About Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar

23 Commerce St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Sushi Nakazawa serves the omakase of Chef Daisuke Nakazawa. Within the twenty-course meal lies Chef Nakazawa’s passion for sushi. With ingredients sourced both domestically and internationally, the chef crafts a very special nigiri tasting menu. Chef Nakazawa is a strong believer in the food he serves representing the waters he is surrounded by, so only the best and freshest find its way to your plate.



Both sushi bar seats and tables in our dining room are made available 30 calender days in advance.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served everyday between 5:00pm - 10:15pm.

Cross Street:
7 Ave

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 924-2212

Website:
http://www.sushinakazawa.com/

Public Transit:
Two blocks south of the Christopher 1 stop.

Executive Chef:
Daisuke Nakazawa

Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Tasting Menu (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Authentic (13)
Open Kitchen (11)
Romantic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Fun (6)
Healthy (4)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Business Meals (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Cozy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
317 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

Upscale dining without the snooty-ness. Nakazawa has a playful side that instantly puts his diners at ease.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 16, 2017

Best sushi I've ever had, by far. Well worth the money. Service outstanding, space was comfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Simply amazing. Expensive but worth it! Food is unsurpassed and the Service was impeccable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Third time and did not disappoint..

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 9, 2017

Amazing experience. The rice was the best part. Easily the best sushi rice I've ever had. The fish was also amazing, and Chef Nakazawa has a very personal charm.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 6, 2017

Even without Daisuke Nakazawa present, the food was great!

I even had a live shrimp jump onto my chair, that's how fresh the seafood is!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 6, 2017

This was the best sushi experience ever, and one of the top dining experiences we've had among the world's best restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing. I made my rezzie about 1 month in advance over Open Table and noted I was gluten free on there. They approached me at the beginning of dinner to discuss and the chef was AWESOME at accommodating and making me feel special as special as the rest of the GF-eating guests. The food was spectacular, almost emotional. The squid and tiger shrimp (along w everything else) was just to-die for. The only problem is I wish I knew my servers name because he was also absolutely phenomenal. Wow, just wow. Thank you!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 24, 2017

Everything was so fresh, delicious, and beautiful. Service was phenomenal and Chef Nakazawa was very friendly and entertaining. Would definitely recommend to any sushi enthusiasts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best Sushi experience ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was precise, polite and not overbearing. Nakazawa is as skilled as he is entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 20, 2017

Just go.. i promise you won't be disappointed. Worth every penny times two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 16, 2017

Most amazing meal of my life

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Every bite was one to savor, with the memory of each taste firmly planted and only growing more delightful in memory and with time. The sushi flavors were so simple yet complex. The chefs have mastered bringing the flavors of the sea to the plate.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Sushi Nakazawa was a truly memorable experience and unlike anything we've ever had. Watching Chef Nakazawa felt like watching a painter paint or an irishman drink. Would definitely recommend, very expensive, but well worth the price as this is art and not your corner or local sushi spot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

I was very exciting to try my first experience but it was not much impressive dining.

Almost all sushi chef didn't care guests in front of them...

Mmm, quality was also just ok.

I think I expected too much.

Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

What an amazing experience! Each piece was better then the one before. Definately addon Kobe beef piece is like butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

Not even close to the hype. We have been to the best sushi restaurants in Japan and the US and this only rates a "good". Nakazawa is charming and the service is impeccable but at the end of the day, the fish was good. Nothing more.

Tags: Open Kitchen
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The exprerience is amazing . Look forward next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Hands down the best value for premium omakase in the world.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

A sushi dream come true. A beautiful dining experience to savor.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Sushi Nakazawa is home to the famous Daisuke Nakazawa, head protege of Jiro Ono himself, who starred in the documentary, "Jiro Dreams of Sushi".

Jiro himself prides himself as a edomae sushi chef, and a perfectionist that believes that the deepest enjoyment can be found in the utmost simplicity. Nakazawa does not make sushi edomae style, but has adjusted his portfolio to fit a more western, multi-cultural palette. However, the skills and perfectionist attitude that Nakazawa studied under has not waned one bit as you can see not just him, but his staff being held to standards that are very hard to find nowadays when it comes to fine, Asian dining.

Coming to Sushi Nakazawa comes with a heavy, but also modest price tag. The entire course is not a feast, but a journey into the world of just how beautiful the art of making sushi could be from hands trained for perfection. I highly recommend coming here to experience what the high level of sushi could be.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Best sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Amazing food. The best Japanese ever in my life, but ... be ready: you'll pay it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Everything from Chef Nakazawa's bright and energetic personality to his decades of experience going into every piece of sushi make this a scratch-off-the-bucket-list dinner destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 5, 2016

Sushi Nakazawa was amazing. It was so fun to sit and watch the sushi being prepared and see the almost surgical precision that was used. I absolutely loved it and hope to go back soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 5, 2016

Read rave reviews from various publications. Our dining experience Sushi Nakazawa cannot be topped. We loved the fresh and best ingredients plus flawless and attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

The sushi was sublime, and watching the chefs was a joy. The sake pairing was totally worth it -- very knowledgable sommelier, just the tiniest bit patronizing which I suppose is the mark of a distinguished sommelier. The only down side for me is that there was something a bit stiff about the ambience. It was kind of funny to be jammed into the bar by the waiters who push in your seats...this is a thing, they actually direct you to sit at the back of the seat and then they push you into the bar. Not something I wouldn't come back over, but...I don't know, they call in New York style sushi so maybe the people who call themselves New Yorkers these days (i.e. nouveau riche bankers) like this kind of formality. But overall, a very memorable sushi night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fabulous sushi, top quality technique and ingredients. Love the service pace and watching chef's preparing was definitely like witnessing a food symphony. The only insatisfaction was that sushi rice fell apart under the head of tiger shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

