About Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar

23 Commerce St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Sushi Nakazawa serves the omakase of Chef Daisuke Nakazawa. Within the twenty-course meal lies Chef Nakazawa’s passion for sushi. With ingredients sourced both domestically and internationally, the chef crafts a very special nigiri tasting menu. Chef Nakazawa is a strong believer in the food he serves representing the waters he is surrounded by, so only the best and freshest find its way to your plate.



Both sushi bar seats and tables in our dining room are made available 30 calender days in advance.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served everyday between 5:00pm - 10:15pm.

Cross Street:
7 Ave

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 924-2212

Website:
http://www.sushinakazawa.com/

Public Transit:
Two blocks south of the Christopher 1 stop.

Executive Chef:
Daisuke Nakazawa

Sushi Nakazawa - Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Food
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
8 More
Best Ambiance
New York / Tri-State Area
Sushi
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Manhattan
Best Food
Manhattan
Best Service
Manhattan
Best Ambiance
Manhattan
Best Value
Manhattan
Sushi
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Greenwich Village ›

Special Occasion (42)
Tasting Menu (29)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Authentic (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Romantic (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Open Kitchen (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Healthy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fun (5)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sushi Nakazawa was amazing. It was so f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Sushi Nakazawa was amazing. It was so fun to sit and watch the sushi being prepared and see the almost surgical precision that was used. I absolutely loved it and hope to go back soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Read rave reviews from various publicati ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Read rave reviews from various publications. Our dining experience Sushi Nakazawa cannot be topped. We loved the fresh and best ingredients plus flawless and attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sushi was sublime, and watching the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The sushi was sublime, and watching the chefs was a joy. The sake pairing was totally worth it -- very knowledgable sommelier, just the tiniest bit patronizing which I suppose is the mark of a distinguished sommelier. The only down side for me is that there was something a bit stiff about the ambience. It was kind of funny to be jammed into the bar by the waiters who push in your seats...this is a thing, they actually direct you to sit at the back of the seat and then they push you into the bar. Not something I wouldn't come back over, but...I don't know, they call in New York style sushi so maybe the people who call themselves New Yorkers these days (i.e. nouveau riche bankers) like this kind of formality. But overall, a very memorable sushi night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Fabulous sushi, top quality technique an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fabulous sushi, top quality technique and ingredients. Love the service pace and watching chef's preparing was definitely like witnessing a food symphony. The only insatisfaction was that sushi rice fell apart under the head of tiger shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best sushi meal ever

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Best sushi meal ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited the Sushi Bar on Saturday. Secon ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Visited the Sushi Bar on Saturday. Second time visiting here, if u are expecting to have a super traditional sushi, "Edomai", then don't come. But if u are looking for some fusion and outstanding taste experience, Sushi Nakazawa is definitely the very best choice. So actually Mr Daisuke Nakazawa doesn't work or saturday and sunday, I followed his instagram and found out that he's actually visiting different restaurants, perhaps trying bring some new ideas into his sushi, fabulous. Even Mr Daisuke Nakazawa isn't working on saturday and sunday, but one of his apprentices or colleagues, Mr Uchi actually serves all customers at the Sushi Bar. Hence, Mr Uchi is really amazing, u won't be even able to figure the differences between Mr Nakazawa and Mr Uchi, all his Sushi is made perfectly. I have been to all Michelin Guide and Star Sushi and outstanding sushi restaurants in the US, Hong Kong, like Shiro in Seattle, Urasawa in Beverley Hills, Sushi Tsujita in LA, Sushi Takodoro in San Diego, Masa in New York, Sushi Inoue in New York, Sushi Shikok in Hong Kong, Sushi Tokami in Hong Kong, etc. And went to some in Tokyo, like Saito, Sukiyabashi Jiro, Sushi Tokami, etc. However I personally somehow like Sushi Nakazawa the most, their innovative and creativity Sushi brought me a memorable and amazing experience which I have never had. If u have a chance to take the Sushi Bar, no matter it's weekdays or weekends or holiday, take it. There are literally no differences between Mr Nakazawa and Mr Uchi, they are both amazing thanks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Healthy, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

20 pieces may not be enough to fill you ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

20 pieces may not be enough to fill you up. You can order additional pieces, but would feel rushed to secure the break time between each reservation. The pieces are served at good pace, so to be fair, it is impossible to speed up further or increase the pieces without putting pressure on the chef. I cannot point out any memorable pieces, but, if you want decent quality of sushi at good pace without the fear of overeating, overdrinking, and overpaying, this is a good place to go. But, if you intend to eat a lot of variety at your own pace with a variety of beverage to accompany, not a good choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Definitely worth the experience at the b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Definitely worth the experience at the bar table. A well paced omakase meal with an interactive experience with the chef. Get there first so you can get seated in the middle of the bar in front of the head chef! Great staff who was very attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All the food was GREAT! We also had fun ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

All the food was GREAT! We also had fun with the chefs and servers! The sushi bar is preferable over the dining table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the most satisfying meal ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This was one of the most satisfying meals of my life. If you're a fan of the documentary Jiro Dreams of Sushi, this is the place you want to eat. The chef is the apprentice who cried with Jiro admitted he'd finally made an acceptable egg custard. The food experience and service is perfect at the bar, and you want to see it. But NB it was $225/person for 2 guys who didn't drink. I think it was worth every penny, but you have to be the mood and have the resources.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food, service and visuals. A ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Incredible food, service and visuals. A must do, screw the naysayers.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are passionate and love sushi, th ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 7, 2016

