Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Summer House Santa Monica

Located in Chicago’s Lincoln Park neighborhood, Summer House Santa Monica presents an escape to the warmth and laid-back vibes of the West Coast, complete with beach house décor and a beautiful retractable glass ceiling.

At the heart of the open kitchen lies a wood fire grill that is the workhorse of many of Summer House’s menu items. The menu, created by Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin, is California inspired and focuses on market driven ingredients, local and sustainable farming, and seasonal specialties, all complemented by a carefully curated list of California and Pacific North Coast wines.

The Market counter, shared with Stella Barra Pizzeria, offers a variety of our signature fresh-baked pastries, cookies, sourdough English muffins, along with locally sourced coffee and specialty espresso drinks.

No matter the season, no matter the weather, you will be transported to the warmth of California at Summer House.

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm
Saturday 8:00am-11:00pm
Sunday 8:00am-10:00pm

BRUNCH: Saturdays & Sundays 8:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armitage

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4100

Website:
http://www.summerhousesm.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Summer House features a menu that spotlights locally sourced produce & ingredients.

Accommodating parties of 10-250 guests, Summer House exudes an atmosphere perfect for weddings / receptions, bridal & baby showers, family gatherings, birthdays, daytime lunches, corporate events & more! Summer House also offers large cookie/bakery orders, perfect for when you want to host events at home & offer a special treat for your guests!

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4100.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just southeast of the Armitage stop on the Brown Line.
Halsted Bus, Route #8
Armitage Bus, Route #73

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4100.

Private Dining

Host your next event at Summer House Santa Monica! The restaurant is designed to evoke the atmosphere of a summer beach house with warm tones and a large glass ceiling positioned directly over the dining room creating the perfect ambiance for socializing & celebrating.

Summer House Santa Monica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (139)
Neighborhood Gem (127)
Fun (126)
See All
Great for Lunch (114)
Good for a Date (112)
Hot Spot (110)
Casual (108)
Sunday Lunch (104)
People Watching (100)
Great for Outdoor Dining (92)
Good for Groups (87)
Good for Birthdays (84)
Special Occasion (77)
Handcrafted Cocktails (72)
Fit for Foodies (65)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Vibrant Bar Scene (48)
Seasonal (46)
Good Vegetarian Options (43)
Notable Wine List (39)
Worth the Drive (36)
Gluten Free Options (35)
Cozy (35)
Happy Hour (33)
Romantic (32)
Bar Seating (31)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Comfort Food (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
Scenic View (26)
Organic (24)
Business Meals (23)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Modern Decor (17)
Afternoon Coffee (14)
Quick Bite (13)
Authentic (13)
Vegan (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Live Music (4)
Great Beer (4)
Tapas (2)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2053 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was exceptional and so varied. The flavors and presentation were great. I highly recommend the sushi options and the taco platters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Allison was very sweet and accommodating! Will definitely return. The place and location is beautiful. Instagram worthy for
Sure. And the food was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Our table location was awful. We asked the hostess to move us but she would not do it even though there were empty tables.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great tuna watermelon toastadas, chips and guacamole. Sanwichis and fries terrific. Chicken taco dry. Fun, beautiful lively place.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Atmosphere was bright with the glass ceiling letting the sun in. Food was fresh and tasty. Service was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was gracious, friendly and accommodating. The ambiance was fresh, lively and bright, just as the restaurant name and reviews suggested. Cocktails were appropriately sweet and refreshing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Scenic View, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Pretty, trendy restaurant. Great for summer. Menu somewhat limited if you don't like fish.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice & bright. Good food. A little noisy because of children.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We were running late and by the time we got there we thought we would have to wait but we got seated right away. The appetizer we had was great 👍 we had the ahi tuna with watermelon 🍉 was great and the rest of our dinner was great. Enjoyed ourselves and will make a trip back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Really nice ambiance, light and bright. Food and service were great as well. Recommend the turkey burger. Delicious! Hope to be back.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The staff was very accommodating even after we were 20 mins late for our reservation. The server was excellent - friendly, new the menu (food and drink),b attentive.
Food choice for lunch could have been more but what there was, was interesting and my choice was very good, and the portion size was appropriate.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice lunch menu. A bit pricey for glass of wine tho! Courtyard is lovely but a bit too sunny for my taste. Very energetic (somewhat loud) crowd. Excellent service

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Drinks and small plates good. Salads too large, chewy and not good. Fries no longer served with special condiments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Summer House is excellent in so many ways. The food is fun and delicious. We had a burger, a Brussels Sprout salad an the French Dip sandwich. All great. The service is notable. Very attentive. And also genuinly interested in ensuring you are having the best experience. The atmosphere is great. Feels like you're out in the open air. Loved it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

