About Sushi Yuzu - Ko'olina

92-1047 Olani St.
Suite 1-101
Kapolei, HI 96707
View Larger Map

The second location of YuZu, Sushi YuZu is now open in Kapolei.
We strive to use locally produced products and keep it ORGANIC and NATURAL. Try our sushi that is accented with YuZu Vinegar and specialty YuZu drinks.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:

Lunch-Everyday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner-Everyday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour-Everyday: 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Late Happy Hour-: Friday & Saturday: 10:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Aliinui Dr.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 678-1155

Website:
http://www.yuzuhawaii.com/

Additional:
Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout

Sushi Yuzu - Ko'olina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Kapolei ›

fit for foodies (8)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (5)
See All
great for lunch (5)
good for groups (4)
special occasion (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
notable wine list (1)
romantic (1)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
69 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a lovely meal at Sushi Yuzo. The ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had a lovely meal at Sushi Yuzo. The sushi was fresh and beautifully prepared. My husband had a delicious fish noodle stew, which we shared, and I really enjoyed my shrimp tempura. We always enjoy our meals at Sushi Yuzo. The staff is so helpful and friendly, too. I'd highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Disappointing

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

There are not a lot of choices in Ko Olina so we tried Sushi Yuzu. We found the sushi was just so-so....which was surprising that there is such good seafood to be found. The staff was more interested in talking with each other in the back kitchen vs taking care of guests. Overall, the experience and food were not worth the price.

food5
ambience2
service2

Food freshness and quality make up for t ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food freshness and quality make up for the somewhat disappointing device, but for sushi that meets the highest standards, I have not found a better plan on Oahu. Just be aware that the acoustics in this building are poor so the noise is pretty high

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

unique dishes

Dined on March 26, 2016

Our family had fun picking out the rolls we would get and everything was delicious. The Ko Olina roll was our favorite, as was the teriyaki chicken on a stick. The spider roll and spicy tuna/shrimp tempura was also great. The kids combo meal is a smart idea. Even my nonsushi eater child liked it. Our server, Chris, was fun to talk to and so sweet. He was great with our kids.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Service . . .

Dined on February 15, 2016

We've come once before and had a great experience but this time was different. The food was good but the service needed improvement. After being seated, no one came for over 10-15 minutes. When the waiter finally came, he took our drink order/food order and left. We didn't get water yet. He later brought settings and plates but still no water or our drinks. I had to ask for water because we were getting thirsty. The food was good but my wife did not get what she wanted. She loves ikura (salmon roe sushi) and we got tobiko instead. Only after she asked the waiter, did he tell her they were out of ikura. I feel he should have told her that at the time of ordering. She was disappointed. I'm not one to complain and this is actually the first time I ever wrote a review but I thought Yuzu should get this info so that they can improve on this. Hopefully it was just an off night for the server and not the norm.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4

Overall the food was pretty tasty. Noth ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Overall the food was pretty tasty. Nothing spectacular but would eat there again. We mostly ate aka carte items. Spicy Tuna roll, Ribeye steak, shrimp and assorted vegetable tempura, and the Poke' (raw fish). Service was good being it was a little busy for Valentines. But no long waits. Would go back again.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Service Was Extremely Slow

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

After we were seated, the waiter didn't come by our table for 15 minutes. He finally took our drink order, but I didn't realize that ordering a couple of beers would take another 20 minutes. Appetizers took a long time to make it to the table, and they all didn't arrive at the same time. The last one showed up at the table 20 minutes after the first one arrived. I believe we ordered a total of 4, all at the same time. We ordered our entrees and some more drinks. 20 minutes later the drinks arrived, and 20 minutes after that our entrees made it to the table. Of course they all didn't arrive at the same time. I believe the last one arrived 30 minutes after the first one hit the table. After all of this, our waiter showed no interest to give us our check. We waited around for another 30 minutes for him to give us the check. Finally, we just went up to the cash register and had to ask to pay our check. I've heard of Hawaii time, but that was ridiculous. Food was pretty good, but not worth the wait we had to endure. I don't think I'll be back anytime soon.

food5
ambience5
service5

Hamachi-butterific Black cod-flakey goo ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Hamachi-butterific Black cod-flakey goodness Seafood tempura-juicy beyond Calamari rings-delicious Grn tea cheese cake w/ coffee ice crm Too full to eat it all. Brought it home. YAY!

food5
ambience5
service5

It was the first time I got to try Sake ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

