About Sunda

110 W. Illinois St.
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Located within Chicago’s bustling River North neighborhood, Sunda pairs New Asian fare with Midwestern hospitality for an award-winning concept. Offering contemporary interpretations of traditional dishes from Japan, China, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines and more, the Michelin-recommended concept from Rockit Ranch Productions has received numerous accolades, including Best New Restaurant and Chicago’s Sexiest Restaurant. Showcasing exceptional cuisine from Executive Chef Jess DeGuzman, mod décor from renowned designer Tony Chi, a chic, yet approachable ambiance and seating for more than 200 guests, Sunda has rapidly become a mainstay on the Chicago dining scene.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi, Southeast Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Thursday- Friday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Saturday: 4:00pm-12am
Sunday: 4:00pm-11am
Brunch Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
LaSalle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-0500

Website:
http://www.sundachicago.com/

Entertainment:
Rockit Ranch Productions can book your entertainment for your private party needs. No live entertainment is offered in non-private areas.

Catering:
Email events@sundachicago.com for Private Party Room information and in-house customized catering options.

PARTY PLATTERS TO-GO:
Order party platters for "pick-up" for your office lunch, event and more.
http://www.sundachicago.com/menu/

For 'full-service" off-premise catering inquiries please email events@sundachicago.com with your request.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available.
Parking lots nearby at the corner of Illinois and LaSalle.
Meter street parking nearby.

Public Transit:
#22 Bus, stop at Grand coming from the North. Stop at Hubbard if coming from the South. Walk a ½ block west.
#36 Bus, stop at Illinois coming from either direction, then walk 1 ½ block west.
Red line train Grand Stop then walk one block north to Illinois

Executive Chef:
Jess DeGuzman

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SUNDA BRUNCH: 10 AM - Weekends!
Saturday & Sunday Brunch features a special brunch menu with new items as well as Sunda Signature favorites, a gourmet “build your own” bloody mary bar, asian-inspired Mimosa-Kits and more! Brunch services from 10am – 3pm on Saturday and 10am – 4pm on Sundays.

Restaurant Photos

Sunda
Sunda
Sunda
Sunda
Sunda
Sunda
Sunda
Sunda
 Oxtail Potstickers with caramelized onion jus
Lemongrass Beef Lollipops
Lobster and Wagyu Roll
Crispy Brussel Sprouts
Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna
Brussels Sprout Salad
Fire Cracker Roll
Edamame Shitake Dumplings
Sweet Potato Caterpillar Roll
Dragon Roll
Tiger Shrimp Tempura
Oxtail Potstickers
Pork Belly Skewers
Bang Bang Salad. Jicama, Papaya And Mango
Lobster salad on crispy rice cakes
Jackfruit crème brûlée, ube-macapuno ice cream, red mung beans, jackfruit, coconut gel, toasted coconut
Vegetarian ramen, egg noodles, miso broth, poached egg, seaweed, kale, carrots, radish, mushrooms, kimchi, bok choy, kai lan
Braised Pork Belly
Spicey "Tail Of Two Tunas"
Sashimi
Blackberry-Limeade
Miso Ramen
Seared American Kobe Beef Tartare on Pan-Fried Sushi Rice
Diet Pepsi
Seasonal Cobbler and Chocolate Mousse Cake
Bibimbap
Tempura French Toast Batons
Eggs Benedict
Sumo Bloody Mary
Kimchi Soup
CHICKEN AND MUSHROOM SIU MAI
Har Gow
Wagyu Roti Prata
Grilled Petite NY Steak Bento Box
Chicken and Pork Adobo Bento Box
Rudicolous
Devil's Basket
Jalapeño Yellowtail Roll
Custom Bloody Mary
Steamed Bao Buns
Baby asparagus wrapped in pork belly.
Duck Hash Omelette
Kobe Beef Lollipops
Sunda Handroll
Grass Tiger
Tuna Maguro W/ Caviar
Honey-ginger Braised Beef Shortribs
Chocolate Ginger Cake
Loompya
Surf and Turf Roll
Tocino On Crispy Rice With Poached Eggs And Hollandaise
Mango Soda
Eel Sushi
Smoked Salmon And Salmon Sushi
Sunda Sundae – Halo Halo (Filipino dessert), avocado, sweet corn/cheddar cheese and ube-macapuno ice cream, calamansi granita, sweet red beans, jackfruit, coconut gel, sweetened condensed milk, fresh berries, toasted coconut
Bicol express – coconut stew, soft shell crab, shrimp, pork, garlic, lemongrass, chilies, coconut milk
Longevity Lump Crab Garlic Noodles
Lobster Sundawich
edamame
Tofu Pad Thai
Mimosa Kit
Thai Omelet
Hitacino Nest Beer
Kale And Seaweed Salad
Steamed Buns With Duck
Kale and seaweed salad, mizuna, toasted seaweed, carrot, wakame, cabbage, cucumber, mint, basil, red onion, pckled beet, radish, sesame seeds, sweet chili lime vinaigrette
Calamansi Sorbet
Embotido, Filipino meatloaf, wagyu beef, pork, foie gras, quail egg, banana sauce, taro root purée
Bistek, Filipino steak, wagyu ribeye, citrus marinade, shallots, leeks, bone marrow garlic fried rice
Kinilaw, Filipino ceviche, butter poached lobster, kusshi oysters, jicama, radish, citrus segements, cherry tomato, tomato granita
Adobo marinated pork, porcelet, garlic, scallions, radish sprouts, pancit, crispy pork, dinuguan sauce
Pork Belly Fried Rice With A Fried Egg
 Shrimp Tempura Roll
Thee With Honey
Stuffed Avocado
Shrimp Toast
Pistachio and coffee macarons; raspberry chocolate torte; white chocolate passion fruit truffle; cookies bites: oatmeal, double chocolate, espresso, orange creamsicle, coconut macaroons
Vegetarian afternoon tea: black bean sauce tofu; jicama taco w/ sweet potato, asparagus, mango, sprouts; edamame dumpling, red pepper black garlic sauces; veggie-cue, basil, jicama, shiitake mushrooms, avocado; sweet potato avocado maki sushi
Afternoon tea – yuzu marmalade, truffled honey butter, papaya jam
Sisig – Filipino sizzling pork belly and trip with fried egg, scallions, served with rice
Sans Rival, Filipino layered dessert cake, buttercream, meringue, pistachios, raspberry sauce, berries
Amuse bouche – pancit molo, Filipino wonton soup, duck and foie gras dumplings, quail egg, duck consommé, crispy duck
Escabeche, Chilean sea bass, bell peppers, shallots, cherry tomatoes, calamansi gastrique
Asparagus And Mushroom Salad
Adobo Braised Pork Belly
Seared Wagyu Beef
Miso Glazed Black Cod
Lumpia
Beef Lollipops
Chilean Seabass
Brussell Sprout Salad
Kobe Beef Tartar On Crispy Rice

