About Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn

290 Macon Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

The Sunset Terrace is an outdoor restaurant, please check the weather when joining us and dress accordingly.

Open for lunch and Dinner, Sunset Terrace is our iconic upscale, classic restaurant featuring traditional American cuisine, with an emphasis on hand cut steaks, seafood and regional favorites and an award winning wine list. Located on the outdoor terrace of the 100 year old Main Inn, it offers … breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, a setting and experience that you will always remember.

If you would like to order flowers for your special occasion, please contact our in-house floral department by calling 800-438-5800 ext. 2046 or email gpi.floral.shop@omnihotels.com. 24 hour advance notification required.

Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch daily from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 438-5800

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/asheville-grove-park/dining/sunset-terrace

Entertainment:
Free local entertainment is available daily in The Great Hall Bar, just outside of The Sunset Terrace.

Parking Details:
Self-Parking: 0-3 hours: Complimentary│3-6 hours: $10│6-24 hours: $15

Valet: $15 for Day Guests│$22 for Overnight Guests

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Scenic View
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Asheville / W. North Carolina
4 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Romantic
Asheville
American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

scenic view (88)
great for outdoor dining (83)
special occasion (82)
See All
romantic (66)
great for lunch (33)
fit for foodies (27)
great for brunch (22)
good for groups (19)
notable wine list (17)
neighborhood gem (15)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress Kristi was beyond wonderful ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our waitress Kristi was beyond wonderful Cheerful and great suggestions!! The view was best ever!!

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Warm ambience

Dined 5 days ago

Great atmosphere and view of Smokey Mountains. Wait-staff was quite attentive. Served main course before we finished salad even though we were not in a hurry and asked them to hold off.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious, and service was ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious, and service was great, and the view was spectacular. My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary, and although we didn't order dessert, they still brought us a plate of macaroons with "happy anniversary" spelled out in chocolate. It made our night! We would definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience for our 25th anniversar ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great experience for our 25th anniversary! Our waitress, Dove, was very special and did a fantastic job for us. All in all, everything we had hoped for!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

wonderful venue and food

Dined on May 19, 2016

Highly recommend the Seafood Tower for Two and order extra sauces. It was extremely fresh and a great presentation. The vegetables were also cooked to perfection!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

The absolute best part of this restauran ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

The absolute best part of this restaurant is the view. It is spectacular, particularly at sunset. We were lucky to have a bit of sun just before set which helped to make the occasion special. Our dinners were very good. Everyone enjoyed their meals. The salads were very large. The caesar salad was tangy and tasty. I had trout served over greens and rice. The amount of food was very generous. The service was just fair. Our waiter seemed ready to go home for the evening, but we were served promptly and our waiter had assistance. There was live piano music playing just inside the inn which was very pleasant. It was nice to be able to enjoy outdoor dining on the porch. I would recommend the Grove Park Inn but next time I would go for a drink at sunset and then head back into Asheville for dinner. At the Inn you are definitely paying for the ambiance. There are so many great dining opportunities in the downtown area that I would suggest them over the Inn for your actual dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Terrible food and service. Omni has ruin ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Terrible food and service. Omni has ruined a good restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unforgettable experience. Service impec ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Unforgettable experience. Service impeccable; food outstanding; view incomparable, and ambiance unparalleled. Definitely a cut above most of the finest dining venues!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful Sunset Terrace

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

My husband and I ate here while staying at the Omni Grove Park Inn in May, 2016. We were seated right at the edge of the restaurant with a wonderful view of Asheville and the distant mountains. We split the wedge salad which was served with a delicious house made dressing that was their version of Ranch but was more like a Green Goddess, bacon, small red tomatoes and green onions. We each ordered the 8 oz. filet and it was perfectly seasoned and prepared medium rare. Our sides were creamed spinach and mac and cheese which were enough to share. We really enjoyed the warm, fresh biscuits that were served after we ordered cocktails. They were served with a dish of soft butter in a pool of local honey. The service, food and view were all excellent and we're looking forward to eating at Sunset Terrace the next time we're in Asheville, NC.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Overpriced, overrated!!!

