About Sunda

110 W. Illinois St.
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Located within Chicago’s bustling River North neighborhood, Sunda pairs New Asian fare with Midwestern hospitality for an award-winning concept. Offering contemporary interpretations of traditional dishes from Japan, China, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines and more, the Michelin-recommended concept from Rockit Ranch Productions has received numerous accolades, including Best New Restaurant and Chicago’s Sexiest Restaurant. Showcasing exceptional cuisine from Executive Chef Jess DeGuzman, mod décor from renowned designer Tony Chi, a chic, yet approachable ambiance and seating for more than 200 guests, Sunda has rapidly become a mainstay on the Chicago dining scene.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi, Southeast Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Thursday- Friday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Saturday: 4:00pm-12am
Sunday: 4:00pm-11am
Brunch Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
LaSalle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-0500

Website:
http://www.sundachicago.com/

Entertainment:
Rockit Ranch Productions can book your entertainment for your private party needs. No live entertainment is offered in non-private areas.

Catering:
Email events@sundachicago.com for Private Party Room information and in-house customized catering options.

PARTY PLATTERS TO-GO:
Order party platters for "pick-up" for your office lunch, event and more.
http://www.sundachicago.com/menu/

For 'full-service" off-premise catering inquiries please email events@sundachicago.com with your request.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available.
Parking lots nearby at the corner of Illinois and LaSalle.
Meter street parking nearby.

Public Transit:
#22 Bus, stop at Grand coming from the North. Stop at Hubbard if coming from the South. Walk a ½ block west.
#36 Bus, stop at Illinois coming from either direction, then walk 1 ½ block west.
Red line train Grand Stop then walk one block north to Illinois

Executive Chef:
Jess DeGuzman

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SUNDA BRUNCH: 10 AM - Weekends!
Saturday & Sunday Brunch features a special brunch menu with new items as well as Sunda Signature favorites, a gourmet “build your own” bloody mary bar, asian-inspired Mimosa-Kits and more! Brunch services from 10am – 3pm on Saturday and 10am – 4pm on Sundays.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Enjoy private or non-private group dining, receptions, sushi stations, carvings, buffets and more for holiday parties, corporate receptions, and impressive client entertaining with exciting, yet approachable tasting menus custom created to include sushi, salads, dim sum, entrees and desserts.

Sunda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
Chicago / Illinois
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

fit for foodies (257)
good for groups (217)
hot spot (211)
See All
special occasion (195)
vibrant bar scene (90)
romantic (89)
great for lunch (69)
neighborhood gem (66)
great for brunch (51)
late-night find (42)
notable wine list (37)
great for outdoor dining (9)
kid-friendly (9)
scenic view (7)
Sort By:
Newest
3576 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved the cocktails. The food was excep ...

Dined 4 days ago

Loved the cocktails. The food was exceptional and extremely flavorful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Had to wait 30 min for our table in spit ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Had to wait 30 min for our table in spite of having a reservation. Not too happy with the service. Food just mediocre, expensive, and small portions esp for the price you pay. They bring out the entrees one at a time, which we were not told. So we had 2 people eating while the other 2 waiting. They forgot to bring 1 entree which was to be shared by all so we had to wait quite a while. It gets really loud in there... def not great for a romantic dinner. The tables are set up very close. Overall, very disappointed!!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the city vibe here and the industri ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Love the city vibe here and the industrial chic décor. Food was outstanding. Even a simple dish like fried rice is elevated when it's the duck fried rice...amazing! Service was timely, professional, and low key. A little pricey but can't wait to go back and try more dishes!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a fantastic date night with my husba ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a fantastic date night with my husband here. We would recommend the brussel sprout salad, crazy rice, and the Ridiculous dessert. Compared to the other dishes, the coconut sea bass seemed a little bland. Great ambience. We will definitely be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5

Selected Sunda to celebrate an important ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Selected Sunda to celebrate an important birthday and it was a definite bulls eye. She is a sushi connisseur that has traveled to many spots and is hard to impress. We ordered eight dishes and each dish topped the one before. We started with brussel sprout salad and ended with crab and asparagus and nothing disappointed in the slightest way. Flavors were outstanding and special. Would definitely return and suggest everyone spend a night at Sunda.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Service is always excellent and I have n ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Service is always excellent and I have never had a bad meal. Vibe is great, a little noisy for bigger groups, but still worth the time if you want great service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunda Never Disappoints

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a great weekend lunch here with friends from out of town. Food, as always, was superb and the service was great. We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely great! I’m going ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was absolutely great! I’m going back today! My favorites where the Black Cod and the Tuna with Truffle Nigiri, they also offer great different desserts, we went early because we couldn’t get another reservation, maybe that’s the reason why it was quiet, the ambience didn’t seem as a quiet restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress was AMAZING - Kimberly if I ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Our waitress was AMAZING - Kimberly if I remember correctly. The food was tremendous as she helped us out with some recommendations and a nice wine list too. We were there before the Harry Connick Jr concert and they were helpful in keeping us on time too. I am a vegetarian and my husband is not and they even provided two different dressings for us so we could share the amazing brussel sprout salad. AWESOME

