About Sushi Zushi of 5th Street

1611 West 5th Street
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!“Sushi Zushi brings authentic and original interpretations of Japanese cuisine to the American palate by offering an extensive menu designed to satisfy everyone from sushi purists to adventurous diners. Through an intensive training program and a multi-cultural approach to business, Sushi Zushi's environment fosters a highly attentive wait-staff and an inviting, modern atmosphere. The restaurants concept encourages diners to find their favorite dish, comfortably immerse themselves in a new cultural dining experience, and return with a little more knowledge about Japanese cuisine, culture and customs.” Mission Statement: Our mission is to extend the enjoyment of the Sushi Zushi concept to the entire world. Using a creative menu and a culturally-integrative approach, we make it easy and convenient for everyone to experience "the joy of sushi."

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 12:30pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mopac

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 474-7000

Website:
http://www.sushizushi.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Parking garage

Executive Chef:
Luis Ramirez

Private Party Facilities:
We have 2 large party rooms, please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Ramos: 512-474-7000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Strawberry, Mango And Green Tea Mochi
Quail Egg Shooters
Godzilla roll
San Antonio Roll
River Walk Roll (Riceless)
Vegetable Gyoza
Garden Salad with Ginger Dressing
Pepper Tuna Roll
Cosimo Roll
Smoked salmon
Katsu Curry
Sushi Platter
Tropical Roll
Salmon Tower
Crunchy Salmon Skin Uramaki
Razor O-Toro
Seaweed & Squid Salad
Tar-Tar
Tuscany Roll
Miso Soup
A Little Family Style Dinner
Rainbow And Mavericks Roll
edamame
Spicy Tuna Roll
Chirashi
Hamachi Kama
Domain Roll

Sushi Zushi of 5th Street Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

3.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
See All
Good for Groups (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Romantic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
162 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter was really personable and hel ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our waiter was really personable and helpful but he reeked of cigarette smoke which wasn't great. It also took 3-5 minutes of standing at the host stand (another couple had been waiting already when we arrived) before anyone acknowledged us or sat anyone. The restaurant was empty, so it's not like they were busy with other customers...I think maybe they were having a team meeting in the back? The food was good, as usual, and potion sizes are nice. I recommend the soft shell crab appetizer, yakimeshi rice and the Champion Roll.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing selection of rolls and their coc ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing selection of rolls and their cocktails are divine! We had an off-night with service this visit, but the food and the staff friendliness more than made up for it. This is now a regular spot for us!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent Sushi. Make sure to order a C ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Excellent Sushi. Make sure to order a Cosimo Roll, a Yummy Yummy Roll and a Strawberry Roll. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very tasty! Will definitely ret ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was very tasty! Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

One of my most favorite sushi places ever!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

All of the rolls are magnificent and there's something for everybody! I've been here multiple times and it has never been a let down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great options with good drinks make up for quality

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

As a patron over the last 10 years from Dallas to this particular location when it soft-opened, Sushi Zushi has been our go-to quick fix. There's lots of roll options (hard to navigate for a first timer) so don't be afraid to ask your waiter for help navigating everything. The happy hour is wonderful for grabbing a few bites, enjoying a cocktail, or some hot sake with good friends. The back room is great for groups too. I feel though that the quality has dropped significantly over the years (or perhaps Whole Foods sushi has stepped it up). On this most recent visit, the rice on a few rolls was subpar, and even the presentation was a bit sloppy. The chirashi bowl and agedashi tofu are my go to's here and they didn't disappoint. SZ in my opinion is a great neighborhood option, but I would recommend looking elsewhere for that special occasion with a true sushi lover.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We were seated quickly and on time for o ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

We were seated quickly and on time for our reservation. Server was knowledgeable about the menu and made some great recommendations. We were there during Happy Hour, which made for a very affordable meal for the 4 of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good sushi, varied menu, quick service.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

This is our go-to Sushi place, really good food and nice variety on the menu. We always start with the Tuna Tower, an excellent kick-start to a meal. After many lunches and even dinners there, we just discovered the Happy Hour (4-7) specials which are an absolute steal. Waits can be long at peak times, especially if you want a booth, so I always get an Opentable reservation even if it's a spur-of-the-moment decision (and if you can't get a table that way, you know you're going to have to be patient). Staff is always prompt, courteous, and has good recommendations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, long wait.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

Went during lunch for sushi with my wife. Food was great but had to wait almost an hour for our order to arrive. It was not a packed house and several tables that came after us got their food first. The waitress and Mgr extended apologies and even offered free dessert. Thanks, but we had to go back to work and certainly didn't have time to "enjoy" a dessert. We get it. Sometimes things just happen.

