About Sunrise Café at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort

39 Beach Lagoon Rd.
Amelia Island, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Sunrise Café is the perfect location to enjoy either breakfast with friends and family. Take in unmatched views of the Atlantic Ocean from our outdoor terrace while enjoying menu items that challenge traditional fare. The "Art of Breakfast" features local fruits, fresh baked pastries, organic cereals, made to order cage-free egg omelets and maple-blueberry organic sausage just to name a few. Breakfast is served daily from 6:30-10:30am.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am;
Sunday Brunch: 11:30am-2:00pm;
Dinner: Closed for the season

Cross Street:
AIA

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 432-1468

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/FindAHotel/AmeliaIsland/

Parking Details:
Parking garage in addition to two separate flat lots, all close to the hotel.

Executive Chef:
Daven Wardynski

Additional:
Banquet, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Sunrise Café at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
  • Sunrise Café at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Sunrise Café at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Sunrise Café at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort

Sunrise Café at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Amelia Island
Best Ambiance
Amelia Island
Best Restaurants in Fernandina Beach ›

Great for Brunch (9)
Kid-friendly (6)
Scenic View (5)
See All
Special Occasion (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Romantic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Live Music (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
75 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Make sure you're hungry! This was a fant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Make sure you're hungry! This was a fantastic experience. The buffet was extensive, there's sushi grade fish, lox & bagels with all of the trimmings, an omelette station, a gluten free area, all kinds of cheeses, fruits, breads, danish, and many hot options. Delicious bottomless Bloody Marys, Mimosas & champagne. You get to choose an entree from the menu. I had the eggs Benedict with house-made proscuitto (sooooo good) and my husband had the egg white fritatta. The potatoes were "to die for". The service was great. Our server was Karen and she was very attentive and friendly. We sat outside on the patio and the beach was just steps away. WONDERFUL!

Tags: Business Meals, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is beautiful, however the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful, however the food and service were just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Very nice restaurant in the Omni Amelia ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very nice restaurant in the Omni Amelia Island Resort. Beautiful scenery overlooking the ocean. Our server was wonderful and a real trooper. We were the only diners that wanted to sit outside on a hot steamy morning.

We did the breakfast buffet which was wonderful. Good assortment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

You should order the buffet! It's wonder ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

You should order the buffet! It's wonderful and so is Chef Donnie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. A little too muc ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything was great. A little too much food, as you get both the buffet and the chefs special. Go hungry.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

OK bugget but price is outrageous for what you get

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Servers are vey helpful and very nice and attentive even in very busy memorial day.

The reservation on line is not working. We had a reservation a 10.30 and waited 25mn after to be able to get a table. Basically they followed the "first in" approach and ignoring reservations.... not good for this type of hotel and price you pay for buffet breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Amazing experience

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Brunch was amazing and the views breathtaking! Couldn't have asked for a better brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mediocre - maybe.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything looked great and the omelette was good, but the breads and fruit were not, nor the pancakes.

The server was attentive and friendly.

Good looking food that tastes blah - not really a good business model, but since it's a captive audience Amelia Island Plantation will continue to get away with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Easter Brunch

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a wonderful Easter Brunch at Sunrise Cafe. The staff was very attentive and the brunch food selection was fantastic. They also had a great Easter themed dessert selection. We will do this one again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great food, good service, live jazz band, scenic views. What a great place for brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Sunday Buffett was a favorite for al ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The Sunday Buffett was a favorite for all. My son was in heaven with the fresh breads, honey and nut spreads. We loved the omelet bar and the desserts. We'll go again while here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent Food / Okay Service

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Champagne Brunch food selection and taste was very good! Unfortunately, the service wasn't as good. The Server was very polite but acted like it was her first day on the job. She had to ask someone else for most all of our requests. This wasn't an isolated case as I experienced this at another Omni Plantation restaurant (Oceanside).

