Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 10 times today

Sweet Melissa's Cafe

4.5
1720 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
Executive Chef Melissa Talmage offers a divinely creative menu sure to fit any foodies dream. Serving lunch and dinner, Chef Melissa challenges your taste buds to explore an array of different textures and tastes. Our dinner menu is broken into sections and the entrees are offered in half portions to give you the ability to try a few different dishes in one visit. We also offer an extensive wine list to enhance your dining experience. Come join us for another side to island dining.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5 pm
Closed Sunday
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(239) 472-1956
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Melissa Talmage
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Casa Ybel
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Acoustic Guitarist Wednesday Thursday Friday and Saturday Evenings
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1720 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Another excellent dinner, our second in the week from SM’s. Menu choice had changed and some great new choices including Japanese miso ramen and their famous water melon salad. Best place in Sanibel.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

What a wonderful meal for all four of us. Each of us purchased a different meal, one the fish stew, one the redfish, one the scallops and I got the Cobia which was the Catch of the day. ALL OF US were raving about our meals and we sampled each other’s to verify. Personally I had the Cobia and it is a difficult fish to cook properly and this was the best I have ever had out at a restaurant. The ambiance was very nice and we had good service as well. This is now a regular place we will visit whenever we are in Sanibel.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Every course was a party for our palate. Attentive service. We will definitely be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

In my opinion it was the best food on the island! My husband & I came here for dinner. For an appetizer I had escargot it was so good. For an entree I had the the scallops, there were bite size pieces of pork on the plate. The entire meal was delicious. For dessert we shared a banana strudel, it was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Had a wonderful red fish sandwich with the homemade chips and then 3 varieties of sorbet for dessert - so good every time I go!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Always a good meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Our family of 4 was on a mini vacation and we all enjoyed our experience at Sweet Melissa's. We recommend Sweet Melissa's to anyone who is looking for a different menu selection.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We have gone to SMC repeatedly over a number of years, and watched it evolve and flourish in its newer location. We still believe it is top 5 on Sanibel/Captiva. We also believe it's better when Melissa is personally on site. Fare is excellent quality gourmet; wine list is solid. Flavors and combinations are interesting and never overwrought. Menu has enough variety.
Presentations are professional. The guitarist is so-so, but unobtrusive. Bottom line: we will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

A delighful surprise. Bith service and food were good. The menu had lots if variety, much of which wasn't to my taste. But I could go back and have the same!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Delicious food and great service. Always a pleasure to dine here, always a great menu. We look forward every time we visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Entrees were great as were the salads. The seafood stew was to die for. Cobia special tasted like the islands - paired bananas, blueberries and lentils with a nice piece of fish. Desert disappointed. Good home-made gelato, but sorbet was bland and icey, and flour-less tort tasted like a freezer. Romantic nook for a date had great atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

We especially enjoyed having the small plate option.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

This is a high-quality restaurant having an informally quiet ambiance that allows the diner to enjoy Melissa's creative cuisine to the maximum. My wife and I were totally impressed by the quality of the the preparation, the soft lighting, the unhurriedly superb and informative service from Brian, the soft acoustic guitar background music that we found was live from a musical artist positioned near the entry...a very nice touch. If you are looking for an escape from the often brash island dining experience, you have to try Sweet Melissa's for a five-star experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Always great. The menu is always interesting, but also has some long standing favorites. Service is great. One of the best, if not the best on Sanibel

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 4, 2018

enjoyable meal. nothing upscale about the building. a guitarist near the door was playing dental office music. would replace him. the entrees -fish stew and scallops were excellent. I didn't get any Sweet Melissa vibe. Still all in all -would give it a try

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

My husband and I ate lunch and dinner at Sweet Melissa's. We each had the special soup of the day. His was rabbit and mine was carrot. Both were splendid. Their seafood selection is good and Melissa is always experimenting with new and unique combinations. Try their sorbet, which they make on site. Delicious. Our server, Brian, was outstanding. We loved the real tablecloths and the seating. Tables are not so close together that you give up privacy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

