About Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh

414 Glenwood Avenue
Suite 103
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

Sullivan’s is a vibrant neighborhood American Steakhouse featuring the finest steaks & seafood, hand shaken martinis, & live music. We offer comfortable fine dining in a lively atmosphere. From the moment you step inside our lounge for drinks, appetizers or dinner, you will feel the energy and excitement provided by our professional team. Sullivan’s serves the finest Midwestern hand selected steaks aged a minimum of 28 days, simply seasoned and broiled at 1,200 degrees, fresh seafood, a wide selection of cravable appetizers, soups, salads and side dishes. Our desserts are house-made daily. Our Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence" wine list offers an array of selections from around the world. Whether it’s for business or pleasure, we look forward to quickly becoming your favorite local steakhouse.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Cross Street:
Tucker Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 833-2888

Website:
http://www.sullivanssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the lounge Monday through Sunday.

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Parking Details:
Valet is $4. Self parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Robert Crawford

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Key Lime Pie Topped With Key Lime Whipped Cream & Key Lime Cake
  • Shrimp And Lobster Bisque
Key Lime Pie Topped With Key Lime Whipped Cream & Key Lime Cake
Shrimp And Lobster Bisque

Promotions

The Summer Fling - $49

Special valid May 29, 2016 - Sep 5, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

The Sure Thing - $44 Prix-Fixe Menu

Special valid May 29, 2016 - Sep 29, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

The Summer Fling - $49

Special valid May 29, 2016 - Sep 5, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
The Sure Thing - $44 Prix-Fixe Menu

Special valid May 29, 2016 - Sep 29, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Sullivan’s offers a variety of private/semi-private dining and reception spaces perfectly suited for special occasions or business gatherings. Sullivan’s provides private diners with warm hospitality and custom menus featuring our finest steak and seafood, as well as personalized beverage service.

Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

special occasion (78)
notable wine list (47)
romantic (39)
See All
good for groups (32)
fit for foodies (28)
hot spot (15)
neighborhood gem (14)
vibrant bar scene (11)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2091 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent as always. Our wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was excellent as always. Our waitress was bit of a mess. She was very in our face in a negative way. When asking for additional items (like bread), we had to remind her a second even third time because she had plain forgot about them. Overall, we enjoyed our 4th visit to Sullivan's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

I have been to Sullivan's lots of times. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I have been to Sullivan's lots of times. The ribeye wa average this time and for $48 dollars it need to be exceptional. They are a little over priced for a steak place in Raleigh. After all it's not Manhattan NY.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Reservation system was fast and easy. Je ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Reservation system was fast and easy. Jeffery, our waiter, was personable yet professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

You can not beat the sure thing special. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

You can not beat the sure thing special. Great martinis too..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, our meal was delicious. My bigg ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Overall, our meal was delicious. My biggest complaint was the timing and lack of service for dessert. My husband ordered the seasonal fling special which was a price fixed menu... so, promptly upon clearing our dinner dishes, he was served his dessert. However, our waiter did not return to ask if anyone else wanted dessert and/or coffee - which I would have ordered. I also thought the constant refilling of water glasses was a bit annoying... I understand making sure patrons have water, but if the glass is half full or more, it doesn't require refilling. As this was a special birthday celebration, I was a bit disappointed with the service.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Always a great vibe at this restaurant . ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Always a great vibe at this restaurant . If looking for a great steak , this is your place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

To start Anthony and Buddy are cool bart ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

To start Anthony and Buddy are cool bartenders. The food is the 5 star quality. Kristin our waitress was amazing, and Brandon the manager was gracious and extremely generous when we experienced an environmental concern which was minor but aconcern nonetheless. I would recommend restaurant to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. Maybe a bit pricey. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was great.

Maybe a bit pricey.

