About Sushi Yuzu - Ko'olina

92-1047 Olani St.
Suite 1-101
Kapolei, HI 96707
View Larger Map

The second location of YuZu, Sushi YuZu is now open in Kapolei.
We strive to use locally produced products and keep it ORGANIC and NATURAL. Try our sushi that is accented with YuZu Vinegar and specialty YuZu drinks.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:

Lunch-Everyday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner-Everyday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour-Everyday: 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Late Happy Hour-: Friday & Saturday: 10:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Aliinui Dr.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 678-1155

Website:
http://www.yuzuhawaii.com/

Additional:
Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Sushi Yuzu - Ko'olina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Casual (3)
See All
Fit for Foodies (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Business Meals (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
93 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very fresh sushi at reasonable prices. T ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Very fresh sushi at reasonable prices. Tried sea urchin and some other types of sushi not available back home. Enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Food and price ares comparable to other ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Food and price ares comparable to other Japanese restaurants in Oahu. Location is convenient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

I'm really torn in writing this review. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I'm really torn in writing this review. On the one hand, our food was delicious. The sushi, tempura, miso soup, etc. were all delicious! And our service was at times attentive, but other times we watched the clock tick by as we waited to ask for refills on water or to order more nigiri. Also, the ambiance is very much strip mall outdoor dining--no Ko Olina frills in that department! But overall it was a solid meal and one we would repeat on future visits to the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Our waitress was wonderful, the service ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful, the service was great. We booked on opentable and they called us to let us know menu items that they had run out of, to ensure we were not in for any surprise. We ordered the spicy tuna roll, avocado roll, and an ahi roll. They were all delicious. We were surprised the restaurant was not busier.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, People Watching, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Casual, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

There are many balaety of Japanese food ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 28, 2016

There are many balaety of Japanese food menu.

Sushi, Tempra, another Japanese food...

All food was really good!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

From the miso to nigiri, food was outsta ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

From the miso to nigiri, food was outstanding: fresh fish, well-prepared, and promptly served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This restaurant had excellent food. It w ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This restaurant had excellent food. It was a little warm and wished they would have closed the doors and turned on the air-conditioner. All in all I would recommend this restaurant to everyone. My sister is a vegetarian and she would love the vegetables in the tempura. She will be here in a month and I will for sure make reservations as soon as she gets here and enjoy this wonderful place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The service was excellent and food was a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The service was excellent and food was awesome. The only down fall was the parking and they was out of the Steak, but was understandable that there delivery got delayed due to the holiday the day before.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was fair, nothing specia ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2016

This restaurant was fair, nothing special write about; only visited this place because it's a part of the program!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent meal at Sushi Yuzu. Fast, frie ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent meal at Sushi Yuzu. Fast, friendly service with fresh flavours and interesting takes on sushi with a local flare. Kids loved it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had read good reviews regarding the r ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had read good reviews regarding the restaurant. Unfortunately, on the night we were there it was a busy night for the staff. This resulted in relatively long delays. Despite a promising gluten free menu there were issues with their some of their gluten free dishes containing artificial crab meat (containing gluten).

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

This restaurant serves a Japanese food, ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 8, 2016

This restaurant serves a Japanese food, but does not create it's atmosphere here.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We are eating at this shop in three cons ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 8, 2016

We are eating at this shop in three consecutive years.

The whole family love this store.

Delicious food, good atmosphere.

We want to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great hospitality especially for ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 8, 2016

It was great hospitality especially for kids. Thanks vm.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Make sure to make a reservation, this pl ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Make sure to make a reservation, this place is popular. Great food, comfy chairs, great service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi rolls tasted great. Though my end ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Sushi rolls tasted great. Though my end piece fell apart when picked up. Tamago nigiri was very good. Edamame with garlic was good and very messy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The ribeye steak was a bit pricey, but w ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 2, 2016

The ribeye steak was a bit pricey, but was the bomb! Sushi rolls were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

You'll love the food here. Good for kids ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 2, 2016

You'll love the food here. Good for kids too. Very affordable. I would love to come back here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food great service poor!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food great service poor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Unfortunately they had overbooked us. We ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Unfortunately they had overbooked us. We ended up waiting for about an hour in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

All dishes were good but not real Japane ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2016

All dishes were good but not real Japanese. Especially roll sushi was tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The service was excellent. The food was ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 20, 2016

The service was excellent. The food was well prepared and looked just as good as it tasted when it was presented to us. The sushi was fresher than most places we have tried. Definitely would come back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Chris was perfect. He was ver ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server Chris was perfect. He was very friendly, funny, and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

We had a lovely meal at Sushi Yuzo. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2016

We had a lovely meal at Sushi Yuzo. The sushi was fresh and beautifully prepared. My husband had a delicious fish noodle stew, which we shared, and I really enjoyed my shrimp tempura. We always enjoy our meals at Sushi Yuzo. The staff is so helpful and friendly, too. I'd highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointing

