Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Commissary at The Line HotelCommissary at The Line Hotel
(164)
Californian | Koreatown, West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Reserve Now
South EndSouth End
(131)
European | Venice, Westside
Reserve Now
GjelinaGjelina
(390)
American | Venice, Westside
Reserve Now
Locanda PositanoLocanda Positano
(736)
Italian | Marina del Rey, Westside
Reserve Now
The Tasting KitchenThe Tasting Kitchen
(772)
Italian | Venice, Westside
Reserve Now
Cast & PlowCast & Plow
(102)
Californian | Marina del Rey, Westside
Reserve Now
Zinqué - VeniceZinqué - Venice
(46)
French | Venice, Westside
Reserve Now
Salt - Marina del Rey HotelSalt - Marina del Rey Hotel
(172)
Californian | Marina del Rey, Westside
Reserve Now
Superba Food & BreadSuperba Food & Bread
(33)
American | Venice, Westside
Reserve Now
Cafe Del ReyCafe Del Rey
(1534)
Seafood | Marina del Rey, Westside
Reserve Now
Marina Grill & BarMarina Grill & Bar
(2)
Californian | Marina del Rey, Westside
Reserve Now
Beachside Restaurant and BarBeachside Restaurant and Bar
(344)
Contemporary American | Marina del Rey, Westside
Reserve Now
Irori SushiIrori Sushi
(147)
Japanese | Marina del Rey, Westside
Reserve Now
Killer Shrimp - MDRKiller Shrimp - MDR
(70)
American | Marina del Rey, Westside
Reserve Now
The WarehouseThe Warehouse
(689)
Steak | Marina del Rey, Westside
Reserve Now

About Sunny Spot

822 Washington Blvd
Venice, CA 90292
View Larger Map

What's Sunny Spot? Think roadside cook shop, where Roy Choi’s in the kitchen and every day's a holiday. Here you'll find sticky, crackling, double-fried jerk chicken, rum-glazed prawns and plates of fried pig's feet. Brown sugar short ribs scented with Old World spices will vanish under hungry hands while the plate is still hot-hot-hot. Fingers are to be licked, conversations are to be had later... because, for the most part, everyone’s here to EAT.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Sun - Wed: 5 - 10(kitchen) / 5 – 11(bar)
Thu - Sat: 5 - 12(kitchen) / 5 - 2(bar)

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10am - 4pm

Happy Hour Any Freakin' Time...(with the exception of Brunch and 7pm - 10pm Fridays and Saturdays)

Cross Street:
Abbot Kinney

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 448-8884

Website:
http://sunnyspotvenice.com/

Catering:
Customized private parties & events.

Parking Details:
$5.00 per car.

Executive Chef:
Roy Choi

Private Party Facilities:
The dining room can seat up to 70 people. Contact Beatrice regarding the lounge and patio areas.

Private Party Contact:
Beatrice@reisscompany.com: 310-448-8884

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:



Restaurant Photos

Rum Punch
Shrimp and Grits
Pork Belly
Nuggs
Hangover Plate
Bayside High
Sliders
Bloody Mary
Mofongo
Mimosa
Burger
Pork Belly And Eggs
Savory Festival Bread
Jerk Fries
Kind Of Blue Smoothie
Bottomless Bloody Mary’s
Sort By:
Newest
278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome Food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 11, 2015

Went here for a quick dinner and it was a great experience. Food was awesome, and just a great scene. Really enjoyed my experience! Highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very cute restaurant

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 23, 2015

Everyone should go try Sunny Spot. It is adorable and the food is decent. My only suggestion is that they really need an additional waiter. Every time I have been there there they seem understaffed and it reflects in how long it takes to get help or place an order. The staff is so nice, they work hard, but there is only so much you can do if the place is packed and there's only 1 waiter. I have had to get up to get straws, lemons, ask for check etc bc we waited so long.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Fun Hipster Brunch, Not For Kids

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 22, 2015

No kids' menu, no splitting portions. Indoor seating is on stools. So not for kids. But fun food in a fun atmosphere with a hip crowd.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Second time this here

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 19, 2015

Itvwasntvat all what I remembered. This time it was not impressive. We ordered the wings, calamari, ribs (tasty) and a salad that was so spicy we couldn't eat it. We shared a burger and pulled pork sandwich which both weren't very exciting. Won't be coming back I'm sorry to say as I blinked it the first time a few years ago.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

50 Shades of Brunch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Came here with a group of 8 women before heading to see 50 Shades. Great service, great ambiance, good food and bottomless mimosas, bloodies and rum punch for brunch. Great time had by the entire party, not a single complaint. Will definitely be recommending and will be back. If only the movie was a great as brunch was! :-)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Group V-Day Dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Went her with a group of 7 for valentine's day dinner (friends not couples) and had a good time. There was more than enough space and they were very easy going about reservation changes. The food is yummy and different and the service was great.

