About Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar

23 Commerce St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Sushi Nakazawa serves the omakase of Chef Daisuke Nakazawa. Within the twenty-course meal lies Chef Nakazawa’s passion for sushi. With ingredients sourced both domestically and internationally, the chef crafts a very special nigiri tasting menu. Chef Nakazawa is a strong believer in the food he serves representing the waters he is surrounded by, so only the best and freshest find its way to your plate.



Both sushi bar seats and tables in our dining room are made available 30 calender days in advance.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served everyday between 5:00pm - 10:15pm.

Cross Street:
7 Ave

Dress Code:
Formal Attire

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 924-2212

Website:
http://www.sushinakazawa.com/

Public Transit:
Two blocks south of the Christopher 1 stop.

Executive Chef:
Daisuke Nakazawa

Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Food
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
7 More
Best Ambiance
New York / Tri-State Area
Sushi
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Manhattan
Best Food
Manhattan
Best Service
Manhattan
Best Ambiance
Manhattan
Sushi
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Greenwich Village ›

Special Occasion (59)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Romantic (29)
See All
Hot Spot (18)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was utterly astonishing and an incred ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was utterly astonishing and an incredible experience. Even with Nakazawa not there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was so amaizing real ”sushi” in US. R ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was so amaizing real ”sushi” in US.

Rice volume was good.

I liked scallop with yuzu pepper.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was taken here for my birthday and it ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

I was taken here for my birthday and it was a special experience indeed. The sushi was creative and very high quality, the service impeccable, and the ambiance sophisticated yet comfortable. Highly recommend sitting at the sushi bar for the full effect. Be prepared to eat some unique fish and so fresh that it was still moving when it was served. It will definitely leave a dent in your wallet but I would recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Incredible food with outstanding service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Incredible food with outstanding service on all levels

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is truly unbelievable. N ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This restaurant is truly unbelievable. Nakazawa is very attentive to all the costumers in the bar and individually hands each piece onto your plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you live in NY and like sushi you mus ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

If you live in NY and like sushi you must eat here at least once. The entire experience is a treat. Nakazawa's omakase is well paced and smartly arranged. And the sushi... Oh, the sushi is some of the most delicate and finely crafted pieces of food you will ever eat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best sushi restaurants in NYC ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

One of the best sushi restaurants in NYC. Every piece of sushi is a piece of art. Sitting at the bar watching Mr.Nakazawa making every piece made the dinning experience very special. Highly recommended! Definitely will visit again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience!!! Great Food cou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Outstanding experience!!! Great Food coupled with sublime service made this night truly remarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Omakase was good. The s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great service. Omakase was good. The sake pairing is not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Expensive but worth it, think it is the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Expensive but worth it, think it is the best sushi in NYC

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you love sushi, you have to go here! ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

If you love sushi, you have to go here! Amazing food, atmosphere, and overall experience. Truly the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing ambiance. Even more amazing sush ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing ambiance. Even more amazing sushi. Fresh fish and wonderful chefs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the chef Nakaza ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was amazing and the chef Nakazawa was very friendly! Though it was very quiet at the sushi bar, almost too quiet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Incredible experience. Chef Nakazawa is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Incredible experience. Chef Nakazawa is truly a maestro of fish. The service was phenomenal. Did the wine pairing and enjoyed it thoroughly. Hope to be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sit at the bar! Great fresh food! Let th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Sit at the bar! Great fresh food! Let them know if you're celebrating something :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best omikase I've had in America

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The best omikase I've had in America

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi I had in my life and probably ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Best sushi I had in my life and probably will. Get a spot at the bar and the chef himself will prepare and present each piece to you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son says the best meal he's ever had. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My son says the best meal he's ever had. His mom not pleased by that comment :)

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the best meal of my life, hands ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was the best meal of my life, hands down. If you're anything like me, you will taste things you've never tasted before, and it will all be incredible. Some pieces taste so unbelievably good, like everything you've been eating previously has been simply a shadow of flavor.

