the bbq beef brisket and wasn't disappointed. My husband raved over the pork shoulder with perogies. One of our friends had the beef tenderloin which was cooked exactly as requested and that pleased her immensely. Our other friend had the steak sandwich which he thoroughly enjoyed. Always too full for dessert but well worth it if you can manage it. The staff is fantastic as well. I highly recommend this place!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have tried this restaurant a few time ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We have tried this restaurant a few times now and it seems to always disappoint. The quality of the food doesn't justify the price point. Wouldn't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Father's Day Brunch was exceptional with ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day Brunch was exceptional with special senior rates offered. - Casual and western ambiance makes it relaxing and interesting. Service shows this restaurant really cares about your experience. So good to get out of the city with its parking issues. Lots of choice at the buffet. Will come back with friends for brunch or dinner for sure. Handy to visit the market after on the weekends.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointment - I've been to this resta ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Disappointment - I've been to this restaurant previously and received excellent service and great food but this time around, our prime rib didn't have the bone in, was over-cooked and mussels were smaller than expected. We had wanted the lobster poutine but the restaurant ran out of lobster and was told that they were substituting the lobster with shrimp. When asked if we would be charged the same price for the value of lobster, the waitress was rude and unprofessional. Not sure if the waitress was having a bad day, but she never introduced herself to us (we don't know her name), after we asked her several times to refill our water, she came back with a jug and refused to top us off so we did it ourselves. She rarely smiled and when I presented her with my Opentable certificate, she almost made it seem like it was her who was paying for our meal. Definitely will not return unless the food and service improves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Our server was attentive and friendly an ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server was attentive and friendly and did a good job.

As it was a Saturday when we were there, the only option was brunch. Somewhat limited in that regard however the food was tasty and when we brought a slight problem forward, the server had the item removed from our bill. That was appreciated.

Will be a repeat customer.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Appetizers were excellent. Entrees dropp ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Appetizers were excellent. Entrees dropped the ball. Smoked brisket served in chunks and not thinly sliced. Lacked smoky flavour and seasoning. Same with pork shoulder. Sides were unremarkable.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Went there for my birthday & really enjo ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Went there for my birthday & really enjoyed it. The food was fantastic. They forgot one of our entree's but I did appreciate the fact the waitress admitted it & said the chef would have it out in 4 minutes - it was and was cooked perfectly . I still think we should of been offered a free desert but oh well it was still very good & we'll be going back for another try.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Tuesday night buffet

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Buffet selection was limited, only one dessert . We felt it was a bit costly for what was offered. Reduce the price to $20 from 26 and you will attract more customers. Service was excellent and food was tasty . A cool western vibe! Very unique!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Brunch at Symons Valley Roadhouse

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great spot to have brunch. Takes reservations. No wAiting in line. Food was fresh and delicious. Caesars were generously garnished and spicy. Eggs Benedict with salmon was cooked perfectly. Potatoes were addictive and we had to eat them all. Sat outside in the patio and enjoyed a lovely morning. Staff was gracious and efficient. Well worth a trip from the far south end of the city.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant continues to be our fami ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This restaurant continues to be our family's favourite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The special pork burger was phenomenal

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The special pork burger was phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Lunch last week. Food was awesome ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great Lunch last week. Food was awesome, service great, rustic decour and ranch atmosphere is unique. We'll be back for dinner and drinks with friends!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, food was amazing, and service ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

As always, food was amazing, and service very good. They go out of their way to make sure you have a memorable dining experience. Loved the BBQ chicken pizza -- 1/2 price wings - delicious and finally enjoyed a caesar salad made to perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Gem of a restaraunt.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Food is fantastic, as is the service and atmosphere. My sons favourite place to go for dinner and dessert with a more mature atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there for Mothers Day Brunch. It ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there for Mothers Day Brunch. It was really well done. From the moment we walked in the door until the moment we left the service was incredible, food and drinks were great. Symons Roadhouse never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Over rated

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch was very disappointing, food selection was poor and it took so long for it to come out. Mothers Day Brunch was a fail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We went there for their Mothers Day Buff ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went there for their Mothers Day Buffet.

Very poor selection of food, the food that they did have out was cold (due to one stereo burner for every two trays)

Service was fair to poor. We were very disappointed.

