About Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn

290 Macon Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

The Sunset Terrace is an outdoor restaurant, please check the weather when joining us and dress accordingly.

Open for lunch and Dinner, Sunset Terrace is our iconic upscale, classic restaurant featuring traditional American cuisine, with an emphasis on hand cut steaks, seafood and regional favorites and an award winning wine list. Located on the outdoor terrace of the 100 year old Main Inn, enjoy breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains with a setting and experience that you will always remember.

If you would like to order flowers for your special occasion, please contact our in-house floral department by calling 800-438-5800 ext. 2046 or email gpi.floral.shop@omnihotels.com. 24 hour advance notification required.

Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch daily from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 438-5800

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/asheville-grove-park/dining/sunset-terrace

Entertainment:
Free local entertainment is available daily in The Great Hall Bar, just outside of The Sunset Terrace.

Parking Details:
Self-Parking: 0-3 hours: Complimentary│3-6 hours: $10│6-24 hours: $15

Valet: $15 for Day Guests│$22 for Overnight Guests

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
steak tartare
Bone In Dry Aged 18Oz New York Strip Kansas City Style
Champagne Cobbler
Salmon Caesar Salad
Key Lime Pie
Lobster Cobb Salad
Creme Brulee
Weekend Breakfast Buffett
Crab Club Sandwich

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Outdoor Dining
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Scenic View
Asheville / W. North Carolina
6 More
Most Booked
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Romantic
Asheville
Special Occasion
Asheville
American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Scenic View (273)
Great for Outdoor Dining (246)
Special Occasion (226)
See All
Romantic (185)
Great for Lunch (91)
Fit for Foodies (86)
Notable Wine List (64)
Good for Groups (54)
Great for Brunch (47)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Hot Spot (27)
Kid-friendly (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Healthy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1505 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a spectacular restaurant with a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is a spectacular restaurant with a spectacular view and food. Never disappointing. The service is impeccable!

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrace dining was excellent and staff w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Terrace dining was excellent and staff was very friendly and courteous. Highly recommend and will return again

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We thought the food to be quite pricey. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

We thought the food to be quite pricey. Also, it was unclear that what was added to the burgers

increased the cost by $2 for each one to the final tally - interesting ploy!!! Ergo, a rather ordinary cheeseburger wound up costing $20. No wonder there was no crowd on a beautiful day.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Overall we really enjoyed the restaurant ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall we really enjoyed the restaurant and WOW what a view! The service was good and the waitress did a nice job. We also found a very nice bottle of wine on the list. The food was good except the steak. Both my wife and I had a steak and they came out well-done rather than medium. This is sort of a big mistake on two $40+ pieces of meat.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

View was wonderful. The service was ver ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

View was wonderful. The service was very good. The food.............average.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

I found the restaurant very good. Unfort ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

I found the restaurant very good. Unfortunately I did have a large, loud group behind me so asked to have my table changed. I was graciously accommodated.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was mediocre for the price but the ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was mediocre for the price but the view and overall enjoyment made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The view is fantastic and the food is ve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The view is fantastic and the food is very good. The cocktails were great and very seasonal. The chef made an appearance at our table upon request. The service started off strong and then became inattentive and it was difficult to get the check.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Everyone recommended the Sunset Terrace ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everyone recommended the Sunset Terrace at Grove Park and it did not disappoint! The view from the outside terrace was incredible. I had the bone in Ribeye and asparagus it was very good. The steak was tender, moist, and had great flavor. They tell you the sides are just enough for one, but my wife and I shared mine. If you are looking for a great Steakhouse in Asheville with views to die for, this is the place! The service was outstanding. Our server was very personable and took very good care of us. I would recommend a reservation because this is an outdoor (Covered Terrace) experience and is subject to temperature changes.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely perfect experience. The view ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely perfect experience. The view is wonderful. Food fantastic (we had strip steak and snapper special). Service completely top notch. Whether you stay at the hotel or not it's a must visit restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and attitude of the employee ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 7 days ago

The service and attitude of the employees was excellent! However, the entrees were overpriced and lacking in flavor, but the veggies/sides were well prepared and extremely tasty. You just can't beat the view!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderful time. Great food and exception ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wonderful time. Great food and exceptional service!

