About SWB - Hyatt Regency Scottsdale

7500 E. Doubletree Ranch Rd.
Scottsdale, AZ 85258
View Larger Map

Energized by the delicious aromas and activity coming from its open kitchen, this casual southwestern bistro offers wood-fired specialties featuring fresh seasonal ingredients. Relax and enjoy indoors or out, set against a backdrop of the majestic McDowell Mountains. Featuring the area's favorite Sunday Brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:30am, Sunday: 6:30am - 12:00pm; Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday, June 21st will be our final Sunday Brunch offering for the season and we will resume service on Sunday, September 6th 2015.

Cross Street:
Doubletree & Scottsdale Roads

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 444-1234 ext. 8650

Website:
http://scottsdale.hyatt.com/hyatt/hotels-scottsdale/entertainment/index.jsp

Entertainment:
Join us for dinner and enjoy our nightly live entertainment shows at Center Stage Bar before or after dinner. Please call for show schedules.

Parking Details:
Complimentary self-parking and valet parking for $7.00

Executive Chef:
Juan Solorio

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday, June 21st will be our final Sunday Brunch offering for the season and we will resume service on Sunday, September 6th 2015 during Labor Day weekend.

Restaurant Photos

SWB - Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southwest
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

great for outdoor dining (15)
special occasion (8)
great for brunch (8)
See All
good for groups (5)
great for lunch (5)
scenic view (4)
romantic (3)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
fit for foodies (2)
notable wine list (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding in quality and in t ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was outstanding in quality and in the variety of choices. Crab legs and shrimp were the best! Seating outdoors was very enjoyable. Probably the best Buffet Brunch we have had!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Give it a try!

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had Hyatt points that were due to expire so we decided to give SWB a try and we're glad that we did. Our server, Clifford, was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. We shared the mushroom enchiladas for our appetizer, had the baby back ribs and chicken fajitas for our entrees, and the cheesy jalapeño cornbread. All were nicely presented and delicious. The portions are generous. We made room for the pumpkin sweet potato bread pudding - light, not too sweet, and the flavors are subtle and not overpowering. Lots of margaritas to choose! They have an open kitchen and I may try to get a seat so that I can watch the chefs cook if I return. It was loud since there was a band playing at the bar next to the restaurant. There were some families with children and a couple of birthday parties the evening we went and all seemed to be having a good time. Don't forget to have your parking ticket validated.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice plce. Wpuldnlike to go again.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very nice plce. Wpuldnlike to go again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner at SWB

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

The guacamole prepared tableside is terrific. The southwestern caesar salad is delicious. Refills of Arnold Palmers came without asking. Attentive service by Ryan throughout. Glad to receive Hyatt Gold Passport points for my dine as well as my Open Table points.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly Crew

Dined on April 17, 2016

The entire staff at the Hyatt are friendly. Whether its Brenda , Margarito or Josie, I can always count on a smile and delicious food. Afterward, I cozy on up to the bar and watch a few sports games and enjoy the pleasure of Andrew, Mitch, Mike and Alfredo. They remember our names and drinks and treat us like family.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Stayed at the resort. Excellent option f ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Stayed at the resort. Excellent option for a dinner in on your day of arrival!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly attentive staff

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

We ate at SWB frequently for brunch and lunch during our hotel stay. The food was great, especially the chop salad and burgers. The make to order omelet was prepared as ordered and loaded with meats and veggies. Overall brunch experience was good. Lunch was really nice on the patio, with relaxing atmosphere. Night time had additional menu options on the patio, including hamburgers and brats grilled right on the patio. Service was excellent from this staff that has been there for years and truly appear to enjoy their jobs.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lunch at SWB

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

Hyatt Regency Scottsdale is the venue for SWB; both indoor and outdoor dining is available. We enjoy the guacamole prepared table side. The southwest caesar salad is tasty as is the southwest tortilla soup. Refills of iced tea are provided without prompting. Note that there is now paid parking, although the parking ticket can be redeemed for a voucher that enables you to have free parking, but this is an inconvenience for SWB guests not staying at the hotel.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service3

Typical overpriced hotel food in a beaut ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Typical overpriced hotel food in a beautiful hotel setting

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch And Beyond

Dined on February 14, 2016

Talent Sous chefs and Outstanding Wait Staff create an unforgettable epicurean experience. From the first course to desert we were treated to the most delightful cuisine. The butternut squash soup melted in our mouths. The lamb fresh made a wonderful entree For desert we were warmed with a Banana Foster. Definitely Delightful.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Overrated

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was cold and the service staff especially at the omelette station was unattentive!!! Food was often luke warm at best. The table service was slow from the very beginning and did not improve for the remainder of the dining experience. We had to ask for simple things like silverware or glass of water, you know basic service needs. I would have been better off taken my wife to a casino brunch, at least you expect sub par food and service at those places!!! Overrated brunch!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

this is a great resort and the setting ...

