About Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn

290 Macon Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

The Sunset Terrace is an outdoor restaurant, please check the weather when joining us and dress accordingly.

Open for lunch and Dinner, Sunset Terrace is our iconic upscale, classic restaurant featuring traditional American cuisine, with an emphasis on hand cut steaks, seafood and regional favorites and an award winning wine list. Located on the outdoor terrace of the 100 year old Main Inn, enjoy breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains with a setting and experience that you will always remember.

If you would like to order flowers for your special occasion, please contact our in-house floral department by calling 800-438-5800 ext. 2046 or email gpi.floral.shop@omnihotels.com. 24 hour advance notification required.

Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch daily from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 438-5800

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/asheville-grove-park/dining/sunset-terrace

Entertainment:
Free local entertainment is available daily in The Great Hall Bar, just outside of The Sunset Terrace.

Parking Details:
Self-Parking: 0-3 hours: Complimentary│3-6 hours: $10│6-24 hours: $15

Valet: $15 for Day Guests│$22 for Overnight Guests

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
steak tartare
Bone In Dry Aged 18Oz New York Strip Kansas City Style
Champagne Cobbler
Salmon Caesar Salad
Key Lime Pie
Lobster Cobb Salad
Creme Brulee
Crab Club Sandwich
Weekend Breakfast Buffett

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Outdoor Dining
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
7 More
Scenic View
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Romantic
Asheville
Special Occasion
Asheville
American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

scenic view (246)
great for outdoor dining (221)
special occasion (206)
See All
romantic (175)
great for lunch (88)
fit for foodies (79)
notable wine list (57)
good for groups (52)
great for brunch (47)
neighborhood gem (34)
hot spot (28)
kid-friendly (15)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (9)
Sort By:
Newest
1453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sana was our server. She was well-infor ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 2 days ago

Sana was our server. She was well-informed, fun and attentive. We really enjoyed the ambiance and the food. Get the creamed spinach and NY Strip. Watch out for the addictive biscuits with local butter and honey. Also, make sure to get a table against the edge for an amazing view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary and this was our 3rd night dining at Open Table's top 3 for Asheville and would have to rate our meal #1 of the three and the view was spectacular. Our waiter and his staff were very attentive to all of our needs and request and made it a memorable evening! The Terrace definitely deserves its ranking!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Start to finish, an exceptional dining e ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

Start to finish, an exceptional dining experience! Perfect setting for celebrating my wife's birthday... The entire meal was prepared and served with excellence in an unhurried, relaxing atmosphere. My wife had the Crab chowder...rich & delicious! We shared the fresh sliced Tomato & Mozzarella with Basil salad and the Roasted Beet salad; both were amazing! She had the Lobster tail (...hey! It's your birthday..! Celebrate!) and it was the best we'd had anywhere outside of Maine...moist, tasty & succulent...and of course; perfectly prepared. I had the Faroe Isle Salmon which was also out of this world! We shared perfectly done asparagus and a half of a loaded double-baked potato...we ordered way too much food and consequently were too full to even consider one of their (tempting) desserts. All in all...it was an exceptional evening...and with our table at the terrace rail, we were able to enjoy another spectacular Asheville sunset! Our waiter, Dan, did a wonderful job of choreographing the pace of our meal so that we never felt rushed...nor did we ever feel neglected. Each dish was served right on time and at the perfect temperature. We would definitely dine here again...not an inexpensive place for a meal ...but you definitely get to enjoy a top shelf dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our 75th birthdays w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating our 75th birthdays with 5 high school friends. We came from Cary, N.C., Sarasota Fla., and Cincinnati, where we all went to school. We totally enjoyed the view and the food. I was so pleased that the others so enjoyed being there.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I went there for my birthday lunch and h ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 4 days ago

I went there for my birthday lunch and had a wonderful experience. I had the lobster salad which was very good and for dessert they brought me a lovely dessert of three macaroons on carmel sauce, blackberries and happy birthday written in chocolate.

