About Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh

414 Glenwood Avenue
Suite 103
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

Sullivan’s is a vibrant neighborhood American Steakhouse featuring the finest steaks & seafood, hand shaken martinis, & live music. We offer comfortable fine dining in a lively atmosphere. From the moment you step inside our lounge for drinks, appetizers or dinner, you will feel the energy and excitement provided by our professional team. Sullivan’s serves the finest Midwestern hand selected steaks aged a minimum of 28 days, simply seasoned and broiled at 1,200 degrees, fresh seafood, a wide selection of cravable appetizers, soups, salads and side dishes. Our desserts are house-made daily. Our Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence" wine list offers an array of selections from around the world. Whether it’s for business or pleasure, we look forward to quickly becoming your favorite local steakhouse.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Lunch: Private Dining Only

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Cross Street:
Tucker Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 833-2888

Website:
http://www.sullivanssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music in the lounge Wednesday through Sunday.

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Parking Details:
Valet is $4. Self parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Robert Crawford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh, Raleigh, NC
  • Key Lime Pie Topped With Key Lime Whipped Cream & Key Lime Cake - Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh, Raleigh, NC
  • Shrimp And Lobster Bisque - Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh, Raleigh, NC

Report a photo problem

Key Lime Pie Topped With Key Lime Whipped Cream & Key Lime Cake - Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh, Raleigh, NC
Shrimp And Lobster Bisque - Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh, Raleigh, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Sullivan’s offers a variety of private/semi-private dining and reception spaces perfectly suited for special occasions or business gatherings. Sullivan’s provides private diners with warm hospitality and custom menus featuring our finest steak and seafood, as well as personalized beverage service.

Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Good for Birthdays (27)
Romantic (27)
Business Meals (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Groups (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fun (8)
Cozy (7)
Family Style (7)
Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Seasonal (6)
Hot Spot (6)
People Watching (6)
Private Room (6)
Authentic (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Historic (3)
Live Music (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I went to sullivan's to celebrate my boy ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

I went to sullivan's to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. I made the reservation on Opentable and added that it was his birthday as a surprise. Once we walked in the hostess said Happy Birthday to him and also the waitress. Very nice touch as he wasn't expecting it!

The food was cooked to perfection and worth the price.

Would definitely recommend choosing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Take my review with a grain of salt plea ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Take my review with a grain of salt please. Our first hint there was a problem was the large amount of people waiting in the lobby. Apparently there was an issue with Opentable allowing reservations they had no room for because of a private party, so they were overbooked. We waited 30 minutes for our table, which was lucky compared to other people. The server, Ashley, was amazing though. Immediately apologized and got us excited to eat what hoped to be a delicious meal. Unfortunately, the food didn't pass muster. I tried the dry-aged ribeye and it tasted literally like that, dry and taste-less. I was expecting a melt in your mouth from a dry-aged medium rare steak but no. I had to send it back. The manager came by and apologized very kindly. My boyfriend did enjoy his snow crab legs. I'm chalking up the experience to an over-booked, over-worked kitchen but I probably won't be back. I would be tempted to go back on a weeknight when it ideally won't be so busy but it's too far for us.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Waited 45 min for our reservation.

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Waited 45 min for our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Amazing food! Only gripe...our reservat ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Amazing food! Only gripe...our reservation was at 6:45 and we were not seated until 7:35...we arrived on time, we went to the bar and checked back in after about 15 min...and I don't think the even put us on the waiting list until we checked back in. Service was on the slow side even after seated..all that said...the food was worth it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Dinner was amazing. Celebrated a birthda ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Dinner was amazing. Celebrated a birthday and she couldn't have been happier. Our waitress really made the evening. Will definitely be back .

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too noisy. Had reservation at 8 was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Way too noisy. Had reservation at 8 was not seated till 8:30. Salad bland. Drinks soap and overpriced as well as menu items also very overpriced and ala cart. The absolute worst part though was my steak (NY Strip) which was so grisley that I stopped eating it as half the mouthfuls I had to spit into my napkin. I have never had a worse restaraunt steak let alone a $40 one. Outback steaks are better IMO. The noise level there is deafening as there are 2x as many tables in the room as there should be. It would take a lot to get me back there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

We got there early but we're still seate ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We got there early but we're still seated immediately. Service was great. Steak was cooked perfectly as were the scallops. The atmosphere was very good. We really enjoyed our first visit to Sullivan's.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was outstanding. 4 of the 6 ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The service was outstanding. 4 of the 6 of us had steaks that were great. The fish on the other hand was bland and just not good. The sides were half good and half just okay. If I was to return I'd just get a steak.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

peter maRate Your Dining Experience p ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 9, 2017

peter maRate Your Dining Experience

peter, how was your visit to Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh?

Rate your dining experience (required)

Dining date: 1/8/2017

Overall

Food

ServiceOutstanding

Ambiance

ValueVery Good

Noise Level

Would you recommend Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh to a friend?

