About Sunda

110 W. Illinois St.
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Located within Chicago’s bustling River North neighborhood, Sunda pairs New Asian fare with Midwestern hospitality for an award-winning concept. Offering contemporary interpretations of traditional dishes from Japan, China, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines and more, the Michelin-recommended concept from Rockit Ranch Productions has received numerous accolades, including Best New Restaurant and Chicago’s Sexiest Restaurant. Showcasing exceptional cuisine from Executive Chef Jess DeGuzman, mod décor from renowned designer Tony Chi, a chic, yet approachable ambiance and seating for more than 200 guests, Sunda has rapidly become a mainstay on the Chicago dining scene.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi, Southeast Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Thursday- Friday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Saturday: 4:00pm-12am
Sunday: 4:00pm-11am
Brunch Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
LaSalle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-0500

Website:
http://www.sundachicago.com/

Entertainment:
Rockit Ranch Productions can book your entertainment for your private party needs. No live entertainment is offered in non-private areas.

Catering:
Email events@sundachicago.com for Private Party Room information and in-house customized catering options.

PARTY PLATTERS TO-GO:
Order party platters for "pick-up" for your office lunch, event and more.
http://www.sundachicago.com/menu/

For 'full-service" off-premise catering inquiries please email events@sundachicago.com with your request.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available.
Parking lots nearby at the corner of Illinois and LaSalle.
Meter street parking nearby.

Public Transit:
#22 Bus, stop at Grand coming from the North. Stop at Hubbard if coming from the South. Walk a ½ block west.
#36 Bus, stop at Illinois coming from either direction, then walk 1 ½ block west.
Red line train Grand Stop then walk one block north to Illinois

