About Sweet Melissa's Cafe

1625 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33597
View Larger Map

Executive Chef Melissa Talmage offers a divinely creative menu sure to fit any foodies dream. Serving lunch and dinner, Chef Melissa challenges your taste buds to explore an array of different textures and tastes. Our dinner menu is broken into sections and the entrees are offered in half portions to give you the ability to try a few different dishes in one visit. We also offer an extensive wine list to enhance your dining experience. Come join us for another side to island dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5 pm
Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Casa Ybel

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-1956

Website:
http://www.sweetmelissascafe.net/

Entertainment:
Acoustic Guitarist Wednesday Thursday Friday and Saturday Evenings

Executive Chef:
Melissa Talmage

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sweet Melissa's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Southwest Florida
Best Food
Southwest Florida
Fit for Foodies
Southwest Florida
8 More
Contemporary American
Southwest Florida
Best Overall
Ft. Myers
Best Food
Ft. Myers
Best Service
Ft. Myers
Best Value
Ft. Myers
Fit for Foodies
Ft. Myers
Romantic
Ft. Myers
Most Booked
Ft. Myers
Best Restaurants in Sanibel ›

Fit for Foodies (40)
Special Occasion (39)
Romantic (26)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It is a very romantic and friendly locat ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It is a very romantic and friendly location. Great food along with great service. It does have a limited menu and unique dishes.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sweet Melissa is an excellent spot for g ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Sweet Melissa is an excellent spot for great food and intimate dining. Service was very good and the atmosphere is terrific. Great choice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant by far is the best in se ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant by far is the best in service and cuisine that we had during our whole vacation in Sanibel/Captiva. Jeannie was an excellent server in terms of attention to details and her knowledge of every dish we inquired about. Each dish was prepared with a special twist that made the dining experience unique. I would recommend this restaurant as a must; its well worth it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food. Great taste and complex fl ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Amazing food. Great taste and complex flavors. I ordered the Fish Stew and would come back all the way from Miami to have it again. The shrimp appetizers and the mushroom truffle soup appetizers was fantastic. Really good service. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We think Sweet Melissa's is one of the b ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We think Sweet Melissa's is one of the best restaurants on Sanibel. We have eaten there several times, and everything we have had has been delicious. We really like the ability to order a half-sized entrée. The service is excellent, and the decor is attractive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love to dine at Sweet Melissa's while va ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Love to dine at Sweet Melissa's while vacationing on Sanibel Island. Ambiance is soothing, impeccable service and excellent food. Entrees can be a half or a full order, love the choice as a full is often too much if I want to have an appetizer . As it were, the half in addition to fried okra and a bowl of the mushroom soup was a very full dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although it is about a one hour drive an ...

vip
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Although it is about a one hour drive and there are many excellent restaurants in Naples, I chose this for my Birthday dinner based on past visits. It certainly did not disappoint!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and service

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wonderful food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flavorful grilled pompano and delicious, ...

vip
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Flavorful grilled pompano and delicious, tender scallops.

Perfect service. Wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined there several times and it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We have dined there several times and it is fabulous as usual- our favorite on the Island.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. I brought my own b ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food was amazing. I brought my own bottle of wine. The server seemed very rehearsed and disingenuous. I tried to talk to her and she didn't hear me several times. Then at the end of the night she charged my credit card with the wrong bill and had to explain that she voided the transaction. After I had to wait several minutes for the bill. Not a great way to end the night but the food is amazing and the music is wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

The scallops are amazing

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The scallops are amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Lovely restaurant. Wonderful quiet ambia ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Lovely restaurant. Wonderful quiet ambiance with a lovely classic guitar in the background. Excellent food -/ we had the grouper snd the filet. Like that you can get a small or large portion. Our waitress was charming and attentive. Highly recommend this lovely place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. We have been coming to S ...

 
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent meal. We have been coming to Sanibel for 25 years, and have seen the restaurant, but never tried it before. We will be back. It was an excellent meal, and the service was great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server Helen was excellent and the f ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server Helen was excellent and the food wonderful. The entire dining experience was very good. Highly recommend for dining out with friends or special events. One of Sanibel Islands best restaurants with locals.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was excellent and fit for a foodie! ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was excellent and fit for a foodie! Our waiter, Brett, was extremely helpful. His recommendations were great! We started with Steamed Mussels which were amazingly fresh and plump with a fantastic cream sauce. My wife had the seafood stew which was also terrific. I had the Pompano which was pan seared and full of flavor. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Molly our server was wonderful and made ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Molly our server was wonderful and made the evening complete. Food was great from starters to dessert. Great wine selection as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Restaurant. Food was excellent and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great Restaurant. Food was excellent and restaurant staff was impeccable. We go to this restaurant every time we are in southwest florida.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our anniversary, so of course we ...

