About Summer House Santa Monica

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Lettuce Entertain You Enterprises' Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin and Chef/Partner Francis Brennan bring their popular California-style concept, Summer House Santa Monica, to Lincoln Park in Chicago, IL. Inside Summer House, guests will find a laid-back, friendly vibe with an environment reminiscent of the Golden State, complete with beach house-inspired décor. The chef-driven menu highlights simple, hand-crafted dishes prepared with local and seasonally-inspired ingredients, many of which are prepared on a wood fire grill. A carefully curated list of California wines complement each menu item. A bakery counter, shared with Stella Barra, will offer a selection of fresh baked breakfast pastries, muffins and Mahin’s famous cookie selection. Locally roasted artisan coffee will also be served in both restaurants. Summer House Santa Monica will be open for lunch, dinner and weekend brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm
Saturday 8:00am-11:00pm
Sunday 8:00am-10:00pm

BRUNCH: Saturdays & Sundays 8:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armitage

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4100

Website:
http://www.summerhousesm.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Summer House features a menu that spotlights locally sourced produce & ingredients.

Accommodating parties of 10-250 guests, Summer House exudes an atmosphere perfect for weddings / receptions, bridal & baby showers, family gatherings, birthdays, daytime lunches, corporate events & more! Summer House also offers large cookie/bakery orders, perfect for when you want to host events at home & offer a special treat for your guests!

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4100.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just southeast of the Armitage stop on the Brown Line.
Halsted Bus, Route #8
Armitage Bus, Route #73

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin and Chef/Partner Francis Brennan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4100.

Restaurant Photos

  • Summer House Santa Monica
  • Summer House Santa Monica
Summer House Santa Monica
Summer House Santa Monica

Private Dining

Host your next event at Summer House Santa Monica! The restaurant is designed to evoke the atmosphere of a summer beach house with warm tones and a large glass ceiling positioned directly over the dining room creating the perfect ambiance for socializing & celebrating.

Summer House Santa Monica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

Great for Brunch (208)
Neighborhood Gem (186)
Hot Spot (178)
See All
Great for Lunch (173)
Good for Groups (167)
Great for Outdoor Dining (164)
Fit for Foodies (156)
Special Occasion (131)
Kid-friendly (82)
Vibrant Bar Scene (74)
Romantic (60)
Notable Wine List (50)
Scenic View (45)
Late-night Find (10)
Sort By:
Newest
1327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was very impressed with the waitress! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

I was very impressed with the waitress! Made it a lovely experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a Gem great food awesome service ha ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

What a Gem great food awesome service had the breakfast tostadas out of this world also great French toast definitely going back 👍

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is frustratingly inconsistent ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

This place is frustratingly inconsistent. I've had two absolutely delicious meals here and two terrible meals.

On this occasion the service was really slow (15 min wait for coffees and then we had to ask for milk/sugar) and our food arrived cold as it had obviously been sitting for a while. I love the atmosphere and the fact that you can make a reservation for breakfast, but not sure I'd go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I love SummerHouse but this is the secon ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

I love SummerHouse but this is the second time that my server has been so overwhelmed that it's taken forever to get a drink or my meal. I likely won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

This is a lively hip place to dine. Sma ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

This is a lively hip place to dine. Small outdoor seating on street. Nice neighborhood hot spot. If you dine while the sun is out, the rooftop windows let in some nice sunlight. Has a southern California feel.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Make a reservation! Very crowded at 4:00 ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Make a reservation! Very crowded at 4:00 on a Saturday which I was surprised. But then they forgot about us as we waited, so you may have to remind the host as we did. Save room for dessert which you can grab to go on the way out.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We won a $100 giftcard and decided to us ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

We won a $100 giftcard and decided to use it before the Pearl Jam concert. It wa a very nice time away from Tinley Park. Cheryl Scott was there as well which made it extra fun to see a semi celeb.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The server was not very attentive or app ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The server was not very attentive or approachable at all. She was cold and short. Also, the food was not very impressive. We ordered tacos, and you would think that a nice restaurant like this would spend the time to make the tacos, but no we had to make our own – not to mention the Tuna had no flavor. The orecchiette crab pasta was dry and also rather flavorless. Lastly, the steak and fries was very typical and not impressive. The only good thing, I believe, to be on the menu is the vegetable quinoa, I ordered it two years ago and it was amazing both times, but just shows you that they never change their menu. It is unfortunate that the food and service was so bad because the atmosphere is so awesome.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Great environment, food was pretty good. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great environment, food was pretty good. The menu was all over the place, though, so it was really hard to decide on what to order. It didn't seem like there was anything in common with the menu items.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent salads, wonderful light-filled ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent salads, wonderful light-filled open center room.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I liked the ambiance , very chic. even i ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I liked the ambiance , very chic. even if we were sitting inside the look was outdoorsy. We all loved our cocktails, food was okay but for us being vegetarian a very few options.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My six-year-old felt like a king on his ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My six-year-old felt like a king on his birthday! The kids' menu even had his name (Mason) on it! Becca was a GREAT server, and we loved the decor too. Even on a rainy night it seemed sunny inside. Great place for our staycation - in from the burbs :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

nothing was memorable about the food, an ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

nothing was memorable about the food, and it was overpriced. the environment was really nice and the wait staff was friendly. I would go back to just hang out, not to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Our small plates (Beets with goat cheese ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our small plates (Beets with goat cheese, Roasted cauliflower) were generous portions and absolutely delicious. Our entrees Black Grouper with coconut green curry sauce and 1/2 Roasted chicken were beautifully presented. Both entrees were generous portions and provided an incredible blend of textures and flavors. We went for Sunday night dinner and the place was busy. We opted for a table on the patio where it was quieter and cooler but all the diners, including many well behaved young children, seemed to be enjoying themselves. There for a girls' night out we didn't mind the leisurely service but could see where it would be frustrating if you were trying to make a theater curtain or had a problem with part of your meal and were trying to attract the attention of a server. We had a delightful evening and will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Cold tortillas overdone tuna and wrong o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Cold tortillas overdone tuna and wrong order for my husband-high price for lack of service and food quality