On a positive note, the food was very good and the live music was a great touch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved it!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Great atmosphere and food! Must try the whiskey honey. We loved it so much we bought some to bring home.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Brunch Ever

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I highly recommend this restaurant! The food was amazing (red velvet pancakes with cream cheese syrup, honey served dripping off the comb; need I say more?) Our server was attentive but not disruptive. We sat on the outdoor patio with a beautiful view of the ocean. My friend and I agreed it was the best brunch we have ever had and we have eaten in some great restaurants. I will be going again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Sunday Brunch!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I have dined here twice; once for Father's Day and on Valentine's Day. Service on Father's Day was great, but on Valentine's Day we had to stop a busser and request a server to our table...which was also partially obscured from sight by a beam/wall. Once we ordered and received our drinks from the apologetic waiter, we proceeded to assault the buffet and stuff ourselves until we couldn't sit upright!

The views of the beach are breathtaking, the Mimosas and Bloody Mary are delicious and are not weak...

The Buffet is plentiful and has many items to choose from...

Worth the money, in my opinion!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A must again and again!

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The Sunrise Cafe at the Omni on Amelia Island is The Place For Breakfast or Brunch!! We dine here multiple times a month. Why? Fabulous food, fabulous service, and a fabulous view!! Ms. Donnie is the omelet chief extraordinaire and an inspiration to all that meet and get to know her. Staff is amazing also...Terri, Colleen, and everyone there makes us feel welcome and like family. Food selection is delicious...local honey, in-house cured meats, cage free eggs, organic grits, and a focus on locally sourced ingredients that sets the bar for other fine dining experiences. We chose this brunch as our Valentine dining choice and it was the right choice. But any occasion is a great reason to dine at the Sunrise Cafe. You will not be disappointed and you will come back, again and again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Valentine Brunch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I went to Sunrise for a Valentine day brunch. The choice and quality of the food was excellent and the price was more than justified. Service was attentive, but waiter spoke limited English. The weather was cool so we ate inside, but still had a view of the ocean and breaking waves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch not up to par for this resort

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Expecting a wonderful Valentines Day Brunch we came in a good mood which quickly went downhill. Our waiter came to the table and said, are you doing the buffet. When we said yes he said well go ahead. He didn't ask for drink order or whether we had dined there before. We said fine but where is it. After returning from the buffet we didn't see our waiter for a while. He then came with drinks that my husband had ordered when he returned from the buffet. Then he took our order from the menu and we didn't see him again until he brought the food. He then was absent as our plates piled up on the table. While sitting there the other waiters brought roses to the women at the other tables. Our waiter never appeared with the roses. He finally showed up to clear the plates which were piled high enough that it took him 2 trips to clear the table.

The food was ok but it would have been nice if the danish and croissants would have been a little smaller so we could have tried different ones without wasting so much food.

All in all not our best brunch experience. We live on the island and will not be returning for their brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Nicceeeee brah brah

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This place has an awesome buffet not like golden correal or cafetiera food. Its like dope.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and very taste food.

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Great service and very taste food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding brunch..

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Outstanding brunch..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Saabrina was lovely.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Saabrina was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great buffet!

vip
·Dined on September 20, 2015

Sunrise Café is a very good place if you love buffets. The selection/variety of food is fabulous and beautifully presented. Although we had a reservation we were kept waiting for 20 minutes being told 3 times that they were setting up a table for our party of 6. Our visit was a little less than we expected because they appeared to be short staffed in the kitchen and the server kept apologizing. One in our party ordered from the menu rather than the buffet, and we were all almost finished when his breakfast was finally delivered to the table. The food was really good so that part of our visit to Sunrise Café was not disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Excellent Brunch

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

Brunch was exceptional. For the price of $39, you had a wonderful choice of foods from the brunch bar, plus a wonderful selection of ala carte items, plus unlimited Bloody Marys or Mimosas. The brunch bar contained a raw bar, fresh breads, local honey, quiche, meats, eggs, cheese, salads and desserts. Plus the chef whipped up the best omelette I had ever eaten. There was a guitar player and bass fiddle player providing background music and it was just such a great ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

LOVED THE BRUNCH

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

This was the highlight of my trip to Amelia Island. The food was excellent. The service was great. The live Jazz/Music added an extra ambiance to the brunch. My husband and I left stuffed with smiles on our faces. This is worth a drive over to the resort even if you are not staying at the Omni.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Pleasantly surprised

