Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn

Open for lunch and Dinner, Sunset Terrace is our iconic upscale, classic restaurant featuring traditional American cuisine, with an emphasis on hand cut steaks, seafood and regional favorites and an award winning wine list. Located on the outdoor terrace of the 100 year old Main Inn, enjoy breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains with a setting and experience that you will always remember.



Reservations are recommended.

290 Macon Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open daily for lunch from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Open nightly for dinner from 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 438-5800

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/asheville-grove-park/dining/sunset-terrace

Entertainment:
Free local entertainment is available daily in The Great Hall Bar, just outside of The Sunset Terrace.

Parking Details:
2017 Parking Rates:
Self-Parking: 0-3 hours: Complimentary│3-6 hours: $10│6-24 hours: $15
Day Valet: $15│Overnight Valet: $22

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (179)
Great for Outdoor Dining (176)
Special Occasion (130)
See All
Romantic (120)
Good for Anniversaries (107)
Good for a Date (104)
Worth the Drive (98)
Good for Birthdays (74)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Local Ingredients (44)
Great for Lunch (42)
Notable Wine List (41)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Seasonal (35)
Casual (35)
Fun (33)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Business Meals (29)
People Watching (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Authentic (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Cozy (27)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Historic (15)
Healthy (14)
Live Music (13)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Afternoon Tea (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Great Beer (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Organic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Fireplace (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Waterfront (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
2009 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Great waiter(Darren) great venue food is expensive and so so much better meal the night before at blackbird cafe in Asheville

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful food and service. Views spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Beautiful setting & view; the friendliest & most attentive service, but not overly; excellent food - beautiful presentation and very fresh - cooked to order; handled my food allergies well!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Very expensive. Even though we tried to order conservatively and only had iced tea to drink, our tab for two people was over $100. The trout was very bland and dry. Scallops were better.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I have been here many times and never disappointed. I love to bring friends that are visiting here because the food , view, and hotel are so great. We always then go to the gallery which has a wonderful selection of artists.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous food and amazing scenery. Just don't go too early because it was very sunny and hot so we changed our reservation from 6pm to 745pm.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

A gold mine of a restaurant. Excellent food, Stephanie our server was super friendly, knowledgeable. The view is unbelievable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Will not return. Food was average at best. Sent my dry overcooked chop back to the kitchen. Trout was nothing special. Mac and cheese was very common with lots of bread crumbs on top. Crab cakes were more mushroom filler than crab meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

A gorgeous view, a flavorful menu, and biscuits with local honey and sweet cream butter made for a perfect evening with my love.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I've been at Grove Park Inn a number of times for events, but this is the first time I've had dinner at Sunset Terrace. As a vegan I was very happy to see they now offered a vegan entree (a lentil based dish). But it was very disappointing, little taste and odd texture. Clearly the chef is not a fan of vegan dishes. The salad was excellent, as was the service, but expected more from the main course. The more casual Edison cafe in Grove Park is a much better choice for vegans, have eaten there several times. Of course I can't judge how good the non-vegan entrees are, but of course I oppose them offering animals at all.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful ambiance and great service! My husband and I were elated that there was one vegan entre on the menu, the lentil shepherd's pie. However, we were not very impressed with the dish; it was just "okay." It consisted of a bowl full of lentils, topped with butternut squash. Flavor was decent, but it was too much of same thing. We just expected more from the Grove Park Inn and for the price. The other people in our party ordered non-vegan items and said they enjoyed them. Wine was delicious.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Personalized service was great. Always addressed by name, each day we dined at the Terrace. I want to take the time to thank the staff at the Terrace, particularly AMANDA (Hostess I believe), who checked us in each time. We had a wonderful time celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Outdoor dining was great. The sun however for people eating at the edge of the upper level was very uncomfortable. Seating should be moved back to tables more under the cover during the hours of 5:00pm to 7:00pm during the summer to shield more from direct sunlight. Wait staff should ask patrons if sun is too much and offer a more shielded seating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The view is wonderful as was the food!$$$.Would come back as often as I can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Our waitress, Diane, was very attentive and accommodating. Service flowed smoothly and the food was hot and cooked perfectly. The flourless chocolate layer cake was amazing! Only negatives were the prices(really high) and the blinding sun at 6:30pm...some simple opaque roller screens should be there for this intense time of the dinner hour. That way you can still enjoy the mountain views without having to be seated way back under roof. Overall, great historical place with pretty views and nice service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Salad lacked dressing and took about 10 minutes to get staff to cure that shortcoming. Salmon salad at about $24 a pop should come with dressing on it and also a side of extra dressing just in case.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Amazing! Well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent dining experience that would allow us to enjoy great food at a place that offered a unique view of the mountains and a special place that is one of a kind in the atmosphere. We were fortunate that the Sunset Terrace provided all three and more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The view was not as good as I had hoped for as the sunset itself was blocked a little by their own building, but still a beautiful setting. The food and service were excellent. They really made us feel special, as they knew we were there for a birthday dinner. Small negative - paying $15 for the valet after spending $250 on dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The Sunset Terrace had the most gorgeous views of the mountains surrounding the city of Asheville! My girl friends and I were able to enjoy a quiet brunch with a stunning backdrop! It was truly an experience. The food was phenomenal. I had the Shrimp & Grits and was not disappointed! The portion size, flavor, and presentation was well worth the price. I even had some left ot take home and enjoy later. I highly recommend this dining experience!

