About Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar

23 Commerce St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Sushi Nakazawa serves the omakase of Chef Daisuke Nakazawa. Within the twenty-course meal lies Chef Nakazawa’s passion for sushi. With ingredients sourced both domestically and internationally, the chef crafts a very special nigiri tasting menu. Chef Nakazawa is a strong believer in the food he serves representing the waters he is surrounded by, so only the best and freshest find its way to your plate.



Both sushi bar seats and tables in our dining room are made available 30 calender days in advance.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served everyday between 5:00pm - 10:15pm.

Cross Street:
7 Ave

Dress Code:
Formal Attire

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 924-2212

Website:
http://www.sushinakazawa.com/

Public Transit:
Two blocks south of the Christopher 1 stop.

Executive Chef:
Daisuke Nakazawa

Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Food
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
7 More
Best Ambiance
New York / Tri-State Area
Sushi
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Manhattan
Best Food
Manhattan
Best Service
Manhattan
Best Ambiance
Manhattan
Sushi
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Greenwich Village ›

Special Occasion (64)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Romantic (31)
See All
Hot Spot (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Good for a Date (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Authentic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Healthy (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Cozy (4)
Casual (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazingly fresh sushi - some of which is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazingly fresh sushi - some of which is alive in front of you right as you are about to eat it! For the best sushi in the city, go here. Also highly recommend the premium saki tasting - so good!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The most amazing dining experience we've ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 7 days ago

The most amazing dining experience we've ever had. Couldn't have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I come here once twice every month from ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I come here once twice every month from Philly

Drive 2 hours just to have chef Nakazawa's omakase

It's that good

The best sushi in NYC

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This lived up to every expectation we ha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

This lived up to every expectation we had. Loved it will return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were greeted and seated promptly and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were greeted and seated promptly and the hostesses were always on hand but not on top of you.

Sushi was out of this world, he had a way of making the flavors of the fish really come out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nigiri at Sushi Nakazawa are really real ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Nigiri at Sushi Nakazawa are really really good. The words can't describe. Nakazawa is really friendly and funny. If I have a chance, I'll come back ;).

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without a doubt the best sushi you'll ha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Without a doubt the best sushi you'll have under $500 in NY. The restaurant has a relaxed dress code which I like and the service was impeccable. Every piece has a unique taste but it's all about how it came together with the rice. Watching Mr. Nakazawa and his staff assembly every piece was a delight.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Organic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Do the saki pairing. It's great

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Do the saki pairing. It's great

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sushi Nakazawa is consistently exception ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Sushi Nakazawa is consistently exceptional. The staff is extremely friendly and knowledgable. Sitting at the sushi bar is so much fun. I love watching the chefs expertly slice and construct the sushi. And of course, the sushi is out of this world. Unique flavor profiles, unusual fish, and all so delicious. Of course it's not cheap, but it's worth the money for the food and overall experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a wonderful omakase - truly the be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I had a wonderful omakase - truly the best sushi I've ever had - and Chef Nakazawa was a treat.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding! Worth the effort to get a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Outstanding!

Worth the effort to get a reservation at the Sushi Bar.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was utterly astonishing and an incred ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

It was utterly astonishing and an incredible experience. Even with Nakazawa not there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was so amaizing real ”sushi” in US. R ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

It was so amaizing real ”sushi” in US.

Rice volume was good.

I liked scallop with yuzu pepper.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was taken here for my birthday and it ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I was taken here for my birthday and it was a special experience indeed. The sushi was creative and very high quality, the service impeccable, and the ambiance sophisticated yet comfortable. Highly recommend sitting at the sushi bar for the full effect. Be prepared to eat some unique fish and so fresh that it was still moving when it was served. It will definitely leave a dent in your wallet but I would recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Incredible food with outstanding service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Incredible food with outstanding service on all levels

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is truly unbelievable. N ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This restaurant is truly unbelievable. Nakazawa is very attentive to all the costumers in the bar and individually hands each piece onto your plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you live in NY and like sushi you mus ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

If you live in NY and like sushi you must eat here at least once. The entire experience is a treat. Nakazawa's omakase is well paced and smartly arranged. And the sushi... Oh, the sushi is some of the most delicate and finely crafted pieces of food you will ever eat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best sushi restaurants in NYC ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

One of the best sushi restaurants in NYC. Every piece of sushi is a piece of art. Sitting at the bar watching Mr.Nakazawa making every piece made the dinning experience very special. Highly recommended! Definitely will visit again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was more than what I had expected. It ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was more than what I had expected. It was amazing. I had the pleasure of being served by Chef Uchi. The sous chef there were just as funny as he was and the experience over all was really relaxed and enjoyable. All the food was mind-blowing. Seriously the best sushi I've had ever (though I haven't been to Jiro's... yet) I couldn't stand to eat other sushi for a month. It just wasn't the same.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience!!! Great Food cou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Outstanding experience!!! Great Food coupled with sublime service made this night truly remarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Omakase was good. The s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great service. Omakase was good. The sake pairing is not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Expensive but worth it, think it is the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Expensive but worth it, think it is the best sushi in NYC

