About Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar

Sushi Nakazawa serves the omakase of Chef Daisuke Nakazawa. Within the twenty-course meal lies Chef Nakazawa’s passion for sushi. With ingredients sourced both domestically and internationally, the chef crafts a very special nigiri tasting menu. Chef Nakazawa is a strong believer in the food he serves representing the waters he is surrounded by, so only the best and freshest find its way to your plate.



Both sushi bar seats and tables in our dining room are made available 30 calender days in advance.

23 Commerce St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served everyday in 3 seatings:
5:00pm
7:15pm
9:30pm
Reservations can only be made in pairs of 2.

Cross Street:
7th Ave and Bedford Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 924-2212

Website:
http://www.sushinakazawa.com/

Public Transit:
Two blocks south of the Christopher 1 stop.

Executive Chef:
Daisuke Nakazawa

Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (27)
Special Occasion (27)
Tasting Menu (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for a Date (19)
Romantic (17)
Authentic (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Seasonal (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The rice was too dry and sushi is all about the rice. Couldn't enjoy the fish when the rice didn't compliment the fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous Omakase Meal. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful omakase. Would definitely do the bar again. Dining room looked nice but all the action is at the bar and fun to see the plating and creation of the sushi

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

It was not bad, above average but not impressive.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Chef Nakazawa does not work on the weekends. Keep this in mind when reserving this table. Also, it's a lot of sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Sushi was good but not exceptional. Bit overrated. Lot of similar level sushi place in Japan. Environment was bit dark and yes trendy soho like. If you like modern sushi it is ok. Looking for traditional sushi like Jiro go somewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The best dining experience in New York City ever from the service, to the ambience, to the quality of the food, presentation, chef interaction. Bravo!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

An amazing sushi experience. The chef's counter was a wonderful experience, fascinating to watch the chefs. The fish was unbelievable and the service impeccable. We enjoyed an reisling from Alsace that paired beautiful with the sushi. It is a great experience, worth the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I traveled to NYC just for this meal. It was well worth it. I have been to many sushi restaurants around the world and Nakazawa is among the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I had wonderful dinner with my husband. The sushi here is wonderful and the service is just perfect. I will come here again with my family if the bar seat is available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The entire staff was amazing. They were knowledgeable, kind and down to earth (unlike some fine dining restaurants). The food was beautiful, the explanations of certain fish/cuts were enlightening. Overall a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Chefs were very friendly as were the two guys who brought plates food back to the dining room; the waiter and waitress serving the sushi bar had an attitude and should have known more about their sake or at the very least not been argumentative when we asked questions or tried to explain how what they were saying was not correct; service is much, much better at Sushi Yasuda, but the ambiance is much nicer at Sushi Nakazawa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Nothing short of transcendent. Each and every piece of our 20+ piece omakase was served by Chef Nakazawa himself. A week later and I am still thinking of some of the extraordinary bites we enjoyed; squid with shiso leaf and ume, golden eye snapper with a single salt flake, hay-smoked sockeye salmon, the famous tamago... the list goes on an on...

There was simply so much umami in every piece we encountered, including simple and clean fish like swordfish and yellowtail, that I have never encountered such umami from.

Value for money, I believe this is the best sushi in NYC. I don't think anyone is serving a more perfect 2hr / 20+ piece omakase for $150. In hindsight it really seems like a steal in the ever escalating sushi price wars.

The order of the pieces was very well thought out and really created waves of richness and lightness over 3-5 piece "flights".

I have eaten in many fine restaurants, but I do not think I have ever had more trust in a chef and the food I was eating than at Nakazawa. Every time Nakazawa made his way down to our side of the bar and promptly placed a piece of nigiri on my plinth, I only ever expected some of the best single tastes of my life. Each time, my expectations were blown away.

I have never had such high expectations exceeded in every way at any dining establishment, ever. Period.

From the interactions with the chef, to the quality and expansiveness of the food, to the setting at the bar, to the expansive sake and drinks selection and helpful staff; it exudes excellence.

