About Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar

Sushi Nakazawa serves the omakase of Chef Daisuke Nakazawa. Within the twenty-course meal lies Chef Nakazawa’s passion for sushi. With ingredients sourced both domestically and internationally, the chef crafts a very special nigiri tasting menu. Chef Nakazawa is a strong believer in the food he serves representing the waters he is surrounded by, so only the best and freshest find its way to your plate.



Both sushi bar seats and tables in our dining room are made available 30 calender days in advance.

23 Commerce St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served everyday in 3 seatings:
5:00pm
7:15pm
9:30pm
Reservations can only be made in pairs of 2.

Cross Street:
7th Ave and Bedford Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 924-2212

Website:
http://www.sushinakazawa.com/

Public Transit:
Two blocks south of the Christopher 1 stop.

Executive Chef:
Daisuke Nakazawa

Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Tasting Menu (26)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Authentic (19)
Romantic (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Modern Decor (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fun (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Business Meals (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Seasonal (5)
Cozy (4)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great Beer (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I made a reservation at the bar for my best friend's birthday. Both the service and food were exceptional. The best sushi I have ever had in my life. It's worth $150 per person. Its sake pairing was great too.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Came here for the omakase style dinner served by the famous Chef Nakazawa himself. He was absolutely amazing to watch and is incredibly friendly. Every bite was a perfect combination. Definitely worth the trip.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Reserve your seats at the sushi bar. It's completely worth it. Watching the preparation and presentation is a key part of the experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This was the best sushi experience we've had. The quality of fish was the best I've ever tasted. We got to try fish from Japan that we never had. The chef made the experience very entertaining. Would definitely go back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Let me first say that I am far from an expert on sushi. Yet there is no doubt that this restaurant serves fine and even very fine sushi.

I would also say that the $150 per meal for the omakase meal at the bar seems reasonable given the quality and amount of the meal, the expertise of the chef, the location of the restaurant, its 1 hour 50 minute duration, and other factors.

However, I don't think I would spend anything like this again at a sushi restaurant. Several of the sushi pieces were quite memorable. But let us take the shrimp for example. Yes it was excellent quality shrimp. But basically, it tastes like a good shrimp. And that doesn't excite me like a well cooked dish does.

For those of you who are big fans of sushi, this place may be a great choice. For others, less so.

A few other things...

The lighting on the top step to the basement bathrooms is poor and potentially hazardous.

When you sit down, the servers push you and your chair in to the bar. Maybe this is the practice at high-end restaurants but personally I would prefer to move my own chair.

I would prefer a more traditional (pre-modern) Japanese approach to dress. The servers are in formal Western style dress and that makes me a bit tense.

I was seated at the part of the bar near the "restaurant" section of the establishment and saw the dishes being plated to be delivered there. Maybe the Sushi Nakazawa will contradict me, but it seemed to me the patrons of the "restaurant" section were getting different food than the bar patrons (who pay $30 more). And I can say for certain that Mr. Nakazawa does his work on the bar food and not that sent to the interior restaurant section.

Reservations for the bar are very difficult to get. The restaurant says check at midnight a month ahead when a new set of 30 seats are released. At midnight it seemed to me everything disappeared instantaneously.

Better to check in the afternoons when some openings appear.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I wish I had found out about this place later in life. I don't know how I am going to eat other sushi after coming here. The food was so fresh and nothing short of amazing. Only issue I have with this place is getting reservations for the sushi bar. It took me over a month but it was definitely worth it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Unfortunately chef Nakazawa was in Japan that time. All staff were very friendly except chef who served us . His proffecional skills are strong . It was delicious.But it looks like his crown too tight to him. I spent more then $1500 including tips for dinner for two and didn't enjoy because of chef.Even legend Jiro san when he served me last year in Tokyo was more modest and friendly then he.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great place for girls catch-up!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Best sushi I've ever had. Seafood was super fresh. I was really full after 21 pieces of sushi. The only pity for me is that I was expecting to see chef Nakazawa as I booked the sushi bar on Friday night, but he wasn't here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

As always, fantastic sushi well prepared and served. Perhaps not the best sushi restaurants in NYC but ranks in the top three in my opinion ( which includes Masa)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We sat at the sushi bar and experienced sushi prepared at the highest level of perfection. How the chef manages to combine the rice and fish in a manner that complement each other, I do not know. But, each piece just melted in my mouth. Also, the number of courses was sufficient, allowing me to leave (reluctantly) satisfied with the amount of food and the care taken to serve it. It is expensive, but we will be back again because no other sushi restaurant that I know of comes close to this.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The rice was too dry and sushi is all about the rice. Couldn't enjoy the fish when the rice didn't compliment the fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Fabulous Omakase Meal. You will not be disappointed!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Wonderful omakase. Would definitely do the bar again. Dining room looked nice but all the action is at the bar and fun to see the plating and creation of the sushi

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

It was not bad, above average but not impressive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Chef Nakazawa does not work on the weekends. Keep this in mind when reserving this table. Also, it's a lot of sushi.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Sushi was good but not exceptional. Bit overrated. Lot of similar level sushi place in Japan. Environment was bit dark and yes trendy soho like. If you like modern sushi it is ok. Looking for traditional sushi like Jiro go somewhere.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The best dining experience in New York City ever from the service, to the ambience, to the quality of the food, presentation, chef interaction. Bravo!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

