About Sunda

110 W. Illinois St.
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Located within Chicago’s bustling River North neighborhood, Sunda pairs New Asian fare with Midwestern hospitality for an award-winning concept. Offering contemporary interpretations of traditional dishes from Japan, China, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines and more, the Michelin-recommended concept from Rockit Ranch Productions has received numerous accolades, including Best New Restaurant and Chicago’s Sexiest Restaurant. Showcasing exceptional cuisine from Executive Chef Jess DeGuzman, mod décor from renowned designer Tony Chi, a chic, yet approachable ambiance and seating for more than 200 guests, Sunda has rapidly become a mainstay on the Chicago dining scene.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi, Southeast Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Thursday- Friday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Saturday: 4:00pm-12am
Sunday: 4:00pm-11am
Brunch Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
LaSalle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-0500

Website:
http://www.sundachicago.com/

Entertainment:
Rockit Ranch Productions can book your entertainment for your private party needs. No live entertainment is offered in non-private areas.

Catering:
Email events@sundachicago.com for Private Party Room information and in-house customized catering options.

PARTY PLATTERS TO-GO:
Order party platters for "pick-up" for your office lunch, event and more.
http://www.sundachicago.com/menu/

For 'full-service" off-premise catering inquiries please email events@sundachicago.com with your request.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available.
Parking lots nearby at the corner of Illinois and LaSalle.
Meter street parking nearby.

Public Transit:
#22 Bus, stop at Grand coming from the North. Stop at Hubbard if coming from the South. Walk a ½ block west.
#36 Bus, stop at Illinois coming from either direction, then walk 1 ½ block west.
Red line train Grand Stop then walk one block north to Illinois

Executive Chef:
Jess DeGuzman

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SUNDA BRUNCH: 10 AM - Weekends!
Saturday & Sunday Brunch features a special brunch menu with new items as well as Sunda Signature favorites, a gourmet “build your own” bloody mary bar, asian-inspired Mimosa-Kits and more! Brunch services from 10am – 3pm on Saturday and 10am – 4pm on Sundays.

