About Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn

290 Macon Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

The Sunset Terrace is an outdoor restaurant, please check the weather when joining us and dress accordingly.

Open for lunch and Dinner, Sunset Terrace is our iconic upscale, classic restaurant featuring traditional American cuisine, with an emphasis on hand cut steaks, seafood and regional favorites and an award winning wine list. Located on the outdoor terrace of the 100 year old Main Inn, enjoy breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains with a setting and experience that you will always remember.

If you would like to order flowers for your special occasion, please contact our in-house floral department by calling 800-438-5800 ext. 2046 or email gpi.floral.shop@omnihotels.com. 24 hour advance notification required.

Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch daily from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 438-5800

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/asheville-grove-park/dining/sunset-terrace

Entertainment:
Free local entertainment is available daily in The Great Hall Bar, just outside of The Sunset Terrace.

Parking Details:
Self-Parking: 0-3 hours: Complimentary│3-6 hours: $10│6-24 hours: $15

Valet: $15 for Day Guests│$22 for Overnight Guests

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn, Asheville, NC
Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn, Asheville, NC
Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn, Asheville, NC
Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn, Asheville, NC
Champagne Cobbler - Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn, Asheville, NC
Salmon Caesar Salad - Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn, Asheville, NC
Key Lime Pie - Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn, Asheville, NC
Lobster Cobb Salad - Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn, Asheville, NC
steak tartare - Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn, Asheville, NC
Bone In Dry Aged 18Oz New York Strip Kansas City Style - Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn, Asheville, NC
Creme Brulee - Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn, Asheville, NC
Weekend Breakfast Buffett - Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn, Asheville, NC
Crab Club Sandwich - Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn, Asheville, NC

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Outdoor Dining
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Scenic View
Asheville / Western North Carolina
5 More
Most Booked
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Special Occasion
Asheville
American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Scenic View (173)
Great for Outdoor Dining (150)
Special Occasion (133)
See All
Romantic (118)
Good for a Date (105)
Good for Anniversaries (93)
Historic (85)
Worth the Drive (60)
Good for Birthdays (60)
Great for Lunch (54)
Seasonal (42)
Notable Wine List (38)
Casual (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Local Ingredients (33)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Fun (27)
Cozy (25)
Authentic (24)
Business Meals (22)
People Watching (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Fireplace (16)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Healthy (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Great Beer (6)
Live Music (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Organic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1670 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely lunch on outside terrace with vie ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Lovely lunch on outside terrace with view of mountains! Exceptionally warm day for November, great crab cake sandwich, lovely wine!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Grove Park for my stepdad's b ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We went to Grove Park for my stepdad's birthday and I was amazed by the view and food. The smoke from the mountains had finally risen and we had an amazing view of the fall colors. We all their famous Bloody Mary's and the lobster Cobb. Both were fantastic! I will say that the Cobb is huge so if you plan on ordering more food I would split it, but I took it home and had for a snack and it was still delightful. We were all very full and happy when we left.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just beautiful view and outstanding food

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Just beautiful view and outstanding food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely stunning view, food and servi ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Absolutely stunning view, food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing (although slightly ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was amazing (although slightly pricey). Menu was not super adventurous, mostly salads and sandwiches. I had the crab cake sandwich and the wife had the Veggie burger, both were delicious and perfectly prepared. The view is definitely what makes this place. Looking out across the terraces of the Grove Park Inn and the surrounding hillside it has one of the most breathtaking views I've seen. The service is exemplary (as was the service in the entire hotel) definitely earning its place as a very eccentric and luxurious resort.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gorgeous setting even at night! There we ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Gorgeous setting even at night! There were heaters on the terrace so the temperature was very comfortable despite the cold weather. Our server Darren was very courteous and very attentive. The food was delicious and the cocktails as well. We will definitely come here again next time we visit Asheville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Great experience! We have been before bu ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great experience! We have been before but it had been a few years since we'd dined at Sunset Terrace. The evening was beautiful and our server, Dan was top -notch!

Thanks so much for a great meal & evening!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best ambiances I've ever seen ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

One of the best ambiances I've ever seen in a restaurant, if not the very best ever! Phenomenal view! Unique architecture! Amazing & takes your breathe away!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My filet was ordered as medium and serve ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My filet was ordered as medium and served as well done. My date's ribeye was ordered as medium and served as medium rare. It was his first visit to the restaurant and I was kind of embarrassed that I had built it up so much for the great food. Very disappointing. I have visited the Sunset Grill about 4-5 times and love the ambience. However, our $175+ bill seemed very high for food that was not cooked how we ordered it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We had reservations for our 15th anniver ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had reservations for our 15th anniversary, but I was disappointed by the location of our table. There was an available table with a view, but we were seated in the middle surrounded

by other tables. It was impossible to have an intimate dinner with the loud conversations

