About Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar

23 Commerce St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Sushi Nakazawa serves the omakase of Chef Daisuke Nakazawa. Within the twenty-course meal lies Chef Nakazawa’s passion for sushi. With ingredients sourced both domestically and internationally, the chef crafts a very special nigiri tasting menu. Chef Nakazawa is a strong believer in the food he serves representing the waters he is surrounded by, so only the best and freshest find its way to your plate.



Both sushi bar seats and tables in our dining room are made available 30 calender days in advance.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served everyday between 5:00pm - 10:15pm.

Cross Street:
7 Ave

Dress Code:
Formal Attire

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 924-2212

Website:
http://www.sushinakazawa.com/

Public Transit:
Two blocks south of the Christopher 1 stop.

Executive Chef:
Daisuke Nakazawa

Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Food
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
7 More
Best Ambiance
New York / Tri-State Area
Sushi
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Manhattan
Best Food
Manhattan
Best Service
Manhattan
Best Ambiance
Manhattan
Sushi
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Greenwich Village ›

fit for foodies (52)
special occasion (47)
romantic (23)
See All
hot spot (17)
neighborhood gem (15)
notable wine list (9)
good for groups (1)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible experience from the beginning ...

Dined 5 days ago

Incredible experience from the beginning. Sushi was better than I could have imagined. I only wish that my date and I knew that the chef we expected wouldn't be there on the weekends. Otherwise, perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire dining experience was one of ...

Dined 6 days ago

The entire dining experience was one of the best I have ever had. Everyone here was extremely friendly and helpful. My girlfriend has a food allergy and was accommodated flawlessly during our omakase experience. The fish and technique used were both great. Uchi-san was amazing in his own right and is a very pleasurable person! We will be back for sure!

food5
ambience5
service5

The BEST ive ever had. Mr nakazawa is fu ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The BEST ive ever had. Mr nakazawa is funny and talented! Staff is very friendly very knowledgeable. If you think you had good sushi, you havent tried the best in the world.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nakazawa makes the experience

Dined on June 8, 2016

I've seen the documentary and been to Shiro's in Seattle during Nakazawa's time there. While the sushi itself is excellent, Nakazawa's presence is what makes the experience worthwhile. He's very good about checking in with guests and answers any questions you may have, while gladly posing for a quick photo.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The attention to detail is amazing. The ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

The attention to detail is amazing. The sushi is out of this world!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a complete treat to eat Chef Naka ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

It was a complete treat to eat Chef Nakazawa's sushi. Read the Times review if you want a description of that. What doesn't get as mentioned is the outstanding sake-pairing. A great deal considering the quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is really a very special place, spe ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

This is really a very special place, specially if you are lucky enough to land a spot on the sushi bar! From the moment you sit down until the final sorbet comes in, your are taken through a wonderful culinary experience. Chef Nakazawa's every present smile and attitude as he explains and serves each piece personally demonstrates his passion for his trade. Each sushi piece is special on its own... neither too simple, nor too exotic so as to make it a place you experiment once and never come back to. You leave really wanting to come back as soon as you can land a new reservation. The omakase is definitely fairly priced, specially considered the quality and service and compared to other options in NYC! The only suggestion is that service at the bar while you wait is not at par with the service once you sit down in the restaurant. Small detail in an overall flawless place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

how am i supposed to eat regular sushi now?

Dined on May 21, 2016

I think expectations are high when it's known that you apprenticed for one of the greatest sushi chef's in the world. But Chef Nagazawa doesn't disappoint. and nor does the Sushi Bar. The dining room is more conducive to holding a conversation, but the sushi bar is where the show is at. Chef Nagazawa is friendly and sociable, whether he's cracking jokes or laughing along with comments from diners. All pieces were prepared by Chef Nagazaw for the Sushi Bar, while his apprentices prepared for the dining room. So if you want stuff prepared by the man himself, the Sushi Bar is the only way to go. you pay a little bit more, but for the entertainment value of it, it's all worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic experience that any sushi love ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fantastic experience that any sushi lover should try at least once in their life.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must for sushi lovers

