HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Sushi Yuzu - Ko'olina

3.4
140 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem (2)
  • Good Vegetarian Options (1)
  • Afternoon Tea (1)

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. The second location of YuZu, Sushi YuZu is now open in Kapolei.
We strive to use locally produced products and keep it ORGANIC and NATURAL. Try our sushi that is accented with YuZu Vinegar and specialty YuZu drinks.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch-Everyday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner-Everyday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour-Everyday: 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Late Happy Hour-: Friday & Saturday: 10:00pm - Close
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 678-1155
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Aliinui Dr.
Additional
Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout
What 140 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.4
  based on recent ratings
3.1
food
3.5
service
3.0
ambience
2.8
value
Noise · Quiet
64% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
3.0
Dined on December 15, 2017

We liked this place and were sorry it’s ownership is changing to a breakfast place.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
1.0
Dined on December 2, 2017

We were turned away. We had an Open Table reservation for 5 at 7:45 pm on a Friday night. When we arrived, the dining room seemed slow with half of the tables empty. The manager told us they were not seating anymore tables because the chef was backed up. I said we had a reservation at 7:45. He checked the computer and confirmed our reservation for 5 at 7:45, but said they still could not serve us. We left and walked across the street to Monkey Pod where we had a nice dinner. I am surprised they are still in business when they won’t serve customers with reservations. I will not go back there again.

Report
Helpful
vipFoodie (San Francisco)
4.0
Dined on November 30, 2017

Good sushi fare in relaxed, neighborhood setting.

Call first to be certain they’re open, as sometimes for no apparent reason they are closed.

Report
Helpful
vipFoodie (San Francisco)
4.0
Dined on November 26, 2017

Somewhat above average sushi restaurant, but well located and reasonably good food.

Oddly scheduled, i.e. sometimes they decide not to open, even if you have a confirmed reservation via opentable.

Also, the evening we finally got in, a Saturday and very early (5:30p) they ‘ran out’ of dessert and other menu items. Their reorder never came in, so they said. What’s up with that? Even if they had to go out and buy ingredients at retail, they should have been able to offer what’s on the menu.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
1.0
Dined on November 11, 2017

Unfortunately we did not taste the food. First off there is no sushi bar, just a regular drink bar which felt strange but we brushed it off. We had made reservations for 4. We stood at the host desk in a half empty restaurant for 5 minutes before anyone spoke to us, then after letting them know we had a reservation for 6:45 we were merely told, “ok we’ll clear a table.” My husband and I stood in the bar area with our two kids and baby for 15 minutes while no one said anything to us, not about how long it would be, apologizing for the wait, anything. Eventually we decided we weren’t spending our last night of an amazing vacation receiving less than mediocre service. We went back to Monkeypod across the street and had an AMAZING dinner for the third night in a row!

Report
Helpful
FooDFun (San Francisco)
4.0
Dined on October 31, 2017

This is the only sushi restaurant anywhere near Ko' Olima, as far as I could tell, so we decided to give it a try. The reviews were not especially encouraging, but we were pleasantly surprised. We were warmly greeted, and our server was terrific (Michelle?). She made suggestions, joked with us, and fulfilled all requests with warmth and humor, and was very efficient. For me, the menu was a little bit limited, and not particularly inspired; that said, the food was quite good. I ordered the Ko' Olima Roll, which was delicious. One of my companions order the sashimi plate, which was visually quite pleasing, but included such delicacies as octopus, which I'm not a fan of. The rest of the party chose tempura based dishes, which, again, I do not eat. The lobster tempura roll was a hit with them. We also ordered the shrimp tempura(which I did taste), which was fine, although not particularly noteworthy.
The place was full, and we could still hear each other talk, which was very pleasing to us. I'd consider returning.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Hawaii)
1.0
Dined on October 13, 2017

We booked by Open table on same day but they closed!!!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
4.0
Dined on October 11, 2017

Service was excellent. Waiter were always there to help and get wat ever needed. Food was good, but nothing too special. Would i go back? Definately.

Report
Helpful
NotWorthIt (Hawaii)
2.0
Dined on October 8, 2017

Bad first impression: the table didn't have enough seats as requested so an outside patio chair was added. Then we were told sushi staff was short handed so there would be a wait for sushi orders. Kids meals arrived less 2 items and only after we questioned did the other items arrive. The sushi rolls had way too much rice almost like a fast food, conveyor type restaurant. Batter for the tempura was thick and not light and crispy like we would expect for a nice Japanese restaurant. Server however was very pleasant and it seemed she tried hard to provide good service. This was our 2nd time to the restaurant, 2nd time we were staying at Aulani. The first time wasn't that good but decided to give Yuzu another chance. Unfortunately we won't be returning.

Report
Helpful
MirceaDan 
4.0
Dined on September 27, 2017

some dishes are excellent some like the poke had some pieces that had white membrane inside the meet, good cocktails, yakitory was delicious, rolls the same, overall it's a 4 star location in my opinion, will eat again there

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14