It really is a lively and lovely environment - highly recommend the tuna tostadas.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Fans were blowing so on a beautiful sunny day it was uncomfortably cold. Apples were amazing but salad dry and bland, cheese tasted moldy. Atmosphere beautiful though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Summerhouse is a great choice every single time. Love it there for brunch, but their dinner menu is also great--diverse, healthier options, something for everyone. Vibe is classic Lincoln Park and a bit "see and be seen" but I'd recommend SH to anyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We had a great meal in a group with a lot of food issues there was something for everybody. The prime rib beef sandwich was a special treat. The salads were fresh and delicious. The special fish, halibut, was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

My daughter and I had dinner here on a Sunday night at 5:00 - we had reservations and were seated immediately. We had wanted to eat outside, but the indoor seating was so light and bright and fun that we felt like we were outside! Our server was fantastic and friendly, and even offered to take a picture of us. We had the barata appetizer, which was wonderful, and then 2 salads which were great - our favorite was the kale and peach. We had a warm cookie with ice cream for dessert - utterly decadent and fantastic! Highly recommend the chocolate chip sea salt and the peanut butter cookies. Overall, a wonderful, fun, fresh experience - and we even found street parking just a short block away. Loved Summer House Santa Monica!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Avocado omelette was a decent enough cheese omelet, with small pieces of avocado on the side. Disappointing. Had to ask for ice twice although main waiter was accommodating. Although I like the ambiance not sure I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Decided to try this out for a girls' weekend brunch, and it did not disappoint! My GF friend was floored by the completely separate GF menu, and we all love the airy, laid back ambiance of the Vitamin D room. From the cold pressed orange juice to the delightful mimosas, Summer House is definitely on our list of places to visit again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great date night spot! I would highly recommend the burger.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were excited to go to Summer House for a girls night out. But left super disappointed. I have a food allergy that I made quite clear and asked our server to confirm if I could order the fish tacos. She said the chef cleared it and that I could not have the quacamole. When my entree arrived it was a slab of fish, a large slice of tomato, and some tortillas. None of the accoutrements were included: rice and beans, salsas, etc. After quite some time we flagged down a wait staff to inquire about my order and our waitress finally came back to tell me there was coriander in the rice and beans. for a nearly $30 meal had i known this i would have ordered something else. I did end up ordering the katsu chicken which was fine... it lacked the cucumber salad described just a pile of cucumbers and my friend's burger was missing the grilled onions. The appetizer however was a pleasant surprise tune watermelon tostadas which came with a smart little allergy flag. The rose was great. The service was so slow we forgot what our waitress looked like. I know a lot of people love this place but I don't think i can we swayed to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I have been to Summer House on several occasions and it is always good. The atmosphere is fun and does have a Santa Monica feel to it...which is hard to accomplish in downtown Chicago. There were four of us eating and every one of like our meal - one had the salmon dinner, one had tacos, and two had the quinoa bowl with salmon. Everything was delicious, and the prices are very reasonable for Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I had made a reservation for 4 and called to increase it to 4. They were very nice about it. Gave us a great booth.
Our server, and other staff, were so attentive, patient and helpful with suggestions and giving us time to catch up before we ordered. Good was delicious!
They also have a great gluten free menu!
Can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Summer House always delivers. Three of us split three items - all delicious. Had the chicken poke bowl which was a special and would order it again. Sitting outside here is just a treat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Such amazing staff and environment! Very sunny and chíc setting with comfortable amount of room between tables. Will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Love this place. Great food and ambience. I highly recommend for thi.s place.
Food is healthy and many choices for all types of eaters

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We had a 4:30 reservation because we couldn't get anything later and it turned out great because we got a table right on the street. It was a beautiful evening and our food was delicious.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

No triple points got
Posted after asking 5 times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We LOVED this place. 10/10 would recommend. Great vibe, great service, awesome food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2017

I convinced my parents to leave the suburbs and meet me for dinner. My mom, suffering back and leg pain, was concerned if she would be comfortable and enjoy the food. She was absolutely thrilled with the décor and her hamburger. The ice cream cookie sandwich was the topper!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Took my kids to Summer House and we had a great dinner. Their kids' meals are well done and my kids loved them. The ambience is fun, bright and laid back and I really enjoy it there.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I love coming to Summer House. From the fun flavored waters that are always there for when you are waiting to be seated. The atmosphere is so bright and makes me feel so happy. My servers are always extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The food is so delicious, and

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Thailand)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The service is very competent, from the hosts to the busboys. First time I was there, I had the French toast which is exceptional. This time, I had the chicken and waffles which was subpar. The chicken was basically chicken nuggets and a waffle was flabby and uninteresting. We also ordered a single pancake which was chock-full of blueberries but the better had too much gluten and was tough.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

It's always a pleasure to visit this sun-filled spot on Sundays. The food is always wonderful, the service is fantastic, and the ambiance is perfect for any group.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We have been wanting to try Summer House since we drove by it last summer, and it was well worth the wait. The food was excellent, as was the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.