About Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh

414 Glenwood Avenue
Suite 103
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

Sullivan’s is a vibrant neighborhood American Steakhouse featuring the finest steaks & seafood, hand shaken martinis, & live music. We offer comfortable fine dining in a lively atmosphere. From the moment you step inside our lounge for drinks, appetizers or dinner, you will feel the energy and excitement provided by our professional team. Sullivan’s serves the finest Midwestern hand selected steaks aged a minimum of 28 days, simply seasoned and broiled at 1,200 degrees, fresh seafood, a wide selection of cravable appetizers, soups, salads and side dishes. Our desserts are house-made daily. Our Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence" wine list offers an array of selections from around the world. Whether it’s for business or pleasure, we look forward to quickly becoming your favorite local steakhouse.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Lunch: Private Dining Only

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Cross Street:
Tucker Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 833-2888

Website:
http://www.sullivanssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music in the lounge Wednesday through Sunday.

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Parking Details:
Valet is $4. Self parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Robert Crawford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh, Raleigh, NC
  • Key Lime Pie Topped With Key Lime Whipped Cream & Key Lime Cake - Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh, Raleigh, NC
  • Shrimp And Lobster Bisque - Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh, Raleigh, NC
Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh, Raleigh, NC
Key Lime Pie Topped With Key Lime Whipped Cream & Key Lime Cake - Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh, Raleigh, NC
Shrimp And Lobster Bisque - Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh, Raleigh, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Sullivan’s offers a variety of private/semi-private dining and reception spaces perfectly suited for special occasions or business gatherings. Sullivan’s provides private diners with warm hospitality and custom menus featuring our finest steak and seafood, as well as personalized beverage service.

Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh
1 More
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Special Occasion (87)
Romantic (45)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
See All
Good for a Date (37)
Business Meals (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Groups (29)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Worth the Drive (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Family Style (11)
Fun (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Seasonal (7)
Casual (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (6)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Live Music (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I went to Sullivan's Wednesday night to ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

I went to Sullivan's Wednesday night to celebrate my friend's retirement. I enjoyed my food, although my steak did not arrive as requested. I asked for it to be medium-well, but instead, it was rare to the point that the cow was still walking around. My friend requested hers to be medium-well, but hers was rare in the center. We expected fresh steaks to be prepared for us. Instead, the chef just placed our steaks back on the grill and returned them to our table. We were pretty disappointed by this action.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always excellent, and usuall ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food is always excellent, and usually the service is, as well. But on this night we arrived for our 7:30PM reservation and were not seated until 8:30PM. Then we waited another hour before we were served any food. Very unusual for Sullivan's, I hope they'll step up their game. Our server and the manager were extremely apologetic, I think perhaps they overextended themselves with private parties on this particular night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value1

We were seated 45 mins after our reserv ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We were seated 45 mins after our reservation. The restaurant was extremely packed. They placed cheap portable tables in between the stationary ones and covered with white linens to accommodate more customers. It was so stuffy, hot and not a pleasant experience at all. The service was so poor and the food was mediocre. My sea bass was not cooked in the center. Disappointed and wouldn't recommend at least during the busy season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Good go to for downtown Raleigh night ou ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Good go to for downtown Raleigh night out! Live music in the bar and good crowd. Good menu options however my husband was not impressed with his filet / tenderloin. For the price it should melt in your mouth and his was full of fat and little flavor. Other than that we had a great night out with friends and our waitress was great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and looking forward to an experience similar to previous years. So bummed to say that it was just 'ok', nothing special.

The service was about as expected though she was newer and a little eager, the calamari was the highlight of the meal.

Our steaks were average, the flavor came from the heavy peppercorn sauce vs the meat, whatever the potato side was disappointing. It was a 3" thick chunk of baked potato (not skin, just the white) with some cheese melted on top? No flavor, I didn't have more than a bite.

We took our cake home and it was good but not anything amazing.

