Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Sweet Melissa's Cafe

Executive Chef Melissa Talmage offers a divinely creative menu sure to fit any foodies dream. Serving lunch and dinner, Chef Melissa challenges your taste buds to explore an array of different textures and tastes. Our dinner menu is broken into sections and the entrees are offered in half portions to give you the ability to try a few different dishes in one visit. We also offer an extensive wine list to enhance your dining experience. Come join us for another side to island dining.

1625 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33597
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5 pm
Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Casa Ybel

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-1956

Website:
http://www.sweetmelissascafe.net/

Entertainment:
Acoustic Guitarist Wednesday Thursday Friday and Saturday Evenings

Executive Chef:
Melissa Talmage

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sweet Melissa's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (67)
Creative Cuisine (59)
Special Occasion (52)
See All
Good for a Date (48)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Open Kitchen (38)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Local Ingredients (38)
Romantic (32)
Worth the Drive (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Casual (22)
Cozy (22)
Authentic (20)
Healthy (18)
Live Music (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Seasonal (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Tapas (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1407 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 13 hours ago

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We were on vacation on Sanibel Island and wanted good local seafood. This restaurant was recommended and we were pleased it was on Open Table. Good nouvelle cuisine, nice ambiance. The food was much better than the restaurant at our hotel yet was the same price. (Sanibel Island is expensive, though!) The grilled romaine with truffle oil was delicious and unusual. Portions were not large but good sauces on the seafood dishes.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Finally a restaurant that serves your food in a timely way so you can enjoy it. Our next course was not served until we were finished with the previous one. It did not seem that we were being rushed to finish to open up the table for the next diners. The ambience was quiet and relaxing with a soothing guitar background. The food was fresh and delicious. The menu was not so complex that it took forever to order. A good time was had by all. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

We loved it. Everyone was happy with their food selection. It was wonderful and is now my favorite restaurant on Sanibel!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

The food is ALWAYS delicious and imaginatively conceived. We have never been disappointed, and we have eaten there many, many times.

Melissa is a magical chef, and her staff is quite amazing.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dublin)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding best meal on the island so far after 6 weeks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Melissa's is a great little restaurant. We dined there last year during our week in Sanibel and were so impressed that we went back this year. They have great seafood options, which we were looking for, and the food is meticulously prepared and very tasty. Try it, and I'm sure you'll agree.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Cozy, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined 7 days ago

We've always had good experiences at "Sweet Melissa's". I especially appreciate the availability of smaller portions at a lower price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food and Melissa herself are just a treat. Planning to come for lunch too!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Good variety of choices - especially appreciated the choice of small/large plates as
not everyone in a dining party likes to dine the same way. Pleasant wait staff.
Not especially attractive interior, but comfortable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always like this restaurant but we had a waiter who had a terrible attitude and lousy manners and training, Reaching across the table and handing me my food, insisting on what was the best dessert, dismissive when asked to taste a wine, etc. No restaurant is perfect ( we know that having owned one for 7 years) We will continue to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Limited menu, good food, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We always come to sweet Melissa's each year when we visit Sanibel. The food is always creative and delicious however this time the service and timing of the meal was completely off. Drinks came late after salad and appetizers which were brought out together, and then main course wasn't served for a half hour. Everything was completely off tempo. Each year that we go for the food at sweet Melissa's I am always hoping that the "most awful" dirty dusty ceiling is changed... it really is a mess and spoils the restaurant experience for me waiting for dust balls to float down. Really needs an upgrade.. not sure if we'll go back next year. Food is great, but service needs to be improved and the nasty ceiling needs to go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Very good food (especially salads and entrees), very pricey, pretty interior, but service was just okay - our waitress seemed to lose interest in us after we ordered desserts - didn't speak to us again for another 20-25 min, not even to ask how we were doing and apologize for the wait. The sorbets were good but key lime white chocolate bread pudding was average. Definitely took a great dining experience down a few notches, which was a bummer.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We try to eat at Sweet Melissa's Cafe at least once during each trip to Sanibel Island. We enjoy the small plate options. We have always had a good meal there.
The music level was at a soft, easy to make conversation level.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Redfish dinner was great. Cheese charcuterie app was a little too much for us. A fois gras pâté and a rabbit pâté was a little to gourmet for us. A great place though just a little bit of a limited menu. Great service and atmosphere, would definitely go back. Fantastic restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Whenever we travel to the Florida West Coast, we always schedule a trip to Sweet Melissa's. The food is always divine, whether lunch or dinner. The service is always friendly and efficient. It's our #1 place to share a wonderful meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

