Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn

Open for lunch and Dinner, Sunset Terrace is our iconic upscale, classic restaurant featuring traditional American cuisine, with an emphasis on hand cut steaks, seafood and regional favorites and an award winning wine list. Located on the outdoor terrace of the 100 year old Main Inn, enjoy breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains with a setting and experience that you will always remember.



Reservations are recommended.

290 Macon Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open daily for lunch from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Open nightly for dinner from 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 438-5800

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/asheville-grove-park/dining/sunset-terrace

Entertainment:
Free local entertainment is available daily in The Great Hall Bar, just outside of The Sunset Terrace.

Parking Details:
2017 Parking Rates:
Self-Parking: 0-3 hours: Complimentary│3-6 hours: $10│6-24 hours: $15
Day Valet: $15│Overnight Valet: $22

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (181)
Great for Outdoor Dining (177)
Special Occasion (124)
See All
Romantic (124)
Good for Anniversaries (107)
Good for a Date (107)
Worth the Drive (98)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Great for Lunch (43)
Local Ingredients (42)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Casual (38)
Notable Wine List (37)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Fun (33)
Cozy (31)
People Watching (31)
Seasonal (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Business Meals (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Authentic (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Great for Brunch (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Live Music (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Great Beer (5)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Waterfront (2)
Sort By:
S
2061 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 4 days ago

First time stay at Grove Park Inn. Would definitely return. Great scenic sunset dinner. Very diligent wait staff. Friendly and mad us feel welcome. Both had the filet. It was good but not over the top. Little higher priced but expected this for the location. Still would recommend. At least 8.5 out of 10.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely view. Excellent service. The food was good but not extraordinary. This is a nice place to take someone for a special occasion and the service was wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was perfect! From the service, food & atmosphere. Suggest you have reservations because it is a great spot for all occasions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We had never been here before our anniversary dinner. Read a lot of reviews but nothing could compare to the actual amazing, indescribable, grand entrance and amazing views! The food was incredible and the service was over the top! Way to go Omni! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was way overpriced, you paid at least $25 more per plate just because of the view. I'm sure the view is breathtaking on sunny, non-foggy days; not our experience. Then they sat not 1 but 2 kids under age 3 next to us, making our time there even better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Steak could have been hotter, i.e. Like Ruth's Chris -- but overall good -- will go back

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We enjoyed our meal at the Sunset Terrace, Omni Grove Park Inn. We spent 4 days in Ashville for our 50th wedding anniversary celebration and the Sunset Grill was our dinner destination for one of those nights. Our meal was delicious, our server was outstanding, and the view from this outdoor grill beautiful!! Our server graciously took our picture with the mountains and sunset as the backdrop. While we definately would return to dine at the Sunset Terrace again, be forewarned that if you choose to use valet parking it will cost $15.00; they do not validate your parking sticker. Also, the hostess that night (Sept. 10) was "snooty" and almost didn't seat us because we were 15 minutes early!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our meals consisted of corn chowder, Caesar salad, filet with bearnaise sauce, scallops, asparagus, whipped potatoes and chocolate cake. The flavors were outstanding and were easily in my top 5 best ever tasted for each of the individual dishes.

Natalie, our server, was very personable and has a great sense of humor as well as being efficient. The timing of the various courses was just right for us-we weren't rushed or left waiting for the next dish to arrive.

The atmosphere is unrivaled in my opinion. First, I love the Arts and Crafts style, so this a visual delight for me to see the architecture and furniture. Then, there is the view of the mountains west of Asheville and finally, the outstanding sunset when the weather cooperates.

I honestly can not pick my favorite part of the experience. I do wish that I had known that it is necessary to reserve a table at the edge of the terrace. I wanted to enjoy the view, but didn't want to appear to be staring at the diners seated there, next time.

Yes, it is expensive, but it is fine dining at its best.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great time for our anniversary. Beautiful views and great food. Pretty pricey but we weren't on a budget considering the occassion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellence in everything. We were extremely pleased with the gourmet food and outstanding service. My wife has sensitive food allergies and they were knowledgeable and accommodating. Safe for Celiacs! We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Birthday lunch with my special girl. Food was amazing and service was wonderful!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

2 entrees 1 appetizer, 2 glasses of wine.. $240 with tip. About double what I feel is decent value.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Had many good meals there. This last time I had undoubtedly the worst pork chop I've ever had , for just $39!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent, attentive service. Great natural view compromised by overbuilding -a little like watching the Grand Canyon on TV. Good food but not memorable. Phenomenally overpriced. They're selling the view, but $150 for two non-a la carte including tip and parking ($15).