 
·Dined on June 15, 2016

It was our anniversary, so of course we reserved a table at Sweet Melissa's, one of the very best restaurants on Sanibel Island. Amazingly, few tables were occupied when we arrived. Where is everyone? They're missing out! My dinner began with a joyful starter course of clams with pork belly and pineapple bits in a delicious broth. I mopped up every bit of that broth with bread on my fork. Yum! My husband's starter was delicious, too, and then we both ordered the pompano -- a fantastic Florida fish, beautifully prepared. Our server was polite and professional. The ambiance was nice, if a little dark (but that's good for a romantic anniversary dinner!). I had an excellent glass of Riesling, and Tom had some bubbly water. We love the fact that Sweet Melissa's offers small plates, and that it is possible to order half-portions of the larger plates. We left feeling comfortable, and not overfed. This is a great place to celebrate special occasions -- but we just might make it one of our regular restos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice place to have lunch - ambiance, nic ...

 
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Nice place to have lunch - ambiance, nice - wine list, really nice - food, great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best dining on Sanibel. Dine there twice ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Best dining on Sanibel. Dine there twice each week we stay in Sanibel Harbour. Never been disappointed. Service and food always top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, excellent food! We loved the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent, excellent food! We loved the experience - cozy and romantic yet also perfect for larger groups. Service was impeccable - attentive without being cloying! Definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food to salty

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Server forgot about us. Did not tell us about specials. Food took a long time to come out and resturant was not crowded. Would not recommend this resturant. Save your money and go some where else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

An absolute gem, a must, beyond expectat ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

An absolute gem, a must, beyond expectations. I dine out regularly for business and pleasure, around the country. This resturant is a must for anyone looking for ambiance, a great and affordable meal. For what is worth this is only my third time written a review, I was that impressed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the Best on Sanibel Island

 
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had heard about Sweet Melissa's and now wished we had heard about it - and gone there - sooner. A wonderful evening with friends made all that much more special because of the beautifully prepared and delicious food. Quiet location, pleasant decor, outstanding bread, clever cocktails, extraordinarily fresh vegetables, perfectly seasoned dishes, excellent service, and all around great ambiance combined for a great evening. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simple menu backed by great taste! Perfe ...

 
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Simple menu backed by great taste! Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great dining experience

 
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We had been recommended Sweet Melissa's as a place for a special meal by a friend. It lived up to expectations. The service was excellent and we really enjoyed the food. As a location for a special meal we would heartily recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We my wife and I really enjoyed the food ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We my wife and I really enjoyed the food. I had a red snapper special, and my wife had the grouper. Both were delicious. And the watermelon salad was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great as usual. 1/2 plates are an excel ...

 
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Great as usual. 1/2 plates are an excellent idea for folks that don't eat big meals

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Molly was great. Our meals ...

 
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Our waitress Molly was great. Our meals were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love dining here...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Always love dining here...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sweet Melissa's is a great restaurant, t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Sweet Melissa's is a great restaurant, the best on Sanibel, and would rank at the top anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

 
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything was great as usual, small plates make it easy to try different options. Server was exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeds Its Reputation!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Sweet Melissa's has had consistently strong reviews, but we missed getting there every year during out summer vacation. We finally did and it was EXCEPTIONAL. The menu, the food & presentation were absolutely perfect. We loved that you can get full or half portions of the entrees to tailor to your desires - a neighboring diner did "surf + turf" from 2 half-sized entrees, I got a wonderful appetizer and half-size entree. The selections offered something for everyone, and I saw many choices I would love to try on my NEXT visit. Desert choices were incredible - and LARGE portions. And a live guitarist providing awesome background music - just perfect! A real gem in Sanibel!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

what a surprise!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

i was attending a conference in Ft. Myers and i had friends from South Beach coming over for dinner, i had no clue where to go... i was suggested Sweet Melissa's cafe and decided to give it a try... great dining experience!!! and the service is excellent!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Be about the food, not the table attendant

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

As always the food was terrific! But the table attendant was busy selling a donut shop to every table and making the experience all about his life. Just weirdly out of step with one of our favorite places to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Quality food in a charming atmosphere

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Sweet Melissa's is the most sophisticated & creative dining spot in Sanibel, barring none.

It is great fun to go there as it is eclectic, reliable and delicious.

The service is immediate and one can glimpse the chefs in the kitchen hard at work.

Everything on the menu is outstanding.

In our week in Sanibel recently, we ate there twice and loved everything we ate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Melissa's

 
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Melissa's never fails us! We tried some of the new menu choices , the jars, are so creative, and the ones we picked were delicious . I especially loved the goat cheese. Our entrees of grouper and pompano melted in the mouth, fresh and beautifully prepared.

Great service, innovative and interesting cuisine, this should be everyone's first choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely experience

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Sweet Melissa's was everything we expected and more. We were seated in a smaller, more intimate dining room, beyond the main dining room, which was perfect for the two of us. The menu was very interesting and the food was sensational and perfectly prepared. Best of all, even though the room we were in was full, it was still quiet and relaxing. What a delightful evening...we can't wait to go back. We highly recommend it to anyone who is discriminating and expects a superb experience without pretension. This is the place for you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.