Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Sushi Yuzu - Ko'olina

3.7
141 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Kid-friendly
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. The second location of YuZu, Sushi YuZu is now open in Kapolei.
We strive to use locally produced products and keep it ORGANIC and NATURAL. Try our sushi that is accented with YuZu Vinegar and specialty YuZu drinks.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch-Everyday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner-Everyday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour-Everyday: 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Late Happy Hour-: Friday & Saturday: 10:00pm - Close
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 678-1155
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Aliinui Dr.
Additional
Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout
What 141 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.7based on all time ratings
3.9
food
3.8
service
3.5
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on December 14, 2017

We liked this place and were sorry it’s ownership is changing to a breakfast place.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 1, 2017

We were turned away. We had an Open Table reservation for 5 at 7:45 pm on a Friday night. When we arrived, the dining room seemed slow with half of the tables empty. The manager told us they were not seating anymore tables because the chef was backed up. I said we had a reservation at 7:45. He checked the computer and confirmed our reservation for 5 at 7:45, but said they still could not serve us. We left and walked across the street to Monkey Pod where we had a nice dinner. I am surprised they are still in business when they won’t serve customers with reservations. I will not go back there again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 29, 2017

Good sushi fare in relaxed, neighborhood setting.

Call first to be certain they’re open, as sometimes for no apparent reason they are closed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Somewhat above average sushi restaurant, but well located and reasonably good food.

Oddly scheduled, i.e. sometimes they decide not to open, even if you have a confirmed reservation via opentable.

Also, the evening we finally got in, a Saturday and very early (5:30p) they ‘ran out’ of dessert and other menu items. Their reorder never came in, so they said. What’s up with that? Even if they had to go out and buy ingredients at retail, they should have been able to offer what’s on the menu.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 10, 2017

Unfortunately we did not taste the food. First off there is no sushi bar, just a regular drink bar which felt strange but we brushed it off. We had made reservations for 4. We stood at the host desk in a half empty restaurant for 5 minutes before anyone spoke to us, then after letting them know we had a reservation for 6:45 we were merely told, “ok we’ll clear a table.” My husband and I stood in the bar area with our two kids and baby for 15 minutes while no one said anything to us, not about how long it would be, apologizing for the wait, anything. Eventually we decided we weren’t spending our last night of an amazing vacation receiving less than mediocre service. We went back to Monkeypod across the street and had an AMAZING dinner for the third night in a row!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 30, 2017

This is the only sushi restaurant anywhere near Ko' Olima, as far as I could tell, so we decided to give it a try. The reviews were not especially encouraging, but we were pleasantly surprised. We were warmly greeted, and our server was terrific (Michelle?). She made suggestions, joked with us, and fulfilled all requests with warmth and humor, and was very efficient. For me, the menu was a little bit limited, and not particularly inspired; that said, the food was quite good. I ordered the Ko' Olima Roll, which was delicious. One of my companions order the sashimi plate, which was visually quite pleasing, but included such delicacies as octopus, which I'm not a fan of. The rest of the party chose tempura based dishes, which, again, I do not eat. The lobster tempura roll was a hit with them. We also ordered the shrimp tempura(which I did taste), which was fine, although not particularly noteworthy.
The place was full, and we could still hear each other talk, which was very pleasing to us. I'd consider returning.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 12, 2017

We booked by Open table on same day but they closed!!!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 10, 2017

Service was excellent. Waiter were always there to help and get wat ever needed. Food was good, but nothing too special. Would i go back? Definately.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Bad first impression: the table didn't have enough seats as requested so an outside patio chair was added. Then we were told sushi staff was short handed so there would be a wait for sushi orders. Kids meals arrived less 2 items and only after we questioned did the other items arrive. The sushi rolls had way too much rice almost like a fast food, conveyor type restaurant. Batter for the tempura was thick and not light and crispy like we would expect for a nice Japanese restaurant. Server however was very pleasant and it seemed she tried hard to provide good service. This was our 2nd time to the restaurant, 2nd time we were staying at Aulani. The first time wasn't that good but decided to give Yuzu another chance. Unfortunately we won't be returning.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 26, 2017

some dishes are excellent some like the poke had some pieces that had white membrane inside the meet, good cocktails, yakitory was delicious, rolls the same, overall it's a 4 star location in my opinion, will eat again there

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 31, 2017

This ranks up there as some of the worst, most expensive sushi I have ever had. I must say the fish was fresh. The rice on the sushi was mostly cold and unseasoned. The wasabi was old. The waiter was too in-my-face, calling me "Love." All the food is made in the kitchen, so you cannot watch the sushi chefs. Fortunately the bartender was clearing our table and I told her how awful the experience was. She brought us complimentary mango ice cream. I would never recommend this place! Try Sushi Bay instead.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 7, 2017

