Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

New Rebozo ChicagoNew Rebozo Chicago
(23)
Mexican | Gold Coast / Streeterville, Chicago
Reserve Now
Friends SushiFriends Sushi
(268)
Sushi | Gold Coast / Streeterville, Chicago
Reserve Now
RL RestaurantRL Restaurant
(2959)
American | Gold Coast / Streeterville, Chicago
Reserve Now
Shanghai TerraceShanghai Terrace
(643)
Chinese | Gold Coast / Streeterville, Chicago
Reserve Now
The LobbyThe Lobby
(710)
Contemporary American | Gold Coast / Streeterville, Chicago
Reserve Now
Rosebud on RushRosebud on Rush
(2217)
Italian | Gold Coast / Streeterville, Chicago
Reserve Now
ikram cafeikram cafe
(104)
American | Gold Coast / Streeterville, Chicago
Reserve Now
NoMINoMI
(1985)
Contemporary American | River North (Chicago), Chicago
Reserve Now
Devon Seafood Grill - ChicagoDevon Seafood Grill - Chicago
(2533)
Seafood | Gold Coast / Streeterville, Chicago
Reserve Now
bistronomicbistronomic
(1859)
French American | Gold Coast / Streeterville, Chicago
Reserve Now
676 Restaurant and Bar676 Restaurant and Bar
(521)
Contemporary American | Downtown / Loop, Chicago
Reserve Now
Bar TomaBar Toma
(789)
Pizzeria | Gold Coast / Streeterville, Chicago
Reserve Now
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood - ChicagoMcCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Chicago
(1292)
Seafood | Gold Coast / Streeterville, Chicago
Reserve Now
Pane CaldoPane Caldo
(39)
Italian | Gold Coast / Streeterville, Chicago
Reserve Now
Sophie's at Saks Fifth Avenue- ChicagoSophie's at Saks Fifth Avenue- Chicago
(89)
Contemporary American | Gold Coast / Streeterville, Chicago
Reserve Now

About Sunny Side Up

42 E Superior St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Our Coffee Shop is on the 1st floor, serving organic coffee, tea, and an assortment of pastries.
The main restaurant is on the 2nd and 3rd floors, along with the bar. We have a private party area on our 4th floor.
The patio is always open, weather permitting!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast & Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
N Wabash

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 930-4242

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Sunny Side Up Egg Sandwich
  • Stuffed French Toast With Strawberries
  • Baguette With Goat Cheese Eggs And Tomato
  • Bacon Pancakes
  • Banana And Flax Seed Pancakes
  • croque madam
Sunny Side Up Egg Sandwich
Stuffed French Toast With Strawberries
Baguette With Goat Cheese Eggs And Tomato
Bacon Pancakes
Banana And Flax Seed Pancakes
croque madam

Sunny Side Up Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

great for brunch (20)
neighborhood gem (10)
great for lunch (8)
See All
fit for foodies (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
kid-friendly (3)
good for groups (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Every time I come to Sunny Side Up, I en ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Every time I come to Sunny Side Up, I enjoy my morning. It's a great place for brunch, but I'd suggest a reservation as seating is sometimes a waiting game. This particular time, service was pretty atrocious, but it is usually very good. There are two floors above the ground floor, but you usually have to ask to be seated upstairs. It's a pretty tiny place, so it's tough for large groups or families with kids to get comfortable. It's a breakfast and lunch place, so I don't think it's open for dinner. The cafe downstairs is GREAT, too!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great menu with a mix of traditional bre ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Great menu with a mix of traditional breakfast food and more creative dishes. The cronuts were delicious and so was everything else. Only wish they had mimosas!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious breakfast!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

This was my first time to Sunny Side Up. I recently moved to the area and will be a frequent diner. The restaurant is in a unique location with an attentive staff. The menu had a lot of options and the food was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for Easter Sunday and the servic ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for Easter Sunday and the service and food was perfect!!

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Luke warm eggs

Dined on February 28, 2016

We were seated promptly. Did not have to wait long for the waitress to arrive and the food came quite quickly. The problem was that the eggs were not hot. I had an eggs Benedict and the tomato cold, the eggs barely warm. My husband's Benedict was the same. Brunch for 4 was over $100 with tip. Not thrilled with the value.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience3
service3

I had brunch with a friend. I had the ba ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

I had brunch with a friend. I had the banana and flaxseed pancakes and she had the oatmeal with fruit. Very good food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

People Were Right

Dined on February 21, 2016

Good reviews are dead-on; this place is yummy! I loved the beautiful, old building. The location is a little off the main drag, so no crazy busy. Nice, diverse menu. And everyone really nice. And at this time they carry Do-Rite Donuts - bonus. Glad we had a reservation; slight line when we left.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The stuffed French toast is best I've ev ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The stuffed French toast is best I've ever eaten. Would return to Chicago for it alone Go here

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this spot!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Perfect neighborhood place that is located in an old brownstone. Great breakfast and cool vibe. (If you go to Holy Family church it is like 1/2 block away).

