About Sullivan's Steakhouse - Anchorage

320 W. 5th Avenue
Fifth Avenue Mall Room C01
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Come experience our whole new look. We recently renovated and we're taking things up an octave!

Sullivan’s Steakhouse is a vibrant neighborhood American Steakhouse featuring the finest steaks & seafood, hand shaken martinis, & live music. We offer comfortable fine dining in a lively atmosphere. From the moment you step inside our lounge for drinks, appetizers or dinner, you will feel the energy and excitement provided by our professional team members. Sullivan’s serves the finest Midwestern hand selected steaks aged a minimum of 28 days, simply seasoned and broiled at 1,200 degrees, fresh seafood, a wide selection of cravable appetizers, soups, salads and side dishes. Our Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence" wine list offers an array of selections from around the world. Whether it’s for business or pleasure, we look forward to quickly becoming your favorite local steakhouse.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;

Bar:
Monday - Tuesday 11:30am - 12:00am,
Wednesday - Friday 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday 4:00pm-1:00am
Sunday 4:00pm - 12:00am

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Cross Street:
C Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 258-2882

Website:
http://www.sullivanssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Sullivan's Steakhouse offers live music, in the lounge, six nights a week.

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Catering:
Private and semi-private dining options are available in the restaurant with pre-set dining packages for all occasions. Please call our Private Dining Coordinator to plan your next great event.

Parking Details:
We validate parking for the 5th Ave Garage. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Mingus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Sullivan’s offers a variety of private/semi-private dining and reception spaces perfectly suited for special occasions or business gatherings. Sullivan’s provides private diners with warm hospitality and custom menus featuring our finest steak and seafood, as well as personalized beverage service.

Sullivan's Steakhouse - Anchorage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Service
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Special Occasion (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Romantic (12)
See All
Business Meals (12)
Live Music (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Authentic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Family Style (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was average . The price did not ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was average . The price did not match the quality of the food. I expected more flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We went here for the Thanksgiving Holida ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went here for the Thanksgiving Holiday special. We were delightfully surprised with the service even though it was a full house! We did have to wait 15 minutes for a 5:30 reservation for 2. But I figured for as busy as it was, that was to be expected. We saw other people with bigger parties wait longer. The food was excellent! And the service was surprisingly quick. The Bar was at a medium level of people and they had all the football games showing. It was an awesome time for the wife and I to experience our first empty nest meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent dinner at Sullivan's ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had an excellent dinner at Sullivan's Steakhouse. The service was outstanding and it was quiet even though there was a lot of people. However, we were shocked at the prices. They are extremely high compared to other nice restaurants in Anchorage.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

We had an excellent time. 3 of our party ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had an excellent time. 3 of our party had never been there before and they really enjoyed their meal. The steak was soft like butter. Everything was cooked perfectly. We will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server tried to take our order befor ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our server tried to take our order before our drinks even arrived. Once we ordered our appetizer cake quickly but was not correct. The steak was good but our potatoes had bacon in them. They were not advertised as having bacon in them so we were quite disappointed.

Overall it was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

i went for a business dinner. The waiter ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

i went for a business dinner. The waiter was good but did try too much "up selling'.

I had to send my steak back. This location of Sullivan's undercooks its meat. It was fine once they added another minute or two. I ordered Medium Plus

On the next night, I went there late by my self to grab a bite in the bar area. They had a great Thursday night special. I ordered a Bar Burger " Very Well done" it came out very rare. i was so hungry I ate it anyway, but mentioned it to the bar tender and showed him the burger. He comp'd me a glass of wine so I was content.

Overall, i have been to Sullivans in Dallas and Austin, and perhaps another location. This restaurant is consistent with those products and i would come back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went there for lunch on a Saturday. ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We went there for lunch on a Saturday.

Service was great, attentive and accommodating.

Appetizer - calamari

Salad - Beef Thai salad

Entree- Ahi Tuna

Pineapple Martini - yum

Wine list- great selection to choose from

Dessert- banana fosters bread pudding and coffee

Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The porterhouse steak had a lot of grizz ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The porterhouse steak had a lot of grizzle and my husband could not eat it.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Was seated 20 minutes later than schedul ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Was seated 20 minutes later than scheduled due to the crowd from the theatre. Food and servers were very good - loved the mac and cheese, banana froster bread pudding and steak was amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

our waiter recommend a wonderful Pinot n ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 22, 2016

our waiter recommend a wonderful Pinot noir. We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Scallops were the best ever!

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Scallops were the best ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For a high end restaurant it was disappo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 19, 2016

For a high end restaurant it was disappointing to an extent. I will say that the steak was wonderful and extremely tender! The onion rings on the other hand were terrible. The batter was heavy, thick, tasted like a cake donut, and incredibly tuff. The onion slice was so thin at first we thought it was the onion skin. The waitress was ok but not great. The menu's were falling apart. They said they have been waiting forever for the replacements. Actually there are a number of excellent print shops in Anchorage. Excellent steak everything else so so.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The salmon was over cooked, the sauce wa ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The salmon was over cooked, the sauce was cold the rice was over cooked and scorched, the service was slow I felt forgotten no bread was offered with salad as all other tables around me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We have loved Sullivans for many years! ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We have loved Sullivans for many years! My husband and I used frequent this place more often in the past. Since returning to ANC, we are back on track in frequenting this place. ;-)

They're perfectly cooked steaks are a must!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always we had excellent service the f ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

