About Summer House Santa Monica

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Lettuce Entertain You Enterprises' Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin and Chef/Partner Francis Brennan bring their popular California-style concept, Summer House Santa Monica, to Lincoln Park in Chicago, IL. Inside Summer House, guests will find a laid-back, friendly vibe with an environment reminiscent of the Golden State, complete with beach house-inspired décor. The chef-driven menu highlights simple, hand-crafted dishes prepared with local and seasonally-inspired ingredients, many of which are prepared on a wood fire grill. A carefully curated list of California wines complement each menu item. A bakery counter, shared with Stella Barra, will offer a selection of fresh baked breakfast pastries, muffins and Mahin’s famous cookie selection. Locally roasted artisan coffee will also be served in both restaurants. Summer House Santa Monica will be open for lunch, dinner and weekend brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm
Saturday 8:00am-11:00pm
Sunday 8:00am-10:00pm

BRUNCH: Saturdays & Sundays 8:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armitage

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4100

Website:
http://www.summerhousesm.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Summer House features a menu that spotlights locally sourced produce & ingredients.

Accommodating parties of 10-250 guests, Summer House exudes an atmosphere perfect for weddings / receptions, bridal & baby showers, family gatherings, birthdays, daytime lunches, corporate events & more! Summer House also offers large cookie/bakery orders, perfect for when you want to host events at home & offer a special treat for your guests!

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4100.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just southeast of the Armitage stop on the Brown Line.
Halsted Bus, Route #8
Armitage Bus, Route #73

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin and Chef/Partner Francis Brennan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4100.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Host your next event at Summer House Santa Monica! The restaurant is designed to evoke the atmosphere of a summer beach house with warm tones and a large glass ceiling positioned directly over the dining room creating the perfect ambiance for socializing & celebrating.

Summer House Santa Monica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

great for brunch (249)
hot spot (227)
neighborhood gem (220)
See All
great for lunch (210)
good for groups (206)
fit for foodies (195)
special occasion (138)
great for outdoor dining (103)
kid-friendly (92)
romantic (78)
vibrant bar scene (77)
notable wine list (51)
scenic view (40)
late-night find (12)
Sort By:
Newest
1153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Neighborhood spot

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Great food. Really good service. Fun environment. This place is always a great option for dining...if you can get in. Plan ahead and have a reservation. Ask to either sit by the windows (if it is nice out, or in the main dining room (not the bar area). The lobster is great...consider having it as an appetizer with several others to share.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

very eclectic menu in a beautiful atmosp ...

Dined 4 days ago

very eclectic menu in a beautiful atmosphere. skylights make you feel like you are earing outside. a bit noisy, but, enjoyable

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Family dinner was great! Loved the burra ...

Dined 5 days ago

Family dinner was great! Loved the burrata, and everyone had something different and enjoyed it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great service, very good food, but a bit ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great service, very good food, but a bit too noisy for my taste. I actually like to carry on a conversation dueing dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

Bring earplugs. The restaurant is prett ...

Dined 6 days ago

Bring earplugs. The restaurant is pretty, the food is fresh and good but the noise level is way up in Lincoln Park style...young moms with high end strollers, teen age girls celebrating the end of school, traffic, buses and sirens on Halsted. Try to pick an off time if you want to have any conversation or hear your server.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The atmosphere is the Summer House's cal ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The atmosphere is the Summer House's calling card with the bright white loft dining room. Well trained service give good guidance on food and wine. Love that Lettuce entertainment provides Gluten Free menus too. Unfortunately while wine as elections are fun and rewarding, the food was.... Meh. Sorry to say.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorite places for a ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

This is one of my favorite places for a special lunch! The service is always so personal and fantastic, the food never disappoints, the drinks are delicious and the ambience makes you forgot what awful Chicago weather may be happening right outside the doors. It is the perfect getaway to get happily lost!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Vitamin-D Room is amazing. Feels lik ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The Vitamin-D Room is amazing. Feels like you're sitting outside soaking up the sun, but you're actually inside with controlled temperatures for those sunny, yet cold days.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Brings the outdoors inside

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We sat in the main dinning area, it was so bright it almost felt like you were sitting outside (but without the cool Chicago chill). Really like the décor/feel of the space, the food was good but it was just brunch so feel I need to go back for lunch to be able to review the food fairly. The service was okay, however slow, also at the time our food was dropped we were asked if we needed anything else, but then the server never came back to see if along the way we realized we needed something (like another drink, refills, additional condiment/food, etc.), the next time we saw her was after we finished our meal and the busser picked up our dishes, when she dropped the check.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, service and restaurant were am ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food, service and restaurant were amazing. Definitely coming back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love summer House. The food is co ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Always love summer House. The food is consistent and the ambiance is wonderful. I always run into friends, associates and neighbors when I am there. Love this place. I was there 3 times this week!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The price is a little high for the quali ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The price is a little high for the quality of the food. The food didn't really have much flavor and didn't really feel very unique. The restaurant ambiance is really nice and the service was good, though.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

felt so happy

Dined on May 8, 2016

Made a reservation at very last minutes for Mother's day and wedding anniversary. Had seated at 4:30pm,but it's already packed. Everyone seems to have great time there. So are we. Starting with Guacamole was always great.Even kids loved it. Enjoyed every dishes, the staff were friendly. Our waitress wishes our happy anniversary and surprised us with complimentary desserts! Had really great time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place for a birthday brunch!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything was perfect! We had an amazing waiter who made the experience that much better. The Ahi Tuna tostadas are a must!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Bloody Mary's were fantastic and garnished with sweet bacon. Short rib hash was tender and with great flavor. Eggs were poached perfectly. Service was attentive without being intrusive despite Mothers Day crowd. Loved everything about Summer House. Can't wait to return.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My Favorite Brunch Spot

