About Sullivan's Steakhouse - Anchorage

320 W. 5th Avenue
Fifth Avenue Mall Room C01
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Come experience our whole new look. We recently renovated and we're taking things up an octave!

Sullivan’s Steakhouse is a vibrant neighborhood American Steakhouse featuring the finest steaks & seafood, hand shaken martinis, & live music. We offer comfortable fine dining in a lively atmosphere. From the moment you step inside our lounge for drinks, appetizers or dinner, you will feel the energy and excitement provided by our professional team members. Sullivan’s serves the finest Midwestern hand selected steaks aged a minimum of 28 days, simply seasoned and broiled at 1,200 degrees, fresh seafood, a wide selection of cravable appetizers, soups, salads and side dishes. Our Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence" wine list offers an array of selections from around the world. Whether it’s for business or pleasure, we look forward to quickly becoming your favorite local steakhouse.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;

Bar:
Monday - Tuesday 11:30am - 12:00am,
Wednesday - Friday 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday 4:00pm-1:00am
Sunday 4:00pm - 12:00am

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Cross Street:
C Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 258-2882

Website:
http://www.sullivanssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Sullivan's Steakhouse offers live music, in the lounge, six nights a week.

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Catering:
Private and semi-private dining options are available in the restaurant with pre-set dining packages for all occasions. Please call our Private Dining Coordinator to plan your next great event.

Parking Details:
We validate parking for the 5th Ave Garage. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Mingus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Sullivan’s offers a variety of private/semi-private dining and reception spaces perfectly suited for special occasions or business gatherings. Sullivan’s provides private diners with warm hospitality and custom menus featuring our finest steak and seafood, as well as personalized beverage service.

Sullivan's Steakhouse - Anchorage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Business Meals (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Live Music (13)
Bar Seating (10)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Family Style (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Authentic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dancing (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terrible, expensive

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Terrible, expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I took my 17 year old daughter and her f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I took my 17 year old daughter and her friend as a going away dinner for her friend who was going back to college after the holidays. The food is great, the management team, Joe, Jared, Mike and Shawna are extremely gracious and really love their jobs. It really shows. They have great seafood and steaks!! Downtown location makes it convenient and is attached to the shopping mall. Great for dropping by after a full day of shopping.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a wonderful meal at Sullivan's St ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at Sullivan's Steakhouse. The Cowboy Cut Ribeye was perfectly cooked to medium rare and had a great flavor. Our server was attentive to our group's needs. I'll be going back in the future.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily the best steakhouse in Anchorage. ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Easily the best steakhouse in Anchorage. Don't miss the 26 oz., dry-aged, long-bone ribeye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waitress Sarah was rude and messed u ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waitress Sarah was rude and messed up our New Years dinner and night. She told us we should of tipped better when our food wasn't even heated all the way. Everyone left feeling disrespected

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We enjoyed the environment and the food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed the environment and the food was great. Our waiter forgot to bring bread to the table, but we had plenty to eat. The price is high, but the experience is great. I would recommend to others for special occasions.

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good food as usual.

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very good food as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Up -Typically good filets for most of th ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Up -Typically good filets for most of the group

  • Two desserts were well received

Down - Porterhouse not so good, even after two tries ("Not even close" said the server looking at my medium well, ordered medium rare).

-Server wasn't very charming, but fairly efficient. Not sure if the kitchen was short staffed, but a LONG wait for entrees.

I had to ASK for the appetizer plates to be removed, after they sat empty at the table for 20-30 minutes while we waited for the entrees.

Overall - Uneven, at best.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This was not one of the better experienc ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was not one of the better experiences or meals that we have had at Sullivan's. In fact, we've been rather turned off now as a result of our experience and the quality of our meal. Our waiter was all business, very officious and not at all personable. We also felt we were being rushed. When he tried to seem friendly, it came across as anything but genuine.

As for our food, our steaks were not plated properly and had no bearnaise sauce. When the waiter attempted to breeze by and not ask us if our meals were fine but rather simply state that our steaks were delicious and keep going, he didn't even notice the lack of bearnaise sauce. We had to stop him and ask for the sauce. The steaks (filets) were on the dry side and not the most tender. My husband's steak even had some grizzle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Very simple. Food (fillet) was great. Se ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very simple. Food (fillet) was great. Service was great. Great value. I highly recommend it. However, a little noisy if seated in the main dining area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome steak

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Awesome steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Always great at Sullivans. They seem to ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always great at Sullivans. They seem to be updating their menu often and offer specials, combinations and prix fix dining options. All great.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Been to Sullivan's several times and usu ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Been to Sullivan's several times and usually happy with food and service. This time left me less than satisfied. Service was good once the waiter finally got to the table. Maybe Mondays are not ideal for this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This is the best steak house in Anchorag ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This is the best steak house in Anchorage. We both ordered the bone-in rib eye. Cooked to perfection and tender and tasty. We split a wedge salad. Our waitress split it in the kitchen. Bread was warm and tasty. A very enjoyable evening. And the GM stops at each table to make sure your meal is exceptional. Park in the garage across the street and they validate. We parked in the pay lot and it gouged us $8.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Very good food. Too ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent service. Very good food. Too rich for my blood. The wife and I both had 6 oz fillets with mashed potatoes (could have used a veggie) 2 cocktails, soup and desert bill was 175ish

