About Sullivan's Steakhouse - Anchorage

320 W. 5th Avenue
Fifth Avenue Mall Room C01
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Come experience our whole new look. We recently renovated and we're taking things up an octave!

Sullivan’s Steakhouse is a vibrant neighborhood American Steakhouse featuring the finest steaks & seafood, hand shaken martinis, & live music. We offer comfortable fine dining in a lively atmosphere. From the moment you step inside our lounge for drinks, appetizers or dinner, you will feel the energy and excitement provided by our professional team members. Sullivan’s serves the finest Midwestern hand selected steaks aged a minimum of 28 days, simply seasoned and broiled at 1,200 degrees, fresh seafood, a wide selection of cravable appetizers, soups, salads and side dishes. Our Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence" wine list offers an array of selections from around the world. Whether it’s for business or pleasure, we look forward to quickly becoming your favorite local steakhouse.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;

Bar:
Monday - Tuesday 11:30am - 12:00am,
Wednesday - Friday 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday 4:00pm-1:00am
Sunday 4:00pm - 12:00am

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Cross Street:
C Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 258-2882

Website:
http://www.sullivanssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Sullivan's Steakhouse offers live music, in the lounge, six nights a week.

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Catering:
Private and semi-private dining options are available in the restaurant with pre-set dining packages for all occasions. Please call our Private Dining Coordinator to plan your next great event.

Parking Details:
We validate parking for the 5th Ave Garage. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Mingus

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

The Summer Fling - $49

Special valid May 29, 2016 - Sep 5, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

The Sure Thing - $46 Prix-Fixe Menu

Special valid May 29, 2016 - Sep 29, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

The Summer Fling - $49

Special valid May 29, 2016 - Sep 5, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Sullivan’s Steakhouse is now offering the hottest deal of the season: The Summer Fling. Our tempting, signature Filet is hooking up with a Lump Crab Cake and Fresh Lobster Tail for just $49. Make your reservation today!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 29, 2016 - Sep 5, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
The Sure Thing - $46 Prix-Fixe Menu

Special valid May 29, 2016 - Sep 29, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Save while you savor. Try our $46 Prix Fixe: choose a soup or salad, an entrée and a dessert from a variety of tantalizing favorites. Everyone loves a sure thing. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 29, 2016 - Sep 29, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Sullivan’s offers a variety of private/semi-private dining and reception spaces perfectly suited for special occasions or business gatherings. Sullivan’s provides private diners with warm hospitality and custom menus featuring our finest steak and seafood, as well as personalized beverage service.

Sullivan's Steakhouse - Anchorage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (33)
romantic (17)
notable wine list (16)
See All
good for groups (15)
vibrant bar scene (15)
great for lunch (11)
fit for foodies (10)
great for brunch (8)
neighborhood gem (4)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (2)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was decent but the price was way to ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Food was decent but the price was way to high. Our server was great so there are not complaints there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch and service! Definitely reco ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Great lunch and service! Definitely recommend the Meatloaf and Shaved Steak Sandwich.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was great, but I ate too much....my ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Food was great, but I ate too much....my problem, not yours.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

First class in all respects. Server went ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

First class in all respects. Server went back in cellar and found my choice of wines in an adjacent bin. Extra level of customer service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Prime Ribeye. The jalapeño gnocchi ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great Prime Ribeye. The jalapeño gnocchi was to die for.

food5
ambience4
service3

Wonderful food. Service was a little slo ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Wonderful food. Service was a little slow, we waited 30+ minutes for desert. Everything was absolutely delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding Evening!

Dined on May 9, 2016

My wife chose to go to Sullivan's to celebrate Mother's Day. WE went with our two teenage children and had a terrific meal with outstanding service. It was a little on the pricey side, but you could not beat the service and quality of the food. They have an outstanding team and I would recommend Brian as a great server!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Sullivan's is our go-to spot to celebrat ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Sullivan's is our go-to spot to celebrate special occasions! Guaranteed excellent food and service!

food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Overpriced

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food, service and atmosphere was really nice, but the prices for the entrees were astronomical. I've had evenly comparable food if not better for much less and that included the sides...$40 for a chunk of halibut on a couple pieces of bok choy is not my idea of good value. Also, we went for Mother's day and there was no kids menu/options presented to us at all. I definitely wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone unless they are just dying to throw away $250 on a piece of meat and a couple pieces of asparagus.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic food, served in an busy steakh ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic food, served in an busy steakhouse atmosphere. Simplified menu served for Mothers Day brunch had something for everyone. Loved the rack of lamb, and the cold crisp wedge salad was perfect. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Much improved since it was remodeled! Go ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Much improved since it was remodeled! Good food and good service.

food4
ambience5
service5

Very pretty restaurant with great a vibe

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very pretty restaurant with great a vibe

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A great time at Sullivan's

Dined on May 7, 2016

My family decided to celebrate Mother's Day at Sullivan's which turned out to be a very good decision. Our waiter (Brian) was very knowledgeable and friendly. His attention to detail along with the good food and drink made it a special evening for all.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Evening with my mom

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food was great, waited a little long for our food, but it was still great. Service was also great, very friendly people. I would definitely go back sometime

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food great Service not so much

Dined on May 1, 2016

Made reservations for dinner and were seated promptly. Appetizer took 30 minutes and server apologized and said he would comp it. Soup and Salad were great. Dinner arrived and the steaks and scallops were perfect but the augrautin potatoes were not done so the server gave us horseradish mash potatoes. We had ordered a pound of king crab legs, but didn't get them and when asked he said he forgot to write them down and his allergies were affecting him. He said he would comp our drinks. In the end he didn't comp anything.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

It's been a while since we've been in An ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

It's been a while since we've been in Anchorage, and Sullivan's is one of favorite places to eat there. The food and service were still the same excellence we experienced when we lived there. However, with the wall between the bar and main restaurant down, the sound from the entertainment flooded the main part of the restaurant, making it difficult to have a conversation around a large table.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience!