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we arrived a bit early for our ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Although we arrived a bit early for our 1:00pm reservation, the hostess seated us with a big smile and warm greeting. We were seated at a perfect table with a great view. The wait staff was prompt and attentative through out the service. My wife and I split a Ceaser grilled chicken salad and smoked turkey sandwich, both were delicious. Highly recommend for that special lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view and dinner was outstanding I lo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The view and dinner was outstanding I loved it and we be going back to eat there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service and were excellent and ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food and service and were excellent and the view at sunset? What can I say....amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was the most special evenings we have ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

It was the most special evenings we have ever had! I recommend it to anyone, it was a night to remember!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess rude and impolite; exhibited an ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Hostess rude and impolite; exhibited an air of superiority; turned off in the first moments. Arrived for an 8:00 reservation at 7:50..,....no warm greeting, just the comment "your reservation is for 8:00, we will seat you then" totally absurd as the seating area was not even full

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

We had 8:15pm reservations on a weeknigh ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had 8:15pm reservations on a weeknight. As expected the views were beautiful, i was concerned the food could not live up to the views, but the food tasted great.

What ruined the experience was our server and all blame goes to the management of the Omni for not providing any sort of service standards to their dining room team.

We waited 15 minutes for a server, when he arrived the 2 of us each ordered a cocktail and I ordered a bottle of wine for after the cocktails. It took another 15 minutes as we watched our waiter walking across the dining room sloshing our martinis onto his tray.

After ordering, our salads came right out, while we were eating our salads, we watched as another server or food runner brought our main course to the table and did a quick U-turn when he noticed we were still eating 1st course.

At one point I had an empty wine glass and empty water glass, I asked for more water which our server poured, but ignored the empty wine glasses.

Needless to say as soon as we put down our salad forks, our meals were immediately delivered. I finished my meal before my companion, and as soon as I did, my plate was taken away making my friend feel rushed- of course no one asked how the meal was.

The check was brought before anyone asked if we wanted coffee or dessert- I assume our waiter was in a rush to leave and so were we. There was no one at the hostess stand when we left, no one said good night, or thank you for coming or for dropping $250 on dinner for two.

One final suggestion for Omni management- get your dining room staff sone light weight attractive- breathable uniforms. The long sleeve white shirts on just about every server and bus boy were grey and dingy.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Strip steak was grilled to perfection, a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Strip steak was grilled to perfection, and the Béarnaise, which had been a disappointment previously, was back up to snuff. Creamed spinach and the mushrooms were good. Service was great, not only from our primary server, but her support staff as well. Would like to see more local meats and vegetables featured as they used to do in the past (under the Sammons').

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have been to the Grove Park Inn a numb ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I have been to the Grove Park Inn a number of times and eaten at several of the dining options there. The inn is great, historic, beautiful with incredible views but the food just isn't anything special and it is extremely expensive. There are great dining options in Asheville but it's a 15 minute drive down a winding road to get to them so if you want to eat on property the Sunset Terrace is a good option and my pork chop was good but it was $39 plus $8 ala-cart sides; my wife's fish was not good although they were happy to replace it with another fish dish that was also average; but it came quickly. The wine list is good but an equally poor value. If you are going to go have a drink at the very cool lobby bar before hand and request a table on the stone wall overlooking the mountains. The view is incredible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Overall we had an ok dinner, the view wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Overall we had an ok dinner, the view was the definitely the highlight of our night. We were celebrating our anniversary and I specifically requested a table near the edge of the dining room. I placed my reservation well in advance. When we got there we were seated in the middle of the dining room. We then realized that there was a totally empty table by the edge, we had to ask to be relocated. Next the food-Starters were average( salad, and beets) but nothing amazing, my entree of salmon was good, but my husbands filet mignon was totally overcooked and dry. He asked for medium and it was well throughout. Pretty disappointing considering the price of the steak. Dessert of creme brûlée was fine. Next time I'd skip the restaurant and have drinks by the bar below for the view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Outdoor dining with beautiful mountain f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outdoor dining with beautiful mountain foods and the food was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening. Good food, g ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a wonderful evening. Good food, good service. Excellent ambiance. Very popular so reserve early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! We had wonderful service and ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Delicious! We had wonderful service and loved the gluten free rolls with honey butter.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service, great food, nice setting. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Good service, great food, nice setting. Have dine there before and would go back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Crabcake sandwich is excellent! Can't be ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Crabcake sandwich is excellent! Can't beat the view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GOOD VIEW, GOOD FOOD, GOOD SERVICE. WINE ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