Yes No

What was the occasion?

Everyday Dining

Date

Special Occasion

Business Meal

Friends' Get-Together

What would you recommend this restaurant for?

Select all that apply

Family Style Sunday Lunch Organic Waterfront Modern Decor Happy Hour Good for a Date Authentic Quiet Conversation Vibrant Bar Scene Notable Wine List Great for Brunch Great Beer Great for Lunch Historic Pre/post Theatre

Molecular Gastronomy Cozy Creative Cuisine Healthy Wood Oven Good for Birthdays Quick Bite Fireplace Great for Outdoor Dining Afternoon Tea Hot Spot Live Music Neighborhood Gem Vegan Tapas Disabled Access Live Sports Casual Dancing Special Occasion Bar Seating Good for Anniversaries Outstanding Value Kid-friendly Scenic View Afternoon Coffee Seasonal Comfort Food Handcrafted Cocktails Local Ingredients Worth the Drive Romantic Private Room Late-night Find Business Meals Paleo Friendly People Watching Gluten Free Options Good Vegetarian Options Fit for Foodies Fun Tasting Menu Spicy Good for Groups Open Kitchen

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite place to eat when visiting the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Favorite place to eat when visiting the area. Outstanding food and service keeps us coming back each time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and a fun place for a date ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great service and a fun place for a date or friendly get together. Steaks are great and so are the speciality cocktails.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We enjoyed our meal at Sullivan's. As ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We enjoyed our meal at Sullivan's. As you would expect, dinner is expensive, but the quality and preparation made it well worth it. We loved the lively atmosphere (many steak house tend towards a stuffy atmosphere). My husband had the prix fix menu - 8 oz strip steak was a great size since we don't eat as much meat as we used to - and good value with the salad or soup course and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was excellent and the food w ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The service was excellent and the food was great! I came in for my mom's birthday and the staff made her feel like royalty. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection and the drinks were always right on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Three of us went to Sullivan's for New Y ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Three of us went to Sullivan's for New Year' Eve dinner. As is typical for restaurants on special occasions, the food choice was minimal and the price went up. Not a surprise as you are paying for the experience. We ordered, with one of us ordering the lobster which came with a $15 up charge added to the 89.00 set price. I t was mentioned to the waiter that we had just eaten at Fleming's and it was the best lobster ever. He assured us that they were up to par with Fleming's. We all were served our plates including the lobster which was out of the shell, but needed to be cut away from the shell at the back. After about 30 to 40 seconds of sawing on the meat with a steak knife, that little sliver if meat at the end of the tail gave way. The one that ordered the lobster started to cut into the lobster, and after sawing her way through it, tried one bite. It was way too rubbery. The waiter asked how it was, and he was told not even close. Management came out and offered another lobster or something else, which was declined. Two of us had our food and she had to watch us eat. We of course would have had to stay longer and watch her eat. The special night experience was gone. They did discount her meal by 38%, including a 38% discount on the $15 up charge for the lobster that was inedible. Up charge was still $9.33 for what was sent back. For a small caesar salad, 2 shrimp, a fork sized piece of tuna, an oyster, a serving of asparagus, and 4 medium sized chocolate covered strawberries, we paid $64.48, plus a nice tip, as the service was up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

This was my 1st time dining at Sullivans ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was my 1st time dining at Sullivans and we went on NYE. The service was great and the food was amazing. Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been to this Sullivan's several times in ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Been to this Sullivan's several times in the past. Decided to take my fiancé out for New Year's Eve and to celebrate our engagement. My ribeye came out purple and I told the server about it and they brought it back and brought back one that was pretty much burnt and crisp I ordered it medium rare. The meal was 89.99 a person and I don't mind paying for that price every other time but this time it wasn't as good. Although every other experience I've

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value5

First time visiting New Year's Eve. I di ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time visiting New Year's Eve. I didn't care for the Limited menu due to holiday. Service was ok except for constant interruptions. Food was good but definitely overpriced. May return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We were at a small table that was crampe ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were at a small table that was cramped with people right at our backs. We were never offered bread by our server. Then our server brought another tables steak in our to-go-box. We had to ask for a cocktail/wine menu. Server was not friendly. Just not what we have experienced in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Because it was New Year's Eve, there was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Because it was New Year's Eve, there was only a single limited menu. No choice - you had to have 5 courses. The food may have been prepared beforehand because the salad was not crisp, and the shrimp were limp. Also my steak was over cooked. Our waitress was outstanding though, and the atmosphere is always great, so it wasn't a disappointing evening , just not up to par.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Went here to pregame before our night on ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went here to pregame before our night on the town. The food and service was great. We will definitely be going here again soon. Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The service was exceptional both in the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was exceptional both in the bar and the restaurant. We were late for our reservation so we had to wait a bit. So we went to the bar. Great drinks and friendly bartender.

