About Summer House Santa Monica

Inside Summer House, guests will find a laid-back, friendly vibe with an environment reminiscent of a beach house. Complete with California-inspired decor, the chef-driven menu highlights simple, handcrafted dishes prepared with local and seasonal ingredients, many of which are prepared on a wood-fire grill. The eclectic menu is a crowd pleaser with options such as Ahi Tuna Tostadas, Hand-Rolled Sushi, Tacos and Wood-Grilled Fish.

Summer House offers a carefully curated selection of Californian wine to complement each menu item as well as chef-crafted cocktails, zero-proof cocktails, and draft and bottled beers. A bakery counter, shared with Stella Barra Pizzeria, serves a selection of freshly baked breakfast pastries, muffins and Chef Jeff Mahin’s famous cookie selection. No matter the season or the weather, you will be transported to Summer.

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm
Saturday 8:00am-11:00pm
Sunday 8:00am-10:00pm

BRUNCH: Saturdays & Sundays 8:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armitage

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4100

Website:
http://www.summerhousesm.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Summer House features a menu that spotlights locally sourced produce & ingredients.

Accommodating parties of 10-250 guests, Summer House exudes an atmosphere perfect for weddings / receptions, bridal & baby showers, family gatherings, birthdays, daytime lunches, corporate events & more! Summer House also offers large cookie/bakery orders, perfect for when you want to host events at home & offer a special treat for your guests!

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4100.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just southeast of the Armitage stop on the Brown Line.
Halsted Bus, Route #8
Armitage Bus, Route #73

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin and Chef/Partner Francis Brennan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4100.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Bring your romantic Valentine's Day dinner to our West Coast inspired space! Our wood-grilled dishes offer a variety of taco platters, seafood and steaks. Sip on a handcrafted cocktail or opt for our extensive wine list. Don't forget to end your meal on a sweet note with our pies and cookies!

Private Dining

Host your next event at Summer House Santa Monica! The restaurant is designed to evoke the atmosphere of a summer beach house with warm tones and a large glass ceiling positioned directly over the dining room creating the perfect ambiance for socializing & celebrating.

Summer House Santa Monica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (66)
Casual (66)
Good for a Date (63)
See All
Fun (61)
Great for Lunch (58)
Good for Groups (56)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Modern Decor (50)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Hot Spot (43)
Special Occasion (41)
Healthy (40)
People Watching (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Open Kitchen (28)
Good Vegetarian Options (27)
Kid-friendly (26)
Cozy (25)
Comfort Food (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Seasonal (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Romantic (12)
Authentic (11)
Business Meals (11)
Organic (10)
Family Style (10)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Tapas (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Scenic View (6)
Wood Oven (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (3)
Live Sports (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food here is mediocre at best. My fr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 16 hours ago

The food here is mediocre at best. My friends black bean soup was just a dish of puréed black beans. It looked like black mortar. I had the summer house salad. The blue cheese so strong it burned my tongue, the tomatoes old and tasteless. Our waiter was fine and the ambience is very nice if a bit noisy. We complained about the bean soup and the waiter took it off the bill, but really the whole meal was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Great staff from our Server to the cooki ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Great staff from our Server to the cookie recommendations from the baker's. Look forward to trying the rest of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place and great ambiance ! Went to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place and great ambiance ! Went to a boozy brunch with friends - try their cocktails!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place hit on every major component ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

This place hit on every major component of a positive dining experience. The service was friendly and attentive, the food was plentiful, paced properly and they were very accommodating with special requests. I also thought there was definite value for the prices that you pay. Cant wait to go back

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Made a reservation for 1:30 and we were ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Made a reservation for 1:30 and we were not seated until 45 minutes later. We were told it's the restaurants policy not to ask prior diners to leave (they had been sitting at the table for 30 minutes after the bill was paid). If that's the case, they shouldn't take reservations or should hold additional tables open in case this happens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Service was excellent as usual. We try n ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was excellent as usual. We try new dishes every time. This visit we ordered the French Dip on our server's recommendation and it did not disappoint. We were sad to see the removal of the turkey burger, but the French Dip was a suitable alternative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our family had a wonderful time dining h ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Our family had a wonderful time dining here! Our waitress was patient, friendly, and very knowledgeable in regards to the menu! The food was outstanding (our favorite was the ahi & watermelon tostadas) and the restaurant decor was fresh and bright! The place was neat and clean and so were the restrooms.