We won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Amazing Service! Great Atmosphere!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was wonderful! Brunch menu was a tiny bit limited, but the food was delicious! The atmosphere is adorable: fun, cozy but open, perfect for the weekend.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wing Night

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We met a group of friends for drinks on wing night and while we waited for them to join us, we ordered a BBQ chicken flat bread pizza. It was very tasty. The wings are smoked so not what you would get at a bar for wing night but they were good. (Our group was a little disappointed that you couldn't get any dipping sauces besides the dill sauce that is served with it). We felt the food was a little costly for the amount served but will just try something different the next time. Our waiter was very entertaining and very accommodating to our group. We are looking forward to trying the BBQ Buffet night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Experience at Symons Roadhouse

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was quite good however the service was extremely slow. Felt they forgot about us for not only appetizers but also main course. We wanted to have dessert but after slow service we skipped dessert because we couldn't stand waiting for it.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Excellent Food and Atmosphere

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I've been to the Symons Valley Roadhouse a few times now and every time it has been great and exceeded my expectations. The staff is very friendly, attentive and funny. The food has been amazing every time for everyone I've dined with there. The ribeye is the best I've ever had and that's saying something. I can't recommend it highly enough. The atmosphere is also great. From the lighting to the tables and the antiques, it is very unique and has a great ranch/homey feel to it. The tables appear to be all antique and well loved (but in good shape) in their previous life and they are all different shape, sizes and styles. It sounds like it would clash, but works very well. All I can say is if you haven't been to this gem of a restaurant you need too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday night out

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We were eight friends eating at the roadhouse. The table was not ready although a reservation was made. No steelhead trout available, cider to drink and their last pound of muscles which was ordered but waitress dropped then.

All food was great that was order, received and eaten.

Service was a little slow and the manager took the price of the appies off the bill at the end of the night and apologized which was a nice gesture.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

My husband and I love coming here! The f ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I love coming here! The food is delicious and the service is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the Tuesday night BBQ sampler buf ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

We had the Tuesday night BBQ sampler buffet. All the smoked meats - chicken, pulled pork and brisket burnt ends (brisket with some char and fat) were excellent, the side dishes were awesome and the desserts were nice. Great, friendly service and old country tunes to match the ambiance. Absolutely will go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A GREAT PLACE TO EAT IN THE COUNTRY

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

A NICE DRIVE.

GREAT SCENERY.

RUSTIC DECOR.

GREAT FOOD!

AND THE FARMER'S MARKET ON THE GROUNDS!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Welcoming atmosphere

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Really enjoyed out appetizers and pasta. Had a great visit with owner. Looking forward to going back when there is live music.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Enjoyable western night out

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Great place if you like the western theme. Good food. The mussels were an excellent starter and the main course beef was perfectly cooked. The dessert fell short as the toffee pudding was over-cooked; crispy instead of spongy. Attentive service. Music a little loud. Overall an enjoyable experience I would happily repeat again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Just simply fabulous!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Amazing food, amazing environment! Tried out the Southern BBQ buffet on Tuesday night and it was very yummy!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Easter Brunch

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We found that the selection was small. The food was a little on the cold side and the rate they refilled the chafing dishes was very slow. My kids had little to choose from.

Coffee was included however juice and TEA was extra. Tea?

Our server was great though. Very prompt and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Ran out of Mussels.....

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My friends and I went specifically for the mussels but the restaurant ran out that night (they were apparently waiting for shipment that same day and it never arrived). We were disappointed but the rib-eye was delicious as always. Our server was also friendly and pleasant.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Saturday brunch Easter weekend

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We booked for our Easter brunch on Saturday. We had family in town to join us and didn't want to go for brunch on Sunday knowing how busy it can be anywhere. The first thing we ordered were mimosas. The bar was out of prosecco. That's an huge fail for a brunch location; and I found this place listed in the 10 best brunch spots in Calgary. The waitress didn't offer an alternative. Also the place where we sat was very dark, though is was a bright, sunny day outside.

Otherwise, the food was good. We decided on Caesars as our alternative and they were good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Not great

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

In our opinion quite overpriced.

Went on a Wednesday evening for dinner. First of all--not all beer on menu available, next--some main course items on menu not available. Could hardly see lobster in lobster poutine. Brisket had no flavor and dry. Bone in rib eye had some flavor but fat bone etc almost more than edible meat( one persons opinion). Only saving grace was beer and wine were on for $5. would not likely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We were celebrating my sister's bday. N ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

We were celebrating my sister's bday. Nice building. Food was good, service was a bit slow but very friendly. Been here a couple of times and will go back again. Very convenient location for me.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Hidden Gem

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I've been here about 6 times now and have had consistently great food and service. No complaints!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good value with Travelzoo

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The food was very good, I ordered the rib eye steak. It was cooked to perfection! The only thing I did not lie was the horseradish was on top of the mashed potatoes and I hate horseradish. I asked for a new potato I was charged 5.00. The portions for the brisket are very small. With the travelzoo coupon it made it reasonable but my husband said he would not pay the prices they charge for the amount of food. The only meal ordered with the 4 of us that was worth 30 plus dollars was my rib eye steak.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Go here!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

A gem hidden deep in the NW. Locally owned, they are trying to bring foodie culture to the suburbs. If you live in Kincora, Sage Hill, Evanston, Panorama, or even Royal Oak, go here! And don't miss the corn fritters, they are amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Finally a Great NW Restaurant

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Symons Roadhouse is amazing. Serving staff were attentive but not invasive. The corn fritters and jambalaya were excellent. Great to have an awesome local restaurant!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.