About Sweet Melissa's Cafe

Executive Chef Melissa Talmage offers a divinely creative menu sure to fit any foodies dream. Serving lunch and dinner, Chef Melissa challenges your taste buds to explore an array of different textures and tastes. Our dinner menu is broken into sections and the entrees are offered in half portions to give you the ability to try a few different dishes in one visit. We also offer an extensive wine list to enhance your dining experience. Come join us for another side to island dining.

1625 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33597
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5 pm
Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Casa Ybel

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-1956

Website:
http://www.sweetmelissascafe.net/

Entertainment:
Acoustic Guitarist Wednesday Thursday Friday and Saturday Evenings

Executive Chef:
Melissa Talmage

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sweet Melissa's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (52)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Good for a Date (36)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Open Kitchen (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Romantic (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Cozy (17)
Healthy (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Authentic (13)
Live Music (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Tapas (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Seasonal (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We never miss a visit to Sweet Melissa's ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 12 hours ago

We never miss a visit to Sweet Melissa's when vacationing on Sanibel. One of our favorites--never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and love that we can orde ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food and love that we can order small plates and sample a greater variety of foods!!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quiche was one of the best I have ev ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The quiche was one of the best I have ever had although the salad greens were over dressed. Next time I would ask for the dressing on the side. BLT was a hit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always go to Sweet Melissa's on every ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We always go to Sweet Melissa's on every trip to Sanibel. It is far and away the best restaurant on the island. High end ingredients, cooked with expertise. Just had perfectly braised and slow cooked veal cheeks and then short ribs. Small quibbles : there were not enough mashed parsnips on the veal cheeks and the parsnip curls were a waste of time. Pretty shapes but with the flavor cookies out of it.

And, I'm a New York cheesecake lover whose feels this was the best cheesecakes I've ever had!!'

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We love going to Sweet Mellissa's Restau ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

We love going to Sweet Mellissa's Restaurant for dinner. The way the food is prepared is interesting and delicious. We try to go there at least twice each year when we are visiting Sanibel.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing menu, they do half entrees which ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing menu, they do half entrees which is perfect because you'll want to choose more than one! (I did!!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As good as always Favorite restaurant i ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

As good as always

Favorite restaurant in Sanibel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A 4 star experience as uaual. We had 2 d ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

A 4 star experience as uaual. We had 2 dinners at Melissa's in our 2 weeks on Sanibel.

Tags: , Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sweet Melissa's is an excellent restaura ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Sweet Melissa's is an excellent restaurant on the island with consistently fresh ingredients and a creative menu with good options for small and large plates. The goat cheese cheesecake was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always go to sweet Melissa's for spec ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We always go to sweet Melissa's for special occasions. The atmosphere is elegant, the food is great and the wait staff is always first rate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service! We enjoyed ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding food and service! We enjoyed it for a late lunch in Valentine's Day. Chef is talented and creative.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, inspired food.

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wonderful, inspired food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband are staying in Captiva. Found ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband are staying in Captiva. Found Sweet Melissa's through Open Table and wasn't disappointed. Food was creative but also fresh. Matt, our server, was on top of hos game. Will definitely go back. So happy to have found this place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Definitely a reason to come to Sanibel.. ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Definitely a reason to come to Sanibel.....loved everything I have tried....the mussels are the best ever!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice lunch at Sanibel. Outside screened ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Nice lunch at Sanibel. Outside screened porch was perfect on a lovely day. Our server was lovely. Creative desserts.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

We had an outstanding meal - can't say e ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had an outstanding meal - can't say enough about the food! Creative and beautifully presented - we savored every bite. Our server was knowledgeable and helpful and her recommendations enhanced our experience. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sweet Melissa's was the best restaurant ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Sweet Melissa's was the best restaurant we went to on Sanibel Island out of 6.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I frequent restaurants on Sa ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My wife and I frequent restaurants on Sanibel Island which is just 4 miles from our home across the Sanibel causeway. Our dinner at Sweet Melissa's a few days ago was most pleasant. The menu always has special dishes with local seafood, and many small plates as well as full entrees. The service was excellent and the guitar playing in the background made for a wonderful ambiance. We started with salads, a roasted beet salad and grilled romaine, two of her special salads, - both superb. My wife's redfish was perfectly prepared and I had the the fish stew which is always excellent. We will be back frequently as this is now our favorite place to dine on Sanibel.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tapas, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a birthday dinner. Between the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This was a birthday dinner. Between the two of us we shared a number of dishes. The food was all fantastic. Unfortunately they brought everything at once which meant that the steak sat there while we ate the starters. The steak was perfectly done. For dessert we ordered the Key Lime Bread pudding and they brought it on a large plate with Happy Birthday beautifully written in dark chocolate on the plate, and a single candle in the pudding. Excellent presentation and lovely of them to do this without asking. We would definitely go there again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Tenderloin, fish stew and scallops were ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Tenderloin, fish stew and scallops were outstanding. Beet salad was also excellent. I'd pass on the oysters. Nothing to rave about. Menu is enticing and warrants a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food great bartender and waiter,Jo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Great food great bartender and waiter,John.