Heard it's awesome for brunch so I want to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Our experience was perfect. The staff h ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 10, 2015

Our experience was perfect. The staff had our reservation - even remembered details! - and the service was superb, as was the super yummy food! We're definitely returning.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was SUCH a fun spot.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 7, 2015

I had a bunch of friends in town from Chicago and was recommended this spot. I had requested outdoor seating with my reso, so was a little disappointed when we were put all the way in the back corner.

However, the food was amazing and Libby, our server was THE best. The majority of our table is / was in the bar industry and we were super impressed with her service. She was seriously one of the best waitresses I have ever had. I had the steak sandwich, super different, but really loved it. Will definitely be back!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Roots Rock Reggae

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 3, 2015

A low key, fun spot for drinks, brunch, or a Carribbean/California fusion dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

great drinks

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 13, 2014

For brunch the drinks were amazing. Food was okay. It seemed like a popular spot but, it was never over crowded. Service was great!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Cute restaurant, poor service, overrated food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 7, 2014

I was really excited when we stepped into the restaurant, the hostess was friendly, the valet was nice and the interior was very well decorated. We were taken to the patio which is well lit and was equally as cute as the inside of the restaurant. The first mistake came when the hostess brought us to our table. We were a party of 3 and they sat us at a table really meant for 2 people. It wouldn't be a big deal except there was plenty of larger tables (better suited for parties of 4 but would seat us very comfortably). It was around 5:30 so the restaurant was still fairly empty, meaning we should've had the pick of the litter. This didn't become an issue when we were first seated but then the waitstaff weren't clearing our empty dishes. They would serve us food, look at the table and moved the empty dishes aside and awkwardly place new dishes on the already crowded table. We were mostly ignored by the staff, they were nowhere to be found when we wanted to refresh our drinks. We asked to share a dish and asked for an extra bowl and spoon and the waiter disappeared FOREVER. We ordered a steak sandwich which my friend enjoyed very much, sliders which were okay (not fantastic but good), and oxtail stew. The stew was not a stew but a soup. It was overly spicy without much flavor and only had two pieces of meat in it. The yucca was undercooked and overly starchy. By far the dish was not worth it's price ($16). It was at best a side dish and not even close to being a satisfying entree. When we needed our check we had to hunt down the waitress. Overall a not fantastic experience, I would not return nor would I recommend the restaurant to any of my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Beautiful Find

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 8, 2014

Wonderful steak sandwich, great fries. Decent mimosas, though their true appeal is how you can have as many as you'd like.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Sunday brunch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

Great place for a Sunday brunch. Super busy, but great, fun atmosphere, and a lovely day drinking experience!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazeballs

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

Went here for my birthday brunch and it was an amazing time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Yum!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

Really unique and yummy food. Cool decor and friendly staff. A favorite of mine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Hipster heaven

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 26, 2014

Lots of happy drinking hipsters in their native habitat. Very fun.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was great and the bottemless drinks ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 26, 2014

Food was great and the bottemless drinks at brunch were a nice add

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely patio with spicy flavors

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 25, 2014

We enjoyed our happy hour munchies on the lovely patio. The area feels slightly secluded in the middle of a busy street and intersection. The food is very good - surprising flavors layered with some bright standbys. Also great flavor at a great value!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

loud!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on October 12, 2014

Good food, slow but kind service staff. The bottomless drinks are nice but it is very very very loud.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

LA Brunch From The Movies

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 20, 2014

This place is a quintessential spot for an LA-style brunch as it would be depicted on the silver screen. It was the perfect Saturday afternoon brunch with a delicious menu of food options. And, as all good brunch places do, it offered bottomless drink options.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lots of potential

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 8, 2014

Food was good although not always as described on the menu. Cocktails were good, though small for the price. Dessert needs some work.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great place for brunch. Can't beat the b ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 7, 2014

Great place for brunch. Can't beat the bottomless Mimosas and Bloody Mary's. The Hangover plate is perfectly spiced and is must try. If you're feeling adventurous try the Muh Fnk Mofongo (yes that's the name of the dish) you won't be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunny Spot is one of the best brunch spo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2014

Sunny Spot is one of the best brunch spots for food and people watching in the Marina del Rey/Venice area.