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

fine

Dined on January 31, 2016

Food was fine but cool. Service was excellent. Quarters too close for sitting and rubbed elbows eating. Interesting building, though. Would try the coffee shop.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was wonderful. Menu was great. B ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Service was wonderful. Menu was great. Breakfast and lunch selections.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

delicious!

Dined on January 17, 2016

The Croques Madam was so very tasty! Good service and good coffee

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

should be able to climb stairs

Dined on January 16, 2016

I have older friends and would worry about a seating on the second floor. Perhaps ask for a downstairs table when making reservations. We loved this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Reliable

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

Broad brunch menu with many options. Quality food served in a 3 story home. Excellent coffee. Responsive service. Good value. Worth a visit.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great little place

Dined on January 3, 2016

We had a small group for brunch and it was perfect. Everyone enjoyed their food. The place is in an old house and is actually pretty neat. Our server was great and the other people working were all really nice. This is a great spot for good food!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful service from Christine, who is ...

vip
Dined on December 14, 2015

Wonderful service from Christine, who is a consummate professional, and to-die-for breakfast. My Croque Madame was a very generous portion that I couldn't finish but wish I had taken home for leftovers. Our table of 6 also ordered the cinnamon pancakes and they were gone in no time. Cozy atmosphere with sweet holiday decorations.

food4
ambience4
service4

My wife and I enjoyed our visit to Sunny ...

Dined on December 6, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed our visit to Sunny Side Up. My wife ordered a Benedict, though it didn't measure up to various other Benedicts she's had recently at other restaurants. My cinnamon roll pancakes were light in texture, but lacked enough cinnamon. There was hardly any cinnamon at all. Having made those comments, we would still visit again, if in that neighborhood.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Magical place

Dined on October 25, 2015

Magical place

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience at Sunny Side Up! Foo ...

Dined on September 26, 2015

Amazing experience at Sunny Side Up! Food and service were wonderful. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3

Delicious food and wonderful service

Dined on September 18, 2015

Delicious food and wonderful service

food5
ambience3
service4

2 thunbs up for sunny side up

vip
Dined on August 23, 2015

great neighborhood venue for breakfast. friendly staff, good and fast service. Food was delicious! I had a egg white salmon, veggie and feta omelet that was outstanding! great find!

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience5
service5

One good, one bad.

Dined on August 23, 2015

I came here with a friend as a sort of goodbye brunch, since I'm leaving Chicago for school. We reserved a table for two for 10:15, and got there right on time, we waited about 7 minutes and were seated on the third floor. We ordered orange juice, which was beyond amazing, and freshly squeezed. We then ordered and our meals, I ordered the eggs Benedict, she ordered the stuffed french toast, and since we were cold we also ordered hot chocolate. Her meal was fantastic, she loved it and I tried a bite and I loved it. My meal however, the eggs were over poached, the yolks not even a bit runny, and the "Canadian bacon" was bizarrely sweet, not honey glazed, just the entire piece was overly sweet. All in all great atmosphere nice neighborhood, just wouldn't recommend the classic eggs Benedict.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2

Bacon pancakes were terrible. This sound ...

Dined on August 2, 2015

Bacon pancakes were terrible. This sounded like a great idea but these were so disappointing. The whole pancake just tasted like liquid smoke. I saw other plates and they looked delicious but I personally didn't enjoy mine. Clearly just picked the wrong item. Breakfast potatoes weren't well seasoned either.

food3
ambience2
service2

Checked it out online and the food sound ...

vip
Dined on July 31, 2015

Checked it out online and the food sounded and looked delicious. When we received our orders, we were underwhelmed. There food was rather bland and wasn't presented very well. It also took a long time to receive our order and there were only a few other tables full at the time. Nothing special. The site also boasted about having Glazed and Infused donuts, however, the server never mentioned it nor did she show us a listing of the donuts offered.

food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great place! We absolutely loved ...

Dined on July 31, 2015

Such a great place! We absolutely loved it! Will be back next time we visit Chicago!

food5
ambience3
service1

Great Food, POOR Service

Dined on July 26, 2015

My husband and I have been to Sunny Side Up for brunch many times... Our food is always great! Unfortunately the last time we visited, we had very poor service. The waitress hardly said two words to our table, we actually didn't know she was our waitress until she took our order. She spilled coffee all over our table trying to get the last drops out of the pot. She never offered to clean it and in the process of emptying the pot, she only had enough to fill my husbands cup about half full... She never returned to top him off. Also, we saw our food come out and sit on a tray for at least 5 minutes while the waitress ignored it and went to another table. The food was cold by the time she served it to us. We will now think twice before visiting again...