Executive Chef:
Jess DeGuzman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SUNDA BRUNCH: 10 AM - Weekends!
Saturday & Sunday Brunch features a special brunch menu with new items as well as Sunda Signature favorites, a gourmet “build your own” bloody mary bar, asian-inspired Mimosa-Kits and more! Brunch services from 10am – 3pm on Saturday and 10am – 4pm on Sundays.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Sweet Potato Caterpillar Roll - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Lemongrass Beef Lollipops - Sunda, Chicago, IL
 Oxtail Potstickers with caramelized onion jus - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Stuffed Avocado - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Lobster and Wagyu Roll - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Brussels Sprout Salad - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Crispy Brussel Sprouts - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Fire Cracker Roll - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Dragon Roll - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Tiger Shrimp Tempura - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Oxtail Potstickers - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Edamame Shitake Dumplings - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Pork Belly Skewers - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Bang Bang Salad. Jicama, Papaya And Mango - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Lobster salad on crispy rice cakes - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Jackfruit crème brûlée, ube-macapuno ice cream, red mung beans, jackfruit, coconut gel, toasted coconut - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Vegetarian ramen, egg noodles, miso broth, poached egg, seaweed, kale, carrots, radish, mushrooms, kimchi, bok choy, kai lan - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Miso Ramen - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Seared American Kobe Beef Tartare on Pan-Fried Sushi Rice - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Diet Pepsi - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Seasonal Cobbler and Chocolate Mousse Cake - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Bibimbap - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Eggs Benedict - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Tempura French Toast Batons - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Sumo Bloody Mary - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Kimchi Soup - Sunda, Chicago, IL
CHICKEN AND MUSHROOM SIU MAI - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Har Gow - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Wagyu Roti Prata - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Grilled Petite NY Steak Bento Box - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Chicken and Pork Adobo Bento Box - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Rudicolous - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Custom Bloody Mary - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Devil's Basket - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Steamed Bao Buns - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Baby asparagus wrapped in pork belly. - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Jalapeño Yellowtail Roll - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Duck Hash Omelette - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Kobe Beef Lollipops - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Sunda Handroll - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Grass Tiger - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Honey-ginger Braised Beef Shortribs - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Ginger Cake - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Loompya - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Tuna Maguro W/ Caviar - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Braised Pork Belly - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Surf and Turf Roll - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Eel Sushi - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Smoked Salmon And Salmon Sushi - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Tocino On Crispy Rice With Poached Eggs And Hollandaise - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Mango Soda - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Sunda Sundae – Halo Halo (Filipino dessert), avocado, sweet corn/cheddar cheese and ube-macapuno ice cream, calamansi granita, sweet red beans, jackfruit, coconut gel, sweetened condensed milk, fresh berries, toasted coconut - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Bicol express – coconut stew, soft shell crab, shrimp, pork, garlic, lemongrass, chilies, coconut milk - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Longevity Lump Crab Garlic Noodles - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Lobster Sundawich - Sunda, Chicago, IL
edamame - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Tofu Pad Thai - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Mimosa Kit - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Thai Omelet - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Hitacino Nest Beer - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Steamed Buns With Duck - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Kale And Seaweed Salad - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Kale and seaweed salad, mizuna, toasted seaweed, carrot, wakame, cabbage, cucumber, mint, basil, red onion, pckled beet, radish, sesame seeds, sweet chili lime vinaigrette - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Calamansi Sorbet - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Kinilaw, Filipino ceviche, butter poached lobster, kusshi oysters, jicama, radish, citrus segements, cherry tomato, tomato granita - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Embotido, Filipino meatloaf, wagyu beef, pork, foie gras, quail egg, banana sauce, taro root purée - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Adobo marinated pork, porcelet, garlic, scallions, radish sprouts, pancit, crispy pork, dinuguan sauce - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Bistek, Filipino steak, wagyu ribeye, citrus marinade, shallots, leeks, bone marrow garlic fried rice - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Pork Belly Fried Rice With A Fried Egg - Sunda, Chicago, IL
 Shrimp Tempura Roll - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Thee With Honey - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Shrimp Toast - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Pistachio and coffee macarons; raspberry chocolate torte; white chocolate passion fruit truffle; cookies bites: oatmeal, double chocolate, espresso, orange creamsicle, coconut macaroons - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Afternoon tea – yuzu marmalade, truffled honey butter, papaya jam - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Vegetarian afternoon tea: black bean sauce tofu; jicama taco w/ sweet potato, asparagus, mango, sprouts; edamame dumpling, red pepper black garlic sauces; veggie-cue, basil, jicama, shiitake mushrooms, avocado; sweet potato avocado maki sushi - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Sisig – Filipino sizzling pork belly and trip with fried egg, scallions, served with rice - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Escabeche, Chilean sea bass, bell peppers, shallots, cherry tomatoes, calamansi gastrique - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Amuse bouche – pancit molo, Filipino wonton soup, duck and foie gras dumplings, quail egg, duck consommé, crispy duck - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Sans Rival, Filipino layered dessert cake, buttercream, meringue, pistachios, raspberry sauce, berries - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Asparagus And Mushroom Salad - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Adobo Braised Pork Belly - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Seared Wagyu Beef - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Miso Glazed Black Cod - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Beef Lollipops - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Lumpia - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Chilean Seabass - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Brussell Sprout Salad - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Kobe Beef Tartar On Crispy Rice - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Lychee Martini - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Nasi Goreng - Sunda, Chicago, IL
Pancit Canton - Sunda, Chicago, IL

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Enjoy private or non-private group dining, receptions, sushi stations, carvings, buffets and more for holiday parties, corporate receptions, and impressive client entertaining with exciting, yet approachable tasting menus custom created to include sushi, salads, dim sum, entrees and desserts.

Sunda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (67)
Good for a Date (65)
Special Occasion (65)
See All
Fit for Foodies (58)
Fun (55)
Hot Spot (55)
Good for Groups (53)
Modern Decor (51)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
People Watching (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Romantic (26)
Authentic (25)
Business Meals (25)
Great for Lunch (22)
Casual (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Spicy (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Family Style (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Healthy (14)
Tapas (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Cozy (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Seasonal (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great Beer (6)
Private Room (5)
Organic (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
4182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really mediocre food. It's all about the ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined a day ago

Really mediocre food. It's all about the crowd buzz

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Went with a party of 7 for a business di ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Went with a party of 7 for a business dinner. Service was truly outstanding. Waiter was really helpful, friendly, attentive and helpful. Food comes out as its ready so lots of small plates and lots of sharing. Truly enjoyed the food and creative twist. Sushi was really good and approved by the Japanese colleagues in our group. Drinks were very good, expensive but a decent pour. Only draw back is the noise level, very very hard to hear each other so conversation was limited just to those immediately next to you. Though it was a lively and fun atmosphere. I would still highly recommend. But don't go if your looking for a quiet place!!