GOOD VIEW, GOOD FOOD, GOOD SERVICE.

WINE WAS A LITTLE PRICEY FOR A LUNCH MENU

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

There isn't a better place to have an ex ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

There isn't a better place to have an excellent meal with a spectacular view of the mountains than the Sunset Terrace Restaurant at the Grove Park Inn. This is the second summer we have joined our friends to have lunch there. It's much more than a dining experience. It's a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The view is not comparable anywhere else ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The view is not comparable anywhere else in town! We chose Sunset Terrace strictly for this reason and to enjoy a wonderful meal before leaving Asheville. My only complaint was that it took 30 minutes for a waitress to check on us after giving us water and given that we sat at 8:30p, I was already starving and starting to get a bit grumpy. Once our order was placed it was smooth. Food was great and we enjoyed a bottle of wine with dinner. A bit pricey but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was slow !

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Service was slow !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We believe this would have been a better ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We believe this would have been a better experience, except it was so hot and sunny that we and everyone around us were uncomfortable. Despite 4 glasses of water, served diligently by Patricio, we couldn't really enjoy the meal. I would recommend the Terrace at or after sunset or possibly when the weather is cooler.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

It was my anniversary and I proposed. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was my anniversary and I proposed. The wait staff made it really special.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic ambiance. Service was great. W ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fantastic ambiance. Service was great. Would definitely go again!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

View and service were great but the $425 ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

View and service were great but the $425 bill for 7 people, including 5 teenagers, was a bit steep. Steaks were overcooked relative to what was ordered and at $55+ apiece they should get it right. Trout was dry and overcooked. I remember this being better before Omni bought the place. Maybe better for a drink and then grab dinner in the Blue Ridge Grill to spare your wallet the pain.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Very disappointed in value for what we s ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Very disappointed in value for what we spent. For $200 we expected a fabulous meal but this was very mediocre.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

We had dinner here on July 31, 2016 as w ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had dinner here on July 31, 2016 as we were staying at the Grove Park Inn resort.

We had a later dining time and we wanted to change it to an earlier time and the hostess

really went out of her way to accommodate our earlier time. The view is magnificent and EVERYTHING we ordered was fantastic. We had the roasted beets and the Bison meatballs for

our Apps. and for our dinner we had the Filet and the Wagyu NY strip with pale ale mac n cheese

and sweet potato hash and it was the absolute beat steak dinner we ever had. Both steaks

were so juicy and flavorful and tender and the service was 5 star. It was pricey, but for a special

occasion it is worth it. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful views and a very relaxed atmos ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Beautiful views and a very relaxed atmosphere. Service was timely and very friendly. Food was good. I would go again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The lobster Cobb salad was amazing! The ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The lobster Cobb salad was amazing! The Sunset Terrace had gorgeous views , our server Michael was attentive and personable, and we had a great time reading about all the famous people that have been guests at the Inn.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So incredibly disappointed. Service stun ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

So incredibly disappointed.

Service stunk, food came out wrong (twice), we waited 1 hr for bread & water.

This was just so inexcusably bad.... And $100/ pp made it even worse.

This was my fourth time there.

Doubt I ever come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

We've been here twice now. Excellent exp ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We've been here twice now. Excellent experience. It's hard to compete with great food and looking at the blue ridge mountains at sunset. Server did great job in providing suggestions and helped make experience even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.