Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.60mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.60mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.60mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.60mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Sushi Zushi of 5th Street

Coming Soon!“Sushi Zushi brings authentic and original interpretations of Japanese cuisine to the American palate by offering an extensive menu designed to satisfy everyone from sushi purists to adventurous diners. Through an intensive training program and a multi-cultural approach to business, Sushi Zushi's environment fosters a highly attentive wait-staff and an inviting, modern atmosphere. The restaurants concept encourages diners to find their favorite dish, comfortably immerse themselves in a new cultural dining experience, and return with a little more knowledge about Japanese cuisine, culture and customs.” Mission Statement: Our mission is to extend the enjoyment of the Sushi Zushi concept to the entire world. Using a creative menu and a culturally-integrative approach, we make it easy and convenient for everyone to experience "the joy of sushi."

1611 West 5th Street
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 12:30pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mopac

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 474-7000

Website:
http://www.sushizushi.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Parking garage

Executive Chef:
Luis Ramirez

Private Party Facilities:
We have 2 large party rooms, please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Ramos: (512) 474-7000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sushi Zushi of 5th Street Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (2)
Healthy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
See All
Authentic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It's a mess. Really kills me because I love sushi zushi but this location can't get it together. First, it's dirty. Not a little dirty - full on dirty. The menus are gross, there is always stuff scattered around and it feels dirty.

We arrived about 3 mins late for our reservation. Didn't matter - the host didn't even say hello to us for another 5-10mins. Took him another 5-10 after that to seat us. When we were seated, our waitress informed us that food was taking over an hour for delivery. We left her $10 and walked out.

I've written notes to SZ about this location before and they just don't seem to be able to fix it - so I won't be going back. Maybe when I'm near the domain I'll go to that one which in my experience is spotless and well run.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent and fresh, as always. The Bora Bora roll (add serrano peppers!) is awesome!

I wish they had a better dessert selection, but otherwise I love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food, the happy hour is fantastic and the sushi is great! They have a large menu with a lot of variety. The one thing they lacked was a large variety of traditional rolls wrapped in seaweed. Most was rice outside. Either way, the food was great and the service was great. Will definitely be going again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 11, 2017

All was good, as is typically the case. Biggest downfall in my opinion - too many times on the menu!...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Healthy, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Food and service were both great, loved both of my rolls! And they participated in dine out for the cure!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We always love sushi zushi. It's always top notch food. Our server did not seem to be at his best, was short with us at times and seemed inattentive. We asked for a lot of things. This is not the norm as we frequently eat sushi, but this time service was so so. Hope next time it's better

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I'm a frequent visitor but last night was for Valentines Day and it was as delicious as ever! Sushi Zushi on 5th is probably hands down my best Sushi restaurant in Austin!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Interesting place with some unique twists on sushi staples.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The Sushi was fantastic. The portions were huge and they have a decent wine selection. All in all, great sushi spot in Austin!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I love how fresh everything is at Sushi Zushi. Another great meal plus their new menu and table setup is a cute and helpful addition. Everything seems to be moving toward a more upscale feel - which is nice, considering how great the food is.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was GREAT but it was freezing cold! We had jackets and scarves and we were still cold! We asked for it to be adjusted and we were they declined with a good reason!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I've been going to Sushi Zushi for many years, at it has always been my go-to sushi spot. I was so disappointed in the quality of food - the rolls tasted like the fish was old and looked thrown together. The service was so incredibly slow and the restaurant was not even full. I won't be going back any time soon :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Definitely a good option if you want good sushi without breaking the bank. Casual atmosphere and fairly quiet, especially for a Saturday night.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Sushi was fresh . Atmosphere was very nice , however service was lacking that night . Our waiter had too many tables to serve . As a consequence , we waited for our food longer than usual .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Service was awful. Had to constantly ask for things-more water, missing items we ordered, our check, plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Old , run down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our waiter was really personable and helpful but he reeked of cigarette smoke which wasn't great. It also took 3-5 minutes of standing at the host stand (another couple had been waiting already when we arrived) before anyone acknowledged us or sat anyone. The restaurant was empty, so it's not like they were busy with other customers...I think maybe they were having a team meeting in the back? The food was good, as usual, and potion sizes are nice. I recommend the soft shell crab appetizer, yakimeshi rice and the Champion Roll.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing selection of rolls and their cocktails are divine! We had an off-night with service this visit, but the food and the staff friendliness more than made up for it. This is now a regular spot for us!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Excellent Sushi. Make sure to order a Cosimo Roll, a Yummy Yummy Roll and a Strawberry Roll. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was very tasty! Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 21, 2016

All of the rolls are magnificent and there's something for everybody! I've been here multiple times and it has never been a let down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2016

This was the only place without a wait on a weekend. Good for a backup sushi place but probably won't come back. Service was slow even though they were empty (he may have had the majority of the tables that could be why too). Nevertheless the server was friendly even though he'd forgotten to put in an app.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 7, 2016

As a patron over the last 10 years from Dallas to this particular location when it soft-opened, Sushi Zushi has been our go-to quick fix. There's lots of roll options (hard to navigate for a first timer) so don't be afraid to ask your waiter for help navigating everything. The happy hour is wonderful for grabbing a few bites, enjoying a cocktail, or some hot sake with good friends. The back room is great for groups too. I feel though that the quality has dropped significantly over the years (or perhaps Whole Foods sushi has stepped it up). On this most recent visit, the rice on a few rolls was subpar, and even the presentation was a bit sloppy. The chirashi bowl and agedashi tofu are my go to's here and they didn't disappoint. SZ in my opinion is a great neighborhood option, but I would recommend looking elsewhere for that special occasion with a true sushi lover.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 22, 2015