Dined on April 16, 2016

From moment you enter your dining experience is welcoming and inviting. Our server was professional and entertaining, the food was five star. The meal is relaxed and at a comfortable pace

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not worth the price

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for Easter Brunch. The entree was over cooked. Not worth the price we were charged.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice way to wrap up our AK vacation

Dined on March 25, 2016

We were really looking forward to wrapping up our vacation on a high note and dining at Sullivan's was certainly the way to go! My filet was perfect - a little more rare than I like it, but the quality was so high that I did not even notice. The bread and butter were also to die for. YUM!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a rare date night for us and th ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

This was a rare date night for us and the food and wine was delicious.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Dinner

Dined on March 19, 2016

We had a good dinner. The waitstaff was great. The steaks were delish. One in our party ordered the salmon and it had a few bones but otherwise good. We felt that the price point was a bit high.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

True Dining Experience

Dined on March 19, 2016

Rather than just having dinner out, we look for a real dining experience. A menu with numerous options and a varied wine and spirits list are essential. Sullivan's has both. At Sullivan's, we never feel rushed, appreciate suggestions, and always have a sense of quality, competence, and service. Sullivan's is an extraordinary experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Has been better

Dined on March 16, 2016

Have dined here several times and this time could have been better. Think our waiter was new and he was not very attentive. In fact he took our order and then we never saw him again. Another waiter came by later and seemed to take over and did a nice job. The food was good as usual but my New York steak was a bit tough. Will go back and give it another try.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal.

Dined on March 14, 2016

Went here for my Mom's birthday. Great food, attentive servers and great management. Will be going again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We had the king crab and it was delicious.

Dined on February 29, 2016

We had the king crab and it was delicious. The bar had live music and looked pretty lively.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Our app and salads came out quick but ou ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Our app and salads came out quick but out main dishes took a very long time. We were there for 3 hours! It wasn't bad, food was good but that was a bit of a wait.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always top notch service

Dined on February 26, 2016

This is the second time my wife and I have been here. We went here for my wife's birthday and just like before their staff went above and beyond to make it special. Not only did half the staff tell her "Happy birthday" but there were rose petals on the table and they gave her free dessert and spelled "Happy Birthday" in chocolate on her plate. The food is pretty spendy, however, the service and food quality completely make up for it. They also have very good portions for a fancy restaurant. Plan on spending around $120 for two but it is definitely worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Overpriced for average flavor

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

the cut of filet mignon was good, however the chefs will cook it how they want, not how the customer orders. We all ordered our filets medium well, and they were pumping blood red about 1/2" in from the edge. Flavor was average, nothing spectacular.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

birthday

Dined on February 15, 2016

consistently good service and food - good location

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience was lovely and the ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our dining experience was lovely and the food was spot on!

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good foot, bumpy service

Dined on February 13, 2016

Our only real complaint was that the servers seemed inexperienced and poorly trained. Our server was a nice young man who did his best, but lacked the polish and professionalism we expect in a good restaurant. The young woman who served and dressed our baked potato did her job with as much tact and sophistication as a prison cafeteria worker. She plopped down a potato and then violently shook the spoon to discharge the butter, sour cream, etc. onto the potato AND the tablecloth before spinning on her heels and rushing off. And this was after the potato arrived several minutes later than our entrees. None of the service was truly bad—and the food was good—but Sullivan's really needs to step up it's game when it comes to table service.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Not worth the $$$

Dined on February 13, 2016

I went Friday night as a double date for an early Valentine's Day dinner and our server was horrible and mine and my friends steaks were over cooked. The food was good but not worth the $400 bill.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good service and good food. Like the re ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Good service and good food. Like the remodel, very open, lots of light

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Service was good and food was excellent.

Dined on January 30, 2016

Excellent food best steak I have had in Anchorage. Atmosphere was relaxing and service very good. Staff pleasant and welcoming.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Customer Service Counts!

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

After notifying the restaurant's management that the absence of primary lunch menu items seemed to be a problem, the manager (Jake) rectified the situation in a most professional fashion. His expedient approach to fixing the problem reflected his determination to keep Sullivan's customers satisfied. As a result of Jake's managerial work, and the fact that the food is consistently very satisfying, we will continue to dine at Sullivan's on a fairly regular basis.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A Wonderful Experience

Dined on January 16, 2016

The apps were delicious, drinks were great, and the filet mignon- it was the best steak I've come across in Anchorage! Sullivan's is my new go-to for a nice evening out in Anchorage.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good but....slow

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Weekends are packed. Food is good and the service is close to great. The only real issue is that they seat too many tables at once and the poor kitchen cannot keep up. We experienced this, however our party was in no hurry, but having dinner brought to you an hour after ordering is not right. Management did make it up to us with a nice bottle of wine. If they do not figure out how to stagger the reservations, they will be running out of bottles of wine soon.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. Food was amazin ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Great dining experience. Food was amazing as usual. The staff was friendly and catering. The new remodel looks great! Can't wait to go back again soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Asparagus

Dined on January 11, 2016

The crab, bacon wrapped scallops were good. The asparagus was burned. For 10.00 I thought it would be perfect, it was not. Service was good.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food

Dined on January 7, 2016

Late night after work. No one was in the restaurant. Great. Food was good and the server was very ind.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.