We all ordered salads and small plates. Portions were generous and food quality was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Had dinner with a life long friend on a girl's trip and we could not have been happier! We're both food people and enjoy nice wines. The menu was diverse and I was very happy with the wine list. We both had the evening specials. My fish was delicious and came with interesting sides (pickled blueberries and flash fried crispy kale. Yum!!) but the vegetable plate of spicy cauliflower was the star of the show. It was just slightly edged out by the goat cheese cheesecake. We tried to return for dessert the next evening but it was shortly before closing by the time we got there and we didn't want to annoy the kitchen or make the staff wait so that I could stuff my face with cheesecake! But I really thought about it.
Our server, David, was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive without being overbearing. The whole experience was extremely enjoyable and I will definitely be going back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 24, 2018

A little disappointed with this dining experience. The open kitchen area promotes too much activity and noise for a peaceful meal. Plates were ok, varied selection but nothing especially jumped out at us. A little disappointed that one menu item (steak tartare) listed on open tables website wasn’t in the menu at the restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

We eat here every year, and it is usually the ONLY restaurant that we eat at while we are on Sanibel Island.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 24, 2018

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Sweet Melissa's this past week. Our waiter, Brian, was excellent. Food was well prepared and the atmosphere was very relaxed. Enjoyed our dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

My first time here with Sanibel friends .Excellent service, outstanding food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Good and service very good. Dining room is a little too dark for my taste.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Jason, waiter was top notch. Food is outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Excellent from cocktails through dessert. Definitely will return

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Wonderful food and great dinner music!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

This was our 3rd visit to Sweet Melissa’s and certainly won’t be our last. The small plates were amazing, fresh and beautifully plated. We shared the Caesar Salad, which was grilled, topped with delicious home made dressing and drizzled with truffle oil and grated Parmesan.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Our salad was great, rest was mediocre. The staff was super attentive but the food was pretentious with no interest to it. The octopus did not look like octopus - it was very odd, the tentacles were missing the "suckers" part of the octopus, and staff told us it came from Texas. The oyster special was deep fried in a great batter but lacked oyster flavor - staff told us oysters also came from Texas.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Everything was very good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

We enjoyed the tapas menu for mussels, though they were quite small this time, the beet salad and the shrimp and grits. We split all of those as there was plenty to share. We then had the smaller plate of the cobia special for the evening which was also large enough to share. We will be back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

We love Sweet Melissa’s! Good variety of menu items including small plates. We especially like the shrimp and Anson Mill grits, though our recent order for supper wasn’t quite up to par with the usual offering. (Different chef??)
Service was great! Nice place for lunch or supper. On-line reservations a plus, too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Consistently our best dining experience on the island.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

This is our favorite restaurant in SWF. The service is outstanding and the staff are perfectly familiar with the meal preparations and drinks - they provide excellent suggestions and guidance. The bartender is a true mixoligist and has some great specialty drinks - suggest more tequila options. Super cudos to Melissa for having half meals, which are excellent for diners wishing to try a cocktail, appetizer and dessert without wasting or over indulging. She even has half wine glasses for those that had a cocktail and wish to compliment dinner without over drinking. It is a special place to dine and well worth the drive from Naples.

I compare it to another amazing restaurant in Rockland Maine owned and chef operated by a Melissa - the one and only Melissa Kelley.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

The food was outstanding! We started out with two small plates if bbq shrimp and grits and kimchi pork belly. They both had good flavor. We picked the scallops and the sirloin for our entrees. They had Pinot noir from Williamette Valley which is so delicious! We need our meal with a luscious flourless chocolate torte and mixed berry sorbet. Our waitress, Haley, was perfect and made our anniversary dinner so special. She has a great sense of humor and was attentive!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Food was very good and you have the options of small plates.
Noise level from open kitchen and no acoustics is VERY loud. Ask for a table in the little front room away from bar and kitchen. They also have a few tables (4) outside in a screened in patio.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Cobia and the blackened redfish were both delicious. The homemade ice cream was great. There is meat included in most dishes including the fish. My wife does not eat meat which greatly limited the options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Wonderful place! Dinner was delicious. Classy but comfortable atmosphere. We fully enjoyed ourselves. Great place to dine for adults and no kiddies! Helen was extraordinary! We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We loved it. The food was amazing. We loved having the choice to have a small or larger entree. Delicious and great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We have been coming to Sanibel for years and driven right by Sweet Melissa's. What little we heard was positive, so we just tried it. It is terrific! Fabulous, upscale dining in a comfortable atmosphere. Good wine list. Our server Brian was fantastic as well. Highly recommend this place!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 5, 2018

The food was delicious, the service very good but it was not a good dining experience because of the noise. Main dining room is VERY LOUD. Would recommend patio or bar.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
43