Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Summer House Santa Monica

Located in Chicago’s Lincoln Park neighborhood, Summer House Santa Monica presents an escape to the warmth and laid-back vibes of the West Coast, complete with beach house décor and a beautiful retractable glass ceiling.

At the heart of the open kitchen lies a wood fire grill that is the workhorse of many of Summer House’s menu items. The menu, created by Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin, is California inspired and focuses on market driven ingredients, local and sustainable farming, and seasonal specialties, all complemented by a carefully curated list of California and Pacific North Coast wines.

The Market counter, shared with Stella Barra Pizzeria, offers a variety of our signature fresh-baked pastries, cookies, sourdough English muffins, along with locally sourced coffee and specialty espresso drinks.

No matter the season, no matter the weather, you will be transported to the warmth of California at Summer House.

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday 11:00am-11:00pm
Saturday 8:00am-11:00pm
Sunday 8:00am-10:00pm

BRUNCH: Saturdays & Sundays 8:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armitage

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4100

Website:
http://www.summerhousesm.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Summer House features a menu that spotlights locally sourced produce & ingredients.

Accommodating parties of 10-250 guests, Summer House exudes an atmosphere perfect for weddings / receptions, bridal & baby showers, family gatherings, birthdays, daytime lunches, corporate events & more! Summer House also offers large cookie/bakery orders, perfect for when you want to host events at home & offer a special treat for your guests!

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4100.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just southeast of the Armitage stop on the Brown Line.
Halsted Bus, Route #8
Armitage Bus, Route #73

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4100.

Private Dining

Host your next event at Summer House Santa Monica! The restaurant is designed to evoke the atmosphere of a summer beach house with warm tones and a large glass ceiling positioned directly over the dining room creating the perfect ambiance for socializing & celebrating.

Summer House Santa Monica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (114)
Casual (105)
Fun (105)
See All
Good for a Date (101)
Great for Brunch (100)
Great for Lunch (94)
People Watching (86)
Hot Spot (85)
Good for Birthdays (84)
Sunday Lunch (82)
Good for Groups (79)
Great for Outdoor Dining (77)
Special Occasion (70)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Handcrafted Cocktails (55)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Seasonal (39)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good Vegetarian Options (35)
Worth the Drive (33)
Romantic (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Comfort Food (30)
Gluten Free Options (30)
Happy Hour (29)
Bar Seating (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Cozy (27)
Business Meals (26)
Local Ingredients (25)
Scenic View (24)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Organic (21)
Quick Bite (17)
Afternoon Coffee (16)
Authentic (10)
Vegan (10)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (3)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Sort By:
S
2167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Brunch :?Great service and the food was very tasty and the menu options al very good . Very open lots of light great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

My husband and I decided to meet our son and his girlfriend for Sunday Brunch. I had heard great things so thought we would give it a try..
Nice that they have valet as it’s impossible to park in area..Loved decor bright and airy very surf/sunny.
We had reservations and we were seated promptly.
Service was good and food was good as well we had smoked salmon, breakfast sandwich and guacamole and chips. Husband was a little disappointed that orange juice wasn’t freshly squeezed, but in fairness it wasn’t listed as fresh squeezed in menu and server happily offered to replace.
My only negative comment, the vibe?
I would have thought that a place named Santa Monica Summer House would have a casual, perhaps sophisticated laid back feel? Instead it felt like a lot of trying too hard, too trendy suburbanites..
Not sure what, if anything can be done to change this? Maybe that’s the desired feel?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

First time there while visiting from Florida and we were impressed. Pancakes were delicious and the baked goods were so cheat worthy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Comfort Food, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We love this place. The food is always delicious. Had the squash soup the other night. Memorable. It has a fun ambience - it feels like summer and is so aptly named. We like to bring out of town guests here. Good service, friendly and knowledgeable waitstaff.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The best thing about this place was the ambiance. Our waiter took over 10 minutes to greet us, and when he did he was unapologetic about his arrival. The drinks took a very long time to hit the table, and our server seemed like he could hardly be bothered to take our food order. Overall, the quality of the food was good, but nothing to rave about. My ribeye was tough, and the gluten free options were not that exciting. I could see this being a nice spot in the summer if you're patient.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Decent food and service. On the evening we went, the special pasta dish of the day was bland and was not served hot. Server offered to take it back but we were already half-way done. Also, the coffee was served cold and was sent back. Our server was friendly and attentive. Their menu is fairly limited so check on line before you go. The dessert fudge sundae was disappointing. We asked for the caramel to omitted but there was hardly any hot fudge in the dish.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

N/A - keep doing what you're doing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food. Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Brian was a fabulous server! Food came and was the perfect temperature. Delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

we love it here- consistent and delicious with excellent service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We traveled back to the neighborhood, specifically for this restaurant, after walking past it on a trip over the summer. Thinking it would be a neat location to celebrate our back to back birthdays as husband and wife, it was, minus my husband’s meal. He ordered a filet and I ordered the Brussels Sprouts Salad. My salad was outstanding! I also had cold green tea and it was refreshing. My husband had asked for other side options, than the onion rings that came with the steak, as that is a rather odd combination vs a vegetable and bread/butter. The waitress, who was friendly, did however degrade him for questioning why the onion rings were a concern. I was so looking forward to a great night out and sadly our experience was disappointing. My husband’s meal arrived and the onion ring he tried tasted like a catfish batter and didn’t flow well with his steak (which he described as ok at best). I have to agree, as I tasted a small bite of both the steak and onion ring. His meal was close to $40 and left him disappointed. Truly, wished we had made reservations elsewhere. Not even a mention of our birthdays, which we had made note of with our reservation. Walked back to our B&B and ate in their kitchen.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined 7 days ago

