About Sweet Caroline's

1401 Clement St
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

Sweet Caroline’s is neighborhood restaurant in Locust Point.
We source local sustainable produce and meats within 400 miles of the city.
You'll see lots of southern influences on our menu's.
On our beer taps you will always find unique local crafts to compliment any plate on the menu.
Stop in and enjoy any of our modern and southern takes on classic Maryland dishes.
Our bartender shakes up refreshing craft cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Brunch:

Saturday 11:00am -4:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm


Dinner:

Daily 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Decatur St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 244-1401

Website:
http://www.sweetcarolineslocustpoint.com/

Entertainment:
Monday Night Bingo
Tuesday Wing Night
Wednesday Hook Em ring toss
Thursday Made in MD 2 for 1 Crab Cakes
Friday Power Hour 5-6, and late nite game nite
Saturday Paint Nite
Sunday 10am Brunch

Parking Details:
Permit Free parking along all streets in Locust Point.
Ample parking within a block of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator- Decatur

Executive Chef:
Jay Ferrari (Owner)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Paint Nights
Bingo Night
Game Night
Local Food & Drink Wars
Block Parties

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:45PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Sweet Caroline's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
See All
Great for Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
53 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved this place. Had dinner here on Sat ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Loved this place. Had dinner here on Saturday night and it was great. Very relaxing and delicious food. Had my 5 year old grandson with me and they were so sweet to him. Looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

The service was slow at the beginning. W ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was slow at the beginning. We waited about 20 minutes before someone took our order. Otherwise the food was great and I'd recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I'm glad I discovered this small but liv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I'm glad I discovered this small but lively restaurant in Locust Point. The food was reasonably priced and pretty good. When we went, it was wine and paint night. Only caveats: The woman's bathroom is teeny tiny. Also, skip the cronuts. They were very greasy. Otherwise, great place!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Friendly service, but very mediocre food ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Friendly service, but very mediocre food. One of the desserts we ordered was just downright nasty. Also we were seated at a table placed between the doors for the ladies and mens bathrooms. Ugh. There are too many other better choices in Baltimore, we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

My family of three ( teen boy, 8 yo girl ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 5, 2016

My family of three ( teen boy, 8 yo girl, and me) thoroughly enjoyed this neighborhood. At 6pm, we were one of three parties dining. By the time we left at 7:30pm, the place was coming to life. We dined on the chicken waffle tacos (OMG), crab, buffalo chicken, shrimp po' boys, and for dessert the Cronus and fudge brownie sundae. My kids really liked the iced tea, too. The service was quick, responsive, and friendly. We highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The drinks were great, and the food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The drinks were great, and the food was even better!! The chicken and waffle nachos are a must try!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were really looking forward to a meal ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We were really looking forward to a meal at this neighborhood restaurant given it had a 4 star rating on open table. I give this feedback as constructive only and hope the restaurant owners take it as such. My lamb burger was raw and after sending it back, I received a new burger that was 1/3 the size of the original. My husband got the BBQ brisket and it was slathered with BBQ sauce, completely devoid of any peach flavor. We paid $17 for that dish and while my husband has a hearty appetite he left the majority of his plate unfinished. Finally the bartender was drinking, which the owners should know as I'm sure they are losing money because of this guy. Revamp your menu and get real employees who care about your business otherwise you'll be closing soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Good was tasty but cold.....my risotto w ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Good was tasty but cold.....my risotto was like warm my husband's pot pie was cold in center....took a little to long to get my food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

We had a 5 pm dinner reservations for fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a 5 pm dinner reservations for four on Father's Day. I was looking for a nice laid back location with good food. My husband and children were pleased with this selection. There were only a few other guests, not sure a reservation was actually needed. We received good service and the food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice restaurant, would definitely visit ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Nice restaurant, would definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVED IT! Food was great! Get the CRO-NU ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2016

LOVED IT! Food was great! Get the CRO-NUTS!!!! You'll go must!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great creative brunch items and large, amazingly delicious mimosas! Just be aware that the portions are not large. My friends ordered crepes and were still a bit hungry--hence the moderate score on value. Get one of the yummy-looking side dishes to round things out. Good food and friendly, hip-neighborhood-bar atmosphere. Would love to come back sometime to try out other non-brunch items.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant, while comfortable and a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant, while comfortable and a good neighborhood place, could have a few more vegetarian options. The choices are limited and the vegetarian pot pie a bit dense.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Cute location. Very homey feel.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Cute location. Very homey feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was delicious! Everything was c ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was delicious! Everything was cooked perfectly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We checked out sweet Caroline's because ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 24, 2016