To add to the less-than-special vibe, there were people eating in Cargo shorts, tshirts, flip flops and baseball hats? Look, I'm all for comfort and was wearing jeans too, but I also had on a cute top and hubby was in a button-down. These people (not just at one table, throughout!) were dressed for drive-through.

Really disappointed that our go-to has gone downhill, we honestly would have been better at an Outback.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent food and service ! Business di ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Excellent food and service ! Business dinner with colleagues. All were very impressed and enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great experience as always!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great experience as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruined Thanksgiving. Ran out of turkey s ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Ruined Thanksgiving. Ran out of turkey so they replaced with filet but the steak was overly salted and peppered. The entrees were served almost two hours after we sat down. Plates and sides were all cold and not fresh. Perhaps on a regular night they would do better?

For what we paid ($500 bill) the experience was just awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We came here for Thanksgiving dinner. A ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We came here for Thanksgiving dinner. After we arrived, we were told that there was no turkey left. We were disappointed. We did order from the other entrees and they were good, but I don't think I'm going to go here for a special holiday dinner again. We were able to substitute a few other main courses for the turkey for the same price, but we were limited to three choices only. If felt that under the circumstances, the management should have given us free choice of anything off the menu instead of limiting our choices to the cheaper cuts. Our waiter was wonderful though. He was so sweet and obviously upset that we were not getting what we had expected when I made our reservation. If not for him, the whole evening would have been a bust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food, service and ambience made for a lo ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food, service and ambience made for a lovely Thanksgiving dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was great right up to dessert ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Everything was great right up to dessert. Thanksgiving dinner was amazing. However, we ordered the pecan pie to go. By the time I opened it at home, I was very disappointed. The slice was very small and it was very chewy, even after reheating it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steaks were excellent. The vegetabl ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The steaks were excellent. The vegetables sides were delicious. Excellent service.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was super knowledgeable about ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The staff was super knowledgeable about all of the items on the menu which was really helpful. The food was outstanding! Although pricey, you definitely get a good quantity and amazing quality. They also have a prefixed 3 course meal option with 3 choices for around $45!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was over cooked. Very nice atmosphe ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was over cooked. Very nice atmosphere would have had a great time but my food wasn't good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Our first trip to Sullivan's but it won' ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Our first trip to Sullivan's but it won't be our last. We both tried The Sure Thing menu and both were more than happy with our selections. Large portions and the steak was oh-so-good. They also served my dessert with Happy Birthday on the plate and candle glowing, nice extra touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience. But, they were out o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Awesome experience. But, they were out of 2 different wine bottles we had selected.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite! The food, special drinks, and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Exquisite! The food, special drinks, and ambiance leaves my husband and I visiting frequently!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seems this restaurant is not what it use ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Seems this restaurant is not what it used to be. Side dishes were cold, way to much sauce on fish and very sloppy, waitress was no where around after serving. Although manager tried to correct issues, they should not happen to begin with. Whole evening just took too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Leo was great along with his team. Nice ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Leo was great along with his team. Nice job tonight !! Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! Fantastic Filet Mignon!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great service! Fantastic Filet Mignon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine menu selection was fantastic. Great ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wine menu selection was fantastic. Great variety for Chardonnay and Cabernet drinkers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had many other issues with our meal. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had many other issues with our meal. Our bowl of soup arrived as a cup, our salad arrived without cheese and my wine was tart and not smooth as described. Steak was fabulous but fish was small and needed some more flavor. I'm not sure if tonight's meal earned the $200 price tag, I'm sorry to say.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We enjoyed our meal, but it was nothing ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We enjoyed our meal, but it was nothing special [I truly think I do as well at home]. The cost was exorbitant in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a good experience at the Charlotte l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had a good experience at the Charlotte location; however, in Raleigh we ordered from the classic pre-fix menu and felt we were Rushed. Cesar salad dressing too Tart, 6 oz strip steak not as tender as I expected, and we were Required to order dessert while ordering salad and entrée. I do not always know what I want for dessert until AFTER I finish the meal-that was a turn-off. Spouse ordered 6 oz filet, which was more like a 4 oz. Sides of mashed and scalloped potatoes were SPARSE. Go for Ruth's Chris classic menu instead! Noise level High, Music selection not what I expected from an upscale restaurant on a Saturday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My personal favorite was the steak and c ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My personal favorite was the steak and cheese eggrolls. The steak and service were excellent as well.

