About Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn

290 Macon Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

The Sunset Terrace is an outdoor restaurant, please check the weather when joining us and dress accordingly.

Open for lunch and Dinner, Sunset Terrace is our iconic upscale, classic restaurant featuring traditional American cuisine, with an emphasis on hand cut steaks, seafood and regional favorites and an award winning wine list. Located on the outdoor terrace of the 100 year old Main Inn, enjoy breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains with a setting and experience that you will always remember.

If you would like to order flowers for your special occasion, please contact our in-house floral department by calling 800-438-5800 ext. 2046 or email gpi.floral.shop@omnihotels.com. 24 hour advance notification required.

Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch daily from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 438-5800

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/asheville-grove-park/dining/sunset-terrace

Entertainment:
Free local entertainment is available daily in The Great Hall Bar, just outside of The Sunset Terrace.

Parking Details:
Self-Parking: 0-3 hours: Complimentary│3-6 hours: $10│6-24 hours: $15

Valet: $15 for Day Guests│$22 for Overnight Guests

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
Champagne Cobbler
steak tartare
Bone In Dry Aged 18Oz New York Strip Kansas City Style
Salmon Caesar Salad
Key Lime Pie
Lobster Cobb Salad
Creme Brulee
Weekend Breakfast Buffett
Crab Club Sandwich

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Outdoor Dining
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Scenic View
Asheville / W. North Carolina
6 More
Most Booked
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Romantic
Asheville
Special Occasion
Asheville
American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Scenic View (264)
Great for Outdoor Dining (236)
Special Occasion (218)
See All
Romantic (178)
Great for Lunch (90)
Fit for Foodies (84)
Notable Wine List (60)
Good for Groups (51)
Great for Brunch (45)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Hot Spot (25)
Kid-friendly (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (7)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Healthy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful Sunset view of Asheville and t ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful Sunset view of Asheville and the mountains behind the city. Great food and atmosphere for a fun girls night out.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fish (amberjack) was fantastic. My wi ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

My fish (amberjack) was fantastic. My wife's ribeye steak was big but flavor and texture were only average as ribeyes go and not worth the cost.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing. After two attempts they s ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

Disappointing. After two attempts they still could not produce an acceptable clove of roasted garlic.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved it Dawn and Julienne (ECU girls) w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Loved it

Dawn and Julienne (ECU girls) were great--just the best--made our anniversary dinner very special.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was good, although my steak was ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was good, although my steak was lukewarm. My guest had scallops, which were good. The service was slow. The server was nice, but, I think our table was overlooked a few times. Based on the prices of the menu and the slow service, I would not recommend this restaurant. If our service was slow due to our server having too many tables, I would recommend the staffing be increased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The view is outstanding & the food was g ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The view is outstanding & the food was great. It was 90 degrees though and sooooo hot and we were miserable from the heat. So, that being said, check the weather forecast before booking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We were celebrating a Milestone birthday ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were celebrating a Milestone birthday (50) for my daughter and we were thrilled with the whole experience. Jared, our waiter could not have been more professional and hospitable. The food was delicious and the weather was perfect for being outdoors. Thank you fo all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and friend celebrated my bir ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

My daughter and friend celebrated my birthday at the Grove Park Inn!! A memorable experience in every way!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and unmatched view from o ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and unmatched view from open terrace overlooking mountains surrounding Asheville. Definitely a bucket list restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This is Jack and Gloria Bagwell's daught ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is Jack and Gloria Bagwell's daughter, Anna, who made the reservation and arranged the "date" for my 99 year old father and his 96 year old bride of 70 years. I cannot begin to express in words how grateful I am to Kurt Davis, the Sunset Terrace manager; and his gracious, gifted, and professional five star service staff who gave my parents the most enchanting, memorable and romantic evening of their lives. They greeted them at the door and preceded to treat them like royalty for a delicious, unforgettable meal including shrimp cocktail, succulent steak and trout and a special desert of cake and candies with "Congratulations" spelled out on the serving platter. When you treat people as if they were your own family in a once in a lifetime event, there are no words that can express our gratitude. Thank you, Grove Park Inn, Sean from Gemini Limousine Service, and Kurt Davis and his wonderful staff, for making our and their dreams come true! Look for more kudos on Trip Advisor, Facebook, and other venues to praise the kindness and outstanding experience you created for their 70th anniversary!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Fun, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a spectacular restaurant with a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

This is a spectacular restaurant with a spectacular view and food. Never disappointing. The service is impeccable!