We checked out sweet Caroline's because of the 1000 open table points offered for setting a reservation. Sadly we were the only guests in the restaurant on a Sunday evening at 5:30. The food and service were great. I enjoyed the meatloaf tower-decadent but oh so good. The whiskey mule I had with it was very nice too. I definitely will be back to try some other things from the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sweet Indeed

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 24, 2016

I've been to Sweet Caroline's before with a girlfriend for brunch, and we had a blast. This time around was date day with my boyfriend, and we left with our tummies full, and smiling from ear to ear. The cronuts...are to die for...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fun/Cool Place

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating a birthday....the food and service was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Ashley and team do a great job! Thank yo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Ashley and team do a great job! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was very pleased with the food and servi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Was very pleased with the food and service at Sweet Caroline's. It's not your typical chain restaurant that you will see at the inner harbor but it's a local pub in a neighborhood that has great food. Would definitely recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Not my type of retaurant.

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 9, 2016

I chose this restaurant to participate in the "Paint and Pub" event that was being held there so I took several of my friends with me to have dinner prior to the event. The service was great but the food was not very good. I ordered the pot pie which was too creamy and the pastry needed to be baked a little more. Quite disappointing to say the least. However, if you are looking for a nice little corner bar, have some appetizers and chat, this would be a neat little spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Everything was just ok ... From the food ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Everything was just ok ... From the food to the atmosphere to the service. The best thing about the restaurant was the blood orange mimosas - I probably wouldn't go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Big Disappointment

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We made a New Year's Eve reservation based on a friend's recommendation. When we arrived at 7:15 pm, the place was practically empty in the bar and we were shown to our table on the 2d floor. No one was in the 2d floor dining room. Not a good sign. When the waitress came to take a drink order, my step mother ordered a Malibu Bay Breeze. The waitress dismissively said, "We don't have Malibu Rum. We don't have Captain Morgan." My dad ordered Absolut on the rocks. Waitress: "We don't have Absolut." Not once did she (or could she, rather) recommend something in place of these brands. She did not know whose Bloody Mary mix the establishment uses and we had to wait for her to go back downstairs to find out. I ordered a Lemon Crush which three people at our table tasted and agreed there was little if any vodka in the drink. My boyfriend took the drink to the bar and asked for more vodka. We were charged $4.50 for a shot of vodka on top of a $6.50 drink. Ridiculous. My dad's wife ordered a half of a chopped salad. The waitress explained they could only offer a large size salad so my dad suggeted that he would split the salad with his wife. We were charged $4.00 split charge on a $10 salad. Again--ridiculous. Nothing was said to us about either of the extra charges at the time we made our requests. It wasn't until the check was offered that my boyfriend noticed the up charges. He did not want to make a scene in front of my parents and so he paid the bill as it was presented. The waitress service was unpolished and sub par. It was as if we were imposing on the staff and were obviously not "regulars." The waitress had to read the night's specials from a note card she carried in her pocket. This place is a neighborhood bar that is wishes it was a nice restaurant. We have no plans to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Unfortunately Nothing Special

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2015

Unfortunately the best part of the dinner was the oatmeal stout. The Thai chili was OK, but the crawfish gnoochi suffered from too much lemon juice. The chicken on the Texas sushi was tasty, but the risotto was tasteless.

Sorry to say there are too many other small pubs in the area for this one to stay on the list of places to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great spot for brunch

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 6, 2015

We went to Sweet Caroline's the other day for brunch with my 3 year old niece. The service was so great and the food amazing. We also were able to make a reservation which isn't usually possible in a lot of brunch places I've been too. On top of all that it was a decent price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found this restaurant on OpenTable and h ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2015

Found this restaurant on OpenTable and have been wanting to try it for quite sometime. Happen to be in the area today so I made a reservation and view the menu on open table. Although the menu is outdated on OpenTable the staff there was very accommodating and fixing a grilled Caesar salad today. The pot pie was outstanding and the Bartender/server was a perfect host. Will definitely be back to try some of the other menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I Will Go Back

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Although my crab cake dinner was so-so, I really enjoyed Sweet Caroline. Our waiter, Nick, was so nice and friendly. Good beers on tap and specialty cocktails were really good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

First Visit

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2015

Last minute decision to grab a quick bite in Locust Point and we weren't disappointed. The Honey Old Bay wings are AMAZING! Perfect crispness and flavor. We also tried the Parmesan Garlic wings which were good but didn't hold a candle to the first. Meatloaf is like a tower of home cooking...huge meal! shrimp po'boy had lots of flavor, though I was wishing for 1-2 more shrimp. crab cake deal (Thursday) is great and they were tasty, not "the best" but they were worth the price and we enjoyed them. Finally, it was a beautiful night so we were able to sit at 1 of the 2 picnic tables outside and enjoyed very friendly, considerate service and a tasty cocktail too! We'd go back and recommend to friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Little spot of yummy!