surrounding us.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This was our first time dining at Sunset ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This was our first time dining at Sunset Terrace in many years. It was still a very beautiful setting for dinner. Service was exceptional and the food was good. VERY pricey but you are paying for the Grove Park! Steak(s) were all good but overcooked for what was ordered. Scallops were also ordered. The ambiance is so great you seem to don't mind paying such high prices for something you can eat just as well at other local restaurants. The noise level is not actually that loud but the acoustics outside make it to where you can almost not hear yourself talk, and certainly not what the server has to say. You would think this would be a place for good conversation but your voices seem to get lost, being that you are outside. Beautiful evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The view wA incredible and the service w ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The view wA incredible and the service was top notch. It was the beginning of our vacation and set the tone for the weekend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical mountain view- filet was superb- ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Magical mountain view- filet was superb- Excellent wine list- server was fabulous!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a fabulous dinner. Beautiful night, ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Such a fabulous dinner. Beautiful night, amazing food. Couldn't have had a better honeymoon dinner, such a special place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mostly a Steak restaurant. It is overloo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Mostly a Steak restaurant. It is overlooking one of the most beautiful spots in NC. The service is excellent. The food is very good. I had a filet mignon with carmalized mushrooms. It was very good. Not the best steak I have ever had but very good. Since this was a special occasion our 40th wedding anniversary, they brought a tray of 3 French macaroons on the house. A nice surprise.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The best view at a restaurant in Ashevil ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The best view at a restaurant in Asheville. The food is very good, but not incredible. It would be better if the menu included more versatile vegetable choices The broccolini was like eating stems and weeds with butter. Go here for a beautiful view and relaxing meal.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This place has the most awesome view. Th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This place has the most awesome view. The staff were friendly and experienced. The atmosphere was great. Food prices are too high though. $40 for a pork chop with no sides. We really wanted steak but it was $60 with no sides. Even though our company was picking up the tab, we felt that spending that much for steak was unwise. We opted for the pork chop which was yummy - again though, $40?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The tables were too close together to en ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The tables were too close together to enjoy a quiet conversation.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow - what a perfect location on a perfe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Wow - what a perfect location on a perfect Autumn evening! Excellent food and a great view. Service all over NC is a bit slow and it was here as well, but not a problem as the view made up for any shortcomings.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were referred by a family member to d ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were referred by a family member to dine at Sunset Terrace while we were vacationing in Asheville. We were glad we took his advice. The food was very good. We especially enjoyed the meatballs, salmon with chili lime sauce, sweet potato hash and the brownie latte cheesecake. We were celebrating our anniversary and they provided us with a delicious treat! Make sure you make reservations in advance, so you can enjoy the awesome view of the sunset.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The views are amazing here but the menu ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The views are amazing here but the menu selections are limited and overpriced. This restaurant could use an update to menu and although our server was good the other staff were inattentive and not service caliber for the level of this hotel.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Lovely place, good food. However, a $300 ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Lovely place, good food. However, a $300 bill for 2 people...just too expensive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value1

We lunched at Sunset Terrace during a re ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We lunched at Sunset Terrace during a recent visit to Asheville. We had 2:00 reservations and were promptly seated at 2:00. We found the hostess to be very friendly. Our waiter was friendly as well but not as attentive as he should've been. Two of us ordered the smash burger which was full of flavor. I ordered the turkey sandwich that came with a salad. Both were fresh and tasty. The real reason to dine here is the views. They are the best long range mountain views in the city. Would I dine here again? You bet I would!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Everything Was perfect , service and foo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Everything Was perfect , service and food and weather to set on the Terrace , the Lobster Cobb salad was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great experience , our waitress was exce ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

great experience , our waitress was excellent we stopped at bar for a few drinks prior ti dinning and we were equally pleased

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The location was perfect for a beautiful ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The location was perfect for a beautiful view specially at sunset. Our server was attentive and friendly and great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it! The view was breathtaking! The ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Loved it! The view was breathtaking! The food was very tasty and the service was outstanding! I cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for a Date, People Watching, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful. It doesn't get much better th ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Wonderful. It doesn't get much better than this.The food was great.The service was great and the view was even better. Will visit every time we come to the Ashevillelle area.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular views of the Blue Ridge. Goo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Spectacular views of the Blue Ridge. Good food although overpriced. Service was excellent as usual

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

It was a beautiful place to watch the su ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 24, 2016

It was a beautiful place to watch the sunset. The service was impeccable and the food excellent. It is a bit pricey but OK for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Spectular view from terrace. Outstanding ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Spectular view from terrace. Outstanding food and service

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fireplace, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, good food. Our server was ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great service, good food. Our server was very helpful and nice.

Food was good even though a little bit expensive. My husband order the special of the day Halibut for $39 but it came by itself. He had to order a side and of course it came out to be more expensive.

We had a great time

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations handled well. Kenny, our s ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Reservations handled well.

Kenny, our server, was exceptional.

Food presentation, preparation and taste was excellent.

Did not get any service from bar area while waiting to be seated.

Group behind us was very noisy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Historic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best outdoor dining!!!!! Had been here o ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Best outdoor dining!!!!! Had been here once and was excited to take visiting friends. Love the ambiance but service is great too.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Always perfect, but especially now when ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always perfect, but especially now when the view is so colorful! No worries if it is chilly, as it was on the day we lunched, they have overhead heating and lap blankets to keep you warm. We live in Ohio, so coming to the Grove Park each year is priority for us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My partner and I always make a Fall trip ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My partner and I always make a Fall trip to Asheville and make lunch at The Sunset Terrace a part of our visit. Amazing food in a historical setting with beauty all around- what more can you ask for. Definitely would recommend- a must see, eat and experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our experience at the Sunset Grill at Th ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our experience at the Sunset Grill at The Grove Park Inn was exceptional - the food, service and accommodation of our special requests made our 10th anniversary unforgettable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a Birthday dinner and it was ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We went for a Birthday dinner and it was wonderful. My husband and I enjoyed the cocktail, an appetizer and dinner emensly. The food was fresh and delicious. The ambience was exceptional and the outdoor heating system made for a comfortable and memorable experience. A little pricey, but, worth every bit!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The management should visit the Palm res ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The management should visit the Palm restaurant in Charlotte to see what level of service they should strive to achieve at the terrace where dinner approaches a $100 per person. Food was great, ambience (music, setting, view) was fabulous. Service was horrible. As a frequent traveler who has eaten in more than a few fine dining establishments I was thoroughly disappointed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Seated by the edge after sunset, a refre ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Seated by the edge after sunset, a refreshing breeze, generally prompt service (but the biscuits, twice promised, never arrived), delicious entrees.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.