About Sushi Zushi of the Domain

3221 Feathergrass Court
Austin, TX 78758
View Larger Map

Sushi Zushi brings authentic and original interpretations of Japanese cuisine to the American palate by offering an extensive menu designed to satisfy everyone from sushi purists to adventurous diners. Through an intensive training program and a multi-cultural approach to business, Sushi Zushi’s environment fosters a highly attentive wait-staff and an inviting, modern atmosphere. The restaurants concept encourages diners to find their favorite dish, comfortably immerse themselves in a new cultural dining experience, and return with a little more knowledge about Japanese cuisine, culture and customs. Our mission is to consistently deliver the most enjoyable dining experience to our guests. Using a creative menu and a culturally-integrative approach, we make it easy and convenient for everyone to experience "the joy of sushi."

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 5:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Domain Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 834-8100

Website:
http://www.sushizushi.com/

Catering:
Convenient and Free To go and Delivery Service!

Parking Details:
Parking garage right next door

Executive Chef:
Luis Ramirez

Private Party Facilities:
Sushi Zushi brings authentic and original interpretations of Japanese cuisine to the American palate by offering an extensive menu designed to satisfy everyone from sushi purists to adventurous diners. Our mission is to consistently deliver the most enjoyable dining experience to our guests.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan Lopez: 5128348100

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Sushi Zushi of the Domain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (3)
See All
Special Occasion (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waitress was great- knowledgable abo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our waitress was great- knowledgable about the menu and apologetic for the 20 minute wait from the bartender for our drinks. All of her recommendations were spot on.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Food was awesome. Resturant was clean . ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was awesome. Resturant was clean . Service was awful. The waiter was slow. Anytime I ever wanted anything they were out of it. My water glass was filled when we were leaving. My bill was incorrect. We kept having ask for items that should came with our sushi like soy sauce and wasabi. Dinner was painful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Service was extremely slow. It took over ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service was extremely slow. It took over 20 minutes to get our rolls and far too long to get drinks. It seemed that they were switching over menus, so half of the drinks we attempted to order were no longer being made. The tables were uncomfortably crammed close together with almost no room to walk between them. My soy sauce bowl was dirty so I asked for a new one, and the waitress said that that didn't surprise her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Our waitress was amazing, she treated us ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waitress was amazing, she treated us perfectly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always consistent and good!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

great place close to my house. great service & food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was great, service was a little slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was awesome and very fresh. I c ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was awesome and very fresh. I cant wait for my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Sushi!!!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Sushi Zushi was a great dining experience. We went there for my birthday party and we met several friends there. The server was awesome and the food was fantastic! We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food sushi was very good but the noi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The food sushi was very good but the noise was a huge problem. Hard to hold conversation here. Overall a pretty good sushi spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food selections! Everything was se ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food selections! Everything was served in a timely fashion. Tasty drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always my favorite Sushi place!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Always my favorite Sushi place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good Sushi at the Domain

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My best friend and I just wanted to go to brunch...forgetting it was VDay...we found that Sushi Zushi was one of the few places that was not packed. We frequent this location, so we are familiar with the menu (which is quite extensive and can be very overwhelming for first time visitors...ask questions! and take your time going through the menu).

We both felt the urge to try the Valentine's Day roll and it was very good. We also shared the green mussels with added crab (the crab being on the suggestion of the server). All of our food was very good and we left full.

Our server, Ryan, was AWESOME! He gave great suggestions, chatted and made us feel like we never wanted to leave.

We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

From casual to romantic

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We love this place! If we ever have a night out, Sushi Zushi is always at the top of our list. Great food, great sake, and awesome happy hour options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE best sushi! My favorite: the tuna tower.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

We have been several times over the past three years and the quality service, food and overall experience has been consistent! We live out of town now but make it a point to go whenever we return to Austin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good first impression

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

Sushi Zushi's menu is fairly extensive however our waitress walked us thru everything and all questions. The happy hour goes to 7p and you can load up on some really good aps and rolls. Never had sake before so our waitress made a really good suggestion that paired well, even though the upsell to the medium size was really more than I needed. Oh well. There are only two booths and the rest is tables, and some of those are the 2 or 4 tops that are sort of side by side, ie, easy to hear other convos. But overall really liked this place and will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Disappointed

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 24, 2015

One of my favorite things at Sushi Zushi is their chirashi bowl. It contains a wonderful assortment of fish and a couple of deliciously prepared veggies and is the best chirashi bowl I've had at any restaurant. While there was still a large variety of fish, the fish was so cold it was hard to detect much flavor in any but the strongest flavored fish.

