About Summer House Santa Monica

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Lettuce Entertain You Enterprises' Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin and Chef/Partner Francis Brennan bring their popular California-style concept, Summer House Santa Monica, to Lincoln Park in Chicago, IL. Inside Summer House, guests will find a laid-back, friendly vibe with an environment reminiscent of the Golden State, complete with beach house-inspired décor. The chef-driven menu highlights simple, hand-crafted dishes prepared with local and seasonally-inspired ingredients, many of which are prepared on a wood fire grill. A carefully curated list of California wines complement each menu item. A bakery counter, shared with Stella Barra, will offer a selection of fresh baked breakfast pastries, muffins and Mahin’s famous cookie selection. Locally roasted artisan coffee will also be served in both restaurants. Summer House Santa Monica will be open for lunch, dinner and weekend brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm
Saturday 8:00am-11:00pm
Sunday 8:00am-10:00pm

BRUNCH: Saturdays & Sundays 8:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armitage

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4100

Website:
http://www.summerhousesm.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Summer House features a menu that spotlights locally sourced produce & ingredients.

Accommodating parties of 10-250 guests, Summer House exudes an atmosphere perfect for weddings / receptions, bridal & baby showers, family gatherings, birthdays, daytime lunches, corporate events & more! Summer House also offers large cookie/bakery orders, perfect for when you want to host events at home & offer a special treat for your guests!

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4100.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just southeast of the Armitage stop on the Brown Line.
Halsted Bus, Route #8
Armitage Bus, Route #73

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin and Chef/Partner Francis Brennan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4100.

Restaurant Photos

  • Summer House Santa Monica
  • Summer House Santa Monica
Summer House Santa Monica
Summer House Santa Monica

Private Dining

Host your next event at Summer House Santa Monica! The restaurant is designed to evoke the atmosphere of a summer beach house with warm tones and a large glass ceiling positioned directly over the dining room creating the perfect ambiance for socializing & celebrating.

Summer House Santa Monica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

great for brunch (253)
hot spot (223)
neighborhood gem (220)
See All
great for lunch (210)
good for groups (203)
fit for foodies (194)
special occasion (150)
great for outdoor dining (147)
kid-friendly (96)
romantic (81)
vibrant bar scene (81)
notable wine list (58)
scenic view (51)
late-night find (14)
Sort By:
Newest
1221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Great ambiance but server was inattentiv ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great ambiance but server was inattentive and got the order wrong. Failed to remove wrong item from bill even though didn't eat it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Summer House several tim ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We have been to Summer House several times - this time was really special - new items on the menu since we were last there are wonderful. A beautiful place on a summer evening!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fish, beef and chicken entrée a ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had a fish, beef and chicken entrée and all were very good. The ingredients were fresh. Portion sizes were reasonable, not too large or too small. Service and very friendly and efficient. The room was nice and not too noisy (early evening).

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was so much fun! It is beauti ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

This place was so much fun! It is beautiful and vibrant. The food was delish. We will definitely be back next time we're in Chicago!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Went to Summer House for brunch and it w ...

Dined 5 days ago

Went to Summer House for brunch and it was delicious. The food was great, and the juices were even better. The tables are very close together, so I can see it becoming very loud and crowded, but early Sunday morning was the perfect time. Would go back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Loved 3 out of 4 of my choices or it wou ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Loved 3 out of 4 of my choices or it would have been a 5 the apps and drinks are GREAT

food2
ambience5
service3
value2

the sushi menu was limited the vegan opt ...

Dined 6 days ago

the sushi menu was limited the vegan options were limited, and vegan selection was not flavorful. the wine selection was good not great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome ambiance and great food! Notable ...

Dined 6 days ago

Awesome ambiance and great food! Notable non-alcoholic cocktails as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If it was just on food alone.... it woul ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

If it was just on food alone.... it would be 5 stars all the way. However, the flies were just all over the place. They didn't have anything to help kill them or at least trap them like other restaurants do. Our whole table was filled with them and then we are trying to "shoo" them away while we tried to eat. It was really annoying. And the kitchen staff nor our server even noticed. And where we were sitting you can see pre-contained butters on the 2nd to lower shelf and a ton of flies were going on that shelf. It was quite disgusting. I would come back definitely for the food ONLY if they try to fix their fly infestation problem. Because im sure there must be maggots somewhere in the kitchen breeding.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

This place is great! Take a date there! ...

