About Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar

Sushi Bar reservations can only be made through OpenTable.

Sushi Nakazawa serves the omakase of Chef Daisuke Nakazawa. Within the twenty-course meal lies Chef Nakazawa’s passion for sushi. With ingredients sourced both domestically and internationally, the chef crafts a very special nigiri tasting menu. Chef Nakazawa is a strong believer in the food he serves representing the waters he is surrounded by, so only the best and freshest find its way to your plate.

Both sushi bar seats and tables in our dining room are made available 30 calender days in advance.

23 Commerce St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served everyday in 3 seatings:
5:00pm
7:15pm
9:30pm
Reservations can only be made in pairs of 2.

Cross Street:
7th Ave and Bedford Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 924-2212

Website:
http://www.sushinakazawa.com/

Public Transit:
Two blocks south of the Christopher 1 stop.

Executive Chef:
Daisuke Nakazawa

Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Authentic (20)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Romantic (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (3)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

SPECTACULAR.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Amazing experience. Not cheap but definitely worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

I feel really disappointed. It you have tried the real sushi omakase, you won't like the food here. It's not worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

You think you know sushi, but you have no idea

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great meal with Chef Nakazawa. Definitely worth a visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Very good sushi. Comparable to some of the best in Tokyo. But the service is less than I expected. It’s an assembly line even at the sushi bar. With a pretentious guy walking behind the diners saying the names of the fish in English. Does not feel like a Japanese experience. Very much catering to the NY western crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service. Best sushi I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Best Sushi ever. Loved the lean tuna, fatty tuna, hand roll and egg sushi! And the rest were outstanding too! We did not have Chef Nakazawa make sushi for us, but he showed up and greeted us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Treva was incredibly rude and unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Gave my seats to my parents for their anniversary. The staff was incredibly accommodating. I set up their meal via email without any problems. Everything was noted and every detail remembered. Parents left incredibly happy and could not stop talking about the experience. Even though Chef Nakazawa wasn't there they still had fantastic things to say about the meal. They talked with the same passion and excitement I remember having after my first visit. Note they do not remember Nakazawa's ties with Jiro even though they saw the documentary. The chef during their meal managed to impress my mom. Not easy. Last time I wrote a stellar review there were noticeably fewer time slots available for the taking. I forced myself to dial it down a bit this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was solid. Some pieces of fish were excellent and others were average. Weren't accommodating of food allergies. Waiter & environment were pretentious and unfriendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Went on a Thursday and Chef Nakazawa was unfortunately not there but Chef Wei was in his steed. He performed magnificently and the meal was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Singapore)·Dined on September 4, 2017

It was mind blowing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Ever since we watched "Jiro Dreams of Sushi" we've been dreaming of dining at Sushi Nakazawa. The moment we entered, we were greeted with warm hand towels and exceptional service. It was humbling to sit at the sushi bar, where we watched the intersection of food and art. Mesmerized by the chefs' meticulous and skillful preparation, we were treated to an exquisitely orchestrated omakase with sushi served in movements to create a symphony of flavors and textures. It was a truly phenomenal and memorable experience, thanks to Chef Daisuke Nakazawa and team, as we felt transported to Japan. Absolutely worthy of NY Times four stars, and hoping they receive Michelin 3 stars in the near future!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Amazing overall experience/food. A must for all foodies

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Sitting at the sushi bar and being served by Chef Nakazawa was the experience that won't be forgotten. His passion shows through each piece of fish that enters your mouth. It's like an explosion of flavors. His precision to each piece of fish he makes is unlike anything you've ever watched. Bite the bullet and pick the omakase sushi bar, you won't regret it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

So beautifully intimate and delicious. Best quality sushi I have had in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Tied for the best sushi meal of my life. The other best sushi meal was also at Sushi Nakazawa...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at Sushi Nakazawa! We sat at the sushi bar, which is the way to do it, and the service was impeccable and non pretentious. Every piece of sushi was unique and flavorful and a real experience. While pricey, it's a fun spot for a special occasion. Sitting at the sushi bar and watching as the sushi is made feels like a real show!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Awesome sushi- you will never look at your regular sushi restaurant in the same light again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food is great...the reception desk is rude...serving is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Unfortunately Chef Nakazawa doesn't work over the weekend, but his entire team was there, and still produce excellent quality and made it a totally wonderful dinning experience! Will definitely come back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The memories will come to you in waves. If not in hours, days, if not days, weeks. We dined at the beginning of August and I'm still thinking about the experience. During one course I just sat there and chewed, for what seemed like ages, not wanting the moment to end thinking bout life. From time to time, I remember certain textures and mixture of flavors. The lingering piece of finger lime that popped with a burst of tang even after I swallowed the shrimp it accompanied whole. The sayonara shrimp itself, faintly sweet and all too fleeting a bite. The way the toro flights glistened on the black plate. The crunch of the roasted nori hugging the joint passed to you by The Man himself. The taste of the blended crab guts sitting on top of Dungeness crab. The uni, my God the uni! I could go on, but experience it for yourself. Maybe I'll be sitting there next to you giggling like a schoolgirl

