Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Summer House Santa Monica

Inside Summer House, guests will find a laid-back, friendly vibe with an environment reminiscent of a beach house. Complete with California-inspired decor, the chef-driven menu highlights simple, handcrafted dishes prepared with local and seasonal ingredients, many of which are prepared on a wood-fire grill. The eclectic menu is a crowd pleaser with options such as Ahi Tuna Tostadas, Hand-Rolled Sushi, Tacos and Wood-Grilled Fish.

Summer House offers a carefully curated selection of Californian wine to complement each menu item as well as chef-crafted cocktails, zero-proof cocktails, and draft and bottled beers. A bakery counter, shared with Stella Barra Pizzeria, serves a selection of freshly baked breakfast pastries, muffins and Chef Jeff Mahin’s famous cookie selection. No matter the season or the weather, you will be transported to Summer.

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm
Saturday 8:00am-11:00pm
Sunday 8:00am-10:00pm

BRUNCH: Saturdays & Sundays 8:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armitage

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4100

Website:
http://www.summerhousesm.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Summer House features a menu that spotlights locally sourced produce & ingredients.

Accommodating parties of 10-250 guests, Summer House exudes an atmosphere perfect for weddings / receptions, bridal & baby showers, family gatherings, birthdays, daytime lunches, corporate events & more! Summer House also offers large cookie/bakery orders, perfect for when you want to host events at home & offer a special treat for your guests!

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4100.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just southeast of the Armitage stop on the Brown Line.
Halsted Bus, Route #8
Armitage Bus, Route #73

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin and Chef/Partner Francis Brennan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4100.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Enjoy a Mother’s Day brunch with dishes like our Santa Monica Egg White Omelette with shaved turkey breast and tomato-avocado salsa or Our Very Nice Caramelized French Toast. Looking for lunch? Selections of handcrafted sandwiches, salads and a variety of tacos will be available as well.

Private Dining

Host your next event at Summer House Santa Monica! The restaurant is designed to evoke the atmosphere of a summer beach house with warm tones and a large glass ceiling positioned directly over the dining room creating the perfect ambiance for socializing & celebrating.

Summer House Santa Monica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (120)
Fun (112)
Great for Lunch (109)
See All
Good for a Date (96)
Casual (95)
Sunday Lunch (95)
Hot Spot (86)
Good for Groups (86)
Neighborhood Gem (85)
Modern Decor (81)
Healthy (77)
People Watching (73)
Fit for Foodies (72)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Handcrafted Cocktails (57)
Special Occasion (52)
Open Kitchen (47)
Good Vegetarian Options (44)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Kid-friendly (41)
Bar Seating (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Cozy (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Comfort Food (33)
Romantic (31)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Seasonal (25)
Gluten Free Options (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Scenic View (22)
Business Meals (22)
Happy Hour (21)
Afternoon Coffee (19)
Local Ingredients (17)
Authentic (15)
Family Style (13)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Wood Oven (12)
Quick Bite (11)
Great Beer (9)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Organic (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Tapas (4)
Vegan (4)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Music (1)
Waterfront (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
1759 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

The waitress was awesome. Food was OK but the service was so good I'll be back. Also, it really does feel like you're in Santa Monica. Which in Chicago is a nice respite

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is good, but way too noisy. Four of us had dinner and couldn't talk as we couldn't hear each other due to the noise. We asked to turn the music down, but was turned down. MY friends and eat out 5-6 times a week. We're accustomed to restaurants that are popular, but we found SummerHouse not looking for our demographic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Over priced. Fair food. No parkingand high prices valet for lunch.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Quality of food has declined. The food used to be very good but last two visits were disappointing.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and drinks / wine are always great at Summer House. Service is always a little on the slow side and I do NOT understand why they hand you as many as five separately menu cards ... seasonal specials, category specials, rose specials .... for God's sake, just print a menu and give it to me, not all these cards!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great casual dining. Burgers were done just right and the fries were perfect as well. Good salad choices

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Service ranged from indifferent to rude. The food was unremarkable and utterly overpriced. It is the weakest LEY effort which I've tried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Easter Brunch. Everything was great. Your staff is always attentive and efficient. Food delicious. Lovely room...Vitamin D!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Easter brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food and ambience was fantastic but the waiter was horrible....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great atmosphere, not so great service. Looked around and had unlimited staff yet server failed to revisit us after we got food until we were almost done with our meal. Seemed to be servers were more attentive to conversations they were having with each other than the patrons.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A little noisy in the main dining area. Was trying to catch up with a friend and could barely hear her. My fault, I should have requested another area. Love this place. I go there quite often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Absolutely loved this place! Good and service and ambience all incredible. Can't wait to go back on our next visit to chicago!

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food and service were amazing! Love the bright airy decor!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Good service, not bunched in, food very good. Would return. A little pricey but not a deterrent for the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Went to lunch with friend, sat outside, good service and food...