Terrible sushi experience! Thinking sushi in Hawaii would be at the least decent, we were surprised by the poor fish quality, bland flavors and overall awful food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 27, 2017

Located in a mall across from Disney's Ko'olina Resort. Super convenient to get away from the crowds. It wasn't over crowded, a nice surprise. There is indoor and outdoor seating. The sushi was fresh and creative but lacked 'umami'. Portions are small and expensive. Service was great! Location was great! I would highly recommend Sushi Yuzu for Disney guests who want to get off the resort grounds and away from the crowds and "kiddie" food.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 7, 2017

It was hard to leave a good comment for this experience. In our times we did dine there, it was excellent. But in this particular date, they were closed for dinner! And open table allowed me to make a reservation. My family and I went there and it wasn't open. I'm not sure who to blame. But if a location is closed, I think open table and/or store needed to have communicated that. We were lucky to snag another restaurant on a Friday night, with my 2 year old in tow. Sushi Yuzu overall has great service and food, but something went wrong with this obviously.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 4, 2017

I order sushi roll set first time.
It was a lot of food and tasty!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 18, 2017

We had an 11:30AM reservation on Father's Day, June 18. When we got to the restaurant, it was closed! We crossed the street and ate at the Monkey Pod restaurant. It's a good thing we had an option. It was Father's Day, and we would have been totally upset if we had nowhere to dine.
Received a confirmation email from Open Table on the Friday prior to Father's Day!
I contacted Sushi Yuzu to ask what happened, but no one has responded to my concern.
DO NOT recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2017

Good sushi and service. It has a nice outdoor seating area, but is in a mini mall and beside a driveway.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food and service. A very enjoyable, relaxing experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2017

Unlike the other restaurants it was quiet. We sat outside and the wait staff was very nice. We could enjoy conversation and the food was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2017

Best place for sushi in Ko Olina. Food, service, ambiance all great. Good value, too.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 15, 2017

I had a reservation at 5pm and received a phone call at 4:30pm saying that the ENTIRE restaurant will be closed because the chef didn't show up!?! What is that!?! It was MOTHER's DAY and the sushi chef didn't show up?!? What kind of a business are they running? We then had to scramble to get another dinner reservation to enjoy Mother's Day but every restaurant was booked for the next 3 HOURS!! Thank you for making our Mother's Day memorable...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place - fantastic food, service, atmosphere and value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2017

We had the best waiter!!! I forgot his name but he is always amazing!!! The food , sizzling steak on platter, all the different sushi, the best lychee saketini ever!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2017

Awesome staff (the ones who showed up that day) we had a great time interacting with all staff members. However some of menu items were not available (due to shortage in staff)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was fresh, the server was kind. But, it took a very long time for the kitchen to get the food out. We had ordered when the restaurant was empty. My order of homemade tofu, had not come out with the rest of the order; when asked where it was they had just run out. Communication needs improvement.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 3, 2017

Must have been a bad day for them. Kitchen had limited menu due to chefs calling in sick. They didn’t accept walk ups. Service was great considering the situation but really wanted more variety. Price was high but considering its Ko Olina what do you expect.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 30, 2017

We went there for an early dinner when they had their happy hour which is a good deal. It wasn't crowded when we arrived, but it soon filled up. The sushi was great. The only disappointment was that they didn't have an item featured on the menu from the beginning of the happy hour.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 5, 2017

Made a reservation for happy hour after reading reviews. First they told us they had ran out of white wine from being busy the day before. The happy hour menu is very limited and the food was just fair. Would not return and would not recommend to others.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2017

I was very happy to see quick service from hostess, servers, and cooks
Only thing
I offered a Saki to sushi chefs and i was told no.... I have been to many high caliber Sushi restaurants and have never been told no to a shot of Sake
Other than that IT WAS GREAT FOOD

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2017

Food was very good. We got there as happy hour was ending and waitress was nice to remind us to get orders in. Would be nice if there was a more extensive kids menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food, nice servers. Bathroom far, so taking kids wasn't that easy. Wish had a better beer selection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2017

3rd time in two weeks. love this little gem. sushi always fresh
Black cod simply cooked to perfection. nice Saki menu. service always attentive

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2017

always one of our favorite stops for dinner. Staff couldn't be nicer Food is always wonderful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2017

One of our Favorites, done several times during stay. Sushi always fresh and tasty. service is excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2017

we always go here for great food.
great service. really good Saki and sushi

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 16, 2017

This was pretty good. The outdoor dining is fun and the atmosphere is casual.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 10, 2017

Excellent food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 7, 2017

Rolls were fresh and very good. Ambiance is limited, but good service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 5, 2017

The sushi rolls were large and fresh. Service was friendly. A bit expensive .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2017

It was wonderful. We made a reservation. Was a little confused which Hostess stand to go to as there was one outside and one inside. Our waiter was amazing and the food was fresh and well plated. Tasted great!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4