Dined 7 days ago

This place is great! Take a date there! Food selection could be better, chicken is amazing!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Summer House is a lovely restaurant wit ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Summer House is a lovely restaurant with lots of light and open air. The scene is vibrant. The menu looks very interesting but the food is not as good as it should be. Sushi was too big and rather bland. Mahi taco platter was good but not outstanding. Childrens' options were good and varied. The "special" (small) crab cake was poor value for $17. The "special" wine by the glass for $22 was not good value either. But the wine list is overpriced at every LEYE restaurant, which I have been saying for 20 years. So overall, pretty restaurant, annoying upsells.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Our waitress was really aloof and uninte ...

Dined 7 days ago

Our waitress was really aloof and uninterested. She took our order, and brought food, but that was about it. Long lag time to get our food. Other more interesting options in Lincoln Park.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

I was looking forward to checking out th ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

I was looking forward to checking out the Letuce Entertain You, current new place. Hoping to find a quality that I have experienced at their other venues, I found it extremely disappointing and not a reflection of what was expected from such a seasoned company.

food2
ambience4
service3
value3

We loved the atmosphere but both felt si ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We loved the atmosphere but both felt sick after dining.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

This was my worst experience, out of 5 v ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

This was my worst experience, out of 5 visits. All the food was wrong, salmon raw, but worse was they give us a table for 4 to feel comfy when our reservation was for 5. Girls working the front are young and clueless. Was just bad period but I will go back to give them another try.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Summer House. We were on a long ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We loved Summer House. We were on a long weekend vacation in Chicago and had lunch at Summer House and really enjoyed our experience. The food was amazing and the atmosphere was beautiful! Our server was lovely... So sweet, giving great recommendations. In the end she brought a complimentary dessert to our table, as it was our first time dining at Summer House... a very nice touch! Finally, our son is a culinary student and Chef Ben was kind enough to come out and talk with us and give our son a tour of the kitchen. Perfect end to our vacation!

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My only disappointment was a year ago I ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

My only disappointment was a year ago I went to Summerhouse and had a Lobster Roll which was sad for me. I decided to order the roasted chicken but they were out of chicken (on Fathers Day). I decided to get a steak well done which was not my favorite meal at all. The cookie are great so I still left smiling. My father loved the place and told me it was one of his best nights in a long time. He was just excited he wasn't missing the game.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Fathers Day breakfast with our newborn w ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Fathers Day breakfast with our newborn was simply perfect here!! It's a breezy atmosphere with tons of natural sunlight and the most attentive and kind staff! From the looks of it this place is the place to be with children but not like how you'd think.. Very calm and cool collected parents with children to match ;) we heard from three different people at surrounding tables they've been bringing their babies here since the first week home, because of the atmosphere. Fits for both parents who wanna chill and have great food (granola yogurt fruit plate is one of my faves) and for children to relax and feel just as importantly tended to. Great spot!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Thought I'd try this place for my wife's ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Thought I'd try this place for my wife's birthday... The service was just OK and the food was good, but not great. I'm not quite sure what the popularity comes from (reservations fill up quickly) other than the alluring summer like feeling that one gets from the decor. There are better choices for special occasions as far as the service and the quality of food. However, for a nice meal with nice ambiance, the Summer House fits the bill.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Our waiter appeared to be hung over. His ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Our waiter appeared to be hung over. His counterparts helped him but it wasn't the best service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was seated thirty minutes AFTER our rese ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Was seated thirty minutes AFTER our reservation time. That was a bit of a bummer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Love Summer House! So pretty and fun to ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Love Summer House! So pretty and fun to go to. Very upbeat atmosphere. Go for lunch or brunch since I think that menu is better. Our dinner food was definitely good, but nothing that special, so I was a little disappointed in that respect. However, brunch is always amazing and despite the food being underwhelming at dinner (calamari was awesome though), the atmosphere and staff were still great and it was still a fun evening!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find. The atmosphere did remind us ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Great find. The atmosphere did remind us of Santa Monica. We ate inside with the huge sky light and not sure how they did it but there was a small wind. Great food try the cauliflower and Brussel sprouts, they were both exceptional, Service was good. But the atmosphere is the reason to go.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was good, nice light bright afterno ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was good, nice light bright afternoon lunch table, lots and lots and lots of wine choices....seems to be their raison d'etre. The menu was card 60% food on front, the balance on front was wine, the whole back of the menu was wine, there were 3 different cards or pages of wine offerings handed to us with the lunch menu. We had iced tea.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

English muffin burger

Dined on June 15, 2016

English muffin burger

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

From the tuna tartar on taco shells with ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

