Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn

Open for lunch and Dinner, Sunset Terrace is our iconic upscale, classic restaurant featuring traditional American cuisine, with an emphasis on hand cut steaks, seafood and regional favorites and an award winning wine list. Located on the outdoor terrace of the 100 year old Main Inn, enjoy breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains with a setting and experience that you will always remember.



Reservations are recommended.

290 Macon Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open daily for lunch from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Open nightly for dinner from 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 438-5800

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/asheville-grove-park/dining/sunset-terrace

Entertainment:
Free local entertainment is available daily in The Great Hall Bar, just outside of The Sunset Terrace.

Parking Details:
2017 Parking Rates:
Self-Parking: 0-3 hours: Complimentary│3-6 hours: $10│6-24 hours: $15
Day Valet: $15│Overnight Valet: $22

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (161)
Great for Outdoor Dining (160)
Special Occasion (111)
See All
Romantic (109)
Good for a Date (95)
Good for Anniversaries (92)
Worth the Drive (86)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Local Ingredients (40)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Seasonal (38)
Great for Lunch (36)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Historic (34)
Casual (33)
Notable Wine List (32)
Creative Cuisine (30)
People Watching (30)
Cozy (27)
Fun (26)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Authentic (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Business Meals (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Great for Brunch (17)
Happy Hour (15)
Healthy (15)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Live Music (12)
Fireplace (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Organic (7)
Great Beer (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (3)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Spicy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (1)
Waterfront (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
1923 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant has a lovely setting, in an iconic landmark property. It is expensive with acceptable food and service, except that they sat us in a location that the setting sun would sear through us 20 minutes into the meal, with no relief and nowhere to run for cover. Once the sun focused on us the waiter never returned to the table. knowing this now I would either never eat there again or pick my table very carefully. It is shameful that the restaurant knows about this and does nothing to mitigate. We dine at countless other restaurants who have encroaching sun as it sets and all of the establishments have shades or ways to retreat. Not a good experience. The next day I heard others with the same complaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed the Trout entree. Well prepared with good service not to mention the view!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Great setting but overpriced and mediocre food. Salad did not have enough dressing and entree (tuna) was pretty ordinary. Much better value at numerous Asheville restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

The view is one of the best in Asheville and we were blessed with great weather but the food was mediocre at best. My steak salad was a big bowl of lettuce with some strips of beef that were over cooked, tasteless and tough. My wife asked if the kale in her entree could be exchanged for lettuce. Nope, that was too much trouble. Our waiter was otherwise attentive and agreeable. We were too embarrassed to ask our visitors what they thought of their meals!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

We had an absolutely amazing time! The food was delicious and the view was spectacular! The sunset was beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The timing of when to bring out the chops were relatively late, in timing to after the appetizers. Waiters should be watchful of the guests to properly time the main entrees. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

We love the view and the setting. The food disappointed us this time. I had trout and hated the setup. My husband had scallops and they were ok. Grandchildren had a steak and were fine with it. Need more choices for non red meat eaters

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous. A gorgeous setting, attentive service and delicious food

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The views of the mountains are outstanding. The food was excellent, too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

It was a very warm day. The sunset terrace is outside; therefore, it was not as pleasant at one might have hoped. Food was average, although expensive for what it was. While reservations had been made, that did not seem to make any difference as seating was performed via a line up. Overall, it was an OK luncheon. That said, I would not recommend this location to others whenever the temperature exceeds 80 degrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 11, 2017

this place was outstanding. if you are taking someone for a special occasion, be sure to contact the activities desk before your reservation and ask what type of special things they can do for you (i had flowers waiting on the table when i got there for my Gf's birthday).

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The view is worth going for! Our bison meatballs were wonderful as well as our salmon salad and fried green tomato BLT sandwich. Kenny provided excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Getaway without the kids

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Dinner at Sunset Terrace was fabuloso!!! What an incredible view, excellent service & incredible steaks & chops! A lovely way to spend the evening in Asheville!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We were celebrating our 34 wedding anniversary. They did not disappoint. The service was impeccable and our waiter suggested a very good bottle of wine. Dessert was fabulous. We got the strawberry rhubarb pie and fresh strawberry ice cream. Had excellent coffee with Bailey's and it was wonderful. We will return next year for our anniversary. Thank you grove park for making our day so special!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great view with amazing food. Knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The breathtaking view and delicious food make it a great vacation or special occasion dining spot

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Fantastic views and great food. Service was excellent.

