About Sweet Caroline's

1401 Clement St
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

Sweet Caroline’s is neighborhood restaurant in Locust Point.
We source local sustainable produce and meats within 400 miles of the city.
You'll see lots of southern influences on our menu's.
On our beer taps you will always find unique local crafts to compliment any plate on the menu.
Stop in and enjoy any of our modern and southern takes on classic Maryland dishes.
Our bartender shakes up refreshing craft cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Brunch:

Saturday 11:00am -4:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm


Dinner:

Daily 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Decatur St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 244-1401

Website:
http://www.sweetcarolineslocustpoint.com/

Entertainment:
Monday Night Bingo
Tuesday Wing Night
Wednesday Hook Em ring toss
Thursday Made in MD 2 for 1 Crab Cakes
Friday Power Hour 5-6, and late nite game nite
Saturday Paint Nite
Sunday 10am Brunch

Parking Details:
Permit Free parking along all streets in Locust Point.
Ample parking within a block of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator- Decatur

Executive Chef:
Jay Ferrari (Owner)

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Paint Nights
Bingo Night
Game Night
Local Food & Drink Wars
Block Parties

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:45PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Sweet Caroline's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Great for Brunch
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Locust Point ›

neighborhood gem (14)
great for brunch (8)
great for lunch (6)
See All
fit for foodies (5)
kid-friendly (5)
good for groups (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
special occasion (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
44 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a 5 pm dinner reservations for fo ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had a 5 pm dinner reservations for four on Father's Day. I was looking for a nice laid back location with good food. My husband and children were pleased with this selection. There were only a few other guests, not sure a reservation was actually needed. We received good service and the food was delicious.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVED IT! Food was great! Get the CRO-NU ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

LOVED IT! Food was great! Get the CRO-NUTS!!!! You'll go must!!!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Brunch

Dined on June 5, 2016

Great creative brunch items and large, amazingly delicious mimosas! Just be aware that the portions are not large. My friends ordered crepes and were still a bit hungry--hence the moderate score on value. Get one of the yummy-looking side dishes to round things out. Good food and friendly, hip-neighborhood-bar atmosphere. Would love to come back sometime to try out other non-brunch items.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant, while comfortable and a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant, while comfortable and a good neighborhood place, could have a few more vegetarian options. The choices are limited and the vegetarian pot pie a bit dense.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Cute location. Very homey feel.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Cute location. Very homey feel.

food5
ambience4
service4

The food was delicious! Everything was c ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was delicious! Everything was cooked perfectly!

food5
ambience4
service5

We checked out sweet Caroline's because ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We checked out sweet Caroline's because of the 1000 open table points offered for setting a reservation. Sadly we were the only guests in the restaurant on a Sunday evening at 5:30. The food and service were great. I enjoyed the meatloaf tower-decadent but oh so good. The whiskey mule I had with it was very nice too. I definitely will be back to try some other things from the menu.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sweet Indeed

Dined on April 24, 2016

I've been to Sweet Caroline's before with a girlfriend for brunch, and we had a blast. This time around was date day with my boyfriend, and we left with our tummies full, and smiling from ear to ear. The cronuts...are to die for...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Fun/Cool Place

Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating a birthday....the food and service was great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Ashley and team do a great job! Thank yo ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Ashley and team do a great job! Thank you!

food5
ambience4
service4

Was very pleased with the food and servi ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Was very pleased with the food and service at Sweet Caroline's. It's not your typical chain restaurant that you will see at the inner harbor but it's a local pub in a neighborhood that has great food. Would definitely recommend it!

food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Not my type of retaurant.

Dined on January 9, 2016

I chose this restaurant to participate in the "Paint and Pub" event that was being held there so I took several of my friends with me to have dinner prior to the event. The service was great but the food was not very good. I ordered the pot pie which was too creamy and the pastry needed to be baked a little more. Quite disappointing to say the least. However, if you are looking for a nice little corner bar, have some appetizers and chat, this would be a neat little spot.

food2
ambience1
service2

Everything was just ok ... From the food ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Everything was just ok ... From the food to the atmosphere to the service. The best thing about the restaurant was the blood orange mimosas - I probably wouldn't go back!

