About Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar

Sushi Bar reservations can only be made through OpenTable.
Sushi Nakazawa serves the omakase of Chef Daisuke Nakazawa. Within the twenty-course meal lies Chef Nakazawa’s passion for sushi. With ingredients sourced both domestically and internationally, the chef crafts a very special nigiri tasting menu. Chef Nakazawa is a strong believer in the food he serves representing the waters he is surrounded by, so only the best and freshest find its way to your plate.



Both sushi bar seats and tables in our dining room are made available 30 calender days in advance.

23 Commerce St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served everyday in 3 seatings:
5:00pm
7:15pm
9:30pm
Reservations can only be made in pairs of 2.

Cross Street:
7th Ave and Bedford Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 924-2212

Website:
http://www.sushinakazawa.com/

Public Transit:
Two blocks south of the Christopher 1 stop.

Executive Chef:
Daisuke Nakazawa

Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Authentic (25)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Tasting Menu (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Romantic (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Casual (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 20 hours ago

So beautifully intimate and delicious. Best quality sushi I have had in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at Sushi Nakazawa! We sat at the sushi bar, which is the way to do it, and the service was impeccable and non pretentious. Every piece of sushi was unique and flavorful and a real experience. While pricey, it's a fun spot for a special occasion. Sitting at the sushi bar and watching as the sushi is made feels like a real show!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome sushi- you will never look at your regular sushi restaurant in the same light again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food is great...the reception desk is rude...serving is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Unfortunately Chef Nakazawa doesn't work over the weekend, but his entire team was there, and still produce excellent quality and made it a totally wonderful dinning experience! Will definitely come back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The memories will come to you in waves. If not in hours, days, if not days, weeks. We dined at the beginning of August and I'm still thinking about the experience. During one course I just sat there and chewed, for what seemed like ages, not wanting the moment to end thinking bout life. From time to time, I remember certain textures and mixture of flavors. The lingering piece of finger lime that popped with a burst of tang even after I swallowed the shrimp it accompanied whole. The sayonara shrimp itself, faintly sweet and all too fleeting a bite. The way the toro flights glistened on the black plate. The crunch of the roasted nori hugging the joint passed to you by The Man himself. The taste of the blended crab guts sitting on top of Dungeness crab. The uni, my God the uni! I could go on, but experience it for yourself. Maybe I'll be sitting there next to you giggling like a schoolgirl

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

This place definitely lived up to the hype. I had one of the best meals of my life. I came here for an anniversary and apparently it's a hot place for anniversaries. Out of the 10 people doing omakase, there were 4 couples celebrating anniversaries.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

They were very accommodating and the level of service was next to none. Chef Nakazawa was very engaging at the bar which elevates the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

I came for a friend's recomendation, and made a reservation for the bar. The experience was great, the taste of every piece is unique. Highly recomend to go here if you want to do more than just eat. It's a festival for the palate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Simply outstanding! A dining experience on another level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Sushi was amazing! Chef Nakazawa delivered one delicious course after another. I recommend the premium sake pairing and sitting at the bar for first timers. Absolutely well done and fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

I can't imagine a better dining experience for sushi, other than traveling to Japan. Having lived in Japan, this must be the best sushi bar in the US. Having waited almost 2 years to get this reservation, it was worth it. Hope it's not another 2 years before i can return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

This is not just dinner. It's an experience. I definitely recomand to get a table at the bar. Watching chef Nakazawa and his assistants work is amazing. It's almost like a choreographed ballet. Plus they are friendly and you can interact with them and ask questions about how to eat it or what are the special ingredients hidden that give this special touch. I would for sure not do that everyday but it's definitely worth the price.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great experience with Chef Nakazawa for our one year dating anniversary. World class taste and impeccable, attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