After visiting this restaurant for several years on our annual get away to Sanibel Island, this visit will more than likely be our last. The service was so bad, the waiter was incompetent at best and his attitude and smell of smoke was terrible. The food was not as sharply prepared and tasty as previous visits. Overall, the spot was a big disappointment!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We have eaten here many times and never had a bad meal. Fabulous!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The only thing I was disappointed with is that the hostess seemed perturbed when I reminded her that I had requested outside seating.Apparently a couple had arrived prior to us without a reservation and she was going to seat THEM outside until I brought it to her attention.I felt she was rather rude.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This is the best restaurant on the island. We have been coming to Sanibel Island for years and it is a must to go to Sweet Melissa's every time we are there. The food is awesome and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Best Food on Sanibel, charming atmosphere. Wouldn't change one thing.

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We sought out this restaurant after remembering it was good three years earlier. It had only gotten better. The prices were very reasonable, given the quality of the food. We were a little late for our reservation, called to let the proprietors know that, and were greeted warmly when we arrived ten minutes late. I liked the restaurant after 8:00 pm, on a Saturday, as it was getting quiet. We felt unrushed, and welcomed. All in all, I think it is the best place to eat on Sanibel/Captiva.

Rachel Dunlap, Houston.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Good local gem. Food was very good. Try the filet and any of the fish. If you are in Sanibel and looking for a good place to have dinner, this is a good place to go. The dinner music was excellent and service was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Not everyone looks at the ceiling, but we did. Your ceiling is disgustingly filthy!! Redo it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Just great !
First time visit and will definitely return !

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A nice place run by people who are obviously dedicated to what they do and understand food .Home made ginger syrup for Moscow Mule ;extra tender octopus with romesco sauce ,excellent beef tartrate and outstanding smoked beef tenderloin.The restaurant offers the option of having almost every main dish in a 1/2 portion which makes it ideal for sharing and trying a number of dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

It has a charming atmosphere - the service was proper - food as usual was out standing. When ever we go to Sanibel, Sweet Melissa's Cafe is a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Sweet Melissa's is our favorite restaurant on a college friends' yearly visit to Sanibel. Fantastic food, great ambiance, the patio is perfect, and Paul a superb server. We will be back next year. Thanks again Paul for being so kind to us.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

My wife and I have been vacationing on Sanibel for 36 years. This is by far the best restaurant ever. When on Sanibel we usually are here weekly. The flavors are excellent. I especially love all of the dishes made with broth----fish stew, duck confit, escargot, and mussels. Not only are the flavors wonderful, but the values are exceptional. The small plates and half entrees go for about $12-16. Many Bar and Grills sell much less tasty and greasy food for the same price or more. And the portions are so generous that many of the small plates or half entrees could be a meal in themselves. The wine list is very good for glasses and bottles.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Sweet Melissa's is a treasure. Wonderful food, ambiance and service. We always pick it for special occasions.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Molly did a great job and was fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Top notch gourmet food. Generous portions. Home made bread. U would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is one of our favorite places on Sanibel. We recently took our foodie friends and then enjoyed it as much as we do. Top on our night's hit parade were the mussels, veal cheek, scallops and fois gras beignet.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wonderful meal. We started with the veal cheek and grilled oysters, then the whole fish and scallops with pork belly entrees, and finished with the key lime bread pudding and foie gras beignets. Everything was excellent, well prepared and wonderful flavor. Great wine list too. Will definitely return next time we visit Sanibel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The meal was wonderful and they were very nice to put together desert for my grandfathers birthday. Our service was wonderful...our waitress was friendly and had great suggestions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Sweet Melissa's did a fantastic job with my request for a remote control late lunch for two great friends. They handled receiving flowers and providing a great table, all while billing my card and relieving my guests of any cost of stress. They, and I had a wonderful time. Sweet Melissa's has been a family tradition for many years. So nice to introduce two more.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Excellent. Her broth on escargot, duck confit, mussels, and fish stew are extremely tasty. Generous portions.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We think Sweet Melissa's is the best restaurant in Sanibel! Most other restaurants have the same items on their menus. Sweet Melissa's has more unique menu choices. I can't resist the Mussels in the Saffron creme sauce. You get a huge serving. I love dipping the fries and the warm fresh bread in that delectable sauce. Everything we have tried on the menu is superb! You've got to try Melissa's. You'll be glad you did.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.