Worth the experience. I recommend the sake pairing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

Best sushi meal ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Visited the Sushi Bar on Saturday. Second time visiting here, if u are expecting to have a super traditional sushi, "Edomai", then don't come. But if u are looking for some fusion and outstanding taste experience, Sushi Nakazawa is definitely the very best choice. So actually Mr Daisuke Nakazawa doesn't work or saturday and sunday, I followed his instagram and found out that he's actually visiting different restaurants, perhaps trying bring some new ideas into his sushi, fabulous. Even Mr Daisuke Nakazawa isn't working on saturday and sunday, but one of his apprentices or colleagues, Mr Uchi actually serves all customers at the Sushi Bar. Hence, Mr Uchi is really amazing, u won't be even able to figure the differences between Mr Nakazawa and Mr Uchi, all his Sushi is made perfectly. I have been to all Michelin Guide and Star Sushi and outstanding sushi restaurants in the US, Hong Kong, like Shiro in Seattle, Urasawa in Beverley Hills, Sushi Tsujita in LA, Sushi Takodoro in San Diego, Masa in New York, Sushi Inoue in New York, Sushi Shikok in Hong Kong, Sushi Tokami in Hong Kong, etc. And went to some in Tokyo, like Saito, Sukiyabashi Jiro, Sushi Tokami, etc. However I personally somehow like Sushi Nakazawa the most, their innovative and creativity Sushi brought me a memorable and amazing experience which I have never had. If u have a chance to take the Sushi Bar, no matter it's weekdays or weekends or holiday, take it. There are literally no differences between Mr Nakazawa and Mr Uchi, they are both amazing thanks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Healthy, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

20 pieces may not be enough to fill you up. You can order additional pieces, but would feel rushed to secure the break time between each reservation. The pieces are served at good pace, so to be fair, it is impossible to speed up further or increase the pieces without putting pressure on the chef. I cannot point out any memorable pieces, but, if you want decent quality of sushi at good pace without the fear of overeating, overdrinking, and overpaying, this is a good place to go. But, if you intend to eat a lot of variety at your own pace with a variety of beverage to accompany, not a good choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Definitely worth the experience at the bar table. A well paced omakase meal with an interactive experience with the chef. Get there first so you can get seated in the middle of the bar in front of the head chef! Great staff who was very attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

All the food was GREAT! We also had fun with the chefs and servers! The sushi bar is preferable over the dining table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

This was one of the most satisfying meals of my life. If you're a fan of the documentary Jiro Dreams of Sushi, this is the place you want to eat. The chef is the apprentice who cried with Jiro admitted he'd finally made an acceptable egg custard. The food experience and service is perfect at the bar, and you want to see it. But NB it was $225/person for 2 guys who didn't drink. I think it was worth every penny, but you have to be the mood and have the resources.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

Incredible food, service and visuals. A must do, screw the naysayers.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 7, 2016

If you are passionate and love sushi, this is the place to go. Different kinds of fish not found in most sushi bars. Chef Nakazawa prepares everything himself at sushi bar. Just extraordinary and sublime, a very unique sushi experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

A wonderful experience from start to finish. Definitely the best sushi I have had in my life. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

An unforgettable meal with stellar service. High price, but worth every penny. Highly recommend the sake pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great experience. Good sushi outside Japan. Rice is a little bit too salty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 1, 2016

The best in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Nothing new I can say that hasn't already been said. Sit at the bar and immerse yourself in the experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2016

Daisuke makes this such an unbelievable experience. His fun personality along with his attention to every detail of every piece makes for an amazing meal. Every bite is a new experience. Highly recommend. I never write reviews, but this one definitely deserves it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

My husband and I had an amazing time at the sushi bar celebrating his 35th birthday. This was the best meal I've had in the city without a doubt. I can't wait to go back and sit in the lounge at the bar to enjoy all my favorite pieces again. Definitely sit at the sushi bar if it's your first time eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

Through no fault of the chef and the staff in the front of house and the sushi bar, the maitre d' made me feel three feet tall and embarrassed me in front of my date both before and after my meal, and seated me at the far end of the sushi bar even though other customers were 30 minutes late. It does not matter how great everyone else worked -- one person was still able to thoroughly ruin a $600 meal. I truly regret bringing my girlfriend to eat her tonight, and, while grateful to the maitre d' for his unsolicited note of apology, will never eat at Nakazawa again. Had he not ruined it repeatedly, it would be five stars for food and service. Everyone else did their jobs with excellence and aplomb.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
·Dined on October 17, 2016

Sushi Nakazawa is a complete experience! Watching Chef Nakazawa craft his sushi creations was like watching an athlete compete in the highest level of his sport, or an actor on a Broadway stage, or an orchestra conductor. He is beyond talented, and the fish, rice, and ingredients he used were of the highest quality. The ambiance is very quiet at the Sushi Bar, very formal and upscale, but perfect if you are seeking a memorable meal in an upscale, quiet atmosphere for a special occasion. I will certainly remember this 21-course meal for a long time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Modern Decor, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 17, 2016

Nothing will ever compare to the outstanding omakase and experience at Sushi Nakazawa. Will return time and again for this decadent meal of a lifetime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2016

A nice sushi bar set up. Nice, clean and upscale atmosphere.

Ingredients are fantastic (very fresh and well curated).

It would have been even more amazing if their sushi rice was less salty.

Still, a very nice sushi joint.

Recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2016

There is nothing I can add that hasn't been said. Sushi Nakazawa belongs on every foodie's short list; well worth a trip to NYC all on its own.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.