Sushi fish has to be kept on ice to be safe to eat, obviously, but sushi chefs cannot serve it so cold that the flavors of the different fish don't come through.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food and wait staff was great

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

I always love the food here and we had a great waitress who was very intentive and energetic

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They do a decent job. It's not fantastic ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 19, 2015

They do a decent job. It's not fantastic. It's not bad. It's average for a mid to upper level sushi restaurant. Have been many times, and will go many more times. I think it's best for a group of friends for a light dinner and drinks or for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Great Food, Bus Terminal Seating

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

The food is outstanding as always. My wife and I have been going to Sushi Zushi for 9 years now, and been to a few of their locations. My wife and I especially love the Cosimo roll. This location is very linear and the seating is a long bench on one side with tables spread out and chairs on the other side. The tables are relatively close together, where it's almost uncomfortable. My wife and I were hoping for a romantic dinner, and this setting wasn't it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Delicious Food, a little crowded and noisy!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

We came here to enjoy some Sushi and were very impressed with the huge selection of rolls, raw, and comfort foods. We enjoyed a delicious appetizer of "Vegetable Gyoza", and then licked our lips over the delicious selections, we had a really hard time picking, but finally settled on two (Colonnade Roll and the Delicato Roll) that caught our attention.

The environment was very noisy, so it was kind of hard to carry on a conversation, so we smiled at each other, made sure to express how good the food was and promptly left after finishing our food and drink. There were booths in the wall that might have made it more romantic and quieter that we saw when we arrived and wish we had known about through the reservation process.

We most definitely will be back! Delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The ambiance was amazing and the service ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on October 15, 2015

The ambiance was amazing and the service was great. If you want a nice calm environment then this is the place. Food takes a while but it is well worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Top of the Line

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 31, 2015

Variety is the first thing you experience from the minute you enter. Our server made recommendations and even some off-menu items that were excellent. We go at least monthly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food but ignorant hostess

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 17, 2015

I have dined here twice in the past couple weeks and booked with open table. Both times I told them I had a reservation and they did not check me in and here I am wasting my time for 200 measly points and because they cancelled my reservation at the end of the night and now I'm hit with a negative impact on my profile for a no show. Don't bother dining here on OpenTable. Their idiot hosts will ruin your Open Table profile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Excellent Sushi. Make sure to order a C ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

Excellent Sushi. Make sure to order a Cosimo Roll, a Yummy Yummy Roll and a Strawberry Roll. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good value

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 20, 2015

Sushi Zushi has quality food at very reasonable prices. I particularly like their chirashi bowl, which is both the best assortment I've had in a chirashi bowl as well as a steal for the price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Solid Sushi Option

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

Suchi and drinks are reasonably priced and very good. Large menu has a lot (too many?) of options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

very good sushi

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

had a good time here with some friends. made it during their happy hour and ordered different types of sushi

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Girl's Dinner

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 20, 2015

Excellent service, great food, the manager personally served us a tasting of sake so we could choose which one we wanted

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Better sushi & ambiance available almost anywhere

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 2, 2015

Most of the eateries in the Domain have a decent vibe, whether it's cool and laid back or a bit fancier. This was neither. My husband I decided the best description was "Japanese Denny's." It was pretty empty when we went in (which perhaps we should have taken for a sign, given it was Saturday night) and we were seated right away. Despite the ample availability of table space, the waiter rushed us through our meal. We ordered a couple of different rolls which ranged from mushy to chewy. Presentation was as lacking as the flavor. We had not finished our our first glass yet and the waiter was asking if he could bring the check - no offer of dessert or more wine. Definitely won't be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Oaklawn

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 17, 2015

Still my favorite. The Escolar and Salmon are yummy too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Courtney was great

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

Great selection and great service. Courtney was great and really helped out with filling us in with all the menu options. The food was great and we will be back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Service Is Key, and his name is Jerry

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 13, 2015

While the seating can be full of bumps and knocks if your back is to a walk way, the fresh food and outstanding service from Jerry will keep you coming back. Great management and perfect timing by wait staff is outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The dinner was great and so was the serv ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 7, 2015

The dinner was great and so was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Generally wary of chains, but pleasantly surprised -- Accepted the server's recommendations and thoroughly enjoyed several signature rolls. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Always a fav but watch the upsell

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

I love Sushi Zushi and go there often. I made reservations for Valentines day and they reserved our favorite spot in the restaurant. Overall everything was excellent. My only complaint is that we were offered as a recommendation a sake that sounded great. We've had sake before but ask how much they charge next time because in this case it was $80 for two small bottles.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Always a very good meal at a very good price

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 3, 2015

I got one of my favorite dishes here - chirashi. It is an astonishingly good deal with a very wide variety of mostly raw fish (barring things like octopus and shrimp), marinated shiitakes and gourds and accompanied by daikon, pickled ginger, wasabi and a shiso leaf, and it only costs $15.50. My husband enjoyed his tuna tower and chicken katsu curry. The curry is a very typical Japanese curry, which isn't one of my favorite things, but if you like Japanese curry, you'll like what Sushi Zushi makes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Favorite for the food

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 29, 2015

We really like the creative rolls and happy hour drinks but the service is hit or miss. It was a miss on this visit. The waiter seemed not to care. He plopped the salmon tower down in front of us from over the divide to the kitchen without even asking if we wanted him to mix it. We thought about not leaving a tip but left a small one instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Food was fine.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 26, 2015

Food was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The food is always good. The service is ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 21, 2015

The food is always good. The service is good most of the time. The price is just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

very consistent great sushi here

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 6, 2014

We go here every Friday with some friends. We look forward to eating here more and more each week. The menu is a small book so there is something for everyone. We would recommend this sushi spot to everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.