Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Summer House Santa Monica

Located in Chicago’s Lincoln Park neighborhood, Summer House Santa Monica presents an escape to the warmth and laid-back vibes of the West Coast, complete with beach house décor and a beautiful retractable glass ceiling.

At the heart of the open kitchen lies a wood fire grill that is the workhorse of many of Summer House’s menu items. The menu, created by Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin, is California inspired and focuses on market driven ingredients, local and sustainable farming, and seasonal specialties, all complemented by a carefully curated list of California and Pacific North Coast wines.

The Market counter, shared with Stella Barra Pizzeria, offers a variety of our signature fresh-baked pastries, cookies, sourdough English muffins, along with locally sourced coffee and specialty espresso drinks.

No matter the season, no matter the weather, you will be transported to the warmth of California at Summer House.

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm
Saturday 8:00am-11:00pm
Sunday 8:00am-10:00pm

BRUNCH: Saturdays & Sundays 8:00am-3:00pm

Free eats! Text SUMMERLP to 70717 and get offers for appetizers, desserts and more. [You’ll receive up to 4 msgs/month from an automated system. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel/HELP for help. Consent to text messaging terms not required for purchase. Mobile T&Cs: leye.com/terms-of-use & Privacy Policy: leye.com/privacy-policy]

Cross Street:
Armitage

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4100

Website:
http://www.summerhousesm.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Summer House features a menu that spotlights locally sourced produce & ingredients.

Accommodating parties of 10-250 guests, Summer House exudes an atmosphere perfect for weddings / receptions, bridal & baby showers, family gatherings, birthdays, daytime lunches, corporate events & more! Summer House also offers large cookie/bakery orders, perfect for when you want to host events at home & offer a special treat for your guests!

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4100.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just southeast of the Armitage stop on the Brown Line.
Halsted Bus, Route #8
Armitage Bus, Route #73

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4100.

Private Dining

Host your next event at Summer House Santa Monica! The restaurant is designed to evoke the atmosphere of a summer beach house with warm tones and a large glass ceiling positioned directly over the dining room creating the perfect ambiance for socializing & celebrating.

Summer House Santa Monica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (141)
Fun (125)
Great for Lunch (115)
See All
Sunday Lunch (104)
Hot Spot (103)
Casual (103)
Good for a Date (99)
Neighborhood Gem (97)
Good for Groups (86)
Healthy (84)
People Watching (77)
Good for Birthdays (73)
Great for Outdoor Dining (66)
Handcrafted Cocktails (64)
Special Occasion (64)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Modern Decor (60)
Kid-friendly (50)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Good Vegetarian Options (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Cozy (38)
Comfort Food (35)
Worth the Drive (34)
Gluten Free Options (34)
Bar Seating (33)
Open Kitchen (31)
Seasonal (30)
Romantic (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Scenic View (27)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Happy Hour (23)
Business Meals (22)
Local Ingredients (19)
Organic (14)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Quick Bite (12)
Authentic (12)
Family Style (11)
Great Beer (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Vegan (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Live Music (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Tapas (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
1890 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food, Nice vibe. A good place to go before the theaters that are in walking distance

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, great service, awesome atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

We went to the Summerhouse for dinner. We requested the curved booth in the bar area. The hostess was so sweet and honored our request telling us that was a very popular table. The creative mixed drinks are to die for. Every bite of food was extremely fresh and delicious. The ambiance is beautiful and so romantic. We will definitely be back!! YUM!!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Organic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Healthy, Scenic View, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Love this place! The food and atmosphere are cheerful and relaxing...great place to dine and enjoy time with friends and family! Can't say enough about the food....chocolate chip oatmeal cookies and lattes!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

went here with my two girlfriends and ordered the tostadas, hash bendict, and waffle chicken. everything was amazing! super quick service and awesome atmosphere ... a little cold bc of the strong wind draft but wasn't a huge issue. we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Great brunch food, outstanding service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The hostess was rude, and didn't give any information on when we would be seated, despite the fact we got there on time and we had a reservation. Overall, the ambiance and service did not match the price of the food. Not worth it for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Best experience at Summer House yet. Setting is fantastic. Food was good. Service was excellent.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

This was a 3PM Saturday brunch with a good college girlfriend. Lovely space - very light, airy, definitely feels beachy and different from the many dark places of Chicago.

Servers were very welcoming and attentive. Five stars.

We each had a brunch cocktail, yum. Got the watermelon starter... had it before and I'd order it again. My "eh" feelings are about the short rib hash. It was missing some magic; even after I added salt and pepper, which I rarely do at restaurants, I used some spicy aioli to liven it up. Consider adding a sauce? Herbs?

My friend ordered the avocado toast with fries. Although I think the price is too high for that dish, it looked and tasted great.