Restaurant Photos

Sunda
Sunda
Sunda
Sunda
Sunda
Sunda
Sunda
Sunda
 Oxtail Potstickers with caramelized onion jus
Lemongrass Beef Lollipops
Lobster and Wagyu Roll
Crispy Brussel Sprouts
Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna
Brussels Sprout Salad
Edamame Shitake Dumplings
Sweet Potato Caterpillar Roll
Fire Cracker Roll
Pork Belly Skewers
Dragon Roll
Tiger Shrimp Tempura
Oxtail Potstickers
Bang Bang Salad. Jicama, Papaya And Mango
Lobster salad on crispy rice cakes
Braised Pork Belly
Jackfruit crème brûlée, ube-macapuno ice cream, red mung beans, jackfruit, coconut gel, toasted coconut
Vegetarian ramen, egg noodles, miso broth, poached egg, seaweed, kale, carrots, radish, mushrooms, kimchi, bok choy, kai lan
Spicey "Tail Of Two Tunas"
Sashimi
Blackberry-Limeade
Bicol express – coconut stew, soft shell crab, shrimp, pork, garlic, lemongrass, chilies, coconut milk
Embotido, Filipino meatloaf, wagyu beef, pork, foie gras, quail egg, banana sauce, taro root purée
Adobo marinated pork, porcelet, garlic, scallions, radish sprouts, pancit, crispy pork, dinuguan sauce
Miso Ramen
Seared American Kobe Beef Tartare on Pan-Fried Sushi Rice
Diet Pepsi
Seasonal Cobbler and Chocolate Mousse Cake
Bibimbap
Tempura French Toast Batons
Eggs Benedict
Sumo Bloody Mary
Kimchi Soup
CHICKEN AND MUSHROOM SIU MAI
Har Gow
Wagyu Roti Prata
Grilled Petite NY Steak Bento Box
Chicken and Pork Adobo Bento Box
Rudicolous
Devil's Basket
Jalapeño Yellowtail Roll
Custom Bloody Mary
Steamed Bao Buns
Baby asparagus wrapped in pork belly.
Duck Hash Omelette
Kobe Beef Lollipops
Sunda Handroll
Grass Tiger
Tuna Maguro W/ Caviar
Honey-ginger Braised Beef Shortribs
Chocolate Ginger Cake
Loompya
Surf and Turf Roll
Tocino On Crispy Rice With Poached Eggs And Hollandaise
Mango Soda
Eel Sushi
Smoked Salmon And Salmon Sushi
Sunda Sundae – Halo Halo (Filipino dessert), avocado, sweet corn/cheddar cheese and ube-macapuno ice cream, calamansi granita, sweet red beans, jackfruit, coconut gel, sweetened condensed milk, fresh berries, toasted coconut
Longevity Lump Crab Garlic Noodles
Lobster Sundawich
edamame
Tofu Pad Thai
Mimosa Kit
Thai Omelet
Hitacino Nest Beer
Kale And Seaweed Salad
Steamed Buns With Duck
Kale and seaweed salad, mizuna, toasted seaweed, carrot, wakame, cabbage, cucumber, mint, basil, red onion, pckled beet, radish, sesame seeds, sweet chili lime vinaigrette
Calamansi Sorbet
Bistek, Filipino steak, wagyu ribeye, citrus marinade, shallots, leeks, bone marrow garlic fried rice
Kinilaw, Filipino ceviche, butter poached lobster, kusshi oysters, jicama, radish, citrus segements, cherry tomato, tomato granita
Pork Belly Fried Rice With A Fried Egg
 Shrimp Tempura Roll
Thee With Honey
Stuffed Avocado
Shrimp Toast
Pistachio and coffee macarons; raspberry chocolate torte; white chocolate passion fruit truffle; cookies bites: oatmeal, double chocolate, espresso, orange creamsicle, coconut macaroons
Vegetarian afternoon tea: black bean sauce tofu; jicama taco w/ sweet potato, asparagus, mango, sprouts; edamame dumpling, red pepper black garlic sauces; veggie-cue, basil, jicama, shiitake mushrooms, avocado; sweet potato avocado maki sushi
Afternoon tea – yuzu marmalade, truffled honey butter, papaya jam
Sisig – Filipino sizzling pork belly and trip with fried egg, scallions, served with rice
Sans Rival, Filipino layered dessert cake, buttercream, meringue, pistachios, raspberry sauce, berries
Amuse bouche – pancit molo, Filipino wonton soup, duck and foie gras dumplings, quail egg, duck consommé, crispy duck
Escabeche, Chilean sea bass, bell peppers, shallots, cherry tomatoes, calamansi gastrique
Asparagus And Mushroom Salad
Adobo Braised Pork Belly
Seared Wagyu Beef
Miso Glazed Black Cod
Lumpia
Beef Lollipops
Chilean Seabass
Brussell Sprout Salad
Kobe Beef Tartar On Crispy Rice

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Enjoy private or non-private group dining, receptions, sushi stations, carvings, buffets and more for holiday parties, corporate receptions, and impressive client entertaining with exciting, yet approachable tasting menus custom created to include sushi, salads, dim sum, entrees and desserts.

Sunda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

fit for foodies (225)
good for groups (189)
hot spot (186)
See All
special occasion (160)
vibrant bar scene (75)
romantic (66)
neighborhood gem (56)
great for lunch (46)
late-night find (35)
great for brunch (34)
notable wine list (22)
great for outdoor dining (11)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
3615 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4

Great sushi, as always at Sunda

vip
Dined 16 hours ago

Great sushi, as always at Sunda

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great service. The Asi ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, great service. The Asien/American fusion works well, and the dishes were all very tasty and well prepared. I recommend trying some of the 'different takes' on sushi. Biggest 'minus' was the voice level, but it wasn't really an issue.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

This was my second time at Sunda. Both t ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