My wife and I have been to Sushi Nakazawa twice now. On both occasions, everything about our visit was excellent. The food, service, and ambiance were excellent. This restaurant is an experience worth having if you can find a seat. My one comment would be that on both occasions Chef Nakazawa was absent. While the chefs in attendance delivered a great experience, it would have been nice to see the namesake on at least one of the occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful!!! Chef was amazing and we will be back! We were thrilled and patient getting reservations for our short stay this trip to NY and it was well worth it. Our experience was amazing and memorable. Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

The sushi was amazing! Best omakase I've had in nyc.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Excellent experience as always! Perhaps the service can be a little more causal and less formal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Every penny and my effort trying to make reservation over several months worth

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I am a tourist in NYC and luckily got the reservation in Sushi Nakazawa during the trip. Chef Daisuke Nakazawa is off on weekends so his apprentice made sushi for me. The raw fish is very fresh; however, the temperature of rice and the raw fish doesn't match well. And the sushi apprentice's knife work is not skilled. I am very disappointed to know this reputable Sushi bar let their junior apprentice to serve the customers. Sushi Nakazawa needs to improve their training on the apprentice.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

A classic Japanese sushi restaurant, with ten seats at the bar, some smaller tables in the back, and a few different seats by the bar. Up front, John and another hostess will greet you, put things away (check) and direct you to the bar before seating.

Omakase only, the bar is more expensive than the back seats, but your food is prepared by Nakazawa himself, and he'll joke and point out various interesting items. Treva was helping translate some items and she was also serving sake and pointing out specific choices on the menu (like the choice portion where you could order the wagyu A5).

Every piece is lovingly crafted in the right shape and size. Sharp knife slice fish and seafood perfectly, but if they don't like a cut, away the fish goes. The place is orderly and neat, and homemade ginger helps clean the palate between bites.

Note that if you have any allergies, they will accommodate, but all items are sushi, not sashimi, and it's best to eat with your fingers. They'll have a little cloth to clean up after each pick up.

Attention to detail, superb seafood choices (fresh fish and more from across the world). Definitely great for small groups (you can reserve for 2 at the bar, or up to 5-6 in the back (only one table that large, most tables are for 2-4). Reservations online or you can call, open up 30 days ahead of time (1 month) and fill up quickly. 48hr to cancel your reservation without being charged.

Simple and classic dining - I enjoyed it, but if you don't like rice and a slow measured pace (it takes up the 2 hours nicely), then you may want to make another choice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 12, 2017

A beautiful and exciting experience to sit at sushi bar and have Nakazawa prepare all...

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Love this place and the staff is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Amazing experience from walking in to walking out. One of the best sushi experiences in NY, if not the best.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Fun, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

I remember my first time eating omakase at Sushi Nakazawa as a mind blowing experience; truly wonderful in every way and it was such a pleasure to see head chef Nakazawa at work. It was so good that I wanted to bring my dad here for Father's Day because he LOVES sushi.

What went well:
- Staff service was impeccable; very attentive.
- Some sushi pieces were very good.

What didn't go well:
- Half of the sushi pieces were mediocre; did not leave any lasting impressions.
- No wine pairing offered; no truffles either but that could be due to the fish selection.

What bothered me most:
- No notice of chef Nakazawa being absent that night. I chose a weeknight specifically so my dad could meet him. When I went the first time, he unexpectedly had to fly to Japan and the staff called asking if if I'd like to reschedule - which I did. I thought that was very professional. Unfortunately, there was no advance warning this time. However, if you do not cancel your reservation within 48 hours the restaurant will charge you $300. I expected the same level of courtesy extended to its patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I made a reservation at the bar for my best friend's birthday. Both the service and food were exceptional. The best sushi I have ever had in my life. It's worth $150 per person. Its sake pairing was great too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Came here for the omakase style dinner served by the famous Chef Nakazawa himself. He was absolutely amazing to watch and is incredibly friendly. Every bite was a perfect combination. Definitely worth the trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Reserve your seats at the sushi bar. It's completely worth it. Watching the preparation and presentation is a key part of the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 15, 2017