Tags: Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There for the 20th Anniversary event and ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 21, 2016

There for the 20th Anniversary event and the details were misleading from their social media post. Our server was the highlight and she was spot on and gracious. My dinner, however, was not up to what we expect from Sullivan's. My french onion soup was luke warm and the NY strip was over cooked. But waiting long for the meal prevented us from complaining since we were starving. Enjoy coming to Sullivan's but it has shown on my last 3 attends......that your night could be a hit or miss event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Food was great. Too much time between sa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food was great. Too much time between salad and meal. Took about 30 mins between. Noise level was much more than I remember. Service was great

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Our food was absolutely scrumptious! Thi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Our food was absolutely scrumptious! This was my first time trying the prime rib. It was cooked to perfection! I think it should be a regular item on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We love going to Sullivan's, the food is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We love going to Sullivan's, the food is delicious and the service is great!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Sullivans with my mom most rec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I went to Sullivans with my mom most recently. My request to not be seated near the kitchen was easily accomodated. Overall we had a great experience and will be going back. The food was delicious as expected and I had the wedge salad, prime rib and mushrooms and asparagus...with some to spare for the next day. Very happy with the food quality.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantastic service, best in Raleigh and w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Fantastic service, best in Raleigh and worth the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best flavor filet I've tasted. Cooke ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The best flavor filet I've tasted. Cooked to perfection (MR) Staff & managers look after you with superb service. Our wait was a little slow but he was a rookie but I noticed he had some learning moments. Managers were very professional

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Really enjoyed Sullivan's last Friday ni ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Really enjoyed Sullivan's last Friday night. Our party of four enjoyed their 20th celebration menu. Steak, prime rib and salmon choices were all excellent. The warm brownie for dessert was also quite nice. Our server and the accompanying wait staff were off the charts good. Sullivan's valet parking was the topper to a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was not good. The four of us h ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food was not good. The four of us had prime rib which was so tough you could not cut. The vegetables were not good either. The Seafood Appetizer was not good or presented well. I would have complained but we had guest that we thought we were treating but that did not work for me. The drinks were fine as was our salad and dessert. I am not one who complains but this was not a good experience for me and the rest of my party. Blake Aydlett

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Sullivan's is a great, classic steak hou ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Sullivan's is a great, classic steak house. I would recommend it for any special celebration, date night, or potentially for a business dinner as long as you request a location with less traffic. The dining area can get quite noisy during busy times.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was wonderful. We ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The food and service was wonderful. We will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sullivan's is always a wonderful dining ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Sullivan's is always a wonderful dining experience and the service and food is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An amazing experience, as always. We've ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

An amazing experience, as always. We've come to expect nothing less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Dined after the NC State/Notre Dame game ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Dined after the NC State/Notre Dame game. Three of us who were all first timers, dried out after being in the hurricane all afternoon, enjoyed a great meal. Started with calamari (chili glaze nice, big portion) and craft cocktails (Old Fashioned and Knock-out, both really good). Moved to wedge salads (need some pork belly on there!) and red wine. Steaks for the entree (Cowboy Ribeye, bone-in NY Strip "Pittsburgh style" and Filet Mignon Oscar style). Sides were Brussels sprouts (decent), marinated mushrooms (great) and creamed corn (great). Split a dessert, something chocolatey (very good), and then more red wine. Our server Nikita was friendly and attentive. We sat in a "bucket" booth like goodfellas and enjoyed a great view of the dining room and crowd. Will keep this on the list of "must go back" when in Raleigh next go round.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, loved every bit of it! ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great restaurant, loved every bit of it! Would definitely go back. Our waiter was awesome and he food was great.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Fun, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.