Dined on May 16, 2016

View great, food, $45.00 NY Strip with no sides, was Waffle House or below quality!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Such a great experience! A nice romantic ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Such a great experience! A nice romantic night out! My husband and I both ordered the Kansas strip and ordered it M. The first time both steaks were well. Our waiter was quick to check in on us and immediately brought them back for us. He checked on us several times while waiting and then a manger brought out the recooks. Mine was more R and my husbands almost MW but both were delicious. Sides were great to share! Also, the beet salad was the best I've ever had!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fabulous with an awesome view. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was fabulous with an awesome view. The wait staff was extraordinarily efficient in there ability to get their job done.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Measures up to the hype

Dined on May 13, 2016

We went for drinks and dessert for 14th anniversary! It was perfect, they even gave us a small plate with macaroons and "Happy Anniversary" written on the plate. Amazing scenery, live music not too loud, generous sized creme brulee....just perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic dinner at Grove Park Inn

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

We love dining at the Grove Park Inn when in town and this time did not disappoint even with the rain. Requested a table outside to watch the sunset during our meal and despite a rain shower, we stayed dry and enjoyed a view of the beautiful downtown skyline and mountains. Offered to be moved away from edge of dining area due to rain, but with a light jacket we chose to remain as the wind wasn't blowing the rain onto covered dining area. The grounds are meticulously groomed and the old facility has been renovated to prior grandeur. Service was superb and meal was excellent; you pay for the view, but worth it. We enjoyed the fresh fish dishes which were well prepared and moderate portions. Enjoyed listening to music inside and walking around the Grove Park shops after dinner. Parking is free for 3 hours in lot just beyond the hotel entry.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous dinner. Perfectly cooked filet ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Fabulous dinner. Perfectly cooked filet. Great company. Wonderful evening.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good place for a romantic dinner for two ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Good place for a romantic dinner for two or a special celebration.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The shrimp and kale salad was excellent. ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The shrimp and kale salad was excellent. It was the perfect location to eat overlooking the mountains.

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

It's all about the view

Dined on May 9, 2016

Truly spectacular view & building. Would recommend lunch instead of dinner. Food was good but not great. Prices are high. Wine list was expensive without any good moderate wine choices. Waiter was efficient but unfriendly & mildly dismissive.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful mountain views in a fantastic ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Beautiful mountain views in a fantastic setting. Food is superb with very qualified wait staff.

food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Sunset Terrace Grove Park Inn

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great experience except server, did not specials of the day, did not not soup of the day, it was Mother's Day and they giving roses to women as they were seated. My wife and mother didn't receive a rose and my ask if they were receive one and server replied I haven't got around to it! Other than that great experience.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Special occasion

Dined on May 7, 2016

This restaurant at the iconic Grove Park Inn is a nice place for a special occasion. The view is spectacular. The food was good but not outstanding, and certainly not worth the outlandish prices. I am in complete agreement with an earlier review that I read-- you are paying for the setting.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We've been to the Grove Park previously, but never had dinner at the Sunset Terrace. It was a beautiful evening and the view was amazing! Sana, our waitress was delightful and very knowledgeable about all the dishes and the wines. Our food was delicious. My only complaint was that our reservation was at 6:15 pm. When I called it was either that or 9 pm. We were seated at a table with the best view of the mountains, however, I had to shade my eyes from the setting sun with my hand thru most of the dinner. Lesson learned....be sure to book several weeks or months in advance to avoid this from happening in the future!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Grove Park Inn Sunset Terrace

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great ambiance, great service, million dollar view...but food that did not live up to the rest of the experience. Including wine, we spent about $100/person. For that price the food should have been impeccable. And it just wasn't.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to celebrate.

Dined on May 6, 2016

What a great dining experience. Food, service, view, ambiance. One of our most romantic anniversary dinner's ever.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a treat to visit. Food over the ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Always a treat to visit. Food over the top as well as the service. Pricey, but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We recently visited for our Mother's bir ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We recently visited for our Mother's birthday. Service- our server Julie was excellent. She was kind and attentive. It was obvious it was taking the bar way to long to prepare to put up drinks. She would apologize, and it was totally fine, but I think it will be worth looking into making it easier/quicker for servers to get and serve alcoholic beverages. Views/Ambiance- perfect! Food- amazing! I had the lobster salad and there was SO MUCH lobster, perfect amount of dressing and great portions. We also enjoyed the delicious crab sandwich and my husband loved his burger. Special touches! About 5 people wished our mother happy birthday! They served a special birthday plate of macaroons and a candle. Overall, you'll enjoy your afternoon lunch or dinner! Great choice for a special occasion or to have a nice meal with great service , amazing food and spectacular views!

food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Just remember why you're going.

