Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 70 times today

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn

4.5
2290 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
Open for lunch and Dinner, Sunset Terrace is our iconic upscale, classic restaurant featuring traditional American cuisine, with an emphasis on hand cut steaks, seafood and regional favorites and an award winning wine list. Located on the outdoor terrace of the 100 year old Main Inn, enjoy breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains with a setting and experience that you will always remember.



Reservations are recommended.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunset Terrace: Open Daily 11am-3pm / 5pm-10pm / weather permitting
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(800) 438-5800
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Charlotte Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
2017 Holiday Parking Rates:
Self-Parking: $20
Day Valet: $25
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Free local entertainment is available daily in The Great Hall Bar, just outside of The Sunset Terrace.
Additional
Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2290 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.6
service
4.8
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

What a great place to go and view the sunset. Everything was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful service, staff and food. Even better with a clear sunset!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful view, average food & service. Overpriced for mediocre dinner. Go to see Sunset but eat elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Great view and good service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful views..... crepe brûlée to die for😍

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Server, Niqui or Nikki, was excellent. Food excellent. Exceptional view. Overall great experience as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Incredible setting, views, and food! The NY Strip was cooked to perfection.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

We were given s fabulous table, but after greater wished us a happy anniversary — the waiter completely ignored it and did not give us the dessert as promised by the greeter.

Also they brought the main course before we finished our salads. Bums rush for our special evening 😩

My meal was wonderful but my husband’s steak was over cooked.

Too bad it all didn’t come together.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

I ordered a shrimp cocktail, wedge salad, and a twice baked potato. My boyfriend ordered a cowboy ribeye and lobster mac and cheese. The shrimp cocktail and salad were fine, but the steak was gristly, the lobster mac and cheese was too dry, and the potato was too salty. The waitress graciously removed the items and did not charge us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

we absolutely loved it!!! the view, the food, everything was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Food and service were great. View was even better! Some of the best steaks we’ve ever eaten. Drinks were a bit pricy, but expected with the quality of the restaurant. Perfect place for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Enjoy this classic space. Has been consistent. My group enjoyed the meal. We will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Excellent food, service, and venue! Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary.The view was amazing even though it was cloudy, our server was helpful and attentive. The food was good but the salmon portion was pretty small. Overall a very good experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Excellent food. Excellent service. Best possible views. Just a bit pricey for the Asheville area but nevertheless a grand experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Special meal for our anniversary. Did not disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My daughter and I visited for Mother’s Day. We did not have a bad course. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Very soon hopeful
Thanks to Silka, our waitress, she was awesome!!! Plus

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Service was excellent, welcoming and helpful. Lobster tail tiny fir $30

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Sunset Terrace had beautiful views of surounding area. Service was very good.
However, all menu items were a' la carte and meal was very overpriced!
Dinner for two with one cocktail, salad, " small portion" entre'e and no dessert came to $ 135 with tip!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

It should have been better. Granted, they admitted it was their busiest day of the season. However, for a 8pm reservation, we weren’t seated until 8:15 and didn’t get our soup/salad until 9pm. By which time we were starving! We then got the seafood tower, but after eating about half of it, I immediately had to run to the bathroom sick and my husband also felt ill. We had to leave before finishing dinner and spent the rest of the evening in bed, sick. The restaurant was nice and comped the meal, but we had hoped for such a better experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Took my wife to the Sunset Terrace for Mothers Day dinner. It is her favorite restaurant in Asheville,. It has great views, good drinks and the food is always excellent. Brian was our waiter and he was very entertaining, knowledgeable and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The food is fabulous, service is above and beyond , the view is priceless !!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We had a late lunch here for a special occasion. The food and service were outstanding and of course, the scenery is breathtaking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Awesome view, food and service. The restaurant just gets better. Lamb was wonderful, and my wife had the scallops; delicious!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Friday, early evening before Mother’s Day. The Grove Park in is lovely, service was very good, we are foodies and do not not mind paying for good food. However, the food here was less than desirable; not much flavor, you could tell that the restaurant was trying for high end dining, but failed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The steaks were exceptional and no steak sauce was needed! The perfect Anniversary Dinner that I will never forget!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Beautiful mountain views. Nice menu for lunch and the service was attentive and excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

We decided to treat ourselves on our last night in Asheville. We chose the Grove Park Inn because of its fascinating history and zillion dollar scenic view. We dined on the Sunset Terrace in comfort despite the 60 degree weather (heaters were on and worked quite well). Everything about this location is first class, including food, service and ambience. It was well worth the $$.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 8, 2018

It was not what I expected compared to what I saw on the internet/website.
One of the main courses had to be sent back, too red/bloody.
We took our desserts(cakes) home, and they were not very good. They were dry
and too sweet. They service was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

The Sunset Terrace is an all-time favorite place for lunch or dinner , guaranteed of an extraordinary view, great food and service whenever we’re in Asheville. Every visit here is special- and we’re always made to feel we are special- can’t wait til next time!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Elegant, beautiful view, great service, perfect entrees and plenty of history.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Wonderful from start to finish - food, service, view. I will definitely go back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Great view, much more casual wear acceptable than the website suggests (jean shorts seen often). Both of us had 8oz filet mignon and both were cooked over. Med Rare was Med and Med was Well Done. Disappointing considering. Sides of mushrooms and lobster Mac were tasty, albeit room temp. Overall, good to visit if staying onsite otherwise, skip it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Took an hour and 15 minutes to get our food after we ordered. Server was great and food was very good but it is hard to overcome that type of delay. I would say try it if you are staying at the Grove Park Inn but don’t go out of your way.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

A great place to spend the evening and soak up the sunset

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Our first time at Sunset Terrace definitely won’t be our last! Without question, the BEST FILET ever! Excellent service! Fabulous view! Divine Wine! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

This is a lovely restaurant with a view to die for. We found the service first rate and the food delicious and perfectly presented.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

The best meal I've ever had! The view was wonderful, the food exceptional, and while it was pricey, I give this my highest recommendation!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Jason, our server, was wonderful! My only complaint was that the tables were too close together. We could hear the intimate conversations of those around us easily. That makes for some uncomfortable moments. Everything else was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
58

Tweets by Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn