Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn

Open for lunch and Dinner, Sunset Terrace is our iconic upscale, classic restaurant featuring traditional American cuisine, with an emphasis on hand cut steaks, seafood and regional favorites and an award winning wine list. Located on the outdoor terrace of the 100 year old Main Inn, enjoy breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains with a setting and experience that you will always remember.

If you would like to order flowers for your special occasion, please contact our in-house floral department by calling 800-438-5800 ext. 2046 or email gpi.floral.shop@omnihotels.com. 24 hour advance notification required.

Reservations are recommended.

290 Macon Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open daily for lunch from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Open nightly for dinner from 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 438-5800

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/asheville-grove-park/dining/sunset-terrace

Entertainment:
Free local entertainment is available daily in The Great Hall Bar, just outside of The Sunset Terrace.

Parking Details:
2017 Parking Rates:
Self-Parking: 0-3 hours: Complimentary│3-6 hours: $10│6-24 hours: $15
Day Valet: $15│Overnight Valet: $22

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (131)
Great for Outdoor Dining (114)
Special Occasion (90)
See All
Romantic (84)
Good for Anniversaries (75)
Good for a Date (72)
Worth the Drive (61)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Historic (34)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Local Ingredients (31)
Seasonal (31)
Notable Wine List (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Sunday Lunch (23)
People Watching (23)
Casual (23)
Fun (22)
Cozy (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Authentic (17)
Great for Brunch (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Fireplace (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Healthy (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Live Music (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Organic (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great Beer (4)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1864 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a uniquely beautiful setting. The staff was very considerate and made our anniversary memorable. As locals, we will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent dinner! Ralph was our server and he was fabulous. Highly recommend for a nice evening out.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic venue. The view is memorable. The food while very good is quite pricey. However, a big part of it is the ambiance. Could not afford to eat there often but well worth it on a special occasion .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic, creative cocktails. Delicious sides. Excellent steak. Can't miss!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

Was there with my husband a couple years ago and took my mother for her birthday this time. So disappointed with the food! The beet salad was tasty but not appetizing looking and had no fresh greens on the plate. The crab cake had a off taste about it with refrigerated tomato on the plate. My mother's burger was not special at all!!! Looked like something from any other burger place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

We came to Sunset for our Anniversary Dinner and were overwhelmed at the service and views of the Mountains

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place to take visitors especially when the weather is good. One of us was gluten-free and was provided with alternatives for a nice lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

I was very disappointed. I ordered the lobster cobb salad and it was almost inedible. The ingredients, especially the lobster, did not seem fresh. The salad was very large--enough for two or three people-- with little thought to presentation. A pre-prepared salad in an airport or hospital would have been better. I hope the Omni Grove Park Sunset Terrace will attempt to upgrade their cuisine to the wonderful, fresh, farm to table food available in so many Asheville restaurants and to which we have become accustomed. Perhaps they could associate with one of the renowned local restaurants.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful food and attentive service with one of the best restaurant views in the country! Highly recommend for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 21, 2017

What an amazing view!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Beautiful view, reason alone to dine here. Food was good, prepared well, presented nicely but not much different than many other nice restaurants. Staff were all very friendly and attentive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 19, 2017

My wife who turned 60 + and I were enjoying a beautiful lunch in The Sunset Terrace! Our server was spectacular, knowledgeable and very informative with the menu selections!! Please acknowledge this young and professional employee, as she was outstanding!!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Beautiful setting with gorgeous views. Stephanie was an excellent server!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

As great as the Sunset Terrace is, it is severely overpriced!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food, service and ambiance is great. A must for sunsets with a meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Beautiful place with disappointing food, as you might expect at a big chain hotel. Asheville has many good restaurants. This is not one of them.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Bad service, people not trained for that expensive value

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The food and service hreat, the view Amazing!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The best- great view and food- eat there often when we wish to spend a buck.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The scenery is amazing. When we visited, the food was great but took a long time. The wine list was not expansive, but we were able to pick a bottle we liked.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent Service!!! We had two Birthday celebrations and we got an outstanding Birthday dessert. It was a beautiful evening so we sat out on the deck... The view is Spectacular!!!!
Great Time