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Enjoy private or non-private group dining, receptions, sushi stations, carvings, buffets and more for holiday parties, corporate receptions, and impressive client entertaining with exciting, yet approachable tasting menus custom created to include sushi, salads, dim sum, entrees and desserts.

Sunda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
Chicago / Illinois
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

fit for foodies (210)
good for groups (182)
hot spot (179)
See All
special occasion (161)
vibrant bar scene (75)
romantic (62)
neighborhood gem (56)
great for lunch (45)
great for brunch (34)
late-night find (33)
notable wine list (24)
great for outdoor dining (14)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
3663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a wonderful brunch at Sunda. Each ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful brunch at Sunda. Each item ordered was excellent-the tiger shrimp with walnuts, the stone crab benedict, the pork squewers, the tuna and the tempura french toast were all enjoyed and shared happily! We had a great time and will return again soon. The Bloody Marys were spicy and fun and the strawberry mimosa was delicious. Thank you

for a wonderful brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not my first time there, nor will it be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Not my first time there, nor will it be the last. More than anything, the food is creative and outstanding. It was a Saturday night so the place was hopping and noisy. Worth it though. Service was excellent as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was overpriced. My Stella Artois ta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was overpriced. My Stella Artois tasted flat and skunked. Waiter was totally inattentive. I can't believe this place is in business. If you want better food at a MUCH better price go to Wasabi in Logan Square. If you want to stay closer to downtown try Friends.

I still cringe when I think about how much I spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

The food was really good -- not amazing. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was really good -- not amazing. (Actually, the brussel sprout salad was amazing). The drinks were really good, but for the price, would expects super awesome. They were a little weak on the alcohol level. (Tasty, though). The service was perfect. Ambiance superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A little loud but the food was unbelieva ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

A little loud but the food was unbelievable. The panang chicken was incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We picked this spot for a friend's birth ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We picked this spot for a friend's birthday and it did not disappoint! The place was busting with life for a Wednesday night, but after tasting the food I was not surprised. The Spicy Edamame, Garlic Crab Noodles, and Sunrise sushi were all delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent atmosphere and very creative f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent atmosphere and very creative food concepts. Very noisy so conversation is difficult. Otherwise nothing to complain about.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

GREAT food, but very loud and very cold ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

GREAT food, but very loud and very cold as my family and I were placed right under a vent. No change or help when this was brought to their attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent food and service! Seafood long ...

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent food and service! Seafood longevity noodle dish was out of this world with grilled octopus. Beef lollipops were delicious as well. One of the best meals we have had. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Asian Food, fine and spicy. One ...

 
 (Raum Düsseldorf)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Amazing Asian Food, fine and spicy.

One of the best Asian Restaurants I have ever visited.

