About Sushi Zushi of the Domain

3221 Feathergrass Court
Austin, TX 78758
View Larger Map

Sushi Zushi brings authentic and original interpretations of Japanese cuisine to the American palate by offering an extensive menu designed to satisfy everyone from sushi purists to adventurous diners. Through an intensive training program and a multi-cultural approach to business, Sushi Zushi’s environment fosters a highly attentive wait-staff and an inviting, modern atmosphere. The restaurants concept encourages diners to find their favorite dish, comfortably immerse themselves in a new cultural dining experience, and return with a little more knowledge about Japanese cuisine, culture and customs. Our mission is to consistently deliver the most enjoyable dining experience to our guests. Using a creative menu and a culturally-integrative approach, we make it easy and convenient for everyone to experience "the joy of sushi."

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 5:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Domain Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 834-8100

Website:
http://www.sushizushi.com/

Catering:
Convenient and Free To go and Delivery Service!

Parking Details:
Parking garage right next door

Executive Chef:
Luis Ramirez

Private Party Facilities:
Sushi Zushi brings authentic and original interpretations of Japanese cuisine to the American palate by offering an extensive menu designed to satisfy everyone from sushi purists to adventurous diners. Our mission is to consistently deliver the most enjoyable dining experience to our guests.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan Lopez: 5128348100

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine

Sushi Zushi of the Domain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (13)
great for lunch (7)
good for groups (5)
See All
hot spot (4)
special occasion (3)
romantic (3)
late-night find (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
276 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was great, service was a little slow.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was awesome and very fresh. I c ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was awesome and very fresh. I cant wait for my next visit.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Sushi!!!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Sushi Zushi was a great dining experience. We went there for my birthday party and we met several friends there. The server was awesome and the food was fantastic! We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

The food sushi was very good but the noi ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food sushi was very good but the noise was a huge problem. Hard to hold conversation here. Overall a pretty good sushi spot.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food selections! Everything was se ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food selections! Everything was served in a timely fashion. Tasty drinks!

food5
ambience5
service4

Always my favorite Sushi place!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Always my favorite Sushi place!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Sushi at the Domain

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

My best friend and I just wanted to go to brunch...forgetting it was VDay...we found that Sushi Zushi was one of the few places that was not packed. We frequent this location, so we are familiar with the menu (which is quite extensive and can be very overwhelming for first time visitors...ask questions! and take your time going through the menu). We both felt the urge to try the Valentine's Day roll and it was very good. We also shared the green mussels with added crab (the crab being on the suggestion of the server). All of our food was very good and we left full. Our server, Ryan, was AWESOME! He gave great suggestions, chatted and made us feel like we never wanted to leave. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From casual to romantic

Dined on February 14, 2016

We love this place! If we ever have a night out, Sushi Zushi is always at the top of our list. Great food, great sake, and awesome happy hour options.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE best sushi! My favorite: the tuna tower.

Dined on January 3, 2016

We have been several times over the past three years and the quality service, food and overall experience has been consistent! We live out of town now but make it a point to go whenever we return to Austin.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good first impression

vip
Dined on December 17, 2015

Sushi Zushi's menu is fairly extensive however our waitress walked us thru everything and all questions. The happy hour goes to 7p and you can load up on some really good aps and rolls. Never had sake before so our waitress made a really good suggestion that paired well, even though the upsell to the medium size was really more than I needed. Oh well. There are only two booths and the rest is tables, and some of those are the 2 or 4 tops that are sort of side by side, ie, easy to hear other convos. But overall really liked this place and will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4

Disappointed

vip
Dined on November 24, 2015

One of my favorite things at Sushi Zushi is their chirashi bowl. It contains a wonderful assortment of fish and a couple of deliciously prepared veggies and is the best chirashi bowl I've had at any restaurant. While there was still a large variety of fish, the fish was so cold it was hard to detect much flavor in any but the strongest flavored fish. Sushi fish has to be kept on ice to be safe to eat, obviously, but sushi chefs cannot serve it so cold that the flavors of the different fish don't come through.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and wait staff was great

vip
Dined on November 21, 2015

I always love the food here and we had a great waitress who was very intentive and energetic