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Fabulous views, romantic ambiance and our waiter was wonderful. My husband and I went to lunch here and shared a dessert. Was everything we could have hoped for in a romantic midday outing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great service and fantastic view. You do, however pay for it, but we thought it was worth it one our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

I was very disappointed with our experience at the Sunset Terrace restaurant. Our greeter couldn't have been less interested, my Caesar salad (which had to be sent back since there was fish in my lettuce leaves—DISGUSTING!), was so bland (the chicken), and the dressing so nasty, that I only ate a few bites. Our utensils were dirty and our table was situated in such a way that we couldn't enjoy the view without looking directly at the diners next to us. The overall decor of the outside restaurant was lacklustre and ordinary for the extravagant prices. I would NOT go back or recommend this restaurant for lunch. Left feeling very ripped off, disappointed and hungry.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Flies Flies

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The food, view, and service were outstanding. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive to our needs - my wife needs gluten free - an provided us with excellent service.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Its a bit of a drive to get there. Parking is a problem. Valet is $15. Self park good luck. Seated promptly. Waitress very nice and efficient. Had the lobster wrap which was very good, but my wife has had equally as good at a lesser price. I had the trout which was very good also. We both had the organic margarita, again very good. Strawberry rhubarb pie for desert was outstanding. Of course the view was great.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Absolutely outstanding but outrageously expensive. Sell the house before making a reservation. The Omni takeover of the Grove Park inn has added at least 30% to all prices. Except for the view, your money is better spent at a Ruth Chris. Just my opinion.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent Steaks & Seafood, one in our party had the Lamb... everything was fantastic. Terrace is know for the view and it did not disappoint.

KC strip steak, medium rare, just right! Had the IPA Mac & Cheese, very good, not overpowering.

Great drink selection

Special shout out to the Hotel grounds & Lobby. Always great to take a walk after a big dinner, the Hotel is more impressive than I realized, historical site.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our server, Kennth (?)was excellent, the food was delicious, our birthday celebration lasted 2 hours and 15 minutes, felt totally unrushed through the meal, view is always breathtaking and restful, the end came with a nice creatively done birthday dessert plate for our friend.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great all around, and Tiffany was awesome!! Well worth the money!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We were taking a visitor to NC to see our mountains. What better place to show off the scenery than the Sunset Terrace? The service was good, we were not rushed, and despite the rain we were comfortable; eventually the rain stopped and we had a lovely, although a bit cloudy view. Three of our party had the Lobster Cobb salad which was dinner sized and only the men could eat all of it. I had the quinoa and corn cakes, very light and a new dish for me. I wish there was just a little more of the salad dressing to pour over them. (I know I should have asked.) We enjoyed a nice chardonnay. We all decided to skip dessert but the options did appear tempting. We did inquire about the corkage, it is $20.00.

When dining with visitors or for a special occasion, I think this is a lovely place to come as you do have the sense when you enter the Grove Park Inn, that this is a special time.










4

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Everybody told us we had to eat here... The location is stunning, sadly that's not reflected in the food. Our waiter was amazing, very helpful and attentive. The tartare was some of the best I've ever had, but that's where the good food ended. Cold sides and tasteless meats. One of our meals was comped, which was nice of them, but I'd rather have had good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The view is fabulous! Can't be beat. Prices are high so one should expect perfection. I asked for a medium center for my salmon, which said pink center. I reiterated this to my server. It came totally dry. A replacement was offered very quickly and it was better but still not as pink and moist as I prefer.
My husband also had an issue with his steak. He asked for rare to medium rare and his wasn't even medium rare. He didn't even mention his after I had just dealt with my issue. Sometimes you just want it all to come out right without having to send anything back. Nothing was offered in compensation.
Still recommending this place as the view is incredible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Food was very expensive and just okay. Everything is a la carte so be prepared to spend at least $80 per person. View was great, but for the money there is better food in Asheville

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Food was a joke--did not have a steak--maybe my mistake--setting was beautiful--service was all it could be--sorry

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Awful food,
Over cooked trout,
To much lemon in Caesar salad, almost inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We took a trip to Asheville to get together with friends and celebrate our anniversary! Sunset Terrace was our favorite restaurant by far- the food and view were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We have dined at the Sunset Terrace several times.

Food, wine, service is always outstanding!

Love the incredible setting and view.

A great place to create memories!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Although the prices are high the food was fabulous with generous portions. The wait staff was excellent and very attentive. And don't forget the incredible view !!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

One of the most amazing restaurants I have ever eaten at… The view, the food, and the service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 25, 2017

A shout out to our server, Derrick. His recommendations were spot-on. He was amiable while being professional. His excellent service added to a superb meal in an exceptional setting.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The view is phenomenal! Food is very good, but it is rather expensive. The whole dining experience is lovely!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

I chose this restaurant for the view and that part was just lovely and amazing. However, the food was not good. I ordered the chicken and sent it back twice since it was dry and tough and I was not able to get a knife through it. They did offer us free dessert, but I would not go back for dinner - maybe happy hour or a coffee to enjoy the scenery. The other dinner options were pretty standard - nothing special and nothing that had the Carolina experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The view is absolutely beautiful, the service was fantastic and the food was delicious! We dined at 6 pm and the sun was setting directly in our eyes. Other than that, everything was perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Amazing atmosphere, awesome view ,& very friendly wait staff . Look forward to going back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Beautiful views and juicy steaks make this a must stop when visiting the Asheville area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.