Dined on May 10, 2016

My family recently went on a trip to Sushi Nakazawa as part of a Christmas present and told me that it was not to be missed. Traveling from Seattle where we have a lot of great sushi bars - including some restaurants by another Jiro apprentice - I knew I didn't want to miss the opportunity. I recommend sitting at the sushi bar where you can watch the masters at work and be served directly by Nakazawa himself. While I was expecting high quality sushi, what I wasn't expecting was the subtle but incredible service. We didn't interact often with our servers, but when we did they were very informative exchanges on sake as well as specific ingredients in our fish. We were given small towels to wipe our fingers and upon noticing that my friend was left handed, a server quietly moved the towel to the other side of his plate. I don't eat sushi that often anymore. As an environmentalist, because of the state of our oceans, and as a foodie, because I'm a bit bored of 10-ingredient rolls that disguise the flavors of fish rather than enhance them. It makes more sense than ever to me now to spend money going to a place like this on a special occasion. It's not cheap, but it's worth it! The fish here is all served as nigiri with different pairings like shiso leaf, Japanese plum, different sauces carefully selected for each fish. Great quality, delicate flavors and textures, not for people who are picky about their raw fish!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Believe the hype!!! Amazing, nuanced Oma ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Believe the hype!!! Amazing, nuanced Omakase by chef Nakazawa. Sat directly in front of the master and it was worth every penny! Incredible flavors combined with an in person performance of a master at the height of his craft. Bravo!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sushi I ever had

Dined on April 25, 2016

It is an fantabulous and truly unique experience. The see food was very fresh and top class. I love the Toro, Hokkaido uni and scallop. Mr Nakazawa flavored each of his creations differently and his assistant helped explain. Will return if I'm lucky enough to get another spot at 7 pm sushi bar.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sushi Fans Should Eat Here

Dined on April 22, 2016

Amazing omakase along with sake pairings. Expensive, but worth it. Wouldn't recommend for everyday dining, but sushi fans should come here at least once, and it's a great place to eat for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our second time at Sushi Nakaza ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was our second time at Sushi Nakazawa. The sushi was again incredible and the service superb. The sake pairing was also wonderful. The perfect place for a special dinner. Sushi Nakazawa has basically ruined all other sushi restaurants for us. We only wish it was in LA. Honestly, though, given the price, it's probably better this way.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best sushi in new york

Dined on April 12, 2016

daisuke nakazawa is the master of all things sushi.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite sushi restaurant!

Dined on April 9, 2016

The service here is as good as it gets, from having your chair pushed in for you, to a single stray grain of rice being picked up just seconds after it falls. You can't ask for better service. The food was outstanding. They were highly accommodating. I keep kosher and was starting to explain the rules of kosher to them, and they swiftly responded by saying "no worries! we already have a kosher menu!" The premium sake pairing is a must. Everything about this meal was the highest possible quality, I would go back here every day if I could!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing sushi. Good variety. Very attent ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Amazing sushi. Good variety. Very attentive service. Definitely must try. Ignore the guy who puts ginger on his sushi.

food5
ambience5
service5

Simply put - the best sushi and the best ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Simply put - the best sushi and the best sushi experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wow!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Sushi Nakazawa certainly lived up to its advance press! While it is NOT easy to get a reservation, requiring us to stay up to midnight 30 days before in order to book 2 seats at the sushi bar, the experience was well worth the effort. We arrived 5 minutes early for our 5:00 reservation and were escorted into their small but comfortable and very attractive bar area. Promptly at 5 we were seated and given their extensive beer, wine and sake list to peruse. We chose two interesting beers and decided to do one of the sake tastings. My only slightly negative comment - and it's slight - is that the first sake arrived very shortly after the beer because the meal was about to commence, and the sakes were paired to the pieces of sushi we were going to be served. So you either had to chug the beer, leave it, or drink it later. The sushi was prepared, served and explained beautifully and precisely. The fish was amazingly flavorful, the rice perfection. None of the varieties were incredibly unusual but all were extraordinary in quality and original in preparation. The sakes were great accompaniments and very generously poured. And the staff was informative, very friendly, and not pretentious at all, which can so happen at a restaurant of this caliber. After the omakase was over, which encompassed about 21 pieces of sushi, we were offered the menu in case we wanted any additional pieces, which we did. Some of the flavors simply demanded to be repeated! Because this was a present for my son, I never checked the prices ahead of time and really did not know what to expect. When the bill came, we were both very pleasantly surprised that, although not inexpensive, the meal seemed extremely reasonable given the quality and service. For a memorable sushi experience, I would highly recommend Nakazawa. I'm already saving up for a return visit soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Stellar experience. Best caliber of sush ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Stellar experience. Best caliber of sushi I've ever experienced and a wonderful staff.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding! The food was top notch but ...