Suggestion- Try offering a discount for the next visit, that way you get a chance to redeem yourself and you get a second chance with a disappointed customer.

Still on the fence as to whether or not we would go back or recommend to anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Fun Sushi Happy Hour

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 22, 2015

I actually took my kids to Sushi Zushi for sushi happy hour. It was great - they were really happy with the sushi and I was happy with the price! We live in the neighborhood so this is easy for us and we can walk but I think we would go there regardless. It's fun and sort of a grown up dinner for them - I have also been here with my husband (without kids) and it was fun then as well. The sushi is good for the price.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Lunch Is NOT the Time to Go

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

3 strikes, you're out, in my book. I am a regular at SZ, but usually during happy hour. Over the past two months I've gone to Sushi Zushi for lunch 3 times, and each time they have been SEVERELY understaffed. What should have taken no more than 45 minutes took 1. 5 hours (and I only ordered two rolls). I have sat in the main dining room and in the bar, hoping the bar would be faster...nope...MUCH slower. Granted, I don't believe it was the bartender's fault, b/c not only is he making drinks for the dining room and the bar, he is also serving the bar. This is RIDICULOUS, giving that just about every bar seat/table was filled. I will not go back for lunch. The food was good, the drinks were good, though, don't go thirsty b/c it takes awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Great Time

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2015

We had family in town and it was great place together. The sushi was great as always. One of the rolls took a little longer (didn't seem like that long) but the manager came around to apologize and gave us ice cream. It was nice of them to go out of the way to make sure we had a great experience. we will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

Sushi Zushi has a large menu of items to choose from.

They have traditional rolls that any sushi house will have but they also have a list of rolls that is a departure from the traditional style.

I really liked the strawberry roll. I wasn't sure about it but at first but I love strawberries.

It turned out to be a delicious choice.

Very knowledgable and polite staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Good, But Understaffed

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 6, 2015

I frequent SZ at least once a week, but usually for happy hour. I took my mom for lunch around 12:30. It was not packed, but there were a good number of tables occupied. We ordered wine and sake...both of which took over 15 minutes to get to our table (highly unusual). The server said the bar was backed up. To eat we ordered dumplings, a chicken skewer, and a roll. That took over 25 minutes to get to our table. The server said the kitchen was backed up. So, clearly, there were not enough cooks and bar tenders to keep up with the demand of the lunch hour. I will avoid going there during that time again. Was somewhat disappointed, but know that at other times I usually get good service and food served in a reasonable amount of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Always Consistent

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

Every time I visit, their food is always consistent and their service is excellent. I always get to customize my roll, which I appreciate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good sushi at a good price

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

Price is reasonable and the food is quite good. The yummy yummy roll is excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I'll be back!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

Taking a line from Arnold, cheeky. True and to the point, I have been here a few times now and have never been disappointed. The food choices, the sake list, it's all good. I always have fun and I always enjoy the food. I'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great sushi menu, sake list, and service

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 6, 2015

I had heard of Zushi Sushi but not eaten there, and OpenTable made me do it! The place looks modern, clean, well-list and nice, the food menu has a lot of interesting options (I could do without the Texas-inspired names like "River Walk Sushi" but that's a minor peeve), the sake list is quite impressive and full of very useful comments, and our server was attentive and pleasant. This was a positive experience in all respects. I hope to be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best in Austin

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

This is our go to choice for Sushi in Austin. Very quick for lunch but for dinner on the weekends you need a reservation. The food and service is always great! I personally love that the menu has plenty of great choices for non sushi eaters. Both locations are very kid friendly although the consistency of food and service is much better downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great sushi

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 24, 2015

Sushi Zushi has really good food and is a deal when you go for happy hour. It also has on the menu gluten free and vegetarian items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Absent-Minded Service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 23, 2014

I gave you guys a chance and I was let down. It took at least 7 minutes to get someone to the table to take our drink orders, from a drink menu that wasn't presented til the sever got there. Quite awkward. Then it took until the entrees got to the table for the salad my girlfriend ordered first to come. Although we were not charged for it, it really put a damper on the already lax service. The food was just okay. It was certainly nothing spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Good food, not the best service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 8, 2014

The sushi selection was almost too big. Trying to decide from the dozens of rolls that they make was difficult. But the food was very good. The problem was a very inattentive server. Shortly after we placed our order, he had to take on a large party. At that point, he disappeared. Eventually we had to flag down another server to find him for us. As a result, we sat without water, without drinks, and without some of the food that we ordered for about 25 minutes. I'm sure ti was just the result of the large party that he was taking care of, but it was frustrating for us nonetheless.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

non-rice rolls were yummy

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 1, 2014

I am glad that there were some reasonably priced non-rice rolls on the menu. They were well made and fresh.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Great Sushi

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 3, 2014

Love Sushi Zushi. Many choices and always fresh! We had dinner here before a concert and it was a wonderful start to the evening. Our waitress was very sweet and knowledgeable of the different sushi selections. We look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible experience. I don't want to beg ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 8, 2014

Terrible experience. I don't want to beg the server for drinks or food items. It was a miserable experience. ..I dont even know where the manager was?