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

this is a great resort and the setting is ter3rific the service eis exceptional and the food is not bad

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible

Dined on February 6, 2016

Poor service and the food was absolutely tasteless.

food4
ambience4
service5

We have dined at the restaurants at Hyat ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

We have dined at the restaurants at Hyatt Gainey for years. Always good. This time very good, but mixed. This time the scallops were terrific - spicy, with pomgranette seeds, unique and excellent. New York Strip was also excellent - very tasty, prime cut, and well spiced. The timing of the meal was off ( entrees came with the salads), much to the server's surprise. The server also got the order wrong - missed my Caesar salad. The Caesar salads received mixed review. My husbands liked his, but I recommend asking for extra dressing - I hardly ever say that. Still the ambiance is amazing and unique. We will definitely return?

food3
ambience2
service4
value2

2nd time not boog.

Dined on January 30, 2016

This is the 2nd time we dined at SWB. It's noisy and drafty. I burned my hand on the cast iron skillet handle that came with our cornbread. It's difficult to read that parking ticket can be validated in restaurant because of dark and short notice pulling in.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable Lunch Venue

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

The guacamole prepared table side is excellent; the southwest caesar salad is tasty. The complimentary refills of iced tea are appreciated.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hyatt SWB

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

We have eaten at this restaurant several times and every time is unique and special. We have partaken in their "Wine Me / Dine Me" experience three times. It is so enjoyable to have the ability to sit 'close to' the Chef's and interact with them as they serve excellent food and describe how they prepare each dish. Above all, the food that is served is just amazing. All the personnel are polite and totally professional. The meals they prepare are indescribable. Try it and you will definitely find that it is a 'One of a Kind Experience'!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wine me, dine me option

Dined on January 18, 2016

Me and my wife are big into restaurants that offer a wine pairing with food. This one was above and beyond what we expected. The chef personally serves you and describes and cooks everything right in front of you. This was a very cool touch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Everything was wonderful!

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great to accommodate allergies too.

Dined on January 1, 2016

The kitchen staff and service staff were very fabulous on so many levels. We visited often during our stay. We would love to see a few more items/selections added to the menu for a little more variety … (as we visited many times) … otherwise, we enjoyed every meal experience and every interaction with SWB.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

Dined on November 17, 2015

Food was exceptional and out-of-the ordinary. Did not expect to find such a gem in a hotel.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Lunch at SWB

vip
Dined on October 16, 2015

Great guacamole prepared table side; enjoyable southwest caesar salad; plentiful refills of Arnold Palmers. Attentive service. Lots of black birds hovering around to attack empty tables for leftovers, especially sugar packets. Appreciate being able also to earn Hyatt Gold Passport points as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4

Dinner at SWB

vip
Dined on October 14, 2015

The food was very good, especially the table side guacamole!! The southwest caesar salad with grilled shrimp was tasty. Unfortunately, there are no dinner rolls or corn bread served or offered. For dessert, there were no cookies of any type available, which is most surprising for a resort hotel restaurant. Also, the lobby music is much too loud; it carries over into the dining areas (both indoor or outdoor), making it almost impossible to have a table conversation.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

SWB at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale

vip
Dined on September 20, 2015

Attentive service and frequent refills of iced tea.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyable hotel dining; plentiful Arnold ...

vip
Dined on September 17, 2015

Enjoyable hotel dining; plentiful Arnold Palmer refills.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Go-To spot whenever in AZ

Dined on September 9, 2015

Food is always unbelievable. I over- order everytime because every choice on the menu is great. Must-have appetizer/ sides are cornbread and the grits. Service is great as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service4

Food was good service was decent. It was hot.

Dined on September 6, 2015

Ambience has the potential to be wonderful. Potential is ther just not taking advantage of it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience1
service4

Great food and service!