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Big Disappointment

Dined on January 1, 2016

We made a New Year's Eve reservation based on a friend's recommendation. When we arrived at 7:15 pm, the place was practically empty in the bar and we were shown to our table on the 2d floor. No one was in the 2d floor dining room. Not a good sign. When the waitress came to take a drink order, my step mother ordered a Malibu Bay Breeze. The waitress dismissively said, "We don't have Malibu Rum. We don't have Captain Morgan." My dad ordered Absolut on the rocks. Waitress: "We don't have Absolut." Not once did she (or could she, rather) recommend something in place of these brands. She did not know whose Bloody Mary mix the establishment uses and we had to wait for her to go back downstairs to find out. I ordered a Lemon Crush which three people at our table tasted and agreed there was little if any vodka in the drink. My boyfriend took the drink to the bar and asked for more vodka. We were charged $4.50 for a shot of vodka on top of a $6.50 drink. Ridiculous. My dad's wife ordered a half of a chopped salad. The waitress explained they could only offer a large size salad so my dad suggeted that he would split the salad with his wife. We were charged $4.00 split charge on a $10 salad. Again--ridiculous. Nothing was said to us about either of the extra charges at the time we made our requests. It wasn't until the check was offered that my boyfriend noticed the up charges. He did not want to make a scene in front of my parents and so he paid the bill as it was presented. The waitress service was unpolished and sub par. It was as if we were imposing on the staff and were obviously not "regulars." The waitress had to read the night's specials from a note card she carried in her pocket. This place is a neighborhood bar that is wishes it was a nice restaurant. We have no plans to go back.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Unfortunately Nothing Special

Dined on December 27, 2015

Unfortunately the best part of the dinner was the oatmeal stout. The Thai chili was OK, but the crawfish gnoochi suffered from too much lemon juice. The chicken on the Texas sushi was tasty, but the risotto was tasteless. Sorry to say there are too many other small pubs in the area for this one to stay on the list of places to go.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for brunch

Dined on December 6, 2015

We went to Sweet Caroline's the other day for brunch with my 3 year old niece. The service was so great and the food amazing. We also were able to make a reservation which isn't usually possible in a lot of brunch places I've been too. On top of all that it was a decent price.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Found this restaurant on OpenTable and h ...

vip
Dined on November 11, 2015

Found this restaurant on OpenTable and have been wanting to try it for quite sometime. Happen to be in the area today so I made a reservation and view the menu on open table. Although the menu is outdated on OpenTable the staff there was very accommodating and fixing a grilled Caesar salad today. The pot pie was outstanding and the Bartender/server was a perfect host. Will definitely be back to try some of the other menu items.

food3
ambience5
service5

I Will Go Back

Dined on October 31, 2015

Although my crab cake dinner was so-so, I really enjoyed Sweet Caroline. Our waiter, Nick, was so nice and friendly. Good beers on tap and specialty cocktails were really good.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

First Visit

vip
Dined on September 24, 2015

Last minute decision to grab a quick bite in Locust Point and we weren't disappointed. The Honey Old Bay wings are AMAZING! Perfect crispness and flavor. We also tried the Parmesan Garlic wings which were good but didn't hold a candle to the first. Meatloaf is like a tower of home cooking...huge meal! shrimp po'boy had lots of flavor, though I was wishing for 1-2 more shrimp. crab cake deal (Thursday) is great and they were tasty, not "the best" but they were worth the price and we enjoyed them. Finally, it was a beautiful night so we were able to sit at 1 of the 2 picnic tables outside and enjoyed very friendly, considerate service and a tasty cocktail too! We'd go back and recommend to friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Little spot of yummy!

vip
Dined on July 4, 2015

Great little place, there was no one else there when we were there for dinner on the 4th of July, the AC wasn't on so it was a bit stuffy, but the people working there were very nice, the chef brought our food right out to us, delicious concoctions!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service1

Not prepared for Mother's Day

Dined on May 10, 2015

Probably because my friend and I chose to eat brunch here on Mother's Day, but service was terrible. I would possibly come back another day when they didn't have a large crowd.Needed twice the wait staff, and we had made reservations. Food was very good.

food5
ambience4
service5

Ge the sweet potato and coconut soup!!!