We had to keep asking whoever wasTerrible standing at the hosting stand to get what our server was missing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Not as good as other locations

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 19, 2014

I've eaten at two other locations several times: The Domain in Austin and in Dallas. Everything was better at those locations. The 5th St location in Austin wasn't as clean; they were understaffed which contributed to the slow service. Two of the rolls were rather small compared to the other two locations I've visited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Trust but verify your 1000pt reserv

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 16, 2014

I have been to this place on a few trips to Austin and each time I go there the food and drinks are great however each time there is a 1000point reservation the restaurant does not seem to want to honor these reservations. I arrived to the restuarant on time and within the guidelines for a 1000point reservation. The first time I was NOT awarded my 1000point reservation however this time I wanted my 1000 points and contacted OpenTable and I was awarded my points.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Sushi Roll 真好吃

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 18, 2014

Sushi Zushi 的Sushi Roll 很有特色,提供很多其他處沒有的roll,而且美味,來這一定要試試他們家的美式Sushi Roll!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Sushi Zushi is the usual type

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 12, 2014

Sushi Zushi is the usual type Austin Restaurant. Pretty good food with substandard service,. What Austin needs is a Japanese restaurant with Sukiyaki prepared at the table and a sit down Tepenyaki grill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Pleasant but Super Slow

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 10, 2014

We came in for lunch. I am always happy with the sushi, which uses fresh, quality fish. My dining companion found her noodle dish so-so, but was looking for a low-cost lunch so she was satisfied. Our major concern is that the food, especially the sushi, appeared VERY slowly. Our server was nice and did his best, letting us know that sushi would likely take 20-30 minutes (the restaurant was 1/3 to 1/2 full). In the end, it was OVER 40 minutes before I got one maki roll and one hand roll.

From here on out, we'll use the Domain location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Good Happy Hour

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 9, 2014

The prices are very reasonable for Happy Hour...I left very full, had two drinks, all for under $20.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Remarkable attention to comfort

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 27, 2014

We were seated at a great table that happened to be near a door that appeared to not be in use. About 15 minutes into our meal one of the customers decided to use it to pop out to smoke and use the phone. Normally this wouldn't be a big deal but it was about 30 degrees outside. On his second trip out one of the employees rushed over to us and asked if we would like to move. We assured him we were fine, but I really appreciated his attention to our comfort.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

All around good place

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 20, 2014

Absolutely no complaints. Food was excellent and the server was very attentive to our needs and he even explained all of the drinks on the happy hour menu to me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Needs a bit of a facelift

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 17, 2014

Sushi Zushi has never disappointed with their food, but at this point the restaurant needs some freshening up. It's bad when the menus are so dirty you don't really want to touch them. Our server was fine - a bit too casual for me, but he did his job well. Wish there were more signature rolls without cream cheese - seems like such a cheap filler.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Anthony IS the best!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 12, 2014

My first time there and I loved it. I will definitely return. Food was beautiful and scrumptious, our waiter was attentive (I think he has esp) and the price was reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible Sushi

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 22, 2014

If a sushi chef asked me what I would want in a perfect sushi roll it would be Sushi Zushi's Spy roll. So I didn't have to make it up myself Sushi Zushi already thought of it for me. Plus there is probably a dozen other items on the menu that are out of this world. Love the creative of their Sushi Chefs at Sushi Zushi. Love both Austin locations. The one in the Domain knows my dog by name and that he loves carrots, I don't even have to ask for water or the carrot they bring them out when we sit down. Love the care the servers take with the human and canine customers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the sushi!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 19, 2014

Had a rare date night out with my husband while someone watched our kids. We moved here from florida and I love sushi but have been so disappointed in finding a good sushi place here in austin until now! The sushi was delicious ! Ate until I was stuffed! Drinks were delicious had the black berry smash from the bar it was excellent. And service was awesome. This will be our regular sushi place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tasty but price menu

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 18, 2014

Happy hour menu is good but rest of menu has many items that are over priced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 14, 2014

Our waitress wasn't great but that is not the norm. Food and atmosphere is amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Terrific as always, thanks!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 13, 2014

Anthony was very attentive as was the other staff, the food was tasty and nicely presented. Sushi Zushi is our go-to place for a nice clean enjoyable meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.