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Outstanding! The food was top notch but that goes without saying. A truly impeccable dining experience- chef Nakazawa and his team had great energy, the sommelier and staff took outstanding care of us, and we had one of the most memorable dining experiences in the city so far, that left us wanting more. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Tonight, Chef Daisuke Nakazawa showed us ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Tonight, Chef Daisuke Nakazawa showed us what culinary heaven looks like. An omakase meal consisting of 22 pieces of exquisite sushi bursting with finesse, flavor and freshness. I lost count how many times we closed our eyes in satisfaction and appreciation. At one point, all I wanted to do was to continue chewing and chewing and chewing. I didn't want to let go because I wanted to savor every inch of the sushi. This was definitely one of the best meals we ever had. The 1-month wait was worth every second, and our experience tonight was worth every dollar.

food5
ambience5
service5

What an incredible experience. Chef Naka ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

What an incredible experience. Chef Nakazawa is a genius, and a lot of fun to watch work. His food is out of this world. Truly, worth every penny. If possible, sit at the sushi bar so you can watch the master at work.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was incredible! The hostess, ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Everything was incredible! The hostess, the sake sommelier (if that's the correct title), and Mr. Nakazawa were warm, welcoming, and knowledgeable. The food was excellent and the sake pairings were fantastic. Easily one of the best meals of my life!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Chef Nakazawa is very nice and friendly, ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Chef Nakazawa is very nice and friendly, he makes you feel very comfortable and sincerely appreciates compliments. However the rice wasn't up to par with the fish and the pieces were very small. The soy sauce was also tasteless. I was expecting a lot more from the apprentice of the greatest sushi master in the world. There is room for improvement. The price didn't justify the meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible

Dined on March 2, 2016

Unbelieveable! Love it more than words can express.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and experience all that made ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Great food and experience all that made better by the attentive staff and the attention of the awesome and friendly chef

food5
ambience5
service5

What an experience! It may be a cliche, ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

What an experience! It may be a cliche, but you really won't see sushi the same way after dining here. The food is so simple but clean and delicious. As soon as you walk in you feel at peace, and true Zen. Service was amazing. They even picked up on the fact I was left handed and seamlessly shifted my plate setting. Nakazawa-san was amazing! So funny and I was lucky enough to sit right in front of him. His movements are beautiful like art. Really an unforgettable experience! Thank you Chef and team!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on February 8, 2016

One of the most memorable dinning experiences of my life.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Sushi Ever

Dined on January 30, 2016

This place is amazing. Make sure you sit at the sushi bar - if not, Nakazawa does not make your sushi (his team prepares the seated dining plates).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Nakazawa was charming as he served ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Chef Nakazawa was charming as he served us our amazing omakase meal at the bar. The food was fresh and flavorful. Do it right and get a seat up front. You won't be disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on January 28, 2016

Booked 30 days in advance of my boyfriend's birthday. Could not get his night though I was on OpenTable a couple minutes before midnight refreshing, but a reservation did open up for a few days before his birthday at midnight, and I was very happy with that. Meal was a relaxed two hours, about. The sushi bar is a quiet experience because it's in the front of the restaurant; the actual dining room is a separate area removed from the bar. The food experience was exceptional, especially since you watch it being prepared. I don't think it's worth going here just to dine in the back, at least not the first time -- sushi bar is the right way to go. Also, the sake pairing improved the meal for sure. We don't know anything about sake, and it was very fun to taste the differences between the ones we were served. The service was excellent (we ordered a tea at the beginning that the server poured for us and re-steeped for us later). Overall, the service may be a little over-the-top, but it's certainly not formal and stiff to the point where a normal diner would feel awkward. I'm glad that at the sushi bar, you can ask what things are, but aren't told exactly what everything is from someone practicing rote memorization. My boyfriend wore what he would typically wear to work; I wore a comfortable cotton dress. You won't feel out of place if you're not super dressed up, which is nice. I put in the special instructions that it was a birthday occasion (forgot to specify it was my boyfriend's, but they asked right away when we got there). Since I had seen that a birthday candle in the final sorbet is something that had been done before, I requested that in the special instructions, and they wonderfully obliged (thank you!). I made sure to bring a smaller bag than I would typically bring to work, and I was able to hang that on a hook under the bar. Coats are checked. We arrived early for our 7:15 reservation and were seated immediately.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the very best.

