Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn

Open for lunch and Dinner, Sunset Terrace is our iconic upscale, classic restaurant featuring traditional American cuisine, with an emphasis on hand cut steaks, seafood and regional favorites and an award winning wine list. Located on the outdoor terrace of the 100 year old Main Inn, enjoy breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains with a setting and experience that you will always remember.



Reservations are recommended.

290 Macon Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open daily for lunch from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Open nightly for dinner from 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 438-5800

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/asheville-grove-park/dining/sunset-terrace

Entertainment:
Free local entertainment is available daily in The Great Hall Bar, just outside of The Sunset Terrace.

Parking Details:
2017 Parking Rates:
Self-Parking: 0-3 hours: Complimentary│3-6 hours: $10│6-24 hours: $15
Day Valet: $15│Overnight Valet: $22

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (177)
Great for Outdoor Dining (168)
Romantic (121)
See All
Special Occasion (120)
Good for Anniversaries (107)
Good for a Date (102)
Worth the Drive (100)
Good for Birthdays (66)
Great for Lunch (43)
Casual (39)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Local Ingredients (33)
Cozy (31)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Good for Groups (29)
Seasonal (29)
Business Meals (28)
Notable Wine List (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Fun (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
People Watching (22)
Authentic (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Great for Brunch (13)
Healthy (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Live Music (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great Beer (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

Great meal with a beautiful view and unobtrusive but attentive service. The steaks were cooked perfectly and the Grove Park Inn is a perfect setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined a day ago

The view is incredible. However, 2 of our menu items were incorrect. When the sun sets, you need a flashlight for your menu and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined a day ago

Wonderful place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic atmosphere!! It was quite the experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

A can’t miss destination! Great food and the view is amazing! Not cheap, but well worth every cent!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was good but my husband’s mountain trout was very fishy - our waiter gave him a complimentary dessert w/did not ask for - great service. Felt food was over priced- went for sunset - I would recommend going for drinks at Sunset!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Have eaten there a dozen or so times before. This time not so great. One Hour For entree to arrive even though we were the first seating. Trout was plated on cold couscous and everything was super salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great dinner and service. Evening sun can be a bit of a dining distraction until sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Thought lunch was a bit pricey. First time I've spent $70 for 2 for lunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

So the view is killer. The whole outside on the terrace experience is very nice. The service was good but kind of lacking. The server said they had great biscuits with honey butter that would be coming over. But she forgot. She said she would bring a chiller to keep the sparkling water cold. That never came. But she was really pleasant. The food was awesome. A great experience overall.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I have been to the GPI many many times spanning about 20 years. It seems that since Omni took over the place has gotten spruced up and more "sterile". That old school ambiance seems to be gone and it's more about the corporate money making. The food is great, but way over priced, the staff not as attentive to your needs as once was the case. Overall, great place to visit at least once if you can, but I;m sure the long time patrons would agree, it's changed and not the same old Grove Park Inn anymore.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The view was amazing, the waiter not so much. The food was fair, nothing exciting or
impressive. Eating outside was great.
The hostess lost our reservation the first night even though I had an email saying I had a reservation. The second night there were 4 front view tables empty and we were seated further
away, even though we had requested the first row. We ordered seafood tower which was mushy lobster tails and crab legs. Shrimp were good.
Overall I would not eat there again, the other venues were better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was good but my steak was well done instead of medium rare which I had ordered so they had to replace it and asked me to remove my potato off my plate so she could take back the wrong steak which I thought was weird. My server charged me for a wine I didn't order that was more expensive and just said she poured me more of the less expensive kind to make up for it which seemed unprofessional. I used a 100.00 visa prepaid card and was told that there was only 83.00 dollars on it. So the food wine and atmosphere were good but some questionable things happened at such a nice restaurant that I believe were EXTREMLY UNPROFESSIONAL and weird.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great views but food disappointing. Had trout (fine) on grits with pickled okra - did nothing for the trout and both of us didn't like it. All previous visits much better. Thank you.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food and service were great but it's really all about the view. We were fortunate enough to be here in October when you can actually see the sunset at dinner. Simply beautiful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We usually enjoy our time on the sunset terrace, however, this time was a very poor experience. I had reserved a specific table 2 months in advance, only to find out it was “unavailable” at the time of our reservation. No other explanation or offer for alternative accommodations was made. Our waitress seemed to be better fitted to be working in a breakfast diner type of setting. She was unprofessional, rushed, and rather rude at times. Our filets were ordered medium rare and came out medium well to well done. When I called her attention to this, she tried arguing with me and blamed it on the poor lighting. I may have not said anything had we been eating a $20 steak, but we paid over $250 at dinner that evening and expected to have service to reflecting of this price point. The manager did bring out our replacements in a fairly short period of time, however, no apology or explanation was offered. The only saving grace to the dinner was the amazing sunset and view. Next time we will be sticking with Curate.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Dining at Sunset Terrace was an amazing experience. The food and drinks were incredible, and we could not have asked for a more picturesque view at sunset.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Our last minute 5 pm reservation was perfect for an early dinner and gorgeous sunset. Delicious food, impeccable service by Kenny and view to a wedding! Loved the fried green tomato/mozzarella salad. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Great View, Good Food, Lovely Music. We were able to inform the restaurant(using OpenTable) that it was our Anniversary. In return, the restaurant gave us a great view and surprised us w/a little Anniversary touch while we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 13, 2017