As always we had excellent service the food is always good - although this time there was ? plastic in the potatoes served with the steak dish we ordered. The waiter was excellent and the kitchen prepared a dish from the dinner menu for my husband (not on the lunch menu) Staff almost always go above and beyond.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We waited 30 minutes past our reservatio ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We waited 30 minutes past our reservation time for a table. Food was delicious but, our waiter kept giving us another tables stuff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good not great experience. Tuna appetize ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Good not great experience. Tuna appetizer while good, would have been better without heavy seasoning. Wedge salad was great. Filet and asparagus traditional style very good. Crab rice excellent. Prime rib and strawberry cheesecake were very good. Music too loud so patrons compensated by talking even louder. Wait staff seemed frantic with a few running at times. Service was attentive at first but tapered as the dining room filled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Only problem was I had ordered a filet c ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Only problem was I had ordered a filet cooked medium. When received, parts loomed & tasted raw. Our fantastic waitress took it back for more cooking. It came back fine. But how could there be such discrepancy. Our waitress was fantastic & VERY nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent food selection. Local food as ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent food selection. Local food as advertised. Wonderful steaks. Outstanding service and ambience. All in all a great place to eat with wonderful food . Sarah was a professional and added to our dining experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very knowledgeable on what was or wasn't ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very knowledgeable on what was or wasn't gluten free! Very accommodating with substitutions and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistent from coast-to-coast and alway ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Consistent from coast-to-coast and always a great experience of flavors, quality and service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. Our serve did go ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was delicious. Our serve did good job serving us that night. We didn't wait that long for our food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We received outstanding service and exce ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We received outstanding service and excellent advice from our server at our table in the main dining room. Each dish from our appetizer, salad and soup, main entrees through dessert was fabulous. A pricier than usual dinner for us but we were made to feel very special that evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My NY Strip was perfectly medium rare. V ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2016

My NY Strip was perfectly medium rare. Very nice dark velvet cake with strawberries. Great service. A very decent three piece combo played gentle 1980s pop (even The Cure!) near the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not the best experience for the price. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Not the best experience for the price. It was to loud to hold a decent conversation, service was okay, food was barely warm, not that flavorful and when we asked for take home over half the meal was thrown out vs put in our box. This was our second disappointing experience with Sullivan's in row.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent food, still open and actively ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent food, still open and actively serving dinner at 10:00PM. Service very prompt. Made a great Manhattan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything was great. We did call and re ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything was great. We did call and request a specific server but did not receive him. I also believe that the prices are getting a little outrageous. We probably won't be eating here much longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing food, but it will cost you. Sul ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing food, but it will cost you. Sullivan's isn't cheap, but the food is fantastic - I'd say the best steaks in town and well worth the price if you plan to splurge. Take your time and enjoy the meal, this is not a place to rush. Our server was fantastic and had great wine knowledge.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation and we had to wait in ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Made a reservation and we had to wait in the bar for 45 minutes past the allotted time. After the salads were cleared we waited for another 45 minutes for the entrees and when they arrived two of the six steaks were stone cold. While the restaurant tried to make amends for the poor experience I don't think that I will try it again....$100 a head is too much to risk on a very mediocre experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Sullivan's is a chain Restaurant which m ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Sullivan's is a chain Restaurant which most people do not know. It is pricey for what you get but good food and service. This place is suitable for romantic dates, business meals or to sit in the bar. Very good wine selection.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Lunch was really good

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Lunch was really good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great meal though kitchen was a bit back ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great meal though kitchen was a bit backed up with some very large parties present. Overall a great experience with the wonderful steaks you expect from Sullivan's - did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. The receptionist called t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great service. The receptionist called to see if the reservation was for a special occasion. Seated upon arrival. Our server was outstanding the wine and food was very good. Recommend for a nice night out. There were groups, families and couples all there so OK for all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter appeared to be new. He was ve ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our waiter appeared to be new. He was very professional and worked very hard to make our evening special. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sullivan's has been one of my favorite A ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Sullivan's has been one of my favorite Anchorage restaurants but my last few dining experiences there have not been a great as expected. I recently went ahead and gave it another try for a friends birthday and was glad I did as the whole experience was right back to exceptional as I had grown accustomed to in the past. The service was on point being prompt and friendly without interrupting our group or being over bearing. Our drinks were always full, the food was served promptly and the quality of the food was excellent. It was my friends birthday and all the servers made sure to pay special attention to her the whole time. The only negative I can say is that we had to wait for our table 20 minutes past our reservation and the hostess was not very friendly about it. Overall I was very happy with this recent experience and glad to see their service being back to what you would expect for this type of restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Sullivan's to celebrate my so ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We went to Sullivan's to celebrate my son's 19th birthday. It was early in the evening (5:00 pm) on a Tuesday night so there were plenty of tables available. We were greeted right away and sat in a nice area. Our waiter was friendly and the food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We always choose for special occasions a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 18, 2016

We always choose for special occasions as i like the steak/slice of lettuce and desert. Service is always good too.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had ro call the manager. Steak ordered ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had ro call the manager. Steak ordered medium...go it cold & blood red. ($500! Mgr. took steak off the bill but ruined the evening. Service very slow & sloppy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

My steak was not prime. Extremely lean f ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 11, 2016

My steak was not prime. Extremely lean for a Prime steak and it was overcooked. 2 of our 3 sides were way over salted, we had sautéed spinach and a side of mushrooms. My wife had the surf and turf and her lobster was oversalted and overcooked. The bread was very good. Sullivan's in Houston and Austin have much better food preperation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

The entire staff is committed to providi ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The entire staff is committed to providing an amazing dining experience. We had a wonderful meal and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.