Dined on August 30, 2015

Awesome food and service but way too many screaming kids. They should keep the children in different sections from the adults trying to have a nice night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Hyatt Regency Gainey Ranch SWB

vip
Dined on June 11, 2015

Great for lunch indoors and outdoors, although the birds can be pesky. Excellent guacamole prepared table-side. Delicious chicken tortilla soup. Friendly and attentive service provided by Kathy.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Deliciously good experience

Dined on May 24, 2015

Wonderful outdoor setting, great service. And the food was good, too. We all had something different - fajitas, salmon, steak and mahi mahi. All were good. The guacamole appetizer was made at the table and was delicious. And the service was excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3

Ambiance Nice, Food just OK

vip
Dined on May 5, 2015

Didn't realize SWB (South Western Bistro) is just the Hyatt Regency's conversion of their original in-house casual dining restaurant called Squash Blossom. Service got off to a slow start, but picked up as things progressed and overall was good. Food was just OK. Crabcake - lots of breading and kind of dry. Bone-in Pork Chop at $24 ought to be remarkably better than the $4 Pork Chop I can buy at the market and throw on my own grill. Unfortunately it wasn't. $15 Margaritas are overpriced. A nominal dine for 4 ended up being just under $200 pre-tip. The kicker was $7 mandatory for valet parking without the possibility of validation by the restaurant. At that price, a gratuity to the valet is difficult to justify. While the Hyatt Regency's ambiance makes for a pleasant evening, there are much better places in the area to dine. Obviously they're mostly catering to the needs of a captive audience with their on-site guests who are there for corporate events.

food5
ambience5
service5

SWB

Dined on April 10, 2015

The food was great, and reasonably priced. We sat out side and the music was not too loud but really nice, the over all ambiance at the Hyatt is great. I would highly recommend dining here. The bone-in pork chop was magnificent!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service1

Great food but lousy service. Second tim ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2015

Great food but lousy service. Second time this has happened in last 4 months.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great for Outdoor Lunch

vip
Dined on March 21, 2015

We had two days in a row of dining outdoors for lunch at SWB, and both days Kathy was our server. She did an excellent job, especially in providing refills of iced tea. The delicious guacamole is prepared table side. You also can earn Hyatt Gold Passport points when dining at SWB.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Superb Outdoor Luncheon Venue

vip
Dined on March 20, 2015

SWB is great for an outdoor luncheon venue, although the birds can be somewhat pesky. Server Kathy was attentive and provided refills of iced tea without prompting. It is nice that SWB dining guests also can earn Hyatt Gold Passport points when dining.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Lunch with friends & brunch place

Dined on February 4, 2015

Good atmosphere to meet & be able to talk with friends. Service & attention from wait staff is excellent, friendly & prompt. Food is well-prepared and enough selection for most tastes. Kitchen is accommodating.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4

Lunch Outdoors

vip
Dined on February 2, 2015

We enjoyed the homemade guacamole with chips along with Arnold Palmer drinks before our Southwest chicken tortilla soup. No bread is served with lunch. Refills of beverages were provided. The outdoor atmosphere is relaxing except the black birds are always hovering around to grab leftovers on tables, especially sugar packets. Great lunch venue.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3

Good for brunch, okfor dinner

vip
Dined on February 1, 2015

We went for both brunch and dinner during a recent stay during Super Bowl weekend. The brunch the morning of the game was very good - food, service and seating on the outdoor patio. The dinner experience was underwhelming however. Even though we were the only people in the restaurant we were seated at a table in the middle of the walkway into the restaurant. Food was just ok, and service was distracted.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4

Lunch at SWB

vip
Dined on January 28, 2015

Enjoy lunch on the outdoor terrace at SWB; just watch out for the black birds that love to attack to sugar packets on the empty tables. Delicious Arnold Palmer drinks with complimentary refills. Try to guacamole dip prepared table side; it is excellent with the assorted tortilla chips provided. I appreciate being able to use my Gainey Ranch homeowners discount card as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Nicely Done

Dined on December 12, 2014

After a hard day at work, the Hyatt at Gainey Ranch is a splendid hide suburb away in Scottsdale. It is neatly tucked away off of Doubletree and Scottsdale Road. The ambiance delights the senses with it's well groomed grounds, towering palm trees and treasure of gigantic cactus. The Southwest Bistro nestles between the garden and the neighboring restaurant, Alto. It is hosted by a professional staff member who will guide you through the restaurant and seat you where ever you like. There is even a table in front of a fireplace, or garden seating. The aroma of peppers, tortillas, beans or apricot chicken roasted and glazed envelops the entire room, and no appetite goes unfulfilled. The avocados freshly await to made into delicious guacamole in front of your eyes at the table. Glasses overflow with delicious exotic drinks. Our waiter took care of us and made some great recommendations from the dinner menu. I would highly recommend the Squash soup and Fajitas with black beans and rice.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.