About Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar

Sushi Nakazawa serves the omakase of Chef Daisuke Nakazawa. Within the twenty-course meal lies Chef Nakazawa’s passion for sushi. With ingredients sourced both domestically and internationally, the chef crafts a very special nigiri tasting menu. Chef Nakazawa is a strong believer in the food he serves representing the waters he is surrounded by, so only the best and freshest find its way to your plate.



Both sushi bar seats and tables in our dining room are made available 30 calender days in advance.

23 Commerce St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served everyday between 5:00pm - 10:15pm.

Cross Street:
7th Ave and Bedford Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 924-2212

Website:
http://www.sushinakazawa.com/

Public Transit:
Two blocks south of the Christopher 1 stop.

Executive Chef:
Daisuke Nakazawa

Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Tasting Menu (22)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (16)
Authentic (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Open Kitchen (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fun (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (7)
Seasonal (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Cozy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding in every way. Best Sushi in NYC. Chef Daisuke is truly a master. The definition of perfection! Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Lives up to all the hype. Incredible omakase. Worth getting the reservation at the sushi bar. Good wine/sake list and the service is top notch. Nakazawa is very entertaining during service.

There's a small bar/lounge to get a drink while you wait for your reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Absolutely incredible! Pricey, but worth it. Every piece was delicious and the entire experience was amazing and thoughtful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of the absolute best meals I've ever had. This was one part history, one part entertainment, one part incredible meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great experience! Really worth the price!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This is one of the best sushi restaurants in the country, if not the world. If you're making a reservation here, you probably know that. Daisuke Nakazawa is a one-of-a-kind artist and the experience you get here will be equally high-level and special. Not cheap by any means but this level of food (and the overall experience) is well worth the price tag. Words cannot really describe how incredible this restaurant is!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The sushi here is crazy! Amazing food, beautiful restaurant and great service. It is awesome, very expensive but totally worth it. Do the omakase at the sushi bar, best experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Everything was amazing. The food, decor, chefs and service. Definitely going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great service and very well managed. Very fresh, delicious sushi!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Bar seats reservations go pretty much instantly 30 days in advance, but cancellations day before/of are often so might want to check opentable every now and then to see if any cancellations have come up.

Service and food are all great as expected. Would have like to have been more educated on where the fish/sushi came from without having to ask each time during the omakase

Favorite was the the wagyu beef

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food is amazing and the service is exceptional. This is a must try if ur in town. I'll definitely be going back again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Making a reservation at the bar was difficult. I thought that the purpose of the bar was so that Chef Nakazawa made the sushi- this is not the case. I sat at the bar at 9:30 on a Sunday and watched Chef Nakazawa leave the restaurant. The sushi was good but I understand why this place doesn't have a star. By all means, the sushi was good and the flavors of the fish developed over the course of the dining experience. The sushi not as good as Jewel Bako but better than Kura. The rice was warm and firmer in the beginning of the omakase and colder and softer at the end of the omakase. Not sure if it was intentional or was a result of ill preparation. I think my disappoint comes from being there so late. During the meal, you watch the sushi chefs slowly start to pack up their tools an leave. You watch as the employees have less serving to do and watch them congregate to the bar to chit chat. It didn't feel like a special occasion. I recommend going at an earlier time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Upscale dining without the snooty-ness. Nakazawa has a playful side that instantly puts his diners at ease.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Best sushi I've ever had, by far. Well worth the money. Service outstanding, space was comfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Simply amazing. Expensive but worth it! Food is unsurpassed and the Service was impeccable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Third time and did not disappoint..

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Amazing experience. The rice was the best part. Easily the best sushi rice I've ever had. The fish was also amazing, and Chef Nakazawa has a very personal charm.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Even without Daisuke Nakazawa present, the food was great!

