About Sweet Melissa's Cafe

1625 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33597
View Larger Map

Executive Chef Melissa Talmage offers a divinely creative menu sure to fit any foodies dream. Serving lunch and dinner, Chef Melissa challenges your taste buds to explore an array of different textures and tastes. Our dinner menu is broken into sections and the entrees are offered in half portions to give you the ability to try a few different dishes in one visit. We also offer an extensive wine list to enhance your dining experience. Come join us for another side to island dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5 pm
Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Casa Ybel

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-1956

Website:
http://www.sweetmelissascafe.net/

Entertainment:
Acoustic Guitarist Wednesday Thursday Friday and Saturday Evenings

Executive Chef:
Melissa Talmage

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sweet Melissa's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Southwest Florida
Best Food
Southwest Florida
Best Service
Southwest Florida
10 More
Best Value
Southwest Florida
Fit for Foodies
Southwest Florida
Contemporary American
Southwest Florida
Best Overall
Ft. Myers
Best Food
Ft. Myers
Best Service
Ft. Myers
Best Ambiance
Ft. Myers
Best Value
Ft. Myers
Special Occasion
Ft. Myers
Most Booked
Ft. Myers
Best Restaurants in Sanibel ›

Creative Cuisine (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Authentic (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Live Music (6)
Cozy (5)
Tapas (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Bar Seating (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing restaurant. We went there 2 nigh ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing restaurant. We went there 2 nights in a row for dinner and had a great example both times. Attentive service, food is outstanding, can strongly recommend the fish stew, beat salad, whole fish crispy and red fish seared. Goat cheesecake with honey and pastas was out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had a lovely meal- I ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I had a lovely meal- I had pompano fish and he had a whole fish- delicious hearty portions, service was excellent! We had a nice corner table which made it more romantic!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, great service! Enjoyed ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food, great service! Enjoyed the fact that you could get smaller portions of most items. Plan to return next time we are in Sanibel

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was supposed to be a 2 $$ sign loca ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

This was supposed to be a 2 $$ sign location and a dinner for 2 was $127 before tip. The meal and service was worth it but it is NOT a 2 $$ establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food and great service. Had a grea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and great service. Had a great lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such an interesting menu, very creative ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

Such an interesting menu, very creative combinations, a taste adventure

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best food that we found on Sanibel I ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The best food that we found on Sanibel Island. Four of our five selections had outstanding flavor and the fifth was good. Can't wait to return to try it again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our meal was amazing as always. We have ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our meal was amazing as always. We have been here numerous times and will keep coming back for the delicious food.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful and looking fo

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Wonderful and looking fo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Very nice dinner. Oysters were good; swe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Very nice dinner. Oysters were good; sweetbreads were good; escargot were great. Grouper special (crawfish etouffe and puffed rice) was outstanding, and fish stew was extremely good. Definitely worth a return visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went with our 3 children (11.10,4). ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We went with our 3 children (11.10,4). Everyone enjoyed the food and service. Very pleasant staff. Creative excellent meals and deserts. Wiold definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the absolute best dining experien ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of the absolute best dining experiences on the island. Creative cuisine that elevates to the level of world class. Retired from the industry that included management of the 21 Club and Russian Tea Room, I find such a dining experience as rare in any city. Make sure you have reservations. Thanks Melissa! Memorable as usual.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is a bit eclectic. It is consistent ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food is a bit eclectic. It is consistently good. We go there frequently when we want a good meal, good wine and good service. The guitar player is nice background, and not loud enough to interfere with quiet conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My redfish dish was cooked to perfection ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My redfish dish was cooked to perfection with a great seared crust. My wife had a seafood stew that she loved. The service was prompt and friendly. The half portions were plenty for 1 person with appetizers and kept the price under $50 per person, even with a glass of wine.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had lunch at Sweet Meli ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My husband and I had lunch at Sweet Melissa's. The wait staff were perfect - just the right mix of friendly and efficient. I had the beet salad and mahi mahi, which was cooked to perfection. So fresh and tasty. The beet salad was awesome as well. My husband opted for the pork belly sandwich which he also found very tasty. We had beer and wine, both of which were served promptly. We will definitely go there again, whenever we are in Sanibel.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was really delicious, very nice atten ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 16, 2016

It was really delicious, very nice attentive staff, quick service,

all in all really good

we will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our second visit to sweet Melis ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This was our second visit to sweet Melissa's. The first visit was so memorable and delicious we wanted to experience this again. Although the tenderloin was good, the dessert of bread pudding was cold. It can very warm last time and was amazing. The server initially ordered us a completely different dessert and had to go back and order the 'bread pudding'. The service this time around was average at best. Our friend had an allergic reaction to scallops and asked to not have them in his dish... the dish came with scallops. If this was our first time there with this experience not sure we would be going back so quickly. We will continue to dine here and are hoping this was just an 'off' night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

Sweet Melissa's Cafe is a truly fine din ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Sweet Melissa's Cafe is a truly fine dining experience on Sanibel Island. We went there (for the first time) to celebrate a birthday, and weren't disappointed. The food was excellent (in particular, the duck!), the service very attentive (without being annoying), and our dinner was completed with a slice of flourless chocolate torte for the birthday celebrant (just as ordered on Open Table!). A great place for a special occasion or a dinner a little more formal than what most restaurants on Sanibel seem to offer.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome. The service was gr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was awesome. The service was great except our waitress was a little too sweet. It didn't feel genuine. But overall it was great. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I was not as good as previous visits. Th ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I was not as good as previous visits. The

special cobia was over cooked. The fish stew was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