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Two things were great: our server and th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Two things were great: our server and the s'mores bars sold at the counter near the entrance. We had tickets to a show and our server was great about making sure that we were able to leave when we needed to. The orechetti with crab was okay and the sea bass was overpowered by red pepper liberally sprinkled on top, while the surrounding green curry sauce was strangely bland. The peach cobbler was fine, but the chocolate walnut cookies from the front counter tasted mostly of walnut, with not enough chocolate flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Hip, open space with a very good vibe. B ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Hip, open space with a very good vibe. Busy Sunday brunch crowd as the menu have everything anyone would like. Service was warm and welcoming and our waiter was great. We had a wonderful meal to celebrate my wife's bday. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was very slow on this occasion. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service was very slow on this occasion. On two previous visits they forgot to add everything that was supposed to be included to my salads.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We really enjoyed the feeling of the res ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We really enjoyed the feeling of the restaurant. It's open and airy and really does feel like an afternoon in Cali! The food was good but not great. The problem was our food took over an hour to come out. By this point, we were sick of drinking coffee and finished our cocktails. I will say our waitress was lovely though! She new the kitchen was backed up and brought us muffins while we waiting for our breakfasts. I would go back and give it another shot and just hope for a full kitchen staff the day I return.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Very loud. Fun vibe, but it was difficu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very loud. Fun vibe, but it was difficult to hear others at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The sushi roll was so salty that we coul ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The sushi roll was so salty that we couldn't eat it! Drinks looked good but tasted horrible. Pinot Noir was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Everyone at the restaurant was very nice ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everyone at the restaurant was very nice! We were seated right away and when I needed something I asked another server and I got my oil and vinegar right away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I loved the shaved vegetable salad, and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I loved the shaved vegetable salad, and my cousin loved the burger.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This place definitely looks like Califor ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This place definitely looks like California, and there's definitely a vibe of "I'm richer and therefore better than you" coming from everyone eating in the restaurant. That being said, the food is incredibly good and the service is excellent. I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone (but especially those who like to see and be seen) because I haven't had a single bad experience here- and I've been here a lot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Shared the cauliflower side plate, Calif ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Shared the cauliflower side plate, California Caesar, and avocado toast. All so fresh and such interesting flavors! Energetic, beautiful lunch crowd. Great place to see and be seen that also happens to have delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was an enjoyable scene to see and be ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was an enjoyable scene to see and be seen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good food great desserts

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Good food great desserts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, prepared to perfection with ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food, prepared to perfection with menu changes (thank you, Chef), and great attentive and superb service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great venue, great service, great drinks ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

great venue, great service, great drinks, airplane food (economy class)

Tags: Outdoor Eating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Great looking place. Tables were too clo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great looking place. Tables were too close together. We were mere the kitchen . We saw the salad

Maker drop things and put them back on the wok station without being washed. He also did not wear gloves on a regular basis.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This is one of our favorite spots but go ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is one of our favorite spots but got unlucky with poor service from our waitress this time around. Great food, but a little too busy for the waitress to handle at the moment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

This is a great spot for brunch. It is a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is a great spot for brunch. It is always bright in the dining room because the entire roof is a skylight. The brunch food is always excellent. The cookies are also amazing. You must try the chocolate chip cookie with rice crispy treats on top.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My new favorite brunch spot in Chicago! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My new favorite brunch spot in Chicago! The breakfast tostadas were outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant and atmosphere. Unfort ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Lovely restaurant and atmosphere. Unfortunately the food was average at best, and seemed quite overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I was there for lunch and had the avocad ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I was there for lunch and had the avocado toast. It was wonderful! I look forward to going back so I can order it again.

Our waitress was excellent too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was overpriced and

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food was overpriced and

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Have had two great lunch meals at Summer ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Have had two great lunch meals at Summer House. First time had a kale salad, which was exceptional, and next time had the chopped salad, which was very good, but had too much dressing (will order on the side nest time). My friend had the avocado toast, which she loved.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved this restaurant! Food was delici ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I loved this restaurant! Food was delicious. My friend and I had the prime rib dip and my other friend had the English muffin burger. We all enjoyed our food. Together we felt our waitress barely came to our table and took a long time to bring out and take our check. We had to flag down another waiter to take our check so that we could make our train. Just because we are under 21 and not able to drink doesn't mean we should get less of service. :) Overall loved the atmosphere and food. Felt like a night in California.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The restaurant is beautiful and the food ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful and the food was excellent! Service was outstanding. Light and airy decor. Nice that they also have a bar next door for drinks while you are waiting that works cooperatively with the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Postino's in AZ and this restau ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We go to Postino's in AZ and this restaurant gave us a similar west coast vibe. Loved the ambiance and crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.