We were seated quickly and on time for our reservation. Server was knowledgeable about the menu and made some great recommendations. We were there during Happy Hour, which made for a very affordable meal for the 4 of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2015

This is our go-to Sushi place, really good food and nice variety on the menu. We always start with the Tuna Tower, an excellent kick-start to a meal. After many lunches and even dinners there, we just discovered the Happy Hour (4-7) specials which are an absolute steal. Waits can be long at peak times, especially if you want a booth, so I always get an Opentable reservation even if it's a spur-of-the-moment decision (and if you can't get a table that way, you know you're going to have to be patient). Staff is always prompt, courteous, and has good recommendations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 21, 2015

Went during lunch for sushi with my wife. Food was great but had to wait almost an hour for our order to arrive. It was not a packed house and several tables that came after us got their food first. The waitress and Mgr extended apologies and even offered free dessert. Thanks, but we had to go back to work and certainly didn't have time to "enjoy" a dessert. We get it. Sometimes things just happen.

Suggestion- Try offering a discount for the next visit, that way you get a chance to redeem yourself and you get a second chance with a disappointed customer.

Still on the fence as to whether or not we would go back or recommend to anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 22, 2015

I actually took my kids to Sushi Zushi for sushi happy hour. It was great - they were really happy with the sushi and I was happy with the price! We live in the neighborhood so this is easy for us and we can walk but I think we would go there regardless. It's fun and sort of a grown up dinner for them - I have also been here with my husband (without kids) and it was fun then as well. The sushi is good for the price.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 20, 2015

3 strikes, you're out, in my book. I am a regular at SZ, but usually during happy hour. Over the past two months I've gone to Sushi Zushi for lunch 3 times, and each time they have been SEVERELY understaffed. What should have taken no more than 45 minutes took 1. 5 hours (and I only ordered two rolls). I have sat in the main dining room and in the bar, hoping the bar would be faster...nope...MUCH slower. Granted, I don't believe it was the bartender's fault, b/c not only is he making drinks for the dining room and the bar, he is also serving the bar. This is RIDICULOUS, giving that just about every bar seat/table was filled. I will not go back for lunch. The food was good, the drinks were good, though, don't go thirsty b/c it takes awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2015

We had family in town and it was great place together. The sushi was great as always. One of the rolls took a little longer (didn't seem like that long) but the manager came around to apologize and gave us ice cream. It was nice of them to go out of the way to make sure we had a great experience. we will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 25, 2015

Sushi Zushi has a large menu of items to choose from.

They have traditional rolls that any sushi house will have but they also have a list of rolls that is a departure from the traditional style.
I really liked the strawberry roll. I wasn't sure about it but at first but I love strawberries.
It turned out to be a delicious choice.
Very knowledgable and polite staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 6, 2015

I frequent SZ at least once a week, but usually for happy hour. I took my mom for lunch around 12:30. It was not packed, but there were a good number of tables occupied. We ordered wine and sake...both of which took over 15 minutes to get to our table (highly unusual). The server said the bar was backed up. To eat we ordered dumplings, a chicken skewer, and a roll. That took over 25 minutes to get to our table. The server said the kitchen was backed up. So, clearly, there were not enough cooks and bar tenders to keep up with the demand of the lunch hour. I will avoid going there during that time again. Was somewhat disappointed, but know that at other times I usually get good service and food served in a reasonable amount of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 28, 2015

Every time I visit, their food is always consistent and their service is excellent. I always get to customize my roll, which I appreciate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 20, 2015

Price is reasonable and the food is quite good. The yummy yummy roll is excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 23, 2015

Taking a line from Arnold, cheeky. True and to the point, I have been here a few times now and have never been disappointed. The food choices, the sake list, it's all good. I always have fun and I always enjoy the food. I'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 6, 2015

I had heard of Zushi Sushi but not eaten there, and OpenTable made me do it! The place looks modern, clean, well-list and nice, the food menu has a lot of interesting options (I could do without the Texas-inspired names like "River Walk Sushi" but that's a minor peeve), the sake list is quite impressive and full of very useful comments, and our server was attentive and pleasant. This was a positive experience in all respects. I hope to be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2015

This is our go to choice for Sushi in Austin. Very quick for lunch but for dinner on the weekends you need a reservation. The food and service is always great! I personally love that the menu has plenty of great choices for non sushi eaters. Both locations are very kid friendly although the consistency of food and service is much better downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 24, 2015

Sushi Zushi has really good food and is a deal when you go for happy hour. It also has on the menu gluten free and vegetarian items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 22, 2014

I gave you guys a chance and I was let down. It took at least 7 minutes to get someone to the table to take our drink orders, from a drink menu that wasn't presented til the sever got there. Quite awkward. Then it took until the entrees got to the table for the salad my girlfriend ordered first to come. Although we were not charged for it, it really put a damper on the already lax service. The food was just okay. It was certainly nothing spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 7, 2014

The sushi selection was almost too big. Trying to decide from the dozens of rolls that they make was difficult. But the food was very good. The problem was a very inattentive server. Shortly after we placed our order, he had to take on a large party. At that point, he disappeared. Eventually we had to flag down another server to find him for us. As a result, we sat without water, without drinks, and without some of the food that we ordered for about 25 minutes. I'm sure ti was just the result of the large party that he was taking care of, but it was frustrating for us nonetheless.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 1, 2014

I am glad that there were some reasonably priced non-rice rolls on the menu. They were well made and fresh.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.