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great options

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great options

food5
ambience5
service5

Noisy, but fantastic food and great serv ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Noisy, but fantastic food and great service. Best for adventurous eaters who love Asian cuisines!

food5
ambience5
service5

Had such a great experience. The bar st ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Had such a great experience. The bar staff was so nice that we ended up eating at the bar.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Pricey but yummy

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food is excellent. It really is. The sushi is pricey, but the rolls are delicious. Definitely not for everyday, but I'm glad we went. The ambiance was a little lacking, though. It felt impersonal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Fun atmosphere, outstanding food!

Dined on May 15, 2016

I dined here while visiting from Mississippi, and my friend and I coined it "CBQ" (come back quality)! This Chicago gem was the perfect lively Saturday night dinner in the city! We started with the spicy edamame, sampled the chicken pad thai, and had the "firecracker" with spicy tuna tempura--all so amazing! I can't wait to visit Sunda again when I'm back in Chicago!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

not well run, food decent, pay attention to check!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

res. at 545, all they had available (not really as we later found out.) hostess tried to sit us between two other rowed two seat tables. would of been extremely uncomfortable. Very odd, considering there were available tables everywhere. ( to her credit...she accommodated us after asking for something more private) The waiter was very inattentive. My wife and I spotted him just talking with the other wait staff not paying any attention. Ordered a couple of whiskeys, one neat and one on the rocks. $10 on the menu. Got the bill, $14 a piece. Asked the inattentive waiter why? He indicated the $10 price was for a "regular" drink. I said " what is a regular drink? He said - neat is $2 extra. hmmm... what about on the rocks? is that a regular drink? He said- it was an old menu, those drink prices..hmmm, did not want to ask any more questions because 10+2 =12 and old menus meant what? and he could not be any worse and the $8 extra was not worth the aggravation. He came back later and decided the drinks are $12 and took $4 off the bill. Still not $10 (old menu) Funny but true story. The food was o.k... expensive for portion size. btw-drinks were small as well. Left at 7:30 pm...sushi bar 20% full, restaurant 20% empty...20 people at the hostess stand cant get seated. Obviously, they are thinking if it appears that its hard to get into, thats more appealing :). The whole experience was silly(smoke and mirrors) saturday night 730pm and you could of just walked in off the street. cannot recommend, better places around and better organizations.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Been here several times, but the food qu ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Been here several times, but the food quality is rapidly decreasing

Tags: late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Not one bad bite. Brussels sprout salad. ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Not one bad bite. Brussels sprout salad. Red dragon sushi roll. Bi Bim Bop. Oxtail dumplings. Wish I could eat at Sunda every day.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and good food. We sat out ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Great service and good food. We sat outside (was warm for a change) nice lunch!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

First Time Diner

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

This was our first time here and we had a good dinner. The hostess was very nice about us being 30 minutes late for our reservation; but it was on a Thursday. We didn’t wait long to be seated. The food was delicious. When ordering, let your waiter know the order you want your food, and which foods you want brought out together. I recommend the crab bake (which I swear they used a whole crab for or at least it seemed that way), Seoul Wings, and pork adobo fried rice. Don’t bother with the New York Strip Steak (because of the way it's served it will be overcooked by the time it gets to your table), pork shank (this is just deep fried pork, the best part of this dish are the sauces that come with it, while it was good, it wasn't worth the $28 price tag). My husband hates vegetables, so we didn’t order any. Our waiter was very nice and attentive, but I felt the flow of the dishes were off. There were long waits between our dishes, which he apologized for. The biggest mistake we made was not making room for dessert. We’ll definitely try it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic meal! Brussel sprout salad, m ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Fantastic meal! Brussel sprout salad, miso Califlower, Beef wrapped lemongrass Popsicles, Panang chicken curry , chocolate lava cake & the green tea donuts. Highly recommend Sunda for those looking for great Food! It was a bit noisy, but that wouldn't stop me from going again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food - great place for a group. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food - great place for a group. Too loud, hard to carry a conversation with the table.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, chill atmosphere

