About Sweet Melissa's Cafe

1625 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33597
View Larger Map

Executive Chef Melissa Talmage offers a divinely creative menu sure to fit any foodies dream. Serving lunch and dinner, Chef Melissa challenges your taste buds to explore an array of different textures and tastes. Our dinner menu is broken into sections and the entrees are offered in half portions to give you the ability to try a few different dishes in one visit. We also offer an extensive wine list to enhance your dining experience. Come join us for another side to island dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5 pm
Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Casa Ybel

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-1956

Website:
http://www.sweetmelissascafe.net/

Entertainment:
Acoustic Guitarist Wednesday Thursday Friday and Saturday Evenings

Executive Chef:
Melissa Talmage

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Sweet Melissa's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Southwest Florida
Contemporary American
Southwest Florida
Best Overall
Ft. Myers
7 More
Best Food
Ft. Myers
Best Service
Ft. Myers
Best Ambiance
Ft. Myers
Best Value
Ft. Myers
Fit for Foodies
Ft. Myers
Special Occasion
Ft. Myers
Most Booked
Ft. Myers
Best Restaurants in Sanibel ›

fit for foodies (107)
special occasion (93)
romantic (57)
See All
neighborhood gem (48)
notable wine list (37)
great for outdoor dining (29)
good for groups (21)
great for lunch (20)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (5)
hot spot (5)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server Helen was excellent and the f ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server Helen was excellent and the food wonderful. The entire dining experience was very good. Highly recommend for dining out with friends or special events. One of Sanibel Islands best restaurants with locals.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and fit for a foodie! ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was excellent and fit for a foodie! Our waiter, Brett, was extremely helpful. His recommendations were great! We started with Steamed Mussels which were amazingly fresh and plump with a fantastic cream sauce. My wife had the seafood stew which was also terrific. I had the Pompano which was pan seared and full of flavor. Will definitely return!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Molly our server was wonderful and made ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Molly our server was wonderful and made the evening complete. Food was great from starters to dessert. Great wine selection as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant. Food was excellent and ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great Restaurant. Food was excellent and restaurant staff was impeccable. We go to this restaurant every time we are in southwest florida.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was our anniversary, so of course we ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

It was our anniversary, so of course we reserved a table at Sweet Melissa's, one of the very best restaurants on Sanibel Island. Amazingly, few tables were occupied when we arrived. Where is everyone? They're missing out! My dinner began with a joyful starter course of clams with pork belly and pineapple bits in a delicious broth. I mopped up every bit of that broth with bread on my fork. Yum! My husband's starter was delicious, too, and then we both ordered the pompano -- a fantastic Florida fish, beautifully prepared. Our server was polite and professional. The ambiance was nice, if a little dark (but that's good for a romantic anniversary dinner!). I had an excellent glass of Riesling, and Tom had some bubbly water. We love the fact that Sweet Melissa's offers small plates, and that it is possible to order half-portions of the larger plates. We left feeling comfortable, and not overfed. This is a great place to celebrate special occasions -- but we just might make it one of our regular restos.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place to have lunch - ambiance, nic ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Nice place to have lunch - ambiance, nice - wine list, really nice - food, great

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining on Sanibel. Dine there twice ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Best dining on Sanibel. Dine there twice each week we stay in Sanibel Harbour. Never been disappointed. Service and food always top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, excellent food! We loved the ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent, excellent food! We loved the experience - cozy and romantic yet also perfect for larger groups. Service was impeccable - attentive without being cloying! Definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Food to salty

Dined on May 27, 2016

Server forgot about us. Did not tell us about specials. Food took a long time to come out and resturant was not crowded. Would not recommend this resturant. Save your money and go some where else.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolute gem, a must, beyond expectat ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

An absolute gem, a must, beyond expectations. I dine out regularly for business and pleasure, around the country. This resturant is a must for anyone looking for ambiance, a great and affordable meal. For what is worth this is only my third time written a review, I was that impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the Best on Sanibel Island

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had heard about Sweet Melissa's and now wished we had heard about it - and gone there - sooner. A wonderful evening with friends made all that much more special because of the beautifully prepared and delicious food. Quiet location, pleasant decor, outstanding bread, clever cocktails, extraordinarily fresh vegetables, perfectly seasoned dishes, excellent service, and all around great ambiance combined for a great evening. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Simple menu backed by great taste! Perfe ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Simple menu backed by great taste! Perfect.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience

Dined on May 20, 2016

We had been recommended Sweet Melissa's as a place for a special meal by a friend. It lived up to expectations. The service was excellent and we really enjoyed the food. As a location for a special meal we would heartily recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We my wife and I really enjoyed the food ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We my wife and I really enjoyed the food. I had a red snapper special, and my wife had the grouper. Both were delicious. And the watermelon salad was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual. 1/2 plates are an excel ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great as usual. 1/2 plates are an excellent idea for folks that don't eat big meals

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress Molly was great. Our meals ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Our waitress Molly was great. Our meals were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love dining here...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Always love dining here...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sweet Melissa's is a great restaurant, t ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Sweet Melissa's is a great restaurant, the best on Sanibel, and would rank at the top anywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything was great as usual, small plates make it easy to try different options. Server was exceptional!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Exceeds Its Reputation!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Sweet Melissa's has had consistently strong reviews, but we missed getting there every year during out summer vacation. We finally did and it was EXCEPTIONAL. The menu, the food & presentation were absolutely perfect. We loved that you can get full or half portions of the entrees to tailor to your desires - a neighboring diner did "surf + turf" from 2 half-sized entrees, I got a wonderful appetizer and half-size entree. The selections offered something for everyone, and I saw many choices I would love to try on my NEXT visit. Desert choices were incredible - and LARGE portions. And a live guitarist providing awesome background music - just perfect! A real gem in Sanibel!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

what a surprise!

