About Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar

23 Commerce St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Sushi Nakazawa serves the omakase of Chef Daisuke Nakazawa. Within the twenty-course meal lies Chef Nakazawa’s passion for sushi. With ingredients sourced both domestically and internationally, the chef crafts a very special nigiri tasting menu. Chef Nakazawa is a strong believer in the food he serves representing the waters he is surrounded by, so only the best and freshest find its way to your plate.



Both sushi bar seats and tables in our dining room are made available 30 calender days in advance.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served everyday between 5:00pm - 10:15pm.

Cross Street:
7 Ave

Dress Code:
Formal Attire

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 924-2212

Website:
http://www.sushinakazawa.com/

Public Transit:
Two blocks south of the Christopher 1 stop.

Executive Chef:
Daisuke Nakazawa

Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Food
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
7 More
Best Ambiance
New York / Tri-State Area
Sushi
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Manhattan
Best Food
Manhattan
Best Service
Manhattan
Best Ambiance
Manhattan
Sushi
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Greenwich Village ›

fit for foodies (49)
special occasion (49)
romantic (24)
See All
hot spot (17)
neighborhood gem (15)
notable wine list (8)
good for groups (1)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
226 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The best omikase I've had in America

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

The best omikase I've had in America

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My son says the best meal he's ever had. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My son says the best meal he's ever had. His mom not pleased by that comment :)

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the best meal of my life, hands ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was the best meal of my life, hands down. If you're anything like me, you will taste things you've never tasted before, and it will all be incredible. Some pieces taste so unbelievably good, like everything you've been eating previously has been simply a shadow of flavor.

It was mesmerizing to sit at the bar and watch Chef Nakazawa create your meal piece by piece.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sushi ever. Best meal experience!! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Best sushi ever. Best meal experience!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is not how I imagined it. I have ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This is not how I imagined it.

I have been to high end sushi restaurants in Japan (both in Tokyo and Osaka) and Nakasawa certainly lacks the feeling of these. Not only that, it also fails to deliver: Three different styles of salmon (which were all really very amazing, to be fair) and three different cuts of tuna, hamachi, ika, two types of uni (all equally outstanding) -- they tasted all great but at the end of the day, there was nothing I haven't really experienced. Once the omakase was complete, I saw on the menu that they actually had the Gizzard Shad. I asked Nakasawa-san if this was kohada or something else -- it indeed was kohada and it was indeed really incredible! But then, how come it is not on the omakase menu? Because it smells too strongly of fish?

No wonder the chef can deliver it (I am nowhere near to pass a judgement on his skills, of course!), but it looks like (as compared to my other traditional-sushi experience) he was asked to tune it down a bit for the locals. Another example of that was the amaebi: He took the shrimps off from a container when they were still alive, showed them around to every single person at the sushi bar, then prepared the sushi and served it. Sure, the man needs to impress -- given the bill you are presented at the end. Even so, I was still expecting him to serve the heads (charred) -- but he didn't. Most likely assuming that most of the crowd would not like it.

Long story short: You may safely skip Nakasawa. Everything that was served was of remarkable quality and showed truly outstanding skill; no doubt about it. What I did not care for was the Disney-like features of the whole experience, tuned in a way to entertain the New Yorkers, rather than doing justice to the very product they serve: sushi.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

I've eaten at the restaurant a number of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I've eaten at the restaurant a number of times but this was the first time at the bar. I'd recommend this experience but not if you're seated at the end, where the other chefs are prepping the dining room plates and the waiters are hanging out in front of you. I was able to see every mistake, hear every joke and taunts they made to each other. Wish I had sat in front of the chef or not at the end. It made us feel distant from the chef and not worth the price. For the restaurant, they should have their staff not congregate at the end of the bar and socialize in front of guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

If you love Sushi. I mean really love S ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

If you love Sushi. I mean really love Sushi, this restaurant will floor you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was really a treat for us! For the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This was really a treat for us! For the price, I personally would sit at the bar.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been eating sushi for 35 years, Eas ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I've been eating sushi for 35 years, East coast, West coast and Japan, and this is the best I've ever had. The ambiance was perfect, the presentation was sublime and the tastes were amazing. I opted for the sake flight and for $45 I received 6 healthy pours which perfectly complimented the sushi. I recommend sharing this with a friend, there is plenty for both of you!

I wanted to call out to the wait staff. They were great! They stayed well after the chefs had left and were a fount of knowledge about sake, sushi, restaurants, Daisuke Nakazawa himself, and anything else you felt like talking about. They were always there to further explain the sushi and sake selection but were never intrusive.

