Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Summer House Santa Monica

Inside Summer House, guests will find a laid-back, friendly vibe with an environment reminiscent of a beach house. Complete with California-inspired decor, the chef-driven menu highlights simple, handcrafted dishes prepared with local and seasonal ingredients, many of which are prepared on a wood-fire grill. The eclectic menu is a crowd pleaser with options such as Ahi Tuna Tostadas, Hand-Rolled Sushi, Tacos and Wood-Grilled Fish.

Summer House offers a carefully curated selection of Californian wine to complement each menu item as well as chef-crafted cocktails, zero-proof cocktails, and draft and bottled beers. A bakery counter, shared with Stella Barra Pizzeria, serves a selection of freshly baked breakfast pastries, muffins and Chef Jeff Mahin’s famous cookie selection. No matter the season or the weather, you will be transported to Summer.

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm
Saturday 8:00am-11:00pm
Sunday 8:00am-10:00pm

BRUNCH: Saturdays & Sundays 8:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armitage

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4100

Website:
http://www.summerhousesm.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Summer House features a menu that spotlights locally sourced produce & ingredients.

Accommodating parties of 10-250 guests, Summer House exudes an atmosphere perfect for weddings / receptions, bridal & baby showers, family gatherings, birthdays, daytime lunches, corporate events & more! Summer House also offers large cookie/bakery orders, perfect for when you want to host events at home & offer a special treat for your guests!

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4100.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just southeast of the Armitage stop on the Brown Line.
Halsted Bus, Route #8
Armitage Bus, Route #73

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin and Chef/Partner Francis Brennan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4100.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Enjoy Easter brunch with dishes like our Santa Monica Egg White Omelette with shaved turkey breast and tomato-avocado salsa or Our Very Nice Caramelized French Toast. Looking for lunch? Selections of handcrafted sandwiches, salads and a variety of tacos will be available as well.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Enjoy a Mother’s Day brunch with dishes like our Santa Monica Egg White Omelette with shaved turkey breast and tomato-avocado salsa or Our Very Nice Caramelized French Toast. Looking for lunch? Selections of handcrafted sandwiches, salads and a variety of tacos will be available as well.

Private Dining

Host your next event at Summer House Santa Monica! The restaurant is designed to evoke the atmosphere of a summer beach house with warm tones and a large glass ceiling positioned directly over the dining room creating the perfect ambiance for socializing & celebrating.

Summer House Santa Monica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (92)
Great for Lunch (89)
Fun (88)
See All
Good for a Date (84)
Casual (80)
Sunday Lunch (74)
Good for Groups (70)
Neighborhood Gem (69)
Hot Spot (69)
Healthy (64)
Modern Decor (64)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Good for Birthdays (61)
People Watching (58)
Handcrafted Cocktails (46)
Special Occasion (45)
Open Kitchen (41)
Bar Seating (35)
Good Vegetarian Options (35)
Kid-friendly (33)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Cozy (31)
Comfort Food (29)
Romantic (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Seasonal (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Happy Hour (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Gluten Free Options (18)
Scenic View (17)
Business Meals (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Afternoon Coffee (17)
Authentic (12)
Organic (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Family Style (9)
Wood Oven (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Tapas (5)
Great Beer (5)
Vegan (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Waterfront (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1701 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Tuna tacos and guacamole were fantastic. Trout was good but could have had a little more flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic service, fantastic food, fantastic ambiance

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Always interesting and well prepared dishes.....great for sharing so that a variety of small plates can be tasted and enjoyed by those at the table. Although very noisy (even on Sunday night at 7:30 PM), the setting is lovely...bright, open and welcoming.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service! Not a fan of the arrangement of some of the close tables, but that is really the only negative!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

I always
Loved this restaurant, but I feel like the food has gone downhill. The service and staff is still great, but the last three times we have been there we have sent at least one thing back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wanted to dine here for a long time. Great and varied menu selection. Great Vegetarian options. Cool ambience. Great craft cocktails. Got $5 parking across the street with Park Whiz.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We had really good service and it's an awesome atmosphere- you feel as if you're dining outside even though it's the middle of winter. They also have a really nice sweets counter to try after your meal for a treat for the road. Overall very nice atmosphere and great service.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 15, 2017

A very fun casual experience. Great variety in dinner options. Terrific beer selection. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The ambiance was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Perfect size menu. Lots of vegetarian and GF options. The décor is lovely. Summertime allows an open air sidewalk dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great menu, love the wine cart. Server was helpful and friendly. Food was great, can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food and service were good. Noise level was high.

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great open air dinning room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The brunch was disappointing. The pull apart cinnamon rolls and the hash were underwhelming and a bit flavorless. I would not recommend getting the hash unless you want something that is really REALLY greesy.

The wait staff was extremely professional and attentive and the sunlight made it a nice place to stay awhile with friends. I have heard good things in general about this place so maybe it would be better for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Such a fun atmosphere! The decor made it feel like we were in California in the middle of winter. Our waiter was great, and helped me get set up for a rewards program.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Server was absolutely fantastic and helped make it a special evening (free champagne was a special touch)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great place to spend the afternoon with friends in a fresh lit dynamic ambiance!

