About Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn

290 Macon Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

The Sunset Terrace is an outdoor restaurant, please check the weather when joining us and dress accordingly.

Open for lunch and Dinner, Sunset Terrace is our iconic upscale, classic restaurant featuring traditional American cuisine, with an emphasis on hand cut steaks, seafood and regional favorites and an award winning wine list. Located on the outdoor terrace of the 100 year old Main Inn, enjoy breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains with a setting and experience that you will always remember.

If you would like to order flowers for your special occasion, please contact our in-house floral department by calling 800-438-5800 ext. 2046 or email gpi.floral.shop@omnihotels.com. 24 hour advance notification required.

Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch daily from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 438-5800

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/asheville-grove-park/dining/sunset-terrace

Entertainment:
Free local entertainment is available daily in The Great Hall Bar, just outside of The Sunset Terrace.

Parking Details:
Self-Parking: 0-3 hours: Complimentary│3-6 hours: $10│6-24 hours: $15

Valet: $15 for Day Guests│$22 for Overnight Guests

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
Champagne Cobbler
steak tartare
Bone In Dry Aged 18Oz New York Strip Kansas City Style
Salmon Caesar Salad
Key Lime Pie
Lobster Cobb Salad
Creme Brulee
Crab Club Sandwich
Weekend Breakfast Buffett

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Outdoor Dining
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Scenic View
Asheville / W. North Carolina
6 More
Most Booked
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Romantic
Asheville
Special Occasion
Asheville
American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

scenic view (192)
great for outdoor dining (175)
special occasion (166)
See All
romantic (143)
great for lunch (69)
fit for foodies (65)
good for groups (45)
notable wine list (42)
great for brunch (41)
neighborhood gem (32)
hot spot (25)
kid-friendly (11)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (7)
Sort By:
Newest
1406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sunset Terrace is not only set in a ...

Dined 5 days ago

The Sunset Terrace is not only set in a beautiful historic hotel but the view from the dining area is second to none. Prior to or after dinning there are terraces down the from the dining area where you can have a drink or appetizer and enjoy the amazing view. There is a bar area indoors and plenty of seating in the lobby if the weather is not cooperating. Two grand fireplaces flank the lobby that are truly a site to see when the fires are blazing. I have been coming here for six years annually. In that time the hotel has experienced changes. At least once I was not satisfied with my dining experience. All seems well today. The service was impeccable and the food was amazing. A quick note to possible drawbacks- Parking can be a bit of an issue at times. Valet completely closed forcing you to park in one of the many lots and either walking to the hotel or riding a shuttle. Overcrowding due to conventions and weddings are common these days. Be patient and try and arrive early. The drive up is beautiful, the extra time will not be wasted and ENJOY!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was less than desirable. Steak did ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was less than desirable. Steak didn't have much taste and trout was overdone. Great views but not sure if the view was worth the 'not so good' food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a stunning view and a treat for o ...

Dined 5 days ago

Always a stunning view and a treat for out of town guests. All of our meals were exquisite! Very excellent service!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Patricio was our waiter. He was excellen ...

Dined 6 days ago

Patricio was our waiter. He was excellent. Professional, kind, interesting and guided us to enjoy delicious meals!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic view and outstanding food. Ten ...

Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic view and outstanding food. Tender steaks cooked perfectly, excellent service. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my best friend to lunch to cel ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

I brought my best friend to lunch to celebrate her birthday. We both live locally. We loved our lunch and the shops. I didn't love paying $15 to valet park for two hours, plus tip. It was a bit of a zoo because of the tourists, which was expected, therefore, no convenient parking available for us. It was a unanimous vote to wait til November to go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service!! Great view!

Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent service!! Great view!

food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful setting, good food, fantastic ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Wonderful setting, good food, fantastic service, amazing views.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food, service, seating selection and ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

The food, service, seating selection and view exceeded my expectations when I selected this restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

git yer wallet out ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

git yer wallet out !

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous experience! Excellent food. Gr ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Fabulous experience! Excellent food. Great way to celebrate our anniversary!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the richest gems of ashville. Gre ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

One of the richest gems of ashville. Great view, quiet romantic. Very professional attentive staff and although on the higher end of The price scale well worth it !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely view overlooking the Asheville ar ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Lovely view overlooking the Asheville area and surrounding mountains. Various menu choices including a couple of vegetarian selections. Server was knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, view was superb, se ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Food was delicious, view was superb, service was outstanding.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Never visit Asheville without going to o ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Never visit Asheville without going to one meal at The Sunset Terrace. In 20 years haven't been disappointed....