Dined on January 27, 2016

The chef was friendly and helpful, explaining every piece of sushi to the best of his abilities. The flavors that goes with each piece was fantastic; every course came with a taste that's specifically made for the fish/shrimp/squid on top of the rice. Extremely well done, will definitely go back some day.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The total experience (service, taste, am ...

Dined on January 26, 2016

The total experience (service, taste, ambiance, etc) is like nothing I've ever experienced before. Chef Nakazawa is truly a master of his craft.

food5
ambience5
service5

Sushi bar is the way to go if you can ge ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

Sushi bar is the way to go if you can get a seat. Chef Nakazawa is a warm and funny host and precise master of his trade.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent omakaze sushi

Dined on January 17, 2016

20+ courses of truly authentic sushi from the apprentice of Jiro, handmade in front of you and presented to you personally by the chef. A great experience! Expect a simple, yet exceptional progression of Nigiri that will take you on a raw fish journey. We opted for the sake pairing to keep things simple (the wine/sake list is of novel proportions) which only added to the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unreal. Life changing

Dined on January 16, 2016

Watch Jiro Dreams of Sushi before eating. This place was absolutely amazing. Took my girlfriend here for our 4th anniversary and we were blown away

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Meal Ever!

Dined on January 16, 2016

Best meal of my life! Freshest fish iv ever had with the most incredible but simple flavors, which is exactly what you want out of a great sushi place!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Slow start but amazing finish

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

The overall dining experience at Nakazawa was very memorable. Food was excellent and menu was very thoughtful and flavorful. I thought that the beginning of the meal was... very slow. Guests were encouraged to arrive 10min early, which I have no objection to, but there was no where to wait and, given the winter chill outside, all of the sushi bar guests were crowded into the entryway. Being seated in some order of what seemed like importance was a little awkward but I realize that we all can't sit right in front of Chef Nakazawa. And then the first few courses were one piece or so each and took a bit of time between courses while pieces were being prepared. The atmosphere was slightly tense and quiet for my taste and so I think a start plate/amuse bouche would have been a nicer way to start the evening. By the midway through the meal, everyone was feeling looser and more comfortable and the courses at least seemed to flow out of the artful hands of Chef Nakazawa more quickly. Thus it was hard to find fault with the second half of the meal, which I am glad of given how excited my dinner guest and I were to experience what was promised to be a unforgettable dinner. One more thing to note, I was seated at the end of the bar nearest to where sushi is plated before being taken into the dining room. As such, it was hard NOT to overhear what was said by the waiters and waitresses while orders were being placed and being picked up. Not all of what was said was regarding the task at hand, i.e. talking of other guests and seemingly not taking their roles as seriously as I would like given the price tag of the meal I was trying to enjoy. Not a deal breaker but a memorable disturbance to the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lives up to the hype

Dined on January 15, 2016

Had dinner with 3 of my good friends and the Sushi Nakazawa bar. The experience was impeccable. The staff was friendly and maintained just the right amount of attentiveness while Chef Nakazawa delivered a sensational meal. Nakazawa was very friendly, cracked jokes, and posed for photos. The sushi was clean and minimalistic, but was absolutely delicious. Every piece was perfectly crafted with a depth of flavor, balance, and complexity found in only the best of sushi restaurants. The rice was perfectly cooked and delicious. Quite a number of items were the best I've ever had. Had both the Premium and Standard Sake pairings. I'd recommend the premium, but the Standard was still excellent. The bar is separated from most of the restaurant and is where all the action happens. So if you can land a pair of seats there, I'd recommend it over the regular tables. The only drawback is you can only book two seats at a time and they are gone within a second of when they are made available. Also, keep in mind that Chef Nakazawa only works Mon-Fri.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.