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 25, 2016

There are not a lot of choices in Ko Olina so we tried Sushi Yuzu. We found the sushi was just so-so....which was surprising that there is such good seafood to be found. The staff was more interested in talking with each other in the back kitchen vs taking care of guests. Overall, the experience and food were not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Food freshness and quality make up for t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Food freshness and quality make up for the somewhat disappointing device, but for sushi that meets the highest standards, I have not found a better plan on Oahu. Just be aware that the acoustics in this building are poor so the noise is pretty high

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

unique dishes

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Our family had fun picking out the rolls we would get and everything was delicious. The Ko Olina roll was our favorite, as was the teriyaki chicken on a stick. The spider roll and spicy tuna/shrimp tempura was also great. The kids combo meal is a smart idea. Even my nonsushi eater child liked it. Our server, Chris, was fun to talk to and so sweet. He was great with our kids.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

居酒屋飯です。 疲れた胃腸に最高です。

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 18, 2016

居酒屋飯です。

疲れた胃腸に最高です。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service . . .

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We've come once before and had a great experience but this time was different. The food was good but the service needed improvement. After being seated, no one came for over 10-15 minutes. When the waiter finally came, he took our drink order/food order and left. We didn't get water yet. He later brought settings and plates but still no water or our drinks. I had to ask for water because we were getting thirsty. The food was good but my wife did not get what she wanted. She loves ikura (salmon roe sushi) and we got tobiko instead. Only after she asked the waiter, did he tell her they were out of ikura. I feel he should have told her that at the time of ordering. She was disappointed. I'm not one to complain and this is actually the first time I ever wrote a review but I thought Yuzu should get this info so that they can improve on this. Hopefully it was just an off night for the server and not the norm.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Overall the food was pretty tasty. Noth ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Overall the food was pretty tasty. Nothing spectacular but would eat there again. We mostly ate aka carte items.

Spicy Tuna roll, Ribeye steak, shrimp and assorted vegetable tempura, and the Poke' (raw fish).

Service was good being it was a little busy for Valentines. But no long waits.

Would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Service Was Extremely Slow

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 14, 2016

After we were seated, the waiter didn't come by our table for 15 minutes. He finally took our drink order, but I didn't realize that ordering a couple of beers would take another 20 minutes. Appetizers took a long time to make it to the table, and they all didn't arrive at the same time. The last one showed up at the table 20 minutes after the first one arrived. I believe we ordered a total of 4, all at the same time. We ordered our entrees and some more drinks. 20 minutes later the drinks arrived, and 20 minutes after that our entrees made it to the table. Of course they all didn't arrive at the same time. I believe the last one arrived 30 minutes after the first one hit the table. After all of this, our waiter showed no interest to give us our check. We waited around for another 30 minutes for him to give us the check. Finally, we just went up to the cash register and had to ask to pay our check. I've heard of Hawaii time, but that was ridiculous.

Food was pretty good, but not worth the wait we had to endure. I don't think I'll be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Hamachi-butterific Black cod-flakey goo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Hamachi-butterific

Black cod-flakey goodness

Seafood tempura-juicy beyond

Calamari rings-delicious

Grn tea cheese cake w/ coffee ice crm

Too full to eat it all. Brought it home. YAY!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was the first time I got to try Sake ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 6, 2016

It was the first time I got to try Sake and I enjoyed it 😉. It is kind of on the pricey side but worth the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice - especially for sushi rookies

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 1, 2016

We are not knowledgeable sushi eaters, but the staff was very helpful to order for us and our children (9,7,4 yrs).

Didn't take too long to get the food. Drinks were cold. Gave kids crayons to keep them occupied. Nice job overall

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi Yuzu

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 30, 2016

My mom and I had lunch there since we had a certificate. It was a quiet lunch. Only a couple of other tables were occupied. Food was good. A little pricey but not too bad. The whole mall down at Ko'Olina seemed to be slow and not much foot traffic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

keep going back every time we come to Ko ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2016

keep going back every time we come to KoOlina

Food is fresh and great tasting. lovely Sake selections

suggest reservations ask for outside table

Wonderful wait staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great hostess

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2016

I made a mistake and booked a table for 2 on a very busy night. It was my mistake and while there was a table for 2 available it would be 1/2 hour for a table for 4. We left and were looking around the neighboorhood for somewhere else to eat when the hostess got a cancellation, ran out and tracked us down. This was above and beyond.

The food was good and we had an enjoyable dinner. It wasn't out of line price wise compared with other places in Hawaii.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great sushi and service

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2015

Great sushi and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good and not so good.

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 1, 2015

First time we went in September was very good, went this weekend and not so good, fish not as fresh, rice was hard and not hand rolled & prepped differently, put all this sauce on a real nice ko-Olina roll, ruined it. Last time much fresher fish, no sauce on roll. Obviously different chef.

I will say both times very good service, friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We have been here many time, their cooke ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2015

We have been here many time, their cooked food consistent to be quite good but their sushi was slightly disappointed. I ordered the omakase and the sushi was overall not that fresh. Their rolls were better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.