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It had one night left in Asheville and w ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

It had one night left in Asheville and wanted to see the Grove Park Inn at sunset. Even though it was Father's Day we were able to get an 8:45 reservation. We arrived early for a drink and got seated at 7:15! The view is magnificent. I husbands file was perfect and the scallops were excellent. Enjoyed the strawberry rhubarb pie with strawberry shortcake ice cream for dessert. Our only complaint was how slow the valet parking was and it cost $15. We waited at least ten minutes or more to get the car, and it was not busy.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Beautiful view Anand great service. Food ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautiful view Anand great service. Food was good, but expensive!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been to this place before with f ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We have been to this place before with family. I wanted to have my Birthday dinner and it was exceptional. I can not wait to return.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my child's 21st birthday. Our wai ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It was my child's 21st birthday. Our waiter made it very special for her. Food was excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Booked a reservation through open table ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Booked a reservation through open table for 8pm in June. We had drinks on the terrace before dinner and watched the full sunset over the mountains. Truly a wonderful experience! 10/10 would recommend!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing view and a great special occassi ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing view and a great special occassion place i found their wind prices on the high side

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Way too busy/hectic for a romantic date ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Way too busy/hectic for a romantic date night! I doubt that we'll ever go back because we remember the environment to be very cozy and elegant. Now it seems like a Disney cruise scene. Maybe due to the Omni affiliation.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was absolutely amazing for ou ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This place was absolutely amazing for our anniversary dinner. So romantic, So beautiful, and the best steaks we have ever had!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is always very good here. It i ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is always very good here. It is expensive, but you are paying for the setting. The view of the mountains and the Asheville skyline is quite beautiful and worth the cost. Wait staff always very attentive. Highly recommended for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The food was disappointing for the price ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was disappointing for the price you pay. The food was not tasty as you would anticipate from the description of the menu. Every thing is ala carte and not worth the price. Service was not outstanding and our party felt rushed to get through our meal. I would not recommend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never had bad experience here...food fan ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Never had bad experience here...food fantastic so is service

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Chef simply doesn't get it. Food is blan ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Chef simply doesn't get it. Food is bland and tasteless. Fish was overlooked and dry. Veggies had no season at all. Spent $500 on a miserable dinner. At least the wine and views were good and saved the evening!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted my grandson and his girlfriend ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I wanted my grandson and his girlfriend to experience dining at Grove Park Inn. It was a beautiful day and we enjoyed! I have taken daughters, friends and other grandchildren for the experience. I am so glad I can share this with people I love.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Great place but you definitely pay for i ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great place but you definitely pay for it. The food was perfect. Staff was perfect. Tables to close together.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The great view and biscuits that cane wi ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The great view and biscuits that cane with all meals

food5
ambience5
service5

The view was breath taking, food was ama ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The view was breath taking, food was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our reservation was at 8:30. As we sat ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Our reservation was at 8:30. As we sat down the sun was setting and the view was absolutely beautiful! As a starter we tried the Bison meatballs as something different. They were very tasty and I would recommend them as opposed to the same old ho-hum app. For the main course, I had the buttered scallops with the vegetable succotash which was unbelievable! My boyfriend had the special which as a Wagyu Ribeye (melt in your mouth delish) paired with creamed spinach and the twice baked potato, which he raved. The waiters are super friendly and service was great! I highly recommend the Sunset Terrace. You will not be disappointed!

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the beet salad and the seafood tow ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Loved the beet salad and the seafood tower! Definitely recommend Sunset Terrace!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely meal, the food was delic ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a lovely meal, the food was delicious and the service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty at the Terrace

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food and the service at the Sunset Terrace were excellent. We celebrated our wedding anniversary and it was our third time eating there. It was top notch and we would definitely recommend it to others.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Over all we very much enjoyed our meal o ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Over all we very much enjoyed our meal on the terrace. However their award winning wine list left a lot to be desired. I am not quite sure how you can have a wine list that does not list what vintage the wine is! I have absolutely never seen that before. And there were very few French and Italian wines. My husband was very disappointed as he really enjoys the process of selecting a wine with our dinner. If wine is important to you you may want to rethink coming to the Terrace for dinner.

food3
ambience5
service4

Too bad there is a building blocking the ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Too bad there is a building blocking the sunset.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing views and equally great service. ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Amazing views and equally great service. Good food - well worth the splurge for such a wonderful experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is always my "go to" date night spot.

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

This is always my "go to" date night spot. You can't get a better view in Asheville.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time at Sunset Terrace with Friend ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Great time at Sunset Terrace with Friends , Brad our server very good as all servers are at sunset , there was 6 of us and everyone had something different , And all came out perfect . When in Asheville Omni is place to come

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.