Fresh and exciting food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were spectacular! Our ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food and service were spectacular! Our second time eating here and we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved the food. Had my birthday here and ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 4, 2017

loved the food. Had my birthday here and all of our courses were one of a kind and delivered fresh and served well. One upgrade would be keeping table clean in between courses, for example getting rid of silverware and cleaning crumbs from table. Presenting napkins on the lap would be a nice touch too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent choice on Sanibel. Food is cre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent choice on Sanibel. Food is creative and delicious. People are pleasant and the guitar music is soothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious small plates let you taste mor ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Delicious small plates let you taste more or accomodate smaller appetites. We loved the beet salad, roasted romaine salad, crab fritter, and seared scallops. Recipes are creative and everything is attractively presented.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant on the island. ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Our favorite restaurant on the island. The food is creative, well-prepared and consistently tasty. We love the option of smaller servings which are perfect for us. Wine list is good. Our server was friendly , attentive and helpful. Tables are spaced so you can have a quiet conversation. We celebrated our anniversary here for the past two years and plan to continue that tradition. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Live Music, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoy this restaurant on a regular basi ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Enjoy this restaurant on a regular basis and it is excellent. Service and food is always above par!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the fish stew and the crispy fish ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had the fish stew and the crispy fish; both were excellent. My wife had a new fashioned drink that she enjoyed very much, although at $12 it is expensive (IMO).

I would definitely recommend Sweet Melissa's for a "special occasion" dinner. It was our last night on Sanibel so we decided to splurge.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was over-priced. Why would a cook p ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was over-priced. Why would a cook put pork belly with a seafood (non-meat) entree??!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

This is my favorite restaurant. I am fr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant. I am from Minnesota. Excellent service and fairly quiet. Fish stew has numerous flavors embedded in it. Duck confit w kale and linguine is truly a sensory overload in a positive way. Super Tuscan wine was disappointing, but the server switched to a wonderful Pinot Noir w no added cost! Truly an OUTSTANDING restaurant.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff has their dance perfected with ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The staff has their dance perfected with excellent service. Quality food well presented. Beautiful atmosphere. Over all very enjoyable.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Music was a nice touch, but very loud, h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Music was a nice touch, but very loud, hard to talk at dinner. Food was very good. I thought the service on this visit was mediocre at best and would be happy to discuss issues with manager/owner.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Always superior. Best restaurant on San ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Always superior. Best restaurant on Sanibel. Creative, presentation excellent, small plate entree options.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was an extraordinary dining experie ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This was an extraordinary dining experience on Sanibel Island. We shared 2 creative and delicious fish dishes and a wonderful beet salad. The wine list was a bit pricy but we chose a red blend that was the perfect complement to our dinner. We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeanie was very pleasant, knowlegeable a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Jeanie was very pleasant, knowlegeable and helpful. The food is always great.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly service, good ambience and ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Very friendly service, good ambience and most especially wonderful food, beautifully presented. The menu contains something to satisfy every taste and any occasion. We found the Escargot and the fish stew outstanding.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Last year I thought Sweet Melissa's was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Last year I thought Sweet Melissa's was the best on the island. This year I would compare it favorably to our honeymoon meal at Les Crayeux in Reim France. Simply awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Tapas, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best meal we had while in Sanibel. If we ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best meal we had while in Sanibel. If we had another night on the island we would have definitely gone back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good and creative menu. Appreciated ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Very good and creative menu. Appreciated the choice of small and larger entrees.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I wouldn't change a thing. Everything w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I wouldn't change a thing. Everything was top notch. Loved it. Cobia special was really special.

Tags: Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.