Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
Special offers available. See details

Sweet Caroline's

4.0
73 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Brunch
  • Great for Lunch
Sweet Caroline’s is neighborhood restaurant in Locust Point.
We source local sustainable produce and meats within 400 miles of the city.
You'll see lots of southern influences on our menu's.
On our beer taps you will always find unique local crafts to compliment any plate on the menu.
Stop in and enjoy any of our modern and southern takes on classic Maryland dishes.
Our bartender shakes up refreshing craft cocktails.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Brunch:

Saturday 11:00am -4:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm


Dinner:

Daily 4:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(410) 244-1401
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jay Ferrari (Owner)
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Decatur St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Permit Free parking along all streets in Locust Point.
Ample parking within a block of the restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Charm City Circulator- Decatur
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Monday Night Bingo
Tuesday Wing Night
Wednesday Hook Em ring toss
Thursday Made in MD 2 for 1 Crab Cakes
Friday Power Hour 5-6, and late nite game nite
Saturday Paint Nite
Sunday 10am Brunch
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Paint Nights
Bingo Night
Game Night
Local Food & Drink Wars
Block Parties
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:45PM - 9:30PM
Fri - Sat 4:30PM - 6:00PM

What 73 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on all time ratings
3.9
food
4.0
service
3.6
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on September 23, 2017

It was a quaint little restaurant....nice, pleasant, friendly atmosphere. The food was deeellliiiccciiiooouuusss!!! We enjoyed everything we had gotten. The Chicken and Waffle Nachos was so good that we ordered one to go. We tried the Cronuts and my were they delicious as well.....got an order of that to go too. The service was wonderful despite the fact that he was doing double duty as the bartender. This is a great place for friends to get together and enjoy great food along with great company. We plan to visit again soon.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 8, 2017

I booked reservations here because I received an email from Open Table saying book for 1,000 points. I only received 100. Please correct. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 6, 2017

Recent dinner w 3 colleagues. Empty except for 2 others at the bar. Bartender was very friendly and made a specially ordered lemon martini for me quite well. He was also our waiter ( we sat at a table in the bar). Food was pretty bad all around. Won't be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2017

We had been here years ago and did not think about going back but had seen some good reviews and decided to give it another chance. Three of us ordered the crab cake and were highly disappointed. It amazes me that a Baltimore restaurant cannot make a good or even great crab cake.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Comfortable. Good eats. Not sure that the local sourcing or 'made here' was all that evident, so 5's for the food are not in order.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 14, 2017

When the waitress told us they were out of biscuits and no potatoes for fries we were disappointed. Then when they brought a mimosa in a water glass with ice in it we were befuddled. When the shrimp po' boy only had 4 shrimp we were dejected.

The place is quaint (meaning small and kinda cute) and the staff was friendly. The blood orange mimosa was spectacular. The signature chicken and waffle nachos dish was an inspired fusion of southern and southwestern. It was tasty but a little greasy.

Overall it was just an ok experience. I rate it meh. There wasn't anything about the experience that makes me want to suggest to anyone.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2017

We went on Mother's Day for brunch, had an 1130am reservation and was sat right away. The waiter seemed flustered, like he would rather be behind the bar than waiting tables. So we placed our order, nothing complicated- 2 crepes and an order of chicken and waffle nachos which I saw a kitchen staff member getting a box of frozen waffles from the basement, btw - no kids menu. It took is an hour to get our food, though the food was tasty. When we got the bill, I noticed my husband's bloody Mary was $4, my coffee was $3 and our six year old daughter's milk that was in a kid's cup was $4. Not worth the money.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 14, 2017

We made a reservation well in advance, we received confirmation via email and text message. We arrived 15 min prior to our scheduled time, to be told our reservation had been cancelled because they called us the day before...So I checked my missed calls, mind you we are in the Washington, Maryland, Virginia area...I had a missed call from TEXAS!! TEXAS!!! THEY CALLED FROM A TEXAS NUMBER!! WHAT THA HELL?!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was over cooked, service was slow ( only a few other people there) and they did not honor my reservation made on open table.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 25, 2017

All the dishes were overcooked and overpriced.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 28, 2017

birthday, no special dessert

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 25, 2017

I started writing this review in my head, the evening after we dined there. It was a terrible experience!
We walked in and the bartender screamed across the room "Do you have a reservation?". We said "Yes" and she said "You can have either of those tables." Not the way you like to be greeted at a restaurant~not very welcoming.
We sat down and were told we had to move because that wasn't one the tables she wanted us at. We obvioulsy didn't know that or we would not have sat there. We sat where she pointed.
To make a long story short, I will simply say that this restaurant is not clean. The servers were all dressed in stained street clothes, including people from the kitchen who walked out and put the food on the table. The glasses were dirty. The attitude was awful.
As for the food, the two sandwiches that we ordered were nothing to pseak of, just plain sandwiches with not much taste.
We will never revisit this place or recommend it to anyone.
We dine out locally, often and this has to be the worst place yet!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2017

Dined for breakfast! My chicken and waffle nachos were deeeeeeelish. I did notice the coffee pots were not clean...as though they keep rebrewing without cleaning. My husband said the restroom was unclean for them to have just opened...we were the first patrons. Overall, my waitress was pleasant and efficient. I would dine again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I came down to see the car show and wanted to find a nice restaurant to eat at. This one came up on open table so we went to check it out. Glad we did. We had a great experience there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

We came in for NYE pre-fireworks and the food was amazing. Everything was so good, the bar menu was excellent, the service was wonderful. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Very surprised that this was a small bar type restaurant. We almost did not stay. I'm so glad I did the chicken/waffle nachos were the best!!!!