I really enjoyed the aesthetics of this place - the dining room has an enormous, very high glass ceiling. The room was beautifully lit at night, and I suspect during the day, the glass ceiling also gives a great vibe. I enjoyed my cocktail a lot; the Idaho trout was good, but not particularly memorable. Definitely worth a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

It was great as usual, but my favorite dessert was off the menu. Have to wait until next Spring

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

From check in to check out everything was amazing!! Our waitress was Jordan! She was very sweet and efficient! I was on a date with my boyfriend and we took our time! We never felt rushed, but never felt ignored either. Jordan gave us some recommendations for food and desert; which we took her up on. Everything was AMAZING!!!! Great job!! This was my first time!! Definitely coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Way overpriced, I split 3 sushi rolls and a bottle of wine with a friend and it was $120 dollars.....I then had to go home and make dinner cause I was still hungry. Rolls were ok, nothing compared to an Asian restaurant and double the price.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2017

We had a delightful lunch although I do think that prices are on the high side but maybe that's just a suburbanite speaking. My dining companion and I both had salads which were good size -especially liked the pulled chicken - very moist and tender. Summer House is a favorite and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2017

We came here to celebrate the marathon with two runners. Atmosphere is amazing and food was incredible. We would definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great ambiance, good food and great service. And fun cookies and coffee

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Had brunch/lunch here. Staff is very attentive! Detail oriented! Trendy hot spot

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Expensive for what you get. Food took forever to get.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Open,bright. Food was very fresh and tasty. ! Fantastic wine list. Great cookies on the way out.👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I went here for girls night and had a really nice time! The ambience is great, and the service was also amazing. We got the chicken, and from the specials menu sausage and peppers that were both really good but one of my friends got the tacos and it wasn't that great for the hefty price you pay for 4 tacos. Overall, we would all come back again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great service, delicious food and beautiful ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2017

we had appetizers (calamari and salad) and I had the burger as main dish.food was great and environment really nice for a quiet conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary, and the hostess was exceptional at getting us a booth even though they typically hold them for larger parties. However, the ambiance was not well suited for a special occasion or even for a date night. The restaurant was full of families with younger children. Maybe it was because it was 6:00pm on a Sunday, but considering the prices were above average, we were surprised at how casual and family-friendly it was. The food was good, but nothing exceptional. Would not return for an adult dinner experience. Might be better for brunch or if you want to take your kids with you.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great place to catch up with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

“Ambiance” is everything about this restaurant. After 4 visits in a row over two months, our party of 2 or 3 has sat in each section and at each kind of table within each section. Ambiance is actually 6 stars if you are sitting at the “right” table, which undoubtedly are the corner semi-circular “booth” seats in the sun room with a glass ceiling. At other tables, ambiance is a 1 Star at best because you are constantly getting jostled by passerby’s (e.g., random seat next to bar). I highly recommend you push for what you want here.

Everything else about this establishment is spot-on. The house made English muffins served at table but also purchasable at the entrance cafe, are worth the $10+ cost; they are brimming in baked-in butter. Or, perhaps I should say, as Manhattanites like to say when they come to chicago: “_____ was ‘bracing’” illuminating and exemplifying their superior coastally-influenced abstract word choice re food & drink. It was a bracing muffin, and a bracing cocktail, and a bracing orange juice, and a bracing salad. This restaurant is hands down bracingly and swimmingly enjoyable when you sit in the right seat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Delicious food! Gorgeous decor and welcoming atmosphere!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Pretty place, good service, good food. But the wine list is a joke. Don't bother with red wine there because they don't keep the good ones in stock and they mark up their horrid wine beyond reason. Do they think people around here won't notice? Won't go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Quietly nestled along Halsted, and beautifully vibrant as you enter. Love the setting.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Pricey for the food items and portions that are prepared well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

The vibe and atmosphere is what makes this place amazing!! The food was excellent and appropriate serving sizes. I will definitely be back and have already recommended it to friends.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Happy hour dinner with girls. Perfect spot for it - good service and food. Bright and airy with good choices for all. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Everything about this restaurant was outstanding. The trout was excellent. The skylight / glass roof allows you to watch the clouds pass by while eating. Our server, Sam, was excellent. And to top it all off, the value was excellent, and then our scratch off coupon from Lettuce Entertain You was worth $25 off the price of the meal. So excellent meal, service, and ambiance fro very little money. An excellent night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Outstanding as always - my staple for a business lunch in Lincoln Park and I wasn't disappointed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2017

I so want to love Summer House, but the food is very average with significantly above average prices. I don't feel it delivers honest value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great granola and coffee

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great (and busy!) brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Unfortunately the air conditioning wasn't on one of the hottest days of the year. Having a reservation I would have appreciated a call since it happened hours earlier. I have been eating at LEYE restaurants for many many years and was somewhat surprised management didn't offer a discount or free drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.