Little criticism: it was very loud

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

They forgot one of our sushi rolls and w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

They forgot one of our sushi rolls and we waited awhile for them to re-make it. It was very dark and noisy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Food was different and interesting. It ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was different and interesting. It was a bit too loud for a business dinner.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Very bad experience in a Chicago restaur ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very bad experience in a Chicago restaurant - waited 30 minutes to be asked about the drinks and very slow service. Will never go back nor recommend to me colleagues!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

I went to Sunda for Sunday brunch with a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I went to Sunda for Sunday brunch with a friend and we both enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. We had mango sodas (highly recommend) and brunch items with appetizers. We were left with leftovers that were delicious. Service was great and our waiter was very accommodating. I highly recommend Sunda to friends that want to eat at a restaurant with a great menu and fun vibe.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was very good except the high ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was very good except the high noise of people. It was dificult to speak wih my friend.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The only thing I can comment about this ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The only thing I can comment about this restaurant is how expensive the drink. I ordered a flavored iced tea and it cost me $8 and a friend ordered a regular iced tea for only $2. What a difference. Besides that, for was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Sunda was a great vibe. Environment was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Sunda was a great vibe. Environment was a little louder if you are the quiet type but great for drinks and sharable food. Good for 2 or a group.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Crispy brussel Sprout Salad is fabulous! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Crispy brussel Sprout Salad is fabulous! Spicy spin on the Mojito was amazing! All entrees were fab, and we will definitely visit again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten here a number of times and th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I've eaten here a number of times and the food has always been great - unique twists. It can be really loud, particularly on a weekend night but regardless, you'll like the food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Big disappointment. Mediocre food with l ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Big disappointment. Mediocre food with limited menu type choices. Small portions and lacluster flavor.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Crispy Brussels Sprouts are the best. No ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Crispy Brussels Sprouts are the best. Not a bad item on the menu. Everything was outstanding.

The only negative is the noise level. Some in our party had a difficult time hearing and being heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Too loud.. The acoustics are horrible. A ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Too loud.. The acoustics are horrible. And the server's response was "This is quite" and he had to yell that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Sunda's hallmark is its sushi options -- ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Sunda's hallmark is its sushi options -- terrific, fresh, extensive. Service was adequate, though apparently overextended. Sunda's lighting seems all over the place from an ambiance perspective -- an unusual inconsistency that gave a confusing vibe. Its efforts to create seating with minimal distance caused the laws of physics to be on display: bumps to tables caused spills, uncomfortable brushes by staff and other patrons caused uncomfortable personal space violations.

I'd still recommend Sunda for the food, with a recommendation to be aggressive in scoping the seating.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My friend and I are visiting Chicago and ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My friend and I are visiting Chicago and we love funky places that have unique food. Sunda truly delivered. It was funny because it isn't top ranked on Yelp or even here on open table but the food and atmosphere was amazing! We ordered the edamame dumblings and the chicken Pananar curry. The curry was served in freshly cut coconut and it was SO GOOD. If you love food I would go here for sure!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Foodies be aware!!!! This place has amaz ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Foodies be aware!!!! This place has amazing food! Finally a fusion place that actually fuses and not just broadens a menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had an industry card that provides me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I had an industry card that provides me with 50% off my dining experience and the manager was quite rude in how he explained that the card is only for certain items instead of honoring the card. In the end I only received a small portion of my $250 bill that was honored for the 50% off totally $190 that I paid plus tip.

Not going back and I've been going for years since it opened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Great quality food and nice service. Rol ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great quality food and nice service. Rolls are great!! Perfect ambience but a little noisy.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

SO GOOD!!! Yummmy

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

SO GOOD!!! Yummmy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Ate here for a date night before a conce ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Ate here for a date night before a concert. Our spicy edamame and miso cauliflower dishes were outstanding. Cocktails were creative and fun. My entree was overly spicy, for no compelling reason though and the prices seem pretty high for a place where you are intended to order multiple dishes. We had fun though!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

they rock as usual, why I need to write ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

they rock as usual, why I need to write that in a minimum of 50 characters puzzles me

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, and great food. Not t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great restaurant, and great food. Not the place for a quiet, intimate dinner. The noise level was quite high. But, if you're looking for high energy and great food and service, it's for you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice place, great food and service. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Very nice place, great food and service. A bit loud and the seating for me wasn't too comfortable and a little close to my neighbors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

overall- great experience. great vegan o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

overall- great experience. great vegan options! esp. the green pea curry :)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A Chicago favorite. I have dined at Sun ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

A Chicago favorite. I have dined at Sunda numerous times and it never disappoints. Highly recommend the oxtail potstickers and beef lollipops.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Incredible food!! Incredible drinks!! Gr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Incredible food!! Incredible drinks!! Great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I can't really say enough how much We en ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I can't really say enough how much We enjoyed Sunda!!

What a great restaurant! The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly and knowledgable, and what can I say about the food? Simply OUTSTANDING!!

We Loved it! Our server EVAN is the best!

Definitely going back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Sunda for dinner. The menu items ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We love Sunda for dinner. The menu items are fresh, tasty and innovative. Our server was attentive, and unfortunately we enjoyed too many plates to save room for dessert, but we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience had a great time and wi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great experience had a great time and will tell my friends all about it

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went here using our OpenTable reward. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We went here using our OpenTable reward. We were not disappointed. The food and service were excellent. Prices are a little high, but the quality makes it worth the small additional cost. Note: It was quiet when we arrived as our reservation was when the restaurant opened. But the restaurant filled up before we finished and the noise level was very energetic (ie; difficult to have a conversation). That could be a good thing as a large crowd often means the place is good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food in a great atmosphere. I alwa ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great food in a great atmosphere. I always take my friends from out of town and Sunda never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.