It was the first time I got to try Sake and I enjoyed it 😉. It is kind of on the pricey side but worth the experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice - especially for sushi rookies

Dined on February 1, 2016

We are not knowledgeable sushi eaters, but the staff was very helpful to order for us and our children (9,7,4 yrs). Didn't take too long to get the food. Drinks were cold. Gave kids crayons to keep them occupied. Nice job overall

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Sushi Yuzu

Dined on January 30, 2016

My mom and I had lunch there since we had a certificate. It was a quiet lunch. Only a couple of other tables were occupied. Food was good. A little pricey but not too bad. The whole mall down at Ko'Olina seemed to be slow and not much foot traffic.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

keep going back every time we come to Ko ...

Dined on January 25, 2016

keep going back every time we come to KoOlina Food is fresh and great tasting. lovely Sake selections suggest reservations ask for outside table Wonderful wait staff

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great hostess

Dined on January 13, 2016

I made a mistake and booked a table for 2 on a very busy night. It was my mistake and while there was a table for 2 available it would be 1/2 hour for a table for 4. We left and were looking around the neighboorhood for somewhere else to eat when the hostess got a cancellation, ran out and tracked us down. This was above and beyond. The food was good and we had an enjoyable dinner. It wasn't out of line price wise compared with other places in Hawaii.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great sushi and service

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

Great sushi and service

food3
ambience3
service4

Good and not so good.

Dined on November 1, 2015

First time we went in September was very good, went this weekend and not so good, fish not as fresh, rice was hard and not hand rolled & prepped differently, put all this sauce on a real nice ko-Olina roll, ruined it. Last time much fresher fish, no sauce on roll. Obviously different chef. I will say both times very good service, friendly staff.

food3
ambience4
service4

We have been here many time, their cooke ...

vip
Dined on October 26, 2015

We have been here many time, their cooked food consistent to be quite good but their sushi was slightly disappointed. I ordered the omakase and the sushi was overall not that fresh. Their rolls were better.

food4
ambience2
service4

Happy hour is the way to go. Lots of cho ...

vip
Dined on October 20, 2015

Happy hour is the way to go. Lots of choices and great food!

food2
ambience2
service3

Sushi below average. Just plain and expe ...

vip
Dined on September 20, 2015

Sushi below average. Just plain and expensive. Wouldn't go back. I would expect where the fish in Hawaii is supposed to be terrific this place wasn't.

food4
ambience5
service5

Ko' Olina

Dined on August 25, 2015

The service was excellent and the food was tasty. Loved the grilled squid appetizer! That night they had a special sushi chef there...yum! The Yuzu sorbet is so refreshing and a perfect way to end a meal! Everyone was friendly and nice. We'll definitely go back! Must try the miso butterfish and the rib eye!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Unexpected great find😍

Dined on August 17, 2015

Went again on our second night and it was just wonderful! They had our favorite dishes☺️

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service2

Great Japanese Food!

Dined on August 7, 2015

Food was delicious and fresh. Presentation was beautiful and the kids loved everything they ate! Service was a little slow as I think they were training new people. The Omakase was unique and delicious! Unfortunately we missed the happy hour.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service4

Fish was fresh. Had food not normally se ...

Dined on August 4, 2015

Fish was fresh. Had food not normally seen in our area. Everything was delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5

Good sushi & great service

vip
Dined on June 25, 2015

We're vacationing in Ko Olina for a week and we've eaten here twice. Both times the food and service has been great.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service5

Food is average.

Dined on June 24, 2015

Food is ok but expensive . The black cod was not available and limited menu.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4

Recommended!

vip
Dined on June 20, 2015

We're been wanting to try this restaurant since it opened but weren't willing to make the drive out to Ko Olina for dinner (as they previously opened at 4:30 p.m.) Now they're open for lunch (from 11:30) and it makes for a pleasant day trip ... The food selection isn't as diverse as I expected but what was ordered was outstanding ... the clams miso soup was perfectly seasoned; the tempura was lightly coated and cooked perfectly; the sushi was well made and presented well .. and it was good to see Japanese beers and sake offered ... Koshihikari Echigo beer was the perfect accompaniment to the sushi. We'll be back ...

food5
ambience3
service5

Darn good sushi

Dined on May 20, 2015

Much to our surprise, the sashimi at Yuzu was really great. The fish was very fresh and presented beautifully. We enjoyed our meal much more than we had anticipated. We ate early in hopes of taking advantage of Happy Hour prices. There wasn't any sashimi on the Happy Hour menu but the price of the sake was reduced.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice little place. Good happy hour menu.