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 4, 2015

Great little place, there was no one else there when we were there for dinner on the 4th of July, the AC wasn't on so it was a bit stuffy, but the people working there were very nice, the chef brought our food right out to us, delicious concoctions!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not prepared for Mother's Day

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Probably because my friend and I chose to eat brunch here on Mother's Day, but service was terrible. I would possibly come back another day when they didn't have a large crowd.Needed twice the wait staff, and we had made reservations. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Ge the sweet potato and coconut soup!!!

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2015

Oh my goodness, that souped rocked! It was a sweet potato purée with fresh coconut sprinkled on top and it was topped with crispy bacon crumbles. I got a cup before my entrée but I should have gotten a bowl! It was delightful. I ordered the salmon with blackberry sauce and unfortuantely they had just run out of the sauce, but I ordered the salmon anyway. It was great as well and the vegetables that came with it were done perfectly.

Had this restaurant not been in OpenTable I never would have gone. Now when I go back to Baltimore this will be at the top of my list!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was fabulous - really friendly. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 6, 2015

Service was fabulous - really friendly. Menu is great, with a nice wine/beer cocktail list. Sat at the booth on the first floor - maybe it needs some more support for comfort. Some of our food items were really wonderful and some were just eh. I'd give it another try because they are trying hard to be a great neighborhood place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

A twenty something at work recommended t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 28, 2015

A twenty something at work recommended this place, which we had been to when the space was other restaurants in the past. The downstairs was empty except for us, and there was a younger crowd upstairs. As older patrons (we're 60, not 80!), it was not welcoming to folks over 30. Good luck with that business model. We won't be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

To be fair it was a Monday night and sno ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 16, 2015

To be fair it was a Monday night and snowing. Not too many folks in the place. We had enjoyable food that could have been better if served hot. Like the southern food ideas but need a little more attention to be considered very good. Enjoyed sticking around for Bingo night . We'll go back and give the food another try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Very nice brunch

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Went for Valentine's Day brunch. The blood orange mimosa was excellent. I enjoyed the progressive (make your own) bloody mary bar. I recommend half their blend, half tomato juice with a couple of hits of Worcestershire sauce. Anyway, my wife had a Southern omelette that was outstanding. My breakfast flatbread was decent, but had too much Sriracha sauce, it really dominated the rest of it. I also had the sausage gravy, too much sage for me, but the biscuit was excellent. We saw several other things we wanted to try, so we will be back. The bartender was also our waiter, he was very attentive and we enjoyed talking with him, since it wasn't very busy that morning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

needs a little work

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 17, 2015

I had called and asked about the upstairs and was assured it was open. when arrived, told it was reserved for a group. the group never came. we ate in the back of the bar area sitting in a booth (base needs restuffing) Food was pretty good though not warm enough for my preference & not sure it was worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Just say no

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2014

This is a bar more than a restaurant and a filthy one at that. The hostess graciously told us before we sat down that they were out of everything on the menu with the exception of ten items. The champagne in the mimosa was flat and the orange juice was the concentrate kind. The food was do greasy it was akin to a diner. They ran out of biscuits for their signature dish so substituted English muffins. Yuck. Gross place, dirty, greasy food and only go there if you want a bottled beer. Although it was a holiday weekend, the location is hard to access by car and definitely not worth the effort

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great food

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 31, 2014

Exceptional food. More of a bar service environment (only downstairs was open, not sure if there is an upstairs).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

First Time Diner

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 22, 2014

Had casual dinner recently with adult son and his friend. Promptly seated and greeted by friendly server. Service throughout our meal was very professional. Apps were wings and homemade chips with cheese--good choice. Two of us had crab cakes which had little filler and plenty of backfin and the other had tacos. Curly fries with the crab cakes especially good however not big fan of the purple cole slaw. Overall a pleasant meal in a convenient local neighborhood. Wish there was more table/booth seating available outside the bar area but appears layout does not permit. Would gladly return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Good alternative in Locust Point

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 15, 2014

This was our first visit to SC's although we had been here a few times to earlier restaurants. Salad and crab cake entrees were very good. Service was prompt and courteous, although the place was nearly empty at 8pm on a Friday night in August. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.