Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn

Open for lunch and Dinner, Sunset Terrace is our iconic upscale, classic restaurant featuring traditional American cuisine, with an emphasis on hand cut steaks, seafood and regional favorites and an award winning wine list. Located on the outdoor terrace of the 100 year old Main Inn, enjoy breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains with a setting and experience that you will always remember.

If you would like to order flowers for your special occasion, please contact our in-house floral department by calling 800-438-5800 ext. 2046 or email gpi.floral.shop@omnihotels.com. 24 hour advance notification required.

Reservations are recommended.

290 Macon Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open daily for lunch from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Open nightly for dinner from 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 438-5800

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/asheville-grove-park/dining/sunset-terrace

Entertainment:
Free local entertainment is available daily in The Great Hall Bar, just outside of The Sunset Terrace.

Parking Details:
2017 Parking Rates:
Self-Parking: 0-3 hours: Complimentary│3-6 hours: $10│6-24 hours: $15
Day Valet: $15│Overnight Valet: $22

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (70)
Great for Outdoor Dining (62)
Special Occasion (54)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Romantic (46)
Good for a Date (42)
Worth the Drive (40)
Historic (34)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Local Ingredients (19)
Seasonal (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Casual (14)
Business Meals (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Cozy (12)
Fireplace (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
People Watching (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (8)
Fun (8)
Healthy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Live Music (4)
Family Style (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Organic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1799 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

The service and staff were outstanding: gracious, informative, accommodating, non-intrusive, timely...and ALWAYS with a smile. ALWAYS. And the view....breathtaking. This is a special place.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Many thanks to Ralph for creating such a memorable evening on our first anniversary.
Valerie & Dan

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The view and a friend's recommendation caused us to make our reservation at the Sunset Terrace when we visited Asheville for the weekend. We were not disappointed. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable regarding all the items on the menu and made really good suggestions that helped us decide what to order. Our entrees were delicately and perfectly seasoned and prepared with appetizing presentation. We were very pleased and will make certain to return next time we are in the area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The view was breathtaking with service that was second to none! But the preparation, presentation, and flavors of the food was unbelievable. We really enjoyed our night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wonderful food, outstanding service and beautiful view. A lovely setting at the Grove Park Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Delightful! Delicious food served by a very caring staff, in a beautiful setting. If you are visiting Asheville, treat yourself to dinner at the Sunset Terrace. It is truly one of the regions very best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Wonderful views and great food. The service was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

First off $20 to park! Be warned, that is ridiculous. Charging to park when I am coming there to buy my drinks and dinner...obsurd!
The food is standard and not memorable. The view is what you go for, so if you want to pay to see a nice view go there for drinks and have dinner elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

You don't have to stay at the Omni Grove Park Inn to experience a meal in the most spectacular setting in Asheville. Kristy, our server possessed skills that are becoming difficult to find even in the most upscale restaurants. We had dinner there one night and went back for lunch before returning to NJ.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This restaurant is a must when in Asheville! The seating is outdoors overlooking the gorgeous mountains and Asheville skyline.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 15, 2017

One of the best dinners I have ever had. The service was great and the steak was one of the best I have ever eaten.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Beautiful view. Good dessert. My husbands steak was just ok and my trout was discusting.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The view is unbelievable! You can't beat it. Service was exceptional and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Had a wonderful pre-Mothers Day lunch. Great food, perfect weather, views were magnificent and ambiance just perfect!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Food was mediocre but romantic setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Quality of food and service is all excellent. Its all about that view. The view is breathtaking and to be able to eat outside with that view is amazing. The Sunset Terrace called to warn us it would be cold the evening of our dinner, so I wore layers...the spot heaters were on so it was anything but cold. if you can get an "edge" table as they refer to it, do it as your view will be unobstructed.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wonderful view from our table on the outside of veranda. Food was well prepared, hot, and delicious. I had crab cake sandwich and hubby had shrimp and grits. The biscuits with honey and butter started our meal out perfectly. Great bloody marks and mimosas also!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The view of the mountains and the resort from this venue is just hard to beat. Even though the weather was a bit cool, the large heaters keep the guests warm, and the food and service are excellent. Highly recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband and I will go to the Sunset Terrace for lunch every now and then. Every single time we go, the view is amazing as is the service. It never disappoints. The charm and ambiance is worth every mile and every penny.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great place to enjoy a meal with a view. Service was very professional and attentive. One of the best steaks in town

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

In Asheville for a long weekend date. Service was great and of course the food and view off the terrace were excellent. This is our third visit to Grove Park Inn and we will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The service is second to none. Add the fabulous food, the spectacular view during the sunset and you have a magical evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Excellent food, services, ambiance, & views. Sky high prices: $7 for a side of veggies, another $7 for mashed potatoes, on top of $50 for lamb = very steep pricing. But I knew it would be expensive going in. Otherwise an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I was so disappointed with the Omni Grove. While it is beautiful, it was cheapened by the noise from the crowded bar at the entrance. We walked up to the front of restaurant to be seated, it was a few minutes before our reservation, the hostess abruptly, without pleasantly, told us to come back, her exact words. We did come back, the food was adequate, not memorable. Overall, a dud of an evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Fantastic view of Asheville. Excellent service with good food.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wonderful evening dinner to celebrate niece's graduation from grad school. Food was good but the scenery was fantastic. Can't visit often but for a special event well worth it.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great environment for our anniversary dinner. Little dark, difficult to see menu and plate but understand not wanting to deter from view by having distracting light. Will be back.

Tags: Private Room, Healthy, Happy Hour, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Absolutely beautiful restaurant with great view. Loved the food. Our server Nique was outstanding.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful lunch here with friends. The view is just beautiful! Our salads and sandwiches were very nice. The warm biscuits with butter and local honey were amazing too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Came here with my wife for our 1 year anniversary. The sunset terrace surpassed our expectations. The view was gorgeous, the food was excellent, and the service very attentive. Highly recommended for any special occasion or a nice night out

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My wife and I returned for our 3rd year in a row to celebrate our 10th anniversary. As long as the experience continues to be this good, we will continue the tradition.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful ambiance. Way overpriced. Good service. Mediocre food for the price. Not a fine dining venue. Hostess and her "seater" were clueless on how to handle an upscale restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent Food; Fantastic Service
Wait staff was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary and had an amazing time. Everything was perfect. Brian our waiter was exceptional. He made our evening perfect. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Historic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We went for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The food was delicious, and the view was breathtaking!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Casual, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Live Music, Authentic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fun, Great Beer, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We dined here for our wedding anniversary, and you can't beat the view! It was a great atmosphere, and our server was top-notch. The food was delectable and one of a kind. I would definitely recommend for any special occasion you want to celebrate.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was impeccable, Our server Brian was top notch, not only did he recommend the perfect food selection but also told us to about an awesome hiking trail! Would highly recommend, Also keep in mind everything is a la carte. ($$$$$)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Total ambiance with the setting sun. The terrace has a fantastic mountain view and the sunset is just magical. Price is on the high end but the food is worth it. Wonderful evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Exceptional restaurant with an unparalleled view of Asheville. It is expensive, so it's not something that most people can afford to do regularly, but it is absolutely worth it. Well paced meal, amazing service, and great food.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent location and the food was great. A little cold on the terrace when a storm blew in, but they had blankets for the ladies to help them stay warm including outside heaters.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.