We would love to bring new friends here sometime again real soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent! The service was very ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent! The service was very slow and they were very inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

I was very disappointed in this restaura ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I was very disappointed in this restaurant. Summer House is one of my favorite restaurants and a unique place that I like to bring newcomers, if I have friends or family visiting. I had made reservations at 8 AM for a group of 5 for 9:30 PM. We arrived at the restaurant at 9:25 PM and were told that the table we were waiting for paid, and we would be seated soon. We waited over a half an hour, and were not seated until 10:10 PM. This was unacceptable to me, as I had a reservation, and it looked terrible to the people I was hosting. I raved about this restaurant, and the first experience they had was terrible. I have been to plenty of restaurants where the wait staff politely mentioned to us that they had another reservation coming in, so we finished our drinks and headed out, simple as that. I do not believe that restaurants should have reservations available if they do not keep them. No one had apologized for our wait or even touched on the fact that we were upset. The rest of the evening seemed to go downhill, as we expected everything would come late to the table and we would be forgotten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

First time there and will definitely be ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

First time there and will definitely be returning. While the food will by no means blow your socks off good, they have amazing people working there that make the service and attention amazing. Great for drinks, dessert, and catching up with friends.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service, great ambian ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and service, great ambiance Can't wait to go again

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New menu is more expensive with fewer op ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

New menu is more expensive with fewer options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Just mediocre in my opinion. Had fish ta ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Just mediocre in my opinion. Had fish tacos and salad in our group. Nothing THAT tasty, just average. Not a bad place, just soso

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

First time visit to Summer House. We ha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

First time visit to Summer House. We had theatre tickets and wanted to have dinner nearby. Our server was exceptional in helping us keep to our time constraint and at the same time very attentive to our dining experience. Nice open dining room with a great view of the open kitchen. The warm chocolate chip cookie with vanilla ice cream was a great way to end a wonderful meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were given a $100 gift certificate fo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We were given a $100 gift certificate for Lettuce Entertain You restaurant group and this seemed like the best solution out of the list. The server was great and very attentive. The decor was very dated and was not too sure the style the designer was going for ... fake ferns hung too high on the ceiling ... and what was with those cloth wrapped lighting fixtures? Keep it simple people. A white washed room should be austere, light and clean. Please update your interior to reflect the designs on the time.

Kale salad was great. Black rice bowl was good. Fish tacos were way over priced ... make them cu better and more flavorful at home.

The service was the most outstanding benefit going for Summer House.

Would recommend it maybe for brunch ... dinner menu was all over the place and not really a cohesive theme.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I have eaten at Summerhouse several time ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I have eaten at Summerhouse several times. I enjoy the atmosphere and close proximity in my neighborhood. Usually the service is decent and food is pretty good. Lots of good choices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

It took 15 minutes to get water & a tabl ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 10, 2017

