About Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar

Sushi Nakazawa is now serving lunch starting from Monday, November 6th,
2017. Seatings are available at 11:30am and 1:00pm, and can be made for one to four guests.

Sushi Bar reservations can only be made through OpenTable.

Sushi Nakazawa serves the omakase of Chef Daisuke Nakazawa. Within the twenty-course meal lies Chef Nakazawa’s passion for sushi. With ingredients sourced both domestically and internationally, the chef crafts a very special nigiri tasting menu. Chef Nakazawa is a strong believer in the food he serves representing the waters he is surrounded by, so only the best and freshest find its way to your plate.

All dinner reservations are made available 30 calendar days in advance. Lunch reservations are accepted up to 14 days in advance.

23 Commerce St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch is served Monday through Saturday starting from Monday, November 6th, 2017 in 2 seatings:

11:30am
1:00pm

Reservations can be made from one through four guests for lunch.

Dinner is served everyday in 3 seatings:
5:00pm
7:15pm
9:30pm

Reservations can only be made for parties of 2 for dinner.

Cross Street:
7th Ave and Bedford Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 924-2212

Website:
http://www.sushinakazawa.com/

Public Transit:
Two blocks south of the Christopher 1 stop.

Executive Chef:
Daisuke Nakazawa

Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Authentic (7)
Romantic (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Healthy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Cozy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort by
S
453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 13 hours ago

One of the best sushi experiences bar-none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing. Simply amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Our Omakase dinner st Sushi Nakazawa was the best meal I’ve ever had in my life! What an incredible experience it was to sit at the sushi bar and watch the chefs at work! We have not stopped talking about our dinner to everyone we know loves sushi. We flew all the way from LA to eat at Sushi Nakazawa and it surpassed all expectations! We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Best sushi you will ever eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Wonderful experience. Service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. Definitely a traditional sushi restaurant serving only the best fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Sublime sushi experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Exceptional food and service - one of the best dining experiences in New York City.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2017

The quality and presentation of the sushi was amazing- it was truly art. The staff were amiable and accommodating. Every piece of fish was sublime, highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Amazing experience at all levels
The sushi was fantastic and elevated to another level with the subtle additions to each piece

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2017

This was the best sushi I've had in North America. It was as good as some of the best sushi we've had in Tokyo. The service was superior. The tempo and order of presentation were just right. Go here if you want the best. Close your eyes, breath, and enjoy the moment!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Absolutely wonderful sushi, and the sake pairings went perfectly with each piece.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Exceptional sushi, fantastic & flawless service, and a dose of fun/camaraderie from the sushi chefs made this a remarkable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

Fantastic sushi, absolutely worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Excellent dinning experiences. Simple but supper fresh sushi with five star services.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Simply amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2017

Superb. Amazing. It is a place where sushi lovers will fall in love with...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2017

I haven't been at this place before, I was extremely surprised by the food, great and detailed service and creativity of the chefs. I have tried Omakase menus before but this one was definitely the most creative one I have tried. Congratulations!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2017

I've been here every month since my first visit. Only reason I don't visit more is I only have one weekday off a month. Addiction is an understatement. I had the privilege of eating dinner with my entire family at the bar. Such a special memory I will cherish forever. Pure bliss. Every time I visit I experience true level

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2017

A memorable lunch. The best sushi in ny.
Marvelous service. Magnificent ambience.
Worth every penny.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 11, 2017

Amazing experience, really made our birthday and anniversary celebration special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Fabulous quality and service; as close to perfection as I have experienced!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

Great authentic fresh sushi! Made reservations here at the bar for my boyfriend for his Christmas pressent, after we had returned from a trip to Japan a month earlier. He said this is the best meal he's had in NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Expensive but worth every penny! Great experience and will definitely go back. The rice is perfect and the fish melts in your mouth. The sea urchin was like foam with great flavor and the egg sushi was unlike anything I've had, salty and sweet at the same time. Really a top notch place for very special occasions and I left full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Had lunch sushi omakase and it was the same menu they serve at dinner. Much easier to get a seat during the day than in the evening and something I would highly recommend. Service was top notch and the food was very good. Only down side is that chef was not at the counter until at the end of dinner. Still got a picture with him though. Great drinks menu. Tamago at the end was sublime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 5, 2017

Life altering food, unfortunately some other patrons were very loud, but besides that the Chef and staff were remarkable.