We have dined with you numerous times over the years. This time was not as great as prior occasions. Food was not cooked as ordered, service was rushed (brought appetizer & salads at same time) (kept trying to remove plates before we had finished), etc. Had the impressions that the staff wanted to "turn the table" rather than assure that we had a good dining experience -- especially at your price points.

However, you are still on our favorites list -- just a little disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Great food and First class atmosphere! High $$$, but very nice for a special occasion!

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 13, 2017

It was a gorgeous place. One of the best. Food was excellent. Our server did everything well but had no personality. Would have made a difference .

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Great setting. Beautiful fall day. Have been here many times over the years. Went for anniversary lunch. Excellent service. Excellent food. I had crab sandwich with homemade chips. Wife had crab Cobb salad. 2 ice teas, shared desert and 1 coffee. $92 before tax and tip. Ouch! But hey it's the GPI.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 12, 2017

We really enjoyed our night at Sunset Terrace. The pork chop was the best I've ever had (and HUGE!). My date had the NY strip and loved it as well. Good cocktails and wine topped off an amazing meal with a beautiful sunset view throughout. Would go back in an instant!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Superb views. MAgnificent hotel on beautiful grounds. Lobby area has largest wood burning fireplace I have ever seen. Service very good and quite helpful. A must see for visitors to Asheville..don't miss it!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great place to have a scenic view and good food. Love meeting friends here for a annual luncheon. It's a real treat!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

We travel 200 hundred miles to once again enjoy this wonderful place. We think the restaurant,
Service,seating,food and view are worth the drive! We will be crack!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Excellent service and food. Well worth the price for the entire experience, of which...the view is amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Great atmosphere. We both tried the local trout. Fantastic!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Fantastic meal and service. Even though it rained, very hard, we had a great time. We plan to be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I had not eaten at the Grove Park since the Omni Corporation took control; the change was lack luster. Next time....if there is a next time....I'll be sure and bring my own condiments.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were in town for a girls' weekend and the Sunset Terrace had been recommended by a friend as a must. We had lunch here and absolutely enjoyed it. Our server, Brian, was excellent, friendly, attentive, funny, & his recommendations didn't stir us wrong. I'll definitely be back the next time I'm in town. The views from the terrace were amazing even though it was overcast and rainy all afternoon. Brian even brought us macaroons to end our lunch in celebration of our girls' weekend/reunion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The reason to eat at Sunset Terrace is because of the view. If you can time your meal to coincide with the actual sunset - that is even better.
My wife and I had a great meal and thoroughly enjoyed the view. The food was quite good, but not what you would expect for the price. Again, you are paying for the view - not necessarily the food.
The cocktails and wine were good. We had the Fried Green Tomato and Mozzarella appetizer which was good, but under-seasoned. The caesar salad also was good, but not really any better than what you would get at a chain restaurant. My wife had the scallops and and I had the cowboy cut Ribeye. Both entrees were very good, but over-priced for what it was.
Overall, we were happy but not worth the nearly $300 which we paid. The reason to go is really for the view. If you are staying at the Grove Park Inn and are willing to pay for the view, check it out. If you are looking for an amazing meal and not staying at the Grove Park, there are better places to go in Asheville.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Delicious food and great atmosphere. My husband and I went for our anniversary and had a fantastic time. The server even brought out a "happy anniversary" mini dessert for us to share! Highly recommend, and definitely worth the money.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Spectacular mountain sunset view. Server was very pleasant and helpful. Free parking.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Looking for a lovely dinner and great sunset? This is it!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 5, 2017

good food, great view, corn chowder was terrific, steak really good

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Food was cold and delivered late; the service was horrible. Food orders were wrong, late and bill was incorrect. Requests were ignored and the wine was completely forgotten. It was the worst service I've ever had in my entire life. It's a beautiful view and prior to being owned by Omni the food, service and value were excellent but it's gone way down hill and the prices sky high. Not a good value anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We went to Asheville and stayed at the Omni Grove Park Inn for our anniversary. Dinner at the Sunset Terrace was fantastic-great food, wine, and a the view is incredible. We enjoyed it so much that we ate there the following night as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

I wish I would’ve booked our dinner time closer to sunset. We had the table at the far end and had direct sunlight our entire meal, but it was a gorgeous view and wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.