Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Sweet Melissa's Cafe

Executive Chef Melissa Talmage offers a divinely creative menu sure to fit any foodies dream. Serving lunch and dinner, Chef Melissa challenges your taste buds to explore an array of different textures and tastes. Our dinner menu is broken into sections and the entrees are offered in half portions to give you the ability to try a few different dishes in one visit. We also offer an extensive wine list to enhance your dining experience. Come join us for another side to island dining.

1625 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33597
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5 pm
Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Casa Ybel

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-1956

Website:
http://www.sweetmelissascafe.net/

Entertainment:
Acoustic Guitarist Wednesday Thursday Friday and Saturday Evenings

Executive Chef:
Melissa Talmage

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sweet Melissa's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (63)
Creative Cuisine (60)
Special Occasion (54)
See All
Good for a Date (50)
Local Ingredients (44)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Open Kitchen (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Romantic (33)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Live Music (24)
Casual (22)
Authentic (22)
Healthy (21)
Cozy (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Seasonal (13)
Fun (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Disabled Access (10)
Tapas (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Organic (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Business Meals (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
1458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined a day ago

Great service topped off by even better food. We made reservations to return two days after.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Love this place! Very unusual food choices, not the run of the mill everyday offerings. I am not a dessert person but was recommended by a manager of another restaurant on the island to try the foie gras beignets and they were absolutely a great and delicious surprise!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Words cannot express my pleasure dining here. There should be a sixth star reserved only for here. Being a chef, I can be quite critical, but EVERY single detail was perfect. Jeanne, my server, was knowledgeable and gave impeccable, gracious service. The food- octopus app and redfish entree- perfectly cooked and the flavors perfectly complementary. Bravo!!!!⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

You can't find better food.. A quaint fine dining experience in a casual atmosphere. It's hit !

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 19, 2017

A little hit and miss but overall worth it. If you want to be a little adventurous this is a great place to try. It's down to earth atmosphere in a converted house to restaurant has a casual elegance and the music (on Friday night) was a really nice touch. The option to try a variety of dishes tapas style is right up our alley. That said, the dishes we tried didn't quite match our vision based on the description. Things sound more decadent than they really are. Service was terrific, still would suggest to anyone who enjoys a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Another memorable meal .Melissa was cooking and with the open kitchen patrons can watch her perform her magic . Menu items change and it is always hard for me to choose just one . I usually get something fish, last night was redfish! The bananas in puff paste is my favorite dessert but there are plenty of other choices. We look forward to meal at Sweet Melissa's every time we are on Sanibel.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Another great meal at Melissa's. We drive there from Naples, about an hour each way and it is well worth it! Perfect twists on classic recipes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Live Music, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We thought the food was delicious. We enjoyed our dinner and the dessert, which we shared.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great food great atmosphere great service

One of Sanibel's best restraraunt

If you haven't tried it yet, you are missing out on a great dinning experience

Tags: Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Hot Spot, Live Music, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great dinner at Sweet Melissa's. We go there every time we are in the Sanibel- Captiva area. Great food, great service, great ambience!

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We have visited Sanibel several times over the past 20 years but this was our first time at Sweet Melissa's. It did not disappoint. Our waitress was engaging, prompt, funny and knowledgeable.
I did two small plates of seared scallops and Rock fish. both were prepared perfectly. Although full, her description of the desserts and the in house made ice cream made us order.
Try the strawberry basil ice cream.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We have a vacation home in Fort Myers, FL and try to get there as much as possible. You can bet each time we do, Sweet Melissa's's Cafe is on our "great places to eat" list.

The menu changes often, they have small and large plates, and believe me the small plates are more than adequate. The food is always great, the desserts are to die for.

Just a very nice experience all around each time we have dinner there.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Everything about this restaurant was wonderful ! But the food was the star...ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! Best dinner we've had on Sanibel Island!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food is delicious, fresh and unique with excellent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Very good food. Good variety with half plate options. Worth the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Very friendly staff excellent food big/normal portions, a winner!

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Fantastic meal. Excellent and very creative craft cocktails to start. Had 6 small plates, all excellent. Especially the lamb chop and the beef tartare. Hamachi and special watermelon and tomato salad or far behind. Lots of wines by the glass and many excellent choices. Service was virtually flawless. Pacing excellent. On an island not known for culinary greatness this restaurant is head and shoulders above almost all of the competition. One of the best meals we have ever had in the state of Florida.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We are frequent patrons and once again we had an excellent experience. There was a difference this time, however. Evidently, they were short staffed which was noted not by less attentive service, but by the activity of all of the staff, not just the wait staff. They all pitched in including the owner/chef doing whatever was necessary. A very well run restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our first time eating at Sweet Melissa's and we were very impressed. Fantastic food and excellent service. We will definitely return next time were on Sanibel!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 28, 2017