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very accommodative to food allergies. Tuna taco appetizer was my favorite dish. Spicy Tuna sushi was also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Summer House Santa Monica is one of my favorite restaurants in Chicago. It continues to bring great atmosphere, great food, and a great vibe at a decent value. I highly recommend this restaurant as either a date spot or a meal with family or friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Healthy, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I went there for dinner a couple of years ago and the food was amazing. But, I went there for lunch a couple of days ago and I was dissapointed in the food. We had the tuna appetizer and it was wayyyy too spicy. I can handle spice, but this was an 11 out of 10 on the spiciness. I had the Mahi-mahi tacos, the fish was dry and had no flavor. My coworker had the salmon and he said it was dry and had no flavor as well. Spent too much money for the quality of food... :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Always have a great meal at Summer House! I will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Fun spot, great ambiance! Server wasn't great. Seemed like she couldn't wait to leave the whole time and was very impatient seeming when we couldn't decide what to get. Just kinda rude overall to be honest.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food and our service from Conner H was outstanding!! We can't wait to go back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This restaurant is amazing. The food....the dessert...the drinks....everything is GREAT! I would definitely go back for brunch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Open theme restaurant, crowded but still able to enjoy a casual meal.

Broad menu, with enough to satisfy the pickiest diner.

Service was attentive, waiters worked in teams to ensure guest satisfaction.

Overall if you are looking for a filling meal this may not be the place for you as the serving sizes are small. However I would recommend as a trendy brunch spot to start a day on the town.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Summer House has been packed since it opened and our visit was no different. We were told our reservation would not be ready on time and we left to look at shops in the area. Of course our table WAS ready on time and we had to race back in order to not lose it. Unexpectedly for a Lettuce restaurant our service was absolutely terrible. Not to say our server was unfriendly. He was very friendly, when we saw him . . . which wasn't often. Apparently he was over-tabled because it was hard to get his attention and when we did he would wander away during our conversation. At least twice we were ordering and he walked away in the middle of the order - we actually ordered our original drinks in two shifts due to him disappearing. There is nothing more stressful than having to fight to order a second drink, a dessert (we gave up) or get our check. Food on the other hand was pretty good. With the exception of a huge blood line in the salmon (on the salmon platter) - ick, the food was good quality and tasted great. The house-made cinnamon rolls were tasty although a bit overcooked (crunchy). Cauliflower with jalapeno pesto was delicious - - what a great appetizer!! Muffin burger was cooked as ordered and stacked turkey was fresh and had a large amount of turkey. Cocktails were great (see the Ricky Bobby) but definitely had large urban area prices ($$$$$). Summer House was good enough that we'll try it again - maybe just an off day.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Not the cheapest restaurant around, and their food might be healthy/organic but do not taste good enough to justify the price.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always wonderful for weekend brunch! Really fun, creative menu, and the food is always fresh.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Love it!!! I consider myself somewhat of a novice foodie....but I know have a one year old daughter. Summer house was accommodating for my daughter and the experience made me feel like I was out dining like normal again.
Thanks for the great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Thought it didn't live up to the hype. Attractive interior but the food was meh and it was pricey. We did get free guacamole for checking in on yelp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We enjoyed our meal although felt prices were a bit high for some of the entree's. And don't understand why a decaf coffee more expensive than a regular cup of coffee. I guess it costs money to remove the caffeine? But overall the food was very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

My husband and I like the decor and general feeling of the place. But, I am disappointed in the menu that does not offer much in the way of vegetarian dishes.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great atmosphere. Sunny and just cheery bright. The food is kind of average tasting.it looks good but nothing spectacular for the tastebuds. I actually think the food quality has gone down. It used to be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Bad food and poor service. I've been several times and it's always been hit or miss. This time was another huge miss. I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Hanna took phenomanal care of us and ensured we had everything we need with out being too intrusive. She was perfect. Food was outstanding as well

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I cannot recommend Summer House enough. The food is always amazing, but what really makes Summer House so awesome is the atmosphere and atrium ceiling. Feeling the winter blues? Book a reso at Summer House. It's somehow sunny in there even on the most dreary, dull day. I love going to Summer House for brunch with a group of girl friends. I recommend starting off with the calamari and/or tuna tostadas. Entree-wise, I can never seem to not get the Santa Monica egg white omelet. It's so simple, but SO good--my favorite. You cannot leave without stopping at the pastry and coffee bar--the salted chocolate chunk and the rice krispy treats are my go tos.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Summer House is a nice place to eat - if you have reservations. The Decor is nice and easy and the glass ceiling in the main dining area adds a really nice touch. The food options are interesting and seems like there is something for every palette. The only thing I would suggest they do is take out a table or two in the general seating area since they have stuffed too many into that room!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Casual, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food - got savory and sweets. French toast, short rib hash - everything was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I came for the biscuits but they don't have them on the menu anymore.
We still enjoyed our meal and the experience but I usually go for dinner because of the biscuits.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Summer House was phenomenal everything from the sushi to the magi-mahi tacos, to the drinks and dessert.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.