Get some baked goods in your way out!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Went there with my friends. The place is beautiful, the wait is OK though we've booked online. It get really noisy as so many people are there for brunch. But overall, a pleasing experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Summerhouse provides great customer service and an ambiance that makes you feel that you are in another town. They were accommodating to my friend and children.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I wasn't impressed at all. The food was mediocre at best. We had the French toast as a shared plate and the best thing about it was the whipped cream. The French toast was a slab of bread dipped in egg but no seasoning what-so-ever, we were like where's the cinnamon and nutmeg. I order the short rib hash and I had exactly 4 small pieces of short rib and a mound of hash browns. The short ribs pieces were dried out . The coffee was excellent and my friends loved their wine. So $120 for brunch is not doing it for me and I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Our mainstay brunch spot for special occasions or everyday dining. Good scene for those looking for one, but equally family friendly. Great service, friendly staff, consistently good menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Sushi was great. Make your own tacos not very good. Fun, vibrant place with a great variety on the menu for lots of types of diners. Skip dessert. Got a couple things to go that looked delicious but were tasteless and overpriced.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

They are always very accommodating here, with great food. Beware of the baked goods at the entry they're awesome!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Our waitress Connor (sp?) was fantastic. Great advice on choices and super service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on June 15, 2017

It was great!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Fun really describes Summer House Santa Monica. I love the casual atmosphere and energetic vibe. The crowd is young beautiful hip and even though I am old and not hip I feel very comfortable here. The burrata with tomato jam is my favorite starter. The prime burger and tuna tacos were cooked perfectly. The rose' suggested by our server was crisp, clean, a summer delight. I always come home with a bag of treats from the bakery including the brown butter Rice Krispie treats.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Far too noisy, too crowded, everybody from the personal was stressed.
Meat was burned.
To loud to speek to each other.
I've no idea why people go there....?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

It was our one year wedding anniversary and they treated us so well! Fantastic food and drinks and even better service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We were wanting to sit outside but they didn't have it avail. We then sat at a booth near the kitchen. The flies were really bad but the waitress and manager were wonderful and moved us to a different booth. We then saw people sitting outside when we were finished with our meal and they were great again and moved us so we could enjoy our wine and my complimentary cookie for my bday! I always love coming to Summerhouse bc of the wonderful service, great food and awesome atmosphere. They never disappoint!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Brunch with the boys (husband and his friends) and the baby. We love coming here and bringing our out-of-town guests here. The brunch menu is diverse enough without being overwhelming and everything I've had has been very tasty. Also great atmosphere to bring kids. As a parent you feel like you're "going out" but not taking your kid to a place where they really don't belong. The restaurant is light and airy which also makes this place feel welcoming and relaxed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Summer House REALLY impressed me. I was at the restaurant for brunch yesterday and had one of the best meals. From the food, to the cocktails, to the atmosphere, it was such a perfect choice for Sunday brunch! The service was excellent; our waitress was incredibly patient and kind. There was great variety on the menu and both of our meals were delicious.

There was one thing I wasn't pleased about: we stopped by the pastry counter for two small iced coffees with almond milk after our meal and we were charged almost $14.00. We didn't look at the price beforehand, but had they not started making our drinks, I would've said "no thanks." Charging nearly $7.00 for a small iced coffee is ridiculous and disappointing, especially when I thought our brunch was a great value for what we had!

Besides the post-brunch coffee, I would absolutely go to Summer House every weekend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had a lovely brunch. Cocktails are unique and delicious. Don't akip the bakery in your way out for amazing cookies. The oatmeal Scottie and the chocolate chip sea salt were amazing. I wish the donuts were still offered on the weekend but even without the brunch was fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I can't say that I was impressed. Our experience was not good since our orders were messed up and the food was average. The manger did address the issues but as this was our anniversary dinner we felt quite disappointed by the experience. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The kitchen and bar seemed off. Chilled rose was twice served in hot stemware from the dishwasher, turning it room temp, and the cocktail ordered took longer than it should have. Pasta was under salted, overcooked, and the sauce far too sweet. The burger seemed to also have been cooked without any salt and came out medium well/well instead of the requested medium.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Cute place such a gem

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Even though we had a reservation for 4:30 and traffic was holding me up until almost 5, they were kind enough to seat my friend. Service as always is great as always as is the food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The ribeye steak was absolutely terrible ! It first came out raw and after sending it back we waited for a half hour for the steak to come out completely over-cooked! It ruined the rest of our meals because we felt awkward eating in front of the person without food. Food is marginal at best but the ambience is nice. I would only return for cocktails in the future!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food was wonderful and our waiter James was outstanding! Can't wait to eat there again!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

You sent a message saying we were a no show.. we did eat here at our reservation time... Did I get my points?

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2017

First time to Summer House. A friend recommended it and we could not have chosen a better place for an early, pre-theater dinner. Enjoyed two appetizers (ahi tuna and the burrata) both had great flavor and both were ample portions. Could easily share the burrata.

We were in the mood for tacos, so we got the tuna and the mahi and shared. Both excellent.

Shared a chocolate cherry cake for dessert. Can definitely split - even four ways if you want a few bites of decadence.

Wine list is excellent. And the non-alchololic drinks (mocktails) were good. My son had the cucumber one and it was very refreshing.

Love the "Vitamin D" room - basically feels like you are dining in a greenhouse. (without all the plants)

Overall, I give this an A+. We will be back for sure!

Off street parking was a breeze.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Delicious food! Waiter was not the best- but the ambience and Rose' at the bar made the night!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Summer House is a fun atmosphere. Perfect for a Summer day

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great atmosphere, limited menu. Sushi rolls are on the smaller side relative to competing restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great atmosphere !

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

It was great :-) the food was great our server was very attentive. The only down side was we had to wait 10 minutes after our reservation for a table. But other than that it was a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Had a wonderful time great atmosphere great service food was excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

A great neighborhood hangout with refreshing drinks!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Healthy, Fun, Seasonal, Organic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.