Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Summer House Santa Monica

Located in Chicago’s Lincoln Park neighborhood, Summer House Santa Monica presents an escape to the warmth and laid-back vibes of the West Coast, complete with beach house décor and a beautiful retractable glass ceiling.

At the heart of the open kitchen lies a wood fire grill that is the workhorse of many of Summer House’s menu items. The menu, created by Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin, is California inspired and focuses on market driven ingredients, local and sustainable farming, and seasonal specialties, all complemented by a carefully curated list of California and Pacific North Coast wines.

The Market counter, shared with Stella Barra Pizzeria, offers a variety of our signature fresh-baked pastries, cookies, sourdough English muffins, along with locally sourced coffee and specialty espresso drinks.

No matter the season, no matter the weather, you will be transported to the warmth of California at Summer House.

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm
Saturday 8:00am-11:00pm
Sunday 8:00am-10:00pm

BRUNCH: Saturdays & Sundays 8:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armitage

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4100

Website:
http://www.summerhousesm.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Summer House features a menu that spotlights locally sourced produce & ingredients.

Accommodating parties of 10-250 guests, Summer House exudes an atmosphere perfect for weddings / receptions, bridal & baby showers, family gatherings, birthdays, daytime lunches, corporate events & more! Summer House also offers large cookie/bakery orders, perfect for when you want to host events at home & offer a special treat for your guests!

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4100.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just southeast of the Armitage stop on the Brown Line.
Halsted Bus, Route #8
Armitage Bus, Route #73

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4100.

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Spend your Christmas Eve surrounded by beach decor and summer vibes at Summer House! Enjoy your favorite brunch items like the Cinnamon Roll Bread Pudding or Acapulco Omelette, or join us a little later on for a Wood-Grilled Prime Burger, Ancho-Marinated Chicken Tacos and more.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Savor the last moments of 2017 under the beautiful skylight at Summer House! Enjoy your favorite brunch items like the Cinnamon Roll Bread Pudding or Acapulco Omelette, or join us a little later on for a Prime Ribeye, Ancho-Marinated Chicken Tacos and more.

Private Dining

Host your next event at Summer House Santa Monica! The restaurant is designed to evoke the atmosphere of a summer beach house with warm tones and a large glass ceiling positioned directly over the dining room creating the perfect ambiance for socializing & celebrating.

Summer House Santa Monica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (82)
Fun (74)
Great for Brunch (72)
See All
Great for Lunch (69)
Neighborhood Gem (68)
Good for a Date (65)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Hot Spot (56)
Good for Groups (53)
Sunday Lunch (49)
People Watching (48)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Special Occasion (44)
Healthy (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Comfort Food (28)
Cozy (27)
Kid-friendly (25)
Worth the Drive (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Seasonal (21)
Gluten Free Options (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Scenic View (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Romantic (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Business Meals (12)
Organic (12)
Authentic (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Vegan (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tapas (4)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
2249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Server was great. Food was good, except for the Mahi tacos. They were burnt (not blackened). Tasted like the grill needed to be cleaned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The ahí tacos weren’t the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience, but very overpricrd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Portions are small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Love the ambiance of this restaurant, which is open and airy, unlike most spaces in Chicago. The food is also delicious and pretty to look at. The manager came to see my table and was quite welcoming and personable, as was our server.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Love Summer House! Try new things all the time and the service and food are always outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

I really loved the food and the atmosphere of the restaurant. I would for sure recommend it to my friends and family.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Delicious brunch! Great food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere, great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 7, 2017

The ambiance is great being so bright and airy. The food is unique and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2017

We had the same LOUSY waitress that we had the last time. She was physically there but showed no enthusiasm. She never came back to check on how we were doing and she had to be reminded about one of the items we ordered on the menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2017

This is the best restaurant in Chicago!! A must try!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Always reliably good service, food and ambience. Good for friendly conversation.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We love this place. Servers and food are oh so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Absolutely love this place. It’s so bright and airy, it makes for the perfect brunch experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2017

