Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Sweet Melissa's Cafe

Executive Chef Melissa Talmage offers a divinely creative menu sure to fit any foodies dream. Serving lunch and dinner, Chef Melissa challenges your taste buds to explore an array of different textures and tastes. Our dinner menu is broken into sections and the entrees are offered in half portions to give you the ability to try a few different dishes in one visit. We also offer an extensive wine list to enhance your dining experience. Come join us for another side to island dining.

1625 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33597
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5 pm
Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Casa Ybel

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-1956

Website:
http://www.sweetmelissascafe.net/

Entertainment:
Acoustic Guitarist Wednesday Thursday Friday and Saturday Evenings

Executive Chef:
Melissa Talmage

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sweet Melissa's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (33)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Romantic (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Live Music (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fun (6)
Casual (5)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (5)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The evening was perfect. Great wine, wonderful food and very fine service. Lamb was done to perfection; shrimp and grits appetizer was straight from New Orleans, as was the foie gras beignets. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Cobia special was delicious. Loved the acoustic guitar dinner music. Our server, Helen, gave excellent suggestions for food and wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This was our first visit to Sweet Melissa's. It was highly rated so we decided to give it a go. The place is amazing. Our server, Mark, knew the menu inside out and was really helpful. We split an octopus appetizer and the grilled romaine ceasar. Both were really good but they relied heavily on the wonderful sauces. I had the fish stew and would recommend it to anyone and everyone. It is perfectly balanced and has enough meat to please everyone. My husband ordered the Cobia special and loved it. We both order half portions and left happy and satisfied. They encourage the half portion and sharing so you can sample the flavors. Here again, Mark was really helpful. He could have sold us more food but instead focused on giving us a spectacular dining experience. We hope to be back soon to try the rest of the menu. They probably have one of the better wine lists on the island as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Sweet Melissa's never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Never disappoints. Easy to enjoy thanks to well trained staff and interesting choices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Second year dining at Sweet Melissa's. This restaurant goes above and beyond preparing your food and taking care of their customers.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We've been going to Sweet Melissa's for years, every time we come to Sanibel. Our entire family loves it. This time was no exception. Highly recommended! Can't wait to return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Lovely on all counts. Always interesting, tasty and fun. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mainz)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Simply delicious. Interesting combinations, different sizes available. Unobtrusive service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

We really enjoyed the fish stew, watermelon and feta cheese salad, and scallops. We loved the option of the small plate choice. The atmosphere and service were excellent. We were impressed that Melissa came out and talked to us. It was a very special dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Matt, our waiter, was excellent. Great service. Food was ok. My expectations were much higher. Our meals may have been better, but quite frankly, the food was way too salty. I like well seasoned food, but the salt overtook the flavor of the food. I had the beef tartar and did enjoy it. The flavor to this was nice. My husband started off with the escargot. The escargot was in a mushroom sauce. I tried it and agreed with him that it would have been better if not for all the salt. He did not finish. For our entries, my husband had the tenderloin and I had the fish stew. The tenderloin was prepared as ordered, but, again, too salty. My fish stew was flavorful, shrimp, scallops, fish, mussels all properly cooked. The broth was good, but too salty. In the beginning, the stew was good, about midway through, salt overtook my mouth and the meal was no longer enjoyable. We went elsewhere for dessert to get the salt taste out of our mouths. I truly wanted this meal to be exceptional. It was not .

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I had the fish stew which was amazing and full of flavor. Wife had the beef tenderloin which was beyond tender. Our water was great and food came out quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Lovely restaurant! Food was very creative. Octopus appetizer only had 2 small tentacles which was disappointing. Tuna entree special was very tasty, but slightly overdone. Next time I'll try the fish stew.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food, embiance and service. Elegant food in a down to earth atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 2, 2017

As always, our experience at Sweet Melissa's was first rate. Nice changes to the menu, redfish special was outstanding. Unobtrusive, good service. Quiet night, so easy conversation. Still the best place on Sanibel.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Every year we wish for an excellent meal in Sanibel and then we come to your restaurant
What a delight
Mark ur server was great
The octopus was memorable and the tuna special was out of this world
My wife always orders the soup and she did again
So we went last Friday and we are ready to go again before we leave the island on aug 5 after a month here

