About Summer House Santa Monica

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Lettuce Entertain You Enterprises' Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin and Chef/Partner Francis Brennan bring their popular California-style concept, Summer House Santa Monica, to Lincoln Park in Chicago, IL. Inside Summer House, guests will find a laid-back, friendly vibe with an environment reminiscent of the Golden State, complete with beach house-inspired décor. The chef-driven menu highlights simple, hand-crafted dishes prepared with local and seasonally-inspired ingredients, many of which are prepared on a wood fire grill. A carefully curated list of California wines complement each menu item. A bakery counter, shared with Stella Barra, will offer a selection of fresh baked breakfast pastries, muffins and Mahin’s famous cookie selection. Locally roasted artisan coffee will also be served in both restaurants. Summer House Santa Monica will be open for lunch, dinner and weekend brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm
Saturday 8:00am-11:00pm
Sunday 8:00am-10:00pm

BRUNCH: Saturdays & Sundays 8:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armitage

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4100

Website:
http://www.summerhousesm.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Summer House features a menu that spotlights locally sourced produce & ingredients.

Accommodating parties of 10-250 guests, Summer House exudes an atmosphere perfect for weddings / receptions, bridal & baby showers, family gatherings, birthdays, daytime lunches, corporate events & more! Summer House also offers large cookie/bakery orders, perfect for when you want to host events at home & offer a special treat for your guests!

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4100.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just southeast of the Armitage stop on the Brown Line.
Halsted Bus, Route #8
Armitage Bus, Route #73

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin and Chef/Partner Francis Brennan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4100.

Restaurant Photos

  • Summer House Santa Monica
  • Summer House Santa Monica
Summer House Santa Monica
Summer House Santa Monica

Private Dining

Host your next event at Summer House Santa Monica! The restaurant is designed to evoke the atmosphere of a summer beach house with warm tones and a large glass ceiling positioned directly over the dining room creating the perfect ambiance for socializing & celebrating.

Summer House Santa Monica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

Great for Brunch (169)
Neighborhood Gem (163)
Hot Spot (148)
See All
Great for Lunch (145)
Great for Outdoor Dining (141)
Good for Groups (137)
Fit for Foodies (124)
Special Occasion (110)
Kid-friendly (65)
Vibrant Bar Scene (63)
Romantic (44)
Notable Wine List (37)
Scenic View (36)
Casual (23)
Good for a Date (20)
Fun (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Healthy (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
People Watching (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tapas (3)
Authentic (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Business Meals (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Still love the décor and server was wond ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Still love the décor and server was wonderful and super nice. Probably time to add in some new menu items but overall - we still enjoyed it. Highly recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great girls night out, great drinks. Onl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great girls night out, great drinks. Only wish drinks came with a little more alcohol for the price, was super watered down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food were great I would high ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Service and food were great I would highly recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great spot to meet with friends ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Always a great spot to meet with friends -- food is typically very good, I had the Oreccheitte & King Crab which was delicious. My friend's grouper was a little bland but overall the mains were great. The rose cart was a nice touch and as always the dessert was the best part. Rice Krispie Treat cookie is heavenly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I met friends for lunch and enjoyed the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I met friends for lunch and enjoyed the bright cheerful dining room appropriately named "Vitamin D". The Avocado Toast was Very Good as was the service. Can't wait to go back soon.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A lot of food errors! Waiter was awesome ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

A lot of food errors! Waiter was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

The food while diverse in offering seeme ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food while diverse in offering seemed a bit bland to us . I had the fish tacos and my husband the French dip. The food wasn't bad; just a bit bland. We felt the cost/ benefit ratio was definitely not in our favor. Also , if lots of small children running around and yelling isn't your idea of a good time, ask to be seated in the bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

First time eating at Summer House - we w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

First time eating at Summer House - we were celebrating our wedding anniversary - and it was awesome! Very casual and comfortable with a neighborhood feel. A bit of an eclectic menu which we like. Very bright and cheerful. Excellent wait staff. Overall a great experience and would definitely go back!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the best food I have had in the S ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was the best food I have had in the Summerhouse-

the cauliflower was perfect; we ordered another serving

didn't like the chocolate sorbet

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Was expecting a little better food... ta ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Was expecting a little better food... table at the bar was just ok, ask for a table in the main dining room or outside. It was a birthday and I made a request for a birthday cake which was not done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Great atmosphere and no complaints about ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great atmosphere and no complaints about the service, but the food especially for the price was sub par. The spicy "homemade" steak sauce tasted like A1, the fish tacos despite being highly recommended were bland, and the burger was below average in a city that knows it's burgers. I'd say go to Summer House for brunch and cocktails or go elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, good view, fantastic service ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food, good view, fantastic service. Loved going

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was ok at, my wife chose sushi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was ok at, my wife chose sushi... to be honest it was just OK. the rolls were chewy and it didn't seem fresh. The wine and the the chip and guacamole appetizer was good as well as the company of our friends. The desert (the warmed cookies) were very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The space is amazing and has a good mix ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The space is amazing and has a good mix of people, but the food was only average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The food used to be pretty good here, it ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food used to be pretty good here, it's really gone downhill. As far as service, the waiter lost our order, then came back and took it again. Two items out of four came out incorrectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Kept window open on insanely cold day

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Kept window open on insanely cold day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

They have changed their trout, the new d ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

They have changed their trout, the new dish is no comparison to the past version...disappointed to say the least, it was one of the best plates in all of Chicago that would sell out for a reason. I was a regular customer in the past, not sure when I'll be back. This is my first open table review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Our salad was very awful. The lettuce an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our salad was very awful. The lettuce and ingredients looked like they had been sitting out for awhile.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

We really enjoyed our appetizers and sha ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We really enjoyed our appetizers and shared dessert. My entree was an appetizer pokey, which was nice. My husband had the chicken tacos, which were really bland and disappointing. No flavor to the chicken at all. For the price point we would probably go somewhere else next time.