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was not was to expected! I used ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was not was to expected! I used to love this place and it's really gone down hill. The food should be sent out of the kitchen at its upmost freshness and that was not done on this occasion. I probably won't go back there again considering how many other great restaurants there are to eat at in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Mel is the best server. Loved the crisp ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Mel is the best server. Loved the crispy Brussel sprouts and Wok fired shishito peppers ... yum. This is my 5th time and I have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food, ambiance, and service. The ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Superb food, ambiance, and service. The Ikura is the best I've ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was attentive and also knowl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Our service was attentive and also knowledgeable in helping us with decisions, the food and cocktails were fantastic and the setting was exactly what we were looking for for a romantic evening. My only critique was the spacing in food delivery. We ordered Dim Sum, a noodle entre and sushi to be delivered in that order, and we sat 10-15 minutes past the completion of each dish before receiving the next.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The hot Brussels Sprout Salad, miso caul ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The hot Brussels Sprout Salad, miso cauliflower are really special. Fun family style sharing of dishes. Great atmosphere, friendly, efficient staff. Everyone left happy and full.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Their brunch menu was good for a general ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Their brunch menu was good for a general brunch but, as a sushi restaurant, I was surprised by the low number of sushi rolls on the brunch menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a reservation for Sunday brunch @ ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a reservation for Sunday brunch @ 10:30am, but it wasn't necessary. It was quiet during that time.

We were greeted immediately, sat immediately, and our waitstaff came right away. The staff were attentive and provided poignant recommendations.

The food was delivered to our table deliberately. With it being a small plates-type of restaurant, the timing was arranged so it could be paired from small to larger dishes. The quality was top-notch. The bulgogi was flavorful. The unagi nigiri was on par with any I've ever had. The pork belly was juicy and went well with the fried rice.

Overall, a great experience. I'd like to come back for dinner some time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Asian Fusion menu! All plates can ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Asian Fusion menu! All plates can be shared so we ordered a fun variety of Chinese dumplings, pad thai and Japanese curry. Excellent service, our server checked in on us regularly despite the vast size of the restaurant. Vibrant, fun and very lively atmosphere.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious! Great service and great food! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious! Great service and great food! We had a party of 10 and it worked out wonderfully!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my second time visiting Chicago ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my second time visiting Chicago, and I made sure to stop here for dinner both times. The sushi is so unique, and I love how everything is served family style. My favorite appetizers are the Brussel sprouts salad-literally the best Brussels I've ever had, and the oxtail potstickers. The drinks are wonderful and come in cute glasses with flowers and other garnishes. They also have some great beers on tap. Such a fun, hip sushi spot and in the perfect location in River North. They also let us sit at the bar and wait for the other two in our party to arrive, and it didn't delay us in getting a table when we were ready.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great decor, nice atmosphere. We went e ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great decor, nice atmosphere. We went early, 5:30 so it was quiet, but as people came in, it got pretty loud. Interesting drink menu, well made drinks, good variety of unusual beers. Too many of the sushi rolls include something cooked, like shrimp, or lobster, but they will make you classic rolls upon request. Beware...they automatically added 20% gratuity for 8 of us!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Romantic, Business Meals, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Sunda is a consistent delight due to a c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Sunda is a consistent delight due to a combination of excellent Japanese cuisine and lively environment. I have yet to meet a person who does not enjoy Sunda.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorites ! The Brussel Sprou ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

One of my favorites ! The Brussel Sprout Salad is a must have !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal at Sunda. Food is crea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Had a great meal at Sunda. Food is creative and delicious. So many options I want to go back so I can try more dishes. Only small issue was the noise level - it is not a quiet place. Not complaining, just something to keep in mind for future visits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, would recomm ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Excellent food and service, would recommend to a friend