It was mesmerizing to sit at the bar and watch Chef Nakazawa create your meal piece by piece.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sushi ever. Best meal experience!! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Best sushi ever. Best meal experience!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is not how I imagined it. I have ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This is not how I imagined it.

I have been to high end sushi restaurants in Japan (both in Tokyo and Osaka) and Nakasawa certainly lacks the feeling of these. Not only that, it also fails to deliver: Three different styles of salmon (which were all really very amazing, to be fair) and three different cuts of tuna, hamachi, ika, two types of uni (all equally outstanding) -- they tasted all great but at the end of the day, there was nothing I haven't really experienced. Once the omakase was complete, I saw on the menu that they actually had the Gizzard Shad. I asked Nakasawa-san if this was kohada or something else -- it indeed was kohada and it was indeed really incredible! But then, how come it is not on the omakase menu? Because it smells too strongly of fish?

No wonder the chef can deliver it (I am nowhere near to pass a judgement on his skills, of course!), but it looks like (as compared to my other traditional-sushi experience) he was asked to tune it down a bit for the locals. Another example of that was the amaebi: He took the shrimps off from a container when they were still alive, showed them around to every single person at the sushi bar, then prepared the sushi and served it. Sure, the man needs to impress -- given the bill you are presented at the end. Even so, I was still expecting him to serve the heads (charred) -- but he didn't. Most likely assuming that most of the crowd would not like it.

Long story short: You may safely skip Nakasawa. Everything that was served was of remarkable quality and showed truly outstanding skill; no doubt about it. What I did not care for was the Disney-like features of the whole experience, tuned in a way to entertain the New Yorkers, rather than doing justice to the very product they serve: sushi.

4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

I've eaten at the restaurant a number of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I've eaten at the restaurant a number of times but this was the first time at the bar. I'd recommend this experience but not if you're seated at the end, where the other chefs are prepping the dining room plates and the waiters are hanging out in front of you. I was able to see every mistake, hear every joke and taunts they made to each other. Wish I had sat in front of the chef or not at the end. It made us feel distant from the chef and not worth the price. For the restaurant, they should have their staff not congregate at the end of the bar and socialize in front of guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

If you love Sushi. I mean really love S ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

If you love Sushi. I mean really love Sushi, this restaurant will floor you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was really a treat for us! For the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This was really a treat for us! For the price, I personally would sit at the bar.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been eating sushi for 35 years, Eas ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I've been eating sushi for 35 years, East coast, West coast and Japan, and this is the best I've ever had. The ambiance was perfect, the presentation was sublime and the tastes were amazing. I opted for the sake flight and for $45 I received 6 healthy pours which perfectly complimented the sushi. I recommend sharing this with a friend, there is plenty for both of you!

I wanted to call out to the wait staff. They were great! They stayed well after the chefs had left and were a fount of knowledge about sake, sushi, restaurants, Daisuke Nakazawa himself, and anything else you felt like talking about. They were always there to further explain the sushi and sake selection but were never intrusive.

Reservations are almost impossible to come by, make sure you are on Open Table at 12 pm one month in advance of the date you wish to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best culinary experience I have ever ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The best culinary experience I have ever had by far

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible experience from the beginning ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Incredible experience from the beginning. Sushi was better than I could have imagined. I only wish that my date and I knew that the chef we expected wouldn't be there on the weekends. Otherwise, perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire dining experience was one of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The entire dining experience was one of the best I have ever had. Everyone here was extremely friendly and helpful. My girlfriend has a food allergy and was accommodated flawlessly during our omakase experience. The fish and technique used were both great. Uchi-san was amazing in his own right and is a very pleasurable person! We will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The BEST ive ever had. Mr nakazawa is fu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The BEST ive ever had. Mr nakazawa is funny and talented! Staff is very friendly very knowledgeable. If you think you had good sushi, you havent tried the best in the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nakazawa makes the experience

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I've seen the documentary and been to Shiro's in Seattle during Nakazawa's time there. While the sushi itself is excellent, Nakazawa's presence is what makes the experience worthwhile. He's very good about checking in with guests and answers any questions you may have, while gladly posing for a quick photo.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The attention to detail is amazing. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The attention to detail is amazing. The sushi is out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a complete treat to eat Chef Naka ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