Dined on May 8, 2016

I always love the food here and the ambiance is fantastic! Such a cool atmosphere and my favorite place to go for brunch! I want to thank Summer House for being so accommodating to families with kids. It's wonderful to see a brunch "hot spot" welcoming little ones with open arms. We'll definitely be back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service great. They have an ex ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and service great. They have an excellent dessert bar to choose from

food5
ambience5
service5

As usual the food was amazing, as was th ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

As usual the food was amazing, as was the service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot all around

Dined on May 5, 2016

Took my mom and 7 year old daughter for a special pre-mother's day lunch. we all enjoyed the various menu options including a great kids menu (that came with crayons & games-score!). The arnold palmer i had was delicious & of course we had a few cookies & brownies for dessert & even took some to go. the plain ol' chocolate chunk were hands down the best around. Bright, sunny, fun & festive. A+ experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great food, good vibe

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Went there with a friend before a Steppenwolf matinee. Great Tuna appetizer and good french dip sandwich. Always a lovely dining room and good service. It's a good place to go for lunch, and also for dinner. Definitely would be a top of mind restaurant for the future.

Tags: group bookings, lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Really nice setting, fresh farm to table ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Really nice setting, fresh farm to table food, great ambiance, but food was merely good, but not great.

food4
ambience5
service5

This place just puts you in a good mood ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

This place just puts you in a good mood and lifts your spirits with its sunny center and calming colors! We really felt like we were in a beach town restaurant but one with class and style! ;) the beers are outstanding and I could eat them all day.. The Cobb salad as well, and the tuna chips app. The Brussel sprouts were not for me, but others at the table liked them. We shared all these items and it was perfect. Don't miss the cookie counter on your way out! The blondie, oatmeal butterscotch and seas alt chocolate chip were savored in the car after! Yum!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and service. Well-desig ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great atmosphere and service. Well-designed space with lots of natural light, yet enough to absorb sound so you can still hear the people you are with.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. Fun place great food!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Great experience. Fun place great food!

food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Server was awkward, food was amazing!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We specified in our Open Table note that it was a friends birthday and they did not remember or mention it and our server was incredibly awkward and uncomfortable. However, the overall ambiance of the restaurant is so amazing and the food was delicious! I would def. recommend, just hope you don't get our server... :)

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Summer House Brunch

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Such a great brunch spot. Went with a few girls and one brought her baby. It was perfect spot for a relaxing brunch. Great vibe.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed the salmon Benedict (not ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Really enjoyed the salmon Benedict (not too salty) and Acapulco omelet (just the right amount of 'heat' from the jalapeños). Kale lemonade was refreshing. Danielle and George were appropriately attentive.

food1
ambience1
service1

Our server was very attentive. The food ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our server was very attentive. The food and ambiance was perfect for a wonderful girls lunch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful California inspired decor. Def ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Beautiful California inspired decor. Definitely a spot for girls lunch/healthy dinner (although there were a couple guys there too!). There was a 45 min wait for walk-ins. We sat down right away...LOVE Open Table!

food5
ambience5
service5

We were happy that we went at 6 so that ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

We were happy that we went at 6 so that we can enjoy the sun filled room and the Santa Monica vibe while chatting. It filled up quickly as the night went in which was great but not as conducive to chit chat.

food3
ambience4
service3

Service slow and salmon arrived cold.

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Service slow and salmon arrived cold.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Feels Like Summer

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Great afternoon brunch spot, their was a minor delay preparing our food but the server made up for it by giving us free dessert. Many options on the menu will make us come back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Feel like a getaway to Cali :)

Dined on April 24, 2016

Dining at Summer House made us feel like we're back in Cali. We enjoyed the ambiance, the food and the service very much. Since it's quite a popular spot for brunch, it'd be wise to make reservation instead of doing walk-in :)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on April 24, 2016

our server was attentive but not overbearing. He was great! we will be going back

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My husband says it his favorite burger. ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband says it his favorite burger. I love the cocktails and the toasted marshmallow ice cream. We live in Huntley and when I need to come into the city I bribe my husband to take a ride with me by buying him lunch at Summer House

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Unique Flavor, Beautiful Interior

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

I visited Summer House for breakfast with a business associate and we sat at a high top in the bar area. Overall, the server was very friendly, the food was simple and fresh yet full of flavor, and the ambiance was laid back but polished which is exactly what I was hoping for. The ambiance lives up to its name and I can see it being just as comfortable for dinner or drinks as it was for breakfast. I'm looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Will be going back.

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

I went here at a spur of the moment Friday celebration - grabbed a last minute reservation on Open Table. Overall, the food was very tasty. My boyfriend had "a real cali roll" for an appetizer and the "wood-roasted alaskan halibut" for his entree and I had the "wood-grilled steak frites." The only complaint is that it seemed the portions were a bit small for the halibut and the asparagus side. My entree was delicious and the steak had great flavor and a nice sauce on it. The cheesecake, wine and cocktails were great. Overall, a very nice meal.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2

Frankly disappointed - the menu was lack ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Frankly disappointed - the menu was lackluster, certainly nothing special, and over priced for the quality of food.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Shores of the Pacific brought to Lake Michigan

Dined on April 22, 2016

Everything from the service, to the vibe, to the food were excellent. Loved the ascetics. The breeze and cool colors really made us feel as if we were dining in Southern California. I would go back and recommend Summer House.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun lunch with friends

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a really lovely lunch for 3 in a comfy booth near the bar. Luncheon business was brisk but we were not rushed at all. Really nice server and a fun lunch. Only negative it is a bit loud, making conversation a little tough to hear at times.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.