About Summer House Santa Monica

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Inside Summer House, guests will find a laid-back, friendly vibe with an environment reminiscent of a beach house. Complete with California-inspired decor, the chef-driven menu highlights simple, handcrafted dishes prepared with local and seasonal ingredients, many of which are prepared on a wood-fire grill. The eclectic menu is a crowd pleaser with options such as Ahi Tuna Tostadas, Hand-Rolled Sushi, Tacos and Wood-Grilled Fish.

Summer House offers a carefully curated selection of Californian wine to complement each menu item as well as chef-crafted cocktails, zero-proof cocktails, and draft and bottled beers. A bakery counter, shared with Stella Barra Pizzeria, serves a selection of freshly baked breakfast pastries, muffins and Chef Jeff Mahin’s famous cookie selection. No matter the season or the weather, you will be transported to Summer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm
Saturday 8:00am-11:00pm
Sunday 8:00am-10:00pm

BRUNCH: Saturdays & Sundays 8:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armitage

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4100

Website:
http://www.summerhousesm.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Summer House features a menu that spotlights locally sourced produce & ingredients.

Accommodating parties of 10-250 guests, Summer House exudes an atmosphere perfect for weddings / receptions, bridal & baby showers, family gatherings, birthdays, daytime lunches, corporate events & more! Summer House also offers large cookie/bakery orders, perfect for when you want to host events at home & offer a special treat for your guests!

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4100.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just southeast of the Armitage stop on the Brown Line.
Halsted Bus, Route #8
Armitage Bus, Route #73

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin and Chef/Partner Francis Brennan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4100.

Restaurant Photos

  • Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
  • Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL
Summer House Santa Monica, Chicago, IL

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Season's eatings! We've got brunch, lunch and dinner covered this Christmas Eve. Come unwind and relax with friends and family at Summer House. Happy holidays!

Private Dining

Host your next event at Summer House Santa Monica! The restaurant is designed to evoke the atmosphere of a summer beach house with warm tones and a large glass ceiling positioned directly over the dining room creating the perfect ambiance for socializing & celebrating.

Summer House Santa Monica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

Great for Brunch (77)
Great for Lunch (70)
Neighborhood Gem (67)
See All
Casual (60)
Fun (58)
Great for Outdoor Dining (57)
Good for a Date (54)
Hot Spot (53)
Good for Groups (52)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Special Occasion (47)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Modern Decor (46)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Healthy (34)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Kid-friendly (29)
People Watching (29)
Good Vegetarian Options (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Comfort Food (23)
Open Kitchen (23)
Cozy (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Seasonal (15)
Afternoon Coffee (14)
Romantic (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Family Style (11)
Authentic (10)
Organic (9)
Scenic View (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Tapas (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Business Meals (6)
Vegan (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Wood Oven (3)
Live Sports (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant offers some unique dishes ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant offers some unique dishes that are well prepared and tasty. Prices are moderate and service is attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Always a good meal. no surprises, just g ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a good meal. no surprises, just good quality food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

CUTEST BRUNCH SPOT EVER! Came to Summer ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

CUTEST BRUNCH SPOT EVER! Came to Summer House for my birthday and was so impressed. The ambiance inside made it feel like we were on the coast and the food & cocktails fit perfectly with the atmosphere. Blueberry strussel muffin & chicken and waffles are a MUST!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Our waiter was terrific. The restaurant ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter was terrific. The restaurant is beautiful. The salad options could be a little better. The vegetable sides are the best especially the cauliflower.

The best part about this place is the cookies. Ask them to warm up the chocolate chip with sea salt. So worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The tempura calamari was the best calama ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

The tempura calamari was the best calamari I have had anywhere! It was a generous portion for two and we ended up just having that and a beverage for a light lunch! Can't wait to return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Have enjoyed many meals with friends at ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Have enjoyed many meals with friends at Summer House and generally the experiences

have been really great. And I have brought a great many friends there to share the ambience

and the fun menu. With the exception of this last experience, it's always been most worthwhile.

However, this time, the Guacamole appetizer was not as tasty and the salads my friends ordered

both had to be sent back too- overloaded with vinegar. Of course, although we didn't want to

appear perturbed, the staff was on top of the situation ...brought other items for my friends

and absorbed the cost, with their apologies. That I think is one of the reasons that this Lettuce

Entertain You restaurant will continue to be a favorite place. Customer care is high on their list.

And heaven knows, my friends bought a dozen each of their fabulous cookies to take with,

which are another reason to stop in, even if it's just for a snack.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The mushroom barely soup was great. The ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The mushroom barely soup was great. The spaghetti was a joke. 18$ for a kids menu portion and taste of a dish. Extremely disappointing!! The prices aren't cheap and that food was far from amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great spot!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Connor was an awesome server!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Connor was an awesome server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun spot. Truly a summer oasis. Loved ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Fun spot. Truly a summer oasis. Loved the kale salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I really like the atmosphere at this res ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I really like the atmosphere at this restaurant and the food is really solid. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Love!! And kid friendly!

