Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Summer House Santa Monica

Inside Summer House, guests will find a laid-back, friendly vibe with an environment reminiscent of a beach house. Complete with California-inspired decor, the chef-driven menu highlights simple, handcrafted dishes prepared with local and seasonal ingredients, many of which are prepared on a wood-fire grill. The eclectic menu is a crowd pleaser with options such as Ahi Tuna Tostadas, Hand-Rolled Sushi, Tacos and Wood-Grilled Fish.

Summer House offers a carefully curated selection of Californian wine to complement each menu item as well as chef-crafted cocktails, zero-proof cocktails, and draft and bottled beers. A bakery counter, shared with Stella Barra Pizzeria, serves a selection of freshly baked breakfast pastries, muffins and Chef Jeff Mahin’s famous cookie selection. No matter the season or the weather, you will be transported to Summer.

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm
Saturday 8:00am-11:00pm
Sunday 8:00am-10:00pm

BRUNCH: Saturdays & Sundays 8:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armitage

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4100

Website:
http://www.summerhousesm.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Summer House features a menu that spotlights locally sourced produce & ingredients.

Accommodating parties of 10-250 guests, Summer House exudes an atmosphere perfect for weddings / receptions, bridal & baby showers, family gatherings, birthdays, daytime lunches, corporate events & more! Summer House also offers large cookie/bakery orders, perfect for when you want to host events at home & offer a special treat for your guests!

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4100.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just southeast of the Armitage stop on the Brown Line.
Halsted Bus, Route #8
Armitage Bus, Route #73

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin and Chef/Partner Francis Brennan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4100.

Private Dining

Host your next event at Summer House Santa Monica! The restaurant is designed to evoke the atmosphere of a summer beach house with warm tones and a large glass ceiling positioned directly over the dining room creating the perfect ambiance for socializing & celebrating.

Summer House Santa Monica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (133)
Fun (125)
Great for Lunch (108)
See All
Sunday Lunch (104)
Casual (98)
Hot Spot (89)
Neighborhood Gem (88)
Good for a Date (88)
Good for Groups (81)
Modern Decor (80)
Healthy (74)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Good for Birthdays (69)
People Watching (69)
Handcrafted Cocktails (61)
Special Occasion (55)
Open Kitchen (47)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Good Vegetarian Options (39)
Kid-friendly (38)
Bar Seating (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Cozy (34)
Romantic (33)
Comfort Food (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Gluten Free Options (29)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Seasonal (26)
Notable Wine List (26)
Scenic View (24)
Happy Hour (23)
Business Meals (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Afternoon Coffee (15)
Authentic (14)
Family Style (12)
Wood Oven (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Organic (9)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Great Beer (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Vegan (3)
Tapas (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Music (1)
Waterfront (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
1811 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Seated 45 minutes after reservation and seated outside without asking us if it was ok (it was chilly and rainy out).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

It was Kelley's birthday and we could not have picked a better dinning experience. The food was exceptional and our wait person was perfect. I'm embarrassed we didn't get her name. While we were there Jeff Perry showed up and he took pictures with us and was as gracious as he could be. Kelley will forever remember this birthday celebration. We owe it all to the wait people and managers of Summer House. Thanks to Summer House we don't miss California.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server was horrible. We waited far too long for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Brunch at Summer House is awesome. Love the Vitamin D Room! The French Toast and Rice Crispy Treat Cookies are amazing! Also love the summer water while waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a great brunch, for our daughter's birthday. Nice table by the terrasse. We had avocado toasts which are delicious... and the kids had French toast and pancakes.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

fair enough to go back
No time to write a long review, fair enough should do it

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great summery feel and ambiance, definitely feel happy with the atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Delightful adult family brunch. The meals were delicious and beautifully plated, service was friendly. Especially enjoyed the crispy hash browns that featured in a couple of our menu selections and the plain or candied bacon options. Only misses were that our table was a bit drafty near the front door and they inexplicably served no spoons or stirrers with the coffee we ordered until requested. Overall a pleasant experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Went for brunch. Cinammon rolls were great and the avocado toast on the English muffin was divine. Would definitely
Go back. Reservations seem like a must unless you're lucky to grab seats at the bar. Oh their baked goods were also delicious!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Love it! Has become a necessary stop every time I visit Chicago. Everything was great and the
gluten free dairy free chocolate walnut cookies are amazing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We were very late for our reservation due to traffic in from the suburbs and only had an hour to dine before our play. Our waitress was FABULOUS and busy but got us our food super quick and was attentive and made great suggestions and kept our drinks filled. Great experience!!!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Good atmosphere and fun space. The menu was a bit expensive for quality of food and portion sizes. The real attraction are the desserts.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Have been here twice already and love the drinks as well as food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Visited for mothers day with 2 small toddlers at the table. Great food and speedy service for the kids, but the adult brunches tool a little to come out. It's a small gripe but they also keep a lot of things on a very small table which makes it tricky to find space when you have 2 small kids reaching for everything....I recommend they clear away the glasses and silverware from the kids seats.