Dined on May 9, 2016

I came here with a large group of friends for dinner. The ambience was attractive and every dish (and believe me, there were quite a few) was delicious. The food was a little pricey when added all together, but not any more than one would expect for top notch asian fusion in downtown Chicago. Would recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Good, but...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Let me start by saying, I do like Sunda. The food has been great the two times I have been there and my wife, who has been to the restaurant multiple times, has never complained about a meal. This time, though, was different. The food was good as always, but the service just wasn't there. First, we were seated next to the kitchen, but decided to make a go of it. I will definitely ask to be reseated next time if I cross paths with that table. Second, the service was less than optimal . For one we ordered the crispy brussel sprouts, which are always good, and the pork belly buns. Now last time when the sprouts were delivered the runner tossed them with the vinaigrette and served them to us. This time we were tossing our own sprouts. Now that's not a big deal, but the lack of consistency is a problem. Next, the food was not staggered, as promised. It's definitely not pleasing when you are trying to enjoy your appetizers and your entrees are hitting the table. Next time I will be keeping my entree a secret from the wait staff. Lastly, the runner working the area needs to brush up on his table numbers as he kept trying deliver other tables' food to us. All-in-all I consider these to be minor issues that would not keep me from returning as the food is always stellar. I will, though, change the way I order and ask for different seating arrangements should I be, once again, returned to the table by the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service3

Come in at 11:30 I know it was late but ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Come in at 11:30 I know it was late but that was what time I book my reservation ,the foods too salty I mean very very salty , the Pho was more salty then another foods it was bad cus went for dinner for my aunt's birthday and celebration early Mother's day. Don't wanna come anymore

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent high quality food....really in ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent high quality food....really interesting flavors. Service was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great good and great experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great good and great experience

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great for sharing

Dined on May 6, 2016

My cousin and I split Red Dragon roll, pork belly steamed buns, lemongrass & steak lollipops, and the crazy rice. Everything was delicious

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Epic meal

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

This was a large group and we couldn't decide on our strategy for the meal, so we had the server just bring us stuff. We were not disappointed with everything. It was the perfect meal for a celebration. I could subsist on the albacore sashimi.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

The strawberry cobbler was amazing!!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The strawberry cobbler was amazing!!!

food4
ambience4
service5

Food was good but we ended up with way t ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was good but we ended up with way too much after following the waiters ordering suggestion.

food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappointed.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Never disappointed.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Occasion was our marriage anniversary di ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Occasion was our marriage anniversary dinner date. Choose this restaurant after reading lot about it on different sites. We reached on reservation time and waiting in BAR to be called. It took them 15 minutes to find a place for us ( whats the use of reservation then !!) . Waitress unable to locate us in bar even when we were sitting just opposite to welcome counter and i have informed them our location. we ordered couple of cocktail drinks and sushi and two dishes. One of the dishes which waitress recommended to us never arrived even after we finished rest of the stuff. Since then we have to wait almost 10 more minutes before somebody come apologized for delay. Eventually Have to ask them to pack it up . They didn't charged us for the delayed dish but somehow fell short of the reputation they build over internet reviews. we like to quality of food as well as cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

The service was outstanding - full of f ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was outstanding - full of friendly smiles and sincere recommendations!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dining experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

Amazing dining experience with excellent service and excellent food. Everything we had was absolutely delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great scene with great food

Dined on April 29, 2016

I love much about Sunda. The food is excellent from the brussels sprouts to the sushi. You will, for sure, see hip and hot people coming in and out. It's always fun! I warn that the noise level is a problem. You can't hear conversation easily (I have had better luck at a corner table). Though I have had some of the friendliest servers here, I have seen some "attitude" at the front desk in the past (like if someone is a little later than the rest of the party). This wouldn't be such a big deal if the bar and waiting rooms had more room for the spillover. This being said, it's a great place to meet with friends who can afford an upscale meal and want to be part of an energetic scene. Note: They can put together some festive non-alcoholic drinks. I had a lovely ginger beer concoction on my last visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience,amazing food & friendly staff

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Visiting Chicago this was our last dinner and it ended on a wonderful high note. Wife was concerned that the location would be overly pretentious but like most of Chicago, the staff was friendly and accommodating. The highlight of the meal for me was the brussels sprout salad, which everyone seemed to be ordering, and the beef short rib. The short rib in particular reminded me of Chinese New Years growing up so it brought back some fond childhood memories, it even had congee to boot, another childhood staple. I also recommend the Sunda Old Fashioned. Best version of the drink I have ever had anywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Appetizers and Salads!

Dined on April 29, 2016

I have a mixed review about the food. The shaved brussels sprout salad was amazing, as were the shitake-edamame dumplings (both made vegan). However, I was disappointed by the vegan caterpillar sushi roll - it was more of a texture issue than a flavor issue. Overall, I was impressed with the ambiance and the fact that Sunda has many vegan options to offer. Next time, I think my boyfriend and I will be trying main courses other than sushi.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food

Dined on April 29, 2016

Delicious food

food5
ambience5
service5

The best sushi in town, and the grass ti ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The best sushi in town, and the grass tiger cocktail is amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal and service. Separate v ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Outstanding meal and service. Separate vegan menu was a huge bonus.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.