Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Sunrise Café at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort

4.5
118 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Scenic View
  • Great for Brunch
  • Waterfront
Sunrise Café is the perfect location to enjoy either breakfast with friends and family. Take in unmatched views of the Atlantic Ocean from our outdoor terrace while enjoying menu items that challenge traditional fare. The "Art of Breakfast" features local fruits, fresh baked pastries, organic cereals, made to order cage-free egg omelets and maple-blueberry organic sausage just to name a few. Breakfast is served daily from 6:30-10:30am.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am;
Dinner: Closed for the season
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(904) 432-1468
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Daven Wardynski
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
AIA
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking garage in addition to two separate flat lots, all close to the hotel.
Additional
Banquet, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access
What 118 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I fell in love with Mrs. Donnie, the Omelet Cook. Everything you ever wanted in a breakfast. Donuts and glazed banana dish specially prepared by the chef for our occasion was a wonderful surprise. Outstanding service. Perfect ambiance. Perfect seating for watching God's sun rise over the Atlantic Ocean!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

We went for breakfast and although it was beautiful, the blinds are only for looks. They are not functional. Therefore, with the sun in our eyes, we had to eat breakfast with sunglasses on. In addition, the food was good but the pricing was a little ridiculous. I've had better food and paid way less. It was disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Beautiful morning, beautiful view, and beautiful buffet! Enjoyed our anniversary with a special strawberry shortcake and mimosa!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 3, 2018

This restaurant is not pet friendly. Made a reservation stating we would need an outdoor pet friendly table for a 10lb Shih Tzu and when we arrived, we were told service pets only. They went ahead and acted like they were going to seat us (got us menus and checked us in) and then again said service pets only. We were wondering if they thought we were going to check our dog in somewhere like luggage. We drove there from 15 minutes away. I told him we would not be dining there without our dog who would just be lying in the bottom of our stroller. He said the restaurant is an extension of Omni. I take it that the Omni resort is not pet friendly. Unfortunate, we will not be staying at the Omni or dine at any of its restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Sunday Brunch was a treat at Sunrise Cafe. It has a very welcoming feel and if you sit outside it has a great view of the beach. This restaurant is located inside the main building of the Conference Center, but has a beautiful setting very open and airy. The selection on the menu or going through the buffet are plentiful. We chose the buffet and weren't disappointed. I had an omelet with shrimp, jalapeños and lots of veggies, this was a yummy omelet as you could taste everything in it, not to eggy. The display of the buffet was very eye pleasing and so many choices you certainly won't leave hungry. I could have breakfast everyday at the Sunrise with the food and the views!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Excellent experience, varied and creative breakfast menu and buffet. We were quite impressed with the friendliness and teamwork of the staff - seems everyone working pitched in to check-on and service us and other guests dining.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 28, 2018

This was our 4th time for brunch - and maybe our last. Was not busy enough to keep hot/fresh food on the buffet. Outdoor dining was closed - not sure why. That's the reason we go - for the great outdoor view. Server was terrible - not attentive at all, didn't want to explain the fact you could also order menu items if getting the buffet, not too friendly - makes the experience more about herself than the guests. I'll never understand how that is acceptable service???

When done right this place is great, it's just too hit and miss. Servers need to be better. Manager did a good job handling a bad experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

It was a most enjoyable breakfast with friends—-a great view, good food and fine service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

We went for a burns day to celebrate a birthday. When they found out it was my friends birthday, they sent over champagne and a special treat! Miss donnie took great care of us!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

The Sunrise Cafe at the Omni is the best place to get breakfast or brunch! They have an amazing buffet with homemade and locally inspired dishes. Many of the selections, such as the eggs and waffles, are made to order. Plus, this restaurant overlooks the water, and the staff is always accommodating. I would recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2018

Wonderful! We enjoyed the scenic views and the magnificent muffins!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 5, 2017

A beautiful view and a nice brunch! I recommend the omelet station, all the local items like honey, jams and breads. A nice girls brunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2017

The sunrise café at The Omni on Amelia Island is Fantastic. We have dined there many times and it has never been less than great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 27, 2017

The only thing is that even though we had reservation they made us wait 15 min

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 27, 2017

Eggs made to order were perfect. Coffee was terrible. Raspberry jam was great. Potatoes were terrible - over cooked and dry. Appear to have been from a frozen bad. Sausage was very good. Bacon was so tough it was not edible. The setting was beautiful. I wanted to order a mimosa, but the waiter rarely checked with our table to see if we needed anything. He was nice, but I think he just had too many tables to handle. He was the only waiter in the entire restaurant who was well groomed and properly dressed. Most of the wait staff were slovenly dressed and not well groomed at all. Very surprising for a nice resort. I have never been to a resort where the staff looked so disheveled. The fruit was just ok. This place was a real disappointment. I would never go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2017

Beautiful spot, great dining experience. 6 of us did the breakfast buffet and I would return in a heartbeat!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 22, 2017

I'm not one to usually choose the buffet over the menu, but The buffet was amazing!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2017

We made this reservation and had eaten here several years ago. What we did not know was that we were making a reservation for a Mother's Day Brunch. It was the only option on the menu and extremely expensive for lunch. The food was fantastic, just not what we anticipated. We would preferred to be told this was the case.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