Overall, lovely place. We go there often.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went here for Mothers Day, their only reservation available a month out was 8am. I took this as a good sign so I went ahead and booked it. I have celiac, so their gluten free menu was very impressive. I wish there were more menu items that were dairy free as well, but it was still amazing. They also had several GF/DF pastry options, so i was a kid in a candy store. The server was a little slow at times, but he was also sat at least 5 tables at once, so I can't fault him at all for this.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The place is charming. The location is nice though parking in that neighborhood is murder. The neighborhood, however, is relatively safe...so even if you have to park a few blocks away, you should be OK walking.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Summer house was absolutely amazing. The food was great beginning with the Ahi tuna nachos, then the Caesar salad and finished off with the rib eye. Our waiter Evan was truly the best. He consistently recommended great drinks or wine with each course and created a terrific dessert at the end to finish the night. I will be back soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The atmosphere of this restaurant is outstanding. If you did not know better you would think you were in California. The food was excellent, service was good. Would recommend.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful experience for pre-Mother's Day brunch. We ordered Acapulco omelet...kids pancakes, bloody Mary's, Pinot rose among other things. Delicious! Joey was our server, very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food is good, not great. Overpriced for what you get (in my opinion). We had an 8 pm reservation and were seated at 8:20 pm (on a Thursday night). Decor is fantastic and service was very good. Oysters were not well shucked at all (there were bits of shell in them, and none were completely detached from the shell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

You do feel like your at a happening and in with the cool people when you're there. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The food though was good, not great. I'm not sure I know what all the fuss is about but it's very popular.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great team dinner! Kyle was the most amazing server :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great vibe and always good food in a chic casual environment. Love this place

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great find!! We where in town for the weekend visiting our son. We are from the South Bay and this place was perfect . (Our son has been missing home) good vibe , great food , awesome service

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great place for a sunny brunch year round!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We had issues with the food and the mgr. resolved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Don't sit near the street, the HVAC blows cold air on most of those tables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great service, great food, fantastic environment!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Waited almost 20 minutes for a table, even though we made a reservation

Food came quickly, service was fine apart from the wait

Food quality was abysmal. For the $30 "fish taco platter", we got a single piece of fish, a tablespoon of pico and another of guac, half a cup of dry rice, under seasoned beans, and five sad flour tortillas straight from the dollar store to the microwave. Turning that single fish filet into five tacos is a feat of modern science only the skilled engineers behind the kitchen can pull off - unfortunately there was no biblical miracle of one fish feeding a thousand that night. Calling it "elevated cafeteria food" would be generous at best, and at worst, an insult to those who provide similar fare with 1/4 the budget and for 1/4 the price.

The saving grace was a brownie from their storefront bakery that was the best I've ever had in my life, seriously.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Lively, festive atmosphere. Attentive and considerate servers. Loved the kale salad. Acoustics in the main dining area make conversations onerous, putting a bit of a damper on the otherwise pleasantly kenetic dining scene.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

OMG! They have the best bakery counter ever! My husband almost sits in front of the cookies every time we go to eat dinner. Definitely a fun and energetic place to meet. The room with the sunshine billowing in is amazing!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Casual, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very enjoyable meal! Gets busy for Sunday brunch so I recommend a reservation. Good vibe, beautiful decor. Made for a great get together with friends.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Good was pretty good:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always love the California spin on a traditional dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It's always so good, fresh and fun! Good place to people watch and enjoy deserts to go also!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We've eaten at this restaurant many times. My husband and I got married there. As usual, the food was really good. We ordered a 30oz t-bone steak special, along with the shaved vegetable salad and some fries. Not exactly healthy, but hell, every once in a while.
We ordered a couple of cookies from their delicious bakery to share and had an overall pleasant dining experience. But they keep doing something at this restaurant that really annoys us; they drop the check on the table as soon as dessert is served. I know it was a Friday night and you want to turn the tables, but please, don't drop the check until we ask for it. It really, really makes if feel as though you want us to get the hell out of your restaurant. Considering we ordered two steaks, a bottle of wine, appetizers and desserts, even though we were just two people, we certainly spent enough to have deserved to linger at the table just a touch longer.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I loved sitting at the bar and watching the bartender make drinks. It was a fabulous environment and the food was amazing as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Summer House is a bright, cool place with great food! I like how it's so big and every time I've been in there, it has been busy and accommodating. The service was excellent-each time our wine glasses went down, our waitress was right there to fill them up. My friend thought that the salmon salad was a little small and needed more vegetables, but it was tasty. I got the summer salad and it was perfect! This is the place I bring my friends to when they come into town. THANKS!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Was ok. Food was not great... not bad, just sos so. We had steak and tuna. Both were overcooked. Otherwise ambiance and service in general was good.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.