Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Sweet Melissa's Cafe

Executive Chef Melissa Talmage offers a divinely creative menu sure to fit any foodies dream. Serving lunch and dinner, Chef Melissa challenges your taste buds to explore an array of different textures and tastes. Our dinner menu is broken into sections and the entrees are offered in half portions to give you the ability to try a few different dishes in one visit. We also offer an extensive wine list to enhance your dining experience. Come join us for another side to island dining.

1625 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33597
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5 pm
Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Casa Ybel

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-1956

Website:
http://www.sweetmelissascafe.net/

Entertainment:
Acoustic Guitarist Wednesday Thursday Friday and Saturday Evenings

Executive Chef:
Melissa Talmage

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sweet Melissa's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (44)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Special Occasion (43)
See All
Good for a Date (39)
Local Ingredients (30)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Romantic (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Live Music (25)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Authentic (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Cozy (13)
Healthy (13)
Casual (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Seasonal (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Fun (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Tapas (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Business Meals (6)
Organic (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful creative fare! Such a welcome change from touristy restaurants. Fresh local ingredients beautifully prepared and presented. Definitely will go back!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Highly recommend! Food was delicious and very creative with attractive presentation. Waiter Mark was very knowledgeable, attentive and friendly. Live music was very pretty and unobtrusive, easy to listen to and could also carry on a conversation in a normal voice. My aunt and I shared 4 small plates - watermelon salad, smoked fish fritter, pancetta/ricotta ravioli, and cobia with sweet potato purée/brown rice and deep-fried kale - Fabulous! Only disappointment was that we didn't leave room to try the bread pudding for dessert. Decor had a Spanish influence, lots of terracotta with colorful paintings and sconces. Cozy ambiance. Great dining experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We loved our food and Mark our waiter was superb. He was charming and knowledgeable. We didn't know what to expect from this restaurant and we were so pleasantly surprised!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We've dined at Sweet Melissa's many times and have never been disappointed. Melissa is a great chef and is creative and adventurous in her menu. BRAVO!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 6, 2017

David McMillan was fantastic. Food was exceptional and service was great. We sent others from our group the next night; and, we will plan to return again. David really was the highlight of the evening -

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Very creative spins on upscale american food. Enjoyed the cobie fish special and the fish soup which was chock full of shell fish. Loved the generous half-portion entre options. Enabled us to enjoy both the marvelous duck confit over arugula salad as well as the banana strudel dessert. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Sweet Melissa was fabulous save for the service The server was pleasant but empty dishes were not removed more bread not offered and water glasses remained empty

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent service. Half portions on the lamb chops was a real winner

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Have been going to sweet melissas since 2011 and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Authentic, Quick Bite, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

ALWAYS ask a local where to go for great food! On point from start to finish. Chef Melissa's flavor combinations are outstanding. We will be talking about this meal for quite a while

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We've been to Sanibel about 15x and passed Melissa's thinking it was a cafe serving sandwiches. Quite the opposite! This is fine dining and awesome signature cocktails. Our server was amazing as well. Can't wait to come back.

Between Sweet Melissa's and Mad Hatter on Captiva, it's a toss up to best fine dining on the islands.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We had a lovely meal at Sweet Melissa's. My sisters and I ordered a few small plates to share, had a great bottle of wine then shared some desserts. The food was unique and delicious! I loved the grilled octopus and the ravioli!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Sweet Melissa's does not disappoint: creative yet very eatable food, terrific service, friendly & professional staff. Not to be missed--grilled romaine salad and grapefruit-rosemary sorbet. The fish dishes are perfectly cooked. Bar service is outstanding, too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Food was excellent; both in quality and creativity. Our waitress was extremely friendly. Would definitely go back and recommend to others. Restaurant was quiet, but it was not very busy. Our only disappointment came when a couple was seated at the table behind us; we were so close we could overhear every word of their conversation. Despite that, we will definitely return the next time we are on Sanibel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Vacation celebrating 10th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Wonderful dinner at Sweet Melissa's! The freshness and creativity in every dish is fantastic. The service is impeccable. Fabulous night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

As always, a wonderful meal, terrific service, and a chef with imagination and vision!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Sweet Melissa's is our favorite restaurant on the island. The only place we make sure we go to when we're on the island. The food is always wonderful! They cater to the gluten free needs of our party. You can't go wrong when you chose Sweet Melissa's.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We had an awesome meal, and our server - Helen -- was friendly and helpful but did not hover. We had the cheese plate, separate appetizers which could have been shared and flavorful entrees. The homemade crème fraiche sorbet was a triumph, but the flavor of the accompany lemon curd tart was off-putting. We love the restaurant and have been following Melissa since Redfish, Bluefish days for her offerings.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a final dinner on Sanibel before heading north the next day. We enjoyed all aspects of the meal throughly starting with an unusual smoked mullet fritter and ending with a blueberry/lemon curd dessert with a lamb chop and seafood stew as the mains. Each was delicious and well presented. The wait staff was excellent and worked well together and the live music playing unobtrusively in the background was a nice touch.