One of our favorite Sanibel restaurants. Great food and great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Friends from England joined us and the four of us raved about our entres and desert. Our server was outstanding and knowledgeable about all items. Almost left out the cocktails which are superior to most restaurants. Expect a wonderful meal with great staff and a nice environment! Unhesitatingly recommend!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 25, 2017

once every couple of years I go to Sanibel, mostly for the food. I tried three of the best the island has to offer, Bleu Rendezvous, Il Cielo, and Sweet Mellissa. I saved Sweet Melissa for the grand finale and I was not dissapointed. Extremely good waiter . . . the table, off behind a corner was a little dissappointing, but I never ask to change tables (I made the reservation four months ago, you could have done better by us). The food was fantastic though. Kobia,pickled blueberrie gastriche, over banana lentils . . . with crispy kale, and I, of course had the redfish, equally, unbelievably well prepared. Of the three the food here is the best. (Il Cielo has better ambience).
See you again in a couple of years!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food and service, as always, was outstanding. Our waitress, Molly Murphy, was outstanding!! She even complimented my new hair style....the fish stew is fantastic...a must go when on Sanibel..

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Melissa is an innovative chef. Most of her creations are wonderful. Some are not, but that's the chance you take when you want a unique experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

One of my favorite spots on Sanibel. Great kitchen. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We had a pleasant experience but an uneven meal at Sweet Melissa's. Some of our food was truly delicious but other dishes missed the mark. Ironically for a restaurant on an island in Florida, the fish was not very good. Our waiter was wonderful. I would try the restaurant again though I won't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We ate here twice while on the island. The salads were excellent and the fish stew was the best we have had. Would highly recommend

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Best restaurant in Sanibel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent restaurant! Very good food, ambiance is elegant without being stuffy. Service is professional and friendly. We had a slight problem that was handled quickly and positively. We have been on Sanibel for 4 months know and after owning our own restaurant for seven years we are convinced this is the best fine dining on the island.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Lovely restaurant with nice drinks and service. Interesting menu but pretty mediocre food. Dishes sound great but we're a little underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Sweet Melissa's Cafe was a wonderful way for my wife and I to spend our last night together on our vacation. It was our first time at the restaurant so we went on to Open Table to setup the reservation and only found an 8:45 pm one available. When we got to the restaurant there were a number of tables available so I don't know if they limit the number for Open Table but it might have been nice to start our meal a little earlier. The waiter was very friendly and offered a number of suggestions. We really liked the idea of getting the starter and then only a 1/2 portion of the entree. Everything was delicious and we even had room for dessert. We would definitely consider returning here for a romantic evening the next time we visit the island.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Sweet Melissa's is our favorite restaurant on Sanibel island. It's always the highlight of our vacation. We love the small plate options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Best restaurant on Sanibel Island. Imaginative food combinations, attentive but not overbearing service, tastefully decorated surroundings, quiet enough for dinner conversation -- in short a fine spot to spend a warm and cheerful evening with friends.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The Fish Stew is a perfectly flavored and perennial favorite of ours. Melissa is truly a master of subtle flavor combinations, with exquisite results. Our friend loved the scallops. The staff is friendly and great, the occasional excellent guitarist provides a gentle background, and it's fun to catch glimpses of the goings-on in the open kitchen. We have come often and are always glad we did!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Found Sweet Melissa's through an Open Table review. We were meeting two other couples for a reunion and this sounded like a good spot. It was much better than anticipated. We had a quiet table on their screened porch. The food was off the wall good. I am going back just to have the mussels. Highly recommend.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food, service and ambiance were all fantastic! Watermelon tomato
salad "out of this world" Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Well, Im not one to be negative but our waiter.....geez. You could hear him say the same thing every time about the goat cheese cheese cake. "I know it sounds weird but it's delicious, If
you don't like it I'll buy it for you".

Okay, well I've always loved cheese cake and I've had goat cheese cheese cake before. Such a rookie waiter. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

FANTASTIC! Start to finish. The service was right on the money. Not too fast but no long waits between courses. We ate everything. Grilled octopus, watermelon and tomato salad, charcuterie, asparagus for starters, grilled sea bass for entries, cheesecake for dessert. The best! Highly recommended. The music was a nice bonus.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 6, 2017

As usual, the service was excellent, food just as anticipated, and the standard offer of the petite entree is the reason I most appreciate this restaurant. It stands out from the crowd; no over- zealous wait staff, no boring nor overly sauced food items, are ever the norm for this venue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always a delight to dine at Sweet Melissa's! The best menu on Sanibel. Sarita

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.