About Summer House Santa Monica

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Inside Summer House, guests will find a laid-back, friendly vibe with an environment reminiscent of a beach house. Complete with California-inspired decor, the chef-driven menu highlights simple, handcrafted dishes prepared with local and seasonal ingredients, many of which are prepared on a wood-fire grill. The eclectic menu is a crowd pleaser with options such as Ahi Tuna Tostadas, Hand-Rolled Sushi, Tacos and Wood-Grilled Fish.

Summer House offers a carefully curated selection of Californian wine to complement each menu item as well as chef-crafted cocktails, zero-proof cocktails, and draft and bottled beers. A bakery counter, shared with Stella Barra Pizzeria, serves a selection of freshly baked breakfast pastries, muffins and Chef Jeff Mahin’s famous cookie selection. No matter the season or the weather, you will be transported to Summer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm
Saturday 8:00am-11:00pm
Sunday 8:00am-10:00pm

BRUNCH: Saturdays & Sundays 8:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armitage

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4100

Website:
http://www.summerhousesm.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Summer House features a menu that spotlights locally sourced produce & ingredients.

Accommodating parties of 10-250 guests, Summer House exudes an atmosphere perfect for weddings / receptions, bridal & baby showers, family gatherings, birthdays, daytime lunches, corporate events & more! Summer House also offers large cookie/bakery orders, perfect for when you want to host events at home & offer a special treat for your guests!

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4100.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just southeast of the Armitage stop on the Brown Line.
Halsted Bus, Route #8
Armitage Bus, Route #73

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin and Chef/Partner Francis Brennan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4100.

Private Dining

Host your next event at Summer House Santa Monica! The restaurant is designed to evoke the atmosphere of a summer beach house with warm tones and a large glass ceiling positioned directly over the dining room creating the perfect ambiance for socializing & celebrating.

Summer House Santa Monica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (83)
Great for Lunch (76)
Fun (72)
See All
Good for a Date (70)
Casual (70)
Good for Groups (67)
Modern Decor (57)
Sunday Lunch (57)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Healthy (54)
Hot Spot (53)
Fit for Foodies (53)
People Watching (52)
Special Occasion (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Open Kitchen (34)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Bar Seating (29)
Good Vegetarian Options (28)
Kid-friendly (27)
Cozy (27)
Comfort Food (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (20)
Seasonal (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Afternoon Coffee (15)
Afternoon Tea (13)
Authentic (12)
Business Meals (12)
Scenic View (12)
Organic (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Family Style (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Tapas (5)
Vegan (5)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Waterfront (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1647 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Disastrous meal this evening. I'm still ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Disastrous meal this evening. I'm still in a bad mood from it. Ordered Butternut Squash soup for Mom, Sushi roll for me. Mom's soup out first.

My roll arrives later with no Wasabi or Ginger. I have to wait for that. Mom done with soup.

We shared Fried chicken and asked for all white meat, no mashed potatoes. No problem, substituted fries and small upcharge for all white meat. Came out with Mashed potatoes and what I was sure was a thigh. They took the Mashed potatoes, but argued I did have a breast. Manager came over to insist it was a breast. I told her about everything else that went wrong, and please bring me a new breast.

Full transparency our waitress was lovely, and they took the chicken off the bill. But it was a terrible meal overall for such a nice place.

They also didn't give me my frequent diner points as of this review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Our server was the best. We ordered an e ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server was the best. We ordered an eclectic combination of the kale salad, tuna tostadas and the fresh crab sushi roll. Great for a later dinner. Always like this place!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Felt like California in Chicago in Febru ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Felt like California in Chicago in February! Reserve in advance, as this is a popular place. You won't regret your experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Summer House has the best atmosphere ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The Summer House has the best atmosphere, food, and service. Definitely one of my favorites each time I visit Chicago!! Can't wait for my next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Open and airy/cool atmosphere. Fresh in ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Open and airy/cool atmosphere. Fresh ingredients. Would recommend to friends for dining.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food here is great (I would give it ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The food here is great (I would give it 4.5 stars actually), and the atmosphere really memorable -- you almost feel like you're in California. It's very bright and airy inside, with tall ceilings and soft lighting and glass roof. I would really recommend the tuna tostadas. Don't forget to try the cookies for dessert!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

At first they sat us outside away from a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

At first they sat us outside away from any of the heaters so it was very cold but they were nice about moving us inside....All the food was very tasty but I would not recommend the sushi, it was rolled very loosely and was a very small roll so each piece fell apart. Otherwise every other food we ordered was very tasty and I would order again including the fried chicken and calamari.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food and service were excellent; the pla ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service were excellent; the place was crowded and we didn't want for anything. Reservations are a must and we had them and were seated right away. Great place.

Tags: Healthy,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good and super fresh tasti ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was very good and super fresh tasting just like in cali like the theme of the restaurant. What we were super surprised with was the sushi! WOW some of the most fresh and delicious simple

Rolls I've ever had. The spicy tuna which is typically a basic roll everywhere was outstanding. Nice big chunks of fish not the normal ground up style. Also the taco platters where great as well. Tuna was the winner there with just a nice outside sear. My mom had the fried chicken and that was grear as well. While you pay a premium for the fresh from the farm style of food it's worth it once and a while.

Cool hangout atmosphere as well. Did make you feel like you're in cali. Well worth the trip if you are in the city. Also is part of lettuce entrain you so if you are part of the club or have gift cards use them here!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing! Summer House gives you a taste ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing! Summer House gives you a taste of Summer on any day and great salad.