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Higher end restaurant at the Omni Grove Park. After a light rain, enjoyed very good late night dining. The patio is very dark and there is not enough lighting to see the menus, nor is pen lighting offered by the wait staff. Both of us had to use cell phones.
And the wait staff could definitely have been more attentive with only a very few patrons dining.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

For this level of restaurant I'd expect much better service. 2nd time here. 1st time I had to coax specials and recommendations and descriptions out of the server. This time my wive was cut off b4 she finished her order. Both times we were rarely checked on and had empty glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

My experience there was very good! I took my boyfriend there for his birthday. We both ordered steak mine came out a little over cooked. The servers immediately took my plate and cooked me a new steak within five minutes. They were very apologetic and even gave me the sides I ordered again so they would come out hot. The service really was overall five stars. I can't wait for my next visit to Asheville so I can go back ther again!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The Terrace overlooks the valley at Grove Park Inn so you are actually eating outside, but covered. Our table was right by the overlook, although I'm not sure that diners seated further back would have as wonderful a view. Food and service were excellent. Service for drinks in the lounge before being seated was rather slow. Prices are not cheap and the dining area feels rather crowded.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Like a dream. This place was perfect for our 43rd anniversary. Tyne view of the Smokey Mountains is magical and the setting and building were amazing. We will be back next year and may even spend a night in the inn.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Extraordinary view and setting, almost breathtaking; alas, the high priced food does not measure up . Disappointing nightly special and the lobster was far overcooked. Opt for a drink and an appetizer instead of a meal

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This review is a combination of meals we had at the Sunset Terrace. I would highly recommend it for lunch. The smashed burger and lentil burger were great. The view is wonderful. The wait staff is very attentive. Our dinner meals were, however, not as good. Not as high a quality as we had hoped for our Anniversary dinner. Still enjoyed the view!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I was treating my niece to lunch to celebrate her birthday. From the minute we were greeted at the Sunset Terrace our experience was awesome! Stan, our waiter, was very gracious and definitely made us feel like he was there solely to make our experience as wonderful as possible. Our cocktail was delicious and the food was superb!! I also noticed that great attention was given to the timing of our service. We never felt rushed or like we were waiting on anything. Needless to say, I can't wait to return!

Tags: Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The view was amazing! The staff was friendly and the food was delicious!

Tags: Scenic View, Organic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We went here for a date night on our honeymoon. We were given a spectacular table with a view and complementary champagne at the end of our meal. The food was fantastic and we loved sitting by the fireplace in the lobby and walking around by the waterfalls. Such a great experience overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our waiter, Kenny, was terrific. Our dinners were delicious and creative. This was my second time dining there, and it did not disappoint.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Probably we would have given the Sunset Terrace 5s across the board, had it not been for the brusqueness of our wait-person. She did not do anything that was significantly wrong, but she seemed to be in a hurry. We don't expect that type of service in a restaurant such as the Sunset Terrace.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The place is all in the view. Although the food and service was good the meat entrees were exceedingly overpriced. The shrimp cocktail( said to be the longest standing item on menu) was exceptionally good, although the presentation could be improved. Might be a better value for lunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

View and ambiance exceptional. Food was mediocre. So not order chicken or shepherds pie.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Sunset is a Wonderful Restaurant at Omni Grove Park , Always greeted with a smile at Hostess station , and your Wait Staff , Great Menu I recommend the Lobster Cobb , But there Burger are also Very Good , great for solo visit to a group , Diane was our waitress and everything was Perfect , I do recommend reservation , and I would do them a little in advance , if you wait till the day of it , You may not be able to get a seat ,
Great Steaks and Seafood also ,

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Good food if you can afford to eat there. Each dish was at least $30 and all sides are extra.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent service and great food
Went for anniversary.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My husband and I have heard so much about the Grove Park Inn, so we decided to try it for an anniversary lunch. We marked that it was our anniversary when we reserved with open table and everyone greeted us with a sincere Happy Anniversary. The view was spectacular! The service was amazing as were the starters, main entree and dessert. They even surprised us with an additional beautiful "Happy Anniversary" dessert. From beginning to end, it was an unforgettable experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for a Date, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was only adequate. The best part were the biscuits.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Suberb view, but quality of food terrible. Had expected much better. My BLT had barely 2 pieces bacon, one thin slice lettuce and fried green tomatoe was half the size of the bread. Step it up GPI!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.