It was a complete treat to eat Chef Nakazawa's sushi. Read the Times review if you want a description of that. What doesn't get as mentioned is the outstanding sake-pairing. A great deal considering the quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is really a very special place, spe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

This is really a very special place, specially if you are lucky enough to land a spot on the sushi bar! From the moment you sit down until the final sorbet comes in, your are taken through a wonderful culinary experience. Chef Nakazawa's every present smile and attitude as he explains and serves each piece personally demonstrates his passion for his trade. Each sushi piece is special on its own... neither too simple, nor too exotic so as to make it a place you experiment once and never come back to. You leave really wanting to come back as soon as you can land a new reservation. The omakase is definitely fairly priced, specially considered the quality and service and compared to other options in NYC! The only suggestion is that service at the bar while you wait is not at par with the service once you sit down in the restaurant. Small detail in an overall flawless place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

how am i supposed to eat regular sushi now?

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I think expectations are high when it's known that you apprenticed for one of the greatest sushi chef's in the world. But Chef Nagazawa doesn't disappoint. and nor does the Sushi Bar. The dining room is more conducive to holding a conversation, but the sushi bar is where the show is at. Chef Nagazawa is friendly and sociable, whether he's cracking jokes or laughing along with comments from diners. All pieces were prepared by Chef Nagazaw for the Sushi Bar, while his apprentices prepared for the dining room. So if you want stuff prepared by the man himself, the Sushi Bar is the only way to go. you pay a little bit more, but for the entertainment value of it, it's all worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience that any sushi love ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Fantastic experience that any sushi lover should try at least once in their life.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A must for sushi lovers

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

My family recently went on a trip to Sushi Nakazawa as part of a Christmas present and told me that it was not to be missed. Traveling from Seattle where we have a lot of great sushi bars - including some restaurants by another Jiro apprentice - I knew I didn't want to miss the opportunity. I recommend sitting at the sushi bar where you can watch the masters at work and be served directly by Nakazawa himself. While I was expecting high quality sushi, what I wasn't expecting was the subtle but incredible service. We didn't interact often with our servers, but when we did they were very informative exchanges on sake as well as specific ingredients in our fish. We were given small towels to wipe our fingers and upon noticing that my friend was left handed, a server quietly moved the towel to the other side of his plate.

I don't eat sushi that often anymore. As an environmentalist, because of the state of our oceans, and as a foodie, because I'm a bit bored of 10-ingredient rolls that disguise the flavors of fish rather than enhance them.

It makes more sense than ever to me now to spend money going to a place like this on a special occasion. It's not cheap, but it's worth it!

The fish here is all served as nigiri with different pairings like shiso leaf, Japanese plum, different sauces carefully selected for each fish. Great quality, delicate flavors and textures, not for people who are picky about their raw fish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Believe the hype!!! Amazing, nuanced Oma ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Believe the hype!!! Amazing, nuanced Omakase by chef Nakazawa. Sat directly in front of the master and it was worth every penny! Incredible flavors combined with an in person performance of a master at the height of his craft. Bravo!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi I ever had

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

It is an fantabulous and truly unique experience. The see food was very fresh and top class. I love the Toro, Hokkaido uni and scallop. Mr Nakazawa flavored each of his creations differently and his assistant helped explain. Will return if I'm lucky enough to get another spot at 7 pm sushi bar.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi Fans Should Eat Here

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Amazing omakase along with sake pairings. Expensive, but worth it. Wouldn't recommend for everyday dining, but sushi fans should come here at least once, and it's a great place to eat for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time at Sushi Nakaza ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

This was our second time at Sushi Nakazawa. The sushi was again incredible and the service superb. The sake pairing was also wonderful. The perfect place for a special dinner. Sushi Nakazawa has basically ruined all other sushi restaurants for us. We only wish it was in LA. Honestly, though, given the price, it's probably better this way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.