Reservations are almost impossible to come by, make sure you are on Open Table at 12 pm one month in advance of the date you wish to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best culinary experience I have ever ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The best culinary experience I have ever had by far

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible experience from the beginning ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Incredible experience from the beginning. Sushi was better than I could have imagined. I only wish that my date and I knew that the chef we expected wouldn't be there on the weekends. Otherwise, perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire dining experience was one of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The entire dining experience was one of the best I have ever had. Everyone here was extremely friendly and helpful. My girlfriend has a food allergy and was accommodated flawlessly during our omakase experience. The fish and technique used were both great. Uchi-san was amazing in his own right and is a very pleasurable person! We will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The BEST ive ever had. Mr nakazawa is fu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The BEST ive ever had. Mr nakazawa is funny and talented! Staff is very friendly very knowledgeable. If you think you had good sushi, you havent tried the best in the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nakazawa makes the experience

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I've seen the documentary and been to Shiro's in Seattle during Nakazawa's time there. While the sushi itself is excellent, Nakazawa's presence is what makes the experience worthwhile. He's very good about checking in with guests and answers any questions you may have, while gladly posing for a quick photo.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The attention to detail is amazing. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The attention to detail is amazing. The sushi is out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a complete treat to eat Chef Naka ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

It was a complete treat to eat Chef Nakazawa's sushi. Read the Times review if you want a description of that. What doesn't get as mentioned is the outstanding sake-pairing. A great deal considering the quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is really a very special place, spe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

This is really a very special place, specially if you are lucky enough to land a spot on the sushi bar! From the moment you sit down until the final sorbet comes in, your are taken through a wonderful culinary experience. Chef Nakazawa's every present smile and attitude as he explains and serves each piece personally demonstrates his passion for his trade. Each sushi piece is special on its own... neither too simple, nor too exotic so as to make it a place you experiment once and never come back to. You leave really wanting to come back as soon as you can land a new reservation. The omakase is definitely fairly priced, specially considered the quality and service and compared to other options in NYC! The only suggestion is that service at the bar while you wait is not at par with the service once you sit down in the restaurant. Small detail in an overall flawless place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

how am i supposed to eat regular sushi now?

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I think expectations are high when it's known that you apprenticed for one of the greatest sushi chef's in the world. But Chef Nagazawa doesn't disappoint. and nor does the Sushi Bar. The dining room is more conducive to holding a conversation, but the sushi bar is where the show is at. Chef Nagazawa is friendly and sociable, whether he's cracking jokes or laughing along with comments from diners. All pieces were prepared by Chef Nagazaw for the Sushi Bar, while his apprentices prepared for the dining room. So if you want stuff prepared by the man himself, the Sushi Bar is the only way to go. you pay a little bit more, but for the entertainment value of it, it's all worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience that any sushi love ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Fantastic experience that any sushi lover should try at least once in their life.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A must for sushi lovers

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

My family recently went on a trip to Sushi Nakazawa as part of a Christmas present and told me that it was not to be missed. Traveling from Seattle where we have a lot of great sushi bars - including some restaurants by another Jiro apprentice - I knew I didn't want to miss the opportunity. I recommend sitting at the sushi bar where you can watch the masters at work and be served directly by Nakazawa himself. While I was expecting high quality sushi, what I wasn't expecting was the subtle but incredible service. We didn't interact often with our servers, but when we did they were very informative exchanges on sake as well as specific ingredients in our fish. We were given small towels to wipe our fingers and upon noticing that my friend was left handed, a server quietly moved the towel to the other side of his plate.

I don't eat sushi that often anymore. As an environmentalist, because of the state of our oceans, and as a foodie, because I'm a bit bored of 10-ingredient rolls that disguise the flavors of fish rather than enhance them.

It makes more sense than ever to me now to spend money going to a place like this on a special occasion. It's not cheap, but it's worth it!

The fish here is all served as nigiri with different pairings like shiso leaf, Japanese plum, different sauces carefully selected for each fish. Great quality, delicate flavors and textures, not for people who are picky about their raw fish!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Believe the hype!!! Amazing, nuanced Oma ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Believe the hype!!! Amazing, nuanced Omakase by chef Nakazawa. Sat directly in front of the master and it was worth every penny! Incredible flavors combined with an in person performance of a master at the height of his craft. Bravo!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi I ever had

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

It is an fantabulous and truly unique experience. The see food was very fresh and top class. I love the Toro, Hokkaido uni and scallop. Mr Nakazawa flavored each of his creations differently and his assistant helped explain. Will return if I'm lucky enough to get another spot at 7 pm sushi bar.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi Fans Should Eat Here

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Amazing omakase along with sake pairings. Expensive, but worth it. Wouldn't recommend for everyday dining, but sushi fans should come here at least once, and it's a great place to eat for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time at Sushi Nakaza ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

This was our second time at Sushi Nakazawa. The sushi was again incredible and the service superb. The sake pairing was also wonderful. The perfect place for a special dinner. Sushi Nakazawa has basically ruined all other sushi restaurants for us. We only wish it was in LA. Honestly, though, given the price, it's probably better this way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

the best sushi in new york

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

daisuke nakazawa is the master of all things sushi.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite sushi restaurant!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The service here is as good as it gets, from having your chair pushed in for you, to a single stray grain of rice being picked up just seconds after it falls. You can't ask for better service.