I decided to attend Sushi Nakazawa because of the fame for my birthday. With that said, did it really strike me as better as other places such as Sushi of gari 46 or Sushi of seki times square that need far less reservation? Not really. While tons of people seemed to be very impressed with the Sushi, I don't think its superior compared to those other places. The experience itself is interesting if you take the bar, you get top notch service, the staff remembers who you are and what you ordered. Nakazawa himself makes the Sushi at the bar for the entire group. It was well paced, and the service was impressive. So overall, definitely above average sushi but it did not strike me as anything extraordinary. I don't see myself coming here again as a result.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This was the best sushi experience we've had. The quality of fish was the best I've ever tasted. We got to try fish from Japan that we never had. The chef made the experience very entertaining. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Let me first say that I am far from an expert on sushi. Yet there is no doubt that this restaurant serves fine and even very fine sushi.

I would also say that the $150 per meal for the omakase meal at the bar seems reasonable given the quality and amount of the meal, the expertise of the chef, the location of the restaurant, its 1 hour 50 minute duration, and other factors.

However, I don't think I would spend anything like this again at a sushi restaurant. Several of the sushi pieces were quite memorable. But let us take the shrimp for example. Yes it was excellent quality shrimp. But basically, it tastes like a good shrimp. And that doesn't excite me like a well cooked dish does.

For those of you who are big fans of sushi, this place may be a great choice. For others, less so.

A few other things...

The lighting on the top step to the basement bathrooms is poor and potentially hazardous.

When you sit down, the servers push you and your chair in to the bar. Maybe this is the practice at high-end restaurants but personally I would prefer to move my own chair.

I would prefer a more traditional (pre-modern) Japanese approach to dress. The servers are in formal Western style dress and that makes me a bit tense.

I was seated at the part of the bar near the "restaurant" section of the establishment and saw the dishes being plated to be delivered there. Maybe the Sushi Nakazawa will contradict me, but it seemed to me the patrons of the "restaurant" section were getting different food than the bar patrons (who pay $30 more). And I can say for certain that Mr. Nakazawa does his work on the bar food and not that sent to the interior restaurant section.

Reservations for the bar are very difficult to get. The restaurant says check at midnight a month ahead when a new set of 30 seats are released. At midnight it seemed to me everything disappeared instantaneously.

Better to check in the afternoons when some openings appear.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I wish I had found out about this place later in life. I don't know how I am going to eat other sushi after coming here. The food was so fresh and nothing short of amazing. Only issue I have with this place is getting reservations for the sushi bar. It took me over a month but it was definitely worth it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food was awesome. It was a lot for a dinner but the taste was impeccable. However, the master chef was not there on Friday night (not sure why) and the seats arranged was not ideal. It was a great experience but I would also like to try other sushi restaurants in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Unfortunately chef Nakazawa was in Japan that time. All staff were very friendly except chef who served us . His proffecional skills are strong . It was delicious.But it looks like his crown too tight to him. I spent more then $1500 including tips for dinner for two and didn't enjoy because of chef.Even legend Jiro san when he served me last year in Tokyo was more modest and friendly then he.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great place for girls catch-up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Best sushi I've ever had. Seafood was super fresh. I was really full after 21 pieces of sushi. The only pity for me is that I was expecting to see chef Nakazawa as I booked the sushi bar on Friday night, but he wasn't here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

As always, fantastic sushi well prepared and served. Perhaps not the best sushi restaurants in NYC but ranks in the top three in my opinion ( which includes Masa)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We sat at the sushi bar and experienced sushi prepared at the highest level of perfection. How the chef manages to combine the rice and fish in a manner that complement each other, I do not know. But, each piece just melted in my mouth. Also, the number of courses was sufficient, allowing me to leave (reluctantly) satisfied with the amount of food and the care taken to serve it. It is expensive, but we will be back again because no other sushi restaurant that I know of comes close to this.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The rice was too dry and sushi is all about the rice. Couldn't enjoy the fish when the rice didn't compliment the fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.