This was my second time at Sunda. Both times I went was around 6pm on a weeknight. The food was great, but the restaurant was so loud I could barely even here the people next to me at my table. For this reason alone I would be hesitant to go back to Sunda again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time in Sunda. We went th ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a great time in Sunda. We went there for father's day. It's an asian fusion restaurant, and as a Filipino, it's amazing how they modernized Filipino food. We got the Adobo fried rice, adobo braised pork belly and the pancit canton. Everything is delicious!!! We had the Sunda sundae (halo-halo) for dessert - we thought it was just ok. It was too sweet, I think they put too much syrup. Maybe they should put less syrup and more condensed milk and ice. Overall love our Sunda experience. We came to Chicago for a visit that weekend from Houston and we were glad that we tried Sunda for fathers day brunch. Wish we have this kind of restaurant in Houston too. I'm sure this will be a hit as well.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The waiter was amazing and everything he ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The waiter was amazing and everything he recommended was a great choice. I love small plates and Sunda does it really well. The drinks were delicious too. It got a bit noisy but that was fine because you don't hear conversations, just the noise level going up. Highly recommend and I will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Brussels sprout salad was delicious, but ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Brussels sprout salad was delicious, but the overall value of the meal was terrible. Everything we ordered was delicious, but you do not get a lot of food. I was hungry again an hour later.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must hit while In Chicago! Close to Merc ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Must hit while In Chicago! Close to Merchandise Mart!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

We ordered the BBQ octupus, lumpia, miso ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

We ordered the BBQ octupus, lumpia, miso cauliflower and Sunda poke. Everything was great except I thought the octupus was chewy. Would go back to try other dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oxtail potstickers were delicious! The n ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Oxtail potstickers were delicious! The nicest thing was they gave me a great table even though I was a single, which is unusual. Single women often get stuck at bad tables by the kitche, so I appreciated the accommodating staff.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food and service...but super lou ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Amazing food and service...but super loud, which took my 5 star rating down to a 4.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3

The vegan menu was amazing. Pad Thai and ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

The vegan menu was amazing. Pad Thai and sushi were all great. Good vibe, packed on a Sunday night. Service was sketchy. We sat 15 minutes before someone talked to us. Waited 10 minutes after we requested our check.

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Sushi was really bland, cold, tasteless, ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Sushi was really bland, cold, tasteless, unexciting, overpriced for the taste and value. Very disappointed. Rate that I complain about a restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food and service. Expensive b ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Incredible food and service. Expensive but worth it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were outstanding. Over ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Overall an excellent dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is really outstanding. Worth th ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

The food is really outstanding. Worth the price.

food4
ambience4
service4

We had a wonderful experience. It was a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. It was a birthday dinner celebration. I would warn, it can be a bit loud and hard to have a conversation. However, the food was fantastic. Truly, we loved everything, and my partner use to live in Japan.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall, the food was a little pricey bu ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Overall, the food was a little pricey but very good. I read the reviews and it made it seem like you were expected to dress up. When we arrived at the restaurant (dressed up), there were many people in shorts and T-shirts. It was very hot the day we went there, so it would have been nicer if we were able to dress a little more comfortable and cooler. Also, there were children there, so the comments about the restaurant not wanting children there is inaccurate. Not an issue for me, but it may be for other people who want to try the restaurant and want to bring their children with. I was a little surprised that when I went to make my reservations, it told me there was no availability between 5 and 9. I made my reservations for 4:30 but during the time we were eating, there was plenty of seating available.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Asian Fusion Food

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent Asian fusion food and flair! Their brussel sprouts and cauliflower dishes are awesome, definitely try them! Also, their tempura shrimp is great too!