It took 15 minutes to get water & a table greet. The start of service was terrible & took way too long. Particularly since there was plenty of available staff on hand, some just standing around doing nothing.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Summer House is consistently amazing! Th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Summer House is consistently amazing! The staff go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The food and drinks are so good, and the decor is the cutest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was phenomenal! Great place ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The service was phenomenal! Great place to escape the cold Chicago weather. The food was excellent! I highly recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun atmosphere. Classic American Fare ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Fun atmosphere. Classic American Fare ranging from the healthy to the indulgent. Highly recommend the guacamole to start. Various members of our group really enjoyed the Mahi tacos, the kale salad and the fried chicken. Great all ages and all tastes destination.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun. Good food. Nice bright atmosphere. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fun. Good food. Nice bright atmosphere. Although we dined on a Winter day It lived up to its name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food & very relaxing! We stayed an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food & very relaxing! We stayed and enjoyed talking after dinner and did not feel rushed. Hannah was our server and was super helpful with dinner suggestions and was always there when we needed something. So happy we went!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It took a half hour from when we walked ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It took a half hour from when we walked into the restaurant for any food to be served. The waitress was unable to answer a straightforward question about a specific menu selection saying she hadn't worked since Wednesday. That said, once the food arrived it was excellent. Whole grain bread was outstanding as was the squash soup. The butternut squash steak was lovely....served with arugula salad with pomegranate seeds and hazelnuts so the dish had a good variety of textures.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Menu was smaller than I expected, but ou ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Menu was smaller than I expected, but our food was very good. We had an 8:00 reservation, but were not seated until almost 8:30. But we did enjoy our evening there.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food and lively atmosphere! We wil ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good food and lively atmosphere! We will go back again very soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there with some friends for my 16th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Went there with some friends for my 16th birthday and it was beautiful! Food was so good and service was great. My favorite part is the openness and light of the space.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

the food is very expensive, the staff is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

the food is very expensive, the staff is great, very friendly. The food was good

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love the sunny Vitamin D room. the natur ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Love the sunny Vitamin D room. the natural light, skylight and ferns make me happy. so perfect for Chicago in winter.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

My sister, her husband, and I were celeb ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My sister, her husband, and I were celebrating my engagement and Hannah made it a super special celebration. The food was fantastic and the service was superb. Love summer house and will come back very soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the decor of this place. During ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I love the decor of this place. During the day you do feel like you're in Santa Monica (sans the wharf). While the evening lighting is nice, I think I prefer this place during the day. The menu is virtually the same for both times, so I don't feel that I miss anything if I don't go at night. The waitstaff is friendly and pretty fast. The bar could be a little faster, but given the fancy drinks on the menu it probably takes a while to make them. The Emerald Salad and the Chicken Tacos were awesome. We had the cauliflower and the beets side dishes and they were ok, but nothing to write home about.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I really enjoyed Summer House. My meal ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I really enjoyed Summer House. My meal was good, the coffee (iced hazelnut almond milk) was great, and the decor felt like I was in California. I just wish they had more vegetarian sandwich options.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were both superb. T ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food and service were both superb. They also were very hospitable!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last night was my friends birthday, she ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Last night was my friends birthday, she picked out this cute place based on the pictures. The food was very delicious. I got the lobster pasta with peas and bacon, and I was very pleased with my choice. The drinks were very good as well pretty much all of their special cocktails were on the table and yummy! The service was a little shotty, the guy was kind and very honest which I appreciated but he forgot about us. He admitted he did which really didn't settle well with the girls at the table. He took a little while to collect our payment and such but he did have a couple other tables. Other than that his service was pretty average. The food came out super fast and was great as previously mentioned

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Never disappointed at the Summer House. ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Never disappointed at the Summer House. Highly recommend for brunch or dinner. Great food. Great drinks. Great service.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, had a fun evening with friends ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As usual, had a fun evening with friends for new year! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great first visit & look forward to comi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great first visit & look forward to coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great NYE dinner. Thank you !!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great NYE dinner. Thank you !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had terrible service all night. The s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had terrible service all night. The server forgot to take our order, food came out unfinished, the server never came out to ask how things were and apologize for the mistakes. Will never go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Has a beach feel and the food was great! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Has a beach feel and the food was great! I am looking forward to trying it in the summer when the wall is open to outside seating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dined here early on New Year's Eve. Exce ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Dined here early on New Year's Eve. Excellent food and service. The vegetable dishes were outstanding especially the cauliflower and beets.The restaurant is bright, open and airy. Good location for before and after theater dining.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.