Also felt like a rushed dining experience, and there was no one waiting to be seated. The entree was being served and we were still eating our salads.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Delicious food and wonderful service - r ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Delicious food and wonderful service - recommend for special occasions!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Very good as expected again our sp ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Very Very good as expected again

our special dinner was very nice with nice touch by staff

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Steaks I have had in a w ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

One of the best Steaks I have had in a while! Great service, Great Food, I would recommend this restaurant highly.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sullivan's is the restaurant in downtown ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Sullivan's is the restaurant in downtown Raleigh for wonderful food, great wine selection and first-class service. The wait staff are knowledgeable, friendly and attentive.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a favorite, consistently good fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is a favorite, consistently good food and service. It's very loud and busy on the weekends, lower key during the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The atmosphere was nice, and the server ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The atmosphere was nice, and the servers and staff were very friendly. I felt the prices were a bit much for what we received on our plates. I was expecting the food to taste much better than it did for what it cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Great atmosphere. Service was top notch ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great atmosphere. Service was top notch as was our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After two disappointing meals at a forme ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

After two disappointing meals at a former favorite, we returned to Sullivan's after having moved away from the area (we used to eat there several times a year).

As ever, the food was fabulous and the server was professional and proficient.

In a word, excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Sullivan's before and en ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We have been to Sullivan's before and enjoyed it, but they weren't on their game during this trip. Our server disappeared for long periods (it was busy, but not that busy), finally the floor manager came by and took our drink orders. We never got any bread (we didn't realize it until after our salads, when they came and picked up unused plates, etc.). Neither did the two tables on each side of us. My wife's steak was rare (ordered medium rare), mine was at least medium well (also ordered medium rare). The manager responded quickly when we pointed it out and comped our glasses of wine. Like I said, it just wasn't working for them that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

It was triangle restaurant week. The se ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was triangle restaurant week. The service was outstanding. Meal was delicious. We had a great time celebrating our wedding anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was for restaurant week which may e ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was for restaurant week which may explain why the service was slow. Food was good but servers did not bring two take home boxes back to the table. There was confusion among the staff where each thought the other had done something but neither had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This is a really good restaurant, and is ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is a really good restaurant, and is very consistent every time we have visited. The food and service is superior. The place is very pleasing to look at, but it is extremely crowded and noisy. They really have the tables packed in there tightly. We don't usually take another couple with us because of the noise, but my husband and I will be back to Sullivan's.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Greaaaaattttttt!!!!!!!!!!Steaks are off ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Greaaaaattttttt!!!!!!!!!!Steaks are off the hook!Thanks Sullivanso for an awesome meal and atmosphere !I would recommend to anyone your restaurant ,hope to visit you guys again soon!Thanks John R Ps The deserts were awesome to!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Jordan the server ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was great. Jordan the server was great.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! This was my ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food and service! This was my son's choice for his graduation dinner and it did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great food and great time ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service, great food and great time as always!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sullivan's is always a wonderful place t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Sullivan's is always a wonderful place to go eat. The food is high quality ,the ambiance is that of a swank 40's establishment,and the banana bread foster is to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ate here for restaurant week. Great serv ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Ate here for restaurant week. Great service, especially because they were so busy. Our food was excellent and the wine list was notable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Feedback- Sullivan's

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We had a great experience! We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Brandon the mgr there was very knowledge ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Brandon the mgr there was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Mind blowing food

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The salmon was unforgettable. The sauce on it left us wordless. The only negative is that every salmon I enjoy again will probably pale in comparison, that's the problem with having enjoyed something perfect. The chocolate raspberry cake for dessert was a dream come true. I see why the place has so many good reviews. The only things i did not enjoy were the horseradish potatoes that came with the salmon. The flavors sis not work with the fish and they weren't as creamy and amazing as potatoes i have had many times before. Rey's potatoes still rule my list :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation dinner

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My son had to be at convention center at 7:00 pm, so I told waitress we need to leave at 6:30. Our reservation was at 5:00. Boy she was slow! We had no time to eat dessert, so we packed them to go. My streak order was well done, but blood was coming out and it was very pink. My wife ordered medium rare...same color, but hers was kind of cold... I prefer Angus Barn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