The food was outstanding. They were highly accommodating. I keep kosher and was starting to explain the rules of kosher to them, and they swiftly responded by saying "no worries! we already have a kosher menu!" The premium sake pairing is a must.

Everything about this meal was the highest possible quality, I would go back here every day if I could!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing sushi. Good variety. Very attent ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Amazing sushi. Good variety. Very attentive service. Definitely must try. Ignore the guy who puts ginger on his sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply put - the best sushi and the best ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Simply put - the best sushi and the best sushi experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Sushi Nakazawa certainly lived up to its advance press! While it is NOT easy to get a reservation, requiring us to stay up to midnight 30 days before in order to book 2 seats at the sushi bar, the experience was well worth the effort.

We arrived 5 minutes early for our 5:00 reservation and were escorted into their small but comfortable and very attractive bar area. Promptly at 5 we were seated and given their extensive beer, wine and sake list to peruse. We chose two interesting beers and decided to do one of the sake tastings. My only slightly negative comment - and it's slight - is that the first sake arrived very shortly after the beer because the meal was about to commence, and the sakes were paired to the pieces of sushi we were going to be served. So you either had to chug the beer, leave it, or drink it later.

The sushi was prepared, served and explained beautifully and precisely. The fish was amazingly flavorful, the rice perfection. None of the varieties were incredibly unusual but all were extraordinary in quality and original in preparation. The sakes were great accompaniments and very generously poured. And the staff was informative, very friendly, and not pretentious at all, which can so happen at a restaurant of this caliber. After the omakase was over, which encompassed about 21 pieces of sushi, we were offered the menu in case we wanted any additional pieces, which we did. Some of the flavors simply demanded to be repeated!

Because this was a present for my son, I never checked the prices ahead of time and really did not know what to expect. When the bill came, we were both very pleasantly surprised that, although not inexpensive, the meal seemed extremely reasonable given the quality and service. For a memorable sushi experience, I would highly recommend Nakazawa. I'm already saving up for a return visit soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Stellar experience. Best caliber of sush ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Stellar experience. Best caliber of sushi I've ever experienced and a wonderful staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding! The food was top notch but ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Outstanding! The food was top notch but that goes without saying. A truly impeccable dining experience- chef Nakazawa and his team had great energy, the sommelier and staff took outstanding care of us, and we had one of the most memorable dining experiences in the city so far, that left us wanting more. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tonight, Chef Daisuke Nakazawa showed us ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Tonight, Chef Daisuke Nakazawa showed us what culinary heaven looks like. An omakase meal consisting of 22 pieces of exquisite sushi bursting with finesse, flavor and freshness. I lost count how many times we closed our eyes in satisfaction and appreciation. At one point, all I wanted to do was to continue chewing and chewing and chewing. I didn't want to let go because I wanted to savor every inch of the sushi. This was definitely one of the best meals we ever had. The 1-month wait was worth every second, and our experience tonight was worth every dollar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What an incredible experience. Chef Naka ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

What an incredible experience. Chef Nakazawa is a genius, and a lot of fun to watch work. His food is out of this world. Truly, worth every penny. If possible, sit at the sushi bar so you can watch the master at work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was incredible! The hostess, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Everything was incredible! The hostess, the sake sommelier (if that's the correct title), and Mr. Nakazawa were warm, welcoming, and knowledgeable. The food was excellent and the sake pairings were fantastic. Easily one of the best meals of my life!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Nakazawa is very nice and friendly, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Chef Nakazawa is very nice and friendly, he makes you feel very comfortable and sincerely appreciates compliments. However the rice wasn't up to par with the fish and the pieces were very small. The soy sauce was also tasteless. I was expecting a lot more from the apprentice of the greatest sushi master in the world. There is room for improvement. The price didn't justify the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Incredible

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Unbelieveable! Love it more than words can express.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and experience all that made ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Great food and experience all that made better by the attentive staff and the attention of the awesome and friendly chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What an experience! It may be a cliche, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

What an experience! It may be a cliche, but you really won't see sushi the same way after dining here. The food is so simple but clean and delicious. As soon as you walk in you feel at peace, and true Zen. Service was amazing. They even picked up on the fact I was left handed and seamlessly shifted my plate setting. Nakazawa-san was amazing! So funny and I was lucky enough to sit right in front of him. His movements are beautiful like art. Really an unforgettable experience! Thank you Chef and team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

One of the most memorable dinning experiences of my life.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Sushi Ever

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

This place is amazing. Make sure you sit at the sushi bar - if not, Nakazawa does not make your sushi (his team prepares the seated dining plates).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.