If you are passionate and love sushi, this is the place to go. Different kinds of fish not found in most sushi bars. Chef Nakazawa prepares everything himself at sushi bar. Just extraordinary and sublime, a very unique sushi experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience from start to fin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A wonderful experience from start to finish. Definitely the best sushi I have had in my life. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An unforgettable meal with stellar servi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

An unforgettable meal with stellar service. High price, but worth every penny. Highly recommend the sake pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Good sushi outside Jap ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great experience. Good sushi outside Japan. Rice is a little bit too salty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The best in NYC

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The best in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing new I can say that hasn't alread ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Nothing new I can say that hasn't already been said. Sit at the bar and immerse yourself in the experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daisuke makes this such an unbelievable ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Daisuke makes this such an unbelievable experience. His fun personality along with his attention to every detail of every piece makes for an amazing meal. Every bite is a new experience. Highly recommend. I never write reviews, but this one definitely deserves it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had an amazing time at ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My husband and I had an amazing time at the sushi bar celebrating his 35th birthday. This was the best meal I've had in the city without a doubt. I can't wait to go back and sit in the lounge at the bar to enjoy all my favorite pieces again. Definitely sit at the sushi bar if it's your first time eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Through no fault of the chef and the sta ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Through no fault of the chef and the staff in the front of house and the sushi bar, the maitre d' made me feel three feet tall and embarrassed me in front of my date both before and after my meal, and seated me at the far end of the sushi bar even though other customers were 30 minutes late. It does not matter how great everyone else worked -- one person was still able to thoroughly ruin a $600 meal. I truly regret bringing my girlfriend to eat her tonight, and, while grateful to the maitre d' for his unsolicited note of apology, will never eat at Nakazawa again. Had he not ruined it repeatedly, it would be five stars for food and service. Everyone else did their jobs with excellence and aplomb.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Sushi Nakazawa is a complete experience! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Sushi Nakazawa is a complete experience! Watching Chef Nakazawa craft his sushi creations was like watching an athlete compete in the highest level of his sport, or an actor on a Broadway stage, or an orchestra conductor. He is beyond talented, and the fish, rice, and ingredients he used were of the highest quality. The ambiance is very quiet at the Sushi Bar, very formal and upscale, but perfect if you are seeking a memorable meal in an upscale, quiet atmosphere for a special occasion. I will certainly remember this 21-course meal for a long time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Modern Decor, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nothing will ever compare to the outstan ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Nothing will ever compare to the outstanding omakase and experience at Sushi Nakazawa. Will return time and again for this decadent meal of a lifetime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice sushi bar set up. Nice, clean and ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 11, 2016

A nice sushi bar set up. Nice, clean and upscale atmosphere.

Ingredients are fantastic (very fresh and well curated).

It would have been even more amazing if their sushi rice was less salty.

Still, a very nice sushi joint.

Recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

There is nothing I can add that hasn't b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2016

There is nothing I can add that hasn't been said. Sushi Nakazawa belongs on every foodie's short list; well worth a trip to NYC all on its own.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect! The best sushi of New York !

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Perfect! The best sushi of New York !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most amazing experiences of m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2016

One of the most amazing experiences of my life. Can't remember a better experience I've had in NYC or anywhere. Chef Nakazawa was so nice and entertaining. And the sushi was like none I've ever had before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came in on a Sunday and Love Chef Uchi a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Came in on a Sunday and Love Chef Uchi and Chef Sky. Such great souls. Cody one of the assistants was delightful. Would def come back again !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazingly fresh sushi - some of which is ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Amazingly fresh sushi - some of which is alive in front of you right as you are about to eat it! For the best sushi in the city, go here. Also highly recommend the premium saki tasting - so good!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The most amazing dining experience we've ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The most amazing dining experience we've ever had. Couldn't have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I come here once twice every month from ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2016

I come here once twice every month from Philly

Drive 2 hours just to have chef Nakazawa's omakase

It's that good

The best sushi in NYC

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This lived up to every expectation we ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

This lived up to every expectation we had. Loved it will return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were greeted and seated promptly and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were greeted and seated promptly and the hostesses were always on hand but not on top of you.

Sushi was out of this world, he had a way of making the flavors of the fish really come out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nigiri at Sushi Nakazawa are really real ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Nigiri at Sushi Nakazawa are really really good. The words can't describe. Nakazawa is really friendly and funny. If I have a chance, I'll come back ;).

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without a doubt the best sushi you'll ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Without a doubt the best sushi you'll have under $500 in NY. The restaurant has a relaxed dress code which I like and the service was impeccable. Every piece has a unique taste but it's all about how it came together with the rice. Watching Mr. Nakazawa and his staff assembly every piece was a delight.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Organic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Do the saki pairing. It's great

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Do the saki pairing. It's great

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sushi Nakazawa is consistently exception ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Sushi Nakazawa is consistently exceptional. The staff is extremely friendly and knowledgable. Sitting at the sushi bar is so much fun. I love watching the chefs expertly slice and construct the sushi. And of course, the sushi is out of this world. Unique flavor profiles, unusual fish, and all so delicious. Of course it's not cheap, but it's worth the money for the food and overall experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a wonderful omakase - truly the be ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2016

I had a wonderful omakase - truly the best sushi I've ever had - and Chef Nakazawa was a treat.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding! Worth the effort to get a ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Outstanding!

Worth the effort to get a reservation at the Sushi Bar.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.