Very special and good view if you look to your side. Our server, Stan, was great!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Andrei was our server and he was phenon ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Andrei was our server and he was phenonminal! Very attentive and charming! We are New Yorkers from the city and very particular about food and service! All was excellent! The Porterhouse was among the best I've ever had. So happy that over the years the quality has only improved! Can't wait to come back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I live next door to the Sunset Terrace. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

I live next door to the Sunset Terrace. I loved it when it was the GPI, it has changed. We both ordered a lobster tail which was tough and chewy. I ordered a salad which was ver good and my granddaughter ordered a filet and said it was very good. What bothered me most was their attitude, it was to each his own. I told them I love lobster tail and this was not good. The manager came over and I asked if they had any complaints, her response was no not at all. Wonder how many just don't like to complain. I rarely ever return anything and I was surprised at their reaction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

The view was fantastic! Our waiter was f ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The view was fantastic! Our waiter was friendly & provided great service! Really enjoyed the food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food but be prepared to spend ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very good food but be prepared to spend more than average. With 2 drinks each, two apps, meal and a shared dessert, my wife and I spent about $250. The food was very good and we left full. I would recommend going for a special occasion as it is a beautiful facility and a great view. We were lucky enough to get a table on the rail but it would not have been as romantic if we had a table deeper into the porch and view obstructed by other diners.

As to the food: the bison meatball appetizer as well as the roasted beets were both winners and the scallops were perfectly tender and buttery. I had a bite of my wife's steak and wasn't wowed but she loved it and thought the loaded potato side was the best potato she had eaten in years. The dessert was just so so but it could be that we were just too full to enjoy.

Service was just right with us never lacking a refill yet not feeling hovered over either.

Would defiantly recommend for special occasion or a one time splurge

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, with great service. It was ty ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good food, with great service. It was typical steakhouse fare with a view.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

there are not enough superlatives for th ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

there are not enough superlatives for the Sun Terrace at the Grove Park Inn

everything was perfect

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

NYC prices with substantially less quali ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

NYC prices with substantially less quality - you pay for the view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

If you are looking for a complete dining ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

If you are looking for a complete dining experience, then this place is it. Not only does it have a beautiful view of the Asheville area, but it has the type of wonderful food and service you would expect at a nice restaurant. So this place is inside the Omni Hotel so you will have to park in the hotel's garage but the nice thing is that you can park for up to 3 hours for free. Now on to the restaurant! First off, while the dining area is covered, it is outdoors so do make sure you check the weather and dress accordingly. When you walk out to the dining area the first thing you notice is that spectacular view of the mountains and downtown Asheville in the distance. I sat down and my server came up almost immediately and took my order. I went with the NY Strip with the signature steak sauce and the fingerling potatoes. Keep in mind this place is Al-a-carte so everything is separate, however when you order a steak the sauce is included. After placing my order, they brought two warm and flaky rolls with a plate of butter drizzled with honey and some black pepper. The rolls were wonderful and the butter and honey just made them that much better. After being mesmerized by the view and the activity around me, my food was served. It smelled divine so I wasted no time diving in. The steak was exceptional and it was what you expect when you pay that kind of money. I was able to cut through it with no problem and the flavor was amazing. The steak sauce had a hint of sweetness to it but was the perfect topping for it. The potatoes were amazing and had a great seasoning and I couldn't stop eating them. After I had devoured my meal, I still had enough room for dessert so I went with the crème Brule. if you are looking for a great place to dine out in the Asheville area this is it. While it is a bit more expensive, it is worth every penny so splurge a little.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Sunset Terrace is a regular establis ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The Sunset Terrace is a regular establishment that my wife and I enjoy greatly. Have never had a bad experience in twenty plus years. It is one of the crown jewels with the Asheville area. Will continue to frequent this wonderful place as long as Sun doth shine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and views were wonderful. Great way ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food and views were wonderful. Great way to celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there to enjoy the view on a specia ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Went there to enjoy the view on a special birthday. Lunch was delicious and it was a great day.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I cannot say enough about our dining exp ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I cannot say enough about our dining experience at Sunset Terrace. The service and interactions with the dining staff were beyond expectations. from our greeting by the hostess, journey to our table, servers and our waitress. Each was welcoming, polite and seemed genuinely happy that we had come to Sunset Terrace. The food was delicious, and beautifully presented. We also enjoyed very much the small jazz trio and their music that wafted through the waiting and dining area. It was truly a wonderful experience. We will indeed be back and share our experience with others!