First time at Sunrise Cafe for Mother's Day. I thought at first that it was rather pricey but ,this undoubtedly this best breakfast buffet ever. There was a raw bar with oysters, tuna and scallops along with huge peeled shrimp that were out of this world. They had all the breakfast selections along with prime rib, salad, cheeses etc.. As busy as it was the servers were all excellent. There was some nice soft live music as well. The desserts were heaven. Everything about the place exceeded my expectations. We will be going back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

I had booked this location in advance for a birthday surprise for my husband. I had not realised when I booked that it was also Mother's Day. The brunch was exceptionally good and our waitress, Evaline, was a dream. Very attentive and focused and she made our experience a day to remember even though she did not know it was a special occasion for my husband.
This was not our first time at this restaurant and the ambience and food was up to the usual standard that we have experienced on previous occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2017

Lovely way to start the day! The buffet has everything and if that's not sufficient, they'll make it for you! My son had eggs Benedict made to order and brought to our table outdoors overlooking the ocean. You cannot leave hungry. There are many types of food- homemade granola and breads, fruit galore. So nice. Special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2017

Miss Donnie the omelet chef is fantastic. So nice, fresh ingredients! Many house made jams, salsas and honeys. A real foodie spot. Best grits i ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent buffet! Great, friendly service. As usual, Mrs. Donnie makes a great omelette!
Sorry to hear her retirement is looming.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2017

We were thrilled to find this little gem. We've been coming to our Amelia Island condo for 15+ years and we found out about this place via word of mouth. We were so delighted by the $23 AYCE brunch and $12 bottomless mimosas. Our sever, Jennifer was fabulous! Cannot beat the ocean views while eating great food!! We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2017

The Easter Buffet featured complimentary Mimosa or Bloody Mary which was not offered by our waitress. We ordered a bottle of wine so when we realized her oversight, we did not request it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2017

Pricey but worth it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2017

Whenever we visit, always come here. Great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2017

They had us a table for a party of 4 for us instead of 6 when we arrived. I checked my reservation and it said 6. We had to wait for a larger table. Other than that the meal and service were fantastic!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2017

Karen was a terrific waitress - very friendly and attentive!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 19, 2017

The two nice things I can say are that the view was spectacular and the food was very good. We did not order the buffet, we chose to order from the menu.
However, our waiter Cole was not very good. He forgot to bring our juices, he brought the cream for our coffee in a juice glass that had a crack in the rim, and he was hardly present during our meal. The restaurant does not accept cash as payment. When observing the cleaning process of tables in our view, crumbs are pushed onto the floor and the same dirty bucket is used repeatedly, instead of clean water as a final cleansing.
I do not think we will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2017

The art of breakfast is always amazing! I wish the server had mentioned that eggs Benedict was included as well as waffles. Service is usually better. It won't keep us away though. The locally sourced honey is beyond delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 25, 2016

Great restaurant. I loved the food. It was great for Christmas brunch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving buffet was short of breath on food. Food was good, but not special. Spevice was not attentive. No pumpkin or apple pie.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 24, 2016

The raw seafood look and tasted like it was left out un-cooled for hours. .... we were happy to pay the 62 dollars a person for what we hoped would be the highlight of our trip.... the food fell tragically short of our expectations. .... the view was beautiful. ....

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 13, 2016

We are residents of the Plantation. We had a 10:30 buffet breakfast reservation. Very little food left on the buffet, and nothing was being replenished. No servers in buffet room other than the cook preparing omelettes. Food presented in covered pots was mostly cold. 3 lonely croissants on the pastry display. Juice containers were virtually empty. If you intend to stop serving , don't take reservations! Very disappointing!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 18, 2016

WE HAD TO LEAVE A BEAUTIFUL MORNING OF OUTSIDE DINING BECAUSE OF UNSANITARY CONDITIONS WHICH THE RESTAURANT STAFF WAS ALLOWING BLACKBIRDS TO SCAVENGE UNCLEARED USED PLATES. MOVED INDOORS TO DINE AND PLACED OUR ORDER SHORTLY AND THEN WAITED FOR OVER AN HOUR FOR OUR FOOD TO BE SERVED. THE PORTIONS WERE VERY SMALL AND INADEQUATE. GREAT COFFEE BUT THAT WAS ABOUT IT.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 16, 2016

Beautiful beachfront views, great buffet selection and the MOST delicious Chicken & Waffles.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 25, 2016

Food was very good except the eggs and breakfast meats on the buffet were cold. The buffet had just opened there is no reason for the food to be cold.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 18, 2016

Great Place. Great Food. Worth the time, when you are on the island!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 18, 2016

Make sure you're hungry! This was a fantastic experience. The buffet was extensive, there's sushi grade fish, lox & bagels with all of the trimmings, an omelette station, a gluten free area, all kinds of cheeses, fruits, breads, danish, and many hot options. Delicious bottomless Bloody Marys, Mimosas & champagne. You get to choose an entree from the menu. I had the eggs Benedict with house-made proscuitto (sooooo good) and my husband had the egg white fritatta. The potatoes were "to die for". The service was great. Our server was Karen and she was very attentive and friendly. We sat outside on the patio and the beach was just steps away. WONDERFUL!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3

Tweets by Sunrise Café at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort