About Summer House Santa Monica

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Lettuce Entertain You Enterprises' Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin and Chef/Partner Francis Brennan bring their popular California-style concept, Summer House Santa Monica, to Lincoln Park in Chicago, IL. Inside Summer House, guests will find a laid-back, friendly vibe with an environment reminiscent of the Golden State, complete with beach house-inspired décor. The chef-driven menu highlights simple, hand-crafted dishes prepared with local and seasonally-inspired ingredients, many of which are prepared on a wood fire grill. A carefully curated list of California wines complement each menu item. A bakery counter, shared with Stella Barra, will offer a selection of fresh baked breakfast pastries, muffins and Mahin’s famous cookie selection. Locally roasted artisan coffee will also be served in both restaurants. Summer House Santa Monica will be open for lunch, dinner and weekend brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm
Saturday 8:00am-11:00pm
Sunday 8:00am-10:00pm

BRUNCH: Saturdays & Sundays 8:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armitage

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4100

Website:
http://www.summerhousesm.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Summer House features a menu that spotlights locally sourced produce & ingredients.

Accommodating parties of 10-250 guests, Summer House exudes an atmosphere perfect for weddings / receptions, bridal & baby showers, family gatherings, birthdays, daytime lunches, corporate events & more! Summer House also offers large cookie/bakery orders, perfect for when you want to host events at home & offer a special treat for your guests!

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4100.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just southeast of the Armitage stop on the Brown Line.
Halsted Bus, Route #8
Armitage Bus, Route #73

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin and Chef/Partner Francis Brennan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4100.

Restaurant Photos

  • Summer House Santa Monica
  • Summer House Santa Monica
Summer House Santa Monica
Summer House Santa Monica

Private Dining

Host your next event at Summer House Santa Monica! The restaurant is designed to evoke the atmosphere of a summer beach house with warm tones and a large glass ceiling positioned directly over the dining room creating the perfect ambiance for socializing & celebrating.

Summer House Santa Monica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

great for brunch (232)
neighborhood gem (206)
hot spot (200)
See All
great for lunch (194)
good for groups (189)
fit for foodies (178)
great for outdoor dining (157)
special occasion (139)
kid-friendly (89)
vibrant bar scene (82)
romantic (70)
notable wine list (59)
scenic view (51)
late-night find (12)
Sort By:
Newest
1264 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall food was very good appetizers ar ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Overall food was very good appetizers are nothing special so stick to entree and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had various small plates and shared, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had various small plates and shared, all very good. The chocolate multi layer cake was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, staff, atmosphere. Good spot ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good food, staff, atmosphere. Good spot for young folks, but enjoyable for "mature" folks like us

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the food but the service is always ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love the food but the service is always very slow & servers inattentive. Had to ask for silverware. The food for our group of 3 did not arrive at the same time. We were mostly ignored.

Get it together. There are lots of restaurants in Chicago that offer good food AND good service.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great decor and summery feel. Food was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great decor and summery feel. Food was good but the kitchen was a little slow, even though we only ordered entree salads at lunchtime. Fun dessert selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

And enjoyable evening with good company. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

And enjoyable evening with good company. Out of my favorite beer however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Honestly, it was terrible. We showed up ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Honestly, it was terrible. We showed up for our reservation. We're told our table would be ready in about 10 minutes and they would text me and then they never texted me. We finally just got in because no one else was in line but they never ended up texting me for my table. After, we sat at the bar waiting to be served baked goods and the three people working all did not even acknowledge our existence let alone try to help us for about 5 straight minutes so we finally just turned and left. I will never return. The food was mediocre and not worth suffering the horrific service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

I love Summer House for lunch! But, brin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I love Summer House for lunch! But, bring back the ricotta/cottage cheese pancakes to the brunch menu! I was so disappointed to learn these were no longer available.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints for brunch. A great a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Never disappoints for brunch. A great atmosphere for brunch. Great lighting. My wife and I love the chicken tostados and I'm going that they bring back the breakfast burrito but they have a number of other items that are good as well. TJ does a great job with this place. The Rose cart is great. Also a big fan of the candied bacon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Just as off-putting as LA but with more ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Just as off-putting as LA but with more kids and less traffic.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Impeccable service from Hosts to Servers ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Impeccable service from Hosts to Servers and Bartenders. You got this newer neighborhood gem just right. Thank you to the people who made this happen. This is my fourth time here.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Summer House several time ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I have been to Summer House several times and their food is consistently good. My only criticism I have is it sometimes can get very loud and therefore it can be hard to carry on a conversation with someone across the table. I think it depends where you sit.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Last Thursday was my first Summer House ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Last Thursday was my first Summer House Santa Monica experience with my long-time friend, Kim. Everything was exceptional from the cocktails to the amazing rice krispy treat/chocolate chip cookie. Our server, I wish I could remember his name, was so friendly and attentive. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great vibe in the restaurant. I felt lik ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great vibe in the restaurant. I felt like I was on vacation !! The food was amazing... Had the chicken Caesar and the avocado toast to split with my friend. Will defiantly be back soon !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My family and I always enjoy Summer Hous ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My family and I always enjoy Summer House, but were somewhat disappointed having to wait 25 minutes when we had reservations. Made them thru Open Table. Hopefully this was a one time occurrence. Otherwise food is very good and service was pretty good also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great brunch/lunch spot for couples or f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great brunch/lunch spot for couples or friends to get together in an airy space!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Mediocre and very underwhelming. The ser ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Mediocre and very underwhelming. The service felt hurried and uncaring. They brought the drinks, appetizers, salad and the entree all at once. Salad did not have the dressing (very bland!) and the entree was cold by the time we could get to it. Very disappointing experience for a birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Our meal was delicious, especially the b ...