Wonderful! Had a great night with great ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Wonderful! Had a great night with great food and Brandon was top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant Week Must

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Sullivan's is definitely an upscale restaurant which specializes in attentive service. The steaks were cooked perfectly and the value (at Restaurant Week prices) was exceptional. The wait staff answered all questions with patience. The accompanying sides were meager but delicious. Don't pass on dessert; the cheesecake was creamy and the banana's Foster bread pudding had wonderful crispy, cinnamon edges with a moist center.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a pleasant surprise! We came to try ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

What a pleasant surprise! We came to try something new because it was restaurant week and we had an amazing meal! The server, Dan, was attentive, nice and overall top notch!

We will be back!

Filet and the Black Velvet cake are our recommendations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the food and the service was outst ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Loved the food and the service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak quality isn't what it used to be...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

In terms of service and ambiance, this place was great for a group the staff was very accommodating to the needs of my group. However, I've been coming here for the past 4 years for an annual steak dinner celebration with groups of 8-14, always looking for a great steak.

While the actual venue was great along with apps and sides, the steak was highly disappointing. My girlfriend got a 12oz NY Strip that was just a very thin cut, much thinner than I expected. It was cooked alright but the steak itself was just way too oversalted. It just tasted like salt.

I got the cowboy ribeye and while the steak thickness and temp was on point, my steak was also oversalted.

For the money that you're paying for top notch steaks, after years of great experiences, Sullivan's left me very disappointed this year, it just wasn't worth it.

Not sure I'll be coming back here in the future and will probably look elsewhere for a great steak in the Raleigh area.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Below expectations based on past dining experience

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We dine at Sullivan's regularly for almost all special occasions. This occasion was for my wife's birthday. We ordered the French onion soup, kale salad, au gratin potatoes, salmon and a 12 oz strip steak. Both the salmon and strip steak were prepared perfectly and delicious. Our disappointments were in the details. My wife specifically asked that bernaise sauce be excluded from her salmon but it wasn't. The French onion soup is usually great but this time there was so much bread on top of the bowl that little room was left for the onion soup. It could have been a cost reduction move. I expressed my disappointment but got a dumbfounded reaction from our server. We had to ask our server for fresh bread which came pretty quickly after our request. Kathryn, our server, was OK. The service could have been better. We will probably try another restaurant for our next celebration. It would be difficult to recommend Sullivan's after this experience. We have come to expect so much more from the restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointing

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We celebrated our 43rd anniversary this week. The French onion soup was superb. The remainder of the meal was only so-so. The steak I ordered had a dry, mealy texture. The sides were okay (potatoes au gratin & asparagus) but certainly nothing special. The price tag for dinner (one glass of their least expensive wine) was $150. For the price the food should have been wonderful, and sadly it was not. The service was very good, but the restaurant is very noisy & we were seated next to twenty year-olds with baseball caps on backwards. Not much ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Excellent service as always!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sullivan's is always a favorite for our ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Sullivan's is always a favorite for our special occasions and this was no different. Everything was perfect, we were well taken care of, and my daughter whose birthday we were celebrating went home happy!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Sullivan's to celebrate 2 bir ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to Sullivan's to celebrate 2 birthdays in a party of 8 on a Saturday night. The food was good and so was the service for the most part. A few things were missed, one of which was candles on the desserts for the members in our party celebrating their birthdays. They didn't care, but when you drop $500 for dinner, you expect these little details to be taken care of.

But really, the biggest issue for me, was the way we were packed in like sardines and the noise level. We sat at a round table and it was impossible to hear anyone on the other side of the table (and I'm not that old!) That, above all really took away from the enjoyment of the evening.

Unfortunately, it missed the mark for a special occasion. I've been there on a weeknight and it is not as noisy, but this experience soured my opinion of Sullivan's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.