Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

FondaFonda
(83)
Latin American | Albany, East Bay
Reserve Now
Rivoli RestaurantRivoli Restaurant
(2089)
Contemporary American | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Mangia MangiaMangia Mangia
(493)
Italian | Albany, East Bay
Reserve Now
La MarchaLa Marcha
(197)
Spanish | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Vanessa's BistroVanessa's Bistro
(63)
Asian | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Delhi DinerDelhi Diner
(26)
Indian | Albany, East Bay
Reserve Now
Little Star PizzaLittle Star Pizza
(128)
Pizzeria | Albany, East Bay
Reserve Now
Cafe EugeneCafe Eugene
(82)
Contemporary American | Albany, East Bay
Reserve Now
ZaytoonZaytoon
Reviews Coming Soon
Mediterranean | Albany, East Bay
Reserve Now
TigerlilyTigerlily
(6)
Contemporary Indian | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Everest KitchenEverest Kitchen
(1)
Indian | Albany, East Bay
Reserve Now
Longbranch SaloonLongbranch Saloon
(113)
Contemporary American | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
TownieTownie
(51)
Contemporary American | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Rendez Vous Cafe BistroRendez Vous Cafe Bistro
(359)
French | Albany, East Bay
Reserve Now
Bistro 1491Bistro 1491
(66)
Contemporary American | Albany, East Bay
Reserve Now

About Sushi Sho

10749 San Pablo Ave
El Cerrito, CA 94530
View Larger Map

Sushi Sho was established in 1983 and the owner and master chef, Aki Kawata has been keeping the tradition of Edo-mae(Tokyo) and Kansai(Osaka) style sushi alive for more than 30 years. His early training was done at his family restaurant in Wakayama Japan. His sushi, sashimi and specialty dishes are made from the finest ingredients available on the market. Every dish is made to be pure and simple, balanced to highlight each ingredients unique flavors, served without compromise at his sushi bar.

To offer the best dining experience, only 6 customers are served at a time in 3 sessions per evening. Reservations are required in advance and there is a minimum charge of $40 a person and children under the age of 5 are not allowed.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: T-Sa 5:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Portola Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 525-1800

Website:
http://www.sushi-sho.com/

Parking Details:
Ample street parking available on San Pablo Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Aki Kawata

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

ankimo
Chawan Mushi
Tsukemori
Pressed Sushi
Onigorishi Junmai Daiginjo
Mentaiko Sushi
O-Toro
Tamago
Rolls
Assorted Pickles
Smoke Salmon
pressed salmon sushi
Pressed Mackerel Sushi
Halibut Miso Soup
Ikura
Anago
Tobiko Nigiri With Quail Egg
Scallop And Tuna Nigiri
Sake
Hamachi Kama
Amaebi
Scallops
Unagi
California Roll With Tobiko
Maguro And Hamachi
Uni
Salmon
Halibut Sashimi
Dassai 50 Junmai Daiginjo Sake
California Roll
Chawanmushi
Ikura And Amaebi
Smoked Eel
White Fish Sashimi
Shiromaguro Sashimi
Toro Nigiri
Salmon Roe Sushi
Flying Fish Roe
Sort By:
Newest
27 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is THE best sushi restaurant in the Bay Area.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 26, 2015

I've taken business guests from Tokyo here and they are completely blown away. Need I say more?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You won't find better sushi

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 18, 2015

Chef Aki Kawata opened his first sushi restaurant over three decades ago, after growing up in the family business. By that time, the first English language book on Sushi had been published, featuring food prepared by him exclusively. In a day when a typical American wouldn't have known sushi from a dead goldfish, Aki had lines out the door with people wanting to get the finest in sushi.

Aki won't serve anything unless it's using the finest ingredients. He had things on the menu that you won't find anywhere else. Back when he opened his first restaurant, not many people knew much about sushi, and his patrons these days realize how much they can learn about sushi despite what they thought they knew.

I never would have thought of ordering a combination meal where the chef chooses for me, but that's what many customers do these days and I might do that next time. Even though I hadn't been to one of Aki's restaurants in about six years, he remembered the types of things I like and was able to tell me what I had and hadn't tried before.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommended

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Here is the place to go for the freshest sushi you can get. You will need close to two hours for your meal because if the way the seatings are set up. Only six diners are served at each seating nominally, but during my visit two diners from the next seating were allowed to sit at the sushi bar.