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My husband and I came here with our middle school age son. The minute you walk it felt like you were instantly whisked away to Catalina island. The interior was modern yet relaxed. The dining area was very open and airy. We were 15 minutes early for our reservation but they seated us right away. Our server, Joey, was very outgoing and so much fun. This added to the great ambiance.

My husband ordered the salmon. I had the rainbow and my son ordered the tuna tacos. The seafood couldn't be any fresher.

We will definitely be coming here again and hope to make it for brunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent service, food, and loved the ambiance! I highly recommend to make reservations! This is a place you wouldn't want to miss out on!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Summer House is one of my favorite Chicago restaurants. The atmosphere makes it feel like summer year round and the food and service is always wonderful. Their portions sizes do run a little small, but I feel like that's pretty normal for most nicer restaurants. I was a little disappointed in their vegetarian option for dinner, the Quinoa & Forbidden Black Rice Bowl. It was delicious but it was a lot smaller then the meals my friends got with meat in them. And for the same price, if not more than some of the non-veg options, I feel like there should have been a little bit more food. Be sure to buy one of their cookies on your way out!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Calamari appetizer was possibly the best calamari.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Birthday with family

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Undercooked then overcooked chicken this time... Ok service and the room is bright and sunny... You know why your going here and it's not for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Artfully crafted meals! Tons of sunlight from the glass ceiling. Went for brunch on a Friday...learned they only do brunch on the weekends...so we had an early lunch. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Everything was great, sixth time there. My only criticism is there plates, glasses and flatware not very clean. First fork was dirty, second one also dirty, glasses had residue on it. But from where we were siting you could see the stacked plates and bowls for service. You could see leftover food that was not washed away. Ultimately this is a little thing but quite notable. This is a very busy and popular restaurant and as such the standard of cleanliness should be elevated. Small details make all the difference. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great place, excellent food, outstanding service but too noisy. The music was much to loud and drowned out our conversation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We had not been back to Summer House in many months. The last few times, we couldn't get in on short notice. This time we were able to reserve a table for two with one day's notice.

The place is high energy. You feel it the moment you walk in to the center entry, featuring baked goods and a large view of the restaurant. To the right, is Stella Barra. If Summer House is a bright, clean, Santa Monica beach vibe, Stella Barra is the dark opposite.

Although the cocktails at Summer House are small, they are good. It takes two to get the same buzz you get from one at some other establishments.

The menu is creative and varied enough so that not only is there something for everyone, but at least for me, it's hard to narrow it down. The Brussels sprouts remain the best anywhere.

I ordered the salmon, which I was told was NOT farm raised. It's getting more and more difficult to find wild salmon, and the price was not outrageous.

Our server was delightful.

The restaurant definitely has a youthful vibe to it. We had a good meal, and left very satisfied.

We'll be back!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 5, 2017

avocado toast, poke, and the guac were all delicious! so we're the drinks! our waiter was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We went for lunch to celebrate my husband's birthday and everything was lovely. He enjoyed his prime rib French dip sandwich and I loved my avocado toast. We were lucky to be there for the first day of the Rose Cart and could not resist sampling a northwest coastal variety. The server was knowledgeable and friendly, advising us on our choices, without making us feel pressured. Best of all were the desserts, which were perfect for a birthday celebration. Plus, we bought cookies from the bakery to take home.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We love the atmosphere and the food was great. There was something for everyone!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The overall service was outstanding. We went there for our anniversary and were treated very special the whole time we were there by every member of the staff. Thanks for making our 22nd anniversary a special one!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Still on their winter menu. Yuk!! Pomegranate seeds on salad not fresh. Just awful. The noise level is super loud. The Chinese broccoli that came with the salmon was inedible as it was so incredibly salty. Omg. Just awful.
The cookies and baked goods up front are amazing but that is all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great ambience. Feels like your in LA out of town. Very clean place, great service and food. Will come back soon. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was great. Service was terrible. I thought we'd at least get our appetizer comped... or an apology... but no, nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Vegetable Hash not quite up to par as in previous times ordered and the blueberry lemon ricotta pancakes no longer on the menu... very disappointed. All bakery items were fabulous, the other entrees ordered at the table were delicious, and the service outstanding. We will definitely return and hopefully soon!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Good very good

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Summer House has a really fun, beautiful set up ! The overall ambiance is so comfortable and cool, you really do feel like you're in California. The food is very fresh and everything we had was delicious. You can tell the fish was very fresh from the sushi, and the fried chicken is a great comfort food option. I definitely recommend Summer House for date nights, birthdays, or just a weekend dinner ! Our server Whitney was attentive, friendly, and gave great suggestions.

Tags: , , Fun, , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Mediocre. Sucking up to my girlfriends parnets

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

everything was fantastic, but my parents did complain that it was pretty noisy - and I have to agree!

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dined here for the first time April 1 and believe me, it was no joke it was so good. Had a late brunch/lunch and the food was scrumptious. Also saw Hillary Swank here so you never know who will show up. Very upbeat vibe and super delicious food. I would definitely come back here again.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Hillary swenk was there! Super cool!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.