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 4, 2017

My experience was top notch - spectacular food, wonderful presentation, excellent value, serene and I deal atmosphere to enjoy such perfect sushi. Enjoyed my lunch at the sushi counter, and Chef Uchi made me a meal I will not forget. Looking forward to my next visit-maybe dinner next time?

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Best sushi in NYC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Still the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2017

The only downside is you may never order another spicy tuna roll again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2017

We come every year for my partners birthday but last night (Nov 28) was our first time dining at the sushi bar. It was lovely. So great to watch the artistry up close.
If you’re thinking of making a res, do it before truffle season is over. The white truffle addition is a must!!
I had it with the waygu, my partner had it with the fatty tuna. Both were purely heaven.
Sake was fine. We ordered by the glass this time. But, given our past experiences, options are (very) noticeably better by the bottle. So I’d recommend going straight to the bottle section.
Service was on point as always.
We’ll be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Excellent sushi. There is no ordering, just omakase for prix fixe. For unexplained reasons (though admittedly I did not ask), different guests, even different first-time guests, are served different fish as part of their omakase. This is not a big deal, and at the end if one wants more sushi, one may order pieces as a supplement. Fourteen pieces of nigiri if my count is accurate, and one hand-roll are served at lunch for $150.00. Small but interesting beer selection, and elegant sake list arranged by prefecture, and other alcoholic beverages available. Overall excellent sushi.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Fantastic from beginning to end - every bite of this 21 nigiri Sushi course was divine. No frills like special sauces and weird roll combinations...just fresh fish expertly prepared by highly trained masters. Service was attentive but unobtrusive - the best kind! I’ve been here once in the dining room and once at the sushi bar. Sushi bar is the way to go because they serve you one piece at a time vs the dining room where they serve 3 to 4 pieces at once. My date said it was one of the best meals he’s ever had! For me definitely the best sushi in NYC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2017

One of the highlights of the evening was Cody and the rest of the service staff. Mr. Cody went above and beyond to make us feel welcome during our visit and it certainly elevated our experience. Most definitely the type of customer service that'll keep me coming back for more. Oh yeah the sushi was phenomenal too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Always a fantastic experience. Never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Amazing experience , highly recommend this for sushi lovers. Pay the extra money and get a seat at the bar, totally worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on November 15, 2017

As a sushi lover this was pure delight. Everything about the restaurant was in place so that you could enjoy the food and watching the chef work his magic, even down to the classical music playing in the background. The sushi was EXCELLENT and what a treat to sit at the bar and watch a master at work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Impeccable sushi. Sitting at the bar is a must.
I was disappointed not to see Chef Nakazawa in action, however the attending chefs were amazing to watch, and they prepared top-notch sushi. The staff was unhelpful, though, when I called and emailed several times attempting to find out if Chef Nakazawa would be there during my reservation slot.
The staff was also unhelpful and a bit rude in person.
But, ultimately, this was the best sushi, and the best fish, I've ever had in my life. I wish I could eat this every day! My girlfriend agreed, and she is quite the sushi aficionado. As it compares to Ginza Onodera, Yasuda, and other top omakases in the city, this is the best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2017

No Nakazawa Son at lunch but same meal as dinner. Service was excellent and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on November 9, 2017

One of the best meals I’ve ever eaten. Pure excellence. I’m amazed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Loved the Sushi! And I will bw back but on an earlier time as 21.30 hrs

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.