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrace dining was excellent and staff w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Terrace dining was excellent and staff was very friendly and courteous. Highly recommend and will return again

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We thought the food to be quite pricey. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We thought the food to be quite pricey. Also, it was unclear that what was added to the burgers

increased the cost by $2 for each one to the final tally - interesting ploy!!! Ergo, a rather ordinary cheeseburger wound up costing $20. No wonder there was no crowd on a beautiful day.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Overall we really enjoyed the restaurant ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Overall we really enjoyed the restaurant and WOW what a view! The service was good and the waitress did a nice job. We also found a very nice bottle of wine on the list. The food was good except the steak. Both my wife and I had a steak and they came out well-done rather than medium. This is sort of a big mistake on two $40+ pieces of meat.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

View was wonderful. The service was ver ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

View was wonderful. The service was very good. The food.............average.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

I found the restaurant very good. Unfort ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I found the restaurant very good. Unfortunately I did have a large, loud group behind me so asked to have my table changed. I was graciously accommodated.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was mediocre for the price but the ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Food was mediocre for the price but the view and overall enjoyment made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The view is fantastic and the food is ve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The view is fantastic and the food is very good. The cocktails were great and very seasonal. The chef made an appearance at our table upon request. The service started off strong and then became inattentive and it was difficult to get the check.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Everyone recommended the Sunset Terrace ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Everyone recommended the Sunset Terrace at Grove Park and it did not disappoint! The view from the outside terrace was incredible. I had the bone in Ribeye and asparagus it was very good. The steak was tender, moist, and had great flavor. They tell you the sides are just enough for one, but my wife and I shared mine. If you are looking for a great Steakhouse in Asheville with views to die for, this is the place! The service was outstanding. Our server was very personable and took very good care of us. I would recommend a reservation because this is an outdoor (Covered Terrace) experience and is subject to temperature changes.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely perfect experience. The view ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Absolutely perfect experience. The view is wonderful. Food fantastic (we had strip steak and snapper special). Service completely top notch. Whether you stay at the hotel or not it's a must visit restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and attitude of the employee ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service and attitude of the employees was excellent! However, the entrees were overpriced and lacking in flavor, but the veggies/sides were well prepared and extremely tasty. You just can't beat the view!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderful time. Great food and exception ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wonderful time. Great food and exceptional service!

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we arrived a bit early for our ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Although we arrived a bit early for our 1:00pm reservation, the hostess seated us with a big smile and warm greeting. We were seated at a perfect table with a great view. The wait staff was prompt and attentative through out the service. My wife and I split a Ceaser grilled chicken salad and smoked turkey sandwich, both were delicious. Highly recommend for that special lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view and dinner was outstanding I lo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The view and dinner was outstanding I loved it and we be going back to eat there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service and were excellent and ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food and service and were excellent and the view at sunset? What can I say....amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was the most special evenings we have ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

It was the most special evenings we have ever had! I recommend it to anyone, it was a night to remember!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess rude and impolite; exhibited an ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Hostess rude and impolite; exhibited an air of superiority; turned off in the first moments. Arrived for an 8:00 reservation at 7:50..,....no warm greeting, just the comment "your reservation is for 8:00, we will seat you then" totally absurd as the seating area was not even full

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

We had 8:15pm reservations on a weeknigh ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had 8:15pm reservations on a weeknight. As expected the views were beautiful, i was concerned the food could not live up to the views, but the food tasted great.

What ruined the experience was our server and all blame goes to the management of the Omni for not providing any sort of service standards to their dining room team.

We waited 15 minutes for a server, when he arrived the 2 of us each ordered a cocktail and I ordered a bottle of wine for after the cocktails. It took another 15 minutes as we watched our waiter walking across the dining room sloshing our martinis onto his tray.