Dined on May 3, 2016

i was attending a conference in Ft. Myers and i had friends from South Beach coming over for dinner, i had no clue where to go... i was suggested Sweet Melissa's cafe and decided to give it a try... great dining experience!!! and the service is excellent!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Be about the food, not the table attendant

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

As always the food was terrific! But the table attendant was busy selling a donut shop to every table and making the experience all about his life. Just weirdly out of step with one of our favorite places to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quality food in a charming atmosphere

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Sweet Melissa's is the most sophisticated & creative dining spot in Sanibel, barring none. It is great fun to go there as it is eclectic, reliable and delicious. The service is immediate and one can glimpse the chefs in the kitchen hard at work. Everything on the menu is outstanding. In our week in Sanibel recently, we ate there twice and loved everything we ate.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Melissa's

Dined on April 29, 2016

Melissa's never fails us! We tried some of the new menu choices , the jars, are so creative, and the ones we picked were delicious . I especially loved the goat cheese. Our entrees of grouper and pompano melted in the mouth, fresh and beautifully prepared. Great service, innovative and interesting cuisine, this should be everyone's first choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely experience

Dined on April 26, 2016

Sweet Melissa's was everything we expected and more. We were seated in a smaller, more intimate dining room, beyond the main dining room, which was perfect for the two of us. The menu was very interesting and the food was sensational and perfectly prepared. Best of all, even though the room we were in was full, it was still quiet and relaxing. What a delightful evening...we can't wait to go back. We highly recommend it to anyone who is discriminating and expects a superb experience without pretension. This is the place for you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a very special restaurant in ter ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

This is a very special restaurant in terms of lovely ambience, creative cuisine and price. We are in Sanibel for only one week and are eating at Sweet Melissa's again.

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Disappointed

Dined on April 25, 2016

Went to celebrate anniversary based on excellent experience in the past. Instead of enjoying meal, we felt very rushed. From seating to check payment, meal took 30 minutes. There wasn't even a wait so no real reason. We called to share feedback after we left and were told a manager would call us back in the morning. We still have not heard back from the restaurant. It's a shame because we were not looking for anything and the food itself was excellent. Portion sizes were smaller than we recalled compared to last year.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place to dine.

Dined on April 24, 2016

My wife and I like the fact that it has a relatively small menu which to us means all the dishes are freshly prepared. She also likes it because she can get small plates there. I started with the 5 cheese offering, excellent, and then had the small fillet steak, medium. Melted in my mouth!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Casual Dinner

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our first visit to Sweet Melissa's although we have wanted to go for many months. Very enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly memorable meal

Dined on April 23, 2016

Very hard to pick as so many delicious items on the menu. I started with the pate pots. The smoked mullet was magnificent and I had the others boxed for next day's lunch. The chef offers two sizes of entrees which is brilliant and I wish more restaurants did this. I opted for the smaller sized pan baked grouper with black-eyed peas and kale. Fish was perfectly cooked and the dish was well conceived. Alas desserts do not come in two sizes but the waitressed offered to bring me a scoop of one of their myriad house made ice creams & sorbets so I had a single scoop of not too sweet grapfruit sorbet along with a small limoncello. This is a chef working at the height of her powers. Feel very lucky to have booked here. There was live music from a guitarist which added to the special vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great restaurant w/ outstanding food.

Dined on April 21, 2016

One of the all time best on Sanibel Island. Great food with nice atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Just so so

Dined on April 21, 2016

Good but it great! guess I expected more with all the spectacular reviews. Server clearly wished he could have been any where else!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We had dinner at Sweet Melissa's twice w ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

We had dinner at Sweet Melissa's twice while visiting Sanibel Island. Great service and excellent choices, we had Fish Stew & Pompano which were outstanding.

food5
ambience4
service4

Interesting and unique preparations usin ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Interesting and unique preparations using fresh and local ingredients. Very nice accompaniments to the main disjes, e.g.lentils CO led with banana. Very good, yet reasonably priced wine list. Definitely a cut above the typical beachside restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants on the island

Dined on April 19, 2016

This was our third time at Sweet Melissa. We are bog foodies and enjoy going out while vacationing on Sanibel. This is one of our favorite destinations. Always great service and inventive menu items. Would recommend to anyone looking for a nice meal out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

good amibance and great food

Dined on April 19, 2016

the food was great! We had small potion of entree and two side plates. the mussels are delicious. The fish stew was decent, flaovorful and cozy. The only negative part to me is the sauce is a bit salty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding in all aspects

Dined on April 18, 2016

Reservations highly recommended. Server was knowledgeable and helpful. "Small plates" are meal size, unusual combinations of ingredients. Goat cheese cheesecake with pistachios & honey was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WORTH THE WAIT!!!

Dined on April 18, 2016

I made reservations for Sweet Melissa's in February for my very special friend's very special birthday because I had read the reviews and heard all the hype. WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED!!! From the moment we arrived to the last bit of dessert; we were able to relax and enjoy the company, wine, and food without feeling rushed or having the conversation interrupted. The menu is simple yet the combination of ingredients make for an exquisite taste experience. Our server was extremely knowledgeable about the preparation of the menu and the appropriate wine pairing. We will definitely return to Sweet Melissa's and recommend this fine establishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting & Inventive Menu

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the interesting and well prepared dishes. Nothing was boring about the food in this restaurant. The wait staff was great. We went there for a special occasion and were not disappointed. It is a bit pricey, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sanibel Favorite!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Extraordinary food, superb service, fine wine list - a Sanibel Island favorite for many years now and we will continue to come back!! Did I mention superb drinks from the bar? Heartily recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.