I've been here for brunch on several occasions so I thought I'd bring a few friends for dinner. They must have had an off night in the kitchen: my food was cold, my friend's burger was undercooked and my other friend's roast beef - the same. Three meals at one table! The staff was great and replaced/recooked the meals. took it off the bill and gave us 6 home made cookies to take to the theatre with us . The food was good when it was prepared correctly, however, the experience was disappointing for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Food is always good, but it is too small. They need to majorly UP there burger game and increase the sizeof the appetizers. And please stop cutting the burger in half before it comes to the table. Weird!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2017

With our grandchildren, we enjoyed it entirely—food, drinks, friendly service and the California vibes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Great service and food. The Vitamin D Room was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Really disappointed with Summer House. The only positive part about the experience was the decor. The drinks were nothing special, but took a long time. We started with the Brussels Sprouts with pancetta on the side, but never got the pancetta and our waitress didn’t stop by to check in so we never got it. I ordered the French Dip and it was cold and soggy right when it came out, and there were some bad bites of meat. Not worth what we paid for it. I would have considered saying something, but again our waitress never checked in once we got our food. My husband ordered the chicken and said it was bland. A friend ordered the cauliflower steak and found that it, too, was disappointing. From service to food, the experience was definitely lackluster and not worth Summer House prices. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this trendy spot. There’s tons of other places to see in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 1, 2017

We chose Summer House Santa Monica because it's close to Steppenwolf Theatre. Had delicious fish & mussels and an incredible Brussels sprout salad. Good selection of California wines, and a nice open feel. Will definitely return in the summer when they open the roof!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2017

The food was good, the service excellent. My only complaint is that with a reservation we still got a bar height table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Some of the main course items are over priced, such as the cauliflower steak. The service was excellent and the operation is well staffed and organized

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2017

The Italian wedding soup was out of this world. The hamburgers were very good and at the front counter the sea salt chocolate chip cookies were yummy. A very good time what's head.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Good food but $12.95 for a waffle? Pancakes were about the same. It's nice but geez, not a place I'd visit often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

50 year bday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2017

It was a great birthday celebration. Everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Awesome! Great vibe and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2017

food good but overall very expensive 4 adults and 2 kids bill was$350.00

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

We had an exceptional server, who gave great recommendations. Loved the brunch items we had!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Food was very good and portions were plentiful. Excellent service and honored our reservation time. The cookies we had for desert (chocolate chip and oatmeal butter scotch) were delicious and they even heated them up for us. Our only complaint is that the salads do not come with bread or rolls, even an entre size salads. When we asked about bread, our server said that there would be an extra charge.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2017

I got the burger. Absolutely horrible. Burnt on the outside (not a crust, burnt), medium in the middle. Very STALE bun. The waitress was nice but it was very weird how they brought out my kid's dinner immediately (way too much breaded chicken fingers and fries), then she came back with the dessert menu before we even got our food. My wife enjoyed the chicken tacos even though it was one chicken breast, barely sliced for the tortillas. This place used to be great but have gone very far downhill.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Went for a 30th birthday diner date and had terrible service from multiple waitresses. It was very disappointing because they have good food and a great atmosphere but the service really did ruin the night, not what I would expect from Lettuce Entertain You.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2017

We went with a group of 7 for my daughter's birthday (mainly my "grown up" friends); and had a great time! We had a great brunch and sparkling rose, our service was steady and our server even brought a free treat for my daughter from the bakery!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2017

I always love to visit Summer House for brunch. The best part is that the place doesn't get too loud, so it makes it easy to catch up with friends!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2017

It was mediocre. Nothing original about this place. Our server was rushing us and pushy when we her only table. Made no sense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2017

One of my favorite Lincoln Park Restaurants. the light in the restaurant makes me happy.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Mediocre food in a trendy restaurant. Nice servers and atmosphere, but the food kind of fell flat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Summer house is a great spot for Sunday brunch. The staff was very accommodating when I wanted to change table to a larger size and the food never disappoints. We were a party of 5 and we ordered a variety of items that we all loved. Even the simple 3 egg breakfast was outstanding. I highly recommend this place

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Dinner lighting/ vibes 10/10. Cookie ice cream sandwich 10/10. Guacamole 11/10. Poblano Escobar though...extremely disappointing. From 4 Texans that enjoy regular margaritas: consider changing your nightshade of choice to jalapeño, or leave out the pepper altogether. Sorry that you'll have to change the pun though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.