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative menu with a lot of Filipino and ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Creative menu with a lot of Filipino and other Southeast Asian flavors you don't see everyday. Reasonable prices and good portions for the type of restaurant. Waitress offered good recommendations and was generally friendly. They could take a little better advantage of the tremendous culinary heritage they're drawing from and make some of those bright flavors pop a little more, though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I highly recommend this place. The serv ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I highly recommend this place. The service was great and the food was amazing. It is a bit loud, but if that doesn't bother you definitely check this place out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has been a while since I last visited ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It has been a while since I last visited this restaurant. I used to love it but now think it is overpriced for what is offered. $16 for a martini is outrageous! The Chicken was WAY overpriced as well, at $28.00. I have a very hard time justifying the price for what is served. I will probably not return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Essen ging viel zu schnell und Viel zu l ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Essen ging viel zu schnell und Viel zu laut...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Way too loud for conversation. VERY pri ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Way too loud for conversation. VERY pricy, I mean $8 for an iced tea? That's the price of a martini! People were nice, sushi was good, lumpia was like frozen taquitos I get in the grocery store. Cellophane noodles under the wings were too hot with hot sauce & not tasty at all. Hope this helps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing. Great menu, great cocktails, an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Amazing. Great menu, great cocktails, and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've had nice dinners at Sunda on previ ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We've had nice dinners at Sunda on previous occasions but this was unfortunately, an awful meal. Other than the brussel sprouts, we barely touched the other dishes. The fish was not fresh, the plates were drowning in seasoning, the tuna was mashed - not diced - and tasted completely off-putting. We were very disappointed. It felt like we were dining on New Years' left overs. And our waitress took our money and never came back with change - we would have left her the change as a tip ($38) because it wasn't her fault that the food was terrible but she never even gave us the chance. She just took the money and left! Unreal! We will not be returning.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great service! Great food! I love places ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service! Great food! I love places that take care of their customers. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food..great service...great ambien ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food..great service...great ambience!

Service was impeccable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NYE food was cheap, undercooked, and por ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE food was cheap, undercooked, and portions were so small. Very upset with the meal we purchased for a lot of $$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

We went to Sunda for our first Anniversa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went to Sunda for our first Anniversary. The food just melted in our mouth - we had Wagyu beef and duck Fried rice.

The service was also excellent. Since it was our anniversary, the waiter got a candle for our table to make it extra romantic. He also got the dessert ("Ridiculous") with a candle on it.

The ambiance was very modern with key Asian accents. The ligthing was just right - not too dark, nor too dazzling.

We will definitely keep this place in mind for special occasions.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A favorite, for a group dinner or just w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A favorite, for a group dinner or just with a great friend. I always look forward to my next trip to Sunda.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Business Meals, Romantic, Tapas, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome. Cannot wait to go back.

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome. Cannot wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, great service. All the rolls ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, great service. All the rolls were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my second time going to Sunda wh ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is my second time going to Sunda while visiting Chicago. Food is outstanding. Prices are high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service all around!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing food and service all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunda was one of my favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Sunda was one of my favorite restaurants in Chicago. Not sure if you have a new chef or changed up your recipes. But my Pad Thai Chicken dish did not taste nearly as good as usual. al

Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I'm usually a big fan of Sunda and have ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I'm usually a big fan of Sunda and have been there for many many dinners. So I insisted to take my friend there. Lunch was very disappointing. The sushi rolls were awful and very poor quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great spot! The food and service are bo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great spot! The food and service are both excellent. Great vibe too.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food is consistently good. G ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Overall the food is consistently good. Great customer service. I would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great atmosphere, delicious maki rolls, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great atmosphere, delicious maki rolls, amazing cocktails and outstanding service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelent food, good location, a bit crow ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excelent food, good location, a bit crowded. We went there for a special occasion. Unfortunately, the restaurant did not pay any attention to that. We loved the food but won't go back.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Brussels salad was yummy. Oxtail potstic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Brussels salad was yummy. Oxtail potstickers very good. Crazy rice with lobster tasty. And finished it with "Ridiculous" desert.

5🌟.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.