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4

They do a decent job. It's not fantastic ...

vip
Dined on November 19, 2015

They do a decent job. It's not fantastic. It's not bad. It's average for a mid to upper level sushi restaurant. Have been many times, and will go many more times. I think it's best for a group of friends for a light dinner and drinks or for a business lunch.

food5
ambience3
service4

Great Food, Bus Terminal Seating

Dined on November 15, 2015

The food is outstanding as always. My wife and I have been going to Sushi Zushi for 9 years now, and been to a few of their locations. My wife and I especially love the Cosimo roll. This location is very linear and the seating is a long bench on one side with tables spread out and chairs on the other side. The tables are relatively close together, where it's almost uncomfortable. My wife and I were hoping for a romantic dinner, and this setting wasn't it.

food5
ambience3
service4

Delicious Food, a little crowded and noisy!

Dined on November 7, 2015

We came here to enjoy some Sushi and were very impressed with the huge selection of rolls, raw, and comfort foods. We enjoyed a delicious appetizer of "Vegetable Gyoza", and then licked our lips over the delicious selections, we had a really hard time picking, but finally settled on two (Colonnade Roll and the Delicato Roll) that caught our attention. The environment was very noisy, so it was kind of hard to carry on a conversation, so we smiled at each other, made sure to express how good the food was and promptly left after finishing our food and drink. There were booths in the wall that might have made it more romantic and quieter that we saw when we arrived and wish we had known about through the reservation process. We most definitely will be back! Delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

The ambiance was amazing and the service ...

Dined on October 15, 2015

The ambiance was amazing and the service was great. If you want a nice calm environment then this is the place. Food takes a while but it is well worth the wait.

food5
ambience5
service5

Top of the Line

Dined on August 31, 2015

Variety is the first thing you experience from the minute you enter. Our server made recommendations and even some off-menu items that were excellent. We go at least monthly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2

Good food but ignorant hostess

vip
Dined on August 17, 2015

I have dined here twice in the past couple weeks and booked with open table. Both times I told them I had a reservation and they did not check me in and here I am wasting my time for 200 measly points and because they cancelled my reservation at the end of the night and now I'm hit with a negative impact on my profile for a no show. Don't bother dining here on OpenTable. Their idiot hosts will ruin your Open Table profile.

food4
ambience4
service5

Very good value

vip
Dined on July 20, 2015

Sushi Zushi has quality food at very reasonable prices. I particularly like their chirashi bowl, which is both the best assortment I've had in a chirashi bowl as well as a steal for the price.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Solid Sushi Option

vip
Dined on June 27, 2015

Suchi and drinks are reasonably priced and very good. Large menu has a lot (too many?) of options.

food5
ambience4
service4

very good sushi

Dined on June 27, 2015

had a good time here with some friends. made it during their happy hour and ordered different types of sushi

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Girl's Dinner

vip
Dined on June 20, 2015

Excellent service, great food, the manager personally served us a tasting of sake so we could choose which one we wanted

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience1
service2

Better sushi & ambiance available almost anywhere

Dined on May 2, 2015

Most of the eateries in the Domain have a decent vibe, whether it's cool and laid back or a bit fancier. This was neither. My husband I decided the best description was "Japanese Denny's." It was pretty empty when we went in (which perhaps we should have taken for a sign, given it was Saturday night) and we were seated right away. Despite the ample availability of table space, the waiter rushed us through our meal. We ordered a couple of different rolls which ranged from mushy to chewy. Presentation was as lacking as the flavor. We had not finished our our first glass yet and the waiter was asking if he could bring the check - no offer of dessert or more wine. Definitely won't be going back!

food4
ambience3
service3

Oaklawn

vip
Dined on April 17, 2015

Still my favorite. The Escolar and Salmon are yummy too!

food4
ambience3
service4

Courtney was great

Dined on April 5, 2015

Great selection and great service. Courtney was great and really helped out with filling us in with all the menu options. The food was great and we will be back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Service Is Key, and his name is Jerry

vip
Dined on March 13, 2015

While the seating can be full of bumps and knocks if your back is to a walk way, the fresh food and outstanding service from Jerry will keep you coming back. Great management and perfect timing by wait staff is outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The dinner was great and so was the serv ...