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Crab Soup & biscuits were good
Ordered Steaks - subpar for the price
The sides - twice baked pototoes & spinach were not hot.. Luke warm
Server was not great...
Bus boy was more help then server
Over priced for lack of Service
View was great... food was not

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

If you are looking for a special dinner that includes a great view and a spectacular view then I would highly recommend this place! There isn't a bad seat in the house and the food and service is hard to beat.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The service was incredibly slow, especially for this price point restaurant. Although the food is good, the only thing justifying the price is the view. It has become much more touristy and loud in recent years.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wow! What a view! Thanks for the memories Grove Park Inn!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Unbelievable dining experience overlooking Asheville and the Smoky Mountains. Wet-aged prime steak was cooked perfectly. Extensive wine and cocktail list. Try and book dinner during sunset. Grove Park Inn is spectacular in every way.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The view was magnificent . I would go here for a cocktail only . The food is overpriced and over rated .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Perfect meal with a view to die for! Fried green tomatoe sandwich with pimento cheese. Yumm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The Sunset Terrace was an excellent place to celebrate my birthday. The views are breath-taking, the steaks were delicious and the hotel in which it is located is a luscious combination of Arts and Crafts charm infused with regal ambiance. I highly recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Anniversary night. The food was very good and service was excellent. Probably the best shrimp cocktail we have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great place to view the mountains surrounding Asheville. Our waiter was inviting without being overbearing. We split the chop which was excellent and shared sides of sweet potato and broccoli. Wish there were more gluten free options.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Organic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Amazing view with esquisit dinner. Wonderful little dessert anniversary plate was brought to table. Thank you for a rememberable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The Sunset Terrace, at the Grove Park Inn, is an Asheville gem, with views of the mountains and downtown Asheville and cool mountain breezes. Service and food are both great . It's the perfect place for outdoor dining, with the background of the historic Grove Park Inn.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The Grove Park Inn came highly recommend by my coworkers and recently my Daughter dined at the Sunset Terrace for lunch, so my wife and I decided to take the two hour drive for the 4th stay at their resort and have dinner at the Sunset Terrance ; which by the way was almost completely full. I managed to get us a table for two at 8:45 pm ( a less desirable time to have dinner). We also wanted to dine and watch the fireworks. We are so happy we did! Our waiter , who's name presently escapes me was amazing! He was very knowledgeable about wine and the menu. He was very friendly and attentive! If I could remember his name I would recommend him to anyone who goes, but I have a feeling that their entire staff is that way. We had a bottle of Black Stallion Cab $65 bucks( cheap in my book), but a great bottle of wine. We o had two orders of oysters, shared the beat salad which was an true explosion of flavor with a crunchy finish from the pistachios. I had the 21 days aged NY Strip and my waif had two lobster tails with a side of brococollini which we shared. We ended the evening with a great cup of coffee . The meal was flavorful from beginning to end!

I highly recommend this place especially for a special occasions or if your staying at the hotel. I live in Charlotte and it was worth the 2 1/2 hour drive up to Asheville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We have been dining at Terrace Rest for more then 10 years. One reason other then atmosphere was always the food until our last visit . All good was well below the standard we had been accustom to. My appetizer was cold. Then my scallop dish clearly was probably sitting under a heat lamp. I hope this was just a off night in the kitchen

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great venue for visitors to Asheville. Lots of history and options at the Omni

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Wife had the Lobster Cobb Salad and I had a great burger. At least one of us was eating healthy.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Casual, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 2, 2017

My wife and I shared the NY Strip with scallops. We ordered medium rare. It was medium but still very good. The Chef's Steak Sauce was excellent. The seasonal vegetables were good. The Baked Alaska for dessert was unique and amazing. The view is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The setting is amazing and worth a visit - definitely worth having a drink or two and watching the sunset. Our dinner, although tasty, was overpriced for what we had. My husband's steak was excellent and perfectly prepared, and I enjoyed my scallops. Unfortunately, we had torrential downpours while dining, so we were not lucky enough to get the whole experience. Certainly not the restaurant's fault that it rained, but had we to do it over again, we would have eaten somewhere else.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great view in spite of thunder showers. Excellent service and wonderful food. Pricey but great for a special meal.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Awesome, awesome. Our server was Alexis and one of the best I've had and I've had a few. She knew we were on a date and made it more comfortable. She answered all questions and made suggestions about wine and food. The food was very, very good. I am a foodie and cook a lot myself and I was impressed with my scallops and the appetizer - bone marrow.

Go!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It would be difficult to find any reason to complain about the Grove Park Inn. Their restaurant, Sunset Terrace, is no exception.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.