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Great brunch in a historic buiding

Dined on June 28, 2015

Great brunch after mass at Holy Name Cathedral. Nicole gave us outstanding service!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Breakfast burrito was terrific!

Dined on June 22, 2015

Breakfast burrito was terrific!

food5
ambience5
service4

Perfect end to Chicago trip, every time!

Dined on June 14, 2015

Loveeee this place - found it a few years ago & we go on Sunday morning, right before we head home to Cincinnati every time we come up for a weekend! Menu has all your favorite standards, and then there are also many unique dishes (ham, cheese, & apple compote stuffed french toast?!) for those more adventurous! Highly recommended!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Breakfasts!

Dined on May 24, 2015

Pancakes and stuffed French Toast are wonderful, so was smoked salmon! Staff was very friendly, service was great. A little noisy, but excellent breakfast/lunch place!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Cute Coffee Shop in the City

vip
Dined on May 23, 2015

The food at Sunnyside Up was tasty & the service excellent. Tables are available off the sidewalk in front of the restaurant for outdoor dining. We did not eat inside, so I can't comment on the interior. In all, a nicer coffee shop experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3

nice place for brunch

Dined on May 10, 2015

Food was delcious, service was great but the ambiance needs some work. Tables are too close together and the decor looks thrown together. Not the most inviting dining room but overall we had a nice brunch.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood Favorite

vip
Dined on May 9, 2015

The historic building alone makes Sunny Side Up a special place. Be prepared for a wait on a weekend - I was glad to find it was on OpenTable and easily made a reservation, and luckily this time it wasn't very crowded due to the poor weather. The food is fantastic - there is something for everyone! I have always had great experiences with the staff.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunny Side Up for Breakfast / Brunch

Dined on May 9, 2015

Good menu, spanning egg-and-meat dishes, pancakes & waffles, and lighter repasts. Service was quick, attentive, and friendly. Coffee was excellent. Families with young children are welcome and should find a good experience. Meal sizes are not so large as to require an immediate, post-prandial nap, but of a comfortable magnitude. Ambience was quiet enough that you and your meal partner can hear one another in quiet conversation. And altogether not particularly expensive, especially for the location.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Confetti Pancakes!

vip
Dined on April 4, 2015

Sunny Side Up was delicious! We came here for brunch, mostly because they are one of the few restaurants in the area that accepts reservations. Both of us ordered the confetti pancakes, and they were amazing--delicious sprinkles cooked into them with whipped cream and more sprinkles on top! My only complaint would be that we felt rushed. As soon as we finished eating, our waitress (who was very friendly and attentive) brought the check, and the hostess was not very subtle about pointing out our table as one that would likely be clearing soon. I understand that Saturday mornings are busy, but I think it would have been reasonable for us to feel welcome to spend more than a half hour there!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant for breakfast. I liked ...

Dined on March 29, 2015

Great restaurant for breakfast. I liked the menu choices. I had the steak Benedict which they tell me is the chef's favorite, and I can see why. A lot of people complained about service and waiting, but for a Sunday morning, we were seated fast and service was really good. Would definitely come back!

food2
ambience1
service2

Too loud, we had a reservation and had to wait.

vip
Dined on March 15, 2015

We sat upstairs and it was too noisy. The bar area was full of napkins, miscellaneous stuff and servers personal items. The area should have been cleaned up. I had the turkey sandwich and it was nothing special, except for the price, which was too expensive for what you got. We won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Local gem

vip
Dined on February 21, 2015

We live only about five blocks from Sunny Side Up but had not dined here. Went with friends from New Mexico. Everybody liked what they had, and the service was excellent. We look forward to returning in the spring/summer to dine at the outdoor tables.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

AWESOME.

Dined on January 18, 2015

After discovering this place, it quickly became a top favorite for us. We jump at the opportunity to go here as often as possible. Whenever we have people from out of town visit, we always make sure to take them to Sunny Side Up. Go here. You will not regret it. I promise.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Just the Place I was Seeking for Brunch

Dined on January 11, 2015

We were visiting our niece in Chicago and were seeking a nice place for brunch near downtown, not too fancy schmancy and not where we'd need to wait for an hour and a half. Sunny Side Up fit the bill perfectly. Nothing stellar, but everything very good. If I lived in Chicago, it would be a regular for me.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.