Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn

Open for lunch and Dinner, Sunset Terrace is our iconic upscale, classic restaurant featuring traditional American cuisine, with an emphasis on hand cut steaks, seafood and regional favorites and an award winning wine list. Located on the outdoor terrace of the 100 year old Main Inn, enjoy breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains with a setting and experience that you will always remember.

If you would like to order flowers for your special occasion, please contact our in-house floral department by calling 800-438-5800 ext. 2046 or email gpi.floral.shop@omnihotels.com. 24 hour advance notification required.

Reservations are recommended.

290 Macon Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open daily for lunch from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Open nightly for dinner from 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 438-5800

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/asheville-grove-park/dining/sunset-terrace

Entertainment:
Free local entertainment is available daily in The Great Hall Bar, just outside of The Sunset Terrace.

Parking Details:
2017 Parking Rates:
Self-Parking: 0-3 hours: Complimentary│3-6 hours: $10│6-24 hours: $15
Day Valet: $15│Overnight Valet: $22

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Historic (19)
Seasonal (11)
Casual (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Fireplace (7)
Healthy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
People Watching (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Family Style (3)
Organic (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1762 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Total ambiance with the setting sun. The terrace has a fantastic mountain view and the sunset is just magical. Price is on the high end but the food is worth it. Wonderful evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 3 days ago

Exceptional restaurant with an unparalleled view of Asheville. It is expensive, so it's not something that most people can afford to do regularly, but it is absolutely worth it. Well paced meal, amazing service, and great food.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent location and the food was great. A little cold on the terrace when a storm blew in, but they had blankets for the ladies to help them stay warm including outside heaters.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful setting; fabulous food; excellent service

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service (Jared was great) were great at the Sunset Terrace. I would not however recommend it for dinner after dark (once sun goes down or on inclement weather nights). I realize that this is a historic building but the lighting in the restaurant after dark is really bad. Entrees go from $32 to $65+ so it would be nice to be able to see what you are eating. Presentation of food is what you are paying the higher than normal prices for. I saw at least half of the patrons the night we went having to use their mobile phone lights to read the menu and to see what their food looked like once they were served. One gentleman had his wife hold the mobile phone light on this plate as he ate. I would suggest a taller LED candle at the tables or at least 2 of the current sized candles per table. A small but efficient LED lamp might also work. I would not recommend Sunset Terrace for dinner after dark. It would be great as long as there is natural light and certainly would be a great lunch place. We will go back but most likely never for dinner after dark.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful Meal, Great Service at such a beautiful hotel!! I highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The service was friendly and they accommodated most requests graciously. You dine here mainly for the view and it was incredible. I requested a table for three near the edge of the patio (better view) and was denied as they said they only had tables for two at the edge. While it was set up that way, they could have easily pushed them together as it was not a full night. The food and drinks were expensive for what was served. Interestingly, the sports bar that is at the hotel looked like it had a better view and atmosphere than the Terrace and had warm and inviting lighting and fireplaces. In general, the Terrace needs a complete renovation. It feels like a Steak & Ale (no table cloths, worn out tables and chairs, cheap candle lighting, poor atmosphere lighting, dated server area set up that towers over the tables. It looked like Omni is letting this beautiful property decline. Even the seating in the lobby is looking tired. Suggest you go to their sports bar if you want to see the sunset.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Perfect date night spot. We made reservations at the Sunset Terrace a few minutes before sunset at 8PM. Gorgeous views of the mountains and our meals were delicious. I would highly recommend the Omni to any friends or family in the Asheville area. The live music inside the resort made a great addition to our night.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Everything is Perfect at Sunset Terrace
When you step up to Hostess station and you get that Smile next thing you know your at your table
There are no Bad seats at Sunset Terrace
Wait Staff very good
There attentive but also give you space
You can come relax have drinks and appetizer and a great meal and if there Room have a desert
If you really want to have a more relaxing time
Stay at Grove Park
So the once your finish dinner it just a short elevator ride to your wonderful room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Awesome scenery, relaxing atmosphere, always good food and great service!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The major WOW! factor of the Sunset Terrace is the spectacular view overlooking the gardens and the golf course, with the town of Asheville in the distance. That is not to discount for a minute the high quality (4-5 star) food and bar, which were outstanding as well. And the service provided by Alex was delightful - a real top-off to our Easter lunch! We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon and highly recommend it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The view was absolutely amazing! The service and the food were excellent as well.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love this spot. You can't beat the views and the staff is spot on amazing. We did miss the old menu (from when we dined here in 2013)- it was much for V & GF friendly. The new menu is more commercial. Will definitely be back though!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We celebrated a 60th birthday and the setting was amazing. Staff was unbelievably accommodating and helped make the night extra special. This was one of those evenings we'll talk about for a lifetime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at Sunset Terrace. Amazing views with romantic feel. Food is really good, but overpriced. We use as a more special occasion spot. I highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The terrace was beautiful, the waiter was nice, and the food overall was good. We ordered the cold seafood tower for two, which included a half dozen raw oysters. When our meal came, there were no oysters nor any explanation of why. We called the waiter back over and inquired. He had to go back to the kitchen and found out there were none that night. He did bring us a new dish of 6 shrimp from the kitchen. We would like to have been told upfront no oysters (may not have ordered that menu item then) and would have preferred to have chosen a substitute rather than having just been brought shrimp. Appeared that the kitchen tried to put one past us hoping we would not notice. (Shrimp were good, but we already had shrimp on the original order.) Very disappointed that the restaurant didn't tell us first. I doubt we will go back to the Sunset Terrace.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Service was excellent, as always. However it was disappointing to have a steak over cooked two nights in a row. (Yes, we dined there two consecutive evenings.) I would have expected a restaurant of this caliber to get a rare steak correct. While they did send a new steak, this means one person is eating long after everyone else is done....makes a 7:45 reservation not leaving until very late. Inconsistent with little things like ice for bourbon. Night 1- single large rock. Night 2- glass full of small cube ice. We visit yearly and it appears to be slipping...last year was much better, and the menu is the same.