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food and service. The restaurant h ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Good food and service. The restaurant has a great vibe but can be a little loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Let Down After Other Great Meals There

Dined on June 10, 2016

Sunda has always been one of my favorite places, but this meal was rather disappointing. The service and brussel sprout salad were as good as ever, but the pad thai we ordered might have been one of the top 5 worst bites of food I have ever had. Can't put our finger on what was wrong but it was awful. They offered to replace the dish after we sent it back but by that time we were ready to just call it a night

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunda was amazing

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great food, service, energy was amazing. Lots of groups. Beautiful interior. Everyone having fun. Great date place. Noise level high but fun !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

Way too noisy

Dined on June 9, 2016

This restaurant is so loud you can't even have a conversation and we walked out with our ears ringing

food5
ambience3
service5

Great restaurant. Food is outstanding. S ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Great restaurant. Food is outstanding. Served hot, tasty, and with a smile.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

At best this restaurant is mediocre. It ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

At best this restaurant is mediocre. It is fusion food but after spending a fortune on our meal, none of our dishes did anything more than disappoint us. Fusion food is hard to do well but every attempt at fusion in this restaurant was motivated by a simple and misguided desire to be unique, without any thought to flavor or texture. Every dish felt forced, and left me wishing it was one thing or another. It's a nice ambiance until you realize how awful the service is. This restaurant embodies everything bad about Chicago restaurants - showy, expensive and yet without any substance.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good food and nice staff. A bit noisy fo ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Good food and nice staff. A bit noisy for a work lunch but easy to get a table and have a good lunch

food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Maybe too many Menu Changes

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

I have always recommended Sunda to out of town visitors. Our tempura shrimp was marvelous as always. However my canton noodles were oily and greasy and my husband's beef needed some accompaniment. This was my first ever disappointing meal at Sunda.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent selection of sushi and overall great tasting food, great service, lively scene. The 'ridiculous' dessert is a must try!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4

Awesome food!!

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Awesome food!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great, server was on top of everything, ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Great, server was on top of everything, food was to die for!

food5
ambience5
service5

Stunning - you must go. :) Ten stars!

Dined on June 1, 2016

Stunning - you must go. :) Ten stars!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunda is one of my favorite restaurant. ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Sunda is one of my favorite restaurant. I always bring my friends there and even my guets from out town. This time I brought my friends from Scotland and UK. they bought love the food, service and ambience. they said " they can understand why it's my favorite restaurant".

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fav restaurant in Chicago

Dined on May 29, 2016

I have to visit Sunda whenever I'm in Chicago. I crave the brussel sprout salad!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely meal, great service

Dined on May 29, 2016

This was a great find. The food was excellent, and varied. The service was outstanding--attentive but never oppressive. Not inexpensive, but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Loved every bite!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Brunch was equally as good as dinner and the service was excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This is possibly the loudest restaurant ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

This is possibly the loudest restaurant I have ever been to! My wife and I were sitting across a table, and on occasion has to resort to texting to talk. Food good, service wonderful, drinks great, but on occasion I'd have liked to talk and have some minimal hope of being heard.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

It would be best for a completely deaf p ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

It would be best for a completely deaf person. NOT a place for conversations unless they are via text. The food is good but it was overshadowed by the noise. My ears are still ringing.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved the cocktails. The food was excep ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Loved the cocktails. The food was exceptional and extremely flavorful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Had to wait 30 min for our table in spit ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Had to wait 30 min for our table in spite of having a reservation. Not too happy with the service. Food just mediocre, expensive, and small portions esp for the price you pay. They bring out the entrees one at a time, which we were not told. So we had 2 people eating while the other 2 waiting. They forgot to bring 1 entree which was to be shared by all so we had to wait quite a while. It gets really loud in there... def not great for a romantic dinner. The tables are set up very close. Overall, very disappointed!!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the city vibe here and the industri ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Love the city vibe here and the industrial chic décor. Food was outstanding. Even a simple dish like fried rice is elevated when it's the duck fried rice...amazing! Service was timely, professional, and low key. A little pricey but can't wait to go back and try more dishes!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a fantastic date night with my husba ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a fantastic date night with my husband here. We would recommend the brussel sprout salad, crazy rice, and the Ridiculous dessert. Compared to the other dishes, the coconut sea bass seemed a little bland. Great ambience. We will definitely be returning.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.