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you love sushi, you have to go here! ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

If you love sushi, you have to go here! Amazing food, atmosphere, and overall experience. Truly the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation at Sushi Nakazawa t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I made a reservation at Sushi Nakazawa to celebrate my husband's birthday -- this itself was a feat, as it's pretty competitive to get in at the Sushi Bar. But he had been wanting to go for a long time and if you can get it, it's 100% worth it. The sushi was delicious, the space is beautiful, the service was impeccable, and it's so nice to be able to interact with the chefs and watch them prepare your food. I'm not sure if I've ever had fresher fish. At the end, you even have the opportunity to order your favorites again (we got 2 more pieces!). Overall, an outstanding dining experience that is reasonably priced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing ambiance. Even more amazing sush ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing ambiance. Even more amazing sushi. Fresh fish and wonderful chefs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the chef Nakaza ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was amazing and the chef Nakazawa was very friendly! Though it was very quiet at the sushi bar, almost too quiet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Incredible experience. Chef Nakazawa is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Incredible experience. Chef Nakazawa is truly a maestro of fish. The service was phenomenal. Did the wine pairing and enjoyed it thoroughly. Hope to be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sit at the bar! Great fresh food! Let th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Sit at the bar! Great fresh food! Let them know if you're celebrating something :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best omikase I've had in America

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The best omikase I've had in America

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi I had in my life and probably ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Best sushi I had in my life and probably will. Get a spot at the bar and the chef himself will prepare and present each piece to you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son says the best meal he's ever had. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My son says the best meal he's ever had. His mom not pleased by that comment :)

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the best meal of my life, hands ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was the best meal of my life, hands down. If you're anything like me, you will taste things you've never tasted before, and it will all be incredible. Some pieces taste so unbelievably good, like everything you've been eating previously has been simply a shadow of flavor.

It was mesmerizing to sit at the bar and watch Chef Nakazawa create your meal piece by piece.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sushi ever. Best meal experience!! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Best sushi ever. Best meal experience!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is not how I imagined it. I have ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This is not how I imagined it.

I have been to high end sushi restaurants in Japan (both in Tokyo and Osaka) and Nakasawa certainly lacks the feeling of these. Not only that, it also fails to deliver: Three different styles of salmon (which were all really very amazing, to be fair) and three different cuts of tuna, hamachi, ika, two types of uni (all equally outstanding) -- they tasted all great but at the end of the day, there was nothing I haven't really experienced. Once the omakase was complete, I saw on the menu that they actually had the Gizzard Shad. I asked Nakasawa-san if this was kohada or something else -- it indeed was kohada and it was indeed really incredible! But then, how come it is not on the omakase menu? Because it smells too strongly of fish?

No wonder the chef can deliver it (I am nowhere near to pass a judgement on his skills, of course!), but it looks like (as compared to my other traditional-sushi experience) he was asked to tune it down a bit for the locals. Another example of that was the amaebi: He took the shrimps off from a container when they were still alive, showed them around to every single person at the sushi bar, then prepared the sushi and served it. Sure, the man needs to impress -- given the bill you are presented at the end. Even so, I was still expecting him to serve the heads (charred) -- but he didn't. Most likely assuming that most of the crowd would not like it.

Long story short: You may safely skip Nakasawa. Everything that was served was of remarkable quality and showed truly outstanding skill; no doubt about it. What I did not care for was the Disney-like features of the whole experience, tuned in a way to entertain the New Yorkers, rather than doing justice to the very product they serve: sushi.

4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

I've eaten at the restaurant a number of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I've eaten at the restaurant a number of times but this was the first time at the bar. I'd recommend this experience but not if you're seated at the end, where the other chefs are prepping the dining room plates and the waiters are hanging out in front of you. I was able to see every mistake, hear every joke and taunts they made to each other. Wish I had sat in front of the chef or not at the end. It made us feel distant from the chef and not worth the price. For the restaurant, they should have their staff not congregate at the end of the bar and socialize in front of guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

If you love Sushi. I mean really love S ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

If you love Sushi. I mean really love Sushi, this restaurant will floor you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was really a treat for us! For the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This was really a treat for us! For the price, I personally would sit at the bar.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been eating sushi for 35 years, Eas ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I've been eating sushi for 35 years, East coast, West coast and Japan, and this is the best I've ever had. The ambiance was perfect, the presentation was sublime and the tastes were amazing. I opted for the sake flight and for $45 I received 6 healthy pours which perfectly complimented the sushi. I recommend sharing this with a friend, there is plenty for both of you!

I wanted to call out to the wait staff. They were great! They stayed well after the chefs had left and were a fount of knowledge about sake, sushi, restaurants, Daisuke Nakazawa himself, and anything else you felt like talking about. They were always there to further explain the sushi and sake selection but were never intrusive.

Reservations are almost impossible to come by, make sure you are on Open Table at 12 pm one month in advance of the date you wish to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best culinary experience I have ever ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The best culinary experience I have ever had by far

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.