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The food was absolutely outstanding but be prepared to pay a lot of money for food and drinks for two people. The view was breathtaking. All the staff were friendly and even the people at the next table were fantastic to chat with. We loved this place.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This was a girls trip. Two of us (myself Included) had been to the Grove Park for dinner several times in years past. We had raved to our other friends what a wonderful experience we had in the past eating on the terrace and how wonderful the food was. Made the reservation way in advance.
How disappointing when we saw the current menu. Unless you wanted steak your selection was very limited. Everything ala carte. No specials. We all decided to order the scallops, to be told by the waiter they didnt have that item, they had sold out over the weekend and would not get another delivery till the next day(Tuesday). I asked about the buffet in the other restaurant ,that was not open. After much deliberation we decided to stay and make the best of it. The waiter had no personality and definitely did not try to make out meal enjoyable. Two of us ordered the yellow fin tuna, one the trout, and one the salmon. We all agreed the fish had little taste. There was not a good selection of sides for fish .mashed potatoes, baked potato, etc.. was what they had. I asked the waiter could we get the sides that came with the scallops which was a risoto mixed with veggies. He reluctantly said yes. Price for Wine by the glass was what you would pay for the bottle in the liquor store. Our bill each was $79 for a meal that would have been better at Red Lobster. Also Valet parking for two hours was $15 not counting the valets tip.
So sad.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We were here on our honeymoon. The view is breathtaking! The food and the service was top notch. This is an evening everyone should experienc!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We have had the good fortune to eat in fine restaurants in a number of U.S. states and other countries. The Sunset Terrace ranks among the best of them for its food, service, courtesy of the staff, and setting. My wife and I were thoroughly impressed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had a great time at the Sunset Terrace. The food is good - I wouldn't go there just for the food though. Of course it is the location and the *view!* We sat out on the terrace and saw the sunset, then walked around the whole place afterwards, taking in the furniture, history, different bars and places to sit, etc.
I'd go here for a special occasion only, because I am on a more limited budget. If you have the money, go for a special night. The service was really great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We came for our first night in Asheville for our honeymoon. Andre took care of us and he was amazing with his service and suggestions and made the night perfect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Our group of 4 came in for a post-wedding lunch for the Bride & Groom. The view was spectacular, the grounds themselves breathtaking. I wasn't overly impressed with either the food or our server; what I WAS impressed with was the architecture and expanse of the premises, how we were greeted, and one woman in particular Rebecca who for me made our afternoon. Everything I asked she had a thorough answer for, she was eager to help, she was excited for the Newlyweds and respectful to the Groom (he's a Marine); I would literally go back to sit with the view, either inside or outside, alone or with friends to enjoy the Omni (& Rebecca's service) again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Fantastic view of Asheville from the terrace. One of the best things to do in Asheville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We spent 2 out of 4 dinners at this restaurant. It's definitely worth it.
I can say nothing but compliments toward this place, its food, service, scene, atmosphere, what-so-ever.
We will definitely come back and next time, make sure to stay for a week.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Sumptuous Shrimp and Grits!
My first and favorite dish so far. It's what I ordered again during this, my 2nd year visiting.

It's a rave review from this Northern Woman-my first taste of this southern dish. There were many flavors coming through and it's a comfort type food. Very filling.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Beautiful view and very good service. Our waiter was attentive and fun.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Delightful combination of view, food, and ambience. And the service was superb.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Awesome experience. Christine was a wonderful server, very knowledgeable about the menu and helpful recommendations. View was fantastic.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Service and food were superb. Reservation was honored as soon as we arrived.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at the Bistro after spending a really nice afternoon at the Biltmore then a wine tasting. We shared the brie, had a salad and shared an entree and glass of the Reserve Malbec. We sat outside and enjoyed the cooler weather.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 7, 2017

As usual the food was outstanding. Out steak and salmon were delicious.

The waiter was knowledgeable about the options for a diner with celiac disease including which of the steak sauces would work. Without our asking he brought out gluten free rolls and offered gluten free dessert options.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Beautiful scenic view, excellent service, delicious food

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Poor experience. Competing music. Server had too many tables. All food was over cooked...2 filet mignons and a salmon dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Food and service was excellent!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.