It's four stars from the NYT are very rightfully earned.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fun, Organic, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This was our second time and it was absolutely excellent all around!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Worth the wait. Dinner was amazing. Best fish and rice quality as I have had in the US.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Outstanding in every way. Best Sushi in NYC. Chef Daisuke is truly a master. The definition of perfection! Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Lives up to all the hype. Incredible omakase. Worth getting the reservation at the sushi bar. Good wine/sake list and the service is top notch. Nakazawa is very entertaining during service.

There's a small bar/lounge to get a drink while you wait for your reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Absolutely incredible! Pricey, but worth it. Every piece was delicious and the entire experience was amazing and thoughtful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of the absolute best meals I've ever had. This was one part history, one part entertainment, one part incredible meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great experience! Really worth the price!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This is one of the best sushi restaurants in the country, if not the world. If you're making a reservation here, you probably know that. Daisuke Nakazawa is a one-of-a-kind artist and the experience you get here will be equally high-level and special. Not cheap by any means but this level of food (and the overall experience) is well worth the price tag. Words cannot really describe how incredible this restaurant is!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The sushi here is crazy! Amazing food, beautiful restaurant and great service. It is awesome, very expensive but totally worth it. Do the omakase at the sushi bar, best experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Everything was amazing. The food, decor, chefs and service. Definitely going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great service and very well managed. Very fresh, delicious sushi!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Bar seats reservations go pretty much instantly 30 days in advance, but cancellations day before/of are often so might want to check opentable every now and then to see if any cancellations have come up.

Service and food are all great as expected. Would have like to have been more educated on where the fish/sushi came from without having to ask each time during the omakase

Favorite was the the wagyu beef

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food is amazing and the service is exceptional. This is a must try if ur in town. I'll definitely be going back again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Making a reservation at the bar was difficult. I thought that the purpose of the bar was so that Chef Nakazawa made the sushi- this is not the case. I sat at the bar at 9:30 on a Sunday and watched Chef Nakazawa leave the restaurant. The sushi was good but I understand why this place doesn't have a star. By all means, the sushi was good and the flavors of the fish developed over the course of the dining experience. The sushi not as good as Jewel Bako but better than Kura. The rice was warm and firmer in the beginning of the omakase and colder and softer at the end of the omakase. Not sure if it was intentional or was a result of ill preparation. I think my disappoint comes from being there so late. During the meal, you watch the sushi chefs slowly start to pack up their tools an leave. You watch as the employees have less serving to do and watch them congregate to the bar to chit chat. It didn't feel like a special occasion. I recommend going at an earlier time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Upscale dining without the snooty-ness. Nakazawa has a playful side that instantly puts his diners at ease.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Best sushi I've ever had, by far. Well worth the money. Service outstanding, space was comfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Simply amazing. Expensive but worth it! Food is unsurpassed and the Service was impeccable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Third time and did not disappoint..

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Amazing experience. The rice was the best part. Easily the best sushi rice I've ever had. The fish was also amazing, and Chef Nakazawa has a very personal charm.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Even without Daisuke Nakazawa present, the food was great!

I even had a live shrimp jump onto my chair, that's how fresh the seafood is!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

This was the best sushi experience ever, and one of the top dining experiences we've had among the world's best restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing. I made my rezzie about 1 month in advance over Open Table and noted I was gluten free on there. They approached me at the beginning of dinner to discuss and the chef was AWESOME at accommodating and making me feel special as special as the rest of the GF-eating guests. The food was spectacular, almost emotional. The squid and tiger shrimp (along w everything else) was just to-die for. The only problem is I wish I knew my servers name because he was also absolutely phenomenal. Wow, just wow. Thank you!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Everything was so fresh, delicious, and beautiful. Service was phenomenal and Chef Nakazawa was very friendly and entertaining. Would definitely recommend to any sushi enthusiasts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best Sushi experience ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was precise, polite and not overbearing. Nakazawa is as skilled as he is entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Just go.. i promise you won't be disappointed. Worth every penny times two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.