After ordering, our salads came right out, while we were eating our salads, we watched as another server or food runner brought our main course to the table and did a quick U-turn when he noticed we were still eating 1st course.

At one point I had an empty wine glass and empty water glass, I asked for more water which our server poured, but ignored the empty wine glasses.

Needless to say as soon as we put down our salad forks, our meals were immediately delivered. I finished my meal before my companion, and as soon as I did, my plate was taken away making my friend feel rushed- of course no one asked how the meal was.

The check was brought before anyone asked if we wanted coffee or dessert- I assume our waiter was in a rush to leave and so were we. There was no one at the hostess stand when we left, no one said good night, or thank you for coming or for dropping $250 on dinner for two.

One final suggestion for Omni management- get your dining room staff sone light weight attractive- breathable uniforms. The long sleeve white shirts on just about every server and bus boy were grey and dingy.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Strip steak was grilled to perfection, a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Strip steak was grilled to perfection, and the Béarnaise, which had been a disappointment previously, was back up to snuff. Creamed spinach and the mushrooms were good. Service was great, not only from our primary server, but her support staff as well. Would like to see more local meats and vegetables featured as they used to do in the past (under the Sammons').

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have been to the Grove Park Inn a numb ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I have been to the Grove Park Inn a number of times and eaten at several of the dining options there. The inn is great, historic, beautiful with incredible views but the food just isn't anything special and it is extremely expensive. There are great dining options in Asheville but it's a 15 minute drive down a winding road to get to them so if you want to eat on property the Sunset Terrace is a good option and my pork chop was good but it was $39 plus $8 ala-cart sides; my wife's fish was not good although they were happy to replace it with another fish dish that was also average; but it came quickly. The wine list is good but an equally poor value. If you are going to go have a drink at the very cool lobby bar before hand and request a table on the stone wall overlooking the mountains. The view is incredible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Overall we had an ok dinner, the view wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Overall we had an ok dinner, the view was the definitely the highlight of our night. We were celebrating our anniversary and I specifically requested a table near the edge of the dining room. I placed my reservation well in advance. When we got there we were seated in the middle of the dining room. We then realized that there was a totally empty table by the edge, we had to ask to be relocated. Next the food-Starters were average( salad, and beets) but nothing amazing, my entree of salmon was good, but my husbands filet mignon was totally overcooked and dry. He asked for medium and it was well throughout. Pretty disappointing considering the price of the steak. Dessert of creme brûlée was fine. Next time I'd skip the restaurant and have drinks by the bar below for the view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Outdoor dining with beautiful mountain f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outdoor dining with beautiful mountain foods and the food was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening. Good food, g ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a wonderful evening. Good food, good service. Excellent ambiance. Very popular so reserve early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! We had wonderful service and ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Delicious! We had wonderful service and loved the gluten free rolls with honey butter.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service, great food, nice setting. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Good service, great food, nice setting. Have dine there before and would go back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Crabcake sandwich is excellent! Can't be ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Crabcake sandwich is excellent! Can't beat the view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GOOD VIEW, GOOD FOOD, GOOD SERVICE. WINE ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

GOOD VIEW, GOOD FOOD, GOOD SERVICE.

WINE WAS A LITTLE PRICEY FOR A LUNCH MENU

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

There isn't a better place to have an ex ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

There isn't a better place to have an excellent meal with a spectacular view of the mountains than the Sunset Terrace Restaurant at the Grove Park Inn. This is the second summer we have joined our friends to have lunch there. It's much more than a dining experience. It's a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The view is not comparable anywhere else ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The view is not comparable anywhere else in town! We chose Sunset Terrace strictly for this reason and to enjoy a wonderful meal before leaving Asheville. My only complaint was that it took 30 minutes for a waitress to check on us after giving us water and given that we sat at 8:30p, I was already starving and starting to get a bit grumpy. Once our order was placed it was smooth. Food was great and we enjoyed a bottle of wine with dinner. A bit pricey but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was slow !

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Service was slow !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.