An amazing sushi experience. The chef's counter was a wonderful experience, fascinating to watch the chefs. The fish was unbelievable and the service impeccable. We enjoyed an reisling from Alsace that paired beautiful with the sushi. It is a great experience, worth the price.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I traveled to NYC just for this meal. It was well worth it. I have been to many sushi restaurants around the world and Nakazawa is among the best.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I had wonderful dinner with my husband. The sushi here is wonderful and the service is just perfect. I will come here again with my family if the bar seat is available.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The entire staff was amazing. They were knowledgeable, kind and down to earth (unlike some fine dining restaurants). The food was beautiful, the explanations of certain fish/cuts were enlightening. Overall a wonderful experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Chefs were very friendly as were the two guys who brought plates food back to the dining room; the waiter and waitress serving the sushi bar had an attitude and should have known more about their sake or at the very least not been argumentative when we asked questions or tried to explain how what they were saying was not correct; service is much, much better at Sushi Yasuda, but the ambiance is much nicer at Sushi Nakazawa

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Nothing short of transcendent. Each and every piece of our 20+ piece omakase was served by Chef Nakazawa himself. A week later and I am still thinking of some of the extraordinary bites we enjoyed; squid with shiso leaf and ume, golden eye snapper with a single salt flake, hay-smoked sockeye salmon, the famous tamago... the list goes on an on...

There was simply so much umami in every piece we encountered, including simple and clean fish like swordfish and yellowtail, that I have never encountered such umami from.

Value for money, I believe this is the best sushi in NYC. I don't think anyone is serving a more perfect 2hr / 20+ piece omakase for $150. In hindsight it really seems like a steal in the ever escalating sushi price wars.

The order of the pieces was very well thought out and really created waves of richness and lightness over 3-5 piece "flights".

I have eaten in many fine restaurants, but I do not think I have ever had more trust in a chef and the food I was eating than at Nakazawa. Every time Nakazawa made his way down to our side of the bar and promptly placed a piece of nigiri on my plinth, I only ever expected some of the best single tastes of my life. Each time, my expectations were blown away.

I have never had such high expectations exceeded in every way at any dining establishment, ever. Period.

From the interactions with the chef, to the quality and expansiveness of the food, to the setting at the bar, to the expansive sake and drinks selection and helpful staff; it exudes excellence.

It's four stars from the NYT are very rightfully earned.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fun, Organic, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This was our second time and it was absolutely excellent all around!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Worth the wait. Dinner was amazing. Best fish and rice quality as I have had in the US.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Outstanding in every way. Best Sushi in NYC. Chef Daisuke is truly a master. The definition of perfection! Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Lives up to all the hype. Incredible omakase. Worth getting the reservation at the sushi bar. Good wine/sake list and the service is top notch. Nakazawa is very entertaining during service.

There's a small bar/lounge to get a drink while you wait for your reservation.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Absolutely incredible! Pricey, but worth it. Every piece was delicious and the entire experience was amazing and thoughtful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of the absolute best meals I've ever had. This was one part history, one part entertainment, one part incredible meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great experience! Really worth the price!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This is one of the best sushi restaurants in the country, if not the world. If you're making a reservation here, you probably know that. Daisuke Nakazawa is a one-of-a-kind artist and the experience you get here will be equally high-level and special. Not cheap by any means but this level of food (and the overall experience) is well worth the price tag. Words cannot really describe how incredible this restaurant is!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The sushi here is crazy! Amazing food, beautiful restaurant and great service. It is awesome, very expensive but totally worth it. Do the omakase at the sushi bar, best experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Everything was amazing. The food, decor, chefs and service. Definitely going back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great service and very well managed. Very fresh, delicious sushi!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Bar seats reservations go pretty much instantly 30 days in advance, but cancellations day before/of are often so might want to check opentable every now and then to see if any cancellations have come up.

Service and food are all great as expected. Would have like to have been more educated on where the fish/sushi came from without having to ask each time during the omakase

Favorite was the the wagyu beef

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food is amazing and the service is exceptional. This is a must try if ur in town. I'll definitely be going back again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Making a reservation at the bar was difficult. I thought that the purpose of the bar was so that Chef Nakazawa made the sushi- this is not the case. I sat at the bar at 9:30 on a Sunday and watched Chef Nakazawa leave the restaurant. The sushi was good but I understand why this place doesn't have a star. By all means, the sushi was good and the flavors of the fish developed over the course of the dining experience. The sushi not as good as Jewel Bako but better than Kura. The rice was warm and firmer in the beginning of the omakase and colder and softer at the end of the omakase. Not sure if it was intentional or was a result of ill preparation. I think my disappoint comes from being there so late. During the meal, you watch the sushi chefs slowly start to pack up their tools an leave. You watch as the employees have less serving to do and watch them congregate to the bar to chit chat. It didn't feel like a special occasion. I recommend going at an earlier time.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Upscale dining without the snooty-ness. Nakazawa has a playful side that instantly puts his diners at ease.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.