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

This place definitely lived up to the hype. I had one of the best meals of my life. I came here for an anniversary and apparently it's a hot place for anniversaries. Out of the 10 people doing omakase, there were 4 couples celebrating anniversaries.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

They were very accommodating and the level of service was next to none. Chef Nakazawa was very engaging at the bar which elevates the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

I came for a friend's recomendation, and made a reservation for the bar. The experience was great, the taste of every piece is unique. Highly recomend to go here if you want to do more than just eat. It's a festival for the palate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Simply outstanding! A dining experience on another level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Sushi was amazing! Chef Nakazawa delivered one delicious course after another. I recommend the premium sake pairing and sitting at the bar for first timers. Absolutely well done and fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

I can't imagine a better dining experience for sushi, other than traveling to Japan. Having lived in Japan, this must be the best sushi bar in the US. Having waited almost 2 years to get this reservation, it was worth it. Hope it's not another 2 years before i can return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

This is not just dinner. It's an experience. I definitely recomand to get a table at the bar. Watching chef Nakazawa and his assistants work is amazing. It's almost like a choreographed ballet. Plus they are friendly and you can interact with them and ask questions about how to eat it or what are the special ingredients hidden that give this special touch. I would for sure not do that everyday but it's definitely worth the price.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great experience with Chef Nakazawa for our one year dating anniversary. World class taste and impeccable, attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

My wife and I have been to Sushi Nakazawa twice now. On both occasions, everything about our visit was excellent. The food, service, and ambiance were excellent. This restaurant is an experience worth having if you can find a seat. My one comment would be that on both occasions Chef Nakazawa was absent. While the chefs in attendance delivered a great experience, it would have been nice to see the namesake on at least one of the occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful!!! Chef was amazing and we will be back! We were thrilled and patient getting reservations for our short stay this trip to NY and it was well worth it. Our experience was amazing and memorable. Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

The sushi was amazing! Best omakase I've had in nyc.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Excellent experience as always! Perhaps the service can be a little more causal and less formal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Every penny and my effort trying to make reservation over several months worth

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I am a tourist in NYC and luckily got the reservation in Sushi Nakazawa during the trip. Chef Daisuke Nakazawa is off on weekends so his apprentice made sushi for me. The raw fish is very fresh; however, the temperature of rice and the raw fish doesn't match well. And the sushi apprentice's knife work is not skilled. I am very disappointed to know this reputable Sushi bar let their junior apprentice to serve the customers. Sushi Nakazawa needs to improve their training on the apprentice.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

A classic Japanese sushi restaurant, with ten seats at the bar, some smaller tables in the back, and a few different seats by the bar. Up front, John and another hostess will greet you, put things away (check) and direct you to the bar before seating.

Omakase only, the bar is more expensive than the back seats, but your food is prepared by Nakazawa himself, and he'll joke and point out various interesting items. Treva was helping translate some items and she was also serving sake and pointing out specific choices on the menu (like the choice portion where you could order the wagyu A5).

Every piece is lovingly crafted in the right shape and size. Sharp knife slice fish and seafood perfectly, but if they don't like a cut, away the fish goes. The place is orderly and neat, and homemade ginger helps clean the palate between bites.

Note that if you have any allergies, they will accommodate, but all items are sushi, not sashimi, and it's best to eat with your fingers. They'll have a little cloth to clean up after each pick up.

Attention to detail, superb seafood choices (fresh fish and more from across the world). Definitely great for small groups (you can reserve for 2 at the bar, or up to 5-6 in the back (only one table that large, most tables are for 2-4). Reservations online or you can call, open up 30 days ahead of time (1 month) and fill up quickly. 48hr to cancel your reservation without being charged.

Simple and classic dining - I enjoyed it, but if you don't like rice and a slow measured pace (it takes up the 2 hours nicely), then you may want to make another choice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 12, 2017

A beautiful and exciting experience to sit at sushi bar and have Nakazawa prepare all...

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Love this place and the staff is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.