vip
Dined on March 10, 2015

Oh my goodness, that souped rocked! It was a sweet potato purée with fresh coconut sprinkled on top *and* it was topped with crispy bacon crumbles. I got a cup before my entrée but I should have gotten a bowl! It was delightful. I ordered the salmon with blackberry sauce and unfortuantely they had just run out of the sauce, but I ordered the salmon anyway. It was great as well and the vegetables that came with it were done perfectly. Had this restaurant not been in OpenTable I never would have gone. Now when I go back to Baltimore this will be at the top of my list!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5

Service was fabulous - really friendly. ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2015

Service was fabulous - really friendly. Menu is great, with a nice wine/beer cocktail list. Sat at the booth on the first floor - maybe it needs some more support for comfort. Some of our food items were really wonderful and some were just eh. I'd give it another try because they are trying hard to be a great neighborhood place.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3

A twenty something at work recommended t ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2015

A twenty something at work recommended this place, which we had been to when the space was other restaurants in the past. The downstairs was empty except for us, and there was a younger crowd upstairs. As older patrons (we're 60, not 80!), it was not welcoming to folks over 30. Good luck with that business model. We won't be returning

food3
ambience3
service3

To be fair it was a Monday night and sno ...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2015

To be fair it was a Monday night and snowing. Not too many folks in the place. We had enjoyable food that could have been better if served hot. Like the southern food ideas but need a little more attention to be considered very good. Enjoyed sticking around for Bingo night . We'll go back and give the food another try.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

Very nice brunch

Dined on February 14, 2015

Went for Valentine's Day brunch. The blood orange mimosa was excellent. I enjoyed the progressive (make your own) bloody mary bar. I recommend half their blend, half tomato juice with a couple of hits of Worcestershire sauce. Anyway, my wife had a Southern omelette that was outstanding. My breakfast flatbread was decent, but had too much Sriracha sauce, it really dominated the rest of it. I also had the sausage gravy, too much sage for me, but the biscuit was excellent. We saw several other things we wanted to try, so we will be back. The bartender was also our waiter, he was very attentive and we enjoyed talking with him, since it wasn't very busy that morning.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

needs a little work

Dined on January 17, 2015

I had called and asked about the upstairs and was assured it was open. when arrived, told it was reserved for a group. the group never came. we ate in the back of the bar area sitting in a booth (base needs restuffing) Food was pretty good though not warm enough for my preference & not sure it was worth the price

food1
ambience1
service1

Just say no

vip
Dined on September 14, 2014

This is a bar more than a restaurant and a filthy one at that. The hostess graciously told us before we sat down that they were out of everything on the menu with the exception of ten items. The champagne in the mimosa was flat and the orange juice was the concentrate kind. The food was do greasy it was akin to a diner. They ran out of biscuits for their signature dish so substituted English muffins. Yuck. Gross place, dirty, greasy food and only go there if you want a bottled beer. Although it was a holiday weekend, the location is hard to access by car and definitely not worth the effort

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food

Dined on August 31, 2014

Exceptional food. More of a bar service environment (only downstairs was open, not sure if there is an upstairs).

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4

First Time Diner

vip
Dined on August 22, 2014

Had casual dinner recently with adult son and his friend. Promptly seated and greeted by friendly server. Service throughout our meal was very professional. Apps were wings and homemade chips with cheese--good choice. Two of us had crab cakes which had little filler and plenty of backfin and the other had tacos. Curly fries with the crab cakes especially good however not big fan of the purple cole slaw. Overall a pleasant meal in a convenient local neighborhood. Wish there was more table/booth seating available outside the bar area but appears layout does not permit. Would gladly return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Good alternative in Locust Point

vip
Dined on August 15, 2014

This was our first visit to SC's although we had been here a few times to earlier restaurants. Salad and crab cake entrees were very good. Service was prompt and courteous, although the place was nearly empty at 8pm on a Friday night in August. We will be back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Great Find

Dined on August 6, 2014

Once a month, friends and I search the web for a new restaurant to try. We enter a zip code and then read reviews. We found Sweet Caroline's and it sounded like a fun place to visit. It was. Neighborhood Gem is a good description. It is very casual and relaxed. Perfect after a busy day at work. Our server was a little over worked but made up for it with a great personality. We were in no rush so it was not a problem. Food was very good. My group goes from adventurous eaters to meat and potatoes only. The simple menu has something for everyone. We ate in the bar area which was perfect for us but not for a romantic dinner. There is a second floor which I assume is for a quieter experience. This was a great find and we will go back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Best Crabcake EVER