Also, it's very loud for dinner - all hard surfaces: floors, walls, ceiling, etc with no drapes or table clothes to absorb the noise. Very nice decor , but loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This restaurant is truly excellent. The ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This restaurant is truly excellent. The room is beautiful. The staff is well trained and provides first class service. The food delivers. It's a great venue for lunch on a sunny day or a variety of dinner occasions. It's a LEYE but it feel like an independently run restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very lovely spot for mid-day meal. Grea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Very lovely spot for mid-day meal. Great wine by the glass selections featuring many rose options. Fresh, innovative menu with seasonal ingredients. Lots of plant-based choices. Excellent atmosphere. Even in pouring heavy rain, Summer House Santa Monica feels light and fun. Thanks for another memorable lunch!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very mediocre as best. The fis ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food was very mediocre as best. The fish tacos, ironically recommended by the waiter was the fish tacos. The first round the fish came out super burnt...they refired the tacos and they were slightly better the second time but still not good at all. Overall sub par food experience and for a city filled with great restaurants at any price point this is not a good stop.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

This was my second time at Summer House. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This was my second time at Summer House. I found the food this time to be good but not great. What felt less-than-appealing was being surrounded by children. Seems like a great place for families, but for those of us who are childfree there were too many.

Tags: Kid-friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The trout, beet salad, and peach cobbler ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The trout, beet salad, and peach cobbler were among the best I have had at any of the many restaurants where I have eaten. Service was quite slow, and that is the only reason I rated this a "4" rather than a "5". There were lots of families with small children, which was a bit of a surprise to see at a nice restaurant like this one.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Avocado toast got cold fast

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Avocado toast got cold fast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Our first experience at Summer House was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our first experience at Summer House was GREAT. We'll come back for sure. It was a family brunch just before back to school. The restaurant is kids friendly, it has space so you are not eating with your neighbors. The service was great, they accepted to move us to a lighter area. The food was AWESOME! simple but delicious. I had the avocado toast, just perfect and loved the eggs . We'll come back for sure!!

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good but after waiting w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The service was good but after waiting weeks for a reservation I don't understand the hype. They forgot the avocado in my salad. The drinks were fine but not great. Ahi was good but not easy to eat.

The chocolate cake was delicious. I don't think I will wait for six weeks to get a Rez at this place again

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I was traveling with friends who had ver ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I was traveling with friends who had very specific eating requirements. One guest was vegan; the other could only eat lean meat and vegetables. There were plenty of high-quality, delicious options for both!! The service was great - our server was knowledgeable and very friendly. The decor and ambiance was warm and inviting. We came from a baseball game and I was afraid we would be underdressed, but the restaurant is both chic and casual. I will most definitely visit the North Bethesda location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Vegan, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost impossible to just walk in and ex ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Almost impossible to just walk in and expect to get a table without any sort of wait. Luckily they take reservations! Love this place! Such vibrant place to grab food with some friends. Good food and lovely atmosphere.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for brunch! I always go with ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great place for brunch! I always go with a group of friends and it has a nice atmosphere. Reminds me of Hampton Social downtown. They have a dessert bar in the front and everything I've had there has been really good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was average and not worth the price ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was average and not worth the price. Wouldn't go back.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Excelent service with a peaceful ambienc ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excelent service with a peaceful ambience. Care about their customer's experience and they ensured we enjoyed every dish to the point where they even took care of a dish that was a little over seasoned for our taste. Every other dish was spectacular. Highly recommend this establishment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely loved the atmosphere! It is s ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Absolutely loved the atmosphere! It is stunning! I thought it was a bit expensive and not the best of food. Desserts were great though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Everything was great! Very nice & compet ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Everything was great! Very nice & competent waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Actually flew in from Santa Monica for L ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Actually flew in from Santa Monica for Labor Day weekend & loved that I could take my friends & family to a place with Cali vibes in Chicago! The vitamin D room channeled all the chill, beachy feels & held our attention well after our yummy food was finished! Our compliments to the crew!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the decor and atmosphere of the r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I love the decor and atmosphere of the restaurant. Food was decent-I would probably pass on the sushi if dined again, but the elote corn dish was amazing! The first initial server that greeted us at the table was very cheerful and bubbly, but then switched down to a closing server I believe whose mood was just like she didn't want to be there. I get it eating at 9pm isn't generally peak hours for dining and energy but still was disappointed with the change in attitude towards our table.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Waitress was great. The califlower humus ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Waitress was great. The califlower humus was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were celebrating my daughters birthda ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were celebrating my daughters birthday--engagement and we took a small cake and flowers. The waiter said we couldn't cut the cake there or store the flowers or cake anywhere so we had to place it on the floor.... Our table was full with 4 of us and drinks and appetizers so enjoying lunch and drinks while juggling a cake on my lap and the mother in law a dozen roses on her lap was very uncomfortable . Our service was non existent we had to flag down our waiter for refills and such. We went to Summer House bc the food is yummy but service was really bad.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Lovely setting, very busy for brunch. F ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Lovely setting, very busy for brunch. Front of house seemed disinterested and not attentive to messaging they had given us about wait times (despite our reservation). Food came out very slowly. The table next to us was seated 20 minutes after we were and they had their food 10 minutes before us, as an example. The food was very good, but there seems to be some disorganization among staff.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Met friends for brunch. Food was very g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Met friends for brunch. Food was very good - very fresh. Our waitress was adorable - very attentive but not hovering. It was loud. Not so loud that we had to yell at each other to be heard but, we were all leaning forward to minimize the distance our words had to carry. Overall, nice spot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.