vip
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our meal was delicious, especially the burrata appetizer. The decor is wonderful and makes you feel as if your in Santa Monica. Wine selection was great. Would visit again when in the neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Everyone MUST try the Avocado toast (or ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everyone MUST try the Avocado toast (or the tostadas) off the brunch menu. Just absolutely amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Took a little while to come o ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Good food. Took a little while to come out but good scenery while we waited. Was way too cold for a summer day where it felt like we were on a patio. Had jeans on and I was so cold it had a negative impact on my meal. Would go back just not sit on roof covered patio

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and drinks. One of my favorit ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food and drinks. One of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great but really small port ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was great but really small portions. Not that many healthy food options. The server wasn't really knowledgeable on alcohol or provide much description of menu options.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

SummerHouse is so cute. Great for a date ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

SummerHouse is so cute. Great for a date or girlfriends lunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance is great. Food, not so much. If ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Ambiance is great. Food, not so much. If I were to return, it would be just for drinks and pastries.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Super fun atmosphere, great service and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Super fun atmosphere, great service and yummy food! A fun night for all!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had heard many great things about Summ ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I had heard many great things about Summer House from a few of my friends, and it did not disappoint! I met here with some friends from high school, and all of us enjoyed the food, the beverage selection, and the atmosphere. I highly recommend Summer House for a dinner with friends or as a date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Arrogant host. Mahi Mahi had a large pr ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Arrogant host. Mahi Mahi had a large proportion of the blood line not removed. Really appreciate them splitting our salad. Nice salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

I cannot rave enough about this place. T ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I cannot rave enough about this place. The location is perfect, the atmosphere unbeatable, the food great. It's just one of those place that lifts your spirits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

awesome food and amazing service, yummy ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

awesome food and amazing service, yummy cookies/ avocado toast/ mimosas/ rise and shine

awesome are, with awesome vibes. The huge "yes" sign says it all. This restaurant is a 100% yes in my book!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly wait staff. Good selection. T ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Friendly wait staff.

Good selection.

Timely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I was incredibly disappointed with Summe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I was incredibly disappointed with Summerhouse Santa Monica after hearing so many wonderful reviews from friends. I took my boyfriend there for brunch on his birthday. Despite requesting a nice table for the birthday occasion, we were seated next to the waiter's cashiers where it remarkably took 15 minutes to get menus and water. The waiters were dancing and messing around at the cashier, right next to our table, which further irritated the situation. When we were finally approached by our waiter, we ordered cocktails, an appetizer, and our entrees at the same time. The waiter was quite rude and even criticized our choices. The appetizer and entrees came out in about 40 minutes and the cocktails finally arrived after the food. We were not apologized to for the wait, nor compensated for not being served our drinks way after our food had arrived. The bill was outrageously expensive for the poor service and tiny portions. I will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

California cuisine for the masses. Well ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

California cuisine for the masses. Well done and "California portioned". Serious can be hit or miss, but friendly, knowledgeable staff. The delay seems to be in the kitchen. Don't forget the extra large cookies on the way out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

My first time at Summer House was great! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My first time at Summer House was great! Service was awesome and the restaurant was just beautiful and airy. Can't wait to go back. Plus the food was wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was nothing special but the ven ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was nothing special but the venue is lovely. Salmon eggs benedict was good but the potato hash was cold, and there were no sides whatsoever - a bit of salad or fruit is somewhat expected, otherwise the server should have mentioned it and recommended getting an additional side. The food also arrived alarmingly quickly which makes one wonder if the food is made fresh to order. Also $7 for a small glass of juice is a bit much.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food great atmosphere. Rude host - ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food great atmosphere. Rude host - disengaged server. Should be noted restaurant locale is chicago Il although name boasts Santa Monica. Staff was not aware of full restaurant name and asked if I booked reservation in Santa Monica. Full name SUMMER HOUSE SANTA MONICA located on Halsted Rd. Chicsgo IL.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

All around high quality experience! I r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

All around high quality experience! I really loved this place!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was amazing. We loved the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The restaurant was amazing. We loved the ambiance, food and service. Our only complaint was that we were sat at a high top near the food register in the front room next to the bar - so we were constantly surrounded by servers in a tight space. That specific table shouldn't be there. We asked for a different table but there was too long of a wait. We will still come back because we loved the restaurant so much but we will request a different table. All in all we loved coming there, especially for date night!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Summer House came highly recommended by ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Summer House came highly recommended by several of our friends, and I definitely recommend this restaurant - great food, service and cocktails!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cobb salad is delicious, and the bak ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Cobb salad is delicious, and the bakery is amazing! Their Aix Rose is absolutely fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We were seated one full hour after an 8: ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We were seated one full hour after an 8:30pm reservation, with little apology. Why do they bother even taking reservations, if they cannot manage time well enough to honor them?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.