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Day

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great staff, good food, lively atmospher ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great staff, good food, lively atmosphere, good disability access

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place, would highly recommend. Gr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place, would highly recommend. Great environment, good food

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Romantic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Hot Spot, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and service!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great atmosphere and service!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was great! The food was super ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This place was great! The food was superb and our server was so friendly. I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Fun, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was great. Our waitress was wond ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Brunch was great. Our waitress was wonderful. She made a few spot on recommendations.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love everything from service (Louis at t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love everything from service (Louis at the bar!!!) to the food!! Avocado Toast is amazing! Roasted Cauliflower appetizer is a must start to any meal!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had the fish tacos - excellent. the guac ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

had the fish tacos - excellent. the guacamole starter is great to share.

MUST order the cookies (so so so good)

been many times - love it, menu is very organized and offers something for everyone.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Mahi Mahi was overcooked

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Mahi Mahi was overcooked

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had such a wonderful server!!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had such a wonderful server!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in service. Had to ask othe ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Disappointed in service. Had to ask other servers or managers to find our server and/or order us another cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Very cute ambience for a girls' night ou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Very cute ambience for a girls' night out

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Date brunch - had a great waitress (funn ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Date brunch - had a great waitress (funny and friendly), food was very tasty. Good variety on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I went on a Sunday afternoon with my boy ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I went on a Sunday afternoon with my boyfriend to get brunch. The place is absolutely lovely and I will for sure bring all my girlfriends here. The service was fantastic. Our service was very polite and attended out needs. The food was also good. I got the special menu of cinnamon pancakes, might be the best tasting pancake I've ever had. My boyfriend got the Enchiladas and cinnamon buns and according to him, it was too fulfilling. I admire the ambiance a lot. If you are looking to escape the winter vibe go here and you will feel like you're in the West Coast.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Waterfront, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on for Sunday Brunch. First time fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went on for Sunday Brunch. First time for my husband and I but my daughter and boyfriend had been there for dinner and highly recommended. We were seated right away. Friendly service. We were in the atrium room which was great for a sunny day. Chicken tostadas were delicious, husband had short rib hash and loved it. We shared a breakfast 'appetizer' of the cinnamon rolls - divine - highly recommend. Fresh orange juice was so good. Fun spot, noisy and bustling but very enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always impressed by every part of this e ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always impressed by every part of this establishment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was too busy. Some of the fo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our waiter was too busy. Some of the food came out over cooked, there was a sauce missing from one dish and it took like 15 minutes to get mustard from the waiter. When it finally came, the mustard was dry and crusted over, obviously having sat there for hours. The final straw was that I ordered a beer when they first set our food down and I was done eating by the time it finally came. I sent it back and it was cheerfully taken off our bill, but they didn't seem to even recognize that it was lacking service.

I have no idea why this place is so popular, a real head scratcher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Went with the family and had a wonderful ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went with the family and had a wonderful experience! Service was great, food was great! Had something for everyone, my picky daughter had the Amish chicken which was delicious. My vegetarian son had sushi as did I and my husband had the prime rib sandwich. Everything was delicious and we definitely will be coming back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We were seated at a half booth for 5 pe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We were seated at a half booth for 5 people. 3 men two woman. We were sqeezed in. Not how we like to spend a dining experience. It put a damper on the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

We all ordered something with chicken. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We all ordered something with chicken. All the dishes came out with cold. Two orders of tacos, cold. One chicken sandwich, cold chicken. And one Cesar salad with cold chicken that was supposed to be grilled. I think they pre-cook their chicken, throw it back on the grill to try to reheat it, then chuck lukewarm chicken in what is supposed to be a hot dish. Gross.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Our server was lovely and she allowed us ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our server was lovely and she allowed us to catch up with old friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Asian, a Greek and 2 African-American ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

An Asian, a Greek and 2 African-Americans walk in to a bar...ok so in this case it's Summer House Santa Monica 😁 Brunchin' it up on a Saturday morning and the place was packed!! Great sign that it's great food!!! Reading the menu I was not very impressed BUT when our meals hit the table it looked and smelled amazing!!! AND the taste was amazing as well. Top off great food with great service and you have a perfect place to brunch with your besties!! It took us about an hour to get there and I must say it was worth the drive!! will be back with another group soon!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waited 45 minutes for our table even tho ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Waited 45 minutes for our table even though we had a reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

Celebrated friends getting together for ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Celebrated friends getting together for two 40th-birthdays! Food and place were GREAT - and Connor gave us the BEST service ever! She was wonderful!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants. I've bee ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. I've been here several times and have never had a disappointing meal.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it!! Went to California the nex ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We loved it!!

Went to California the next week, ate twice in Santa Monica and Summwrhouse was even better

We had a blast!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant. Delicious tuna ap ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Beautiful restaurant.

Delicious tuna appetizer.

Tacos were fine , nothing special.

The tortillas were hard, actually couldn't chew them. ( too much time sitting in a warmer I would guess)

Had to send them back twice before getting warm and soft tortillas. By then our food was cold.

Disappointing, overpriced for what it is.

Not to usual Lettuce standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Such a cute atmosphere!! Excited to go b ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Such a cute atmosphere!! Excited to go back, good food and adorable restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic atmosphere, great food and coc ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere, great food and cocktails.

Our server Allison was exceptional and made an excellent wine suggestion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, , Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice neighborhood setting. Crowd mostly ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Nice neighborhood setting. Crowd mostly neighborhood yuppies. Good food. Try the salmon and calamari. Good wine pairings. Nice for couples, friends and people on a first date.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.