I even had a live shrimp jump onto my chair, that's how fresh the seafood is!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

This was the best sushi experience ever, and one of the top dining experiences we've had among the world's best restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing. I made my rezzie about 1 month in advance over Open Table and noted I was gluten free on there. They approached me at the beginning of dinner to discuss and the chef was AWESOME at accommodating and making me feel special as special as the rest of the GF-eating guests. The food was spectacular, almost emotional. The squid and tiger shrimp (along w everything else) was just to-die for. The only problem is I wish I knew my servers name because he was also absolutely phenomenal. Wow, just wow. Thank you!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Everything was so fresh, delicious, and beautiful. Service was phenomenal and Chef Nakazawa was very friendly and entertaining. Would definitely recommend to any sushi enthusiasts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best Sushi experience ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was precise, polite and not overbearing. Nakazawa is as skilled as he is entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Just go.. i promise you won't be disappointed. Worth every penny times two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Most amazing meal of my life

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Every bite was one to savor, with the memory of each taste firmly planted and only growing more delightful in memory and with time. The sushi flavors were so simple yet complex. The chefs have mastered bringing the flavors of the sea to the plate.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Sushi Nakazawa was a truly memorable experience and unlike anything we've ever had. Watching Chef Nakazawa felt like watching a painter paint or an irishman drink. Would definitely recommend, very expensive, but well worth the price as this is art and not your corner or local sushi spot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I was very exciting to try my first experience but it was not much impressive dining.
Almost all sushi chef didn't care guests in front of them...
Mmm, quality was also just ok.
I think I expected too much.
Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

What an amazing experience! Each piece was better then the one before. Definately addon Kobe beef piece is like butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Not even close to the hype. We have been to the best sushi restaurants in Japan and the US and this only rates a "good". Nakazawa is charming and the service is impeccable but at the end of the day, the fish was good. Nothing more.

Tags: Open Kitchen
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The exprerience is amazing . Look forward next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Hands down the best value for premium omakase in the world.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

A sushi dream come true. A beautiful dining experience to savor.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Sushi Nakazawa is home to the famous Daisuke Nakazawa, head protege of Jiro Ono himself, who starred in the documentary, "Jiro Dreams of Sushi".

Jiro himself prides himself as a edomae sushi chef, and a perfectionist that believes that the deepest enjoyment can be found in the utmost simplicity. Nakazawa does not make sushi edomae style, but has adjusted his portfolio to fit a more western, multi-cultural palette. However, the skills and perfectionist attitude that Nakazawa studied under has not waned one bit as you can see not just him, but his staff being held to standards that are very hard to find nowadays when it comes to fine, Asian dining.

Coming to Sushi Nakazawa comes with a heavy, but also modest price tag. The entire course is not a feast, but a journey into the world of just how beautiful the art of making sushi could be from hands trained for perfection. I highly recommend coming here to experience what the high level of sushi could be.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Best sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Amazing food. The best Japanese ever in my life, but ... be ready: you'll pay it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Everything from Chef Nakazawa's bright and energetic personality to his decades of experience going into every piece of sushi make this a scratch-off-the-bucket-list dinner destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Sushi Nakazawa was amazing. It was so fun to sit and watch the sushi being prepared and see the almost surgical precision that was used. I absolutely loved it and hope to go back soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Read rave reviews from various publications. Our dining experience Sushi Nakazawa cannot be topped. We loved the fresh and best ingredients plus flawless and attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The sushi was sublime, and watching the chefs was a joy. The sake pairing was totally worth it -- very knowledgable sommelier, just the tiniest bit patronizing which I suppose is the mark of a distinguished sommelier. The only down side for me is that there was something a bit stiff about the ambience. It was kind of funny to be jammed into the bar by the waiters who push in your seats...this is a thing, they actually direct you to sit at the back of the seat and then they push you into the bar. Not something I wouldn't come back over, but...I don't know, they call in New York style sushi so maybe the people who call themselves New Yorkers these days (i.e. nouveau riche bankers) like this kind of formality. But overall, a very memorable sushi night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.