Great bar, food menu is limited but some cool dishes.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Lost the Roy Choi Touch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 29, 2014

Well, at least dinner did. The food was good but not exciting. Some chairs were back-to-back... They need to do something about seating arrangement. I can't believe I'm complaining about the chairs in a restaurant review, but, uh, yeah, I think it would have made a difference. Everything else didn't convince me it was worth coming back, not for dinner at least.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great for brunch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 24, 2014

Bottomless mimosa, rum punch, and bloody marys' that they keep refilling and refilling! A little loud but fun for a big group rather than an intimate date.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Great brunch spot

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2014

Lively and fun, cheerful decor. Definitely make a reservation if planning for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Brunch at Sunny

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2014

I had the B-day Brunch at Sunny Spot last Sunday. They have very impressive menu, great service and great people watching. Very trendy place with excellent popular bottomless brunch drinks like champagne, mimosas, and Bloody Mary. The food is spicy and very tasty. The restaurant has a very unique interior design. The music was a bit loud but the staff did their best to accommodate our wishes. My party really had a great time at Sunny Spot!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

No way Roy.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2014

Roy Choi, what happened here? Food is ordinary at best. Uninspired. Not creative. If I didn't know this was one of your restaurants, I sure would never have guessed by the food. I am a big fan of A Frame and the Kogi truck. But Sunny Spot needs some re-imagining before it can become my sunny spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

WISH I DIDNT LIVE SO FAR

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2014

There isnt one bad thing i could say about Sunny Spot. Im not the best with words, just will sum it up with A++ for the food and A++ service...what else do you want? good job

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

brunch was below average

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2014

The food was not good at all. My plate was cold and had to be re-cooked. My friend's banana French toast had no bananas. I've had better at no name diners. Overall, just underwhelming. Not worthy of Roy Choi's name. I was so disappointed as I was prepared to love this place.

Server was very nice and apologetic. She did everything she could to make our experience enjoyable.

Also - the music was so loud I could not hear my companions at all, so we left and went to get dessert elsewhere - so you lost revenue even though I hear several other diners complained about this, it did not get lowered. So we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Hard not to love since they are dog frie ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 3, 2014

Hard not to love since they are dog friendly for patio seating! Food is good and atmosphere is fun. Second time there and I'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Saturday Evening Meal

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2014

The hostess greeted us warmly and our reservation was honored promptly - we were seated at a nicely located outdoor table. My pet peeve is these outdoor iron grated tables are dirty and not cleaned in between seatings (I was watching). When the waiter takes away your appetizers, they pick up your silverware and place it right on the dirty / never cleaned iron table. I did find this to be a turn off. The water was very nice and helpful in answering our questions. I simply found the food uninspired - not particularly tasty and with the inclusion of "beans and rice" with nearly every dish, it felt like we could have been at an Acapulco in the suburbs. I doubt that I will ever come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The food was good...not great except for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2014

The food was good...not great except for the bread pudding dessert that was FABULOUS!!! I expected the other food to be better. Dining on the patio was pleasant on a hot summer night and the service was OK. Parking is a problem unless you use valet at $6.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Sunny Spot is THEE spot for Brunch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2014

Sunny Spot is without a doubt my favorite place to brunch on Sundays. The décor, music and bottomless mimosas are exactly what Sundays are all about.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bohemian Beach Spot

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2014

I love this place. Casual. Hip. Delicious. Eclectic. Fun. Comfortable. Beautiful. Playful. Friendly. Oh, and did I say Delicious?

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Unlike my previous experiences

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2014

So this time was not so sunny at Sunny Spot. I made reservations weeks ago asking for the patio but was told that the patio is not guaranteed because other people had reservations. Is that not contradictory? My party was only five people and there were many ways to accommodate us on the patio easily. Instead I had to be a pest to get seated. And service was not up to par. When I order bottomless drinks, I should not have to chase my server down to get a refill.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Wonderful inventive food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2014

Came at Happy hour when all appraisers were less expensive and we experienced many delicious inventive dishes. The bar began to get busy and the noise level after 7;300 PM increased immensely as the restaurant filled up. We never felt rushed and our waiter was excellent.

We all would gladly go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food, great drinks!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2014

We ordered appetizers including the awesome Mofongo! Definitely worth the money spent and waiter gave great recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Awesome & delicious!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 5, 2014

We loved our experience at the Sunny Spot! We had the sweetest waiter who was so friendly and helpful. She gave us great recommendations and service! The drinks were very unique and tasted amazing. The food was also unique and absolutely delicious. I would highly recommend this adorable spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 4, 2014

We brought family in from out of town to try out this restaurant after watching "Chef". Of the five entrees, only three were good the diablo shrimp, lamb and ox tail pasta. The skirt steak and scallops, with the citrus/fruit was to sweet and hid the flavor of the entrees. The sides were disappointing as well, the black beans were bland and needed help. The appetizers were ok, mof ko wraps and calamari.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.