All in all, a great meal. I can't wait to return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Excellent, friendly service. Delicious, fresh food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

great food, pedestrian decor, very loud and distracting

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We ate at Sweet Melissa's for the first time last night. The craft cocktails and martinis were unique and well designed and prepared. We had the coconut mint mojito and the "smoked gets in your rye" Manhattan. We had the chargrilled romaine salad and it was exceptional. The surf and turf - short rib and ahi tuna - was an interesting and delicious combination. The rack of lamb was cooked correctly and the vegetables were awesome.

We recommend Sweet Melissa's.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This is our seventh visit to Sweet Melissa's over a few years. We have never been disappointed. The food and service has always been excellent. If you are looking for a fine dinning restaurant on Sanibel then look no further.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Very creative deals with subtle flavors with great skill

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Melissa has been cooking in the Sanibel and Captiva area for several years, and our experience of her food just keeps getting better and better. It's really the finest restaurant in this area, and is on a level equal to the best in any top food city you can name. Great cocktail selection, and very nice list of wines by the glass. Tonight we started by sharing a smoked mullet fritter, which had a nice crunchy crust, with flavorful smoked local fish inside. Then grilled octopus, with an amazing romesco sauce. The entree was redfish with a pecan crust in a brown butter sauce, as good or better than anything I've had in New Orleans!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Food and service were incredible! Wine list, thoughtful. Recommended for special occasion, friends or business. Professional and comfortable! Well done!! Thanks

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We are off-season regular locals. This is our usual local choice as they rarely disapoint, offer a changing menu, and unique flavor combinations. This was our 48th anniversary with some of our adult children. We each have our favorites until they change the menu. then we find a new one. The entree choices were fairly straight forward and excellent if uniquely flavored.Fish Stew always changes a little The fish of the day was cobra not over cooked, and extremely well seasoned. The hits ofthe evening were appetizers. The octopus was exquisite and the shrimp and grits delicious despite my wife prefering the shrimp with okra that it supplanted. We ask and recieved the cheese tray mainly as we love the combination of the truffle lace honey and the bread that the for the cheese.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The good: 1) Matt the server was very professional and quick, 2) Menu offers half portions good enough and right pricing.
The bad: Food was greasy, tasteless and unedible in some plates.
We shared mussels to start, nothing to remember.
We had half portions of Scallops and Redfish like main entrees... like said portions were OK, but scallops plate looked and tasted greasy... Red fish was the worst... fish was OK but the fried nuts over all the plate were unedible... the plate was very greasy and we didn't feel well after going back at home... unbelievable other reviews talks better about this place... Not reccomendable at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great service topped off by even better food. We made reservations to return two days after.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Love this place! Very unusual food choices, not the run of the mill everyday offerings. I am not a dessert person but was recommended by a manager of another restaurant on the island to try the foie gras beignets and they were absolutely a great and delicious surprise!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Words cannot express my pleasure dining here. There should be a sixth star reserved only for here. Being a chef, I can be quite critical, but EVERY single detail was perfect. Jeanne, my server, was knowledgeable and gave impeccable, gracious service. The food- octopus app and redfish entree- perfectly cooked and the flavors perfectly complementary. Bravo!!!!⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

You can't find better food.. A quaint fine dining experience in a casual atmosphere. It's hit !

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 19, 2017

An elegant dining experience. The menu was creative and the food was delicious. Very nice to have the dedicated chef and owner, Melissa preparing dinners. Also loved the option of ordering smaller portion dinners. Great experience! This was easily the best restaurant we visited during our week in Sanibel Island.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 19, 2017

A little hit and miss but overall worth it. If you want to be a little adventurous this is a great place to try. It's down to earth atmosphere in a converted house to restaurant has a casual elegance and the music (on Friday night) was a really nice touch. The option to try a variety of dishes tapas style is right up our alley. That said, the dishes we tried didn't quite match our vision based on the description. Things sound more decadent than they really are. Service was terrific, still would suggest to anyone who enjoys a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Another memorable meal .Melissa was cooking and with the open kitchen patrons can watch her perform her magic . Menu items change and it is always hard for me to choose just one . I usually get something fish, last night was redfish! The bananas in puff paste is my favorite dessert but there are plenty of other choices. We look forward to meal at Sweet Melissa's every time we are on Sanibel.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We go there whenever we are on Captiva. I would say it is the best restaurant on Sanibel or Captiva. Try the mussels they are wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant on the island. Melissa is innovative and creative putting together wonderful food experiences and flavors that can't be beat. Her tenderloin is absolutely the best in SW Florida. Menu items that are fun, flavorful and so creative I can't say enough what a great place this is. It's first class all the way. The service is impeccable. It has incredibly fresh ingredients paired with the most wonderful cocktails thanks to Kevin O'Malley who is not just a bartender he is a mixologist. We eat there often and I love to take my clients there because I know we will have a first class experience with outstanding professional service and wonderful food . You will not be disappointed if you go to this restaurant. Melissa rocks.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Fun, Bar Seating, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Another great meal at Melissa's. We drive there from Naples, about an hour each way and it is well worth it! Perfect twists on classic recipes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Live Music, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We thought the food was delicious. We enjoyed our dinner and the dessert, which we shared.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.