Aki-san, the owner and sushi chef, is very friendly and instructive. While he is rolling he may tell you the proper way to pick up nigiri with chopsticks or discuss the differences between different kinds of fish. He seems very committed to providing the best possible dining experience for his customers.

Sushi Sho is best experienced by parties of two. Chances are very good that the daily menu will feature something you've never had before. That's a good thing.

I tried something i've had a disliking for for over 30 years: the Saba. I've never liked it because it's too fishy in general but Sushi Sho makes it very palatable. So if you're going to go out on a limb this is the place to do it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved this place - the sushi chef was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

We loved this place - the sushi chef was great and the sushi was delicious. We didn't realize that a 7pm reservation would be when the 8 person counter would be ready so as long as you're prepared for that. As our first time here, we shared the omakase menu and had 2 types of sashimi. We definitely did not do the omakase menu justice by sharing so each person should definitely get their own. My favorite was the cold-smoked salmon. I will definitely come back to this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

A hidden gem

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 24, 2015

Aki-San is an artist when it comes to sushi and sashimi. If you're in for a treat, Sushi Sho is the place to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Haughty

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

The restaurant says that you have to be there on time or they give away your table. So we did. Then proceeded to wait outside in the rain and cold as they couldn't be bothered to open on time. Staff saw us standing there but couldn't be bothered. Finally called them but still didn't let us in. Left. Look at their reviews later and realized this is their way of doing business. Haughty chef. Haughty staff. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

One of the Best!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 21, 2014

Hv been eating here for almost 30 years. Never a bad meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely Mediocre. Expensive for the Quality.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 14, 2014

I felt scammed by the sushi chef and owner. I have dined in several highly rated sushi restaurants in most every major US city over the last 20 years. I have also dined in a lot of small, basic local sushi restaurants.

Sushi Sho was by far the worst - even compared to my experience in lower end restaurants where I expected nothing special.

All I can say to the over-the-top reviewers on Open Table is that you have not yet really experienced good sushi.

With the exception of the Hamachi sashimi, I found most of the fish to be second rate. The chef/owner clearly does not source top (higher cost) fish. And his prices exceeded what we received.

Most importantly, the overbearing chef would not leave the 8 people at the sushi bar alone -- a self designated "mentor" to his guests. Well some of us just want to enjoy our food.

I am an American who enjoys authentic Japanese food. That said, I don't appreciate being told to use my fingers instead of chop sticks. And I don't appreciate having the chef debate with me while I enjoy my food the way I want to enjoy it. He was downright oppressive.

We felt trapped for over 2 hours while the chef made his rounds around the sushi bar holding court with lectures on the "right" way to eat and the right way to "enjoy" his mediocre fish. This resulted in significant delays receiving fish -- mere morsels at a time.

Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Sushi Sho remains Special

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 29, 2014

I'm a long time customer. I can't think of a sushi experience as interesting as that provided by Sushi Sho. Expect 2-3 hours and possible delays. You'll find yourself feeling very happy at the end of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Best of the Bay

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 26, 2014

Been coming for over 27 years. Never a bad meal! If you love great cold smoked salmon and bright, fresh uni, this is the place. Reservations only, 3 seating times during evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sushi Sho is the best sushi in the Bay Area

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 21, 2014

Sushi Sho is by far the best Sushi in the Bay Area bar none. Now that it takes reservations its super easy to enjoy an evening there. Uzuzukuri is the best - you'll find it under sashimi plates.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply the best

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 9, 2014

If you are a sushi aficionado and haven't eaten Aki-san and Michiko's food you are in for a treat. Having lived in the bay area a long time and tried most of the well heralded sushi spots in the area I still have to give it to Sushi Sho for the consistent high quality, authenticity and attention to detail. You won't find a lot of americanized rolls with lots of non-traditional ingredients, but you will savor every bite. Favorites are the kani salad, the cold smoked salmon and the box sushi (saba or sake). For dessert the anago and tamago are both excellent. They only take reservations and be prepared for a 1-2 hr dining experience, it's well worth it. Enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sushi Master in El Cerrito

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 5, 2014

Aki-San is a treasure and luckily he is only 10 minutes from my house. I'm a very fortunate person! I trust him completely, go for the omakase and let your taste buds be pleasantly surprised.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 1, 2014