Dined on May 20, 2014

Been trying to check this place out for a while, glad we finally did. Server was very knowledgeable about the craft beer selections. It was neat seeing other beers on tap besides the boring miller lite. The crab app held up to its reviews, full of fresh lump crab meat and fresh guacamole. My husband had the seafood pasta; it presented very well and was full of seafood. Very light with the perfect amount of old bay without being greasy or oily. I had the crab cake, and it was the hands down best I've EVER had, perfectly seasoned & full of lump. The sweet slaw and curly fries made it the perfect dish. The prices on drinks and food were very fair for the quality. All in all great spot, food, & service, we will be back to check out brunch too.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2

Good Neighborhood Joint

Dined on May 11, 2014

My husband & I went for mother's day brunch and it was good. The food was solid and the cocktail list had enough variety to offer different tastes. Service was... casual. There were only a few tables when we arrived, so any possible brunch rush was long over, but everyone's dish arrived one or two at a time and minutes apart. I heard people apologizing and asking each other not to wait. My husband's drink came up a solid 5 minutes before mine did, which was alarming. If you can't coordinate cocktails, that's a problem. That said, if I were looking for solid food and not in a hurry and expecting professional service, I'd go back. I see it as a lazy weekend afternoon bite when I have nowhere to be.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

What a gem!

vip
Dined on May 2, 2014

Was not expecting to love this gem of a bar/restaurant but what a surprise! The food was excellent! There were so many entrees on the menu that sounded delicious that it was tough to decide which to order. And the appetizers were truly AMAZING - best crab guacamole ever. We will be back to Sweet Carolina's very soon!

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Great meal

vip
Dined on March 21, 2014

The food we had at Sweet Caroline's on a recent Friday night was terrific. I had a crab cake and my husband had the rosemary chicken. The crab cake was large and full of crab. The chicken was perfectly cooked - not an easy thing to do in a restaurant. Unfortunately, there were not many people in either the dining or bar area. This is hard to understand since it is so good. It affects the ambiance somewhat so I hope more people get the word that this is a great option for an increasingly interesting part of Baltimore.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service4

First visit to this neighborhood

Dined on March 12, 2014

First visit to this neighborhood restaurant. Had read the reviews and looked forward to a good meal. The cream of crab soup was average good. The crab cake, while full of lump meat, as advertised, had little seasoning. Being native Baltimoreans we have huge expectations from any local restaurant when it comes to crab cakes. Not sure if they used Old Bay or not, but if so, more would have definitely been better. The stuffed mushrooms were a little disappointing as was the pan roasted chicken; We didn't anticipate a flattened out, fried in Panko chicken breast. If I were to single out the most outstanding issue we had at Sweet Carolines it would be the chef's lack of seasoning.

food2
ambience2
service3

not what we expected...

vip
Dined on March 7, 2014

Had been to this location a couple of times previously under different ownership and menu configurations. The reviews for the current incarnation were glowing and we decided to give it a try. The staff is indeed friendly, enthusiastic and attentive which helps to overcome other shortcomings of the restaurant. We were escorted to the upstairs dining room on a Friday night only to find it empty--a bit disconcerting. The tables are small and uncomfortable. As for the food, we did enjoy our tuna/cucumber appetizer! The entrees were generous but ordinary at best. Bottom line: As suburb-dwellers, we would not make the trek back. If we lived in the neighborhood, we wouldn't hesitate to drop in for a quick bite.

food4
ambience4
service3

Very quiet but also quite tasty

Dined on March 2, 2014

Sunday night we found the restaurant virtually empty, just one group near the bar and one other on the first floor. We had the second floor all to ourselves. Not a bad thing, just a bit worrisome about the long-term health of the restaurant. The food was excellent. It's not a large menu, but sufficiently so that everyone should find something of interest. Prices were reasonable. We had a "waitress in training" and she did fine. All in all a good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2014

The food was fantastic. Our server was very attentive and friendly. We stayed for a few after dinner cocktails and the bartender was awesome. Will definitely be going back in the near future!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.