This restaurant was recommended in a tra ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This restaurant was recommended in a traveler's magazine, but I must say we were heavily disappointed. the service was quick, a bit too quick and hot(microwave?) worst meal in a long time. At the plate with lobster and gnocchi you couldn't tell the one from the other because of the brown gravy poured over. The duck confit with fettuccine also came with some brown gravy in a soup bowl.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Really didn't surprise us as the entire ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Really didn't surprise us as the entire menu is unique. That's what delivers it's originality. It's getting an array of items, full spectrum of flavors with unique ingredients and seems as though you either really love it possibly happen upon a spice or flavor you don't like. There is simply put nothing you are going to go home and duplicate. Best to go with a few people and sample several different selections and I promise you will be pleasantly surprised. Just reading the menu on line should be your first hint. I'd like to go back and order 5 or 6 more items to try, they all sound great while what I had was delightful.

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed your restaurant. The food was ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We enjoyed your restaurant. The food was very good. We really enjoyed the grilled Romaine. We will be back the next time we come to Sanibel.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food good service no disappointment ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 26, 2016

good food good service no disappointments, always a go to restarurant when on Sanibel

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been back to Sweet Melissa's every ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Have been back to Sweet Melissa's every time we are on Sanibel. We came when it first opened and knew it was " a keeper".We look forward to a meal full of pleasant surprises. The service, the atmosphere, the food are all wonderful. The crab cake appetizer was so good! I only order desserts in a restaurant that make something special Sweet Melissa's makes it difficult to choose one I want them all!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, everything was wonderful but t ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 20, 2016

As usual, everything was wonderful but the foie gras beignets were "to die for". We went to Sweet Melissa's two times in 10 days and we tried different dishes both times. We love the small plate idea because it suits different appetites and gives the diner an opportunity to try different things.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We get back to Sweet Melissa's every yea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We get back to Sweet Melissa's every year when we make the pilgrimage to Sanibel. It may be--consistently--the best thing about the trip. You'd be hard-pressed to find food this good in the middle of a city like San Francisco or Boston, let alone a small island off the coast of SWFla. The food is a great mix of imaginative and traditional. I would say that the Michelin folks should probably pay a visit, except then maybe I won't be able to get a table anymore.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the "jars" full of homemade goat che ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Get the "jars" full of homemade goat cheese pimento, duck butter, and chicken liver mousse. Presentation and service were lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We look forward to dining here on our an ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We look forward to dining here on our annual visit to Sanibel. The food never disappoints. It is imaginative and beautifully cooked.

We particularly like the fact that smaller portions are available for all the main courses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Sweet Melissa's for our ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We have been to Sweet Melissa's for our anniversary the last ten years. We find the place welcoming and intimate, and the food outstanding. We plan to keep coming for as long as we can. Great, great place in wonderful Sanibel island!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner experience. Menu varied ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent dinner experience. Menu varied and reflecting salt water setting. Pleasant quiet dining room with attentive staff. Soft live background music was a plus. Our favorite on Sanibel.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I loved my meal both times. Ceasar salad ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 13, 2016

I loved my meal both times. Ceasar salad phenomenal as was the fish stew. My husbands crabcake eh, not so good. Too sweet. His redfish was good not great. I'm begging him to go back, but to no avail:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just wonderful, only sad not to have tri ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Just wonderful, only sad not to have tried every last menu choice ! Molly our server was great, service

including timing was impeccable. Will return on any visit here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Quiet with very nice live background mus ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Quiet with very nice live background music. Wonderful menu. Seafood excellent. Helpful, attentive staff. And a good value to boot.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted a unique menu and casual dinin ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We wanted a unique menu and casual dining experience after an afternoon at the beach. Sweet Melissa's gave us both, complete with white linens. We chose to eat outside, so when we later saw a large group dining inside that was rather loud, we appreciated the remote quiet of the outdoors. We appreciated the size options of both the starters and entrees, since we aren't big eaters. It gave us the incentive to try a couple of different offerings yet still have room for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Recently went to Sweet Melissa's for din ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Recently went to Sweet Melissa's for dinner while on vacation. Both the food and service were top notch. Not many people in the restaurant so we were able to receive personal attention.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Favorite dining during our vacation

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Favorite dining during our vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent small to medium sized restaura ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Excellent small to medium sized restaurant. Best Cobia I have ever had. All of the items we ate were inventive and tasted excellent. The shrimp and grits were the best I've ever had. Would definitely eat here again. The price was not that bad either. Enjoy.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another excellent meal. We live on the ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Another excellent meal. We live on the island and eat here once a week. Reconfigured bar area and a fresh menu for Fall 2016. If you appreciate food and service don't miss Sweet Melissa's when visiting Sanibel. You will need a reservation for dinner, so plan ahead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Almost fine dining - certainly excellent ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Almost fine dining - certainly excellent food and ambiance. Best dining experience on Sanibel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.