The best sushi, but do not go here if you're in a hurry. Aki takes only 8 customers at a time, at his own pace, with his own style. We won't eat sushi anywhere else. If you go, and take the time to savor the experience, it's worth it. And order the California special "C," his own cold smoked salmon, the bintoro... ah.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

offensive sushi chef

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 26, 2014

The chef was very condescending and even though we have a lot of experience eating sushi, he treated us as if we were ignorant. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Best Sushi in the Bay Area

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 23, 2014

Sushi Sho is the best sushi in the Bay Area. Aki and Michiko are welcoming hosts. If you enjoy sushi, this place is an absolute must!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible find in the east bay

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 15, 2014

I have had the great opportunity to dine at some of the world's best sushi restaurants and Sushi So is uniquestionably a contender. The fish is fresh, the omakase selections are interesting, unique, and flavorful. Even the dessert selections are tasty, a rarity at many sushi restaurants. The restaurant shies away from the glitz and glamour found at many sushi restaurants these days (I'm looking at you, Nobu) and instead has an authentic Japanese feel. I would very highly recommend this restaurant next time you find yourself in the east bay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the best

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 12, 2014

I have been going to Sushi Sho for the last couple of years and I have never been disappointed. The food there is absolutely the best and top notch. I love the new premium sake that they have added on their menu and it pairs well with all the sushi. Aki-san's cold smoke salmon and saba press sushi is awesome. I will be going there a lot more in the future and bringing all my sushi loving friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Most authentic Sushi

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 5, 2014

This is by far the BEST Sushi you will have. There are five different Miso Soups. And don't let me forget, The Seaweed Salad does not radiate an un natural green. It's truly Seaweed. Try The Osaka style Sushi Press, I enjoy The Smoked Salmon. This is A Sushi Master.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Best sushi I have had in bay area

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2014

The title have said it. Sushi from most other restaurants in the bay area dont even come close to the quality Sushi Sho offers. Aki the chef is very friendly and chatty. He take pride in his sushi and every piece is done to perfection. Only good restaurants in Japan offers similar quality. A must try for someone who likes sushi.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Aki-san was very amiable as he served de ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2014

Aki-san was very amiable as he served delicious sushi to my parents and boyfriend. Because he only seats so many people a night, he's able to pay extra attention to each of his guests and keeps them entertained throughout the course of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply the best Bay Area Sushi

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2014

Sushi Sho is by far the best sushi in the Bay Area. What a gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still great after 30 years

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 22, 2014

I've been eating and learning about sushi with Aki-san since I was a freshman at Cal 30 years ago. Although I no longer live in CA, I eat at Sushi-Sho every time I visit the Bay Area. I used to arrive 30-45 mins early just to be sure I could get a seat. I'm so glad Aki-San now takes reservations on his website! We visited Sushi-Sho last week when we moved my son into the freshman dorms at Cal. Aki-san's sushi was as impeccable as always. His one of a kind cold smoked salmon and the BinToro sushi were my particular favorites. The restaurant location may have changed, but not Aki-san's unparalleled enthusiasm, dedication to the art, knowledge, and highest standards. 30 yrs of the best sushi in town is an incredible track record!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Serious Nigiri

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2014

This is the best sushi I have ever had in my life; the saba is fantastic, the usuzukuri is beautifully presented and the battera is elegance in its simplicity. Kawata-san's tsume (NOT tare) is quite good and I relish it on the unagi.

The disappointment (and low ratings) from others stems (I think) from a lack of understanding. Many people go out expecting to get "served". Kinda like, "Where the hell is my caterpillar roll? I always get a caterpillar roll!" Edo style rolls are generally the ONLY hosomaki or temaki served.

And then there's the etiquette; the exact horizontal placement of the chopsticks, the exact method to dip specific pieces of nigiri into the shoyu, NEVER asking the chef for a drink, the check or appetizers, etc.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always impeccable

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2014

This is a place to savor. Akisan is an artist. Food is STUPENDOUS.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2014

This is by far the most amazing sushi in the Bay Area! The fish is fresh and cut perfectly, the rice is exactly as is should be, and of course Aki-san was kind gracious and knowledgable. It always a special dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sushi Sho - Best Bay Area Sushi

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2014

Aki and Michiko at Sushi Sho have been serving sushi for over 30 years. They opened up their new location in El Cerrito two years ago. They have just started taking reservations which makes dining here much easier. This is by far the best Sushi available in the Bay Area. Aki is knowledgeable and meticulous about quality and presentation - a true master! I highly recommend starting your evening with Usuzukuri - fluke sashimi with house made ponzo - some of the best sashimi you will ever taste!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.