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was average . The price did not ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was average . The price did not match the quality of the food. I expected more flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Incredibly tasty, everything popped with ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Incredibly tasty, everything popped with flavor and surprising combinations. Well done!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went here for the Thanksgiving Holida ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went here for the Thanksgiving Holiday special. We were delightfully surprised with the service even though it was a full house! We did have to wait 15 minutes for a 5:30 reservation for 2. But I figured for as busy as it was, that was to be expected. We saw other people with bigger parties wait longer. The food was excellent! And the service was surprisingly quick. The Bar was at a medium level of people and they had all the football games showing. It was an awesome time for the wife and I to experience our first empty nest meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for Thanksgiving dinner. It was e ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I went for Thanksgiving dinner. It was excellent. The staff and management staff and the food make it worthwhile. I really appreciate the management staff kudos to Joe, Jared, Mike and Shawna. They make that place rock.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had an excellent dinner at Sullivan's ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had an excellent dinner at Sullivan's Steakhouse. The service was outstanding and it was quiet even though there was a lot of people. However, we were shocked at the prices. They are extremely high compared to other nice restaurants in Anchorage.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

We had an excellent time. 3 of our party ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had an excellent time. 3 of our party had never been there before and they really enjoyed their meal. The steak was soft like butter. Everything was cooked perfectly. We will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server tried to take our order befor ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our server tried to take our order before our drinks even arrived. Once we ordered our appetizer cake quickly but was not correct. The steak was good but our potatoes had bacon in them. They were not advertised as having bacon in them so we were quite disappointed.

Overall it was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

i went for a business dinner. The waiter ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

i went for a business dinner. The waiter was good but did try too much "up selling'.

I had to send my steak back. This location of Sullivan's undercooks its meat. It was fine once they added another minute or two. I ordered Medium Plus

On the next night, I went there late by my self to grab a bite in the bar area. They had a great Thursday night special. I ordered a Bar Burger " Very Well done" it came out very rare. i was so hungry I ate it anyway, but mentioned it to the bar tender and showed him the burger. He comp'd me a glass of wine so I was content.

Overall, i have been to Sullivans in Dallas and Austin, and perhaps another location. This restaurant is consistent with those products and i would come back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went there for lunch on a Saturday. ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We went there for lunch on a Saturday.

Service was great, attentive and accommodating.

Appetizer - calamari

Salad - Beef Thai salad

Entree- Ahi Tuna

Pineapple Martini - yum

Wine list- great selection to choose from

Dessert- banana fosters bread pudding and coffee

Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The porterhouse steak had a lot of grizz ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The porterhouse steak had a lot of grizzle and my husband could not eat it.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Was seated 20 minutes later than schedul ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Was seated 20 minutes later than scheduled due to the crowd from the theatre. Food and servers were very good - loved the mac and cheese, banana froster bread pudding and steak was amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

our waiter recommend a wonderful Pinot n ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 22, 2016

our waiter recommend a wonderful Pinot noir. We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Scallops were the best ever!

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Scallops were the best ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For a high end restaurant it was disappo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 19, 2016

For a high end restaurant it was disappointing to an extent. I will say that the steak was wonderful and extremely tender! The onion rings on the other hand were terrible. The batter was heavy, thick, tasted like a cake donut, and incredibly tuff. The onion slice was so thin at first we thought it was the onion skin. The waitress was ok but not great. The menu's were falling apart. They said they have been waiting forever for the replacements. Actually there are a number of excellent print shops in Anchorage. Excellent steak everything else so so.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The salmon was over cooked, the sauce wa ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The salmon was over cooked, the sauce was cold the rice was over cooked and scorched, the service was slow I felt forgotten no bread was offered with salad as all other tables around me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We have loved Sullivans for many years! ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We have loved Sullivans for many years! My husband and I used frequent this place more often in the past. Since returning to ANC, we are back on track in frequenting this place. ;-)

They're perfectly cooked steaks are a must!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always we had excellent service the f ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

As always we had excellent service the food is always good - although this time there was ? plastic in the potatoes served with the steak dish we ordered. The waiter was excellent and the kitchen prepared a dish from the dinner menu for my husband (not on the lunch menu) Staff almost always go above and beyond.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We waited 30 minutes past our reservatio ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We waited 30 minutes past our reservation time for a table. Food was delicious but, our waiter kept giving us another tables stuff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good not great experience. Tuna appetize ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Good not great experience. Tuna appetizer while good, would have been better without heavy seasoning. Wedge salad was great. Filet and asparagus traditional style very good. Crab rice excellent. Prime rib and strawberry cheesecake were very good. Music too loud so patrons compensated by talking even louder. Wait staff seemed frantic with a few running at times. Service was attentive at first but tapered as the dining room filled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Only problem was I had ordered a filet c ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Only problem was I had ordered a filet cooked medium. When received, parts loomed & tasted raw. Our fantastic waitress took it back for more cooking. It came back fine. But how could there be such discrepancy. Our waitress was fantastic & VERY nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent food selection. Local food as ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent food selection. Local food as advertised. Wonderful steaks. Outstanding service and ambience. All in all a great place to eat with wonderful food . Sarah was a professional and added to our dining experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very knowledgeable on what was or wasn't ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very knowledgeable on what was or wasn't gluten free! Very accommodating with substitutions and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistent from coast-to-coast and alway ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Consistent from coast-to-coast and always a great experience of flavors, quality and service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. Our serve did go ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was delicious. Our serve did good job serving us that night. We didn't wait that long for our food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, , Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We received outstanding service and exce ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We received outstanding service and excellent advice from our server at our table in the main dining room. Each dish from our appetizer, salad and soup, main entrees through dessert was fabulous. A pricier than usual dinner for us but we were made to feel very special that evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.