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Fantastic service, food and view! Couldn't ask for more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Historic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Good food. Great views and excellent ambiance. Little pricey, but worth the experience. Awesome sunsets

Tags: Fireplace, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My best friend and I were taking a vacation in Asheville and wanted a fine dining, fancier dinner to treat ourselves. We timed our reservation to be able to see the sun set over the Asheville skyline and we were not disappointed. Absolutely spectacular view! The menu is superb, though I'll admit, as someone on a restricted diet (I am, at present, functionally vegan), the only entree that I could eat was the Vegan Lentil Shepherd's Pie unless I wanted to stick solely with a salad. That being said, I did have a salad and the Shepherd's Pie, and both were quite good, as were the sides available (seasonal vegetables and sweet potato & leek hash) based on my diet. It was a truly wonderful meal. Our only complaint is the lack of lighting once the sun goes down. There is a small electronic candle in the middle of each table, and once the sun is gone, that is the only light that is provided for dining. It was difficult to see some of our sides (my friend got the caramelized mushrooms, for instance) because the color of the food item was so similar to the cast iron container in which the side arrived. However, the lack of lighting would have to be our only complaint. Everything else was wonderful! I would definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We have dined on The Sunset Terrace at Grove Park Inn twice when we have stayed at the Inn. It is very special. The view is amazing as is the food and service. It is pricey but well worth it and you get exemplary service along with delicious food. Just a lovely experience!

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Go for the view not for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Incredible views and a one of a kind eating experience but not worth the cost of the dinners. I wouldn't go back for anything but coffee or dessert. I considered it a one -time expenditure.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Historic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Beautiful setting. Food was ok, but we were there for lunch and the menu was pretty limited. Pricy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our server was pretty cocky, not much of a personality. I expected the food to be better than it was. Pretty pricy, but it is the Grove Park so it was expected. Would I go back? Only for some drinks and the view.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Gorgeous views!! The food was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Amazing view, outstanding service and the very finest quality food. Although some may find the menu pricey, the whole package is well worth every penny spent.

Tags: Business Meals, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We go to Grove Park several times a year & always eat on the Terrace. Check the sunset times & book for 30 minutes prior for the best view!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We were staying at the Omni and this made it very easy! It had poured all day but the sun came out in time for a beautiful sunset! The heaters worked perfectly and I can see how they can use this space a great deal of the year. Our service was wonderful. The steaks looked wonderful but we have been trying to restrict ourselves! I had the salmon and my husband enjoyed the scallops. The bacon macaroni and cheese side was wonderful and VERY filling even though the skillet seemed tiny. The wedge salad was delicious and my husband enjoyed his seafood corn chowder. The wine was great but pricey by the glass. $18 for a glass of Chardonnay. Our dinner for 2 including tip was $172. Definitely recommend eating there if staying at the hotel.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 3, 2017

It was a great setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Fabulous service and food!! We had a wonderful dinner on the terrace watching the sun go down.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Casual, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Mostly simple food that is well cooked. Could use a little bit more salt on a couple of the dishes (and I usually don't add salt to anything). The location and view is really what you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Beautiful view, great service, amazing food and cocktails!

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Wonderful as always!! Excellent view of the mountains.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Food is delicious and make with local ingredients. The hand crafted coctails were some of the best I've had. Service was outstanding. View of the mountains is romantic. Only suggestion is don't forget your sunglasses! It is outdoor dining and weather permitting.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Top of the line dining with a wonderful view! Everything we had was delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food...super service...and a view you cannot beat! Wrap this in The Grove Park Inn and you have a 100% memorable experience!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Pricey. Asheville NC has many excellent restaurants. This is one of the better ones. Menu options for steaks is quite varied but somewhat limited outside of that.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This restaurant was amazing!!! They had amazing, food and staff. It was my birthday so they catered to iur every need. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Last meal of our 30th Birthday celebration for our daughter. Could not find a more special place to end our trip, our visit was magic. Great drinks, wonderful meal, great service, the mountains and the sunset = perfect!

Tags: Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Tapas, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.