Dined on April 30, 2016

This place is absolutely fantastic with the view, ambiance and environment and overall mood, but you have to remember why you're going here in order to have a good time, because it can be easy to get lost in the "value" game. The food is better than good, but not great and brutally overpriced and the service is very acceptable, but that's not why you go to a place like this. The general environment, the view, etc is without comparison, but if you are one (like me sometimes) who doesn't mind paying a lot as long as the value is there, you'll be disappointed. The food is not good enough to warrant the prices they charge, but if you simply want the experience, I would recommend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

The service, view, and food were excellent. The strawberry rhubarb pie with strawberry shortcake ice cream was amazing!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous Food, Amazing Scenery

Dined on April 27, 2016

We had dinner here for our 13th anniversary and it was perfect. The scenery is so nice and the weather was perfect. The food and service were on point and we had an amazing evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding VIEW of the Blue Ridge Mountains

Dined on April 24, 2016

We visited Grove Park Inn to celebrate the birthday of a friend. The food, view, and service were all excellent. I will look for opportunities to visit the Grove Park Inn in the future...truly, a spectacular setting for golf, dining, and just BEING!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Nice view, mediocre everything else

Dined on April 23, 2016

Despite making the reservation over a month in advance, and indicating that we would be enjoying our 10th anniversary there, we were placed at a rear table as opposed to one of several with the sunset view everyone pays for. Luckily, the table adjacent was leaving just as we arrived, and our waiter was kind enough to make the switch. I ordered a filet and twice baked potato, which were decidedly mediocre despite being $70+. They may have been having an off night, but for the price charged, definitely not the experience I'd expect, particularly from a hotel of this quality. The level of service in every other aspect of the resort (spa, other restaurants, wait staff, valet staff, etc) was outstanding. I fully expected an expensive meal, but I also expected a good one.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and view

Dined on April 23, 2016

The view was incredible, as we were seated right at the edge of the restaurant overlooking the valley. However, the sun was directly in our eyes (5 PM meal time) and we needed to move over a table to get out of the direct sun. It was a lot noisier than we expected, mostly from other diners around our table. As we were looking for a more romantic setting, that detracted a bit from the ambiance. The food and service were fantastic, though I wasn't prepared for the price. I suppose you get what you pay for!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome!!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Ive been there before and it's for sure my favorite place. Took a friend there and he loved it. I had the lamb and he had chicken. It was great and the ambience is perfect as are the views.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Mixed feelings. Outstanding view. OK food.

Dined on April 22, 2016

I thought the hostess was overly strict. Get there at X:00 pm for a X:15 reservation...sorry, can't see you come back at X:15 pm period. No one waiting. Half the tables were empty with an army of service folks so it made no sense to me to wait to be seated. Forcing the drinks? The view is outstanding and the facilities is impressive. Lots of seating with a great view with supplemental heating for the cooler nights. Our service was great. I thought the food was good but not great for the price. I don't mind paying a lot for a high quality meal but I thought my filet was average and definitely overpriced. Especially with the added oscar and asparagus it was average. The desert, rhubarb pie with strawberry ice cream was off the charts great. So, don't expect the food quality to align with the price but the view is great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

a special treat

Dined on April 19, 2016

Good place to take guests. Beautiful surroundings, great food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner - What a view

Dined on April 18, 2016

Perfect weather, perfect view -- enjoyed for 3 hours on the terrace wall watching each phase of the sunset through nightfall; an incredible experience. Wonderful food, great service -- couldn't have been happier.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice but too expensive

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

We have been to the Grove Park Inn for lunches and dinners for over 30 yrs. We still go to the Sunset Terrace because of the ambiance and charm. The food is pretty good and the ambiance is delightful. However, the prices are just expensive. If it were not for the location, we would not go again.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was wonderful. We were a gro ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Everything was wonderful. We were a group of 5 so service was a little slow but it gave us time to relax, enjoy the view and chat.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view for lunch dining.

Dined on April 16, 2016

I wished that they would have included an ingredients list within the on-line menu. Our server was unable to tell us the ingredients.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

View worthy

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always a wonderful view w romantic ambience. Food good. Value poor. We are more than willing to "pay up" for great food, service, and ambience. But price for what was served was fair,at best. We ordered trout and salmon dishes. Nothing special.... huge price.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.