Dined on May 16, 2015

Good restaurant. Nice atmosphere. visited with family. Loved Rib-eye meal, the ahi poke was delicious and the kids Teriyaki Chicken skewers for kids were awesome. Definitely would visit again.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Always happy

Dined on April 5, 2015

Been here several times and never disappointed with service or food, must be getting a good reputation as it is always busy - make a booking so you are not waiting!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Staff and Great Food

Dined on April 3, 2015

The staff was very friendly and attentive. I enjoyed the sushi rolls. They were very memorable and I definitely will return on my next visit to the Ko'Olina resort area. Something to truly look forward to. Choice of eating inside or outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service1

Long wait. Over priced

Dined on February 28, 2015

No one was at hostess table when we arrived. Waited several minutes for someone to even come over and take our drink order. Looked over menu. Not impressed. No sake. No sake?! Got up and walked out before anyone even came to our table.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience2
service1

The only thing positive about this place ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2015

The only thing positive about this place is the kids meal. My daughter loved the way it was served. We had reservations at 7:30 pm that we made on open table at 7 pm. We arrived to the Resturant at 7:20 and we waited until 7:45 pm before we were ever "greeted" by the hostess. Who stated it would be a 15 min wait. I said we had reservations for 7:30, we were there early and that I didn't understand why wont be seated for another 15 min. She rudely said "well you only made the reservation 15 min prior to your arrival." I said I don't think you should accept reservations if you don't have seating available. She didn't respond to my statement which was another great example of the all around poor customer service. We were seated a little after 8 only to wait 15 min before a waitress to come to our table. During our wait two couples left the hostess counter because they were never greeted then a group of people sat themselves at two open tables because they were never assisted either. The sushi was mediocre and it was hard to enjoy the environment because the customer service was so bad. I would not go back to this place.

food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent. Not inexpensive but worth it.

Dined on February 14, 2015

We have SO many sushi restaurants on Oahu but Yuzu is definitely a cut above. All the dishes we tried were excellent, especially the Lobster Roll and the Tempura.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and the food was wonderful ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2015

Great service and the food was wonderful as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service3

Sushi was warm and flavorless

Dined on January 25, 2015

Sushi was warm and flavorless, for two of us it was over $120. To be honest I would go to Safeway for sushi before I went back Sushi YuZu.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service2

slow and average

vip
Dined on January 4, 2015

There was nothing 'special" about his place but the price. When you pay $20 for a roll it really should knock your socks off. Average food, slow service, limited bar and expensive is the only way to describe this place. very disappointed.

food2
ambience1
service2

bland and overpriced

Dined on December 29, 2014

I think this place focuses on healthy japanese food. We ordered many items from appetizer and regulae menu. Ahi poke was very traditional which was great. The avocado with seaweed was very odd and difficult to eat. Sushi was nothing spectacular. One odd thing is that everything was seasoned with yuzu so if u dont like that this place is definitely not for you. Another odd this was what appeared to be the owner learking around. Not very friendly and made us feel uncomfortable. We just left thinking the food was very bland and overpriced for what you got. We love sushi and left unimpressed.

food3
ambience2
service3

after hours

Dined on December 28, 2014

Found a sushi spot that was open after 11pm on the west side so we decided to stop by. Pretty much only workers from the surrounding restaurants inside at the bar. It was too bright there so we took an outdoor table. The food was ok but way too pricey. Seriously overpriced, but we had no choice because of our cravings.

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

Good Food

Dined on December 8, 2014

I took my friend to Yuzu for her birthday. We ordered the tempura teishoku and it was good. The tempura wasn't greasy and full of batter. The salad dressing was also very tasty. Too bad they don't give a free birthday treat. The waitress was a local woman who was very friendly!

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3

Good and fresh but lacked variety

Dined on November 24, 2014

We went with 4 adults. The food was very fresh and tasted good. We like sushi with unique rolls and we were hoping for some island flair. But they only had a few on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3

Only sushi restaurant in Ko Olina

Dined on November 19, 2014

The sushi was quite good. Would recommend the tempura soft shell crab. Service was average. They took quite a while to notice we were waiting for a seat. It's the only sushi place in the area other than the place in the JW.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.