Once seated our waiter appeared and took drink orders and brought water. He was knowledgeable about the menu and described the specials.

For appetizees we ordered calamari Asian style and oysters Rockefeller. They were served promptly and were piping hot.

Things went downhill from there. We ordered bone in filet for two and one petite filet. The bone in filet waa cooked to the requested doneness. But it was cold. The filet was too rare. Both were sent back and were better. I had to use A-1 sauce to add flavor. The lobster mashed potatoes (a specialty) were terrible. Instant potatoes no butter and no salt. The lobster was actually lobster bisque poured over. No flavor at all. They took those back and brought garlic horseradish mashed potatoes. No flavor and watery. They said they were real but they tasted instant. No texture ...... none.

The other sides were replaced and heated. The creamed spinach was OK and the shredded brussel sprouts were good.

The upside was the manager took every thing in stride. Our meals were deeply discounted. The chef came to apologize and acknowledged some issues in the kitchen.

For these reasons I would recommend the restaurant. I'd eaten there before and had a great experience. This was just a bad night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and service as always!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was good. Three of us were dining ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Dinner was good. Three of us were dining for a birthday celebration. Service seemed alittle slow. We sat in upper left dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I absolutely LOVE Sullivan's. Great for ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I absolutely LOVE Sullivan's. Great for business dinners, dates, impressing your in-laws. The food is consistently delicious, but the service is what really makes a difference. Excellent wine list and cocktail options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate here for Christmas Eve. We felt t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We ate here for Christmas Eve. We felt the service was outstanding and our entire group was served at the same time. I was also impressed that the manager came around to ensure our overall experience was the best. My wife and I shared a meal and felt for a Christmas Eve meal is was good value for the quality of the food we experienced. We had seafood and steak entrees and they were all outstanding! I highly recommend Sullivan's and will be back soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and staff was amazing. Made my b ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service and staff was amazing. Made my birthday celebration very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a 8pm reservation for my wifes bi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a 8pm reservation for my wifes birthday dinner didn't get seated until 845pm that's unacceptable for this caliber restaurant not any discounts or accommodations pathetic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

It was a wonderful evening the food was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It was a wonderful evening the food was fantastic as always. Ben was our waiter he did a wonderful job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time at Sullivan's - an e ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had a great time at Sullivan's - an early holiday dinner before the symphony. Our food was delicious. The steaks were cooked to perfection, just as ordered. The potatoes were not as hot as they could be, but after we mentioned it to our server she brought asparagus as a replacement, and 2 managers stopped to check on us. Great atmosphere. We will definitely return and recommend Sullivan's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food always very good!!! Service nice!!! ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food always very good!!! Service nice!!! Ambiance nice!!! Probably the best steak in Raleigh!!!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dry Aged steak was delicious as always. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Dry Aged steak was delicious as always. Wasn't impressed with our sever this time (which is unusual because I have had 3 very good servers before), however the hostess/manager made up for it by going out of her way to run out the door as we were leaving and give a rose to my girlfriend since it was her birthday.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Incredible food, service and atmosphere, ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Incredible food, service and atmosphere, the wine selection was fabulous

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great. But didn't seat us until ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always great. But didn't seat us until 45 mins after our reservation...little disappointing....probably due to holiday parties.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Sullivans was amazing! The customer ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Sullivans was amazing! The customer service is awesome and the whole experience was amazing. The best part of Sullivan's is the steak! The best i ever had and i highly recommend Sullivan's to everyone that enjoys a great steakhouse!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love dinner here. Always can c ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We always love dinner here. Always can count on good food, service, drinks and valet.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service and food is awesome prepared to ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Service and food is awesome prepared to your liking. If you are searching for a place to have a quiet conversation though this may not be the place in the evenings as it gets crowded and loud and the acoustics don't lend itself to hear each other at the tables very well. Atmosphere is comfortable and classy. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Perfect as always! I love this place muc ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Perfect as always! I love this place much more than Angus Barn or Ruth Cris

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining, food, service. Very n ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent dining, food, service. Very noisy in main dining area so not real romantic for that

quiet dinner for two. We had a family birthday so we weren't bothered so much but the noise was noticeable. Highly recommend this restaurant especially for the steak enthusiast.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

GREAT SERVER (Emily) Great Meal Great Se ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

GREAT SERVER (Emily)

Great Meal

Great Service Overall

Seemed a bit overcrowded with tables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was terrible Sent potatoes back bec ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food was terrible

Sent potatoes back because they were cold

Steak wasn't brought back to table with potatoes, ordered appetizers never got them

Waitress was more concerned with her friends at other table

Only acknowledged us twice the whole evening

Not a good experience

Not to mention this was our office Christmas dinner

When you pay 370 plus dollars you expect five star service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.