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great fried chicken and ice cream!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We have been coming here since the redfish bluefish days and always get a good meal. This was our first visit to the new location, and we seem to miss the quirky island style small old location. Melissa's food is still the hero here, but the ambience doesn't seem to match her creative plates or Sanibel in general. Hoping to see some more island charm next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Amazing food, knowledgeable service. 1/2 size plates are a full meal and available for $20- a deal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Wonderful creative fare! Such a welcome change from touristy restaurants. Fresh local ingredients beautifully prepared and presented. Definitely will go back!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Highly recommend! Food was delicious and very creative with attractive presentation. Waiter Mark was very knowledgeable, attentive and friendly. Live music was very pretty and unobtrusive, easy to listen to and could also carry on a conversation in a normal voice. My aunt and I shared 4 small plates - watermelon salad, smoked fish fritter, pancetta/ricotta ravioli, and cobia with sweet potato purée/brown rice and deep-fried kale - Fabulous! Only disappointment was that we didn't leave room to try the bread pudding for dessert. Decor had a Spanish influence, lots of terracotta with colorful paintings and sconces. Cozy ambiance. Great dining experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We loved our food and Mark our waiter was superb. He was charming and knowledgeable. We didn't know what to expect from this restaurant and we were so pleasantly surprised!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We've dined at Sweet Melissa's many times and have never been disappointed. Melissa is a great chef and is creative and adventurous in her menu. BRAVO!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 6, 2017

David McMillan was fantastic. Food was exceptional and service was great. We sent others from our group the next night; and, we will plan to return again. David really was the highlight of the evening -

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Very creative spins on upscale american food. Enjoyed the cobie fish special and the fish soup which was chock full of shell fish. Loved the generous half-portion entre options. Enabled us to enjoy both the marvelous duck confit over arugula salad as well as the banana strudel dessert. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Sweet Melissa was fabulous save for the service The server was pleasant but empty dishes were not removed more bread not offered and water glasses remained empty

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent service. Half portions on the lamb chops was a real winner

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Have been going to sweet melissas since 2011 and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Authentic, Quick Bite, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

ALWAYS ask a local where to go for great food! On point from start to finish. Chef Melissa's flavor combinations are outstanding. We will be talking about this meal for quite a while

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We've been to Sanibel about 15x and passed Melissa's thinking it was a cafe serving sandwiches. Quite the opposite! This is fine dining and awesome signature cocktails. Our server was amazing as well. Can't wait to come back.

Between Sweet Melissa's and Mad Hatter on Captiva, it's a toss up to best fine dining on the islands.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We had a lovely meal at Sweet Melissa's. My sisters and I ordered a few small plates to share, had a great bottle of wine then shared some desserts. The food was unique and delicious! I loved the grilled octopus and the ravioli!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Sweet Melissa's does not disappoint: creative yet very eatable food, terrific service, friendly & professional staff. Not to be missed--grilled romaine salad and grapefruit-rosemary sorbet. The fish dishes are perfectly cooked. Bar service is outstanding, too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Food was excellent; both in quality and creativity. Our waitress was extremely friendly. Would definitely go back and recommend to others. Restaurant was quiet, but it was not very busy. Our only disappointment came when a couple was seated at the table behind us; we were so close we could overhear every word of their conversation. Despite that, we will definitely return the next time we are on Sanibel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Vacation celebrating 10th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Wonderful dinner at Sweet Melissa's! The freshness and creativity in every dish is fantastic. The service is impeccable. Fabulous night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

As always, a wonderful meal, terrific service, and a chef with imagination and vision!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Sweet Melissa's is our favorite restaurant on the island. The only place we make sure we go to when we're on the island. The food is always wonderful! They cater to the gluten free needs of our party. You can't go wrong when you chose Sweet Melissa's.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We had an awesome meal, and our server - Helen -- was friendly and helpful but did not hover. We had the cheese plate, separate appetizers which could have been shared and flavorful entrees. The homemade crème fraiche sorbet was a triumph, but the flavor of the accompany lemon curd tart was off-putting. We love the restaurant and have been following Melissa since Redfish, Bluefish days for her offerings.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a final dinner on Sanibel before heading north the next day. We enjoyed all aspects of the meal throughly starting with an unusual smoked mullet fritter and ending with a blueberry/lemon curd dessert with a lamb chop and seafood stew as the mains. Each was delicious and well presented. The wait staff was excellent and worked well together and the live music playing unobtrusively in the background was a nice touch.

All in all, a great meal. I can't wait to return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Excellent, friendly service. Delicious, fresh food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.