From the tuna tartar on taco shells with watermelon bits to the specially prepared calamari to the fresh fish dishes, the tasty frittes - and the fine choice of wines and mixes drinks - Summer House is a delight and worthy of recommendation- and I have certainly shared my dining pleasures there with many friends already. My only suggest to those who want to be able to communicate well with their gusts - is to book for an early or very late lunch or early dinner, as when the place gets crowded - it's tough to really share heavy conversation. But it's definitely a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good and service was great. Won ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Food was good and service was great. Wonderful atmosphere. Went on a nice sunny day, so the ceiling made the entire space feel open and airy, like we were dining outdoors.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had an amazing server, great food and ev ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Had an amazing server, great food and even made new friends that sat next to us. Would definitely return...soon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Summer House is yet another LEYE endeavo ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Summer House is yet another LEYE endeavor that nicely captures a SoCal vibe. Were seated early 30 minutes ahead of our reservation even though half our party of four had not arrived. The menu offers something for everyone. My sushi rolls were crisp and fresh tasting, artfully constructed and plated. Service was attentive and engaged. Even with the "in" place vibe, Summer House is welcoming.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Escape the city - go to Santa Monica, California

Dined on June 11, 2016

Summer house makes me feel as if I'm no longer in Chicago, or better yet; it makes me feel like I'm out of Illinois on vacation in California. It's bright, airy, and lively. The staff is great and the food is even greater!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ive been longing to come here and I finally did

Dined on June 10, 2016

Overall I was very happy with the service, where I sat (outside patio), food was great and inexpensive. Would go again!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience1
service1

Terrible, rude, arrogant host. Waited 2 ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Terrible, rude, arrogant host. Waited 2 and a half hours after being told it would be an hour wait. He did not seem to care one bit that we had waited an extra hour and a half. Eventually just left. I do not mind waiting if the estimated time is somewhat accurate. But an hour and a half extra wait is a little ridiculous. I know summer house is busy, and my small complaint will most likely mean nothing to the restaurant, but the way the host handled his job was just simply rude and unprofessional.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great server. She was very nice.

Dined on June 9, 2016

Great server. She was very nice.

food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Average food, terrible service

Dined on June 8, 2016

Despite having a reservation, we waited an hour for our table - with no apologies from the host despite the fact that he admitted having forgotten that we were waiting. Then, our waiter handed us the bill despite us still having food on our plates and wine in our glasses. He didn't even offer us coffee or dessert. Overall a very JV job by the host and wait staff.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic. We loved the cal ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was fantastic. We loved the calamari, it wasn't too spicy but hairstyle enough heat to make it enjoyable. The tuna tacos were delicious. Definitely getting those again.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Met an old friend @ Summer House Santa M ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Met an old friend @ Summer House Santa Monica, which is located in the neighborhood I used to live in. Both of us had a Cobb Salad, which was tasty, if a tad pricy. Iced tea and coffee were both fine, but again, the coffee was steeped & steeply priced. Alison was a capable, enthusiastic server. Enjoyed the experience overall. Only problem was that restaurant hostess didn't convey to Open Table that I honored my reservation, tho' I clearly told her I had an OT reservation. Thanks, OT, for honoring it & giving me the 100 pts.!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entire experience was awesome, will go back asap!

Dined on June 6, 2016

From the very beginning of being checked in, we had a wonderful experience. We were early for our reso and went next door for some drinks. The host stand paged us earlier then our reserved time, since our table was ready. Our servers were bubbly and answered a ton of menu questions for us, while also providing recommendations. They got wind of our table celebrating my parent's 38th wedding anniversary, my mom's 60th birthday and my friend's 30th birthday and sent out two cookies sundaes with four glasses of champagne. Heart warming experience all around and will recommend Summer House as a must stop. MERCI BEACOUP SUMMER HOUSE!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2

Ambiance nice but noisy. Restaurant was ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Ambiance nice but noisy. Restaurant was busy. Service was mediocre. Food was just ok-not memorable. Presentation was sloppy. Not going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT FOR BRUNCH

Dined on June 5, 2016

Once you step into the restaurant you feel like you're in Santa Monica. It's a great vibe and food was amazing. Decor is super cute and beachy.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Horrible Dining Experience

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We frequent Summer House often and typically don't mind the high prices for the fare because of the great ambiance and service. When we dined this past Sunday, our waitress was awful. We sat (with a small hungry child with us) for 30+ minutes waiting for her to take our drink order (after waiting more than 15 minutes for a table after our reservation time). While our actual meal was fine when it finally came out, the multiple requests for basic items like a spoon for our child to eat his meal with, ketchup for our burgers and sweetener for our iced tea were beyond frustrating and after the long wait, the dining experience overall was awful. The waitress at one point simply stopped coming to another table with another server clearing our table and bringing our bill but our waitress showed back up to collect the check and comment on the poor tip. We told the hostess on our way out that the service was terrible and she barely blinked an eye. We will be going from regulars to infrequent visitors to this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.