It reminded me of Cheers. A place where everyone knows your name!! Will be back for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2016

Delicious food, lots of options. Very reasonably priced. Was also pleasantly surprised about how much street parking was available on a Tuesday evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2016

First time here and it was amazing!! The cocktails and all of the food were delicious! We had crepes, chicken & waffle nachos, chipotle cinnamon fries (and more!) and fried peanut butter cronuts for dessert! The staff were friendly & very helpful with recommendations. I've been raving about the place non-stop to others since our brunch, and can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a fantastic brunch here! Highly recommend the chicken and waffle "nachos," cro-nuts, and the rise and shine breakfast cocktail - it tastes like breakfast in a glass, with a side of whiskey! Really nice yet unassuming neighborhood spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 12, 2016

Loved this place. Had dinner here on Saturday night and it was great. Very relaxing and delicious food. Had my 5 year old grandson with me and they were so sweet to him. Looking forward to going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2016

With the hubby 💥

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was slow at the beginning. We waited about 20 minutes before someone took our order. Otherwise the food was great and I'd recommend it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 8, 2016

I'm glad I discovered this small but lively restaurant in Locust Point. The food was reasonably priced and pretty good. When we went, it was wine and paint night. Only caveats: The woman's bathroom is teeny tiny. Also, skip the cronuts. They were very greasy. Otherwise, great place!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 18, 2016

Friendly service, but very mediocre food. One of the desserts we ordered was just downright nasty. Also we were seated at a table placed between the doors for the ladies and mens bathrooms. Ugh. There are too many other better choices in Baltimore, we won't be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2016

My family of three ( teen boy, 8 yo girl, and me) thoroughly enjoyed this neighborhood. At 6pm, we were one of three parties dining. By the time we left at 7:30pm, the place was coming to life. We dined on the chicken waffle tacos (OMG), crab, buffalo chicken, shrimp po' boys, and for dessert the Cronus and fudge brownie sundae. My kids really liked the iced tea, too. The service was quick, responsive, and friendly. We highly recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 30, 2016

The drinks were great, and the food was even better!! The chicken and waffle nachos are a must try!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 27, 2016

We were really looking forward to a meal at this neighborhood restaurant given it had a 4 star rating on open table. I give this feedback as constructive only and hope the restaurant owners take it as such. My lamb burger was raw and after sending it back, I received a new burger that was 1/3 the size of the original. My husband got the BBQ brisket and it was slathered with BBQ sauce, completely devoid of any peach flavor. We paid $17 for that dish and while my husband has a hearty appetite he left the majority of his plate unfinished. Finally the bartender was drinking, which the owners should know as I'm sure they are losing money because of this guy. Revamp your menu and get real employees who care about your business otherwise you'll be closing soon.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 26, 2016

Good was tasty but cold.....my risotto was like warm my husband's pot pie was cold in center....took a little to long to get my food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a 5 pm dinner reservations for four on Father's Day. I was looking for a nice laid back location with good food. My husband and children were pleased with this selection. There were only a few other guests, not sure a reservation was actually needed. We received good service and the food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 19, 2016

Nice restaurant, would definitely visit again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2016

LOVED IT! Food was great! Get the CRO-NUTS!!!! You'll go must!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2016

Great creative brunch items and large, amazingly delicious mimosas! Just be aware that the portions are not large. My friends ordered crepes and were still a bit hungry--hence the moderate score on value. Get one of the yummy-looking side dishes to round things out. Good food and friendly, hip-neighborhood-bar atmosphere. Would love to come back sometime to try out other non-brunch items.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant, while comfortable and a good neighborhood place, could have a few more vegetarian options. The choices are limited and the vegetarian pot pie a bit dense.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Cute location. Very homey feel.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was delicious! Everything was cooked perfectly!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2016

We checked out sweet Caroline's because of the 1000 open table points offered for setting a reservation. Sadly we were the only guests in the restaurant on a Sunday evening at 5:30. The food and service were great. I enjoyed the meatloaf tower-decadent but oh so good. The whiskey mule I had with it was very nice too. I definitely will be back to try some other things from the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2016

I've been to Sweet Caroline's before with a girlfriend for brunch, and we had a blast. This time around was date day with my boyfriend, and we left with our tummies full, and smiling from ear to ear. The cronuts...are to die for...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating a birthday....the food and service was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Ashley and team do a great job! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Was very pleased with the food and service at Sweet Caroline's. It's not your typical chain restaurant that you will see at the inner harbor but it's a local pub in a neighborhood that has great food. Would definitely recommend it!

Report
Helpful
1
2