Dined on March 7, 2015

The dinner was great and so was the service.

food4
ambience3
service5

Good food

Dined on February 15, 2015

Generally wary of chains, but pleasantly surprised -- Accepted the server's recommendations and thoroughly enjoyed several signature rolls. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3

Always a fav but watch the upsell

Dined on February 14, 2015

I love Sushi Zushi and go there often. I made reservations for Valentines day and they reserved our favorite spot in the restaurant. Overall everything was excellent. My only complaint is that we were offered as a recommendation a sake that sounded great. We've had sake before but ask how much they charge next time because in this case it was $80 for two small bottles.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Always a very good meal at a very good price

vip
Dined on February 3, 2015

I got one of my favorite dishes here - chirashi. It is an astonishingly good deal with a very wide variety of mostly raw fish (barring things like octopus and shrimp), marinated shiitakes and gourds and accompanied by daikon, pickled ginger, wasabi and a shiso leaf, and it only costs $15.50. My husband enjoyed his tuna tower and chicken katsu curry. The curry is a very typical Japanese curry, which isn't one of my favorite things, but if you like Japanese curry, you'll like what Sushi Zushi makes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Favorite for the food

Dined on January 29, 2015

We really like the creative rolls and happy hour drinks but the service is hit or miss. It was a miss on this visit. The waiter seemed not to care. He plopped the salmon tower down in front of us from over the divide to the kitchen without even asking if we wanted him to mix it. We thought about not leaving a tip but left a small one instead.

food4
ambience3
service5

Food was fine.

Dined on January 26, 2015

Food was fine.

food5
ambience3
service4

The food is always good. The service is ...

Dined on January 21, 2015

The food is always good. The service is good most of the time. The price is just right.

food5
ambience5
service5

very consistent great sushi here

vip
Dined on December 6, 2014

We go here every Friday with some friends. We look forward to eating here more and more each week. The menu is a small book so there is something for everyone. We would recommend this sushi spot to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed our visit very much

Dined on October 26, 2014

Service was very good. Provide many choices and options. Loved the Mojitos and Margarita. Can be for a date or a family dining out. Definitely will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service4

Reliable Sushi

vip
Dined on October 14, 2014

The service and food at Sushi Zushi are consistent and enjoyable. The restaurant is always a bit noisy, but we usually have a good experience.

food5
ambience5
service4

consistent and reliable

Dined on October 3, 2014

Good place for family members to connect for a nice meal where we could talk and actually hear each other, with delicious and healthy food choices. Happy hour menu was a bonus value option to start the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4

First Time Favorite

Dined on September 26, 2014

For those who love sushi, then Sushi Zushi will please your palate and tickle your wallet. Food Traditionalists may find the menu a bit restrictive. This is not really a place for children, as evidenced by the lack of a child's menu. However, the panko-friend chicken and chicken fried rice were superb! The lukewarm coffee promised to taste even better if served hot, and we were given a huge serving spoon and a gigantic carving knife to serve our birthday cake. The atmosphere is best suited for a lunch venue, as the minimalist decor is too stark for the evening dining experience. Easy parking, a wonderful staff, and reasonable prices helped make our birthday party a memorable event! KUDOS!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

It's OK

Dined on August 17, 2014

Nothing exceptional about this restaurant except the wait staff is very attentive and its in a location that's easy to get to when in the Domain. I actually prefer another sushi restaurant in the Domain over this one, but Sushi Zushi was near our hotel so we chose to come here. Again, the food was good, but nothing over the top. Give it a try.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2

So So

Dined on August 16, 2014

Had better service on prior visits. Food was ok and waiter was ok. He must have been at the end of his shift, because we ended up with another one.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.