Kiersten

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great great great fish and steaks, beau ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great great great fish and steaks, beautiful view of the mountains

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

David May was particularly outstanding i ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

David May was particularly outstanding in customer service. Give this guy a raise.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Premises are outstanding with gorgeous v ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Premises are outstanding with gorgeous views. Food excellent and service impeccable. Problem management allowed VERY Noisy conference on outer patio . The MC used a MEGA PHONE which boomed over the entire patio and grounds. It was inexcusable !!! Expensive entrees which should not have been ruined with such noise. Terrible.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

The Terrace Restaurant is a place to go ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The Terrace Restaurant is a place to go if you want a relaxed atmosphere with a stunning view. The food wasn't anything out of the ordinary - except expensive, but the view can't be beat.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The Sunset Terrace at the Grove Park Inn ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The Sunset Terrace at the Grove Park Inn is one of our favorite places to go. They have an extensive wine list and great service. Mandy was our waitress and she was spectacular. I would recommend it for any occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Made a reservation on Open Table. The h ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Made a reservation on Open Table. The hostess could not find it!!! I showed her the reservation on my phone, still could not find it! We were seated, as it was early. It was VERY warm, and the setting sun made the heat even worse. They continued to seat people in the sun, and watch them complain. I felt awful for the servers, it must be miserable in slacks and an apron in the summer heat. Our server was wonderful, food was good, valet parking was crazy expensive $15.00!! The valet has to wear slacks too, I would have considered Bermuda shorts to make them more comfortable running for cars in the heat. Would visit again, but during cooler months!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

This place has good food and service wit ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This place has good food and service with an amazing view of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Unfortunately, it is seriously over priced, which is, I suspect, why there were far more empty tables than occupied ones.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The view is great and fun to watch the s ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The view is great and fun to watch the sunset. Overall the food and wine were great. Was slightly disappointed in the service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent atmosphere, great service and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent atmosphere, great service and good food. The food wasn't completely worth the price, but the ambiance and experience always make it special. Extensive wine list.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The view is amazing!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The view is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, service and scenic view are al ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food, service and scenic view are always excellent at Sunset Terrace. I have eaten there several times over the years and it is my favorite of all the dining options at Grove Park Inn. I highly recommend it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner and service was good. The SUN set ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Dinner and service was good. The SUN set Terrece was nice but if your going to see the SUNSET at dinner this is not the place to be. Although voted the best spots to see SUNSET in Asheville the SUN SETS behind the right of Terrace. A little disappointing for SUNSET chasers while celebrating Anniversary Dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best view for a nice dinner in Asheville ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Best view for a nice dinner in Asheville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! Fantastic food! And breat ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great service! Fantastic food! And breathtaking view ! Enjoyed every minute of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience at Sunset Terrace ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our dining experience at Sunset Terrace was superb. Our server was excellent - friendly and attentive. The food was delicious but of course the best part was the incredible view. One recommendation for future guests: the seats on the edge (with the best view) will get very hot in the early evening summer sun if it's a warm day (we visited while it was in the upper 80s). Seats closer to the building will be shaded by the overhang. They advise to dress appropriately for the weather and this is a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I was mischarged on two occasions: once ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I was mischarged on two occasions: once when the menu price conflicted with the receipt (at the bar) and again when the waitress added an additional $2 tip to my overall bill. It would've been romantic but we had a crying kid next to us.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

A special experience for a special occas ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A special experience for a special occasion. Kudos to the Grove Park Inn!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

So the Terrace is a great place for spec ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

So the Terrace is a great place for special occasions - in this case was a wedding anniversary. It is a bit expensive for the food but it is the view that makes this spot unique. You never quite know if it will be too hot or cloudy but you take your chances. The food is always good but not quite exceptional but hard to say why. Filet was cooked perfect. Caesar salad great (enough to share). I recommend everyone eat here at least once for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The foods pretty good, not amazing given ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The foods pretty good, not amazing given that you are paying 40-50 just for the main course. Sides cost another 8-10 bucks. Service is excellent as it is an expensive place to eat. Views are terrific of course, and we enjoyed our dinner quite a bit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our experience was one of the best overa ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our experience was one of the best overall dining experiences. There is not a single thing that we were disappointed about. We were very pleased with every aspect.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food over cooked and pricey. Took too lo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food over cooked and pricey. Took too long to bring replacements. Too dark after sundown to actually see your meal.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We enjoyed the evening very much bd the ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We enjoyed the evening very much bd the service was great

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food friendly and warm staff T ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Wonderful food friendly and warm staff

Terrific views

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.