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2015

Our entire dinner experience exceeded our expectations. Service was exceptional from the moment we were greeted until we left. Crab cakes delicious, beet salad lovely and corn soup wonderful. All 5 of us had steaks. Seasoned and cooked perfectly. The chef even came out to be sure it was cooked to our liking and all was good. The peach cobbler was a perfect ending! A must stop while your at the Omni.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for Sunday brunch and then dinne ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

We went for Sunday brunch and then dinner on Friday evening. Friday evening reservations were at 8 and we were the only table in the restaurant! The food was excellent and service great! With only one table I would hope so. Not sure why no one else was there maybe because it is called the Sunrise Cafe or there was a large convention going on? I have been to Amelia prior and didn't realize they had dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday Brunch

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

There is no reason to leave Amelia Island for Sunday brunch. The Sunrise Café at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Hotel is the place to go for excellent food toped off with an ocean view.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious breakfast with an even better view!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 7, 2015

I would highly recommend Sunrise Cafe to everyone! The view is one of a kind on the island and made for a spectacular dining experience. We got the weekday buffet and it was amazing! The cured meat and cheeses, various homemade jams and honeys, fresh fruit galore... But nothing beats the omlettes! They were the best omelettes we've ever had!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

WORST FOOD EVER!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2015

This restaurant has the worst food I have ever tried to eat. Everything was so poorly prepared we could not eat any of it. The bill was over $100. for two and even the appetizer was simply awful. I would never recommend this restaurant to anyone. Simply the worst food I have ever been served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Excellent Brunch

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2015

It was a wonderful brunch with an incredible setting. The presentation of the buffet was very unique and rustic with the food presented in tin pots and pans and the labels were chalkboard. It was a very warm and inviting presentation. For a buffet, the food was great and there were lots of choices.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

False Advertising

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

Due to the fact it was Father's Day, the restaurant only offered a brunch buffet. We had a reservation at 1 and were assured there would be plenty of food and drink (bottomless mimosas). The brunch ended at 2 and we were told they had run out of champagne and little if any of the food was being replaced. We were disappointed that we paid the same amount yet did not receive the same offerings as people who arrived at 11.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great for Brunch!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

Great selection, large entrée portions, and best of all...BOTTOMLESS MIMOSAS delivered by the lovely and attentive Olivia! A wonderful oceanfront view, live musicians beautiful grounds...a definite 'must-do'!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Breakfast to Take Your Breath Away!!!

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

We have dined for breakfast at the Sunrise Café At the Omni repeatedly and will continue to do so! Smoked Salmon, Organic Grits, Made to order Free Range Egg Omelets (Sat Hi to Super Omelet Maker Ms.Donnie), In-house cured meats, Selection of Local Honeys, In-house Pastry selections and Breads, and the list goes on while you drink Organic Starbucks Coffee. Huge picture windows face a spectacular view of the ocean. This is a don't miss, must have, will come back again and again dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2015

The Sunday Brunch was delicious with so many great choices! It was our anniversary so our server went above and beyond and also had the musicians play out first dance song. The musicians were also amazing and kept playing great song after great song at just the right vine level. The singer was so good I wanted to take him home to sing me a lullaby after the food coma I was about to enter from eating so many yummy things from the buffet and al a carte menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Deadsville

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 4, 2015

Ate an early dinner at Sunrise. There was only one other table occupied. Relatively inexperienced waitress. The food was fine but nothing to get excited about.

Did eat breakfast there the next morning. Now that I would recommend. Nicely appointed buffet.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Perfect brunch spot at the resort

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

Bottomless mimosas and bloodies to go with the brunch buffet made for a perfect birthday brunch! Right on the beach, so great views, and beautiful inside as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall experience was memorable.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

The cafe setting was picture perfect overlooking the ocean and the food selections remarkable. The food presentation was superior to other local offerings, in that, every station was manned and friendly. The overall organization of the service staff was responsive and attentive. Great dining experience which we will return to again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

We came to Sunrise Cafe for a Mother's Day Brunch and it did not disappoint. Fresh, local, (often organic) ingredients, a great raw bar, selection of proteins and produce, and nice dessert selection. Great service a well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing brunch. Our table agreed it may ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Amazing brunch. Our table agreed it may have been the best brunch any of us had been to. The live music (acoustic guitar and cello) was a great addition. Service was superb and the buffet choices were excellent. Would definitely return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.