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Love!! And kid friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Summer House for lunch an ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have been to Summer House for lunch and dinner before. I met some friends for a Sunday brunch. The restaurant is always crowded and I fortunately made a reservation. Once seated, it took 10 minutes just to get water glasses filled, and only sporadically saw our server. Coffee cup was never refilled. The kale and spinach omelet was tasteless, and no butter offered for the bread. A lovely structure but over-priced and overcrowded for what is received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Noise level of the music was insane. Dif ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Noise level of the music was insane. Difficult to talk.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Nice bit of west coast in Chicago

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Nice bit of west coast in Chicago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made a reservation a week in advance for ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Made a reservation a week in advance for a surprise celebration dinner. 7:30 pm was the original time and they made us wait until almost 8:00pm for a table. What's the whole point of a reservation then? Also, on top of everything they didn't even offer us to sit by the bar or anything. Extremely disappointed with the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Fun and creative atmosphere with delicio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Fun and creative atmosphere with delicious dining options, from small plates to entrees. We enjoyed the variety and the cocktails. As the sign says: Yes!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The decor did make you feel as if you we ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The decor did make you feel as if you were at a summer cottage and the service was the right amount of attentive. However, the grilled mahi-mahi tacos were average and I found the noise level too high until the restaurant emptied out a bit. Can't say I would go back on my own, but my daughter likes the place so I will.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Love walking in to see the sweet treats ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Love walking in to see the sweet treats like cookies, blondies, brownies, rustic bread and sour dough English muffins prominently displayed in a bakery case. We ate inside, but with the garage type door opening on a warm November day we could imagine it was summer. The beach inspired interior was bright, casual and comfortable. We enjoyed the Burrata with the fabulous toasted bread. The ahi tuna tostadas were small but very flavorful. Our entrees were Baja Tacos accompanied by rice and beans and Bucatinini pasta with sausage. Both were very delicious. Our server brought us fabulous warmed blondie brownies topped with vanilla ice cream to die for. I also suggest trying the non-alcoholic drinks both refreshing and creative.

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Wine list over priced

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Wine list over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went for my birthday brunch with a few f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Went for my birthday brunch with a few friends. Great menu, everything was delicious. I wish the wine selection was a little more extensive but for brunch I can't complain. Make sure you stop at the bakery on your way out! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere and service. Love this ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great atmosphere and service. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every time I come for brunch at Summer H ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Every time I come for brunch at Summer House, I notice someone around me getting the avocado toast, and I finally decided to get it. It was delicious. The service was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice, outdoor feel ! Light, bright ambia ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice, outdoor feel ! Light, bright ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We went to summer house for a Saturday b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We went to summer house for a Saturday brunch. First of all I had to change our reservation last minute and the staff was super accommodating! When we got there we got a great table outside. The service was wonderful. Our cocktails came quickly and tasted great. The food was delicious! It was an overall great experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place for Breakfast and lunch. Hav ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great place for Breakfast and lunch. Have not had dinner here yet but sure it is great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dining experiences we've ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 4, 2016

One of the best dining experiences we've had in Chicago. The food was so well done. The service was perfect. And, the interior was super cool/comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

overall great time! I went there on a da ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

overall great time! I went there on a date with my boyfriend from out of state and he thought it was great as well

Tags: Tapas, Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun evening, good food, and great servic ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Fun evening, good food, and great service--as usual!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Horrible customer service at the restaur ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Horrible customer service at the restaurant. I get it there is a game going on, but you are working so pay attention to your customers not the TV.

It took 5 minutes for my waitress to great herself after I was seated. She didn't even give her name. She was more interested in her Cubs game than attending me. It felt like I was an inconvince her. I had to ask for her twice. Once to ask for a diet coke after my food serve. Lastly, she was no where to be found once I was ready to pay for check. The food was the only thing that will make me come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

I had some sort of kale salad and it was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I had some sort of kale salad and it was amazing. I love the ambiance here. Makes me feel like in Santa Monica! ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

That was another good experience. Good f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 31, 2016

That was another good experience. Good food, nice service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We really love it here and the atmospher ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We really love it here and the atmosphere is very welcoming and warm... we are noticing though that it's a little on the pricey side to have a few dishes and two drinks for brunch...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Excellent food and service. Reservation ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food and service. Reservation was on time. Kept our water glasses full. Fun, energetic atmosphere. The entire menu sounded delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was good, but I made a 1:30 r ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Everything was good, but I made a 1:30 reservation and did not get seated until 1:55. A 10 minute wait is fine, 15 is pushing it, but 25 mins is a bit too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great Sunday Brunch! Really enjoyed the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great Sunday Brunch! Really enjoyed the Candied Bacon Bloody Mary!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch at Summer House is worth the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The brunch at Summer House is worth the wait. Avocado Toast and Scrambled Egg Breakfast Sandwich are two must-haves. Don't miss the handcrafted espresso beverages and bakery items at the front.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had excellent service, very prompt wi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had excellent service, very prompt without being intrusive. The menu has a variety of sweet and savory. The avocado toast was delicious with the poached egg on it perfectly done. The bacon is thick cut and lean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious Kale Salad and French Fries b ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Delicious Kale Salad and French Fries bought a sea salt chocolate chip cookie on the way out that was awesome.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Casual, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been wanting to try Summer House si ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I've been wanting to try Summer House since I moved to Chicago. It was great for a casual late afternoon brunch with friends. Although, the service was a little slow and our waiter seemed to be a little out of it. The cocktails were very good and the avocado toast was good as well.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.